About Ruinas Del Mar

J.E. Irausquin Blvd #85
Palm Beach, Aruba 99553
View Larger Map

Ruinas del Mar, “Ruins by the Sea”, is Hyatt Regency Aruba’s signature restaurant offering contemporary cuisine in an open-air environment. Guests are invited to enjoy menu items such as fresh seafood and steaks, hearth oven specialties, and a display of multiple food stations offered during breakfast, Sunday brunch, and special events. The design of Ruinas del Mar pays homage to several original Aruban architectural elements including caliche stone and the use of water in design.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Hyatt Regency Aruba

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
523 4243

Website:
http://www.aruba.hyatt.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Pellegrini

Private Party Contact:
Criselda Pinto: 2975861234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Ruinas Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

5.0

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Caribbean
Scenic View
Caribbean
Most Booked
Aruba
Best Restaurants in Aruba ›

Scenic View (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
See All
Romantic (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I were in Aruba for our Hone ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My wife and I were in Aruba for our Honeymoon 34 yrs ago so we came back last week for our anniversary. This was one of many great restaurants we dined at. It was romantic and enjoyable seeing the black swans and coy fish in the pond right next to our table on their patio. Our meal was excellent and service was great as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a beautiful setting. Sat o ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food in a beautiful setting. Sat overlooking a pond with black swans swimming past. Very attentive service but not obtrusive.

Tags: Romance, Scenic View, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable we had a main ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was impeccable we had a main server and an assistant server for water, bread, etc. I ordered the surf and turf, my boyfriend had the lamb. Both were excellent! We were celebrating my birthday, which was noted in the reservations and they comped a coconut cake as dessert - equally scrumptious! Thanks for such a great dining experience on our first night in Aruba!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best Suunday brunch we have had on the i ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Best Suunday brunch we have had on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was perfect decided to go ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our experience was perfect decided to go here as our last vacation dinner night on island . Food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going there for over 10 yea ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been going there for over 10 years. Every year it has gone downhill and we still go back hoping it will get better. No more, this was the last year. We will find another Sunday Brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Very noisey

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

All was great until a group came inside. Had to be 12 in the group and they were soooo loud, you could not carry on a conversation. It was our 48th anniversary dinner. The food was very good and the ambience is lovely but the loud group ruined it.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to this restaurant our first nig ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We went to this restaurant our first night. We ordered a scallop appetizer that was delicious. My lamb entree was amazing, I would highly recommend. On Saturday nights they do half off bottles of wine which was a nice surprise, would def go again :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Disappointing!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

After 17 visits to Aruba, I always wanted to go to this restaurant. It turned out to be a great disappointment. Although the waitress was attentive, it took a long time to get our food even though the restaurant was quite empty. I ordered the filet with lobster tail and my husband ordered the filet with scallops. When the food arrived, it was cool and the vegetables were so cold that they seemed to have come right from the refrigerator. We left most of the food on the plates. After speaking with the manager, he was somewhat apologetic but we did not sense any real care. He told us that we would not have to pay for one of the entrees.

Our evening was ruined and we will never return there. This was the worse dinner we have ever experienced while on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

So disappointing!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Beautiful place too bad both the service and food was horrible!! I ordered the red snapper special everything on my plate including all the vegetables tasted the same!! If I had my eyes closed I couldn't tell the difference of one food to the other. My husband ordered the surf and turf with fillet mignon. The meat was so tough and dry and the scallops were super large and rubbery. Both the server and assistant server barely spoke English so it was near impossible to understand each other. We would not go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Nice, but pricy

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

If you dine outside, you can see black swans and red fish in the water. But it must not be dark outside, they don't have light to see this beauty after 8 pm.

Vine starts from $45 and food is very expensive!

No reservation needed, they are half empty (inside).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect setting for a romantic dinner!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

We really enjoyed the setting, service, and food. We sat outside along the koi pond and black swans.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food Been there three times when ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Good food Been there three times when we stay at Hyatt in Aruba. Siting outside is much better then inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service was not good so dark you could n ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Service was not good so dark you could not see your food. Also pricey for what it was. Service terrible til we got a new server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Catchy name! It fit the restaurant ambiance!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Perfect restaurant to enjoy an evening at the Hyatt Casino or Tequila Bar. Most enjoyable!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We are repear customers, but are last visit lacked

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

This was our second visit. The first time was marvelous and we dined outside. Unfortunately, it was way too hot to dine outside that night, so we had to dine inside. We were a tad early for our reservation and I don't know why they wouldn't accommodate us and let us sit in the dining room, we were the only ones there. The hostess said we can sit in an another area with menus and it felt really awkward.

I also want to mention that prior to our dinner we stopped for cocktails at the outdoor bar and were literally ignored by the bartender who was too busy watching the cricket match on TV. I put my finger up for service and he looked right at me and then looked back at the TV and never came over. RUDE! It took us a while to finally get waited on by the other guy. We almost left.

In the dining room, the staff was setting up for a party in the next room which was divided only by a curtain. We were the only couple there. We could not believe the rudeness of the staff! The staff were LOUDLY dragging chairs and tables across the floor and talking so loudly and some of the staff were arguing and yelling across the room! We asked our waitress and the bus boy several times to ask them to please keep it down. Every time they would then peek over the curtain to see who was complaining. And then they would start up again. They had NO regard for us what so ever. Our romantic Anniversary dinner was NOT romantic at all.

I ordered the mozzarella and arugula salad for an appetizer and it came under a huge pile of arugula and some small pieces of mozzarella. Way TOO much arugula. There was not enough dressing and it was also flavorless.

I can't complain about my steak and my husband's dinner was fine. We LOVE this property (even though the pond water was a disgusting green this time) , but we would be hard pressed to ever go back again. When the manager came over and asked if everything was fine, I said yes. That is my fault for not speaking up, but we were in a big hurry to leave.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Nice pre-Xmas brunch

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We had a great time with great food and very friendly service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the Greatest Restaurants in Aruba

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

We go to Aruba each year for two weeks and eat most of our meals out. This restaurant has become an annual visit during our stay. This past visit, we had the same table and waiter as previous years and were not disappointed at all. Everything was great. We were a group of 4 that had both sea food and steak, all of which was outstanding. We look forward to our next visit to the island and also to Ruinas Del Mar

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch!!! Best in Aruba! Glenna is ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Great Brunch!!! Best in Aruba! Glenna is the best waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch Bummer

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Decided to try Brunch with special friend before they headed to the airport... $57.00 US per person was a little steep but give the hotel's rep thought would try. It was a complete let down... the carving station roast beef was overcooked. The morning buffet at Marriott is better at 1/2 the price... If you don't plan to have mimosas forget going!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Big Birthday Celebration

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 5, 2015

This was a 60th birthday celebration! Requested a table with view and was not disappointed. The black swans floating by throughout the entire meal while watching the ocean sunset was a great experience. The service could have been better as well (my husband asked for drawn butter for our lobster which never showed up; ditto with his coffee refill). The food was the most disappointing part of the meal but the setting almost made up for it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great Restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Every meal we had at this restaurant was delicious. The amount of food served is generous.

The serving staff is extremely friendly and efficient. The Sunday Brunch is outrageously

good. Seating is both indoors and outside with a wonderful view of the water and the well

manicured grounds.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great romantic place

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

Great romantic place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Complete disappointment

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

My family and I have been vacationing in Aruba for more than 20 years. We look forward to the Sunday Brunch at this restaurant, and make sure to make reservations well in advance. Unfortunately, this year will be our last. First, the price has nearly doubled. That's fine if the quality of the food improves porportionately. It did not. Second, there were so many people allowed into the buffet at one time, it was impossible to actually get close to the food tables. The supply of plates was not replenished quickly and some of the patrons were very beligerant. With the exception of our servers, Lucy and Luis, without whom the expeience would have been a disaster, we all were totally disappointed and will NEVER return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

Very nice restaurant.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Very delicious food.Sunday Branch is nice for groups.The best thing is ambient.I will go again for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Setting

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

We dined in the evening and sat outside. The service was great and the food was fantastic. It was a nice temperature outside so eating outside was comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful dining experience one friend or more!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2015

Surrounded by cool waterfalls, black swans, and tropical foliage your evening dining becomes a most memorable event. I've stayed on the island many times and have recently found this restaurant to be a future destination to share with family and friends. Dress is upscale casual. The calming atmosphere and attentive staff make your meal a pleasurable event. Selections from the menu include local, fresh caught delicacies from the blue green waters. Sample the wine list offerings or try one of the tropical blends featuring top shelf names. Reservations aren't necessarily required but, are certainly advantageous.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Luckylady101

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2015

Ruinas is the perfect romantic spot...along with a wonderful view and surroundings. The food is good, but not outstanding. The waitstaff is terrific.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Ok atmosphere but disappointing food

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 30, 2015

Food was very disappointing. The fish was dry and the chicken in the pasta was almost like Jerky. The atmosphere is o.k. but for the price you pay for the food you can get fantastic food elsewhere. I wouldn't wast my time at this place but if you had to eat at the hotel I guess you could do worse.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Very good brunch.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

We go every time when we are in Aruba. It does not disappoint.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Evening

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

As always the seafood was fresh and prepared perfectly. The service was tops and the atmosphere out on the balcony next to the pond was great. Have been there every time we go to Aruba.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

just expected more...... a lot of salt u ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 28, 2015

just expected more......

a lot of salt used in sauce.

the most I spent for a meal on the island.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great sea bass!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on March 23, 2015

Fellas, this is a great place to take your wives, especially if you don't have kids with you. The location on Hyatt's property is tucked away in it's own special space. You walk down the steps next to a giant waterfall, which is fun for all. You can be outdoors by one of their many water features, or inside where its a bit quieter. The food was fantastic. We had shrimp bruschetta, which was a great starter, followed by sea bass for me and a New York strip steak for my wife. The service was good in their laid back tropical way. Their head chef even cooked my catch for our group when we went deep sea fishing. Since Hyatt's property is on the ocean, we finished our evening by strolling on the beach under the stars. Again, fellas, this great place that you'll both enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on March 20, 2015

The service was above par from beginning to end. Our reservation was confirmed and the experience was the best dining at the resort. Our son enjoyed the selections from the adult menu and never had an empty milk glass. They even worked with me on creating a lighter meal as I was feeling under the weather but still wanted to enjoy the evening with family. We considered the dining experience to be beyond our expectations and would have enjoyed having all of our dinners there!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very romantic

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on March 17, 2015

The food was delicious, the service was excellant and the ambiance was very romantic. We ate at the outside area and were visited by the black swans. Everything felt so special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunset dining

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 9, 2015

Loved the ambiance and sunset with palm trees, closest thing to being in Hawaii.

The service was excellent and the food was good but not great. Lamb chops were fatty and risotta not very tasty. But the Red Snapper special was really good. So though the food was mixed, I would go again as it is a special setting. Just make sure to request outside seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delightful But

 
·Dined on February 23, 2015

The food and service were great; the issue is noise from youungsters. The rstaurant would do better tro have an area set aside either for families or for adults only. The crying babies ruin the experience for those without children.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasant outdoor dining option

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Although most seating is indoors, we enjoyed the terrace seating over looking the lush tropical landscaping with view to west. Very pricey wine list. Our favorite selection was the scallops starter. The "fresh catch" snapper was disappointing -- not a lot of flavors, bland veggies, and overly-well-done fish. I would not repeat that choice. But would probably return for the very pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent again

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

We eat here everytime on our last night in Aruba. Outstanding service and excellent food. Sit outside next to a lagoon surrounded by Palm trees, with koi and swans swimming next to you. My wife orders off the menu veggie plate and it is never a problem and there are numerous preparations possible. We've had both outside waiters, and both are excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

what are "mini-grouper"?

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 7, 2015

arrived at this hyatt's flagship restaurant to find that it was - surprise! - all-you-can-eat pasta night. since i don't do noodles, i ordered the signature grouper dish from the regular menu - what arrived was an unsalted and flavorless very thin piece of a small fish that was a wee bit mealy in texture - clearly not grouper. when the waiter came around to check on our meal, i voiced my concerns. chef came to the table and told us the fish was actually "mini-grouper," part of the "grouper family." never heard of mini-grouper. they took it back and brought us back a piece of snapper - also unsalted and flavorless. will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.