About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids

Ruth's Chris Steak House is located at Amway Hotel in downtown Grand Rapids.

187 Monroe NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
*Lounge Opens at 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Pearl at Monroe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 776-6426

Catering:
Contact sales manager for details

Parking Details:
parking available at the restaurant or with the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Executive Chef:
Chef – Jeff Barnum Sous Chef – Kyle Hobbins

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact the restaurant for detail information

Private Party Contact:
Kylene Geyer: (616) 776-6418

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (45)
Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (32)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Business Meals (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (6)
Fun (6)
Fireplace (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Family Style (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

As always Excellent Service and Food was fantastic. Manager Becky always checks on guests and is sincere about making sure you are well taken care of. Bryan our waiter was very attentive and polite. Great evening and wonderful steaks all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our server (Joyce) was fabulous and the food was phenomenal! This was the first time dining there for the majority of our group and we were all very pleased. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Ruth Chris Steak House lives up to their signature "sizzling" plates of incredible foods and the wine list offers worldly choices that complete the perfect dinner! And the service is first class! Congrats to Ruth Chris!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We have been dining at Ruth's Chris for more than 15 years. This particular location has a completely different vibe from what we are use to and we like the modern updated twist.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Everything about the meal was amazing. Wonderful food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. We appreciate the dependability! Our son thoroughly enjoyed his birthday dinner. Looking forward to our next visit..

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was excellent just a little pricey! Awesome service!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was top-notch. Food was amazing. Server Josh was attentive and explained the menu and specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This was my first time at Ruth's Chris and I have to say both the food and service were superb. I will be bringing my husband back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Good food,good service. Was there for special occasion. Would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything was great - food, service, atmosphere! I'm such a big fan.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our waitress Elaine was " THE BEST".

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We traveled to Grand Rapids to celebrate my husbands birthday. We had 8 of us traveling from the Ann Arbor area and Chicago. We spent the night at the Amway
We were seated on time but waited 15 mins for water and another 10 minutes until I got up and asked a manager if we had a waiter. Finally someone came to take our order. The salads came out fine but we waited over 45 mins for our main course. The steaks were warm but all the sides and soup were cold. For a large group who spent a lot of money it was a huge disappointment. We have been to many Ruth Chris restaurants and have had excellent service.
Very disappointing. They did offer us free dessert, but only a few of us wanted it.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The best in the world here! Awesome dinner experience from first sitting down until after we left! The meal was spectacular and the view is superb. Easy to get to whether you stay downtown, live in the area and walk, or if you drive and use valet or self park. No matter what it's super easy to access. The decor is elegant but also inviting and the food is exactly how it should be. Service cannot be matched. They're the best!!!!! Done here, you won't be disappointed. There's options for any diet and the wine list is excellent!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Family Style, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Organic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Late-night Find, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Cozy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 21, 2017

When I booked Ruth's Chris the day before my daughter's 10th birthday on Tuesday Feb 21st (she requested a "fancy restaurant"), the entire slate of times were open - great, not busy, right?. Picked 5:45 so that we had ample time to get home before the usual bedtime ritual, even went so far as to request a table outside the way too tight Monroe Ave.-side room. Little did we know that we'd have a prime table on the other side of the "wine wall" from 20+ inebriated businessmen that provided an endless background chorus of loud foul conversation, trying to talk over each other while my 7 and 10 year old kids listen.

Apps and salad/soup courses came quickly, which was great, except that it accentuated the fact the the main courses were 45+ minutes later to arrive (after 7:15). Apparently there was a "party of 70" that got their orders in just ahead of ours. I'm gonna guess their party didn't have any starving 7 year olds that had foregone the apps/salads and just wanted his microwaved chicken tenders ASAP, like we did. We asked several people to facilitate this and were brushed off. At that point, we really just wanted to leave.

I have not been as excited to have a restaurant chain come to Grand Rapids as much as Ruth's Chris a few years, yet each time I go there I am more and more disappointed. For the money, you are much better served with a classy night out across the street at The Chop House, where I have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I thought it was a nice place to go , the overall experience was good but the dinning location I had was right next to the bathrooms and all I could see was people coming in and out of the bathroom
It was in our line of sight , that too me was bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our dinner was very nice, the food was fantastic. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went with some friends. The atmosphere was elegant. It was considerably noisy. They make an excellent martini. I ordered the "cowboy Ribeye". It was wonderful. The sides we had were cheesy potatoes, sautéed mushrooms, and asparagus. All were excellent and came big enough to share with the rest of the table. We did not try the desserts. Barely able to finish the main course. Highly recommend for special occasion. Outstanding wine list. Some by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always have loved Ruths Chris. The staff makes us feel like royalty every time we are there. Strongly recommend this restaurant! Becky the manager is very hard working and she will do anything for you if you have a complaint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

So enjoyed our server and the excellent service provided. The scallops appetizer was outstanding and the steak was done to perfection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Greeted promptly at the door by the host and the server. Great atmosphere for a romantic dinner. Great food and service by Autumn, she was very attentive and knowledgable of the drink and food menu. Overall was a wonderful experience for my boyfriend and I who were celebrating Valentine's a day early.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went here for a last minute Valentines date with my wife. Service was awesome, steaks and seafood were cooked to perfection. Even the key lime pie do not disappoint. While there are many options for your protein selection, the steaks are what have me coming back. The entire staff was also very polite and checked in to ensure everything was to our satisfaction.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Ruth's Chris never fails to impress us. An early Valentine dinner with excellent food and a great cabernet recommended by our server. A wonderful restaurant with wonderful food. I was able to have the spot that we enjoy, with the attention that is required - but not over done so we could still enjoy each other's conversation. Everything was perfect. Great food & service isnt cheap. This is (in our opinion) a "special occasion" eatery, but well worth every penny.
Our kids were even excited knowing they would have leftovers!
Can't wait to go back..

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome, best steak ever in the history of the world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good as expected but the service was phenomenal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Try the bone in ribeye, fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Obviously high price point; quality food , service & location. Great to celebrate special occasions & impress a date.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wife and I went to dinner, both ordered filet's , when server brought them out, 1 steak had shrimp on top, and a smaller cut. I asked about it, he just looked confused, i asked it these were ours and if they were cooked medium, he said yes, and walked away, once we cut into them they were pretty rare, and we decided to eat around the edge. when we were done eating the edge the server came out, so i asked her about the steaks and she said they were mixed up with the table next to us. Also the augratin potatoes were hard and under cooked. The dinner was very disappointing. Its too bad I have ate at Ruth Chris in other states and they have always been good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Ben our server was very good and we did enjoy him. Two issues we had were that they seated us at a very tiny round table and the top was not stable and turned. The other issue was a complete lack of a minimum dress attire policy. My wife and I dressed up for the occassion as I would expect with the other Ruth's Chris places we have visited, but this night most people were in jeans and several were wearing hoodies, jerseys and tennis shoes. Food was good, but felt out of place the way we were dressed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great restaurant- great service, would recommend to others.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went there for anniversary dinner. Had a wonderfull table and a great waiter, Ben. Put rose pedals on table as a nice touch for occassion. Ben was superb. Did not rush at all, very attenative, and called us by our names (nice touch). Food was great, drinks were very good. Would definitely go there again. I would also ask for Ben.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have never been disappointed when we dine at Ruth's Chris. Our meal is always prepared to our liking, the service is top notch, and we love the atmosphere. It's always our pick for celebrating our anniversary or Birthday!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Everything was perfect! We always enjoy eating here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Noise level high. Not really a place for conversation. Exceptional wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We sat right in front of the hostess stand… Way too noisy there. And I have to remember to request a seat not by the fireplace… While it is beautiful it is way too hot… Our server ben was awesome... and our dinner was delicious !

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I took my 3 daughters (ages 15,13, 10) for a "girls night out". Our meal was unbelievable. My daughters continue to rave about the brussel sprouts and the mushrooms. We had the petite filets with shrimp that had Cajun spice on them. My LOVED the shrimp and proclaimed the cheesecake to be the best on Earth. Our waiter, Gabriel, was fantastic and treated my daughters with such respect that it made them feel very grown up. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Had dinner before the Shen Yun Ballet. Can't beat Ruth's Chris when you're seeing anything at DeVoss. Makes the evening even more special!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food was fantastic. Service starting with check in coats and restaurant reservations was wonderful, very polite. They made you feel very welcome as if you entered your friends home. I let the server Brian know my husband can only hear from the right and he made sure he was included and could hear the conversations without being yelled at. Brian is a wonderful person to have in your employment. We have been married 40years and enjoy our date nights. Brian thankyou for making our dinner evening special. The chefs dishes were wonderful and I can not say enough about his food. Surf/turf cooked perfect and the stuffed chicken is so moist and seasoned perfect. Two thumbs up to chef. Brian we will ask for on our next visit. What an enjoyable evening. Thanks to everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.