About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.

2321 Lifestyle Way
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
I-75 & Shallowford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 602-5900

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/chattanooga-tn/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).

Executive Chef:
Roger Burrows

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Good for Birthdays (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Romantic (29)
Business Meals (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (16)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fun (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Private Room (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
760 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

Great meal. Wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

Seating was as requested during reservation. Waiter was attentive, but not too interactive. Food was excellent, except my wife ordered the mixed beet frisée and they were out @ 7:30 pm and she had to select a different option for dinner salad. Steak was excellently prepared and was the star. Recommended placing a menu on table listing cocktails and aperitifs and spirit selections so you can order a before dinner drink and not have the waiter go copy a list of availability of spirits, prior to placing your order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our best experience yet at this location. Delicious food presented well, wonderful service, classic but relaxed atmosphere, and the prix fixe menu is reasonably priced. Still a "special occasion" restaurant for us, but well worth the money this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 7 days ago

Waiter was amazing. Couldn't have asked for better service. His name was David.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 7 days ago

Steak was fabulous. Great taste and flavor. Stayed hot thru entire meal. I had Rib-eye and wife had the Filet. Calamari was also great, no dipping sauce needed. Congratulated by several different staff members because celebrating anniversary. Pricey but well worth it. You definitely get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was AMAZING and the service was impressive. I had the stuffed chicken and it was the best chicken I have ever tasted. Desert was very good as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My husband took me here for my sixteen year Anniversay. The chairs were comfortable. Lowlight, very elegant. The people were super friendly and very fast to take care of your needs. Drinks were always full. They sprinkle anniversay confetti on your white candle lit table cloth. Very beautiful from the time we walked in to the time we left.
The food and service were awesome. Best steak I have ever had.
And the cocktails. WOW.
Will go back for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was amazing and our server was great. They do have a proper attire policy, so keep that in mind. It was our first visit and was exactly what we expected. We will keep this in mind for future special occasions.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Service was very good, but we did wait for over an hour for our food, and even though I had the pricey [$60-dollar] Bone-In New York Strip, it did taste kind of funny; I've tasted better, even at other Ruth's Chris Steakhouse locations. We were somewhat disappointed because, for the price tag, we expect #excellence in all areas.

I did take my half NY Strip home and tried to heat it up the following day; bad idea. Let's just say the funny taste made sense.

Not a #recommend, at this for this particular location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Service was over the top great. Maybe the best Ruth I have eaten at.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Best Steak I ever had! Definitely going back for my next special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our server Kelly was amazing. Remembered small details from our previous visit!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Waiter, Nick, was outstanding. Did a great job of making us feel special. Food and drink were delicious. Best place ever for a great steak

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We went for my mothers birthday. It was delicious. I enjoy how consistent they are at Ruth Chris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Ruth Chris is the Best Steak House Ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I've have to say the overall experience was just ok.

We had a 2pm reservation and wasn't aware that the menu was considered lunch. The lunch menu had less steak and side options.

We were seated promptly and presented with bread almost immediately. The Server however did not approach the table to take our drink order until 2:15.

The server was pleasant and did provide the level of service we would expect from Ruth Chris after the initial delay.

Overall food was excellent , except lobster bisque, which had a poor flavor.

Maybe it was the service delay, or the lunch menu, or maybe it was the bisque...or all combined, but when I spend $200 for lunch (3 adults/1 child - no alcohol) I just expect more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The was excellent as always, but there were some service issues with our mid-afternoon Saturday lunch. We had rather long waits to take our wine order, for the wine to arrive (moments before our entrees arrived), water refills and for the check to be processed. The restaurant did not appear overly busy and normally wait staff have someone working with them. Our waiter gave us no indication as to why we had such long waits. We will be back but we will likely ask for a different server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The restaurant met and exceeded my expectations. Waiter was exceptional as was the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was perfect! Server was very friendly and knew a lot about the menu; she had some very helpful suggestions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food and service were lovely. Thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary here.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Hostess Allison was very rude/condescending with her questions, facial expressions, body language to me and my guest. I have never been treated with such disrespect! She needs to not judge a book by it's cover. Just because I did not come dressed up in my business attire, does not mean I did not belong there. I'm sure the boots on my feet cost more than what she makes in a week... I will not be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

First time at Ruth's Chris. The quality of the food was off the chart (excellent), from the salad to desert. The flavor was absolutely amazing. While this is a more expensive restaurant than most, I cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

All in all it was a good experience. We had the calamari appetizer, fried green tomato salad that was delicious. The only issue was the steak, I ordered a 16 Oz. Ribeye medium rare and it was more like medium well well and was more like 12oz. than 16. The drinks were excellent and Lalee our server was very knowledgeable of the menu, attentive, and friendly. We will go there again one day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

You expect the best from Ruth's Chris. The CHATTANOOGA Ruth's Chris certainly lived up to expectations. Thanks for a wonderful meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food ! Birthday for daughter. Fun and relaxing time

Tags: Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Ruth's Chris steakhouse has removed lobster bites from the menu. This was my only reason for going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great all the way around! We loved it and will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were having Fathers Day dinner. Atmosphere and service were outstanding as always. Unfortunately, restaurant was out of Fresh Lobster and New York Strip 6pm in the evening. These were my husbands 2 top choices for the special dinner. It was a quite disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Ruth's Chris made Fathers Day a special day! The restaurant was perfect from the valet to the table. Our valet, Timmy was absolutely the best and Nick, our waiter was top notch!! Thanks for a great evening staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a great time, we celebrated Father's day and our 4 kids loved it!!!! I have always loved Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Best steak anywhere. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great place to eat. Steaks melted in your mouth. Our server Mabel was great ! Portion sizes were family size. Make reservations a must. Great for romantic night. If you are in a hurry not your place. Loved it!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Too expensive for what you get. A $46 steak should come with at least one side!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Lalee S was our server and she was awesome. We had been to a Ruth's Chris in another state over 10 years ago and we were not impressed. We decided to try again for our anniversary. The experience was outstanding. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Service was warm, relaxed, friendly, courteous and welcoming

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Consistently good food and service was good as well

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Went out for my wife's birthday. Had an outstanding time. Great food, great service and an excellent environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Came in for our daughter's birthday and the service was amazing as always. Our waiter Chris made the night fun for the kids and was very attentive to them. Kids were still talking about how great the food was this morning. The table was setup special for her birthday along with dessert. I appreciate all that the staff did for us!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Terribly overpriced coupled with slow( but courteous) service will keep me away.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This is the second time I have tried Ruth's Chris, and again I was not impressed. Prime steaks are great, but they taste better with seasoning. Salt and pepper and too much char are not the way to go.

Luckily for Ruth's Chris this appeals to some people. Personally, I think J. Alexander's serves better food at better prices. I understand the market Ruth's Chris serves. It's for business meetings and the social elite. The prices and atmosphere are a barrier to entry for others. Usually when restaurants do this, at least the food is good.

The service is phenomenal and the atmosphere is good, but none of that warrants their prices. You can have better quality prime steaks and other food at several other restaurants in Chattanooga. They are pricey too, but nowhere near what Ruth's Chris is. AND, you'll actually enjoy your dinner.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.