About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin

107 W. 6th Street
The Scarborough Building
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (512) 477-7884 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Austin is hands down the finest steak house in the capital city. Whether you would like to host a private gathering, relax in our lounge, or treat yourself to the best steak around - Ruth's Chris has it all. Come on down and see for yourself why the Austin American Statesman awarded us "Best Steak in Austin."

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens nightly at 4:30pm.

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7884

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/austin

Executive Chef:
Angel Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer six private dining rooms, seating 8 to 100 people, that are suitable for any occasion. Whether it is a small private get-together or a large business banquet, you are sure to find a room suitable for your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Kelsh : 8885604541

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin
Wedge Salad
Creamed Spinach
BBQ Shrimp
Ahi Tuna Stack With Lump Crab And Roasted Red Pepper
Oysters Rockefeller
Tuna Stack
Stuffed Chicken
Sweet Potatoe Casserole
Filet
Mushroom
Apple Pie
Porterhouse For Two
Stuffed Chicken Breast
Cowboy Ribeye
Ribeye

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Austin
Steakhouse
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (24)
romantic (18)
notable wine list (12)
See All
good for groups (9)
fit for foodies (9)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Ruth's Chris does not disappoint! Awesom ...

Dined 7 days ago

Ruth's Chris does not disappoint! Awesome dinner- steaks were perfect, & appetizers were delicious! Service was spectacular!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A great Father's Day meal!

Dined on June 19, 2016

A great Father's Day meal!

food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Food was great, service started out well ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was great, service started out well but was dissapointing by middle of meal. Plates were not cleared, wait staff disappeared for a while and deserts were very slow to come out. Construction in bar area was a disappointment, most of the bar was closed and seemed that they didn't have electricity because bar was very dark. Temperature in dining area felt like it was 80 degrees or more, couldn't wait for the check!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The filets are always good. 2 out of 3 ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The filets are always good. 2 out of 3 of our steaks were undercooked but graciously taken back and cooked longer. This is the second or third time, though, that we seemed to have lost our waiter. Our waiter would be gone for long periods of time, and another waiter would stop by and check on us. We do not like the inconsistency this brings to our experience. We also do not know which server we are tipping because the one who takes us over would receive a better tip than the one server who appeared to abandon us. We love Ruth's Chris, but I'm not sure this is an experience that we want to keep repeating. There are other great steakhouses in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Place For Steak and Sweet Potatoes

Dined on June 10, 2016

The steak here is really good, but for me it was not the star of my meal. The star of my meal was a lovely side dish of sweet potatoes. This sweet potato casserole dish was one of the best things I have ever eaten. It is perfect. Go for the steak and stay for the sweet potatoes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Austin

Dined on June 10, 2016

I will go back but this location is under renovation which made everything seem chlostrophobic. The service was average but the bar service was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant - Excellent Food!!

Dined on June 9, 2016

We visited Ruth's Chris Steak house for a combination Birthday and Anniversary Celebration. My husband and I had planned this visit for (3) years and finally made it in the 3rd year. It seemed that every year near our Anniversary something would happen to prevent us from going. I'm so glad we finally made it, the steak was fabulous and the side delicious too. It is not the kind of restaurant we would visit on a regular basis as it is pricey for a regular schedule, but it is great for that special occasion that you would like to splurge. I would highly recommend it when you want to splurge. The staff was very attentive and friendly too, and made us feel very well cared for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Everyday comfort zone

Dined on May 28, 2016

You can't go wrong with Ruth Chris...in my opinion. :) Even when there's construction, the service is attentive and never failing. Appetizers & drinks, or a slow dinner for the evening,--it is always great! Staff is much appreciated h

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night out with one of my favorite girls.

Dined on May 2, 2016

I was in Austin on business and took my niece and her boyfriend to dinner at Ruth's Chris. They were very pleased with everything and I was happy about that. Our waiter Shahin was perfect! He visited enough without making a nuicense of himself. He new all about the menu and made great suggestions. This is the best Ruth's Chris Steak House I've ever been to and I go every time I'm in Austin as well as sometimes other Cities but this is the best. Well worth the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Not up to previous visits. Still the bes ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Not up to previous visits. Still the best steaks in town but the wine list and bus staff training have suffered seriously from the recent conversion from franchise to corporate location. Some favorite menu items have been discontinued. Additionally the facility is undergoing a remodel so the ambiance is lacking. Overall a disappointing evening. My advice: stay away until the remodel is finished and the transition is sorted out.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Needs a makeover

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was delicious and cooked just as requested - steak was not salty, no butter just perfect. It was our anniversary and the restaurant made it special for us. The service was very good. The place needs a makeover though and is being renovated ( was not aware when I made the reservation). It is outdated and way too bright - dim the lights please! The prices are incredibly high and I feel over priced...$11 for approx. 8 grilled ( delicious though) asparagus. Just a tad too pricey for what is served. Given the number of steak restaurants in Austin I would not book again. Also perhaps a dress code might be in order as somehow people have no idea they need to dress to go out to dinner. I honestly take offense at going out for a romantic and pricey dinner and making an effort to look nice only to have to sit with people who look as though they have rolled out of bed...shorts and tshirts should be for the Lake only!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Very nice restaurant. Our waiter was ver ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Our waiter was very good and very attentive to our needs. The seafood tower and the steaks were excellent! The only negative was that the booth seats were worn and had been taped. I noticed other booths had tape on the seats. For a high end restaurant such as this, you wouldn't expect to see that.

food3
ambience3
service2

It was fine. Nothing special. But it sho ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

It was fine. Nothing special. But it should be. Perhaps my expectations are too high. Service was inattentive and slow.

food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Perfectly delicious, as always!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Best steak in Austin, no Question! Great wine list, though the red wine isn't stored in a cellar so I have ask them to throw it in the freezer for 5-10 min to get it to the proper temperature... (they're remodeling, so hopefully they add a cellar!...) Great service always. Can't go wrong here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

A restaurant worth trying.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great steaks, and excellent service. However the price is a little bit too expensive if you live in Texas where we have great steak houses to a much better price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Easter Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Easter Dinner. The service was a little slow and it wasn't crowded. Food was great as always.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Day

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic srvice and fabulous food. I absolutely love the crab cakes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

absolutely amazing.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Sat at the bar for dinner and was perfect. Both bartenders were attentive and called me by name. The drinks were spot on and the food was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Amazing food, fantastic service! I had messed up my reservation and scheduled for 7:15, but I thought I had at 8:30. They were very accommodating and nice about the whole thing

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Son's 15th Birthday

Dined on February 20, 2016

We've started a tradition over the last couple of years of taking our son and a friend to Ruth's Chris for his birthday - his favorite steakhouse. Ruth's Chris never disappoints! We were taken to a table with "Happy Birthday" confetti on it, and my son was greeted with birthday wishes from our waiter. Our steaks were cooked to perfection, and each part of our meal from appetizers (awesome spicy lobster!) to desert were fabulous. Napolean was an exceptional waiter, and we will request him when we next return to Ruth's Chris. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious thick steak

Dined on February 17, 2016

My sister asked me to describe my favorite meal in advance of my 50th birthday in September. After describing it, I thought, I can't wait until September for that ... so we went to Ruth's Chris for my husband's birthday in February :-). De-lic-ious. One minor and probably unavoidable error in steak preparation (if the steak is 2 1/2" thick, how do you cook the very inside to 'medium well' without overcooking the rest? - it worked out, my husband likes his steak only barely dead, so he got that bit). Very lovely treatment of the birthday with a crème brulée and a happy birthday inscription in chocolate on the plate holding it (I'm gluten-intolerant and they chose the gluten-free dessert).

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

Ruth Chris had put out the sweetest glit ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Ruth Chris had put out the sweetest glitter on our table to celebrate our anniversary and just thought that was so charming. Had some issues with the steak being mostly gristle which put a kink in our dining experience. The waiter didn't make us pay for the one steak which was kind. Hopefully next time we will get the same quality steak we always get at Ruth Chris.

food4
ambience4
service3

I eat at RC restaurants all over the cou ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

I eat at RC restaurants all over the country. The service quality at this location is not as good as others, so I scored it lower. It could be the culture in Texas, but they need to learn fine dining etiquette a bit better for this price range.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and professional staff ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Always great food and professional staff never been disappointed!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant Experience

Dined on February 1, 2016

We have dined here several times and it has always been a very pleasant experience. Highly recommended and Great stakes!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

BIRTHDAY LETDOWN

Dined on January 30, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris Friday Jan 29 to celebrate my husband's birthday, a tradition for our birthdays for many years. We love the quiet bar area but when we arrived the music was so loud in the bar area that we just went straight to the dining room. Right away it seemed that the staff was experiencing a slow night. The food was, as always, great and the service very nice. Though I had made a note of a birthday on my reservation online, the staff never mentioned it. One of us had a multi course meal that included dessert--never delivered to our table. And when we go for a birthday, a candle on a slice of cake is ALWAYS brought to our table--but not this time. All in all, we felt that we were just rushed through what usually is a wonderful, slow and friendly dining experience. Just a bad night????

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rangersfan

Dined on January 27, 2016

Our service and food was excellent. We enjoyed everything we ordered. The food was fresh, prepared as ordered and was fresh. There wasn't anything about the evening that we did not enjoy. It was a wonderful, pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on January 16, 2016

Everything was perfect from the personal attention we received to the mouth watering dishes. Everything we ate was over the top in excellence. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and plan to do so again in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Over the top

Dined on January 14, 2016

It's hard to beat Ruth's for dinner. The food is always fabulous. The services was top notch. It wasn't very busy that night so it seemed like every minute someone was checking on us but it never seemed obtrusive. I particularly liked that they staff address my table by name each time. Don't know if that's something they can do when it's full on but it made it seem like they truly valued our reservation. Of course I'd go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined early on New Year's Eve and the ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We dined early on New Year's Eve and the staff was welcoming. We never felt rushed and were allowed to order our favorite selections off the regular menu. We are never disappointed by Ruth's Chris Steak house.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster Mac n cheese was really good!

Dined on December 27, 2015

Lobster Mac n cheese was really good!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Christmas Eve Dinner

Dined on December 26, 2015

My fiance and I had no plans for Christmas Day and since we were cooking a big dinner the night before for friends we decided to get dressed up and eat out. We had gone to Austin's Ruth's Chris a few years prior when looking for a fancy dress up date night place but were so disappointed by the fact that the people we were seated by were loud and dressed like they were going to a sports bar (think tie dye tshirt and cargo shorts!), it completely ruined the date night ambiance, and we hadn't been there since. Our Christmas Dinner Experience was great. We ordered an espresso Martini at the bar but the kitchen was running behind so the espresso didn't come out before we were called to be seated. The Bartender was great and transferred our drink order to our table without us asking. We had two waitresses that served us through out the night and they were both very good...one small exception I asked each of them for lemon for my water and never got any. We chatted a bit with one of the waitresses about holiday plans and found out they had started serving at noon and the last guest was being seated at 8 pm! (We had 7:30 dinner reservations so it was easier to excuse the forgetting the lemon) She also shared with us that the kitchen was running a bit behind which was a great tip because we ordered an appetizer right away (Ahi Tuna - it was very tasty and a little spicy) and a bottle of wine. For dinner we had the porterhouse for 2... AMAZING! and brussel sprouts.. also AMAZING! Instead of a traditional dessert we opted for Sweet Potato Casserole. It turns out that our waitress often does that too and filled us in that she orders it with a scoop of ice cream (which she offered to us but we declined). The casserole is what makes us go to Ruth's Chris in other cities even though we have one in our back yard! This visit definitely gave us a more positive experience and we will definitely be back more often than every few years!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Night

Dined on December 26, 2015

We chose to dine here on Christmas night and it couldn't have been more perfect. Food was excellent, service even better. Service was quick when we needed it and not overly obtrusive. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very tasty steaks. Our server Russell wa ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Very tasty steaks. Our server Russell was very helpful and knowledgeable. There was a lot of cheese on the caesar salad and they serve the steaks with butter. The soft butter was great with the bread.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Service not up to par.

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Perhaps they weren't ready for a Christmas Eve crowd. We were seated 20 min after our reservation, then sat for 10 min before our server came by to say she would be another 10 min. Service never got better as the meal wore on. Steaks did not come out "sizzling" as they usually do. With so many other great steak places in Austin, I won't be back here....the atmosphere is by far the dreariest of all the steak places in town and now the service is well off par.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Christmas Eve dinner! Wonderful se ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Great Christmas Eve dinner! Wonderful service and amazing food!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Lost Grander

Dined on December 25, 2015

For being a holiday it seemed to lack preparation starting with the valet. Service started out great then took a dive. Food was good not great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food

Dined on December 21, 2015

Wonderful food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, wonderful beer selection.

Dined on December 17, 2015

Awesome service! It was our 21st anniversary and we enjoyed out dinner very much. Last year we chose Perry's and for a romantic evening, we found your restaurant to be the best for us. We like dinner a little later, so it was the perfect setting.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Ruth Chris still has one of the finest s ...

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

Ruth Chris still has one of the finest steaks for a chain steakhouse. It was extremely quiet, so conversation was easy. Always a fine choice for a nice meal with very good service.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.