About Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More

6675 Transit Rd
Williamsville, NY 14221
View Larger Map

Come see for yourself what 60 years of hard work has created. Russ Salvatore continues to work every night insuring perfection. While completing his finest vision yet, Russ has created a Steak House that continues to impress. While In Buffalo experience his genuine hospitality and delicious cuisine all under one roof at the new Salvatore’s Grand Hotel and his signature restaurant… Russell’s Steaks, Chops & More. Start your evening with something special from our vibrant menu. With service and quality above the rest, we have pulled out all the stops to create an intimate atmosphere for your dining experience with modern décor and hand-crafted finishing touches Enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Freeman Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 636-4900

Website:
http://www.salvatoresgrand.com/

Entertainment:
Step back in time or groove to the top 40 as Russell's presents "Cocktails and Concerts" each night in our lounge. A Blue Ray DVD collection of 200 concerts will sure to include your favorites, all shown life size and in surround sound on our 4 103" T.V.s.

Executive Chef:
Joe Chambers

Private Party Facilities:
We have banquet space that can accommodate up to 75 people. Give us a call for further information and menus.

Private Party Contact:
Robert Bingel: 716-636-4900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Smorg
  • Salad
  • Creme Brulee
  • Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb
Smorg
Salad
Creme Brulee
Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb

Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New York / Tri-State Area
Special Occasion
New York / Tri-State Area
Steak
New York / Tri-State Area
8 More
Best Overall
Western New York
Best Food
Western New York
Best Service
Western New York
Best Ambiance
Western New York
Best Value
Western New York
Romantic
Western New York
Special Occasion
Western New York
Most Booked
Western New York
Best Restaurants in Buffalo ›

Special Occasion (352)
Romantic (283)
Good for Groups (103)
See All
Notable Wine List (99)
Fit for Foodies (88)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Hot Spot (42)
Late-night Find (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Kid-friendly (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have eaten here several times, and eve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

I have eaten here several times, and every visit until this one I would rate as outstanding, 5 stars in all categories. This last time, however, the service was very slow, the noise level was very high, and the food was served warm and only average. All of this at a 5 star tab, of course. This may have been my last visit to Russell's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Very good. Food not as well-prepared as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good.

Food not as well-prepared as previous night.

But service was excellent.

Suspect this might be because of special dining night going on in bar/lounge.

(It was packed)

Overall still would go again but might skip Tuesday nights.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent steak and chicken Oscar. Loved ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent steak and chicken Oscar. Loved the stuffed banana peppers (huge) and crab cakes were mostly crab!

Relaxing ( nearly) 3 hour meal experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We were greeted immediately upon arrival ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were greeted immediately upon arrival at Russell's. We were seated in a very nice booth for two at 5:30 which was the time for our reservations. I can't say enough about our waiter, Andrew. We were celebrating our 52nd. wedding anniversary and he made us feel special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very enjoyable meal of steak and seafo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

A very enjoyable meal of steak and seafood for me and my wife. We will definitely plan to come back for another visit soon.

Tags: Romantic, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food and service was fantastic. I would ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

food and service was fantastic. I would suggest using real whipped cream in your deserts instead of cool whip.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service which made our anniver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service which made our anniversary celebration very special and enjoyable. Per usual, the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding...the dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was outstanding...the dinner steak ala russell is fabulous..along with the tiramisu.

Would definitely return to this beautifully decorated establishment. Everyone should dine here at least once.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants. We arri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants. We arrived five minutes before our reservation and we were seated immediately ... no waiting. The service was excellent and so was the food.

We have been going to Russell's a few times a year since it opened and we have never been disappointed. Five Stars!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was well-timed and the food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was well-timed and the food was cooked to perfection. We especially enjoyed our chef's choice appetizer. It consisted of clams casino, shrimp, crab cakes, artichokes, and a refreshing carrot slaw. We were still talking about this dish two days later. I also enjoyed the lobster mac & cheese, best I've ever had. Our server was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The finest dining anywhere. The food is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The finest dining anywhere. The food is amazing and the service is outstanding. Luke took care of us and I would recommend asking for him as your server. Best steaks EVER!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Russell's is always a treat and never di ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Russell's is always a treat and never disappoints!

Tags: Disabled Access, Live Sports, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were very disappointed. We ordered t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were very disappointed. We ordered the chopped salad because we didn't want to wrestle with the wedge salad and it was more like cole slaw. My $52.00 steak was tough and very salty. My wife's salmon was very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Waited 25 mins with reservations. Food w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Waited 25 mins with reservations. Food was ok not great. Server Mike was rock star.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Russell's is the quintessential dining e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Russell's is the quintessential dining environment. It exudes class without being stuffy. From the welcoming greeting at the host/ess station by "Russell" himself, to the waitstaff, the experience is first rate.

What I find most impressive is the non-intrusive service. Without knowing, the water glasses are full and the empty glasses are whisked away. Our server Andrew was terrific. He provided the right measure of sophistication and fun.

The attention to detail is obvious.

Oh yes, the food... wonderful! Just wonderful.

Buffalo is gifted with fine restaurants, all top notch; however, Russell provides that extra touch needed for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered ala carte, mistake should have o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Ordered ala carte, mistake should have ordered dinner for two. Calamari was enough for 2. Wife ordered bruschetta, thinking maybe 4 small slices, got half a loaf, to much. I ordered a lettuce wedge salad, got half a head, again way to much. Wife ordered crab legs, very good.

I ordered the porter house steak with a side of sautéed mushrooms. My steak arrived smothered in mushrooms and sauce. No where in the menu was it stated the steak would be served smothered. Previously when we have dined there my mushrooms were served as a side, as ordered, in a bowl. I took half my steak home and removed the mushrooms and sauce and saw that the steak had been blackened to much. One could not see this in house because of the low level of lighting and was probably the reason the steak was smothered in mushrooms and sauce. Needless to say I will be much more aware when I dine there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Pork chop was very tough. Waiter was not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Pork chop was very tough. Waiter was not friendly, felt like we were bothering him. 3rd time in a role we had this same waiter.

Had enough of Russell's for a few years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

It was my first time dining at Russel's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was my first time dining at Russel's and was extremely impressed with the overall experience. I thought the Chop House was the best steak house in our area. I no longer agree. Russel's is in my opinon the best by far. The bone in Rib Eye melted in my mouth. I didn't think I would finish the steak at dinner. I did because it was too good to take any part home and re heat.

Thank you, Russel!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Russells is by far the best restaurant i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Russells is by far the best restaurant in WNY and probably New York State. We go there for all special occasions and want to try and get there more often just for a special dinner. Russell is always there and so pleasant. We love the overnighters but this time we just celebrated my birthday. We always request a booth and Ryan as our server. He is be best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, the experience was great as usu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall, the experience was great as usual. We had to wait about 20 minutes for table even with a reservation. This was the only concern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Expect a wait. They don't honor reservat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Expect a wait. They don't honor reservation times. It was over 30 minutes before we were seated.

But the food & service were amazing! While you wait, enjoy the To Russell with Love martini.;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and staff were amazing and woul ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food and staff were amazing and would recommend the restaurant and hotel to everyone

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, special place in Williamsvill ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious, special place in Williamsville, NY. Salvatore knows how to do things - his restaurant is absolutely the best place in WNY for steak. Simply the best customer service, ambiance, and dining around. The dinner for two menu is a great deal - you will not leave hungry. Seafood bisque is a special treat, filet is delicious and prepared perfectly, sides were wonderful, dessert was heaven. Highly recommend in every way. We go every year for both our birthdays and anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Our server, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent service and food. Our server, Allen, was efficient, personable and professional

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great, food was fantasti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was great, food was fantastic, wine was perfect

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was perfect, the food just may h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was perfect, the food just may have been the best we ever had in the Buffalo area !! We have lived here all our lives. (over 60). The side dishes were huge the steak was tender and juicy and cooked to absolute perfection. The drinks we not over priced.

This is a must if your ever in the Buffalo area. Great Job Russ.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food outstanding, and service was great.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food outstanding, and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always a great dining experience. We go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a great dining experience. We gomther evey year for our anniversary and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nick, our waiter, was exceptional. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Nick, our waiter, was exceptional. The service was efficient, the food was delicious and every staff member we met was friendly and professional. It was our anniversary and I feel like we celebrated in style. I have talked about the delicious meal and beautiful ambiance to everyone. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far the best upscale restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is by far the best upscale restaurant I've been to.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was just Exquisite! Waiter Je ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was just Exquisite!

Waiter Jeremy was super

The dinner special for two was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service and a really e ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, great service and a really enjoyable night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a first class dining event from ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This is a first class dining event from the moment you walk in the door. Mr. Salvatore was at the host podium to greet us and meandered his way through the dining crowd all evening, a special touch that makes you feel like he truly cares about his customers' dining experience. Service, food prep, presentation are all top notch and you feel that you received your money's worth and more after you leave.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service , great food , and all aro ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great service , great food , and all around great experience . I went here for my 5 year wedding anniversary and It was very special .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have never had a bad meal here. Awesome ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Have never had a bad meal here. Awesome food, awesome service. One of Buffalo's best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfectly prepared steaks. Exquisite.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Perfectly prepared steaks. Exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The quality of the food is always excell ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The quality of the food is always excellent but the way the staff treats every diner is what makes the visit an experience and not just a great meal. My wife and I had the dinner for two which was a great value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and great service as always. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great Food and great service as always. So nice that Russ Salvatore is there to great the guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to Russell's for year ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have been going to Russell's for years now and the food and service is always amazing! This time around the service still was amazing but the food was ok, our steaks were stringy which is odd for a filet!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Love Russell's!! They are an exceptional ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Love Russell's!! They are an exceptional dining experience in all categories. We had a very nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.