About Rumours East

1112 Woodland Street
Nashville, TN 37206
View Larger Map

Rumours East is a full-service restaurant and bar under the guise of a cozy 1900’s Victorian house located in the Historic East End Neighborhood of East Nashville. Just a minute walk from Five Points, we are consistently recognized as the best outdoor dinning experience and patio in Nashville. Since opening we have evolved into a pre-prohibition style craft cocktail bar serving seasonal chef inspired cuisine. We are a popular venue for events and large dining parties, our unique backyard and pergola-covered patio has allowed us to become known around the neighborhood as a community-centric gathering spot.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Fusion / Eclectic, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
HAPPY HOUR: Tuesday thru Friday 5pm - 7pm
DINNER: Tuesday thru Thursday & Sunday 5pm - 10pm; BAR: 11pm
Friday & Saturday 5pm - 11pm; BAR: 12am

Please confirm your weekend reservations with us so that we can best accommodate all of our guests.

For reservations between 6:15pm and 7:30pm on Friday and Saturday please call us to book your table.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 262-5346

Website:
http://www.rumourseast.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking on 12th Ave

Complimentary Valet Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
John Howard

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Thursday is cigar night. We offer a selection of cigars provided by local tobacconist Smoker's Abbey paired with spirits and cocktails.

6pm - 11pm

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Filet
Cinnamon Bundt Cake
Seafood Pasta
Soup
Chocolate torte
Beet Crisps
Red Snapper With Squash And Couscous
Grouper With Asparagus, Marinara And Balsamic Reduction
Mediterranean Plate
Seared Grouper
Cheese Platter
New York Strip

Rumours East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (39)
romantic (32)
fit for foodies (31)
See All
neighborhood gem (29)
special occasion (26)
notable wine list (18)
good for groups (10)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Sunday brunch to celebrate a fr ...

Dined 5 days ago

Went for Sunday brunch to celebrate a friend's birthday - it was delicious! Expertly prepared and delivered to our table fast and beautifully. Try the chicken or steak and be sure to get the French toast - mouth watering!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

I'm sorry, but this place is located ins ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

I'm sorry, but this place is located inside an old home- but they have not improved the air conditioning in the restaurant. It was so hot, we were miserable trying to eat our dinner. The food was ok, as well as the service, but the ambiance was terrible. I would only go back in the winter time!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rumours East has an excellent wine list ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Rumours East has an excellent wine list and some wonderful cocktail options. Our food was very pleasing, both to the mouth and to the eyes. The back patio is an excellent location for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Normally we love dining here, but our la ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Normally we love dining here, but our last experience was awful. Terrible service, warm water was served in our glasses and there was very little air conditioning on a very hot day.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice atmosphere but only for drinks

Dined on June 7, 2016

Unfortunately, although Rumours has a history of being good, it seems the quality of the food has gone down. Our bruschetta was soggy and too salty with what tasted liked prepared marinara on it. My scallops were also very salty, and as if there weren't enough salt, they even added balsamic vinegar to our peach read pudding with ice cream, which completely drowned out the dish and made it taste extremely tart rather than sweet. The service was also slow - we got there at 6:30 on a Tuesday and even though there were only a couple others other tables, it took over 2 hours.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful back yard dining, great servic ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful back yard dining, great service and food

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite places to enjoy dinne ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

One of my favorite places to enjoy dinner and/or drinks. Great ambiance, very good food and great service.

food2
ambience3
service1

It was Mother's Day and we had hoped for ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

It was Mother's Day and we had hoped for a lovely evening but from the minute we walked in the door it was anything but. The hostess was confused and seemed overwhelmed even though there was just us and one other party. We did not get the seating we wanted, she didn't even want to seat us in a certain area but did. Our server didn't show up for at least 5-10 minutes, we waited another 5-10 mins just for water. The service was just awful throughout. The food was subpar- I ordered the ribeye, it was sliced, a very small serving and mostly fat- maybe got 5 bites of the steak! The scallops were good, have to mention that, but the serving was appetizer size and expensive. We went to Rumors because of the ambiance and thought the food would be great too. Nothing about this place was good. Oh ya....not one person even acknowledged it was Mother's Day. I do not recommend Rumors.

food5
ambience5
service3

The food is great, the staff is friendly ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is great, the staff is friendly, the patio is unbelievable, but don't get in a hurry. It took approximately an hour to get our food and we ate after the crowd had died down.

food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the outside seating!

Dined on April 26, 2016

We loved the outside seating!

food5
ambience5
service5

Truly exquisite

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Truly exquisite

food3
ambience4
service4

great staff, mediocre food, over priced

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

great staff, mediocre food, over priced

food1
ambience1
service1

Food lacked tasted and presentation. Ove ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Food lacked tasted and presentation. Overpriced, for example, three scallops $28, portobello mushroom entree $19. Service was terrible, bill dropped on the table as the server passed by. Bar staff joked about choice of drink within earshot.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Relaxing, pleasant evening with friends

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our food was excellent as usual. But the outdoor seating had been enlarged since my last visit and it was so nice. Wonderful ambiance. We were early enough to enjoy the happy hour wine, and the red blend was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was unique. Service was horrible.

Dined on April 17, 2016

20 minutes for our table and half the tables were empty and we had a reservation. 30 minutes for drinks and they came at various times. 45 minutes foor food..... Cancelled dessert after we started pushing 2:30 hours. Awesome outdoor seating with great food and our server was great. Get the salmon and cheese plate. Take a nap before you go because the waiting will make you tired.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place for two, or more!

Dined on April 2, 2016

My wife and I love this place! We usually go about once a month for a special date night. This last time, we took another couple with us for a special occasion. They LOVED it!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Neighborhood Spot

Dined on March 26, 2016

Rumours is great. Love the outdoor area, love the craft cocktails and the serving staff is always polite, friendly and very knowledgable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Poor service. Rushed.

Dined on March 25, 2016

We had 8pm reservations. It was supposed to be an important romantic evening for us. Instead, the whole time there we had to hear waiters standing around talking about their tips and take home pay for the night. In the middle of our appetizers we were informed by our waiter that we needed to order our entree immediately as they were closing the kitchen early. As we hesitated the waiter said there was a great place nearby to get a sandwich. It was clear they just wanted to go home early. After this, they got what they wanted as we couldn't wait to get out of there. Will never return.

food4
ambience3
service2

Waited for 40 mins after our reservation ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Waited for 40 mins after our reservation time. Food was fine, but not worth the wait, especially with a reservation. Shame.

food5
ambience5
service3

Loved the bar drinks I had the special a ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Loved the bar drinks I had the special a hibiscus mule, very tasty. Food was great too.

food2
ambience4
service2

Service: Felt like we were annoying our ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Service: Felt like we were annoying our waiter. Not sure if he was having a bad day but he did not like to be asked questions or wait on our table. Food: Overpriced for the quality. My fiancé's steak came out overdone, pre-cut and drenched in sauce. The charcuterie plate was ok but not something I'd order again. Overall: Outdoor ambiance was nice but a 'been there done that' experience.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great port in the storm.

Dined on March 13, 2016

On a very rainy night, we had a delicious dinner at Rumours East. The hostess was friendly and accommodating. We were meeting old friends and wanted a quiet place to visit. Despite the pouring rain outside, the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. We enjoyed after dinner drinks and wonderful conversation with the owner. It was a delightful evening!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accomodating

Dined on March 12, 2016

When we initially got sat, we weren't crazy about the location. The hostess noticed our less-than-excitable faces and offered to move us. We ended up outside, which was a day for night change of scenery - beautifully decorated, clean, and stylish. Dinner was amazing and the service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like Visiting a Cousin

Dined on March 11, 2016

Rumours East is a gem! Not only is the food pretty dog gone awesome, but the service is impeccable. I've been there like 4 or 5 times and have never been disappointed at anything. They remember you when you come back & it's like visiting a cousin who can REAAAALLLY COOK. That pulled pork, collards & cheddar grits is to DIE FOR! One day, I may try something different, but I've not gotten there yet. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was great! Loved the atmosphere. ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Good was great! Loved the atmosphere. Will definitely be eating here again.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Expensive Does Not Equal Impressive

Dined on February 28, 2016

I was planning a friends catch up dinner and selected Rumours East because a review I read said that the atmosphere was quiet and none of us had been there before. It wasn't all bad, we were stuck in traffic and called to say we would be late. Charity answered the call and could not have been nicer. We arrived about 15 minutes late and were seated immediately. We were soon greeted by our server who took our drink orders, it was clear that he was disappointed that we didn't order alcohol. When he returned with the drinks we ordered the cheese plate as an app. It was dropped at the table without any explanation of what was on the plate. We managed to eat it all anyway. Now he is back and wants to take our orders. We ordered the scallops, salmon & pork and grits. I was shocked when our meals arrived. The scallop plate had 5 small scallops that were coated with so much pepper you couldn't even tell they were scallops, a smear of something and a small pile of raw greens, the pork and grits were a more substantial although the greens were cooked to death and lacked any brightness, the salmon was ok but nothing special. After we had our food we heard a server at another table explaining the cheese plate and describing the specials. We all looked at each others and said "specials, what specials?". All 3 of us spent almost our whole meal when empty water and tea glasses. However, after dinner we walked to The Pied Piper for dessert. It was FANTASTIC! East Nashville has so many great places in the same price range I would likely not visit Rumours again.

food4
ambience2
service1
value1

We had a reservation at 7:45. We showed ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a reservation at 7:45. We showed up early and put in our name with the hostess. We then waited at the bar for 45 minutes for a table. My wife and I addressed this with the hostess twice and she informed us that she had mistakenly given our table away to someone else. They offered to comp a dessert, which was nice, but clearly was not enough to make up for the nearly one hour wait when we had a reservation. Never going back.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not worth the cost

Dined on February 15, 2016

The experience was less than desirable for the price on Valentines. The service was fine but the four course meal (a limited option meal) did not meet our expectations. The food was nothing special. The rib eye steak, which we both had was too well done and not especially tasty. The salad and the mashed potatoes were fine but not extraordinary and the appetizer's (crab cakes) were also ok but not memorable. Overall, a pretty ordinary meal for the cost.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great single menu for vday, staff super ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great single menu for vday, staff super friendly, tables small but that makes sense when you fit them in a house.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food tasted great. However, the steak was very fatty and chewy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had Valentine's Brunch here and everything exceeded our expectations.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great ambiance

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was delicious, presentation phenomenal, portions were a little larger than I expected based on reviews and were very filling. Service was amazing and very courteous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Why haven't I been here before? Great pl ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Why haven't I been here before? Great place for a date night. Food was wonderfully prepared, service top notch. Definitely going back, inviting friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service

Dined on January 30, 2016

the waiter was outstanding in taking care of us. We were going to be late to TPAC, but made recommendations that were both fast and good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delectable Salmon

Dined on January 22, 2016

The Grilled Salmon sits on a bed of white rice noodles, Chinese spiced seared buttery greens, citrus soy reduction! Need I say more!! Every bit of this dish was cooked to perfection. I enjoyed my dinner with a Margaritta on the rocks (no salt). Dare I say everything from the greeter to the waiter was perfect. Thank you Rumours East fir a very enjoyable evening. Dinner served as it should be!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Younger people restaurant

Dined on January 10, 2016

The service and food was great! My husband and I are over 50, we noticed that most everyone there was younger (20's maybe early 30's) and because we were seated in the bar area, the noise level was a bit more vibrant than what we expected going to this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

hmm

Dined on January 9, 2016

The potential for awesome ambiance is great...beautiful old house with a wood burning fire places in each room. We sat in the room that backed up to the kitchen. The kitchen staff had country music blaring on the radio back there, so that kind of ruined any good mood in the place. I got the braised pork, which was essentially dry BBQ style pork...not what I expected for a place of that caliber and price point of the meal. The waiter was super inexperienced, and his communication skills were unintentionally rude and abrasive. Won't be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Overall disappointed in the experience

Dined on January 1, 2016

WAAAAAY to expensive for what you get and pricing did not match up to expectations on Open Table which was $$. Could have eaten at the Southern or Flemings for less and better food and overall experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

Dined on December 27, 2015

Love this place!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a date night.

Dined on December 19, 2015

Rumours East had a very calm and sauve atmosphere to it. Me and my date sat next to a fireplace which was warm but not too hot. The server was extremely kind and personable and balanced service with privacy. Besides a small group of boisterous heathens, the room was very quiet and personal. It was the perfect spot to take someone who is clearly out of your league, as in my case. Definitely will go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.