About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

2321 Lifestyle Way
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
I-75 & Shallowford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 602-5900

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/chattanooga-tn/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).

Executive Chef:
Roger Burrows

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate Dad in sizzling style. Show him how much you care and celebrate Father’s Day at Ruth’s Chris Steak House.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
7 More
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

special occasion (93)
romantic (54)
notable wine list (29)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
good for groups (22)
great for lunch (21)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (4)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a last father-daughter "date" ...

Dined 3 days ago

This was a last father-daughter "date" night before she gets married next weekend. We had wonderful service and excellent food. The filet, Au gratin potatoes, mashed potatoes, cheesecake, Apple pie dessert were all first class. I had flowers sent to the restaurant and they were on the table when we sat down. It was a great night, and I am very thankful to everyone at Ruth's Chris for making it so.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was phenomenal.

Dined on May 16, 2016

Service was phenomenal.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was good, but way over priced f ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was good, but way over priced for what you get. This will have to be for special occasions only. The waitress was exceptional.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I ordered a filet cooked to medium, it w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I ordered a filet cooked to medium, it was overcooked. I For the price, they should really know how to cook a steak properly. I was not overly impressed with my cut of meat. I have had much better cuts from local meat shops.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Ruth's Chris fo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I went to Ruth's Chris for our five year anniversary and it was wonderful! We had reservations and had to wait about 10-15 minutes but beyond that everything was just great. Lalee was our server and she was knowledgeable and had great suggestions. I had the petite filet and my husband had the ribeye and both were wonderful! My husband said it was one of the best steaks he ever had, and that is high praise. I highly recommend Ruth's Chris if you have a special night out or just want a great steak!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris Steak House Chattanooga

Dined on May 13, 2016

The lamp chop dish was outstanding! Similarly the salmon with cajun sauce. The creamed spinach was superb. Even ordered a Pappy's 20yr bourbon and they actually had some! Kudos for a great experience all around.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From the courtesy valet parking to the g ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

From the courtesy valet parking to the great server to the fine food this was a beautiful experience, the wine (Beringer Cab) was amazing. Our server was pleasant and made it a great evening. I have been twice before this to Ruths Chris Steakhouse, once in Memphis and once in Orlando ( I think) neither was comparable to this one in any way. I will happily recommend your restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent filet perfectly cooked. The cr ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent filet perfectly cooked. The creamed spinach is a must have.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best of the best in food and service.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent service, beginning with the valet parking guy opening the restaurant door for us and ending with the desert which was awesome.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood tower!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were celebrating Mother's Day as a family and I couldn't have been more pleased with the entire experience. Everything was exceptional! The steaks were tender enough that I swear they could be cut with a butter knife! The biggest thrill of the evening was the seafood tower appetizer. Not only was it delicious, it was fun!! Our server, Poet, was a sweetie pie and very attentive to all our needs. Great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Graduation Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

The staff went out of their way to make our son's graduation dinner special. The food was very good and we had a group of twelve. The food was very good and was served at one time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful and consistently great dinin ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

A wonderful and consistently great dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Cowboy ribeye, fil ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything was great. Cowboy ribeye, filet, brochette of beef and shrimp were all cooked perfectly.

food5
ambience5
service5

The dinner was very enjoyable. My wife a ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The dinner was very enjoyable. My wife and I wanted a quite night out with quality food and drinks and they delivered perfectly. The Lamb Chops were outstanding. The service was first class. We will keep this very high on our list of places to go.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best steak & service

Dined on April 17, 2016

Best service I have had from a restaurant in a long time. Food was great. One of the best steaks I have ever had.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

Dined on April 17, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday with a wonderful dinner. Steaks were cooked perfectly, service was great and the cheesecake was the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 17, 2016

We visited Ruth Chris for a birthday. The service felt rushed and they appeared to be out of several items on the menu. Starting from the bottled water. The waitress offered water and then returned later only to say " we are out but our water is pretty good". For the dinner selection our first to selections were out and the explanation was "it's been a busy night". How a steakhouse manages to be out of steak baffles me. Then for dessert they were "out" of the selection for the prix menu so we were told they would be willing to substitute a cupcake size bread pudding. I've visited the Atlanta location with a much better experience. I've scratched Chattanooga location off the list.

food3
ambience5
service5

Steak was under cooked...had to be retur ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Steak was under cooked...had to be returned.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's was an excellent evening. Our wait ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

It's was an excellent evening. Our waiter, Shannon was very knowledgeable and very attentive. The meal was perfect. The Ribeye was out of this world. We couldn't have asked for a better night. And the young valet was so polite and gentlemanly.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hits the spot!

Dined on April 11, 2016

The steak comes out so sizzlin' hot it's fantastic!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our fifth visit to Ruth Chris in Chattan ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Our fifth visit to Ruth Chris in Chattanooga. We have never been dissatisfied!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Costly but very nice

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great steak and wine, will definitely eat at Ruth's Chris in the future, be sure to bring your wallet cause it's costly

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ATMOSPHERE

Dined on April 8, 2016

The atmosphere was great. My wife and I had a night to go out and eat and it was wonderful to go somewhere that was so loud and chaotic feeling. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Met all expectations plus

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had family dine at other Ruth Chris locations and stated the food was good but not worth the price. We went finally for my wife's birthday to the relatively new location in Chattanooga. It was fantastic. The food, the service and the atmosphere were all top notch in every way. I had the t-bone and it was absolutely the most tender and flavorful ever. We won't be going often, but for the rare extra special occasion, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse will absolutely be our first considered stop.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Typical Ruth's Chris: excellent

Dined on April 1, 2016

Went here for the ??th time for an anniversary celebration with good friends. Food and service were exceptional as always. Ruth's is easily our go-to for a nice dinner out in Chattanooga. Can get a little noisy in the middle of the main floor -- which can be a good thing if you are in a larger group with some rowdier stories. Can also be very quiet and romantic in one of their enclosed booths (floor to ceiling on 3 sides). Will, of course, be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Good time with Family. Food was excelle ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Good time with Family. Food was excellent and service was great. Restaurant staff was very accommodating and very friendly Cody our server did a great job

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I got the 4 course dinner. Soup was good ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

I got the 4 course dinner. Soup was good. Steak and shrimp were overdone. Dessert was too rich. Not worth the money.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Easter Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was really good and we had a great Easter Dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second visit to Ruth Chris. ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

This was my second visit to Ruth Chris. The steak was absolutely superb during me first visit which is why I came back. The steak actually melted in my mouth which is the reason for my return visit. I ordered the same steak cooked the same way. It was a little tough and did not match my first experience.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was my first time at Ruth's Chris. While it was a treat and not a place we would go regularly, I truly enjoyed the experience for our anniversary dinner. Everything from the salad and wine to the steak was delicious. If I had it to do over again, I would probably not order the potatoes au gratin but mostly because when I saw other options they looked better and the potatoes were good but nothing overly special. All in all, I was very pleased with our dinner and experience. Our waiter was impressively knowledgeable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Ruth Chris - Chattanooga

Dined on March 16, 2016

Everything was perfect except for the Brussels sprouts. They were actually too hard. I prefer mine trimmed and roasted to bring out the natural sweetness. These were just lacking in flavor and tenderness. The rest of the meal was excellent.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Lunch

Dined on March 9, 2016

Had a very nice lunch with my family, the waitstaff was attentive and friendly, no rushing, quiet and relaxing. The food as always was prepared perfectly, steaks were tender and juicy, presentation appealing and practical. One of my favorites for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Almost a perfect night

Dined on March 5, 2016

We celebrated our niece's visit with a meal at one of our favorite restaurant's. Almost everything was flawless, except the service was not tp Ruth's Chris usual high standards. One side item was not delivered to the tableland neither the waiter nor his assistant were prompt about refilling water glasses. When he learned of our problem, he promptly offer all of us comped dessert and apologized for getting tied up with his other tables. I believe this was a one time glitch and not an issue for concern.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Practically Perfect In Every way

Dined on March 1, 2016

Our dining event started and ended with Tim the doorman who was the cherry on the top. He made it all feel very special and high class. All the staff - from the front desk to our waiter - was friendly, knowledgeable and eager to please. Food was outstanding down to the last morsel. Wine and whisky were tasty and we enjoyed generous pours.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Wedding Reception

Dined on February 29, 2016

We made reservations to have a small wedding reception at Ruth's Chris in Chattanooga 2/29/16. We arrived a little early but called ahead advising (as directed if necessary). All started out great and we were seated immediately (the place was otherwise empty). The napkins swapping (dark for dark / light for light) impressed the in-laws. Shortly after, we placed our orders. About 15 minutes later, our soups arrived. EVERYONE'S soup was cold (lukewarm / room temp). Another 10 minutes passed and I eventually got up and walked to the back to get some attention regarding the cold soups. ... yet another 20 minutes passed before our replacement soups arrived. Waiter said the soup warmer had been turned down... More so disappointed with the time spent on the soup than the temperature issue. There was little to no communication, and we all felt abandoned to the point that some of our drinks had gone dry. Chris (the manager) came to the rescue and restored some faith in the dining experience (although he did charge us the full price and offered little other than an apology). If this were no more than a casual lunching, I would have just chalked it up as growing pains. However, THIS WAS OUR WEDDING DAY! There are no re-dos or do-overs for that. --

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and premium food selection

Dined on February 26, 2016

Costly, but definitely worth the price if you value delectable foods that have been well prepared and presented. Very upscale menu; the atmosphere is not intimidating or overly ornate, though it is one of the nicer restaurants you'd consider for a business dinner, special occasion, or fancier group dinner. Very professional waiting staff. Interactive menu on ipad was a nice touch, as was the "to-go box boy" who dished our leftovers into containers for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made our anniversary celebration special

Dined on February 20, 2016

We invited friends to go to Ruth Chris for our anniversaries. My husband and friend are cattlemen so we were hoping they would be impressed. Our friend said "thank you for bringing us here." I was ecstatic. Filets were great and we all shared the sides. It was busy and our food was delayed so Michael and Andrew apologized with free dessert and coffee. Cheesecake and bread pudding was special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Not for Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I decided to take a weekend trip to Chattanooga for Valentine's Day. We stayed at Embassy Suites and ate dinner at Ruth's Chris. We were VERY disappointed in our experience. They put us in an overflow type room full of about 50 other couples. (It happened to be the exact room where we had eaten our breakfast buffet the morning before.) It was VERY cramped. There were NO romantic type decorations...no flowers or candles on the tables. Lighting was not romantic at all ...VERY bright lighting. It was so cramped that the waiters were carrying trays over our heads as they delivered food to each table. I know they are experienced waiters and I really shouldn't worry about them dropping their trays but I would still duck each time they went over my head. They were SO overbooked that our waitress only came to refill my water glass once. I ended up drinking my husband's water since I only ordered water to drink. We have eaten at Ruth's Chris in Birmingham and have bought MANY gift Certificates for friends as Christmas Presents. We have been very pleased with the Birmingham location and expected this experience to be the same. For the amount of money we spent I expected to have a nice romantic dinner and it was NOT romantic at all!!! The food was good but when you spend that amount of money you are also paying for ambiance too which we DID NOT get. I would NOT recommend this location to anyone wanting a romantic dinner.

food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Disappointed on Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

We eat here regularly but neither the food nor the service were as good as usual. We made a reservation and only waited about 20 minutes past that time. Our waitress never checked on us or gave us more to drink when our water and tea were both gone. Also, our sides were cold and filet was nearly raw instead of medium. We will try it again but not for any holidays.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best. I took friends there f ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Always the best. I took friends there for Valentines and a Anniversary amd we all had a wonderful time as usual. Great food, great service.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.