About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids

187 Monroe NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House is located at Amway Hotel in downtown Grand Rapids.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
*Lounge Opens at 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Pearl at Monroe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6426

Catering:
Contact sales manager for details

Parking Details:
parking available at the restaurant or with the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Executive Chef:
Chef – Jeff Barnum Sous Chef – Kyle Hobbins

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for detail information

Private Party Contact:
Kylene Geyer: 6167766418x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
11 More
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Best Value
Grand Rapids
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (64)
romantic (42)
notable wine list (32)
See All
fit for foodies (23)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (4)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The 8oz filet I ordered medium rare was ...

Dined 4 days ago

The 8oz filet I ordered medium rare was hands down better than any other restaurant. The sides were phenomenal- we had au gratin potatoes and fire roasted corn. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ruth's Chris...what else to say.

Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary (2 couples) and had some gift cards to "soften the pain". It is not inexpensive for sure, but a wonderful experience with great food and service and ambiance. Seriously the best calamari I've ever had anywhere, anytime! MUST TRY! Lamb was out of this world. Surf and Turf was fabulous, as was the asparagus with béarnaise. Cowboy rib eye was fabulous, and probably the only less than stellar item was the New York strip I had. Don't get me wrong, it was good, but not the best I've had. I expected it to be out of this world and it was a 3.5 out of 5. Still a great steak. The banana cream pie and creme brûlée were fabulous, as was the 1985 Dow Vintage port!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was amazing! We truly enjoyed ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our food was amazing! We truly enjoyed our evening. We tried to order a champagne that was offered to us by the waitress but when she went to go get it she was made aware that they didn't actually have what she suggested to us. This inconvenience was minor to us but the waitress didn't take it to be minor and worked hard to make it right. In the end we appreciated her service and enjoyed our wonderful evening. Tip: reserve you table early!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service at this location is alw ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food and service at this location is always top notch. Location is nice. Highly suggest this for a special occasion meal.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Not Exactly What I Expected

Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to this restaurant within the Amway Grand Hotel in Grand Rapids, MI. I had heard wonderful things about the food, service and romance. Steak was amazing, shrimp was amazing, baked potato was stone cold (butter didn't even melt), brussel sprouts were okay, asparagus was cooked to perfection and (I felt) the crab cake was terrible . We had 3 waitresses, 1 took forever getting our drinks (drinks were amazing), 1 entered the wrong appetizer into the system even though she had recommended the appetizer that we chose, and the other delivered our food. Creme Brulee' was AMAZING- best part of the entire meal. It was much more loud than I expected, however, it was the night of a Garth Brooks concert so there were a lot of loud people and booze involved surrounding our table. Table was cute, decorated with rose petals for our anniversary. My husband and I had to laugh every time the Manager approached a table, he was so loud and talked to everyone like they were a 3 year old (or stupid). It was two of us- appetizer, dinner, 1 desert and 2 beers and a glass of wine and our bill was $250 (with tip). I think we would go back years from now as a special treat again but certainly not on a regular basis.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Epicurean Delight

Dined on May 9, 2016

My wife and I thouroughly enjoyed our meal, and the restaurant staff made our eperience a memorable one.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I dined there for my special day. It was definitely special. The meal was outstanding, as was the service. There wasn't a thing we could have complained about that meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great time.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was fabulous, and our attendant, Joyce, was wonderful!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great anniversary dinner.

Dined on May 6, 2016

We were unfamiliar with Grand Rapids restaurants and found this on Opentable. The reservation process was easy and we were able to easily adjust our time when traffic became a problem. We were treated well and the food was superb. It would have been nice to see the prices on the menu ahead of time but the meal was excellent and well worth it. The servers were attentive without being intrusive and although the restaurant was relatively busy it was not noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable service, Ben very professional ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Memorable service, Ben very professional, made our visit enjoyable. Kudos.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Lumber Baron room although small (an ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The Lumber Baron room although small (and has no TV) offers the best ambience of any dining area in the place. The food is the same the bartender offers the best service. Just do it!

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good service but very expensive

Dined on April 30, 2016

We expected expensive, but this is very, very expensive. We booked our table way in advance, like months in advance through open table, the establishment confirmed our reservation twice via phone , we were dressed and acting appropriately yet were still given a table for 6 next to the hallway to the restrooms. Service was great, food was good, but I've had better for less. It was fine, but cost a small fortune. If I had known the area better, I would have gone somewhere else.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our sons graduation with a pa ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Celebrated our sons graduation with a party of 13. Great service and food!

food5
ambience5
service5

Veronica was a great hostess, chilled ou ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Veronica was a great hostess, chilled out bottle of champagne we dropped off in advance. Wait staff was terrific, food awesome, brought out graduation treat for dessert to honor our 2 college graduates too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris - Grand Rapids

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were celebrating my granddaughter's graduation from GVSU. Service and food were both excellent for our party of ten. I highly recommend the restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

old chef first time visit

Dined on April 27, 2016

I am a foodie, performed as a chef and still as private function caterer . I enjoy original and unAmericanized recipesrecipes. My grading is very tough. Where others rate food a 8-9 i find myself rating it a 3-4. This is because it is hard to rate high when mistakes are made. I began my training at 5 through my mom, who was a classically trained french gourmet chef. I ordered lobster bisque for an appitizer. The presentation was typical; however, the only memories of the bisque will be that it was tepid, bland, and lacked lobster. There was approximately one tablespoon of meat. The bisque had a slightly sour taste and no taste of a dry sack sherry, brandy or even a cost conscious port. Cracked pepper was needed to enhance the dish. The petite was cooked to order (rare) and served on the traditional hot plate. The blue cheese top was good but not worth the extra costcost and did not enhance the experience. The petite flavor was best enjoyed alone. The petite alone did not require any seasoning. Great job highly recommended. I ordered the brussel sprouts. I really wanted to see how Ruth Chris handles ththem and takes them to the next level. They were correctly cooked, tender but not soggy, with large pieces of bacon, unceremoniously served, and average at best. My daughter prepared a better culinary experience with her brussel sprouts the year before she entered Cordon Bleu. The bread served is a good palate cleanser. The typical guests were enjoying a few glasses of port or mixed drinks before and during the meal dulling their tastebuds and potential culinary experience. Maybe this is why they give higher ratings..... Overall i rate the side, topping and bisque as a 3. But the petite is a strong 5. The establishment is loud as the tables are close togethertogether thus removing ambiance or potential romantic dinner. The cost for the meal is not really worth it until improvements are made....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall was excellent

Dined on April 26, 2016

Service was great! Food was great! They were very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 21, 2016

Petite filets were cooked exactly to request. Mashed potatoes and mushrooms were tasty. Service was excellent. Expensive but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Calamari ever! Awesome service!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Best Calamari ever! Awesome service!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Anniversary Dinner

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

We decided to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary at Ruth Chris in Grand Rapids and we were not disappointed. We are veterans of the major steak houses in Chicago and our evening in GR was just as good. The chopped salad was amazing and steaks were cooked to perfection. Our server was very attentive but not intrusive. All in all a great evening and helped make our special day....special!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steak! Wow

Dined on March 27, 2016

Had a group of 10. Probably not the easiest customers but the service and the food were exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Special Occassion

Dined on March 26, 2016

Ruth's Chris was fantastic. From the food, to the service, to the atmosphere, they do it right. My wife and I ate here to commemorate a special event and it was a perfect venue for that. Also, the wine selection was vast. We aren't wine drinkers but there were multiple shelves FULL of wine. Be prepared to drop a few hundred bucks, unless you are frugal and want just a taste of the restaurant. Note: Don't leave without getting the lobster mac 'n cheese. It was worth the trip itself.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night out

Dined on March 22, 2016

The food was great, the service and ambiance terrific and it was a great experience

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on March 19, 2016

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful meal at Ruth's Chris this past weekend to celebrate our anniversary. We arrived earlier than our reservation on accident because we had never been before and didn't want to get lost and be late, but they seated us right away. The service was phenomenal. Our waiters were very timely and catered to every need. My glass of water was never empty, and they asked if we needed anything frequently, but not too much so that we were unable to enjoy our time together. It is definitely a special occasion restaurant due to the price, but it was definitely worth every penny!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Royal Treatment!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Bone-In Tenderloin

Dined on March 14, 2016

Tried out the New Bone In Tenderloin and it was quite good, nice that they bring out a selection of top shelf steak knives to choose from, a little added touch, creamed spinach was absolutely the best.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice enening out

Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I are in the midst of preparing for a marathon. Nothing like a great steak after a 20 mile training run.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

GR Managers

Dined on March 2, 2016

I had my managers out for dinner, and a meeting, the Ruth's Chris team was spot on, attentive, but not pushy. We were allowed to conduct business, but we were also attended to by the staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Service and food

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had one of the best servers we have ever had here. He was very informative and helped us with questions. Overall we had a great experience with the overall scene and the food itself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Meat!

Dined on February 19, 2016

Our server Ben was awesome. We had a NY Strip and a Cowboy Steak. They were both as good as a steak can be! I can remember the name, but I had a Hendricks Gin and cucumber cocktail and it was lovely - it would be excellent as a summertime cooler. My husband had the Vesper 50/50, and THAT was a great cocktail! I got the shrimp addition to my steak, but it was only ok, the seasoning wasn't that great and the shrimp seemed just a little overcooked, especially for the additional cost I wouldn't order it again. Desert was the chocolate duo, simply delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Best lamb in town.

Dined on February 16, 2016

We had a very nice meal, the steak was awesome as usual. The lamb chops my daughter ordered were some of the best I have ever tasted.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Wonderful

Dined on February 16, 2016

Our server Joyce is always, consistently, never-failingly, awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Setting the Bar Everytime!

Dined on February 14, 2016

The perfect place for the finest dining, excellent service, and food that's out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wait staff was excellent

Dined on February 14, 2016

The wait staff was superb! The manager made a point to visit each table around us but didn't come to ours. We wondered what was up. Other than that, it was great for our 30th anniversary.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Ian was our server on Valentine's Day an ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Ian was our server on Valentine's Day and he did an amazing job! We took his suggestions and he went above and beyond to make our night special!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on February 13, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had! The meat here is to die for. Get the filet - you will not be sorry! I typically skip the sides at dinner and ask them to drop my steak even though I haven't finished my salad. The sides are good (and remember they are family style so are shareable), but they aren't worth the price (in my opinion). I am completely happy with a salad, the filet, a nice bottle of merlot or cab, and top it off with the new chocolate molten cake they just got on their menu! As always, the service is impeccable. Waiters and waitresses are very attentive, treat you with respect, and are not snooty. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to have a romantic night out, or to celebrate something big going on in your life!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food and service was exceptional. I've eaten at all the big steakhouses in the major cities and this has to be by far my most memorable experience. Best service I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent place to meet. Good location ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Excellent place to meet. Good location great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful meal after the Auto Show ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

Had a wonderful meal after the Auto Show. We had apps, wine and all ate beef......very, very good. Susan was our server and she did a wonderful job taking care of us and recommending some favorites. We'll definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrate the Steak!

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

Ruth's Chris is one of our new favorites. It is perfect for celebrations, romantic date nights and business dining. The steaks are always excellent. My personal favorite, the ribeye, is served with melted butter on a 500 degree plate (as are all steaks). The flavor is incredible! I always order medium rare and Ruth's does this to perfection with a bright pink center and a seared outside. More than ample sized side dishes can be ordered to share among the table. The creamed spinach is another favorite. Service is always excellent--as to be expected in a restaurant of this caliber. It is pricey, but if this is your market, it's a wonderful place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.