About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin

107 W. 6th Street
The Scarborough Building
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (512) 477-7884 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Austin is hands down the finest steak house in the capital city. Whether you would like to host a private gathering, relax in our lounge, or treat yourself to the best steak around - Ruth's Chris has it all. Come on down and see for yourself why the Austin American Statesman awarded us "Best Steak in Austin."

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens nightly at 4:30pm.

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7884

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/austin

Executive Chef:
Angel Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer six private dining rooms, seating 8 to 100 people, that are suitable for any occasion. Whether it is a small private get-together or a large business banquet, you are sure to find a room suitable for your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Kelsh : 8885604541

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Rcsh Tomahawk - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Bone In Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Crabstack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Fire-roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Wedge Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Creamed Spinach - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
BBQ Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ahi Tuna Stack With Lump Crab And Roasted Red Pepper  - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Tuna Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Oysters Rockefeller - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Stuffed Chicken - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Sweet Potatoe Casserole - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Mushroom - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Apple Pie - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Porterhouse For Two - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Stuffed Chicken Breast - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Cowboy Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX
Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin, Austin, TX

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Ruth used to say, “Life’s too short to eat anywhere else.” And Christmas is too special a day to just go anywhere. So we’re keeping our doors open on December 25th. Let us take care of all the details so all you have to do is sit back and enjoy a perfect day. Opening early at noon on Christmas Day.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Ruth used to say, “Life’s too short to eat anywhere else.” And Christmas is too special a day to just go anywhere. So we’re keeping our doors open on December 25th. Let us take care of all the details so all you have to do is sit back and enjoy a perfect day. Opening early at noon on Christmas Day.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Austin
Steakhouse
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (13)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good. Great calamari a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good. Great calamari appetizer! I get the desire to have a warm/hot steak from first to last bite, but as someone who prefers her steak medium rare, by the end of the meal my steak was medium well since it keeps cooking on the hot plate. BUT, it was still a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and James was a superb se ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food and James was a superb server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only issue we had was with our service. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Only issue we had was with our service. No plates with bread. Asked for something and took too long to get. Spent a long time talking to table next to us about him being from SC when we were waiting for something to be brought to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Took an hour and a half to get our main ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Took an hour and a half to get our main orders and all we ordered before that was a salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Austin is the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Austin is the perfect place for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The filet steak I ordered was superb! I ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The filet steak I ordered was superb! I like that they season their steaks with only salt and pepper. They also bring it out on a sizzling buttery hot plate. We had their roasted corn with jalapenos, fries, and broccoli as our sides. I will say, the sides were not that good. So you might just want to stick with eating just the steaks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, service, wine list and atmosp ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food, service, wine list and atmosphere are generally wonderful at Ruth's Chris. This time I was a bit disappointed though, especially because it was a special occasion. The food was great, as usual. I was a bit surprised that two glasses of Veuve Clicquot champagne cost $50. The price is is over 200% higher than if I were to purchase it myself and about a third more expensive than I would expect it to be, even at an upscale restaurant.

My biggest objection; however, is that management did not regulate the disruptive and of noxious behavior of a large group of guests who were also at the restaurant. The large party spent much of their time in the bar area, very loudly cheering and booing a sports event showing on TV. Every table in the main dining area was disrupted by their inappropriate behavior and once they moved it to the party room, where they were dining, the cheering and booing didn't stop. I'm sure they were celebrating- perhaps a wedding rehearsal or engagement party- but I was dismayed that they were not told by management to be respectful of every other person in the restaurant, whose dinner they were so rudely interrupting.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We were celebrating our son's birthday s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We were celebrating our son's birthday so we wanted something very special. Ruth's Chris Steak House was the perfect choice. The service was excellent, food was expertly prepared and served with extreme professionalism, the atmosphere was beautiful and relaxing. We enjoyed ourselves very much!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sara our server was awesome Very friend ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sara our server was awesome

Very friendly easy to look at easy to talk to and very professional

Food was great my steak was delecious

We will be coming back

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Ruth's Chris never disappoints and the s ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Ruth's Chris never disappoints and the staff are so nice!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great dining experience and chose newly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great dining experience and chose newly redone bar vs single person table seating. Great service, petit filet was just perfect and yummy, ax were string fries so many that I shared with other patrons. Great service by both barmen! Can never go wrong at Ruth Chris!

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the new renovations! Dinner was de ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Love the new renovations! Dinner was delicious, as always. We sat in the new area in the bar and had a lovely dinner. Ruth's Chris always makes our special occasions more memorable and special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my 13 year old son for a bday dinne ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Took my 13 year old son for a bday dinner tonight. Top rate food. Renovations are complete and amazing. Service was ok. Couple times I was sitting there with nothing to drink which is a pet peeve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Restaurant was under construction. Waite ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Restaurant was under construction. Waited to be seated despite lots of open tables. Server disappeared frequently for extended lengths of time. Server assistant poured ice water into a sparkling water glass, then never replaced the glass. Filet was tough. Ravioli was exceptionally salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Ruth's Chris is our "go to" restaurant f ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Ruth's Chris is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions, great steak and great service. They never disappoint. We just recently went again for my husband's birthday, and those wonderful steaks came out on the 500 degree plate as always, and they were cooked to perfection. We always look forward to a meal there, and I am certain we will continue to go there again and again. Besides the steak, we especially enjoy the spicy lobster tail appetizer and the harvest salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just celebrated my wife's birthday wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We just celebrated my wife's birthday with a quiet dinner for 2 and the entire experience was fantastic! In the reservation call they suggested some champagne or prosecco to be waiting for our arrival which I agreed to - made it a little extra special. The salad and appetizer were uncommonly gorgeous and, oh yeah, very tasty. Service was impeccable and very attentive. The manager made an appearance to confirm our satisfaction. The meat was unbelievable (ribeye and filet with shrimp). Dessert was perfect and a perfect end to the meal.

It was a grand slam home run!

PS - Newcomers to town: be careful with street parking on game night. The buses take priority over diners apparently :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good. But it is not as good as t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was good. But it is not as good as the Ruth's in Baton Rouge or Lafayette. Some of the menu items appear to be different. But overall a good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The steak was fantastic as usual, but th ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The steak was fantastic as usual, but the service was subpar. We were never offered any bread and finally had to ask for it after we were done with our appetizer. Someone brought our bread, but took the appetizer plates and utensils which left no plates and only steak knives for the butter. No one ever noticed that we had no plates for the bread. We ordered cheesecake for dessert and it took 20 minutes to arrive with no word about updates or timing, etc. Disappointing after our last visit in January as our service and food were excellent on that visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing filet mignon and sea bass. Our ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing filet mignon and sea bass. Our server was appropriately attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant, always great! Cu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

My favorite restaurant, always great! Currently under renovation, and it was time for one. Looking forward to the finished product.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Remodeling so the atmosphere wasn't the ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Remodeling so the atmosphere wasn't the best. Can't wait to see when it's complete.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Our experience was great at Ruth's Chris ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our experience was great at Ruth's Chris in Austin. We celebrated our wedding anniversary there and they decorated our table for the occasion and also gave us a free dessert to take with us. Their service was exceptional and as usual the food was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Ruth's Chris to celebrate our ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris to celebrate our anniversary. The food was phenomenal as usual and our waiter was fantastic! The Austin location is under construction in some parts of the restaurant and it was uncomfortably warm in the main dining room. It was so uncomfortable that I had a difficult time enjoying my dinner. I'm very sure it was an anomaly, otherwise it would have been perfect. We love Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ruth's Chris does not disappoint! Awesom ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Ruth's Chris does not disappoint! Awesome dinner- steaks were perfect, & appetizers were delicious! Service was spectacular!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A great Father's Day meal!

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 19, 2016

A great Father's Day meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, service started out well ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was great, service started out well but was dissapointing by middle of meal. Plates were not cleared, wait staff disappeared for a while and deserts were very slow to come out.

Construction in bar area was a disappointment, most of the bar was closed and seemed that they didn't have electricity because bar was very dark.

Temperature in dining area felt like it was 80 degrees or more, couldn't wait for the check!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

The filets are always good. 2 out of 3 ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The filets are always good. 2 out of 3 of our steaks were undercooked but graciously taken back and cooked longer. This is the second or third time, though, that we seemed to have lost our waiter. Our waiter would be gone for long periods of time, and another waiter would stop by and check on us. We do not like the inconsistency this brings to our experience. We also do not know which server we are tipping because the one who takes us over would receive a better tip than the one server who appeared to abandon us. We love Ruth's Chris, but I'm not sure this is an experience that we want to keep repeating. There are other great steakhouses in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great Place For Steak and Sweet Potatoes

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2016

The steak here is really good, but for me it was not the star of my meal. The star of my meal was a lovely side dish of sweet potatoes. This sweet potato casserole dish was one of the best things I have ever eaten. It is perfect. Go for the steak and stay for the sweet potatoes.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Austin

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 10, 2016

I will go back but this location is under renovation which made everything seem chlostrophobic. The service was average but the bar service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Restaurant - Excellent Food!!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 9, 2016

We visited Ruth's Chris Steak house for a combination Birthday and Anniversary Celebration. My husband and I had planned this visit for (3) years and finally made it in the 3rd year. It seemed that every year near our Anniversary something would happen to prevent us from going. I'm so glad we finally made it, the steak was fabulous and the side delicious too. It is not the kind of restaurant we would visit on a regular basis as it is pricey for a regular schedule, but it is great for that special occasion that you would like to splurge. I would highly recommend it when you want to splurge. The staff was very attentive and friendly too, and made us feel very well cared for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyday comfort zone

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 28, 2016

You can't go wrong with Ruth Chris...in my opinion. :) Even when there's construction, the service is attentive and never failing. Appetizers & drinks, or a slow dinner for the evening,--it is always great! Staff is much appreciated h

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Night out with one of my favorite girls.

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 2, 2016

I was in Austin on business and took my niece and her boyfriend to dinner at Ruth's Chris. They were very pleased with everything and I was happy about that. Our waiter Shahin was perfect! He visited enough without making a nuicense of himself. He new all about the menu and made great suggestions. This is the best Ruth's Chris Steak House I've ever been to and I go every time I'm in Austin as well as sometimes other Cities but this is the best.

Well worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not up to previous visits. Still the bes ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2016

Not up to previous visits. Still the best steaks in town but the wine list and bus staff training have suffered seriously from the recent conversion from franchise to corporate location. Some favorite menu items have been discontinued. Additionally the facility is undergoing a remodel so the ambiance is lacking. Overall a disappointing evening. My advice: stay away until the remodel is finished and the transition is sorted out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Needs a makeover

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was delicious and cooked just as requested - steak was not salty, no butter just perfect. It was our anniversary and the restaurant made it special for us. The service was very good. The place needs a makeover though and is being renovated ( was not aware when I made the reservation). It is outdated and way too bright - dim the lights please!

The prices are incredibly high and I feel over priced...$11 for approx. 8 grilled ( delicious though) asparagus. Just a tad too pricey for what is served. Given the number of steak restaurants in Austin I would not book again.

Also perhaps a dress code might be in order as somehow people have no idea they need to dress to go out to dinner. I honestly take offense at going out for a romantic and pricey dinner and making an effort to look nice only to have to sit with people who look as though they have rolled out of bed...shorts and tshirts should be for the Lake only!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Very nice restaurant. Our waiter was ver ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Our waiter was very good and very attentive to our needs. The seafood tower and the steaks were excellent!

The only negative was that the booth seats were worn and had been taped. I noticed other booths had tape on the seats. For a high end restaurant such as this, you wouldn't expect to see that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was fine. Nothing special. But it sho ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2016

It was fine. Nothing special. But it should be. Perhaps my expectations are too high. Service was inattentive and slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Perfectly delicious, as always!

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Best steak in Austin, no Question! Great wine list, though the red wine isn't stored in a cellar so I have ask them to throw it in the freezer for 5-10 min to get it to the proper temperature... (they're remodeling, so hopefully they add a cellar!...) Great service always. Can't go wrong here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

A restaurant worth trying.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great steaks, and excellent service. However the price is a little bit too expensive if you live in Texas where we have great steak houses to a much better price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Easter Dinner

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Easter Dinner. The service was a little slow and it wasn't crowded. Food was great as always.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Easter Day

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic srvice and fabulous food. I absolutely love the crab cakes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.