About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville

26 All Souls Cresent
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Located in Historic Biltmore Village. Start your evening the Ruth's Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender and delicious steak you've ever tasted. Or, if you're in the mood for something a little different, our extensive a la carte menu features extra-thick cut steak, live Maine Lobster, fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth's Chris genuine hospitality. So whether you're a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm – 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-6200

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Music in our Bar and Lounge on Wednesday and Friday Nights.
Performance Schedule
Wednesdays
Rockell Scott
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Fridays
Jazz Trio
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet & on site parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Pete Repak

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sip and Smoke: Last Tuesday of Every Month
Ladies Night: Last Thursday of Every Month

Promotions

Sip & Smoke (Last Tuesday of Every Month)

Tuesdays from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Ladies Night (Last Thursday of Every Month)

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 7:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Sip & Smoke (Last Tuesday of Every Month)

Tuesdays from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
This Event is Held on the last Tuesday of every month on the Patio The event will include two pours, each one consisting of a tequila(Special Selected Liquor Every Month) and a cigar, $40.00 Per Person you may order from our $8.00 SSS Menu all night. Excludes Tax and Tip. Community Seating. Special valid Feb 23, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Tuesdays from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM.
Ladies Night (Last Thursday of Every Month)

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Details
Ladies Night is a time to enjoy our $8.00 Happy Hour Menu Listen to Live Music Enter to Win wonderful gifts provided by Spas, Salons, and Boutiques in Asheville!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Community Seating!. Special valid Mar 2, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 7:30 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Consider a Private Dining Room at Ruth's CHRIS Biltmore for your next family celebration or corporate event! Our private dining rooms are perfect for every occasion from wedding rehearsals to VIP retirements! Plan a casual networking reception on our patio, or an intimate party in our Wine Cellar.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
6 More
Best Overall
Asheville
Best Food
Asheville
Best Service
Asheville
Best Ambiance
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Special Occasion
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

special occasion (75)
romantic (56)
notable wine list (32)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
neighborhood gem (16)
good for groups (15)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
831 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We had nine people for a graduation cele ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

We had nine people for a graduation celebration and the service and food was phenomenal even though we had a big group.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great anniversary dinner here. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a great anniversary dinner here. Food was great (although somewhat disappointed in the Brussel sprouts......a bit too tough and crunchy ).....but loved the sirloin, the augratin potatoes, and the wonderful bread and salad. Large side servings to share were nice. We took home a white chocolate bread pudding with the grand mariner sauce.......it was heaven!! The rose on our table was a nice touch......and complimentary champagne to celebrate the anniversary was appreciated. We had a very good and sweet server in Brianna. Very competent, informed, and cordial. Yes, it was expensive .....but thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Almost everything perfect!

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

One exception to total perfection was the side of vegies which went cold rather rapidly. You'd think a restaurant that serves steaks onto 500 degree plates would know how to keep the veggies hot. (Suggestion: Perhaps a covered dish/bowl). But really, we were treated well...from start to finish. And we'll return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was excellent, but general ambia ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Service was excellent, but general ambiance was pretentious. Our steaks tasted great but a little overdone to our liking. Chopped salad was not as advertised, mostly a coleslaw. Overall, too pricey.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Mother's Day dinner should go flawlessl ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day dinner should go flawlessly. The sea bass was the absolute best fish I have ever tasted Unfortunately we had to send the creamed spinach back two times because it was just barely warm. My steak was not very hot either but the waiter was trying so hard to please, I didn't want to add to his burden. Dinner would have been perfect if hot. There was a PROBLEM in the kitchen that night. We could here voices and rumblings from that direction.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on May 6, 2016

This is the best place for steak in the area along with outstanding side dishes and great service. Highly recommend for those looking to enjoy a fine meal and relax in a great environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around fantastic

Dined on April 16, 2016

Each time I visit a Ruth's Chris Steak House I am always reminded why I come back. No matter where the location, there is always amazing food, amazing service, and the ambiance is always so relaxing.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Anniversary

Dined on April 16, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Anniversary at Ruth Chris. We were congratulated by the Hostess while being seated, there was a signed card by all the waiters at our table, and flowers on the table. Then they even brought a couple of champagne flutes for us. The food was delicious, perfectly prepared and the service was friendly and attentive. The cost wasn't all that much more than the city restaurants, and the parking was free valet! Loved it and we'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Jodie was Outstanding!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We enjoyed our night at Ruth's Chris! Our server, Jodie was outstanding anticipating our every need! The food was excellent, properly served, and will be back. Thanks!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We both enjoyed the New York Strips with ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

We both enjoyed the New York Strips with the Brussel Sprouts and Lobster Mac n Cheese.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Worth It!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Most folks know that Ruth Chris Steak House is expensive. That is OK if the food, service, ambience is worth it. Ruth Chris is "worth it." The food is delicious and well presented. The service from Steven, our server, was top notch. He was attentive without being intrusive. We appreciated that we were advised to split the baked potato between the two of us, as it was a massive potato with sour cream, bacon, butter, and scallions. Even split in half, the potato was more than we could consume after enjoying the most fabulous steak and salad. We highly recommend Ruth Chris Steak House in Asheville, and we are already planning our next visit. Kindly Susan Kellogg, patron

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner @ Old Favorite

Dined on March 21, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris because of consistency of quality & service. We have eaten at this chain in Puerto Rico, Miami, Orlando, Jacksonville, Seattle & Nashville. We like it because we enjoy quiet dinner one a wonderful dinner. The service is always superb & the ambiance makes the evening special!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great 40th Anniversary

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a lovely time at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse for our 40th anniversary. The reason we chose this particular place is because we have been there before and the food and service are excellent. All of the staff wished us a "Happy Anniversary" and made sure we had everything we needed. The meal was excellent and we were happy we chose Ruth's Chris for our 40th. Donna Prinz

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Anniversary Meal

Dined on March 12, 2016

As usual, our meal was great. It was nice that they added the lobster mac-n-cheese to menu, because that stuff is wonderful. Our steak was perfectly cooked, and our service was very good. The only negative was a large party sitting near us with some under-5 kids that could get noisy at times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Both appetizers were great...crab stack ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Both appetizers were great...crab stack and fried lobster

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely great experience, don't hesit ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Absolutely great experience, don't hesitate to go. Terrific food, the service is top notch on every aspect. Fantastic.

food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Enjoyed every bite!

Dined on February 27, 2016

We went to Ruth's Chris for our anniversary, as we do not patronize this restaurant unless a special occasion. The service is always impeccable, the place clean and inviting. The food was delicious-my husband ordered an item that was one of the daily specials. It was a bone-in filet that was outstanding. The only downside was the bill! We do not drink, did not order any appetizer and our bill was outrageous. The daily special was $65! We might frequent Ruth's Chris if it was a little more reasonable in its pricing.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Everything was amazing for our fun night out. Our server was over the top and made sure our experience was the best! The food was cooked perfect and the wine recommendation was perfectly paired.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superior food. Great service

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Top notch steaks cooked like no other. Service is good. Can be a little too overbearing but that's what you're paying for. The franchise owner is a someone of superior character and dedicated to helping the community. Support him in Asheville and Charlotte. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dining Venue

Dined on February 20, 2016

The service is first class. The staff covers all the bases to ensure your needs are fully met.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

This restaurant is overrated. I feel you ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

This restaurant is overrated. I feel you can get a better meal at many of the independent restaurants in Asheville and spend less money. The food is good but not amazing. The service is excellent.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Don't know if it was the kitchen or wait ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Don't know if it was the kitchen or waitress, but service was very slow.

food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Good place for special occassion.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Visited on Valentine's Day weekend. Very nicely decorated with red roses. Even though we each ordered steak and then shared sides, each had one glass of wine our bill was very high. This has been our favorite restaurant for years, but we feel as though it is overpriced now. We probably won't go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Expectations Met

Dined on February 13, 2016

My expectations were met, this was one of the best steaks I have ever eaten and perfectly cooked; but the butter, oh the butter everywhere. The lobster was tough, over cooked and too salty, but the steak, and other sides were delicious. Service was impeccable however, given the prices, this is a one time only restaurant. Fun for a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our Valentine's dinner. My husba ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Enjoyed our Valentine's dinner. My husband's first time enjoying a Ruth Chris steak! I had the lemon salmon which was fabulous and creamed spinach, always great! Excellent service, of course we'd be back!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Last Day of Restaurant Week Feb 6 2016

Dined on February 7, 2016

We planned an early Valentine's celebration on the last day of the extended Restaurant Week specials on Feb 6, 2016. We had a 7:45PM reservation, arrived at 7:40 to a packed lobby. Hostess said tables were "a little backed up". Later found out that weeks prior, one of the owners had booked a banquet - which used up tables and staff. We were finally seated at 8:10. We think the restaurant could have planned a bit better to accommodate the anticipated crowd they'd get on the last day of the special menu. Due to the packed restaurant, it was noisy but we did have a table against a wall so it was a little quieter there. The service was excellent and the food very good and a good value for the special menu. Steve and Devon took great care of us. My husband had the 6oz tenderloin filet, medium rare, it was cooked perfectly and tasted wonderful. I ordered the 2, 4oz tenderloin filets in peppercorn cream sauce. While very tasty, the meat was slightly overcooked to my taste. I didn't notice at first, because of the sauce. I took one piece home and when I went to reheat it, noticed it was past medium rare. This is the first time we've eaten in the main restaurant; we've had the bar menu specials a couple of times. The sides of the arugula salads and cream corn were wonderful, as was the hot bread and delicious butter. The garlic mashed potatoes were all right, but nothing special. Mini cheesecake desserts were great. We'll definitely go back during the next Restaurant Week. I already sent a review through the Ruth's Chris website; I hadn't mentioned my steak being over-done since I hadn't eaten the leftover piece until after I sent the review to them. Thank you, Carol Kaczmarek

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

worth the wait

Dined on February 6, 2016

Had a reservation. Felt ignored after we checked in and had to ask after waiting 20 minutes when we would be seated. All in all, it was worth the wait.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Our 1st visit.

Dined on February 6, 2016

The service was outstanding. Steve was wonderful. Everyone was polite and welcoming. Our steaks were prepared just perfect. Our side dishes were disappointing. They were luke warm at best. The $9 baked potato was not even warm enough to melt the butter. It also did not taste like it was fresh. We were very excited to come for our 1st visit. We had everything from appetizers to coffee and dessert and even though the steak was exceptional I did not feel it was a $166 meal. We will probably visit again but scale back on what we order.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Food/Atmosphere in Asheville

Dined on February 5, 2016

This is our favorite place to eat. Pricey, but well worth it. Food is always excellent, service is typically excellent & atmosphere has an ambiance that is appealing to the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had quite a wait for being assigned t our table

Dined on February 5, 2016

Several groups who had arrived after our group were assigned to their tables before we were. It was really not a problem, but didn't seem as the beat way to treat incoming customers.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Uninspired food, Great service

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

We had put off Ruth's Chris because of price and "chain restaurant - all the same" - ness. Unfortunately our fears were well founded. The beef is way too salty (which they warn you about), the sides are so uninspired and they have to warn everyone over and over again that the plates are VERY HOT. You hear it at your table and then at every other table in the crowded space. Why so salty? Why so darn hot? This restaurant is such a throwback to the 1950's. Asheville has so many creative restaurants with locally sourced product that don't serve creamed corn and pulverized potatoes as expensive sides. Everything is a la carte. Fine is the foods were carefully crafted and beautifully presented but they are neither. On the plus side - The staff is superb. Well trained and courteous. They were the most professional staff I have experienced in WNC.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First Time

Dined on February 1, 2016

This was my first time to Ruth's Chris and we came for Restaurant Week to try it at a discount. I was wearing a dark blue sweater dress and was impressed when the host who sat us gave me a black napkin in place of the white one to avoid white lint getting on my clothes. Nice touch! Everyone at our 4-top had beef. Three of the steaks were excellent, but my boyfriend's was overlooked and a little dry. We didn't say anything to the server, but we definitely wouldn't order that particular cut again. It was the medallions that was overlooked. My tenderloin was excellent and the ribeye was enormous.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our First time at Ruth Chris Asheville , ...

vip
Dined on February 1, 2016

Our First time at Ruth Chris Asheville , everything was perfect Service to food and great atmosphere . We be back to Ruth Chris this year , also it look like some very nice private rooms be ideal for small Get together So if in Asheville should stop in at Ruth chris

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Lack of support.

Dined on January 31, 2016

The waitress who took care of us had no support, we were constantly waiting for drink refills and it was not as easy to get a hold of the waitress as usual. We have dined here many times and there is usually 2 people minimum helping with the service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week Dining

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

We always enjoy dining here. Overall All our entree were great. Three people in our party ordered the 11oz fillet one of these was burnt on outside and rare in middle...it was ordered medium . When it was sent back and she got same steak only more burnt did not want to send it back another time Our waitress was attentive and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service.

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Food and service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always outstanding

Dined on January 30, 2016

We are regulars at Ruth's Chris because it is consistently great -- food and service. The service is attentive and very professional (James!!!).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxing Dinner with friends

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

As always, the food, staff (James, and Lauren) were great. We appreciate the care they take to ensure we have a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

ASHEVILLE RESTAURANT WEEK ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

We wanted to try the Asheville Restaurant Week menu which was considerably less expensive than the normal a la carte menu. We had eaten at Ruth's Chris before but at a different location and had eaten the a la carte menu, so we knew how expensive the restaurant is! We both ordered mushroom soup as our starter. When it arrived it looked very unappetising as the soup had swirled around the bowl and left a 'ring' around the bowl whilst being brought to our table from the kitchen. It was very thin and when we tasted it, it was cold! Needless to say, we called a waiter over and asked him to return it to the kitchen. When it came back it was warmer but was too thin and not flavourful! Our main courses were delicious and cooked to perfection; we had both ordered filet mignon and requested that they were medium cooked. The vegetables were good. The deserts were very nice; we both ordered one each of the cheesecakes on offer - a vanilla cheesecake and a chocolate cheesecake. Our server, Lyndsey, was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Would we dine there again! The restaurant itself is crowded and the tables are close together. The people on the table next to us, for instance, were looking at us when we asked the waiter to return our soup to the kitchen, so they could hear our conversation! When you are paying top dollar for a meal you expect a little more space. I don't think we will be returning there to pay their a la carte prices again! Great steaks but their soup leaves a lot to be desired!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just what you'd expect

Dined on January 27, 2016

Look - Ruth's Chris has excellent food, nice atmosphere, and attentive service. I can't afford to eat at places like this very often, but, when I do, I feel we're getting what we're paying for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.