About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville

720 Gallatin St SW
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Huntsville, Alabama, is conveniently located in the upscale Twickenham Square development. Whether you are looking for the perfect restaurant to enjoy a meal before a show or sporting event at the Von Braun Center, you are looking to unwind after a day on the links at one of the courses on the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail or you just want to celebrate a great day in the Rocket City, Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Huntsville is here to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience. Join us for our nightly happy hour in the bar and lounge areas, indulge in one of our impressive bone-in steaks or a fresh Maine lobster for dinner in the dining room or welcome your group in sizzling style to our private dining room that can accommodate up to 50 guests. With just one bite, you’ll quickly be reminded why Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top notch cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served Nightly:
4 PM – 10 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 539-3930

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/huntsville-al/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-huntsville-al/

Catering:
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth's Chris and treat your special guests to an unforgettable dining experience. Here you will find a wide array of information to help guide you through your event planning process at our restaurants located in metropolitan Atlanta, Birmingham and Huntsville, Alabama, and Columbia, Greenville, and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

It will be our pleasure to host your next party, meeting or banquet. To learn how, just visit us at: http://ruthschris.net/private-dining/

Parking Details:
Self Parking at Lunch,
Valet Parking at Dinner

Executive Chef:
Brian Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Located in downtown Huntsville, this restaurant will accommodate groups of up to 50 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Romantic (22)
Business Meals (21)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
497 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 16 hours ago

Excellent food and service for my wife's birthday dinner! We will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Normally I would not post anything negative but have eaten at Ruth's Chris several time and it was very good...

This last dinner my filet was a bit over cooked and I ordered medium...my husbands ribeye was extremely fatty....

Total cost of meal for 4 was $300 plus tip so would have hoped that our steaks would have been better... I'll give them another try:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

I had an overall excellent experience. My waitress was very friendly and helpful as this was my first experience. My only issue was my steak was more on the burnt side than I cared for.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Ruth chaises is always a nice place to go. It's changed our downtown Huntsville. We love the food and service. Bar area is very nice and friendly. Wine selection is good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food here is second to none! You've GOT to try the Chilean Bass. It reminded me of the tender, flaky Bermuda Rockfish that I had while visiting that Beautiful island paradise!! Pair it with the creamed spinach and their sweet potato casserole. All to die for!!! I'd also recommend the lamb chops. The were tender and delicious!! The Virgin Pina Coladas were good too!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Some occasions call for an ostentatious display, such as taking your wife out on her birthday, and for such occasions, Ruth's Chris Huntsville is perfect. But Huntsville's local and regional establishments provide better value when it comes to serving exquisite food. I will say though that the service staff at Ruth's Chris Huntsville were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not worth the money. Good service. Food not so great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was my 4th visit to Ruths Chris in Huntsville---by far the worst I related my first 3 visits to my friends as a must eat experience. Waiters were all great but This last visit my family made was remarked on the way home as Western Sizzlin meal with ice cold mashed potatoes and worse service. We were disappointed to say the least. I am not one to complain, I just don't go back for more----but you ask

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The 22 oz ribeye prepared Pittsburg Style was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Ruth's Chris was an excellent dining experience: food, quality, service, cleanliness, and ambiance mixed with a business casual to elegant feel. They not only made us, but we could see the other guests, too, feel important. We noticed smiles throughout the restaurant. Our professional service team, Stephen and Sean, went above and beyond to make our first visit special. 5* Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was my first time going to Ruth Chris. I must say it was the best restaurant I have been to. Our server was very professional and explained the menu very well. I will be going back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First time ever going so I was excited. Complimentary Valet Parking was nice!!! There wasn't a wait because we had reservations so that was great! The server "Don" was so pleasant. He explained everything in great detail and he was patient while we decided what we wanted. My 1 lb loaded baked potato was DELICIOUS, my sweet tea was really good, my 16oz sirloin was okay.

My boyfriend had the T-bone and it was NOT GOOD, so he switched to the 16 oz sirloin and it was undercooked so he sent it back and when it was brought back out it was burned on the outside and tasted as such. He was brought out another potato but it had sour cream ( was supposed to be butter only) so he didn't eat it. We ordered 2 glasses of wine (Moscaot) and it was good, we also each had desert (round cheesecake) that was good. I love a good steak and don't mind paying for it but I must say that for $200.00 I wasn't satisfied. I'd rather eat from Longhorn (the cowboy steak) for half the money. And just fyi we did not take the food that we were dissatisfied with home, even though they offered to box it up for us. I wish it had been a better experience especially considering it was our first visit and it was Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Both my wife and my steak were over cooked. Waiter checked on us very infrequently. Desert to go was smashed into container upside down.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

New location has a more upscale feel to it. Pricey, but steaks were and excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I came to eat for our anniversary and ordered 2 filet mignons, although they steak was good I have never heard of fat being on a filet. Both of our steaks had fat on them and for the money we spent we were both was very disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was excellent,the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The steaks were tender and cooked perfectly however the side dishes were sub-par and the bill was way overpriced for the overall quality of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and food! Bert was a great server!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Michelle was a great server. Food was excellent. Appetizer was spot on. The Ahi Tuna and BBQ shrimp was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went with my husband as part of date night. Steaks were perfectly cooked and staff was great. Delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was great, Maybe the best food at a Ruth Chris's ever. Much better than the old location in the Embassy Suites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Fabulous food and drink with impeccable service that you expect from Ruth Chris

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We came here for my girlfriend's birthday. The staff was fantastic. Our server, Burt was great! Very professional! Their new location is perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Pretty pricey and ala carte sides were smaller portions than represented as being, but waitstaff almost makes up for all that. Loved the cocktails but, again, too pricey ($13-15 ea drink) on balance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our waiter was Kevin and he made the experience. We enjoyed our food and the conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinner was exceptional, great steak and sides. Staff was polite and knowledgeable. New location and ambience was pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very nice dining experience. My wife and I usually dine there at least once a month. We truly enjoy ourselves each time we were there. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Relaxed and comfortable, good food and service

Light on iPad too bright

Had a good time

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Despite specific instructions, my husband's steak came out rare instead of medium, and our first order of potatoes lyon were only warm.

The steak was cooked some more and the manager brought fresh hot potatoes, but for the prices they charge this sort of thing shouldn't happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I made this reservation a several days in advance and the first table we were seated at was adjacent to the path to the kitchen. I asked the hostess to provide us one of the many open tables. While waiting for her to find us the table the waiter was smart enough to seat us at one of the many open tables in a better location. We never did hear from the hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in the bar and the value of the happy hour menu delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great experience! Wonderful food, and drinks. Atmosphere was delightful! Burt was our waiter for the evening, and did a fantastic job taking care of us alongside the rest of the team. Will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Once again we were please with the staff, service and food. Very good job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

LOVE this restaurant. Best Steak in town and best environment!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding food and service! The manager is awesome! New location gets two 👍🏼👍🏼

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Truly the best place to eat if you want the best food, best service, and best atmosphere. It is expensive but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Seated promptly, with reservation. Excellent waiter (Shaun). Steaks properly prepared, but not quite as tender as I would have wished. All staff were courteous and friendly, including parking valets. Would return, and recommend to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely love it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love the new location. I don't feel like I eating in a cafeteria like when it was in the Embassy Suites. The food is good as usual. I always eat a steak and never had a bad one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have eaten several times at Ruth Chris in the fairfax va and D.C. Area. And This Huntsville al restaurant cannot compare on any level. The service was mediocre and the interaction between the staff was apparently chaotic and lacked the typical professionalism. It did not exceed most upscale local Huntsville restaurants except for the food - once it arrived. I would say this restaurant does not meet typical RC standards and is therefore not worth the price when compared with their east coast Locations. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service, couldn't have ask for better. Food was fabulous and the desert was the best I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I usually love Ruth's Chris. It had been a while since we had been and we were looking forward to visiting in the new location. I had the cajun spiced salmon and my husband had the 16 oz ribeye. I remember being wowed by the entrees on my previous visits but there was nothing special about our food this time. It was just "ok."..maybe due to being busy on New Year's Eve? Was disappointed because we had looked forward to this visit. Service, ambience and everything else was superb. Our waiter was wonderful and very knowledgable. Just wish the food was a little more "special".

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice New Years meal! I would definitely recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Hostess was very friendly. Our Server was the best. Management (Steve) was spectacular, thanks for the mashed potatoes. Of course the food was amazing. We had a Hugeee evening. Thanks Ruth's Chris. We'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service! Excellent food! New location that is much better than when it was in the hotel.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Exceptional management, we were greeted and seated very close to our reservation time. Waited for our table at the bar and had the pleasure of interacting with two great bartenders, Cindy and Justin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We're longtime customers at the previous location which was convenient to civic center. By comparison, the new site is louder, much more crowded and has no place for incoming customers to wait. We had to wait standing for 20 minutes for our reserved table. Two of the three steaks we ordered had to be sent back because they were overcooked- never happened before! The server managed to be as helpful as possible in a difficult situation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We ordered well done lamb chops and had to send them back twice. Both times they returned the lamb chops they were medium rare. It was a frustrating experience. After the third time the lamb was finally prepared the way we requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Ruth's Chris never disappoints. From the calamari to the crème brulee, each course wowed; however, the perfect steaks were the star of the show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Steak was on the tough side - not what I would expect for a $65 8oz filet. Upcharged me $5 for getting 2 scoops of ice cream instead of the deserts which they had on the list. Attitude of the hostess not good. When leaving she asked "how was everything" - my reply was not real good and we would not be back - she simply said "ok" and did not seem to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was the first time that I have been to Ruth Chris steakhouse and this Huntsville Alabama location is very classy and elegant. I wanted to take my fiancee somewhere upscale and Ruth Chris steakhouse was that place. She loved it and was very pleased. Thanks for giving my fiancee and I a great evening of dinning. I recommend Ruth Chris steakhouse over any restaurant in Huntsville Alabama.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.