Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today
Special offers available. See details

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

4.4
977 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(423) 602-5900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Roger Burrows
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
I-75 & Shallowford Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

From hand-crafted cocktails to Ruth’s signature bone-in cuts cooked to perfection, celebrate dad with a day that’s all about him (without having to turn a year older). Cheers to all the dads out there, for all you are and all you do.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 977 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service. Perfect for a quiet date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great service. Food was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Consistently exceptionally good food at every location we have visited.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 3 days ago

We have eaten at Ruth’s Chris in Indianapolis multiple times and it has always been amazing- food, wait staff, etc. We were in Chattanooga for a long weekend and were excited to see that they had a Ruth’s Chris. We made reservations ahead of time and took an Uber to the restaurant. We were never greeted with smiles except by one person. Nobody looked happy to work there. We told our wait staff that my husband had celiac disease, and they still tried to bring him bread. We ordered the chef’s special (steak and lobster tails) Both our steaks were over cooked and one tail was mushy. Disappointed in our dining experience especially compared to the price we had to pay and the fact that we were looking forward to a great meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The food was excellent, but way over priced for what you get. This will have to be for special occasions only. The staff was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Pleasant wait staff, nice service, good food, no wait on Mother's
s Day no less

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Service extremely slow. Server disappeared for long periods of time? Did she have more tables in another part of the restaurant?

Long wait to place order then server argued over my choice, “You can get salmon anywhere in town. Why not try something good like our Chilean Bass”. I’ve tried the bass, which is a fatty fish with three times the calories of salmon. However, I actually prefer the salmon which is why I ordered the salmon.

Server spilled another tables’s bottled soda all over our table.

Asked if we wanted to go boxes but didn’t return for so long that I found boxes myself on a nearby shelf and boxed up the food.

My Mother (on Mother’s Day) wanted dessert and I wanted an expresso but we weren’t given a chance to order either as we we handed the bill without the chance to order.

We’ve spent pretty much every holiday since my Father died seven years ago at this Ruth’s Chris. After this visit my Mother who loves Ruth’s Chris and never wants to go anywhere else said it was time to find somewhere different next time.

Too bad Timmy Gagliardi isn’t still in valet. He always treated my Mother like she was a queen and made her feel so very special. He always remembered her name and went out of his way to make the experience one for her to remember.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always an excellent choice, especially for special occasions. Staff is super attentive and very knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always a fine dining experience at the Chattanooga Ruth’s Chris. Great service, management and quality food preparation is the rule, not the exception.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Everything was excellent! The only concern I had was the length of time between each was too long.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Compliments to the chef, I had the T-bone was excellent ! Was there on 05/12/18 took my wife for an early Mothers day dinner at her request. Was absolutely the best steak I have had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This is probably my sixth visit to this establishment and I have yet to be dissapointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Very upbeat and helpful waitress and was on top of things. Food was excellent and cooked perfectly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

When I go to Ruth's Chris Steak House, whether for lunch or dinner, I ALWAYS get their filet mignon--and I have it prepared with the Oscar topping. As always, my filet was very tender and cooked perfectly. However, it was a little heavy on the black pepper. That has never happened in the past. Also, because it was lunch time when I went with my mother to celebrate an early Mother's Day, I was told that baked potatoes were not available. I could, however, have French fries or onion rings. French fries or onion rings with a filet mignon? If I wanted those choices, I would have gone to Longhorn Steakhouse. With as beautifully as the chef prepared the filet on my sizzling plate, French fries or onion rings would do nothing but dress down the presentation. Therefore, we settled for the potatoes au gratin which were fine, but they were definitely not a beautifully baked potato. I guess Ruth's Chris Steak House is more of a dinner restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This was our anniversary. They did great

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Our meals and steaks were awesome as usual! Filet & T-Bone. My husband’s birthday with friends. Very good atmosphere to engage in conversation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Had a wonderful celebration night! The staff and service was excellent!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Overall an excellent dining experience. Food was excellent. Service was attentive and the ambiance was great for a quiet dinner. I highly recommend eating here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Very good as usual. Steak fantastic. Prices have gone up.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I will say I normally do not write reviews. My party arrived on time for the 8:15 reservation. We (3 adults 1 child) were seated immediately. A waiter came over to poor ice water. He poured mine last and missed the glass. Water went down the menu into my lap. After this it seemed very unorganized. We ordered the $110.00 Tomahawk Ribeye, Sea Bass, and sides. The Sea Bass was great. The server cut the ribeye for the table to share. I was very obvious she was having trouble. I thought well it is a thick piece of meat. That was not the issue. After the table was served I picked up my knife and could not cut through the piece of ribeye on my plate. I did say something about the meat being of low quality. The waitress did offer to cook another but at this point we had already been there over a hour. We were able to cut around the gristle but at least half the Tomahawk Ribeye was inedible. The meal for four with tip was $289. For this price every part of the meal should be great. Besides the steak being a issue, everyone at the table had to ask for a refill on the water at least once. By far my worst Ruth's Chris experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great experience! Food was great, service was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Great steaks and sides. Never have been disappointed . Had a margarita with Patron tequila great very very good .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Walt was an excellent server and the food was scrumptious. The strip steak tasted fabulous and the creamed spinach to die for! Walt was friendly, professional, and carried himself properly fit for such a dining experience. Ambiance was nice but could have been improved with less noise. I think it just what our society has become with less decorum than in our yester years. The bonus desert was fantastic! It was a wonderful way to celebrate our silver anniversary.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Food and atmosphere are always amazing. Service at this price should be better.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Service and attentiveness of our waitress was outstanding. We both had steaks that were each overdone by one grade. Additionally, I had bone-in filet, which is a favorite. However, this one was apparently an end piece more with the texture of a roast. Both steaks were very bland and seemed to lack your normal seasoning. We have become accustomed to much better at higher end steakhouses like yours. We wouldn't have minded so much as having a similar meal at a Longhorn or the like, because we believe one gets what they pay for. On this occasion of our 15th anniversary, we were disappointed. It may be awhile before we return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

We had a great time. We sat at the bar for a drink because we arrived early. My girlfriend loves the Foghorn drink. The staff acknowledged our anniversary and everyone congratulated us. I brought my own wine and our server was very knowledgeable about it and offered to decant it for us. Food was excellent and service was great. Overall very well done.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Awesome food! The service was excellent. They do an outstanding job making it a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

This was our third dining experience at Ruths Chris and didn't disappoint. We came away full and satisfied. The crime brûlée is to die for! There can't be a better way to top off a meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Chris exceeded our expectations, again! He made my Father's birthday lunch even more special by taking such amazing care and attention to my dad. Thank you Chris!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

My only complaint about lunch is the limit selection of sides. You cannot even order a bake potatoes to go with you steak.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We came to celebrate our parent's anniversary and enjoyed every second of it. Everything was excellent from the food to the service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 11, 2018

The meal was great. Our server forgot to put in a couple of things for us and then brought them to us after others were eating. She had no problem charging us for three items though and blamed it on senior moments.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The service was good and the food was great was very pleased.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Not bad for a Ruth's Chris. It was our first time at this location and our first time for lunch. We had an 11:30 reservation, however we got there at 11:30 and the doors were not open. Several other parties were also standing outside in the cold waiting for someone to finally open the doors--over 5 minutes later.
I was disappointed in the lobster bisque, as the lobster was very tough and rubbery; however others had seafood gumbo and liked it. I was also disappointed in the lack of side options on the lunch menu. Our server forgot to put in our side order, and then brought it very late (at no charge).
As there are very few "nice" dining options in the area, I might dine there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

great experience again . always a nice time and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Good place for a special occasion dinner. The food was very good and the service was exceptional!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We celebrated Easter with lunch at Ruth's Chris, a long time favorite. The staff was accommodating when I had trouble moving up the time of our OpenTable reservation by phone. The service was excellent by one of our favorites. The entrees were excellent, though we were disappointed with both of our vegetable choices. The fingerling potatoes were rather greasy and the broccoli was a bit heavy with the added seasoning. Ruth's Chris makes a dynamite Bananas Foster when it isn't busy, but their Bananas Foster cheesecake did not live up to its potential. We will be back and open to trying new items and specials as they become available. Although we didn't drink wine with this lunch, they have an excellent wine list.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
25

Tweets by Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga