Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted - served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and delicious Idaho potato selections. Our menu is expertly paired with our award-winning wine list. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Boise is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

800 W. Main Street Ste 110
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour at the bar and lounge: Daily 4:30 - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
8th and Main Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 426-8000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/boise/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Romantic (17)
Business Meals (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our 3rd time at Ruth’s Chris. Our server was nice and accommodating, however, the service was very slow. My husband ordered his steak medium rare and it was over cooked and stringy. They were out of sautéed mushrooms.......really? At a high end steak house? They brought out creamed spinach as a substitute. We didn’t ask for it but were charged anyway. We did not say anything because it was my son’s birthday and we didn’t want to put a negative spin on it. Our bill was $340 and for that amount of money I would’ve thought the service and food would’ve been much better. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Very good Ceasar salad, excellent beet salad, we had bone in filet (very good, well prepared, but quite pricey) and rib eye (good, but a higher amount of marbling and fat). Creamed spinach was excellent. Wine selections by glass were extensive. Service very attentive. From a price/value comparison: probably get more bang for the buck at Chandlers or Capitol Cellars.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Wow! AJ and his partner tonight we're unbelievable! They exceeded our expectations by a lot. We will return soon. Gracias AJ for going above and beyond and for recommending the pomegranate martini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

If you're looking for a fine dining experience, look no further than Ruth's Chris. Everything about our dining experience from the Host to the wait staff to the food was exceptional. It is on the higher end of the price scale but absolutely worth every penny. I highly recommend Ruth's Chris! We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Excellent steak. Staff and service second to none. Coffee was weak, not up to the standards one would expect from an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 3, 2017

As usual, Ruth Chris delivered a memorable dining experience. Taking advantage of the Dining Downtown promotion we enjoyed a great 3 course meal for $30. This is probably about the same as their prix fixe dinner served before 6:30 for $45 which is still a bargain.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Steaks, of course, were cooked to perfection. But the salmon was also very tasty. Service was top notch but boarded on overbearing, there 3-4 people working our table. Dined from the Dine Out Boise menu, a very good way to get an affordable taste of this steak house.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Our server was great (very nice woman with glasses) and Jason also was super polite, thoughtful, and congenial. We don't get out much for more than a quick bite with six kids at home so this night meant a lot to us. We really enjoyed the experience and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2017

They were so nice ! Went out of their way to make us feel welcome and valued. Lowered food score 1 point since my medium rare steak came out the 1st time well -done and the second time quite rare. I went ahead and ate that one. The mashed potatoes were some of the best I’ve tasted. My final analysis was that it was a very enjoyable evening all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The food is always the best. But the best part about going to Ruth’s Chris in Boise is the people. The service is always great but the people are so friendly and nice. You won’t find a better place to go in Boise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Perfect in every way. Enjoyed the Restaurant Week $30 3 course meal and it was first rate. Unlike a typical meal at Ruth's Chris, the portions were the perfect size (not too big). Salmon and steak were cooked perfectly and the sides (creamed spinach and mashed potatoes) were delicious. Chocolate Sin cake topped the meal off. Connor was a great waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Our meals were delicious! We had the lamb, rib-eye steak with bleu cheese, and the portobello mushroom with salads and vegetable sides, and everyone was very pleased with each dinner choice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Fabulous food that is consistent. Great environment. Love this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Service was outstanding as usual, food really good. One of our favorite restaurants

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I have eaten at several Ruth Chris' steakhouses. All were wonderful; Boise is no exception to that critique. The food was outstanding; service friendly and professional. A lovely dining experience, but I expected nothing less.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Spur of the moment date night and food was great! Shared a steak entree and it was superb ... prepared with the extra sides perfectly. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Stephanie and the outstanding crew there helped me pull off an epic event for my daughter that she will talk about for years. Really appreciate the team making my daughter feel special and working with our Japanese friends who joined us- great job!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Ruth Chris steakhouse is amazing. They treat you like family, respect you like a guest and entertain you with their service. The food comes out hot and stays hot during the entire meal. Whether you're a vegetarian or a meat eater or just go for fish or chicken anything you have there will be amazing. They will do some special orders, if possible and their soups and drinks , to die for .

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Don and his Staff are wonderful! The service is impeccable! The steaks are 5 Star! Rene can plan your special events with attention to detail unlike any other special evening dinner you have been too. Ruth Chris Steak House will always be the best steak House and dining experience you could ever hope for. You will never go anywhere else once you try this Boise gem! Thank you Ruth Chris for making my dinning experience very special every time I walk through the doors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My steak was overcooked and the server was obnoxious, not refined as one would expect at a nice steakhouse. When I didn't like the first wine I ordered, he said he would bring me one that was more dry, but didn't mention that it was $30/glass, way more than the first $12 glass I'd ordered. I felt like he should have brought the list back for me to see that and decide for myself, or mention the price tag on it. Also, no excuse for a Ruth's Chris to overcook a $50 steak. I expect better from such an expensive restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Loved everything! Seated quickly. Great wine options. Fabulous service. Treated us very special for our anniversary.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 26, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience. It was our 30th Anniversary and the entire team went out of their way to make it a evening my wife and I will always remember. As always, the food was superb, but what made it memorable was the attention to detail and service they provided. If you are looking for somewhere to enjoy a truly wonderful evening, take the opportunity to experience this first hand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a very nice steak dinner. I enjoy the decor at this restaurant and we were seated in the small room beyond the bar. This dining room is quiet and lovely. I have dined here several times and the bigger dining room is loud and somewhat crowded if you get seated at a table rather than a booth.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Everyone was great from the moment they met us at the front door. The table was set up for our anniversary and the food was outstanding. Thank you for great night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good dinner. Steak was a little overdone to my liking but overall a good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Once again an amazing dinner. Ribeye was phenomenal. And all those sides. Yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My wife's steak was not cooked to specifications originally, but the manager made sure that she eventually got the correct preparation.
Other than that small hiccup, the service was great and the quality of the food was first rate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Service was outstanding, very well paced. Our server was extremely informative about menu choices, great attention to detail. Food lived up to the hype. Great dining experience (every time I've been there).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We are from Salt Lake City and was in Boise participating in the Art in the Park festival. We decided to go to Ruth's Chris for our anniversary. We were treated like royalty and the service was second to none. The manager even spent about 10 minutes visiting with us. Of course the food was superb and the entire evening was more than we could have asked for. We have dined at the Ruth's Chris in Salt Lake CIty and it didn't even come close to the same experience as we received in Boise. The Salt Lake restaurant needs to take a lesson or two from the Boise restaurant. We may to fly to Boise when we want to go to Ruth's Chris again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was awesome and the service was even better. I will happily be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food and service are excellent: tops. However it is VERY expensive and very crowded and noisy when they have a full house, and the waiters and waitresses are slammed trying to provide the good service. For what it costs, all things considered, it is not a good value for my money.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent food, not only the steaks! If you are not from Idaho, try the mashed potatoes! And the meat is just great! Very friendly service as everywhere in Idaho

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

I had friends visiting from out of town and wanted to treat them to something
special.... and indeed, I did... they totally loved each and every bite, and each
and every drop of the fine wine we ordered.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Didn't have the dessert my partner wanted for his bday. Then the server said he was comping both desserts which I confirmed and he only comped one. It was noisy in the restaurant. Good food though.

Tags: Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 6, 2017

First time in this restaurant to celebrate my husbands birthday. We were looked after very well by Cameron who made a wonderful recommendation on the wine too. The ambiance was cosy and we had a lovely evening. There was a birthday card on the table and we were given a complimentary desert for his birthday, an unexpected nice touch. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We always enjoy Ruth's Chris. We wish they were open for lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Reserved through open table for only 30 minutes ahead for our 25th anniversary as our original plans fell through ...not much time but when we arrived the staff had placed rose pedals and a happy anniversary card on out table prior to our arrival - they must have worked quickly! It was beautiful. Our waiter Mark, was an outstanding personable young man who allowed us as much time as we needed to sip our great Silver Oak wine prior to ordering - we were never rushed. I had a wonderful filet and my vegetarian wife had an amazing vegetable platter that she loved, centered around 3 huge sautéed portobello mushrooms...for dessert we received a fully comp cream brûlée with fresh berries... outstanding job and thank you to the Ruth's Chris Boise team...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I have been to a number of Ruth's Chris restaurant's, but the Boise one stands out among the rest. The staff here is just amazing. They are so kind and considerate and just a pleasure. On this visit, they made my mother's birthday extra special and went above and beyond. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Super welcoming staff. Had to change our reservations to a later time. Very accommodating and kind staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have been going to Ruth's Chris Steak house for quite a while and we never have been disappointed. The wait staff are perfect in all ways possible and as for the greeting at the door , that just cannot get any better. There is a choice for everyone, including non-meat eaters. We will continue to dine at Ruth's Chris for a very long time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.