About Rumours East

Rumours East is a full-service restaurant and bar under the guise of a cozy 1900’s Victorian house located in the Historic East End Neighborhood of East Nashville. Just a minute walk from Five Points, we are consistently recognized as the best outdoor dinning experience and patio in Nashville. Since opening we have evolved into a pre-prohibition style craft cocktail bar serving seasonal chef inspired cuisine. We are a popular venue for events and large dining parties, our unique backyard and pergola-covered patio has allowed us to become known around the neighborhood as a community-centric gathering spot.

1112 Woodland Street
Nashville, TN 37206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
HAPPY HOUR: Tuesday thru Friday 5pm - 7pm
DINNER: Tuesday thru Thursday & Sunday 5pm - 10pm; BAR: 11pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm - 11pm; BAR: 12am

Please confirm your weekend reservations with us so that we can best accommodate all of our guests.

For reservations between 6:15pm and 7:30pm on Friday and Saturday please call us to book your table.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 262-5346

Website:
http://www.rumourseast.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on 12th Ave

Complimentary Valet Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
John Howard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday is cigar night. We offer a selection of cigars provided by local tobacconist Smoker's Abbey paired with spirits and cocktails.

6pm - 11pm

Rumours East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
See All
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Romantic (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Historic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fireplace (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

First time eating here. Would recommend, will return!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Seating, service, food and atmosphere were perfect! Could not have asked for a better night out. Our server Adam was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dined on Valentine's Day on the prix fixe menu. The food was fine but did not seem like it was worth nearly what we were charged and the service felt rushed when it didn't need to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent experence! I have been to Rumors East at least 5 times and it NEVER dissappoints!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Super cute atmosphere and ambiance. Food was sooo yummy and everyone was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had not been to Rumours East for some time, but we were absolutely delighted with our experience and our meal. I had the caprese salad and the salmon while my wife had scallops. We both thought that these entrees were outstanding. Loved the sauces.

Really nice atmosphere in the house. We were seated in the bar area where we enjoyed a view of the neighborhood and an occasional passer-by. It was very comfortable.

We added an excellent $45-ish bottle of wine (Irony) and the bill came to $104 plus tip. Just an excellent overall experience. Loved our night and will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was pretty good, bartender was outnumbered and fairly new. We opted for wine to bypass the bar. For the money spent there, there are other options in town that can pull it together better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Rumours East provided a lovely Friday evening birthday celebration for myself and 5 out of town guests. Everyone had a great meal and enjoyed fabulous wine. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Most important, the food was excellent and reasonable priced and our server was efficient and pleasant. The ambiance/noise will vary on who is seated around you in a small dining space, but nothing like the noisy big establishments. The wax-burning candles are off-putting with the smoke/smell. Disappointing was the selection for dessert. There was nothing available from the online menu, so we left and had dessert elsewhere. Overall, I would return and have recommended the restaurant to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have never had a bad experience here and I keep coming back because #1 the food is exceptional #2 the bartender Heather is on point and knows her stuff and #e you are NOT going to find a better ambiance in Nashville with food to match, period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nice atmosphere, good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

They burn really strong offensive candles. Not appropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was just ok. We've heard good things about the restaurant but it seemed to be an off night for them. We were amongst the best dressed in the place but they were going to seat us in the bar instead of the main dinning room because we were just a couple and they were trying to save their 4-tops even though they weren't very busy. Our bubbly came out barely cool. The Charcuterie platter was late and then missing one of the cheeses because they had run out. (Note because of issues like the charcuterie out late, not complete, and salads coming before this appetizer, the restaurant didn't charge for the charcuterie) All the food had very good flavors but again was off temp. Our waiter was very attentive without hovering and was apologetic about any of the miscues. The ambiance is nice and the music was nice and not too loud. Not a bad evening at all but we were expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Bread and oil appetizer is delicious - not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years dinner with friends. We were not made aware of the set menu and price. $150.00 per couple with almost no choices on salad and only two choices for entree and dessert. The environment was quiet and almost no gueats. The mashed potatoes were not good, bland and lumpy. Salad was simple and lacked any touches that would be expected from an expensive meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

After sitting for over 20 minutes we did not get our cocktails (wine) nor was our water refilled. Another table who were seated after us left without food or drink. we inquired regarding thenETA of our drinks. We were told she didn't blame us for leaving. The charcuterie we ordered had arrived so I paid for this and we left. So sad. This place has great potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was good. The food was OK, but for the price, It really was not anything special that wowed us. The pasta dish was horrible and we sent it back in exchange for the pork chops, which were OK.

The dessert menu had 3 items on it, one that the server told us had been unavailable for 1 month. Was shocked that a 'fine dining' establishment had such a limited dessert menu and they also did not have an espresso machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I went because I heard the Happy Hour was good....our drinks were great...my frined's steak was to die for but the potatoes needed a little seasoning....my pasta was just ok and the grilled chicken's flavor did not compliment the pasta at all plus the bread had a scratched taste....we enjoyed the atmosphere and the service was top notch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

On my long overdue night out on my own, I couldn't have chosen better with Rumours East. The cream of mushroom was outstanding. The shrimp and grits packed some kick and was very filling.

Heather the bartender is extremely personable and makes a mean Manhattan (according to at least two patrons that night while I was there).

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Shrimp and grits were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our reservation grew from 8 people to 15. Rumours accommodated us without a hitch. The food is great and the atmosphere is beautiful. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was amazing and service outstanding. Food portions were just right for the price. I'll visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten here. A birthday this time, free piece of cheese cake. I had the Portabella Mushroom dish and my wife had the shrimp and grits. Her entry came as very spicy and it was replace as requested with a mildly spicey version with no problem. Both were well prepared and balanced. The wine suggestions worked really well for both of us. We sat next to a small old well used fireplace which added a nice touch to the old house venue.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Rumours East. Had the privilege of sitting at one of the indoor tables in the bar area, and being served by Robert (who was also mixing drinks on this Sunday evening). Loved his creations behind the bar, and he could not have been a more knowledgeable and attentive server with respect to the food. Shrimp and grits ordered by Stacey were the best west of Charleston, and my pork chop was moist, cooked perfectly, and paired with an amazing tomato jam. Maryland Crab soup (tomato base) to start was very nice, and the desserts (chocolate covered strawberries and cookies/ice cream) were great finishes.

A great setting....good people...and amazing food. We'll be back on our next trip to Nashville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a perfect fall evening on the back patio. Didn't know it was there and will definitely request it again! The wait staff was very friendly and the food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We sat in the bar. Heather was very attentive and informative. TV in the bar would be a plus.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Organic, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food is good, but the portions are very small. My wife and I were still hungry after. The outdoor dining is an awesome experience. They have happy hour every day until 7!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is a pleasant, quiet, and reliable spot for dinner. The menu is good, but nothing spectacular. The service and friendliness of the staff are terrific.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I have been to Rumours East on several occasions. A couple times we visited Rumours with friends and last Saturday we visited for our one year wedding anniversary. What's not to love about Rumours? They have a unique wine selection, great food cooked to order, a dimly lit ambiance, and the service is always professional and timely. Our server Keith was very tentative and able to judge when to approach the table and when we were in conversation. We started off with some happy hour cocktails/wine, which was fairly priced, and the crab cakes for an appetizer.

The crab cakes were very good and had a very delicious spicy comeback sauce complementing them. For dinner I had the rib-eye steak, and my wife had the pork chop.

Both were very tender and cooked to order. The rib-eye came with greens, and garlic mashed potatoes. The pork chop came with brussels sprouts and was served with a very nice red onion tomato jam. Everything was plated/prepared nicely and even more delicious than it looked.

The owner Ms. June was there and even came by to share stories and ask us about our experience.

We capped off the 2 hour experience with a glass of wine and a piece of the cheese cake.

I highly recommend Rumours East for special occasions and an elegant date night out. They have a lovely staff and a very aristocratic feeling location. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were staying in the East Nashville neighborhood and wanted a nice place to eat for our final night in town. Did a few searches and decided on Rumours East based on the menu and style of the place. Was quiet (also a Sunday night) but the meal was very good, and the service was attentive. The bartender was new so drinks took a little bit to arrive but that's life.

Would go back and also recommend to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Rumours is a great restaurant with excellent service, excellent ambiance, and a delicious menu. The only downside is that their portion sizes are minuscule for such expensive entrees.

I ordered 1 entree and was still pretty hungry after cleaning the plate but still had a bill that was almost $30....

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and service. We had a party of 13 and yet it felt like an intimate setting... Love the outside dining area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were visiting East Nashville for our anniversary and we loved the atmosphere and the food and drinks. The service was welcoming and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. We were visiting in town and the staff were very helpful and friendly in giving us suggestions for where to go for live music in town. The area of town was quaint with local shops that were within walking distance of the restaurant. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious scallops. Enjoyed the cocktail menu too. The back patio is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The prime rib meal is soooooooo good. Flavor & textures galore!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I was pleased with everything until I received my entree. I chose the risotto dish. Although it tasted great, I paid $18 for a very small serving of all vegetables ("risotto" was actually cauliflower). I left hungry. Very disappointed.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My server was so attentive and the staff all so friendly and kind. The food is outstanding and you just cannot beat the ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We appreciated their participation in the Spring Rewards. Easy arrangements. Staff was lovely.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a great experience at Rumours East. The outdoor patio ambiance was wonderful, and they were playing some really excellent jazz, which is always appreciated. The food was good, but didn't quite floor us. We ate strictly vegetarian, which unfortunately didn't leave a lot of options (but we knew that going into the restaurant). We ordered a very tasty beet and "faux caviar" salad, and then the house-made kimchi fried rice and the cauliflower risotto for our meals. The kimchi fried rice was good, but a little greasy, and not as pungent as we prefer our kimchi to be. The risotta was great, although I wasn't a big fan of the way the cauliflower was diced into small pieces, as it was almost lost in the dish (but that's some serious nit-picking). Overall the food was enjoyable, and both were nice options for the vegetarians in the room. I should also mention they had an extensive wine list, and although we're certainly not connoisseurs, we both loved the wines we ordered. Service was excellent, staff was attentive, and well-informed about the food. I would highly recommend Rumours East.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I used to love Rumors East but it's changed. There were very few vegetarian options, the decor was so much less beautiful, and the service, while kind and thoughtful, was stressed to the max. The room was hot, seeming to be cooled only by a box fan on the floor, which meant our waiter was dripping sweat. Overall the experience was such a step down from how I remember Rumors to be.

I won't cease to go to Rumors but it will no longer be a destination spot for me.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Due to the old nature of the house, there is NO air-conditioning, so although they had one (non-discreet) floor fan going in the room we were eating in, it was extremely warm and our business guest was mopping his brow throughout the entire meal. The food was good, although the waiter was not as trained in the menu and the specials as I would have expected. The menu itself is paper and gave off a semi-finished appearance (i.e it could have been laminated). The rooms could use some new paint. Overall, I think the restaurant is a good meet-up for college kids, brunch and the younger casual crowd, but I would not recommend it for a business meal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love the intimacy of the outdoor back patio, such a quiet hideaway and lovely for dining al fresco. The menu is small so not overwhelming. We started with crab cakes for an appetizer which were more like puffs and not exactly cakes. I really enjoyed the sea bass special. My husband was not as enamored with his scallop dinner. There were three scallops and a side of mixed greens for $26, he definitely was still hungry. We had informed them it was our anniversary and wish there would have been some acknowledgment of our special day, that was a little disappointing. The next day Open Table informed us we hadn't checked in for our reservation so it took some doing to get that straightened out. All of the staff was very professional and helpful and mixed a great martini!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2016

There was a festival going on in town so they scrapped their entire menu for "specialty" food. VERY disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall it was an ok experience. The food was great however it was really hot at our table near the bar like the air conditioning was not working. Also, when I am paying for a bottle of wine that costs more than the food I absolutely expect the server to pay attention and make sure I don't run out in my glass and to come back and keeping pouring without having to do it myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The ambiance stood out. Not a lot of variety on the menu, but Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious food, pretty venue, and sweet staff! I would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The lavender cocktail was AMAZING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch to celebrate a friend's birthday - it was delicious! Expertly prepared and delivered to our table fast and beautifully. Try the chicken or steak and be sure to get the French toast - mouth watering!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 24, 2016

I'm sorry, but this place is located inside an old home- but they have not improved the air conditioning in the restaurant. It was so hot, we were miserable trying to eat our dinner. The food was ok, as well as the service, but the ambiance was terrible. I would only go back in the winter time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.