About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids

187 Monroe NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House is located at Amway Hotel in downtown Grand Rapids.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
*Lounge Opens at 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Pearl at Monroe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6426

Catering:
Contact sales manager for details

Parking Details:
parking available at the restaurant or with the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Executive Chef:
Chef – Jeff Barnum Sous Chef – Kyle Hobbins

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for detail information

Private Party Contact:
Kylene Geyer: (616) 776-6418

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Romantic (32)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Scenic View (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fireplace (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The best in the world here! Awesome dinner experience from first sitting down until after we left! The meal was spectacular and the view is superb. Easy to get to whether you stay downtown, live in the area and walk, or if you drive and use valet or self park. No matter what it's super easy to access. The decor is elegant but also inviting and the food is exactly how it should be. Service cannot be matched. They're the best!!!!! Done here, you won't be disappointed. There's options for any diet and the wine list is excellent!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Family Style, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Organic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Late-night Find, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Cozy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I thought it was a nice place to go , the overall experience was good but the dinning location I had was right next to the bathrooms and all I could see was people coming in and out of the bathroom

It was in our line of sight , that too me was bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our dinner was very nice, the food was fantastic. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went with some friends. The atmosphere was elegant. It was considerably noisy. They make an excellent martini. I ordered the "cowboy Ribeye". It was wonderful. The sides we had were cheesy potatoes, sautéed mushrooms, and asparagus. All were excellent and came big enough to share with the rest of the table. We did not try the desserts. Barely able to finish the main course. Highly recommend for special occasion. Outstanding wine list. Some by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always have loved Ruths Chris. The staff makes us feel like royalty every time we are there. Strongly recommend this restaurant! Becky the manager is very hard working and she will do anything for you if you have a complaint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

So enjoyed our server and the excellent service provided. The scallops appetizer was outstanding and the steak was done to perfection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Greeted promptly at the door by the host and the server. Great atmosphere for a romantic dinner. Great food and service by Autumn, she was very attentive and knowledgable of the drink and food menu. Overall was a wonderful experience for my boyfriend and I who were celebrating Valentine's a day early.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went here for a last minute Valentines date with my wife. Service was awesome, steaks and seafood were cooked to perfection. Even the key lime pie do not disappoint. While there are many options for your protein selection, the steaks are what have me coming back. The entire staff was also very polite and checked in to ensure everything was to our satisfaction.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Ruth's Chris never fails to impress us. An early Valentine dinner with excellent food and a great cabernet recommended by our server. A wonderful restaurant with wonderful food. I was able to have the spot that we enjoy, with the attention that is required - but not over done so we could still enjoy each other's conversation. Everything was perfect. Great food & service isnt cheap. This is (in our opinion) a "special occasion" eatery, but well worth every penny.

Our kids were even excited knowing they would have leftovers!

Can't wait to go back..

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome, best steak ever in the history of the world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good as expected but the service was phenomenal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Try the bone in ribeye, fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Obviously high price point; quality food , service & location. Great to celebrate special occasions & impress a date.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wife and I went to dinner, both ordered filet's , when server brought them out, 1 steak had shrimp on top, and a smaller cut. I asked about it, he just looked confused, i asked it these were ours and if they were cooked medium, he said yes, and walked away, once we cut into them they were pretty rare, and we decided to eat around the edge. when we were done eating the edge the server came out, so i asked her about the steaks and she said they were mixed up with the table next to us. Also the augratin potatoes were hard and under cooked. The dinner was very disappointing. Its too bad I have ate at Ruth Chris in other states and they have always been good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Ben our server was very good and we did enjoy him. Two issues we had were that they seated us at a very tiny round table and the top was not stable and turned. The other issue was a complete lack of a minimum dress attire policy. My wife and I dressed up for the occassion as I would expect with the other Ruth's Chris places we have visited, but this night most people were in jeans and several were wearing hoodies, jerseys and tennis shoes. Food was good, but felt out of place the way we were dressed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great restaurant- great service, would recommend to others.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went there for anniversary dinner. Had a wonderfull table and a great waiter, Ben. Put rose pedals on table as a nice touch for occassion. Ben was superb. Did not rush at all, very attenative, and called us by our names (nice touch). Food was great, drinks were very good. Would definitely go there again. I would also ask for Ben.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Everything was perfect! We always enjoy eating here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Noise level high. Not really a place for conversation. Exceptional wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We sat right in front of the hostess stand… Way too noisy there. And I have to remember to request a seat not by the fireplace… While it is beautiful it is way too hot… Our server ben was awesome... and our dinner was delicious !

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I took my 3 daughters (ages 15,13, 10) for a "girls night out". Our meal was unbelievable. My daughters continue to rave about the brussel sprouts and the mushrooms. We had the petite filets with shrimp that had Cajun spice on them. My LOVED the shrimp and proclaimed the cheesecake to be the best on Earth. Our waiter, Gabriel, was fantastic and treated my daughters with such respect that it made them feel very grown up. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Had dinner before the Shen Yun Ballet. Can't beat Ruth's Chris when you're seeing anything at DeVoss. Makes the evening even more special!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food was fantastic. Service starting with check in coats and restaurant reservations was wonderful, very polite. They made you feel very welcome as if you entered your friends home. I let the server Brian know my husband can only hear from the right and he made sure he was included and could hear the conversations without being yelled at. Brian is a wonderful person to have in your employment. We have been married 40years and enjoy our date nights. Brian thankyou for making our dinner evening special. The chefs dishes were wonderful and I can not say enough about his food. Surf/turf cooked perfect and the stuffed chicken is so moist and seasoned perfect. Two thumbs up to chef. Brian we will ask for on our next visit. What an enjoyable evening. Thanks to everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Outstanding food, outstanding service, accommodated our late addition of a sixth person without any problem.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Courtney in the bar is awesome

Love the bar seating

Very accommodating to diet restrictions

Bone in filet was perfectly done

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We dine here often. I was disappointed in the salmon, which I've ordered many times in the past. It tasted a few days past it's prime. I told the manager this when he checked on our table and he insisted on bringing out a new one, even though I asked if it was in the same shipment, and explained it would taste exactly the same, like not fresh fish. They brought me a new one, it also tasted not so fresh, however this time no one checked on our table, in fact the manager clearly avoided us. Overall, wasn't worth $400 for the meal. Probably won't be back! We will go to the Chop House or Leo's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food is good, but not to the degree that the prices demand. They have escaped the steak and steak cliché (the seafood on ice was good, and clever) but the restaurant still charges too much for entrees that a lot of customers could make at home, with a good meat department and a serviceable grill. What set 1913 apart was that the menu could not be duplicated at home.

The wine prices were worse than the usual restaurant felony.

The service, on the other hand, was terrific. Ian is a 1913 alum, said he remembered us from there, and did a superb job.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food and especially great service for our special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We are NEVER disappointed when we dine here. The staff is the best in town!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant was one of the best places we've been to the waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu...She work hard to make sure we were comfortable..The food was excellent those were some great tasting steaks side were nice and the cheesecake was amazing...

We will be back and we both like to tell Joyce thank you for all service she provided us it was a great birthday for my girlfriend.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We have eaten in Ruth's Chris Steakhouses across the country and find that the one in Grand Rapids is the best. The food is the best we've ever had. I marked the atmosphere down a little bit because our table this time was in the middle of the restaurant and it was quite noisy, so hard to carry on a conversation with table mates. Next time we'll ask for a table near the wall or window.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One bite and you know why you pay a lot of money for the steaks-they melt in your mouth and are very, very good! But they cannot make a cosmo! disappointed in that! but if that is the only thing, I can live with that!!!

Theda

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great atmosphere. Food was very good. A little pricey, but it's Ruth Chris and that as expected. Open Table reservation worked great. Easy to use.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was not that great, service was good,steaks were disappointing for a fine steakhouse not worth the price,prefer the chop house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Seems like they're picking too many people in. Was too loud to have conversations. Food & service excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Great atmosphere for everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely enjoyed it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great ambience with excellent service and of course great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best place to go if you love steak. It is hands down the best steak I have ever consumed. I have tried steak houses in and out of the country and found Ruth's Chris Steakhouse to be the best. But don't take my word for it. Go and try it and you'll be hooked. All the best. Linnaea Carter

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a treat! Service, ambiance, food, wine list, decor...all spectacular! Everyone is always so welcoming and accommodating!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. What a remarkably friendly, efficient and thoughtful staff. Also, appreciate the personal table side greeting fro management. Delicious food and a memorable occasion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent service. Food was delicious, but expensive. We enjoyed our unexpected anniversary treats.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse! The service was amazing and the food was delicious! This is the perfect place to have a great steak and celebrate a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were there for my son's birthday and the food was excellent.. We Had a table by the window and it was the perfect ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 21, 2016

First-time customers. Food was fantastic (best filet I've ever tasted!). Service was prompt, knowledgeable, and friendly. Surprised by the noise level and lack of intimacy (my wife and I had a small table between two other small tables, 18 inches away on each side of us).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food and service, but way too noisy seated adjacent to bar.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very very noisy environment where we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Delicious dinner for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Everything was perfect, the food was fabulous and our server, Sheryl was terrific and personable and funny.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.