About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville

1201 Riverplace Boulevard
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (904) 396-6200 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Jacksonville, FL serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Flagler

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-6200

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/jacksonville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Jacksonville, FL - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking with validation. Valet parking available at hotel entrance for $6.00 fee.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Hayes: 9043966200x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Crab Cakes
Shrimp Cocktail
Iceberg Wedge Salad
Raspberry White Chocolate Cheese Cake
Seared Ahi Tuna
Spicy Lobster
Fresh Berries With Sweet Cream
Caesar Salad
Maine Lobster
Au Gratin Potatoes
Lamb Chops
strawberry chocolate cheesecake
Filet & Shrimp
Toasted Almond & Dark Chocolate Clusters
Green Bean Casserole
Sliders

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
6 More
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

special occasion (64)
scenic view (55)
romantic (40)
See All
fit for foodies (27)
good for groups (19)
notable wine list (17)
vibrant bar scene (10)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
764 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great service, great view! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great service, great view! What else do you need in a restaurant?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's Ruth's Chris... You really don't ne ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It's Ruth's Chris...

You really don't need a review, do you?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

In all the years we have been going to R ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

In all the years we have been going to Ruth Chris, we never had a bad meal or experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came to have dinner and to later see ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We came to have dinner and to later see the July 4th fireworks. We selected items from the menu that included salad, side dishes and a small dessert. The steaks were tender and excellent and all the other dishes were very good. We enjoyed watching the many boats on the river as they were positioning themselves to watch the fireworks later that evening. The meal service was perfect. Unless you have been there before, it's not an easy place to find... but it's worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and terrific service.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic food and terrific service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I started the meal with t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband and I started the meal with the stuffed mushrooms. I thought the crab meat was very strong to the point I was almost nauseated. My husband thought they were fine. I got a Cesar salad and was not impressed - lettuce was cut bite size but dressing was weak. I had the blackened salmon, not blackened, and it was great! The garlic mashed potatoes were great and helped calm my stomach from the crab meat. My husband had a 12 oz ribeye steak. He said it was so tender it almost didn't need chewing, but he wished I had seasoned it -something about the marble glaze wasn't setting well with him. We both took cheesecake home for later. The cheesecakes were very pretty to look at but were tasteless, bland. The crust and whipped topping overwhelmed any faint cheesecake taste there might have been. I would like to say that was the end of our experience with the Ruth Chris meal, however, it was just the beginning of a long indigestion, upset stomach night for my husband. He mainly thought the steak was the cause of his illness but due to my reaction to the crab stuffed mushrooms, he is not sure if it was the steak or the mushrooms. Overall, it was not anything like we expected from the supposed highest class restaurant in Jacksonville.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We asked for a table at the window and w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We asked for a table at the window and were readily accommodated. Service from Les was excellent as he accommodated our request to have a drink and appetizer and not order our food right away. He was always there at the right time. My husband likes a particular brand of scotch and we were surprised when we were told that it is not available. All in all a great experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very good. Rick, our wait ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything was very good. Rick, our waiter was most attentive and a great waiter.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This experience at Ruth's Chris in Jacks ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This experience at Ruth's Chris in Jacksonville was THE very best Ruth's Chris experience my husband and I have had at any location in 6 years. We have lived in various states along the East Coast and have chosen Ruth's Chris as our go-to spot for special occasions (birthdays, anniversaries). This was our first visit to the Jacksonville location, and every single encounter, from the valet and hostess to the wait staff and management, was professional, courteous, and dignified. Since I had indicated in the Open Table reservation that it was my husband's birthday, the restaurant had decorated our booth with confetti and a card signed by the staff--what a very special touch! Our wine, steaks, sides, and dessert were all prepared and cooked to perfection; nice ambiance and view of the river. I really can't expand or elaborate enough on how satisfying the meal, the experience, and the overall evening was. Highest marks on all accounts!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and fantastic service. I high ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great food and fantastic service. I highly recommend Matt. He has always taken great care of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very nice location with great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is a very nice location with great views!! The food isn't bad either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners I've ever had. D ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the best dinners I've ever had. Derrick our server was fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the service was o ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was amazing, the service was outstanding! Can't wait to be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Ruth's Chris is always a pleas ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Dining at Ruth's Chris is always a pleasure. It is always excellent.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food and Service are usually excellent. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and Service are usually excellent. I was disappointed with the 16oz ribeye from the classics menu. It was very fatty over 1/4 of the steak and tough. I wonder if the classics menu gives a inferior product?

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

All 4 members of our party had their ste ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

All 4 members of our party had their steaks cooked to perfection. Our requested waiter, Jeremy Alverez, was superb. Best creme brûlée always served at Ruth's Chris. The whole experience was phenomenal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place needs a wine cellar. The red ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This place needs a wine cellar. The reds were served too warm. The wine list is extensive, but not all the wine is on-hand.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a great Father's Day meal and dining ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great Father's Day meal and dining experience as always. We had our usual server Brian, who is top notch. Would recommend him to anyone who makes a reservation there. Had the lobster Mac this evening along with our entrees. It was amazing. Great evening as always. Thanks !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fabulous like always

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was fabulous like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding steak!! Great service, View ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding steak!! Great service, View of downtown across the water was outstanding. Only objection is that the place was pricy. You should ask the value quesstion on your survey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

MY OPINION OF RUTH CHRIS IS POOR - THIS ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

MY OPINION OF RUTH CHRIS IS POOR - THIS OCCASION WAS ESPECIALLY BAD. MY STEAK WAS OVER PEPPERED & MY SHRIMP OVERCOOKED WITH ZERO FLAVOR. I WILL NOT BE GOING BACK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

The view is always spectacular and the w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The view is always spectacular and the waiters actually cater to you. My family said the crab cakes were outstanding and one friend had the bar--b-que shrimp. The food is never a disappointment and the quantity and quality of what was ordered was superb.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been several years since my wife ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

It had been several years since my wife and I had dined at Ruth's Chris. I had a remember that time being incredible; it was incredible now. From starter to dessert, everything was exquisite. Our server Les walked us through every decision with ease and professionalism. We are quite certain that it won't be as long before we return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Fabulous as always!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Fabulous as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Would highly ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, great ambiance

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I love this place! The steaks are always on point. It's definitely a special occasion meal, as it is pricey, but the Ruth's Classic meal deal makes it more affordable. (Soup/salad, entree and dessert for around $55) Excellent wine and cocktail list. It's right on the river with a beautiful view. The dolphins are active during the summer, and they were out to play during our meal. Magical! Our server, Cesar, was amazing and attentive, and really pleasant to interact with. Overall, this is my favorite fancy restaurant :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first timer

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

picked this restaurant for a special birthday dinner. very happy with everything. expensive but worth it

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not up to typical Ruth Chris standards, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Not up to typical Ruth Chris standards, most meat was not cooked as asked and virtually sides were warm not hot. Very different experience from the Ponte Vedra location, and most others I've visited across the country. When leaving they asked if we needed valet parking validated. This basically took $2 off the $10 valet charge. Would have expected more after spending $550 on dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Fantastic food, service and view!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Fantastic food, service and view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with Friends

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

My wife and I have dined at Ruth's Chris all over the U. S. for at least 35 years. We have always enjoyed the great food, good drinks and wonderful service. The setting at the Ruth's Chris downtown Jacksonville is the best we have experienced. We have always accepted the fact that it is going to cost more than most restaurants but have returned, time and time again, because it is such a treat. I am becoming a bit concerned that the prices are getting to a point that you have to ask how far you will go for a meal. We think the drinks are getting smaller, many of the side dishes are less, particularly the salads. I'm not saying we will not return, we will, but as a customer who has been loyal for many years I want to state our feelings. We don't want Ruth's Chris to price themselves to a point that they drive many customers elsewhere.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view, the blue cheese crusted fil ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great view, the blue cheese crusted filet and white chocolate bread pudding with Grand Marnier sauce are wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Disappoints

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Went for Grad Night/Birthday party. Kevin made the night a pleasure and one the grad and birthday boy will never forget.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Delicious as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was great and the service was t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was great and the service was too! It was ice to celebrate my wife's birthday in sucha great setting.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

What a VIEW

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The espresso dessert was amazing . The table was split on the 6oz steak with blue cheese one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly,

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service and atmosphere!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service and Food

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Steaks are always awesome along with the sweet potatoe casserole and Brussels sprouts. Our water Cesaer was engaging and attentive.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak and lobster were both top notch, a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Steak and lobster were both top notch, as usual. The service was a little slow; always stinks when you wait a good 10 minutes to get your check after your food has been boxed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Steak

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

My husdand took me to Ruths Chris for my 74 birthday. I ordered my steak with some pink in the middle not well done. The first one I tried was well done and dry. The second one was not dry but was still well done with no pink in the middle. The managment was very apolgetic regarding my steak. My husband also ordered a steak was he was very pleased with his. Overall the perience was very good. Our server was exceptional in attentiveness and knowlege of the menu.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was wonderful. The whole eve ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful. The whole evening was a nice experience again. Never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.