About Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

The Rundle Lounge takes England"s most beloved ritual to new heights. With breathtaking views, Afternoon Tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs offers 12 of our finest loose leaf teas accompanied by delectable pastries and finger sandwiches for the time honored traditionalist. The Rundle Lounge climbs even higher with its exclusive Matcha Martini, shaken not steeped for the modern tea aficionado. $45.00 per person.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:30pm

Dinner: No reservations accepted

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The hotel"s parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
The Fairmont Banff Springs along with Sun Country Highway Ltd, a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations has installed Banff's first electric vehicle charging station, in the hotel's parkade.

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Rundle Lounge offers two distinct private dining areas. The Sir William Wallace Room is available for smaller parties. This cozy room offers great views, with the comfort of a fireplace. The Upper Rundle Lounge is available in the evenings. It has spectacular views and is suited for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: 8888426893

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Scenic View
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
7 More
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Scenic View
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

Scenic View (58)
Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (29)
See All
Afternoon Tea (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Brunch (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Historic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First the atmosphere, scenery, environme ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

First the atmosphere, scenery, environment, decor etc etc is like no where else. Such a gorgeous place!

Food was very good. The first course of fruit was lacking, it was barely a spoon full of diced berries and ours was missing the curl of dark chocolate that others had. I would definitely improve on this being that it's such a fancy establishment - kind of silly. Otherwise the food was delishious! I had the vanilla orchid tea and it was very very good

The gals were slightly under staffed and some of our party was very late so we were waiting. The good took quite a while to come out between courses but I believe high tea is meant to be enjoyed with long conversation so no issues here! Would recommend it for sure ( bring your wallet 😬)

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

first pot of tea was not sufficiently ho ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

first pot of tea was not sufficiently hot. subsequent pots were OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I was actually thrilled to be spending m ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I was actually thrilled to be spending my birthday at the fairmont banff and experience the afternoon tea with the breathtaking view, I requested that I wanted the mountain view because it was my birthday.

They did grant my request,but I was disappointed with our server,she was a bit dull to begin with and she didn't even ask me whats the occasion . Which actually that day was my birthday.

Thank God for the good food and the overall stay at the hotel was great. Except for this,Im really quite disappointed. Now, my friends are asking me "how was the afternoon tea at fairmont banff springs" I was not that thrilled anymore to be sharing my experience, maybe I just had a dull server,who can't even smile.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

The fall folliage was a great back drop ...

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The fall folliage was a great back drop to a lovely tea

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Sandwhiches and desserts were delici ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The Sandwhiches and desserts were delicious, but you are no longer allowed to change the flavor of tea that you have; which seems outragious considering how much you are paying for the experience. We defenetly did not enjoy it as much as last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Very helpful and friendly staff, good as ...

 
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Very helpful and friendly staff, good assortment of food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely afternoon. We were celebrat ...

 
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Had a lovely afternoon. We were celebrating my husband's birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent variety or sandwiches and scon ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent variety or sandwiches and scones followed by desserts. Much more substantial than I was expecting. Excellent quality teas and an unbeatable view if the Rockies in a historical setting.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband & I went on our honeymoon for ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My husband & I went on our honeymoon for afternoon tea. We felt very welcomed & our server was WONDERFUL! (I'm sorry that I don't remember her name.) It was the prettiest view we've ever seen.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Serve was good. Food was good. Atmosph ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Serve was good. Food was good. Atmosphere was good. View of mountains... Priceless.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Beautiful outlook and sunny weather enha ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Beautiful outlook and sunny weather enhanced a good afternoon tea. The savoury food was delicious but the sweet food was disappointing with limited variety. The quantity of food was good.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful views with excellent service. ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Beautiful views with excellent service. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. I liked that the typical afternoon tea fare had it's own little spin (i.e., the smoked salmon quiche was excellent). We were there for 2 1/2 hours and didn't feel rushed at all.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Two women with infants came in immediate ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Two women with infants came in immediately after us. I paid what I did for an elegant, quiet, very special time. It wasn't. The servers were very nice and the food was very good. But elegant? Refined? Quiet? Special? No. If the possibility exists for that to happen to you, don't make the reservation there. There are plenty of other places in the same hotel to get what you want.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

For us on this special date, the overall ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

For us on this special date, the overall experience came up to and often exceeded expectations, we spent a very enjoyable hour overlooking the Bow river and Falls

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Stunning scenery from the rundle lounge, ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Stunning scenery from the rundle lounge, very friendly staff, attentive and informative waitress with an excellent choice of teas. Afternoon tea served in separate courses - eg sandwiches first, then scones and lastly, pastries, nicely presented and very good quality. If I had to choose I would prefer everything to be served together in what I consider a more traditional afternoon tea but nevertheless a very enjoyable afternoon in a setting few could rival.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great views from the Rundle lounge and a ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great views from the Rundle lounge and a cool experience to have fancy afternoon tea with beautiful finger foods for sampling. So much food we couldn't finish the desserts and opted to pack them up. We will keep this in mind for special occasions in the future.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had the most amazing server. The afte ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had the most amazing server. The afternoon tea was great value.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was a long wait, even after confir ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

There was a long wait, even after confirming the reservation that morning

The Gluten free option was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I was very sorry to witness such horribl ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I was very sorry to witness such horrible service . Not only did we not get seated until an hour after our reservation time, but the service going forward from there was slow and not satisfactory whatsoever (this was even after talking to the manager and expressing our disappointment). After having been to Lake Louise for an outstanding high tea in the spring, I was looking forward to seeing what Banff Springs had to offer. Unfortunately it was one big terrible disappointment. We didn't get our food until more then an hour after being seated (this was after an hour of already waiting)...and after having ordered a vegetarian platter it came out tasting like it had been sitting out all day and also included a fish quiche when we explicitly said vegetarian only. We discussed our disappointments with the waitress who told us they are highly understaffed. We felt sorry that she clearly had too much work for one server...Anyway, all and all it was really unfortunate to see such an iconic hotel and event go so terribly. I will definitely be driving the extra half an hour next time to get better service. I came with a group of local ladies (born and raised in the valley) and we actually felt that all and all it was embarrassing to see what should be such a fun afternoon, go so miserably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The deserts are only good for after lunc ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The deserts are only good for after lunch. I don't recommend anyone spends 43 plux tax and tips for just deserts and super tiny sandwiches. U can have a better lunch at The LookOut outdoors patio in the Fairmont with the same stunning view,at the same time, u will get more options with reasonable prices for lunches.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

I have taken people to high tea for year ...

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I have taken people to high tea for years and I have never been disappointed. It is a must do on my list

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for afternoon tea and got a tabl ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We went for afternoon tea and got a table right by the window looking out at the mountains; it was absolutely beautiful. As soon as we sat down we determined the actual tea was almost irrelevant, it's about the experience at a location like this. That said our server was delightful, and the tea, sandwiches and sweets were quite nice. The food wasn't anything outstanding, but it was good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Had afternoon tea in the Rundle Lounge w ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had afternoon tea in the Rundle Lounge with a stagette party of girls, and it was absolutely lovely! Enough delicious finger food to fill you up without being too full, and everything was soooo tasty :) The tea was to die for too! You seriously cannot beat the view in the Rundle Lounge ... felt like we were royalty enjoying our afternoon tea :)

I would definitely recommend!!

Service was great too!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best afternoon teas we've eve ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of the best afternoon teas we've ever had, and we've had many. The food was delicious, especially the savory items. The service was attentive, the view is spectacular. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The High Tea was Excellent with a variet ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The High Tea was Excellent with a variety of small very delicious sandwiches and cakes,excellent knowledgeable service and a spectacular view of the Rockies and valley

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Sandwich and dainties were on point. Vie ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Sandwich and dainties were on point. View was amazing too. Toomuch foodfood.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had high expectations but experience was ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had high expectations but experience was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Amazing as always at the Banff Springs! ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing as always at the Banff Springs! Great ambience, great service and great food!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my third visit to the Rundle Lou ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is my third visit to the Rundle Lounge for High Tea. The friendly, competent and attentive service, delicious and beautifully presented food and elegant surroundings are noteworthy. You will not be rushed in any way, which of course adds to the experience. There is minimum external noise, so conversations at your table are easily appreciated. I mentioned to our server that my guest was celebrating a birthday, and a delicious additional special dessert appeared before the final tray of sweets! Two tables near our table had grandmothers with their younger granddaughters (ages 9 and 10) who were all treated with special attention by the staff. It was most certainly charming! Do not expect to be right next to the windows, although the view will be wonderful. As the seating is limited, making reservations- even midweek- is a must! A special note for seniors and any person with a physical challenge in walking- the washroom on this level outside the Rundle Lounge are up two sections of steep stairs.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband treated me to this wonderful ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My husband treated me to this wonderful afternoon tea while on vacation. He enjoyed it as much as I did. The food was delicious and plentiful. We had to box the desserts to enjoy later. The atmosphere was elegant with a beautiful view of the mountains. We enjoyed many restaurants and ate great food on our trip to Banff, Jasper, Glacier (USA) and Waterton, but the afternoon tea at Banff Springs Hotel was our favorite experience. Thank you!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience for afternoon tea! ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Wonderful experience for afternoon tea! Interesting and tasty food with great presentation. A real treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Want to thanks Bronte and James , Bronte ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Want to thanks Bronte and James , Bronte was very pleasant and attentive really sweet girl. And James the manager was a lovely guy great to talk with. You are lucky to have such kind warm hearted staff ,

Kind Regard's

Amy

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Afternoon tea at Rundle Lounge was an am ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Afternoon tea at Rundle Lounge was an amazing experience with a fantastic view of the mountains even though we were not seated in the window. Would have liked a table in the window but as had booked for 3.30pm those tables had gone so would advise to book for earlier time or see if can reserve a table in the window. Great idea to be able to smell a sample of tea leaves before making a choice of which one to drink. Have had afternoon tea at The Ritz, London and have to say the wonderful food served at Rundle Lounge was on a par with that but much better value for money. We enjoyed a leisurely tea, in no way being hurried along to finish it, and had exceptionally attentive service by our server. We then spent some time walking around the Banff Springs Hotel which was very interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The tea selection and food were good. T ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The tea selection and food were good. The service was completely lacking. Started out well with the tea overview and then the server essentially disappeared and we had to ask another for service. For such a high end establishment, we were very let down on service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

This was a tea to top all teas. It was ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This was a tea to top all teas. It was a beautiful setting, wonderful food, and service to be commended. A large selection of teas are available and the knowledge of the server and her attentiveness definitely made the afternoon very worthwhile. The view was stunning. The food was a level above most teas.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bronte, our server, was very sweet and a ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Bronte, our server, was very sweet and attentive. The view can't be beat! The food was delicious, but $43 pp is $$$$. We would have felt it was a better value if a glass of prosecco was included. The ambiance would have felt more elevated if there was live music like the harpist in the lobby vs. piped in Top 40.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome view and excellent service made ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Awesome view and excellent service made my outing with my sisters a wonderful experience! Afternoon tea (sandwiches, sweets and tea in abundance) is a really fun idea to while away a couple of hours in the iconic Banff Springs Hotel. Well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A beautiful location within a gorgeous a ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A beautiful location within a gorgeous and historic setting. It was and will always be a wonderful and memorable experience for our family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We visited June2015 and thoroughly enjoy ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We visited June2015 and thoroughly enjoyed it. 5 stars all round. Based onthat visit webooked again. Thistime we thought the quality andthe range ofthe menu was less than expected based on our previous visits

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Superb service and excellent food for af ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Superb service and excellent food for afternoon tea!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.