About Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More

6675 Transit Rd
Williamsville, NY 14221
View Larger Map

Come see for yourself what 60 years of hard work has created. Russ Salvatore continues to work every night insuring perfection. While completing his finest vision yet, Russ has created a Steak House that continues to impress. While In Buffalo experience his genuine hospitality and delicious cuisine all under one roof at the new Salvatore’s Grand Hotel and his signature restaurant… Russell’s Steaks, Chops & More. Start your evening with something special from our vibrant menu. With service and quality above the rest, we have pulled out all the stops to create an intimate atmosphere for your dining experience with modern décor and hand-crafted finishing touches Enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Freeman Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 636-4900

Website:
http://www.salvatoresgrand.com/

Entertainment:
Step back in time or groove to the top 40 as Russell's presents "Cocktails and Concerts" each night in our lounge. A Blue Ray DVD collection of 200 concerts will sure to include your favorites, all shown life size and in surround sound on our 4 103" T.V.s.

Executive Chef:
Joe Chambers

Private Party Facilities:
We have banquet space that can accommodate up to 75 people. Give us a call for further information and menus.

Private Party Contact:
Robert Bingel: 716-636-4900

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Smorg
  • Salad
  • Creme Brulee
  • Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb
Smorg
Salad
Creme Brulee
Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb

Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New York / Tri-State Area
Special Occasion
New York / Tri-State Area
Steak
New York / Tri-State Area
8 More
Best Overall
Western New York
Best Food
Western New York
Best Service
Western New York
Best Ambiance
Western New York
Best Value
Western New York
Romantic
Western New York
Special Occasion
Western New York
Most Booked
Western New York
Best Restaurants in Buffalo ›

special occasion (386)
romantic (313)
good for groups (116)
See All
notable wine list (112)
fit for foodies (101)
vibrant bar scene (64)
neighborhood gem (64)
hot spot (48)
great for lunch (14)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (8)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first time at Russell's and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time at Russell's and being that it was our 30th Anniversary, it was perfect. Seating at the intimate table for two was beautiful. Christopher, our server was very attentive and really took care of us. The food was delicious, we had the dinner for two, upgrading it to the lobster tails and a wonderful bottle of wine. Thank you for making this anniversary a memorable one.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We could not have been happier with our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We could not have been happier with our experience. When I made reservation the morning of our dinner, I placed a simple note in the reservation request that it was our 35th Anniversary Dinner. I didn't think much of it after that.

Imagine the surprise and delight for both my wife and I when we saw "Happy 35th Anniversary Mr. & Mrs. H...." in lights on your sign on Transit Road! Perfect touch, great attention to detail.

Honestly, it was the most I have ever spent on a meal for 2 people, and it was worth every penny. Service was excellent, and the food was outstanding. I usually think lobster is "OK" ( I prefer my steak!) but I had the best lobster tail I have ever had!

Then to top things off, when Humberto brought our dessert, instead of 2 dishes of cheesecake, it was 1 large platter with 2 servings, a sparkler and "Happy Anniversary" written on the platter in the cheesecake drizzle sauce.

All the little extra's from a simple note on the reservation request. Well done.

I'm glad I had the chance to catch Mr. Salvatore on the way out to tell him how Russell's made it a very special Anniversary Dinner.

We've stayed at the hotel, had the dinner packages before and never been disappointed. But this time Russell's made it one to remember.

Thanks so very much!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We happened to have a pretty rude waiter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We happened to have a pretty rude waiter. Kind of takes away from the whole experience! Normally, we've always gotten a great waiter. Too bad, really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

We were there for my sons birthday. Bru ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were there for my sons birthday. Bruce was an amazing waiter and the food was phenominal as always.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fantastic! Food, service and att ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always fantastic! Food, service and attentiveness cannot be beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent every way food service ambianc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent every way food service ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always return to Russell's when in th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

We always return to Russell's when in the Buffalo area. The food is always excellent and Russell is always there as the gracious host and to have a chat and joke with.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner I had at Russell's was a nigh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The dinner I had at Russell's was a night I will never forget as it was the night that my boyfriend proposed to me. We ate from the dinner for two menu and just before dessert came out the manager of the restaurant placed a covered platter in front of me. He removed the lid and on the plate was a small wrapped box and my boyfriend got down on one knee and asked for my hand in marriage. The staff of the restaurant was incredibly excited to help my fiancé plan out the perfect proposal and they even took pictures for us as it happened. I have been to Russell's before and the food and experience were both spectacular, but this last visit exceeded all of my expectations of the evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is the second time we were dining a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

this is the second time we were dining at Russell's The food never disappoints although it was our 10th wedding anniversary Our names were on the light up sign which was very cute. Our table was in back corner room not very romantic. We had several questions about the dinner for two menu which our waiter answered . We were not thrilled when we received our check because after our numerous questions we were not advised that the up charge for a single lobster tail was $54 not the $ 10 as indicated on the menu

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Always great food and outstanding servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always great food and outstanding service and nice dining room

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

SIMPLY AMAZING... Best steakhouse in th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

SIMPLY AMAZING... Best steakhouse in the Entire US, and Trust me I eat in them all.... Russell, the owner is always there greeting you, his Matre'D staff is out of this world and the servers, especially Alan, are Great. FOOD, well, steak melts in your mouth tender, lobster mac and cheese is the best ever, Dinner for 2 menus, cannot beat the price, desserts top notch, fish and apps, best ever. What Can I say except best in the COUNTRY... I would fly there, just to eat there and fly home.

cant wait until next time, FAN FAVORITE for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff goes above and beyond every ti ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The staff goes above and beyond every time, thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Your Staff is Grea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful experience. Your Staff is Great. Well trained

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything just perfect food was delici ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Everything just perfect food was delicious place just awesome everyone working so hard to make sure we are happy thank you

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, we had a very fine dinner at ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

As usual, we had a very fine dinner at Russell's, where we have been going for our anniversary for several years. The service is impeccable, and the food is perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We recently had an anniversary and wante ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We recently had an anniversary and wanted to try Russell's Steak and Chops for dinner. We went on a weekday and there was still a decent crowd. We were seated promptly and quality of service was outstanding and attentive throughout. Our steaks were cooked to a perfect medium-rare and my osso bucco was well worth it. Wine list had excellent choices at many price ranges. One area that could be improved upon was the Bernaise Sauce. My wife and son ordered the Filet Neptune and Filet Oscar and the sauce was almost without taste. No hints of vinegar or tarragon, just a creamy yellow roux. It may seem trivial, but the sauce is what makes these dishes special. Our desserts were well-presented and worth ordering.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our entire experience was beyond our exp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our entire experience was beyond our expectations, from the cordial greeting by Russ himself, to the wonderful desserts at the end of our sumptuous meal. The filets were seasoned and grilled to perfection. Service was very professional and efficient. The atmosphere comfortable and romantic, perfect for a special anniversary. This was the ultimate dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking forward to this but ended ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was looking forward to this but ended very disappointed. We made reservations 4 weeks ago to get a decent Saturday night time slot, 6:45, then had to wait 10 minutes for a table. We were seated and having our drink order taken when the Maitre'd returned to tell us the table where we were seated by him was actually reserved for someone else. So we moved to another equally nice table.

The waiter was very good, nice guy and efficient. But I ordered my steak Pittsburgh (charred on the outside) but specified twice that I wanted it medium rare on the inside. And the waiter asked if I wanted to add onions or blue cheese to the steak. I said, sure add some blue cheese. The ribeye came Pittsburgh, but very rare, and was grossly smothered in blue cheese. I scraped most the blue cheese hunk off, and ate half of the flavorless steak (should have sent it back to be cooked more). My dog loved the other half. $200 later, I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

A great fine-dining experience in Buffal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A great fine-dining experience in Buffalo! The food, the service, and the ambiance are all top notch!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Russell ' s was amazing! We took our 11 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Russell ' s was amazing! We took our 11 year old grand daughter to celebrate, and she was so excited. Mr. Russell Salvatore sang happy birthday to her, her filet was amazing and the kiddie cocktails were awesome. She took pictures of everything! Thank you for this experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It lives up to it's reputation. Service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It lives up to it's reputation. Service is great, just what you would expect at a high end restaurant. The only complaint I have was that the food was warm not hot and the cappuccino and coffee was also warm. The steak was excellent and would melt in you mouth. Overall excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

all the service was top-notch, very prof ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

all the service was top-notch, very professional, yet personal

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steaks and attentive service by th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great steaks and attentive service by the staff. Can't wait to go there again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Allen was our waiter and he was absolute ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Allen was our waiter and he was absolutely amazing. We will be requesting him next time we come in!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was amazing but it was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food and service was amazing but it was a little too dark in there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding everything! Some of the bes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Outstanding everything! Some of the best steak on the planet! Can't wait to go there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can always count on excellent food, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

You can always count on excellent food, excellent service and special occasion ambiance. Russell's never disappoints.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for making my anniversary so s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Thank you for making my anniversary so special. You guys rock, from check into check out.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS AND THE 2 FOR $ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS AND THE 2 FOR $ 88 WAS A PERFECT FIT FOR US. THE DESSERT WAS AVERAGE..IT TASTED LIKE FROZEN CHEESECAKE. OVERALL, IT WAS A GREAT EXPERIENCE.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Open table was an easy way to make a res ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Open table was an easy way to make a reservation and that is the only 2nd time we used this service. Russell's has the finest food in taste and variety. we never feel rushed as we enjoy each course. The desserts choices are also numerous and delicious. We wish the prices were a little lower so we could go there more often

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant is quite noisy, not really co ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Restaurant is quite noisy, not really cozy and romantic.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

My girlfriend and I came to Russels 3 ye ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My girlfriend and I came to Russels 3 years ago for the first time on our 1 year anniversary. We have gone to other high class restaurants in the general area before and thought to try Russels as we both have a taste for great food. Immediately after entering the front door we were amazed by the grand allure of the front lobby.

After being seated, we took note of the excellent service from the excellent waiters at not only our table, but the others as well. It was the small details like cleaning the table with a blade, or pouring a coffee from far above the cup that won us over. We knew we were in for a treat.

The entire meal, without exaggeration was the best meal either of us has ever had. I could go on about the taste of each course of our meal but words truely do no justice for it. Like I tell everyone I recommend, you just have to try it.

Coming from an Italian family, this restaurant brings back some of the good Italian values that we pride ourselves in. Good food and good class. Everything about Russels breathes quality and it really shows. Since our first time coming at our 1 year anniversary, we have made it tradition to come for each anniversary. We have now been here 3 times and each time we still have the same grand experience as the firsts. We look forward to seeing you soon

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great dinner and service was wonde ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a great dinner and service was wonderful . Beautiful place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant. We have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. We have dined there many times and can honestly say we have never had a bad meal or disappointed in the quality, portion or variety of selections to choose from. The serve is top of the line, they are very professional and go beyond expectations to make your dining experience something to talk about. I always recommend this restaurant to everyone I know and come home with a handful of brochures to pass out to friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If course it is near perfect, it is Russ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

If course it is near perfect, it is Russel's. Had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The professionalism of the staff is the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The professionalism of the staff is the first thing you notice. Their attentiveness goes above and beyond. The food is fantastic and the ambience is amazing. I have eaten here on numerous occasions and I have never been disappointed. I would and have recommended this restaurant to my friends and I have no reservations about doing so. I know without a doubt that they will be pleased when they dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Execellet restaurant !greeted by the own ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Execellet restaurant !greeted by the owner shown to our table right in time. Service was excellent and very attentive. Food was out of this world.

Great spot for any occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 31st anniversary at Ru ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We celebrated our 31st anniversary at Russell's. We were hoping for special evening for our special event and Russell's did not disappoint. The food and our waiter Bruce were both excellent. The dinner for two with a nice bottle of wine is the best deal in Western New York. We won't wait another 31 years to go back that's for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant never disappoints! The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints! The service and food were outstanding. I really like the attention the front and wait staff give us and the food selection offers something for everyone.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything from start to finish was worl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything from start to finish was world class, from service, to quality of food, and attention to detail. One of the most memorable dining experiences in a long time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.