About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville

Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Huntsville, Alabama, is conveniently located in the upscale Twickenham Square development. Whether you are looking for the perfect restaurant to enjoy a meal before a show or sporting event at the Von Braun Center, you are looking to unwind after a day on the links at one of the courses on the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail or you just want to celebrate a great day in the Rocket City, Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Huntsville is here to provide you with an unforgettable dining experience. Join us for our nightly happy hour in the bar and lounge areas, indulge in one of our impressive bone-in steaks or a fresh Maine lobster for dinner in the dining room or welcome your group in sizzling style to our private dining room that can accommodate up to 50 guests. With just one bite, you’ll quickly be reminded why Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top notch cuisine.

720 Gallatin St SW
Huntsville, AL 35801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served Nightly:
4 PM – 10 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 539-3930

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/huntsville-al/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-huntsville-al/

Catering:
Experience the sensation of private dining at Ruth's Chris and treat your special guests to an unforgettable dining experience. Here you will find a wide array of information to help guide you through your event planning process at our restaurants located in metropolitan Atlanta, Birmingham and Huntsville, Alabama, and Columbia, Greenville, and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

It will be our pleasure to host your next party, meeting or banquet. To learn how, just visit us at: http://ruthschris.net/private-dining/

Executive Chef:
Brian Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Specials

Ruth’s Happy Hour @ the Bar

Special valid Oct 17, 2017 - Feb 17, 2018 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Ruth’s Happy Hour @ the Bar

Special valid Oct 17, 2017 - Feb 17, 2018 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us for Ruth’s Sizzle, Swizzle & Swirl Happy Hour and experience Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. Visit http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-huntsville-al/ to view the menu or to learn more. Excludes Tax and Tip. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM. Take out orders are not available. Special valid Oct 17, 2017 - Feb 17, 2018 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Let Ruth’s Chris take the stress out of Thanksgiving. Enjoy a traditional turkey feast (Adults: $39.95 | Children: $12.95) or celebrate in sizzling style and order from our award-winning menu.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Kick off the holidays in sizzling style. Celebrate the season with friends and family at Ruth’s Chris Steak House this Christmas Eve.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Give yourself the gift of a stress free Christmas, with dinner at Ruth’s Chris. Open Christmas Day, our sizzling steaks are sure to become your new favorite holiday tradition.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Celebrate New Year’s Eve with dinner at Ruth’s Chris Steak House. Enjoy our festive Steak & Lobster feature alongside a glass of bubbly and ring in 2018 in sizzling style.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Located in downtown Huntsville, this restaurant will accommodate groups of up to 50 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Huntsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Romantic (23)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Family gathering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Waiter was excellent. Food was delicious. Will definitely plan another outing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We were looking forward to visiting a Ruth Chris steak house for awhile. We were in Huntsville Alabama for a special occasion in thought it would be a great opportunity. We were underwhelmed by the decor. It had a weird vibe and nothing you would expect at a steak house.
We started with cocktails at the bar. Drinks were so so and the glasses did not correspond to the drinks in them.
We were then seated in the dining room and were approached by our wait person, who was very helpful and made suggestions as to what to order. One appetizer we ordered was crab cakes. They were, I don't even know how to describe them. I expected a sautéed cake but what we got was a almost steamed, no flavor crab cake. Very dissatisfied with flavorless presentation.
For our entree, my wife had a filet with blue cheese (nothing to write home about) and I had a cowboy steak (total failure). Steak had no taste, no grill marks or outer sear. Was not happy with what we were served.
Finally, I ordered a double espresso and was served a product that was like water. I could see the bottom of the cup through the liquid.
Hated the whole experience. One thing that stands out is there was a cigarette butt that remained on the dining room floor the whole time we were there. Plain sight, we noticed as soon as we were seated, but no one seemed to care or rectify.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Superb, attentive but not overbearing service. Exceptional steaks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Both me and my wife have no complaints with service, food or drinks at all. Upon making the reservation she was overlooking the website and menu and noticed no hats as far as the dress code. So during our 12 year anniversary dining at Ruth Chris's restaurant several male customers were wearing ball caps thought it was very unprofessional, as it clearly states online and at the front door upon entry! rules are rules.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

We have eaten at Ruth Chris in Huntsville 4 times now. The first 3 times were when it was located in the Embassy Hotel and we did prefer the more private experience there compared to the very open seating at the new location. Very loud. At the previous location there were a number of semi private booths with high back walls that ensured a more private experience than the totally open floor plan we experienced at the new location. The food and service were still excellent but it you are looking for a more quiet and intimate dinner I would not recommend the current set up.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Enjoyed a nice evening with my best friend!xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was the best. Timing of courses was right on.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2017

They were out of scallops and the beer my husband wanted. He was pretty disappointed as he was looking forward to those two things but was okay with what he ended up ordering. Very pricey but overall good for occasions.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This visit was a bit of a disappointment. My husband ordered lobster bisque. Some time later he was told there wasn't any. This is a staple item on the menu and you're out of it by 6:30 on a Sat night? The seafood gumbo offered in place of the bisque was average. The steaks, however, were excellent, as always.

The extremely casual dress code surprised me. Ripped and torn blue jeans, cut off shorts, tee shirts, and flip flops is the type of attire I associate with McDonald's, not Ruth's Chris.

The sweet potato casserole is still the best ever.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

My wife and I ate there this past weekend. I will say this was my first time eating at Ruth Chris, and i definitely was not disappointed. The food was amazing as was our waiter Don. he was extremely helpful and very attentive but not over bearing. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Seated promptly upon arrival by Ileah, who was very gracious. Tyler was our server an he was friendly and helpful.
Had a shrimp cocktail appetizer and the shrimp were excellent.
My wife and I both ordered steak and hers was cooked correctly. I ordered medium rare and it came out medium to medium well in spots. Tyler offered to have another steak prepared for me, but that really disrupts the meal for others. I opted to eat the steak served and it was disappointing.
We also ordered onion rings and they did not come out with the steaks. I had to remind the server and they finally came out halfway through the meal.
Overall, it was a bit disappointing since we've eaten here before and always had excellent experiences. This was supposed to be a special night, it was our 47th anniversary, but it didn't turn out that way.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

It took a while to be seated, even though I had a reservation, but not overly excessive. This was my first visit so I had high expectations (based on reviews from friends). The food was ok, but nothing to brag about.....especially for the price. The ambiance made the experience much better.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

When you go to a STEAK HOUSE get the STEAK! This restaurant does not disappoint in any catehory!!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Dined because of Restaurant week's special menu and prices but there were RC specials as well only $5 more with more choices. Seafood Gumbo was almost as good as NO. Salmon was just flakey, done perfectly. Wife's filet was melt in your mouth and crab fried rice and au gratin potatoes were hot and a wonderful compliment. Had to take dessert home and it was still delicious warmed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our dinner was absolutely great. Petite filet was melted in the mouth. Service was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food as always was good. Main server was rude. The second sever (server helper) was kind and helpful. She should have been the head server. We will go back because the food is good and this has never happened before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great date night. Service could have been better, but it wasn't terrible. Food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Restaurant week fixed prix, $40. Service outstanding, steak filet over tasty.I

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Perfect place for my parents's anniversary dinner. My brothers and I planned a celebration for my parents to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary. We wanted the best place in Huntsville. My Dad is very much a "meat and potatoes" man and doesn't want a "fru fru" type dinner. The food we had was PERFECT for all of us. The best part of the evening was the service from Ryan. He did a phenominal job of being so attentive but also allowed us our privacy. It was definitely a perfect evening and I'm so glad we chose Ruth's Chris. I have told MANY all over Huntsville about our experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

My wife and I had a great time at Ruth's Chris. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. Everything exceeded expectations. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

As expected, Ruth Chris delivered an exceptional meal. Our server, Marilyn, gave great service as always. Exactly why we always ask for her. From the moment you stop at the Valet until you've finished dining and your car is retrieved, everything is always perfection

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great place. Expensive but Great. Service was excellent. Food was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Waiter, manager were fantastic----treated us with respect/dignity----made sure we had a special evening!!!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was very good. The cheesecake was outstanding! The best thing was the service. Great anniversary dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hampshire)·Dined on July 13, 2017

For our town Ruth's Chris is a good place to eat for special occasions or times when budget isn't a consideration. We always enjoy our food and meals there. I wish they were open for lunch.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I knew that Ruth's Chris' restaurant was expensive, but it was my fiancee's birthday and her first visit there. As expected, the serving staff treated us like royalty, and the filet Mignon was unparalleled in taste and quality. We were extremely disappointed in the side dishes however. Attempting to minimize starch intake but familiar with ordinary Brussels sprouts, we ordered "toasted Brussels sprouts." A large plate came out full of toasted leaves and tough stems that were flavorful, but impossible to chew - except for two or possibly three typically round "mini-cabbage" shaped sprouts, which were tender and delicious. Unaccustomed to this new recipe for a familiar dish, we inquired of the server as to whether our dish was what it should be. He assured us that it was, and that they were normally tough.

No one else inquired about our unsatisfactory side dish. No substitute was offered.

I have dined at Ruth's Chris' several times earlier with no problems, so I will view this as an anomaly, Everything else was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Outstanding steak, sides and service. Could not have asked for anything better. Spent my husband's birthday there and it was really special. The manager stopped by several times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Early anniversary dinner at 5:30 pm. We had the seasonal menu, three courses for 44.95 This was a great value and excellent food. Our waiter was very attentive. Rather expensive regular menu but a great 43rd anniversary for my husband and myself.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Everything was great. The food was fantastic. We had an awesome time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We were really impressed by both the seafood tower appetizer, cocktails, and service we experienced while dining this evening. One of the most enjoyable and relaxed dining experiences I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had an overall great experience celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary. Our waiter Burt is the best. I would like to see more wine choices by the glass. Huge mark-up on bottle of wine, ... c'mon man!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 23, 2017

June 23, 2016

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I've been to many Ruth's Chris locations, and this was the best yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was delicious and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 17, 2017

I have been to Ruth's Chris in the past on multiple occasions so I hope this was just a bad night but my steak (ordered medium) was well done And my potatoes were dry. Our server didn't offer or bring us bread (we had to ask). When I asked for a particular martini they have had in the past I was told they were out. I understand that completely, it happens. When I suggested another flavor (which I have also had before), my waiter said "that wouldn't taste good" without consulting the bartender. Finally, I absolutely hate the new location on Galatin. The tables are packed in very tightly and it's very loud. The old location was more intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Everything about the restaurant was great! The food was prepared exceptionally good. The service was perfect! the waiter was attentive without being annoying. The seating arrangement allowed for conversation without engaging the table next to you. The cocktails were prepared perfect. The selections were good as well. Huntsville should be standing in line for this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Solid as always. As good a prime

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.