Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (512) 477-7884 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Austin is hands down the finest steak house in the capital city. Whether you would like to host a private gathering, relax in our lounge, or treat yourself to the best steak around - Ruth's Chris has it all. Come on down and see for yourself why the Austin American Statesman awarded us "Best Steak in Austin."

107 W. 6th Street
The Scarborough Building
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens nightly at 4:30pm.

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7884

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/austin

Executive Chef:
Angel Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer six private dining rooms, seating 8 to 100 people, that are suitable for any occasion. Whether it is a small private get-together or a large business banquet, you are sure to find a room suitable for your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Kelsh : (888) 560-4541

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Mom always put you first. Time to return the favor. Celebrate Mother's Day at Ruth's, open early starting at 12pm.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Worth the Drive (11)
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Business Meals (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Cozy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
720 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for our 25th Anniversary. It was good. Not great. Both of our filet steaks had parts that were very chewy. Not what you would expect from a high end steak house. This was our second time at Ruth's Chris Austin. I did not have high expectations. I would give our first visit a C and our second visit a B. I don't think I will go back unless someone else was paying. Too many other choices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The transformation of our Ruth's Chris in Austin has been excellent. As usual the steaks were great along with the sides. The service was excellent as well. With the investment in renovating the restaurant and the new attention to promotion it has been a total improvement.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our server, Rachel, went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our dinner celebrating our 45th Wedding Anniversary. It was very much appreciated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love this location. Service is always fantastic and they went the extra mile for our anniversary dinner celebration. Rachel was our waitress and she went above and beyond for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We went to Ruth's Chris for our 20th anniversary. The steak was good, the sides were meh. There was live music in the bar and taped music playing in the dining room. But you could hear both. Out sever was friendly but disappeared a lot. We had a second server take over mid-way but we had to figure that out on our own and our first server was still around so it was a little confusing. I think there are better options in Austin for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing service and meal at Ruth's Chris Steak House.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Just not the high end experience we were expecting. Rushed service, not knowledgeable on wine, etc. Place wasn't full either. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Sold out of NY Strips the night before. I was only made aware of this after the cocktails were delivered and my order was placed. First, how does a prime steakhouse run out of NY Strips? Second, if they are sold out why wasn't that communicated to me prior to seating or at the time of seating?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Delicious, as always!...

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yorkshire)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The steak was superb. So was the crab starter. Fantastic flavours. Service was also top notch.

Only bit I didn't like was the auto 20% gratuity and then being given a reciept with a tip / service option.

Either ask me or auto take it. Don't try and get both.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I was disappointed in this Ruth Chris, due to the lack of seasonings on my steak. While I'll admit that the steak was perfectly cooked and looked great, the steak was a little bland. I eat at other Ruth Chris locations and haven't felt this way about the steak flavor, or lack of it, before.

I'm also not a big fan of the lyonnaise potatoes. I had the price fixe classic and would have preferred to have more choices, such as the au gratin potato. The cheesecake dessert was small, but good. Overall, the price fixe meal is a good value for the restaurant, since prices at these steak types of steak restaurants are rather high.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We live near Houston but our kids are closer to Austin so we met at the Austin Ruth Chris. I have never been to any of the Ruth Chris steakhouses. They were awesome. They had the table decorated with little happy birthday glitter for my son and explained all the food choices and made it very easy for us to decide what to eat. My son had the steak and shrimp and loved it. My husband and daughter split a boned in steak and said it was wonderful. I had the petite filet and cannot say enough about it. The sides are very good also. I recommend the mashed potatoes and sweet potato casserole. They brought my son a beautiful plate with a dessert and a candle. didn't embarrass him with the singing.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Another wonderful experience. We just ordered a series of appetizers and each was perfect. Napoleon was great and attentive. Always a pleasure to dine there just before shows at the Paramount Theatre.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Not as good as usual. They ran out of several items. Very disappointed especially for the outlandish cost.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious cuisine and nice atmosphere. Wait staff very attentive and courteous. Great dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service from the receptionist, the waiter, the manager and all of the support staff were fantastic! Great place and the remodeled front area was very warm and inviting! Thumbs up for a great experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Terrible service. Took a half hour just to get drinks.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service from start to finish.
Food was excellent - as expected.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Sarah and James took care of us from start to finish. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was perfect, and service was fantastic. This was our best Valentine's Date to date!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good, service was decent, management sub par. Made a reservation for a nice dinner. Received a gift card several years ago with no expiration date. Attempted to use it and they said it had been used in 2012, when in fact it had not. Paid the bill without objection and left in disgust. Filed a formal complaint with Ruth's Chris corporate. Should be hearing back within two business days. Paid way too much for a slightly above average meal and poor service. You would think a "fine dining establishment" would treat their customers with a little more class. There are many superior steakhouses in Austin. We will be dining elsewhere from now on.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Prime experience, perfect and awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Excellent as always! Steak cooked to perfection and the lobster Mac & cheese was well... awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great steaks, appetizers, and drinks served by a very attentive waiter.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a fabulous meal, starting with the spicy lobster appetizer, harvest salad, filet mignons, baked potatoes and finishing with cheesecake. It was all really great!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Celebrating planning our wedding and loving those steaks . Nobody does steaks better !!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Romantic, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Growing up, I remember hearing "Ruth's Chris" as being one of the steak houses you have to eat at, but I never figured it would be so that I could see it's no better, if not worse than a Texas Roadhouse.

The staff, while not unpleasant, seemed stiff and lacked in the art of conversation. The waitress was distant, but performed her tasks adequately. The food served hoped to mask what it lacked in quality with an over-abundance of butter. My filet mignon was ordered medium rare and I received medium, bordering on medium well. It was up to me to reorder, but I didn't have time to wait that evening. The mashed potatoes were a few degrees away from being soup. The wine list, while impressive, is largely overpriced.

My roommate and I agreed that Texas Roadhouse would've been a better option. Thankfully we paid for this meal with a giftcard. I won't be returning.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Still great after many years. My wife and I went for date night and it was great night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Another excellent dinner at Ruth's Chris. Always consistently good food. Meats are always perfect and sized to meet individual needs. Sides are way too large (except for the shoe string potatoes)!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Table was ready at reservation time. Our server, Tate, was good, not too pushy but generaly available as needed. The food was excellent, as always. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

everything, service, wine, drinks, steaks, sides, deserts, was perfect. Yeah it's pricey, but well worth it. you get your moneys worth

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Took over 40min. Two of three steaks delivered extra rare. One was ordered medium plus, the other medium well. They put the same steaks back on the grill and brought them back out more cooked and mostly dry. Kids baked chicken was ordered not-stuffed and was brought out stuffed. Asked for a corrected one and the replacement was also stuffed. Gave up and carved some chicken from the edges to get the kiddo fed.

Only adjustment on the bill was for the kids chicken. They were comfortable charging full price for completely wrong, then double-cooked filets.

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our first time to RC was for a family Christmas Day dinner. We were so happy to find a nice, 'fancy' place that was actually open, and this evening was a special surprise for the kids. It was definitely an 'off' night though for them, and that was very unfortunate. All our food arrived cold after a 1+ hour delay, steaks had to be sent back, lobster tails were reheated. We ended up having to eat in shifts as warm food came out: not ideal or special at all, and extremely disappointing after waiting my whole adult life to finally dine at Ruth's Chris.

To be fair, our waiter was extremely apologetic and did all he could to make the evening right, and we tipped him generously. Management was notified (the evening really was THAT bad) and they took care of our bill, which was the right thing to do and we were grateful. Unfortunately, the whole evening was just a mess and the kids were asking if we could return to Texas Land & Cattle next year b/c they had better experience there (!).

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Unfortunately this was one of their busiest days of the year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was horrible. Way below their standards. The restaurant pretty much gave up trying to do their jobs half way through the meal. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went there for Christmas dinner. Hadn't been to Ruth's Chris is a while. Overall, dinner was fine. I asked for the Cowboy Cut Ribeye 22oz. and was a little disappointed in the size of the steak. When it came to my plate was about 3/4 inch thick (If that) and there was barely no bone. I had to ask for fresh crushed pepper. It's typically offered. The beef itself was cooled properly and cut like butter.

I was disappointed that they no longer serve French Onion Soup because I had, until then, regarded theirs as one of the best.

I also seemed to recall the waiters come over to clear crumbs from the place settings that also never happened.

Not sure if I'll be too eager to try again for a while. Too many other choices in Austin for top shelf steaks where I can get larger cuts & better service and a fully overloaded baked potato.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had Christmas dinner here.

When our food finally arrived, our sparkling water was lukewarm because it took the food so long to get there. Our baked potato was also lukewarm. This indicates neglect on the part of the server, not the chef. The waitress had a less than acceptable attitude and actually scolded me for not brining the cold food to her attention sooner. I would have been happy to tell her about the problem had she bothered to show up and ask how our food was after we started eating. She never showed up again until it was time to order dessert. The plates were not sizzling as has been the case with all of our other visits to Ruth's Chris around the US. She did manage to remove the potato from our bill but left the lukewarm water on. For $200, we expected just a bit more from this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas dinner and we were not disappointed. An early evening reservation worked well. Was much quieter than other Ruth's Chris restaurants we have been in. Food was excellent,,, my favorite side was the spinach; broccoli was excellent. Nothing was over-salted. Service was attentive but not distracting. Valet parking was good but expensive

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I was told as I was being seated that they had a requirement that I had to remove my hat in the dining room a request that I did not mind following but they did not have a hat check nor even a hat rack. What to do?

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They were nice to accommodate my request to sit in front room which I prefer to the darker dining area. Chef did come out and say hi, which is always a great thing. Ahi was not up to snuff
but I ought to know better than to order fish on Christmas Sunday! Waitress was great. Food otherwise delightful. LOVE that front room bc you can watch the people walking by! will do this again soon. In fact, would like to repeat this experience (sans fish) next Christmas and sooner~

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.