About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.

2321 Lifestyle Way
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
I-75 & Shallowford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 602-5900

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/chattanooga-tn/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).

Executive Chef:
Roger Burrows

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for Birthdays (42)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Romantic (38)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Business Meals (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Cozy (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
883 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and food . Very nice establishment and atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 8, 2018

Me and my husband come there a lot for special occasions, but this visit was not as great as the past. Waiter not very attentive, steak undercooked, table not set with anniversary confetti and no dessert for special occasion

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Delicious, augratin potatoes are amazing.
Ask for Chris to be your waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 7, 2018

A great experience! The menu never disappoints. Ask for Chris Pesterfield’s section. He’s an excellent server...very friendly, helpful, goes above/beyond, and always a smile!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Wife's food was good. Mine not so much, undercooked, and not a good cut for ribbeye.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

My filet was very well cooked and tasty, as well as the couscous. My husband's filet was good, however the mashed potatoes lacked in their creaminess. The restaurant was a great place to connect and chat. We sat in the corner of the restaurant, beside a window...which was super chilly. Overall it was a pretty good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2018

I had the stuffed chicken and it was amazing! The ambiance was great. The only thing I didn't like was the chocolate martini. Too much alcohol and not enough chocolate as described. I've had the chocolate MartinI at high end hotel and it was much more swe eternal and delectable. Other than that I loved everything else and would go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 3, 2018

So warm, friendly, tasty. Anniversary was very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Food is always delicious, we love coming to Ruth's Chris's Steakhouse!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Filet was like chewing gum, could not eat but A couple bites. Was offered dessert to compensate for a $56 steak. Spent $200 for 2 people, never felt so ripped off.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2017

NYE was great with the whole family with kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Arrived 20 min earlier then reservation, went into bar for a drink. Had to wait 20 min for the drink and then had to get up and find the waitress to get the check. The drinks were $18 a piece. Not a good start. The dinner was good but not exceptional. When I go I expect exceptional. We are dinning at Ruth Cris not Applebees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was fantastic as always. Chris has been our server multiple times, he is friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

My visit was fantastic. A special friend arranged a surprise desset and message for my birthday, and picked up our tab, andnthe staff did a hreat job revealing at just the right moment. The dessert came out with a beautifully witten message in chocolate.

The experience made my birthday special and for that, Inwould recommend to everyone. Also best filet and perfectly cooked!!

Thank you!
Susan Johnson

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Great dinner and excellent service from Abby! This was a special occasion for us and we enjoyed every moment.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

New Year’s Eve and daughters 15 birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was great and Walt did an outstanding job taking care of my husband and I as we celebrated New Years

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Everything was awesome my husband and I was celebrating our 41st Anniversary. Truly would come again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Celebrating the new year from out of town with my children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Very expensive for the experience. Service was exceptional but food was very heavy. Steak was very good but not for the price paid. Favorite offering was the salad. Unique ingredients that were delicious combination.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Great place for a special occasion. Little pricey but worth it. Service is excellent and food even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 26, 2017

They must have been having a bad night. I ordered my steak medium rare and it came out medium well. It was tasty, but much more cooked than I prefer. My wife's steak (petite filet) was so overcooked it resembled a charcoal briquette. It was sent back. The replacement was still overcooked, but edible. The potatoes au gratin were disappointing. They tasted like cheese sauce poured over sliced, boiled potatoes. We've eaten here on multiple occasions and were always pleased. Not sure what was up. Definitely not worth the $200 we spent on appetizer, dinner and drinks. Sorry.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

Went with my wife on Christmas night and was not impressed . Plates had food splashed all over them when brought out . Wife saw waiter put finger in drink to get something out. For the money I would have rather eaten somewhere else . I did not complain because it was Christmas and everyone has a bad day. I doubt I would come back based on my experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Disappointed at lack of several menus items were not available. Otherwise excellent service and food great.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Christmas dinner and restaurant wasn’t prepared or very hospitable. It was constant apologies over what they didn’t have or why we weren’t getting served. Never once did anyone welcome us or say Merry Christmas. I’ve eaten at a lot of Ruth’s Chris through the years and enjoy them, but this was by far the worst and mainly due to the personnel. Food was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Granted,it was busy, but service was very slow. They were out of a few items on the menu. Have been there several times when the lights seen overly bright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Had a med rare 12oz rib eye. Never been fond of restaurant cooked rib eye, preferring to grill them at home myself but, your rib eye was by far the best steak I have ever had! Keep thinking about it!... I look forward to taking my mother and aunt there soon for their first visit.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2017

One of the best steaks I have had at Ruth’s Chris. Cooked to perfection. Great service from the staff.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We have eaten at several Ruth’s Chris across the country and the food has been exceptional at all, but we have never had the degree of excellent service that we did during this visit.

Stephanie was the most accommodating, knowledgeable, and efficient of any wait staff we have had. She promoted the restaurant in a way that wasn’t overbearing and her description of how food was prepared encouraged us to ask additional questions.

She was fully engaged in her responsibilities and was concerned about our dining experience.

What an asset Chattanooga has in Stephanie.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Food and service was amazing as always. We always go Christmas Eve, just the 2 of us. But have been several time for Happy hour. Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Excellent service and food once again from Ruth’s Chris !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Stephanie was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2017

We were a party of 3 on Christmas Eve afternoon. Outstanding service and food, as usual. However, very disappointed with our arrival. We walked in and one of the people at the desk was assisting 3 gentlemen, another person was on the phone....and another person left the desk. We weren't greeted and stood there for several minutes....more parties came in behind us. I understand it was a busy day but it was not the usual professional treatment that we've always experienced!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 23, 2017

My wife and I went for our 34th wedding anniversary. They seated us at a quiet booth in the corner and sprinkled happy anniversary confetti on the table. The waiter seemed exceptionally attentive and knew us by name and why we were there. The food was awesome. Best steak I have ever had at any RC restaurant! My wife absolutely loved her overly stuffed chicken breast. What really made the occasion perfectly complete was the surprised free dessert for two, decorated with happy anniversary and a cherry sauce shaped heart. Wow! We have eaten at many other RC's for our anniversary. But this one is the only one that participated in our celebration. We have decided that we will spend our 35th anniversary at Embassy Suites Ruth Chris in Chattanooga! Wouldn't you?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

We had a great birthday dinner- good food, great service and nice atmosphere. I’d never tried the specially priced multi course meals in the back of the menu but I can’t wait to have the filet and shrimp again!

Tags: Vegan, Organic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

Peaceful atmosphere, no blaring TV ! One can talk and enjoy the food and the service without distractions...something difficult to do in most restaurants in this area !

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 18, 2017

This is one of those places where you do spend some money, but don't regret it. The steak has to be the best I've ever had, and the sides are amazing as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 18, 2017

I have been coming to this Ruth Chris since it opened. I just love the food!! Their calamari is the best I have had in the country. The Chilean Sea Bass is to die for!!! You owe it to yourself to visit this location.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Love everything about the Ruth Chris dining experience . Lauren is an amazing server!

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Service was excellent. Filets were great. Soup was served cold. Mashed potatoes were cold.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.