About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.

2321 Lifestyle Way
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
I-75 & Shallowford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 602-5900

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/chattanooga-tn/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).

Executive Chef:
Roger Burrows

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Quiet Conversation (32)
Romantic (30)
Business Meals (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Cozy (23)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Authentic (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Private Room (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

The $48 Waygu prime rib was entirely lackluster and disappointing. It did not appear to be slow roasted either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

As always it was a great experience. Our waiter was excellent and attentive. The meal was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 7 days ago

Meal was very good although they were out of the wine that I ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 7 days ago

Good food and service. Music was a little loud for the setting but overall good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My compliments to all the staff from the hostess to dishwashers. April, our server, and her assistants pleased our whole group with their smiles and politeness along with the excellent professionalism. The staff went above and beyond our expectations. Chef James even visited our table to assure that everything was as expected on our orders. Ruth's Chris staff created a graduation night to remember for my daughter and family and friends. Thank you!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food and service. We made a reservation ahead of time and were quickly seated. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day meal! They accommodated our party of 10 very well. All mother's were happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was great and the service was superior! We would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought the family to celebrate Mother's Day. Service was top-notch. Food was delicious. Will definitely be back for date night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very very very good! The best steak I've ever had. The lobster bisque was incredible. The service was perfect. No steak is worth $50.. by itself and the baked potato was $9.50😮. Still a very good experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This is the third time I have been to a Ruth Chris and each time the least impressive thing is the steak. I have found at each one the atmosphere, service, appetizers, sides, and dessert are all wonderful. But the steak is just very average to me. I will go back, but won't get a steak next time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Waitress was not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great service and very attentive. A huge thank you to the valet attendant....he was beyond personable and really went out of his way to make our party feel special.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My first visit A client gave a $100 gift card for my birthday. Some of my family had been here, The prices are high but then so is the level of service, from parking your car to ending the meal. Very good. I would also suggest staying the night at Embassy Suite Hotel. Ruth fixes the buffet breakfast. I will be back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Private Room, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was delicious. Our waitress, Lalee, was wonderful. It didn't take long to get our food and everything was perfect. Definitely one of the best meals I've ever had.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was our first time ever going there. Our waiter Eric was absolutely outstanding and catered to every need that we could have. The food is spectacular and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food, outstanding service and a quite atmosphere.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Been a huge fan of Ruth's Chris for many years and at several locations. You always receive world class, 1st class service, food and atmosphere. It doesn't get better than this!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As usual a great meal for the value. Service was excellent again.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had Easter dinner here with my wife. It was the second time we have eaten here since relocating to Chattanooga. Our previous experience here was outstanding. However, our most recent experience here on Easter will be our last. The service was horrible and it wasn't even busy. There may have been 10 tables being served while we were there. Perhaps my attire...I was wearing shorts,my wife new jeans was the issue? At any rate when we dine here it's always 150 to 200 plus tip for the 2 of us. I really expect to be asked at least once how our food is or is there anything else we need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

While the food is excellent, Timmy is truly who makes this place magnificent. He always remembers my 70 something year old Mother's name, and escorts her arm in arm inside the building, treating her like a queen. Our last visit, he came to our table when we were finished and walked my Mother all the way out to the waiting car.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Was Wonderful! The atmosphere was great and the meal was delicious

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always enjoy Ruth's Chris. We sat in a room off the beaten path and our server, April, was excellent. The food was cooked to perfection and the only mistake was the home office's removal of the delicious chocolate mousse cheesecake from the menu. But you can ask for a smaller individual portion and there is usually no charge for it. We'll be back before long.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service from the moment one steps from their automobile to be greeted by the valet. The ambience is relaxing, service good and friendly, food is outstanding. Please do try the French press coffee with one of the many decadent desserts.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Every thing was great. It is just a little pricey for every weekend out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Overall it was a good experience. This was our first time back since they opened a few years back and that time was terrible. I enjoyed the salad, the steak and corn had a little too much butter on them. A good waiting staff is essential at any level of dining, and they have a good one at Ruth's. I will go back again and it won't be as long between visits. I gotta try those lamb chops, they looked delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Nick was our waiter. Probably the best waiter I've ever had. Friendly, attentive and professional. We'll be back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was hands-down the best steak I have ever had. I also had the asparagus and hollandaise, and it was perfect. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was excellent, service was great. our 3rd visit there and will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food is always amazing, the service is very good. Servers are very helpful, polite and attentive. Atmosphere is perfect.
Always enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My overall experience was great. The Salmon that my friends ordered was less than great. They ended up sending it back and getting something else. To compensate us they brought us a delicious Creme Brûlée. The service is impeccable and the atmosphere is so inviting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent steals as always, cooked exactly as requested. Great appetizers and desserts. Good service and quiet. The only small disappointment was the baked potatoes. We got there at 6:45 and the potatoes had been sitting too long before being served. First one had already "yellowed" so I sent it back. The second one was no better. Apparently cooked in the same batch, neither one should have been served at RC. Otherwise pleased.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

All staff was very friendly. The food was delicious and the service was great. We always enjoy Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was excellent as usual. Our server Kelly made our anniversary a great one! My wife and I absolutely love the Ruth's salad. My steak was amazing as it always is!

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Chris was an excellent waiter. Food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2017

What a surprise to find RCS attached to our hotel! Our first experience at a RCS was wonderful. To begin with anniversary confetti was sprinkled on our table to honor the special occasion we were celebrating. Staff was very attentive and helpful as we made our food selections. Everything we ordered was delicious from the sizzling filet and the mouthwatering lobster mac&cheese to the perfectly cooked and seasoned vegetables. The sides are so big we had enough for another meal the next day.
Because we were celebrating our anniversary we were given free desserts of our choice to bring this memorable event to a sweet ending.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service was amazing. Definitely prepare to spend some money, but it is very much worth it

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

All i have to say about the restaurant is the food was excellent, but 2 fire alarms went off during my dining time. The server wasn't informative about what was going on. I was there to celebrate my anniversary and had a pounding headache from the loud fire alarms. It was truly a ruined experience. 230$ on a couple steaks, sides and cocktails. Just go to the steak house for that for a fraction of the price. The ambiance wasn't a fiery tale and experience was a failure.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing food, service and atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.