About Ruffino’s on the River

921 Camellia Blvd
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Ruffino's on the River is located in Lafayette, LA.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:40pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 11 am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Caliste Saloom and Johnston St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 706-7333

Website:
http://www.ruffinoslafayette.com/

Catering:
You don't have to host your party at Ruffino's to get the great food and service you are accustomed to at the restaurant. We will cater casual, formal, corporate or private celebrations and events. Our priority is making sure your special occasion is one you will never forget, and it is our promise to accommodate any special requests or needs you may have.

Executive Chef:
Peter Sclafani III

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Make Ruffino's on the River your choice for birthday's, anniversaries, speaker programs, rehearsal dinners or business meetings. We can accommodate private parties up to 100 guests in a variety of settings.

Ruffino’s on the River Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Romantic (19)
Waterfront (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Cozy (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fun (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Scenic View (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Family Style (6)
Authentic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (4)
People Watching (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Live Music (2)
Live Sports (2)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food, amazing service! We will d ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food, amazing service! We will definitely be returning !

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our te ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our ten year anniversary. The wait staff was extremely helpful in choosing a wine and recommending entrees. They took note of a passing comment I made about it being our tenth and they brought out complimentary champagne and desert. It made the night extra special. We will definitely be coming here again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon was very good and cooked perf ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The salmon was very good and cooked perfectly but the ribeye was "stringy" and over 75% fat . Not the quality expected for the price. The servers were very attentive. The restaurant has a nice upbeat vibe.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We had an amazing time! It was me and my ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had an amazing time! It was me and my girls one year together. We showed up and there was a note congratulating us, they they brought us wine to celebrate and at the end they brought a piece of cake with happy 1st anniversary on it in sauce! Thank you so much for the experience ruffinos!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to eat in Lafa ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat in Lafayette. Food and Wine selections are great. Sunday brunch is a treat.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived on time for our 8:30 reservat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We arrived on time for our 8:30 reservation and weren't seated until 9:20. No-one seemed to care. We had drinks at the bar - vodka soda. I advised the bartender that the soda was flat. He said it was actually water, not soda. Really, vodka water? He promptly poured vodka soda. After complaining twice about the delayed table we were finally seated. A restaurant manager came over, apologized, and offered to get us complimentary appetizers. We had salads - ice box cold. Once it got to just above room temperature it was ok. We all ordered steaks and 3 out of 4 were good. The fourth (ordered 'medium' was well done). Given the time invested in waiting for a table I didn't send it back only to wait longer for another. This place is clearly a factory rather than a culinary experience. Service was awkward and spotty, and we didn't get cotton candy at the end. Oh well. I live in NYC and was in Lafayette for an event. Fortunately for me I never have to dine at this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Food portion of the duck was very small. ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food portion of the duck was very small. Our waiters were very slow in refilling drinks. Extremely over priced. Over all not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Last minute reservation made thru Open T ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Last minute reservation made thru Open Table worked well. Good service. I enjoyed my 8oz. filet but my wife thought the redfish en papillote tasted odd and the portion was tiny for the $35 charge. We ordered no dessert but had a coffee which was served lukewarm. Not their best effort that night.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

To the staff, thank you for being so att ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

To the staff, thank you for being so attentive. You all made our dinning experience delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at the Sunday brunch. Not all ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First time at the Sunday brunch. Not all seating areas open for brunch therefore the condensed environment created a higher noise level than I have experienced at evening dining. One beverage order a little slow in getting to the table, other than that, menu options, food and service was good as usual.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We went there with friends and we sat in ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went there with friends and we sat in the bar area. The service was some of the worst that I have experienced. I waited 22 minutes for my water to be refilled. We got bread right before our entrees(after asking 3 times) then it was bread with no olive oil sauce to put on our bread. I ordered a steak and had to ask the waiter 2 different times to get me a steak knife. I guess I am spoiled because we live in baton rouge and that has never happened at Highland. I do not know if I will go back to that location.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This was easily one of the top 3 meals I ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was easily one of the top 3 meals I have ever eaten. We will definitely be going back. As soon as possible!!!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exactly what I expected, gr ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was exactly what I expected, great food that tasted very fresh and full flavored. Ruffino's sampler was a great way to try multiple appetizers, the pork cheek was our favorite. I had the Pork chop and my wife had the beef shoulder pasta. The entrees were way better then the last time we went although desert tasted like it sat in a fridge all day, I've had way better tiarimisu at many places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

was very nice of wait staff to bring a " ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 31, 2016

was very nice of wait staff to bring a "Just Married" brownie to us after learning of the occassion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience for any occa ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent dining experience for any occasion. I highly recommend this restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Disappointed We were seated in the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very Disappointed

We were seated in the bar at a pub table. There were loud obnoxious people crowding against my wife's back while we were trying to eat. Very noisy, could not have a conversation for the people almost screaming right next to us.

Appetizer and Entree was almost inedible it was so salty. Not served hot, like it sat in the kitchen awhile before being served. Yucky.

We liked the Sensation salad, but glad we ordered the dressing on the side. Won't order that dressing again.

Service was OK. Had to request refills on drinks as that was neglected, but I wouldn't say it was my best service experience. Seemed like the team was trying though. Maybe they had too many tables.

Overall- very disappointed. We will try it again, maybe it was a fluke. Because it was our anniversary, it was a real let down as we wanted to have a special, romantic night and had great things about Ruffino's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Ruffino's was great, as always.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Ruffino's was great, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a busy night with many large tabl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was a busy night with many large tables for the holidays , but the service was impeccable , and the food outstanding .

The duck was one of the best dishes I have had in a long time .

Highly recommend it .

I will be back soon !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun atmosphere with a good bit of excite ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fun atmosphere with a good bit of excitement around the restaurant. Great service and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat at a table in the bar. I was surp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We sat at a table in the bar. I was surprised to see how busy it was on a Sunday night, which is a good sign of a popular place. It was quiet and unpretentious. I wish the weather had been nicer so we could have enjoyed a walk outside.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service and ambiance. Please use re ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good service and ambiance. Please use real hollandaise. Customers know the difference.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Love the food and service! I've been her ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Love the food and service! I've been here for several occasions and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Staff very knowledgeable ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food. Staff very knowledgeable and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations but still had to wait. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had reservations but still had to wait. Then they tried to sit us in the bar in high chairs with people standing all around you. I refused and waited longer until a normal table was ready. The menu was limited which also was aggravating. I had veal Parmesan which had a lot of gristle. Also the noise level was deafening. I used to love Ruffino's. After having too many bad meals at the Baton Rouge location I figured I'd give the Lafayette location a try. Not much better. Won't go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Food service and atmosphere was great r ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food service and atmosphere was great really enjoyed the redfish Katie that I ate and the cotton candy at the end was neat

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time! The waiting staff was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had a great time! The waiting staff was great. Will recommend to other people.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome dining experience! Waitstaff is ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Awesome dining experience! Waitstaff is amazing, as well as the food.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Amazing as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening shared with friends. Wait ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great evening shared with friends. Wait staffed allowed us to visit and attended to us as we needed.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was one of my favorite restaurants. Love sitting in the bar area, hate the high top tables with more than two people. Table is too crowded and uncomfortable. I was disappointed. This time our one of our chicken dishes was dry and one was great. Not the same ambiance as past visits. The service was great and one of their best assets !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

One of the top restaurants in Lafayette

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of the top restaurants in Lafayette

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service. Our server nam ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food great service. Our server named Claire was excellent and Dylan the busboy was a real jewel also.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great once again! Also the ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food was great once again! Also the servers were very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, very busy on a Frida ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was excellent, very busy on a Friday night but excellent service nonetheless. Best steak in town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome experience! Quality service! Alw ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome experience! Quality service! Always worth the trip.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fabulous!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. We loved it. The food and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 2, 2016

It was great. We loved it. The food and service was perfect. I will be back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with great ambiance and reall ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food with great ambiance and really good service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to Ruffino's for the wood fired p ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I went to Ruffino's for the wood fired pizza. I was excited that Lafayette had such an option. From where I sat i could see perfectly round pizza crusts on the counter. I assumed they were purchased pizza crusts and not made in the restaurant. When i received and ate my pizza I found it to have a really tough crust though and poor texture. I asked why the pizza crust wasn't hand made. I was informed that it was. I later realized that they must be making them ahead of time and storing them on the counter until an order comes in. I am not sure if it was pre-baked crust or just refrigerated, but it destroyed the whole concept of a fresh made pizza. I was very disappointed at how close a restaurant could come to a great product yet fail so completely due to one error in technique. what a waste of a nice wood burning oven. If treating the crust this is a way Ruffino's is trying to save time I suggest they find another way.

We also ordered an eggplant parmigiana plate. This was underwhelming also. I cook at home often and I honestly could make better. I am not saying it was terrible. It wasn't. It was just blah. OK. slightly under average. That is not good enough to keep people coming back through the doors on a recurring basis.

I expect more from the food at a restaurant with such great ambiance and great wait staff. I watched 5 waiters and waitresses deliver food to a larger table near me. I am sure the patrons appreciate everyone getting their food at the same time. That is attention to detail I expect at such a place. If only the food were so delicately cared for i would go back, but it wasn't.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Excellent food! Crabmeat omelet had lots ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food! Crabmeat omelet had lots of meat in every bite.

Excellent service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.