About Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Pinkies Up! We are proud to present a menu steeped in tradition and designed to create the most memorable of Fairmont experiences.

The Rundle Lounge takes England"s most beloved ritual to new heights. With breathtaking views, Afternoon Tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs offers 12 of our finest loose leaf teas accompanied by delectable pastries and finger sandwiches for the time honored traditionalist. If there are any allergies or dietary restrictions let us know in advance and we would be happy to accommodate. $49.00 per person.

Christmas at the Castle
This Christmas the Rundle Lounge is taking a classic and putting a festive spin on it! With amazing views and decadent treats, we invite you to enjoy a Christmas Tea with us. Visit www.christmasatthecastle.ca for more details.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Tea Service Daily: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Christmas At The Castle:
Christmas Hours December 24, 25 & 26 Open Daily from 11:00am – 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The hotel"s parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
The Fairmont Banff Springs along with Sun Country Highway Ltd, a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations has installed Banff's first electric vehicle charging station, in the hotel's parkade.

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Rundle Lounge offers two distinct private dining areas. The Sir William Wallace Room is available for smaller parties. This cozy room offers great views, with the comfort of a fireplace. The Upper Rundle Lounge is available in the evenings. It has spectacular views and is suited for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: 8888426893

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Scenic View
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Special Occasion
Calgary / Southern Alberta
7 More
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

Afternoon Tea (51)
Scenic View (46)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Historic (21)
Romantic (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (7)
Fun (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Celebrating a birthday at the Banff Spri ...

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

Celebrating a birthday at the Banff Springs hotel and this was the icing on the cake. Everything was yummy and the view was spectacular - we were seated right by the window. A wonderful experience and a great way to end our visit.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places for a traditio ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of my favorite places for a traditional "Afternoon Tea" - the setting in the mountains is stunning & the food & service sublime!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attended Afternoon Tea at the Rundle ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

We attended Afternoon Tea at the Rundle Hall. It was a lovely time. The meal was designed by Chef Darren McGrady, who has served Queen Elizabeth II. It was delicious! Our server, Samantha, was a lovely girl. She was very friendly.

It was disappointing that we were unable to change teas without a $6 surcharge, as other Fairmont's do not charge for changes.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My friends and I had a wonderful time! T ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

My friends and I had a wonderful time! The service was fantastic, the food was delicious and lots of varieties to try! The tea selection was impressive and delicious! We will defenitely come back again! Have to give a huge thumbs up to the chefs for being able to cater to my gluten free friend so well! She never felt as if she was missing out, and thoroughly enjoyed her experience as well. Thanks for a fabulous afternoon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a mother/daughters high tea ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went for a mother/daughters high tea and all three of us loved every aspect of it. Our waitress was lovely, very attentive and personable. The food was excellent and unique. The view of the mountains and valley was stunning. The locale in the Banff Springs was second to none. Highly recommended in all ways!!!!!

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience!! Great menu and s ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful experience!! Great menu and setting. Highly recommend.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The venue could use more signage, we wer ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

The venue could use more signage, we were sitting in the Lounge waiting for family until I asked a staff member and found we were supposed to be on the second level. Staff very helpful.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My grandson and I enjoyed our afternoon ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

My grandson and I enjoyed our afternoon tea. The food was delicious! The view out the window of the Rundle lounge was beautiful. The staff was friendly and attentive.

We look forward to returning sometime soon to enjoy another special occasion.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

a beautiful experience: royal afternoon ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

a beautiful experience: royal afternoon tea. the view is stunning and the service was lovely. the only only thing i would personally change for myself would be to ask if it was possible to have more of the mini sandwiches and less cakes and sweets - the desserts were beautiful. it i can't consume that many sweets in one sitting. it was fine, the server packed them very nicely for me to take away.

this was truly a lovely experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The view is absolutely stunning and the ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

The view is absolutely stunning and the food is authentic high tea. Very relaxing and enjoyable.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing and wonderful experience! Incred ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Amazing and wonderful experience!

Incredible birthday choice for my girlfriend ...food was superb ...service was outstanding ...view was glorious !

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have had High Tea at Kensington in Lon ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

I have had High Tea at Kensington in London, Chateau Laurier in Ottawa, Empress Hotel in Victoria and I enjoyed this one the most.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, amazing food. There was ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great location, amazing food. There was a lot of food, we had to take out the remaining food. Great scenery.

Tags: Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time (we were actually th ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a great time (we were actually the last to leave...). We ordered a bottle of Prosecco but our hostess forgot to bring it. After reminding her about the order, she brought 4 glasses filled with the wine and the bottle. I feel the bottle should have been opened at our table, not at the bar and our glasses filled at this point. I don't think we drank as much tea since we had the wine and it came after our teas were served.

The food was very tasty and the desserts were all great.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

For special occasions, very pricey. Comb ...

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

For special occasions, very pricey. Combined this as lunch and dinner, after drinking lots of tea and eating half of the food. Very friendly wait staff and lots of interesting fellow tea drinkers.

Tags: People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed the Royal Champagn ...

 
·Dined on October 11, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the Royal Champagne Afternoon Tea at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel on October 11, 2016. The presentation was perfect, the food delicious and our server was delightful ! The little cakes and other dainties were almost too lovely looking to eat- almost! There was a terrific variety of tea sandwiches with creative fillings. Everything added to the specialness of the day; my 65th birthday ! We would definitely recommend this event to anyone who enjoys being spoiled ...

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited the Rundle Lounge for Af ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have visited the Rundle Lounge for Afternoon Tea several times. And, we have enjoyed each visit. We particularly enjoyed this visit because we were able to have the "Royal Tea" commemorating the recent royal visit to Canada. Everything was very well presented and the royal connection to each sandwich and cake was well explained.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was visiting my son in Calgary from m ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

I was visiting my son in Calgary from my home in Nova Scotia, and wanted to offer him a special occasion that we would both remember. The Afternoon Tea was that and more. Wonderful ambiance, the most attentive and friendly service, and the food and tea offerings were lovely. Thank you so much!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An exceptionally pleasant afternoon tea ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

An exceptionally pleasant afternoon tea in an almost dreamlike surrounding. Both food and service were excellent and enjoyed by all of us. We hope to come to Banff and the Fairmont and Rundle Lounge again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I reserved afternoon tea for my daughter ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

I reserved afternoon tea for my daughter and I to celebrate her 13th birthday. We were treated with such kindness, from making accommodations for a food allergy, to being seated at a table by the windows so we could see the beautiful view. The nicest treat was when the waitress brought out a special piece of dark chocolate cake for my daughter. She felt so special and important, which was the whole point of bringing her to tea.

Our waitress was lovely and kind and very attentive. She knew the story behind each of the sandwiches and desserts.

The food was simply amazing. I will forever remember the roast beef sandwich and my daughter will remember the tomato and sage cheese bun. It was all very delicious and decadent.

Having afternoon tea in the Rundle Lounge with my daughter truly was a highlight for me and a memory that will be with my precious daughter forever.

Thank you so very much. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Fun, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had afternoon tea with my mother last we ...

 
·Dined on September 29, 2016

Had afternoon tea with my mother last week. Service was exceptional. Food was fantastic. It was a great experience.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First the atmosphere, scenery, environme ...

 
·Dined on September 27, 2016

First the atmosphere, scenery, environment, decor etc etc is like no where else. Such a gorgeous place!

Food was very good. The first course of fruit was lacking, it was barely a spoon full of diced berries and ours was missing the curl of dark chocolate that others had. I would definitely improve on this being that it's such a fancy establishment - kind of silly. Otherwise the food was delishious! I had the vanilla orchid tea and it was very very good

The gals were slightly under staffed and some of our party was very late so we were waiting. The good took quite a while to come out between courses but I believe high tea is meant to be enjoyed with long conversation so no issues here! Would recommend it for sure ( bring your wallet 😬)

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

first pot of tea was not sufficiently ho ...

 
·Dined on September 26, 2016

first pot of tea was not sufficiently hot. subsequent pots were OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I was actually thrilled to be spending m ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

I was actually thrilled to be spending my birthday at the fairmont banff and experience the afternoon tea with the breathtaking view, I requested that I wanted the mountain view because it was my birthday.

They did grant my request,but I was disappointed with our server,she was a bit dull to begin with and she didn't even ask me whats the occasion . Which actually that day was my birthday.

  Thank God for the good food and the overall stay at the hotel was great. Except for this,Im really quite disappointed. Now, my friends are asking me "how was the afternoon tea at fairmont banff springs" I was not that thrilled anymore to be sharing my experience, maybe I just had a dull server,who can't even smile.
Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

The fall folliage was a great back drop ...

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The fall folliage was a great back drop to a lovely tea

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Sandwhiches and desserts were delici ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The Sandwhiches and desserts were delicious, but you are no longer allowed to change the flavor of tea that you have; which seems outragious considering how much you are paying for the experience. We defenetly did not enjoy it as much as last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Very helpful and friendly staff, good as ...

 
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Very helpful and friendly staff, good assortment of food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely afternoon. We were celebrat ...

 
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Had a lovely afternoon. We were celebrating my husband's birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Afternoon Tea at Banff Springs ...

 
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Fantastic Afternoon Tea at Banff Springs Hotel. Amazing views out the window over the valley and river. Would recommend this to anyone visiting Banff.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent variety or sandwiches and scon ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent variety or sandwiches and scones followed by desserts. Much more substantial than I was expecting. Excellent quality teas and an unbeatable view if the Rockies in a historical setting.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband & I went on our honeymoon for ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My husband & I went on our honeymoon for afternoon tea. We felt very welcomed & our server was WONDERFUL! (I'm sorry that I don't remember her name.) It was the prettiest view we've ever seen.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Serve was good. Food was good. Atmosph ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Serve was good. Food was good. Atmosphere was good. View of mountains... Priceless.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Beautiful outlook and sunny weather enha ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Beautiful outlook and sunny weather enhanced a good afternoon tea. The savoury food was delicious but the sweet food was disappointing with limited variety. The quantity of food was good.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful views with excellent service. ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Beautiful views with excellent service. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. I liked that the typical afternoon tea fare had it's own little spin (i.e., the smoked salmon quiche was excellent). We were there for 2 1/2 hours and didn't feel rushed at all.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Two women with infants came in immediate ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Two women with infants came in immediately after us. I paid what I did for an elegant, quiet, very special time. It wasn't. The servers were very nice and the food was very good. But elegant? Refined? Quiet? Special? No. If the possibility exists for that to happen to you, don't make the reservation there. There are plenty of other places in the same hotel to get what you want.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

For us on this special date, the overall ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

For us on this special date, the overall experience came up to and often exceeded expectations, we spent a very enjoyable hour overlooking the Bow river and Falls

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Stunning scenery from the rundle lounge, ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Stunning scenery from the rundle lounge, very friendly staff, attentive and informative waitress with an excellent choice of teas. Afternoon tea served in separate courses - eg sandwiches first, then scones and lastly, pastries, nicely presented and very good quality. If I had to choose I would prefer everything to be served together in what I consider a more traditional afternoon tea but nevertheless a very enjoyable afternoon in a setting few could rival.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great views from the Rundle lounge and a ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great views from the Rundle lounge and a cool experience to have fancy afternoon tea with beautiful finger foods for sampling. So much food we couldn't finish the desserts and opted to pack them up. We will keep this in mind for special occasions in the future.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had the most amazing server. The afte ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had the most amazing server. The afternoon tea was great value.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was a long wait, even after confir ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

There was a long wait, even after confirming the reservation that morning

The Gluten free option was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.