About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids

Ruth's Chris Steak House is located at Amway Hotel in downtown Grand Rapids.

187 Monroe NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
*Lounge Opens at 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Pearl at Monroe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6426

Catering:
Contact sales manager for details

Parking Details:
parking available at the restaurant or with the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Executive Chef:
Chef – Jeff Barnum Sous Chef – Kyle Hobbins

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for detail information

Private Party Contact:
Kylene Geyer: (616) 776-6418

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Romantic (32)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Notable Wine List (25)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Business Meals (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (5)
Historic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (4)
Authentic (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Best cooked steak two times in a row. Don't know how they do it.
Fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great place just don't sit near the wall fire feature, to hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We chose the restaurant due to our previous experiences. They are always attentive, polite and very cognizant of the diners needs.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great service food and wine!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Outstanding service! Had a quiet spot so my wife and I could actually talk. And the steak for both of us was prepared to perfection ! Great place to enjoy a fantastic meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great steak and good portions.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Fantastic food, prepared as you like it, with outstanding service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Anniversary Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My girlfriend had the petite fillet, and she called it the best steak she's ever eaten. My strip was good, but far from the best ever. For the steaks being $50 a piece, I was hoping for more. The side dishes are all additional costs. The $50 steaks don't even come with a salad or anything else. We ordered brussel sprouts and au gratin potatoes to go with our steaks. They were good, but again, nothing really special. The server was friendly, but forgot our drinks at the bar for about 10-15 minutes. He apologized for forgetting about them, but when you're spending $200 on dinner (and the drinks are $14 a piece) you expect that kind of thing to not be an issue. Overall we enjoyed our dinner, but left feeling underwhelmed. We both agreed that for the money it wasn't worth it, but we are glad we can say we experienced it. We both agreed that the only way we will go back will be with a gift card. Then it would be worth our while.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My wife and I truly enjoyed our dining experience. The food was excellent and Nathan and Camil were superb servers. I had the surf and turf and and it was delicious. The scallops were the best I have ever had. The steak was perfect. I found the evening a little expensive but worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Exceptional service! Friendly and accommodating! So appreciated the free dessert for our anniversary!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our Server was very pleasant and attentive. We really did appreciate her service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Celebrated our Anniversary and was impressed from start to finish. Selected a bottle an hour before arriving and it was ready to drink when we sat down. Service was impeccable! Food was perfectly prepared. I've dined in many famous steak houses across the U.S and this ranks right up there. You'll spend some money but the experience is well worth it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always excellent; never disappoints! I'm fortunate to eat at various Ruth's Chris restaurants around the country while on business. So, it's nice when I can enjoy the experience with my wife. We took this Saturday evening opportunity to do something special for Father's Day. We started with the ahi tuna appetizer, which has a bit of kick and is a favorite of my team on the road (along with the calamari). We split the wedge salad (my COO and I do this often as well), then each had the petite filet, both of which were cooked perfectly. The baked potato was shared as well, and everything was done beautifully (and not a speck left on either plate). I like that, for a modest corkage fee, I was able to bring a bottle of Grgich Hills wine that we both love. As always, you spend a bit more at Ruth's Chris, but the service and food are well worth the indulgence.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great seafood tower. Service by Denette was fabulous.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Our server was very attentive to our table. He was also very patient with our 4 year old daughter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Whenever my husband and I want to celebrate something here in Grand Rapids, we always go to Ruth's Chris. Even if I tried, I cannot find anything about which I could complain. The service is friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. The staff goes out of its way to make you feel at home and special at the same time. Even though we went not for a wedding anniversary, but an anniversary in any case (We told the hostess t hat "it's complicated"), she came and sprinkled our table with rose petals. The food was fabulous--exactly as we ordered our filets: black and blue. The meat was tender, juicy, and tasty. We loved every minute we were there and plan to go back as soon as we have another-un-anniversary. Kudos to the best place for fine dining, especially steaks, in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The waitress that served us was seriously so friendly and professional. The food was decent but not what we expected. I will try this place again but I definitely hope we have the same waitress because she made us feel so welcomed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual
Great dining experience

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was excellent. Waiter knew my likes from our last visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As usual, we had a great evening at Ruth's Chris in Grand Rapids, MI. Our server, Ian was wonderful and provided great service.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Best steak I have ever had. Overall, the meal was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 2, 2017

It's is always a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Our waiter Ian was EXCELLENT and food outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Brian was our server. He was very knowledgeable with the menu and very helpful with wine suggestions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always a treat to go to Ruth's Chris. Food is always great, wait staff is great. Only issue is that we were seated way in the back and my seat was literally in the corner with the curtains behind me. Couldn't get out without 3 other people moving and even then I couldn't stand up and had to slide my way from seat to seat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Quite disappointed in our recent visit to the Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Grand Rapids. We both ordered filet (medium) with different add-ons, mine came out WITHOUT a sliver of pink while my husband's was closer to medium rare. What surprised us the most is that neither member of our waitstaff inquired about our steaks?? Our side items (as gratin potatoes & grilled asparagus) were average at best. Unfortunately this was our first visit to this location and will be our last as there are several other quality steakhouses within walking distance of the Amway.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We make the trip to this restaurant every year for our anniversary. This year the steaks were fabulous but the sides were just so so. The seating was a little stuffy right in between two other couples less than arm reach. How ever the overall was fine. Will visit again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Went for 20th anniversary and was a great experience. Thought we would get at least a free dessert like their website stated, but noticed I paid for it. If I would have known I would have skipped dessert. Anyway, cowboy steak is unbelievable and the only steak I will order at RC. Wait staff was excellent and very welcoming and knowledgeable. A luxury meal that I would say is worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Once again great food and stellar service. the lamb was perfect, as were the steaks my colleagues consumed in total!! Thanks again for consistently high quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came for our anniversary! Great food! Filet was " melt in your mouth" good. Brussel sprouts were awesome. Our server, Curt VM, was top notch. Food was served relatively fast. It was prom night, so was rather noisy. Would definitely come again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were celebrating our son and daughter-in-law's 20th anniversary. Our table was ready when we arrived, the service was great and our steaks were truly the best ever!!! Our waiter was kind enough to make a few suggestions regarding the size if side dishes which proved to be very helpful. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend Ruth's Chris to anyone looking for an above average dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My family brought me for Mothers Day. It was perfect! Thanks so much for a great evening. I couldn't have asked for a nicer dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Used the occasion to celebrate our sons graduation from Law School. Had 12 in our party and it all went really well. Wait staff was excellent, accommodating and bridged the gap between 3 - 90 year old grand parents and 20 year olds really well :). Food - Excellent as usual, simply the best steaks available. Overall perfect experience for all involved and capped the many memories made that day. Thank You!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a great meal and experience was good. After we were seated, it took a while for our waiter to come to our table and take our drink order.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We love Ruth's Chris! The food is wonderful and the service is always spot on.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great time celebrating my sons college graduation.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Outstanding food and service, never felt rushed, Kurt our waiter, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with questions we had concerning the menu. Will return again !

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.