About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville

800 Monroe Street
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Huntsville, Alabama is situated in the lobby of the Embassy Suites conveniently located in downtown Huntsville adjacent to the Von Braun Center - the city's arena and concert hall. Vibrant reds and golds predominate the steakhouse dining room and complement the design of the open atrium Embassy Suites Hotel and Spa. Ruth's Chris' expansive terrace overlooks alluring Big Spring Park and provides opportunities for outdoor dining respites, weather permitting. Private dining rooms offer a variety of event options for 10 to 300 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Served Daily: 11 AM – 3 PM

Dinner Served Nightly:
Sunday – Thursday 3 PM – 10 PM
Friday – Saturday 3 PM – 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 539-3930

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/huntsville-al/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-huntsville-al/

Catering:
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth's Chris and treat your special guests to an unforgettable dining experience. Here you will find a wide array of information to help guide you through your event planning process at our restaurants located in metropolitan Atlanta, Birmingham and Huntsville, Alabama, and Columbia, Greenville, and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

It will be our pleasure to host your next party, meeting or banquet. To learn how, just visit us at: http://ruthschris.net/private-dining/

Parking Details:
Self Parking at Lunch,
Valet Parking at Dinner

Executive Chef:
Jesse Peplow

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Located in downtown Huntsville, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-300 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
Best Service
Huntsville
5 More
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Romantic
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (9)
See All
Great for Lunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been to several Ruth Chris locati ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I have been to several Ruth Chris locations across the country and this one is at the bottom of the list. I was unimpressed with the service, the ambiance, and the ribeye I had was tasteless and tough.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Good food but service was way too slow.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Good food but service was way too slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was good,but the ipad menu made ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was good,but the ipad menu made me feel like I was eating at Applebee's. Decor was outdated and the restaurant was empty at 6:00 on a Saturday night. Bill came to $350 ...no problem with the amount ...just didn't feel it match the product provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

A bit too slow. Employees need to get ba ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

A bit too slow.

Employees need to get back to the office...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Service was incredibly POOR. My water g ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was incredibly POOR. My water glass was empty for over 20 minutes, and had to ask the Hostess, at the front desk, to get more water. The "Manager" came out and "Looked at us" but never approached us until I pressed the issue further. Ruby Tuesday's has better service than "Ruth's Chris" pitiful....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We had a great first time experience, th ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a great first time experience, the open table reservations was the best way to reserve our table. The food and service Was wonderful. Thanks to all who made our anniversary special .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was not bad. Filets were a little tou ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was not bad. Filets were a little tough compared to other chris' i have been to.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good service. Food was really good. We w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good service. Food was really good. We were celebrating 3 b'days that the server failed to acknowledge.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The steak and lobster tail were good. H ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The steak and lobster tail were good. However, the creamed spinach and mashed potatoes had no flavor whatsoever. I had to add salt to them to even know there was something in my mouth. In previous reviews, this problem with lack of flavor has already been stated. It appears that the Ruth's Chris manager reads these reviews and apologizes for the lack of flavor, but does not have the power to change the recipes to add flavor. In addition, the waitress had a severe case of bad breath which was not very appetizing. My wife and I, however, did receive a free cheesecake ($9.50 value) for our anniversary. The total bill was $190 for two meals and a bottle of wine including a $20 tip. I seriously doubt I would ever return to Ruth's Chris. It is a regular restaurant with subpar food and outrageous prices. Next time, we will go to Outback Steakhouse and save ourselves $125.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The salad was good. The service was exce ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The salad was good. The service was excellent .The steak was excellent .Our side dish was the cauliflower with cheese sauce and not very good.Neither my wife or I cared for it.Our desert was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This is the place I'll be coming back to ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is the place I'll be coming back to for my birthday dinner!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We (four of us) enjoyed everything and h ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We (four of us) enjoyed everything and had a great time. Only distraction for me (the payee) was that the waiter was not forthcoming as to menu. I wanted my wife to have a steak and the associated fries and a serving of brocalli. She received enough brocalli for the entire table @ $9.00. I would have surely been more satisfied for her to have the Cesar salad which was $3.00. I personally ordered a side salad @ $7:00 and would also have been happy with the cesar salad. The waiter was not helpful in this regard

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always Ruth Chris in Huntsville deliv ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always Ruth Chris in Huntsville delivered quality food and exceptional service. Highly recommend for any special occasion dinner with the family.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my husband's 70th birthday, (wh ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was my husband's 70th birthday, (which i noted on the online reservation). The hostess did tell him Happy Birthday, but she was the only one. Not even a discount, a free dessert, or anything for this special occasion, like other restaurants do.

We did tell the waiter we wanted medium well filet, and only just a little pink in it. He suggested butterfly which is what happened. It was way over done, but we did not tell the waiter this.

But even around the edges was burnt, to the point you could not eat it.

We have been to the one in Nashville, and it was perfect.

The meal just costs way too much for what you get.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Our waiter Brandon was Awesome! Itwas ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waiter Brandon was Awesome! Itwas my birthday and itwas very romantic and nice.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Ruth Chris, the sta ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

First time dining at Ruth Chris, the staff was very friendly and had great recommendations. I will definitely be dining here again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent although a bit pr ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was excellent although a bit pricey. We were celebrating our anniversary so we were prepared for the prices. The wine was great. The sides were exceptional and large enough for sharing.

We will be back but for special occasionsonly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The atmosphere was wonderful as my husba ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The atmosphere was wonderful as my husband and I enjoyed our date together. The service was on point. We have everything we needed in a timely manner. The steak was perfectly cooked as well as the lamb. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from Don P. and support st ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great service from Don P. and support staff . Excellent filets and large shareable sides. Options a plenty with special requests considered. Have visited many times both as individuals and part of groups for both lunch and dinner. Top shelf dining to be enjoyed leisurely. Expectations always met.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. Always ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. Always have. We also love where it is in Embassy Suites. Lovely restaurant and lovely people serving.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girlfriend and I dine here once a month, ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Girlfriend and I dine here once a month, steaks have been perfect until our last visit. Ordered my T-Bone Medium Rare came out close to medium well. Everybody has an off night every now and then, we will absolutely be back next month for our regular dinner, service from Burt is always outstanding!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

It's okay maybe if you are staying in th ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It's okay maybe if you are staying in the hotel. Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Service excellent, atmosphere excellent, ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Service excellent, atmosphere excellent, very pricy, steaks were VERY overcooked to the point of being charred. The rest of the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I enjoy dining at Ruth's Chris restauran ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I enjoy dining at Ruth's Chris restaurants all over the world. This one consistently lacks in attentive service with the exception of just a very small group of their servers. I like a nice non-rushing feel but when you wait forever to just get your beverages and have to ask an assistant to get them or wave down a server its ridiculous. This has happened on several occasions. For the price it is the service level definitely needs to be stepped up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

My wife and I went for lunch for our fir ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I went for lunch for our first Ruth's Chris experience, celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. We were pleasantly welcomed and seated at an excellent table, which was private enough that we seemed to be the only guests there. I lost count of the number of people coming to the table to greet us, to provide services and to ensure our first time was up to their excellent standards. The manager and Jessicah assisted us with our orders and were both very attentive. We each started with a salad and chose the Luncheon Filet with fries. The salads were quickly provided and after we'd finished, the entrees were brought sizzling. They were perfectly cooked and were fork tender. I always get my steaks more well done than does my wife, but her's looked so good, I tried it and it, as the saying goes, 'melted in my mouth'.

When we mentioned to the manager the occasion, he offered to provide a dessert on him which was very nice. We had already decided on what we wanted for desert so we each ordered a different one, intending to pay for one. My wife ordered Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake and I ordered the Warm Apple Crumb Tart. When those were brought to the table, I could not believe them. Each one could have easily be shared among FOUR people and couldn't have been any better and great presentation! We agreed it would be worth the trip just for the desserts! I don't understand how anyone choosing Ruth's Chris would be allowed to have a unfavorable experience. We were unable to finish our entrees or desserts so took them home. We at them the next day and they were still excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occasion(s)

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We were celebrating several occasions all at once due to our busy schedules lately and this was the perfect place to do just that! My company had given this dinner to me as a sort of bonus so it was a great evening to just relax and be pampered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been going to Ruth's since 1969 in New O ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Been going to Ruth's since 1969 in New Orleans. Knew her well. Best steaks anywhere. I always get the fillet. Wish they still had gumbo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding see dishes for diners who pr ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Outstanding see dishes for diners who prefer veggies. Lamb chops are wonderful for meat lovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was awesome. Tried the special Br ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Steak was awesome. Tried the special Brussel sprouts and they were tough. Reordered and they were tough again. Also the first bread was really hard. Second bread was good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Michelle was very attentive waitress. S ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Michelle was very attentive waitress. She made sure we were served in a timely manner as we were attending a concert after our dinner date.

Thanks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

For the pricepoint, not what I expected

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Let me say that it wasn't a bad meal. It's just that for the price, it's not what I was expecting. I made reservations via OpenTable a month in advance. When we arrived, there was a 15 minute wait to be seated. We were told it was because a large party had just unexpectedly arrived. Well... that's the point of a reservation. So that your expected guests have their table waiting for them.

The meal was ok. My wife's steak, thank god, was the best she had ever had. I agree, her new york strip was very tasty. My ribeye, while it was good, was not anything I couldn't have cooked at home. The cut was about on par with what I get at Star Market, granted, the meat selection there is very good.

It wasn't a bad meal, but I've had better in Huntsville at half the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

As always, superb food and service! Our ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

As always, superb food and service! Our server was great as well as the food. We had a party of 13 and it was all wonderful as we would have expected.

My birthday dinner was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great and the food wa ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The atmosphere was great and the food was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great dining experience.

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A special menu for Mother's Day was a great value. As always the service adds a "touch of elegance". The cocktail menu is top notch. Another wonderful Ruth's Chris experience!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Way over priced

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was excellent and ambiance was good; however, the food quality was mediocre at best. Their signature spinach dish was not very good at all. Eating at my home would have been a better option this Mothers day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Sevice was wonderful, food was delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Sevice was wonderful, food was delicious- as always, we so thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth Chris Fan

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Consistently good; a little slow in serving drinks. Otherwise, absolutely NO complaints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, good service

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our night out. The highlights of the meal were the fried oysters and the porterhouse for two. The oysters were perfectly cooked, and huge! The porterhouse was massive and way too much for two people to eat. It should be the porterhouse for four!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Ruth Chris bye

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Always have excellent meals here and their fried oysters are one of our favorite appetizers. Were able to split the cobb salad to make room for the salmon and sea bass which were both piping hot and well prepared. The sweet potato casserole was a side and dessert in one. My wife loves dining here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The last time we went to Ruth Chris we h ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The last time we went to Ruth Chris we had poor service. This time the service was even worse. We will not be back. We grew accustom to top notch service but this location has gone downhill fast. The host was rude and seemed very uninterested in seating us according to our reservation. Took forever to get service and our food. We were only one of about 4 tables eating. The manager seemed like he was high on something. Didn't make sense trying to explain to him the issues with his staff. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.