Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted - served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and delicious Idaho potato selections. Our menu is expertly paired with our award-winning wine list. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Boise is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!

800 W. Main Street Ste 110
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour at the bar and lounge: Daily 4:30 - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
8th and Main Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 426-8000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/boise/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a very nice steak dinner. I enjoy the decor at this restaurant and we were seated in the small room beyond the bar. This dining room is quiet and lovely. I have dined here several times and the bigger dining room is loud and somewhat crowded if you get seated at a table rather than a booth.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Everyone was great from the moment they met us at the front door. The table was set up for our anniversary and the food was outstanding. Thank you for great night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good dinner. Steak was a little overdone to my liking but overall a good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Once again an amazing dinner. Ribeye was phenomenal. And all those sides. Yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My wife's steak was not cooked to specifications originally, but the manager made sure that she eventually got the correct preparation.
Other than that small hiccup, the service was great and the quality of the food was first rate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Service was outstanding, very well paced. Our server was extremely informative about menu choices, great attention to detail. Food lived up to the hype. Great dining experience (every time I've been there).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We are from Salt Lake City and was in Boise participating in the Art in the Park festival. We decided to go to Ruth's Chris for our anniversary. We were treated like royalty and the service was second to none. The manager even spent about 10 minutes visiting with us. Of course the food was superb and the entire evening was more than we could have asked for. We have dined at the Ruth's Chris in Salt Lake CIty and it didn't even come close to the same experience as we received in Boise. The Salt Lake restaurant needs to take a lesson or two from the Boise restaurant. We may to fly to Boise when we want to go to Ruth's Chris again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was awesome and the service was even better. I will happily be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food and service are excellent: tops. However it is VERY expensive and very crowded and noisy when they have a full house, and the waiters and waitresses are slammed trying to provide the good service. For what it costs, all things considered, it is not a good value for my money.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent food, not only the steaks! If you are not from Idaho, try the mashed potatoes! And the meat is just great! Very friendly service as everywhere in Idaho

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

I had friends visiting from out of town and wanted to treat them to something
special.... and indeed, I did... they totally loved each and every bite, and each
and every drop of the fine wine we ordered.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Didn't have the dessert my partner wanted for his bday. Then the server said he was comping both desserts which I confirmed and he only comped one. It was noisy in the restaurant. Good food though.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 6, 2017

First time in this restaurant to celebrate my husbands birthday. We were looked after very well by Cameron who made a wonderful recommendation on the wine too. The ambiance was cosy and we had a lovely evening. There was a birthday card on the table and we were given a complimentary desert for his birthday, an unexpected nice touch. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We always enjoy Ruth's Chris. We wish they were open for lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Reserved through open table for only 30 minutes ahead for our 25th anniversary as our original plans fell through ...not much time but when we arrived the staff had placed rose pedals and a happy anniversary card on out table prior to our arrival - they must have worked quickly! It was beautiful. Our waiter Mark, was an outstanding personable young man who allowed us as much time as we needed to sip our great Silver Oak wine prior to ordering - we were never rushed. I had a wonderful filet and my vegetarian wife had an amazing vegetable platter that she loved, centered around 3 huge sautéed portobello mushrooms...for dessert we received a fully comp cream brûlée with fresh berries... outstanding job and thank you to the Ruth's Chris Boise team...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I have been to a number of Ruth's Chris restaurant's, but the Boise one stands out among the rest. The staff here is just amazing. They are so kind and considerate and just a pleasure. On this visit, they made my mother's birthday extra special and went above and beyond. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Super welcoming staff. Had to change our reservations to a later time. Very accommodating and kind staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have been going to Ruth's Chris Steak house for quite a while and we never have been disappointed. The wait staff are perfect in all ways possible and as for the greeting at the door , that just cannot get any better. There is a choice for everyone, including non-meat eaters. We will continue to dine at Ruth's Chris for a very long time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Steaks are great but sides are pretty bland. I was overall disappointed with the quality although the appetizers were good and service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 9, 2017

It was our first time eating at Ruth Chris and it was our 36th wedding anniversary. We both had rib-eye steaks and the Cobb salad with spinach and au gratin potatoes. For dessert we had berries and creme plus banana pie. Everything was terrific and the proportions were very generous. We each only ate about half out steaks and side dishes. It was quiet and it was a great place to celebrate our anniversary. At least 6-8 staff members congratulated us on our anniversary. They are very well trained. All in all it was a great dining experience and we will return for more. I can't even count how many times we have dined at the old Gamekeeper and this is reminiscent of the quality of food and service that we always received there in the past.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The staff was very attentive. The food was excellent. It was a special night for us and everyone involved was very in tune and gave us special attention. Thanks

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Amazing night! Quality of steaks and mastering of preparation was exceptional. Side dishes were delicious. We had shoestring fries, three cheese potatoes and garlic mashed and shared all with our steaks. Salad menu was simple and perfect. Recommend the heirloom tomatoes in a balsamic reduction . The wait staff made a big fuss over our two birthdays and decorated our table and provided complimentary desserts to the two birthdays. Everyone so friendly and efficient. We usually do the amazing happy hour , but this was a delightful evening in the main dining room! Thank you !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We had our anniversary there and it by far was the worst service we have ever had a Ruth Chris.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Normally an outstanding experience. On this occasion the ambiance was marred by a very loud opinion spewing patron who happened to be at the next table. While the staff can't control this behavior, I felt they were somewhat participating and encouraging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Amazing steaks, as always. Every side I've tried has been excellent as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Early reservation so not many tables occupied & there was a VERY LOUD talking gentleman at a table close by and was annoying, but that is not your fault:) Other than that, it was sooo AMAZING!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, food, service, and ambience. THEN in came the family with active and noisy preschoolers. It ruined the evening. We finally just left.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We always love this restaurant for everyday dining or a special occasion. The staff is so attentive and recommendations are always spot on

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Staff is well versed in gluten free options. Our server was congenial and made good suggestions. The food was delicious! Just wish they ad a dedicated fryer so that I could enjoy the frites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I have always heard about how great the restaurant was and wanted to try it out. I decided to take my wife for our anniversary to say that we did. The service and setting were absolutely excellent. My only disatisfactions include the food quality and price. I thought the food was good, but only that.

My favorite cut has always been the rib eye. When I have a good rib eye I expect it to almost melt in your mouth. Presentation was perfect, color was constant throughout on how I ordered it, but I had to saw through it with the knife and was much more tough than it should have been with the price tag. I can get a better steak for $18 elsewhere, so it was disappointing because I expected more in this regard. I understand there is value to the ambiance, but I prefer the food to match.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Usually very good!!! Filet normally melts in your mouth! This time the filet was dry. They remade it but even still it was not as good as usual. Not sure if it's a new cook or if the cut of meat was different?? Hopefully this is not a new "norm!" With the price of these steaks it's disappointing to NOT have it simply amazing!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Wife and I dined there for our anniversary and I let them know ahead of time, and they were terrific! Made us feel special. Food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We (Mike & Becky, the couple on the right) enjoyed celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary at Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise with our dear friends. The food was most excellent (as always); the wait staff was friendly, capable and professional; the atmosphere was lovely! Thanks for cooking it up for us!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great food excellent service !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Birthday dinner for four people. It was amazing, it it our go to place for special occasion dinners.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Another great meal at Ruth's. Our server was extremely attentive all while not making us feel rushed. Delicious steaks and great wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have gotten gift cards for others to Ruth's Chris but never been ourselves. It was definitely worth the wait. The food, service and setting were excellent and everything we had heard about. The perfect place for special occasions. I took my wife for Mother's Day and we had a very special evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Love the little things that the staff did to make our 22nd wedding anniversary special!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 9, 2017

As always, Ruth's Chris went beyond expectations. All staff is very professional and friendly. JD was our server and he could not have done a better job! We will definitely be dining here again soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.