About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

800 W. Main Street Ste 110
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Our steaks are cooked to perfection at 1800 degrees in our patented broilers and served “sizzling” to your table on 500-degree plates. In addition to our USDA Prime beef, we also offer fresh seafood, lobster, lamb, chicken and vegetarian options.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
N 8th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 426-8000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/boise/

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House Boise private dining is perfect for every occasion! We feature 3 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that vary in seating capacity from 8 - 70 people. Perfect for business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners, or lavish receptions. Our private rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment including:

- Large Screen HD LCD TV's
- Direct connect from laptop to TV
- Webcasting
- Satellite Broadcasting
- Wireless Internet
- Teleconferencing

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Don Leader: (208) 426-8000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Romantic (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Business Meals (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Private Room (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was ABSOLUTELY the most amazing st ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was ABSOLUTELY the most amazing steak i have ever had! - the potatos and broccoli were a perfect addition!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice b-day dinner. Our waitress Sa ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Very nice b-day dinner. Our waitress Sarah was excellent as was the food. One of our favorite places in downtown Boise.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ruth's Chris never disappoints! The food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Ruth's Chris never disappoints! The food, service and atmosphere are top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dined here before New Year ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I dined here before New Years event. Service was great and food was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a prime steak, excellent ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place for a prime steak, excellent salads and a quiet dinner for two. Sarah and Zachary provided great service.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal and excellent service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a good meal and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service great, very welcoming Food pres ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service great, very welcoming

Food presentation and flavors excellent

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter's go to place for special oc ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My daughter's go to place for special occasions. Great food, device and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined here for end of year special occas ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Dined here for end of year special occasion. Loved how the entree was served on 500 degree plate - each bite was deliciously hot. Our order was incorrect, but the waitress gave us free dessert. The side dishes are a la cart, but large enough to share.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delious food and fabulous staff. Recomme ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Delious food and fabulous staff. Recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our family had dinner at our favorite re ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our family had dinner at our favorite restaurant for Christmas Eve. Our meals were fabulous, cooked to perfection. The service was excellent thanks to Erin. We will definitely be back again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner and service Steak was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent dinner and service

Steak was fabulous

Salads too

Cheesecake yummy

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious as always here! Servi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was delicious as always here! Service was pretty good but our waitress had lots of tables which made it a little difficult. Overall very good and we will be back again for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service, great atmosph ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. An experience that is worth it every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Once again the people at Ruth's Chris ma ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Once again the people at Ruth's Chris made the evening completely enjoyable. From the time we walked in until we left, we were taken care of by the incredible staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Karen and I celebrated our 39th wedding ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Karen and I celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary. All of the staff that greeted us congratulated us on our special day. The meal, as always, was sumptuous and the apple cobbler a great finish. I also like the French press coffee. Whether a special occasion or entertaining business guests, Ruth's Chris never disappoints.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a great dinner to celebrate my f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Enjoyed a great dinner to celebrate my father'a birthday. The service and food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Were here for our wedding anniversary. I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Were here for our wedding anniversary. I've always loved Ruth's Chris. Steaks were amazing, as usual. Cocktails were great. Sides were OK... we got the shoestring fries and lobster mac and cheese. The service was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Having dined at Ruth's Chris Steak House ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Having dined at Ruth's Chris Steak House in Salt Lake City, this was my first experience at the Boise restaurant. I found it just as amazing! Great atmosphere, service, and the best steak in town!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family dined at Ruth's Chris last Su ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Our family dined at Ruth's Chris last Sunday (Nov. 6th) for a family celebration, & we had not been to this restaurant before. With the Downtown Boise Dine Out special, we thought we'd try it. After we were seated, it took 15 minutes for our server (Ashley) to take our order. After we (finally) placed our order with Ashley, it took another 10 mins. to get our salads. We weren't in a huge rush, but 25 mins. seems like a long time to place an order & receive a first course. Also, my daughter's side dish order wasn't right, but since no one came back to our table for awhile, we left it as is. For the prices (outside of the Dine Out special), we were disappointed by the lack of good service for a "high-end" restaurant. The food was good, but unfortunately, the overall dining experience wasn't. Also, just a suggestion to Ruth's Chris servers: when delivering the bill, it's not always the male at the table who pays, so it's advisable to leave the bill in the middle of the table.

For diners looking for both a great meal & consistently top-notch service at a white table cloth restaurant in Boise, try Chandlers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Filet was an excellent cut, cooked to pe ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Filet was an excellent cut, cooked to perfection, but needed some rub/sauce/marinade due to the bland nature of filets. Salad, bread, et al were also excellent. I do not mind paying for "gourmet" type food and ambiance, but the prices were a bit beyond what would allow most people to patronize on a semi-regular basis. YOU NEED DRAFT BEER- we are not Pagan coor's guzzlers, craft Beer is now acceptable/desired.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

The evening was exceptional. I thought ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The evening was exceptional. I thought we were jst getting a table for 12 but we had our own private dinning room with and expectional staff.

The evening was a great success and all of my neighbors totally enjoyed the event!!!!

Thank you,

Tana Crance

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was excellent and service very pr ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Dinner was excellent and service very professional the server Alex is excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried RC for the first time and took adv ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Tried RC for the first time and took advantage of their prix fixe specials for Dine Out Boise. We had the steak (4 oz filet) and shrimp and the broiled salmon. Steak was cooked to perfection (Rare-Med Rare) and delicious. This also gave us the opportunity to review the extended menu - the portions for steaks are very substantial (16 - 22 oz, not uncommon), so when we go back we'll be sure to be splitting one with sides. Wine menu was excellent, but could use more Idaho wines. Our server, Kiona, made a great suggestion for a cab franc that paired well with both the steak and the salmon. We'll be sure to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal BUT when we got home wit ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wonderful meal BUT when we got home with our bag our dessert that we had asked to have bagged so we could enjoy later was forgotten. Disappointing

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ruth's Chris is consistently good! This ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Ruth's Chris is consistently good! This most recent visit confirmed that notion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love love the food, staff and ambiance ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I love love the food, staff and ambiance at Ruth Chris Boise it is always top notch and they go above and beyond!!!

Tags: Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Spicy, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 35th anniversary and the whol ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 7, 2016

It was our 35th anniversary and the whole dining experience was wonderful! There were rose petals and an anniversary card on the table when we arrived. Our waiter, Mark was very helpful and knowledgeable of entrees and wine pairing. It was quiet, with a lovely window booth. The crab cakes and scallops were top notch as was the crème brulee dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Meal! One thing about the Ruth' ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Perfect Meal! One thing about the Ruth's Chris Steak House chain is that will is consistently receive the highest quality meal and service. The Boise Ruth's Chris is no exception. My meal was cooked to perfection, the service fantastic and it was topped off with the most amazing crème brulee martini that I cannot stop thinking about. I cannot wait to get back to Boise to have another!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server made the meal ... she was ama ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The server made the meal ... she was amazing. Food was excellent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance at Ruth Chris. Service fro ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Nice ambiance at Ruth Chris. Service from the waiter was ok albeit somewhat inattentive as there were too many tables’ in our server’s section (over halfway into our entrées before he inquired how we liked). In contrast the busboy was overly attentive, refiling our water glasses after only a few sips.

The food was solid, however, only 3 stars for this level of restaurant. Lobster bisque was a very nice starter. the house salad was fresh however very standard. We both had the ribeye, unfortunately this came out in a pool of butter – the immense amount of butter with the natural richness of the ribeye was too much. Looking at the tables around us the filet was the most popular option, this likely would have been a better choice. The cook on the steak was perfect (medium rare), the steak came out slightly under-cooked but then cooked to the proper amount on the serving plate (at 500 F). The sides of creamed spinach and mashed potatoes were good. Our side of lobster mac and cheese was routine. On the drinks side they have a nice assortment of wines, for cocktails the bartender needs some improvement as I had to send back a cocktail due to it being made improperly.

Overall below average in contrast to other Ruth Chris's I've been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

We have been to this location many times ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We have been to this location many times and had outstanding meals. Regrettably on this visit it was not the case. That little extra touch of service and good food was not present this time. We purchased bottled water and usually they kept them full. on this occasion they sat empty many times. Finished plates sat on the table.

We had the crab, mango avocado appetizer. The mango was hard as a rock. it would have been better just to serve it without the mango.

The wrong side dish was sent to the table. It was corrected.

Finally, the featured desert of the night was not available. Key Lime Pie. That should have been communicated at the beginning of the night or new sheets prepared.

And our server was gone for long periods.

In any case not the Typical A++++++ Ruth Chris we are accustomed to experiencing

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife and I went there for our Anniver ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 13, 2016

My wife and I went there for our Anniversary last week. Over all it was great. The Steak was cooked more Rare than we wanted, but was handled well once we let our server know. Not a place that I could afford to eat at monthly but as a once a year treat it will be. The Cheesecake was to die for. Excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

It was great. It was expensive, but wor ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was great. It was expensive, but worth it for special occasions. The steaks are absolutely the best I've ever tasted. My only complaint is the slightly over-solicitous service, e.g. the wait staff hovers nearby to top off your water glass, even if you only have taken a couple of sips. That's a pet peeve of mine; the waiters should leave you alone with your table guests unless you obviously need help or your glass is less than 1/2 full. It happens frequently in everyday restaurants; it should not happen in fine dining places. That said, it was still a nice experience that we will certainly repeat when we can next afford it. They also bought me an extra dessert since it was my birthday! As a bonus, we had enough left over to have another meal the next day ;-)

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was wonderful, the service exce ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was wonderful, the service exceptional as with other Ruth's Chris Steakhouses where we have eaten. We completely enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice if you want the best te ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent choice if you want the best tenderloin in town!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

very respectfully, i always order a file ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 31, 2016

very respectfully, i always order a filet, i always order med. server says pink all the way thru,

i say yes, steak always comes very rare, i would say raw to rare, not even close to pink.

you never over cook it, you always under cook it. in the effort to keep the flow of the evening

going, i say nothing and eat a half raw steak.

we just ask you get to cook steaks truly med, the first time.

we will go back, always hope it's cooked like other ruths chris.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a wonderful time celebrating our ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our 27th wedding anniversary. We were welcomed upon entering the restaurant and escorted to our table in a booth. The table was beautifully decorated with rose petals along with a card from the restaurant. The serving team were professional, knowledgable with just the right amount of friendliness. We felt very special enjoying the time remembering our special date in 1989.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary at Ruth Chris. Upon arrival, there was a congratulations card and rose petals on the table. Amazing drinks, salads and the main courses were absolutely delicious. Dessert couldn't have been better. To top off the evening, a couple sitting nearby were acquaintances from about 20 years ago. They recognized my last name and came over to say hello. They were celebrating their 37th anniversary. Wonderful evening all around!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was super friendly and carding ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everyone was super friendly and carding we got exceptional service,and food was delicious. Table had rose petals on it Loved it all

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.