About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville

1201 Riverplace Boulevard
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (904) 396-6200 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Jacksonville, FL serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Flagler

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-6200

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/jacksonville

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Jacksonville, FL - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking with validation. Valet parking available at hotel entrance for $6.00 fee.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Hayes: 9043966200x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville
Crab Cakes
Shrimp Cocktail
Iceberg Wedge Salad
Raspberry White Chocolate Cheese Cake
Seared Ahi Tuna
Spicy Lobster
Fresh Berries With Sweet Cream
Caesar Salad
Maine Lobster
Au Gratin Potatoes
Lamb Chops
strawberry chocolate cheesecake
Toasted Almond & Dark Chocolate Clusters
Green Bean Casserole
Filet & Shrimp
Sliders

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
6 More
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (72)
Scenic View (65)
Romantic (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Notable Wine List (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were overjoyed with our experience at ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were overjoyed with our experience at Ruth's Chris. From the greeting when we arrived to the good bye when we left, we spent several pleasant hours dining there. The highlight of the meal were the perfectly cooked almost fork tender steaks. We were seated by an overly happy table and our request to be moved was responded to in a perfectly professional manner. I barely felt the move and voila we were reseated. Thank you Ruth's Chris for a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Private Room, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food excellent as expected. Served too q ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food excellent as expected. Served too quickly, felt rushed. Seemed like they wanted to turn our table.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I sincerely appreciate the courtesy of t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I sincerely appreciate the courtesy of the chef making an appetizer that is no longer on the menu for me - crabtini - it's the best and I truly enjoy it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always the best!!!!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

As always the best!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, service was great. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was great, service was great. Very enjoyable dinner.

The hotel were the restaurant is located not so great. There were a couple of large receptions and parties going on in the hotels ball rooms and meeting rooms. Quite a few of the attendees were loud and obnoxious. The valet service has changed hands and service has gone down hill drastically.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter really was most excellent & m ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our waiter really was most excellent & made the whole meal even more spectacular!! Love the food, best steak I have ever eaten!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience for our anniversary ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful experience for our anniversary!! thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pricey. Not sure it was worth it. T ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Very pricey. Not sure it was worth it. There are other choices at a much better price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is usually pretty good but too hea ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food is usually pretty good but too heavy. Don't know why RC needs to rely on a stick of butter to make a good quality piece of meat taste good.

We got the 40 once porterhouse for 2 , a couple filets, calamari app, salads , mashed and au gratin potatoes and Brussels sprouts.

Again - super heavy on the sides. The sprouts - which we love - were soggy and bacon undercooked.

The steak was good. I had them get me a clean plate w/o the butter float.

The atmosphere is a bit stuffy at this location. The bar seems like a better place to have a meal.

So - for $400 for 4 - only 3 stars - sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Wonderful dinner. If possible ask for th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful dinner. If possible ask for the back dining room. While everywhere is wonderful the noise level in the back room is lower than the main dining area. But either way you can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and experience!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, service and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can always count on great food and s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

You can always count on great food and service at Ruth's Chris in Jacksonville. The staff are top notch and are always very professional and make you feel special. It's also nice to recognize familiar faces when we return. It's our go to place for special occasions for our family. The scenic view of the St. John's river is beautiful; the blue lights on the Main Street bridge and Everbank field is something we always enjoy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was perfection as was the servi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was perfection as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

There were three in our party. We dined ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

There were three in our party. We dined at the dowtown location. We all prefer our steaks rare, which is how we ordered them. The two filets were very rare (black and blue) but the rib-eye was raw and full of gristle. Not edible. Surprising, since we had quite a ling wait being served our entree, one would have thought they should have come out over done. The manager offered to cooked the steak longer, but we did not have the time. Salads and fries were good. Our previous visit to the Ponte Vedra location was much, much better!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Love my dinner every time I dine at Ruth ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love my dinner every time I dine at Ruth's Chris. They do such a nice job making each patron feel special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

"The service was phenomenal from the tim ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

"The service was phenomenal from the time we walked in until the time we left. Our server Lauren was very knowledgeable of the menu and gave great suggestions for dinner. It was a great view of the river, but I would have requested a seat closer to the window (if it was an option) when I made my reservation online. We received our food in a timely manner and the lobster macaroni and cheese was delicious. My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary and it was definitely an evening to remember."

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is what fine dining is all about! T ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is what fine dining is all about! The Ruth Chris Steak House team really understands the importance of providing their guests with superb service, outstanding food, and memorable experiences. This is our choice in Jacksonville for special occasions because of the consistent good food and personal service. We recently celebrated my wife's birthday here and the staff really made her feel special. I noted on the Opentable reservation note that we were celebrating her birthday. Upon our entry they wished her a "Happy Birthday". That's attention to detail! Even though the restaurant was quite busy for a Thursday evening, the waitstaff ensured we were enjoying our dining experience. The special dinner menu is a great value (salad, entree, desert). The 11 oz. tenderloin is fantastic! My wife chose the 8 oz. tenderloin Oscar style - Delicious! Wine service is excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my husband's and my second dini ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was my husband's and my second dining experience at a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. The first was part of a group with a pre-determined menu. This time we were able to order off the menu. The seasoned butter on the steaks is delicious and we were also very happy with the creamed spinach, cauliflower au gratin (although it could have been cut into smaller pieces), the ceasar salad and the corn chowder. My husband was disappointed in the lemonade. He felt that a restaurant of that stature could/should serve a fresh squeezed lemonade instead of a premixed Coke product.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service, great view! ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, great service, great view! What else do you need in a restaurant?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's Ruth's Chris... You really don't ne ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It's Ruth's Chris...

You really don't need a review, do you?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

In all the years we have been going to R ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

In all the years we have been going to Ruth Chris, we never had a bad meal or experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came to have dinner and to later see ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We came to have dinner and to later see the July 4th fireworks. We selected items from the menu that included salad, side dishes and a small dessert. The steaks were tender and excellent and all the other dishes were very good. We enjoyed watching the many boats on the river as they were positioning themselves to watch the fireworks later that evening. The meal service was perfect. Unless you have been there before, it's not an easy place to find... but it's worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and terrific service.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic food and terrific service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I started the meal with t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband and I started the meal with the stuffed mushrooms. I thought the crab meat was very strong to the point I was almost nauseated. My husband thought they were fine. I got a Cesar salad and was not impressed - lettuce was cut bite size but dressing was weak. I had the blackened salmon, not blackened, and it was great! The garlic mashed potatoes were great and helped calm my stomach from the crab meat. My husband had a 12 oz ribeye steak. He said it was so tender it almost didn't need chewing, but he wished I had seasoned it -something about the marble glaze wasn't setting well with him. We both took cheesecake home for later. The cheesecakes were very pretty to look at but were tasteless, bland. The crust and whipped topping overwhelmed any faint cheesecake taste there might have been. I would like to say that was the end of our experience with the Ruth Chris meal, however, it was just the beginning of a long indigestion, upset stomach night for my husband. He mainly thought the steak was the cause of his illness but due to my reaction to the crab stuffed mushrooms, he is not sure if it was the steak or the mushrooms. Overall, it was not anything like we expected from the supposed highest class restaurant in Jacksonville.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We asked for a table at the window and w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We asked for a table at the window and were readily accommodated. Service from Les was excellent as he accommodated our request to have a drink and appetizer and not order our food right away. He was always there at the right time. My husband likes a particular brand of scotch and we were surprised when we were told that it is not available. All in all a great experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very good. Rick, our wait ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything was very good. Rick, our waiter was most attentive and a great waiter.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This experience at Ruth's Chris in Jacks ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This experience at Ruth's Chris in Jacksonville was THE very best Ruth's Chris experience my husband and I have had at any location in 6 years. We have lived in various states along the East Coast and have chosen Ruth's Chris as our go-to spot for special occasions (birthdays, anniversaries). This was our first visit to the Jacksonville location, and every single encounter, from the valet and hostess to the wait staff and management, was professional, courteous, and dignified. Since I had indicated in the Open Table reservation that it was my husband's birthday, the restaurant had decorated our booth with confetti and a card signed by the staff--what a very special touch! Our wine, steaks, sides, and dessert were all prepared and cooked to perfection; nice ambiance and view of the river. I really can't expand or elaborate enough on how satisfying the meal, the experience, and the overall evening was. Highest marks on all accounts!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and fantastic service. I high ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great food and fantastic service. I highly recommend Matt. He has always taken great care of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very nice location with great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is a very nice location with great views!! The food isn't bad either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners I've ever had. D ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the best dinners I've ever had. Derrick our server was fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the service was o ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was amazing, the service was outstanding! Can't wait to be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Ruth's Chris is always a pleas ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Dining at Ruth's Chris is always a pleasure. It is always excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food and Service are usually excellent. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and Service are usually excellent. I was disappointed with the 16oz ribeye from the classics menu. It was very fatty over 1/4 of the steak and tough. I wonder if the classics menu gives a inferior product?

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

All 4 members of our party had their ste ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

All 4 members of our party had their steaks cooked to perfection. Our requested waiter, Jeremy Alverez, was superb. Best creme brûlée always served at Ruth's Chris. The whole experience was phenomenal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place needs a wine cellar. The red ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This place needs a wine cellar. The reds were served too warm. The wine list is extensive, but not all the wine is on-hand.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a great Father's Day meal and dining ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great Father's Day meal and dining experience as always. We had our usual server Brian, who is top notch. Would recommend him to anyone who makes a reservation there. Had the lobster Mac this evening along with our entrees. It was amazing. Great evening as always. Thanks !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fabulous like always

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was fabulous like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding steak!! Great service, View ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding steak!! Great service, View of downtown across the water was outstanding. Only objection is that the place was pricy. You should ask the value quesstion on your survey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

MY OPINION OF RUTH CHRIS IS POOR - THIS ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

MY OPINION OF RUTH CHRIS IS POOR - THIS OCCASION WAS ESPECIALLY BAD. MY STEAK WAS OVER PEPPERED & MY SHRIMP OVERCOOKED WITH ZERO FLAVOR. I WILL NOT BE GOING BACK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.