About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids

187 Monroe NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House is located at Amway Hotel in downtown Grand Rapids.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
*Lounge Opens at 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Pearl at Monroe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6426

Catering:
Contact sales manager for details

Parking Details:
parking available at the restaurant or with the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Executive Chef:
Chef – Jeff Barnum Sous Chef – Kyle Hobbins

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for detail information

Private Party Contact:
Kylene Geyer: 6167766418x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
9 More
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Best Value
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (58)
romantic (33)
notable wine list (28)
See All
good for groups (19)
fit for foodies (17)
hot spot (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Grand Rapids Ruth's Chris is one of ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Grand Rapids Ruth's Chris is one of the better locations I have been to. The food is always excellent and the service is on point. The experience started off great when I called 45 minutes before our reservation to expand our party. I had requested a particular server but the hostess still figured out how to accommodate us in his section.

Kurt was our server (the best) and always takes excellent care of us. They used to have Carpaccio on the menu there, but took it off a few years ago, if we request it in advance, the chef always makes it happen. Last weekend I had forgotten to call ahead and Kurt was still able to pull it off and it was awesome.

Awesome place, well managed location, excellent service and food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every bite was perfect; the whole dinner ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Every bite was perfect; the whole dinner experience was amazing. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time at Ruth's Chris i ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had an amazing time at Ruth's Chris in Grand Rapids. We had been walking around downtown and were not dressed appropriately, but they could not have been nicer. The hostess even told us we looked great and not to worry about it when we asked her about our attire. Ben was the best waiter I've ever had. He was so attentive and nice to us without being overbearing or pushy. We split a tomahawk steak and our manager came by to cut it up perfectly for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was excellent! The ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The service and food was excellent! The waitstaff was extremely helpful and friendly.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crab cakes and steak were EXCELLENT. Si ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Crab cakes and steak were EXCELLENT. Sides were mediocre at best. Au gratin potatoes were undercooked, asparagus was cold,very woody stems, which if broken off, would have left about 1" of asparagus, and French fries (for the child at the table) were lukewarm and soggy. They asked at the beginning if there was a special occasion, we told them a birthday and they didn't recognize it in any way. Waiter never came back to see how anything was, except once in passing on his way to the kitchen, without stopping, just kept walking. Overall, very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We had Ian as our server and he was grea ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had Ian as our server and he was great! We love our dinners there & we would love Ian to wait on us again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BECKY, THE MANAGER, IS ABSOLUTELY WONDER ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

BECKY, THE MANAGER, IS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! HER STAFF IS AMAZING AND TREATS US SPECIAL EVERY TIME WE DINE THERE!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse presents itself ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse presents itself as a fine dining experience and certainly the prices reflect that. However, while the service was pleasant and friendly, it was not professional. The little things that make for a fine dining experience were overlooked -- water was poured across the table, ice fell out of the water pitcher onto the table and was not picked up, empty plates were not removed before the next course arrived, a fork that was removed with a salad plate was not replaced for main course (and was needed). Suffice it to say, the waitstaff could definitely use some training. The food, while good, did not justify the outrageous prices. RCS has a nice ambience but is not a good dining value. But most people probably know what they're getting into with they choose to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The server was great. He explained the m ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The server was great. He explained the menu, such as telling us the difference in detail of the cuts of meat, with superb accuracy. Wife had the fillet and the ribeye for me. The differences were exactly as he said. His recommendations were spot on for what we were looking for.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we had a great time & will be back ... s ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

we had a great time & will be back ... servers were very professional, friendly as well ... couldn't ask for a better dining place

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a special occasion. Ruth,s Chr ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great for a special occasion. Ruth,s Chris knows how to make a perfect meal, they won't let you down.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit to the GR Ruth ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This was my second visit to the GR Ruth Chris. Entertained my son and daughter-in-law for her birthday.

I have been to several Ruth's in Vegas, Cancun, and Denver. Never been disappointed, however they are a little pricey!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Portions a bit too big, but food quality ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Portions a bit too big, but food quality o.k. Also use of to much fat. Had e.g. Scallops as a starter and they were swimming in the boiling butter. In tatse, prefer as well smaller scallops than huge jumbo ones.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Appetizers were sensational. Osso Bucco ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Appetizers were sensational. Osso Bucco ravioli and spicy shrimp- very tasty.

Main dishes were also very good. If you order medium done then you will get medium. If you want the steak done with a little pink order medium rare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Amazing service!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Fabulous

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I've eaten at Ruth's Chris restaurants for many years. The food is always over the top. Grand Rapids is my favorite.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were really looking forward to eating here for our anniversary after friends treated us to Ruth's Chris Steak House in Wilkes Berri Pennsylvania. The steaks we had at the Pennsylvania location were the best we had ever had. We both ordered the ribeye and while it was good it wasn't great. The augratin potatoes were cold. The desserts were great. Everyone was real friendly who we were in contact with.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Can't judge "value" at a high-end steak ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Can't judge "value" at a high-end steak house. However, you get the quality you expect for the price you do pay. Bite the bullet and treat the wife once a year!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely excellent meal, and great amb ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely excellent meal, and great ambience, that said, the prices are stunning as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The 8oz filet I ordered medium rare was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The 8oz filet I ordered medium rare was hands down better than any other restaurant. The sides were phenomenal- we had au gratin potatoes and fire roasted corn. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food can not be beat. Expen ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Service and food can not be beat. Expensive but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ruth's Chris...what else to say.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary (2 couples) and had some gift cards to "soften the pain". It is not inexpensive for sure, but a wonderful experience with great food and service and ambiance.

Seriously the best calamari I've ever had anywhere, anytime! MUST TRY! Lamb was out of this world. Surf and Turf was fabulous, as was the asparagus with béarnaise. Cowboy rib eye was fabulous, and probably the only less than stellar item was the New York strip I had. Don't get me wrong, it was good, but not the best I've had. I expected it to be out of this world and it was a 3.5 out of 5. Still a great steak.

The banana cream pie and creme brûlée were fabulous, as was the 1985 Dow Vintage port!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was amazing! We truly enjoyed ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our food was amazing! We truly enjoyed our evening. We tried to order a champagne that was offered to us by the waitress but when she went to go get it she was made aware that they didn't actually have what she suggested to us. This inconvenience was minor to us but the waitress didn't take it to be minor and worked hard to make it right. In the end we appreciated her service and enjoyed our wonderful evening. Tip: reserve you table early!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service at this location is alw ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food and service at this location is always top notch. Location is nice. Highly suggest this for a special occasion meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not Exactly What I Expected

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to this restaurant within the Amway Grand Hotel in Grand Rapids, MI. I had heard wonderful things about the food, service and romance. Steak was amazing, shrimp was amazing, baked potato was stone cold (butter didn't even melt), brussel sprouts were okay, asparagus was cooked to perfection and (I felt) the crab cake was terrible . We had 3 waitresses, 1 took forever getting our drinks (drinks were amazing), 1 entered the wrong appetizer into the system even though she had recommended the appetizer that we chose, and the other delivered our food. Creme Brulee' was AMAZING- best part of the entire meal. It was much more loud than I expected, however, it was the night of a Garth Brooks concert so there were a lot of loud people and booze involved surrounding our table. Table was cute, decorated with rose petals for our anniversary. My husband and I had to laugh every time the Manager approached a table, he was so loud and talked to everyone like they were a 3 year old (or stupid). It was two of us- appetizer, dinner, 1 desert and 2 beers and a glass of wine and our bill was $250 (with tip). I think we would go back years from now as a special treat again but certainly not on a regular basis.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

An Epicurean Delight

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

My wife and I thouroughly enjoyed our meal, and the restaurant staff made our eperience a memorable one.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Lunch

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I dined there for my special day. It was definitely special. The meal was outstanding, as was the service. There wasn't a thing we could have complained about that meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was fabulous, and our attendant, Joyce, was wonderful!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great anniversary dinner.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were unfamiliar with Grand Rapids restaurants and found this on Opentable. The reservation process was easy and we were able to easily adjust our time when traffic became a problem. We were treated well and the food was superb. It would have been nice to see the prices on the menu ahead of time but the meal was excellent and well worth it. The servers were attentive without being intrusive and although the restaurant was relatively busy it was not noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Memorable service, Ben very professional ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Memorable service, Ben very professional, made our visit enjoyable. Kudos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lumber Baron room although small (an ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The Lumber Baron room although small (and has no TV) offers the best ambience of any dining area in the place. The food is the same the bartender offers the best service. Just do it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good service but very expensive

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We expected expensive, but this is very, very expensive. We booked our table way in advance, like months in advance through open table, the establishment confirmed our reservation twice via phone , we were dressed and acting appropriately yet were still given a table for 6 next to the hallway to the restrooms.

Service was great, food was good, but I've had better for less. It was fine, but cost a small fortune. If I had known the area better, I would have gone somewhere else.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Celebrated our sons graduation with a pa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Celebrated our sons graduation with a party of 13. Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Veronica was a great hostess, chilled ou ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Veronica was a great hostess, chilled out bottle of champagne we dropped off in advance. Wait staff was terrific, food awesome, brought out graduation treat for dessert to honor our 2 college graduates too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth's Chris - Grand Rapids

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We were celebrating my granddaughter's graduation from GVSU. Service and food were both excellent for our party of ten. I highly recommend the restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

old chef first time visit

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I am a foodie, performed as a chef and still as private function caterer . I enjoy original and unAmericanized recipesrecipes. My grading is very tough. Where others rate food a 8-9 i find myself rating it a 3-4. This is because it is hard to rate high when mistakes are made. I began my training at 5 through my mom, who was a classically trained french gourmet chef.

I ordered lobster bisque for an appitizer. The presentation was typical; however, the only memories of the bisque will be that it was tepid, bland, and lacked lobster. There was approximately one tablespoon of meat. The bisque had a slightly sour taste and no taste of a dry sack sherry, brandy or even a cost conscious port. Cracked pepper was needed to enhance the dish.

The petite was cooked to order (rare) and served on the traditional hot plate. The blue cheese top was good but not worth the extra costcost and did not enhance the experience. The petite flavor was best enjoyed alone. The petite alone did not require any seasoning. Great job highly recommended.

I ordered the brussel sprouts. I really wanted to see how Ruth Chris handles ththem and takes them to the next level. They were correctly cooked, tender but not soggy, with large pieces of bacon, unceremoniously served, and average at best. My daughter prepared a better culinary experience with her brussel sprouts the year before she entered Cordon Bleu.

The bread served is a good palate cleanser. The typical guests were enjoying a few glasses of port or mixed drinks before and during the meal dulling their tastebuds and potential culinary experience. Maybe this is why they give higher ratings.....

Overall i rate the side, topping and bisque as a 3. But the petite is a strong 5. The establishment is loud as the tables are close togethertogether thus removing ambiance or potential romantic dinner.

The cost for the meal is not really worth it until improvements are made....

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall was excellent

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Service was great! Food was great! They were very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Petite filets were cooked exactly to request. Mashed potatoes and mushrooms were tasty. Service was excellent. Expensive but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Calamari ever! Awesome service!

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Best Calamari ever!

Awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We decided to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary at Ruth Chris in Grand Rapids and we were not disappointed. We are veterans of the major steak houses in Chicago and our evening in GR was just as good. The chopped salad was amazing and steaks were cooked to perfection. Our server was very attentive but not intrusive. All in all a great evening and helped make our special day....special!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.