Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi

About Rumours East

Rumours East is a full-service restaurant and bar under the guise of a cozy 1900’s Victorian house located in the Historic East End Neighborhood of East Nashville. Just a minute walk from Five Points, we are consistently recognized as the best outdoor dinning experience and patio in Nashville. Since opening we have evolved into a pre-prohibition style craft cocktail bar serving seasonal chef inspired cuisine. We are a popular venue for events and large dining parties, our unique backyard and pergola-covered patio has allowed us to become known around the neighborhood as a community-centric gathering spot.

1112 Woodland Street
Nashville, TN 37206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
HAPPY HOUR: Tuesday thru Friday 5pm - 7pm
DINNER: Tuesday thru Thursday & Sunday 5pm - 10pm; BAR: 11pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm - 11pm; BAR: 12am

Please confirm your weekend reservations with us so that we can best accommodate all of our guests.

For reservations between 6:15pm and 7:30pm on Friday and Saturday please call us to book your table.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 262-5346

Website:
http://www.rumourseast.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on 12th Ave

Complimentary Valet Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
John Howard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday is cigar night. We offer a selection of cigars provided by local tobacconist Smoker's Abbey paired with spirits and cocktails.

6pm - 11pm

Rumours East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Cozy (7)
See All
Romantic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (3)
Historic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fireplace (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Their new menu (debut 03/12) is great! The service is always top notch. I had the quesadilla appetizer (ADDICTIVE) and was blown away! The filings were fresh and very pleasing to the palette but to have that goodness sandwiched in that buttery, crunchy tasty tortilla was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Date night with my husband was great! We will return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at Rumours East. I think this place is a real East Nashville gem and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good date night spot.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Consistently perfect. This place has never let me down in any way. Great service, excellent food, impressive bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Not good service - asked for a glass of wine with dinner about 10 mins before the food came. And the wine came to the table after I was 1/2 way through with the dish. I asked for it t

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Adorable quaint house w/ beautiful outdoor dining area. Service was excellent w/ Keith & Dewitt. They were so professional & attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had party of 6, ate outside. food was fantastic. Enjoyed fire pit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really happy with almost everything. Been there several times and loved it all of them. There was quite a lot of drinking noise, and it would have been nice to know there was epic spiciness to one of our dishes. Overall, very happy.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love Rumours East. The atmosphere is cozy with the fireplaces lit. The jazz music is nice (not Musak and not too loud). We love the white tablecloths and napkins as well as the large block ice. Cool vibe, good food, great neighborhood.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food & a beautiful space. My wife & I went for dinner on a Thursday & loved it so much, went back on Saturday with extended family. Had a great experience & delicious food both nights. The roasted shiitake mushroom was outstanding. It had a smokey flavor that was complimented by a great wine off their extensive list. My wife had the roasted chicken with mushroom risotto & could not say enough anmbout it.

On Thursday we were seated in the dining room where classic jazz accompanied our meal. On our return Saturday we were seated outside amongst fireplaces addiing to the ambiance. Our waiter, Keith, gave us great recommendations both nights for after dinner drinks which made for 2 great evenings out. When back i

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of our favorite in Nashville. Small and intimate. Food and service is always excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and service! Like the atmosphere of the historic house. Was a but disappointed about making a reservation but still being sat in the bar area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time eating here. Would recommend, will return!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Seating, service, food and atmosphere were perfect! Could not have asked for a better night out. Our server Adam was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dined on Valentine's Day on the prix fixe menu. The food was fine but did not seem like it was worth nearly what we were charged and the service felt rushed when it didn't need to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent experence! I have been to Rumors East at least 5 times and it NEVER dissappoints!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Super cute atmosphere and ambiance. Food was sooo yummy and everyone was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had not been to Rumours East for some time, but we were absolutely delighted with our experience and our meal. I had the caprese salad and the salmon while my wife had scallops. We both thought that these entrees were outstanding. Loved the sauces.

Really nice atmosphere in the house. We were seated in the bar area where we enjoyed a view of the neighborhood and an occasional passer-by. It was very comfortable.

We added an excellent $45-ish bottle of wine (Irony) and the bill came to $104 plus tip. Just an excellent overall experience. Loved our night and will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was pretty good, bartender was outnumbered and fairly new. We opted for wine to bypass the bar. For the money spent there, there are other options in town that can pull it together better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Rumours East provided a lovely Friday evening birthday celebration for myself and 5 out of town guests. Everyone had a great meal and enjoyed fabulous wine. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Most important, the food was excellent and reasonable priced and our server was efficient and pleasant. The ambiance/noise will vary on who is seated around you in a small dining space, but nothing like the noisy big establishments. The wax-burning candles are off-putting with the smoke/smell. Disappointing was the selection for dessert. There was nothing available from the online menu, so we left and had dessert elsewhere. Overall, I would return and have recommended the restaurant to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have never had a bad experience here and I keep coming back because #1 the food is exceptional #2 the bartender Heather is on point and knows her stuff and #e you are NOT going to find a better ambiance in Nashville with food to match, period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nice atmosphere, good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

They burn really strong offensive candles. Not appropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was just ok. We've heard good things about the restaurant but it seemed to be an off night for them. We were amongst the best dressed in the place but they were going to seat us in the bar instead of the main dinning room because we were just a couple and they were trying to save their 4-tops even though they weren't very busy. Our bubbly came out barely cool. The Charcuterie platter was late and then missing one of the cheeses because they had run out. (Note because of issues like the charcuterie out late, not complete, and salads coming before this appetizer, the restaurant didn't charge for the charcuterie) All the food had very good flavors but again was off temp. Our waiter was very attentive without hovering and was apologetic about any of the miscues. The ambiance is nice and the music was nice and not too loud. Not a bad evening at all but we were expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Bread and oil appetizer is delicious - not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years dinner with friends. We were not made aware of the set menu and price. $150.00 per couple with almost no choices on salad and only two choices for entree and dessert. The environment was quiet and almost no gueats. The mashed potatoes were not good, bland and lumpy. Salad was simple and lacked any touches that would be expected from an expensive meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

After sitting for over 20 minutes we did not get our cocktails (wine) nor was our water refilled. Another table who were seated after us left without food or drink. we inquired regarding thenETA of our drinks. We were told she didn't blame us for leaving. The charcuterie we ordered had arrived so I paid for this and we left. So sad. This place has great potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was good. The food was OK, but for the price, It really was not anything special that wowed us. The pasta dish was horrible and we sent it back in exchange for the pork chops, which were OK.

The dessert menu had 3 items on it, one that the server told us had been unavailable for 1 month. Was shocked that a 'fine dining' establishment had such a limited dessert menu and they also did not have an espresso machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I went because I heard the Happy Hour was good....our drinks were great...my frined's steak was to die for but the potatoes needed a little seasoning....my pasta was just ok and the grilled chicken's flavor did not compliment the pasta at all plus the bread had a scratched taste....we enjoyed the atmosphere and the service was top notch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

On my long overdue night out on my own, I couldn't have chosen better with Rumours East. The cream of mushroom was outstanding. The shrimp and grits packed some kick and was very filling.

Heather the bartender is extremely personable and makes a mean Manhattan (according to at least two patrons that night while I was there).

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Shrimp and grits were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our reservation grew from 8 people to 15. Rumours accommodated us without a hitch. The food is great and the atmosphere is beautiful. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was amazing and service outstanding. Food portions were just right for the price. I'll visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten here. A birthday this time, free piece of cheese cake. I had the Portabella Mushroom dish and my wife had the shrimp and grits. Her entry came as very spicy and it was replace as requested with a mildly spicey version with no problem. Both were well prepared and balanced. The wine suggestions worked really well for both of us. We sat next to a small old well used fireplace which added a nice touch to the old house venue.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Rumours East. Had the privilege of sitting at one of the indoor tables in the bar area, and being served by Robert (who was also mixing drinks on this Sunday evening). Loved his creations behind the bar, and he could not have been a more knowledgeable and attentive server with respect to the food. Shrimp and grits ordered by Stacey were the best west of Charleston, and my pork chop was moist, cooked perfectly, and paired with an amazing tomato jam. Maryland Crab soup (tomato base) to start was very nice, and the desserts (chocolate covered strawberries and cookies/ice cream) were great finishes.

A great setting....good people...and amazing food. We'll be back on our next trip to Nashville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a perfect fall evening on the back patio. Didn't know it was there and will definitely request it again! The wait staff was very friendly and the food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We sat in the bar. Heather was very attentive and informative. TV in the bar would be a plus.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Organic, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food is good, but the portions are very small. My wife and I were still hungry after. The outdoor dining is an awesome experience. They have happy hour every day until 7!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is a pleasant, quiet, and reliable spot for dinner. The menu is good, but nothing spectacular. The service and friendliness of the staff are terrific.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.