Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Our steaks are cooked to perfection at 1800 degrees in our patented broilers and served “sizzling” to your table on 500-degree plates. In addition to our USDA Prime beef, we also offer fresh seafood, lobster, lamb, chicken and vegetarian options.

800 W. Main Street Ste 110
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
N 8th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 426-8000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/boise/

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House Boise private dining is perfect for every occasion! We feature 3 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that vary in seating capacity from 8 - 70 people. Perfect for business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners, or lavish receptions. Our private rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment including:

- Large Screen HD LCD TV's
- Direct connect from laptop to TV
- Webcasting
- Satellite Broadcasting
- Wireless Internet
- Teleconferencing

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Don Leader: (208) 426-8000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Romantic (29)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Private Room (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food excellent service !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

Birthday dinner for four people. It was amazing, it it our go to place for special occasion dinners.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Another great meal at Ruth's. Our server was extremely attentive all while not making us feel rushed. Delicious steaks and great wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have gotten gift cards for others to Ruth's Chris but never been ourselves. It was definitely worth the wait. The food, service and setting were excellent and everything we had heard about. The perfect place for special occasions. I took my wife for Mother's Day and we had a very special evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Love the little things that the staff did to make our 22nd wedding anniversary special!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 10, 2017

As always, Ruth's Chris went beyond expectations. All staff is very professional and friendly. JD was our server and he could not have done a better job! We will definitely be dining here again soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was the best steak and experience ever. Thanks again for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We were celebrating our 47th Anniversary. Terrific service, food and atmosphere. Will go again on a special occasion. We had two glasses of wine and one mixed drink $38.00. Hmmm, good thing it was "Happy Hour". A bowl of soup, a salad, two petite filets with shrimp and a cup of tea. Total for dinner, drinks, and $40 tip $225. Next time we go, we will skip the drinks and maybe share a dinner.

Thanks for the complimentary desert...apple crumb. It was excellent, as with everything else.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great service from when we walked in the front door until we left. Incredible steaks, appetizers and desserts. Did I mention the martini and wine..... not cheap but a good value

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

From Cocktails to Entrees everything was delicious. The Porterhouse for 2 is the bomb! Our daughter lives in Boise and Ruth's Chris is always her first choice for dining. It's the highlight of our visit. And the service is always exceptional.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Spent our 16th anniversary here and was well worth it. We were served with care and the steaks were top notch. Worth the money for the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It is always a pleasure going to Ruth's Chris Steak House in. The only thing better than the food is the great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It was our first time at Ruth's Chris. We were celebrating my husband's 67th birthday. The food was very fresh and cooked to perfection. My husband liked his steak, cooked the way he wanted it and my sea bass was flaky. The spinachs that came with my entree was a good compliment to my fish. The ambiance was conducive to conversation. Service was attentive and prompt. I would highly recommend Ruth's Chris to friends for fine dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We very much so enjoyed our dining experience. Food was excellent, service was great, prices were a bit high but not too bad. We accessed the early bird menu of app, steak, side, and dessert for like $60 a plate which was a great deal. Superb steaks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Staff from hostess to bus boy, especially server Matt would give them an A, excellent
Sides and deserts, also very well done.
Salad, not too impressive. hand full of mixed greens, couple of grape toms and blob of dressing (too much) - could have tried a little harder.
The steak, what a disappointment, you're a steak house... to be fair, all were cooked to desired doneness as ordered. The fillet was actually good per daughter (though said mine at home is better - nothing special Fred Meyer Angus pan roasted and basted in butter or grilled on a Traeger). The bone in rib eye and bone in fillet where cooked perfectly but the meat was not prime, very, very lean, dry and without much flavor and both were very tough - incredibly so. The Bone in fillet had deep blood shot (clot) could have easily and should have been trimmed and rinsed off before cooking.
The bill with tip was $408 ($136 per plate). I do not mind paying over $100 a plate but I expect to be blown out of my seat for close to $150 per plate, especially with minimal drinks and free desert. Didn't say anything to the staff and did not stiff Matt on the tip because they and the cooks didn't fail but the head chef and the franchise sure did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Really great steak
Brussels sprouts were a little too aldente. AMAZING birthday platter for my wife's dessert. I went off menu for my dessert and they graciously complied. As always Ricky was amazing. Always a quality affair. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The steak was one of the best I have ever had! The servers were great, friendly and professional! Mat was wonderful and I believe it was Jace that ran out the building and a block away to catch up to us and return my wife's cell phone that she had left. It was greatly appreciated. The only downside is the expense. I am not one to spend that much on a meal, but we had a gift card.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent as always. We have several options for very nice, high end steak houses in Boise and Ruth's Chris is our favorite. Excellent food, efficient and professional staff in the heart of downtown. We come for dinners for special occasions and happy hour whenever we can.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our waiter was very good but a little "out there." He was a little theatric but toned it down once he realized we weren't playing into the drama. Overall good food and normal Ruth's Chris ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The steaks here are prepared inconsistently. I have ordered filets medium plus and received them mostly red (not pink) as well as completely overdone -no pink. The sides and salads are good. Chandlers is a much more consistent choice for a great steak in Boise. I only go to this Ruth's Chris if invited by others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have never been disappointed. You are always treated like royalty. And the food and drinks are top quality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We loved our dining experience at Ruth's Chris. Enjoyed the lovely ambiance and the delectable meal. The delightful personality of our waiter Ricardo was an unexpected added bonus to the evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Fantastic service as always. I will continue to go back to Ruth's Chris for my fine dining experience in Boise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent food...phenomenal wait staff. Alex was wonderful as well as all the others who waited on us. We definitely would recommend to all our friends and family.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It is always fantastic. The service and food is excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful place for special dinners. We've been here 3 times for birthdays/anniversaries, and Ruth's Chris never fails to impress, from outstanding service to food that's simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Dinner was great, my steak was a little too salty for my preference, but my husbands was perfection. The entree was large (we shared and still brought some home) and the mushrooms were firm! The gluten free menu gave plenty of options. The staff was kind, well informed, and attentive, not overly attentive so we weren't annoyed. Thank you for an overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The best service and the best food for a birthday celebration for my hubby! No better place for a steak that is cooked perfectly and melts in your mouth with tenderness and flavor ! The wine list is excellent with many varieties and choices whether you are enjoying a steak or dining on seafood.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

- our table was not ready for our reservation at 7:30, and they seated 3 groups who had come in after us?

- the main dining room had plenty of tables, but we were jammed into a back room with 4 other tables and had to dance around each other to get inane out?

- even in that back room of 4 tables, there were 3 different waiters so our service could have been a lot better and efficient

- I don't know how they process drink orders, but it took at least 10 minutes each time to get drinks, and the drinks were therefor out of sync with our appetizers and entres.

- when we left, the hostess stand was completed deserted--no management in sight anywhere.

Why am I even writing this? At $595 for four people, we deserved better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Just go, you will love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The staff made us feel welcome from the moment we walked through the door. The servers were phenomenal. Stephanie really knew the menu well and was able to answer our questions.
The food came put sizzling and the meat melts in your mouth. It was amazing. The sides are enough for 2 people to share. The mashed potatoes are a side that I wouldn't get again, but the sweet potato crunch and roasted Brussels sprouts were delicious.
The ambiance was romantic and fun. We didn't feel rushed at all. In fact we were encouraged to enjoy our time. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The service was exceptional. Extremely disappointed with the food to cost ratio. Extremely expensive for what you get. You can get better value ANYWHERE else in Boise. The bill for two came in at $ 287.00 and we only had a glass of wine each and not a bottle. It was our anniversary and we got stuck at a table next to the restroom. If your looking for great service this is the place to go. If your looking for great food at a reasonable price past this one by. I do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my date to Ruth's Chris for Valentine's day and the experience was absolutely amazing. We arrived 30 minutes earlier than planned and the host accommodated us and escorted us straight to a booth. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, and the food was nothing short of incredible. We had the crab cakes and a 16oz NY strip, with asparagus and mushrooms on the side, and it was delicious. It made for a great evening that we will both remember for a long time to come.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Beginning with the over the top service from Ricky to the wonderful appetizers, perfectly seasoned/cooked filets and ending with the flavorful chocolate duo desert. A big thank you for making out Valentine's Day a memorable one. I can't wait for our next visit to Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our dining out was scrumptious. Our waiter was a real professional and was always available without being overbearing. The food was cooked to perfection and the selection was tough to make. It is the best in Boise and you get what you pay for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great Service and food every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Every course was delightful. Service was friendly and outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Ruth's Chris steaks are PREMIUM. I've dined there many times and they are cooked perfectly every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First class place. Dined here two nights in a row after Wheeling Nailers vs Idaho Steelhead hockey game. Also came one afternoon for happy hour. Got fantastic service both nights. Dustin the bartender came to our table and remembered our names. Very personable and caring. Matt our server is one of the best servers we have ever had in a first class restaurant. And we have seen many. He served us both evenings and is both really personable and very professional. The service we received at Ruth's Chris in Boise will set new standards of expectation for us as we visit other establishments. Thank you for the excellent dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.