About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin

15000 Emerald Coast Parkway
Destin, FL 32541
View Larger Map

Ruth's Chris Steak House serves the finest aged, corn-fed USDA Prime beef. Broiled in a trademark 1,800° oven & served on a plate heated to 500 degrees, your steak is presented sizzling hot at your table. Additionally, the menu includes select fresh seafood & other entrees. A variety of fresh-cooked vegetables, including seven kinds of potatoes, salads, homemade desserts & an extensive selection of over 400 domestic & imported wines complete your dining experience. Ruth's Chris never fails to please! Join us daily for happy hour 5-7PM.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant Winter Hours
DINNER
Sunday – Thursday 5:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00 pm – 10:00 pm

Restaurant Summer Hours
(MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND - LABOR DAY WEEKEND)
DINNER
Sundays 5:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Monday – Saturday 5:00 pm – 10:00 pm

Holiday Hours such as Thanksgiving, Easter, etc. may vary.
Closed: Christmas Day & Super Bowl Sunday only

Ruth's Chris Destin is located in the Silver Shells Resort, west of Henderson Beach State Park.

Cross Street:
Restaurant Row

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 837-7884

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisdestin.com/

Entertainment:
We offer entertainment by Billboard Charting-National Recording Artist / Vocalist / Saxophonist Michael J Thomas-www.michaeljthomas.net
Tues. thru Sat. "upon availability".

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Russ Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room (Max capacity 8 guests)
NOTE: To reserve the wine room you must speak to a manager. If a manager is not available at the time you call, please leave a message on our voice mail or with a host/hostess and a manager will return your call as soon as possible. 850.837.RUTH (7884)

Ruth's Room (Max Capacity 30 guests)

New Orleans Inspired Courtyard (Max capacity 28 with patio furniture, Max capacity with banquet table and chair rentals 80)

Private Party Contact:
Michael J. Thomas: 8508377884x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin
Jimmys Graduation Surprise!
ribeye with blue cheese
Filet Mignon
6oz Filet And Shrimp

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Destin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Food
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
13 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Best Value
Northwest Florida
Romantic
Northwest Florida
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Best Overall
Destin
Best Food
Destin
Best Service
Destin
Best Ambiance
Destin
Best Value
Destin
Romantic
Destin
Special Occasion
Destin
Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Destin ›

special occasion (33)
romantic (27)
notable wine list (17)
See All
fit for foodies (17)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Greeted us by name and the food was supe ...

Dined 4 days ago

Greeted us by name and the food was superb.

food5
ambience5
service5

There's no better place than Rith's Chri ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

There's no better place than Rith's Chris in Destin. Great salads to start and the steak is always amaZing. And pair it with a great wine. Boom. Greatness. Could not recommend it enough. Thanks again!

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We had a SIGNIFICANT problem at our visi ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a SIGNIFICANT problem at our visit at this restaurant; an unfortunate occurrence at a place we have frequented many times. On our arrival this visit, we were told we could not be seated due to ONE member of our 11 person party who was not dressed in "Resort Casual" dress. While I understand that the restaurant has a fine reputation, there was absolutely NO MENTION of this dress code at the time of making the original reservation, nor was there any clarification of what exactly "Resort Casual" dress actually consists, especially in a beach-side resort location where most patrons would be dressed casually at best. In addition, initially there was no attempt by the staff to help our party member rectify the situation and the hostess seemed somewhat condescending and seemed either too busy or too unconcerned to help us rectify the situation after we had driven for over one hour to patronize Ruth's Chris. Eventually a manager intervened on our behalf, providing a "proper" shirt and the dinner after that was uneventful with good service by our dinner service team. It however was humiliating to the particular customer involved and quite offensive to our entire party and I am unsure as to whether or not we would return again in the future; again very unfortunate in that we have been long-term Ruth's Chris customers and advocates in our travels about the country. A simple clarification of the restaurant's dress policy at the time of reservation booking could have avoided a very stressful, unfortunate and unnecessary episode that may end up costing them significantly more than this single family of customers.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Having been to this Ruth's Chris in the ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Having been to this Ruth's Chris in the past, the expectations were high. Unfortunately, my wife and I were disappointed during this visit. Not being a very busy night, we were seated in the back part of the restaurant where there were only two tables of diners, as opposed to the front of the restaurant, where there were more diners and the atmosphere was more lively. The service was okay, but nothing spectacular. As far as the food, this was the biggest disappointment. The filets were cooked according to our instructions, however, the meat was tough and hard to chew. The appetizer of fried green tomatoes and the side of roasted brussel sprouts were delicious, however, could not compensate for the main course. Hopefully, this was an off night, not only for the wait staff, but for the kitchen staff also. We will definitely return upon our next visit to Destin, and look forward to an exceptional dining experience. Prior to the meal, we went to the East Bar to partake in Ruth's Chris happy hour. I would highly recommend this, not only before dinner, but on any night to just relax and enjoy as the bar menu looked very tempting and the drinks were excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining

Dined on June 10, 2016

An extremely nice dining experience for steaks and lobsters with excellent service...deinitely a 5 Star restaurant.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was amazing and the food was ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Our waiter was amazing and the food was spectacular! I would come back in a heartbeat!

food5
ambience5
service5

We eat here every time we come to Destin ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

We eat here every time we come to Destin. Ruth's Chris never disappoints. We take our two young children and they are treated so kindly. We can't wait for our dining experience here!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service.

Dined on June 1, 2016

Very good food and service.

food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food. Waiter had a hard time ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food. Waiter had a hard time hearing our order therefore a couple of mistakes with order.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was everything we imagined it would b ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

It was everything we imagined it would be. Perfect service and great food. The cheesecake was fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best steak of my life

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

I took my aunt and my sister here for their respective celebrations: birthday and graduation. This was literally the best steak I've ever had. I've been to this Ruth's Chris before and various others as well as cooking up my own and I still dream about this ribeye. It melted like butter in my mouth and I had plenty leftover for another meal. We had an amazing time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We celebrated my daughter's graduation a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's graduation and it was a wonderful dinner. Excellent food and service!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was beyond reproach. Im ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food and service was beyond reproach. Impeccable service and great ambiance...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We went to Ruth's Chris in Destin to cel ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris in Destin to celebrate a family birthday. Our overall experience was average. The service was good but not great. The food was above average but not special. The decor is outdated and the ambience is strange. Our dinners averaged about $150 per person, so I would have hoped for a little more wow.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Quick. In and out in about one hour. The ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Quick. In and out in about one hour. They need to update wine list. First 2 we ordered were not available. Waiter, Courtney, did a great job. Food was good too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Again!

Dined on May 8, 2016

One of our favorite places in Destin! Much better than most RC's you encounter in travels! Excellent service and experience. Our selections were prepared perfectly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Beautiful Mothers Day!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This Ruth's was a very nice surprise- great food, great atmosphere and our waiter couldn't have been any nicer. My filet was cooked perfectly and we chose the brunch special. They even had a wonderful clarinet player who walked around the restaurant, adding to the relaxing atmosphere. Overall a great choice to spend a special day!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I had no idea that they have a kid's men ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had no idea that they have a kid's menu. Nice surprise. The steaks were excellent as always.

food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyed the service, ambiance ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the service, ambiance & food! Thank you for a lovely birthday meal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

what expected

Dined on April 17, 2016

As usual the dinning was everything we expected and then some. I wasn't very hungry , but the staff was very helpful in my wife sharing hers with me. The night turned out most excellent despite my feeling puny. Thanks to all of you for turning a maybe OK night into a wonderful night!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful menu!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful food, wonderful service and worth every penny! It is pricy, but will be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Steak

Dined on April 8, 2016

This to me is one of the best Ruths Chris steak houses. The bar is excellent and does a great happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful birthday dinner with my wife

Dined on April 1, 2016

Service was fantastic, same with the food. This is NOT Outback or Longhorn!!! Food is steps beyond - needless to say - so is the price!!! But so well worth it!!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect as always.

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Perfect as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Martini pails

Dined on February 27, 2016

I've been going to Ruth Chris all over the world for 30 years. This particular one in Destin Florida I found to be the best value for money of any other. Ruth Chris locations can be pricey..Hong Kong is double priced of any location. :>{ At all restaurants, Food is always good. Service too. I never had a bad meal at any location. But.... Destin Florida location had a happy hour $4.69 for martinis. They gave me a pail of gin, with olives in a glass the size of Texas. Totally awsome!!! The bartender was really fun and great also. In a world where people measure everything by the drop .. This was the best pre dining experience I have had at any RuthChris. Food was also awesome. Wait staff friendly and really cool. Five stars Destin.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

A second disappointment

Dined on February 16, 2016

Waited almost 10 minutes before we even were recognized. My husband had to go to the hostess stand to ask for our waiter. When you pay the prices at this restaurant, I would expect better service. The explanation, once acknowledged, was there was a mixup as to who had our table...for 10 minutes? We had been to this restaurant more than a year ago, and was surprised then that it was less of an experience than we expected, but we wanted to try it again. We eat out a fine restaurants on many occasions, however Ruth's Chris, in Destin, FL is no longer a place we would choose to go.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ruth's Chris Destin

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and service. The deserts (lava cake and cheesecake) were even better than the Entre!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious And service was g ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was delicious And service was great. Our waiter was great but not over the top. Very enjoyable.

food1
ambience3
service2

Poor quality at very high price. Ordered ...

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

Poor quality at very high price. Ordered a bone in rib-eye ... One of the most expensive cuts. Came out barely warm not sizzling like every other Ruth's Chris I've been to and the stuck was "grizzle" and could be barely cut. Definitely not prime steak.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience with our dinner, sa ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Wonderful experience with our dinner, sax player in middle of the week. Awesome server. This was our best dinner in Destin

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal.

vip
Dined on January 12, 2016

Always exception in all areas. Service was impeccable. Did find the mashed potatoes swimming in butter, but some may like that. Server brought out more without butter on top. Steaks superb. Filling meal. Fantastic wine selection to accompany steak. Comfortable dining area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time at Ruth's Chris.

Dined on January 9, 2016

The ambiance was very romantic. We enjoyed how lovely the place was. The only problem we had was our server forgot to turn in my fiancé's order. My perfect steak came to the table and our server looked very embarrassed. It was obvious he forgot his Grouper. I was done with my steak when his fish arrived. The staff was very apologetic and even gave my finance a complimentary drink. The crème brulee was the best I've had........ever! Our water glasses were never empty and the manager was very friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday/New Years Special Event

Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I chose Ruth Chris at Destin to celebrate her birthday on New Years Eve. I waited too late to book the reservation (3 days earlier) on New Years Eve and we made it New Years Night. It was a very special experience from the moment we walked in until we departed. The service was excellent without being over done. Great wine list, outstanding salads, the steaks were as good as you could fine anywhere (though pricey), and the sides were generous. They gave my wife a hefty dessert because it was her b'day. All-in-all a memorable experience and we will go back for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A little rushed

Dined on January 1, 2016

Nice food - good presentation. However felt rushed even though we were the last reservation for the table [915 pm]. Wide and substantial wine list - lacking on wine stemware. Would recommend Riedel stemware esp for the higher end price point wines. A lot of energy....so for a quiet romantic dinner not so much -however it was New Year's eve. Will try again on our next visit to the area - looking for a second home in Destin.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

music

Dined on December 31, 2015

The mobile saxophonist has to go! Too loud and distracting.

food5
ambience5
service5

Top Notch Restaurant

Dined on November 27, 2015

Excellent service from the time we walked in the door until the moment we walked out. Everyone addressed us by name. Food was cooked to perfection and excellent flavor. We were celebrating our Anniversary and received a complimentary dessert.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving

Dined on November 27, 2015

We ate a late Dinner on Thanksgiving. Although, RC's had a turkey option, we eent for our favorite lamb chops and ribeye with au gratin potatoes and wedge salad. Service was great and I appreciate them being open on Thanksgiving.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Great steak restaurant

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

Great steak restaurant in Destin, FL. Quiet and good ambiance. Excellent service at the bar and the steaks are great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have a number of the "Up-S ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

My wife and I have a number of the "Up-Scale" steakhouses, and this dining experience was the best of the bunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on November 2, 2015

Very nice meal,but I suppose you know that by the name above their door... Memorable evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.