About Runa Japanese Restaurant

2257 W North Ave
Chicago, IL 60647
View Larger Map

Runa, the Japanese word for “platinum moon,” offers the unique blend of Dim Sum and Sushi on our menu. We have an extensive Sushi menu 25 individual sushi and sashimi pieces, 30 varieties of rolls or maki and 17 chef specialty rolls. Come grab a seat at our sleek sushi bar or dig into your sushi platter in our spacious dining room. We are located conveniently in Chicago’s Wicker Park on the southeast corner of Oakley and North Ave. Our dining room seats 40 to 50 people so there’s plenty of room for your party. In addition to our dine-in services, we also offer delivery and pick up options. Call us today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 278-8887

Website:
http://runachicago.com/

Runa Japanese Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Healthy (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
See All
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
20 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Halloween maki, Hawaiian crush and the m ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Halloween maki, Hawaiian crush and the mikkusu are all amazing choices!!! So fresh and tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Best steamed gyoza in the city! Fresh su ...

 
·Dined on September 28, 2016

Best steamed gyoza in the city! Fresh sushi/sashimi specials are always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous restaurant! Best sushi I've had ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fabulous restaurant! Best sushi I've had in a long time. Calm atmosphere and wonderful service!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were adequate and sligh ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food and service were adequate and slightly above average. Nothing really stood out as special. But, if I'm ever in the neighborhood again and have a sushi craving, I would give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We love Runa. It's our go to place for s ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We love Runa. It's our go to place for sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, quiet enough to actually comm ...

 
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Good food, quiet enough to actually communicate with each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Really nice service, but the food was on ...

 
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Really nice service, but the food was only ok. The Hawaiian role tasted like the wrap or the fish inside the wrap were old. They had an odd (almost off) taste and smell. The Alaskan roll and veggie rolls were ok, but nothing special. There was also a distinct smell to the place, which came across a little off. Again, really nice service, but probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Runa was outstanding as always

 
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We love coming back to Runa for the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Wonderful BYOB spot in Wicker Park!

 
·Dined on August 30, 2015

The food and service is ALWAYS consistent! There are yummy options for us to eat as healthy (or not) as we want which is a big reason of why we go back. The only thing I used to be disappointed about was that they do not have a cucumber salad on their menu...until I tried the seaweed salad which is just as delicious and refreshing (and more nutritious when I'm trying to be). We started going to Runa's about 5 months ago and it's been the same staff which I think says a lot in the restaurant industry. This is absolutely our favorite Japanese/Sushi BYOB!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first impression of Runa was in bein ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2015

Our first impression of Runa was in being greeted by the very friendly staff at the great corner location of the restaurant. The newly built deck provides a nice outdoor seating area that's not cramped and gave us a chance to enjoy the summer evening in a great part of town. Service was attentive but unobtrusive. The sushi was well-prepared (my favorite was the eel maki, but they were all good).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place ! Hidden gem.

 
·Dined on June 6, 2015

Great place ! Hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Way to saucy. What a shame. Everything w ...

 
·Dined on April 14, 2015

Way to saucy. What a shame. Everything was heavily sauced to the point you couldn't taste the subtlety of any of the fishes. Ramen was also pathetic attempt. Broth way under seasoned and they used spaghetti style noodles. Instant ramen would be better. Raw oysters were doused with soy. In japan, good sushi requires little sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

The food is good IT is a BYOB restaurant ...

 
·Dined on April 6, 2015

The food is good IT is a BYOB restaurant . The service is always slow Also when the restaurant is empty ! The Resturant business is based on food délivery !!!

The food is great over all !

It is quite noisy since there are 2 large tv in the main room ! The service is always slow !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Love this neighborhood sushi spot and I ...

 
·Dined on February 13, 2015

Love this neighborhood sushi spot and I have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very decent place with BYOB

 
·Dined on November 9, 2014

Pros:

-good menu selection

-fast service

-some original menu items

-creative wall art painting

-BYOB

Cons:

-nothing is spectacular, just good

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great sushi

 
·Dined on November 7, 2014

Great sushi. Great ambiance. BYOB is an added plus. Well done RUna, well done. adfadfadadf

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Runa Japenese

 
·Dined on September 20, 2014

Cute little sushi spot. The food was great, the service good. It's a little cramped but its a small space anyway. BYOB, moderate prices, the oyster special was perfect. Best part, free street parking on the block!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good sushi, but bad experience

 
·Dined on April 12, 2014

As other reviewers have written, the sushi (and food in general) is great. However, we were extremely disappointed in the service. We had to wait for a very long time for our food, and our waitress did not check on us at all either during the wait or after we got our food. We were also seated next to an extremely loud table, which ruined whatever was left of the mood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Great food with amazing service

 
·Dined on March 8, 2014

This was our 1st visit to this sushi restaurant in wicker park. The food was awesome, the service was amazingly quick, and it's BYOB. Our experience was fantastic, and we will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Creative Twist on Sushi

 
·Dined on January 10, 2014

We enjoy sushi about once a week and have dined at most of the best sushi restaurants in Chicago. Runa is such a pleasant surprise. Unlike some places, their specialties really are special. Try the super white tuna appetizer with the smokey ponzin sauce. The black pearl maki is also wonderful. A number of their dishes are spindled with a generous helping of black tobiko - which adds flavor and texture. We liked that they add just the right amount of "seasoning" to their dishes and don't let the seasoning overpower the fish. Our server really knew the dishes (better than most) and can offer some great suggestions based on one's taste. Go, just go, but be sure to BYO as they don't yet have a liquor license.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.