About Rusty Scupper - Baltimore

402 Key Highway
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

When in Baltimore enjoy the city's freshest seafood along with Inner Harbor's best view. The Rusty Scupper offers a tempting array of local seafood specialties from Maryland Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes to pan-seared Rockfish with Lobster. You can also enjoy classic dishes such as Beef Tenderloin & Grilled Atlantic Salmon, all served in a spectacular waterfront setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm, Sunday Dinner:3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Key Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 727-3678

Website:
http://www.rusty-scupper.com/

Entertainment:
Piano player Monday - Saturday evenings, Jazz Band Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm

Catering:
The Rusty Scupper’s large, 270-seat open dining room, 75-seat bar lounge, and 142-seat upper deck with outdoor patio afford guests dramatic, sweeping views of Harborplace, the Inner Harbor, and Fells Point. Guests can relax and enjoy live piano entertainment, the region’s highest quality fresh seafood, seasonal cuisine and attentive service at this distinctive waterfront restaurant.

Parking Details:
City owned parking lot available at a reduced rate with validation. Near Rusty Scupper - Baltimore's entrance.

Public Transit:
Water Taxi Stop Nr: 4

Executive Chef:
Will Wilt

Private Party Facilities:
The Rusty Scupper Restaurant, voted Baltimore's "Best Waterfront Dining" by Baltimore Magazine can accommodate private and semi-private events ranging from 10 to 500 guests. We specialize in corporate events, rehearsal dinners, cocktail receptions, holiday events, crab feasts, and other private parties. Please contact the Sales Department for more information and Banquet Menus.

Private Party Contact:
Emily Smith: 4107273678x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Allow us to be your silent partner in planning. The Rusty Scupper can accommodate groups of all sizes. Please call on me anytime for everything from a casual crab feast to an important business lunch, from a holiday party to a rehearsal dinner or full wedding reception. The Rusty Scupper has been the backdrop to many of life’s most special moments

Restaurant Photos

Rusty Scupper - Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked
Baltimore / Maryland
Scenic View
Baltimore
2 More
Seafood
Baltimore
Most Booked
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Inner Harbor ›

scenic view (322)
special occasion (242)
romantic (194)
See All
great for brunch (118)
good for groups (117)
fit for foodies (107)
great for lunch (84)
neighborhood gem (81)
notable wine list (62)
hot spot (45)
kid-friendly (37)
late-night find (34)
great for outdoor dining (33)
vibrant bar scene (21)
Sort By:
Newest
3796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous in all areas! Due to traffic af ...

Dined 2 days ago

Fabulous in all areas! Due to traffic after the Preakness, we were late for our reservation, but they seated us immediately. We were seated by the window that overlooked the inner harbor and WOW-what a beautiful view! Quite possibly the best sea bass I've ever had. Our server was top notch; very friendly and attentive. Perfect ending to a fun filled day. No doubt we'll be back for dinner when we're back in Baltimore.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good location and food

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent and the staff were very attentive and gracious. Overall the meal was delicious. The view of the Marina is wonderful and adds significantly to the enjoyment of the meal. Would definitely return and recommend to business associates, friends and family.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice quick lunch on the water

Dined 6 days ago

I had a seat at the window on the water with a wonderful view of the harbour. The Cream of Crab soup was good, but, as with most New England Clam Chowder, there was too much flour. There was plenty of crab meat, though, and I enjoyed it. The crab cake sandwich with tartare sauce and potato chips were also good. The Rusty Scupper Amber Ale was very good. The service was also good and prompt.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant, nice food. A bit overpr ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Nice restaurant, nice food. A bit overprized. Very pretty view.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3

Nice venue. Food OK but not fantastic. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Nice venue. Food OK but not fantastic. Wine list limited and bar selection limited as well. All in all a good evening because of the company and the setting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect end to a perfect day

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great food, Great service and a killer view. We will be back again... Little loud from as they call it a vibrant bar scene, but it was worth it for the view alone.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a grand double birthday celebrati ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We had a grand double birthday celebration! Service and food excellent and view of the harbor at night can't be beat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing! I thought that i ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything was amazing! I thought that it shouldve been more quiet but the atmosphere is so great, the place is bound to draw pretty good crowds so i didnt mind the atmospehere. Our waiter was so nice. He was so serious though i had to make him smile. I wish I remembered his name. if you visit this place, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and View

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Fabulous place to enjoy great food with a beautiful view of the inner harbor. Love their fried oysters to start and then I had the broiled crabcake which was done perfectly. My friends shared the chopped salad and fish and chips. Said they were both delicious. Generous portions. Service was really good too. If I am in Baltimore I am coming here to eat!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a beautiful view of the harbor an ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a beautiful view of the harbor and amazing food. I love the Maryland crab cake and soup. The pepper spread with the bread is also delicious! Anything you get will be enjoyed!

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Big disappointment. Beautiful view of th ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Big disappointment. Beautiful view of the harbor, bu mediocre food and TERRIBLE service despite restaurant not being busy. Would not go back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on May 10, 2016

I went here for my anniversary and I was simply amazed at everything! My waiter was new and it was his first day on the job but he did a phenomenal job! I'll definitely go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1

The food is always a good experience and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is always a good experience and exceptional quality.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch! Food was excellent and ser ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Brunch! Food was excellent and server was nice!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful view

Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. It has a lovely view of the inner harbor. We were there for a mother's day brunch. The brunch assortment was great. The only problem was that our reservation was for 1pm and we were not seated until 1:40pm. This was a problem as brunch was only being served until 2:30pm. Our server was wonderful, and very attentive. He told us that around 2:15pm that brunch was ending. We did not have dessert yet. I feel that if there is a problem with reservations that the restaurant should have extended to accommodate the people that were served late. Other than this, I feel under different circumstances it would be a great place to go.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

took my mom for mothers day. Good select ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

took my mom for mothers day. Good selection at the buffet. Wish that they had more seafood options

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch Highly Recommended!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day Brunch was ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!!! All of the buffet dishes were tasty and fresh. Presentation and service was on point. And the restrooms were clean and they had hot water (very important). You must try this restaurant. Enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Mothers day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I called restaurant a few times to get a reservation but each time was told were all booked. Once I visit Open Table I was able to get a table right away. Since was Mother's day there was a line but it moved quickly. The food was excellent and our server was great!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Special Occasion Spot

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went here for the Mother's Day Brunch buffet and so did many other folks! The offerings were pretty good with a fair amount of seafood choices. It was pretty packed at some points though. They did have 2 separate buffet areas and they were both pretty full. Pretty good food and did the job but maybe if they didn't overbook with reservations, it could be a better experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, service and ambiance!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Billy was our waiter: informative, attentive, but not intrusive. Excellent food, with the exception of your fries. Either improve them or ditch them---they detract from your great food. Really liked the crab cakes and the roasted red pepper dip that was served with the bread!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pre-Mother's Day Surprise

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my mother to this restaurant for a pre-Mother's Day dinner. She had never dined here before and I can say that she was truly impressed. The food was good, the service was excellent, and the view was spectacular. The smile on her face told me that I got it right and I can assure you that we will be coming back!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

The view from anywhere in the restaurant ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The view from anywhere in the restaurant is great. It was my boyfriend's birthday. He loved it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view, great dining, excellent staff

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is my "Go To" Restaurant for dinner when visiting the Inner Harbor. It is sophisticated/classy dining without being overly stuffy or pretentious . The live music from the Baby Grand piano in the center of the restaurant creates a relaxed atmosphere with a touch of class forgotten by many other establishments. The wine list is impressive with many offerings and excellent vintages, with Servers offering knowledgeable pairing suggestions. High quality ingredients and expert preparation ensure that every dish is delicious. I have never been disappointed. Whether out for a romantic dinner or just a nice evening with one of the teenage children, The Rusty Scupper is a favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Restaurant, outstanding waitress!!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

I decided to take a special person out for his birthday ad wanted some good seafood! Rusty Scupper did not disappoint! I had the cab cake appetizer and the grill Mahi Mahi with lemon butter. Both were outstanding. We had a nice view of the water. My only negative was the noisy inconsiderate large party seated behind us, which was in no way the fault of the staff! They let there children run amuck. I'm not talking about the usual kid's behavior. I'm talking letting them jump all over the place on the floor making all kinds of noise. Some of the actions were not safe for the children's safety IMO, let alone their chaotic behavior! Now about our waitress...Francesca! She was absolutely perfect in everyway, helpful pleasant, cheerful, the list goes on...All without being overbearing. She went out of her way to make sure we had the best possible dining experience. A special thanks for that comped huge piece of cake!!! We had half of it later on and the rest for breakfast. I LOVE you girlie! ;-) A bonus was the complementary shuttle back to our hotel. I highly recommend the Rusty Scupper and Francesca!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Not worth it

Dined on May 3, 2016

I came here for a special occasion. I wanted beautiful views and high quality food. My first sign that this place was going to be poor was on an empty Tuesday evening, our hostess wanted to seat us at a table for 4 in the middle of the restaurant while there was several tables for two along the windows. My date and I ordered the seafood sampler and jumbo shrimp appetizer which was decent. I ordered the $52 NY Strip Steak which tasted like it had been boiled. I could have gotten a better steak at the Hard Rock Cafe! It was absolutely terrible. My date got the rib eye which also was terrible and flavorless. For dessert we got the raspberry sorbet which tasted like they bought a tub at safeway and just scooped it into a bowl. For the amount of money you spend at this place, the food is a complete disappointment. I can say however our waiter was absolutely wonderful and attentive and the views were beautiful. Shoutout to Carl for not making this dinner a complete waste!

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Decent Food, Great View, Slow Service

Dined on May 3, 2016

The food was well prepared, although the portions were a bit small, especially for the crab cakes. Service was competent, but drink delivery from the bar was very slow, we ordered a second beer when our entree was delivered, but the drinks weren't delivered until we were nearly done with our servings. The restaurant wasn't even half-full, so, don't really know why it took so long. The view really makes the experience, nothing better at the Inner Harbor.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Tried it on a Sunday Evening

Dined on May 1, 2016

Might be better for lunch where the same items are less expensive

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food particularly the oysters. ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent food particularly the oysters. They accommodated the group of seven after we had made reservations for only 5. Much appreciated

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

Lovely dinner. Our waiter Logan was especially attentive and knowledgeable. His recommendations were spot on. Thanks for a fabulous experience . Please share our heartfelt thanks

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Not really worth it

Dined on April 30, 2016

Is the food good? Yes. Is the view good? Yes. But it is overpriced, expect to spend at least $40 per person, probably more, for food you can get at any other Baltimore restaurant. There is nothing noteworthy about the food here compared to other restaurants. You are paying for the view and the restaurant's desire to be upscale. But you see a mix of t-shirt wearing tourists to men in suits and women in nice dresses eating here. And to add insult to injury, you have to pay to park in their lot and there is no other alternative for parking close to here. While it may be a Baltimore institution, leave it to the tourists.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great view & service; food & drink overpriced.

Dined on April 30, 2016

While the atmosphere and service were great, we were shocked at the size of our crab cakes. We live in Maryland and expect to pay for a nice size crab cake. The crab cake sandwich and the 2 crab cakes dinner were ordered for me and my husband. I did not order bread with my crab cake. It was list on the plate - it was so small. I cannot imagine what kind of mini bread would have been used if I wanted it in sandwich form. My husbands "dinner" version with 2 crab cakes were smaller than most we order anywhere locally - places like G&M or Timbuktu. While the crab cakes were good, the price we paid was ridiculous. Also my husband ordered an Irish coffee from the menu - he saw no prices. When the bill came, the coffee was about $10.00. We don't mind paying for a nice meal but we don't like getting rppied off. We felt ripped off and are not inclined to return.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went to dinner here me for my 8 year anniversary and was blown away. We got a seat overlooking the inner harbor. Our waiter was defiantly top notch and was looking for our best interest. He moved us to a larger table (4 person) because we were on a tiny 2 person table and we ordered quite a few plates. Everything we tried was divine. Oysters were fresh, fried calamari was crispy. Overall one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. Defiantly a must date night. Will come back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

food was great & wonderful view! service ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

food was great & wonderful view! service was slow & unhelpful took a long time even to recieve drinks ...it wasnt busy

Tags: great for brunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view, service, and food

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a group of 6 people. The service was excellent and they even split our checks without a fuss. The food was delicious and there was a great view.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A "go-to" over the years....they never disappoint.

Dined on April 29, 2016

The Rusty Scupper could probably draw a crowd nightly simply because of their location and the view of the Inner Harbor that is provided. They could "get away" with "ok" food because of this, but the menu matches the view. If you love seafood you will not be disappointed. Although the menu seemed a little watered down or simplified on our most recent visit, it still had plenty to choose from. The service we've encountered has always been above average and food is served HOT! Although you would think that you need a window seat to enjoy the view, there is really not a bad seat in the house. Call ahead for reservations, especially on the weekends, and you'll be seated upon arrival. We've had an enjoyable experience every time. Highly recommended! P.S. - had too much to eat?....take a romantic stroll along the waterfront - right outside the restaurant's doors!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, service and views of the Inn ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Great food, service and views of the Inner Harbor

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent everything

Dined on April 28, 2016

Rusty Scupper is a must for me when people are visiting Baltimore for the first time. The great ambience, scenic views, selection of seafood is everything I need to spoil my guest all in one place. Just love the place.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Wonderful birthday celebration

Dined on April 23, 2016

We arrived earlier than anticipated and was graciously seated, to wonderful window seat. Food was very good and met all our expectations. Dessert was delicious and easily shared! Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Better for Lunch

Dined on April 22, 2016

My daughter and I had a nice dinner on a quiet evening. The "Scupper" is very pretty in the evening inside and out. Our waitress tried to provide good service but it was hard to hear her overly soft voice. The food was good bilirubin nothing special. My salmon dish on a plank was act silly served on a chip of wood and it kept sliding off. The taste was a little off. We may go back for lunch, a better menu option with more variety and definitely more economical.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We were given the best table for two in ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We were given the best table for two in the restaurant. Great view of the Inner Harbor. Food and service were off the charts.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.