About Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More

6675 Transit Rd
Williamsville, NY 14221
View Larger Map

Come see for yourself what 60 years of hard work has created. Russ Salvatore continues to work every night insuring perfection. While completing his finest vision yet, Russ has created a Steak House that continues to impress. While In Buffalo experience his genuine hospitality and delicious cuisine all under one roof at the new Salvatore’s Grand Hotel and his signature restaurant… Russell’s Steaks, Chops & More. Start your evening with something special from our vibrant menu. With service and quality above the rest, we have pulled out all the stops to create an intimate atmosphere for your dining experience with modern décor and hand-crafted finishing touches Enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Freeman Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(716) 636-4900

Website:
http://www.salvatoresgrand.com/

Entertainment:
Step back in time or groove to the top 40 as Russell's presents "Cocktails and Concerts" each night in our lounge. A Blue Ray DVD collection of 200 concerts will sure to include your favorites, all shown life size and in surround sound on our 4 103" T.V.s.

Executive Chef:
Joe Chambers

Private Party Facilities:
We have banquet space that can accommodate up to 75 people. Give us a call for further information and menus.

Private Party Contact:
Robert Bingel: 716-636-4900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Smorg - Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More
  • Salad - Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More
  • Creme Brulee - Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More
  • Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb - Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More
Smorg - Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More
Salad - Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More
Creme Brulee - Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More
Pistachio Crusted Rack Of Lamb - Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More

Russell's Steaks, Chops, and More Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New York / Tri-State Area
Special Occasion
New York / Tri-State Area
Steak
New York / Tri-State Area
8 More
Best Overall
Western New York
Best Food
Western New York
Best Service
Western New York
Best Ambiance
Western New York
Best Value
Western New York
Romantic
Western New York
Special Occasion
Western New York
Most Booked
Western New York
Best Restaurants in Buffalo ›

Special Occasion (332)
Romantic (283)
Notable Wine List (92)
See All
Good for Groups (85)
Fit for Foodies (67)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Good for a Date (51)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Hot Spot (40)
Worth the Drive (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Business Meals (28)
Cozy (24)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Late-night Find (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Authentic (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (8)
Fun (8)
People Watching (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Private Room (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Scenic View (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fireplace (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Live Sports (3)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2793 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I live in Pompano Bch Fl , originally fr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I live in Pompano Bch Fl , originally from Buffalo , and have been going to Russell's restaurants since they were on Delevan Ave , will always visit when I am back here in the area . my favorite Steak house in Bflo ,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday celebration for o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went for a birthday celebration for our first time there, everything was wonderful! Awesome customer service, great food, no rush, excellent atmosphere.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Historic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Served at a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and food. Served at a nice pace, not rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant in WNY!! Food is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our favorite restaurant in WNY!! Food is phenomenal with extra touches that you know the dish was made special for you! Wait staff in a class of its own,they anticipate your every need! Great customer service and seeing Russ Salvatore at the door to welcome you just adds to the ambiance!! Looking forward to returning very soon!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crude service and insulting commentary f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Crude service and insulting commentary from the staff and head management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Incredible food, terrific atmosphere, pe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible food, terrific atmosphere, perfect anniversary getaway.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have an awesome meal when we come ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always have an awesome meal when we come to Russell's ! We enjoy celebrating special occasions there !

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Russell's is a fantastic dining experien ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Russell's is a fantastic dining experience! The food is awesome and the staff is very attentive. The dining experience is worth a trip to Buffalo all by itself!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love going here. The food is always e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We love going here. The food is always excellent. Good ambiance and a great atmosphere. We highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing, the food was se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was amazing, the food was seriously the best steak we've ever had, and it made our anniversary just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and incredible service!! Nice ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food and incredible service!! Nice wine list to fit any budget!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous, was seated on time! S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was fabulous, was seated on time! Service from our waiter Tim was beyond compare. The whole staff was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live in Southern California and make i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I live in Southern California and make it to Buffalo 3 to 4 times a year. I always stop at Russells, where Mr. Salvatore comes up and greets me and my guests, Andrew is my go to Server Professional, knows the BIG REDS I like.

A great time, excellent food and dining experience.

JHall, California

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food as always!! Great for we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent food as always!! Great for weekend dining or any special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent food , service an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Consistently excellent food , service and ambiance! Definitely one of the top 5 restaurants in WNY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and super service Russ t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Fantastic food and super service

Russ the owner always on hand to greet you

Wait staff is fast and order was perfect

Will be again and again

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. This place is worth the price

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've ever had in m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had in my life! Steak was done perfectly- vegetables were amazing and the dessert was also out of this world! I can't wait to come back!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had chicken Oscar....no complaints the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had chicken Oscar....no complaints there. My husband ordered steak al a Russell and asked for it to be cooked medium rare and came well done. He was surprised that a steak house could not get that right. Therefore he experience was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding but for the pri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was outstanding but for the price you pay the portions are small. Service was excellent and the experience was nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Order a Filet Was cooked correctly to m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Order a Filet Was cooked correctly to medium but literally no juice in steak or on plate. Very dry. Shrimp cocktail didn't taste fresh either. Other than that, service was fantastic. I'll give it another try someday.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

You can always count on great service an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

You can always count on great service and perfectly prepared delicious food when you dine here. Russell's is our long time favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have always had a great experience at ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We have always had a great experience at Russell 's. The food has always been prepared to our satisfaction; and the service was extraordinary. It is best when Robert takes care of seating us and making sure we are taken care of.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply some of the best steaks in town. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Simply some of the best steaks in town. With a great atmosphere, delicious food, and top quality service, Russell's is the perfect place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous as always! Kudos to everyone! T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Fabulous as always! Kudos to everyone! Thank you for making are 20th anniversary a special one!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was excellent...pricy, but st ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

everything was excellent...pricy, but steaks were awesome. waiter was great and service was timely!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was ok...Love the lobster mac and c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was ok...Love the lobster mac and cheese but it was cold when i received it, didnt like the lamb chops. The restuarant itself was very nice.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We always come to Russell's because you ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We always come to Russell's because you never can go wrong. Usually you have to book this place way in advance because it's so popular. We had a table for 6 and waiter was spectacular. Everyone loved their food choices. We all had steak in different variations. Three of us had the béarnaise sauce on ours which was delicious. The chopped salad was amazing and I usually get it every time. The only disappointment was the wedge salad. It was half a head of lettuce, with nothing on top. It had very little extras placed on the side of the wedge. It was completely blah. But, as for everything else, it was absolutely FANTASTIC! We always come here for dinner or just drinks and an appetizer. Love the big TVs and LOVE the concerts they show on them. Best place for steak.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. Also loved the special attenti ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Loved it. Also loved the special attention as it was our anniversary. So special! Great waiter. Russell Salvatore is great. The waiters' attention to detail is remarkable. A class act!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, food was excellent, service wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As usual, food was excellent, service was great...everyone was at the top of their game, our server was very friendly, polite and very busy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service and cuisine. Our ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent service and cuisine. Our server Maria was outstanding. Mr. Salvator's dedication to perfection is greatly appreciated.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We try to go every year for our annivers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We try to go every year for our anniversary and have never been disappointed in the food and service. Although it is a little on the pricey end, the quality and attention to detail is worth it. Also was very surprised to see Anniversary Congratulations to us on the outside marquee. We really enjoyed looking at all the tributes in Russells Hero's Park. Russell is a true patriot. His park is incredibly pristine and spectacular.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with our friends and had a great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We went with our friends and had a great meal. We all had steaks which were perfectly done!

The service was impeccable and professional. Highly recommended.

Susan & Bob

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bob our server is very good. He helped m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Bob our server is very good. He helped make the occasion for us. Have recommended Russell's to others and will continue to do so.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never been disappointed with any ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We have never been disappointed with any of our selections on our numerous trips to Russells. Although we like filet, we now order the strip steak because it is almost as tender and the flavor is so very good. Our steaks are always done evenly and exactly how we like them. The wait staff are so professional, and eager to make you happy. The salad, the potatoes and even the vegetable of the day are always great sides. Russell always has a warm "hello" and no one is ever rushed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always special at Russell's. You ca ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

It's always special at Russell's. You can count on great service, beautiful ambiance, and perfectly prepared and presented steaks and more. Dress up and enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Russell’s is a great place. The meal is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Russell’s is a great place. The meal is always excellent and the service is perfect. I would recommend Russell’s for any special occasions or just a great dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Mike was excellent. Courteous ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our server Mike was excellent. Courteous, knowledgeable, very sociable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate dinner here on our anniversary th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We ate dinner here on our anniversary this year and it was an excellent choice. The ambience was warm and comfortable with no obtrusive music to prevent good conversation. The meat -- grilled pork chops with cranberry-apricot chutney, and New Zealand rack of lamb -- was superb. The house salad with its dressing was fresh and enjoyable.

The service was good (I wouldn't say excellent or even very good), but the restaurant graciously and appropriately accommodated my handicapped husband's scooter and had our requested chair-with-arms ready at our table.

There WERE a few annoying negatives: the mashed sweet potatoes were MUCH too sweet, the more so for a vegetable with the kind of natural sweetness sweet potatoes have. They also weren't hot enough; when I told the waiter, the second batch I got were steaming hot. I love sweet potatoes, and since they were the vegetable, I ate them (the hot ones), but the excessive sweetness really cut the enjoyment of them. The cannoli was also much too sweet (both the filling and the banana sauce -- again, far too much sugar added to one the bananas, one of the sweetest fruits out there; and the shell was rock hard, actually not breakable with a fork -- a steak knive would have been needed to saw through it, but I didn't eat it. I switched to the creme brulee, which was good. Re: the cannoli, the menu said the cannoli would come with pecan brittle -- part of why I ordered it. No pecan brittle. When I asked about it the waiter said, "Oh, we haven't had that in years. Is that still on the menu?" then walked away.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food is great - good selection for meatt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food is great - good selection for meatt lovers. Lobser bisque best we have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.