Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

4.7
453 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted - served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and delicious Idaho potato selections. Our menu is expertly paired with our award-winning wine list. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Boise is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour at the bar and lounge: Daily 4:30 - 6:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(208) 426-8000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
8th and Main Street
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 453 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and excellent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our server was knowledgeable and very accommodating.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The prices were outrageous for corn-fed beef and mediocre service. This place doesn’t even crack the top 10 steak restaurants in the Treasure Valley but it is easily the most expensive. It took 15 minutes just to get our wine. Two steaks, two sides, one salad, one app and one bottle of wine should not cost $190. The sides (asparagus and sweet potato casserole) were also underwhelming from a flavor standpoint.

With all that said, we do enjoy the happy hour menu which is flavorful and appropriately priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Our waiter Cameron was amazing. We had an amazing night celebrating our anniversary. The food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Always consistent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Best steaks this side of heaven !!!
Fun and busy atmosphere, and
Such friendly servers !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Ruth's Chris delivers what the ultimate steakhouse promises.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

My first time at this location. I placed in the notes of my reservation that is was my mothers birthday. They did not disappoint. They made her feel special throughout the evening. All the dishes were good. We ordered the salmon, barbeque shrimp, filet, shared Caesars salad, and cheesecake. The only thing was that my steak came out medium well versus medium. I did nto say anything because the rest made up for it. A big Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We enjoyed an amazing and delicious dinner in the private room. Our waiter was fantastic and the food was even better! Ruth's Chris is expensive but worth every penny. Best steak in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The service personnel were friendly, attentive and professionally dressed. Our table was set beautifully and kept pristine throughout our courses. I took my husband for his birthday and we were both very happy with the experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Not bad at all. Steak was delicious. Appetizers were great! Try the Spicy Shrimp! Get the $100 gift cards at Costco!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great food and atmosphere, service was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Our waiter Cameron did an outstanding job keeping us in wine and food the entire evening. His service was impeccable as he took care of the Ladies in our party first. We had a splendid time at Ruth's Chris.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We went in for our anniversary dinner and had a wonderful evening. Our server was helpful and attentive, but not annoying. The harvest salad was really tasty, well balanced and fresh. The sides we had were underwhelming. The creamed spinach was fine but the au gratin potatoes were slightly undercooked and both needed a bit more salt. The meat was exceptional. Perfectly cooked, tender and delicious. I appreciated that the steaks were not heavily seasoned so the flavor of the beef stood out. We had the blue cheese crust on one of them and it was so good I recommend it to everyone. For dessert we ordered the chocolate lava cake and mousse. It did not disappoint! Not too sweet and the mousse was perfectly creamy. Perfect ending top our special meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Food was good, but pricey. Garlic Mashed potatoes tasted and looked more like grits. Waiter , JD, was mostly on point and I understand that most of his customers like to linger around after an expensive meal, but I don't! When I ask you to get the check, get it, and let me get the hell out of there! So while I am waiting impatiently for JD to bring the check, he is back in the corner bullshitting with other customers. My advice to JD, less talking, more listening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Service was great. Nice, clean place, wine room/rack awesome. Steak raw when asked for medium. Waiter brought a hot plate to cook it more, wasn’t enough. Steak house salad dry, it was the bleu cheese dressing that was the prob just bleu cheese no dressing. Potatoes undercooked. Martini good. Chocolate dessert good. They had a special happy anniversary card at the table with rose pedals that was nice and appreciated. It was a nice evening, but have had better food in prior experiences at other locations. Disappointing spending $200 for a not so great food tho I must say.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Our meal and our service were absolutely perfect; three of us had steaks that were done just the way they were ordered, and we got four sides--broccoli, asparagus, mushrooms, and au gratin potatoes--that were all excellent. As the only white wine drinker, I appreciated being able to order a premium wine like the Jordan chardonnay by the glass. Just a great meal and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

One of the finest steak houses in Boise. Great downtown location, convenient parking and restaurant design has outstanding ambiance.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The meal was okay, I’ve had better in that price range.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

After over 20 visits to various Ruth’s Chris restaurants,this visit was not up to the standards I expected.My wife’s filet was Overcooked and her order was given to another person at our table at which they exchanged their dishes.During the meal she asked for a glass of Cabernet and was given another martini.I should of brought this up to the manager but they were busy and I didn’t bother to bring these issues to their attention.Please forward to the Boise restaurant if you so desire.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Birthday dinner & everything was perfect!!
Don was wonderful!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Staff was terrific and food was excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Went on a date night with my wife, very beautiful interior from the moment you go inside. We were first greeted by what I would assume is the busboy as he said he was going to be helping the server. The server showed up and was very friendly as well. We ordered our food. I don't even know how to put into words. It was the best steak I have ever had in my life. Well worth the money spent if not worth much more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Valentines

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2018

My husband and i had a delicious dinner and a great waiter for our 40th anniversary celebration. We each has a filet and 3 large prawns leftover and asked that they be bagged with the corn to take home. When we went to enjoy the leftovers the next day we discovered that they gave us he corn and scrapes (ends) of my husbands asparagus!! NO STEAK and SHRIMP!! That was about $50 worth of meal. We often go out downtown and now will never got back or suggest Ruth’s Chris.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Wonderful dining experience! We had the prime-time dinner menu which is only served until 6:30. Great value! The steak was so tender! My other favorite thing was the berries and sweet cream dessert. We really enjoyed it. Will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Postponed Valentine’s Day. Our service was, as always, amazing. The food is extremely satisfying and of course the desserts are wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent service from start to finish. Food and presentation is phenomenal and would recommend Ruth’s to anybody looking for a top notch night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The overall experience was great and it was our second time coming for a dinner date occasions for Valentines day. The only thing I didn't like was the lobster bisque. It was definitely for an acquired taste...it had an alcohol aftertaste which i didnt like.
Otherwise it was a good time with really good eats. Prepare to break the bank for a well worth it experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

The serving staff was great. We had an opera to attend and they kept us on schedule. Food was hot and fresh and everyone was very pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was absolutely wonderful--done to perfection. Service was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

My co-worker and friend and I went to Ruth’s Chris Steak House to celebrate a work feat on Valentine’s Day because we had to be in town for meetings. It was wonderful, our waiter Jason was amazing. Very attentive and fun. The steak was delicious, and the food came out looking wonderful as well. But, the Banana Cream dessert was the show stopper. Wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Best meal I’ve had in Boise since I moved here 3yrs ago. You delivered in every regard RC.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 13, 2018

It was okay but the price is high for what you get.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We had the bone-in Petite steak. It was good, but really not any better than any other steak I’ve eaten.
The “special” was a $50 crab LEG. Yep, just one crab leg for $50.
On the positive note, the Lobster Mac&Cheese was delicious!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Pretty disappointed in the quality of the food when coupled with to the price. The lobster bisque soup was very bad and the creamed spinach was not good either. My Cowboy steak was good but my wife's petite steak was over cooked. Service was good. We paid for her dessert even though it came with the bundle option she ordered from. Didn't realize till after we left. Don't mind paying $200.00 for a dinner occasionally but only if the food is exceptional, and in this case it was not. Great ambiance and good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

It is my kind of place. Love the service, the food, the people. wish it wasn't so expensive. My oldest brother took me to places similar, in CA when I was in high school which planted in me the desire for adventure and finer things. Great to have a restaurant like it in Boise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Delicious food and impeccable service! You get what you pay for, and we had an outstanding experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

This is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions in Boise. We received our requested booth along with wonderful service from all the staff. Our waiter, Cameron, was professional, knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. As expected, our food was perfect -- crab-stuffed mushrooms are my favorite. The birthday boy had filet and lobster while I enjoyed a small filet. All cooked to perfection. Looking forward to our next "special occasion."

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Really good food. Service was amazing. A bit expensive

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12