Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (512) 477-7884 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Austin is hands down the finest steak house in the capital city. Whether you would like to host a private gathering, relax in our lounge, or treat yourself to the best steak around - Ruth's Chris has it all. Come on down and see for yourself why the Austin American Statesman awarded us "Best Steak in Austin."

107 W. 6th Street
The Scarborough Building
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens nightly at 4:30pm.

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7884

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/austin

Executive Chef:
Angel Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer six private dining rooms, seating 8 to 100 people, that are suitable for any occasion. Whether it is a small private get-together or a large business banquet, you are sure to find a room suitable for your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Kelsh : (888) 560-4541

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

GoodForDates (18)
NotableWineList (16)
SpecialOccasions (16)
See All
Anniversaries (15)
Birthdays (14)
BusinessMeals (11)
Romance (11)
QuietConversation (9)
BarSeating (7)
WorthTheDrive (6)
HappyHour (5)
HandcraftedCocktails (5)
Groups (4)
Foodies (3)
Cozy (3)
NeighborhoodGem (3)
CreativeCuisine (3)
HotSpot (3)
PrivateRoom (3)
PaleoFriendly (3)
TastingMenu (2)
DisabledAccess (2)
LateNightFind (2)
GlutenFree (2)
ModernDecor (2)
PrePostTheatre (1)
QuickBite (1)
Historic (1)
ComfortFood (1)
Casual (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
Tapas (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
PeopleWatching (1)
LiveSports (1)
VibrantBarScene (1)
SundayLunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Going to miss our favorite waiter Shaheen

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Horrible service. Never coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We went to celebrate my sons' great report cards, and the staff could not have been nicer to them.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We took my husband to Ruth's Chris for an early Father's Day celebration. As usual, our steaks were cooked to perfection, and the service was perfect. We all had filet mignons. We love the 500 degree plate they are served on - the steak stays warm throughout the meal. It's our favorite place for steak in Austin!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Ruth's Chris Steak House in Austin, was on my not to go list, until Saturday night. Pricey but well worth the reactions of our wives. A must now!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food. Only complaint is that cocktails are watered down. Charge more or serve less. Old Fashioned is not served with water and crushed ice. Everything else was great as usual.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Ruth's Chris was awesome, as it always is. It was an anniversary and they had decorated the table. Service was absolutely outstanding, no rush, all questions answered and suggestions made. Their martini was a little too salty for my wife, they immediately took it away and brought a new one. Wine selection was outstanding, with a number of possibilities by the glass. Food is usually ala carte, but they had available dinners that had 4courses that were excellent and less expensive than the 4 courses separately. The waiter "bought" us an additional dessert not on the menu that was wonderful and in addition to the regular desserts on the special dinners. All in all an exceptional (and expensive but worth it) dinner!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful experience with my wife for her birthday. Special table decor, great, wine, dessert and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Love the new decor, and still superb service. Crab cakes are the best!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service is attentive. My main complaint is the Lobster tail we ordered was served on a cold plate. Also the plate for steak does not hold the temperature long enough. Compared to other Ruth's Chris I think this one is slightly underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really pleased that our kids were able to enjoy the amazing environment. Nice kids options and of course great overall food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was good as was the very friendly service. The newly renovated space was generic and could have been anywhere.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

When you walk in, you'll see a very relaxed casual dining area at the front of the restaurant. When you walk to the back you'll see a more low-lit romantic area. You get the best of both worlds.

The food - amazing! I got the Prime New York Strip in an Au Poivre style (peppercorn crusted). It was delicious. The flavor is very juicy and the texture is just right. One of the better New York Strips I've had in Austin. They served it on a very hot plate and it made the steak the perfect hot temperature the whole time. Got the Cheesecake for dessert and it was pretty good too. It lacked some sauce so I asked for a side of raspberry sauce to top it off.

The service - awesome! I had Sarah and she was very personable and outgoing. She got to know us and checked up on us quite often. Ask for her!

Overall, I left highly satisfied and will continue to be back. I've been to all the steakhouses in Austin and Ruth's Chris is definitely making its mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I've eaten at Ruth Chris twice, differernt cities, in the past two weeks. Ruth Chris is always my first choice of a nice restaurant because it's always perfect. But the last two trips were disappointing . I got the 8 oz filet both times, medium rare. Both times the meat just wasn't very good. tough, chewy. Not melt in your mouth perfect. One of my party ordered her's blood rare but nobody could tell the difference between a med rare steak and a rare one.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I reserved a table for 2 for 8:15 pm. We waited 50 minutes past our reservation time. When the hostess came to the bar to tell us our table was finally ready, she said "do you want to go to your table now, or would you prefer to order dinner at the bar?" REALLY? We waited for 50 minutes AFTER our RESERVED TIME. If we wanted to order at the bar, we would have already done so. I could not believe how rude she was. No one ever apologized to us for the wait.

Additionally, we had ordered a bottle of wine at the bar while we waited. When it was finally time to move to the table, we wanted to take the unfinished bottle with us. No one offered to cork the bottle and deliver it to the table. We had to carry it ourselves. It was very awkward. Normally in a classy restaurant this would not happen.

The waiter was polite, but when the food arrived the creamed spinach was not warm and the shoestring fries tasted like cardboard. I will not return. The food was below average and the staff was not professional.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My wife and I had a very disappointing experience at the Ruth's Chris in Austin, Texas. Despite having a reservation for a party of four, we waited almost an hour and then were seated In a cramp space better suited for two. After complaining, we were told no other tables were available. We frustratingly looked on as couples were repeatedly seated at tables that could accommodate parties of four or more. Overall, it was a very unsatisfying experience and with plenty of dining options available has now encouraged us to find other places to dine in downtown Austin.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As always, awesome food, wine, service, and (now, after the renovation) ambiance! And also as always, Rachel is the best of the best Server! You're literally stupid if you don't eat here and ask get Rachel!...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went for our 25th Anniversary. It was good. Not great. Both of our filet steaks had parts that were very chewy. Not what you would expect from a high end steak house. This was our second time at Ruth's Chris Austin. I did not have high expectations. I would give our first visit a C and our second visit a B. I don't think I will go back unless someone else was paying. Too many other choices.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The transformation of our Ruth's Chris in Austin has been excellent. As usual the steaks were great along with the sides. The service was excellent as well. With the investment in renovating the restaurant and the new attention to promotion it has been a total improvement.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our server, Rachel, went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our dinner celebrating our 45th Wedding Anniversary. It was very much appreciated.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love this location. Service is always fantastic and they went the extra mile for our anniversary dinner celebration. Rachel was our waitress and she went above and beyond for us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We went to Ruth's Chris for our 20th anniversary. The steak was good, the sides were meh. There was live music in the bar and taped music playing in the dining room. But you could hear both. Out sever was friendly but disappeared a lot. We had a second server take over mid-way but we had to figure that out on our own and our first server was still around so it was a little confusing. I think there are better options in Austin for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing service and meal at Ruth's Chris Steak House.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Just not the high end experience we were expecting. Rushed service, not knowledgeable on wine, etc. Place wasn't full either. Won't be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Sold out of NY Strips the night before. I was only made aware of this after the cocktails were delivered and my order was placed. First, how does a prime steakhouse run out of NY Strips? Second, if they are sold out why wasn't that communicated to me prior to seating or at the time of seating?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Delicious, as always!...

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yorkshire)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The steak was superb. So was the crab starter. Fantastic flavours. Service was also top notch.

Only bit I didn't like was the auto 20% gratuity and then being given a reciept with a tip / service option.

Either ask me or auto take it. Don't try and get both.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I was disappointed in this Ruth Chris, due to the lack of seasonings on my steak. While I'll admit that the steak was perfectly cooked and looked great, the steak was a little bland. I eat at other Ruth Chris locations and haven't felt this way about the steak flavor, or lack of it, before.

I'm also not a big fan of the lyonnaise potatoes. I had the price fixe classic and would have preferred to have more choices, such as the au gratin potato. The cheesecake dessert was small, but good. Overall, the price fixe meal is a good value for the restaurant, since prices at these steak types of steak restaurants are rather high.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We live near Houston but our kids are closer to Austin so we met at the Austin Ruth Chris. I have never been to any of the Ruth Chris steakhouses. They were awesome. They had the table decorated with little happy birthday glitter for my son and explained all the food choices and made it very easy for us to decide what to eat. My son had the steak and shrimp and loved it. My husband and daughter split a boned in steak and said it was wonderful. I had the petite filet and cannot say enough about it. The sides are very good also. I recommend the mashed potatoes and sweet potato casserole. They brought my son a beautiful plate with a dessert and a candle. didn't embarrass him with the singing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Another wonderful experience. We just ordered a series of appetizers and each was perfect. Napoleon was great and attentive. Always a pleasure to dine there just before shows at the Paramount Theatre.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Not as good as usual. They ran out of several items. Very disappointed especially for the outlandish cost.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious cuisine and nice atmosphere. Wait staff very attentive and courteous. Great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service from the receptionist, the waiter, the manager and all of the support staff were fantastic! Great place and the remodeled front area was very warm and inviting! Thumbs up for a great experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Terrible service. Took a half hour just to get drinks.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service from start to finish.
Food was excellent - as expected.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Sarah and James took care of us from start to finish. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was perfect, and service was fantastic. This was our best Valentine's Date to date!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good, service was decent, management sub par. Made a reservation for a nice dinner. Received a gift card several years ago with no expiration date. Attempted to use it and they said it had been used in 2012, when in fact it had not. Paid the bill without objection and left in disgust. Filed a formal complaint with Ruth's Chris corporate. Should be hearing back within two business days. Paid way too much for a slightly above average meal and poor service. You would think a "fine dining establishment" would treat their customers with a little more class. There are many superior steakhouses in Austin. We will be dining elsewhere from now on.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Prime experience, perfect and awesome!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Excellent as always! Steak cooked to perfection and the lobster Mac & cheese was well... awesome.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great steaks, appetizers, and drinks served by a very attentive waiter.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.