About Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville

26 All Souls Cresent
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Located in Historic Biltmore Village. Start your evening the Ruth's Chris way – over a mouth-watering filet. Sit back and enjoy the most tender and delicious steak you've ever tasted. Or, if you're in the mood for something a little different, our extensive a la carte menu features extra-thick cut steak, live Maine Lobster, fresh seafood, a variety of vegetable dishes, and eight potato selections. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth's Chris genuine hospitality. So whether you're a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining may be arranged.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 5:00pm – 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm – 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 398-6200

Website:
http://www.ruths-chris.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Music in our Bar and Lounge on Wednesday and Friday Nights.
Performance Schedule
Wednesdays
Rockell Scott
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Fridays
Jazz Trio
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Catering:
Ruth's Chris event catering delivers the service, the expertise and of course, the flavor wherever you and your guests gather. Our signature steak experience arrives at your location with an on-site Private Event team of executive chefs, certified bartenders and Ruth's Chris trained servers. From choosing your menu to overseeing the smallest details, Ruth's Chris event catering staff looks forward to helping create your perfect occasion.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet & on site parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Pete Repak

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sip and Smoke: Last Tuesday of Every Month
Ladies Night: Last Thursday of Every Month

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Consider a Private Dining Room at Ruth's CHRIS Biltmore for your next family celebration or corporate event! Our private dining rooms are perfect for every occasion from wedding rehearsals to VIP retirements! Plan a casual networking reception on our patio, or an intimate party in our Wine Cellar.

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville
Romantic
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

special occasion (51)
romantic (40)
fit for foodies (23)
See All
notable wine list (23)
good for groups (14)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
business meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
860 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Large cavernous restaurant with no chara ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Large cavernous restaurant with no character. Food was average. No special feeling. Would not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Everything was wonderful. Probably the b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was wonderful. Probably the best Ruth's Chris I've been too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth's Chris was excellent, as have been ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Ruth's Chris was excellent, as have been all past visits. The recognition that it was my wife's birthday was known to everyone on staff, from the front desk greeter, hostess, waitperson and manager. The table was reserved in a quiet place to allow conversation and was perfect. It would have been nice to have an outside view, but that is not a complaint, just that it would have added to the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our regular waiter, Steve, was not worki ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our regular waiter, Steve, was not working this evening. We had Donald and he did a great job too.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bartender was okay. Dinner service made ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Bartender was okay. Dinner service made up for fair drinks at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We went hear for a family get together w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 7 days ago

We went hear for a family get together with out of town visiting family. It was to be a special treat for us and it certainly lived up to that. We enjoyed the atmosphere as well as the service and the food was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Meal, drinks & Service !

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great Meal, drinks & Service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Traditionally, the food at Ruth's Chris ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Traditionally, the food at Ruth's Chris is consistently very good. This Ruth's Chris followed with the same excellent fare and service demanded by its founder Ruth Fertel.

There were six of us at the table and each was pleased by the selections we ordered.

Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Where ever I go, if there is a R. C. I g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Where ever I go, if there is a R. C. I go, however, this is the 2nd time I was in Ashville and both times we wanted to hv a drink @ the bar 1st and it seems to be an issue. Both times I had dinner reservations and was there early to hv a drink before dinner and we're asked questions. This last time the woman bartender had someone else wait on us. She had an attitude. I had out of town guests that I took to Ashville with me. Very uncomfortable going to this particular Ruth Chris. This happened both times. The 1st time we were told the bar was crowded, really!!! I don't know if I will go bk to this R. C. I've gone in NYC, Long Islsnd, Fla, NC, Boston, and other cities but this had only happened in Ashville. Even my friends noticed. What's up with Ashville Ruth Chris??

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service great as usual. Disappointed in ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service great as usual. Disappointed in my entrée selection "heart of ribeye " . Ordered medium rare and had a thick tough burned crust and was quite sure it was just sirloin. I'm sure they would have fixed it but didn't want to make the evening about me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We had a party of six happy relatives. M ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a party of six happy relatives. My Aunt and Uncle hadn't been to Ruth's since their 50th anniversary 7 years ago. Everything was excellent and we all enjoyed it very much. Thank you for the free creamed spinach, it was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CHILDREN CAME UP FROM FLORIDA TO VISIT. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

CHILDREN CAME UP FROM FLORIDA TO VISIT. THEY HAD NEVER BEEN TO RUTH'S CHRIS BEFORE. THEY ENJOYED EVERYTHING.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delicious and perfect service tha ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always delicious and perfect service thanks to our delightful server, Ralph, and all the staff. We are never disappointed with a meal at Ruth's Chris in Asheville.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our servers were attentive and accommoda ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our servers were attentive and accommodating without being intrusive. Food was good, but our expectations were high and not all our choices fully met them. For example, my ribeye was under-cooked and a portion of it was too gristly to eat. The ambience was pleasant, but a large group meeting while we were there raised the noise level above what is probably normal. The wine list is excellent, but on the pricey side, in my opinion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

What is wonderful about this restaurant ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

What is wonderful about this restaurant is that regardless of Location, it is always consistent. In the town of Asheville where one word nouns become trendy restaurants, edible flowers adorn salads and desserts and portions are designed for those men who weigh less than 120 lbs, Ruth's Chris is a welcome "change".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Matt, aka "Alexander", was one of the be ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Matt, aka "Alexander", was one of the best servers we've had anywhere, anytime. Everything was par excellence...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I chose Ruth's Chris for a very special ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I chose Ruth's Chris for a very special dinner with me and my girlfriend. I requested a booth and someplace away from the kitchen entrance, the bar and any large parties. Well that surprisingly enough turned out to be a huge mistake. Upon being seated, we were escorted to a room that was probably 15' wide by 20' deep that had 4 booths (2 on each side with an aisle dividing them). The best way to describe being seated back there was eerie and almost completely isolated. There was barely even any music audible. Everyone else must have felt the same because they were either not talking or only talking in a whisper. It was extremely uncomfortable and I should have asked to move immediately. We then ordered the jumbo shrimp cocktail. When it arrived, I had never seen anything like it. It looked as if the shrimp had not been cooked as they were translucent. I asked the server about that and to which she first tried to tell me that it's the way they usually serve them and that perhaps it was the lighting that made them look that way, then after further inspection, she did agree with me and we sent them back for the crab cakes. They crab cakes were good. I will say that the bread they served was undoubtedly my favorite part of the meal. It was probably THE best bread I've ever had in my life. My girlfriend ordered the half chicken and she really liked it. I ordered a filet mignon and it was good, but not incredible. We also ordered a side of the lobster macaroni and cheese. It was very soupy upon delivery and even though it had some visible lobster pieces, it was not what we had hoped it would be. Ultimately, the meal was good, but the experience and ambiance was not due to the fact of sitting in the odd room and being under 10 feet away from strangers across the table. I would recommend not getting a booth at this Ruth's Chris but either sitting in the main dining room or at the bar for a more normal and enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

What can we say. As usual Ruth's Chris ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

What can we say. As usual Ruth's Chris -Asheville did not disappoint. If you get a chance do not hesitate and ask for Jessica or Steve. They will take excellent care of you. Always spot on with meal timing and drink service. Personable, with excellent recommendations and answers to our questions. Another superb experience for our anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We frequent this restaurant on a regular ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We frequent this restaurant on a regular basis when we return to NC.

Excellent food and service!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Steaks are their specialty, Service is t ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Steaks are their specialty, Service is their hallmark. The servers are always Knowledgeable & Attentive without being overbearing. Petite filet with blue cheese crust is my favorite with grilled asparagus. We've never had a bad piece of meat. What can be better than a prime cut of beef, grilled at high temps to perfection (we like it medium) smothered in butter and topped with cheese. It is our special occasion, romantic get away. Their wines are very good with many price levels to pick from and enjoy. We always come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and chose to have our 32nd weddi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

My wife and chose to have our 32nd wedding anniversary dinner at RC. Food was outstanding and our waitress was exceptional. Good time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

The filet was so delicious, good wine se ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The filet was so delicious, good wine selection, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I chose Ruth's Chris based on past experiences at other restaurants to celebrate our 45 wedding anniversary. We were totally disappointed with our seating, next to the main highway going in and out of the kitchen. Very noise and distrubing. We even requested another table with no luck. We will not return to this Ruth's Chris.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Amazing

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food and service was amazing as usual.

We took several of our staff who had never been to Ruth Chris before and they can stop talking about the dinner.

Thank you for taking care of us for our office wrap dinner

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over-rated and over-priced.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Asheville.

Although we had heard people rave about the food here, we had never tried it. We decided to make up for that void in our gastronomic wanderings and dined there for my husband's birthday last week. They made a note that it was his birthday but, as far as we could tell, it didn't seem to make a bit of difference.

Even though we aren't big eaters, we each ordered salads, entrees and 3 sides so that we could try a variety of items on the menu. Everything is a la carte, and over-priced to put it mildly. Unless they're serving Kobe steak flown in on a private jet from Japan, they really have an overblown idea of how to put prices in line with what they're serving. While the steaks were quite good - I ordered the ribeye, which was much too large for what normal humans should be eating (more reasonable servings - i.e. 6 - 8 oz aren't available), and my husband got a filet. I felt that the filet was rather tasteless compared with the ribeye, but that's just the difference in the cuts of meat, I suppose, and my husband did prefer it to my ribeye. We shared a glass of wine and didn't feel up to dessert. . The Brussel sprouts were poorly cooked and tough, the mushrooms were okay and the thin fries were served cold (we did ask to have them redone). We took home 2 doggie bags containing enough leftovers for another entire meal and then some. When all was said and done our bill, without tip, was just over $150 ! This is really too much considering I could have prepared the meal at home for a small fraction of the cost - albeit, I would have had to do the preparation and serving of the meal. But that would have been okay considering that we rather feel as if we were overcharged for a meal that was actually very basic and the service was certainly no better than, and perhaps not as good as, other comparable restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We missed our favorite server, Valisity. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We missed our favorite server, Valisity. Our new server would greatly benefit from more training in dealing with patrons, keeping on top of orders, and knowing the menu. I've come to expect a higher standard for this restaurant, and was disappointed. The Sales & Marketing Mgr., Olga, more than made up for our server's inexperience. We'll be back, but hope to be there when Valisisty is working.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

If you want steak, this the place! Salads are also perfect. One cannot find more accomplished servers and special requests are treated seriously.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just returned to NC. Food & service wer ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Just returned to NC. Food & service were both outstanding. As usual, we will return.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had nine people for a graduation cele ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We had nine people for a graduation celebration and the service and food was phenomenal even though we had a big group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great anniversary dinner here. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a great anniversary dinner here. Food was great (although somewhat disappointed in the Brussel sprouts......a bit too tough and crunchy ).....but loved the sirloin, the augratin potatoes, and the wonderful bread and salad. Large side servings to share were nice. We took home a white chocolate bread pudding with the grand mariner sauce.......it was heaven!! The rose on our table was a nice touch......and complimentary champagne to celebrate the anniversary was appreciated. We had a very good and sweet server in Brianna. Very competent, informed, and cordial. Yes, it was expensive .....but thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost everything perfect!

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

One exception to total perfection was the side of vegies which went cold rather rapidly. You'd think a restaurant that serves steaks onto 500 degree plates would know how to keep the veggies hot. (Suggestion: Perhaps a covered dish/bowl). But really, we were treated well...from start to finish. And we'll return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent, but general ambia ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Service was excellent, but general ambiance was pretentious. Our steaks tasted great but a little overdone to our liking. Chopped salad was not as advertised, mostly a coleslaw.

Overall, too pricey.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's Day dinner should go flawlessl ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day dinner should go flawlessly. The sea bass was the absolute best fish I have ever tasted Unfortunately we had to send the creamed spinach back two times because it was just barely warm. My steak was not very hot either but the waiter was trying so hard to please, I didn't want to add to his burden. Dinner would have been perfect if hot. There was a PROBLEM in the kitchen that night. We could here voices and rumblings from that direction.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great place

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This is the best place for steak in the area along with outstanding side dishes and great service. Highly recommend for those looking to enjoy a fine meal and relax in a great environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around fantastic

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Each time I visit a Ruth's Chris Steak House I am always reminded why I come back. No matter where the location, there is always amazing food, amazing service, and the ambiance is always so relaxing.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Anniversary

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Anniversary at Ruth Chris. We were congratulated by the Hostess while being seated, there was a signed card by all the waiters at our table, and flowers on the table. Then they even brought a couple of champagne flutes for us. The food was delicious, perfectly prepared and the service was friendly and attentive. The cost wasn't all that much more than the city restaurants, and the parking was free valet! Loved it and we'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jodie was Outstanding!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We enjoyed our night at Ruth's Chris! Our server, Jodie was outstanding anticipating our every need! The food was excellent, properly served, and will be back. Thanks!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We both enjoyed the New York Strips with ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

We both enjoyed the New York Strips with the Brussel Sprouts and Lobster Mac n Cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth It!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Most folks know that Ruth Chris Steak House is expensive. That is OK if the food, service, ambience is worth it. Ruth Chris is "worth it." The food is delicious and well presented. The service from Steven, our server, was top notch. He was attentive without being intrusive. We appreciated that we were advised to split the baked potato between the two of us, as it was a massive potato with sour cream, bacon, butter, and scallions. Even split in half, the potato was more than we could consume after enjoying the most fabulous steak and salad. We highly recommend Ruth Chris Steak House in Asheville, and we are already planning our next visit.

Kindly

Susan Kellogg, patron

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.