Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi
  1. Distance: 1.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.56mi

About Rumours East

Rumours East is a full-service restaurant and bar under the guise of a cozy 1900’s Victorian house located in the Historic East End Neighborhood of East Nashville. Just a minute walk from Five Points, we are consistently recognized as the best outdoor dinning experience and patio in Nashville. Since opening we have evolved into a pre-prohibition style craft cocktail bar serving seasonal chef inspired cuisine. We are a popular venue for events and large dining parties, our unique backyard and pergola-covered patio has allowed us to become known around the neighborhood as a community-centric gathering spot.

1112 Woodland Street
Nashville, TN 37206
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
HAPPY HOUR: Tuesday thru Friday 5pm - 7pm
DINNER: Tuesday thru Thursday & Sunday 5pm - 10pm; BAR: 11pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm - 11pm; BAR: 12am

Please confirm your weekend reservations with us so that we can best accommodate all of our guests.

For reservations between 6:15pm and 7:30pm on Friday and Saturday please call us to book your table.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 262-5346

Website:
http://www.rumourseast.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on 12th Ave

Complimentary Valet Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
John Howard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday is cigar night. We offer a selection of cigars provided by local tobacconist Smoker's Abbey paired with spirits and cocktails.

6pm - 11pm

Rumours East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Authentic (4)
Organic (3)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

They did have a few local beers but I'm so spoiled now I wish they were draft beer and served in a chilled glass. Other than that a perfectly quiet place to have intimate conversation with your sweetheart.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food and drinks were a little slow but our server was very nice and the food and drinks were excellent!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My three friends and I had a great experience at Rumours East last Saturday night. I picked the spot for the beautiful backyard/back patio and the good selection of happy hour drinks and pricing. We also ate dinner there as well, and every dish was delicious. I personally had a salmon dish with an Asian influence and it was great. My other friends had the burger, the Lamb, and a pork chop and everyone was very pleased. I also LOVED the house/happy hour red that is a blend and was offered at $3 a glass. Great deal. The service was attentive and everything went smooth. We all highly enjoyed it and I will continue to come back :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Authentic, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Appetizers were excellent. Pork chop entree is so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

This gem of a place right in 5 Points in East Nashville is a romantic retreat from some of the more lively and rowdy bars. (Nothing wrong with a rowdy bar!!) The food is excellent! The last time we went my friend asked the bartender for a cocktail that tasted like "summer in a glass" and he got a gorgeous tall cocktail that, indeed, tasted like summer in a glass. There are white table cloths but the staff is completely down to earth. We always ask the waitstaff where they're from and get great stories of why they moved here. The menu has a wide range of prices so you can go even if you're on a budget!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Originally made this reservation because I am traveling with my dog and was looking for a pet friendly place to eat. I decided to leave the dog back at the hotel, and still came to this restaurant. I am very happy that I did. The staff was wonderful, especially the bar tender. Our waiter had just started working at this restaurant; but you would not know it by his knowledge and how comfortable he was at his job. I have already recommended Rumours East to friends that live in Nashville and friends that I know come to Nashville for business reasons.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

YUMMY!!! Perfect date night in East Nashville. The food is superb, and the wine selection is great. We love this little gem.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our first time @ Rumours East, we were seated very close to the bar. Really didn't like that. A whole section was empty, but wasn't asked if we wanted to seat anywhere else. The waitress ( although friendly) seemed to rush us. She did not ask us if we wanted coffee or dessert, but brought us our bill. The filet was great. Limited menu, except for all the wine & beer you could ever ask for!! We don't intend to return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Went for date night with the wife. Our server was great. Very friendly, helpful with suggestions and was very attentive. Food came out fairly quickly and was better than I expected!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was okay, but not noteworthy, especially for the price. Our server kept forgetting things, and never refilled water. Eating on the patio was nice, easy to converse.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Waiter John very personable. Food was better than most,
Not quite tops but close.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great restaurant! Small dinning areas gave the feeling of a more intimate dinner. Entrees were delicious. The Pork chops are definitely worth trying. Would return to try more dishes. Limited dessert menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The restaurant was very welcoming inside and the food was great. Did not care for the white wine that was served at happy hour so ended up having to order a high priced wine. Also was eaten alive outside by mosquitoes and when mentioned to the waiter was told I could have requested repellent. A little late; should spray area for mosquitoes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Rumours East is our go to for romance, ambiance and delicious creative meals!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I just visited this restaurant during a girls holiday in Nashville (my mother and I and another mother daughter duo) . We sat on the covered back patio during a thunderstorm (by choice!) and it was wonderful. Our server Mia was exceptional in her care and attention to our table. I had the lamb and wholeheartedly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was divine and our server was excellent. However, the manager decided to close the restaurant early, which is not uncommon, but instead of allowing patrons to finish out their meals, she rushed everyone out. It was quite odd. Having worked in the restaurant industry while in college, I understand closing the kitchen early or having a last call for alcohol, but to want everyone out before 9:00 pm on Saturday night is not the best restaurant management procedure. Last call for food and drinks was 8:30. She actually came around to everyone's tables and told them they were closing early because it wasn't crowded enough. We didn't even bother ordering dessert or additional drinks. We do not plan to come back nor do we recommend this restaurant, but the food was superb! The owner needs to be aware of how things are being run. Such a strange experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Changes to the menu significantly impacted my dining experience. I have been a patron of rumors for a long time... Over 5 years. Not sure what's going on but I sure hope they figure it out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Hidden Gem with authentic southern dishes with a creative twist. In a house. Great service & cocktails. Sit in rear garden if weather permits. It's enchanting.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food, great service. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a great table outside. We had great expectations for the restaurant. Unfortunately, even though the restaurant was not very busy, the bar and the kitchen were extremely slow. We both ordered the filet. It took well over an hour to get our steaks. They both arrived undercooked. They were both rare even though we had ordered medium well and medium rare plus. The fried potatoes were also undercooked. We will not go back. It was a disappointment.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It has been some time since I'd been to Rumors. In the past, I recall the experience being worth the price. This isn't entirely the case any longer.

Our waitress was kind, friendly and attentive. On point.

The food wasn't exciting. The menu has been reduced to the basics. This should lend itself to a focus on the presentation and taste...unfortunately, this didn't happen. The price I paid for steak wasn't out of the ordinary for similar restaurants, but the taste wasn't worth it. It was overcooked, despite requesting medium-rare. Fine - not good or great. Not worth the price.

It will be awhile before I go back, which is a shame because I truly love the atmosphere and adore the 'neighborhood gem'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

D'Witt very pleasant. Served wine correctly. Checked on food coming from kitchen.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Delicious food, good ambiance. relaxing meal, great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Their new menu (debut 03/12) is great! The service is always top notch. I had the quesadilla appetizer (ADDICTIVE) and was blown away! The filings were fresh and very pleasing to the palette but to have that goodness sandwiched in that buttery, crunchy tasty tortilla was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Date night with my husband was great! We will return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at Rumours East. I think this place is a real East Nashville gem and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good date night spot.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Consistently perfect. This place has never let me down in any way. Great service, excellent food, impressive bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Not good service - asked for a glass of wine with dinner about 10 mins before the food came. And the wine came to the table after I was 1/2 way through with the dish. I asked for it t

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Adorable quaint house w/ beautiful outdoor dining area. Service was excellent w/ Keith & Dewitt. They were so professional & attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had party of 6, ate outside. food was fantastic. Enjoyed fire pit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really happy with almost everything. Been there several times and loved it all of them. There was quite a lot of drinking noise, and it would have been nice to know there was epic spiciness to one of our dishes. Overall, very happy.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love Rumours East. The atmosphere is cozy with the fireplaces lit. The jazz music is nice (not Musak and not too loud). We love the white tablecloths and napkins as well as the large block ice. Cool vibe, good food, great neighborhood.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food & a beautiful space. My wife & I went for dinner on a Thursday & loved it so much, went back on Saturday with extended family. Had a great experience & delicious food both nights. The roasted shiitake mushroom was outstanding. It had a smokey flavor that was complimented by a great wine off their extensive list. My wife had the roasted chicken with mushroom risotto & could not say enough anmbout it.

On Thursday we were seated in the dining room where classic jazz accompanied our meal. On our return Saturday we were seated outside amongst fireplaces addiing to the ambiance. Our waiter, Keith, gave us great recommendations both nights for after dinner drinks which made for 2 great evenings out. When back i

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and service! Like the atmosphere of the historic house. Was a but disappointed about making a reservation but still being sat in the bar area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of our favorite in Nashville. Small and intimate. Food and service is always excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First time eating here. Would recommend, will return!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Seating, service, food and atmosphere were perfect! Could not have asked for a better night out. Our server Adam was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Dined on Valentine's Day on the prix fixe menu. The food was fine but did not seem like it was worth nearly what we were charged and the service felt rushed when it didn't need to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent experence! I have been to Rumors East at least 5 times and it NEVER dissappoints!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Super cute atmosphere and ambiance. Food was sooo yummy and everyone was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.