About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville

1201 Riverplace Boulevard
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (904) 396-6200 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Jacksonville, FL serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Flagler

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 396-6200

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Steak-House/7200/Jacksonville/Riverfront

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Jacksonville, FL - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking with validation. Valet parking available at hotel entrance for $6.00 fee.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Hayes: 9043966200x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
For over 50 years, we have perfected the steak house experience. Trust Ruth's to take care of Dad. It's all about a USDA prime cut of beef on our iconic 500° sizzling plate.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
5 More
Most Booked
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
Jacksonville
Best Service
Jacksonville
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

special occasion (62)
scenic view (54)
romantic (46)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
good for groups (23)
notable wine list (15)
vibrant bar scene (15)
neighborhood gem (8)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
728 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a VIEW

Dined 7 days ago

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The espresso dessert was amazing . The table was split on the 6oz steak with blue cheese one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly,

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and atmosphere!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great service and atmosphere!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Service and Food

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Steaks are always awesome along with the sweet potatoe casserole and Brussels sprouts. Our water Cesaer was engaging and attentive.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Steak and lobster were both top notch, a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Steak and lobster were both top notch, as usual. The service was a little slow; always stinks when you wait a good 10 minutes to get your check after your food has been boxed up.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak

Dined on May 4, 2016

My husdand took me to Ruths Chris for my 74 birthday. I ordered my steak with some pink in the middle not well done. The first one I tried was well done and dry. The second one was not dry but was still well done with no pink in the middle. The managment was very apolgetic regarding my steak. My husband also ordered a steak was he was very pleased with his. Overall the perience was very good. Our server was exceptional in attentiveness and knowlege of the menu.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was wonderful. The whole eve ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful. The whole evening was a nice experience again. Never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Impressed

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had some trouble finding the location as we did not know it was within the Double Tree Hotel. We were impressed the minute we walked in, starting with the hostesses, the view, the staff was impeccable ( they all knew their information well), the food was amazing down to the hottest temperature wise we had ever eaten, and it stayed that way until we finished. It was a wonderful experience. We heard about several locations around the country but had never had the opportunity to go to one. We were so glad we persevered in finding this location and will go again someday.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service5

I have been to many steak houses in my l ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

I have been to many steak houses in my life. I base my expectations on the price I pay. This was clearly not worth the price. The steak was drowned in butter and the brussel sprouts were swimming in it. I would never come back to this Ruth's Chris. I cannot speak for any others in the chain but can't imagine it would be any different. On a positive note, the steaks were cooked as ordered, service was very good and our seat looking out over the water was pleasant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Mathew was great as usual! Amazing seafo ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Mathew was great as usual! Amazing seafood tower with Alaskan King Crab legs!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service food and drinks were outstanding.

Dined on April 16, 2016

We came here for dinner with our family. Started in the bar with a few drinks and some apps. All amazing. Sat down at tour table and proceeded to enjoy a relaxed, fun, evening with great food and drinks. Our server was knowledgeable and kind. He was there when we needed him. Dessert and coffee to top off an amazing evening with my family. When the time is right we will be back again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service as always! Large portions

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great service as always! Large portions

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Ruth's Chris- An off night

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Steak was overcooked both times. It was also swimming in grease. Not the normal butter I have experienced in the past. Overall it was disappointing

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I've ever had in my life! Ha ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Best steak I've ever had in my life! Hands down.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic! Best steak ever!

Dined on March 23, 2016

Fantastic! Best steak ever!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

service

Dined on March 19, 2016

service was good was there for my 26 year annv. with my wife the waiter didn`t ask was our visit for anything special , but I heard him ask the other guess

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was top notch . I had Escargot f ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Service was top notch . I had Escargot for my appetizer and it was amazing. My food came out in a timely manner , excellent temperature and taste. Exceeded my expectations by far💯

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Predictable

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was good - not great. The service by Richard, our waiter, was disappointing and lackluster. Overall, it was not a bad experience, but there are better restaurants in Jacksonville.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was great. Food was excellent. ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Service was great. Food was excellent. View is very nice. If you're in downtown Jacksonville, I would highly recommend going to Ruth's Chris.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris never disappoints

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

We've dined at maybe half a dozen restaurants in the Ruth's Chris chain, and have never been less than very satisfied at the experience. The food and service are consistently excellent. This one offers a beautiful view of the St. Johns River and the Jacksonville downtown skyline in the bargain. Don't be afraid to try other things on the menu besides their signature steaks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

BEST NIGHT EVER!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

BEST NIGHT EVER!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dinning for pre-theater

Dined on February 19, 2016

We have dinned at Ruth's Chris Steak houses all over the Eastern US. Jacksonville FL's downtown location is by far one of the best. It has beautiful views overlooking the St. John's River. It's a perfect spot for special occasions and pre-theater dinning. This past Friday night, Feb 19, was one of our best meals ever. Server, Richard DeLong, took special care to make sure our pre-theater dinner was timely and perfect in every way. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have pre-symphony reservations this coming Saturday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the perfect place for special occasions

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I went to Ruth's Chris for our Valentine's Day date and it was very classy and lovely. From the time we walked through the door we were treated like royalty. The wait staff was awesome and the food was phenomenal. We will definitely be back :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Service

Dined on February 13, 2016

We've been to several Ruth's Chris restaurants and this is, by far, the best service we have received at any location.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Typical Ruth Chris experience. I was a l ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Typical Ruth Chris experience. I was a little unhappy with the brussels sprouts, and they had my steak a little too well done for me, but well within the range of edible

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Spot in Jacksonville

Dined on February 11, 2016

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, on the south bank of the St. Johns River in Jacksonville might be the best restaurant and value in the city. My wife and I went for an early Valentine's Day evening. We both ordered the Ruth's Chris "Classics" choice, which included a 6 oz. filet topped with 3 large prawns each. The "prix fixe" also included a terrific salad, one side and dessert. The filets were perfectly prepared, extremely tender and delicious. We shared a side of creamed spinach and probably the best "mac and cheese" we have had. The service was exceptional, as always. For under $100 for both of us, it was truly a meal to remember!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great view of the river

Dined on February 10, 2016

Great happy hour in the bar with specially priced drinks and appetizers. Amazing view of river from dining room. Servers are well trained and attentive. Prices great in bar and high in the dining room

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Great food & service offset by lousy seating

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Once we finally sat down at our THIRD table selection (which we insisted on), the rest of the evening went well. Even though we had a reservation, we were not lead to a "reserved" table when we were being seated. First table (for 4; only 2 of us) was by the kitchen entrance....we said "NO". Second table by the wait stand ... we said "NO". This is with several other tables for 4 and 2 in much more scenic locations. So we then insisted on a nice table for 2 by the window overlooking the river. Food was outstanding and service (after being seated) was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was absolutely incredible!!!

Dined on February 3, 2016

The servers were very attentive and exceeding my expectations. I was there for my anniversary and they had rose petals all over the table when we arrived. Little romantic touches like that make this place really special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

The crab cakes are the best when steak i ...

Dined on February 2, 2016

The crab cakes are the best when steak isn't what you have a taste for

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Rarity

Dined on January 31, 2016

My review is titled rarity, because dining at Ruths Chris Jacksonville Fl is an elegant exquisite, food experience that you rarely get these days..First, the views are lovely, right on St John's river, the lights at night are stunning. The moment you arrive you are greeted by name, escorted to your table., and shortly thereafter your waiter appears...always knowledgeable about menu, courteous,and efficient. Food is delicious and for those who are budget minded the "special" is delicious and filling. A manager almost always stops by to make sure you re happy. Trust me for a special occasion or just because you want to feel special go to Ruths in Jacksonville!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, food, and view. Not nearly as noisy

Dined on January 30, 2016

If you could drop your prices a little, we would be there once a week!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful place for a special occasion!!!

Dined on January 30, 2016

It was easy to enjoy Ruth Chris....from the hostesses to the waiters, they seem to want you to enjoy the food and the experience. We were celebrating my daughter's birthday: wish we had another birthday to celebrate next week!!! Those brussel sprouts....yummy....

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff the waiter service SUPERB

Dined on January 27, 2016

Jeff the waiter services was top of the line. He made my anniversary and birthday a very special one. Not one time did we have to request anything, he was always very tentative and always on point. I would highly recommend this fine place to all I know.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3

Very good business dinner. Steak was ove ...

Dined on January 26, 2016

Very good business dinner. Steak was over cooked.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always good

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Always good

food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was excellent, Jeremy is a gr ...

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Everything was excellent, Jeremy is a great waiter, first time we've had him, will definitely ask for him again. The only downfall was people bringing small children to the restaurant and letting them scream.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Steak was not prime and too much gristle ...

Dined on January 20, 2016

Steak was not prime and too much gristle. Chicken over cooked. Sides were good. Service was great. Not up to par with other Ruth Chris's.

food4
ambience4
service5

The service was amazing and the rose pet ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

The service was amazing and the rose petals that adorned the table celebrating our anniversary was amazing. This was topped by the card signed by all the staff. There was great teamwork the staff helped each other and everyone checked on us and made us feel like VIP. This was our first visit and we will return. Thank you Anthony for making our anniversary day one to remember! The Mills

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Ruth's Chris

Dined on January 16, 2016

We celebrate all occasions here. Birthdays, anniversaries and New Years Eve. Never have been disappointed. Amazing how their high standards never fail, even on busy New Year's Eve. Keep it up.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a wonderful birthday dinner!

Dined on January 16, 2016

My husband took me here for my birthday and the food was delicious. Our server/ waitress was excellent. We enjoyed our shrimp appetizer. For dinner we both ordered steaks, ribeye for him and New York strip for me. Both were soooo good and stayed hot throughout dinner thanks to the sizzling hot plates they were brought out on. We also enjoyed crab cakes, asparagus and au gratin potatoes. Oh my goodness I wish I was eating it all again right now! They even gave me a nice little dessert for my birthday.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.