About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

2321 Lifestyle Way
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
I-75 & Shallowford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 602-5900

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/chattanooga-tn/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).

Executive Chef:
Roger Burrows

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
7 More
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

special occasion (80)
romantic (52)
notable wine list (29)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (21)
great for lunch (18)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
512 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 50th wedding ann ...

Dined 3 days ago

We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary and we could not have selected a more appropriate setting. The atmosphere is warm and inviting,lighting is subtle, and the table settings are top notch. Our waiter, Eric, was personable, knowledgeable and did an excellent job seeing to our every need.Every aspect of our evening at Ruth's Chris Steak House was wonderful !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I would have given my overall rating as ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

I would have given my overall rating as outstanding but they were out of not only one bottle of wine I selected but we were told their House wine of Sauvignon Blanc was out as well. Fortunately my third choice was available. Our waitress was most embarrassed and even bought us a dessert to share due to this mishap.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated husband's 82nd birthday. We ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Celebrated husband's 82nd birthday. We have been married over 61 years and for our 60th, we took the whole family and had a private party there. Wonderful time each occasion. Servers were all very good, food was delicious. Will be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

40th anniversary. All excellent. Pricy, ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

40th anniversary. All excellent. Pricy, but that was expected. Overall, perfect end to the day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. This is an ideal spot for a celebration of any kind.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very Easy to book a reservation. Michael ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Very Easy to book a reservation. Michael, our server, was friendly, accommodating to my special eating needs, informative of the menu, and easy to talk to. Took time to take care of us. Hubbys first Ruth Chris experience and he loved it. The steaks were perfectly cooked, as were our side dishes. If we could dine there more often we would, however, though the food is excellent, the prices limit us from doing so. So an occasional treat it will be! Thanks for a making it a great Birthday For him, Brian & Jeanette Ramsey

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Our party enjoyed the crab cake & lobster bite appetizers so much that we considered ordering them for dinner as well. Entrees we opted to order were the salmon and the shrimp & grits. And, we are so glad that we decided to try them. Perfect service, delightful server (Poet) & delicious food made our dining experience perfect! We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vallet man needs a raise!!!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Every time we have been here it is always awesome. Food is outstanding, service is great, friendly and comfortable atmosphere all the time. Beautiful experience each visit. My husband always wears shorts, even at our wedding, it is frowned upon yet permitted. Recommend this restaurant experience to anyone and everyone

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a last father-daughter "date" ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was a last father-daughter "date" night before she gets married next weekend. We had wonderful service and excellent food. The filet, Au gratin potatoes, mashed potatoes, cheesecake, Apple pie dessert were all first class. I had flowers sent to the restaurant and they were on the table when we sat down. It was a great night, and I am very thankful to everyone at Ruth's Chris for making it so.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was phenomenal.

Dined on May 16, 2016

Service was phenomenal.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was good, but way over priced f ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was good, but way over priced for what you get. This will have to be for special occasions only. The waitress was exceptional.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I ordered a filet cooked to medium, it w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I ordered a filet cooked to medium, it was overcooked. I For the price, they should really know how to cook a steak properly. I was not overly impressed with my cut of meat. I have had much better cuts from local meat shops.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Ruth's Chris fo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I went to Ruth's Chris for our five year anniversary and it was wonderful! We had reservations and had to wait about 10-15 minutes but beyond that everything was just great. Lalee was our server and she was knowledgeable and had great suggestions. I had the petite filet and my husband had the ribeye and both were wonderful! My husband said it was one of the best steaks he ever had, and that is high praise. I highly recommend Ruth's Chris if you have a special night out or just want a great steak!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris Steak House Chattanooga

Dined on May 13, 2016

The lamp chop dish was outstanding! Similarly the salmon with cajun sauce. The creamed spinach was superb. Even ordered a Pappy's 20yr bourbon and they actually had some! Kudos for a great experience all around.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From the courtesy valet parking to the g ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

From the courtesy valet parking to the great server to the fine food this was a beautiful experience, the wine (Beringer Cab) was amazing. Our server was pleasant and made it a great evening. I have been twice before this to Ruths Chris Steakhouse, once in Memphis and once in Orlando ( I think) neither was comparable to this one in any way. I will happily recommend your restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent filet perfectly cooked. The cr ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent filet perfectly cooked. The creamed spinach is a must have.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best of the best in food and service.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent service, beginning with the valet parking guy opening the restaurant door for us and ending with the desert which was awesome.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood tower!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were celebrating Mother's Day as a family and I couldn't have been more pleased with the entire experience. Everything was exceptional! The steaks were tender enough that I swear they could be cut with a butter knife! The biggest thrill of the evening was the seafood tower appetizer. Not only was it delicious, it was fun!! Our server, Poet, was a sweetie pie and very attentive to all our needs. Great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Graduation Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

The staff went out of their way to make our son's graduation dinner special. The food was very good and we had a group of twelve. The food was very good and was served at one time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful and consistently great dinin ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

A wonderful and consistently great dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Cowboy ribeye, fil ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything was great. Cowboy ribeye, filet, brochette of beef and shrimp were all cooked perfectly.

food5
ambience5
service5

The dinner was very enjoyable. My wife a ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The dinner was very enjoyable. My wife and I wanted a quite night out with quality food and drinks and they delivered perfectly. The Lamb Chops were outstanding. The service was first class. We will keep this very high on our list of places to go.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best steak & service

Dined on April 17, 2016

Best service I have had from a restaurant in a long time. Food was great. One of the best steaks I have ever had.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

Dined on April 17, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday with a wonderful dinner. Steaks were cooked perfectly, service was great and the cheesecake was the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 17, 2016

We visited Ruth Chris for a birthday. The service felt rushed and they appeared to be out of several items on the menu. Starting from the bottled water. The waitress offered water and then returned later only to say " we are out but our water is pretty good". For the dinner selection our first to selections were out and the explanation was "it's been a busy night". How a steakhouse manages to be out of steak baffles me. Then for dessert they were "out" of the selection for the prix menu so we were told they would be willing to substitute a cupcake size bread pudding. I've visited the Atlanta location with a much better experience. I've scratched Chattanooga location off the list.

food3
ambience5
service5

Steak was under cooked...had to be retur ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Steak was under cooked...had to be returned.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's was an excellent evening. Our wait ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

It's was an excellent evening. Our waiter, Shannon was very knowledgeable and very attentive. The meal was perfect. The Ribeye was out of this world. We couldn't have asked for a better night. And the young valet was so polite and gentlemanly.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hits the spot!

Dined on April 11, 2016

The steak comes out so sizzlin' hot it's fantastic!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our fifth visit to Ruth Chris in Chattan ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Our fifth visit to Ruth Chris in Chattanooga. We have never been dissatisfied!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Costly but very nice

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great steak and wine, will definitely eat at Ruth's Chris in the future, be sure to bring your wallet cause it's costly

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ATMOSPHERE

Dined on April 8, 2016

The atmosphere was great. My wife and I had a night to go out and eat and it was wonderful to go somewhere that was so loud and chaotic feeling. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Met all expectations plus

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had family dine at other Ruth Chris locations and stated the food was good but not worth the price. We went finally for my wife's birthday to the relatively new location in Chattanooga. It was fantastic. The food, the service and the atmosphere were all top notch in every way. I had the t-bone and it was absolutely the most tender and flavorful ever. We won't be going often, but for the rare extra special occasion, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse will absolutely be our first considered stop.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Typical Ruth's Chris: excellent

Dined on April 1, 2016

Went here for the ??th time for an anniversary celebration with good friends. Food and service were exceptional as always. Ruth's is easily our go-to for a nice dinner out in Chattanooga. Can get a little noisy in the middle of the main floor -- which can be a good thing if you are in a larger group with some rowdier stories. Can also be very quiet and romantic in one of their enclosed booths (floor to ceiling on 3 sides). Will, of course, be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Good time with Family. Food was excelle ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Good time with Family. Food was excellent and service was great. Restaurant staff was very accommodating and very friendly Cody our server did a great job

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I got the 4 course dinner. Soup was good ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

I got the 4 course dinner. Soup was good. Steak and shrimp were overdone. Dessert was too rich. Not worth the money.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Easter Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was really good and we had a great Easter Dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second visit to Ruth Chris. ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

This was my second visit to Ruth Chris. The steak was absolutely superb during me first visit which is why I came back. The steak actually melted in my mouth which is the reason for my return visit. I ordered the same steak cooked the same way. It was a little tough and did not match my first experience.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was my first time at Ruth's Chris. While it was a treat and not a place we would go regularly, I truly enjoyed the experience for our anniversary dinner. Everything from the salad and wine to the steak was delicious. If I had it to do over again, I would probably not order the potatoes au gratin but mostly because when I saw other options they looked better and the potatoes were good but nothing overly special. All in all, I was very pleased with our dinner and experience. Our waiter was impressively knowledgeable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Ruth Chris - Chattanooga

Dined on March 16, 2016

Everything was perfect except for the Brussels sprouts. They were actually too hard. I prefer mine trimmed and roasted to bring out the natural sweetness. These were just lacking in flavor and tenderness. The rest of the meal was excellent.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Lunch

Dined on March 9, 2016

Had a very nice lunch with my family, the waitstaff was attentive and friendly, no rushing, quiet and relaxing. The food as always was prepared perfectly, steaks were tender and juicy, presentation appealing and practical. One of my favorites for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.