Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

Pinkies Up! We are proud to present a menu steeped in tradition and designed to create the most memorable of Fairmont experiences.

The Rundle Lounge takes England & quot;s most beloved ritual to new heights. With breathtaking views, Afternoon Tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs offers 12 of our finest loose leaf teas accompanied by delectable pastries and finger sandwiches for the time honored traditionalist. If there are any allergies or dietary restrictions let us know in advance and we would be happy to accommodate. $49.00 per person.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual (no hats, sports wear or torn jeans)

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Tea Service Daily: 12:00pm - 4:00pm


Mother's Day Afternoon Tea - May 14, 2017

Treat your mom to Afternoon Tea, with gorgeous views and delicious treats, she'll be sure to you love.
$65 for adults, $35 for children (ages 6 -12)



Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The hotel"s parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
The Fairmont Banff Springs along with Sun Country Highway Ltd, a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations has installed Banff's first electric vehicle charging station, in the hotel's parkade.

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Rundle Lounge offers two distinct private dining areas. The Sir William Wallace Room is available for smaller parties. This cozy room offers great views, with the comfort of a fireplace. The Upper Rundle Lounge is available in the evenings. It has spectacular views and is suited for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: (888) 842-6893

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (21)
Special Occasion (16)
Afternoon Tea (16)
See All
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Historic (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Just a lovely experience with old world charm. Samantha made our afternoon so pleasant! All of the staff we encountered were so helpful and attentive. It is clear guest service is a priority! Well done all round.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Fantastic experience. Brought my 3 year old daughter for her first afternoon tea experience. When she asked our server if there was a princess in the 'castle', the waitress pulled out a tiara for her. Perfect afternoon thanks for looking after the details!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I was looking forward to sharing this experience with my parents. The ambiance was beautiful. There was no bad views anywhere even with the rain pour. It was exactly what I expected it to be... a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I really wanted to like this but it turned out to be very average.

Tea - one of the centerpieces - was one tea bag in a vat of water. At a minimum should have loose tea, and should have a taste of the tea. Unfortunately, three of us had different teas and they all tasted alike - hot water.

Savory items were ok, nothing exceptional. Most sweet items were too sweet. For those who care, it was a very carb heavy experience.

The saving (?) grace was the location. But not sufficient for me to return for the afternoon tea. Sorry.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The tea at the Fairmont used to be one of my yearly favorite events to go to. It has gone so downhill this year since past years. The tea took over 40 min to reach the table from sitting time. The waitress was no where to be found and we had to wave her down to get attention after waiting so long. The candles to keep the tea warm were never lit and warm water was never offered. Very sad, for the price we won't be returning again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I had really high expectations. It was good but not amazing. It was very warm in the room. Doors were open but it was still very warm. We did the champagne tea. The champagne and cheese course was very yummy. Sandwiches were enjoyable as well. Scones were terrible and desserts were below average. Their macarons and a chocolate graham cracker type of dessert was tasty. Service was good but nothing to write home about. Overall, it was okay. The maple maple tea was very good but they told us they are fazing out this line of tea and introducing another. The will not have a maple tea. Big miss in my opinion. I bought 4 boxes before we left. The view made the experience much a nice experience but I still expected a lot more for $85 and being at the Fairmont.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 25, 2017

HIGH TEA WAS VERY ENJOYABLE. THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS, THE ATMOSPHERE WAS RELAXING AND THE VIEW WAS SPECTACULAR.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The Rundle High Tea is always perfect for special occasions. My daughters love going there for Christmas-New Years and Birthdays!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We brought friends from California who were very impressed and overwhelmed with the Rundle Lounge, the view, the afternoon tea and our server, Amelie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Our waitress was fantastic, but the music/musician was very loud. My mother wears hearing aids and it was difficult for her to hear everyone at the table. We requested the musician lower the volume of her speakers. She wouldn't do it. The waitress was very apologetic. I must admit that tarnished our experience enough that we won't be back for afternoon tea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Tea with a view! This is one of the most enjoyable High Tea experiences around. I took my English cousin and she agrees. The only thing we'd change is the citrus cream for the more authentic Devonshire cream. The rest was outstanding!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My parents visited the Banff Springs Inn during their honeymoon in 1946 (Yes, 71 years ago). They had always planned to experience high tea there but never made it back. I did it in their honor.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We all enjoyed the afternoon tea. There is a variety of teas where each person gets a pot. We liked the savory sandwiches more than sweet pastries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Cannot be beaten for the special occasion, or for the experience alone. The afternoon tea was like something out of Alice in Wonderland, the selection of cakes beyond belief. The service was beyond reproach of any kind, with one of the first questions being if anyone had any allergies, and if so alternative cakes supplied.
The views towards the Rockies is stunning, complementing the interior of the hotel which is also stunning.
Well worth doing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Family trip to the Canadian rookies.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We are on vacation from Los Angeles. I go to tea often with my friends it's a special time for us that I wanted to share with my husband and son. The view was stunning! But it went downhill from there. It took forever to get our food and the tea was cold. We had two little ones with us who were starving no matter how many times we asked if we could get the food for the kids quickly it still took a long time. I wasn't impressed with the food when it finally came. It's a lot of money for bad service, cold tea and mediocre food. Hope my guys give tea another chance. I would suggest going to this location for a drink instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very disappointing. Went for a special occasion and afternoon tea menu has changed drastically. Barely enough food and poor quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a lovely experience at afternoon tea! The sandwiches and baked goods were delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (N. Ireland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

For a special occasion, it is a very nice way to spend an hour or two. Food is very good and more filling than you would think. Try and get a window seat; great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I was meeting a friend I had not seen in months and the service was absolutely outstanding. The food was perfectly prepared and very enjoyable. This was by far one of my favorite Banff experiences.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We were there for my mother's 87th birthday, wanted to do something different, which this definitely was...very unique & enjoyable experience, the view & atmosphere were unbelievably beautiful combined with fantastic service.
Would highly recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Even though someone called the day before our reservation to confirm, they were not ready to seat us at our time. We had to wait over 20minutes past our reservation time to be seated. Much of the flatwear was dirty. The tea pots were slick and dirty inside; they obviously hadn't been washed properly in quite sometime, as the slick grime ubbed off quite easily with just my finger tip. The tea and nibbles took forever to come. We had some dietary restrictions and when we asked why it was taking so long the server said 'it's taking a while because they have to make special food'. Isn't that why we made a reservation so far in advance!? The servers didn't know where to serve from and were quite often leaning right in front and accross us. For the price and the reputation of the Hotel my husband and I were mortified! My parents ran a restaurant for years and to say the least they were not impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I surprised my mom with afternoon tea for mothers day. It was an indlcreadible experience, infact, she wants to make it a yearly tradition with my little daughter Rose. Thankyou to out wonderful server. She really made the experience outstanding. I left one of my baby blankets and she went above and beyond to call me and put it aside. The food was really well presented and we ate every bite!
Thankyou for the memories!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Love it throughout!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We love it here, and today's tea was the best yet. The restaurant was very attentive to allergy needs, and ensured things were served separate. The tiny sandwiches are deceptive! You will leave full.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Best Bloody Mary!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My friend and I really enjoyed the afternoon. My only complaint was that on top of $49 each for afternoon tea we had to pay for parking!
Perhaps you could consider waiving th fee if people are using the facilities or half the price.
Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 4, 2017

this was my fourth time having High Tea at your picturesque establishment
and it was the first time that I was left disappointed
This was a special occasion for my girlfriend's 60th birthday and I had asked that we be seated at the window (we were not!)
I had to exchange my tea as it was as light as water and tasted like water - *our waiter was very gracious and happily exchanged it for a different blend.
One of the main things that disappointed myself and my two guests was that you have removed the 'cart' - the cart was such a part of the overall experience. We always loved hearing all the descriptions of the different teas as well as being able to smell each blend. To have our tea not served as leaves but in 'regular' sachets was a terrible letdown and changed the entire experience enough for us that we may not return as it just isnt the same experience
with that being said, the food was delicate and delicious. thank you
Lisa Gausman

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delightful - lovely and tasty food and a gorgeous view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My parents were in town visiting from NS and wanted to spend a weekend in the mountains. This was a great way for us to spend the afternoon and experience the exceptional service of the Fairmont hotel and their staff. Everything tasted great and the presentation was lovely. The recommendations of our waitress were also great. I would definitely come for Afternoon Tea again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

checked off afternoon tea on my bucket list it was a amazing experience I would recommend it to everyone to do the tea was great the service was great the food was great my only complaint would be WE GOT THE BEAT isnt really good background music

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My friend and I really enjoyed the ambiance and the excellent food and tea at Rundle Lounge Afternoon Tea. I will recommend it to my friends for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent service, will def go again. My girls really enjoyed the experience and the scenery overlooking the mountains

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We went there for my friends birthday. I upgraded it to a champagne tea and it was delicious :)

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Is a very unique experience. Had a wonderful waiter who knew the history of this building and area. He was just the added touch. Was humorous and helpful. Lovely way to spend a quiet afternoon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food menu is very limited selection. Good for quick bites. Lots of drink options

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Amazing experience. Great selection of teas and the cutest assorted tower of treats. The view is stunning. A must do in Banff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been coming here every year for the last few years and were sad to see the changes to a more modern dining experience. We missed the tea trolley and the real tea China. The food was good but missed some of the previous items.

Service was still great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

An absolutely perfect Valentines day treat, and the ability to get equally delicious gluten free options without a moments hesitation from staff was greatly appreciated. One of the greatest views in the world, delicious and surprisingly filling food, excellent service... what else could you ask for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience. Time slows as you enjoy all the finger-sandwiches and desserts paired with a heart-warming tea. Also Celiac safe as they bring you your own tower of gluten-free goodies to match the regular menu - so delicious!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.