Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 29 times today
Special offers available. See details

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

4.5
946 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(423) 602-5900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Roger Burrows
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
I-75 & Shallowford Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Want to be Mom’s favorite? Thank her for all that she does and treat her to a delicious Mother’s Day meal at Ruth’s Chris Steak House.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 946 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Chris exceeded our expectations, again! He made my Father's birthday lunch even more special by taking such amazing care and attention to my dad. Thank you Chris!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

My only complaint about lunch is the limit selection of sides. You cannot even order a bake potatoes to go with you steak.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We came to celebrate our parent's anniversary and enjoyed every second of it. Everything was excellent from the food to the service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 11, 2018

The meal was great. Our server forgot to put in a couple of things for us and then brought them to us after others were eating. She had no problem charging us for three items though and blamed it on senior moments.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The service was good and the food was great was very pleased.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Not bad for a Ruth's Chris. It was our first time at this location and our first time for lunch. We had an 11:30 reservation, however we got there at 11:30 and the doors were not open. Several other parties were also standing outside in the cold waiting for someone to finally open the doors--over 5 minutes later.
I was disappointed in the lobster bisque, as the lobster was very tough and rubbery; however others had seafood gumbo and liked it. I was also disappointed in the lack of side options on the lunch menu. Our server forgot to put in our side order, and then brought it very late (at no charge).
As there are very few "nice" dining options in the area, I might dine there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

great experience again . always a nice time and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Good place for a special occasion dinner. The food was very good and the service was exceptional!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We celebrated Easter with lunch at Ruth's Chris, a long time favorite. The staff was accommodating when I had trouble moving up the time of our OpenTable reservation by phone. The service was excellent by one of our favorites. The entrees were excellent, though we were disappointed with both of our vegetable choices. The fingerling potatoes were rather greasy and the broccoli was a bit heavy with the added seasoning. Ruth's Chris makes a dynamite Bananas Foster when it isn't busy, but their Bananas Foster cheesecake did not live up to its potential. We will be back and open to trying new items and specials as they become available. Although we didn't drink wine with this lunch, they have an excellent wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Excellent food and service - as always!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Very disappointed with our dinner:( All of our food was covered with butter, very bland, and extremely too hot to eat. To spend $250 for a family of four and then to leave a so disappointed--unfortunately we will not be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Tennis celebration dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We had an amazing lunch, it was our second visit to Ruth’s Chris and I look forward to many more over the years. It’s not the type of food we could afford on a regular basis but it’s perfect for special occasions and it’s beyond worth the money to have their wonderful steak. Also I would highly recommend their cocktail shrimp as an appetizer and their flourless chocolate sin cake for a dessert. We had a great waiter by the name of Chris, and everything about our meal was lovely. I highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

When I went I immediately noticed how nice it seemed. However a few minutes after sitting down I noticed that the noise level started to rise heavily and our waiter was barely understandable. Then the food came. The steaks were cooked well but did not have a flavor fitting the price. I feel like I could have gotten a better steak at half the price elsewhere. It was a decent experience but what you get for the price is not worth it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Always delicious. Service was good too. My go to spot for celebrations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Excellent food and wide selection of both food and drink

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Always love eating here when in Chattanooga!!!! Good good food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

The sous chef James was awesome and our waitress Aimee was awesome too

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 7, 2018

The food is not as good as in the past. Service is Ok.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 5, 2018

The food was outstanding. Our servers we wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Sarah made our evening delightful.
She had a good knowledge of wines.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Enjoyed our, probably, once in a lifetime experience with Ruth's Chris. It was a special night and they took great care of us. Service and ambiance was impeccable. The food was good and you can't beat the cut of meat but I was slightly disappointed in the sides and flavoring. Don't get me wrong, it was still good but for what you pay, I expect more.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We have been fans for years; however, the last few times we have dined here, the steaks and sides have not been up to par. Very disappointing. Staff continuously checked our table as if to look to see if we were finished. My husband’s steak was over cooked and they did return it, but by the time it was served again, the rest of us were almost finished with our meal. They did comp all the desserts for that issue, but this is a place that, for the price, should be on top of how to cook steaks. I think we may be crossing Ruth’s off of our list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

I know we are in the age of selfies, but the dinner area is so nice and I sat next to a table that had flash on every phone.

No bad if it's one or two, but I actually counted 23.

23 flashes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Great food and excellent prof service by Michael the server. Very knowledgeable..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2018

The only thing I didn't like was the fact that they didn't have valet parking on the day we went.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Fantastic all around. Food was great and the service was as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Once again food was amazing and service was wonderful. Will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2018

I have wanted to eat here for quite awhile and I have heard nothing but great things but to be completely honest I have had much much better steaks for cheaper. Not that the one I had there was bad, but that I've just had alot better and I found myself slightly disappointed. The side wasn't that great either. The service was great, our waitress was awesome and very knowledgeable. The shrimp that the missus had was so unbelievably good so I will probably give it one more try and do the seafood next time. She was really happy with her steak and shrimp. Like I said, it wasn't bad but I just found myself wanting more I suppose. Maybe the seafood will do it for me next time.

Have a great day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

We had a great experience! It’s definitely very expensive, but if you go there knowing you will spend a lot of money for good food, it’s such a great time. The food was delicious and our server, Chris, was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Though I can't recall or server's name (I wish I could!) he was wonderful. He served us one other time and we thought he should be commended. His approach is the perfect blend of available but unobtrusive, friendly but professional. As a vegetarian, it stood out to me that the vegetables were prepared perfectly- not over or under cooked. Very good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I have been here many times and I will keep coming back. The cold water lobster is simply the best in a three hour radius. The 40 year old Port is also incredible with some vanilla ice cream. My favorite restaurant to go to!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We were quickly seated upon arrival which was great. After being seated, it took a good while to get appetizers and wine ordered and delivered. We were not informed of any daily specials or menu highlights.
My bread plate had some baked on food still on plate and it needed to be replaced.

The water glasses were empty several times as they relied on waiter to refill rather than a water attendant.
We were not asked post entree in a timely manner if a dessert was in the works or if coffee was needed.
As the waiter cleared the plates post dinner, he finally mentioned to us that we would get a dessert for the birthday person in our party.
When you pay $340 for 4 people, you also would like to see a manager stop by and say thanks and ask how the evening was.....etc.
I expect a higher standard from Ruth’s Chris.
We should have gone to J. Alexander’s quite frankly.

BTW: I do not fault the waiter; he was a gentleman and was most accommodating and appeared to work very hard to please all his tables. Perhaps they were just understaffed in total.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We were not seated were we ask when,i are the reservation..I ask for a both..and got a small table in the back with very little room from the other table....I ask for a both when I are my reservation..very unhappy..I told the people up front and they just acted like they never heard me..I even told the lady that seated me..she When and ask and never came back..it wasn't a very good date for valentine day...my bill was 157. With was fine. Server was great.....but they seat you were they went you not where you ask...I made this resection 3 month ago..no excuses...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Great food and ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was outstanding. Service was outstanding. It was a special occasion and we was not disappointed. our server I believe her name was April went above and beyond.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Way way way overpriced

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentine’s Day:
-1 Valet in the rain, poor guy and long wait.
- requested area on the reservation days before wasn’t available unless we wanted to wait longer
-Our server was “hurting” so we had a stand in
-Waited quite a bit to be greeted
-Food took longer than normal but place was not full
- had to request refills multiple times
- ALL plates left on the table from appetizer to dessert the ENTIRE evening
- food great as usual

Overall experience wasn’t on par and that would seem normal for Valentine’s except is was due to service and atmosphere which had nothing to do with volume because it was not ever full the entire TWO HOURS we were held hostage.

Just overall bummer experience when Ruth Chris is normally above grade. 😩

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We have eaten here on several occasions but were very dis satisfied on Valentine evening. It took us a total of 3 hours to eat. Our waiter was nice but very inattentive. The restaurant did not appear to be covered up with guests. The shrimp cocktail appetizer, bread, and salad were good. Like the wine selection.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24