Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 3.68mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 3.68mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 3.68mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 3.68mi

About Ruinas Del Mar

Ruinas del Mar, “Ruins by the Sea”, is Hyatt Regency Aruba’s signature restaurant offering contemporary cuisine in an open-air environment. Guests are invited to enjoy menu items such as fresh seafood and steaks, hearth oven specialties, and a display of multiple food stations offered during breakfast, Sunday brunch, and special events. The design of Ruinas del Mar pays homage to several original Aruban architectural elements including caliche stone and the use of water in design.

J.E. Irausquin Blvd #85
Palm Beach, Aruba 99553
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Hyatt Regency Aruba

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
523 4243

Website:
http://www.aruba.hyatt.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Pellegrini

Private Party Contact:
Criselda Pinto: 586 1234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Ruinas Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Romantic (7)
Waterfront (5)
See All
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Scenic View (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Family Style (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Authentic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Whenever we come to Aruba we make certain that we include Ruinas Del Mar as one of our first stops for dinner. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great outside ambiance, good service , food marginal at best . $42 fillet was a 6 ounce 1/2 inch thick piece my kids order off the kids menu for $20. Mediterranean salad was lettuce and olives.
Left a lot to be desired. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Worst meal we had in Aruba. Overpriced. Two of the 3 meals were sent back and third could have easily been sent back. Cold overcooked steak, lobster tail that was rubber and second stake that was barely cooked but was asked for for med well. Waitress was overwhelmed. Another table beside us did not send their meals back but both had steaks that they did not eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The location and atmosphere is great but the food and service was not what we have experienced at the Hyatt. Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Perhaps the most tender and delicious filet mignon I have ever had! A little loud, acoustically, but the service was friendly and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been coming to Ruinas del Mar for many years. We have noticed that the prices keep going up but the quality of food can't keep pace. There are now much more reasonably priced alternatives in Aruba with similar ambience, and unfortunately we'll probably be going there from now on.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent prime rib, fish was a little dry.
Service was great, ambience and music was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always great. We will be back next year! The setting is one of the best in Aruba. We have made this a must on our yearly trips to Aruba.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We eat here every time we visit Aruba on our last night of our trip. Always leaves us with good memories. Chef customizes order, food excellent in preparation and presentation. Outstanding service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

FABULOUS!! Everything about it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Still tops for Aruba Sunday brunch. Have done this for more than ten years with no reason to change. Desserts are slightly less opulent but great entrees, drinks, and service are consistent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Beautiful restaurant particularly if you sit outside. Wonderful service. Food was good

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always a great spot for Sunday brunch. We only go a few times a year but our servers always recognize us and want us to sit in their section.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Iittle kids whining and crying
Not good for digestion!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food and service was very good - unfortunately the Resturant was so cold it ruined our meal. Complained to the manager and he took 20% off bill. It still didn't take away the fact it ruined our meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Loud crowded food was fair. Seemed more about having a large variety of choices and less concerned about quality of food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We loved the pretty surrounding of the outdoor dining. The food was delicious!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went here for Christmas dinner. Food was outstanding, room was quiet, service was excellent. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent cuisine and very friendly server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We go every year and we are never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Alfonso was fantastic.
Service was top notch
Beautiful views
Picturesque atmospheres
Food was amazing

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

A MUST IF YOU WANT A GREAT NIGHT OF FOOD,SETTING AND SERVICE. WILL DEFINATELY GO BACK ON THE NEXT VACATION IN ARUBA

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always have Sunday brunch here when in Aruba. High quality food, great staff and nice location at the Hyatt. Pricey, but all good brunches are nowadays. Usual breakfast fare along with carving stations and raw bar with sushi. Better than any other place that we've been too in the area.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful restaurant in the Hyatt hotel but mot a great value for brunch. $55 per person is just too much money.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always a flawless brunch experience. The food, ambiance and service is perfect. A special shout out to Luis who takes good care of us every year!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Totally and completely excellent. 5 star all the way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch and there were four people in our party. The food was excellent and so was the wait staff. The only complaint was that there were a lot of children running around and no one was watching them. They have a waterfall within the entrance and the children were all standing on the wall and at one point it looked like a child was going to fall in. I actually got up and said something to the parents. I think that the waiters or whoever is in charge should say something to parents about watching their children. After paying a nice amount of money for our meal I really didn't want to see anyone get hurt or blood splattered all over the place. It seems like the locals just let their children run rampid without disciplining them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The sunday brunch at Ruinas del Mar is supposed to be the place to be. It was a little overpriced, but the selection was vast. Service was lacking as there seemed to be a lot going on. Ask for everything you need when you're first seated, it may be your only chance. Overall, a decent experience. Would try it again and lower my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and the b-day song with the sparkling candle on a piece of cake was awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food and service.
I would recommend better table lighting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

While vacationing in Aruba, we had the pleasure of dining at Ruinas Del Mar in the Hyatt Hotel. We hadn't been there in a few years and I don't know why we waited so long to return. Such a beautiful restaurant (especially the outdoor area by the swan pond). The food was delicious and the service was exceptional. Each dish was presented beautifully and described by our waiter as it was placed before us. My husband ordered the red snapper and I ordered the filet mignon/lobster tail combo. We ended our meal with a vanilla bean brulee. Perfect evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love the Sunday Brunch and enjoy it every year we come to Aruba which so happens to be
the week of our anniversary-your pleasant servers and wonderful selection of food and the
mimosas make for a special day for us

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Big party brunch scene food was really good and service was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was a well worthy experience. The staff needs to improve their service skills though.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 21, 2016

My wife and I were in Aruba for our Honeymoon 34 yrs ago so we came back last week for our anniversary. This was one of many great restaurants we dined at. It was romantic and enjoyable seeing the black swans and coy fish in the pond right next to our table on their patio. Our meal was excellent and service was great as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food in a beautiful setting. Sat overlooking a pond with black swans swimming past. Very attentive service but not obtrusive.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was impeccable we had a main server and an assistant server for water, bread, etc. I ordered the surf and turf, my boyfriend had the lamb. Both were excellent! We were celebrating my birthday, which was noted in the reservations and they comped a coconut cake as dessert - equally scrumptious! Thanks for such a great dining experience on our first night in Aruba!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Best Suunday brunch we have had on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our experience was perfect decided to go here as our last vacation dinner night on island . Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been going there for over 10 years. Every year it has gone downhill and we still go back hoping it will get better. No more, this was the last year. We will find another Sunday Brunch.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.