About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids

187 Monroe NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House is located at Amway Hotel in downtown Grand Rapids.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
*Lounge Opens at 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Pearl at Monroe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6426

Catering:
Contact sales manager for details

Parking Details:
parking available at the restaurant or with the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Executive Chef:
Chef – Jeff Barnum Sous Chef – Kyle Hobbins

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for detail information

Private Party Contact:
Kylene Geyer: (616) 776-6418

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Good for Birthdays (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (15)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dine here often. I was disappointed i ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We dine here often. I was disappointed in the salmon, which I've ordered many times in the past. It tasted a few days past it's prime. I told the manager this when he checked on our table and he insisted on bringing out a new one, even though I asked if it was in the same shipment, and explained it would taste exactly the same, like not fresh fish. They brought me a new one, it also tasted not so fresh, however this time no one checked on our table, in fact the manager clearly avoided us. Overall, wasn't worth $400 for the meal. Probably won't be back! We will go to the Chop House or Leo's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The food is good, but not to the degree ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is good, but not to the degree that the prices demand. They have escaped the steak and steak cliché (the seafood on ice was good, and clever) but the restaurant still charges too much for entrees that a lot of customers could make at home, with a good meat department and a serviceable grill. What set 1913 apart was that the menu could not be duplicated at home.

The wine prices were worse than the usual restaurant felony.

The service, on the other hand, was terrific. Ian is a 1913 alum, said he remembered us from there, and did a superb job.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and especially great service ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and especially great service for our special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant was one of the best plac ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant was one of the best places we've been to the waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu...She work hard to make sure we were comfortable..The food was excellent those were some great tasting steaks side were nice and the cheesecake was amazing...

We will be back and we both like to tell Joyce thank you for all service she provided us it was a great birthday for my girlfriend.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten in Ruth's Chris Steakhouse ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We have eaten in Ruth's Chris Steakhouses across the country and find that the one in Grand Rapids is the best. The food is the best we've ever had. I marked the atmosphere down a little bit because our table this time was in the middle of the restaurant and it was quite noisy, so hard to carry on a conversation with table mates. Next time we'll ask for a table near the wall or window.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

One bite and you know why you pay a lot ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One bite and you know why you pay a lot of money for the steaks-they melt in your mouth and are very, very good! But they cannot make a cosmo! disappointed in that! but if that is the only thing, I can live with that!!!

Theda

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great atmosphere. Food was very good. A ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great atmosphere. Food was very good. A little pricey, but it's Ruth Chris and that as expected. Open Table reservation worked great. Easy to use.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was not that great, service was goo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was not that great, service was good,steaks were disappointing for a fine steakhouse not worth the price,prefer the chop house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding food and service. Great atm ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Great atmosphere for everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely enjoyed it!!!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely enjoyed it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambience with excellent service an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great ambience with excellent service and of course great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best place to go if you love steak. It i ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best place to go if you love steak. It is hands down the best steak I have ever consumed. I have tried steak houses in and out of the country and found Ruth's Chris Steakhouse to be the best. But don't take my word for it. Go and try it and you'll be hooked. All the best. Linnaea Carter

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat! Service, ambiance, food, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a treat! Service, ambiance, food, wine list, decor...all spectacular! Everyone is always so welcoming and accommodating!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a wonderful experience. What a re ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. What a remarkably friendly, efficient and thoughtful staff. Also, appreciate the personal table side greeting fro management. Delicious food and a memorable occasion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Food was delicious, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent service. Food was delicious, but expensive. We enjoyed our unexpected anniversary treats.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful evening at Ruth's Chr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse! The service was amazing and the food was delicious! This is the perfect place to have a great steak and celebrate a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for my son's birthday and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were there for my son's birthday and the food was excellent.. We Had a table by the window and it was the perfect ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First-time customers. Food was fantasti ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 21, 2016

First-time customers. Food was fantastic (best filet I've ever tasted!). Service was prompt, knowledgeable, and friendly. Surprised by the noise level and lack of intimacy (my wife and I had a small table between two other small tables, 18 inches away on each side of us).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food and service, but way too ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food and service, but way too noisy seated adjacent to bar.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very very noisy environment where we wer ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very very noisy environment where we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Delicious dinner for a special occasion!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Delicious dinner for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was perfect, the food was fab ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Everything was perfect, the food was fabulous and our server, Sheryl was terrific and personable and funny.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Kyle, was amazing. He made u ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our server, Kyle, was amazing. He made us laugh and went above and beyond for us. The food is amazing. We have been here multiple times, and we leave super satisfied every time. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our partners christm ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We were celebrating our partners christmas dinner. Food and service was excellent. Only complaint was I had requested a round table and they could not do a round table for 8.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our servers were outstanding and made ou ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Our servers were outstanding and made our dinner a lot of fun. The food was excellent and we all enjoyed every bite! The Anniversary dessert was a thoughtful surprise and very good!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a wonderful visit to Ruth's Ch ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As always a wonderful visit to Ruth's Chris filled with excellent service, fantastic food, and an eagerness to return soon! This is the one restaurant I've found in Grand Rapids that I CANNOT cook a steak better than. Enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and a great atmosphere!! ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good food and a great atmosphere!! Definitely will be going again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered my steak medium and it was ver ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I ordered my steak medium and it was very well done, almost ruined. For a top end steakhouse, I expect steaks to be cooked correctly. Also, my $96 bottle of wine retails at $31. I assume bottles have a ~100% mark up in restaurants but 3x seems extreme.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Our dinner was fantastic! The steaks we ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our dinner was fantastic! The steaks were cooked just perfectly and the flavor was out of this world. The side dish we ordered, the roasted Brussels sprouts were delicious. The service was also exceptional. Can't wait to go back to Ruth Chris again!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Such a good experience. We LOVE Ruth's ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Such a good experience. We LOVE Ruth's Chris!!!!! Oh, btw, our waiter was amazing!!!! He helped make it a great experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kurt (our server) did an excellent job . ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Kurt (our server) did an excellent job . . . food was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seating was fantastic, requested table c ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Seating was fantastic, requested table close to the door due to handicap requirements, and table was perfect. Food was pricy, but with leftovers, I got 4 meals out of my dinner. We were treated like loyalty, was happy to leave a big tip, the servers really worked for it.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were very good! The wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service and food were very good! The wait staff does a nice job being very attentive to a customers desires. They also anticipate those needs in advance. Food is always good. I have yet to have a bad experience at the Chris.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, and the cocktails are grea ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food, and the cocktails are great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband's ribeye was wonderful as was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My husband's ribeye was wonderful as was my petite filet oscar style. The only thing I might comment on is that the staff make a point of asking if we're celebrating anything. We replied we were celebrating both our birthdays. Then .... nothing! Why bother to ask if we're celebrating something and then not offer a free dessert or even a chocolate for after dinner? Why bother - so the waiter can say happy birthday? Regardless of that, dinner was really good. Table next to us was quite noisy. Not a romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my mothers 90th birthday. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We celebrated my mothers 90th birthday. We had great food,ambience and attentive service from Ian,our server. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and even better service. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food and even better service. Did not care for the dress code. Such an excellent place to dine should accompany an attire that matches the top rate experience, not wearing frumpy jeans and tshirts. It was a little noisy for my liking, but it's also a popular place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I both ordered petite filets ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My wife and I both ordered petite filets and shrimp. The shrimp was not what we expected, as it was extremely spicy. Maybe we didn't read the menu correctly. We ate the shrimp without complaining (probably our mistake), but it tarnished our meal somewhat. Other than that, the meal and staff were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Once more, we celebrated our wedding ann ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Once more, we celebrated our wedding anniversary at Ruth's Chris. We continue to return because the food and service are impeccable and never disappoint. That kind of consistency is rare in a restaurant. Elaine, our server, was friendly, engaging, and attentive. Camilo, the server assistant, also kept an excellent eye on us. The mushroom appetizer was very good. The wedge salad was good—could have used a bit more dressing, but it was probably healthier this way so I didn't ask for more! Both of our steaks were cooked perfectly to temperature and the shoestring fries and creamed spinach were delicious. In addition to the complimentary anniversary dessert, we had the cheesecake. It was a softer cheesecake, almost Philadelphia in style, and I think it hadn't quite set all the way. However, we took it home and will eat the rest happily. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and attentive staff! Eve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food and attentive staff! Everything we expected and more!

Highly recommended. Atmosphere was good except for the high noise level....hard to talk.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.