About Ruffino’s on the River

921 Camellia Blvd
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Ruffino's on the River is located in Lafayette, LA.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:40pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 11 am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Caliste Saloom and Johnston St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 706-7333

Website:
http://www.ruffinoslafayette.com/

Catering:
You don't have to host your party at Ruffino's to get the great food and service you are accustomed to at the restaurant. We will cater casual, formal, corporate or private celebrations and events. Our priority is making sure your special occasion is one you will never forget, and it is our promise to accommodate any special requests or needs you may have.

Executive Chef:
Peter Sclafani III

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Make Ruffino's on the River your choice for birthday's, anniversaries, speaker programs, rehearsal dinners or business meetings. We can accommodate private parties up to 100 guests in a variety of settings.

Ruffino’s on the River Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
New Orleans / Louisiana
Special Occasion
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole
New Orleans / Louisiana
5 More
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

Special Occasion (84)
Romantic (68)
Scenic View (55)
See All
Good for Groups (46)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Notable Wine List (35)
Hot Spot (32)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Great for Brunch (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for a Date (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Waterfront (6)
Casual (5)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious appetizer combination. Very g ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious appetizer combination. Very good wedge salad. Nice cold drinks. Excellent desserts. Cotton candy at the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal. It was our anniver ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great meal. It was our anniversary, but we brought our 5 year old son with us. We sat on the deck which had a portable air conditioner running outside so it was comfortable. Our son was able to play outside while we enjoyed our date, then came up to eat his pizza with us when dinner arrived. It was a wonderful evening and the staff was super accommodating to both our son, and the celebration of our anniversary.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and the service was fabulous. W ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and the service was fabulous. We were visiting from out of town and would definitely go back if we are ever in the area again

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the worse service I have ever e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This was the worse service I have ever experienced in a restaurant of this caliber. I can appreciate when a server is busy, but in this case, the wait staff did not check on us from the time our food was delivered until the time out food was finished. The restaurant was NOT busy at this time, in fact, the young man responsible for our beverages was seen at his station playing the entire time we were there. My wife's drink and mine were both empty from the time our food was delivered to the time we ate our last bite. This was probably our 12th visit here and quite possibly our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was excellent and food was exqui ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Service was excellent and food was exquisite!!!! Would definitely return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Family Style, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very beautiful , delicious dinner. Servi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very beautiful , delicious dinner. Service was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time experience At Ru ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was our first time experience At Ruffino's on the River the food and the service were both excellent. Everything was so romantic and the waiters were also very respectful and very detailed with the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were great! The music was t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The servers were great! The music was too loud. We had Sunday Brunch and I found the food just okay. Nothing special..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Our evening was very nice. Service was p ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our evening was very nice. Service was perfect. Food is delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had a wonderful evening. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My family and I had a wonderful evening. The food was outstanding. They make you feel very special.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Fireplace, Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were excellent. We wil ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service and food were excellent. We will be back the steak was to die for. Excellent waiter and server. Thanks again.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork cheeks are one of the best thin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The pork cheeks are one of the best things I've ever eaten at a restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy our visits to Ruffino"s. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to Ruffino"s. the food is excellent and the service always first class. We especially like to sit at the bar and watch the chefs prepare the dishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant, the atmosphere, and the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The restaurant, the atmosphere, and the service was beyond incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Was there with a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent experience. Was there with a party of six to celebrate my son's 24th birthday. Wait-staff was very attentive but not overbearing. Food was very good (albeit pricey).

My 5-year-old granddaughter was allowed to create her own pizza and she especially enjoyed the cotton candy served to each table after the meal.

Prior to going there (second visit), we were unsure as to whether it would be a good experience for young family members and we found that it truly was.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I celebrated our wedding ann ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary for the second consecutive year at Ruffinos. Both were very memorable experiences. We enjoyed the food very much and the service was excellent. We would definitely recommend Ruffinos to anyone in search of fine dinning.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding service! Young waiters who w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Outstanding service! Young waiters who were attentive and friendly. Then, we met the General Manager who gave us his card and walked us out! This is a restaurant (leadership and staff) who truly understand professionalism and personal service. Can't wait to return. Oh, and food options were quite diverse and tasty!

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service personel were wonderful: bri ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service personel were wonderful: bright spirited, genuinely interested in you having a good dining experience, knowledgeable, prompt and appropriately attentive. The food we ordered was delicious and well presented. Overall, my wife and I found the experience somewhat pricey, especially the cocktails we had before dinner. The menu did not indicate the price. In short, we would only want to dine here on very special occasions. The main complaint we had about the ambiance was the noise level. I would not want to dine here with a group because conversation among several people would be a strain. Otherwise, the ambiance was pleasant and tasteful in appearance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reasonable prices if you order reasonabl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Reasonable prices if you order reasonable food, i always splurge but our meal was fantastic, 2 people, amazing dry aged steaks, best dry aged ive ever had, excelently cooked and seasoned oysters for an appitizer, and some finely made cocktails for $150 before tip. Completely worth it with the unmatched level of service we received. Just the bread and dip is worthy of its own spot on the menu. Without a doubt we will be returning there and im highly dissappinted with myself for never going before.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding service and delicious cuisin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Outstanding service and delicious cuisine! Two thumbs UP!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I experienced the toughest prime rib eve ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I experienced the toughest prime rib ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Very nice, great service!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very nice, great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a great time at Ruffino's. We di ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a great time at Ruffino's. We did have trouble hearing each other, it was a bit noisy in the restaurant and that would be the only complaint. Food and Service was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mac and Courtney were an outstanding tea ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Mac and Courtney were an outstanding team. The food was exceptional, we tried two of the brunch specials and were very pleased - Blueberry crepes and the French Toast. Service was outstanding and they were very knowledgeable. Made us feel valued and the price was perfect considering the great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The host stand seemed hectic, and unders ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The host stand seemed hectic, and understandably so as the restaurant seemed to be packed. However, we arrived about 15 minutes before our reservation and were seated 10 minutes after our reserved time. They offered us a bar top table (not ideal for a special occasion) but failed to mention available seating outside. It wasn't until a couple with a time after us came in and were immediately seated that we realized we could (had to) ask to sit outside.

I had to give the food 3 stars because what I initially ordered as an entree was awful! This was the first time I've ever sent back a dish. However, we weren't charged for meal sent back and what I ordered in its place was so delicious!

The soup and desserts we ordered were so good, and the wait staff was incredibly kind. Steve, Courtney, and Alex were a great team!

Overall, I would eat here again, but the things that did go wrong went wrong enough that a damper was left on our dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Enjoyable Night. Thank You and the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very Enjoyable Night.

Thank You and the Staff The Food was great. The atmosphere was perfect. The view of the river was relaxing and the Service unsurpassed.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only complaint we have was that we h ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The only complaint we have was that we had reservations then were seated in the bar instead of the restaurant. We were then moved to a table right near the waiter stand, which was very noisy because the waiters were carrying on private conversations directly adjacent to us.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We chose Ruffino's because of great past ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We chose Ruffino's because of great past experiences. In the month of August, lobster specials were advertised, and we were anxious to give them a try as we have missed the readily available lobster while we lived in Massachusetts. We tried the Lobster Egg Rolls and the Lobster Mushrooms; both were disappointing. The egg rolls had a sliver of lobster of lobster, which was overpowered by the seasonings and sauce. The same could be said for the stuffed mushrooms, which were dominated by thyme, and the lobster was miniscule. Much like crab meat, lobster is best experienced with a minimum of seasoning. Also, there were no whole lobster offerings. We ordered of the regular menu for the rest of the meal, which we enjoyed. Perhaps the highlight of the meal was the server, McKenzie. She is an absolute delight, and we will be certain to ask for her when next we go.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Really liked the bread, I wish the serve ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Really liked the bread, I wish the servers would tell you how to mix up the olive oil and cheese and whatever else

It was a little too strong of flavoring to dip the French bread

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I attended the restaurant for the first ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I attended the restaurant for the first time to celebrate my 27th birthday. I was beyond amazed at how knowledgable and attentive the wait staff was. Hostess were helpful and friendly. I will most definitely be back in the very near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent evening with my wife, our anni ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

excellent evening with my wife, our anniversary was fantastic due to the staff, it was a bit loud in the dining area, but overall I would rate it a 10

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The dinner was excellent and the lobster ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The dinner was excellent and the lobster special was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great lobster festival. Food was wonderf ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great lobster festival. Food was wonderfully done. Service was lacking. I know our waitress had two big tables, but we ran out of drinks twice and had to finally ask for some water. With all the bus people that should never happen. The service in baton rouge is much better. Thx kent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

It was my finance's 33rd birthday and th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was my finance's 33rd birthday and the staff went out of their way to keep his surprise guest a secret as well as a surprise cake! They were so nice and very attentive to our needs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food item on fork food items in wine men ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food item on fork food items in wine menue human hair on table this is the what the table was like when we were seated three course lobster meal was mediocre at best we ate at Ruffino's in the past this was the worst experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

For a number of years my wife and I had ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

For a number of years my wife and I had been going to another restaurant in another town to celebrate our anniversary. We recently decided to try Ruffino's on the River this year. We were not disappointed. We absolutely loved the evening. The staff, the wine, the food, the view and the whole feel of Ruffino's makes it our new anniversary and special occasion dining choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the crabmeat cheesecake! Wonderful ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love the crabmeat cheesecake! Wonderful service and fabulous food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We received excellent service, wonderful ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We received excellent service, wonderful food. A great evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food & waitstaff exceptional!! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good food & waitstaff exceptional!! Very nice restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations for Friday night 7:0 ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I made reservations for Friday night 7:00p.m. We were seated quickly and the service was instant. As the meal progress service sort of slacked. We had to ask for more drinks water etc. But, nothing to stop us from returning. The meal was really good. One of us had a whole fried fish. It was the best thing at the table. Everyone tried it and loved it. Steaks were good and cooked to order. So, everything went great. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give it a 8. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.