About Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

The Rundle Lounge takes England"s most beloved ritual to new heights. With breathtaking views, Afternoon Tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs offers 12 of our finest loose leaf teas accompanied by delectable pastries and finger sandwiches for the time honored traditionalist. The Rundle Lounge climbs even higher with its exclusive Matcha Martini, shaken not steeped for the modern tea aficionado. $43.00 per person.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:30pm

Dinner: No reservations accepted

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The hotel"s parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
The Fairmont Banff Springs along with Sun Country Highway Ltd, a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations has installed Banff's first electric vehicle charging station, in the hotel's parkade.

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Rundle Lounge offers two distinct private dining areas. The Sir William Wallace Room is available for smaller parties. This cozy room offers great views, with the comfort of a fireplace. The Upper Rundle Lounge is available in the evenings. It has spectacular views and is suited for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: 8888426893

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Value
Calgary / Southern Alberta
10 More
Scenic View
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Special Occasion
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Scenic View
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

Scenic View (59)
Special Occasion (59)
Romantic (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for afternoon tea and got a tabl ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went for afternoon tea and got a table right by the window looking out at the mountains; it was absolutely beautiful. As soon as we sat down we determined the actual tea was almost irrelevant, it's about the experience at a location like this. That said our server was delightful, and the tea, sandwiches and sweets were quite nice. The food wasn't anything outstanding, but it was good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Had afternoon tea in the Rundle Lounge w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had afternoon tea in the Rundle Lounge with a stagette party of girls, and it was absolutely lovely! Enough delicious finger food to fill you up without being too full, and everything was soooo tasty :) The tea was to die for too! You seriously cannot beat the view in the Rundle Lounge ... felt like we were royalty enjoying our afternoon tea :)

I would definitely recommend!!

Service was great too!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best afternoon teas we've eve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best afternoon teas we've ever had, and we've had many. The food was delicious, especially the savory items. The service was attentive, the view is spectacular. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The High Tea was Excellent with a variet ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The High Tea was Excellent with a variety of small very delicious sandwiches and cakes,excellent knowledgeable service and a spectacular view of the Rockies and valley

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Sandwich and dainties were on point. Vie ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Sandwich and dainties were on point. View was amazing too. Toomuch foodfood.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had high expectations but experience was ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had high expectations but experience was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Amazing as always at the Banff Springs! ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing as always at the Banff Springs! Great ambience, great service and great food!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my third visit to the Rundle Lou ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is my third visit to the Rundle Lounge for High Tea. The friendly, competent and attentive service, delicious and beautifully presented food and elegant surroundings are noteworthy. You will not be rushed in any way, which of course adds to the experience. There is minimum external noise, so conversations at your table are easily appreciated. I mentioned to our server that my guest was celebrating a birthday, and a delicious additional special dessert appeared before the final tray of sweets! Two tables near our table had grandmothers with their younger granddaughters (ages 9 and 10) who were all treated with special attention by the staff. It was most certainly charming! Do not expect to be right next to the windows, although the view will be wonderful. As the seating is limited, making reservations- even midweek- is a must! A special note for seniors and any person with a physical challenge in walking- the washroom on this level outside the Rundle Lounge are up two sections of steep stairs.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband treated me to this wonderful ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My husband treated me to this wonderful afternoon tea while on vacation. He enjoyed it as much as I did. The food was delicious and plentiful. We had to box the desserts to enjoy later. The atmosphere was elegant with a beautiful view of the mountains. We enjoyed many restaurants and ate great food on our trip to Banff, Jasper, Glacier (USA) and Waterton, but the afternoon tea at Banff Springs Hotel was our favorite experience. Thank you!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience for afternoon tea! ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Wonderful experience for afternoon tea! Interesting and tasty food with great presentation. A real treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Want to thanks Bronte and James , Bronte ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Want to thanks Bronte and James , Bronte was very pleasant and attentive really sweet girl. And James the manager was a lovely guy great to talk with. You are lucky to have such kind warm hearted staff ,

Kind Regard's

Amy

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Afternoon tea at Rundle Lounge was an am ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Afternoon tea at Rundle Lounge was an amazing experience with a fantastic view of the mountains even though we were not seated in the window. Would have liked a table in the window but as had booked for 3.30pm those tables had gone so would advise to book for earlier time or see if can reserve a table in the window. Great idea to be able to smell a sample of tea leaves before making a choice of which one to drink. Have had afternoon tea at The Ritz, London and have to say the wonderful food served at Rundle Lounge was on a par with that but much better value for money. We enjoyed a leisurely tea, in no way being hurried along to finish it, and had exceptionally attentive service by our server. We then spent some time walking around the Banff Springs Hotel which was very interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The tea selection and food were good. T ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The tea selection and food were good. The service was completely lacking. Started out well with the tea overview and then the server essentially disappeared and we had to ask another for service. For such a high end establishment, we were very let down on service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

This was a tea to top all teas. It was ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This was a tea to top all teas. It was a beautiful setting, wonderful food, and service to be commended. A large selection of teas are available and the knowledge of the server and her attentiveness definitely made the afternoon very worthwhile. The view was stunning. The food was a level above most teas.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bronte, our server, was very sweet and a ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Bronte, our server, was very sweet and attentive. The view can't be beat! The food was delicious, but $43 pp is $$$$. We would have felt it was a better value if a glass of prosecco was included. The ambiance would have felt more elevated if there was live music like the harpist in the lobby vs. piped in Top 40.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome view and excellent service made ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Awesome view and excellent service made my outing with my sisters a wonderful experience! Afternoon tea (sandwiches, sweets and tea in abundance) is a really fun idea to while away a couple of hours in the iconic Banff Springs Hotel. Well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A beautiful location within a gorgeous a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A beautiful location within a gorgeous and historic setting. It was and will always be a wonderful and memorable experience for our family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We visited June2015 and thoroughly enjoy ...

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We visited June2015 and thoroughly enjoyed it. 5 stars all round. Based onthat visit webooked again. Thistime we thought the quality andthe range ofthe menu was less than expected based on our previous visits

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Superb service and excellent food for af ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Superb service and excellent food for afternoon tea!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. The food was terri ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful experience. The food was terrific, as was the service and the view. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional place to catch up with close ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Exceptional place to catch up with close friends. Great view of the mountains from the lounge. We had the classic Afternoon Tea menu. Totally worth it. A nice fruit cup to open your appetite. My Jasmine Butterfly tea was delightful with honey. Warm scones, variety of sandwiches, and fantastic desserts. The passion fruit chocolate mousse cake, yum. Overall, the portion size is just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Afternoon tea for a special birthday. St ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Afternoon tea for a special birthday. Stunning views and fabulous food. We brought some home! Too much to eat but lovely

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing. The service team took ex ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was amazing. The service team took extra care to ensure my experience was amazing and was the best to fulfill a childhood dream of High Tea at the Fairmont Hot Springs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great venue for a high tea fo ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was a great venue for a high tea for my bachelorette. The only thing is we would have loved to sit by the window

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and tea were very good except I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food and tea were very good except I was not that impressed with the dessert. The waitresses were young women who were not very attentive and a little forgetful. The view was beautiful however. But the experience was not worth $43 a person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Not only was the food delicious, but the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Not only was the food delicious, but the view was beautiful and the service was outstanding. The overall experience and ritual of afternoon tea were lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delectable food and tea with stunning vi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delectable food and tea with stunning views. Very special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My friend and I went for afternoon tea w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My friend and I went for afternoon tea while we had a trip away to Canmore/Banff. And we were celebrating my birthday! I am from the UK so naturally love afternoon tea...and this was the perfect experience (real cream teas - scones with jam and clotted cream)! The service was top notch with a very friendly / chatty server, the food and tea (I recommend Maple Maple) was delightful and the view ...was priceless! I will be doing this again! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a memorable moment to return to t ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was a memorable moment to return to the Banff Springs Hotel after 19 Years. This time with my husband and a good friend for a High Tea. I would recommend this hotel to any person wishing to enjoy a great location and beautiful hotel.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The view, staff and food was outstanding ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The view, staff and food was outstanding. If you are interested in a place to relax and enjoy conversation over a great cup of tea, then this is for you. The scones were particularly good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the view were to die for! T ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food and the view were to die for! This was our first high tea, so that factors into it, but you couldn't ask for a better setting with the Rockies and the golf course as a view out of the window. Perhaps the only low spot was a musician who started playing in the bar below us towards the end of our tea that had his amplifier turned up too loud and distracted from the meditative state we had attained with the lovely sandwiches and the exquisite desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quant

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The Fairmont afternoon tea is just another great afternoon tea. There was not alot of tea selection as comparasion to the other fairmonts but overall they had a good selection. Display was a nice touch. View is spectacular as ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Standards have slipped

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Sadly not as good an experience as in the past.

Had high tea on a Sunday afternoon - our tea was cold by the time it finally arrived, had to ask for new hot water.

Granulated sugar rather than sugar cubes and no spoon to put sugar in tea - had to reuse teaspoon which isn't very hygienic, or English!

Server was very pleasant but towards end, started making us feel uncomfortable by asking every couple of minutes if we're finished - all this whilst setting up a new table next door, so felt like they wanted us out the door.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice scenery

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice scenery

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Better than expected and worth every penny!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I booked our birthday afternoon tea online in March. I had it recommended to me and was apprehensive because I knew it would be pricey. But our experience was amazing. I love dressing up and the ambiance matched my attire. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to do something intimate and special. Perfect for a girls weekend as well because there was a large group of girls who were at another table and they looked like they were enjoying their experience too. Last note, we went to have this as lunch and we were both stuffed and couldn't eat all of the desserts. Next time I'll be going really hungry and get the more expensive experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once in a lifetime experience ( at least ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Once in a lifetime experience ( at least for me). Worth every penny regardless of which option you choose. We had the afternoon tea, no booze, still a first class experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very special experience! Beautiful vi ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

A very special experience! Beautiful view, superb service, outstanding food and tea. I will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High Quality High Tea

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

As expected, the view was excellent. Beyond that, however, the service was absolutely top tier. Our server has only been working two days but show exceptional professionalism and proficiency. The food was significantly more extensive than expected and was ideally suited to the dinning occasion. The entire experience was what my spouse and I had hoped for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Extraordinary afternoon!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful afternoon tea at the Rundle Lounge. They were particularly accommodating of her gluten allergy, making sure everything was prepared especially for her. The service was tremendous and the views of course were one of a kind. A must if you're in Banff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were doing a belated Mother's Day eve ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were doing a belated Mother's Day event and it was wonderful, great view right by the window, wonderful presentation and everything met/exceeded expectations. Very happy. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.