About Ruffino’s on the River

921 Camellia Blvd
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Ruffino's on the River is located in Lafayette, LA.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:40pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Caliste Saloom and Johnston St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 706-7333

Website:
http://www.ruffinoslafayette.com/

Catering:
You don't have to host your party at Ruffino's to get the great food and service you are accustomed to at the restaurant. We will cater casual, formal, corporate or private celebrations and events. Our priority is making sure your special occasion is one you will never forget, and it is our promise to accommodate any special requests or needs you may have.

Executive Chef:
Peter Sclafani III

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Make Ruffino's on the River your choice for birthday's, anniversaries, speaker programs, rehearsal dinners or business meetings. We can accommodate private parties up to 100 guests in a variety of settings.

Ruffino’s on the River Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
Lafayette
4 More
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Special Occasion
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

special occasion (90)
romantic (65)
scenic view (56)
See All
fit for foodies (44)
good for groups (44)
notable wine list (37)
hot spot (36)
great for outdoor dining (31)
vibrant bar scene (30)
great for brunch (24)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for lunch (17)
kid-friendly (14)
late-night find (14)
Sort By:
Newest
192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent in every way. All the staff is ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent in every way. All the staff is very attentive and management is very involved with the guest experience. Great place to dine.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I made this reservation the morning of o ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I made this reservation the morning of our anniversary. I called at 2:00 to make sure the restaurant had our reservation, along with my request for a table out of traffic areas and with a view. We were seated at a table in the middle of the room. I pointed out the two open tables along the window and was told those were reserved. Apparently they lost my request between 2:00 and 7:00. The irritation I felt spoiled the rest of the evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good but expensive. Great appetizer ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Very good but expensive. Great appetizers and salads

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant that never disappoints.

Dined on June 10, 2016

I can always count on having a good time, with great food and wine, in a very nice atmosphere when I eat at Ruffinos. It never disappoints. The quality of the food and service and ambience of the surroundings is fabulous.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was de-lish!! Service was great! The table was ready when we got there and we didn't feel rushed!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was amazing. However I called ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Everything was amazing. However I called twice the next day and spoke with Brittany about receiving a duplicate receipt for my credit card transaction because it was lost and she told me twice she would email it to me plus she would call me back with verification and it never has happened. I then called again two days later She told me it was not a problem to get me a copy of my receipt. She never called me back. This took place on June 7

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consisstant Quality

Dined on May 22, 2016

It is always nice to return to an establishment where you have had great experiences in "dining" to find that it has not changed. Such is the case for Ruffino's. The service, food, and ambiance makes for a great change from the places where the server comes to the table and says, "Ya know whatcha want?" Three separate servers watch from your every want from water, extra bread, and make certain that your Mimosa glass never runs dry.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Wine suggestion by the waiter was very n ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wine suggestion by the waiter was very nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service and quality of food.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Service and quality of food.

food5
ambience5
service5

I like this restaurant!! So delicious

Dined on May 8, 2016

I like this restaurant!! So delicious

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointing

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was okay, but at those prices, okay isn't good enough. Soup was barely warm, had a skin on top from cooling before being brought to the table. Both of our servers - Steven and Courtney- were excellent.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Table location was not good...very high ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Table location was not good...very high traffic area with due to waiter staff serving location & customers going from bar area to restrooms & other locations....had people standing next to table carrying on casual conversations which was very annoying. Noise level was extremely high & the very loud "big band" music got to be a little too much as the evening went on. Food was good & waiter service was good. Need to think about removing the table from that location. Would definitely not allow myself to be seated there again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time for my wife's birthday! Aweso ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great time for my wife's birthday! Awesome staff and the meal was delicious

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Food

Dined on May 6, 2016

Any restaurant that offers 99 dollar bottles of Cakebread.....you better jump on that.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on May 1, 2016

This place was fantastic!! The food was delicious and the service was top notch. Will definitely be visiting again ....

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Poor quality.

Dined on April 30, 2016

The steak was tPugh and fibrous. I had reservation but was seated at bar. Chefs arguing. Waiters attentive. Bad experience at a high price.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, 238.00 for my wife, m ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent service, 238.00 for my wife, myself and two daughters, a bit in the pricey side.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service excellent. Nice ambienc ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Food and service excellent. Nice ambience.

food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Gone Bad

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I don't know, two trips to Ruffinos in two week and both times the food and service was well below par !! We had pizza and the chicken pasta, both were dry, overcooked and lacked real taste or depth. It used to be really good when they first opened but now its way off the mark, we will not be back !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Home Run

Dined on April 12, 2016

Went to Ruffino's with colleagues for a business meal while in Lafayette for a trade show. Very inviting setting with moderate noise level so that you can conduct business. Wait staff was exceptional and brought food out to everyone at the same time with multiple wait staff. Very impressive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. FINALLY A STEAK ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food and service. FINALLY A STEAK COOKED EXACTLY HOW YOU ORDER IT... Great job! Reservation was at 8:15, we were seated immediately upon arrival. Wait staff (3 in total) were very prompt and educated on food. My steak was very good and my wife order the Redfish which I have eaten more than my share of Redfish but the fish tasted incredible. It's a five star restaurant, and you get five star service and food. Highly recommend to anyone.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Dissapointing

Dined on April 10, 2016

Ordered a steak from the Ruffino's Prime menu and was really disappointed, it was fatty, grizzly and certainly not a patch on Ruth Chris. Potatoes au Gratin came and were burnt on the top and half cooked underneath. My daughter had the salmon which was grossly overcooked, again not good !! Service and wine was great but overall, really disappointing. Restaurant was not overly busy so there should be no excuses for under cooked food or fatty, grizzly steaks. Maybe this was an off night but I wont be dining there for a while !!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

too expensive

Dined on April 8, 2016

too expensive and while the wait staff tries to emulate a high end restaurant it just doesn't come off

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

28th anniversary dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

The meal was delicious and the service was remarkable. I will go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dishes prepared with great talent

Dined on March 25, 2016

Ruffinos exceeds our expectations each time we dine there. We live 2 1/2 hours away and make this drive for dinner or date night because it is simply that great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've Found a New Favorite

Dined on March 21, 2016

We are sometimes considered overly critical of restaurants. We want the same thing everyone does does great food, ambiance and service and we know we've found it at Ruffino's. What a magnificent place. We arrived before 6:00 pm and that was good because the place fills fast. Although there is what seems like ample parking, when we left, cars were parked on the grass and every place possible. The service was just as one would expect when seeking fine dining. There were three different servers watching over your needs, but not hovering. My wife had the Crab Crusted Shrimp and I had the Oven Roasted Oysters. WOW! For the entree she had the Seafood Aubrey, and I had the Cedar Plank Redfish. Both were absolutely wonderful. Our server was Lena. Ask for her.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem of a restaurant!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Eat here often. The entire staff from the Mgmt, wait staff and buss persons are ALWAYS warm and friendly. Even those that aren't waiting on you particularly still give you the attention as if they were. The food is always aesthetically pleasing and quite palatable. I absolutely love going to Ruffino's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and the service was outstanding!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Food and the service was outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Client Meeting

Dined on March 18, 2016

Our dinner party had a corner table which allow us to conduct business more privately. The service was excellent and everyone enjoyed their meals, including the red wine. I will certainly have dinner there again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

All three servers were excellent. They w ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

All three servers were excellent. They were professional, attentive and very friendly. You could tell that they sincerely cared about our dining experience. Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

Went for my birthday & it was awesome!! Music, food, weather, service all great

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

They need more tables

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a reservation for two at 8:45 and weren't seated until 9:23. They could possible use more staff because the table they seated at was vacant for 15 minutes. I could see it and a few others open while we waited. Other than that I've had good experiences here and will give it another try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on March 12, 2016

I made a reservation but was told I would have a 1 hour wait for a table unless I would sit in the bar. My party of 5 adults were seated at a table suited for 3. It was very uncomfortable. There was barely any room for food on the table. Our waiter told us he would not be able to be very attentive as they were so busy!!!The fried crab claws were tiny and burnt to a crisp. We would have sent them back had we seen the waiter promptly. Although most of the food is excellent I hesitate to recommend this establishment as their service needs to improve.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

The fish dinners are fabulous!

Dined on March 9, 2016

The fish dinners are fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We give it a 10!

Dined on March 6, 2016

My husband an I could not have had a better experience! The food, service, drinks, menu selection......everything was over the top! We will recommend this place to everyone we talk to! We give it a 10 for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, service and staff!!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Wonderful food, service and staff!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular venue for our dad's 82nd bir ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

Spectacular venue for our dad's 82nd birthday. The Santander and managers went above and beyond the norm to welcome us and raise the bar on service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great venue and great restauranteur

Dined on February 28, 2016

Ruffino's is a wonderful place and we enjoyed being part of their first brunch. The New Orleans style music and lively wait staff made me feel like spring was coming. the food was delightful as always. Lafayette is a great restaurant town and Ruffino's is one of our top places.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Date Night

Dined on February 28, 2016

The wait staff was courteous and informative about the menu and the daily specials. We had the shrimp corn dogs and asian calamari as appetizers. I had a medium rare 16 ounce ribeye steak, and may wife had the flounder (I think was on special). My favor part is sharing the bread pudding with the wifey, and cup of cappuccino. We will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb experience

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our anniversary was a couple of days before but this was the spot we chose for our yearly dinner. To start the hostess was very professional and told us nicely to sit tight while they prepped our table. Once seated which we only waited maybe 5 minutes, we were quickly given water and ordered drinks with our drink service waitress. That's the thing you get three waiter/waitresses while dining. One for drinks, one for bread/help, and the food expert. After drinks were ordered we also got bread with and amazing garlic balsamic vinegar butter. It was so good. Then our last and final waitress gave us menus and told us the specials. They made the experience so amazing. Asked us what brought us out and made sure to make it special for our special occasion. My husband ordered the special which was called cullots, and he loved it. Said the taste was super great! I ordered the filet mignon, talk about mouth watering. We also ordered appetizers which was the 4 best ones they had as a special. They were also to die for! Then last but not least the dessert which was sin cake! Sin is right it was so rich and delicate. Chocolate fudge like. I highly recommend it. Ruffinos was absolutely amazing and I would recommend to anyone! It deserves more than 5 stars but that is all that I am allowed! Go try it if you haven't yet!

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.