About Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L1J4
View Larger Map

The Rundle Lounge takes England"s most beloved ritual to new heights. With breathtaking views, Afternoon Tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs offers 12 of our finest loose leaf teas accompanied by delectable pastries and finger sandwiches for the time honored traditionalist. The Rundle Lounge climbs even higher with its exclusive Matcha Martini, shaken not steeped for the modern tea aficionado. $43.00 per person.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:30pm

Dinner: No reservations accepted

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-6860

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/banff-springs/dining/

Parking Details:
The hotel"s parking is located beside the Convention Center. It is a three-level roofed parkade with 415 parking spaces:

Self-parking: $25 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Valet service: $35 CAD/night, with unlimited access
Electric Vehicles - complimentary
The Fairmont Banff Springs along with Sun Country Highway Ltd, a manufacturer of electric vehicle charging stations has installed Banff's first electric vehicle charging station, in the hotel's parkade.

Public Transit:
There is a bus service run by the town which runs approximately every 40 minutes into Banff.
Fare is $2.00 per person.
The bus operates daily from 6:35 a.m. until 11:15 p.m.
The closest bus stop is located directly out the front of the hotel on Spray Ave.

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Rundle Lounge offers two distinct private dining areas. The Sir William Wallace Room is available for smaller parties. This cozy room offers great views, with the comfort of a fireplace. The Upper Rundle Lounge is available in the evenings. It has spectacular views and is suited for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Jeffrey Carpenter: 8888426893

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rundle Lounge - Afternoon Tea - Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Service
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Calgary / Southern Alberta
10 More
Best Value
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Scenic View
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Special Occasion
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Banff / Canmore
Best Food
Banff / Canmore
Best Service
Banff / Canmore
Best Ambiance
Banff / Canmore
Best Value
Banff / Canmore
Scenic View
Banff / Canmore
Special Occasion
Banff / Canmore
Best Restaurants in Banff ›

special occasion (59)
scenic view (56)
romantic (28)
See All
great for lunch (24)
fit for foodies (20)
great for brunch (19)
good for groups (14)
neighborhood gem (6)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (5)
Sort By:
Newest
274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bronte, our server, was very sweet and a ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Bronte, our server, was very sweet and attentive. The view can't be beat! The food was delicious, but $43 pp is $$$$. We would have felt it was a better value if a glass of prosecco was included. The ambiance would have felt more elevated if there was live music like the harpist in the lobby vs. piped in Top 40.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome view and excellent service made ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome view and excellent service made my outing with my sisters a wonderful experience! Afternoon tea (sandwiches, sweets and tea in abundance) is a really fun idea to while away a couple of hours in the iconic Banff Springs Hotel. Well worth it.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A beautiful location within a gorgeous a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A beautiful location within a gorgeous and historic setting. It was and will always be a wonderful and memorable experience for our family.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We visited June2015 and thoroughly enjoy ...

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We visited June2015 and thoroughly enjoyed it. 5 stars all round. Based onthat visit webooked again. Thistime we thought the quality andthe range ofthe menu was less than expected based on our previous visits

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Superb service and excellent food for af ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Superb service and excellent food for afternoon tea!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. The food was terri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful experience. The food was terrific, as was the service and the view. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional place to catch up with close ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Exceptional place to catch up with close friends. Great view of the mountains from the lounge. We had the classic Afternoon Tea menu. Totally worth it. A nice fruit cup to open your appetite. My Jasmine Butterfly tea was delightful with honey. Warm scones, variety of sandwiches, and fantastic desserts. The passion fruit chocolate mousse cake, yum. Overall, the portion size is just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Afternoon tea for a special birthday. St ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Afternoon tea for a special birthday. Stunning views and fabulous food. We brought some home! Too much to eat but lovely

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing. The service team took ex ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was amazing. The service team took extra care to ensure my experience was amazing and was the best to fulfill a childhood dream of High Tea at the Fairmont Hot Springs.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great venue for a high tea fo ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was a great venue for a high tea for my bachelorette. The only thing is we would have loved to sit by the window

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and tea were very good except I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food and tea were very good except I was not that impressed with the dessert. The waitresses were young women who were not very attentive and a little forgetful. The view was beautiful however. But the experience was not worth $43 a person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Not only was the food delicious, but the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Not only was the food delicious, but the view was beautiful and the service was outstanding. The overall experience and ritual of afternoon tea were lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delectable food and tea with stunning vi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delectable food and tea with stunning views. Very special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My friend and I went for afternoon tea w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My friend and I went for afternoon tea while we had a trip away to Canmore/Banff. And we were celebrating my birthday! I am from the UK so naturally love afternoon tea...and this was the perfect experience (real cream teas - scones with jam and clotted cream)! The service was top notch with a very friendly / chatty server, the food and tea (I recommend Maple Maple) was delightful and the view ...was priceless! I will be doing this again! Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a memorable moment to return to t ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was a memorable moment to return to the Banff Springs Hotel after 19 Years. This time with my husband and a good friend for a High Tea. I would recommend this hotel to any person wishing to enjoy a great location and beautiful hotel.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The view, staff and food was outstanding ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The view, staff and food was outstanding. If you are interested in a place to relax and enjoy conversation over a great cup of tea, then this is for you. The scones were particularly good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the view were to die for! T ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food and the view were to die for! This was our first high tea, so that factors into it, but you couldn't ask for a better setting with the Rockies and the golf course as a view out of the window. Perhaps the only low spot was a musician who started playing in the bar below us towards the end of our tea that had his amplifier turned up too loud and distracted from the meditative state we had attained with the lovely sandwiches and the exquisite desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quant

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The Fairmont afternoon tea is just another great afternoon tea. There was not alot of tea selection as comparasion to the other fairmonts but overall they had a good selection. Display was a nice touch. View is spectacular as ever.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Standards have slipped

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Sadly not as good an experience as in the past.

Had high tea on a Sunday afternoon - our tea was cold by the time it finally arrived, had to ask for new hot water.

Granulated sugar rather than sugar cubes and no spoon to put sugar in tea - had to reuse teaspoon which isn't very hygienic, or English!

Server was very pleasant but towards end, started making us feel uncomfortable by asking every couple of minutes if we're finished - all this whilst setting up a new table next door, so felt like they wanted us out the door.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice scenery

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice scenery

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Better than expected and worth every penny!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I booked our birthday afternoon tea online in March. I had it recommended to me and was apprehensive because I knew it would be pricey. But our experience was amazing. I love dressing up and the ambiance matched my attire. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to do something intimate and special. Perfect for a girls weekend as well because there was a large group of girls who were at another table and they looked like they were enjoying their experience too. Last note, we went to have this as lunch and we were both stuffed and couldn't eat all of the desserts. Next time I'll be going really hungry and get the more expensive experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once in a lifetime experience ( at least ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Once in a lifetime experience ( at least for me). Worth every penny regardless of which option you choose. We had the afternoon tea, no booze, still a first class experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very special experience! Beautiful vi ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

A very special experience! Beautiful view, superb service, outstanding food and tea. I will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High Quality High Tea

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

As expected, the view was excellent. Beyond that, however, the service was absolutely top tier. Our server has only been working two days but show exceptional professionalism and proficiency. The food was significantly more extensive than expected and was ideally suited to the dinning occasion. The entire experience was what my spouse and I had hoped for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Extraordinary afternoon!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful afternoon tea at the Rundle Lounge. They were particularly accommodating of her gluten allergy, making sure everything was prepared especially for her. The service was tremendous and the views of course were one of a kind. A must if you're in Banff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were doing a belated Mother's Day eve ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were doing a belated Mother's Day event and it was wonderful, great view right by the window, wonderful presentation and everything met/exceeded expectations. Very happy. Thank you.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Banff Springs birthday afternoon tea

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We booked the afternoon tea for our mothers 83rd birthday and this was of our better ideas the venue is awesome with outstanding views and great service. The whole event took a couple of hours start to finish and during that time the service was excellent our server was very attentive and helpful. I would recommend this experience for sure !

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional Memory

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Fantastic experience! Treated my 22 year old daughter in celebration of her college graduation. We also went to the spa, enjoyed a lovely dinner, brunch and were pleased to discover the upgrade to a Stanley Thompson Suite with an amazing mountain view...but when I asked my daughter what her highlight was, she told me it was the "High Tea". So thank you so much for creating such a beautiful memory for my daughter and I. Special thanks to our server, Campbell, who was outstanding. :)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Negatives: Music was loud, annoying

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Construction is always annoying. Service and food were good. Just too expensive! Over

$200 for four people!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

High tea afternoon tea

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a lovely experience at the high tea.

We did however arrive 11 minutes late which was quoted by the wait staff & then had to wait further 20 minutes until our server waited our table to place our order. Other than this the food was delicious and experience was amazing!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

A lovely time

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Our server took a bit long to get to us, she seemed a bit rushed not as calm as they usually are. The menu could use a bit of a revamp especially the dessert tray. However, it is still delicious as it always is.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

love this place

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

I enjoyed my afternoon tea with the beautiful mountain view here. The price is $42 to begin with, but believe me, its worth every penny. The server is super friendly, good portion of food, in fact, I cant finish at all. Stayed there for 2 hrs, fully distressed. My only concern while being there is which piece of food should I eat next and would I be able to finish it all. I will visit again for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious afternoon tea or lunch!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The mountain views are spectacular. The service is great. The food is delicate and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service poor music

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I was disappointed. Hi felt that playing top 40 pop hits was a poor choice for that setting. Our server was inattentive didn't fill our tea pots with more hot water and brought the desert portion of our meal half an hour after we were finished the savoury . We also had to ask for the bill when we had been there much too long .

Very disappointing I may never go again.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Celebrate

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

I brought my daughter here for her 18th birthday celebration. Of course tea time was the beginning of the celebration which was followed by an afternoon at the Willow Stream spa and ended with some nightlife in downtown Banff. My daughter enjoyed our teatime very much, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was very classy. I would recommend a visit to the Rundall lounge during teatime to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It's what you would expect from a Fairmo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

It's what you would expect from a Fairmont Afternoon Tea but in an amazing atmosphere z

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great Saturday afternoon

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Afternoon tea was a great way to spend a beautiful Saturday afternoon. It was so quiet and relaxing with an outstanding view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Tea

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The Afternoon Tea location in the hotel had the most amazing views of the mountains and the golf course. The area was quiet and relaxing. The service was exceptional and the selection of teas, sandwiches and scone tray and then the dessert tray very excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea. Later we went to the store in the hotel and purchased two boxes of the tea's we drank:) I would strongly recommend reservations as the seating are is limited. One thing I will mention is how friendly all the staff were, not just at the tea but the whole hotel, I don't think we have experienced such genuinely friendly people.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful time

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed afternoon tea at this historical and magical place while on vacation in Banff. The service and food was superb, from start to finish. The view of the Rockies were magnificent. Bruce our server was exceptional and really was the icing on the cake which provided us with wonderful memories both my daughter and I will always cherish. This is an experience not to be missed while spending time in the Banff or Lake Louise area. We cannot recommend it enough.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Afternoon Tea at the Banff Springs Fairmont

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Especially enjoyed the beautiful scenery and professional service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.