About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville

Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Huntsville, Alabama, is conveniently located in the upscale Twickenham Square development. Whether you are looking for the perfect restaurant to enjoy a meal before a show or sporting event at the Von Braun Center, you are looking to unwind after a day on the links at one of the courses on the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail or you just want to celebrate a great day in the Rocket City, Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Huntsville is here to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience. Join us for our nightly happy hour in the bar and lounge areas, indulge in one of our impressive bone-in steaks or a fresh Maine lobster for dinner in the dining room or welcome your group in sizzling style to our private dining room that can accommodate up to 50 guests. With just one bite, you’ll quickly be reminded why Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top notch cuisine.

720 Gallatin St SW
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served Nightly:
4 PM – 10 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 539-3930

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/huntsville-al/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-huntsville-al/

Catering:
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth's Chris and treat your special guests to an unforgettable dining experience. Here you will find a wide array of information to help guide you through your event planning process at our restaurants located in metropolitan Atlanta, Birmingham and Huntsville, Alabama, and Columbia, Greenville, and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

It will be our pleasure to host your next party, meeting or banquet. To learn how, just visit us at: http://ruthschris.net/private-dining/

Parking Details:
Self Parking at Lunch,
Valet Parking at Dinner

Executive Chef:
Brian Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville, Huntsville, AL

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Located in downtown Huntsville, this restaurant will accommodate groups of up to 50 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Business Meals (13)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (2)
Casual (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

LOVE this restaurant. Best Steak in tow ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

LOVE this restaurant. Best Steak in town and best environment!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service! The manage ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding food and service! The manager is awesome! New location gets two 👍🏼👍🏼

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly the best place to eat if you want ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Truly the best place to eat if you want the best food, best service, and best atmosphere. It is expensive but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seated promptly, with reservation. Excel ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Seated promptly, with reservation. Excellent waiter (Shaun). Steaks properly prepared, but not quite as tender as I would have wished. All staff were courteous and friendly, including parking valets. Would return, and recommend to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely love it!!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely love it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the new location. I don't feel lik ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love the new location. I don't feel like I eating in a cafeteria like when it was in the Embassy Suites. The food is good as usual. I always eat a steak and never had a bad one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten several times at Ruth Chris ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have eaten several times at Ruth Chris in the fairfax va and D.C. Area. And This Huntsville al restaurant cannot compare on any level. The service was mediocre and the interaction between the staff was apparently chaotic and lacked the typical professionalism. It did not exceed most upscale local Huntsville restaurants except for the food - once it arrived. I would say this restaurant does not meet typical RC standards and is therefore not worth the price when compared with their east coast Locations. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Great service, couldn't have ask for bet ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service, couldn't have ask for better. Food was fabulous and the desert was the best I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I usually love Ruth's Chris. It had bee ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I usually love Ruth's Chris. It had been a while since we had been and we were looking forward to visiting in the new location. I had the cajun spiced salmon and my husband had the 16 oz ribeye. I remember being wowed by the entrees on my previous visits but there was nothing special about our food this time. It was just "ok."..maybe due to being busy on New Year's Eve? Was disappointed because we had looked forward to this visit. Service, ambience and everything else was superb. Our waiter was wonderful and very knowledgable. Just wish the food was a little more "special".

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice New Years meal! I would defin ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice New Years meal! I would definitely recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Hostess was very friendly. Our Serve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Hostess was very friendly. Our Server was the best. Management (Steve) was spectacular, thanks for the mashed potatoes. Of course the food was amazing. We had a Hugeee evening. Thanks Ruth's Chris. We'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great service! Excellent food! New locat ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service! Excellent food! New location that is much better than when it was in the hotel.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional management, we were greeted ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Exceptional management, we were greeted and seated very close to our reservation time. Waited for our table at the bar and had the pleasure of interacting with two great bartenders, Cindy and Justin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We're longtime customers at the previous ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We're longtime customers at the previous location which was convenient to civic center. By comparison, the new site is louder, much more crowded and has no place for incoming customers to wait. We had to wait standing for 20 minutes for our reserved table. Two of the three steaks we ordered had to be sent back because they were overcooked- never happened before! The server managed to be as helpful as possible in a difficult situation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

We ordered well done lamb chops and had ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We ordered well done lamb chops and had to send them back twice. Both times they returned the lamb chops they were medium rare. It was a frustrating experience. After the third time the lamb was finally prepared the way we requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Ruth's Chris never disappoints. From the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Ruth's Chris never disappoints. From the calamari to the crème brulee, each course wowed; however, the perfect steaks were the star of the show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was on the tough side - not what I ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Steak was on the tough side - not what I would expect for a $65 8oz filet. Upcharged me $5 for getting 2 scoops of ice cream instead of the deserts which they had on the list. Attitude of the hostess not good. When leaving she asked "how was everything" - my reply was not real good and we would not be back - she simply said "ok" and did not seem to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

This was the first time that I have been ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was the first time that I have been to Ruth Chris steakhouse and this Huntsville Alabama location is very classy and elegant. I wanted to take my fiancee somewhere upscale and Ruth Chris steakhouse was that place. She loved it and was very pleased. Thanks for giving my fiancee and I a great evening of dinning. I recommend Ruth Chris steakhouse over any restaurant in Huntsville Alabama.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New location doesn't have the space and ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 20, 2016

New location doesn't have the space and ambiance of the old one but service staff same and happy hour was nice. Booths are crowded in bar and would not recommend more that four persons otherwise someone will be sitting in aisle.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Ruth Chris was just what we were looking ...

 
 (México)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Ruth Chris was just what we were looking for after a weary flight. We found a table at the bar and enjoyed the same menu as the fine dining room. The staff was competent and the food hit the spot! Love this place.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was great as usual but service was ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was great as usual but service was very slow to poor. Realizing that slow is nice for casual dining but this was too slow. e.g. Drinks were delivered just in time for the main course. The place was very busy due to the Christmas season and service must have been very stretched. Also, due to crowd, noise was excessive so forget ambiance and strained to hear table conversation. Restaurant should have an area set aside for quiet dining, especially away from the bar area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

Absolutely wonderful experience. Will ma ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience. Will make this an annual Christmas experience in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time at the new locati ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was my first time at the new location. We were seated in the large back room which felt more like a conference setting. Request a table in the front part of the restaurant. My salad and 12 oz filet were excellent. I would leave five stars for the food if not for my side dish being cold. Again, my steak was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great service. Everything arrived at th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great service. Everything arrived at the correct time but not overly stuffy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The new location is wonderful.

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The new location is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Love the new location...great atmosphere ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Love the new location...great atmosphere and bar area is on point...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server Kevin was excellent. To pay as ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My server Kevin was excellent. To pay as much for the food as you do it should be outstanding but my Filet was not good at all. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Sea bass was cooked incorrectly TWICE. L ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Sea bass was cooked incorrectly TWICE. Lobster bisque was much too thin and hardly any lobster...for the price I got nothing . Steak was medium rare but very difficult to cut. Shoukd have been like butter. Loved the oscar topping was fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

We went to the new location of the resta ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We went to the new location of the restaurant on Gallatin/St. Clair Streets. I can appreciate wanting to have its own space but this one is relatively cramped and less cozy and intimate than the one it occupied at Embassy Suites Hotel. Also, we were late for our reservation at 6:00 p.m. because we don't live in Huntsville and were not aware that the restaurant had moved. (We also did not receive a reservation confirmation call like we have prior to past visits.)

We had a young, less experienced server than we have had at other visits and the service was OK but not quite as smooth as before. As always, the cost of the dinner was outrageously high, but my husband requested dinner there for his birthday and we had purchased gift cards at Costco prior to our visit. I wish there were more vegetable/vegetarian options, especially for the pris fixe dinners which only offered two types of potatoes and creamed spinach as side choices.

With all that said, the farmer's salad and sea bass I had were wonderful and the vegetables which came with it were good, if a little too oily. My husband had the 12 oz. ribeye with fingerling potatoes from the pris fixe menu. We had an apple cinnamon cheesecake and dark chocolate almond bark for dessert and really enjoyed those, as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a wonderful dining experience. Ou ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Our server, Ali, was very helpful and friendly. Thank you very much.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was great with a very nice atmo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was great with a very nice atmosphere and an excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was outstanding

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food and service was outstanding

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks tasted great, appropriately cut, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Steaks tasted great, appropriately cut, and cooked to order. The new location feels like a real restaurant rather than being part of the hotel lobby at the old location. They should add more booths and turn down the lights more for dinner to enhance the "steakhouse" ambience. They should also replace the few booths in the main dining room - as they are more appropriate in a fast food restaurant. We had pre-dinner cocktails - no complaints. Service was speedy, efficient, and pleasant. Only critique(s) on service (not the actual people) would be - don't give customers an iPad as a menu. Quit making the staff ask customers why they came in. It's obvious- to eat. I get they're trying to engage the customer, but we were asked the same question 3 times. These are minor issues. We'll be back soon.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We are very happy with the new location. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We are very happy with the new location. The atmosphere is much better than in the middle of a hotel. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't know what happened when Ruth Chr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I don't know what happened when Ruth Chris relocated from the Embassy Suites to downtown Huntsville. The wait staff definitely was not paying attention detail. We had to keep requesting things twice (i.e. a spoon for the gravy). I had the lamb chops and asked they be cooked well. Well they were bleeding. The dish went back to the kitchen three times and by the last time the bone was black as a thousand midnights and the center overcook. The manager did comp our meal but the only thing we found good at Ruth Chris on Thanksgiving evening were the cocktails.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Keith was our waiter and he was outstand ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Keith was our waiter and he was outstanding! The entire staff was very professional and handled the crowd in very fine fashion.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New location in Huntsville has an ambian ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 24, 2016

New location in Huntsville has an ambiance that is very average - nothing special at all. From the bar or adjoining dining room, you get to look on on the street and apartments across the street. The dining chairs are adequately comfortable, but unattractive. The new booths have a very cheap-looking fabric. The food (Thanksgiving) was average. The sides were called "single sides" and were much smaller than normal Ruth's Chris sides. In order to share with a loved on, one would have to purchase an additional side. We enjoy Ruth's Chris steaks, but this new location is below average for Ruth's Chris.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Love the new location of Ruth Chris Hunt ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Love the new location of Ruth Chris Huntsville. Staff and Management are top notch!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've had better steaks at Logans Roadhou ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I've had better steaks at Logans Roadhouse. Ordered the steak medium and it arrived blackened and hockey puck tough.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Excellent decor at new Huntsville locati ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent decor at new Huntsville location. Food was delicious and service was outstanding. Highly recommend for business or date night.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.