Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

4.7
473 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Start your evening the Ruth’s Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender, extra-thick, hand-cut Steak you’ve ever tasted - served "sizzling" in butter on a 500 degree plate. Our extensive a la carte menu features fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and delicious Idaho potato selections. Our menu is expertly paired with our award-winning wine list. Enjoy our warm, elegant atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris genuine hospitality. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining in our state-of-the-art media equipped rooms is one call away.

Ruth's Chris Steak House- Boise is independently owned and locally operated. We look forward to serving you soon!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour at the bar and lounge: Daily 4:30 - 6:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(208) 426-8000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
8th and Main Street
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 473 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Food was excellent, service was great! Prices were high though. Not saying they were too high for what you get, but it IS a spendy place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Food was a bit salty in general from the soup to entree

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The best crem-brûlée ever. Everything else was over rated and very overpriced. Probably ok for stuffy business dinner only.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great place to go for an anniversary dinner. Dress is pretty casual. We dressed up a bit but noticed that some were in nice jeans and that seemed appropriate. I do not feel that dressing in shorts and a t-shirt should be allowed. Overall, great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

This was our third trip to Ruth's. The service was very good and the food was top notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The food was wonderful, service great. Nice location

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We went to celebrate my 6th grade son getting straight A's on his report card. The waiter (JD) made the night special for him and even wrote "Congrats! A+ A+ A+ A+" in chocolate on his dessert. I'd highly recommend this restaurant to celebrate special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary at Ruth's Chris and the overall experience was fabulous. From outstanding service, delightful dining atmosphere, and superior service our evening was exceptional. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We celebrated becoming pregnant for the first time! The staff was amazing and congratulated us multiple times!!! It was an amazing meal (as always!!!) and the portions were large enough for dinner again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

I go here for every occasion I love it, the food is amazing and the staff is the best in Boise... I also go for happy hour any chance I get love love love it 5 stars

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

When making the reservation on Open Table, I checked the box saying it was our anniversary. Upon arrival we were surprised with rose petals and an anniversary card our table. Everyone said "Happy Anniversary" to us and made us feel special! Our waiter, Nick, did an excellent job, including his suggestion of a wonderful bottle of wine to accompany our steaks. We were also treated to a complimentary dessert of our choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Excellent service as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Always great food and service tonight was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Awesome! When you go to Ruth’s Chris, you have high expectations. The staff exceeded those high expectations—kind, polite, attentive. Wonderful meal, great time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The staff was extremely accommodating to special requests and made the night extraordinary with their service. I would recommend this place to everyone for the service alone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Thank you Don and crew. You guys outperformed and made this a super night for our group of re-united high school friends. We really appreciate everything you did for us and we'll be back for sure. My local friends enjoyed themselves and are already planning on returning soon. We wish you continued success and thank you again for your amazing hospitality!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

First class all the way! Great food, great service and great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Birthday dinner with friends. Very relaxed dinner with great attention by the staff without feeling rushed. Food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We attempt to visit a Ruth's Chris in every city that has one. This is one of the nicest ever. Very good service, food perfectly cooked. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Worst steak I’ve ever had. Tasted like butter because it was sitting a stick of it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent service and excellent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Our server was knowledgeable and very accommodating.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The prices were outrageous for corn-fed beef and mediocre service. This place doesn’t even crack the top 10 steak restaurants in the Treasure Valley but it is easily the most expensive. It took 15 minutes just to get our wine. Two steaks, two sides, one salad, one app and one bottle of wine should not cost $190. The sides (asparagus and sweet potato casserole) were also underwhelming from a flavor standpoint.

With all that said, we do enjoy the happy hour menu which is flavorful and appropriately priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Our waiter Cameron was amazing. We had an amazing night celebrating our anniversary. The food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Always consistent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Best steaks this side of heaven !!!
Fun and busy atmosphere, and
Such friendly servers !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Ruth's Chris delivers what the ultimate steakhouse promises.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

My first time at this location. I placed in the notes of my reservation that is was my mothers birthday. They did not disappoint. They made her feel special throughout the evening. All the dishes were good. We ordered the salmon, barbeque shrimp, filet, shared Caesars salad, and cheesecake. The only thing was that my steak came out medium well versus medium. I did nto say anything because the rest made up for it. A big Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We enjoyed an amazing and delicious dinner in the private room. Our waiter was fantastic and the food was even better! Ruth's Chris is expensive but worth every penny. Best steak in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The service personnel were friendly, attentive and professionally dressed. Our table was set beautifully and kept pristine throughout our courses. I took my husband for his birthday and we were both very happy with the experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Not bad at all. Steak was delicious. Appetizers were great! Try the Spicy Shrimp! Get the $100 gift cards at Costco!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great food and atmosphere, service was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Our waiter Cameron did an outstanding job keeping us in wine and food the entire evening. His service was impeccable as he took care of the Ladies in our party first. We had a splendid time at Ruth's Chris.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We went in for our anniversary dinner and had a wonderful evening. Our server was helpful and attentive, but not annoying. The harvest salad was really tasty, well balanced and fresh. The sides we had were underwhelming. The creamed spinach was fine but the au gratin potatoes were slightly undercooked and both needed a bit more salt. The meat was exceptional. Perfectly cooked, tender and delicious. I appreciated that the steaks were not heavily seasoned so the flavor of the beef stood out. We had the blue cheese crust on one of them and it was so good I recommend it to everyone. For dessert we ordered the chocolate lava cake and mousse. It did not disappoint! Not too sweet and the mousse was perfectly creamy. Perfect ending top our special meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Food was good, but pricey. Garlic Mashed potatoes tasted and looked more like grits. Waiter , JD, was mostly on point and I understand that most of his customers like to linger around after an expensive meal, but I don't! When I ask you to get the check, get it, and let me get the hell out of there! So while I am waiting impatiently for JD to bring the check, he is back in the corner bullshitting with other customers. My advice to JD, less talking, more listening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Service was great. Nice, clean place, wine room/rack awesome. Steak raw when asked for medium. Waiter brought a hot plate to cook it more, wasn’t enough. Steak house salad dry, it was the bleu cheese dressing that was the prob just bleu cheese no dressing. Potatoes undercooked. Martini good. Chocolate dessert good. They had a special happy anniversary card at the table with rose pedals that was nice and appreciated. It was a nice evening, but have had better food in prior experiences at other locations. Disappointing spending $200 for a not so great food tho I must say.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Our meal and our service were absolutely perfect; three of us had steaks that were done just the way they were ordered, and we got four sides--broccoli, asparagus, mushrooms, and au gratin potatoes--that were all excellent. As the only white wine drinker, I appreciated being able to order a premium wine like the Jordan chardonnay by the glass. Just a great meal and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

One of the finest steak houses in Boise. Great downtown location, convenient parking and restaurant design has outstanding ambiance.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The meal was okay, I’ve had better in that price range.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

After over 20 visits to various Ruth’s Chris restaurants,this visit was not up to the standards I expected.My wife’s filet was Overcooked and her order was given to another person at our table at which they exchanged their dishes.During the meal she asked for a glass of Cabernet and was given another martini.I should of brought this up to the manager but they were busy and I didn’t bother to bring these issues to their attention.Please forward to the Boise restaurant if you so desire.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12

Tweets by Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise