About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

2321 Lifestyle Way
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
I-75 & Shallowford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 602-5900

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/chattanooga-tn/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).

Executive Chef:
Roger Burrows

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
8 More
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

special occasion (89)
romantic (60)
notable wine list (31)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
good for groups (21)
great for lunch (15)
hot spot (10)
neighborhood gem (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took my husband here for his birthday ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 5 days ago

I took my husband here for his birthday and it was excellent! Food, atmosphere and service were fabulous! They also made the evening special by putting birthday confetti on our table and brought him a birthday dessert that was amazing! We will be back for sure!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, always highest quality. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful meal, always highest quality. Special events are celebrated with great food, especially the creamed spinach.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was great except the bread pu ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great except the bread pudding. It was under cooked.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service were both great! T ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service were both great! Their attention to detail made our dining experience memorable. Great way to celebrate turning 60!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined there several times , the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have dined there several times , the food A+ service A+ Everything as expected from Ruth's Chris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was very nice.we were there f ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Restaurant was very nice.we were there for our anniversary. We ordered the filet and the ribeye( a very good choice). Service was excellent and we will return.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steaks were excellent. Staff was fri ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The steaks were excellent. Staff was friendly and attentive. Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for special occasions. Too ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place for special occasions. Too expensive for everyday dinner or to take children to. Very good food and atmosphere! Would highly recommend their steaks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was good -- though surprisingly, th ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was good -- though surprisingly, the steak was overcooked (ordered it medium and it was tough/charred on outside and no pink inside) -- and we enjoyed the visit -- however, the prices are just stupid. We knew that going in, and still went, so no offense taken. I can just get a meal at least as enjoyable for 1/3 the price at a dozen or more restaurants around town. If money was no object, we'd return some time -- but I see no real reason to.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

fantastic food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

fantastic food, service and atmosphere. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary and several of the staff congratulated us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Michael was outstanding!!!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our waiter Michael was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easily the best steak I've ever had (fil ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Easily the best steak I've ever had (fillet). The food did not disappoint and the service was great. They use iPads at the table for menus... and while I enjoy seeing pictures of the food for selection, it's obnoxious having this bright, moving screen on the table all the time. I kept laying it down and the great servers kept propping it up. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were there for our anniversary. Food, ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were there for our anniversary. Food, service, ambiance were wonderful. We appreciated the special menu pricing for $44.95 and $55.95. The chef brought out a complimentary small soup which was wonderful too. And our table was decorated with Happy Anniversary. We will definitely make it our Special Occasion restaurant!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best steaks ever! Love the elegant e ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The best steaks ever! Love the elegant environment! Enjoyed celebrating our anniversary at RC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 50th wedding ann ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary and we could not have selected a more appropriate setting. The atmosphere is warm and inviting,lighting is subtle, and the table settings are top notch. Our waiter, Eric, was personable, knowledgeable and did an excellent job seeing to our every need.Every aspect of our evening at Ruth's Chris Steak House was wonderful !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have given my overall rating as ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I would have given my overall rating as outstanding but they were out of not only one bottle of wine I selected but we were told their House wine of Sauvignon Blanc was out as well. Fortunately my third choice was available. Our waitress was most embarrassed and even bought us a dessert to share due to this mishap.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated husband's 82nd birthday. We ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Celebrated husband's 82nd birthday. We have been married over 61 years and for our 60th, we took the whole family and had a private party there. Wonderful time each occasion. Servers were all very good, food was delicious. Will be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

40th anniversary. All excellent. Pricy, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

40th anniversary. All excellent. Pricy, but that was expected. Overall, perfect end to the day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. This is an ideal spot for a celebration of any kind.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Easy to book a reservation. Michael ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Very Easy to book a reservation. Michael, our server, was friendly, accommodating to my special eating needs, informative of the menu, and easy to talk to. Took time to take care of us. Hubbys first Ruth Chris experience and he loved it. The steaks were perfectly cooked, as were our side dishes.

If we could dine there more often we would, however, though the food is excellent, the prices limit us from doing so.

So an occasional treat it will be!

Thanks for a making it a great Birthday For him,

Brian & Jeanette Ramsey

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Ruth's Chris

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our party enjoyed the crab cake & lobster bite appetizers so much that we considered ordering them for dinner as well. Entrees we opted to order were the salmon and the shrimp & grits. And, we are so glad that we decided to try them. Perfect service, delightful server (Poet) & delicious food made our dining experience perfect! We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vallet man needs a raise!!!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Every time we have been here it is always awesome. Food is outstanding, service is great, friendly and comfortable atmosphere all the time. Beautiful experience each visit. My husband always wears shorts, even at our wedding, it is frowned upon yet permitted. Recommend this restaurant experience to anyone and everyone

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a last father-daughter "date" ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was a last father-daughter "date" night before she gets married next weekend. We had wonderful service and excellent food. The filet, Au gratin potatoes, mashed potatoes, cheesecake, Apple pie dessert were all first class. I had flowers sent to the restaurant and they were on the table when we sat down. It was a great night, and I am very thankful to everyone at Ruth's Chris for making it so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was phenomenal.

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Service was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, but way over priced f ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was good, but way over priced for what you get. This will have to be for special occasions only. The waitress was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I ordered a filet cooked to medium, it w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I ordered a filet cooked to medium, it was overcooked. I For the price, they should really know how to cook a steak properly. I was not overly impressed with my cut of meat. I have had much better cuts from local meat shops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I went to Ruth's Chris fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I went to Ruth's Chris for our five year anniversary and it was wonderful! We had reservations and had to wait about 10-15 minutes but beyond that everything was just great. Lalee was our server and she was knowledgeable and had great suggestions. I had the petite filet and my husband had the ribeye and both were wonderful! My husband said it was one of the best steaks he ever had, and that is high praise. I highly recommend Ruth's Chris if you have a special night out or just want a great steak!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris Steak House Chattanooga

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The lamp chop dish was outstanding! Similarly the salmon with cajun sauce. The creamed spinach was superb. Even ordered a Pappy's 20yr bourbon and they actually had some! Kudos for a great experience all around.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the courtesy valet parking to the g ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

From the courtesy valet parking to the great server to the fine food this was a beautiful experience, the wine (Beringer Cab) was amazing. Our server was pleasant and made it a great evening. I have been twice before this to Ruths Chris Steakhouse, once in Memphis and once in Orlando ( I think) neither was comparable to this one in any way. I will happily recommend your restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent filet perfectly cooked. The cr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent filet perfectly cooked. The creamed spinach is a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best of the best in food and service.

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent service, beginning with the valet parking guy opening the restaurant door for us and ending with the desert which was awesome.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood tower!!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were celebrating Mother's Day as a family and I couldn't have been more pleased with the entire experience. Everything was exceptional! The steaks were tender enough that I swear they could be cut with a butter knife! The biggest thrill of the evening was the seafood tower appetizer. Not only was it delicious, it was fun!! Our server, Poet, was a sweetie pie and very attentive to all our needs. Great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Dinner

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The staff went out of their way to make our son's graduation dinner special. The food was very good and we had a group of twelve. The food was very good and was served at one time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful and consistently great dinin ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

A wonderful and consistently great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Cowboy ribeye, fil ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything was great. Cowboy ribeye, filet, brochette of beef and shrimp were all cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dinner was very enjoyable. My wife a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The dinner was very enjoyable. My wife and I wanted a quite night out with quality food and drinks and they delivered perfectly. The Lamb Chops were outstanding. The service was first class. We will keep this very high on our list of places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak & service

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Best service I have had from a restaurant in a long time. Food was great. One of the best steaks I have ever had.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday celebration

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday with a wonderful dinner. Steaks were cooked perfectly, service was great and the cheesecake was the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We visited Ruth Chris for a birthday. The service felt rushed and they appeared to be out of several items on the menu. Starting from the bottled water. The waitress offered water and then returned later only to say " we are out but our water is pretty good". For the dinner selection our first to selections were out and the explanation was "it's been a busy night". How a steakhouse manages to be out of steak baffles me. Then for dessert they were "out" of the selection for the prix menu so we were told they would be willing to substitute a cupcake size bread pudding.

I've visited the Atlanta location with a much better experience. I've scratched Chattanooga location off the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Steak was under cooked...had to be retur ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Steak was under cooked...had to be returned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.