Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

4.5
503 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Afternoon Tea
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Afternoon Tea
  • Special Occasion
Pinkies Up! We are proud to present a menu steeped in tradition and designed to create the most memorable of Fairmont experiences.

The Rundle Lounge takes England & quot;s most beloved ritual to new heights. With breathtaking views, Afternoon Tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs offers 12 of our finest loose leaf teas accompanied by delectable pastries and finger sandwiches for the time honoured traditionalist. If there are any allergies or dietary restrictions let us know in advance and we would be happy to accommodate. $55.00 per person.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual (no hats, sports wear or torn jeans)
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Afternoon Tea
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tea Service Daily: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

ROYAL AFTERNOON TEA
Weekends in May!
May 5, 6, 19, 20, 26, 27
$65 Adults
$35 Children

MOTHER’S DAY AFTERNOON TEA
Saturday May 12 - Sunday May 13
11:00am - 5:00pm
$65 Adults
$35 Children
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 762-6860
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
j.W. Foster
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Rundle Lounge offers two distinct private dining areas. The Sir William Wallace Room is available for smaller parties. This cozy room offers great views, with the comfort of a fireplace. The Upper Rundle Lounge is available in the evenings. It has spectacular views and is suited for larger parties.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jeffrey Carpenter: (888) 842-6893
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The hotel's parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $39 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 503 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great view

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Amazing overall

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 16, 2018

My wife and I were looking forward to high tea at the hotel for some time, however the experience has left us very disappointed with the food and the ambiance. The walls and some of the furnishings looked warn out. And while the waitress appeared to be a nice person, she was not very attentive and really only paid attention to us when we were paying the bill. Perhaps chatting us up to increase her tip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Breath taking view of the mountains and river valley. Elegant surroundings and attentive service. We attended for high tea and we were presented with a pyramid of delicious delicacies to savour. It was a very relaxing and pampered experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Overall it was quite good however I only gave it three stars as the menu for the kids tea was a bit disappointing. The really creamy egg salad with chives was not a huge hit with the kids.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We went for my Birthday and it was a nice event to go to as it was something different and that you don’t do every day.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

I love afternoon tea, and usually Banff Springs is fantastic, but service was terrible this last time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The service is always great and the kitchen is always accommodating for our children.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Sister’s Getaway to the gorgeous Rockies!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We really enjoyed our afternoon tea at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel when we went for my wife's birthday last weekend. It was perfect for a special occasion. The food might not have been as good as our three-year-old memory of the food in Victoria's Empress Hotel, but it was still really good. It's obvious the kitchen staff are passionate about what they do. The server, William, was really kind and a very pleasant fellow. He definitely deserved a 20 per cent tip. We'll go again someday.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The food, ambiance, view were all very good The waiter we had, however, was not very good. He did not check back with us, did not explain the teas very well and basically ignored us once the food was delivered. I specified I had allergies to melon, peaches and mollusks. When we were seated, the wait staff confirmed the allergy. The first course was a fruit cup, a mixture of melon and pineapple. I had to bring this to the waiter's attention by asking what was in it. He seemed annoyed that I could not eat the fruit cup. It took him a good 5 minutes or longer to go get an alternate fruit cup of berries. Not a good start to the meal for sure. Compared to the other waiters serving other tables, our waiter was very very poor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Amazing food and service. Worth the high cost!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Excellent tea, excellent food, beyond service and spectacular view. Definitely something to experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

This was one of the most luxurious experiences I’ve ever had! The food and view were phenomenal. I’m used to small finger sandwiches with tea but this spread was so colorful, extravagant, and flavorful. We couldn’t even finish all of the food! Will come back 100x.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Such a great experience! I took my 11 year old niece for afternoon tea as a birthday gift. She felt fancy and important. The waitress was very attentive and patient! Everyone should go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Any meal at the Banff springs hotel is special. Food is average and tea selection is okay.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The tea was lovely, the food was delicious- especially the scones - and the service exceptional. I had a memorable afternoon tea with a dear friend & recommend it highly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Beautiful setting, with gorgeous mountain views...great place to celebrate my 'special birthday'. Food and service where excellent and I would recommend the Rundle Lounge to anyone, looking to find a venue for any special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great view and services!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 21, 2018

The server admitted there wasn’t enough staff rostered in and they were struggling. The table next to us sat uncleared the entire time. They only offer 1 pot of tea and no additional sandwhiches/sweets if you want more. I would have preferred to pay more to have that option. The food was good and the views spectacular. Overall a very average experience that I wouldnt recommend. Stick to the Plaza or the Ritz.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2018

We arrived at the High tea 5 minutes before our scheduled time.
There was 1 person working at the Lounge for high tea. That was NOT enough.
We had to wait for our pastries for 45 minutes. The tables around us were a mess.
The waitress was lovely and she was working very hard. The manager of the place obviously made a mistake organizing hi staff. He made it even worse by walking by and 'supervising' 4 or 5 times but not once seem to bother to help the waitress or clean up the mess on the tables around us.
The food was great, the view exeptional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

A beautiful location for a great visit with friends. Loved the tea selection and service was fabulous, made everyone feel like royalty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

This was our first time at the Banff Springs hotel: the room, the view, the service - all of it was amazing. Sad that they no longer bring around the tea cart like I had read in previous reviews, that would have been a real treat. Our server was very attentive and courteous which enhanced the experience. You can't beat the view, that was the icing on the cake.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

A lovely experience! Amazing view. Delightful dainties. And a delicious pot of tea.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Adam is one of the best servers/sommeliers we have had

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Always a spectacular occasion having high tea surrounded by mountains!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

It was a surprise for my dad - it was his 80th birthday and they managed to even find a candle - very delicious food and tea!!!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Service was excellent but found several of the non-dessert items to be dry. Excellent tea and desserts. Great view!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Our server Megan was fantastic and professional. She made our experience very enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Was a great experience, the view is phenomenal. The service and food was great. Would do it again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

It was relaxing and quiet. Fabulous time had by our group with a fabulous mountain view.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Took 25 minutes after being seated to being spoken to by a server and I had to call them over. I specified 1 was to be vegetarian it came out all meat so it had to go back to the kitchen and although mentioned on the reservation it was not even mentioned by the server that we were celebrating a birthday. I understand I was on destinations but still no excuse for this service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2018

High tea at the Rundle Lounge was spectacular. The view takes your breath away while you sip excellent tea, and taste a variety of menu options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Wanted to impress my girlfriend from New York with the best Canada has to offer - and the Banff Fairmont's high tea did the trick. The Rundle Lounge offers the perfect blend of Canadian history, Rocky Mountain majesty, and Fairmont fanciness. The tea service was a mix between traditional British thoroughfare of scones and tea sandwiches, with local highlights such as duck, saskatoon berry, and bison.

We went for the last seating of the day and were sat by the window overlooking the mountains. The last group left shortly after we arrived and we had the whole space to ourselves. Service was prompt, food and tea were delicious, and all for a reasonable price. I would definitely recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2018

A must do in Banff! A couple hours well spent with a gorgeous view and a great tasting menu of small bites (sandwiches, desserts, fruit, croissants). Would definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

It was a dream to take my daughter to an Afternoon Tea at the Fairmont. I truly have dreamt of taking her to experience what it would feel like to have a small taste of royalty and treat her like a princess. We were overwhelmed by the beautiful atmosphere, the snow covered Mountain View, the perfect tea and delicate tier of light sandwiches and deserts. It was a dream come true for a mom to watch her daughter take it all in. Absolutely amazing and unforgettable experience! Thankyou Rundle!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Super long wait for the food to arrive even though afternoon tea is all pre-made

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 26, 2017

I just went to the Christmas High Tea with my mom and daughters. I love the Banff Springs Hotel but the high tea was ridiculously overpriced. $65 per person for gross finger sandwiches. Will not be going again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

A highly recommended experience accompanied by a great tea selection, spectacular view, and a exceptional service. We were seated immediately upon arrival and spent almost two hours enjoying our afternoon tea.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

The only reason why i didnt give 5 stars is because the hostesses sucked. They were never there. They would great someone then dissapear for 10 minutes. Even though we had reservations our table wasnt ready. We had to wait for 15 minutes until they got organized. This happened to the people ahead of us as well.
The actual experience was aweaome. Our waiter was great and very knowledgeable. Tea and snacks were great. I didnt want it to end!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13