About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.

2321 Lifestyle Way
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
I-75 & Shallowford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 602-5900

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/chattanooga-tn/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).

Executive Chef:
Roger Burrows

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (68)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Good for Birthdays (47)
Romantic (39)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Cozy (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Seasonal (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (6)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I have been here many times and I will keep coming back. The cold water lobster is simply the best in a three hour radius. The 40 year old Port is also incredible with some vanilla ice cream. My favorite restaurant to go to!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

We were quickly seated upon arrival which was great. After being seated, it took a good while to get appetizers and wine ordered and delivered. We were not informed of any daily specials or menu highlights.
My bread plate had some baked on food still on plate and it needed to be replaced.

The water glasses were empty several times as they relied on waiter to refill rather than a water attendant.
We were not asked post entree in a timely manner if a dessert was in the works or if coffee was needed.
As the waiter cleared the plates post dinner, he finally mentioned to us that we would get a dessert for the birthday person in our party.
When you pay $340 for 4 people, you also would like to see a manager stop by and say thanks and ask how the evening was.....etc.
I expect a higher standard from Ruth’s Chris.
We should have gone to J. Alexander’s quite frankly.

BTW: I do not fault the waiter; he was a gentleman and was most accommodating and appeared to work very hard to please all his tables. Perhaps they were just understaffed in total.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Way way way overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine’s Day:
-1 Valet in the rain, poor guy and long wait.
- requested area on the reservation days before wasn’t available unless we wanted to wait longer
-Our server was “hurting” so we had a stand in
-Waited quite a bit to be greeted
-Food took longer than normal but place was not full
- had to request refills multiple times
- ALL plates left on the table from appetizer to dessert the ENTIRE evening
- food great as usual

Overall experience wasn’t on par and that would seem normal for Valentine’s except is was due to service and atmosphere which had nothing to do with volume because it was not ever full the entire TWO HOURS we were held hostage.

Just overall bummer experience when Ruth Chris is normally above grade. 😩

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 6 days ago

We have eaten here on several occasions but were very dis satisfied on Valentine evening. It took us a total of 3 hours to eat. Our waiter was nice but very inattentive. The restaurant did not appear to be covered up with guests. The shrimp cocktail appetizer, bread, and salad were good. Like the wine selection.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great service was to must go back bit crowded due to valentines day but had early reservations worked out great

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful meal for Valentines Day with rose presented to every lady. Server was awesome. Could not have asked for a better experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I had salmon and husband had steak. All was great except steak was a little too done on the outside. Other than that it was great! Service was wonderful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

The dining experience was excellent as always. The single red rose was a perfect touch for Valentine's Day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2018

Great people amazing food perfectly cooked steak. Great waiter. Go knowing the price so your not blind sided but it’s well worth the price.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Soup was cold, we had to send it back, ll 3 bowls. Salad and steak were not at normal level of Ruth Chris. Service was impeccable though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 10, 2018

We love Ruth's Chris, but the restaurant is on a conference center, which isn't very romantic atmosphere. Wait staff wasn't very attentive. Food was good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 10, 2018

16th birthday dinner- had to dine in overflow due to Valentine’s Day diners even though reservation was made well in advance. Other than that, pleasant experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Nice place and food was good and portions were bigger than normal but service was a little slow for me verses the cost. I will say that service was friendly, knowledgeable and pleasant. This was my first visit so overall it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Everything was great! Absolutely no complaints. Service and food were amazing! Had a great time celebrating my brother's birthday.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 9, 2018

The. Ack room behind the bar was very cold and air was on making food cold quick. Waitress turned up for us and someone turned it back down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Birthday for a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Wonderful! Just wish I could afford to eat here every week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Waiter killed it! Food was prepared well. Everything’s expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Food was good as usual but service wasn’t as great as we have had in the past. I had to ask for my wine to be delivered after my steak was brought to the table. Beverage refills didn’t happen & dinner plates were left on the table until we left the table for the night. I don’t mind spending $50 bucks for a steak when service is great but this time, meh.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2018

I've been to Ruth's Chris several times and each time I'm less impressed. Took my wife out for a date Saturday to Chattanooga. The service was great after being held 20+ minutes after our reservation time. The food is just not worth the price. The pork chop was big and was cooked right but BLAND as can be. My wife's stuffed chicken breast was good she said but her broccoli was cold when it came out. $150 later I should have gone to the Chop House or Texas roadhouse and we could have both ate twice or gone to High Point and got better food with change to spare. Disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 3, 2018

The meal was just ok, but the service and surroundings made up for it. Parking was really difficult in the area and no valet is available, which seems like a missed opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2018

The food was spectacular. The restaurant is extremely cold for anybody who has to sit in the main dining room anywhere near the front door. Every time someone opens the door a cold breeze came rushing through the restaurant My wife and her friend had their jackets in their laps. Probably not a problem the other nine months of the year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Birthday for 47 year old son

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Dinner was fantastic. Service and food really good. Enjoyed the whole experience except of one little thing. We got a table for two, which we have done before and those big fat chairs are too heavy to deal with especially after you've eaten a big meal and are trying to get up. Anyway, Pat was really happy with the evening and it was her birthday and I had to take her to the best place in town. Thanks, Bill

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Waiter offered bread and then forgot to bring it. When we asked about the bread after the appetizer came, they said they would put some in. When the bread came (right before the entree), we then had to request bread plates. When our waiter asked us to cut our steaks to verify they were cooked right, he walked away before they were both cut. Table was not bused regularly as courses were finished.

However, the food was excellent. Waiter should have given tip to the chef.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2018

Well I wasn't impressed. There are so many other steakhouses that are better even not as fine dining ones. It is great to impress a date but not the best. Several people I noticed around me returned steak because it was not cooked to their liking. Plus the prices are not worth what you get.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Great service and food . Very nice establishment and atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Me and my husband come there a lot for special occasions, but this visit was not as great as the past. Waiter not very attentive, steak undercooked, table not set with anniversary confetti and no dessert for special occasion

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Delicious, augratin potatoes are amazing.
Ask for Chris to be your waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 6, 2018

A great experience! The menu never disappoints. Ask for Chris Pesterfield’s section. He’s an excellent server...very friendly, helpful, goes above/beyond, and always a smile!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Wife's food was good. Mine not so much, undercooked, and not a good cut for ribbeye.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 6, 2018

My filet was very well cooked and tasty, as well as the couscous. My husband's filet was good, however the mashed potatoes lacked in their creaminess. The restaurant was a great place to connect and chat. We sat in the corner of the restaurant, beside a window...which was super chilly. Overall it was a pretty good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2018

I had the stuffed chicken and it was amazing! The ambiance was great. The only thing I didn't like was the chocolate martini. Too much alcohol and not enough chocolate as described. I've had the chocolate MartinI at high end hotel and it was much more swe eternal and delectable. Other than that I loved everything else and would go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 2, 2018

So warm, friendly, tasty. Anniversary was very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Food is always delicious, we love coming to Ruth's Chris's Steakhouse!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Filet was like chewing gum, could not eat but A couple bites. Was offered dessert to compensate for a $56 steak. Spent $200 for 2 people, never felt so ripped off.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2017

NYE was great with the whole family with kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Arrived 20 min earlier then reservation, went into bar for a drink. Had to wait 20 min for the drink and then had to get up and find the waitress to get the check. The drinks were $18 a piece. Not a good start. The dinner was good but not exceptional. When I go I expect exceptional. We are dinning at Ruth Cris not Applebees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was fantastic as always. Chris has been our server multiple times, he is friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.