About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

2321 Lifestyle Way
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
I-75 & Shallowford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 602-5900

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/chattanooga-tn/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).

Executive Chef:
Roger Burrows

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (67)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Romantic (45)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Business Meals (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Cozy (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Modern Decor (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Authentic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Private Room (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fireplace (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

Ruth's Chris is fine for what it is. It is extremely expensive, serving a very traditional steakhouse menu with little creativity, imagination or innovation. The meat is very good, very well prepared, but it's just steak. We only went because we had been given a generous gift card and decided to treat our daughter and son-in-law. The bill for four 'price fixe' menus at $55/per person included salads, filet for three of us and rib eye for me, bread and dessert. A topping of mushrooms on one steak added $10. Adding 3 glasses of wine and two soft drinks (plus charges for refills), the bill totaled $330 before tip. That amount would have given us the best of the city's most creative menus. So it's not a place we would choose to spend that much again since we prefer a more adventurous/creative dining experience. But it is fine for what it is, and that obviously is what many people are after!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic service and great meal. Our group will definitely come back.

No complaints whatsoever.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was amazing. The service was a joke. I think they employ the local circus for management and staff. Corporate office did not even respond to the email I sent, eventhough the website says someone will contact you. I will never be back to Chattanooga location. They made my birthday memoriable, but not in a good way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food, wait staff just ok could of Been more attentive. Carry out boxes were boxed wrong

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was exceptional. Nick, our server, was very prompt, accommodating and enjoyable to to have fun with throughout the evening. Filets were awesome. One entree was not cooked to order but was quickly taken care of ...food overall was good to great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food and service where both excellent!! Our food was prepared perfectly. There wine selection was good also.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent food and staff. Every time we go it's always good food and professional staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My first suggestion is to reserve a booth. They have a great privacy feel about them. The food is pricey, yes, but consistently fantastic. Unless you have a huge appetite I would advise sharing a salad and side dishes...the sides are big portions. You definitely want to save room for your main course. Desserts are also very shareable.

Service is amazing; attentive but not intrusive. This is our go-to restaurant for special times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's was a tight fit for seating. We were seated in a conference room with multiple two-tops so there was little to no intimacy.

Server was excellent, his name was Poet and he was efficient and entertaining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first visit & we are sure to be back! The food lived up to everything we've heard about the restaurant. Our service was incredible with a full menu description. We couldn't have spent Valentines any better way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was very crowded and cramped. It was Valentine's Day and they were trying to fit too many tables in a room. Waitress brought us someone else's meal by accident and the people were getting very upset and making a big deal about it. Kind of ruined our dinner. They were trying to get a free meal out of it and it was very rude.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food. Service a little slow on initial drinks and no questions if we wanted seconds drink. Atmosphere wAs ok but somewhat crowded wall table when no one else close to us. Thought we could have been seated more conveniently.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have visited Ruth's Chris many times. The food and service is always high quality. There were two minor glitches today. One is that the hostess stand could have used extra help from the manager to get people seated much more quickly. Although there were two hostesses, one was tied up having to give the background of the restaurant to each table, the other was taking phone calls. It was a good 10 to 15 minutes before we were seated. The other issue is that the corporate office dropped their delicious chocolate mousse cake from their dessert menu, a terrible mistake. They provide a small version gratis for special occasions by request.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Quality of steak was good; however not much flavor just a lot of butter. Went with the Ribeye. Not too amazing considering price, but still good quality. Choose onion rings, asparagus, mashed potatoes and creamy spinach. Onion rings are well worth the purchase as they are large and tasty. Creamy spinach, mashed potatoes and asparagus were barely or close to warm, not hot. Maybe would have been better if hot. Asparagus was very large which I am not a fan plus no flavor. The apple cheesecake was very good. Very nice atmosphere and great staff. Based on price I would probably go elsewhere, but it is good to go there every now and then.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Impeccable service with to die for steak. Absolutely loved our valet attendant!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best steaks I've ever eaten! Love that it stays hot during the entire meal. Great service, great food!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

our server was great will ask for Cody made the night awesome , next time we get back there will ask for Cody again !

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Thank you for having Gluten free items in the menu and understanding the problems that Celiac's patients have when dining out. We will be back!!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Such a memorable evening. All Ruth Chris's that we have been to are comparable! EXCEPTIONAL.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our server J.D. was one of the best we have ever had anywhere. He was attentive without being a pest. He was very informative on the menu and suggested excellent choices for our meal. If for nothing else we would come back to see him.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our service was very professional. Attentive but not annoying. Donaly

was our attendant.

However, the manager walked by our table several times without acknowledging us. He could have at least smiled. He made us feel uncomfortable. So sad for a fine eating establishment. When we were leaving he actually turned his back to us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Our server was very personable and outgoing! "Laurn"

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food is superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Was fantastic! We normally don't go to restaurants like this but this was a special occasion and well worth the money. The steak was absolutely incredible. The Desserts were out of the world as well. Best creme brûlée I've ever had and the raspberry sorbet was perfect. It was my soon to be wife's birthday and she received a complementary dessert and a sweet birthday card from our great waitress Lalee. Great name, and a great girl!! Best service I've ever encountered. 10/10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Quality of the food and the service were both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 17, 2017

It was a pleasure to share the time there. Great service and food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

the waiter was very short with us. told us what we should eat. The salsa I had was very cold like it was just out of the ice box. however all other food excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I eat at a lot of great restusrants. Jeff Ruby's, Malones, etc. Ruth Chris is way over priced for the quality of steak you get and not seasoned well. Wine etc is way over priced. Not my favorite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 9, 2017

the wife and I loved it we will be back often, just can't wait

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and service was fantastic as usual. They are the best restaurant in the city.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The steaks here are phenomenal. The service is excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

They seem to be off their game, but still priced for perfection.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our service was great. Young man was very informative on food.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our server, Chris, was most attentive. He was very professional and courteous of our table activities. His timing was very spot on and his humor was entertaining. It was a fun experience for our out of town guest and us.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first visit to Ruth's Chris in quite some time. We found the food exceptional, and the service was excellent. We all had the filet, and each was cooked to our preference. We liked the wine pairings and enjoyed an excellent dessert to cap off the evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed the best steak and chicken meal ever! Finding a great steak is challenging. My Filet was cooked perfectly, tender and the flavor outstanding. The sides very good too.

The best meal in Chattanooga to date.

Cody was an excellent server who helped us navigate the menu through our first visit.

Excellent special occasion dinning.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

What can I say since first dining at Ruth Chris Chattanooga 3yrs ago till my 4th visit on NYE I must say the service from start to finish is amazing and boy is the food impeccable!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I brought my Daughter, Son and Grandson to Ruth's for New Years Eve Dinner. It's a great place that I often go to for a higher end meal. Service was great, food was good except for the signature sizzle of the steak on presentation. Plate was very hot as normal but may have sat for a little longer than normal. It was N Y eve after all. I am sure to return to this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wait staff did a great job. Wine good. Ceasar was excellent. Cowboy ribeye good. Sea Bass was ok. Lobster mac good. Asparagus good. Overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Comfortable seating, no wait... valet parking was very convenient. We both ordered the petite filet cooked medium. My wife's arrived well done, mine was borderline well done. We returned my wife's steak. It only took a few min to get another one as they have steaks always cooking. Her second steak was cooked perfectly. I should have returned mine, but oh well.

Dessert was the best park. White Chocolate bread pudding... YUM. Overall, the bill was $200+... not sure it was worth it. Would definitely return for drinks and dessert at the bar... but the steak and side dishes were not worth the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous night. Our server was Chris, he was delightful. The filet and lobster tail were on point.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food- especially enjoyed the crab-stuffed mushroom appetizer, and the filet steak and roasted Brussels spouts. Great service- was left waiting in dining area while hostess went to double check on what was correct table, but a minor glitch. We were celebrating our 33rd anniversary, which I had pre-notified restaurant of, and were seated at an open table for 4 on the floor. We didn't understand why we were not seated at one of the more intimate 2-person booths, but I will know next time to request that. Otherwise, no other issues. Expensive, but that is a given. Food was the absolute best.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We choose Ruth's Chris for an after Christmas lunch every year as it is the best atmosphere for such. The atmosphere provided is a wonderful place to enjoy lunch and also talk amongst friends who haven't seen each other in a while. The staff is wonderful , pleasant, knowledgeable and accommodating, allowing us to stay and chat at the table long after we have finished our lunch.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

As always Ruth's Chris did not disappoint. Our steaks were done perfectly. Salads were great. Sides were good too. Nice desserts. Our server was terrific.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The dining rooms were not festive. Need table decorations to give the place some life. No ambience or festive atmosphere . Need soft music ,

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

12/25. I have eaten at many Ruth CHRIS steakhouse's over a 30 year time span. The Chattanooga , TN Resturant was by far the worst experience I have ever had ... the service was atrocious..... we spent over 600.00 on a dinner meal for four and may have been substantially higher with deserts and after dinner drinks, if the service had been even slightly better... I WOULD NOT Patronize nor recommend this Resturant .....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My wife loves the filet. But on this visit, the filet was not the tender piece of meat that she had become accustomed to at Ruth's Chris. It was full of gristle and almost impossible to eat. She is the type that never complains, therefore I did not know of the problem until we had left the restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

At lunch at Christmas and it was great. I have been a Ruth Chris customer for a long time, but this is the first time in Chattanooga and it did not disappoint. From the valet parking to the wait staff's attentiveness to to the quality of the food, it was great and we intend to make it a regular venue for us in the future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was delicious as always but the best part as always was Timmy in valet. He always astonishes my Mother as he helps her from the car, and then let's her hold his arm as she walks all the way into lobby. Timmy even came back into the lobby to check on her while we waited on our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.