About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.

2321 Lifestyle Way
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
I-75 & Shallowford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 602-5900

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/chattanooga-tn/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).

Executive Chef:
Roger Burrows

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Want to be Mom’s favorite? Thank her for all that she does and treat her to a delicious Mother’s Day meal at Ruth’s Chris Steak House.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Good for a Date (55)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
See All
Romantic (40)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Business Meals (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Cozy (25)
Notable Wine List (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Authentic (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Historic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As usual a great meal for the value. Service was excellent again.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had Easter dinner here with my wife. It was the second time we have eaten here since relocating to Chattanooga. Our previous experience here was outstanding. However, our most recent experience here on Easter will be our last. The service was horrible and it wasn't even busy. There may have been 10 tables being served while we were there. Perhaps my attire...I was wearing shorts,my wife new jeans was the issue? At any rate when we dine here it's always 150 to 200 plus tip for the 2 of us. I really expect to be asked at least once how our food is or is there anything else we need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

While the food is excellent, Timmy is truly who makes this place magnificent. He always remembers my 70 something year old Mother's name, and escorts her arm in arm inside the building, treating her like a queen. Our last visit, he came to our table when we were finished and walked my Mother all the way out to the waiting car.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Was Wonderful! The atmosphere was great and the meal was delicious

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always enjoy Ruth's Chris. We sat in a room off the beaten path and our server, April, was excellent. The food was cooked to perfection and the only mistake was the home office's removal of the delicious chocolate mousse cheesecake from the menu. But you can ask for a smaller individual portion and there is usually no charge for it. We'll be back before long.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service from the moment one steps from their automobile to be greeted by the valet. The ambience is relaxing, service good and friendly, food is outstanding. Please do try the French press coffee with one of the many decadent desserts.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Every thing was great. It is just a little pricey for every weekend out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Overall it was a good experience. This was our first time back since they opened a few years back and that time was terrible. I enjoyed the salad, the steak and corn had a little too much butter on them. A good waiting staff is essential at any level of dining, and they have a good one at Ruth's. I will go back again and it won't be as long between visits. I gotta try those lamb chops, they looked delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Nick was our waiter. Probably the best waiter I've ever had. Friendly, attentive and professional. We'll be back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was hands-down the best steak I have ever had. I also had the asparagus and hollandaise, and it was perfect. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was excellent, service was great. our 3rd visit there and will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food is always amazing, the service is very good. Servers are very helpful, polite and attentive. Atmosphere is perfect.
Always enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My overall experience was great. The Salmon that my friends ordered was less than great. They ended up sending it back and getting something else. To compensate us they brought us a delicious Creme Brûlée. The service is impeccable and the atmosphere is so inviting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent steals as always, cooked exactly as requested. Great appetizers and desserts. Good service and quiet. The only small disappointment was the baked potatoes. We got there at 6:45 and the potatoes had been sitting too long before being served. First one had already "yellowed" so I sent it back. The second one was no better. Apparently cooked in the same batch, neither one should have been served at RC. Otherwise pleased.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

All staff was very friendly. The food was delicious and the service was great. We always enjoy Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was excellent as usual. Our server Kelly made our anniversary a great one! My wife and I absolutely love the Ruth's salad. My steak was amazing as it always is!

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Chris was an excellent waiter. Food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2017

What a surprise to find RCS attached to our hotel! Our first experience at a RCS was wonderful. To begin with anniversary confetti was sprinkled on our table to honor the special occasion we were celebrating. Staff was very attentive and helpful as we made our food selections. Everything we ordered was delicious from the sizzling filet and the mouthwatering lobster mac&cheese to the perfectly cooked and seasoned vegetables. The sides are so big we had enough for another meal the next day.
Because we were celebrating our anniversary we were given free desserts of our choice to bring this memorable event to a sweet ending.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service was amazing. Definitely prepare to spend some money, but it is very much worth it

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

All i have to say about the restaurant is the food was excellent, but 2 fire alarms went off during my dining time. The server wasn't informative about what was going on. I was there to celebrate my anniversary and had a pounding headache from the loud fire alarms. It was truly a ruined experience. 230$ on a couple steaks, sides and cocktails. Just go to the steak house for that for a fraction of the price. The ambiance wasn't a fiery tale and experience was a failure.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing food, service and atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The good - Service was great.
The bad -Seafood tower did not contain much seafood for the price. The steak was overcooked and a little too fatty

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Quiet night, great service, outstanding beef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

food was great.
Chris our server was fantastic. will ask for him when we return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

They need a dress code.....I felt like I was at Mc Donald's. The appetizer was tasteless, and all of the side dishes were cold. The steak was ok . As far as the desert goes.....hmmm should have passed on that mess!!! I will not dine there again.....a total waste of time and money!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was very good and the service was impeccable. The setting was very romantic and very cozy. The valet parker was so nice and accommodating

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent service and a very nice and accommodating staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great steak and very good creamed spinach and Caesar's salad

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Being with our daughter and twin granddaughters who live miles apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Very good overall - typically Ruth's Chris food and service. Our waiter was particularly attentive and helpful. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Wonderful restaurant for celebrating wife's birthday. She felt special and the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was outstanding but didn't meet my request for my birthday surprise. I asked that they bring a candle light cake to my table without my husband knowing. But of course they asked him what kind of cake he wanted after I told them upon my reservation I wanted it to be a surprise.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I always love this restaurant to dine at, the drinks are good and the food is always perfect.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Ruth's Chris is fine for what it is. It is extremely expensive, serving a very traditional steakhouse menu with little creativity, imagination or innovation. The meat is very good, very well prepared, but it's just steak. We only went because we had been given a generous gift card and decided to treat our daughter and son-in-law. The bill for four 'price fixe' menus at $55/per person included salads, filet for three of us and rib eye for me, bread and dessert. A topping of mushrooms on one steak added $10. Adding 3 glasses of wine and two soft drinks (plus charges for refills), the bill totaled $330 before tip. That amount would have given us the best of the city's most creative menus. So it's not a place we would choose to spend that much again since we prefer a more adventurous/creative dining experience. But it is fine for what it is, and that obviously is what many people are after!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great Dinner. Server Kelly was excellent! Overall great evening because of the fine dining!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Fantastic service and great meal. Our group will definitely come back.
No complaints whatsoever.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was amazing. The service was a joke. I think they employ the local circus for management and staff. Corporate office did not even respond to the email I sent, eventhough the website says someone will contact you. I will never be back to Chattanooga location. They made my birthday memoriable, but not in a good way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food, wait staff just ok could of Been more attentive. Carry out boxes were boxed wrong

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was exceptional. Nick, our server, was very prompt, accommodating and enjoyable to to have fun with throughout the evening. Filets were awesome. One entree was not cooked to order but was quickly taken care of ...food overall was good to great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food and service where both excellent!! Our food was prepared perfectly. There wine selection was good also.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.