About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin

107 W. 6th Street
The Scarborough Building
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (512) 477-7884 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Austin is hands down the finest steak house in the capital city. Whether you would like to host a private gathering, relax in our lounge, or treat yourself to the best steak around - Ruth's Chris has it all. Come on down and see for yourself why the Austin American Statesman awarded us "Best Steak in Austin."

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens nightly at 4:30pm.

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7884

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/austin

Executive Chef:
Angel Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer six private dining rooms, seating 8 to 100 people, that are suitable for any occasion. Whether it is a small private get-together or a large business banquet, you are sure to find a room suitable for your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Kelsh : 8885604541

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Wedge Salad
Creamed Spinach
BBQ Shrimp
Ahi Tuna Stack With Lump Crab And Roasted Red Pepper
Tuna Stack
Oysters Rockefeller
Stuffed Chicken
Filet
Sweet Potatoe Casserole
Mushroom
Apple Pie
Porterhouse For Two
Stuffed Chicken Breast
Cowboy Ribeye
Ribeye

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Austin
Steakhouse
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (16)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ruth's Chris is our "go to" restaurant f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Ruth's Chris is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions, great steak and great service. They never disappoint. We just recently went again for my husband's birthday, and those wonderful steaks came out on the 500 degree plate as always, and they were cooked to perfection. We always look forward to a meal there, and I am certain we will continue to go there again and again. Besides the steak, we especially enjoy the spicy lobster tail appetizer and the harvest salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just celebrated my wife's birthday wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We just celebrated my wife's birthday with a quiet dinner for 2 and the entire experience was fantastic! In the reservation call they suggested some champagne or prosecco to be waiting for our arrival which I agreed to - made it a little extra special. The salad and appetizer were uncommonly gorgeous and, oh yeah, very tasty. Service was impeccable and very attentive. The manager made an appearance to confirm our satisfaction. The meat was unbelievable (ribeye and filet with shrimp). Dessert was perfect and a perfect end to the meal.

It was a grand slam home run!

PS - Newcomers to town: be careful with street parking on game night. The buses take priority over diners apparently :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good. But it is not as good as t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was good. But it is not as good as the Ruth's in Baton Rouge or Lafayette. Some of the menu items appear to be different. But overall a good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The steak was fantastic as usual, but th ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The steak was fantastic as usual, but the service was subpar. We were never offered any bread and finally had to ask for it after we were done with our appetizer. Someone brought our bread, but took the appetizer plates and utensils which left no plates and only steak knives for the butter. No one ever noticed that we had no plates for the bread. We ordered cheesecake for dessert and it took 20 minutes to arrive with no word about updates or timing, etc. Disappointing after our last visit in January as our service and food were excellent on that visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing filet mignon and sea bass. Our ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing filet mignon and sea bass. Our server was appropriately attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant, always great! Cu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My favorite restaurant, always great! Currently under renovation, and it was time for one. Looking forward to the finished product.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Remodeling so the atmosphere wasn't the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Remodeling so the atmosphere wasn't the best. Can't wait to see when it's complete.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Our experience was great at Ruth's Chris ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our experience was great at Ruth's Chris in Austin. We celebrated our wedding anniversary there and they decorated our table for the occasion and also gave us a free dessert to take with us. Their service was exceptional and as usual the food was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Ruth's Chris to celebrate our ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris to celebrate our anniversary. The food was phenomenal as usual and our waiter was fantastic! The Austin location is under construction in some parts of the restaurant and it was uncomfortably warm in the main dining room. It was so uncomfortable that I had a difficult time enjoying my dinner. I'm very sure it was an anomaly, otherwise it would have been perfect. We love Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris does not disappoint! Awesom ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Ruth's Chris does not disappoint! Awesome dinner- steaks were perfect, & appetizers were delicious! Service was spectacular!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A great Father's Day meal!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A great Father's Day meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, service started out well ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was great, service started out well but was dissapointing by middle of meal. Plates were not cleared, wait staff disappeared for a while and deserts were very slow to come out.

Construction in bar area was a disappointment, most of the bar was closed and seemed that they didn't have electricity because bar was very dark.

Temperature in dining area felt like it was 80 degrees or more, couldn't wait for the check!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

The filets are always good. 2 out of 3 ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The filets are always good. 2 out of 3 of our steaks were undercooked but graciously taken back and cooked longer. This is the second or third time, though, that we seemed to have lost our waiter. Our waiter would be gone for long periods of time, and another waiter would stop by and check on us. We do not like the inconsistency this brings to our experience. We also do not know which server we are tipping because the one who takes us over would receive a better tip than the one server who appeared to abandon us. We love Ruth's Chris, but I'm not sure this is an experience that we want to keep repeating. There are other great steakhouses in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great Place For Steak and Sweet Potatoes

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The steak here is really good, but for me it was not the star of my meal. The star of my meal was a lovely side dish of sweet potatoes. This sweet potato casserole dish was one of the best things I have ever eaten. It is perfect. Go for the steak and stay for the sweet potatoes.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Austin

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I will go back but this location is under renovation which made everything seem chlostrophobic. The service was average but the bar service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Restaurant - Excellent Food!!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We visited Ruth's Chris Steak house for a combination Birthday and Anniversary Celebration. My husband and I had planned this visit for (3) years and finally made it in the 3rd year. It seemed that every year near our Anniversary something would happen to prevent us from going. I'm so glad we finally made it, the steak was fabulous and the side delicious too. It is not the kind of restaurant we would visit on a regular basis as it is pricey for a regular schedule, but it is great for that special occasion that you would like to splurge. I would highly recommend it when you want to splurge. The staff was very attentive and friendly too, and made us feel very well cared for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyday comfort zone

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

You can't go wrong with Ruth Chris...in my opinion. :) Even when there's construction, the service is attentive and never failing. Appetizers & drinks, or a slow dinner for the evening,--it is always great! Staff is much appreciated h

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Night out with one of my favorite girls.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

I was in Austin on business and took my niece and her boyfriend to dinner at Ruth's Chris. They were very pleased with everything and I was happy about that. Our waiter Shahin was perfect! He visited enough without making a nuicense of himself. He new all about the menu and made great suggestions. This is the best Ruth's Chris Steak House I've ever been to and I go every time I'm in Austin as well as sometimes other Cities but this is the best.

Well worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not up to previous visits. Still the bes ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Not up to previous visits. Still the best steaks in town but the wine list and bus staff training have suffered seriously from the recent conversion from franchise to corporate location. Some favorite menu items have been discontinued. Additionally the facility is undergoing a remodel so the ambiance is lacking. Overall a disappointing evening. My advice: stay away until the remodel is finished and the transition is sorted out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Needs a makeover

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was delicious and cooked just as requested - steak was not salty, no butter just perfect. It was our anniversary and the restaurant made it special for us. The service was very good. The place needs a makeover though and is being renovated ( was not aware when I made the reservation). It is outdated and way too bright - dim the lights please!

The prices are incredibly high and I feel over priced...$11 for approx. 8 grilled ( delicious though) asparagus. Just a tad too pricey for what is served. Given the number of steak restaurants in Austin I would not book again.

Also perhaps a dress code might be in order as somehow people have no idea they need to dress to go out to dinner. I honestly take offense at going out for a romantic and pricey dinner and making an effort to look nice only to have to sit with people who look as though they have rolled out of bed...shorts and tshirts should be for the Lake only!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Very nice restaurant. Our waiter was ver ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Our waiter was very good and very attentive to our needs. The seafood tower and the steaks were excellent!

The only negative was that the booth seats were worn and had been taped. I noticed other booths had tape on the seats. For a high end restaurant such as this, you wouldn't expect to see that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was fine. Nothing special. But it sho ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

It was fine. Nothing special. But it should be. Perhaps my expectations are too high. Service was inattentive and slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Perfectly delicious, as always!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Best steak in Austin, no Question! Great wine list, though the red wine isn't stored in a cellar so I have ask them to throw it in the freezer for 5-10 min to get it to the proper temperature... (they're remodeling, so hopefully they add a cellar!...) Great service always. Can't go wrong here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

A restaurant worth trying.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great steaks, and excellent service. However the price is a little bit too expensive if you live in Texas where we have great steak houses to a much better price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Easter Dinner

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Easter Dinner. The service was a little slow and it wasn't crowded. Food was great as always.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Easter Day

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic srvice and fabulous food. I absolutely love the crab cakes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

absolutely amazing.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Sat at the bar for dinner and was perfect. Both bartenders were attentive and called me by name. The drinks were spot on and the food was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Amazing food, fantastic service! I had messed up my reservation and scheduled for 7:15, but I thought I had at 8:30. They were very accommodating and nice about the whole thing

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Son's 15th Birthday

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We've started a tradition over the last couple of years of taking our son and a friend to Ruth's Chris for his birthday - his favorite steakhouse. Ruth's Chris never disappoints! We were taken to a table with "Happy Birthday" confetti on it, and my son was greeted with birthday wishes from our waiter. Our steaks were cooked to perfection, and each part of our meal from appetizers (awesome spicy lobster!) to desert were fabulous. Napolean was an exceptional waiter, and we will request him when we next return to Ruth's Chris.

Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious thick steak

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

My sister asked me to describe my favorite meal in advance of my 50th birthday in September. After describing it, I thought, I can't wait until September for that ... so we went to Ruth's Chris for my husband's birthday in February :-). De-lic-ious. One minor and probably unavoidable error in steak preparation (if the steak is 2 1/2" thick, how do you cook the very inside to 'medium well' without overcooking the rest? - it worked out, my husband likes his steak only barely dead, so he got that bit). Very lovely treatment of the birthday with a crème brulée and a happy birthday inscription in chocolate on the plate holding it (I'm gluten-intolerant and they chose the gluten-free dessert).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ruth Chris had put out the sweetest glit ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Ruth Chris had put out the sweetest glitter on our table to celebrate our anniversary and just thought that was so charming. Had some issues with the steak being mostly gristle which put a kink in our dining experience. The waiter didn't make us pay for the one steak which was kind. Hopefully next time we will get the same quality steak we always get at Ruth Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

I eat at RC restaurants all over the cou ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I eat at RC restaurants all over the country. The service quality at this location is not as good as others, so I scored it lower. It could be the culture in Texas, but they need to learn fine dining etiquette a bit better for this price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Always great food and professional staff ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Always great food and professional staff never been disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant Experience

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

We have dined here several times and it has always been a very pleasant experience. Highly recommended and Great stakes!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BIRTHDAY LETDOWN

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris Friday Jan 29 to celebrate my husband's birthday, a tradition for our birthdays for many years. We love the quiet bar area but when we arrived the music was so loud in the bar area that we just went straight to the dining room. Right away it seemed that the staff was experiencing a slow night. The food was, as always, great and the service very nice. Though I had made a note of a birthday on my reservation online, the staff never mentioned it. One of us had a multi course meal that included dessert--never delivered to our table. And when we go for a birthday, a candle on a slice of cake is ALWAYS brought to our table--but not this time. All in all, we felt that we were just rushed through what usually is a wonderful, slow and friendly dining experience. Just a bad night????

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Rangersfan

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Our service and food was excellent. We enjoyed everything we ordered. The food was fresh, prepared as ordered and was fresh. There wasn't anything about the evening that we did not enjoy. It was a wonderful, pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Everything was perfect from the personal attention we received to the mouth watering dishes. Everything we ate was over the top in excellence. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and plan to do so again in the future.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the top

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

It's hard to beat Ruth's for dinner. The food is always fabulous. The services was top notch. It wasn't very busy that night so it seemed like every minute someone was checking on us but it never seemed obtrusive. I particularly liked that they staff address my table by name each time. Don't know if that's something they can do when it's full on but it made it seem like they truly valued our reservation.

Of course I'd go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined early on New Year's Eve and the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We dined early on New Year's Eve and the staff was welcoming. We never felt rushed and were allowed to order our favorite selections off the regular menu. We are never disappointed by Ruth's Chris Steak house.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster Mac n cheese was really good!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Lobster Mac n cheese was really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.