Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

4.4
523 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Afternoon Tea
Top Tags:
  • Afternoon Tea
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
Pinkies Up! We are proud to present a menu steeped in tradition and designed to create the most memorable of Fairmont experiences.

The Rundle Lounge takes England & quot;s most beloved ritual to new heights. With breathtaking views, Afternoon Tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs offers 12 of our finest loose leaf teas accompanied by delectable pastries and finger sandwiches for the time honoured traditionalist. If there are any allergies or dietary restrictions let us know in advance and we would be happy to accommodate. $55.00 per person.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual (no hats, sports wear or torn jeans)
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Afternoon Tea
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tea Service Daily: 11:00pm - 3:00pm

Canada Day Weekend Afternoon Tea
June 30 & July 1
$65 Adults
$35 Children

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 762-6860
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
j.W. Foster
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Rundle Lounge offers two distinct private dining areas. The Sir William Wallace Room is available for smaller parties. This cozy room offers great views, with the comfort of a fireplace. The Upper Rundle Lounge is available in the evenings. It has spectacular views and is suited for larger parties.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jeffrey Carpenter: (888) 842-6893
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The hotel's parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $39 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 523 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great view. Great service. Great tea. We stayed for over an hour and just enjoyed nibbling tea time scones, sandwiches and pastries. So good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

A wonderful way to spend time in Banff!! Lovely tea with a fabulous view!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Excellent presentation of delicious food. Waiter very competent. Pressure free environment. Historic elegance. Will come again!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I drove 2 hours from Calgary to treat my wife to high tea on her 61st birthday. We have been here before and have always been impressed.
This experience for high tea was extremely disappointing, If this chef cooked for the royal family they did not eat well. The tea was excellent, the service as well was excellent the food - terrible.
The cheese tray was made up of mustard (plentiful) but do you really need that much mustard?
A very very hard,dry cheese and small quantities of soft cheese. The Stilton was okay as was the apple sauce??
The high tea tray - my oh my - my wife can do way better!
What happened to the traditional cucumber sandwiches, salmon, pate', all the good sandwiches are gone!! The tray is over burdened with cakes and sugar/carb overload is inevitable and leaves you feeling sick it is so sweet.
No !! to whomever reads this - your new chef is a failure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Delicious and delightful experience! Waitress was attentive and helpful, tea recommendation was spot on and service was impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Afternoon tea was very lovely. Background music was missing, but overall a great experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Dessert was a huge disappointment. New May dessert menu would give you Diabetes it’s way too sweet. Also some looked stale.
Also the rate of 53 per person was different from the open table reservation price. Very disappointing!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Beautiful views and ambiance! But when it says one thing on the menu and you don’t get it (clotted cream) it’s false advertising. Especially when your sitting with a true English lady at the table!! Being seated was a bit confusing too. But the experience was wonderful and the tea was amazing! Thank you

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

My 14 year old daughter loved it for her birthday celebration. Hard to find something in this age group that is "cool".

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Just back from afternoon tea, 4 adults & 1 child. Overall it was nice but quite lacking. View from the room was amazing but the room itself was only half set up with tables and the whole walk in was a large empty area that looked as if it was mid renovation. The food was fine, not spectacular or what you would expect for a royal chef. No fresh cream desserts, all presumably made in advance. Only 1 bread choice for celiacs which is disappointing and some of the celiac desserts had been frozen as they were still icy cold inside. Childs afternoon tea only had 6 items for $28 and could have been much more imaginative for a child. Have had afternoon tea in many other places including the Savoy in London (a fairmont hotel) and this was only 3* in comparison. A disappointment overall and wouldn’t be in a hurry to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We drove in from Calgary for the Royal Tea. The service, ambiance and food were excellent. Thank you for such a wonderful afternoon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I found that the food wasnt that fresh, seemed like it had been sitting out for a while. A suggestion would be to have mayone more savory item and one less dessert. Overall the tea was delicious and enjoyed a variety.. Service was excellent and the ambiance and view excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Beautiful view and wonderful ambiance. A perfect afternoon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Awesome experience with the spouse. Menu was specialized for the occasion (Royal Afternoon Tea) and was unique...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

My daughter and I have a lovely time celebrating her birthday. Our waiter, Anvit, was very good and ensured that we had everything that we needed.
Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Perfect birthday treat. Food, service, atmosphere scenery outstanding.
Can’t wait till next trip

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 5, 2018

From the time we sat down, there was a 40 minute wait for our tea/fruit cup. We watched 3 other tables sit down after us and receive their tea/fruit cup either before, or at the same time we did. They also receive instructions on the process and how to get the most out of their time there. The food was quite wonderful, except for the inch long chicken bone that was present in my chicken/mayo sandwich.

It was to us indicated that we would be able to try additional teas, which was exciting as there were a number of ones we were hoping to try. After this interaction, we did not see any server for 55 minutes. The food lasted roughly 20 minutes, and my tea was gone just before that. So, we sat at our table, with no water, no tea, and a chicken bone on my plate for a further 35 minutes.

After a quick check in at the 55 minute mark, our waiter returned about 10 minutes later when she was ready to take our payment. She was then kind enough to ask if we wanted more hot water. Sadly due to the fact that both of our pots/water glasses had been empty for near 45 minutes, we politely declined.

All in all, the event was quite disappointing. I can forgive a random chicken bone, as mistakes do happen. However, the compelte lack of service ruined not only the tea event, but also our time in Banff. To make matters worse, there was no apology fromour server for not speaking to us for nearly an hour, just a here is your bill. I have read some negative reviews about the tea recently, but we wanted to give it a try, in hopes that they were not the normal. However after this we really should have listened to them, as they were completely true.

For future guests. Do not bother with this place. the Fairmont responded to my initial email and then did not contact me again. The food is good, the service was absolutely terrible and as is shown in past reviews, is not new. You will experience exactly what we did and will regreat it. Save your money and go to a place where they care.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 2, 2018

This was my fourth time attending afternoon tea and it will be my last. I used to rave about the delicious sandwiches and pastries and visited whenever I was in Calgary.

Today I brought a friend for her birthday and I was beyond embarrassed and upset over the value for the price. The sandwiches were disgusting (a plain piece of bread with a few strawberries on top, a plain piece of bread with a piece of cheese, and another one was a plain piece of a baguette with a few pieces of shrimp on top) and the pastries were average. The hostess also messed up our order and had to be reminded to bring a replacement. I think the worst part was that the price increased over last year. So for $110 plus tax and tip I received the worst afternoon tea of my life and ruined my friends' birthday lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

My second time being there and I love the English Afternoon Tea. A treat everyone should try at least one.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Parking. $28 is ridiculous for $100 per person lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great view

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Amazing overall

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 16, 2018

My wife and I were looking forward to high tea at the hotel for some time, however the experience has left us very disappointed with the food and the ambiance. The walls and some of the furnishings looked warn out. And while the waitress appeared to be a nice person, she was not very attentive and really only paid attention to us when we were paying the bill. Perhaps chatting us up to increase her tip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Breath taking view of the mountains and river valley. Elegant surroundings and attentive service. We attended for high tea and we were presented with a pyramid of delicious delicacies to savour. It was a very relaxing and pampered experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Overall it was quite good however I only gave it three stars as the menu for the kids tea was a bit disappointing. The really creamy egg salad with chives was not a huge hit with the kids.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We went for my Birthday and it was a nice event to go to as it was something different and that you don’t do every day.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

I love afternoon tea, and usually Banff Springs is fantastic, but service was terrible this last time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The service is always great and the kitchen is always accommodating for our children.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Sister’s Getaway to the gorgeous Rockies!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We really enjoyed our afternoon tea at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel when we went for my wife's birthday last weekend. It was perfect for a special occasion. The food might not have been as good as our three-year-old memory of the food in Victoria's Empress Hotel, but it was still really good. It's obvious the kitchen staff are passionate about what they do. The server, William, was really kind and a very pleasant fellow. He definitely deserved a 20 per cent tip. We'll go again someday.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The food, ambiance, view were all very good The waiter we had, however, was not very good. He did not check back with us, did not explain the teas very well and basically ignored us once the food was delivered. I specified I had allergies to melon, peaches and mollusks. When we were seated, the wait staff confirmed the allergy. The first course was a fruit cup, a mixture of melon and pineapple. I had to bring this to the waiter's attention by asking what was in it. He seemed annoyed that I could not eat the fruit cup. It took him a good 5 minutes or longer to go get an alternate fruit cup of berries. Not a good start to the meal for sure. Compared to the other waiters serving other tables, our waiter was very very poor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Amazing food and service. Worth the high cost!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Excellent tea, excellent food, beyond service and spectacular view. Definitely something to experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

This was one of the most luxurious experiences I’ve ever had! The food and view were phenomenal. I’m used to small finger sandwiches with tea but this spread was so colorful, extravagant, and flavorful. We couldn’t even finish all of the food! Will come back 100x.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Such a great experience! I took my 11 year old niece for afternoon tea as a birthday gift. She felt fancy and important. The waitress was very attentive and patient! Everyone should go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Any meal at the Banff springs hotel is special. Food is average and tea selection is okay.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The tea was lovely, the food was delicious- especially the scones - and the service exceptional. I had a memorable afternoon tea with a dear friend & recommend it highly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Beautiful setting, with gorgeous mountain views...great place to celebrate my 'special birthday'. Food and service where excellent and I would recommend the Rundle Lounge to anyone, looking to find a venue for any special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great view and services!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 21, 2018

The server admitted there wasn’t enough staff rostered in and they were struggling. The table next to us sat uncleared the entire time. They only offer 1 pot of tea and no additional sandwhiches/sweets if you want more. I would have preferred to pay more to have that option. The food was good and the views spectacular. Overall a very average experience that I wouldnt recommend. Stick to the Plaza or the Ritz.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14