About Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar

1280 Highway 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18720
View Larger Map

Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar provides a unique award winning Italian, Mediterranean culinary experience. We offer seasonally inspired rustic cuisine, from artisan breads to hand crafted pastas, all prepared fresh daily in a warm, friendly & comfortable bistro style setting.

We also have a "State of the Art" Television Broadcast Kitchen Studio where we conduct live cooking shows, including "In The Kitchen". Cooking shows are every Friday & Saturday evenings at 7:00 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Sunday 11:30 am- 9:00 pm
Monday & Tuesday 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 824-6600

Website:
http://www.rustickitchen.biz/

Parking Details:
Patrons can park with the casino valet or self park in the casino parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Brian McDermott

Private Party Facilities:
We have the ability to service a wide variety of private party needs. Please contact us for more details about our private dining options.
The Wine Cellar Room is perfect for any occasion from a birthday gathering to a business dinner for up to 16 guests.
The Grande Dining Room can be reserved for larger groups & our Television Studio can be booked for private shows of "In The Kitchen".

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Heck: 5708246600x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Special Occasion (55)
Good for Birthdays (44)
See All
Casual (43)
Romantic (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Cozy (39)
Good for Groups (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Comfort Food (28)
Great for Lunch (26)
Fun (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Business Meals (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Outstanding Value (16)
Authentic (15)
Private Room (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Wood Oven (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Family Style (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great Beer (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tapas (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Live Sports (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I ordered Veal Parm and the veal was a l ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 3 days ago

I ordered Veal Parm and the veal was a little burned, but it was still very good. The homemade pasta was excellent, as was the sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the finest restaurants in the are ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the finest restaurants in the area. Eaten there many times and never had a bad meal. Would highly recommend it to my friends

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were here for the second time to cele ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were here for the second time to celebrate my mom's birthday. We stayed overnight at the casino and had dinner at the Rustic Kitchen. The spring rolls and rice balls were excellent as were the stuffed chicken and the short ribs just to name a few. This is a great restaurant. The food, service and atmosphere are all excellent. We were given a round table like I had requested for our group of seven. Great for a special occasion. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never had a bad meal and never left hung ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Never had a bad meal and never left hungry. Plus the servers are friendly and check on you often. The menu has something for everyone

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was perfect from start to fin ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was perfect from start to finish. Absolutely loved the Caesar salad. Both my fiancé and I had the 12 oz NY strip as our entree and both were cooked to our specifications. Can't wait to dine here again.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter....I believe his name was Jos ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter....I believe his name was Josh was super fantastic and the good was amazing!!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have eaten here several times and never ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Have eaten here several times and never disappointed, always great food, nice selections on the menu, service was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times and we are nev ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Have been here many times and we are never disappointed. The food was excellent as always and our server was very pleasant and did not rush us at all. This remains our go-to restaurant when we are in Wilkes Barre.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for new year eve. The foo ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were there for new year eve. The food was excellent, so was the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good! Plates were beautifu ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was very good! Plates were beautifully done and added to the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Always excellent service and great food ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always excellent service and great food and drinks. They never disappoint. The decor is really cool. You do need to make reservations a day ahead of time.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited forever for food, when we wanted ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Waited forever for food, when we wanted service had to flag down waitress. Owner or whoever kept coming over asking if everything was OK, finally after eating we flagged her down for our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Good place to grab a bite. A bit pricey ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good place to grab a bite. A bit pricey but it is at the casino so maybe your luck will lighten the load!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Hit or miss, lately MISS. Our meals wer ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Hit or miss, lately MISS. Our meals were served 1 hour and 10 minutes after we ordered. Two tables near us ordered well after we did and were finished eating before we got served. Two of the four meals were just warm, not hot. Worst part of it was we were at Rustic Kitchen the day before for lunch and the exact same thing happened. Kitchen management(chef) needs to reevaluate how they are prioritizing. The manager and waiter could not provide an explanation, just an apology.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

We really like this restaurant. We freq ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We really like this restaurant. We frequent it almost every time we are in town or at the casino. Many good things to say about the food, waitstaff, kitchen, etc. My girlfriend and myself have just one suggestion which I hope someone will consider and change. We always order a bottle or two of red wine. The temperature is out of the cooler at 52 degrees and served. Terrible way to drink a good red wine. No aroma, no body, no flavor when it's cold. We actually toast our glass of wine over the candle in the middle of the table to warm it up. Please contemplate a way of making it warmer before serving. Other than that one thing the place is wonderful especially the décor. Striking.

Thank you

Ed

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, served hot. Service was a lit ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good food, served hot. Service was a little slow.; our reservation was at 8 pm and restaurant cleared out during times we were there.

There are choices to suit my vegetarian 20 year old son as well as for those who enjoy seafood and meat. I had baked shrimp w stuffed crab, hubby had short rib Raghu pasta, son had rigatoni. The Caesar salad was in baked Parmesan bowl and had anchovies on the side as my hubby had requested and was fresh and tasty.

There was a nice focaccia with sauce brought warm to the table.

Didn't know it was part of Mohegan Sun casino until we got to the address. This would be good to know for those of us with kids. We re not gamblers.

Also when I approached hostess stand, there were 3 ladies there and the greeting could have been a little more warmer/friendly.

The ambiance and decor or restaurant was very nice.

I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We came to this restaurant for my daught ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We came to this restaurant for my daughter's birthday. I made sure to mention the special occasion on my reservation however, I had to remind the waitress about it at the end of our meal. She brought a plate of dessert for her which was nice butI was shocked to see that I was charged $9.00 for the dessert! Wow that is the first time I had to pay or a birthday treat from a restaurant! Very dissapointed about that. If I was going to be charged I would have asked for a dessert menu so that my daughter could have selected her own special treat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this restaurant which there were mo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Love this restaurant which there were more of them around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good .

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a terrible experience at our Chri ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a terrible experience at our Christmas dinner. The service was very slow. The food was not worth the price.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

All together a very good dining experien ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

All together a very good dining experience. The service was wonderful and the food was served at the correct temperature. The presentation was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, , Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Too loud, didn't enjoy the food. Had to ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Too loud, didn't enjoy the food. Had to wait for our drinks. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

2nd time here and better than the first ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 25, 2016

2nd time here and better than the first time!! Will be back next Christmas or maybe sooner!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant for the holiday. .. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful restaurant for the holiday. ..it was festive and full of patrons!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The waiter dumped a bottle of beer on my ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The waiter dumped a bottle of beer on my girlfriends red dress. He apologized but absolutely no one offered a discount or free desert or something. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Food is always very good. Actually were ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food is always very good. Actually were seated before reservation time. Very helpful staff. One of my favorite places to eat

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Hour menu was perfect. Bartenders ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Happy Hour menu was perfect. Bartenders were nice but Restaurant Server was exceptionally pleasant. My husband had soup, Mac & cheese. Excellent. I had the salmon special which was also very good.

Tags: , Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is one of my favorite places to eat. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It is one of my favorite places to eat. The food is alway prepared well and fresh. And the staff is wonderful. Try the meatballs!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we had a great meal (as always).we alway ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

we had a great meal (as always).we always enjoy the manager (cay)coming to our table to see how our meal was,thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, an enjoyable, delicious dinne ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

As always, an enjoyable, delicious dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very friendly wait staff. They were on t ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very friendly wait staff. They were on their game we never waited for anything longer than we needed to. Very good food

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu with something for everyone. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great menu with something for everyone. Fantastic service. Lively atmosphere yet somehow conversation is manageable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best bolognese ever! Fabulous martinis! ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Best bolognese ever! Fabulous martinis! Great staff and all reasonably priced. One of our favorite happy hour stops too! We love Rustic Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was excellent. Our waitress was so friendly and knowledgeable. The food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari was overly spicy for a norm ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The calamari was overly spicy for a normal palate and the waiter never smiled even once. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was delicious as always. They ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was delicious as always. They allowed us to split a meal because the portions were so good. We have never had a bad meal here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, , Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love coming here all the time for dinn ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I love coming here all the time for dinner. Great place, great food, and great service

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again,as Always Outstanding food & Se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Again,as Always Outstanding food & Service

Wife had the Scallops & I the Ribeye,Best around.You have to go to the Steakhouse at the Wynn in Las Vegas to find an Equal.

Wine list could be alittle bigger.Few more choices of Malbes's.

Will return Soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice ambiance, could do with a few less ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Nice ambiance, could do with a few less scones and posters....they do not add to the decor.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We visited on our anniversary weekend du ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We visited on our anniversary weekend during a trip to the casino. Food was yummy and service from Maureen was awesome. Our booth was cozy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.