About Rumours East

1112 Woodland Street
Nashville, TN 37206
View Larger Map

Rumours East is a full-service restaurant and bar under the guise of a cozy 1900’s Victorian house located in the Historic East End Neighborhood of East Nashville. Just a minute walk from Five Points, we are consistently recognized as the best outdoor dinning experience and patio in Nashville. Since opening we have evolved into a pre-prohibition style craft cocktail bar serving seasonal chef inspired cuisine. We are a popular venue for events and large dining parties, our unique backyard and pergola-covered patio has allowed us to become known around the neighborhood as a community-centric gathering spot.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
HAPPY HOUR: Tuesday thru Friday 5pm - 7pm
DINNER: Tuesday thru Thursday & Sunday 5pm - 10pm; BAR: 11pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm - 11pm; BAR: 12am

Please confirm your weekend reservations with us so that we can best accommodate all of our guests.

For reservations between 6:15pm and 7:30pm on Friday and Saturday please call us to book your table.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 262-5346

Website:
http://www.rumourseast.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on 12th Ave

Complimentary Valet Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
John Howard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday is cigar night. We offer a selection of cigars provided by local tobacconist Smoker's Abbey paired with spirits and cocktails.

6pm - 11pm

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Filet - Rumours East, Nashville, TN
Cinnamon Bundt Cake - Rumours East, Nashville, TN
Seafood Pasta - Rumours East, Nashville, TN
Soup - Rumours East, Nashville, TN
Chocolate torte - Rumours East, Nashville, TN
Beet Crisps - Rumours East, Nashville, TN
Red Snapper With Squash And Couscous - Rumours East, Nashville, TN
Grouper With Asparagus, Marinara And Balsamic Reduction - Rumours East, Nashville, TN
Seared Grouper - Rumours East, Nashville, TN
Mediterranean Plate - Rumours East, Nashville, TN
New York Strip - Rumours East, Nashville, TN
Cheese Platter - Rumours East, Nashville, TN

Rumours East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Historic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fireplace (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was amazing and service outstanding ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was amazing and service outstanding. Food portions were just right for the price. I'll visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we have eaten he ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten here. A birthday this time, free piece of cheese cake. I had the Portabella Mushroom dish and my wife had the shrimp and grits. Her entry came as very spicy and it was replace as requested with a mildly spicey version with no problem. Both were well prepared and balanced. The wine suggestions worked really well for both of us. We sat next to a small old well used fireplace which added a nice touch to the old house venue.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Rumours ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Rumours East. Had the privilege of sitting at one of the indoor tables in the bar area, and being served by Robert (who was also mixing drinks on this Sunday evening). Loved his creations behind the bar, and he could not have been a more knowledgeable and attentive server with respect to the food. Shrimp and grits ordered by Stacey were the best west of Charleston, and my pork chop was moist, cooked perfectly, and paired with an amazing tomato jam. Maryland Crab soup (tomato base) to start was very nice, and the desserts (chocolate covered strawberries and cookies/ice cream) were great finishes.

A great setting....good people...and amazing food. We'll be back on our next trip to Nashville.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a perfect fall evening on the bac ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a perfect fall evening on the back patio. Didn't know it was there and will definitely request it again! The wait staff was very friendly and the food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We sat in the bar. Heather was very atte ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We sat in the bar. Heather was very attentive and informative. TV in the bar would be a plus.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Organic, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is good, but the portions are very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food is good, but the portions are very small. My wife and I were still hungry after. The outdoor dining is an awesome experience. They have happy hour every day until 7!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This is a pleasant, quiet, and reliable ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is a pleasant, quiet, and reliable spot for dinner. The menu is good, but nothing spectacular. The service and friendliness of the staff are terrific.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I have been to Rumours East ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I have been to Rumours East on several occasions. A couple times we visited Rumours with friends and last Saturday we visited for our one year wedding anniversary. What's not to love about Rumours? They have a unique wine selection, great food cooked to order, a dimly lit ambiance, and the service is always professional and timely. Our server Keith was very tentative and able to judge when to approach the table and when we were in conversation. We started off with some happy hour cocktails/wine, which was fairly priced, and the crab cakes for an appetizer.

The crab cakes were very good and had a very delicious spicy comeback sauce complementing them. For dinner I had the rib-eye steak, and my wife had the pork chop.

Both were very tender and cooked to order. The rib-eye came with greens, and garlic mashed potatoes. The pork chop came with brussels sprouts and was served with a very nice red onion tomato jam. Everything was plated/prepared nicely and even more delicious than it looked.

The owner Ms. June was there and even came by to share stories and ask us about our experience.

We capped off the 2 hour experience with a glass of wine and a piece of the cheese cake.

I highly recommend Rumours East for special occasions and an elegant date night out. They have a lovely staff and a very aristocratic feeling location. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying in the East Nashville ne ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were staying in the East Nashville neighborhood and wanted a nice place to eat for our final night in town. Did a few searches and decided on Rumours East based on the menu and style of the place. Was quiet (also a Sunday night) but the meal was very good, and the service was attentive. The bartender was new so drinks took a little bit to arrive but that's life.

Would go back and also recommend to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Rumours is a great restaurant with excel ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Rumours is a great restaurant with excellent service, excellent ambiance, and a delicious menu. The only downside is that their portion sizes are minuscule for such expensive entrees.

I ordered 1 entree and was still pretty hungry after cleaning the plate but still had a bill that was almost $30....

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Loved the atmosphere and service. We had ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and service. We had a party of 13 and yet it felt like an intimate setting... Love the outside dining area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting East Nashville for our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were visiting East Nashville for our anniversary and we loved the atmosphere and the food and drinks. The service was welcoming and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and service. We were visi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. We were visiting in town and the staff were very helpful and friendly in giving us suggestions for where to go for live music in town. The area of town was quaint with local shops that were within walking distance of the restaurant. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious scallops. Enjoyed the cocktail ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious scallops. Enjoyed the cocktail menu too. The back patio is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The prime rib meal is soooooooo good. F ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The prime rib meal is soooooooo good. Flavor & textures galore!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was pleased with everything until I re ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I was pleased with everything until I received my entree. I chose the risotto dish. Although it tasted great, I paid $18 for a very small serving of all vegetables ("risotto" was actually cauliflower). I left hungry. Very disappointed.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

My server was so attentive and the staff ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My server was so attentive and the staff all so friendly and kind. The food is outstanding and you just cannot beat the ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We appreciated their participation in th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We appreciated their participation in the Spring Rewards. Easy arrangements. Staff was lovely.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great experience at Rumours Eas ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a great experience at Rumours East. The outdoor patio ambiance was wonderful, and they were playing some really excellent jazz, which is always appreciated. The food was good, but didn't quite floor us. We ate strictly vegetarian, which unfortunately didn't leave a lot of options (but we knew that going into the restaurant). We ordered a very tasty beet and "faux caviar" salad, and then the house-made kimchi fried rice and the cauliflower risotto for our meals. The kimchi fried rice was good, but a little greasy, and not as pungent as we prefer our kimchi to be. The risotta was great, although I wasn't a big fan of the way the cauliflower was diced into small pieces, as it was almost lost in the dish (but that's some serious nit-picking). Overall the food was enjoyable, and both were nice options for the vegetarians in the room. I should also mention they had an extensive wine list, and although we're certainly not connoisseurs, we both loved the wines we ordered. Service was excellent, staff was attentive, and well-informed about the food. I would highly recommend Rumours East.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I used to love Rumors East but it's chan ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I used to love Rumors East but it's changed. There were very few vegetarian options, the decor was so much less beautiful, and the service, while kind and thoughtful, was stressed to the max. The room was hot, seeming to be cooled only by a box fan on the floor, which meant our waiter was dripping sweat. Overall the experience was such a step down from how I remember Rumors to be.

I won't cease to go to Rumors but it will no longer be a destination spot for me.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Due to the old nature of the house, ther ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Due to the old nature of the house, there is NO air-conditioning, so although they had one (non-discreet) floor fan going in the room we were eating in, it was extremely warm and our business guest was mopping his brow throughout the entire meal. The food was good, although the waiter was not as trained in the menu and the specials as I would have expected. The menu itself is paper and gave off a semi-finished appearance (i.e it could have been laminated). The rooms could use some new paint. Overall, I think the restaurant is a good meet-up for college kids, brunch and the younger casual crowd, but I would not recommend it for a business meal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Love the intimacy of the outdoor back pa ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love the intimacy of the outdoor back patio, such a quiet hideaway and lovely for dining al fresco. The menu is small so not overwhelming. We started with crab cakes for an appetizer which were more like puffs and not exactly cakes. I really enjoyed the sea bass special. My husband was not as enamored with his scallop dinner. There were three scallops and a side of mixed greens for $26, he definitely was still hungry. We had informed them it was our anniversary and wish there would have been some acknowledgment of our special day, that was a little disappointing. The next day Open Table informed us we hadn't checked in for our reservation so it took some doing to get that straightened out. All of the staff was very professional and helpful and mixed a great martini!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

There was a festival going on in town so ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2016

There was a festival going on in town so they scrapped their entire menu for "specialty" food. VERY disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Overall it was an ok experience. The foo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall it was an ok experience. The food was great however it was really hot at our table near the bar like the air conditioning was not working. Also, when I am paying for a bottle of wine that costs more than the food I absolutely expect the server to pay attention and make sure I don't run out in my glass and to come back and keeping pouring without having to do it myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The ambiance stood out. Not a lot of var ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The ambiance stood out. Not a lot of variety on the menu, but Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, pretty venue, and sweet ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious food, pretty venue, and sweet staff! I would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lavender cocktail was AMAZING

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The lavender cocktail was AMAZING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went for Sunday brunch to celebrate a fr ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch to celebrate a friend's birthday - it was delicious! Expertly prepared and delivered to our table fast and beautifully. Try the chicken or steak and be sure to get the French toast - mouth watering!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm sorry, but this place is located ins ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 24, 2016

I'm sorry, but this place is located inside an old home- but they have not improved the air conditioning in the restaurant. It was so hot, we were miserable trying to eat our dinner. The food was ok, as well as the service, but the ambiance was terrible. I would only go back in the winter time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Rumours East has an excellent wine list ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Rumours East has an excellent wine list and some wonderful cocktail options. Our food was very pleasing, both to the mouth and to the eyes. The back patio is an excellent location for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Normally we love dining here, but our la ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Normally we love dining here, but our last experience was awful. Terrible service, warm water was served in our glasses and there was very little air conditioning on a very hot day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Nice atmosphere but only for drinks

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Unfortunately, although Rumours has a history of being good, it seems the quality of the food has gone down. Our bruschetta was soggy and too salty with what tasted liked prepared marinara on it. My scallops were also very salty, and as if there weren't enough salt, they even added balsamic vinegar to our peach read pudding with ice cream, which completely drowned out the dish and made it taste extremely tart rather than sweet. The service was also slow - we got there at 6:30 on a Tuesday and even though there were only a couple others other tables, it took over 2 hours.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful back yard dining, great servic ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful back yard dining, great service and food

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite places to enjoy dinne ...

vip
 (Western KY)·Dined on May 15, 2016

One of my favorite places to enjoy dinner and/or drinks. Great ambiance, very good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was Mother's Day and we had hoped for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2016

It was Mother's Day and we had hoped for a lovely evening but from the minute we walked in the door it was anything but. The hostess was confused and seemed overwhelmed even though there was just us and one other party. We did not get the seating we wanted, she didn't even want to seat us in a certain area but did. Our server didn't show up for at least 5-10 minutes, we waited another 5-10 mins just for water. The service was just awful throughout. The food was subpar- I ordered the ribeye, it was sliced, a very small serving and mostly fat- maybe got 5 bites of the steak! The scallops were good, have to mention that, but the serving was appetizer size and expensive.

We went to Rumors because of the ambiance and thought the food would be great too. Nothing about this place was good.

Oh ya....not one person even acknowledged it was Mother's Day.

I do not recommend Rumors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The food is great, the staff is friendly ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is great, the staff is friendly, the patio is unbelievable, but don't get in a hurry. It took approximately an hour to get our food and we ate after the crowd had died down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We loved the outside seating!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 26, 2016

We loved the outside seating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly exquisite

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Truly exquisite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great staff, mediocre food, over priced

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 23, 2016

great staff, mediocre food, over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food lacked tasted and presentation. Ove ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food lacked tasted and presentation. Overpriced, for example, three scallops $28, portobello mushroom entree $19. Service was terrible, bill dropped on the table as the server passed by. Bar staff joked about choice of drink within earshot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.