About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin

Looking for a reservation? Call us at (512) 477-7884 and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Ruth's Chris Austin is hands down the finest steak house in the capital city. Whether you would like to host a private gathering, relax in our lounge, or treat yourself to the best steak around - Ruth's Chris has it all. Come on down and see for yourself why the Austin American Statesman awarded us "Best Steak in Austin."

107 W. 6th Street
The Scarborough Building
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lounge opens nightly at 4:30pm.

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday - Saturday: 5pm - 11pm
Sunday: 5pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7884

Website:
http://www.ruthschris.com/Restaurant-Locations/austin

Executive Chef:
Angel Lopez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer six private dining rooms, seating 8 to 100 people, that are suitable for any occasion. Whether it is a small private get-together or a large business banquet, you are sure to find a room suitable for your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Kelsh : (888) 560-4541

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (17)
Business Meals (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (5)
Historic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We live near Houston but our kids are closer to Austin so we met at the Austin Ruth Chris. I have never been to any of the Ruth Chris steakhouses. They were awesome. They had the table decorated with little happy birthday glitter for my son and explained all the food choices and made it very easy for us to decide what to eat. My son had the steak and shrimp and loved it. My husband and daughter split a boned in steak and said it was wonderful. I had the petite filet and cannot say enough about it. The sides are very good also. I recommend the mashed potatoes and sweet potato casserole. They brought my son a beautiful plate with a dessert and a candle. didn't embarrass him with the singing.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Another wonderful experience. We just ordered a series of appetizers and each was perfect. Napoleon was great and attentive. Always a pleasure to dine there just before shows at the Paramount Theatre.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Not as good as usual. They ran out of several items. Very disappointed especially for the outlandish cost.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious cuisine and nice atmosphere. Wait staff very attentive and courteous. Great dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service from the receptionist, the waiter, the manager and all of the support staff were fantastic! Great place and the remodeled front area was very warm and inviting! Thumbs up for a great experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Terrible service. Took a half hour just to get drinks.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service from start to finish.

Food was excellent - as expected.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Sarah and James took care of us from start to finish. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was perfect, and service was fantastic. This was our best Valentine's Date to date!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good, service was decent, management sub par. Made a reservation for a nice dinner. Received a gift card several years ago with no expiration date. Attempted to use it and they said it had been used in 2012, when in fact it had not. Paid the bill without objection and left in disgust. Filed a formal complaint with Ruth's Chris corporate. Should be hearing back within two business days. Paid way too much for a slightly above average meal and poor service. You would think a "fine dining establishment" would treat their customers with a little more class. There are many superior steakhouses in Austin. We will be dining elsewhere from now on.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Prime experience, perfect and awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Excellent as always! Steak cooked to perfection and the lobster Mac & cheese was well... awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great steaks, appetizers, and drinks served by a very attentive waiter.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a fabulous meal, starting with the spicy lobster appetizer, harvest salad, filet mignons, baked potatoes and finishing with cheesecake. It was all really great!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Celebrating planning our wedding and loving those steaks . Nobody does steaks better !!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Romantic, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Growing up, I remember hearing "Ruth's Chris" as being one of the steak houses you have to eat at, but I never figured it would be so that I could see it's no better, if not worse than a Texas Roadhouse.

The staff, while not unpleasant, seemed stiff and lacked in the art of conversation. The waitress was distant, but performed her tasks adequately. The food served hoped to mask what it lacked in quality with an over-abundance of butter. My filet mignon was ordered medium rare and I received medium, bordering on medium well. It was up to me to reorder, but I didn't have time to wait that evening. The mashed potatoes were a few degrees away from being soup. The wine list, while impressive, is largely overpriced.

My roommate and I agreed that Texas Roadhouse would've been a better option. Thankfully we paid for this meal with a giftcard. I won't be returning.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Still great after many years. My wife and I went for date night and it was great night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Another excellent dinner at Ruth's Chris. Always consistently good food. Meats are always perfect and sized to meet individual needs. Sides are way too large (except for the shoe string potatoes)!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Table was ready at reservation time. Our server, Tate, was good, not too pushy but generaly available as needed. The food was excellent, as always. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

everything, service, wine, drinks, steaks, sides, deserts, was perfect. Yeah it's pricey, but well worth it. you get your moneys worth

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Took over 40min. Two of three steaks delivered extra rare. One was ordered medium plus, the other medium well. They put the same steaks back on the grill and brought them back out more cooked and mostly dry. Kids baked chicken was ordered not-stuffed and was brought out stuffed. Asked for a corrected one and the replacement was also stuffed. Gave up and carved some chicken from the edges to get the kiddo fed.

Only adjustment on the bill was for the kids chicken. They were comfortable charging full price for completely wrong, then double-cooked filets.

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our first time to RC was for a family Christmas Day dinner. We were so happy to find a nice, 'fancy' place that was actually open, and this evening was a special surprise for the kids. It was definitely an 'off' night though for them, and that was very unfortunate. All our food arrived cold after a 1+ hour delay, steaks had to be sent back, lobster tails were reheated. We ended up having to eat in shifts as warm food came out: not ideal or special at all, and extremely disappointing after waiting my whole adult life to finally dine at Ruth's Chris.

To be fair, our waiter was extremely apologetic and did all he could to make the evening right, and we tipped him generously. Management was notified (the evening really was THAT bad) and they took care of our bill, which was the right thing to do and we were grateful. Unfortunately, the whole evening was just a mess and the kids were asking if we could return to Texas Land & Cattle next year b/c they had better experience there (!).

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Unfortunately this was one of their busiest days of the year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was horrible. Way below their standards. The restaurant pretty much gave up trying to do their jobs half way through the meal. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went there for Christmas dinner. Hadn't been to Ruth's Chris is a while. Overall, dinner was fine. I asked for the Cowboy Cut Ribeye 22oz. and was a little disappointed in the size of the steak. When it came to my plate was about 3/4 inch thick (If that) and there was barely no bone. I had to ask for fresh crushed pepper. It's typically offered. The beef itself was cooled properly and cut like butter.

I was disappointed that they no longer serve French Onion Soup because I had, until then, regarded theirs as one of the best.

I also seemed to recall the waiters come over to clear crumbs from the place settings that also never happened.

Not sure if I'll be too eager to try again for a while. Too many other choices in Austin for top shelf steaks where I can get larger cuts & better service and a fully overloaded baked potato.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had Christmas dinner here.

When our food finally arrived, our sparkling water was lukewarm because it took the food so long to get there. Our baked potato was also lukewarm. This indicates neglect on the part of the server, not the chef. The waitress had a less than acceptable attitude and actually scolded me for not brining the cold food to her attention sooner. I would have been happy to tell her about the problem had she bothered to show up and ask how our food was after we started eating. She never showed up again until it was time to order dessert. The plates were not sizzling as has been the case with all of our other visits to Ruth's Chris around the US. She did manage to remove the potato from our bill but left the lukewarm water on. For $200, we expected just a bit more from this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas dinner and we were not disappointed. An early evening reservation worked well. Was much quieter than other Ruth's Chris restaurants we have been in. Food was excellent,,, my favorite side was the spinach; broccoli was excellent. Nothing was over-salted. Service was attentive but not distracting. Valet parking was good but expensive

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I was told as I was being seated that they had a requirement that I had to remove my hat in the dining room a request that I did not mind following but they did not have a hat check nor even a hat rack. What to do?

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas tradition has begun! Thank you Ruth's Chris for a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They were nice to accommodate my request to sit in front room which I prefer to the darker dining area. Chef did come out and say hi, which is always a great thing. Ahi was not up to snuff

but I ought to know better than to order fish on Christmas Sunday! Waitress was great. Food otherwise delightful. LOVE that front room bc you can watch the people walking by! will do this again soon. In fact, would like to repeat this experience (sans fish) next Christmas and sooner~

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food quality was not up to par but did like the renovations to the space and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was very good. Great calamari appetizer! I get the desire to have a warm/hot steak from first to last bite, but as someone who prefers her steak medium rare, by the end of the meal my steak was medium well since it keeps cooking on the hot plate. BUT, it was still a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food and James was a superb server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Only issue we had was with our service. No plates with bread. Asked for something and took too long to get. Spent a long time talking to table next to us about him being from SC when we were waiting for something to be brought to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Took an hour and a half to get our main orders and all we ordered before that was a salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in Austin is the perfect place for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We visited at Thanksgiving holiday season, service was too busy to meet with the restaurant ranking. Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The filet steak I ordered was superb! I like that they season their steaks with only salt and pepper. They also bring it out on a sizzling buttery hot plate. We had their roasted corn with jalapenos, fries, and broccoli as our sides. I will say, the sides were not that good. So you might just want to stick with eating just the steaks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food, service, wine list and atmosphere are generally wonderful at Ruth's Chris. This time I was a bit disappointed though, especially because it was a special occasion. The food was great, as usual. I was a bit surprised that two glasses of Veuve Clicquot champagne cost $50. The price is is over 200% higher than if I were to purchase it myself and about a third more expensive than I would expect it to be, even at an upscale restaurant.

My biggest objection; however, is that management did not regulate the disruptive and of noxious behavior of a large group of guests who were also at the restaurant. The large party spent much of their time in the bar area, very loudly cheering and booing a sports event showing on TV. Every table in the main dining area was disrupted by their inappropriate behavior and once they moved it to the party room, where they were dining, the cheering and booing didn't stop. I'm sure they were celebrating- perhaps a wedding rehearsal or engagement party- but I was dismayed that they were not told by management to be respectful of every other person in the restaurant, whose dinner they were so rudely interrupting.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We were celebrating our son's birthday so we wanted something very special. Ruth's Chris Steak House was the perfect choice. The service was excellent, food was expertly prepared and served with extreme professionalism, the atmosphere was beautiful and relaxing. We enjoyed ourselves very much!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.