About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville

26 All Souls Cresent
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Located in Historic Biltmore Village. Start your evening the Ruth's Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender and delicious steak you've ever tasted. Or, if you're in the mood for something a little different, our extensive a la carte menu features extra-thick cut steak, live Maine Lobster, fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth's Chris genuine hospitality. So whether you're a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm – 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-6200

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Music in our Bar and Lounge on Wednesday and Friday Nights.
Performance Schedule
Wednesdays
Rockell Scott
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Fridays
Jazz Trio
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet & on site parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Pete Repak

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sip and Smoke: Last Tuesday of Every Month
Ladies Night: Last Thursday of Every Month

Promotions

Sip & Smoke (Last Tuesday of Every Month)

Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Ladies Night (Last Thursday of Every Month)

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Ruth’s Filet & Rosé | $30 At The Bar

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Sip & Smoke (Last Tuesday of Every Month)

Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

This Event is Held on the last Tuesday of every month on the Patio The event will include two pours, each one consisting of a tequila(Special Selected Liquor Every Month) and a cigar, $40.00 Per Person you may order from our $9.00 SSS Menu all night. Excludes Tax and Tip. Community Seating. Special valid Aug 3, 2016 - Dec 1, 2016 on Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Ladies Night (Last Thursday of Every Month)

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Details

Ladies Night is a time to enjoy our $9.00 Happy Hour Menu Listen to Live Music Enter to Win wonderful gifts provided by Spas, Salons, and Boutiques in Asheville!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Community Seating!. Special valid Aug 3, 2016 - Dec 1, 2016 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 7:30 PM.

Ruth’s Filet & Rosé | $30 At The Bar

Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

6 oz. of Filet topped with 3 Shrimp, paired with a glass of Jean-Luc Colombo, Rose’, “Cape Bleue”, Provence, France for $30.00. Available Sunday through Friday in our SideBar Lounge and Patio. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 8, 2016 - Sep 8, 2016 on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Consider a Private Dining Room at Ruth's Chris Biltmore for your next family celebration or corporate event! Our private dining rooms are perfect for every occasion from wedding rehearsals to VIP retirements! Plan a casual networking reception on our patio, or an intimate party in our Wine Cellar.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Asheville
Best Service
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (35)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful service and great food (tender ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful service and great food (tenderloin). Overpriced, but heh, it's Ruth Kreis!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for our anniversary which was n ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went for our anniversary which was noted on open table and to the hostess. We arrived 15 minutes early and were told a table was not available and we would have to wait in the bar. This is their operation to get bar business as over half the tables were empty on a Tuesday night. I ordered a wine which was very bitter. I asked to change it and they charged me for both. They never acknowledged our anniversary and rushed us through the meal. I eat at many Ruths Chris and feel this location is operated for tourists with the attitude they will never see you again. The management should spend a couple of days at the Coral Gables location and learn how customers should be treated. We spent $ 440.00 for four people. No special occasion for us!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Had dinner with friends before going to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had dinner with friends before going to the concert at Biltmore Estate. They got us in and out with time to spare! Our waiter, Steve, was the best!! We'll be back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always. Food is perfection a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Awesome as always. Food is perfection and memorable, wait staff (Matt) very knowledgeable and professional but did not hover. Its our special event go to restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except for the open ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was great except for the opening cocktail. The "whiskey sour" tasted like a bourbon and water with a few fruits floating in it. When we told the manager, he brought us two "for real" whiskey sours. But there is no excuse for a bartender at a restaurant of this caliber not knowing how to make such a standard cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AS USUAL, OUR WAITER STEVE DID AN OUTSTA ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

AS USUAL, OUR WAITER STEVE DID AN OUTSTANDING JOB!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Ruth Chris's Steak House for ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We went to Ruth Chris's Steak House for dinner in celebration of my sister's birthday. WOW, there was a card on the table signed by all staff wishing her a happy birthday, champagne to toast and then a dessert sampling given to her at the end of the meal. Two of us had the chef's feature of steak, crab cake and chicken and it was great...very tasty and a good sampling of what is on the menu. Other diners had steaks and everyone went home full and happy! Loved the sweet potato casserole.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

fantastic evening with great food and gr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

fantastic evening with great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our 25 yr old son's birthday. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Went for our 25 yr old son's birthday. The service was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, and the ambiance quiet. This is one of the better, if not the best, Ruth's Chris Steakhouses we've been to as far as food quality goes. The steaks were seared with a nice crust on the outside. Excellent quality. We all enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everyone went out of their way, service ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everyone went out of their way, service was fantastic

Special thanks to all Kenneth, Matt, Ryan and Carle

Thanks for a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Our server was fantastic

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent! Our server was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Steaks are the very best. Se ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food. Steaks are the very best. Service is always fantastic and staff and management are friendly. Even the valet recognizes us and greets us. I would recommend this place for all special occasions, birthdays, group events, and holiday dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding however the ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service was outstanding however the food was just so-so. I would have expected with the price you pay for the food that I would come away with a rave review for the food quality but the flavors just weren't there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very enjoyable and food was on point! Ve ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very enjoyable and food was on point! Very friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love eating at Ruth's. The steaks are o ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Love eating at Ruth's. The steaks are outstanding!!! Love the creamed spinach!!! Service is always wonderful. Donald, our server was wonderful!!!! We have had him as our server several times and he has been wonderful each time!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another special night out on July 26, 20 ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Another special night out on July 26, 2016 at Ruth's Chris. This is THE place to go for a great steak and impeccable service. The service level here is head and shoulders above the average Asheville scene.

Very enjoyable. Will definitely go again for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date night with my girlfriend. Foo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great date night with my girlfriend. Food was phenomenal and the service and atmosphere were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent server in Asheville! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had an excellent server in Asheville! We have always liked to go to Ruth's when we get the chance. This was no different! Our server took the time to explain changes to the menu and make sure we knew everything ahead of time. Then when our food didn't come out the way we order, our server went out of her way to fix it. Ruth's was in a fun spot and had a great atmosphere. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Large cavernous restaurant with no chara ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Large cavernous restaurant with no character. Food was average. No special feeling. Would not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Everything was wonderful. Probably the b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Probably the best Ruth's Chris I've been too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth's Chris was excellent, as have been ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Ruth's Chris was excellent, as have been all past visits. The recognition that it was my wife's birthday was known to everyone on staff, from the front desk greeter, hostess, waitperson and manager. The table was reserved in a quiet place to allow conversation and was perfect. It would have been nice to have an outside view, but that is not a complaint, just that it would have added to the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our regular waiter, Steve, was not worki ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our regular waiter, Steve, was not working this evening. We had Donald and he did a great job too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bartender was okay. Dinner service made ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Bartender was okay. Dinner service made up for fair drinks at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We went hear for a family get together w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went hear for a family get together with out of town visiting family. It was to be a special treat for us and it certainly lived up to that. We enjoyed the atmosphere as well as the service and the food was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Meal, drinks & Service !

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great Meal, drinks & Service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Traditionally, the food at Ruth's Chris ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Traditionally, the food at Ruth's Chris is consistently very good. This Ruth's Chris followed with the same excellent fare and service demanded by its founder Ruth Fertel.

There were six of us at the table and each was pleased by the selections we ordered.

Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Where ever I go, if there is a R. C. I g ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Where ever I go, if there is a R. C. I go, however, this is the 2nd time I was in Ashville and both times we wanted to hv a drink @ the bar 1st and it seems to be an issue. Both times I had dinner reservations and was there early to hv a drink before dinner and we're asked questions. This last time the woman bartender had someone else wait on us. She had an attitude. I had out of town guests that I took to Ashville with me. Very uncomfortable going to this particular Ruth Chris. This happened both times. The 1st time we were told the bar was crowded, really!!! I don't know if I will go bk to this R. C. I've gone in NYC, Long Islsnd, Fla, NC, Boston, and other cities but this had only happened in Ashville. Even my friends noticed. What's up with Ashville Ruth Chris??

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service great as usual. Disappointed in ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service great as usual. Disappointed in my entrée selection "heart of ribeye " . Ordered medium rare and had a thick tough burned crust and was quite sure it was just sirloin. I'm sure they would have fixed it but didn't want to make the evening about me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We had a party of six happy relatives. M ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a party of six happy relatives. My Aunt and Uncle hadn't been to Ruth's since their 50th anniversary 7 years ago. Everything was excellent and we all enjoyed it very much. Thank you for the free creamed spinach, it was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CHILDREN CAME UP FROM FLORIDA TO VISIT. ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

CHILDREN CAME UP FROM FLORIDA TO VISIT. THEY HAD NEVER BEEN TO RUTH'S CHRIS BEFORE. THEY ENJOYED EVERYTHING.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delicious and perfect service tha ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always delicious and perfect service thanks to our delightful server, Ralph, and all the staff. We are never disappointed with a meal at Ruth's Chris in Asheville.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sea bass was delicious. Excellent servic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Sea bass was delicious. Excellent service and romantic setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our servers were attentive and accommoda ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our servers were attentive and accommodating without being intrusive. Food was good, but our expectations were high and not all our choices fully met them. For example, my ribeye was under-cooked and a portion of it was too gristly to eat. The ambience was pleasant, but a large group meeting while we were there raised the noise level above what is probably normal. The wine list is excellent, but on the pricey side, in my opinion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

What is wonderful about this restaurant ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

What is wonderful about this restaurant is that regardless of Location, it is always consistent. In the town of Asheville where one word nouns become trendy restaurants, edible flowers adorn salads and desserts and portions are designed for those men who weigh less than 120 lbs, Ruth's Chris is a welcome "change".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Matt, aka "Alexander", was one of the be ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Matt, aka "Alexander", was one of the best servers we've had anywhere, anytime. Everything was par excellence...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I chose Ruth's Chris for a very special ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I chose Ruth's Chris for a very special dinner with me and my girlfriend. I requested a booth and someplace away from the kitchen entrance, the bar and any large parties. Well that surprisingly enough turned out to be a huge mistake. Upon being seated, we were escorted to a room that was probably 15' wide by 20' deep that had 4 booths (2 on each side with an aisle dividing them). The best way to describe being seated back there was eerie and almost completely isolated. There was barely even any music audible. Everyone else must have felt the same because they were either not talking or only talking in a whisper. It was extremely uncomfortable and I should have asked to move immediately. We then ordered the jumbo shrimp cocktail. When it arrived, I had never seen anything like it. It looked as if the shrimp had not been cooked as they were translucent. I asked the server about that and to which she first tried to tell me that it's the way they usually serve them and that perhaps it was the lighting that made them look that way, then after further inspection, she did agree with me and we sent them back for the crab cakes. They crab cakes were good. I will say that the bread they served was undoubtedly my favorite part of the meal. It was probably THE best bread I've ever had in my life. My girlfriend ordered the half chicken and she really liked it. I ordered a filet mignon and it was good, but not incredible. We also ordered a side of the lobster macaroni and cheese. It was very soupy upon delivery and even though it had some visible lobster pieces, it was not what we had hoped it would be. Ultimately, the meal was good, but the experience and ambiance was not due to the fact of sitting in the odd room and being under 10 feet away from strangers across the table. I would recommend not getting a booth at this Ruth's Chris but either sitting in the main dining room or at the bar for a more normal and enjoyable experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

What can we say. As usual Ruth's Chris ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

What can we say. As usual Ruth's Chris -Asheville did not disappoint. If you get a chance do not hesitate and ask for Jessica or Steve. They will take excellent care of you. Always spot on with meal timing and drink service. Personable, with excellent recommendations and answers to our questions. Another superb experience for our anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We frequent this restaurant on a regular ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We frequent this restaurant on a regular basis when we return to NC.

Excellent food and service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Steaks are their specialty, Service is t ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Steaks are their specialty, Service is their hallmark. The servers are always Knowledgeable & Attentive without being overbearing. Petite filet with blue cheese crust is my favorite with grilled asparagus. We've never had a bad piece of meat. What can be better than a prime cut of beef, grilled at high temps to perfection (we like it medium) smothered in butter and topped with cheese. It is our special occasion, romantic get away. Their wines are very good with many price levels to pick from and enjoy. We always come back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.