Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

Pinkies Up! We are proud to present a menu steeped in tradition and designed to create the most memorable of Fairmont experiences.

The Rundle Lounge takes England & quot;s most beloved ritual to new heights. With breathtaking views, Afternoon Tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs offers 12 of our finest loose leaf teas accompanied by delectable pastries and finger sandwiches for the time honored traditionalist. If there are any allergies or dietary restrictions let us know in advance and we would be happy to accommodate. $49.00 per person.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual (no hats, sports wear or torn jeans)

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Tea Service Daily: 12:00pm - 4:00pm


Mother's Day Afternoon Tea - May 14, 2017

Treat your mom to Afternoon Tea, with gorgeous views and delicious treats, she'll be sure to you love.
$65 for adults, $35 for children (ages 6 -12)



Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The hotel"s parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
The Fairmont Banff Springs along with Sun Country Highway Ltd, a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations has installed Banff's first electric vehicle charging station, in the hotel's parkade.

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Rundle Lounge offers two distinct private dining areas. The Sir William Wallace Room is available for smaller parties. This cozy room offers great views, with the comfort of a fireplace. The Upper Rundle Lounge is available in the evenings. It has spectacular views and is suited for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: (888) 842-6893

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (31)
Scenic View (31)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Romantic (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent tea. Food service. Overall great experience and relaxing time with family

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It was a good experience good daintiest and sandwiches. There was a lot of variety. Yea was great

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Music should be classical/easy listening not soft rock. It IS suppose to be a Tea experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Amazing view! Had a great time at the afternoon tea. Food was delicious but would prefer more sandwiches than sweets; though all were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We thought the steeping time for our teas was too short but then to each his own. My strawberry / green tea was very good. When we first saw the tower of food, we thought that we would walk away hungry. But as we ate we realized that we would not be able to finish. We think that the reason was that every item contained some form of starch. The sweet items were a lot better than the savory items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent service and food in a stunning location. Best afternoon experience I have has.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Lovely afternoon tea for my Mum's birthday. Was made to feel right at home and not rushed. Tea was delightful as was the food. Would recommend to anyone given the location, service and views. Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our female server was rushed..pretty much slammed the sugar pot down...spilled a bit of my tea when putting it on the warmers...which we had to ask for. I was there in aug and we had jam. This time there was none. The guy we had was excellent

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The Lookout at Banff Springs is a fantastic spot for a casual lunch on the patio overlooking the scenic Rocky Mountains. Kid-friendly, tasty lunch items and outstanding servers. Highly recommend it for a pitstop on the drive out to Banff from Calgary.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Lovely, good food, prestentation,
Fresh, colourful, thanks, good service🌺

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

We had an amazing experience amazing afternoon tea. Service was great, the food was amazing; we were stuffed by the end! We'd thoroughly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Samantha was our server, she was always friendly, attentive, open and a great host! No wishes left unfulfilled.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Hard to beat the ambience of the tea room overlooking the Bow Valley. Tea is superb.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our server was absolutely amazing. He was very attentive and knowledgeable. Engaged well with conversation.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great location for a special occasion, to dress up and enjoy the scenery and the food. Service was excellent, too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Always love coming for high tea! The service is fantastic- always extremely accommodating and friendly. In addition, the desserts and sandwiches never disappoint. I've been coming for high tea for a few years now, so one thing I did notice and miss is the traditional serving tower, kettle and dishwear. The mountain shaped serving tower is neat, but the traditional settings seem to go better with the idea of having high tea in a Castle. Nonetheless always an awesome and enjoyable experience!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

After a hiccup with our booking, staff couldn't have been more helpful, food was amazing, setting outstanding, a thoroughly enjoyable experience

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

While you can't beat the setting (the views here are truly stunning), we found the service lacking for tea. The food was fine, but it was very expensive and there weren't enough wait staff. The tables weren't cleared as other diners left and we didn't feel like the tea experience was that special. Opt for a drink in the lounge or a snack...this high tea is too expensive and doesn't have the formality one would expect for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Easily the best view possible for a high tea. Our server was incredibly knowledgeable about the food, and even offered historical tidbits about the tea itself.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We were celebrating our Mother's 70th birthday with a special lunch in Banff. While the staff were attentive on the phone confirming our reservation and one dietary restriction, the in-person experience was underwhelming. We waited over an hour for our food, special dietary food was an additional 10 min longer, water was never refilled, waitress was friendly but absent throughout and there was clearly no oversight or training for staff. Tables around us were left dirty for the whole time we were there. I was disappointed as one is paying for an experience, not just overpriced sandwiches!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Lovely afternoon tea. My only comment/suggestion would be to provide more sandwiches and less cakes but we enjoyed everything that was served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I was very impressed with how accommodating you were for the various allergies at our table.
Thank you for a lovely experience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The tea and food was amazing. There was a pianist playing in the background and of course a beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I booked this as a surprise for my aunt and grandmother who were visiting from Australia. I know them well enough to know that if they saw the prices, they would stuff money in my pockets. So well in advance I got in touch with the staff there via email, asking that there were no menus with prices on the table, and was assured this would happen. I also requested a window seat. None of these requests were accommodated. I also went to the trouble of setting up an online credit card payment in advance so that my family didn't run to settle the bill themselves, and was assured that this would be processed automatically and immediately after the service, but unfortunately the hostess asked for payment at the end. I advised her about the billing I had arranged and she said she would double check. She didn't ask for payment from me again, but it was disappointing that it wasn't communicated more clearly on their end.

I also noted in advance that we were celebrating my grandmother's 82nd birthday. It was disappointing that this was not passed on to staff and that they didn't wish her a happy birthday. I've worked in many 5 star hotels, and this is a detail we would never missed.

Otherwise the staff were pleasant enough and professional, however a little slow, but this didn't really matter as it was nice for high tea to be dragged out a little and to make a real event of it.

The room that we dined in was stunning, with great views of Mount Rundle and the patio below. If only we had the window seat that we requested! There were vacancies there as well.

The food was exceptional. On paper the food on offer does not sound particularly appetising, but it was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented, and definitely the nicest tea I've had in Canada.

Overall a lovely experience that I would sign up for again despite the few errors.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We were visiting Banff and wanted to enjoy High Tea as a family. We were delighted with the wonderful view of the mountains from the Fairmont.
We were disappointed by the service. After being seated, there was a long wait for food with no attention from the staff during our wait. I expected much better service for the prices charged by the Fairmont. Our waitress was pleasant but seemed to be a seasonal worker/student. She brought the tea timers without explaining how to use them. Once the tea items were brought out, there was minimal contact during our meal. I get more attention at my local diner. Perhaps the wait staff should remember they are being tipped on a percentage of Fairmont prices and should give service accordingly.
We valued the experience of tea at the Fairmont but the Fairmont should make an effort to ensure a less disappointing visit.
On a similar note, we also had a light meal at the Fairmont at Lake Louise. One server, Tyler, was fantastic. The other dressed and behaved like a parking valet - I think the Fairmont's training program needs improvement.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Good value high tea with a fantastic view and great tasting cakes and savouries

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The last time we went to High Tea at Banff Springs Hotel, they had proper scones, little pots of custard and a larger fruit cup than now.
The current scone is the size of roughly a 50 cent piece, the fruit cup was skimpy and no custard pots.
The selection was high in carbs and low in protein, which is fine if you are young. Not so much for us elderly.
We enjoyed the outing, but, will probably never do the high tea again.

Note that we chose the $49.00 option

Finally, their credit card system needs to be updated to the 21st century. It is nice to have the hotel in the 19th century, but, please, bring in the wireless terminals and let the customer pay via chip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

The service was great and the presentation was exceptional. Most of all the view would be hard to beat!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The afternoon tea was awesome, comes with sandwiches, freshly baked scones, pastries, tarts and cakes. The outside view from the lounge window was beautiful and gorgeous overlooking Banff mountains. The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly and courteous. Though, parking was not free and have to pay $30 bucks for 3 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Just a lovely experience with old world charm. Samantha made our afternoon so pleasant! All of the staff we encountered were so helpful and attentive. It is clear guest service is a priority! Well done all round.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Fantastic experience. Brought my 3 year old daughter for her first afternoon tea experience. When she asked our server if there was a princess in the 'castle', the waitress pulled out a tiara for her. Perfect afternoon thanks for looking after the details!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I was looking forward to sharing this experience with my parents. The ambiance was beautiful. There was no bad views anywhere even with the rain pour. It was exactly what I expected it to be... a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I really wanted to like this but it turned out to be very average.

Tea - one of the centerpieces - was one tea bag in a vat of water. At a minimum should have loose tea, and should have a taste of the tea. Unfortunately, three of us had different teas and they all tasted alike - hot water.

Savory items were ok, nothing exceptional. Most sweet items were too sweet. For those who care, it was a very carb heavy experience.

The saving (?) grace was the location. But not sufficient for me to return for the afternoon tea. Sorry.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The tea at the Fairmont used to be one of my yearly favorite events to go to. It has gone so downhill this year since past years. The tea took over 40 min to reach the table from sitting time. The waitress was no where to be found and we had to wave her down to get attention after waiting so long. The candles to keep the tea warm were never lit and warm water was never offered. Very sad, for the price we won't be returning again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I had really high expectations. It was good but not amazing. It was very warm in the room. Doors were open but it was still very warm. We did the champagne tea. The champagne and cheese course was very yummy. Sandwiches were enjoyable as well. Scones were terrible and desserts were below average. Their macarons and a chocolate graham cracker type of dessert was tasty. Service was good but nothing to write home about. Overall, it was okay. The maple maple tea was very good but they told us they are fazing out this line of tea and introducing another. The will not have a maple tea. Big miss in my opinion. I bought 4 boxes before we left. The view made the experience much a nice experience but I still expected a lot more for $85 and being at the Fairmont.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 25, 2017

HIGH TEA WAS VERY ENJOYABLE. THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS, THE ATMOSPHERE WAS RELAXING AND THE VIEW WAS SPECTACULAR.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The Rundle High Tea is always perfect for special occasions. My daughters love going there for Christmas-New Years and Birthdays!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We brought friends from California who were very impressed and overwhelmed with the Rundle Lounge, the view, the afternoon tea and our server, Amelie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Our waitress was fantastic, but the music/musician was very loud. My mother wears hearing aids and it was difficult for her to hear everyone at the table. We requested the musician lower the volume of her speakers. She wouldn't do it. The waitress was very apologetic. I must admit that tarnished our experience enough that we won't be back for afternoon tea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Tea with a view! This is one of the most enjoyable High Tea experiences around. I took my English cousin and she agrees. The only thing we'd change is the citrus cream for the more authentic Devonshire cream. The rest was outstanding!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.