Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi

About Rumours East

Rumours East is a full-service restaurant and bar under the guise of a cozy 1900’s Victorian house located in the Historic East End Neighborhood of East Nashville. Just a minute walk from Five Points, we are consistently recognized as the best outdoor dinning experience and patio in Nashville. Since opening we have evolved into a pre-prohibition style craft cocktail bar serving seasonal chef inspired cuisine. We are a popular venue for events and large dining parties, our unique backyard and pergola-covered patio has allowed us to become known around the neighborhood as a community-centric gathering spot.

1112 Woodland Street
Nashville, TN 37206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
HAPPY HOUR: Tuesday thru Friday 5pm - 7pm
DINNER: Tuesday thru Thursday & Sunday 5pm - 10pm; BAR: 11pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm - 11pm; BAR: 12am

Please confirm your weekend reservations with us so that we can best accommodate all of our guests.

For reservations between 6:15pm and 7:30pm on Friday and Saturday please call us to book your table.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 262-5346

Website:
http://www.rumourseast.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on 12th Ave

Complimentary Valet Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
John Howard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday is cigar night. We offer a selection of cigars provided by local tobacconist Smoker's Abbey paired with spirits and cocktails.

6pm - 11pm

Rumours East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Cozy (8)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fireplace (3)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was divine and our server was excellent. However, the manager decided to close the restaurant early, which is not uncommon, but instead of allowing patrons to finish out their meals, she rushed everyone out. It was quite odd. Having worked in the restaurant industry while in college, I understand closing the kitchen early or having a last call for alcohol, but to want everyone out before 9:00 pm on Saturday night is not the best restaurant management procedure. Last call for food and drinks was 8:30. She actually came around to everyone's tables and told them they were closing early because it wasn't crowded enough. We didn't even bother ordering dessert or additional drinks. We do not plan to come back nor do we recommend this restaurant, but the food was superb! The owner needs to be aware of how things are being run. Such a strange experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Changes to the menu significantly impacted my dining experience. I have been a patron of rumors for a long time... Over 5 years. Not sure what's going on but I sure hope they figure it out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Hidden Gem with authentic southern dishes with a creative twist. In a house. Great service & cocktails. Sit in rear garden if weather permits. It's enchanting.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great service. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great table outside. We had great expectations for the restaurant. Unfortunately, even though the restaurant was not very busy, the bar and the kitchen were extremely slow. We both ordered the filet. It took well over an hour to get our steaks. They both arrived undercooked. They were both rare even though we had ordered medium well and medium rare plus. The fried potatoes were also undercooked. We will not go back. It was a disappointment.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It has been some time since I'd been to Rumors. In the past, I recall the experience being worth the price. This isn't entirely the case any longer.

Our waitress was kind, friendly and attentive. On point.

The food wasn't exciting. The menu has been reduced to the basics. This should lend itself to a focus on the presentation and taste...unfortunately, this didn't happen. The price I paid for steak wasn't out of the ordinary for similar restaurants, but the taste wasn't worth it. It was overcooked, despite requesting medium-rare. Fine - not good or great. Not worth the price.

It will be awhile before I go back, which is a shame because I truly love the atmosphere and adore the 'neighborhood gem'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

D'Witt very pleasant. Served wine correctly. Checked on food coming from kitchen.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Delicious food, good ambiance. relaxing meal, great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Their new menu (debut 03/12) is great! The service is always top notch. I had the quesadilla appetizer (ADDICTIVE) and was blown away! The filings were fresh and very pleasing to the palette but to have that goodness sandwiched in that buttery, crunchy tasty tortilla was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Date night with my husband was great! We will return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at Rumours East. I think this place is a real East Nashville gem and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good date night spot.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Consistently perfect. This place has never let me down in any way. Great service, excellent food, impressive bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Not good service - asked for a glass of wine with dinner about 10 mins before the food came. And the wine came to the table after I was 1/2 way through with the dish. I asked for it t

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Adorable quaint house w/ beautiful outdoor dining area. Service was excellent w/ Keith & Dewitt. They were so professional & attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had party of 6, ate outside. food was fantastic. Enjoyed fire pit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really happy with almost everything. Been there several times and loved it all of them. There was quite a lot of drinking noise, and it would have been nice to know there was epic spiciness to one of our dishes. Overall, very happy.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love Rumours East. The atmosphere is cozy with the fireplaces lit. The jazz music is nice (not Musak and not too loud). We love the white tablecloths and napkins as well as the large block ice. Cool vibe, good food, great neighborhood.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food & a beautiful space. My wife & I went for dinner on a Thursday & loved it so much, went back on Saturday with extended family. Had a great experience & delicious food both nights. The roasted shiitake mushroom was outstanding. It had a smokey flavor that was complimented by a great wine off their extensive list. My wife had the roasted chicken with mushroom risotto & could not say enough anmbout it.

On Thursday we were seated in the dining room where classic jazz accompanied our meal. On our return Saturday we were seated outside amongst fireplaces addiing to the ambiance. Our waiter, Keith, gave us great recommendations both nights for after dinner drinks which made for 2 great evenings out. When back i

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of our favorite in Nashville. Small and intimate. Food and service is always excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and service! Like the atmosphere of the historic house. Was a but disappointed about making a reservation but still being sat in the bar area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time eating here. Would recommend, will return!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Seating, service, food and atmosphere were perfect! Could not have asked for a better night out. Our server Adam was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dined on Valentine's Day on the prix fixe menu. The food was fine but did not seem like it was worth nearly what we were charged and the service felt rushed when it didn't need to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent experence! I have been to Rumors East at least 5 times and it NEVER dissappoints!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Super cute atmosphere and ambiance. Food was sooo yummy and everyone was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had not been to Rumours East for some time, but we were absolutely delighted with our experience and our meal. I had the caprese salad and the salmon while my wife had scallops. We both thought that these entrees were outstanding. Loved the sauces.

Really nice atmosphere in the house. We were seated in the bar area where we enjoyed a view of the neighborhood and an occasional passer-by. It was very comfortable.

We added an excellent $45-ish bottle of wine (Irony) and the bill came to $104 plus tip. Just an excellent overall experience. Loved our night and will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was pretty good, bartender was outnumbered and fairly new. We opted for wine to bypass the bar. For the money spent there, there are other options in town that can pull it together better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Rumours East provided a lovely Friday evening birthday celebration for myself and 5 out of town guests. Everyone had a great meal and enjoyed fabulous wine. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Most important, the food was excellent and reasonable priced and our server was efficient and pleasant. The ambiance/noise will vary on who is seated around you in a small dining space, but nothing like the noisy big establishments. The wax-burning candles are off-putting with the smoke/smell. Disappointing was the selection for dessert. There was nothing available from the online menu, so we left and had dessert elsewhere. Overall, I would return and have recommended the restaurant to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have never had a bad experience here and I keep coming back because #1 the food is exceptional #2 the bartender Heather is on point and knows her stuff and #e you are NOT going to find a better ambiance in Nashville with food to match, period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nice atmosphere, good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

They burn really strong offensive candles. Not appropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was just ok. We've heard good things about the restaurant but it seemed to be an off night for them. We were amongst the best dressed in the place but they were going to seat us in the bar instead of the main dinning room because we were just a couple and they were trying to save their 4-tops even though they weren't very busy. Our bubbly came out barely cool. The Charcuterie platter was late and then missing one of the cheeses because they had run out. (Note because of issues like the charcuterie out late, not complete, and salads coming before this appetizer, the restaurant didn't charge for the charcuterie) All the food had very good flavors but again was off temp. Our waiter was very attentive without hovering and was apologetic about any of the miscues. The ambiance is nice and the music was nice and not too loud. Not a bad evening at all but we were expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Bread and oil appetizer is delicious - not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years dinner with friends. We were not made aware of the set menu and price. $150.00 per couple with almost no choices on salad and only two choices for entree and dessert. The environment was quiet and almost no gueats. The mashed potatoes were not good, bland and lumpy. Salad was simple and lacked any touches that would be expected from an expensive meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

After sitting for over 20 minutes we did not get our cocktails (wine) nor was our water refilled. Another table who were seated after us left without food or drink. we inquired regarding thenETA of our drinks. We were told she didn't blame us for leaving. The charcuterie we ordered had arrived so I paid for this and we left. So sad. This place has great potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was good. The food was OK, but for the price, It really was not anything special that wowed us. The pasta dish was horrible and we sent it back in exchange for the pork chops, which were OK.

The dessert menu had 3 items on it, one that the server told us had been unavailable for 1 month. Was shocked that a 'fine dining' establishment had such a limited dessert menu and they also did not have an espresso machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I went because I heard the Happy Hour was good....our drinks were great...my frined's steak was to die for but the potatoes needed a little seasoning....my pasta was just ok and the grilled chicken's flavor did not compliment the pasta at all plus the bread had a scratched taste....we enjoyed the atmosphere and the service was top notch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

On my long overdue night out on my own, I couldn't have chosen better with Rumours East. The cream of mushroom was outstanding. The shrimp and grits packed some kick and was very filling.

Heather the bartender is extremely personable and makes a mean Manhattan (according to at least two patrons that night while I was there).

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Shrimp and grits were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.