About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno

7844 N. Blackstone Avenue
Suite 500
Fresno, CA 93720
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (559) 490-0358 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Fresno, CA serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 490-0358

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/fresno

Catering:
Ruth's Catering in Fresno, CA the same flavor, service and expertise from Ruth's Chris to you! Your Private Event Manager is ready to help attend to every detail of your event, from the menu to the martinis. Ruth's will bring in a team of trained chefs, bartenders and servers to make the most of your experience.

Parking Details:
A valet is available on Friday and Saturday nights for a fee of $5.00. Self parking is available all week long.

Executive Chef:
Tommy Chavez

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth’s Chris Steak House offers expert planning assistance and custom menu options for your entertaining needs. Our warm hospitality and responsive, professional service ensure that your private party, banquet, reception, rehearsal dinner or any special event will meet your highest expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Misty DeFlitch: 8776256099

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
5 More
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Romantic
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno
Best Restaurants in Fresno ›

special occasion (13)
fit for foodies (11)
notable wine list (10)
See All
romantic (10)
good for groups (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Upon arriving to the restaurant we were ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Upon arriving to the restaurant we were greeted at the valet and our car was taken care off by a kind young man. We were able to enter the restaurant without any delays and our dining partners were already seated. The entire night was delicious and the ambience was perfect, we were celebrating One of our friend's 55th birthday.

food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth Chris has clearly found its Rhythm. ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Ruth Chris has clearly found its Rhythm... Clearly beating Mortons's of Chicago in every category but service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Same deal, great food, fantastic service

Dined on May 7, 2016

We go here to celebrate events, actually just an excuse for a fairly costly great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expected the best.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Got the best and don't need 50 characters to say any more!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An exceptional meal

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a Exceptional meal with friends, celebrating two belated birthdays with a delicious selection of both food and wine & toping it off with a desert that was to die for.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was new and we would've nev ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our waitress was new and we would've never known by the great service she provided us.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

This place is normally a great steakhouse.

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

I wasn't expecting what we got that night, which was disappointment. Everything was great, the service, the salad and the sides but the steak, not so much. My friend ordered a rib-eye steak medium and it was a perfect medium, but I ordered a New York medium-rare and what I got was rare to well done on the same steak. The lobster tail I ordered to go with the steak was just shy of 2 bites. Ok I will admit I did share my steak and lobster with my wife, and the plates the steak came out on were over 500° F. But how my steak turned out that way, is a mystery.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food. And tremendous service.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Incredible food. And tremendous service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, Great Evening

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our waiter & staff, Chris & Garrett were the best ever! They provided a wonderful dining experience and a lot of fun. Their sense of humor complimented the food. Our food was delicious and the course timing was perfect. Chris was very attentive and we felt completely attended to. Absolutely no complaints.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent but for a fine din ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Service was excellent but for a fine dining restaurant you sure don't stick to your dress code very well. Many patrons wore t-shirts and shorts which makes those who do follow your dress code feel over dressed. And I'm not talking about the bar area but the sit down area. The food was OK...the seafood was all undercooked and was had that fishy smell which is a sign of days old seafood. I get fresher and tastier food from restaurants that are 1/3 the price and double the portion size.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food- as usual- was fantastic. Tried a s ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Food- as usual- was fantastic. Tried a seasonal addition to the menu- the Miso Glazed Cod- loved it! Served with black rice and bok choy. Delicious.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Wait time

Dined on March 5, 2016

The restaurant itself was okay looking, they can repaint the walls since there are a lot of scratches every where. However, the wait time was extraordinary long. It took them about 30 mins just for appetizers, about an hour for entrées and then another 25 minutes just for the dessert all to all be served. Nonetheless, they were quick with the check. Food was good, definitely not worth the wait though. I got there at 715 pm and did not leave until about 1030pm.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, atmosphere, and service:)

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great food, atmosphere, and service:)

food5
ambience5
service5

The best steak that I ever had.

Dined on February 26, 2016

The best steak that I ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

It was a great atmosphere.. food was great too. I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

It's was a long day, and ending it with a great dinning experience at Ruth's Chris capped a wonderful Valentine's Day.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our experience! Been there for Va ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Loved our experience! Been there for Valentines Day, New Years Eve, Anniversary and just because we love it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best steakhouse in Fresno CA

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Best steakhouse in Fresno CA

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptionally high quality food with out ...

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

Exceptionally high quality food with outstanding service. For one person dining alone there is a choice of two different four course fixed price meals that are an unusually great value. I had the filet and shrimp combo as an entire. All the portions were generous but not too much for a single diner.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent steak!

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

If you want a top quality steak then Ruth's Chris delivers. Great side dishes too along with great libations and wine.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Just o.k.

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was a bit pricey considering portion sizes. Our waitress took too long in-between appetizers and our entrees. She was friendly, but our meal took too long, with our waitress disappearing for 15 minutes at a time.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there on New Years Eve, absolute ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We were there on New Years Eve, absolutely perfect evening!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time going out for Chriatmas and e ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

First time going out for Chriatmas and everything was delicious and service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Pay attention

Dined on December 24, 2015

I have always loved Ruth Chris and still do but not happy with last visit. We had a special dinner planned and got there and they didn't have our open table reservations. I had received a confirmation so I know one end of the transaction had it. We were stuck back in an overflow banquet room that is not what we expected or have ever been out in on all of our other visits. The wait staff was good so no complaints there. Just pay attention to your agreements with open table and advanced reservations as we surely pay for the food upon check out.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Lunch

Dined on December 17, 2015

Love when Ruth's Chris is open during the Christmas season for lunch. Love the ambiance, all of the staff makes you feel so special. Went with two friends, our server Chris.....was amazing, putting up with our special drink orders and non-stop laughing and talking. Food was good, love the Lobster Bisque. Steak sandwich was good, but arrived a little cold. Will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great steak small Lobster tails

Dined on December 17, 2015

Took my friends for a Christmas dinner, spend $340 for 3 of us. We all ordered Rib eye and Lobster. The steaks were right point. Dissapointed with size of the tiny lobster tails. Some were so small, they brought 2 little ones. The value of the lobster is just not there. Side dishes were great. Had the cheese potatoes and Asparagus.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service1

The food was ok. Not their best. The se ...

Dined on December 11, 2015

The food was ok. Not their best. The service was horrible. Emerson was my waiter, and while he was nice he repeatedly forgot our drinks and was gone for long periods of time. At one point he said he would be right back to take our order and he didn't come back for nearly 20 minutes. I've had better service at Dennys then I did this night here. It was for my 32nd birthday, luckily family and friends made up for the bad excuse of service that night.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful anniversary dinner

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

We had such a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary at Ruth Chris. Every employee that greeted us wished us a happy anniversary. Dinner was delicious. It was such a treat to have our dinner there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We've had Thanksgiving there for the pas ...

Dined on November 26, 2015

We've had Thanksgiving there for the past 6-7 years and it is wonderful every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Best Steak House

Dined on November 22, 2015

Ruth's Chris consistently delivers the best cooked steaks in town. My generously marbled ribeye was divine, especially on a 500 degree plate. The cremini mushroom side was the perfect comforting winter complement to our steaks. The martinis were perfect. Unfortunately, they arrived 20 minutes after we ordered, because Ruth's was out of martini glasses! They graciously comp'd our drinks. (I told one of the managers they could go next door to Sur la Table and buy a dozen extra martini glasses.) Our waiter was charming Ramon.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We usually choose Ruth's Chris as an ann ...

Dined on November 20, 2015

We usually choose Ruth's Chris as an anniversary location. Always superior service and food. There has never been any reason to be in unsatisfied. We always brag about every aspect of the restaurant and always recommend the establishment to friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1

Kinda disappointed

Dined on October 30, 2015

I was there with two clients. I felt our server was not friendly and very forgetful. My clients felt snubbed and uncomfortable in her presence. The food was amazing. Thank god for that!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on October 25, 2015

We went to Ruth Chris for our 5th Anniversary. We appreciated the exceptional friendly service and fantastic food. The special touches like rose pedals on the table, Happy Anniversary spelled out on our desserts and the photo of us together were appreciated and made our Anniversary dinner a memorable one. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

First off it was my wife and mines first ...

Dined on October 18, 2015

First off it was my wife and mines first anniversary, so when we arrived they had rose petals on the table and custom menus that said happy first anniversary on them. They really went all out for us to make the night special. Our server Shannon was exceptional. We've never had such amazing service or food for that matter. I can't say enough about how special it was.

food3
ambience4
service5

Little too fatty

Dined on October 18, 2015

We love Ruth Chris, but this time it was just average. The steak was too fatty and had grizzle. We ordered the cowboy rib eye. We realize that a rib eye has more fat in it but this was way over the limit. We will go back again but won't be for a while.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

It was my 9 year wedding anniversary. M ...

Dined on October 7, 2015

It was my 9 year wedding anniversary. My husband wanted to go to Flemings but we decided to come here. I thought we were gonna have a nice romantic dinner but we were put next to a table with a child and another family with kids were placed right behind us. Nothing against the children but it was our anniversary and we left our kids home for a reason. The restaurant new it was our anniversary so I would of thought they would have sat us someone else. It was a little disappointing.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth Chris

Dined on September 20, 2015

I had the Cowboy bone in Ribeye with the dipping trio. Cooked to perfection and the dipping trio was decadent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Evening

Dined on September 13, 2015

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere. You can't beat the steaks, they are cooked to perfection. The staff is knowledgable, they make sure you have all the information you need to make the right choices. They did have a one steak on the menu that was 6 oz which was perfect for each of us. It would be nice to have a couple other options that include smaller portions.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't go wrong!

Dined on September 2, 2015

love it! Steaks can't be beat, sides are always spot on and service is impeccable. My husband and I's go to for a birthday dinner or just a great steak. I was surprised and very happy with the mixed drink menu last night, there were some new delicious things on there! The coconut ginger lemon drop martini was interesting and tasty

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great steaks in the Ruth's Chris tradition

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

I've been to many Ruth's Chris Steakhouses and I think this one is right up among the best. The filet was superb at this last visit along with very responsive service. The only thing disappointing is that they've changed the bread pudding at dessert and it is not as good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.