Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted - served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and delicious Idaho potato selections. Our menu is expertly paired with our award-winning wine list. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Boise is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

800 W. Main Street Ste 110
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour at the bar and lounge: Daily 4:30 - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
8th and Main Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 426-8000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/boise/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Birthdays (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (26)
Happy Hour (21)
Business Meals (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort by
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

As always Ruth Chris Boise serves amazing steaks, Perfectly cooked and the mashed potatoes to die for just delicious... dessert we went all out molten cake perfect, banana pie my favorite and the apple pie that night was awesome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

The food at Ruth’s Chris is wonderful. The service is extraordinary. Every time we come in they make us feel special. And they remember our names. That to me shows class which a lot of restaurants don’t have. Their dessert menu is wonderful. And their bartending staff is great. I would recommend Ruth’s Chris to anybody at any time, it’s a wonderful place to eat.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Excellent staff and management. The service here has always been good whether we went for happy hour or dinner. The food is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Excellent. Our go to anniversary spot. Great Cesar dressing, crab cakes & filet.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Service was poor, food was mediocre, even the cocktails were disappointing. The steaks were the best part, but couldn’t compensate for appetizers and lobster bisque that lacked the expected flavor and quality you’d expect at a fine dining establishment of this character.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Isn't it nice when a server at a restaurant doesn't hesitate to replace an entre – if fact, insists on doing so - when it isn't to one's satisfaction? This describes the experience we had at Ruth's Chris on New Year's Eve night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

We had a lovely new year’s eve/anniversary dinner. Great service and quality of food was spectacular! When we visit again, we will be sure to make a stop at Ruth’s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Another great dinning experience. We both had filets. Done to perfection as requested and great piece of meat. Ceasar salad split for two table side. Layonaise potatoes. Flan for dessert. Great waiter. Our second visit and we will return. Wine list extensive and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Had a better dinner at Buds Broiler in Richland the following night. Steak was just as good, cocktails and meal was far less expensive, and atmosphere was better....Chandlers in Boise is also better for atmosphere, and pricing. You

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 30, 2017

This was a pleasant surprise for a get together among friends. We had the best service and amazing food we could have hoped. I have eaten at a few different Ruth's Chris steak houses throughout the country. This is definitely the best I have had. Our server Jason was incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 30, 2017

First time to a Ruth’s Chris Staekhouse and we were not disappointed. Food and Service was great. Good for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2017

made a last minute reservation and got a great table. service was excellent. chopped salad is our new favorite!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Fabulous Prime steaks, supurb caring staff and management that are guest oriented. The setting is also excellent and elegant. You will not regret a minute of your decision to dine at Ruth's Boise.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 20, 2017

Awesome place! Love it every time I go. Excellent service and staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 19, 2017

It is lovely and delicious - just wish it wasn't so expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2017

My mom and I took my 8 year old daughter here as a special date after watching the Nutcracker Ballet. The service was absolutely above and beyond (and I have high standards), the ambience/atmosphere was lovely, the food was great. We had an overall fabulous time. I would not take my 4 year old here (or any other small child!), but it was perfect for my daughter’s first “adult” fancy dinner out. I can’t wait to bring my husband for a nice date night!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2017

I am never disappointed with anything at Ruth’s Chris. Excellent excellent service, delicious food, attentive wait staff. I couldn’t ask for more.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 14, 2017

The problem was the quality of the steaks. Only one of the three we ordered was close to the targeted doneness. The people I was with did not want to make a fuss so I did not complain to the manager and then wait another 20 minutes for replacement steaks; 1 bone in filet, 2 bone in ribeyes. Other than that the staff was very good and the ambiance was fine.

Next time I will absolutely challenge the chefs interpretation of medium rare, the ribeyes were slightly pink near the bone but mostly well, while the filet was med rare near the bone and center but all the meat from about an inch from the edge was well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 14, 2017

Great service and food. Keep up the great work. Boise needs you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner! I’m a huge fan of Chandlers but we couldn’t get in so opted for RC’s as a second choice. It was every bit as good and the service has improved dramatically since my last visit several years ago. We started with some new, fun cocktails. The steaks were tender, juicy and delicious, the sides and baked potatoes fantastic. Would only ask that they consider taking the espresso out of the chocolate flourless cake and it would have been perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 10, 2017

The food and drinks were fabulous. The service was also exceptional. The only thing is it is a bit to open and seemed like to many tables crowded in the area we were sitting. So the only drawback for us was the ambiance, other than that it was very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 9, 2017

The best restaurant in the whole area! The quality can't be beat.what an incredible treat

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Food was excellent, atmosphere was comfortable and appropriate, service was good, and food was way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 8, 2017

What a wonderful place to celebrate life's great moments! The food was superb, the staff was very attentive, and the experience amazing! We loved how they made our celebration that much more incredible! We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Great downtown location, fabulous food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Aj the server was on point and made sure everything was perfect. Steaks are always the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

We love having dinner at Ruth's Chris, especially for birthdays and anniversaries. It is a wonderful restaurant. The food is always exceptional, the wait staff is very professional, attentive to our needs and personable. We have never been dissatisfied with any meal we have had and have recommended to many for the unique dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 16, 2017

This was our 3rd time at Ruth’s Chris. Our server was nice and accommodating, however, the service was very slow. My husband ordered his steak medium rare and it was over cooked and stringy. They were out of sautéed mushrooms.......really? At a high end steak house? They brought out creamed spinach as a substitute. We didn’t ask for it but were charged anyway. We did not say anything because it was my son’s birthday and we didn’t want to put a negative spin on it. Our bill was $340 and for that amount of money I would’ve thought the service and food would’ve been much better. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Very good Ceasar salad, excellent beet salad, we had bone in filet (very good, well prepared, but quite pricey) and rib eye (good, but a higher amount of marbling and fat). Creamed spinach was excellent. Wine selections by glass were extensive. Service very attentive. From a price/value comparison: probably get more bang for the buck at Chandlers or Capitol Cellars.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Wow! AJ and his partner tonight we're unbelievable! They exceeded our expectations by a lot. We will return soon. Gracias AJ for going above and beyond and for recommending the pomegranate martini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

If you're looking for a fine dining experience, look no further than Ruth's Chris. Everything about our dining experience from the Host to the wait staff to the food was exceptional. It is on the higher end of the price scale but absolutely worth every penny. I highly recommend Ruth's Chris! We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Excellent steak. Staff and service second to none. Coffee was weak, not up to the standards one would expect from an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Steaks, of course, were cooked to perfection. But the salmon was also very tasty. Service was top notch but boarded on overbearing, there 3-4 people working our table. Dined from the Dine Out Boise menu, a very good way to get an affordable taste of this steak house.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 3, 2017

As usual, Ruth Chris delivered a memorable dining experience. Taking advantage of the Dining Downtown promotion we enjoyed a great 3 course meal for $30. This is probably about the same as their prix fixe dinner served before 6:30 for $45 which is still a bargain.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Our server was great (very nice woman with glasses) and Jason also was super polite, thoughtful, and congenial. We don't get out much for more than a quick bite with six kids at home so this night meant a lot to us. We really enjoyed the experience and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2017

They were so nice ! Went out of their way to make us feel welcome and valued. Lowered food score 1 point since my medium rare steak came out the 1st time well -done and the second time quite rare. I went ahead and ate that one. The mashed potatoes were some of the best I’ve tasted. My final analysis was that it was a very enjoyable evening all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The food is always the best. But the best part about going to Ruth’s Chris in Boise is the people. The service is always great but the people are so friendly and nice. You won’t find a better place to go in Boise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Perfect in every way. Enjoyed the Restaurant Week $30 3 course meal and it was first rate. Unlike a typical meal at Ruth's Chris, the portions were the perfect size (not too big). Salmon and steak were cooked perfectly and the sides (creamed spinach and mashed potatoes) were delicious. Chocolate Sin cake topped the meal off. Connor was a great waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Our meals were delicious! We had the lamb, rib-eye steak with bleu cheese, and the portobello mushroom with salads and vegetable sides, and everyone was very pleased with each dinner choice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Fabulous food that is consistent. Great environment. Love this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.