About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

800 W. Main Street Ste 110
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Our steaks are cooked to perfection at 1800 degrees in our patented broilers and served “sizzling” to your table on 500-degree plates. In addition to our USDA Prime beef, we also offer fresh seafood, lobster, lamb, chicken and vegetarian options.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
N 8th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 426-8000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/boise/

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House Boise private dining is perfect for every occasion! We feature 3 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that vary in seating capacity from 8 - 70 people. Perfect for business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners, or lavish receptions. Our private rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment including:

- Large Screen HD LCD TV's
- Direct connect from laptop to TV
- Webcasting
- Satellite Broadcasting
- Wireless Internet
- Teleconferencing

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Don Leader: 2084268000

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
12 More
Best Ambiance
Idaho
Romantic
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Most Booked
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

special occasion (35)
romantic (21)
fit for foodies (14)
See All
notable wine list (13)
good for groups (13)
hot spot (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The steak was the best that we're ever h ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 5 days ago

The steak was the best that we're ever had. The service was wonderful. We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone's steak was simply perfect. Pe ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everyone's steak was simply perfect. Perfect temperature and flavor. Everyone's side items were way too cold almost room temperature. They need to be hot. No one likes cold mashed potatoes or creamed spinach. Unfortunately for Boise Chandlers steakhouse has cold side items too but with steaks not as good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent. That is the e ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service was excellent. That is the end of the good comments.

Our steaks were served cold.

The "grilled" asparagus might have been grilled, if so, the grill was cold.

The Caesar salad was drowning in sauce.

Overall experience - very bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Ruth Chris is always so accommodating wi ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Ruth Chris is always so accommodating with every request! Our 11 year old son loves to order the kid's tenderloin medallion and they even brought it out on a warm, buttered plate on our request. Love these guys!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Ruth's! We took ou ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Another great meal at Ruth's! We took our 18 year old son and friend for his birthday dinner recently and had wonderful service from Nick. We enjoyed well-made cocktails and wine, delicious calamari, yummy bread and butter, lobster bisque, a gigantic steak, delicious scalloped potatoes and corn, and even a Ruth's coffee, a decadent mix of coffee, liquor, cream, and caramel - yum! The service is always spot-on, requests are quickly granted with a smile, and the staff at the hostess stand always greets you by name. We love our meals here and know they will be quality with outstanding service. We also stopped back by to have a drink at the bar the next night and ended up having the tenderloin sliders which were amazing! Great job, all!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was exceptional

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Steak was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Boise Ruth Chris' is exceptional. T ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Boise Ruth Chris' is exceptional. This is our second time of celebrating our anniversary. Looking forward to next year! Exceptional customer service and food! Highly recommend!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but way over priced for what ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food but way over priced for what you get. Stop at McDonalds on my way home.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Excellent food and service. They recogn ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent food and service. They recognized our anniversary and greeted us as adults (Mr. and Mrs.) We'll be back for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

If you have never been to Ruth Chris, it ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

If you have never been to Ruth Chris, it is expensive. How expensive? Two people, appatizer, dinners and side vegetables only: $130. The food, however, is fantastic. If you do not eat red meat, don't bother going. Yes, they do have chicken and some seafood but really, it's a beed place and it's very good. Service was excellent, food delicious and the atmosphere quite and somewhat intimate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

You can't miss with the ribeye!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

You can't miss with the ribeye!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect. The food was wonderful, servic ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Perfect. The food was wonderful, service was attentive without smothering. They are happy to help with gluten free recipe's since I have Celiac disease.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and outstanding service! We c ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent and outstanding service! We celebrated our 25thAnniversary instyle!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great.. Kiona was a great s ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was great.. Kiona was a great server. The key lime pie was exquisite

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the exceptional steak this time around...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We've had great experiences at Ruth's Chris steakhouses before but not the best at this one. Although I ordered a rare rib eye steak it came out medium well but the unfortunate part was when it took about 10 minutes for our waitress to followup with us. By then it was really too late to order a new steak since my wife was done eating. The manager came, apologized and said dessert was on the house. Normally we wouldn't order dessert but since they were offering it, we did. It wasn't that great and they still charged us for it. They were busy and the staff was very nice and I've paid much more for fabulous steaks but this wasn't quite worth it. I'll try it again sometime because it could have been a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great staff + great food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The staff is great from the time you walk in through the meal and on the way out the door.

Couple that with a restaurant that has great food, all levels, appetizers, main course and certainly great desserts......that all adds up to a great place to spend an evening having dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster appetizer was great the hali ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The lobster appetizer was great the halibut was perfect our server Kiona was over the top

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

7th year anniversary

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We had an amazing time on our date at Ruth's Chris! Our table looked wonderful with the bouquet and the wife loved it. The food and drinks were excellent. We loved how the entire staff was very friendly, professional, and welcoming. This is a great place for that special evening you are looking for as well as everyday dining. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

outstanding experience. Great food & bri ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

outstanding experience. Great food & brilliant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Dinner - both food and service was great. Was there a little early for our reservation so were seated in the lounge hoping to have a drink before dinner. Must have sat there 25 minutes before anyone bused the table we were at then hurriedly asked for our drink order. After a little while longer, another person brought our drinks (martinis,) but without the blue-cheese stuffed olives we asked for. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice Dinner

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed a very nice meal with the family. One ribeye was well done instead of medium rare but it was quickly replaced with one that was cooked as ordered. The side dishes - garlic mashed potatoes, mushrooms, and creamed spinach - were also delicious.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My first experience with Ruth Chris as I had a little extra money to burn so I treated a couple friends and lived it up. The cocktails were well made as my friend stated it was the best Manhattan he'd ever tasted. We started with the sea scallop appetizer which was awesome and would highly recommend. The house salads were a nice mix of fresh greens. My friends each had the ribeye and filet and were very impressed by the taste and tenderness. The petite filet and shrimp were good however the shrimp is served on the steak and the strong seasoning did mute the taste of the meat a bit but was still very good. The sides we ordered were the au gratin potatoes and asparagus which were also very delicious. We went kind of cheap with the cabernet we ordered but it was still a delicious Argentinian wine that paired well. The service was excellent as they have a bountiful staff who are very friendly and know how to serve without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Celebration

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris Steak House to celebrate our daughters 41st birthday and couldn't have been more impressed with the service and caring by the staff. It started off with the restaurant calling us to confirm our reservation and to ask us about any food allergies, or any other special needs. We all ordered from the Chef's Features, the Petite Filet, done medium. Two of the 3 were done perfect, but unfortunately our daughters was a little over done, when we told our waitress Jessica, she was right on the ball to get it corrected. The Manager Don came over and immediately apologized for the mistake and promised to make sure it was taken care of. Don then brought out the new steak and made sure that it was done to perfection, which it was, he also comped free desert for the 3 of us at dinner.

Class act all the way! Thank you Don and our waitress, Jessica, for making our visit so memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth Chris

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The staff was very friendly and informative. The food was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

For all special occations

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

There isn't anything more romantic or elegant in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Great services. A pleasa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Excellent food. Great services. A pleasant way to relax. I love it!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!!! +10

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

What an exceptional dining experience we had and our server, Jessica, was VERY attentive, friendly and informative! She deserves our thanks and compliments!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Our family had a great evening; very good food and excellent cocktails, elegant decor.

We will be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food/service, but value...?

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

The food and service have always been top-notch when we dine here. But, the prices are so much higher than other places in Boise, it is quite hard to justify going much. There are other very good steakhouses in town.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

My wife and I recently dined at Ruth's for our anniversary dinner. Everything was incredible, from the atmosphere, to the food, to the excellent service from our server and the helpful professional manner of everyone we interacted with throughout the night. They even made us a dessert with "Happy 12th Anniversary" written in chocolate and placed rose petals on our table. First time I have ever felt special in a restaurant. Wonderful evening. They definitely lived up to the hype. Highly recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service provided by Zach.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We always love our dinning experience at Ruth's Chris. We had the BEST server, Zach, and will be requesting him for our future reservations. It was our anniversary and he had rose petals on the table for us when we arrived and had a special desert for us. Awesome Job

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved it introduced to 2 friends/ best steaks ever

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The lamb chops are outstanding

Best champagne cocktails ever

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just chose Ruth's Chris to celebrate ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

We just chose Ruth's Chris to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had phenomenal food, fantastic service, and an overall unbelievable evening! Thank you so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The steaks were amazing! The servers wer ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

The steaks were amazing! The servers were very friendly. It was a wonderful experience and I will definitely return again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Heart day

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We spent a lovely evening here celebrating Valentine's day. It was our first visit, and the atmosphere, wine list and food was outstanding. Most importantly our waiter, Jeff, was so helpful and friendly. We'll definitely be back to try out some of the other dishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

30 year Anniversary

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We wanted to go somewhere special and this definitely fit the bill. Service was excellent, best steak we have ever had, and great drinks. It cost quite a bit but for the experience it was worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentines at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Overall disappointed with the service and the food was under something that at $ 100 + for two would seem to merit. Will not be going back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Meh...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I had a $100 gift card so we decided to give Ruth's Chris a try. The service and ambiance were excellent. The salad and ahi tuna were fantastic, but everything else was like drinking butter. Don't get me wrong I love butter as much as the next guy but both our steaks, the brussels sprouts, and the mushrooms were soaked in butter. Overall the meal was ok since I only paid $55 out of pocket, but I would never recommend if its your money. Just buy some USDA primes and a pound of butter and cook your own.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

the entire staff is attentive

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

made our anniversary very special. the food was amazing,

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.