About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids

Ruth's Chris Steak House is located at Amway Hotel in downtown Grand Rapids.

187 Monroe NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
*Lounge Opens at 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Pearl at Monroe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6426

Catering:
Contact sales manager for details

Parking Details:
parking available at the restaurant or with the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Executive Chef:
Chef – Jeff Barnum Sous Chef – Kyle Hobbins

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for detail information

Private Party Contact:
Kylene Geyer: (616) 776-6418

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (43)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Romantic (32)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Business Meals (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Cozy (12)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (4)
Scenic View (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Waterfront (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 2 days ago

While certainly not an inexpensive dinner option, as always, Ruths Chris provides excellent food, service and atmosphere. In my opinion, it is the best steak house in Grand Rapids. It is always a treat to dine at one of these restaurant's and a location that we will certainly come back to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 2 days ago

My waitress and the overall service was great!!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

Best steak I have ever had, no need for any sauce. The flavor of the steak alone was perfection. Mashed Potatoes were fantastic. Asparagus wasn’t the best I’ve had but was still good. It’s a little expensive, but you definitely get what you pay for. A fantastic meal that I am now craving.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

A busy ArtPrize evening. A full house, yet the back of the house handled it all like the professionals they are. Excellent service by our server, Nate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Ian our server was great. The group of men next to us were loud and rude otherwise this was a 5 star dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined 6 days ago

Ruth's Chris never fails to disappoint. From our greeting upon arrival to departure the entire evening was perfect. Impeccable service without hovering, quality drinks and delicious food...our steaks were cooked perfectly. Can't wait to go back next time I am in Grand Rapids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2017

A very good dining experience at Ruth Chris in Grand Rapids. The food was very good a and the customer service was excellent. Steaks were prepared just the way we liked it and served on the famous 500 degree plate and was tasting very good. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you want a very good steak.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This was the second time in a month and was just as good as the first. It's always our go to place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Everything was amazing. Love how it's served on a 500 degree plate to keep your steak nice and hot throughout your whole dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

The best part of the meal was our server, Brian. He made excellent suggestions and was very attentive, while not invasive. If my brother had not gifted me with certificates to eat at Ruth's Chris I would never have chosen this venue.

The prices for the entrees are expectantly high, and if you stick to the meat, it is excellent. (We split two entrees: filet mignon and crab cakes. We were sorry we didn't get 2 steaks!) The main feature is very lonely on its small plate. Everything is ala carte, and the prices for the side-dishes are somewhat ludicrous. The price for a glass of wine is equal to the cost of a decent bottle at a wine shoppe.

Brian arranged for a plate with some dessert tastes and a chocolate: "Happy Birthday" on it which was surprising given the lack of generosity in general for food items. So, while I will not frequent this restaurant, it was a tasty and pleasant celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Excellent waiter, Bryant, with competent support helpers. Excellent steak and escargot. Interesting sides. Enjoyable birthday outing

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent meal. Way too much money to spend on a steak. It was fantastic but expensive.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Everything was perfect. Wait staff, very attentive and fast. Food was excellent of course!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

We have visited Ruth's Chris in Fairfax, Virginia, Crystal City, Virginia, Gaithersburg, MD, and Grand Rapids, MI. In general, Ruth's Chris is excellent, with piping hot food, and excellent beef. At the Grand Rapids Ruth's Chris the Chilean Sea Bass was "fishy", undercooked, dense, and cool in the center. The au gratin potatoes were cool rather than bubbly hot. The brussel sprouts were overcooked, cool and buried in leaves of sprouts that had fallen apart. Only the Bread, NY steak and calamari appetizer were as expected. The staff said they would make it right. They brought new sprouts and potatoes. The sprouts were the same; the potatoes were better but not best. The fish was not new, but rather reheated. Reheating to appropriate temperature would hopelessly overlook the fish, so it was still cool in the center and undercooked...an underwhelming attempt to make it right.
The manager did remove all food items from the bill - even the calamari and the steak, so we paid only for the wine. This was greatly appreciated. However, the dinner pretty much spoiled our 41st wedding anniversary celebration.
This is the second time we went to the Grand Rapids Ruth's Chris. The first visit (also an anniversary) was fine with the exception of overcooked broccoli (consistent with the western Michigan market). The second visit was way sub-par. A third visit will not happen. Clearly Ruth's Chris should evaluate this representation of their franchise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The tables are crammed so tightly together that I could not get up from my seat without my butt rubbing against the neighbors' table. If you want any sense of privacy, it's not here. Servers were okay, but certainly not what you would expect for a $200 meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Took a while to get service, but after that everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 25, 2017

May just be my favorite restaurant, always please with my Ruth Chris experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Honestly, one of the best steak houses I've ever been too. Great service and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. We visited on a Saturday night for our son's birthday; the restaurant was full, but we had no problem conversing in normal voices and did not hear the details of other conversations around us. The cost is high, $270 for 3 people which included 2 glasses of wine, but quality of the entire dining experience is first class.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great attentive service by the staff. GM/ owner also stopped to ensure our experience was positive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent! Great food, great service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We traveled two and a half hours for our annual dinner at the Amway Grand Ruth Chris' Steakhouse! Well worth the time, effort and drive. We've never been disappointed.
Ann was our server and was very attentive to our table, our meal was excellent, and drinks were superb!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent, friendly service. The staff went over the top to ensure our anniversary dinner was a great experience. Food was fantastic, with steaks cooked to perfection and hot to the last bite. The prices get a little steep, but well with it for the service and quality you receive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 12, 2017

As always it was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 10, 2017

It was our 43rd anniversary and everything was perfect. Food , service and wine were everything we had hoped for.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Service was really awesome and our meals were superb

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We celebrated our 45 th anniversary with you! It was very special in every way! very personal service and attention, delicious food, good recommendations, beautiful in every way!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great food and service, always a favorite spot of mine.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have come to this Ruth's Chris a number of times for a number of different occasions. When we come to Grand Rapids it is our go to place. It never disappoints. The staff is highly service oriented and accommodating.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had a very good experience here. Our server was great, as well as the food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our evening was outstanding. Ruth Chris restaurant and staff are amazing.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We sat by the bar so we could over hear the loud guys there Not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Waiter had service spot-on. Was mindful of our time schedule and kept things flowing. Steaks were perfect and the scallops the biggest and tender I've had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I've probably dined at 15 various Ruth's Chris locations, some multiple times, throughout the United States and Mexico and this was one of the best dining experiences I've had thanks to our amazing server, Elaine! She had great energy, was very attentive and provided excellent customer service the entire evening. Elaine is a stellar employee who deserves to be recognized for a job beyond well done!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Best cooked steak two times in a row. Don't know how they do it.
Fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great place just don't sit near the wall fire feature, to hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We chose the restaurant due to our previous experiences. They are always attentive, polite and very cognizant of the diners needs.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.