About Ruinas Del Mar

J.E. Irausquin Blvd #85
Palm Beach, Aruba 99553
View Larger Map

Ruinas del Mar, “Ruins by the Sea”, is Hyatt Regency Aruba’s signature restaurant offering contemporary cuisine in an open-air environment. Guests are invited to enjoy menu items such as fresh seafood and steaks, hearth oven specialties, and a display of multiple food stations offered during breakfast, Sunday brunch, and special events. The design of Ruinas del Mar pays homage to several original Aruban architectural elements including caliche stone and the use of water in design.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Hyatt Regency Aruba

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
523 4243

Website:
http://www.aruba.hyatt.com/

Executive Chef:
Vincent Pellegrini

Private Party Contact:
Criselda Pinto: 2975861234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Ruinas Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fun (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (2)
Live Music (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Waterfront (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We go every year and we are never disapp ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We go every year and we are never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alfonso was fantastic. Service was top ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Alfonso was fantastic.

Service was top notch

Beautiful views

Picturesque atmospheres

Food was amazing

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A MUST IF YOU WANT A GREAT NIGHT OF FOOD ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

A MUST IF YOU WANT A GREAT NIGHT OF FOOD,SETTING AND SERVICE. WILL DEFINATELY GO BACK ON THE NEXT VACATION IN ARUBA

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have Sunday brunch here when in A ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always have Sunday brunch here when in Aruba. High quality food, great staff and nice location at the Hyatt. Pricey, but all good brunches are nowadays. Usual breakfast fare along with carving stations and raw bar with sushi. Better than any other place that we've been too in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful restaurant in the Hyatt hotel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful restaurant in the Hyatt hotel but mot a great value for brunch. $55 per person is just too much money.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Always a flawless brunch experience. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always a flawless brunch experience. The food, ambiance and service is perfect. A special shout out to Luis who takes good care of us every year!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally and completely excellent. 5 star ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Totally and completely excellent. 5 star all the way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Sunday brunch and there were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch and there were four people in our party. The food was excellent and so was the wait staff. The only complaint was that there were a lot of children running around and no one was watching them. They have a waterfall within the entrance and the children were all standing on the wall and at one point it looked like a child was going to fall in. I actually got up and said something to the parents. I think that the waiters or whoever is in charge should say something to parents about watching their children. After paying a nice amount of money for our meal I really didn't want to see anyone get hurt or blood splattered all over the place. It seems like the locals just let their children run rampid without disciplining them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sunday brunch at Ruinas del Mar is s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The sunday brunch at Ruinas del Mar is supposed to be the place to be. It was a little overpriced, but the selection was vast. Service was lacking as there seemed to be a lot going on. Ask for everything you need when you're first seated, it may be your only chance. Overall, a decent experience. Would try it again and lower my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We enjoyed our dinner and the b-day song ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and the b-day song with the sparkling candle on a piece of cake was awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. I would recommen ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food and service.

I would recommend better table lighting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

While vacationing in Aruba, we had the p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

While vacationing in Aruba, we had the pleasure of dining at Ruinas Del Mar in the Hyatt Hotel. We hadn't been there in a few years and I don't know why we waited so long to return. Such a beautiful restaurant (especially the outdoor area by the swan pond). The food was delicious and the service was exceptional. Each dish was presented beautifully and described by our waiter as it was placed before us. My husband ordered the red snapper and I ordered the filet mignon/lobster tail combo. We ended our meal with a vanilla bean brulee. Perfect evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Sunday Brunch and enjoy it ever ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love the Sunday Brunch and enjoy it every year we come to Aruba which so happens to be

the week of our anniversary-your pleasant servers and wonderful selection of food and the

mimosas make for a special day for us

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big party brunch scene food was really g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Big party brunch scene food was really good and service was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a well worthy experience. The sta ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was a well worthy experience. The staff needs to improve their service skills though.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I were in Aruba for our Hone ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 21, 2016

My wife and I were in Aruba for our Honeymoon 34 yrs ago so we came back last week for our anniversary. This was one of many great restaurants we dined at. It was romantic and enjoyable seeing the black swans and coy fish in the pond right next to our table on their patio. Our meal was excellent and service was great as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a beautiful setting. Sat o ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food in a beautiful setting. Sat overlooking a pond with black swans swimming past. Very attentive service but not obtrusive.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable we had a main ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was impeccable we had a main server and an assistant server for water, bread, etc. I ordered the surf and turf, my boyfriend had the lamb. Both were excellent! We were celebrating my birthday, which was noted in the reservations and they comped a coconut cake as dessert - equally scrumptious! Thanks for such a great dining experience on our first night in Aruba!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best Suunday brunch we have had on the i ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Best Suunday brunch we have had on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was perfect decided to go ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our experience was perfect decided to go here as our last vacation dinner night on island . Food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going there for over 10 yea ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been going there for over 10 years. Every year it has gone downhill and we still go back hoping it will get better. No more, this was the last year. We will find another Sunday Brunch.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Very noisey

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2016

All was great until a group came inside. Had to be 12 in the group and they were soooo loud, you could not carry on a conversation. It was our 48th anniversary dinner. The food was very good and the ambience is lovely but the loud group ruined it.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to this restaurant our first nig ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We went to this restaurant our first night. We ordered a scallop appetizer that was delicious. My lamb entree was amazing, I would highly recommend. On Saturday nights they do half off bottles of wine which was a nice surprise, would def go again :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Disappointing!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2016

After 17 visits to Aruba, I always wanted to go to this restaurant. It turned out to be a great disappointment. Although the waitress was attentive, it took a long time to get our food even though the restaurant was quite empty. I ordered the filet with lobster tail and my husband ordered the filet with scallops. When the food arrived, it was cool and the vegetables were so cold that they seemed to have come right from the refrigerator. We left most of the food on the plates. After speaking with the manager, he was somewhat apologetic but we did not sense any real care. He told us that we would not have to pay for one of the entrees.

Our evening was ruined and we will never return there. This was the worse dinner we have ever experienced while on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

So disappointing!!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2016

Beautiful place too bad both the service and food was horrible!! I ordered the red snapper special everything on my plate including all the vegetables tasted the same!! If I had my eyes closed I couldn't tell the difference of one food to the other. My husband ordered the surf and turf with fillet mignon. The meat was so tough and dry and the scallops were super large and rubbery. Both the server and assistant server barely spoke English so it was near impossible to understand each other. We would not go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Nice, but pricy

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2016

If you dine outside, you can see black swans and red fish in the water. But it must not be dark outside, they don't have light to see this beauty after 8 pm.

Vine starts from $45 and food is very expensive!

No reservation needed, they are half empty (inside).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect setting for a romantic dinner!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2016

We really enjoyed the setting, service, and food. We sat outside along the koi pond and black swans.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food Been there three times when ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2016

Good food Been there three times when we stay at Hyatt in Aruba. Siting outside is much better then inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service was not good so dark you could n ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 1, 2016

Service was not good so dark you could not see your food. Also pricey for what it was. Service terrible til we got a new server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Catchy name! It fit the restaurant ambiance!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Perfect restaurant to enjoy an evening at the Hyatt Casino or Tequila Bar. Most enjoyable!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We are repear customers, but are last visit lacked

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2016

This was our second visit. The first time was marvelous and we dined outside. Unfortunately, it was way too hot to dine outside that night, so we had to dine inside. We were a tad early for our reservation and I don't know why they wouldn't accommodate us and let us sit in the dining room, we were the only ones there. The hostess said we can sit in an another area with menus and it felt really awkward.

I also want to mention that prior to our dinner we stopped for cocktails at the outdoor bar and were literally ignored by the bartender who was too busy watching the cricket match on TV. I put my finger up for service and he looked right at me and then looked back at the TV and never came over. RUDE! It took us a while to finally get waited on by the other guy. We almost left.

In the dining room, the staff was setting up for a party in the next room which was divided only by a curtain. We were the only couple there. We could not believe the rudeness of the staff! The staff were LOUDLY dragging chairs and tables across the floor and talking so loudly and some of the staff were arguing and yelling across the room! We asked our waitress and the bus boy several times to ask them to please keep it down. Every time they would then peek over the curtain to see who was complaining. And then they would start up again. They had NO regard for us what so ever. Our romantic Anniversary dinner was NOT romantic at all.

I ordered the mozzarella and arugula salad for an appetizer and it came under a huge pile of arugula and some small pieces of mozzarella. Way TOO much arugula. There was not enough dressing and it was also flavorless.

I can't complain about my steak and my husband's dinner was fine. We LOVE this property (even though the pond water was a disgusting green this time) , but we would be hard pressed to ever go back again. When the manager came over and asked if everything was fine, I said yes. That is my fault for not speaking up, but we were in a big hurry to leave.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Nice pre-Xmas brunch

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 13, 2015

We had a great time with great food and very friendly service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the Greatest Restaurants in Aruba

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 19, 2015

We go to Aruba each year for two weeks and eat most of our meals out. This restaurant has become an annual visit during our stay. This past visit, we had the same table and waiter as previous years and were not disappointed at all. Everything was great. We were a group of 4 that had both sea food and steak, all of which was outstanding. We look forward to our next visit to the island and also to Ruinas Del Mar

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch!!! Best in Aruba! Glenna is ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Great Brunch!!! Best in Aruba! Glenna is the best waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch Bummer

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2015

Decided to try Brunch with special friend before they headed to the airport... $57.00 US per person was a little steep but give the hotel's rep thought would try. It was a complete let down... the carving station roast beef was overcooked. The morning buffet at Marriott is better at 1/2 the price... If you don't plan to have mimosas forget going!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Big Birthday Celebration

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2015

This was a 60th birthday celebration! Requested a table with view and was not disappointed. The black swans floating by throughout the entire meal while watching the ocean sunset was a great experience. The service could have been better as well (my husband asked for drawn butter for our lobster which never showed up; ditto with his coffee refill). The food was the most disappointing part of the meal but the setting almost made up for it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great Restaurant

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2015

Every meal we had at this restaurant was delicious. The amount of food served is generous.

The serving staff is extremely friendly and efficient. The Sunday Brunch is outrageously

good. Seating is both indoors and outside with a wonderful view of the water and the well

manicured grounds.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great romantic place

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2015

Great romantic place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Complete disappointment

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 16, 2015

My family and I have been vacationing in Aruba for more than 20 years. We look forward to the Sunday Brunch at this restaurant, and make sure to make reservations well in advance. Unfortunately, this year will be our last. First, the price has nearly doubled. That's fine if the quality of the food improves porportionately. It did not. Second, there were so many people allowed into the buffet at one time, it was impossible to actually get close to the food tables. The supply of plates was not replenished quickly and some of the patrons were very beligerant. With the exception of our servers, Lucy and Luis, without whom the expeience would have been a disaster, we all were totally disappointed and will NEVER return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

Very nice restaurant.

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 26, 2015

Very delicious food.Sunday Branch is nice for groups.The best thing is ambient.I will go again for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.