About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids

187 Monroe NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House is located at Amway Hotel in downtown Grand Rapids.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
*Lounge Opens at 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Pearl at Monroe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6426

Catering:
Contact sales manager for details

Parking Details:
parking available at the restaurant or with the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Executive Chef:
Chef – Jeff Barnum Sous Chef – Kyle Hobbins

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for detail information

Private Party Contact:
Kylene Geyer: 6167766418x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
9 More
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (31)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Notable Wine List (18)
Business Meals (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I ordered my steak medium and it was ver ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

I ordered my steak medium and it was very well done, almost ruined. For a top end steakhouse, I expect steaks to be cooked correctly. Also, my $96 bottle of wine retails at $31. I assume bottles have a ~100% mark up in restaurants but 3x seems extreme.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Our dinner was fantastic! The steaks we ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Our dinner was fantastic! The steaks were cooked just perfectly and the flavor was out of this world. The side dish we ordered, the roasted Brussels sprouts were delicious. The service was also exceptional. Can't wait to go back to Ruth Chris again!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Such a good experience. We LOVE Ruth's ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Such a good experience. We LOVE Ruth's Chris!!!!! Oh, btw, our waiter was amazing!!!! He helped make it a great experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kurt (our server) did an excellent job . ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Kurt (our server) did an excellent job . . . food was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seating was fantastic, requested table c ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Seating was fantastic, requested table close to the door due to handicap requirements, and table was perfect. Food was pricy, but with leftovers, I got 4 meals out of my dinner. We were treated like loyalty, was happy to leave a big tip, the servers really worked for it.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were very good! The wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service and food were very good! The wait staff does a nice job being very attentive to a customers desires. They also anticipate those needs in advance. Food is always good. I have yet to have a bad experience at the Chris.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, and the cocktails are grea ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food, and the cocktails are great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband's ribeye was wonderful as was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My husband's ribeye was wonderful as was my petite filet oscar style. The only thing I might comment on is that the staff make a point of asking if we're celebrating anything. We replied we were celebrating both our birthdays. Then .... nothing! Why bother to ask if we're celebrating something and then not offer a free dessert or even a chocolate for after dinner? Why bother - so the waiter can say happy birthday? Regardless of that, dinner was really good. Table next to us was quite noisy. Not a romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my mothers 90th birthday. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We celebrated my mothers 90th birthday. We had great food,ambience and attentive service from Ian,our server. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and even better service. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food and even better service. Did not care for the dress code. Such an excellent place to dine should accompany an attire that matches the top rate experience, not wearing frumpy jeans and tshirts. It was a little noisy for my liking, but it's also a popular place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I both ordered petite filets ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My wife and I both ordered petite filets and shrimp. The shrimp was not what we expected, as it was extremely spicy. Maybe we didn't read the menu correctly. We ate the shrimp without complaining (probably our mistake), but it tarnished our meal somewhat. Other than that, the meal and staff were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Once more, we celebrated our wedding ann ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Once more, we celebrated our wedding anniversary at Ruth's Chris. We continue to return because the food and service are impeccable and never disappoint. That kind of consistency is rare in a restaurant. Elaine, our server, was friendly, engaging, and attentive. Camilo, the server assistant, also kept an excellent eye on us. The mushroom appetizer was very good. The wedge salad was good—could have used a bit more dressing, but it was probably healthier this way so I didn't ask for more! Both of our steaks were cooked perfectly to temperature and the shoestring fries and creamed spinach were delicious. In addition to the complimentary anniversary dessert, we had the cheesecake. It was a softer cheesecake, almost Philadelphia in style, and I think it hadn't quite set all the way. However, we took it home and will eat the rest happily. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and attentive staff! Eve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food and attentive staff! Everything we expected and more!

Highly recommended. Atmosphere was good except for the high noise level....hard to talk.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's always a pleasure to dine here. Gr ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 1, 2016

It's always a pleasure to dine here. Great service and delicious food prepared right the first time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was excellent!! Food was amaz ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our server was excellent!! Food was amazing!! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, outstanding service. Pur ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service. Pure steakhouse fare. The sides are variable in size...some serve 2, some good enough for 6. Excellent pre-concert place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great as always

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was well informed about the m ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The server was well informed about the menu choices. The food was hot and tasteful. We were not rushed to finish. It's a great birthday meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Sharyl was outstanding. She ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our server Sharyl was outstanding. She obviously had a lot of experience and history with the restaurant. She gave great recommendations and had a sense of humor while being absolutely professional. She made our evening extra-special.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our first visit. Food was outstanding! ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Our first visit. Food was outstanding! Will be back.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a good experience, but we were p ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Overall a good experience, but we were placed in the back of the restaurant and there was a wedding reception in the ballroom attached. It was very loud and not ideal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It's always a treat to be able to eat at ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 3, 2016

It's always a treat to be able to eat at Ruths Chris. I love the lamb chops and the harvest salad and asparagus is very tasty as well. I never complain the price when food and service is extraordinary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful experience. The food ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 3, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. The food was amazing! The ambience was spectacular! Our waiter was very attentive and had a good personality. And the location was perfect!

I'm looking forward to dining there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything at Ruth's Chris is superb. S ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Everything at Ruth's Chris is superb. Steaks, sides and drinks were excellent. Our server, Kyle, is a total professional.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks were done to perfection. Great F ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Steaks were done to perfection. Great French onion soup and side dishes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is within the Amway Grand ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The restaurant is within the Amway Grand Hotel where we stayed during Art Prize. It was a girl's weekend. Even though the restaurant was full, our food was cooked perfectly and the service was outstanding.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed evening out on the town with goo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Enjoyed evening out on the town with good friends. We are never disappointed with the consistent excellence that Ruth Chris provides all over the world. The experience is worth the extra $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated 18 year anniversary it was wo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Celebrated 18 year anniversary it was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great steaks. Very good service a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always great steaks. Very good service and while not cheap, worth the price. They made a special effort to accommodate an order not on the menu. Recommend without hesitation.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This place is always top-notch! The food ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This place is always top-notch! The food is amazing, the staff is attentive and courteous, and the wine list is extensive. It's at the top of my special occasion list for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best Ruth's Chris I have bee ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is the best Ruth's Chris I have been to so far. The service is personable, the servers address me by name. The wine list is good and I discovered a new red wine type that is now my favorite, Beaujolais. It has a mild flavor for those who don't like the pungency of heavier reds like Cabernets.

I had the Tomahawk ribeye which was tender and delicious. It was perfectly trimmed with no silver skin. Their steamed broccoli was odorless and pleasant to eat. For dessert I had Ruth's Apple which is ice cream encased in the shape of an apple.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was spectacular. Food is always ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Service was spectacular. Food is always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Numerous great seating arrangements from ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Numerous great seating arrangements from being able to sit next to the sidewalk and people watch to bar seating or quite back room seating to enjoy business or romantic conversations, always the best steaks in Grand Rapids and nice to see the same servers are staying in place.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dessert - bread pudding was very good.

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dessert - bread pudding was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

I have gone to Ruth's Chris many times b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have gone to Ruth's Chris many times before but this time I was disappointed. It was noisy, the wait staff was overloaded, we felt rushed and it was more like a Bran's than a fine dinning experience. The problem is that when you are out with your wife to celebrate a special occasion and spend over $250 on a meal, you really expect it to be special. This was a giant disappointment. I hate to say this but it was no better than applebee's but I paid 5 times more for the pleasure to drive 60 miles for a bad dinning experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a reservation and requested booth ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a reservation and requested booth/window not knowing no booths at window area - had to wait even though there was clearly a table available at the window - I asked if it was reserved and they said yes. Within 10 minutes we were seated at the table we had hoped to occupy so not certain how that happened. However, the service was prompt and professional and the food was served quickly and was delicious. (We were surprised the greek salad had no beets or cucumbers so we requested and only cucs were available). However all was very good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always we had an amazing server and t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 27, 2016

As always we had an amazing server and the food was delicious. I highly recommend Ruth Chris for a dining event

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for a special event and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were in town for a special event and decided to splurge on dinner. Our seating was at a long bench with 3 tables along the bench and this type of seating isn't my favorite as one person faces the restaurant and the other the wall. The food was excellent and the filet was melt in your mouth good. We were not rushed at all but the waiter assured us we would be on time for our event. The menu is varied enough to make choices take a few minutes.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

My first time at this restaurant and we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2016

My first time at this restaurant and we went back the next night. My friend and I were attending a conference and staying in the hotel where Ruth's Chris is located. My friend was already familiar with the restaurant from back home. The first night we couldn't decide between steaks and seafood so we decided to do one the first night and the other the next. I had the petite filet and it was excellent, my friend had the bone in filet and let me taste it, I saw no difference between the two. The next night I had a 2 lb lobster and she had the sea bass, both were excellent. The portions are large so we shared the chop salad and the potatoes au gratin, sweet potatoes the next night which were so yummy and sweet they also served as our dessert. Staff is very friendly and attentive and competent. The second night we only had an hour and they made sure we were out in plenty of time. It is pricey and I couldn't do this every night but for a treat it was wonderful. They ask if it's a special occasion and if it is they sprinkle rose petals on the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 42nd anniversary, and every ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was our 42nd anniversary, and everything was perfect. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.