About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville

Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Huntsville, Alabama, is conveniently located in the upscale Twickenham Square development. Whether you are looking for the perfect restaurant to enjoy a meal before a show or sporting event at the Von Braun Center, you are looking to unwind after a day on the links at one of the courses on the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail or you just want to celebrate a great day in the Rocket City, Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Huntsville is here to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience. Join us for our nightly happy hour in the bar and lounge areas, indulge in one of our impressive bone-in steaks or a fresh Maine lobster for dinner in the dining room or welcome your group in sizzling style to our private dining room that can accommodate up to 50 guests. With just one bite, you’ll quickly be reminded why Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top notch cuisine.

720 Gallatin St SW
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served Nightly:
4 PM – 10 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 539-3930

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/huntsville-al/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-huntsville-al/

Catering:
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth's Chris and treat your special guests to an unforgettable dining experience. Here you will find a wide array of information to help guide you through your event planning process at our restaurants located in metropolitan Atlanta, Birmingham and Huntsville, Alabama, and Columbia, Greenville, and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

It will be our pleasure to host your next party, meeting or banquet. To learn how, just visit us at: http://ruthschris.net/private-dining/

Parking Details:
Self Parking at Lunch,
Valet Parking at Dinner

Executive Chef:
Brian Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Want to be Mom’s favorite? Thank her for all that she does and treat her to a delicious Mother’s Day meal at Ruth’s Chris Steak House.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Located in downtown Huntsville, this restaurant will accommodate groups of up to 50 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Romantic (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Business Meals (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Private Room (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (5)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Cowboy ribeye was cooked to perfection and the garlic roasted mashed potatoes were on point! Cocktail shrimp came with a little more bite in the cocktail sauce but still delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere was excellent, the wait staff did a phenomenal job of explaining the menu and all of the different options. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The wine selection was good. Our waiter uparaded our desserts due to the special occasion. Will recommend to anyone, and we will return.
Garrick

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and ambiance were excellent, but the service left a lot to be desired. We had trouble being seated and it took slightly over a hour for us to get our food. Fortunately for us--we had the time for the long wait and a leisurely meal. On my next visit, hopefully we can be served in less than an hour.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Wait staff was very attentive and knowledgeable. Food was fresh and delicious. Portions were very generous. Will definitely return another time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The consistently incompetent service takes away from good (if overpriced) food. The wine list on the iPad is sluggish and hard to navigate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Sent my wife's steak back 3 times before they got it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was impeccable, the food was mouth watering, and the cocktails were intoxicating. As a couple with 2 teenage boys, this night alone was much needed. Ruth Chris was a perfect choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great birthday dinner. Fabulous food and service. Only one complaint they did not have some of the wines that were on the menu and end up with a second dinner wine that had a bite. The rest of the meal was perfect from the valet car park to the doggie bag we had for the 40 ounces Porterhouse to the lobster mac and cheese and cremains mushrooms. The bill was less than I expected and worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was perfect. We enjoy taking family to dinner as we travel. This was a lovely evening and I'd do it again next time.
Server was knowledgeable and could assist in wine selection as we as food preparation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Like the new location better than the old. The food, service, and atmosphere are excellent.
Tyler took great care of my wife and I on our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and service. All staff personnel were very courteous and attendant to the customers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Celebrated a birthday. First time visiting new location. Couldn't have had a better experience. The lobster mac and cheese is a must have. They have a set price for 3 course dinner, of which we had, and it was perfect. Steak was cooked perfectly and spinach side was excellent. Service was exceptional. We were there on a Tue evening and they were busy, but not crowded. Will return soon.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very nice place to eat. We were disappointed in one of the meals served. Meal was asked to be cooked well done and it was served cold. Very disappointed because this was a place for a business meal and my boss was not happy with his meal. We chose this place because we have had a great experience before. Very disappointing when you are trying to make sure your boss enjoys a good meal prior to engagements the next day. Had better luck at Connor's Steak House and Cotton Row. Not sure we will be back. Not trying to be rude but when you pay this kind of money for a First Class Restaurant you expect better. Thank you!

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our waiter was excellent, the food was perfect. The spring menu offered a bit better value than usual. You still don't expect to leave with a bill less than $100, but we pulled it off strategically. :)

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Exceptional (as always) food in a beautiful and convenient new location. We look forward to being regulars.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We came to dine at Ruth Chris for my husband's 40th birthday. It was absolutely amazing. Thank you the wonderful staff at Ruth Chris for making my husband's birthday a complete success!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

As ALWAYS this restaurant surpasses ALL others!! The portions are outstanding plenty to share! I It was my husband's 1st visit & he can't wait to go back. In fact WE have already decided what we are going to have when we go. Can't wait. We stayed @ the EMBASSY SUITES & we were TERRIBLY DISAPPOINTED in the service, the food, the room, just an OVERALL bad experience. It's ashame that you are no longer associated with them @ least we would have a a great dining experience if you were still affiliated with them. I

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Consistently excellent food and service.
Great new location with warm, inviting ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The bone-in filet is delectable! Service was excellent. What a great dinner :-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent food and service. Would recommend to any visiting guests/relatives for an unforgettable experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Excellent food and service for my wife's birthday dinner! We will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Normally I would not post anything negative but have eaten at Ruth's Chris several time and it was very good...
This last dinner my filet was a bit over cooked and I ordered medium...my husbands ribeye was extremely fatty....
Total cost of meal for 4 was $300 plus tip so would have hoped that our steaks would have been better... I'll give them another try:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I had an overall excellent experience. My waitress was very friendly and helpful as this was my first experience. My only issue was my steak was more on the burnt side than I cared for.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Ruth chaises is always a nice place to go. It's changed our downtown Huntsville. We love the food and service. Bar area is very nice and friendly. Wine selection is good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food here is second to none! You've GOT to try the Chilean Bass. It reminded me of the tender, flaky Bermuda Rockfish that I had while visiting that Beautiful island paradise!! Pair it with the creamed spinach and their sweet potato casserole. All to die for!!! I'd also recommend the lamb chops. The were tender and delicious!! The Virgin Pina Coladas were good too!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Some occasions call for an ostentatious display, such as taking your wife out on her birthday, and for such occasions, Ruth's Chris Huntsville is perfect. But Huntsville's local and regional establishments provide better value when it comes to serving exquisite food. I will say though that the service staff at Ruth's Chris Huntsville were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not worth the money. Good service. Food not so great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was my 4th visit to Ruths Chris in Huntsville---by far the worst I related my first 3 visits to my friends as a must eat experience. Waiters were all great but This last visit my family made was remarked on the way home as Western Sizzlin meal with ice cold mashed potatoes and worse service. We were disappointed to say the least. I am not one to complain, I just don't go back for more----but you ask

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The 22 oz ribeye prepared Pittsburg Style was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Ruth's Chris was an excellent dining experience: food, quality, service, cleanliness, and ambiance mixed with a business casual to elegant feel. They not only made us, but we could see the other guests, too, feel important. We noticed smiles throughout the restaurant. Our professional service team, Stephen and Sean, went above and beyond to make our first visit special. 5* Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was my first time going to Ruth Chris. I must say it was the best restaurant I have been to. Our server was very professional and explained the menu very well. I will be going back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First time ever going so I was excited. Complimentary Valet Parking was nice!!! There wasn't a wait because we had reservations so that was great! The server "Don" was so pleasant. He explained everything in great detail and he was patient while we decided what we wanted. My 1 lb loaded baked potato was DELICIOUS, my sweet tea was really good, my 16oz sirloin was okay.
My boyfriend had the T-bone and it was NOT GOOD, so he switched to the 16 oz sirloin and it was undercooked so he sent it back and when it was brought back out it was burned on the outside and tasted as such. He was brought out another potato but it had sour cream ( was supposed to be butter only) so he didn't eat it. We ordered 2 glasses of wine (Moscaot) and it was good, we also each had desert (round cheesecake) that was good. I love a good steak and don't mind paying for it but I must say that for $200.00 I wasn't satisfied. I'd rather eat from Longhorn (the cowboy steak) for half the money. And just fyi we did not take the food that we were dissatisfied with home, even though they offered to box it up for us. I wish it had been a better experience especially considering it was our first visit and it was Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Both my wife and my steak were over cooked. Waiter checked on us very infrequently. Desert to go was smashed into container upside down.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our waiter was excellent, personable, while professional and efficient

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

New location has a more upscale feel to it. Pricey, but steaks were and excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I came to eat for our anniversary and ordered 2 filet mignons, although they steak was good I have never heard of fat being on a filet. Both of our steaks had fat on them and for the money we spent we were both was very disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was excellent,the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The steaks were tender and cooked perfectly however the side dishes were sub-par and the bill was way overpriced for the overall quality of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and food! Bert was a great server!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Michelle was a great server. Food was excellent. Appetizer was spot on. The Ahi Tuna and BBQ shrimp was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went with my husband as part of date night. Steaks were perfectly cooked and staff was great. Delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.