About Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar

1280 Highway 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18720
View Larger Map

Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar provides a unique award winning Italian, Mediterranean culinary experience. We offer seasonally inspired rustic cuisine, from artisan breads to hand crafted pastas, all prepared fresh daily in a warm, friendly & comfortable bistro style setting.

We also have a "State of the Art" Television Broadcast Kitchen Studio where we conduct live cooking shows, including "In The Kitchen". Cooking shows are every Friday & Saturday evenings at 7:00 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Sunday 11:30 am- 9:00 pm
Monday & Tuesday 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 824-6600

Website:
http://www.rustickitchen.biz/

Parking Details:
Patrons can park with the casino valet or self park in the casino parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Brian McDermott

Private Party Facilities:
We have the ability to service a wide variety of private party needs. Please contact us for more details about our private dining options.
The Wine Cellar Room is perfect for any occasion from a birthday gathering to a business dinner for up to 16 guests.
The Grande Dining Room can be reserved for larger groups & our Television Studio can be booked for private shows of "In The Kitchen".

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Heck: 5708246600x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
11 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre ›

Special Occasion (62)
Good for a Date (51)
Romantic (47)
See All
Casual (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Cozy (38)
Good for Groups (37)
Worth the Drive (30)
Great for Lunch (30)
Fun (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Comfort Food (26)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Business Meals (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Outstanding Value (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Authentic (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Family Style (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Wood Oven (11)
Private Room (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great Beer (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Tapas (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (3)
Live Sports (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food good service b

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food good service b

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stuffed chicken was dry and barely warm. ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 5 days ago

Stuffed chicken was dry and barely warm. My wife had linguine and clams which was very good. Staff very nice!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Such a Fantastic night ! Definitely wou ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Such a Fantastic night ! Definitely would return !amazing food and drinks! awesome atmosphere !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks weren't cooked to order and were ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Steaks weren't cooked to order and were tough. Roasted potatoes were burned and hard. All food was luke warm. We went for Thanksgiving and the turkey was not satisfactory. We will find another restaurant for next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing food and great service from Max. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing food and great service from Max. This place came higher recommended, and my fiancee and I were not disappointed. Appetizers of Italian egg rolls and calamari were excellent. Probably the best calamari we ever had. Entrees of hanger steak and pasta were also excellent, and a good value for money. The decor is very warm and inviting for a large restaurant -- especially one in a casino venue. Had no room for dessert but will try to save room for next time. And I definitely hope there will be a next time! Highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always!

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wait staff was very knowledgable about t ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 20, 2016

wait staff was very knowledgable about the menue and very courteous and attentave to our needs

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We go here when we are in the area. Eve ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We go here when we are in the area. Even if it's just for a salad.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant food was not as good . S ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Nice restaurant food was not as good . Service was great and dessert was good .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed a very special birthday dinner. ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Enjoyed a very special birthday dinner. John and the rest of the staff were terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think the quality of meals has decline ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I think the quality of meals has declined over past year. Too much garlic in some dishes and Flatbread pizzas aren't tasty anymore.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

Rustic Kitchen is a great place to eat! ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Rustic Kitchen is a great place to eat! I have ate there over 10 times already! Best food in town.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, Great selections, Best time ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, Great selections, Best time with family. The service was great, they cater to your every need. Every time we go we try something different and so far we haven't been disappointed. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very pleased with our first experience h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very pleased with our first experience here. Food was excellent. Definitely will come back when we are in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. I was very much looking f ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Disappointed. I was very much looking forward to going here after my last casino trip, but was let down. The hostess staff were unprofessional. We could barely hear the specials from our server it was so loud in there. I asked for my burger to be well done & it was medium at best. The fries had barely been cooked at all & were soggy & gross. Someone else in our group had the chicken marsala & liked it but the person who ordered the seafood ravioli special said there was a shrimp shell in it. Someone who I assume was the front house manager came to our table abruptly & asked how everything was but she didn't introduce herself & startled us. I hope it was just a bad night since I had read good reviews

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very courteous wAiter , attentive All a ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very courteous wAiter , attentive

All around employees,,,

We both had Sea Bass loved the pablano sauce asparagus!!!👍😊

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, we thoroughly enjoyed eating ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Once again, we thoroughly enjoyed eating here. Not only was the food great, but the service we received was phenomenal.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Wood Oven, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Romantic, Bar Seating, Vegan, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hair in soup - had a hard time getting o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Hair in soup - had a hard time getting our waitress to notice us & pizza had NO flavor & I ordered at a sausage pizza. Husband said his burger was good. The only redeeming thing was that they comped us (I would have have rather had edible food). This is NOT our first time here - must have been a REALLY off night!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I have never had a bad meal at Rustic Ki ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I have never had a bad meal at Rustic Kitchen. The menu is wonderful with so many choices and the servers go over and above to make sure that everyone is OK with their meal. It's perfect to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was EXCEPTIONAL! She had a gr ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The server was EXCEPTIONAL! She had a great personality, very responsive and made our meal fun. Highly recommend she be awarded by management for her focus on ensuring that the customer was her priority!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the table was set up perfect and the ser ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

the table was set up perfect and the service+++++and food were great thank you RPB

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the rustic kitchen. Very good fo ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love the rustic kitchen. Very good food, great ambience and excellent service

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My grandma loves coming to this place ev ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My grandma loves coming to this place every time I am in town visiting her. They have good food, and a decent selection, so you can't really go wrong.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The Rustic Kitchen is always a great pla ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Rustic Kitchen is always a great place to eat. I go there often and have never been disappointed in the service or the food

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Veal Parmesan was burnt. Very very di ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My Veal Parmesan was burnt. Very very disappointed. We eat there twice a month. We will not be eating there in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

An outstanding meal. The bread starter h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

An outstanding meal. The bread starter had a terrific garlic dipping sauce. Caprese salad was a good size and excellent. I had the pasta Bolognese. This was the best I've had. To top it off we split the warm chocolate cake dessert (this was a dense chocolate torte). Outstanding finish to the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, ambiance and service! Will b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food, ambiance and service! Will be returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Favorite!! Wholesome food done ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always a Favorite!! Wholesome food done very well. Great Food and Drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at the Rustic Kitchen is a must e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Dinner at the Rustic Kitchen is a must everytime we visit Wilkes Barre. The food is always excellent and the servers are always pleasant and helpful. Have recommended Rustic Kitchen many times.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic food. Service was j ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food. Service was just SLIGHTLY on the slow side, but the servers seems stretched a little thin. The server more than made up for it though with friendly service. Can't wait to go back and eat again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stuffed shrimp was delicious. Burgers we ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Stuffed shrimp was delicious. Burgers were a little over cooked, bread and dip was delicious. Liked Cesar salad and soup. Service was excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good. Tables between cooki ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was very good. Tables between cooking show and private dining room for larger groups has servers constantly running by, so atmosphere isn't the best. I assume booths are nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Samantha provided our party exceptional ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Samantha provided our party exceptional service !!!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. First time I went the ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I love this place. First time I went there was for my husband birthday. Everyone was so nice and had no problem helping me surprise him with his gift. The second time we went it was for our anniversary and this time he surprised me with a gift. The food is absolutely amazing. The drinks are worth the price and the atmosphere is so welcoming. The waiters and waitresses couldn't be friendlier. I would recommend this place to everyone I know and always give this restaurant five stars.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we had a great experience. Howev ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Overall we had a great experience. However our server seemed to have tables all over the restaurant and after delivering our bill it was over 25 minutes before she came back. When she finally did take the bill it took a while for her to return. I 100% don't believe it was her fault, there are so many employees around someone besides the server should be able to take the bill. Love the Rustic Kitchen and will definitely be back. Of all the times I have been there I have never had anything but a wonderful experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We've been to this restaurant many times ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We've been to this restaurant many times because of the friendly atmosphere and good food. The extensive menu offers many selections of different tastes and the service is great.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great veal calabrese , different with th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great veal calabrese , different with the chorizo sausage and jalepenos

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tremendous customer service. Hostess hel ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Tremendous customer service. Hostess helped me with every detail (flowers, cake) to make my Mom's 85th birthday wonderful!

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Menu had very good selections of foo ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The Menu had very good selections of food. Found it very hard to choose what I wanted for dinner. I picked the Chicken saltimbocca. Excellent choice. The food just melted in your mouth. The other dish was the chicken pasta in a pink sauce. Another great choice. I highly recommend the Rustic Kitchen. No one will go hungry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's just very good , the service is goo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

It's just very good , the service is good and the servers are all very friendly and we miss see our friend Kay, but the person in charge that night was very pleasant and friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.