About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

800 W. Main Street Ste 110
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. Our steaks are cooked to perfection at 1800 degrees in our patented broilers and served “sizzling” to your table on 500-degree plates. In addition to our USDA Prime beef, we also offer fresh seafood, lobster, lamb, chicken and vegetarian options.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
N 8th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 426-8000

Website:
http://www.ruthschrisprime.com/boise/

Private Party Facilities:
Ruth's Chris Steak House Boise private dining is perfect for every occasion! We feature 3 unique and elegantly appointed rooms that vary in seating capacity from 8 - 70 people. Perfect for business meetings, birthday parties, rehearsal dinners, or lavish receptions. Our private rooms are equipped with state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment including:

- Large Screen HD LCD TV's
- Direct connect from laptop to TV
- Webcasting
- Satellite Broadcasting
- Wireless Internet
- Teleconferencing

Our expert Private Dining and Sales Manager will guide you through every step of your event, from first call to beyond-your-expectations execution of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Don Leader: 2084268000

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
11 More
Best Ambiance
Idaho
Romantic
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Most Booked
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

special occasion (31)
romantic (20)
notable wine list (12)
See All
good for groups (11)
fit for foodies (10)
hot spot (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and outstanding service! We c ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent and outstanding service! We celebrated our 25thAnniversary instyle!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great.. Kiona was a great s ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was great.. Kiona was a great server. The key lime pie was exquisite

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Not the exceptional steak this time around...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We've had great experiences at Ruth's Chris steakhouses before but not the best at this one. Although I ordered a rare rib eye steak it came out medium well but the unfortunate part was when it took about 10 minutes for our waitress to followup with us. By then it was really too late to order a new steak since my wife was done eating. The manager came, apologized and said dessert was on the house. Normally we wouldn't order dessert but since they were offering it, we did. It wasn't that great and they still charged us for it. They were busy and the staff was very nice and I've paid much more for fabulous steaks but this wasn't quite worth it. I'll try it again sometime because it could have been a fluke.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff + great food

Dined on May 28, 2016

The staff is great from the time you walk in through the meal and on the way out the door. Couple that with a restaurant that has great food, all levels, appetizers, main course and certainly great desserts......that all adds up to a great place to spend an evening having dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The lobster appetizer was great the hali ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The lobster appetizer was great the halibut was perfect our server Kiona was over the top

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

7th year anniversary

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had an amazing time on our date at Ruth's Chris! Our table looked wonderful with the bouquet and the wife loved it. The food and drinks were excellent. We loved how the entire staff was very friendly, professional, and welcoming. This is a great place for that special evening you are looking for as well as everyday dining. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

outstanding experience. Great food & bri ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

outstanding experience. Great food & brilliant service.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 1, 2016

Dinner - both food and service was great. Was there a little early for our reservation so were seated in the lounge hoping to have a drink before dinner. Must have sat there 25 minutes before anyone bused the table we were at then hurriedly asked for our drink order. After a little while longer, another person brought our drinks (martinis,) but without the blue-cheese stuffed olives we asked for. Disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed a very nice meal with the family. One ribeye was well done instead of medium rare but it was quickly replaced with one that was cooked as ordered. The side dishes - garlic mashed potatoes, mushrooms, and creamed spinach - were also delicious.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My first experience with Ruth Chris as I had a little extra money to burn so I treated a couple friends and lived it up. The cocktails were well made as my friend stated it was the best Manhattan he'd ever tasted. We started with the sea scallop appetizer which was awesome and would highly recommend. The house salads were a nice mix of fresh greens. My friends each had the ribeye and filet and were very impressed by the taste and tenderness. The petite filet and shrimp were good however the shrimp is served on the steak and the strong seasoning did mute the taste of the meat a bit but was still very good. The sides we ordered were the au gratin potatoes and asparagus which were also very delicious. We went kind of cheap with the cabernet we ordered but it was still a delicious Argentinian wine that paired well. The service was excellent as they have a bountiful staff who are very friendly and know how to serve without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 28, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris Steak House to celebrate our daughters 41st birthday and couldn't have been more impressed with the service and caring by the staff. It started off with the restaurant calling us to confirm our reservation and to ask us about any food allergies, or any other special needs. We all ordered from the Chef's Features, the Petite Filet, done medium. Two of the 3 were done perfect, but unfortunately our daughters was a little over done, when we told our waitress Jessica, she was right on the ball to get it corrected. The Manager Don came over and immediately apologized for the mistake and promised to make sure it was taken care of. Don then brought out the new steak and made sure that it was done to perfection, which it was, he also comped free desert for the 3 of us at dinner. Class act all the way! Thank you Don and our waitress, Jessica, for making our visit so memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Service was excellent!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ruth Chris

Dined on April 16, 2016

The staff was very friendly and informative. The food was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For all special occations

Dined on April 1, 2016

There isn't anything more romantic or elegant in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Great services. A pleasa ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Excellent food. Great services. A pleasant way to relax. I love it!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!! +10

Dined on March 10, 2016

What an exceptional dining experience we had and our server, Jessica, was VERY attentive, friendly and informative! She deserves our thanks and compliments!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely evening

Dined on March 6, 2016

Our family had a great evening; very good food and excellent cocktails, elegant decor. We will be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food/service, but value...?

Dined on March 2, 2016

The food and service have always been top-notch when we dine here. But, the prices are so much higher than other places in Boise, it is quite hard to justify going much. There are other very good steakhouses in town.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

My wife and I recently dined at Ruth's for our anniversary dinner. Everything was incredible, from the atmosphere, to the food, to the excellent service from our server and the helpful professional manner of everyone we interacted with throughout the night. They even made us a dessert with "Happy 12th Anniversary" written in chocolate and placed rose petals on our table. First time I have ever felt special in a restaurant. Wonderful evening. They definitely lived up to the hype. Highly recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service provided by Zach.

Dined on February 27, 2016

We always love our dinning experience at Ruth's Chris. We had the BEST server, Zach, and will be requesting him for our future reservations. It was our anniversary and he had rose petals on the table for us when we arrived and had a special desert for us. Awesome Job

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it introduced to 2 friends/ best steaks ever

Dined on February 21, 2016

The lamb chops are outstanding Best champagne cocktails ever

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We just chose Ruth's Chris to celebrate ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

We just chose Ruth's Chris to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had phenomenal food, fantastic service, and an overall unbelievable evening! Thank you so much!

food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks were amazing! The servers wer ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

The steaks were amazing! The servers were very friendly. It was a wonderful experience and I will definitely return again soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heart day

Dined on February 15, 2016

We spent a lovely evening here celebrating Valentine's day. It was our first visit, and the atmosphere, wine list and food was outstanding. Most importantly our waiter, Jeff, was so helpful and friendly. We'll definitely be back to try out some of the other dishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

30 year Anniversary

Dined on February 14, 2016

We wanted to go somewhere special and this definitely fit the bill. Service was excellent, best steak we have ever had, and great drinks. It cost quite a bit but for the experience it was worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Valentines at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse

Dined on February 13, 2016

Overall disappointed with the service and the food was under something that at $ 100 + for two would seem to merit. Will not be going back.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Meh...

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I had a $100 gift card so we decided to give Ruth's Chris a try. The service and ambiance were excellent. The salad and ahi tuna were fantastic, but everything else was like drinking butter. Don't get me wrong I love butter as much as the next guy but both our steaks, the brussels sprouts, and the mushrooms were soaked in butter. Overall the meal was ok since I only paid $55 out of pocket, but I would never recommend if its your money. Just buy some USDA primes and a pound of butter and cook your own.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the entire staff is attentive

Dined on February 12, 2016

made our anniversary very special. the food was amazing,

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A fine experience

Dined on February 10, 2016

I enjoyed it very much. Great food and service! I would eat here again and often if I could.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Overlooking Miscues

Dined on February 9, 2016

Everything was great except, they overlooked two bone in ribeye steaks at our table. Our mistake was not sending them back. For an alleged 22oz, fifty dollar steak, it was wide and thin at cut which begged for overcoming. We asked for medium rare - it was medium well to well done. I don't want to have to go through the inconvenience and the (misplaced) embarrassment of having to send a steak back. Properly butcher your meat and cook it properly the first time. For goodness sake, you're a steakhouse!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kiona does it right

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

The service by Kiona and the great food made this special occasion a GRAND SLAM NIGHT!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Details!

Dined on February 6, 2016

I made a reservation for my boyfriend's 40th birthday. It was an amazing experience. When we arrived, I was greeted as "Miss Leavitt" and the workers then said, "This must be Mr. Elliott. We hope you enjoy your evening as you celebrate your evening with us!" When we sat down at our table there was a happy birthday sign waiting for "Mr. Elliott." The atmosphere was peaceful and romantic. The table was set perfectly with every plate, utensil and napkin in it's place. Our waiter was very friendly and professional. At the end of each round of food he would clear ALL the plates and utensils, scrape the table for crumbs and reset our table. This always made it feel fresh and clean. The food was to die for. I ordered the Petite Filet Mignon and have never had a steak that compares. It was outstanding! I asked for my steak to be cooked to medium heat. The plate was so hot (500 degrees they claim) when they brought it out that I was able to slice my steak into strips and it would continue to cook in the layer of melted butter on my plate. Perfection!!! The filet melted in my mouth. My boyfriend ordered the Prime Rib, but after having a bite of mine determined he would order the Filet next time. The meat is amazing. It's much more expensive than I'm accustomed to paying when I eat out, but it as PERFECT for the situation. I think everyone should have the Ruth's Chris experience at least once in their lives! I hope that wasn't my only visit in this lifetime. :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I received a call at about 12 pm to conf ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

I received a call at about 12 pm to confirm my reservation. Extremely impressed. Strong Work. A+++

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food and atmosphere were great, but the service was the real stand-out! We were celebrating an anniversary, and the entire staff (hostess, waiter, busboys, and manager) all made it a point to stop by our table to wish us well. It was an outstanding experience and we recommend Ruth's Chris very highly. Outstanding wines by the glass, and the desserts were great, too! Five stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Had a reservation... seated in bar

Dined on January 24, 2016

Overall the place is very nice. Made a reservation more than 3 weeks in advance and arrived more than 10 minutes before our reservation time. After waiting approximately 5 minutes they seated us in the bar. I usually don't expect to pay more than $200+ for dinner for two with TVs showing college basketball in the background... that's why I make a reservation with plenty of notice. Beyond that, service was great, food was very good and portions were generous.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A bit expensive

Dined on January 24, 2016

Great restaurant, excellent food, outstanding service, but unless you're in the upper income bracket, it's a special occasion restaurant only. Btw, you can buy $100 worth of gift cards at Costco for $70, which help tremendously.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Standard Ruth's, wouldn't expect anythin ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Standard Ruth's, wouldn't expect anything less!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

perfect for special occasion

Dined on January 17, 2016

This is a pricey restaurant--save it for your very special occasions. It is well worth the cost--excellent food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ruth Chris is always a fabulous place for dining.

Dined on January 14, 2016

Wait staff is always very knowledgable, kind and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on January 10, 2016

The food and service were both top notch as usual. Love the steaks...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.