About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville

1201 Riverplace Boulevard
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (904) 396-6200 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Jacksonville, FL serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Flagler

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-6200

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/jacksonville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Jacksonville, FL - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking with validation. Valet parking available at hotel entrance for $6.00 fee.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Hayes: (904) 396-6200

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Scenic View (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Romantic (26)
Worth the Drive (21)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Happy Hour (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Fun (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Family Style (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Healthy (4)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
956 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Derrick was my waiter and he was absolutely amazing. He was great to talk to, knowledge on the food, and overall an amazing guy. I couldn't recommend him enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a phenomenal dining experience! They never disappoint! Absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a good place, but this time the value was not quite the same. Steaks were not as flavorful as usual and mine was 25% fat, which is not ok for a filet. $150 plus tip with no alcohol and sharing 1 appetizer, 1 dessert and 1 side item. Steaks need to be perfect then. They were not. I go pretty often. I hope this was just an aberration maybe cause it was Valentine's Day.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always the food and service at Ruth's Chris were second to none. Our waiter was very courteous and professional and frequently came by to insure we had everything we needed.

On this particular night however we were repeatedly annoyed by another table where two of the three gentlemen were very intent on impressing their clients with their repeated and ongoing sales bravado that they didn't mind that they were interrupting everyone around them. It unfortunately spoiled an otherwise delightful dining experience at Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service, food, drinks, and ambiance are amazing! Highly recommended!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

EXCELLENT as always! We will return again and again for delicious steak and lobster.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always spot on in service and food. Les is a great server and you can't beat the bone in ribeye, or even the chicken. Always perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our 4th visit to a Ruth Chris but our 1st in this location. The noise level was horrible! Could barely hear the person talking next to me. There didn't seem to be a dress code at this location. Saw everything from crop tops to jeans with rips. The waiter's assistant was seen coming out of the kitchen multiple times eating! We will choose a different location next time. We took my parents and adult children there for a special celebration. It was definitely a disappointment.

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food and service. Always a pleasure to have a meal here. Jeremy was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Was decent but nothing to write home about still don't understand tempture of meats by the time they check back it was useless to say anything.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Two previous visits (several years ago) were less than satisfactory. We were really happy to find The Jacksonville Ruth's Chris had finally come up to Ruth's Chris standards. Our waiter was the best, the steaks were perfectly prepared and the sides were just right. So glad we decided to give them another chance on this visit to Jax! The only negative was a retirement party that was a little loud.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We went for a birthday dinner. The food was really good. It was a full house for a Wednesday night. Our waiter had a table of 12 next to us so service was slow. I asked for dessert specials. He said he'd bring me the dessert menu after the dishes were cleared. Waited over 20 minutes to get the dessert menu. We had a 94 year old family member so we weren't interested in lingering around. My water glass was empty at one point. When paying 400 dollars for dinner your water glass shouldn't go empty. The table next to us was ordering a large order of mixed drinks. While he was folding their table napkins I was still waiting on the dessert menu. We had to practice our patience that night. Luckily everything else was great. The food was memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Family Style, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Our steaks were delicious. We were welcomed and congratulated on our anniversary. Everyone was friendly and the service was top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have had Les many times and he is one of the finest waiters and people we know.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Arriving 15 minutes early, our party was promptly seated and greeted by our server. From the seafood tower and clam chowder to the bread pudding and chocolate duo EVERYTHING was absolutely delicious. Our server was VERY curtious, professional, witty and knowledgeable which the birthday celebration truly one to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Lobster tail was extremely tough. Steak was okay, but it great. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Derrick is incredible. The best server we've ever had and because of his continued sincerity, customer focus and consistency, we now ask for him. Terrific experience as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always delicious and enjoyable. Relaxed atmosphere with fine dining, the perfect combination.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We were there with 2 other couples. We were able to talk with normal voices. The food was wonderful as usual. The spinach was not warm this visit - this has been our only complaint ever.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Fantastic Steak as always. Took my customers for a dinner. Service was out standing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was amazing, the view was amazing and Derek, our server, was incredible! This is a fantastic place for any and all speacial occasions where you have a need to impress.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Awesome as always. We love to come here because you cannot get a better steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always superb experience, consistently good food. Poked perfectly

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We've always had great food and the staff is exceptional.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We go to Ruth Chris's Steakhouse whenever we want to quietly celebrate an event. The atmosphere is elegant, the service is superb, and it's the best steak in the world.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was delicious, as always, and the service was outstanding, as always. We save Ruth's Chris for special occasions and we are always pleased.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We have found Ruth's Chris Steakhouses can vary from city to city. Jacksonville is fortunate the riverfront and Ponte Vedra locations are both among the very best. Our steaks were prepared to the highest standards. One of us ordered the Chilean sea bass to their delight. Side veggies were tasty and fresh. We dine out often and have never had better service than the team led by "Les." Next time we make reservations, I will insist on being seated at Les's table.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

A little dissapointed in the reception staff and front of the house manager. My wife and I were celebrating our 32nd anniversary . I requested a window seat and called the day of to confirm we were coming and our request. I even called again to let them know we were running few minutes late. When we arrived they informed me that they did not honor my request and had us wait for an alternate table which they scrambled to get and kindly decorated with rose pedals. The highlight was a guest who overheard the conversation and was seated at the window who saw the dissapointment sent us a bottle of wine.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Jeff is excellent and always does a great job. His back server also was point on.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

28th Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was great. Service was great. Parking suddenly a hassle after years of it being easy. Sitting at a parking exit gate on a cold night with no way to get gate up is not my idea of a great ending to a great meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

They did great this time, the wait was short. They had a table by a window like I asked. The waitress was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Simply put - OUTSTANDING as usual!!!

(You either get what I write or nothing next time.)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent service, great river view. Always quality menu. Enjoyed on several occasions, this time for 35th wedding aniversary

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent overall. Have been dining at this location ever since it opened. However, quality of the steak filets seems to have declined some from what they were 10 + yrs. ago ? different suppliers/vendors, different storage, different cutting etc. - still good but just not quite as tender as they were in the past & should be at these price points......Will still go but probably order something else next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Food and Service, pricey but that was expected. Worth every penny!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Two of the three meals were outstanding .... I had the bone-in 16 0z filet and 1/2 was very good but the other 1/2 had a lot fat for a filet .. I will not order again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

4 of the 5 had the petite sirloin. They were cooked to perfection as well as the vegetables. We have never gone wrong eating there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. The place to go on special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I ALWAYS have a great time and meal at Ruth Chris!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great food as usual. Loved the farmers salad and filet? Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Steak was awesome. Service is awesome. I don't know what else to say it was just great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Awesome as usual. Every time I dine at Ruth Chris Steak House it reminds me of how a real steak should taste. LarryM

Tags: Wood Oven, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a pleasure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This Ruth's Chris is managed and staffed with real professionals. Every detail to assure a fine dining experience is attended to. You can be assured that there is no better place in Jacksonville to enjoy a first class steak house experience. Be sure and request Matthew to be your server and then enjoy great service and food. Chef Justin has mastered how to prepare and serve every single dish perfectly. If you really want a treat that you will never forget, request his steak tartar when you place your reservation. His is the best I have ever enjoyed anywhere. Thanks to Eric, Bruce and Nick for keeping your restaurant to the very highest standards.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Organic, Authentic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The food was good and the service was as well. We went on a Monday so the place was pretty quiet when we arrived. They took care of my wife for her bday and made her feel appreciated. Overall it was a nice night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was great, the service impeccable the company was wonderful , just a great night all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.