About Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar

1280 Highway 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18720
View Larger Map

Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar provides a unique award winning Italian, Mediterranean culinary experience. We offer seasonally inspired rustic cuisine, from artisan breads to hand crafted pastas, all prepared fresh daily in a warm, friendly & comfortable bistro style setting.

We also have a "State of the Art" Television Broadcast Kitchen Studio where we conduct live cooking shows, including "In The Kitchen". Cooking shows are every Friday & Saturday evenings at 7:00 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Sunday 11:30 am- 9:00 pm
Monday & Tuesday 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 824-6600

Website:
http://www.rustickitchen.biz/

Parking Details:
Patrons can park with the casino valet or self park in the casino parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Brian McDermott

Private Party Facilities:
We have the ability to service a wide variety of private party needs. Please contact us for more details about our private dining options.
The Wine Cellar Room is perfect for any occasion from a birthday gathering to a business dinner for up to 16 guests.
The Grande Dining Room can be reserved for larger groups & our Television Studio can be booked for private shows of "In The Kitchen".

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Heck: (570) 824-6600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (61)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Good for Birthdays (47)
Casual (43)
Romantic (43)
Good for Groups (38)
Cozy (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Comfort Food (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Business Meals (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Fun (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Outstanding Value (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Authentic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Happy Hour (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Disabled Access (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Family Style (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Private Room (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great Beer (7)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Sports (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (2)
 (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
864 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was the third time I have been to r ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 4 days ago

This was the third time I have been to rustic kitchen. The first time I ordered the shoulder steak with the parmesan garlic truffle fries and it was outstanding. The second time I went I had chicken marsala and it was alright. And this time I had chicken saltibocca (unsure of spelling ) and it wasn't great. Mashed potatoes were extremely flavorless. Chicken was very moist but the saltiness from the prosciutto overpowered any other flavor that may have been involved. The bread they served was hard and rather stale. I definitely think when I need a nice place to dress up and go for dinner I will be searching elsewhere.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This will probably be one of the last ti ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

This will probably be one of the last time we come to this place🙁. We love it but we always bought food coupons because we drive over an hour to get to the casino and by buying these even if we lost we still had a good place to eat

Now they don't sell these anymore we won't be going to Mohegan much it was a good value for us

We will the waitress !!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT THE SERVICE FANTA ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 7 days ago

THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT THE SERVICE FANTASTIC OUR SERVER FRANKIE WAS FRIENDLY HELPFUL AND FULL OF ENERGY THE MANAGER KAY WAS TERRIFIC WAS AT OUR TABLE FREQUENTLY MAKING SURE FOOD WAS GOOD AND HOT AND IF WE NEEDED ANYTHING WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO EVERY ONE WE INTEND TO KEEP GOING TO RUSTIC KITCHEN

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Service slow. Ambiance i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good. Service slow. Ambiance is different

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love the food. Service is excellent! Wi ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the food. Service is excellent!

Will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My bf and I are regulars at Rustic Kitch ...

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My bf and I are regulars at Rustic Kitchen and, as usual, the staff was very attentive and our service was nothing less than outstanding. Crab cakes are my go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

waited almost 2 hours for entrees, then ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 11, 2017

waited almost 2 hours for entrees, then some came out cold. Manager was was full of excuses(tone was bad)but did take money off meal. Rather pay full price than have bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I eat here often. Has never disappointed ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I eat here often. Has never disappointed. Great food and ambiance

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had lunch and dinner on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I had lunch and dinner on the same day! The food is excellent and the restaurant is spotless. The wait staff is friendly and always clean. The veal saltimboca and veal marsala were the best we ever had. We wish you would open your restaurant in Ulster or Dutchess county in New York. The main reason we go to Mohegan Sun Pocono is for your restaurant. We have been there in the past and always look forward to return for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, , Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice first experience. We ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a very nice first experience. We will be back often.

Tags: Historic, Organic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Rustic Kitchen at the Mohegan ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We went to Rustic Kitchen at the Mohegan Sun Casino in W-B. I have only been to the restaurant once, and my husband has never been, mostly because it's not someplace we typically think of when choosing dining options. We have two children and so the casino isn't usually at the top of our list. We received a gift card for Christmas and decided on an adult date night, with Rustic Kitchen as the dining destination. We were very pleased with the food and service. It was a louder atmosphere, which we like and we also took note of children with other families. We are now going to keep Rustic Kitchen in our rotation for dining options!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always excellent and the wai ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food is always excellent and the waitresses and waiters are always top notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Romantic, , Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took BF here for his birthday dinner, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I took BF here for his birthday dinner, and we had a great meal. The service was excellent, beautiful place, great food. We'll definitely be back

Tags: , Family Style, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each time my Wife and go to Mohegan Sun ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Each time my Wife and go to Mohegan Sun, we always eat at here, the wait staff is very friendly, they don't rush you they take there time and talk with you. The food is fantastic, you will never leave there hungry. Great Place for a romantic date night

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate dinner at Rustic Kitchen 2 nights ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We ate dinner at Rustic Kitchen 2 nights in a row- 1st night ( Friday) as a group of 4, we had a perfect table with a superior waiter and service. Our food was fabulous and we even had dessert which is a rarity for us.

The 2nd night ( Saturday) was dinner for 2- we were seated at a larger table in the back room that was located in between a family with young children and a large family gathering. It was quite loud but our waitress was great and our food was very good but fell overall experience was a let down after our wonderful experience the night before. We chose not to stay around for dessert as I felt we were being so rushed and they were preparing our table for next reservation before we even left it.

I would return any night of the week except for a Saturday. Even though we had reservations both nights, Saturday was just way too rushed considering we spent $135 + for 2 persons.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Basically ok, seemed server was overwhel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Basically ok, seemed server was overwhelmed. Specials announced but no prices.!? Ordered salad with grilled chicken came with no chicken. Tried to rectify but bottom line is server messed up. We will be back but these were our concerns

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The service was very good. Waiter was ve ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was very good. Waiter was very helpful since my wife is a vegan. Food was excellent.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Has been better in the past, but not a b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Has been better in the past, but not a bad meal. Pasta (baked rigatoni) was slightly overcooked, but service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Weekend getaway/date night. Food was ver ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Weekend getaway/date night. Food was very good and very quick. We had the arancini app and it was amazing!!! Perfectly breaded and the mozzarella was delicious. The marinara sauce was very tasty and sweet. I had the seafood ravioli for dinner, it was very good but the ravioli were a little hard. My fiancé had the lobster and shrimp fra diavola, which he said was very good but still a little spicy even though he asked for it to be mild. All in all a great dinner and nice location right in Mohegan Sun casino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Friday night and very loud with some lar ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Friday night and very loud with some large groups, why wouldn't you put one of them in the private room??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

The food was good and we had a great ser ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was good and we had a great server

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was really great. The staff was ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was really great. The staff was also top notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was not busy at all The casino floors ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was not busy at all

The casino floors were ripped up so half the casino was closed not happy about that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers where great!!My husband and ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Appetizers where great!!My husband and I ordered the Shrimp & lobster meat over lingune..The pasta had a weird texture and not enough to of lobster meat..The dish was 30$ but it was very tasty though..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very loud. Food was mediocre. Waitress w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very loud. Food was mediocre. Waitress was distracted with larger parties.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

I ordered Veal Parm and the veal was a l ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I ordered Veal Parm and the veal was a little burned, but it was still very good. The homemade pasta was excellent, as was the sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the finest restaurants in the are ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 12, 2017

One of the finest restaurants in the area. Eaten there many times and never had a bad meal. Would highly recommend it to my friends

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were here for the second time to cele ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were here for the second time to celebrate my mom's birthday. We stayed overnight at the casino and had dinner at the Rustic Kitchen. The spring rolls and rice balls were excellent as were the stuffed chicken and the short ribs just to name a few. This is a great restaurant. The food, service and atmosphere are all excellent. We were given a round table like I had requested for our group of seven. Great for a special occasion. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never had a bad meal and never left hung ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Never had a bad meal and never left hungry. Plus the servers are friendly and check on you often. The menu has something for everyone

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was perfect from start to fin ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was perfect from start to finish. Absolutely loved the Caesar salad. Both my fiancé and I had the 12 oz NY strip as our entree and both were cooked to our specifications. Can't wait to dine here again.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter....I believe his name was Jos ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter....I believe his name was Josh was super fantastic and the good was amazing!!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have eaten here several times and never ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Have eaten here several times and never disappointed, always great food, nice selections on the menu, service was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times and we are nev ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Have been here many times and we are never disappointed. The food was excellent as always and our server was very pleasant and did not rush us at all. This remains our go-to restaurant when we are in Wilkes Barre.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for new year eve. The foo ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were there for new year eve. The food was excellent, so was the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good! Plates were beautifu ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was very good! Plates were beautifully done and added to the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Always excellent service and great food ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always excellent service and great food and drinks. They never disappoint. The decor is really cool. You do need to make reservations a day ahead of time.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited forever for food, when we wanted ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Waited forever for food, when we wanted service had to flag down waitress. Owner or whoever kept coming over asking if everything was OK, finally after eating we flagged her down for our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Good place to grab a bite. A bit pricey ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good place to grab a bite. A bit pricey but it is at the casino so maybe your luck will lighten the load!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Hit or miss, lately MISS. Our meals wer ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Hit or miss, lately MISS. Our meals were served 1 hour and 10 minutes after we ordered. Two tables near us ordered well after we did and were finished eating before we got served. Two of the four meals were just warm, not hot. Worst part of it was we were at Rustic Kitchen the day before for lunch and the exact same thing happened. Kitchen management(chef) needs to reevaluate how they are prioritizing. The manager and waiter could not provide an explanation, just an apology.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

We really like this restaurant. We freq ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We really like this restaurant. We frequent it almost every time we are in town or at the casino. Many good things to say about the food, waitstaff, kitchen, etc. My girlfriend and myself have just one suggestion which I hope someone will consider and change. We always order a bottle or two of red wine. The temperature is out of the cooler at 52 degrees and served. Terrible way to drink a good red wine. No aroma, no body, no flavor when it's cold. We actually toast our glass of wine over the candle in the middle of the table to warm it up. Please contemplate a way of making it warmer before serving. Other than that one thing the place is wonderful especially the décor. Striking.

Thank you

Ed

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.