About Ruffino’s on the River

921 Camellia Blvd
Lafayette, LA 70508
View Larger Map

Ruffino's on the River is located in Lafayette, LA.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:40pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 11 am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Caliste Saloom and Johnston St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 706-7333

Website:
http://www.ruffinoslafayette.com/

Catering:
You don't have to host your party at Ruffino's to get the great food and service you are accustomed to at the restaurant. We will cater casual, formal, corporate or private celebrations and events. Our priority is making sure your special occasion is one you will never forget, and it is our promise to accommodate any special requests or needs you may have.

Executive Chef:
Peter Sclafani III

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 4:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Make Ruffino's on the River your choice for birthday's, anniversaries, speaker programs, rehearsal dinners or business meetings. We can accommodate private parties up to 100 guests in a variety of settings.

Ruffino’s on the River Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Service
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Special Occasion
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
6 More
Most Booked
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Waterfront (16)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Cozy (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Scenic View (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great evening shared with friends. Wait ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined 3 days ago

Great evening shared with friends. Wait staffed allowed us to visit and attended to us as we needed.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was one of my favorite restaurants. Love sitting in the bar area, hate the high top tables with more than two people. Table is too crowded and uncomfortable. I was disappointed. This time our one of our chicken dishes was dry and one was great. Not the same ambiance as past visits. The service was great and one of their best assets !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

One of the top restaurants in Lafayette

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of the top restaurants in Lafayette

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service. Our server nam ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food great service. Our server named Claire was excellent and Dylan the busboy was a real jewel also.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great once again! Also the ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food was great once again! Also the servers were very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, very busy on a Frida ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was excellent, very busy on a Friday night but excellent service nonetheless. Best steak in town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome experience! Quality service! Alw ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome experience! Quality service! Always worth the trip.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. We loved it. The food and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 2, 2016

It was great. We loved it. The food and service was perfect. I will be back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with great ambiance and reall ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food with great ambiance and really good service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to Ruffino's for the wood fired p ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I went to Ruffino's for the wood fired pizza. I was excited that Lafayette had such an option. From where I sat i could see perfectly round pizza crusts on the counter. I assumed they were purchased pizza crusts and not made in the restaurant. When i received and ate my pizza I found it to have a really tough crust though and poor texture. I asked why the pizza crust wasn't hand made. I was informed that it was. I later realized that they must be making them ahead of time and storing them on the counter until an order comes in. I am not sure if it was pre-baked crust or just refrigerated, but it destroyed the whole concept of a fresh made pizza. I was very disappointed at how close a restaurant could come to a great product yet fail so completely due to one error in technique. what a waste of a nice wood burning oven. If treating the crust this is a way Ruffino's is trying to save time I suggest they find another way.

We also ordered an eggplant parmigiana plate. This was underwhelming also. I cook at home often and I honestly could make better. I am not saying it was terrible. It wasn't. It was just blah. OK. slightly under average. That is not good enough to keep people coming back through the doors on a recurring basis.

I expect more from the food at a restaurant with such great ambiance and great wait staff. I watched 5 waiters and waitresses deliver food to a larger table near me. I am sure the patrons appreciate everyone getting their food at the same time. That is attention to detail I expect at such a place. If only the food were so delicately cared for i would go back, but it wasn't.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Excellent food! Crabmeat omelet had lots ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food! Crabmeat omelet had lots of meat in every bite.

Excellent service!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was less than good. Ordered filet. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was less than good. Ordered filet. Steak was sent back (2) times, because it was not cooked as ordered. Tough cut, could have gotten better at Texas Roadhouse ! My wife ordered Pork Chop. Potatoes were cold ! Asked for a manager. He didn't even ask me if I wanted to remove the steak from our bill. By the way, I never ate the steak, after sending it back twice, the same piece of MEAT, I told them to forget it ! I suggested that they remove it from the check ! They offered a desert free ! To say that I was disappointed, would be an understatement !

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was amazing. First time there a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was amazing. First time there and first time having Cedar plank red fish. Also had the duck. Both were delicious. Portions are just right, but we didn't have any leftovers. The only thing we left with was desert. Staff is friendly and professional. Thanks for a wonderful anniversary dinner date.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food with a great atmosphere. Mu ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Amazing food with a great atmosphere. Much better than Ruffinos in Baton Rouge.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always great. Some of the best s ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food is always great. Some of the best steaks around.

I would recommend that if someone takes the time to make reservations for only 2 people, in the middle of the week, that Ruffino's should be able to accommodate that reservation immediately. Having to wait 30 minutes for a table when reservations were already made is really not acceptable. This particular time was not an issue, but I frequently dine out with my customers. If this were to happen when I was with my clients or customers, I would have probably left.

This will not stop me from going back, I'm merely making a recommendation for a better experience for customers with reservations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Notebook wine excellent. Great friendly ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Notebook wine excellent.

Great friendly service with nice view of the river on patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Always experience excellent service. On ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always experience excellent service. One of our servers was Maddie (sp?). We had an excellent meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I do not live in Lafayette, however, R ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I do not live in Lafayette, however, Rufino is quickly becoming a favorite of my girlfriend and I. We look for things to celebrate just to go.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really beautiful, and the service was gr ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Really beautiful, and the service was great!!! The food, even better!!! I loved it!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love it here! So great for a nigh ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always love it here! So great for a night out with your man

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vegan, Wood Oven, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great staff. They go abive and beyond. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great staff. They go abive and beyond. We go there every year.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious appetizer combination. Very g ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Delicious appetizer combination. Very good wedge salad. Nice cold drinks. Excellent desserts. Cotton candy at the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal. It was our anniver ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We had a great meal. It was our anniversary, but we brought our 5 year old son with us. We sat on the deck which had a portable air conditioner running outside so it was comfortable. Our son was able to play outside while we enjoyed our date, then came up to eat his pizza with us when dinner arrived. It was a wonderful evening and the staff was super accommodating to both our son, and the celebration of our anniversary.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and the service was fabulous. W ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and the service was fabulous. We were visiting from out of town and would definitely go back if we are ever in the area again

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the worse service I have ever e ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 12, 2016

This was the worse service I have ever experienced in a restaurant of this caliber. I can appreciate when a server is busy, but in this case, the wait staff did not check on us from the time our food was delivered until the time out food was finished. The restaurant was NOT busy at this time, in fact, the young man responsible for our beverages was seen at his station playing the entire time we were there. My wife's drink and mine were both empty from the time our food was delivered to the time we ate our last bite. This was probably our 12th visit here and quite possibly our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was excellent and food was exqui ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Service was excellent and food was exquisite!!!! Would definitely return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Family Style, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very beautiful , delicious dinner. Servi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very beautiful , delicious dinner. Service was excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time experience At Ru ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was our first time experience At Ruffino's on the River the food and the service were both excellent. Everything was so romantic and the waiters were also very respectful and very detailed with the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were great! The music was t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The servers were great! The music was too loud. We had Sunday Brunch and I found the food just okay. Nothing special..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Our evening was very nice. Service was p ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our evening was very nice. Service was perfect. Food is delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had a wonderful evening. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My family and I had a wonderful evening. The food was outstanding. They make you feel very special.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Fireplace, Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were excellent. We wil ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service and food were excellent. We will be back the steak was to die for. Excellent waiter and server. Thanks again.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork cheeks are one of the best thin ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The pork cheeks are one of the best things I've ever eaten at a restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy our visits to Ruffino"s. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We always enjoy our visits to Ruffino"s. the food is excellent and the service always first class. We especially like to sit at the bar and watch the chefs prepare the dishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant, the atmosphere, and the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The restaurant, the atmosphere, and the service was beyond incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Was there with a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent experience. Was there with a party of six to celebrate my son's 24th birthday. Wait-staff was very attentive but not overbearing. Food was very good (albeit pricey).

My 5-year-old granddaughter was allowed to create her own pizza and she especially enjoyed the cotton candy served to each table after the meal.

Prior to going there (second visit), we were unsure as to whether it would be a good experience for young family members and we found that it truly was.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I celebrated our wedding ann ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary for the second consecutive year at Ruffinos. Both were very memorable experiences. We enjoyed the food very much and the service was excellent. We would definitely recommend Ruffinos to anyone in search of fine dinning.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding service! Young waiters who w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Outstanding service! Young waiters who were attentive and friendly. Then, we met the General Manager who gave us his card and walked us out! This is a restaurant (leadership and staff) who truly understand professionalism and personal service. Can't wait to return. Oh, and food options were quite diverse and tasty!

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service personel were wonderful: bri ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service personel were wonderful: bright spirited, genuinely interested in you having a good dining experience, knowledgeable, prompt and appropriately attentive. The food we ordered was delicious and well presented. Overall, my wife and I found the experience somewhat pricey, especially the cocktails we had before dinner. The menu did not indicate the price. In short, we would only want to dine here on very special occasions. The main complaint we had about the ambiance was the noise level. I would not want to dine here with a group because conversation among several people would be a strain. Otherwise, the ambiance was pleasant and tasteful in appearance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reasonable prices if you order reasonabl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Reasonable prices if you order reasonable food, i always splurge but our meal was fantastic, 2 people, amazing dry aged steaks, best dry aged ive ever had, excelently cooked and seasoned oysters for an appitizer, and some finely made cocktails for $150 before tip. Completely worth it with the unmatched level of service we received. Just the bread and dip is worthy of its own spot on the menu. Without a doubt we will be returning there and im highly dissappinted with myself for never going before.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.