About Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

The Rundle Lounge takes England"s most beloved ritual to new heights. With breathtaking views, Afternoon Tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs offers 12 of our finest loose leaf teas accompanied by delectable pastries and finger sandwiches for the time honored traditionalist. The Rundle Lounge climbs even higher with its exclusive Matcha Martini, shaken not steeped for the modern tea aficionado. $42.00 per person.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: No reservations accepted

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The hotel"s parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
The Fairmont Banff Springs along with Sun Country Highway Ltd, a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations has installed Banff's first electric vehicle charging station, in the hotel's parkade.

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Rundle Lounge offers two distinct private dining areas. The Sir William Wallace Room is available for smaller parties. This cozy room offers great views, with the comfort of a fireplace. The Upper Rundle Lounge is available in the evenings. It has spectacular views and is suited for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: 8888426893

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Scenic View
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Special Occasion
Calgary / Southern Alberta
7 More
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Scenic View
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Most Booked
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

scenic view (50)
special occasion (50)
romantic (24)
See All
great for lunch (22)
great for brunch (19)
good for groups (13)
fit for foodies (13)
neighborhood gem (6)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
notable wine list (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were doing a belated Mother's Day eve ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were doing a belated Mother's Day event and it was wonderful, great view right by the window, wonderful presentation and everything met/exceeded expectations. Very happy. Thank you.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Banff Springs birthday afternoon tea

Dined on May 10, 2016

We booked the afternoon tea for our mothers 83rd birthday and this was of our better ideas the venue is awesome with outstanding views and great service. The whole event took a couple of hours start to finish and during that time the service was excellent our server was very attentive and helpful. I would recommend this experience for sure !

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Memory

Dined on April 30, 2016

Fantastic experience! Treated my 22 year old daughter in celebration of her college graduation. We also went to the spa, enjoyed a lovely dinner, brunch and were pleased to discover the upgrade to a Stanley Thompson Suite with an amazing mountain view...but when I asked my daughter what her highlight was, she told me it was the "High Tea". So thank you so much for creating such a beautiful memory for my daughter and I. Special thanks to our server, Campbell, who was outstanding. :)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Negatives: Music was loud, annoying

Dined on April 25, 2016

Construction is always annoying. Service and food were good. Just too expensive! Over $200 for four people!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

High tea afternoon tea

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a lovely experience at the high tea. We did however arrive 11 minutes late which was quoted by the wait staff & then had to wait further 20 minutes until our server waited our table to place our order. Other than this the food was delicious and experience was amazing!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A lovely time

Dined on April 10, 2016

Our server took a bit long to get to us, she seemed a bit rushed not as calm as they usually are. The menu could use a bit of a revamp especially the dessert tray. However, it is still delicious as it always is.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

love this place

Dined on April 5, 2016

I enjoyed my afternoon tea with the beautiful mountain view here. The price is $42 to begin with, but believe me, its worth every penny. The server is super friendly, good portion of food, in fact, I cant finish at all. Stayed there for 2 hrs, fully distressed. My only concern while being there is which piece of food should I eat next and would I be able to finish it all. I will visit again for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious afternoon tea or lunch!

Dined on April 1, 2016

The mountain views are spectacular. The service is great. The food is delicate and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Poor service poor music

Dined on March 30, 2016

I was disappointed. Hi felt that playing top 40 pop hits was a poor choice for that setting. Our server was inattentive didn't fill our tea pots with more hot water and brought the desert portion of our meal half an hour after we were finished the savoury . We also had to ask for the bill when we had been there much too long . Very disappointing I may never go again.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrate

Dined on March 29, 2016

I brought my daughter here for her 18th birthday celebration. Of course tea time was the beginning of the celebration which was followed by an afternoon at the Willow Stream spa and ended with some nightlife in downtown Banff. My daughter enjoyed our teatime very much, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was very classy. I would recommend a visit to the Rundall lounge during teatime to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

It's what you would expect from a Fairmo ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

It's what you would expect from a Fairmont Afternoon Tea but in an amazing atmosphere z

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Saturday afternoon

Dined on March 26, 2016

Afternoon tea was a great way to spend a beautiful Saturday afternoon. It was so quiet and relaxing with an outstanding view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Tea

Dined on March 20, 2016

The Afternoon Tea location in the hotel had the most amazing views of the mountains and the golf course. The area was quiet and relaxing. The service was exceptional and the selection of teas, sandwiches and scone tray and then the dessert tray very excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea. Later we went to the store in the hotel and purchased two boxes of the tea's we drank:) I would strongly recommend reservations as the seating are is limited. One thing I will mention is how friendly all the staff were, not just at the tea but the whole hotel, I don't think we have experienced such genuinely friendly people.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful time

Dined on March 18, 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed afternoon tea at this historical and magical place while on vacation in Banff. The service and food was superb, from start to finish. The view of the Rockies were magnificent. Bruce our server was exceptional and really was the icing on the cake which provided us with wonderful memories both my daughter and I will always cherish. This is an experience not to be missed while spending time in the Banff or Lake Louise area. We cannot recommend it enough.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Afternoon Tea at the Banff Springs Fairmont

Dined on March 6, 2016

Especially enjoyed the beautiful scenery and professional service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday tea

Dined on February 27, 2016

My kids and I were in Banff for the weekend and we decided to do tea..their first my second....lovely...highly recommend a little pricy but much better than the tea at bellagio Vegas

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Slow service

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had high tea booked for 2:30pm. Didn't leave until almost 5pm. Service was so slow. Others came and went before we even received our dessert. Was with my 85 year old grandma. Was NOT impressed that we had to wait so long.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Campbell was a very attentive representa ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Campbell was a very attentive representative for the Fairmont. It was a very busy time and although we had to wait on our arrival for our tea service, she made up for our wait with her pleasant, attentive service.

food4
ambience5
service4
value1

We wanted to do this once...

Dined on February 21, 2016

This is a beautiful way to spend a couple hours looking at beautiful scenery. We knew going in the tea was 42$ per person so that wasn't a concern. We wouldn't do it again but it is a really nice afternoon of drinking Tea and eating little sandwiches

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Had a nice "date" with my five year old. ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Had a nice "date" with my five year old. She felt like a princess.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect

Dined on February 15, 2016

My experience was perfect even though my dad hates tea he enjoyed it and I have a nut allergy and they were brilliant about they gave me chocolate deserts I was alound!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxing environment with an amazing view.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was amazing and the staff were very professional and courteous.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Delightful high tea

Dined on February 7, 2016

I love the Rundle Lounge for high tea. Breathtaking view and delicious eats! Will definitely go back:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Not impressed

Dined on January 29, 2016

Very noisy as there was a jackhammer outside nearly the whole time. Noise after from the lounge below. Ordered gluten free and it was just the same as the other but with dry bread. The Empress in Victoria does a much better job. No music so no ambiance. Server was alright.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Afternoon tea was lovely and our server ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Afternoon tea was lovely and our server was pleasant and attentive. The view of course is nothing short of spectacular. We would definitely go again. Unfortunately the construction noise was a bit disruptive however that wont last forever.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4

Afternoon tea at fairmont lake Louise is ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Afternoon tea at fairmont lake Louise is so much better. I had high expectations for Banff and it failed to deliver.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent Time!

Dined on January 14, 2016

We had an excellent time at the Banff Afternoon Tea. Our only complaint was that we were hoping for a quiet place to work, and there was a lot of loud construction right outside the window. The music was rather loud to try and cover up some of the noise from the construction. If I attended again, I would hope to be warned if there is loud construction. The music choice was unusual (pop music) instead of more classy piano or something more 'Tea' appropriate. The dessert and tea was delicious! The sandwiches were yummy as long as you at them quick enough that the bread did not go stale. Our host was excellent; gracious and funny.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Afternoon Tea

Dined on January 10, 2016

This is the 3rd time we have visited Banff and the 3rd time we have taken afternoon tea at The Rundle Lounge. The setting alone keeps us coming back. The explanation of the teas by Sarah, our server for the afternoon was very knowledgable. The food was beautifully presented and when my wife explained that she had a dislike for the filling of one of the sandwiches, Sarah had an alternative made. We were left to enjoy the setting and never felt pressured to leave. Value for money was superb and we both left completely full having to walk back into town to burn off some calories with a take out box of the cakes we couldn't finish. If you're in Banff and want a change from the normal food available in town in a special setting I can't recommend this enough.

Tags: group bookings, special occasions, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Afternoon tea

Dined on January 5, 2016

Excellent service and atmosphere. Food was not as interesting or as good as it has been in the past. Sandwiches were predominantly bread which was not that great. Toppings were sparse. Deserts were not very special, fancy looking but not as tasty as we expected given the reputation of the hotel and our past experience. Whipped cream is not a subistute for clotted cream which is an integral part of an English afternoon tea! Your pastry cooks need a turnover.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on January 1, 2016

Fabulous food, fabulous service, fabulous scenery. Just fabulous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tea with a view

Dined on December 31, 2015

You cannot beat sipping away at a perfectly steeped tea overlooking the incredible view that surrounds the Rundle Lounge.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely time

Dined on December 28, 2015

The food was wonderful and the service was even better. The only downside was the Loyd 4 year old sitting at the next table. However we survived and still had a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Afternoon tea at the rundle lounge was g ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Afternoon tea at the rundle lounge was great. We requested a window seat and got just that. Service and food were impeccable, we expected no less from the Banff springs hotel. Great day!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Afternoon tea

Dined on December 17, 2015

Great annual tea with friends. We wanted to share the tea service between 2 because it's always too much for one, the waitress kindly did that for us.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Afternoon Tea

Dined on December 12, 2015

We had a wonderful experience. All 4 people in our party were very satisfied with the food. I especially enjoyed the selection of teas. Our server was very personable and attentive. I would recommend the afternoon tea to anyone visiting Banff. And who could forget the wonderful ambience of the Rundle Lounge and the fantastic view.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The view was breathtaking, service was fantastic!

Dined on November 29, 2015

We had the best table in the dinning room, there was large variety of teas to choose from. The samplings of sandwiches was plentiful and delicious. The desert tray was fantastic! Its a good thing they let you take home some food, I didn't want those deserts to go to waste. We had a wonderful time, the view, the service the ambiance! I highly recommend this experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely Experience

Dined on November 28, 2015

Took our two girls for afternoon tea last Saturday afternoon. It was such a delight! We had a wonderful experience and would go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

A lovely afternoon tea

Dined on November 19, 2015

I brought my 1 year old daughter here for a special tea to celebrate our first year together. The server (Melissa?) was absolutely amazing. She was very friendly and attentive, and made me feel welcome and comfortable having my baby there. The scenery was breathtaking and the food and tea was very good. Perhaps i'm not the type to look for criticisms in everything, but I found very little fault in this experience. $42 isn't something i'll spend everyday for tea and lunch, but for a special occasion it was definitely worth it for this single mum. For an afternoon we felt like royalty!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Great

Dined on November 15, 2015

Had a lovely tea, the food was excellent and the views didn't hurt either.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service3

We have been to high tea in various plac ...

Dined on November 11, 2015

We have been to high tea in various places. The view here was fantastic but the food was so so and there was no music for ambience. The service was OK but for so few tables not exceptionally attentive. It was just an OK experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.