About Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More

6675 Transit Rd
Williamsville, NY 14221
View Larger Map

Come see for yourself what 60 years of hard work has created. Russ Salvatore continues to work every night insuring perfection. While completing his finest vision yet, Russ has created a Steak House that continues to impress. While In Buffalo experience his genuine hospitality and delicious cuisine all under one roof at the new Salvatore’s Grand Hotel and his signature restaurant… Russell’s Steaks, Chops & More. Start your evening with something special from our vibrant menu. With service and quality above the rest, we have pulled out all the stops to create an intimate atmosphere for your dining experience with modern décor and hand-crafted finishing touches Enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Freeman Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 636-4900

Website:
http://www.salvatoresgrand.com/

Entertainment:
Step back in time or groove to the top 40 as Russell's presents "Cocktails and Concerts" each night in our lounge. A Blue Ray DVD collection of 200 concerts will sure to include your favorites, all shown life size and in surround sound on our 4 103" T.V.s.

Executive Chef:
Joe Chambers

Private Party Facilities:
We have banquet space that can accommodate up to 75 people. Give us a call for further information and menus.

Private Party Contact:
Robert Bingel: 716-636-4900

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
Romantic
New York / Tri-State Area
10 More
Special Occasion
New York / Tri-State Area
Steak
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Western New York
Best Food
Western New York
Best Service
Western New York
Best Ambiance
Western New York
Best Value
Western New York
Romantic
Western New York
Special Occasion
Western New York
Most Booked
Western New York
Best Restaurants in Buffalo ›

special occasion (336)
romantic (285)
fit for foodies (109)
See All
good for groups (101)
notable wine list (100)
vibrant bar scene (66)
neighborhood gem (52)
hot spot (30)
great for brunch (14)
late-night find (14)
great for lunch (12)
scenic view (11)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner and service. Food is ve ...

Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful dinner and service. Food is very high quality and delicious tasting. Staff also very attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined tonight for my daughter's birth ...

Dined 4 days ago

We dined tonight for my daughter's birthday. Mr. Salvatore and his team did a fantastic job!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another memorable evening

Dined 6 days ago

Despite being over an hour away, Russells is our "go to" place for special occasions, this one being our wedding anniversary. Although we had requested our "regular" server Andrew, he was already taking care of several large parties. Instead, Allen A took care of us, and we were very impressed. Service was exceptional, even vanishingly discreet. He was responsive to the smallest detail, but there was none of the cosseting one typically encounters at upscale restaurants like this. The food was elegant and amazing. Allen was attentive, knowledgeable, and polished. The meal was perfectly paced and Allen seemed to appear whenever we needed something. A first-class experience all the way!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dining experience

Dined 6 days ago

A very nice restaurant to celebrate any occasion. Great food, excellent service. Even the owner interacts with all of his customers making sure all the meals are done to your satisfaction.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dine in and spend the n ...

Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I dine in and spend the night at Russell's for any occasion because we just love everything about it. I highly recommend everyone to try it at least once cause you will keep coming back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined 7 days ago

The dinner was great, the atmosphere and the ambience was perfect. The staff and service were incredible. We both had filet(s) and they were cooked to perfection! The timing was perfectly spaced between salad and entrees and dessert. I highly recommend Russel's to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have visited numerous times and the food ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Have visited numerous times and the food,service and ambience is excellent.would recommend this place to everyone

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great diversity of menu choices. Fine d ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great diversity of menu choices. Fine dining at its finest.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 19, 2016

We'd heard so many wonderful things about Russells but we were so disappointed in the food. The steak should have been sent back because it was too well done. The apple crisp was way too sweet.

food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had our 20th anniversary d ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

My wife and I had our 20th anniversary dinner on Wednesday, May 18th. I could write paragraphs about the experiences we have had at Russell's, but it is solid every single time. Always well taken care of, and the food is always outstanding. Can't miss dinner location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

took my daughter t\for dinner for making ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

took my daughter t\for dinner for making the deans list. wonderful dinner my daughter was in extremely impressed!! We will be back again!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taste sensation

Dined on May 15, 2016

Russell's definitely lived up to its reputation. Everything was exceptional! Will definitely go back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything we had...from the hotel room, front desk and restaurant service, food, and even the coffee was perfect

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service was beyond ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was beyond compare. Menu has a variety of choices-- a la carte and meal for two.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining

Dined on May 13, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed our dining experience at Russell's. Service was excellent, waiter was so polite. Food was Excellent, can't wait to go back. Price was very reasonable. Thank you Mr. Salvatore for being the person you are. God Bless

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place 5 stars

Dined on May 10, 2016

Great place 5 stars

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wish i could remember our servers name ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I wish i could remember our servers name. Great guy, very helpful and knowledgeable. Our first time there was a great experience and food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Dining

Dined on May 9, 2016

Superb service from the first step in the door. Our meal was delicious and server could not be any better! Thank you so much!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

another good dinner... mostly

Dined on May 8, 2016

We've had dinner at Russell's many times. Plenty of open parking-no valet. Coat room. Hostess gives you an alert that signals when your reservation is ready. Russell himself was there ... as pretty much always. Drinks are good but my scotch had way too much ice and my wife's mixed drink was not as good other times/places. $21 for Dewar's and mixed drink at the bar. Meal was fine except the service dipped -- had to ask for steak knives, water glass ran empty even though bus boy was at the table but missed it twice. Waiter was absent at end of meal. Not sufficiently attentive, and a bit too gabby for our taste. Note: Only difference between Steak Russell and filet is that the former includes mushrooms. Steak Russell used to be three filet medallions but it was reduced to two and now just a regular size filet.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always. Service is exceptio ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful as always. Service is exceptional! The filet was delicious. We will come again

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent time

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter Luke was very accommodating and made my Mother's Mothers Day very enjoyable. She has an odd sense of humor and he didn't miss a beat. Food was perfect and the wait staff was beyond excellent. Thank you so much for the special experience!! I will bring her back next year if I don't find a reason before then.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

Elegant dining. Outstanding food, excellent attentive service, very good wines, good selection of entrees , pricey but worth it

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Prime meat/seafood

Dined on May 6, 2016

One of WNY's finest, if you're in the mood for a prime steak and great atmosphere look no further. Enjoy....

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

Russell's has done it again - another wonderful dining experience. Every element is top notch - service, food, environment. It is the first place I look to when planning a special evening. We received the table that we requested and our server was excellent. Five star!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and atmosphere.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Our server was excellent. The restaurant was very quiet and allowed for conversation which is definitely not the norm at most places . Our waitress was very good and attentive and the attention to detail (constant filling our water, scraping the table cloth when we were done with dinner) did not go unnoticed . We even got a free chocolate covered strawberry for our 14th anniversary but my wife could not enjoy it even though we mentioned with our reservation that she was allergic to strawberries.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire experience was very enjoyable ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The entire experience was very enjoyable, from the entrance to the finish of dinner. Our waiter and the wait staff were very polite and on top of everything.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food and service both excellent. Very comfortable atmosphere and ambiance. Would highly recommend this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Western New York's most elegante restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was very good, waiter was excellent. Sea food appetizer for two (around $65) was the hit of our meal. Worth every penny. Our entrees were very good & priced fairly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Outstanding food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodgasmic

Dined on April 30, 2016

I booked a reservation for my boyfriend's birthday. The atmosphere was so relaxing and romantic. The bar was relaxing yet visually stimulating. The service was timely and friendly. We got the rack of lamb and filet minion and both melted in your mouth. We shared an unforgettable garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. Everything tastes amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2016

We celebrated a birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Service was outstanding and the food was good. On our previous visits the food was outstanding, but this time our steaks was well done instead of medium. This did not spoil our evening and we will return in future as this is our favorite restaurant. Unfortunately, after asking on our many visits for non-milk to go with tea, coffee etc they don't provide this service. We don't understand why this is not available?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Filet

Dined on April 28, 2016

14 oz filet was over cooked and somewhat tough. Nowhere near in value to the $49 price tag.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

We had a great experience and meal at Russell's. The food and service were top notch. We were celebrating our 15th anniversary and the experience did not disappoint. Thank you for making our evening memorable!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Needs improvement

Dined on April 27, 2016

Salad, etc. should be served on a cold plate and chilled. The Garlic Mashed potatoes shouldn't be served with a foodservice spoon, but an appropriate serving spoon. The Sweet potato should be served with butter on the side and not be over done. Also the gravy that comes with the garlic mashed potatoes should be served with the correct gravy, not tan gravy with steak. The Demi glaze needs taste, The Knorr brand has flavor (this wasn't) I've been in the industry for over 30 years so I know when things aren't correct. This is a fine dining experience so that's what I expected. Will go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank You Russell's

Dined on April 27, 2016

Was our 20th wedding anniversary so I made reservations through OpenTable. Reservation went smoothly, even the area asking for anything special. I literally put "20th wedding anniversary" and Russell's did the rest. As we pulled up to the restaurant, a Happy Anniversary display flashed on their outdoor sign, totally unexpected. Dinner was great, selecting off the dinner for two menu. Then when desserts were served, they came out with a sparkler display and the desserts were surounded by "Happy 20th Anniversary!" hand written on the plate. Again, totally unexpected. Staff and servers were awesome and Russ himself, was greeting at the door, wishing us a happy anniversary too. Well done Russels, all the right touches! Thank you.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

very disappointed

Dined on April 25, 2016

I had the steak oscar ( I think that is what it was called) . The meat was dry and tasteless and the lobster was so dried up I had a difficult time eating it. I have eaten here before and enjoyed the food, but this time was very bad.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steakhouse!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Russells truly earned its status as one of the top 100 steakhouses in the country! Our meal was fantastic !

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my wifes B-Day 4th time there

Dined on April 24, 2016

Was our 4th time going we will be back in a few MOnths great lil get away for wife and I and awsome food!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another outstanding visit!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our "regular" server Andrew was slammed with a huge party, so Michael took care of us instead. It was another outstanding visit. From the very start he made us feel like valued and welcomed guests. His service was prompt, strong and professional, and he continually checked on us throughout our dinner. The food, as always, was top-notch. The pacing was excellent and we never felt rushed at any time. All in all, another truly superb and memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent food ,fantastic experience. The employees were so nice and friendly and knowledgeable .

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.