Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

Pinkies Up! We are proud to present a menu steeped in tradition and designed to create the most memorable of Fairmont experiences.

The Rundle Lounge takes England & quot;s most beloved ritual to new heights. With breathtaking views, Afternoon Tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs offers 12 of our finest loose leaf teas accompanied by delectable pastries and finger sandwiches for the time honored traditionalist. If there are any allergies or dietary restrictions let us know in advance and we would be happy to accommodate. $49.00 per person.


405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Tea Service Daily: 12:00pm - 4:00pm


Mother's Day Afternoon Tea - May 14, 2017

Treat your mom to Afternoon Tea, with gorgeous views and delicious treats, she'll be sure to you love.
$65 for adults, $35 for children (ages 6 -12)



Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The hotel"s parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
The Fairmont Banff Springs along with Sun Country Highway Ltd, a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations has installed Banff's first electric vehicle charging station, in the hotel's parkade.

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Rundle Lounge offers two distinct private dining areas. The Sir William Wallace Room is available for smaller parties. This cozy room offers great views, with the comfort of a fireplace. The Upper Rundle Lounge is available in the evenings. It has spectacular views and is suited for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: (888) 842-6893

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Scenic View (15)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (12)
Historic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
People Watching (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

checked off afternoon tea on my bucket list it was a amazing experience I would recommend it to everyone to do the tea was great the service was great the food was great my only complaint would be WE GOT THE BEAT isnt really good background music

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My friend and I really enjoyed the ambiance and the excellent food and tea at Rundle Lounge Afternoon Tea. I will recommend it to my friends for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent service, will def go again. My girls really enjoyed the experience and the scenery overlooking the mountains

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We went there for my friends birthday. I upgraded it to a champagne tea and it was delicious :)

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Is a very unique experience. Had a wonderful waiter who knew the history of this building and area. He was just the added touch. Was humorous and helpful. Lovely way to spend a quiet afternoon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food menu is very limited selection. Good for quick bites. Lots of drink options

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Amazing experience. Great selection of teas and the cutest assorted tower of treats. The view is stunning. A must do in Banff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been coming here every year for the last few years and were sad to see the changes to a more modern dining experience. We missed the tea trolley and the real tea China. The food was good but missed some of the previous items.

Service was still great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

An absolutely perfect Valentines day treat, and the ability to get equally delicious gluten free options without a moments hesitation from staff was greatly appreciated. One of the greatest views in the world, delicious and surprisingly filling food, excellent service... what else could you ask for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience. Time slows as you enjoy all the finger-sandwiches and desserts paired with a heart-warming tea. Also Celiac safe as they bring you your own tower of gluten-free goodies to match the regular menu - so delicious!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious afternoon tea that fills you up past supper! Varying appetites can all be satisfied and individual teapots heated over tealights makes for the perfect experience. Not to mention the amazing view and the option to upgrade to a champagne version with bubbly, cheese and fruit tray in addition to the sandwiches and cakes! At $49 CDN per person, it's a bit high and the $85 champagne version is steeper still but, hey, it's the Banff Springs ... castle of the Rockies. Book ahead to avoid disappointment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Afternoon tea at the Fairmont Banff Springs is quite the experience! They have a wonderful tea selection and the food is fantastic. We went for the champagne as well and were treated to the best glass of champagne either of us had ever had. It also came with a great selection of cheeses. The food, the service and the view are all worth the trip!

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My friend and I had had afternoon tea while in Banff for a girls only trip. We were seated next to the window and the view was nothing less than spectacular. We spent the morning hiking at Lake Louise and had built up a big appetite. The afternoon tea did not disappoint, we left full and happy. My friend is from Great Britain and even she thought the experience was lovely. I will definitely be back soon and this time I will be bringing my fiance!

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Some sandwiches tastier than others. Can't beat the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was lovely, my grand daughter (17yrs) and I enjoyed the time. The view was beautiful and breathtaking. I would have liked to see the Silver/China serving plates instead of wood and slate. I have had the Afternoon Tea there before but we were allowed to try a couple teas which was far better. Paid a tremendous amount of money for Afternoon "tea" with only one tea to try. Since I tried one I'd never heard of and didn't like it, I would have like to try another. The sweets and savouries were great, so many sweets we had to take some home. The experience was wonderful for someone who has never done it before.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great afternoon tea to make my girls feel like princesses.

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We've been to many 'Afternoon Tea's' at different Fairmont locations (including this one) with this being said we have high expectations. I was extremely disappointed with the removal of the 'tea cart' and the silver tiered sandwich displays. These are items that have come to be an integral component of any high tea and it seemed these traditions were being removed. A bi-fold wooden board with plastic containers holding small portions of tea and a wooden a-frame with pieces of slate held our sandwiches. This may be hip and trendy no doubt, but it holds no place in the serving of and traditional sophistication of 'high tea'. The ability to see and smell each tea was always a welcomed part of this long tradition. The sandwiches we were served were the exact same sandwiches we had when we visited 8 mos. previously. The desserts were sub-par and again the same general desserts received previously. Keep tradition yes, but a balance of variety is also a good idea. This is a well known world renowned hotel. If I was a visitor from France or England or any other sophisticated country I would have no doubt been extremely disappointed in the quality of the food. This tea is on the higher price range of others we have been to and in saying so we definitely expected more from this beautiful castle. All in all we were disappointed in the food and desserts and the overall ambiance of the 'high tea' experience we have come to love. It will definitely be awhile before we are back again, if at all. We expected much more from this world class facility.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had afternoon tea to celebrate 2 birthdays (6 and 12). We were very impressed with the quality of the food, the balance between savoury and sweet, and the tea selection. We were also very pleased to see that although the children's tea was more kid friendly it was still sophisticated and felt really special to both girls. The staff were friendly and the view perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Afternoon tea was a treat- prepared to be wowed and very full!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Have come for afternoon tea before this year. Beautiful winter day. Breathtaking view as always. Disappointed that the more traditional dishes and table settings have been replaced. More modernization at the hotel. In a place like the Banff Springs old is still better in my opinion. The food was tasty but the portion size of the scones was tiny! That is what we really came for traditional tea and scones. The McDonald Hotel in Edmonton has far better scones and Devanshire Cream! And still uses real silver tea pots! Sorry just being honest.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Ashley who served our table on that day was very professional. The view was beautiful and the food was good as well. Highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The view of course is beautiful, but we were not seated next to a window. When I took a photo of my friend, the background was the
standing coat rack🙁
We did enjoy the tea's & treats. The quality was tasted. It was not overly priced either,
which was good.
We've had better & we've had worse. But, it was a nice afternoon all 'n all.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We come to the Banff Hot Springs every year for New Years Tea. In our party we have two adults and two children, with one of the adults requiring the gluten-free tray. Normally the regular trays are quite tasty and the gluten-free is hit or miss, depending what choices they have that day. On this day between Christmas and New Year's, the menu had changed slightly, the silver pots had been changed out for ceramic with a tea-light stand, and the scones had deteriorated considerably. (They came on the tray which took up space where there used to be more food: the regular tray had two button scones and the gluten-free tray had previously frozen scones that were the consistency of hockey pucks.)
Hopefully they'll bring back the classic tea pots and the usual amount of food. And bring back the scone!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Beautiful setting and ambiance for a girls afternoon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We very much enjoyed this Christmas treat for ourselves! The service was excellent and the food was explained to us in detail, as was the tea choices. It was most enjoyable!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was not fresh and not excellent which was expected.
Tea was very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I was staying at the hotel and decided to treat myself to hi tea! The view was overwhelming and the service was outstanding - warm and helpful but not overbearing! The tea was delicious and the food was great (couldn't finish it all!!) A little expensive but it was a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Fabulous experience at the Rundle Lounge for Afternoon Tea. Food was elegant and delicious, view was glorious and service was unparalleled. Janelle was our server and she was a delight.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent and professional service by the waitress

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Celebrating a birthday at the Banff Springs hotel and this was the icing on the cake. Everything was yummy and the view was spectacular - we were seated right by the window. A wonderful experience and a great way to end our visit.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of my favorite places for a traditional "Afternoon Tea" - the setting in the mountains is stunning & the food & service sublime!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We attended Afternoon Tea at the Rundle Hall. It was a lovely time. The meal was designed by Chef Darren McGrady, who has served Queen Elizabeth II. It was delicious! Our server, Samantha, was a lovely girl. She was very friendly.

It was disappointing that we were unable to change teas without a $6 surcharge, as other Fairmont's do not charge for changes.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My friends and I had a wonderful time! The service was fantastic, the food was delicious and lots of varieties to try! The tea selection was impressive and delicious! We will defenitely come back again! Have to give a huge thumbs up to the chefs for being able to cater to my gluten free friend so well! She never felt as if she was missing out, and thoroughly enjoyed her experience as well. Thanks for a fabulous afternoon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went for a mother/daughters high tea and all three of us loved every aspect of it. Our waitress was lovely, very attentive and personable. The food was excellent and unique. The view of the mountains and valley was stunning. The locale in the Banff Springs was second to none. Highly recommended in all ways!!!!!

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful experience!! Great menu and setting. Highly recommend.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The venue could use more signage, we were sitting in the Lounge waiting for family until I asked a staff member and found we were supposed to be on the second level. Staff very helpful.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My grandson and I enjoyed our afternoon tea. The food was delicious! The view out the window of the Rundle lounge was beautiful. The staff was friendly and attentive.
We look forward to returning sometime soon to enjoy another special occasion.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

a beautiful experience: royal afternoon tea. the view is stunning and the service was lovely. the only only thing i would personally change for myself would be to ask if it was possible to have more of the mini sandwiches and less cakes and sweets - the desserts were beautiful. it i can't consume that many sweets in one sitting. it was fine, the server packed them very nicely for me to take away.
this was truly a lovely experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The view is absolutely stunning and the food is authentic high tea. Very relaxing and enjoyable.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Amazing and wonderful experience!
Incredible birthday choice for my girlfriend ...food was superb ...service was outstanding ...view was glorious !

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.