About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville

800 Monroe Street
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Huntsville, Alabama is situated in the lobby of the Embassy Suites conveniently located in downtown Huntsville adjacent to the Von Braun Center - the city's arena and concert hall. Vibrant reds and golds predominate the steakhouse dining room and complement the design of the open atrium Embassy Suites Hotel and Spa. Ruth's Chris' expansive terrace overlooks alluring Big Spring Park and provides opportunities for outdoor dining respites, weather permitting. Private dining rooms offer a variety of event options for 10 to 300 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Served Daily: 11 AM – 3 PM

Dinner Served Nightly:
Sunday – Thursday 3 PM – 10 PM
Friday – Saturday 3 PM – 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 539-3930

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/huntsville-al/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-huntsville-al/

Catering:
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth's Chris and treat your special guests to an unforgettable dining experience. Here you will find a wide array of information to help guide you through your event planning process at our restaurants located in metropolitan Atlanta, Birmingham and Huntsville, Alabama, and Columbia, Greenville, and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

It will be our pleasure to host your next party, meeting or banquet. To learn how, just visit us at: http://ruthschris.net/private-dining/

Parking Details:
Self Parking at Lunch,
Valet Parking at Dinner

Executive Chef:
Jesse Peplow

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate Dad in sizzling style. Show him how much you care and celebrate Father’s Day at Ruth’s Chris Steak House.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Located in downtown Huntsville, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-300 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
Best Service
Huntsville
5 More
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Romantic
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

special occasion (51)
romantic (29)
good for groups (19)
See All
great for lunch (17)
notable wine list (16)
fit for foodies (15)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been going to Ruth's since 1969 in New O ...

Dined 6 days ago

Been going to Ruth's since 1969 in New Orleans. Knew her well. Best steaks anywhere. I always get the fillet. Wish they still had gumbo.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding see dishes for diners who pr ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Outstanding see dishes for diners who prefer veggies. Lamb chops are wonderful for meat lovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Steak was awesome. Tried the special Br ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Steak was awesome. Tried the special Brussel sprouts and they were tough. Reordered and they were tough again. Also the first bread was really hard. Second bread was good

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Michelle was very attentive waitress. S ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Michelle was very attentive waitress. She made sure we were served in a timely manner as we were attending a concert after our dinner date. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

For the pricepoint, not what I expected

Dined on May 13, 2016

Let me say that it wasn't a bad meal. It's just that for the price, it's not what I was expecting. I made reservations via OpenTable a month in advance. When we arrived, there was a 15 minute wait to be seated. We were told it was because a large party had just unexpectedly arrived. Well... that's the point of a reservation. So that your expected guests have their table waiting for them. The meal was ok. My wife's steak, thank god, was the best she had ever had. I agree, her new york strip was very tasty. My ribeye, while it was good, was not anything I couldn't have cooked at home. The cut was about on par with what I get at Star Market, granted, the meat selection there is very good. It wasn't a bad meal, but I've had better in Huntsville at half the cost.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, superb food and service! Our ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

As always, superb food and service! Our server was great as well as the food. We had a party of 13 and it was all wonderful as we would have expected. My birthday dinner was fantastic!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere was great and the food wa ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The atmosphere was great and the food was excellent

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great dining experience.

Dined on May 8, 2016

A special menu for Mother's Day was a great value. As always the service adds a "touch of elegance". The cocktail menu is top notch. Another wonderful Ruth's Chris experience!!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Way over priced

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was excellent and ambiance was good; however, the food quality was mediocre at best. Their signature spinach dish was not very good at all. Eating at my home would have been a better option this Mothers day.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sevice was wonderful, food was delicious ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Sevice was wonderful, food was delicious- as always, we so thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth Chris Fan

Dined on May 1, 2016

Consistently good; a little slow in serving drinks. Otherwise, absolutely NO complaints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food, good service

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our night out. The highlights of the meal were the fried oysters and the porterhouse for two. The oysters were perfectly cooked, and huge! The porterhouse was massive and way too much for two people to eat. It should be the porterhouse for four!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ruth Chris bye

Dined on April 16, 2016

Always have excellent meals here and their fried oysters are one of our favorite appetizers. Were able to split the cobb salad to make room for the salmon and sea bass which were both piping hot and well prepared. The sweet potato casserole was a side and dessert in one. My wife loves dining here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

The last time we went to Ruth Chris we h ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The last time we went to Ruth Chris we had poor service. This time the service was even worse. We will not be back. We grew accustom to top notch service but this location has gone downhill fast. The host was rude and seemed very uninterested in seating us according to our reservation. Took forever to get service and our food. We were only one of about 4 tables eating. The manager seemed like he was high on something. Didn't make sense trying to explain to him the issues with his staff. Very disappointed

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place for Business Meeting

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

When we arrived, our table was prepared and waiting. The waiter did no pressure us to order, Burt came around quite often to see if there was anything we needed - drinks, appetizers, etc. He was available after we concluded our business meeting for ordering salads and entrees. Service was excellent and the food was also. I would recommend this restaurant for a great business meeting place.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice. The experience was awesome!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Could not have asked for better service. Kind, congenial and professional.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service

Dined on April 4, 2016

My girlfriend and I dine here about once a month, so far the steaks have been perfect! The wine list is solid, and probably the highlight of every trip is Burt's outstanding service, we always request for him to be our server!! The french press coffee is also a must mention, some of the best we've ever had, desserts are also very good!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Evening!

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our 7th visit to this Ruth's Chris and it was the best yet. The food was absolutely wonderful and we like the new menu. The service and atmosphere were outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

If you want a great steak, you have to t ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

If you want a great steak, you have to try Ruth Chris. A bit pricey but worth the taste. The sides are great too, I had a petite steak with roasted brussel sprouts.

food2
ambience2
service3

Convenient location within the hotel. We ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Convenient location within the hotel. We were able to get a table quickly and the staff was extremely friendly and attentive. My filet mignon was very disappointing - stringy with gristle and fat. My companion's selection of the medallions was also sub par.

food1
ambience4
service2

This was not a good visit. Usually every ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

This was not a good visit. Usually everything is 5 star. The food took forever to come out. My husband's entree was wrong and took entirely too long to correct.

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great food... Ok service.

Dined on February 26, 2016

I've always loved Ruth's Chris and thought of it as a place for important dates, like my wife's birthday. The food was absolutely amazing, no complaints whatsoever. However, in the hour and a half we were there I think we saw our waitress maybe 3 times. We spent a lot of time waiting even just for our check! Unfortunately we had to get our dessert to go, which by the way was amazing. I'm kinda upset about the service because it wasn't really busy at all. I'd go again for sure. I would just hope to have better service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great place for lunch

Dined on February 23, 2016

My friends and I enjoy meeting at Ruth's Chris at least once or twice a year to catch up with each other, see some retirees, see friends who have gone on to other jobs, etc., and Ruth's Chris is the PERFECT place to do all of this. The lunch menu has a great variety and is priced well. Portion sizes are good, too. Each person always enjoys his or her food. The atmosphere is great for our gathering. We will continue to meet and eat at Ruth's Chris!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Just wasn't what I thought it would be.

Dined on February 16, 2016

The steak wasn't as good as I thought it would be. They over-cooked it, but I was so nervous I forgot to send it back. The steamed broccoli was not impressive, and the bisque is not even as good as Connor's. I probably came on a bad night, because everyone else seems to love this place. I wasn't impressed at the quality for the prices they charge. The atmosphere is nice though.

food5
ambience4
service2
value1

Over charging ruined my experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

I was billed for several items that I did not order. It was my first visit and I was told that it was an expensive place so rather than embarrass myself by scrubbing the receipt at the table, I paid went home. The next day I discovered I had over $50 in charges for food and drink I hadn't received. It would seem that a good waiter might have double checked the receipt seeing as he knew exactly what I ordered.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The price you pay in this restaurant you ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The price you pay in this restaurant you could be better value for your money going elsewhere. I've eaten in a lot of different steakhouses around the nation and I wasn't to impressed with the steak. The sides were excellent though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Customer Service

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food is just as good as any Ruth Chris but what separates Huntsville from the other's is the customer service. Best customer service in Huntsville. I always enjoy my visits.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Expected much better at that price range

Dined on February 14, 2016

- On the plus side, the service was excellent. However, -Side dishes were on par with something you would get at a waffle house or similar. -Salads were on par with a standard budget chain restaurant such as Chili's or similar. -Ribeye steak was very good quality and was cooked perfectly. However, without the creamy horse radish sauce it lacked flavor. It appeared to have been cooked on a flat top grille FWIW. - Scallops were good but not great. -Presentation of all dishes was relatively generic. Scallops were presented a little better. In general, overpriced and no real reason to go back. Location and view were not good. If this restaurant were not in a major Hotel it would probably not get much traffic in my opinion. In comparison to "The Bottle" or "Cotton Row", also in downtown Huntsville and similarly priced, Ruth's Cris is not even close.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great night

Dined on February 14, 2016

went for valentines burt has been our waiter before we love him he is very attentive food is always great people friendly and very helpful with my handicapped husband. great friendly atmoshphere our favorite steak house

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

A pleasant evening

Dined on February 14, 2016

A very pleasant evening. Don't think the 12oz filet will be the best you've ever had, unless it's your first ever. Excellent service and overall a great atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great service - Bland food

Dined on February 13, 2016

The service is exactly what you would expect at a restaurant of this class. The food however was flavorless and boring. Season the food with actual spices. Having to put table salt and table pepper on my steak which cost $40 for 16 ounces just so it had some flavor on it is not something I feel is worth the experience, time or money.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Total Enjoyment

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our first time eating at Ruth's Chris...we were celebrating Valentine's Day. Our dinner was Amazing! Everything they brought out tasted great and were in huge servings. The scenery was nice, the noise level was low, the service was fantastic and the atmosphere was so relaxing. We can truly say the entire visit was "Total Enjoyment".

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food good; experience better

Dined on February 13, 2016

We arrived a few minutes early for our reservation at 8:30pm the Friday preceding Valentine's Day. We were seated about 9pm, which was a little disappointing despite the very busy weekend I'm sure they were experiencing. The food was good, but not as good as the last few times we have eaten here. Both my steak and my wife's steak, which we ordered as medium, were burned on some of the edges. The remainder of the steak was excellent, but neither of us finished our steak -- and both left a little disappointed with that aspect. The waiter was outstanding, and gave an excellent wine recommendation and handled my wife's food allergies very well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Very Good

Dined on February 13, 2016

great food as always, a Ruths Chris steak is very very good. we had a reservation and were seated early. the food was excellent as was the ambience. the only draw back for me was the service - painfully slow. the young lady who was our server was polite but there were delays at every stage of our dinner and overall the visit could have been so much better had it not been for the slow service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Lunch time is a little disappointing

Dined on February 12, 2016

The lunch time steaks we ordered were not the flavor and quality that we have been used to at dinner time at Ruth's Chris and the crab cake was fishy. The server seemed to work hard but was a little forgetful, especially since there was hardly anybody in the restaurant at 2:30pm.

food4
ambience2
service5
value2

our anniversary

Dined on February 7, 2016

We came in for our 20th anniversary and had a wonderful time! Our waiter Chris was the best and made our night wonderful. Only thing was we did not get our desserts that came with our special. He did however bring us one to share but would have rather had our own that came with our special.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my son's birthday! Great service ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

It was my son's birthday! Great service and food!!

food4
ambience5
service5

Food good. Hostess seemed a little unpre ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Food good. Hostess seemed a little unprepared. Told her we had a reservation but she didn't look for it. She asked for my phone number and I told her it was on the reservation. Then she was like "oh!"

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Anniversary Meal

Dined on January 31, 2016

For quite some time, my wife and I had talked about going to Ruth's Chris for a meal, and after our first attempt was cancelled by the weather, we would not be hindered! We imagined all sorts of wonderful things about the meals we would have, and they were far above everything we could have ever expected! We told our waitress, Michelle, that we are already making plans for our next meal with Ruth's Chris! Our meals, the salads, and the desserts were wonderful, and we were able to take our time and to talk to each other at our leisure! We will be back, and I have already told many of our friends how great the Ruth's Chris experience was for us!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal as always. Don was a great ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Fabulous meal as always. Don was a great server and made great reservations. Wallace and D'amonte were also great. Desserts were over the top.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.