About Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar

1280 Highway 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18720
View Larger Map

Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar provides a unique award winning Italian, Mediterranean culinary experience. We offer seasonally inspired rustic cuisine, from artisan breads to hand crafted pastas, all prepared fresh daily in a warm, friendly & comfortable bistro style setting.

We also have a "State of the Art" Television Broadcast Kitchen Studio where we conduct live cooking shows, including "In The Kitchen". Cooking shows are every Friday & Saturday evenings at 7:00 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday-Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Sunday 11:30 am- 9:00 pm
Monday & Tuesday 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 824-6600

Website:
http://www.rustickitchen.biz/

Parking Details:
Patrons can park with the casino valet or self park in the casino parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Brian McDermott

Private Party Facilities:
We have the ability to service a wide variety of private party needs. Please contact us for more details about our private dining options.
The Wine Cellar Room is perfect for any occasion from a birthday gathering to a business dinner for up to 16 guests.
The Grande Dining Room can be reserved for larger groups & our Television Studio can be booked for private shows of "In The Kitchen".

Private Party Contact:
Bridget Heck: 5708246600x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
15 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Fit for Foodies
Scranton / Poconos
Romantic
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Fit for Foodies
Poconos Mountain Region
Romantic
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre ›

Special Occasion (103)
Good for Groups (72)
Romantic (57)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Great for Lunch (42)
Hot Spot (27)
Notable Wine List (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Brunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The quality has slipped a bit lately. Or ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

The quality has slipped a bit lately.

Ordered the Caesar salad with chicken and the parmasean bowl was soggy. Not enough chicken either for the upcharge.

It's almost impossible to read the menu. font size 6. They really have to reprint it.

On our last two visits the staff was extremely exhausted. Might consider hiring more servers.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our waitress Leah (700006) was exception ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waitress Leah (700006) was exceptional she was professional friendly and very knowledgeable about food allergies . I can't say enough about our server. The food was excellent also we were a party of 4 and no complaints from any one will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was amazing and so nice! T ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waitress was amazing and so nice! The food came out one after another..bread, app, salad..it was seamless.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 615pm reservations and were seate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had 615pm reservations and were seated immediately. It was crowded. We asked to have our front table moved to the other room where is was more quiet (away from the casino noise).

We had a lovely serve who got us the wine list, told us the specials and was back when we needed anything.

Food was excellent. Loved my Veal marsala! Burgers done just right...

We'll be going back soon!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dining experience , good porti ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyable dining experience , good portion for the price, friendly employees

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The host didn't seem to inviting. The se ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined 7 days ago

The host didn't seem to inviting. The servers were extremely friendly. The Mac and cheese was a little bland. The chicken Marsala and Aranchini was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very fine dining equality food and well ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very fine dining equality food and well prepared, service was excellent . We highly recommend it for any and all occasions ... Very extensive menu

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter John was terrific and the foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our waiter John was terrific and the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a perfect anniversary, our server ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was a perfect anniversary, our server, unfortunately I dont remember his name was extremely friendly, helpful and pleasant to speak with. The food was outstanding. All in all I would go back again and recommend it highly.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal and amazing service. Defin ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fabulous meal and amazing service. Definitely will return again and again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful wine, food, and service as alw ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

wonderful wine, food, and service as always. My husband and I visit at least once a month if not more. Great local place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First negative experience...There was a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First negative experience...There was a table with 10 obnoxious, rowdy, loud and cursing men (boys really, men don't act like that). This party should have been seated in the private room if they were going to disrupt the entire restaurant. People sitting at the table next to us were even complaining to us about them. Anyway, NO ONE in the restaurant did anything to even tell this group to calm down. The men in this group were going to another table that had 5 women seated there and were trying to "pick them up". It was unlike anything I ever seen before. I could not enjoy my meal. When the waitress came and asked if we needed anything else, I informed her " Well, I would like to get dessert but since I can't hear myself think, I just want the check". Her response was "ok". NO APOLOGY..NOTHING....We waited to speak to a manager after our experience but after 15 minutes of NO manager in sight, we left. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Located in casino so high noise level wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Located in casino so high noise level was expected...initially told by sitting hostess that they had no tables for 2 hours. I repeated 3 times that I had made open table reservations and a second hostess confirmed on the computer and we were promptly seated. Things got better from there....excellent service, good selection of Italian dishes which we enjoyed. We would definitely return and were happy to confirm with on floor manager(Kay) that there is a location closer to home. All and all, I would recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We visit Rustic Kitchen frequently but o ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We visit Rustic Kitchen frequently but only like to sit in the booths by the bar. Unfortunately, we asked for a booth this time and they could not accommodate that for us so we had to sit at a table in the bar area. Everything else was great!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not know what to expect except for t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Did not know what to expect except for the reviews of others. This place exceeded our expectations!! Food was awesome especially the fried calamari. Both meals were tasty and hot. Service was great. We would definitely come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious food, wine and cocktails. Ver ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Delicious food, wine and cocktails. Very good service- we actually went two nights in a row and it was excellent both times.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly and courteous people. Mad ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very friendly and courteous people. Made my wife and I feel "welcome" We liked it so much we will return soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always happy for a meal here. Even thou ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always happy for a meal here. Even though I had a burger, it was a delight.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent place to eat. All ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was an excellent place to eat. All the food is great and the service was phenomenal. It would be a great place for a first date, or just for regular food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go there quite often. Waitress wasn' ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We go there quite often. Waitress wasn't friendly and was sort of rushing us. Also it was extremely loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Love the rustic kitchen! Great atmospher ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love the rustic kitchen! Great atmosphere here and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Been here many t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and service. Been here many times and always pleased with everything.nice variety of items to choose from. Chicken Parmesan best anywhere I've ever had.

Can't go wrong with this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to dine and watch the action ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place to dine and watch the action at Mohegan..Love upper booths..great waiters and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again the food and service were out ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Once again the food and service were outstanding. Looking forward to the next time we go there

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here before and as usual it was ver ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Been here before and as usual it was very good. I had salmon and it was very good. My son had a pasta dish that was equally very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

and dinner as it is located within casin ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

and dinner as it is located within casino. Need more options for gluten free dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was great. Marinara sauce is n ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was great.

Marinara sauce is not the best.

Chicken parm was way over cooked and I think the oil needs changed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

I must first admit we have been huge fan ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I must first admit we have been huge fans of Rustic Kitchen for years. On this particular occasion, we were celebrating the upcoming 100th birthday of a very dear friend. We introduced Mary to the manager and Mary was treated with celebrity status by the entire staff. We have always reserved Rustic Kitchen for our most special celebratorial occasions, however we will NEVER forget the very special night they created for a very special friend. Thank you Kay and staff. You have provided us a lifelong memory!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was great! Always consi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service and food was great! Always consistently good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had dinner at the Rustic Kitchen and i ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had dinner at the Rustic Kitchen and it was a great experience I will be a repeat customer and would reccomend it to all my friends and family .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went with my husband for his birthday. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I went with my husband for his birthday. It was very quiet and romantic. The food was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thought the food was very bland, I had s ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Thought the food was very bland, I had sea bass and I tried my wife's saffron shrimp, both equally tasteless. Seemed like a rushed cook, very liquidy on bottom of dishes. I was very disappointed because I had heard good things prior to eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

My meal was awful and when informed them ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My meal was awful and when informed them they only took off half the price. Just in case they did not realize the whole was bad not just 50%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was great, manager came by to ch ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was great, manager came by to check on everything. Food was brought out at a good time

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

First time there, nice choice of food an ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

First time there, nice choice of food and drink, fair in price, great taste, right size portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not getting food cooked to order until t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Not getting food cooked to order until the 3rd try. Being called "buddy" by waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Enjoyable as usual! Our server, Brian wa ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Enjoyable as usual! Our server, Brian was fun! Made for a nice experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I was there on sunday june 26 table of 5 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was there on sunday june 26 table of 5 we all order drinks i order long island ice tea it was so sour i asked the waiter to make a new one he tells me that he has to charge me for the new one i said why this one doesnt taste good it tasted like it there was a pound of lemin juice in it so bickering for 5 min with the guy he brings me a new one and taste the same we ask for the manager it took her 15 min to get to us she tells us she sorry this n that and offers us dessert we didnt want desert we spent over 200$ on drinks and we got bad service and bad drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

Our server was awesome though entrees to ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our server was awesome though entrees took some time to come out probably because it was busy. Pasta in fra diavlo needed to be cooked more and thought it was a little pricy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We dine at Rustic Kitchen often and norm ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We dine at Rustic Kitchen often and normally are very satisfied. Service on this occasion was slow. I had the pasta & clams which was very good, but couldn't believe it only came with 6 clams. Hopefully just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.