About Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar

1280 Highway 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18720
View Larger Map

Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar provides a unique award winning Italian, Mediterranean culinary experience. We offer seasonally inspired rustic cuisine, from artisan breads to hand crafted pastas, all prepared fresh daily in a warm, friendly & comfortable bistro style setting.

We also have a "State of the Art" Television Broadcast Kitchen Studio where we conduct live cooking shows, including "In The Kitchen". Cooking shows are every Friday & Saturday evenings at 7:00 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Sunday 11:30 am- 9:00 pm
Monday & Tuesday 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 824-6600

Website:
http://www.rustickitchen.biz/

Parking Details:
Patrons can park with the casino valet or self park in the casino parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Brian McDermott

Private Party Facilities:
We have the ability to service a wide variety of private party needs. Please contact us for more details about our private dining options.
The Wine Cellar Room is perfect for any occasion from a birthday gathering to a business dinner for up to 16 guests.
The Grande Dining Room can be reserved for larger groups & our Television Studio can be booked for private shows of "In The Kitchen".

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Heck: 5708246600x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
13 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Romantic
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Romantic
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre ›

Special Occasion (102)
Good for Groups (68)
Romantic (61)
See All
Great for Lunch (47)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Hot Spot (25)
Notable Wine List (21)
Casual (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Cozy (17)
Late-night Find (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Fun (13)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Business Meals (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Family Style (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Scenic View (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While the food was good the service was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

While the food was good the service was lacking. It would be nice to see a tapas menu. The staff really should learn how to properly package leftovers. For example, you don't dump pizza into a to small container and stack the slices.

Tags: Seasonal, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We have eaten here a few times now and I ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have eaten here a few times now and I must say this was the best yet. I had the Tilapia and it was the best I've ever had. I also had a nice martini with homemade infused vodka. I would recommend this to all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent experience. The food and servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent experience. The food and service were exceptional. I absolutely enjoyed my birthday dinner with my family.

The decor and ambiance were exactly what I look for in a restaurant. I have found my new favorite restaurant when I'm in town.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, the service was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good, the service was excellent, the restaurant was very clean, and modern.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at you location before and ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We have eaten at you location before and have always been very happy with meal, service .

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the lights but it's a little to dim ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love the lights but it's a little to dim for those of us wearing glasses and still struggling to see.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good,but not worth the cost. Steak was ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good,but not worth the cost. Steak was gristlely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Dining was great. Service was outstandi ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Dining was great. Service was outstanding. Ambiance was enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is one of my favorites and th ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This place is one of my favorites and the dining is amazing always great food and service .

Tags: Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to RK often, it never disappoints. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We go to RK often, it never disappoints. IMO it is one of the best values in casino restaurants in the USA.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an enjoyable evening. The servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had an enjoyable evening.

The service was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went 2 nights in a row and both our wait ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Went 2 nights in a row and both our waitresses were great. Good food for our family nights out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Head a great meal and the service was ex ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Head a great meal and the service was excellent. Have been there before and will certainly return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Private Room, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food at the rustic kitchen is great. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

the food at the rustic kitchen is great. have never had a disappointing meal. try the meatball al fono,as a a starter.we will be back again and again

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

AMAZING FOOD. AMAZING SERVICE. A MUST GO ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

AMAZING FOOD. AMAZING SERVICE. A MUST GO DINE!!!! Everything was great. NO COMPLAINTS!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the rustic Kitchen for my husban ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Went to the rustic Kitchen for my husbands birthday. They carried out the request I made to have happy birthday on the dessert plate. Our server was Jolene, she was simply amazing. Very friend, very courteous. Great food great service great value.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was served cold and tasted terrible ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

food was served cold and tasted terrible and waited long for service

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

This is the second time I've been to Rus ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This is the second time I've been to Rustic Kitchen. The décor is beautiful. I love the lighting. The restaurant is very pretty. The service is good. the food is delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chocolate Cheese cake was decadent. ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The Chocolate Cheese cake was decadent.

Although they were extremely busy, the meal was served in a timely manner, and we weren't rushed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I alway enjoy dinner here. We have good ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I alway enjoy dinner here. We have good meals and good service

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved it! Food was amazing ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We absolutely loved it! Food was amazing! Service was great. Our waiter went above and beyond. I can not wait to come back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was hopping! We made res ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The restaurant was hopping! We made reservations for four people to dine and we were so glad we did as other parties were turned away as the dinning room was totally full. I received a phone call earlier that day to confirm my reservation which I thought was an awesome way to ensure that myself & my party were going to use our reservation. It was a good reminder. Once we arrived we were seated right away. The bistro salad is so good -- the burger on the menu is a huge burger, healthy portion, and fantastic option instead of a pasta dish. Our server never missed a refill on our coffee or water we ordered. Seeing how busy the restaurant was, our food came out at a reasonable speed, it was cooked correctly, and was served at the right temperature.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the clams & pasta but the calm ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I ordered the clams & pasta but the calms were SO sandy it was crunchy. i just ate the pasta and sauce instead and that wasn't too good either. it literally tasted like i was at the beach eating the ground.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my first time at Rustic Kitchen ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was my first time at Rustic Kitchen. It was a very good experience. Waitress was very patient (took time to decide what to order) and the food was excellent. Large portions.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Seated immediately ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food was excellent. Seated immediately . Husband enjoyed the sangria attentive wait staff

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The quality has slipped a bit lately. Or ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The quality has slipped a bit lately.

Ordered the Caesar salad with chicken and the parmasean bowl was soggy. Not enough chicken either for the upcharge.

It's almost impossible to read the menu. font size 6. They really have to reprint it.

On our last two visits the staff was extremely exhausted. Might consider hiring more servers.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our waitress Leah (700006) was exception ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our waitress Leah (700006) was exceptional she was professional friendly and very knowledgeable about food allergies . I can't say enough about our server. The food was excellent also we were a party of 4 and no complaints from any one will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was amazing and so nice! T ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our waitress was amazing and so nice! The food came out one after another..bread, app, salad..it was seamless.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 615pm reservations and were seate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had 615pm reservations and were seated immediately. It was crowded. We asked to have our front table moved to the other room where is was more quiet (away from the casino noise).

We had a lovely serve who got us the wine list, told us the specials and was back when we needed anything.

Food was excellent. Loved my Veal marsala! Burgers done just right...

We'll be going back soon!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dining experience , good porti ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Enjoyable dining experience , good portion for the price, friendly employees

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The host didn't seem to inviting. The se ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The host didn't seem to inviting. The servers were extremely friendly. The Mac and cheese was a little bland. The chicken Marsala and Aranchini was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very fine dining equality food and well ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very fine dining equality food and well prepared, service was excellent . We highly recommend it for any and all occasions ... Very extensive menu

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter John was terrific and the foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our waiter John was terrific and the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a perfect anniversary, our server ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was a perfect anniversary, our server, unfortunately I dont remember his name was extremely friendly, helpful and pleasant to speak with. The food was outstanding. All in all I would go back again and recommend it highly.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal and amazing service. Defin ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fabulous meal and amazing service. Definitely will return again and again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful wine, food, and service as alw ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

wonderful wine, food, and service as always. My husband and I visit at least once a month if not more. Great local place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First negative experience...There was a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First negative experience...There was a table with 10 obnoxious, rowdy, loud and cursing men (boys really, men don't act like that). This party should have been seated in the private room if they were going to disrupt the entire restaurant. People sitting at the table next to us were even complaining to us about them. Anyway, NO ONE in the restaurant did anything to even tell this group to calm down. The men in this group were going to another table that had 5 women seated there and were trying to "pick them up". It was unlike anything I ever seen before. I could not enjoy my meal. When the waitress came and asked if we needed anything else, I informed her " Well, I would like to get dessert but since I can't hear myself think, I just want the check". Her response was "ok". NO APOLOGY..NOTHING....We waited to speak to a manager after our experience but after 15 minutes of NO manager in sight, we left. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Located in casino so high noise level wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Located in casino so high noise level was expected...initially told by sitting hostess that they had no tables for 2 hours. I repeated 3 times that I had made open table reservations and a second hostess confirmed on the computer and we were promptly seated. Things got better from there....excellent service, good selection of Italian dishes which we enjoyed. We would definitely return and were happy to confirm with on floor manager(Kay) that there is a location closer to home. All and all, I would recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We visit Rustic Kitchen frequently but o ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We visit Rustic Kitchen frequently but only like to sit in the booths by the bar. Unfortunately, we asked for a booth this time and they could not accommodate that for us so we had to sit at a table in the bar area. Everything else was great!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not know what to expect except for t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Did not know what to expect except for the reviews of others. This place exceeded our expectations!! Food was awesome especially the fried calamari. Both meals were tasty and hot. Service was great. We would definitely come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.