Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Our steaks are cooked to perfection at 1800 degrees in our patented broilers and served “sizzling” to your table on 500-degree plates. In addition to our USDA Prime beef, we also offer fresh seafood, lobster, lamb, chicken and vegetarian options.

800 W. Main Street Ste 110
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
N 8th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 426-8000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/boise/

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House Boise private dining is perfect for every occasion! We feature 3 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that vary in seating capacity from 8 - 70 people. Perfect for business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners, or lavish receptions. Our private rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment including:

- Large Screen HD LCD TV's
- Direct connect from laptop to TV
- Webcasting
- Satellite Broadcasting
- Wireless Internet
- Teleconferencing

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Don Leader: (208) 426-8000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Romantic (24)
See All
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Notable Wine List (13)
Business Meals (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (8)
Private Room (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 3 days ago

We very much so enjoyed our dining experience. Food was excellent, service was great, prices were a bit high but not too bad. We accessed the early bird menu of app, steak, side, and dessert for like $60 a plate which was a great deal. Superb steaks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Staff from hostess to bus boy, especially server Matt would give them an A, excellent
Sides and deserts, also very well done.
Salad, not too impressive. hand full of mixed greens, couple of grape toms and blob of dressing (too much) - could have tried a little harder.
The steak, what a disappointment, you're a steak house... to be fair, all were cooked to desired doneness as ordered. The fillet was actually good per daughter (though said mine at home is better - nothing special Fred Meyer Angus pan roasted and basted in butter or grilled on a Traeger). The bone in rib eye and bone in fillet where cooked perfectly but the meat was not prime, very, very lean, dry and without much flavor and both were very tough - incredibly so. The Bone in fillet had deep blood shot (clot) could have easily and should have been trimmed and rinsed off before cooking.
The bill with tip was $408 ($136 per plate). I do not mind paying over $100 a plate but I expect to be blown out of my seat for close to $150 per plate, especially with minimal drinks and free desert. Didn't say anything to the staff and did not stiff Matt on the tip because they and the cooks didn't fail but the head chef and the franchise sure did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Really great steak
Brussels sprouts were a little too aldente. AMAZING birthday platter for my wife's dessert. I went off menu for my dessert and they graciously complied. As always Ricky was amazing. Always a quality affair. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The steak was one of the best I have ever had! The servers were great, friendly and professional! Mat was wonderful and I believe it was Jace that ran out the building and a block away to catch up to us and return my wife's cell phone that she had left. It was greatly appreciated. The only downside is the expense. I am not one to spend that much on a meal, but we had a gift card.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent as always. We have several options for very nice, high end steak houses in Boise and Ruth's Chris is our favorite. Excellent food, efficient and professional staff in the heart of downtown. We come for dinners for special occasions and happy hour whenever we can.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our waiter was very good but a little "out there." He was a little theatric but toned it down once he realized we weren't playing into the drama. Overall good food and normal Ruth's Chris ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have never been disappointed. You are always treated like royalty. And the food and drinks are top quality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We loved our dining experience at Ruth's Chris. Enjoyed the lovely ambiance and the delectable meal. The delightful personality of our waiter Ricardo was an unexpected added bonus to the evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Fantastic service as always. I will continue to go back to Ruth's Chris for my fine dining experience in Boise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent food...phenomenal wait staff. Alex was wonderful as well as all the others who waited on us. We definitely would recommend to all our friends and family.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It is always fantastic. The service and food is excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful place for special dinners. We've been here 3 times for birthdays/anniversaries, and Ruth's Chris never fails to impress, from outstanding service to food that's simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Dinner was great, my steak was a little too salty for my preference, but my husbands was perfection. The entree was large (we shared and still brought some home) and the mushrooms were firm! The gluten free menu gave plenty of options. The staff was kind, well informed, and attentive, not overly attentive so we weren't annoyed. Thank you for an overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The best service and the best food for a birthday celebration for my hubby! No better place for a steak that is cooked perfectly and melts in your mouth with tenderness and flavor ! The wine list is excellent with many varieties and choices whether you are enjoying a steak or dining on seafood.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

- our table was not ready for our reservation at 7:30, and they seated 3 groups who had come in after us?

- the main dining room had plenty of tables, but we were jammed into a back room with 4 other tables and had to dance around each other to get inane out?

- even in that back room of 4 tables, there were 3 different waiters so our service could have been a lot better and efficient

- I don't know how they process drink orders, but it took at least 10 minutes each time to get drinks, and the drinks were therefor out of sync with our appetizers and entres.

- when we left, the hostess stand was completed deserted--no management in sight anywhere.

Why am I even writing this? At $595 for four people, we deserved better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Just go, you will love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The staff made us feel welcome from the moment we walked through the door. The servers were phenomenal. Stephanie really knew the menu well and was able to answer our questions.
The food came put sizzling and the meat melts in your mouth. It was amazing. The sides are enough for 2 people to share. The mashed potatoes are a side that I wouldn't get again, but the sweet potato crunch and roasted Brussels sprouts were delicious.
The ambiance was romantic and fun. We didn't feel rushed at all. In fact we were encouraged to enjoy our time. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The service was exceptional. Extremely disappointed with the food to cost ratio. Extremely expensive for what you get. You can get better value ANYWHERE else in Boise. The bill for two came in at $ 287.00 and we only had a glass of wine each and not a bottle. It was our anniversary and we got stuck at a table next to the restroom. If your looking for great service this is the place to go. If your looking for great food at a reasonable price past this one by. I do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my date to Ruth's Chris for Valentine's day and the experience was absolutely amazing. We arrived 30 minutes earlier than planned and the host accommodated us and escorted us straight to a booth. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, and the food was nothing short of incredible. We had the crab cakes and a 16oz NY strip, with asparagus and mushrooms on the side, and it was delicious. It made for a great evening that we will both remember for a long time to come.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Beginning with the over the top service from Ricky to the wonderful appetizers, perfectly seasoned/cooked filets and ending with the flavorful chocolate duo desert. A big thank you for making out Valentine's Day a memorable one. I can't wait for our next visit to Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our dining out was scrumptious. Our waiter was a real professional and was always available without being overbearing. The food was cooked to perfection and the selection was tough to make. It is the best in Boise and you get what you pay for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great Service and food every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Every course was delightful. Service was friendly and outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Ruth's Chris steaks are PREMIUM. I've dined there many times and they are cooked perfectly every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First class place. Dined here two nights in a row after Wheeling Nailers vs Idaho Steelhead hockey game. Also came one afternoon for happy hour. Got fantastic service both nights. Dustin the bartender came to our table and remembered our names. Very personable and caring. Matt our server is one of the best servers we have ever had in a first class restaurant. And we have seen many. He served us both evenings and is both really personable and very professional. The service we received at Ruth's Chris in Boise will set new standards of expectation for us as we visit other establishments. Thank you for the excellent dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I think it's over rated. We eat at a few very nice restaurants in town, and some not-so-fancy, and have some very good meals. Ruth' Chris food was ok, but nothing special; but at 2 to 3 times the cost. They promised rose petals on the table, which were missing. Bottom line, you can get better steaks for a lot less money. I can afford it, but I'm not into dining at a restaurant just because it's the most expensive.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is the place that actually makes you feel special no matter why you are there. It starts as soon as you open the doors and continues all throughout the dining experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As always, the food was great and the service at our table was outstanding! The only distraction throughout the evening was the waiter for the surrounding tables. He was very unprofessional in out opinion. He was a bit to overt, made inappropriate comments to other patrons and was a distraction to the wonderful professional setting Ruth's Chris attempts to maintain. I am very glad we had the wait staff that we did at our table and felt rather sorry for the people at the other tables, who, I am sure came and expected to be treated like they were important. Rather they were entertained like they were at a Chili's or other similar restaurant. When we come back, we will make sure that this person is not our server. That being said, we love your food and the atmosphere. Keep up the exceptional work!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food, service, and ambience are absolutely wonderful. However, the parking is a huge pain. They would be well advised to offer valet parking.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing food, but you definitely pay for it. It is expensive! If we go again we would go before 630 and try the dinner section that was available before 630, prices seemed a little better in that part of the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Too much butter on all food. A bit soaked :-/ but staff was excellent!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My wife and I tried Ruth's Chris for the first time Thursday and really enjoyed the steak, the service, and the atmosphere. We had a reservation, and as soon as we arrived, were shown to a nicely set table with a birthday card for my wife. The server called us by name the whole evening and made us both feel special. We'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Awesome food and amazing staff. First time taking our boys to such a nice restaurant and it was wonderful to watch their faces as all the food came out and the waitstaff fussed over them. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Took 30mins to get the bottle of wine we ordered after getting seated. Wait staff tried really hard, but it wasn't the normal RC caliber.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Ruth's Chris is always good for special occasions, although it is a little over priced for what you get; I find this true at all of their locations. You'll get a good steak with a great presentation and a nice ambience with a high price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This place never disappoints. The food is consistently good. The specialty cocktail and happy hour menu were also excellent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was ABSOLUTELY the most amazing steak i have ever had! - the potatos and broccoli were a perfect addition!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Very nice b-day dinner. Our waitress Sarah was excellent as was the food. One of our favorite places in downtown Boise.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Ruth's Chris never disappoints! The food, service and atmosphere are top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.