About Ruffino’s on the River

921 Camellia Blvd
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Ruffino's on the River is located in Lafayette, LA.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:40pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 11 am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Caliste Saloom and Johnston St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 706-7333

Website:
http://www.ruffinoslafayette.com/

Catering:
You don't have to host your party at Ruffino's to get the great food and service you are accustomed to at the restaurant. We will cater casual, formal, corporate or private celebrations and events. Our priority is making sure your special occasion is one you will never forget, and it is our promise to accommodate any special requests or needs you may have.

Executive Chef:
Peter Sclafani III

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Make Ruffino's on the River your choice for birthday's, anniversaries, speaker programs, rehearsal dinners or business meetings. We can accommodate private parties up to 100 guests in a variety of settings.

Ruffino’s on the River Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
Lafayette
3 More
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

Special Occasion (95)
Romantic (70)
Scenic View (67)
See All
Fit for Foodies (51)
Good for Groups (46)
Notable Wine List (43)
Hot Spot (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Great for Brunch (21)
Great for Lunch (17)
Late-night Find (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Sort By:
Newest
233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding service and delicious cuisin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service and delicious cuisine! Two thumbs UP!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I experienced the toughest prime rib eve ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I experienced the toughest prime rib ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Very nice, great service!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very nice, great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a great time at Ruffino's. We di ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a great time at Ruffino's. We did have trouble hearing each other, it was a bit noisy in the restaurant and that would be the only complaint. Food and Service was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mac and Courtney were an outstanding tea ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Mac and Courtney were an outstanding team. The food was exceptional, we tried two of the brunch specials and were very pleased - Blueberry crepes and the French Toast. Service was outstanding and they were very knowledgeable. Made us feel valued and the price was perfect considering the great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The host stand seemed hectic, and unders ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The host stand seemed hectic, and understandably so as the restaurant seemed to be packed. However, we arrived about 15 minutes before our reservation and were seated 10 minutes after our reserved time. They offered us a bar top table (not ideal for a special occasion) but failed to mention available seating outside. It wasn't until a couple with a time after us came in and were immediately seated that we realized we could (had to) ask to sit outside.

I had to give the food 3 stars because what I initially ordered as an entree was awful! This was the first time I've ever sent back a dish. However, we weren't charged for meal sent back and what I ordered in its place was so delicious!

The soup and desserts we ordered were so good, and the wait staff was incredibly kind. Steve, Courtney, and Alex were a great team!

Overall, I would eat here again, but the things that did go wrong went wrong enough that a damper was left on our dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Enjoyable Night. Thank You and the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very Enjoyable Night.

Thank You and the Staff The Food was great. The atmosphere was perfect. The view of the river was relaxing and the Service unsurpassed.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only complaint we have was that we h ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The only complaint we have was that we had reservations then were seated in the bar instead of the restaurant. We were then moved to a table right near the waiter stand, which was very noisy because the waiters were carrying on private conversations directly adjacent to us.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We chose Ruffino's because of great past ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We chose Ruffino's because of great past experiences. In the month of August, lobster specials were advertised, and we were anxious to give them a try as we have missed the readily available lobster while we lived in Massachusetts. We tried the Lobster Egg Rolls and the Lobster Mushrooms; both were disappointing. The egg rolls had a sliver of lobster of lobster, which was overpowered by the seasonings and sauce. The same could be said for the stuffed mushrooms, which were dominated by thyme, and the lobster was miniscule. Much like crab meat, lobster is best experienced with a minimum of seasoning. Also, there were no whole lobster offerings. We ordered of the regular menu for the rest of the meal, which we enjoyed. Perhaps the highlight of the meal was the server, McKenzie. She is an absolute delight, and we will be certain to ask for her when next we go.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Really liked the bread, I wish the serve ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Really liked the bread, I wish the servers would tell you how to mix up the olive oil and cheese and whatever else

It was a little too strong of flavoring to dip the French bread

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I attended the restaurant for the first ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I attended the restaurant for the first time to celebrate my 27th birthday. I was beyond amazed at how knowledgable and attentive the wait staff was. Hostess were helpful and friendly. I will most definitely be back in the very near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent evening with my wife, our anni ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

excellent evening with my wife, our anniversary was fantastic due to the staff, it was a bit loud in the dining area, but overall I would rate it a 10

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The dinner was excellent and the lobster ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The dinner was excellent and the lobster special was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great lobster festival. Food was wonderf ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great lobster festival. Food was wonderfully done. Service was lacking. I know our waitress had two big tables, but we ran out of drinks twice and had to finally ask for some water. With all the bus people that should never happen. The service in baton rouge is much better. Thx kent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

It was my finance's 33rd birthday and th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was my finance's 33rd birthday and the staff went out of their way to keep his surprise guest a secret as well as a surprise cake! They were so nice and very attentive to our needs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food item on fork food items in wine men ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food item on fork food items in wine menue human hair on table this is the what the table was like when we were seated three course lobster meal was mediocre at best we ate at Ruffino's in the past this was the worst experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

For a number of years my wife and I had ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

For a number of years my wife and I had been going to another restaurant in another town to celebrate our anniversary. We recently decided to try Ruffino's on the River this year. We were not disappointed. We absolutely loved the evening. The staff, the wine, the food, the view and the whole feel of Ruffino's makes it our new anniversary and special occasion dining choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the crabmeat cheesecake! Wonderful ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love the crabmeat cheesecake! Wonderful service and fabulous food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We received excellent service, wonderful ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We received excellent service, wonderful food. A great evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food & waitstaff exceptional!! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good food & waitstaff exceptional!! Very nice restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations for Friday night 7:0 ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I made reservations for Friday night 7:00p.m. We were seated quickly and the service was instant. As the meal progress service sort of slacked. We had to ask for more drinks water etc. But, nothing to stop us from returning. The meal was really good. One of us had a whole fried fish. It was the best thing at the table. Everyone tried it and loved it. Steaks were good and cooked to order. So, everything went great. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give it a 8. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful spot. Will definitely go agai ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful spot. Will definitely go again. Sit at the kitchen bar and enjoy some treats from the kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Ruffino's to celebrate my hus ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We went to Ruffino's to celebrate my husband's birthday. It was a very pleasant dining experience. The service was the best. No way it could have been any better. The food and wine were very good also. Probably the nicest surprise was the Happy Birthday dessert at the end of our meal. That was actually the best dessert I have ever tasted at a restaurant. The word "sin" is in the title for a reason...lol

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Business acquaintance in from out of tow ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Business acquaintance in from out of town & requested the best overall dining experience in Lafayette. Pressure was on, but I knew just the place - Ruffino's on the River! She was difficult but quite impressed. So was I, as usual. Thanks!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service. Second to none. Enjoye ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food and service. Second to none. Enjoyed the meal and the service very much. And a wonderful wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything exceeded our expectations... ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything exceeded our expectations... It was awesome and we will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the perfect place for a special ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is the perfect place for a special celebration. The staff makes you feel special from the moment you arrive. The food adapts perfectly to any special needs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

45day aged 16oz ribeye was the best ive ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

45day aged 16oz ribeye was the best ive ever eaten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WAIT STAFF WAS FABULOUS AND HELPFUL. HA ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

WAIT STAFF WAS FABULOUS AND HELPFUL. HAVE BEEN TO RUFFINOS ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AND WE ARE NEVER DISAPPOINTED WITH THE STAFF NOR THE FOOD.

IT WAS A BIT NOISY AND THE MUSIC WAS ON THE LOUD SIDE WE FOUND.

STILL AN OUTSTANDING NIGHT.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service! Staff was ve ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic food and service! Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was spectacular! We ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service and food was spectacular! We enjoyed our night and we can't wait to go back! Thanks for making our 3rd anniversary so special!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation , but still had to ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a reservation , but still had to wait just a few minutes. They told us we could grab a drink at the bar if we would like and they could text us when the table was ready. That was fantastic! We didn't have to carry around one of those clunky squares waiting for it to light up and vibrate. Our wait staff was super friendly and attentive. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. My wife and I w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great dining experience. My wife and I were very impressed with the food and the staff. We plan on going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was great and flawless. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was great and flawless. The food was awesome, great flavor and quality. We met some nice and positive people who were sitting at a table next to us and had a great conversation with them the whole entire time. The waiters were really helpful with drinks and food choice and answered all our questions with a good and understandable explanation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect every time. Best res ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Absolutely perfect every time. Best restaurant in Lafayette hands down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband took me to Ruffino's for my b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My husband took me to Ruffino's for my birthday. The food was fabulous. The service was phenomenal. The whole experience was just beyond what I could have asked for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here and the food was great. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

First time here and the food was great. The cotton candy was a treat. All in all good food, good good wine good company. And you could carry on a conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Servers were on point and attentive. W ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Servers were on point and attentive. We had two extra guests joined and they worked it out with no problem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent in every way. All the staff is ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent in every way. All the staff is very attentive and management is very involved with the guest experience. Great place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made this reservation the morning of o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I made this reservation the morning of our anniversary. I called at 2:00 to make sure the restaurant had our reservation, along with my request for a table out of traffic areas and with a view. We were seated at a table in the middle of the room. I pointed out the two open tables along the window and was told those were reserved. Apparently they lost my request between 2:00 and 7:00. The irritation I felt spoiled the rest of the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.