About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin

107 W. 6th Street
The Scarborough Building
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (512) 477-7884 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Austin is hands down the finest steak house in the capital city. Whether you would like to host a private gathering, relax in our lounge, or treat yourself to the best steak around - Ruth's Chris has it all. Come on down and see for yourself why the Austin American Statesman awarded us "Best Steak in Austin."

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens nightly at 4:30pm.

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7884

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/austin

Executive Chef:
Angel Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer six private dining rooms, seating 8 to 100 people, that are suitable for any occasion. Whether it is a small private get-together or a large business banquet, you are sure to find a room suitable for your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Kelsh : (888) 560-4541

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Rcsh Tomahawk - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Bone In Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Crabstack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Fire-roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Wedge Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Creamed Spinach - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
BBQ Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ahi Tuna Stack With Lump Crab And Roasted Red Pepper  - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Tuna Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Oysters Rockefeller - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Stuffed Chicken - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Sweet Potatoe Casserole - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Mushroom - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Apple Pie - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Porterhouse For Two - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Stuffed Chicken Breast - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Cowboy Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate love at Ruth’s Chris Steak House and make this Valentine’s Day one to remember.

We're opening our doors early Valentine's Weekend, Saturday, 2/11 - Tuesday, 2/14.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Birthdays (14)
See All
Business Meals (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Historic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Family Style (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a fabulous meal, starting with th ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a fabulous meal, starting with the spicy lobster appetizer, harvest salad, filet mignons, baked potatoes and finishing with cheesecake. It was all really great!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating planning our wedding and lov ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Celebrating planning our wedding and loving those steaks . Nobody does steaks better !!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Romantic, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Growing up, I remember hearing "Ruth's C ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Growing up, I remember hearing "Ruth's Chris" as being one of the steak houses you have to eat at, but I never figured it would be so that I could see it's no better, if not worse than a Texas Roadhouse.

The staff, while not unpleasant, seemed stiff and lacked in the art of conversation. The waitress was distant, but performed her tasks adequately. The food served hoped to mask what it lacked in quality with an over-abundance of butter. My filet mignon was ordered medium rare and I received medium, bordering on medium well. It was up to me to reorder, but I didn't have time to wait that evening. The mashed potatoes were a few degrees away from being soup. The wine list, while impressive, is largely overpriced.

My roommate and I agreed that Texas Roadhouse would've been a better option. Thankfully we paid for this meal with a giftcard. I won't be returning.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Still great after many years. My wife a ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Still great after many years. My wife and I went for date night and it was great night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another excellent dinner at Ruth's Chris ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Another excellent dinner at Ruth's Chris. Always consistently good food. Meats are always perfect and sized to meet individual needs. Sides are way too large (except for the shoe string potatoes)!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Table was ready at reservation time. O ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Table was ready at reservation time. Our server, Tate, was good, not too pushy but generaly available as needed. The food was excellent, as always. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely wonderful as always.

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything, service, wine, drinks, steak ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

everything, service, wine, drinks, steaks, sides, deserts, was perfect. Yeah it's pricey, but well worth it. you get your moneys worth

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took over 40min. Two of three steaks del ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Took over 40min. Two of three steaks delivered extra rare. One was ordered medium plus, the other medium well. They put the same steaks back on the grill and brought them back out more cooked and mostly dry. Kids baked chicken was ordered not-stuffed and was brought out stuffed. Asked for a corrected one and the replacement was also stuffed. Gave up and carved some chicken from the edges to get the kiddo fed.

Only adjustment on the bill was for the kids chicken. They were comfortable charging full price for completely wrong, then double-cooked filets.

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Our first time to RC was for a family Ch ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our first time to RC was for a family Christmas Day dinner. We were so happy to find a nice, 'fancy' place that was actually open, and this evening was a special surprise for the kids. It was definitely an 'off' night though for them, and that was very unfortunate. All our food arrived cold after a 1+ hour delay, steaks had to be sent back, lobster tails were reheated. We ended up having to eat in shifts as warm food came out: not ideal or special at all, and extremely disappointing after waiting my whole adult life to finally dine at Ruth's Chris.

To be fair, our waiter was extremely apologetic and did all he could to make the evening right, and we tipped him generously. Management was notified (the evening really was THAT bad) and they took care of our bill, which was the right thing to do and we were grateful. Unfortunately, the whole evening was just a mess and the kids were asking if we could return to Texas Land & Cattle next year b/c they had better experience there (!).

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Unfortunately this was one of their busi ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Unfortunately this was one of their busiest days of the year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Service was horrible. Way below their s ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was horrible. Way below their standards. The restaurant pretty much gave up trying to do their jobs half way through the meal. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Went there for Christmas dinner. Hadn't ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went there for Christmas dinner. Hadn't been to Ruth's Chris is a while. Overall, dinner was fine. I asked for the Cowboy Cut Ribeye 22oz. and was a little disappointed in the size of the steak. When it came to my plate was about 3/4 inch thick (If that) and there was barely no bone. I had to ask for fresh crushed pepper. It's typically offered. The beef itself was cooled properly and cut like butter.

I was disappointed that they no longer serve French Onion Soup because I had, until then, regarded theirs as one of the best.

I also seemed to recall the waiters come over to clear crumbs from the place settings that also never happened.

Not sure if I'll be too eager to try again for a while. Too many other choices in Austin for top shelf steaks where I can get larger cuts & better service and a fully overloaded baked potato.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We had Christmas dinner here. When our ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had Christmas dinner here.

When our food finally arrived, our sparkling water was lukewarm because it took the food so long to get there. Our baked potato was also lukewarm. This indicates neglect on the part of the server, not the chef. The waitress had a less than acceptable attitude and actually scolded me for not brining the cold food to her attention sooner. I would have been happy to tell her about the problem had she bothered to show up and ask how our food was after we started eating. She never showed up again until it was time to order dessert. The plates were not sizzling as has been the case with all of our other visits to Ruth's Chris around the US. She did manage to remove the potato from our bill but left the lukewarm water on. For $200, we expected just a bit more from this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Went for Christmas dinner and we were no ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas dinner and we were not disappointed. An early evening reservation worked well. Was much quieter than other Ruth's Chris restaurants we have been in. Food was excellent,,, my favorite side was the spinach; broccoli was excellent. Nothing was over-salted. Service was attentive but not distracting. Valet parking was good but expensive

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was told as I was being seated that th ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I was told as I was being seated that they had a requirement that I had to remove my hat in the dining room a request that I did not mind following but they did not have a hat check nor even a hat rack. What to do?

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas tradition has begun! Thank yo ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas tradition has begun! Thank you Ruth's Chris for a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They were nice to accommodate my request ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They were nice to accommodate my request to sit in front room which I prefer to the darker dining area. Chef did come out and say hi, which is always a great thing. Ahi was not up to snuff

but I ought to know better than to order fish on Christmas Sunday! Waitress was great. Food otherwise delightful. LOVE that front room bc you can watch the people walking by! will do this again soon. In fact, would like to repeat this experience (sans fish) next Christmas and sooner~

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Food quality was not up to par but did l ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food quality was not up to par but did like the renovations to the space and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was very good. Great calamari a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was very good. Great calamari appetizer! I get the desire to have a warm/hot steak from first to last bite, but as someone who prefers her steak medium rare, by the end of the meal my steak was medium well since it keeps cooking on the hot plate. BUT, it was still a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and James was a superb se ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food and James was a superb server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only issue we had was with our service. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Only issue we had was with our service. No plates with bread. Asked for something and took too long to get. Spent a long time talking to table next to us about him being from SC when we were waiting for something to be brought to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Took an hour and a half to get our main ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Took an hour and a half to get our main orders and all we ordered before that was a salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Austin is the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Austin is the perfect place for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The filet steak I ordered was superb! I ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The filet steak I ordered was superb! I like that they season their steaks with only salt and pepper. They also bring it out on a sizzling buttery hot plate. We had their roasted corn with jalapenos, fries, and broccoli as our sides. I will say, the sides were not that good. So you might just want to stick with eating just the steaks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, service, wine list and atmosp ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food, service, wine list and atmosphere are generally wonderful at Ruth's Chris. This time I was a bit disappointed though, especially because it was a special occasion. The food was great, as usual. I was a bit surprised that two glasses of Veuve Clicquot champagne cost $50. The price is is over 200% higher than if I were to purchase it myself and about a third more expensive than I would expect it to be, even at an upscale restaurant.

My biggest objection; however, is that management did not regulate the disruptive and of noxious behavior of a large group of guests who were also at the restaurant. The large party spent much of their time in the bar area, very loudly cheering and booing a sports event showing on TV. Every table in the main dining area was disrupted by their inappropriate behavior and once they moved it to the party room, where they were dining, the cheering and booing didn't stop. I'm sure they were celebrating- perhaps a wedding rehearsal or engagement party- but I was dismayed that they were not told by management to be respectful of every other person in the restaurant, whose dinner they were so rudely interrupting.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We were celebrating our son's birthday s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We were celebrating our son's birthday so we wanted something very special. Ruth's Chris Steak House was the perfect choice. The service was excellent, food was expertly prepared and served with extreme professionalism, the atmosphere was beautiful and relaxing. We enjoyed ourselves very much!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sara our server was awesome Very friend ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sara our server was awesome

Very friendly easy to look at easy to talk to and very professional

Food was great my steak was delecious

We will be coming back

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Ruth's Chris never disappoints and the s ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Ruth's Chris never disappoints and the staff are so nice!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great dining experience and chose newly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great dining experience and chose newly redone bar vs single person table seating. Great service, petit filet was just perfect and yummy, ax were string fries so many that I shared with other patrons. Great service by both barmen! Can never go wrong at Ruth Chris!

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the new renovations! Dinner was de ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Love the new renovations! Dinner was delicious, as always. We sat in the new area in the bar and had a lovely dinner. Ruth's Chris always makes our special occasions more memorable and special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my 13 year old son for a bday dinne ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Took my 13 year old son for a bday dinner tonight. Top rate food. Renovations are complete and amazing. Service was ok. Couple times I was sitting there with nothing to drink which is a pet peeve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Restaurant was under construction. Waite ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Restaurant was under construction. Waited to be seated despite lots of open tables. Server disappeared frequently for extended lengths of time. Server assistant poured ice water into a sparkling water glass, then never replaced the glass. Filet was tough. Ravioli was exceptionally salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Ruth's Chris is our "go to" restaurant f ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Ruth's Chris is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions, great steak and great service. They never disappoint. We just recently went again for my husband's birthday, and those wonderful steaks came out on the 500 degree plate as always, and they were cooked to perfection. We always look forward to a meal there, and I am certain we will continue to go there again and again. Besides the steak, we especially enjoy the spicy lobster tail appetizer and the harvest salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just celebrated my wife's birthday wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We just celebrated my wife's birthday with a quiet dinner for 2 and the entire experience was fantastic! In the reservation call they suggested some champagne or prosecco to be waiting for our arrival which I agreed to - made it a little extra special. The salad and appetizer were uncommonly gorgeous and, oh yeah, very tasty. Service was impeccable and very attentive. The manager made an appearance to confirm our satisfaction. The meat was unbelievable (ribeye and filet with shrimp). Dessert was perfect and a perfect end to the meal.

It was a grand slam home run!

PS - Newcomers to town: be careful with street parking on game night. The buses take priority over diners apparently :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good. But it is not as good as t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was good. But it is not as good as the Ruth's in Baton Rouge or Lafayette. Some of the menu items appear to be different. But overall a good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The steak was fantastic as usual, but th ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The steak was fantastic as usual, but the service was subpar. We were never offered any bread and finally had to ask for it after we were done with our appetizer. Someone brought our bread, but took the appetizer plates and utensils which left no plates and only steak knives for the butter. No one ever noticed that we had no plates for the bread. We ordered cheesecake for dessert and it took 20 minutes to arrive with no word about updates or timing, etc. Disappointing after our last visit in January as our service and food were excellent on that visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing filet mignon and sea bass. Our ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing filet mignon and sea bass. Our server was appropriately attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant, always great! Cu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

My favorite restaurant, always great! Currently under renovation, and it was time for one. Looking forward to the finished product.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Remodeling so the atmosphere wasn't the ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Remodeling so the atmosphere wasn't the best. Can't wait to see when it's complete.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.