About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

800 W. Main Street Ste 110
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Our steaks are cooked to perfection at 1800 degrees in our patented broilers and served “sizzling” to your table on 500-degree plates. In addition to our USDA Prime beef, we also offer fresh seafood, lobster, lamb, chicken and vegetarian options.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
N 8th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 426-8000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/boise/

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House Boise private dining is perfect for every occasion! We feature 3 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that vary in seating capacity from 8 - 70 people. Perfect for business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners, or lavish receptions. Our private rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment including:

- Large Screen HD LCD TV's
- Direct connect from laptop to TV
- Webcasting
- Satellite Broadcasting
- Wireless Internet
- Teleconferencing

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Don Leader: 2084268000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
13 More
Best Ambiance
Idaho
Notable Wine List
Idaho
Romantic
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Most Booked
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice ambiance at Ruth Chris. Service fro ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Nice ambiance at Ruth Chris. Service from the waiter was ok albeit somewhat inattentive as there were too many tables’ in our server’s section (over halfway into our entrées before he inquired how we liked). In contrast the busboy was overly attentive, refiling our water glasses after only a few sips.

The food was solid, however, only 3 stars for this level of restaurant. Lobster bisque was a very nice starter. the house salad was fresh however very standard. We both had the ribeye, unfortunately this came out in a pool of butter – the immense amount of butter with the natural richness of the ribeye was too much. Looking at the tables around us the filet was the most popular option, this likely would have been a better choice. The cook on the steak was perfect (medium rare), the steak came out slightly under-cooked but then cooked to the proper amount on the serving plate (at 500 F). The sides of creamed spinach and mashed potatoes were good. Our side of lobster mac and cheese was routine. On the drinks side they have a nice assortment of wines, for cocktails the bartender needs some improvement as I had to send back a cocktail due to it being made improperly.

Overall below average in contrast to other Ruth Chris's I've been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

We have been to this location many times ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to this location many times and had outstanding meals. Regrettably on this visit it was not the case. That little extra touch of service and good food was not present this time. We purchased bottled water and usually they kept them full. on this occasion they sat empty many times. Finished plates sat on the table.

We had the crab, mango avocado appetizer. The mango was hard as a rock. it would have been better just to serve it without the mango.

The wrong side dish was sent to the table. It was corrected.

Finally, the featured desert of the night was not available. Key Lime Pie. That should have been communicated at the beginning of the night or new sheets prepared.

And our server was gone for long periods.

In any case not the Typical A++++++ Ruth Chris we are accustomed to experiencing

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife and I went there for our Anniver ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

My wife and I went there for our Anniversary last week. Over all it was great. The Steak was cooked more Rare than we wanted, but was handled well once we let our server know. Not a place that I could afford to eat at monthly but as a once a year treat it will be. The Cheesecake was to die for. Excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

It was great. It was expensive, but wor ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was great. It was expensive, but worth it for special occasions. The steaks are absolutely the best I've ever tasted. My only complaint is the slightly over-solicitous service, e.g. the wait staff hovers nearby to top off your water glass, even if you only have taken a couple of sips. That's a pet peeve of mine; the waiters should leave you alone with your table guests unless you obviously need help or your glass is less than 1/2 full. It happens frequently in everyday restaurants; it should not happen in fine dining places. That said, it was still a nice experience that we will certainly repeat when we can next afford it. They also bought me an extra dessert since it was my birthday! As a bonus, we had enough left over to have another meal the next day ;-)

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was wonderful, the service exce ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was wonderful, the service exceptional as with other Ruth's Chris Steakhouses where we have eaten. We completely enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice if you want the best te ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent choice if you want the best tenderloin in town!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

very respectfully, i always order a file ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

very respectfully, i always order a filet, i always order med. server says pink all the way thru,

i say yes, steak always comes very rare, i would say raw to rare, not even close to pink.

you never over cook it, you always under cook it. in the effort to keep the flow of the evening

going, i say nothing and eat a half raw steak.

we just ask you get to cook steaks truly med, the first time.

we will go back, always hope it's cooked like other ruths chris.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a wonderful time celebrating our ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our 27th wedding anniversary. We were welcomed upon entering the restaurant and escorted to our table in a booth. The table was beautifully decorated with rose petals along with a card from the restaurant. The serving team were professional, knowledgable with just the right amount of friendliness. We felt very special enjoying the time remembering our special date in 1989.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary at Ruth Chris. Upon arrival, there was a congratulations card and rose petals on the table. Amazing drinks, salads and the main courses were absolutely delicious. Dessert couldn't have been better. To top off the evening, a couple sitting nearby were acquaintances from about 20 years ago. They recognized my last name and came over to say hello. They were celebrating their 37th anniversary. Wonderful evening all around!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was super friendly and carding ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everyone was super friendly and carding we got exceptional service,and food was delicious. Table had rose petals on it Loved it all

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the ribeye! The sides come in gene ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved the ribeye! The sides come in generous portions, best to share.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCECELLENT service. Our waiter was fabu ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

EXCECELLENT service. Our waiter was fabulous. Overpriced, but good for an occasional splurge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server, Nick and all others helping ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server, Nick and all others helping were excellent! Best service, food and atmosphere!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I do not believe there is better service ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I do not believe there is better service anywhere and there is no better food in Boise. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

R-C's are the same where ever you go. I ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

R-C's are the same where ever you go. It is a treat for people who have never been there and always a great meal for those that go regularly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What's not to like about Ruth Chris? Wo ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

What's not to like about Ruth Chris? Wonderful people, delicious food, romantic atmosphere for our 45th anniversary. They even comped us a delicious cheesecake for dessert. Our server was excellent - there when we needed her, otherwise she left us to enjoy our food. Looking for somewhere special that's more high-end ? Look no further than Ruth Chris.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love the food and experience a ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We always love the food and experience at Ruth's Chris and this was no exception. My wife ordered her filet medium and it came out well done. JD the manager bent over backwards to rectify the situation and more than made up for the steak. He was great, as a manager should be, the food was great and we will definitely go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Boise is a smaller city and there are se ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Boise is a smaller city and there are several high end steak house choices. We like Ruth's Chris for the high quality of their steaks, excellent side dishes and great desserts. Service is excellent and not as slow as some of the other steak houses in town. Love to come here for family dinners, couples night out and work occasions. The one time we had a problem with our meal, the management went above and beyond to fix the problem and we really appreciated it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for my Mom's birthday celebratio ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went for my Mom's birthday celebration and it was great. The service was amazing! We really enjoyed our server and she was so attentive. There was one little hiccup with one of the steaks and she was able to fix it in a flash. All of the food was great, with the chopped salad still being my very favorite item at Ruth's Chris. It is delicious! Our party had the petite filet, the ribeye, the New York and the Lamb Chops. All were great, except for the New York. Probably the worst cut of meat I have ever had at Ruth's Chris.

Worth a visit!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was as it should be for the price: Ex ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was as it should be for the price: Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Literally the best steak I've ever had i ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Literally the best steak I've ever had in my 55 years of loving steaks! They were so nice to us, wishing us Happy Anniversary often and sincerely!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The steak was the best that we're ever h ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The steak was the best that we're ever had. The service was wonderful. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone's steak was simply perfect. Pe ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everyone's steak was simply perfect. Perfect temperature and flavor. Everyone's side items were way too cold almost room temperature. They need to be hot. No one likes cold mashed potatoes or creamed spinach. Unfortunately for Boise Chandlers steakhouse has cold side items too but with steaks not as good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent. That is the e ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service was excellent. That is the end of the good comments.

Our steaks were served cold.

The "grilled" asparagus might have been grilled, if so, the grill was cold.

The Caesar salad was drowning in sauce.

Overall experience - very bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Ruth Chris is always so accommodating wi ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Ruth Chris is always so accommodating with every request! Our 11 year old son loves to order the kid's tenderloin medallion and they even brought it out on a warm, buttered plate on our request. Love these guys!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Ruth's! We took ou ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Another great meal at Ruth's! We took our 18 year old son and friend for his birthday dinner recently and had wonderful service from Nick. We enjoyed well-made cocktails and wine, delicious calamari, yummy bread and butter, lobster bisque, a gigantic steak, delicious scalloped potatoes and corn, and even a Ruth's coffee, a decadent mix of coffee, liquor, cream, and caramel - yum! The service is always spot-on, requests are quickly granted with a smile, and the staff at the hostess stand always greets you by name. We love our meals here and know they will be quality with outstanding service. We also stopped back by to have a drink at the bar the next night and ended up having the tenderloin sliders which were amazing! Great job, all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was exceptional

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Steak was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Boise Ruth Chris' is exceptional. T ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Boise Ruth Chris' is exceptional. This is our second time of celebrating our anniversary. Looking forward to next year! Exceptional customer service and food! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but way over priced for what ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food but way over priced for what you get. Stop at McDonalds on my way home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Excellent food and service. They recogn ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent food and service. They recognized our anniversary and greeted us as adults (Mr. and Mrs.) We'll be back for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

If you have never been to Ruth Chris, it ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

If you have never been to Ruth Chris, it is expensive. How expensive? Two people, appatizer, dinners and side vegetables only: $130. The food, however, is fantastic. If you do not eat red meat, don't bother going. Yes, they do have chicken and some seafood but really, it's a beed place and it's very good. Service was excellent, food delicious and the atmosphere quite and somewhat intimate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

You can't miss with the ribeye!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

You can't miss with the ribeye!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect. The food was wonderful, servic ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Perfect. The food was wonderful, service was attentive without smothering. They are happy to help with gluten free recipe's since I have Celiac disease.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and outstanding service! We c ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent and outstanding service! We celebrated our 25thAnniversary instyle!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is absolutely amazing. The Rib E ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service is absolutely amazing. The Rib Eye I had was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great.. Kiona was a great s ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was great.. Kiona was a great server. The key lime pie was exquisite

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the exceptional steak this time around...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We've had great experiences at Ruth's Chris steakhouses before but not the best at this one. Although I ordered a rare rib eye steak it came out medium well but the unfortunate part was when it took about 10 minutes for our waitress to followup with us. By then it was really too late to order a new steak since my wife was done eating. The manager came, apologized and said dessert was on the house. Normally we wouldn't order dessert but since they were offering it, we did. It wasn't that great and they still charged us for it. They were busy and the staff was very nice and I've paid much more for fabulous steaks but this wasn't quite worth it. I'll try it again sometime because it could have been a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great staff + great food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The staff is great from the time you walk in through the meal and on the way out the door.

Couple that with a restaurant that has great food, all levels, appetizers, main course and certainly great desserts......that all adds up to a great place to spend an evening having dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster appetizer was great the hali ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The lobster appetizer was great the halibut was perfect our server Kiona was over the top

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

7th year anniversary

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We had an amazing time on our date at Ruth's Chris! Our table looked wonderful with the bouquet and the wife loved it. The food and drinks were excellent. We loved how the entire staff was very friendly, professional, and welcoming. This is a great place for that special evening you are looking for as well as everyday dining. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.