About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids

Ruth's Chris Steak House is located at Amway Hotel in downtown Grand Rapids.

187 Monroe NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
*Lounge Opens at 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Pearl at Monroe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6426

Catering:
Contact sales manager for details

Parking Details:
parking available at the restaurant or with the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Executive Chef:
Chef – Jeff Barnum Sous Chef – Kyle Hobbins

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for detail information

Private Party Contact:
Kylene Geyer: (616) 776-6418

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (42)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Notable Wine List (20)
Business Meals (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Bar Seating (9)
People Watching (8)
Fireplace (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Casual (5)
Healthy (5)
Fun (5)
Historic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always a treat to go to Ruth's Chris. Food is always great, wait staff is great. Only issue is that we were seated way in the back and my seat was literally in the corner with the curtains behind me. Couldn't get out without 3 other people moving and even then I couldn't stand up and had to slide my way from seat to seat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Quite disappointed in our recent visit to the Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Grand Rapids. We both ordered filet (medium) with different add-ons, mine came out WITHOUT a sliver of pink while my husband's was closer to medium rare. What surprised us the most is that neither member of our waitstaff inquired about our steaks?? Our side items (as gratin potatoes & grilled asparagus) were average at best. Unfortunately this was our first visit to this location and will be our last as there are several other quality steakhouses within walking distance of the Amway.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We make the trip to this restaurant every year for our anniversary. This year the steaks were fabulous but the sides were just so so. The seating was a little stuffy right in between two other couples less than arm reach. How ever the overall was fine. Will visit again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Once again great food and stellar service. the lamb was perfect, as were the steaks my colleagues consumed in total!! Thanks again for consistently high quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came for our anniversary! Great food! Filet was " melt in your mouth" good. Brussel sprouts were awesome. Our server, Curt VM, was top notch. Food was served relatively fast. It was prom night, so was rather noisy. Would definitely come again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were celebrating our son and daughter-in-law's 20th anniversary. Our table was ready when we arrived, the service was great and our steaks were truly the best ever!!! Our waiter was kind enough to make a few suggestions regarding the size if side dishes which proved to be very helpful. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend Ruth's Chris to anyone looking for an above average dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My family brought me for Mothers Day. It was perfect! Thanks so much for a great evening. I couldn't have asked for a nicer dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Used the occasion to celebrate our sons graduation from Law School. Had 12 in our party and it all went really well. Wait staff was excellent, accommodating and bridged the gap between 3 - 90 year old grand parents and 20 year olds really well :). Food - Excellent as usual, simply the best steaks available. Overall perfect experience for all involved and capped the many memories made that day. Thank You!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a great meal and experience was good. After we were seated, it took a while for our waiter to come to our table and take our drink order.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We love Ruth's Chris! The food is wonderful and the service is always spot on.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great time celebrating my sons college graduation.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Outstanding food and service, never felt rushed, Kurt our waiter, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with questions we had concerning the menu. Will return again !

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Casual, Historic, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent restaurant - took my parents for their first time at Ruth 's Chris - wonderful food

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Love this restaurant, always wonderful the best service and the drinks are great food excellent and the staff is super..

We always take customers here before the Broadway show and for our families special occasions.

Lamb chops are the best and I have eaten all over.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent dinner and dessert. Very professional and friendly staff. Nice location in one our State's most beautiful hotels

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Friendly and accommodating wait staff and great food. The filets are one of (if not the best) I have ever had. Great atmosphere for a more upscale (yet not pretentious) and romantic dinner or just a nice night out on the town. A highly recommended dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 25, 2017

High quality food and great service. Excellent and consistent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing as always

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wonderful place. Celebrated with my best friend. Service was excellent and food was just as wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 18, 2017

As always Excellent Service and Food was fantastic. Manager Becky always checks on guests and is sincere about making sure you are well taken care of. Bryan our waiter was very attentive and polite. Great evening and wonderful steaks all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our server (Joyce) was fabulous and the food was phenomenal! This was the first time dining there for the majority of our group and we were all very pleased. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Ruth Chris Steak House lives up to their signature "sizzling" plates of incredible foods and the wine list offers worldly choices that complete the perfect dinner! And the service is first class! Congrats to Ruth Chris!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We have been dining at Ruth's Chris for more than 15 years. This particular location has a completely different vibe from what we are use to and we like the modern updated twist.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Everything about the meal was amazing. Wonderful food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. We appreciate the dependability! Our son thoroughly enjoyed his birthday dinner. Looking forward to our next visit..

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was excellent just a little pricey! Awesome service!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was top-notch. Food was amazing. Server Josh was attentive and explained the menu and specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This was my first time at Ruth's Chris and I have to say both the food and service were superb. I will be bringing my husband back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Good food,good service. Was there for special occasion. Would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything was great - food, service, atmosphere! I'm such a big fan.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our waitress Elaine was " THE BEST".

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We traveled to Grand Rapids to celebrate my husbands birthday. We had 8 of us traveling from the Ann Arbor area and Chicago. We spent the night at the Amway
We were seated on time but waited 15 mins for water and another 10 minutes until I got up and asked a manager if we had a waiter. Finally someone came to take our order. The salads came out fine but we waited over 45 mins for our main course. The steaks were warm but all the sides and soup were cold. For a large group who spent a lot of money it was a huge disappointment. We have been to many Ruth Chris restaurants and have had excellent service.
Very disappointing. They did offer us free dessert, but only a few of us wanted it.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The best in the world here! Awesome dinner experience from first sitting down until after we left! The meal was spectacular and the view is superb. Easy to get to whether you stay downtown, live in the area and walk, or if you drive and use valet or self park. No matter what it's super easy to access. The decor is elegant but also inviting and the food is exactly how it should be. Service cannot be matched. They're the best!!!!! Done here, you won't be disappointed. There's options for any diet and the wine list is excellent!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Family Style, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Organic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Late-night Find, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Cozy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 21, 2017

When I booked Ruth's Chris the day before my daughter's 10th birthday on Tuesday Feb 21st (she requested a "fancy restaurant"), the entire slate of times were open - great, not busy, right?. Picked 5:45 so that we had ample time to get home before the usual bedtime ritual, even went so far as to request a table outside the way too tight Monroe Ave.-side room. Little did we know that we'd have a prime table on the other side of the "wine wall" from 20+ inebriated businessmen that provided an endless background chorus of loud foul conversation, trying to talk over each other while my 7 and 10 year old kids listen.

Apps and salad/soup courses came quickly, which was great, except that it accentuated the fact the the main courses were 45+ minutes later to arrive (after 7:15). Apparently there was a "party of 70" that got their orders in just ahead of ours. I'm gonna guess their party didn't have any starving 7 year olds that had foregone the apps/salads and just wanted his microwaved chicken tenders ASAP, like we did. We asked several people to facilitate this and were brushed off. At that point, we really just wanted to leave.

I have not been as excited to have a restaurant chain come to Grand Rapids as much as Ruth's Chris a few years, yet each time I go there I am more and more disappointed. For the money, you are much better served with a classy night out across the street at The Chop House, where I have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I thought it was a nice place to go , the overall experience was good but the dinning location I had was right next to the bathrooms and all I could see was people coming in and out of the bathroom
It was in our line of sight , that too me was bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our dinner was very nice, the food was fantastic. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went with some friends. The atmosphere was elegant. It was considerably noisy. They make an excellent martini. I ordered the "cowboy Ribeye". It was wonderful. The sides we had were cheesy potatoes, sautéed mushrooms, and asparagus. All were excellent and came big enough to share with the rest of the table. We did not try the desserts. Barely able to finish the main course. Highly recommend for special occasion. Outstanding wine list. Some by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always have loved Ruths Chris. The staff makes us feel like royalty every time we are there. Strongly recommend this restaurant! Becky the manager is very hard working and she will do anything for you if you have a complaint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.