About Ruffino’s on the River

921 Camellia Blvd
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Ruffino's on the River is located in Lafayette, LA.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:40pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 11 am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Caliste Saloom and Johnston St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 706-7333

Website:
http://www.ruffinoslafayette.com/

Catering:
You don't have to host your party at Ruffino's to get the great food and service you are accustomed to at the restaurant. We will cater casual, formal, corporate or private celebrations and events. Our priority is making sure your special occasion is one you will never forget, and it is our promise to accommodate any special requests or needs you may have.

Executive Chef:
Peter Sclafani III

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Make Ruffino's on the River your choice for birthday's, anniversaries, speaker programs, rehearsal dinners or business meetings. We can accommodate private parties up to 100 guests in a variety of settings.

Ruffino’s on the River Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
3 More
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Special Occasion
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

special occasion (86)
romantic (58)
scenic view (54)
See All
good for groups (43)
notable wine list (39)
fit for foodies (39)
hot spot (34)
great for outdoor dining (31)
vibrant bar scene (22)
neighborhood gem (19)
great for brunch (19)
great for lunch (18)
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (12)
Sort By:
Newest
208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Business acquaintance in from out of tow ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Business acquaintance in from out of town & requested the best overall dining experience in Lafayette. Pressure was on, but I knew just the place - Ruffino's on the River! She was difficult but quite impressed. So was I, as usual. Thanks!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service. Second to none. Enjoye ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service. Second to none. Enjoyed the meal and the service very much. And a wonderful wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything exceeded our expectations... ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything exceeded our expectations... It was awesome and we will definitely be back

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the perfect place for a special ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is the perfect place for a special celebration. The staff makes you feel special from the moment you arrive. The food adapts perfectly to any special needs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

45day aged 16oz ribeye was the best ive ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

45day aged 16oz ribeye was the best ive ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WAIT STAFF WAS FABULOUS AND HELPFUL. HA ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

WAIT STAFF WAS FABULOUS AND HELPFUL. HAVE BEEN TO RUFFINOS ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AND WE ARE NEVER DISAPPOINTED WITH THE STAFF NOR THE FOOD.

IT WAS A BIT NOISY AND THE MUSIC WAS ON THE LOUD SIDE WE FOUND.

STILL AN OUTSTANDING NIGHT.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service! Staff was ve ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic food and service! Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was spectacular! We ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service and food was spectacular! We enjoyed our night and we can't wait to go back! Thanks for making our 3rd anniversary so special!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation , but still had to ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a reservation , but still had to wait just a few minutes. They told us we could grab a drink at the bar if we would like and they could text us when the table was ready. That was fantastic! We didn't have to carry around one of those clunky squares waiting for it to light up and vibrate. Our wait staff was super friendly and attentive. We will definitely go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. My wife and I w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great dining experience. My wife and I were very impressed with the food and the staff. We plan on going again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was great and flawless. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was great and flawless. The food was awesome, great flavor and quality. We met some nice and positive people who were sitting at a table next to us and had a great conversation with them the whole entire time. The waiters were really helpful with drinks and food choice and answered all our questions with a good and understandable explanation.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect every time. Best res ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Absolutely perfect every time. Best restaurant in Lafayette hands down.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband took me to Ruffino's for my b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband took me to Ruffino's for my birthday. The food was fabulous. The service was phenomenal. The whole experience was just beyond what I could have asked for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here and the food was great. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

First time here and the food was great. The cotton candy was a treat. All in all good food, good good wine good company. And you could carry on a conversation.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Servers were on point and attentive. W ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Servers were on point and attentive. We had two extra guests joined and they worked it out with no problem.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent in every way. All the staff is ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent in every way. All the staff is very attentive and management is very involved with the guest experience. Great place to dine.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made this reservation the morning of o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I made this reservation the morning of our anniversary. I called at 2:00 to make sure the restaurant had our reservation, along with my request for a table out of traffic areas and with a view. We were seated at a table in the middle of the room. I pointed out the two open tables along the window and was told those were reserved. Apparently they lost my request between 2:00 and 7:00. The irritation I felt spoiled the rest of the evening.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good but expensive. Great appetizer ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very good but expensive. Great appetizers and salads

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant that never disappoints.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I can always count on having a good time, with great food and wine, in a very nice atmosphere when I eat at Ruffinos. It never disappoints. The quality of the food and service and ambience of the surroundings is fabulous.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was de-lish!! Service was great! The table was ready when we got there and we didn't feel rushed!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing. However I called ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Everything was amazing. However I called twice the next day and spoke with Brittany about receiving a duplicate receipt for my credit card transaction because it was lost and she told me twice she would email it to me plus she would call me back with verification and it never has happened. I then called again two days later She told me it was not a problem to get me a copy of my receipt. She never called me back. This took place on June 7

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Consisstant Quality

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

It is always nice to return to an establishment where you have had great experiences in "dining" to find that it has not changed. Such is the case for Ruffino's. The service, food, and ambiance makes for a great change from the places where the server comes to the table and says, "Ya know whatcha want?" Three separate servers watch from your every want from water, extra bread, and make certain that your Mimosa glass never runs dry.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine suggestion by the waiter was very n ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Wine suggestion by the waiter was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Service and quality of food.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Service and quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like this restaurant!! So delicious

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I like this restaurant!! So delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was okay, but at those prices, okay isn't good enough. Soup was barely warm, had a skin on top from cooling before being brought to the table.

Both of our servers - Steven and Courtney- were excellent.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Table location was not good...very high ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Table location was not good...very high traffic area with due to waiter staff serving location & customers going from bar area to restrooms & other locations....had people standing next to table carrying on casual conversations which was very annoying. Noise level was extremely high & the very loud "big band" music got to be a little too much as the evening went on. Food was good & waiter service was good. Need to think about removing the table from that location. Would definitely not allow myself to be seated there again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Great time for my wife's birthday! Aweso ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great time for my wife's birthday! Awesome staff and the meal was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Any restaurant that offers 99 dollar bottles of Cakebread.....you better jump on that.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This place was fantastic!! The food was delicious and the service was top notch. Will definitely be visiting again ....

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor quality.

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The steak was tPugh and fibrous. I had reservation but was seated at bar. Chefs arguing. Waiters attentive. Bad experience at a high price.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent service, 238.00 for my wife, m ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent service, 238.00 for my wife, myself and two daughters, a bit in the pricey side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Food and service excellent. Nice ambienc ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Food and service excellent. Nice ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gone Bad

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I don't know, two trips to Ruffinos in two week and both times the food and service was well below par !! We had pizza and the chicken pasta, both were dry, overcooked and lacked real taste or depth. It used to be really good when they first opened but now its way off the mark, we will not be back !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Home Run

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Went to Ruffino's with colleagues for a business meal while in Lafayette for a trade show. Very inviting setting with moderate noise level so that you can conduct business. Wait staff was exceptional and brought food out to everyone at the same time with multiple wait staff. Very impressive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. FINALLY A STEAK ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food and service. FINALLY A STEAK COOKED EXACTLY HOW YOU ORDER IT... Great job! Reservation was at 8:15, we were seated immediately upon arrival. Wait staff (3 in total) were very prompt and educated on food. My steak was very good and my wife order the Redfish which I have eaten more than my share of Redfish but the fish tasted incredible. It's a five star restaurant, and you get five star service and food. Highly recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dissapointing

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Ordered a steak from the Ruffino's Prime menu and was really disappointed, it was fatty, grizzly and certainly not a patch on Ruth Chris. Potatoes au Gratin came and were burnt on the top and half cooked underneath. My daughter had the salmon which was grossly overcooked, again not good !! Service and wine was great but overall, really disappointing. Restaurant was not overly busy so there should be no excuses for under cooked food or fatty, grizzly steaks. Maybe this was an off night but I wont be dining there for a while !!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

too expensive

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

too expensive and while the wait staff tries to emulate a high end restaurant it just doesn't come off

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

28th anniversary dinner

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The meal was delicious and the service was remarkable. I will go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dishes prepared with great talent

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Ruffinos exceeds our expectations each time we dine there. We live 2 1/2 hours away and make this drive for dinner or date night because it is simply that great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.