About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville

26 All Souls Cresent
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Located in Historic Biltmore Village. Start your evening the Ruth's Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender and delicious steak you've ever tasted. Or, if you're in the mood for something a little different, our extensive a la carte menu features extra-thick cut steak, live Maine Lobster, fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth's Chris genuine hospitality. So whether you're a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm – 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-6200

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Music in our Bar and Lounge on Wednesday and Friday Nights.
Performance Schedule
Wednesdays
Rockell Scott
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Fridays
Jazz Trio
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet & on site parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Pete Repak

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sip and Smoke: Last Tuesday of Every Month
Ladies Night: Last Thursday of Every Month

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bbq Shrimp - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Bread Pudding - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Brussel Sprouts - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Bone-in Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Crab Stack - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Creme Brulee - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Fire Roasted Corn - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Lobster Mac - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Asparagus - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Mashed Potatoes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Seafood Tower - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Sin Cake - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Chopped Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Crab Cakes - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Shrimp Cocktail - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Stuffed Mushrooms - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Broiler - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Steak House Salad - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Tomahawk Ribeye - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Filet - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Ribeye Cut - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Sweet Potato - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Tomato Onion - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Ny Strip - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC
Ribeye Oscar - Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville, Asheville, NC

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Jan 17, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Special valid Jan 17, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Biltmore Village Restaurant Week The best time to try everything you haven't yet. Special valid Jan 17, 2017 - Jan 29, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Consider a Private Dining Room at Ruth's Chris Biltmore for your next family celebration or corporate event! Our private dining rooms are perfect for every occasion from wedding rehearsals to VIP retirements! Plan a casual networking reception on our patio, or an intimate party in our Wine Cellar.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (38)
Romantic (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Notable Wine List (18)
Bar Seating (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Private Room (11)
Fireplace (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Family Style (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Historic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Live Music (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always great food and service. Everythi ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined a day ago

Always great food and service. Everything is housemade including salad dressings, cocktails, desserts, and you can tell!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with friends for restaurant week ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

We went with friends for restaurant week, and we were really looking forward to getting this value at such a high end restaurant. Our reservation was for 7:00, and we arrived at 6:50. We were not seated until 7:45...this is unacceptable for a restaurant of this caliber. Our friends were ready to leave, and they would have, had they not been with us. Both my husband and I got the two 4 oz tenderloin as pouvre. One of the pieces was great, and the other one had a really odd flavor. When we compared our meals, both my husband and I felt the same way abou the meat dish. Yes...we will go back, but they were definitely under par this time.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We went for Asheville restaurant week. A ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

We went for Asheville restaurant week. At other establishments, we have observed staff being rushed and just plain overworked during restaurant week. We observed the Ruth's Chris waitstaff treating everyone exceptionally well and as if they were long time customers. No one seemed rushed, yet the tables and bar were full to capacity. Our server, Jodi, remembered us from past reservations and went out of her way to make our night special. If staff is upbeat, calm and pleasant during Restaurant Week, imagine what your evening with them will be like after the special week is over!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was Awesome !

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was Awesome !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, the staff is ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service, the staff is all friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We happen to hit Asheville Restaurant we ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

We happen to hit Asheville Restaurant week so we got quite a deal! Everything was cooked to perfection. I panicked at first when so many people were there for a Wed. night and was quite worried I would not get to enjoy my husband and the meal - the bar was quite energetic! But they seated us upstairs and it was fantastic right by the window overlooking down town very romantic only 5 or 6 tables up there so nice and quiet. We could still hear the music which was just fine! Very very happy! Parking situation well .....sucked! unless you wanted to fork out $ to have valet - which my husband would never have anyone touch his vehicle so....we walked.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ask for Steve Jamerson's section, he is ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Ask for Steve Jamerson's section, he is amazing! I have been coming here for a few years now and have never had a bad experience. The wait staff is great (Steve is by far the best) and the food is always wonderful! The manager, Dana, is very polite and personable. I have been to Ruth's Chris all over America and this is my favorite by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding for restaurant week. Great v ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding for restaurant week. Great value and quality is the same. Love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, but my steak was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent, but my steak was very slightly overdone. The texture was very good otherwise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We drove about two hours to get there fo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

We drove about two hours to get there for my fiancee's birthday, and it was worth the drive. The food was fantastic, and the service was first rate. The drive into Asheville was beautiful, even though we are well into winter now.

We waited a short time to be seated as we arrived early, and the coffee served in the bar area was also excellent. When seated for dinner, the room was small and cozy, and the noise level was quite low for a restaurant.

I highly recommend the filet, which cooked medium rare just melted in our mouth. The mushroom soup was superb, as were the bread pudding and chocolate cheesecake served for dessert.

This was our first experience with Ruth's Chris, and while the meal was discounted for restaurant week in Asheville, nothing seemed less than what I would expect if I was paying full price. While it is expensive, I believe that you get what you pay for and we left very satisfied.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great way to spend a special dinner. Th ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great way to spend a special dinner. The service is above and beyond what is required for an outstanding evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for a wonderful steak dinner ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for a wonderful steak dinner!! One of the best steak dinners I can remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat was great, the sides just so so ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

The meat was great, the sides just so so, nothing special....my one main complaint was the over the top bordering on obsequious wait staff.. I really don't want to be interrupted constantly to ask how everything is.... I like attentiveness but this was just way too much! Back off a bit and allow diners their space! It would be much more enjoyable

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Asked for my meat well done it was media ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Asked for my meat well done it was median rare. Had to send it back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was Taylor and he was excelle ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our waiter was Taylor and he was excellent. The wine master Kenneth, recommended a wine for us to try with our steak and lamb that was out of this world. His knowledge of the vineyard and his ability to match the perfect red wine are just one of the many reasons we will be back and soon!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful treat to dine at Ruth ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a wonderful treat to dine at Ruth's....Taylor was a wonderful server and the food was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We consider ourselves to be "regulars" a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We consider ourselves to be "regulars" at Ruth's Chris - it's a great restaurant for special occasions (this time was birthdays), but we love to go when we just want a good meal. It never disappoints - the food, bar, staff - all wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for a special occasion, or ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A great place for a special occasion, or to make any occasion special.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The atmosphere and service here was fant ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The atmosphere and service here was fantastic. The servers were SO attentive, definitely makes celebrating a special occasion or anniversary here worth it!

P.S. I don't know what kind of butter they use on their steaks, but it is fantastic!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. From the pro ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent service and food. From the professional wait staff to the wine list, this is a fantastic place to eat in Asheville. Also, the dining room is quiet which is getting harder to find these days. Holds it's own with any of the higher end local restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the food and the level of ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The quality of the food and the level of service is always 5 star.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was great, but I ha ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service was great, but I had a 9:00pm reservation and after they confirmed it with a call to me, it somehow got changed to 9:30pm. We had to wait until after 10:30pm to be seated and then we were put in the room next to the front door, where it was very noisy and 30 other people waiting was standing everywhere looking at us. I took my wife here for our anniversary, so overall I wasn't happy with the outcome. Only the food and the people serving us made this night as good as it was!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

1 hour wait even with reservations

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

1 hour wait even with reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is the second time we have dined at ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is the second time we have dined at this location. Both times we had reservations and had to wait more than 30 minutes to be seated. Overall, table service was great but quality of food for price was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This is the best romantic restaurant in ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is the best romantic restaurant in Asheville. Great service, outstanding food, quiet atmosphere, elegant, and always reliable. Our waiter, Steve, was absolutely outstanding in every way. The service is always good, the people always friendly and the food always dependable and great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome food as always. Best filet ever. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome food as always. Best filet ever.

Perfect evening. Perfect place to share a special New Years Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations for New Years Eve, and ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had reservations for New Years Eve, and are from out of town, we were seated with in fifteen minutes of the reservation time. The business was very busy. Wife and I dressed for the occasion, business casual. We saw cut, torn blue jeans and tennis shoes, mens hats of all styles, all manners of , lets say McDonald s dress code, numerous couples well dressed befitting the restraint as we felt it would and should be.

Our server ,Steve, was the best. Steve introduced the menu and wine list with the skill and knowledge of a well seasoned professional. Steve's attitude was fantastic and we were well informed of the dishes we ordered. Food was served quickly, hot and just the right proportions.

We strongly recommend Ruth's, don't pay attention to the dress codes of those that are less dressed than you, they're good folks.

Expect to pay top dollar for the evening as we did, it is worth it.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was good. Hostesses tracking tab ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was good. Hostesses tracking table status was a little anoying. Steaks were overcooked. Not typical for this esatblishment. New years eve dinner left us dissapointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice New Years Eve dinner. Food was ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice New Years Eve dinner. Food was cooked as ordered. Waiter was great. Only negative was bread pudding was disliked by all 4 members of our party.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy night, but very attentive waiter an ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Busy night, but very attentive waiter and server. There was a episode which they worked through like a pro. They are difinately keepers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prices are ridiculous for the quality of ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Prices are ridiculous for the quality of the food. Not impressed at all. The service was wonderful as it should be for the amount of money spent. I will never return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

excellent service, above and beyond. Gr ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

excellent service, above and beyond. Great recommendations. Noise level high, but that was OK with us. We were there for a birthday and were very pleased.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Despite several electronic notifications ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Despite several electronic notifications from your company, and requiring me to call them the day of the reservation to confirm, we were seated 30 minutes late. I told the hostess also we only had 4 people instead of 5. When we were seated by another person, she got angry when I told her we only had 4. I never received my second cocktail I ordered with my entree, and I did not have a chance to address this with my waiter as they did not come by frequently enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Steaks great of course, sides very good, ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Steaks great of course, sides very good, service excellent. Ruth Chris very consistent, one of our "go tos" when we travel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Matt, our server, the very highest of qu ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Matt, our server, the very highest of quality. None better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Taylor was Awesome

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our waiter Taylor was Awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I guess there's always a first time for ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I guess there's always a first time for everything. Very disappointing- and that has NEVER happened at a Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Had our annual pre Christmas family dinn ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had our annual pre Christmas family dinner at this location. We traditionally visited the one in Cary, NC for this annual occasion but now that we live in WNC we went to the Asheville restaurant. We are very happy we did as this location is better hands down. Great ambiance, service and food. Only down side was the table we were seated at was a bit small for 7 diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a combination Christmas/anniversa ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a combination Christmas/anniversary/birthday dinner for three couples at Ruth's Chris in Asheville recently. Everything was perfect! The food was wonderful and the service well-balanced. I'd recommend the restaurant for date nights, special occasions or just when you want a perfect steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually go to Ruth's Chris to celebra ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We usually go to Ruth's Chris to celebrate something, and we're never disappointed. The food is excellent and the service attentive with just the right amount of friendliness. The appetizers are creative, the steaks excellent, and the add-on lobster tails tasty and tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.