About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga

The Ruth’s Chris tradition of custom-aged, USDA prime steaks, served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, thrives in Chattanooga.

Start your unforgettable dining experience with the signature Shrimp Remoulade, featuring chilled jumbo shrimp and a classic Creole house-made dressing. For your entree, indulge in an extraordinary cut of steak such as the tender, juicy Filet or a classic New York Strip. If it’s seafood you fancy, indulge in a fresh Maine lobster.

Unwind with a selection from the award-winning wine list and enjoy the warm and inviting dining room atmosphere, and you’ll quickly be reminded why the Ruth’s Chris brand is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service, and top notch cuisine.

2321 Lifestyle Way
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch served daily: 11:30 AM – 3 PM
Dinner served nightly: 3 PM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
I-75 & Shallowford Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 602-5900

Website:
http://ruthschris.net/our-restaurants/chattanooga-tn/

Entertainment:
RUTH'S HOUR
Experience food and drink from Ruth’s Chris Steak House at prices that sizzle with savings. DAILY FROM 4 PM – 6:30 PM, exclusively in the bar & lounge areas.

Click the link below to view the menu:
http://ruthschris.net/menus/ruths-hour-menu-chattanooga-tn/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking nightly (dinner service only).

Executive Chef:
Roger Burrows

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit us at http://ruthschris.net/promotions/ to view our special menus and events.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga, Chattanooga, TN

Private Dining

Featuring USDA Prime steaks served with the signature sizzle and legendary hospitality, private dining at Ruth’s Chris is synonymous with refined taste, exceptional service and top-notch cuisine. Conveniently located near Hamilton Place Mall, Ruth’s Chris can accommodate groups from 10-70 guests.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Romantic (40)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Private Room (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fireplace (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a pleasure to share the time ther ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a pleasure to share the time there. Great service and food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

the waiter was very short with us. told ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

the waiter was very short with us. told us what we should eat. The salsa I had was very cold like it was just out of the ice box. however all other food excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I eat at a lot of great restusrants. Jef ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

I eat at a lot of great restusrants. Jeff Ruby's, Malones, etc. Ruth Chris is way over priced for the quality of steak you get and not seasoned well. Wine etc is way over priced. Not my favorite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

the wife and I loved it we will be back ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 9, 2017

the wife and I loved it we will be back often, just can't wait

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service was fantastic as us ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and service was fantastic as usual. They are the best restaurant in the city.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks here are phenomenal. The ser ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The steaks here are phenomenal. The service is excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They seem to be off their game, but stil ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

They seem to be off their game, but still priced for perfection.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our service was great. Young man was ver ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our service was great. Young man was very informative on food.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Chris, was most attentive. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our server, Chris, was most attentive. He was very professional and courteous of our table activities. His timing was very spot on and his humor was entertaining. It was a fun experience for our out of town guest and us.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first visit to Ruth's Chris ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first visit to Ruth's Chris in quite some time. We found the food exceptional, and the service was excellent. We all had the filet, and each was cooked to our preference. We liked the wine pairings and enjoyed an excellent dessert to cap off the evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the best steak and chicken me ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed the best steak and chicken meal ever! Finding a great steak is challenging. My Filet was cooked perfectly, tender and the flavor outstanding. The sides very good too.

The best meal in Chattanooga to date.

Cody was an excellent server who helped us navigate the menu through our first visit.

Excellent special occasion dinning.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What can I say since first dining at Rut ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

What can I say since first dining at Ruth Chris Chattanooga 3yrs ago till my 4th visit on NYE I must say the service from start to finish is amazing and boy is the food impeccable!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my Daughter, Son and Grandson ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I brought my Daughter, Son and Grandson to Ruth's for New Years Eve Dinner. It's a great place that I often go to for a higher end meal. Service was great, food was good except for the signature sizzle of the steak on presentation. Plate was very hot as normal but may have sat for a little longer than normal. It was N Y eve after all. I am sure to return to this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wait staff did a great job. Wine good. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wait staff did a great job. Wine good. Ceasar was excellent. Cowboy ribeye good. Sea Bass was ok. Lobster mac good. Asparagus good. Overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Comfortable seating, no wait... valet pa ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Comfortable seating, no wait... valet parking was very convenient. We both ordered the petite filet cooked medium. My wife's arrived well done, mine was borderline well done. We returned my wife's steak. It only took a few min to get another one as they have steaks always cooking. Her second steak was cooked perfectly. I should have returned mine, but oh well.

Dessert was the best park. White Chocolate bread pudding... YUM. Overall, the bill was $200+... not sure it was worth it. Would definitely return for drinks and dessert at the bar... but the steak and side dishes were not worth the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Fabulous night. Our server was Chris, he ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous night. Our server was Chris, he was delightful. The filet and lobster tail were on point.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food- especially enjoyed the c ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food- especially enjoyed the crab-stuffed mushroom appetizer, and the filet steak and roasted Brussels spouts. Great service- was left waiting in dining area while hostess went to double check on what was correct table, but a minor glitch. We were celebrating our 33rd anniversary, which I had pre-notified restaurant of, and were seated at an open table for 4 on the floor. We didn't understand why we were not seated at one of the more intimate 2-person booths, but I will know next time to request that. Otherwise, no other issues. Expensive, but that is a given. Food was the absolute best.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We choose Ruth's Chris for an after Chr ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We choose Ruth's Chris for an after Christmas lunch every year as it is the best atmosphere for such. The atmosphere provided is a wonderful place to enjoy lunch and also talk amongst friends who haven't seen each other in a while. The staff is wonderful , pleasant, knowledgeable and accommodating, allowing us to stay and chat at the table long after we have finished our lunch.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always Ruth's Chris did not disappoin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

As always Ruth's Chris did not disappoint. Our steaks were done perfectly. Salads were great. Sides were good too. Nice desserts. Our server was terrific.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining rooms were not festive. Need ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The dining rooms were not festive. Need table decorations to give the place some life. No ambience or festive atmosphere . Need soft music ,

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

12/25. I have eaten at many Ruth CHR ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

12/25. I have eaten at many Ruth CHRIS steakhouse's over a 30 year time span. The Chattanooga , TN Resturant was by far the worst experience I have ever had ... the service was atrocious..... we spent over 600.00 on a dinner meal for four and may have been substantially higher with deserts and after dinner drinks, if the service had been even slightly better... I WOULD NOT Patronize nor recommend this Resturant .....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

My wife loves the filet. But on this vi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My wife loves the filet. But on this visit, the filet was not the tender piece of meat that she had become accustomed to at Ruth's Chris. It was full of gristle and almost impossible to eat. She is the type that never complains, therefore I did not know of the problem until we had left the restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

At lunch at Christmas and it was great. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

At lunch at Christmas and it was great. I have been a Ruth Chris customer for a long time, but this is the first time in Chattanooga and it did not disappoint. From the valet parking to the wait staff's attentiveness to to the quality of the food, it was great and we intend to make it a regular venue for us in the future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was delicious as always but the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was delicious as always but the best part as always was Timmy in valet. He always astonishes my Mother as he helps her from the car, and then let's her hold his arm as she walks all the way into lobby. Timmy even came back into the lobby to check on her while we waited on our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great service and a top notch filet. Co ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

great service and a top notch filet. Cooked to perfection, excellent flavor and service was impeccable. Great place for SPECIAL Event to indulge yourself

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We selected Ruth's for our Christmas Eve ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We selected Ruth's for our Christmas Eve dinner. The service was excellent from the valet and continued through out the meal. I ordered the 6 oz. filet and shrimp and was very disappointed with the filet. The filet was ordered medium rare and was served medium rare but the meat was tough and chewy. A filet should not be tough or chewy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

My first time there. I wish I would hav ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My first time there. I wish I would have asked if we could share because we would have. Our server was excellent. We each got the three course meals. I expected the portions to be small, but they were huuuge! I got the clam chowder which was very good, but then I was full. My husband and daughter each got salads and they were big and beautiful. We all got the filet and shrimp, and I got the creme' brûlée for dessert. It was a little too sweet, but a beautiful presentation. I think a soft drink or tea should be included for the price!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

What a great place for an anniversary di ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

What a great place for an anniversary dinner! Our server Kelly was impeccable. Perfect timing and experienced. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best steak anywhere! Serv ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Absolutely the best steak anywhere! Servers are on top of everything, most friendly helpful staff anywhere in Chattanooga.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent(felt like I was at ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service was excellent(felt like I was at Downton Abby), food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was excellent. Efficient as well.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food was excellent. Efficient as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best steaks I have ever eaten in my 48 y ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Best steaks I have ever eaten in my 48 years. I would gladly go back for all my special occasions.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always choose Ruth's Chris for specia ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We always choose Ruth's Chris for special family occasions. Never fails to please everyone - food, service, etc. Also, love having valet parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What stood out to us was how poorly they ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

What stood out to us was how poorly they treated us. We both ordered steaks; one was overcooked and under seasoned and the other was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Celebrating our anniversary. Great servi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary. Great service. Steak was initially overlooked, ordered medium rare was and med well. They cooked another one quickly and was served perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and grandmother went and bought ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My wife and grandmother went and bought something new on the menu some kind of deal, anyways my wife said the cut of steak they got with the deal was not the same as ordering just the steak so next they will not get the dinner with dessert . Over all we love eating there and will continue to

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, but for the pric ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food and service, but for the price would like a little more elegance.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

Excellent place to dine. Great experienc ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent place to dine. Great experience and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The young man who was our valet was prof ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The young man who was our valet was professional and took care of my vehicle for me and I appreciate that. The young ladies at the front desk were courtesy and professional.

The young man that was our server was friendly and knowledgeable. He made great recommendations and had a pleasant manner. The food was excellent!

We will be back soon for an upcoming special occasion. This evening was our 30 year anniversary and Ruth's Chris Steakhouse did a very nice job.

Thank You

Marty Teems

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friday night early December dinner with ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Friday night early December dinner with friends. Reservation with Open Table. At least the 10th visit to this Ruth's Chris inside the Embassy Suites hotel outside Hamilton Place mall.

You may think that it costs a lot more than other restaurants, but, who are you comparing Ruth's Chris with? Chattanooga has only one other resturant of this caliber and both you get what you pay for. Food like no others and service here that I would say is better than its one Southside competition. But, that is its problem- location. It is hard to motivate to go to Hamilton Place for dinner on a regular basis. Yeah, I know it's not like we have Atlanta traffic, but, everyone hates Hamilton Place area.

All that said- What really matters is the food and the service. They have it nailed. Our group this night just like every other time here the common consensus was absolutely nothing could have been better. The BBQ Shrimp, Crab Cakes and Mushroom appetizers, all the steaks, the fingerling potatoes, spinach dip, sweet potatoes, corn sides, the three different bottles of wine were perfect.

What makes this place incomparable to other restaurants is the service- I have a pet peeve of servers who come straight to the table and just interrupt without any regard to the conversation or moment the guests are enjoying. Not here. They always take a 'read' on what is going on at the table before they approach it. Very nice. Its one of those things that you never realize is the difference between good and great service. This past Friday night- they didn't disappoint again. And Mable, our server this night- if the boss reads this- take care of her. Don't lose her, she's the best.

Sorry for the novel. I Had to touch a lot of things.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.