About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville

Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Huntsville, Alabama, is conveniently located in the upscale Twickenham Square development. Whether you are looking for the perfect restaurant to enjoy a meal before a show or sporting event at the Von Braun Center, you are looking to unwind after a day on the links at one of the courses on the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail or you just want to celebrate a great day in the Rocket City, Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Huntsville is here to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience. Join us for our nightly happy hour in the bar and lounge areas, indulge in one of our impressive bone-in steaks or a fresh Maine lobster for dinner in the dining room or welcome your group in sizzling style to our private dining room that can accommodate up to 50 guests. With just one bite, you’ll quickly be reminded why Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top notch cuisine.

720 Gallatin St SW
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served Nightly:
4 PM – 10 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 539-3930

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/huntsville-al/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-huntsville-al/

Catering:
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth's Chris and treat your special guests to an unforgettable dining experience. Here you will find a wide array of information to help guide you through your event planning process at our restaurants located in metropolitan Atlanta, Birmingham and Huntsville, Alabama, and Columbia, Greenville, and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

It will be our pleasure to host your next party, meeting or banquet. To learn how, just visit us at: http://ruthschris.net/private-dining/

Parking Details:
Self Parking at Lunch,
Valet Parking at Dinner

Executive Chef:
Brian Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Located in downtown Huntsville, this restaurant will accommodate groups of up to 50 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Romantic (18)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Business Meals (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Private Room (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Father's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious and service was great!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to Ruth's Chris in the past on multiple occasions so I hope this was just a bad night but my steak (ordered medium) was well done And my potatoes were dry. Our server didn't offer or bring us bread (we had to ask). When I asked for a particular martini they have had in the past I was told they were out. I understand that completely, it happens. When I suggested another flavor (which I have also had before), my waiter said "that wouldn't taste good" without consulting the bartender. Finally, I absolutely hate the new location on Galatin. The tables are packed in very tightly and it's very loud. The old location was more intimate.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Everything about the restaurant was great! The food was prepared exceptionally good. The service was perfect! the waiter was attentive without being annoying. The seating arrangement allowed for conversation without engaging the table next to you. The cocktails were prepared perfect. The selections were good as well. Huntsville should be standing in line for this restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Solid as always. As good a prime

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Went for a special occasion, our anniversary. The food was very good; the filet was excellent. Our service was excellent, and we really enjoyed the experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The atmosphere, food and service was outstanding. It would have been nice to have a more romantic table location but was very nice.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We arrived on time for our reservation and after our bread arrived… the power went out and the fire alarm went off. After waiting an hour for them to try and get both fixed people began leaving. The manager no joke was catching people at the door and adding up their drinks and trying to get their credit card numbers to make them pay for $10 in drinks after ruining their entire nights.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food and great drinks. Best for special occasions. Too expensive and caloric for everyday meals.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service is worth returning for, but the food was good also.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fun, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our waiter Keith was exceptional and very attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very disappointed. Sent veggies back twice and were still not to our like. Steaks, nothing special, no flavor. Very overpriced!!!! We will return to Connors for our special occasion. Service was great,but you have to back it with good food

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Burt explained the menu, specials, etc. & did a great job taking care of us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Truly our favorite date spot in Huntsville. It is expensive, but this is definitely a scenario where you get what you pay for.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and service. Stephen Ryberg made sure we were taken very good care of and Tyler did a most excellent job waiting on us. Great night.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The dinner, service and ambiance were superb, as expected! I had the Chilean Sea Bass and my date had a chicken dish and we shared an order of fried onion rings. All were fabulous!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great as usual. Good service and excellent food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Steaks were fine, but none were cooked correctly. Med-Rare was actually rare, everything else was cooked medium, even though the were orders of medium-well and well-done. I certainly understand the difficulty in cooking a thick steak well-done but in other restaurants they have offered to butterfly it when this was a problem. Regardless, the dining experience overall was not bad but for the price I expected better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service and food was impeccable. It's great to see a staff focused on every detail to ensure an unforgettable dining experience. My wife and I will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

When I spend a $150 for a meal I expect everything to be exceptional. Expecially when I'm there for a special occasion. Yet what we got for our 9th anniversary was, the wrong cut of meat from what was ordered, never got my drink, and the manager walked around and spoke to every table except ours. If you like the feeling of being judged, this is the place for you. If you want a better experience go to any other steak house or, go to Costco and purchase your own meat and having a pleasant evening at home. I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food. Good drinks. Service was great. One of the top high end restaurants in Huntsville.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Had a wonderful time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Exceptional service. Outstanding sides. Steaks very good but no better than any other high end restaurant they just cost more....

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Filet and lobster...lobster was great but filet was not tender....overall service was very slow....

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This food was very disappointing. Happy hour appetizers were not well made. French fries were not good , ordered again yet not good. Onion rings were excellent. Lamb chops had too too much fat on it, were not cooked on high heat to drop off the fat. Very disappointed. Have been there 5-6 times in last four months but this was the worst experience. Wine and drinks were good. I am sorry to write this way but ...

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The main waitress was not very responsive with keeping my unsweetened tea filled, and maybe checked on us three to four times during our meal. The other staff made the experience great. The food was good but not great like I have experience in the past at Ruth's Chris

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Cowboy ribeye was cooked to perfection and the garlic roasted mashed potatoes were on point! Cocktail shrimp came with a little more bite in the cocktail sauce but still delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The atmosphere was excellent, the wait staff did a phenomenal job of explaining the menu and all of the different options. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The wine selection was good. Our waiter uparaded our desserts due to the special occasion. Will recommend to anyone, and we will return.
Garrick

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I've been to many Ruth's Chris restaurants and for some reason my steak during my visit was subpar. Very unlike any other Ruth's Chris I've been too. I'm hoping this was just due to a poor cut of meat this specific evening. Our waiter was excellent which somewhat made up for the filet

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great service and the Ravioli was excellent. Go early to enjoy the quiet time. It can get tight and noisy quickly after 7

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and ambiance were excellent, but the service left a lot to be desired. We had trouble being seated and it took slightly over a hour for us to get our food. Fortunately for us--we had the time for the long wait and a leisurely meal. On my next visit, hopefully we can be served in less than an hour.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Wait staff was very attentive and knowledgeable. Food was fresh and delicious. Portions were very generous. Will definitely return another time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The consistently incompetent service takes away from good (if overpriced) food. The wine list on the iPad is sluggish and hard to navigate.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Sent my wife's steak back 3 times before they got it right.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was impeccable, the food was mouth watering, and the cocktails were intoxicating. As a couple with 2 teenage boys, this night alone was much needed. Ruth Chris was a perfect choice.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great birthday dinner. Fabulous food and service. Only one complaint they did not have some of the wines that were on the menu and end up with a second dinner wine that had a bite. The rest of the meal was perfect from the valet car park to the doggie bag we had for the 40 ounces Porterhouse to the lobster mac and cheese and cremains mushrooms. The bill was less than I expected and worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was perfect. We enjoy taking family to dinner as we travel. This was a lovely evening and I'd do it again next time.
Server was knowledgeable and could assist in wine selection as we as food preparation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Like the new location better than the old. The food, service, and atmosphere are excellent.
Tyler took great care of my wife and I on our anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and service. All staff personnel were very courteous and attendant to the customers.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Celebrated a birthday. First time visiting new location. Couldn't have had a better experience. The lobster mac and cheese is a must have. They have a set price for 3 course dinner, of which we had, and it was perfect. Steak was cooked perfectly and spinach side was excellent. Service was exceptional. We were there on a Tue evening and they were busy, but not crowded. Will return soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.