About Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More

6675 Transit Rd
Williamsville, NY 14221
View Larger Map

Come see for yourself what 60 years of hard work has created. Russ Salvatore continues to work every night insuring perfection. While completing his finest vision yet, Russ has created a Steak House that continues to impress. While In Buffalo experience his genuine hospitality and delicious cuisine all under one roof at the new Salvatore’s Grand Hotel and his signature restaurant… Russell’s Steaks, Chops & More. Start your evening with something special from our vibrant menu. With service and quality above the rest, we have pulled out all the stops to create an intimate atmosphere for your dining experience with modern décor and hand-crafted finishing touches Enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Freeman Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 636-4900

Website:
http://www.salvatoresgrand.com/

Entertainment:
Step back in time or groove to the top 40 as Russell's presents "Cocktails and Concerts" each night in our lounge. A Blue Ray DVD collection of 200 concerts will sure to include your favorites, all shown life size and in surround sound on our 4 103" T.V.s.

Executive Chef:
Joe Chambers

Private Party Facilities:
We have banquet space that can accommodate up to 75 people. Give us a call for further information and menus.

Private Party Contact:
Robert Bingel: 716-636-4900

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Smorg
  • Salad
  • Creme Brulee
  • Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb
Smorg
Salad
Creme Brulee
Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb

Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New York / Tri-State Area
Special Occasion
New York / Tri-State Area
Steak
New York / Tri-State Area
8 More
Best Overall
Western New York
Best Food
Western New York
Best Service
Western New York
Best Ambiance
Western New York
Best Value
Western New York
Romantic
Western New York
Special Occasion
Western New York
Most Booked
Western New York
Best Restaurants in Buffalo ›

special occasion (336)
romantic (273)
good for groups (108)
See All
notable wine list (105)
fit for foodies (93)
neighborhood gem (61)
vibrant bar scene (54)
hot spot (36)
great for lunch (16)
late-night find (10)
great for brunch (10)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2612 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been going to Russell Salvatore's r ...

Dined 3 days ago

Have been going to Russell Salvatore's restaurants since 1974 and I will continue for many more years. His staff look after every detail and the food is terrific

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Russell's is always the place to go when ...

Dined 7 days ago

Russell's is always the place to go when looking to have a special dinner. Consistent fine dining, excellent food and superior service. Love Russell's!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was spectacular! We decided we need ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food was spectacular! We decided we need to come more often!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Russell knows how make every customer fe ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Russell knows how make every customer feel like they are his personal guest!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food (except my baked potatoe, it ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

great food (except my baked potatoe, it was baked too long) outstanding waiter and as always the food is wonderful!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is wonderful and the food i ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The ambiance is wonderful and the food is exceptional . Staff is extremely attentive and pleasant

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great evening at Russell's. Fo ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Always a great evening at Russell's. Food is always outstanding and the service is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience at Russell's was a ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Our dining experience at Russell's was awesome! It made a special occasion a night to remember. Everyone was very pleased with their food, service, and atmosphere - very relaxed. Everything was cooked to perfection. I'm fond of the coffee presentation, with chocolate and whipped cream. We can't wait 'till the next special occasion!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have stayed at Russell's several time ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We have stayed at Russell's several times and we always eat at the restaurant. The food is outstanding and the service is second to none. We look forward to every time we go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant excellent service Alan ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant excellent service Alan is a great waiter

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our monthly dinner group traveled about ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our monthly dinner group traveled about hour to try Russel's. Everyone was quite impressed with the food and service. It wasn't cheap but everyone came away very pleased, which is not common with our group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent wine list; Great, attentive se ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent wine list; Great, attentive service, food cooked perfectly; Personally greeted by Russell Salvatore upon checking in.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an overnight package that include ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had an overnight package that included dinner as well as a breakfast buffet... Our experience was exceptional... Will definitely return...soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had visited Russell's several time an ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had visited Russell's several time and are never disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

That Russell was there to greet you. the ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

That Russell was there to greet you. the food was excellent .

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Be there right on time. Early does not ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Be there right on time. Early does not help. Very efficient work staff. Nice to see Russell working there as well. He makes the rounds and seems to greet everyone at least once. The food was well prepared and that's saying a lot with the way the various ways of preparing a steak are interpreted these days. Medium rare is medium rare. Make sure you have it grilled the way they are regularly grilled and don't ask for special preparation. It's excellent like it is. The lobster mac and cheese was like desert with the meal.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food!

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always, we have made Rus ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding as always, we have made Russell's our anniversary celebration location

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife for her birthday dinner and ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Took my wife for her birthday dinner and couldn't have been more happy with the experience!! Quality AND quantity of food were both fantastic. This was our first time here and absolutely the first of many! Thank you for a great meal and a wonderful time!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife & I celebrated our 46 anniversar ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

My wife & I celebrated our 46 anniversary ! They even had our occasion noted on their outside sign ! Nice! Dinner was outstanding and service also ! Been here many times and never disappointed ! Russ is a class act !

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An exceptional local steakhouse. Incred ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

An exceptional local steakhouse. Incredible meal, and a great selection on the wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of my visits to Russell's have been ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

All of my visits to Russell's have been extraordinary. From being greeted by Russ himself as you check in at reservations, to the immediate seating, continuing on to a wonderfully prepared meal, it is a great experience. The meals are prepared with the best ingredients and it shows and tastes like it. This is one of the finest restaurants in the country. Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Russell's serves outstanding food with s ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Russell's serves outstanding food with service that is second to none. Take the hotel package for an even better experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My steak was the best I ever had. I liv ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My steak was the best I ever had. I lived in Dallas, Texas for 20 years and never tasted better steak. The meal was excellent and the evening was a big success. We were celebrating my husband birthday.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, food was great ,excellent ser ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent, food was great ,excellent service, staff very polite and friendly

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and ambiance were perf ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were perfect as always. Steak cooked to perfection and our server Ryan was the best. I can highly recommend Russell's for any occasion, not just a special one. I have never been to New York City but I would bet Russell's can top any of the steak houses there. Oh and dont forget to ask for Ryan as your server, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Russell's 3 times and it ha ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I've been to Russell's 3 times and it has always been fantastic. Best service anywhere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Russell's was truly one of the best dini ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Russell's was truly one of the best dining experiences that I have had for quite some time. The staff were friendly, courteous and more than competent in all respects. The menu was such that it included " A Taste For All ". I will most definitely return and dine there again during my next visit to the area. As well, I would highly recommend that those who visit the area and enjoy fine dining, consider taking advantage of the opportunity of experiencing all that Russell's has to offer. Gary Cooper

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great choice

Dined on June 7, 2016

Great choice if you are looking for that special venue to impress that special someone in your life

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will be back!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our waiter Luke was an absolute joy -- the food and ambiance was lovely, and the entire staff makes you feel welcome. Looking forward to returning soon!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food, Great Service

Dined on June 5, 2016

This was my first time here after having been to Salvatore's numerous times in the past, but not liking it the last time I was there, after it changed ownership (I'm only now in Buffalo about once every 5 years, so that was the last time visiting Salvatore's). I only have great things to say about Russell's! Essentially, it's what Salvatore's used to be with a little bit of a more modern twist. The food was superb -- I had the steak à la Russell, which I always used to get at Salvatore's -- and the servers are top notch and incredibly attentive but not at all pushy or intrusive. The atmosphere is also nice -- dim lighting with cozy tables that make the experience seem more intimate. Overall an excellent choice for dinner and worth every penny, though it must be noted that the cost is steep. Definitely going back there next time I'm in Buffalo.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a Great Place

Dined on June 3, 2016

We always love going to Russell's - we are guaranteed the great food, service and ambiance. We had the filet and it was done to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Good food but not worth the cost

Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I went out for a date night without our two young children. The food was good, but nothing spectacular. We ordered off of the dinner for two menu - prices start at $44/person and include an appetizer (soup or salad), main course and dessert. We also ordered one additional appetizer and three drinks. The total cost with tip was around $150.00. We will not be eating at Russell's again unless we have a gift certificate from someone. The food quality was not worth the cost of a weeks groceries.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always perfect!

Dined on June 2, 2016

Went to Russell's on June 3rd for our Anniversary and was not disappointed. Although it is rather pricey, you definitely get what you pay for. The bread with 3 different spreads is a great start. MY husband had seafood bisque which has large chunks of shrimp,lobster, crab and scallops-almost a meal in itself. We both had the Russell's filet special-14 ounce s of perfection served with prosciutto wrapped asparagus and a cheese and spinach stuffed grilled tomato. We could not even finish the filet and it was just as good the next day with our eggs! will definitely return for our next special occasion .

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our First Trip to Russell's

Dined on June 1, 2016

This was our first trip to Russell's Steaks and Chops. If we are in Buffalo again, we'll be back. We were greeted by Russell personally. He is very entertaining. We were seated at a very nice table and promptly waited on. The steaks were great as were the side items. Everyone in our group was very pleased. We plan to visit Russell's again if we have the opportunity.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Russell's is the best restaurant in the WNY area.

Dined on June 1, 2016

Russell's is my favorite restaurant. I like going there for a special occasion. The staff is so courteous and friendly. The food is out of this world. Thank you Russell Salvatore for a wonderful dining experience. I will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience from bar to table. Very ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Great experience from bar to table. Very professional, great ambiance, excellent wine, steaks and other entrée options! If you are looking for that special place to dine in Buffalo entertaining clients, romantic dinner with your spouse, or family get together. It would be difficult to find a better higher end restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best ever

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was great. Server did an excellent job with serving our meals at the right moment. Our glasses never went empty. Waiters were very observent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

First, I must say I've been to Russell's ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

First, I must say I've been to Russell's quite a bit. This was by far not the greatest food experience. I ordered the filet mignon and it was a special for the evening that included homemade tator tots and and asparagus. The steak was fabulous, however, the tator tots were burnt and literally had no flavor to them. We also ordered a side of au gratin potatoes and they were so dry and underseasoned with no "sauce" or cream to them, and just baked cheese on top. We then had them box our leftovers, and they completely never boxed up the sauce that actually came with the steak. I get if it was a small side, but this was the sauce that accompanied and was marketed with the steak. Needless to say, I was not overly impressed with the sides. And paying $9 for a side should be phenomenal. My husband and I walked out paying around $170 for a "mediocre" meal. Sure the steaks were great, but if everything wasn't that great, then it brings the whole vibe of the dinner down. I go there and pay top dollar for a top dollar meal. On a positive note, the service was fantastic and Gary was very sweet.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food as always. Great staff. V ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Delicious food as always. Great staff. Very enjoyable experience!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.