About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville

800 Monroe Street
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Huntsville, Alabama is situated in the lobby of the Embassy Suites conveniently located in downtown Huntsville adjacent to the Von Braun Center - the city's arena and concert hall. Vibrant reds and golds predominate the steakhouse dining room and complement the design of the open atrium Embassy Suites Hotel and Spa. Ruth's Chris' expansive terrace overlooks alluring Big Spring Park and provides opportunities for outdoor dining respites, weather permitting. Private dining rooms offer a variety of event options for 10 to 300 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Served Daily: 11 AM – 3 PM

Dinner Served Nightly:
Sunday – Thursday 3 PM – 10 PM
Friday – Saturday 3 PM – 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 539-3930

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/huntsville-al/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-huntsville-al/

Catering:
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth's Chris and treat your special guests to an unforgettable dining experience. Here you will find a wide array of information to help guide you through your event planning process at our restaurants located in metropolitan Atlanta, Birmingham and Huntsville, Alabama, and Columbia, Greenville, and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

It will be our pleasure to host your next party, meeting or banquet. To learn how, just visit us at: http://ruthschris.net/private-dining/

Parking Details:
Self Parking at Lunch,
Valet Parking at Dinner

Executive Chef:
Jesse Peplow

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
  • Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Located in downtown Huntsville, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-300 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
Best Service
Huntsville
4 More
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

special occasion (43)
romantic (26)
notable wine list (17)
See All
good for groups (15)
fit for foodies (14)
great for lunch (11)
great for brunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
scenic view (3)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the place I'll be coming back to ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is the place I'll be coming back to for my birthday dinner!!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We (four of us) enjoyed everything and h ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We (four of us) enjoyed everything and had a great time. Only distraction for me (the payee) was that the waiter was not forthcoming as to menu. I wanted my wife to have a steak and the associated fries and a serving of brocalli. She received enough brocalli for the entire table @ $9.00. I would have surely been more satisfied for her to have the Cesar salad which was $3.00. I personally ordered a side salad @ $7:00 and would also have been happy with the cesar salad. The waiter was not helpful in this regard

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always Ruth Chris in Huntsville deliv ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always Ruth Chris in Huntsville delivered quality food and exceptional service. Highly recommend for any special occasion dinner with the family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my husband's 70th birthday, (wh ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was my husband's 70th birthday, (which i noted on the online reservation). The hostess did tell him Happy Birthday, but she was the only one. Not even a discount, a free dessert, or anything for this special occasion, like other restaurants do.

We did tell the waiter we wanted medium well filet, and only just a little pink in it. He suggested butterfly which is what happened. It was way over done, but we did not tell the waiter this.

But even around the edges was burnt, to the point you could not eat it.

We have been to the one in Nashville, and it was perfect.

The meal just costs way too much for what you get.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Our waiter Brandon was Awesome! Itwas ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waiter Brandon was Awesome! Itwas my birthday and itwas very romantic and nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Ruth Chris, the sta ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

First time dining at Ruth Chris, the staff was very friendly and had great recommendations. I will definitely be dining here again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent although a bit pr ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was excellent although a bit pricey. We were celebrating our anniversary so we were prepared for the prices. The wine was great. The sides were exceptional and large enough for sharing.

We will be back but for special occasionsonly.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The atmosphere was wonderful as my husba ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The atmosphere was wonderful as my husband and I enjoyed our date together. The service was on point. We have everything we needed in a timely manner. The steak was perfectly cooked as well as the lamb. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from Don P. and support st ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great service from Don P. and support staff . Excellent filets and large shareable sides. Options a plenty with special requests considered. Have visited many times both as individuals and part of groups for both lunch and dinner. Top shelf dining to be enjoyed leisurely. Expectations always met.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. Always ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. Always have. We also love where it is in Embassy Suites. Lovely restaurant and lovely people serving.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girlfriend and I dine here once a month, ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Girlfriend and I dine here once a month, steaks have been perfect until our last visit. Ordered my T-Bone Medium Rare came out close to medium well. Everybody has an off night every now and then, we will absolutely be back next month for our regular dinner, service from Burt is always outstanding!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

It's okay maybe if you are staying in th ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It's okay maybe if you are staying in the hotel. Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Service excellent, atmosphere excellent, ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Service excellent, atmosphere excellent, very pricy, steaks were VERY overcooked to the point of being charred. The rest of the food was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I enjoy dining at Ruth's Chris restauran ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I enjoy dining at Ruth's Chris restaurants all over the world. This one consistently lacks in attentive service with the exception of just a very small group of their servers. I like a nice non-rushing feel but when you wait forever to just get your beverages and have to ask an assistant to get them or wave down a server its ridiculous. This has happened on several occasions. For the price it is the service level definitely needs to be stepped up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

My wife and I went for lunch for our fir ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I went for lunch for our first Ruth's Chris experience, celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. We were pleasantly welcomed and seated at an excellent table, which was private enough that we seemed to be the only guests there. I lost count of the number of people coming to the table to greet us, to provide services and to ensure our first time was up to their excellent standards. The manager and Jessicah assisted us with our orders and were both very attentive. We each started with a salad and chose the Luncheon Filet with fries. The salads were quickly provided and after we'd finished, the entrees were brought sizzling. They were perfectly cooked and were fork tender. I always get my steaks more well done than does my wife, but her's looked so good, I tried it and it, as the saying goes, 'melted in my mouth'.

When we mentioned to the manager the occasion, he offered to provide a dessert on him which was very nice. We had already decided on what we wanted for desert so we each ordered a different one, intending to pay for one. My wife ordered Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake and I ordered the Warm Apple Crumb Tart. When those were brought to the table, I could not believe them. Each one could have easily be shared among FOUR people and couldn't have been any better and great presentation! We agreed it would be worth the trip just for the desserts! I don't understand how anyone choosing Ruth's Chris would be allowed to have a unfavorable experience. We were unable to finish our entrees or desserts so took them home. We at them the next day and they were still excellent!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occasion(s)

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We were celebrating several occasions all at once due to our busy schedules lately and this was the perfect place to do just that! My company had given this dinner to me as a sort of bonus so it was a great evening to just relax and be pampered.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been going to Ruth's since 1969 in New O ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Been going to Ruth's since 1969 in New Orleans. Knew her well. Best steaks anywhere. I always get the fillet. Wish they still had gumbo.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding see dishes for diners who pr ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Outstanding see dishes for diners who prefer veggies. Lamb chops are wonderful for meat lovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was awesome. Tried the special Br ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Steak was awesome. Tried the special Brussel sprouts and they were tough. Reordered and they were tough again. Also the first bread was really hard. Second bread was good

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Michelle was very attentive waitress. S ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Michelle was very attentive waitress. She made sure we were served in a timely manner as we were attending a concert after our dinner date.

Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

For the pricepoint, not what I expected

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Let me say that it wasn't a bad meal. It's just that for the price, it's not what I was expecting. I made reservations via OpenTable a month in advance. When we arrived, there was a 15 minute wait to be seated. We were told it was because a large party had just unexpectedly arrived. Well... that's the point of a reservation. So that your expected guests have their table waiting for them.

The meal was ok. My wife's steak, thank god, was the best she had ever had. I agree, her new york strip was very tasty. My ribeye, while it was good, was not anything I couldn't have cooked at home. The cut was about on par with what I get at Star Market, granted, the meat selection there is very good.

It wasn't a bad meal, but I've had better in Huntsville at half the cost.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

As always, superb food and service! Our ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

As always, superb food and service! Our server was great as well as the food. We had a party of 13 and it was all wonderful as we would have expected.

My birthday dinner was fantastic!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great and the food wa ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The atmosphere was great and the food was excellent

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great dining experience.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A special menu for Mother's Day was a great value. As always the service adds a "touch of elegance". The cocktail menu is top notch. Another wonderful Ruth's Chris experience!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Way over priced

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was excellent and ambiance was good; however, the food quality was mediocre at best. Their signature spinach dish was not very good at all. Eating at my home would have been a better option this Mothers day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Sevice was wonderful, food was delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Sevice was wonderful, food was delicious- as always, we so thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth Chris Fan

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Consistently good; a little slow in serving drinks. Otherwise, absolutely NO complaints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, good service

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our night out. The highlights of the meal were the fried oysters and the porterhouse for two. The oysters were perfectly cooked, and huge! The porterhouse was massive and way too much for two people to eat. It should be the porterhouse for four!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Ruth Chris bye

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Always have excellent meals here and their fried oysters are one of our favorite appetizers. Were able to split the cobb salad to make room for the salmon and sea bass which were both piping hot and well prepared. The sweet potato casserole was a side and dessert in one. My wife loves dining here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The last time we went to Ruth Chris we h ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The last time we went to Ruth Chris we had poor service. This time the service was even worse. We will not be back. We grew accustom to top notch service but this location has gone downhill fast. The host was rude and seemed very uninterested in seating us according to our reservation. Took forever to get service and our food. We were only one of about 4 tables eating. The manager seemed like he was high on something. Didn't make sense trying to explain to him the issues with his staff. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great Place for Business Meeting

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

When we arrived, our table was prepared and waiting. The waiter did no pressure us to order, Burt came around quite often to see if there was anything we needed - drinks, appetizers, etc. He was available after we concluded our business meeting for ordering salads and entrees. Service was excellent and the food was also. I would recommend this restaurant for a great business meeting place.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent choice. The experience was awesome!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Could not have asked for better service.

Kind, congenial and professional.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

My girlfriend and I dine here about once a month, so far the steaks have been perfect! The wine list is solid, and probably the highlight of every trip is Burt's outstanding service, we always request for him to be our server!! The french press coffee is also a must mention, some of the best we've ever had, desserts are also very good!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our 7th visit to this Ruth's Chris and it was the best yet. The food was absolutely wonderful and we like the new menu. The service and atmosphere were outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want a great steak, you have to t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

If you want a great steak, you have to try Ruth Chris. A bit pricey but worth the taste. The sides are great too, I had a petite steak with roasted brussel sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Convenient location within the hotel. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Convenient location within the hotel. We were able to get a table quickly and the staff was extremely friendly and attentive. My filet mignon was very disappointing - stringy with gristle and fat. My companion's selection of the medallions was also sub par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great as always

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was not a good visit. Usually every ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

This was not a good visit. Usually everything is 5 star. The food took forever to come out. My husband's entree was wrong and took entirely too long to correct.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Great food... Ok service.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

I've always loved Ruth's Chris and thought of it as a place for important dates, like my wife's birthday. The food was absolutely amazing, no complaints whatsoever. However, in the hour and a half we were there I think we saw our waitress maybe 3 times. We spent a lot of time waiting even just for our check! Unfortunately we had to get our dessert to go, which by the way was amazing. I'm kinda upset about the service because it wasn't really busy at all. I'd go again for sure. I would just hope to have better service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

great place for lunch

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

My friends and I enjoy meeting at Ruth's Chris at least once or twice a year to catch up with each other, see some retirees, see friends who have gone on to other jobs, etc., and Ruth's Chris is the PERFECT place to do all of this. The lunch menu has a great variety and is priced well. Portion sizes are good, too. Each person always enjoys his or her food. The atmosphere is great for our gathering. We will continue to meet and eat at Ruth's Chris!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.