About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro

800 Green Valley Road, Suite 100
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (336) 574-1515 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Greensboro, NC serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 574-1515

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/greensboro

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Greensboro, NC - Bring the service, expertise and flavor of Ruth's Chris Steak House to the location of your choice! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Executive Chef:
Mark Wykoff

Private Party Facilities:
No matter what the occasion, Ruth's Chris is the perfect place to gather. We will work with you to customize any menu to meet your needs and budget. Work one-on-one with our Private Event Manager to select the right room and configuration, accommodate your A/V needs, and help enhance your event with floral arrangements and more.

Private Party Contact:
Darla Stookey: (336) 574-1515

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For anniversaries or romantic occasions, we now offer a rose package consisting of one long stem rose, two glasses of champagne, and two chocolate dipped strawberries for 24.95. For this service, just type in the word rose package. For a dozen long stem

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Rcsh Tomahawk - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Bone In Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Crabstack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Fire-roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
crab stuffed mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Potatoes Au Gratin - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Filet Mignon - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Porterhouse - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Beef Tenderloin And Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Toast Points With Goat Cheese Spread - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro, Greensboro, NC

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Business Meals (12)
Romantic (11)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Family Style (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very delicious New York Strip steak! Fa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Very delicious New York Strip steak! Fast friendly service. Yummy sweet potato pecan casserole. Gratis dessert for husband birthday. And lobster bisque appetizer boasted lumps of lobster. Nice atmosphere with low buzz of family conversations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ruth Chris of Greensboro did a remarkabl ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Ruth Chris of Greensboro did a remarkable job setting up a birthday table for my mother's 75th birthday. The staff was courteous and friendly. They made my mothers day so special with the extra little touches and the wonderful dessert. Not to mention the steak- DELICIOUS...Hands down the best steak ever! We even lost a $20 bill on the floor (leave it to my daughter to put it in her shoe and lose it!)and the waiter was able to track it down for us! They are truly awesome!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time eating at a Rut ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time eating at a Ruth's Chris and it was an extraordinarily great as the first. The food quality is some of the best that we have had. From the time that you are greeted at check in the staff are extremely friendly and make sure that you have everything you need. I would definitely recommend the Ruth's Chris in Greensboro to my friends and family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some confusion on getting cocktails out ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Some confusion on getting cocktails out together. Also confused on bringing appetizers out together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Marcie was the best!! This was a special ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Marcie was the best!! This was a special occasion (birthday for my date). Marcie arranged a cozy table, flowers and balloons. On top of that we were over an hour late but everything was still perfect. The food, services and ambiance was awesome!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WE MADE A RESERVATION ON OPEN TABLE AND ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

WE MADE A RESERVATION ON OPEN TABLE AND THEN SHOWED UP ON TIME FOR OUR DINNER. EVEN THOUGH IT WAS SATURDAY NIGHT, THE RESTAURANT WAS CLOSED. NEITHER OPEN TABLE OR RUTH CHRIS BOTHERED TO TELL US THAT THE RESTAURANT WAS CLOSED. WHAT A WASTE OF TIME AND SCREW UP BY OPEN TABLE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Always a great experience. Love the food ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a great experience. Love the food and service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere is lacking a little, but ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The atmosphere is lacking a little, but service was fantastic! They didn't prepare my steak the way I asked, but they offered us desert as an apology. Drinks are very expensive, even compared to other high-end establishments so we had a bit of ticket shock even knowing what our meal was going to cost. Dinner for 2 with 2 starters, 2 meals, 2 sides and 4 drinks from the bar = $224 before tip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Ruth's Chris is definitely a special occ ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ruth's Chris is definitely a special occasion type of place. We went for New Year's Eve, and it did not disappoint us. The food was excellent. Our waitress also did a fantastic job. The only negative comment was another server came to our table during the meal and asked if we wanted anything boxed to take with us. Given that we were still eating, i thought this was a little pushy. I know New Year's Eve is a busy night, but guests shouldn't be rushed.

Overall, Ruth's Chris is pricey, but good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food and service is good as expected ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food and service is good as expected at a Ruth Chris. The prime grade beef is well prepared and very tender. With all the excellent options out there for specially prepared food today, I think the days of serving a steak and some au gratin potatoes for $250 dollars is somewhat ridicules. But at the same time you know what you are going to get before you go! More for a business meal when you are making a customer feel that you have done something special for them. Besides that their are a lot better options for the amount of money spent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I decided to try Ruth's Chris because it ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I decided to try Ruth's Chris because it is one of my mom's favorite restaurants. Considering her and many of my family members are excellent cooks and chefs, I took that as a good sign. The ambiance and service was amazing. The staff was attentive, informative and helpful. The problem I had was the food. It started with the seafood tower.....the lobster was so tough we couldn't chew it. I thought maybe because it was chilled it was a little off, but would be so much better in the lobster mac&cheese.....not so. When the dish arrived i knew I was in trouble. It was clear the mac was baked and then a scoop of lobster was put on top in the middle. While the steak alone was flavorful, we ordered it 'oscar' style and the sauce smothered the crab and steak.....something I'm not accustomed to. While I wouldn't go so far as to say the food was bad, I will say it didn't meet my expectation.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Both steaks had a lot of gristle in th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Both steaks had a lot of gristle in them and for the price I don't think it should have any. I've had that steak in the past and it wasn't like that at all. I go to longhorn frequently and I would half to put there steak above that one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was superb. Our waitress was new an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was superb. Our waitress was new and it impacted the usual stella service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

With a reservation we waited 30 minutes ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 11, 2016

With a reservation we waited 30 minutes to be seated.

The food was good...cooked to our specifications.

After dinner the waiter gave us the dessert menu then abandoned us for a LONG time. When he finally returned to our table I requested the check...enough time waiting at the the restaurant for one night! We went home for coffee, dessert and an after dinner drink.

The décor badly needs a face-lift.

Probably our first and last time eating there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Excellent service. Seating was running a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent service. Seating was running about 15 minutes behind on a Saturday night during Christmas holidays. Food was excellent and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food (filet and lobster) were good l ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food (filet and lobster) were good like we usually expect from Ruth's Chris. Our wait staff was also very good. However, for this particular night the ambiance was terrible. I realize that management has little control over crowd noise, but the other patrons throughout the restaurant (several large groups) were much too noisy and boisterous, and turned what should have been a quiet, relaxing anniversary dinner into a noisy, stressful outing. We'll think twice before booking again during the holiday season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Made a reservation for 7:30 ...eventuall ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Made a reservation for 7:30 ...eventually seated at 7:55 ... waited another 15 minutes for the waiter to take our drink order .... asked for more bread three times ... I could take this kind of service if I were at a restaurant that charged $100 for 4 people but not for a $300 tab (without the cost of wine)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a great birthday celebration for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We had a great birthday celebration for our daughter on Friday evening. We were running behind and they even pushed our reservation back by 30 minutes without complaint. It was a great evening and the food was delicious, especially the chicken. Thanks to everyone!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the ambience was great the service ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 1, 2016

While the ambience was great the service was not. Actually had to get up and find my server to get more Soda!

And my steak came out too "cooked" in order to have it medium rare as I ordered it. The 500 degree plate they serve it on continues to "cook" your steak and when I noticed it was already cooked to almost medium I had to remove it from the hot plate and put my steak on the bread plate!

Very disappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent dining experience. Always en ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Always enjoy our visits there. Would highly recommend, well worth the price.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner with the family. The ser ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Birthday dinner with the family. The service was fine and the food was good but definitely way over priced. Debating whether or not to continue birthday tradition at Ruth's Chris. I do have to admit that the shrimp cocktail my husband had contained the largest prawns we had ever seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The greeting staff were lazy and ignored ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The greeting staff were lazy and ignored our party even though we arrived 15 minutes early. After a long wait, the greeter tried to sit out party of 3 at a table set for 6. The meats were burned on the outside and raw in the inside. The house specialty, creamed spinach, arrived to the table burned (both taste and smell). The service and the manager was sub-par. We will never return or recommend this restaurant. Very poor overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Incredible service, fantastic food, bett ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Incredible service, fantastic food, better than usual. As long-time diners, this was an extra special surprise. Delicious and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We shared a wonderful meal for our Anniv ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We shared a wonderful meal for our Anniversary and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone is treated like royalty no matt ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everyone is treated like royalty no matter who you are. The food is always exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always... thanks guys!!!!! -W ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Awesome as always... thanks guys!!!!! -Worth Mitchell (Kvell Vodka)

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Romantic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE shared our meal at Ruth's Chris becau ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

WE shared our meal at Ruth's Chris because portions are large. Our menu last Saturday night was a shrimp cocktail starter with Grey Goose martinis. Superb shrimp with a very relaxing martini. Then we shared a chopped salad, outstanding. Topped this of with a NY steak and 1 baked potato. Superb! Our service was also outstanding, Rob did a great job!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfectly prepared! Steaks are the bes ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Perfectly prepared! Steaks are the best in town. The seafood tower was fabulous. Love the lobster mac n cheese! Great service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my niece here for her 14th birthd ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I took my niece here for her 14th birthday and it was fantastic! They sprinkled birthday confetti on the table and really made her feel special on her birthday. The food was delicious and steaks were cooked perfectly. Our waiter was very attentive as was the rest of the staff. My mom and niece greatly enjoyed their meals. The vegetables were delicious as was the stuffed mushroom appetizer. Definitely recommend for a great steak or a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As a loyal Ruth's Chris enthusiast, it p ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

As a loyal Ruth's Chris enthusiast, it pains me to write this review. Unfortunately my wife and I caught this Ruth's Chris on an off night. We were politely seated soon after arrival at a very nice table. Unfortunately once the hostess left our table, it was quite a while before our server arrived. Our wine order apparently created a problem that lead to another delay. Once the hostess helping the server took our order, the food came in an expected amount of time. Unfortunately, for the first time ever at a Ruth's Chris, I had to send my very undercooked steak back for further cooking. I guess when it rains it pours. Let me say, however, that this was a very unusual occurrence for this Ruth's Chris as we have always experienced nothing but outstanding service and food in all prior visits. I would expect that our next visit will allow us to forget this most recent one. The wines are very highly marked up, even less expensive ones. I am not sure what the corkage fee is, but I think I will inquire before my next visit. On a final note, the folks here are very friendly and polite which goes a long way in moderating any problems that may occur.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The Ruth's Chris chain is known for its ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The Ruth's Chris chain is known for its excellent food and friendly, yet professional service. The Greensboro location consistently meets these high standards for food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ahead of time I was asked if there was a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Ahead of time I was asked if there was any special occasion. I said Birthday. I received a couple Happy Birthdays, but that was all. The meal was good, as well as the sides. One salad was creatively presented. The sides were overpriced.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Since this is one of two steak houses in ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Since this is one of two steak houses in greensboro, you really don't have a much of a choice. Both of our steaks were over cooked. You would think for a 45.00 steak you would have a kitchen that knows what they are doing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The steaks are out of this world and you ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The steaks are out of this world and you get a great deal with there $44.95 specials. We usually get the Filet and Shrimp with Cream spinach (out of this world), mashed potatoes and dessert. We always come here for our anniversary and sometimes birthdays. Highly recommended. The service is exceptional all the time. Extremely friendly and sincere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again Ruth's Chris delivers! One of ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Once again Ruth's Chris delivers! One of the best steaks in the triad. The Tomahawk ribeye was phenomenal cooked perfectly & seasoned just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only problem I had was we had make r ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The only problem I had was we had make reservations way ahead of time and ask for a booth and told them it was a birthday.

No.1 we could NOT get a booth

No.2 our table was not decorated for my Birthday as they had done previously with my husbands birthday a month prior.

I really love the food here , but it was way too noisy..........I think if you play a low selection of background music it might help people to be more courteous of others eating. They are loud enough to be at a circus instead of a fine dining establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We picked this restaurant to celebrate a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We picked this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion and we were very amazed with the quality of the dishes and very pleasant service. You can tell professionals were taking care of us. The place is strongly recommended. Thank you for the beautiful evening! :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails were great, appetizers were gr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Cocktails were great, appetizers were great. Lobster Bisque and Salads were fine. Steaks were pretty terrible; ribeye filled with fat, fillets were tasteless. Potatoes au gratin and creamed spinach were good. Brussel sprouts and lobster mac-n-cheese were awful. Cheesecake and crème brulee were good. Key lime cheesecake, not so much. It was just too hit or miss to be worth going back. Especially, with the steaks being so bland. Very few people inside, two major dining areas were closed on a Saturday night. The company saved the night, not the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent as always

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful place to eat. Amazing servic ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 22, 2016

A wonderful place to eat. Amazing service with incredible food. Will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.