About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro

800 Green Valley Road, Suite 100
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (336) 574-1515 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Greensboro, NC serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 574-1515

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/greensboro

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Greensboro, NC - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Executive Chef:
Mark Wykoff

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more.

Private Party Contact:
Darla Stookey: 3365741515x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For anniversaries or romantic occasions, we now offer a rose package consisting of one long stem rose, two glasses of champagne, and two chocolate dipped strawberries for 24.95. For this service, just type in the word rose package. For a dozen long stem

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro
crab stuffed mushrooms
Potatoes Au Gratin
Filet Mignon
Porterhouse
Beef Tenderloin And Shrimp
Toast Points With Goat Cheese Spread

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
10 More
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Notable Wine List
Greensboro
Romantic
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ahead of time I was asked if there was a ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Ahead of time I was asked if there was any special occasion. I said Birthday. I received a couple Happy Birthdays, but that was all. The meal was good, as well as the sides. One salad was creatively presented. The sides were overpriced.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Since this is one of two steak houses in ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Since this is one of two steak houses in greensboro, you really don't have a much of a choice. Both of our steaks were over cooked. You would think for a 45.00 steak you would have a kitchen that knows what they are doing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The steaks are out of this world and you ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The steaks are out of this world and you get a great deal with there $44.95 specials. We usually get the Filet and Shrimp with Cream spinach (out of this world), mashed potatoes and dessert. We always come here for our anniversary and sometimes birthdays. Highly recommended. The service is exceptional all the time. Extremely friendly and sincere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again Ruth's Chris delivers! One of ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Once again Ruth's Chris delivers! One of the best steaks in the triad. The Tomahawk ribeye was phenomenal cooked perfectly & seasoned just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only problem I had was we had make r ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The only problem I had was we had make reservations way ahead of time and ask for a booth and told them it was a birthday.

No.1 we could NOT get a booth

No.2 our table was not decorated for my Birthday as they had done previously with my husbands birthday a month prior.

I really love the food here , but it was way too noisy..........I think if you play a low selection of background music it might help people to be more courteous of others eating. They are loud enough to be at a circus instead of a fine dining establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We picked this restaurant to celebrate a ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We picked this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion and we were very amazed with the quality of the dishes and very pleasant service. You can tell professionals were taking care of us. The place is strongly recommended. Thank you for the beautiful evening! :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails were great, appetizers were gr ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Cocktails were great, appetizers were great. Lobster Bisque and Salads were fine. Steaks were pretty terrible; ribeye filled with fat, fillets were tasteless. Potatoes au gratin and creamed spinach were good. Brussel sprouts and lobster mac-n-cheese were awful. Cheesecake and crème brulee were good. Key lime cheesecake, not so much. It was just too hit or miss to be worth going back. Especially, with the steaks being so bland. Very few people inside, two major dining areas were closed on a Saturday night. The company saved the night, not the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent as always

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful place to eat. Amazing servic ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A wonderful place to eat. Amazing service with incredible food. Will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been here many times - Service, Foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have been here many times - Service, Food, and ambiance are Always high quality!

Great for entertaining Business clients.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the specialty dessert they gave me ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Loved the specialty dessert they gave me for my birthday!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. The service is ab ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful experience. The service is absolutely the best in GSO! The menu selection offers a good variety to please everyone and all dishes are delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed how the restaurant made the b ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed how the restaurant made the birthday celebration personable. Excellent food! Good ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Aubry provided the best servic . Was our ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Aubry provided the best servic . Was our first visit and he was able to answer all questions

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Server ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Server was particurly good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the staff were very helpful and our ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

All the staff were very helpful and our main waiter Sam was great in every way. This was our first time and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food at the best Steakhouse.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was amazing as always. Best steak anywhere, and I have tried them all. They never disappoint. Excellent service from the wait staff.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Best of the best

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great appetizers, warm bread, best darn steak ever!!! What's NOT to like??

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unspecial Mother's Day

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I frequent Ruth's Chris on a regular basis, but primarily in Pasadena, Beverly Hills, and Crystal City. This was my first and final visit to the Greensboro location. I was celebrating my mother's 71st birthday as well as Mother's Day. We previously celebrated the year prior at the Crystal City location. Of course, the experience was amazing, but I've come to expect this from Ruth's Chris. Unfortunately, the Greensboro location was quite a disappointment. The restaurant set up wasn't the greatest. We were initally seated by the front entrance where there is constant traffic entering and exiting, but in addition our table was also located near the kitchen entrance...even more traffic. Food was delicious, but the service was just OK. Being that it was Mother's Day, Ruth's Chris is known to hand out roses along with a $25 certificate. The manager on duty happened to be the one passing these out. Yet, she repeatedly continued to walk by our table, completely failing to acknowledge my mother. Now that was just unacceptable. It wasn't until we were exiting the restaurant, I made it a point to ask the hostess if they picked and chose which mothers received a rose. She apologized and immediately found a rose and $25 certificate to give to my mother. That was greatly appreciated. If I happen to return to the Greensboro area next year for Mother's Day, dinner will be at Fleming's. Epic fail Greensboro Ruth's Chris!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Romantic atmosphere

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our dinner was for Mothers Day. I took my wife here and we loved it!!! You have to try the Blackened salmon with grilled asparagus! Delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Probably the best steak I have ever put into my mouth - accompaniments were fine and well prepared, but the steak is the star.

Service was outstanding.

Very expensive, but thoroughly enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good meal

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The service was good and the steak was cooked perfect. Pricey but I don't mind if the food is worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

have not been happy the past 6 months

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Since Ruth Chris is one of two steak houses in Greensboro you don,t have a great choice. The first thing that pissts me off every time I walk in , is the question " Have you dined with us before" You would think that in this day and age a computer could tell the hostess how often we dine there. Also the service has gone down with the prices going up. New people every time we dine, which is at least twice a month. We have just not had a good over all time at Ruth Chris.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My entire meal was absolutely wonderful. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My entire meal was absolutely wonderful...so fresh and fulfilling. I will be sure to return and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prom 1st time Guest

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I came with five other friends for our Senior prom. This was everyone's first visit except for one of my friends. We enjoyed our meal and the service was wonderful. I hope to come back soon. Thank you all for making our prom special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We drove two hours for dinner for mom's birthday and we would do it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Easter Dinner

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We decided to eat there for Easter dinner. Our family was out of town so it was just my husband and me. It had been several years since we had been there. We thoroughly enjoyed it and the food was delicious. We each had a filet and two sides -- creamed spinach and the sweet potato casserole. Everything, including the salad and dessert, were prepared perfectly. We will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great food great service!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Celebrated anniversary. The staff were great! The food was really good also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always expect a perfect experience at ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We always expect a perfect experience at Ruth's Chris in Greensboro and we always get it. Our most recent visit was no exception. Thanks RC-GSO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was awesome and the food was ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Atmosphere was awesome and the food was delicios!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overrated

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

It's overrated and overpriced, we feel Capital Grille provides better quality and value. We had the roasted Brussels Sprouts and they were undercooked. We did have great service. For the amount of money that we spent, we expected a lot more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great dinner

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Ruth Chris always delivers exactly what I expect . Great steaks , salads and sides cook to perfection . Add a great bottle of wine and you have the perfect dinner . I always rate Ruth Chris as having the best steaks .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience. Excellent ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. Excellent food and wonderful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Can't go wrong with Ruth's. Steak cooked as ordered. Not all change is good; new dessert menu is missing some old favorites. All in all, always satisfied leaving Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful..

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Me and my wife had the most wonderful experience. Every time we go to Ruth Chris it's always been great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday night

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Overbooked evidently waited 25 minutes after reservation, poor service, terrible bartending. Food was good that was the only redemption.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Date Night

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Took my wife out on a date. Great service and excellent food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Experience Overall

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed coming to Ruth's Chris in Greensboro for the past 9 years for our Valentine's Day dinner, and each time was great. However this year's visit wasn't as good as in the past.

We were seated immediately after checking our coats, and in a section that I had requested when I made the reservation (which I truly appreciate!!). However, it seemed as if there was no wait staff assigned to our table - we waited too long to be acknowledged. But no stress, we wanted to enjoy our night. The waiter finally came, apologized for the delay, and was attentive from then on.

The food was not great like it normally is. My 11 oz. filet was cooked too hard on the bottom (?), and the lobster mac & cheese was noticeably bland, with no real flavor (I've eaten this exact dish several times before, and it was always excellent). The waiter did explain that the Mac & cheese is served on a skillet dish now b/c the sauces would always fall to the bottom of the bowl, causing it to dry out faster.

I will come back to this location again soon and give them another try. Overall, the experience my wife and I had was a good one.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great as always!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We dine here often so our experience is always pretty good. With exception of our waiter being a little "pushy" the food was great. We will request a different section on our next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I was very excited to have dinner here. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I was very excited to have dinner here. I did make a reservation that was the day before Valentine's and probably would be considered Valentine date night. I often worry that you will not have a good experience since it is Valentine's which is usually very busy. I was assured by a food service employee that the quality would be high at Ruth Chris. If I had to describe my experience is was nice, but not fantastic which was what I was expecting. The dining room felt crowded, so I feel that possibly extra tables were added to seat more customers. There seemed to be a lot of staff that were running all over each other. We requested a second glass of champagne and had to remind our server and his assistant that we wanted it. We requested additional bread with our meal that never was delivered. I will say that we never felt rushed and that the staff was super nice.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.