About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grouper Tacos
  • Crab Bisque
  • Pollo Sabroso
  • Fried Banana Chips
  • Creme Brulee
  • Empanadas Mixtas
  • Ceviche Corinto
  • Pollo Empanizado
  • Atún A La Parrilla
Grouper Tacos
Crab Bisque
Pollo Sabroso
Fried Banana Chips
Creme Brulee
Empanadas Mixtas
Ceviche Corinto
Pollo Empanizado
Atún A La Parrilla

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Houston
Best Food
Houston
Best Service
Houston
13 More
Fit for Foodies
Houston
Notable Wine List
Houston
Romantic
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Seafood
Houston
Best Overall
Galveston
Best Food
Galveston
Best Service
Galveston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Best Value
Galveston
Special Occasion
Galveston
Seafood
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

Special Occasion (184)
Romantic (136)
Fit for Foodies (113)
See All
Notable Wine List (112)
Neighborhood Gem (83)
Hot Spot (44)
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for Groups (35)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (31)
Worth the Drive (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Business Meals (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Authentic (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Historic (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (5)
Scenic View (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Truly a fabulous find! A wonderful place ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Truly a fabulous find! A wonderful place to celebrate any occasion, dining at Rudy and Paco's is an occasion in itself! The menu is wonderful, service is perfection and the atmosphere warm and welcoming!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This dining experience was not equal to ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

This dining experience was not equal to the ones we have had in the past. Booked reservations a long time and was seated near the bar area. Waitress not great. Forgot a salad. Also food not served at once and not even close. Either was appetizer (salads). We were not pleased on service at all. Not what we expected as in the past. Food was good. But one of the reasons we love dining here is the experience of the serving of the drinks and food. Just not there tonight.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The restaurant was full by 6PM but the s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant was full by 6PM but the service was impeccable! The food was 5 star quality! This was our first visit, having just moved to Galveston, we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was off the chain delicious. Paco ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was off the chain delicious. Paco is ever-present in the dining room to ensure service it above par and you are happy with your choice. Best place in Galveston to eat dinner, especially if you are attending a show at the Grand 1894 Opera House!

Tags: Outstanding Value, People Watching, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the entire experience was per ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

As always, the entire experience was perfect. I had the veal chop special and my hubby had the grouper special. Tortilla encrusted with tomatillo sauce. Awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my "go to" restaurant in Galvest ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

This is my "go to" restaurant in Galveston for business and pleasure. Outstanding food with seafood that is superb. Impeccable service. A true dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the truly outstanding Restaurants ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of the truly outstanding Restaurants in Galveston. Next door to the Grand 1894 Opera House and early eaters eat here before the show. If you have one choice in Galveston and don't care about the view (none to be had here), this is the place to eat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. The crab cake appe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent as always. The crab cake appertiser was out of this world. The scallops (which I had) and steak special (my wife had) were both excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Even Paco (owner) ass ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent service. Even Paco (owner) assisted the outstanding waiter with serving our entrees. Best restaurant in Galveston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Galveston. Food and s ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Best restaurant in Galveston. Food and service are superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food preparation and service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Exceptional food preparation and service. These folks really know how to knock your socks off with outstanding service. The food preparation and quality is always outstanding. I always look forward to the "Fish of the day" special which is always fresh and delicious. Looking forward to our next time at the Rudy & Paco Restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far the best restaurant in Ga ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This is by far the best restaurant in Galveston. The servers are professional and attentive. The food is exceptional, both in taste and presentation. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still one of the best places for dinner ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Still one of the best places for dinner in Galveston although it is beginning to slip a bit in quality. The fish special I had was either a little overcooked or previously frozen. They were supposed to have Wahoo but ran out and offered Grouper instead but it was not the best fish I've eaten there. Also the cheesecake tasted old and flavorless. But the other dishes, the scallops and the bone in filet were all delicious and the other dessert with cheesecake and chocolate cake mixed together was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service is consistently great. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food and service is consistently great. No wonder they were named as one of the Ten Best restaurants in Texas.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited Rudy and Paco's ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband and I visited Rudy and Paco's while we were in Galveston one night before taking a cruise to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Friends had dined there before and highly recommended the restaurant. We were certainly not disappointed! The calamari appetizer was undoubtedly one of if not the best we have ever had. I had the tuna entree while my husband had the wahoo special with a ponchatrain sauce. We both liked my entree more even though his was very good. Service was excellent - our server even wrote down the name of the prosecco we enjoyed before our meal. All in all it was an excellent experience and we will highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd or 4th time in last 10 yrs to visit. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

3rd or 4th time in last 10 yrs to visit. Each PREVIOUS visit was before tables were on top on each other. The experience was COMPLETELY different. The noise level was very uncomfortable. No longer is it the best in Galveston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Have dined here many times over the year ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Have dined here many times over the years. Being a few doors down from the 1894 Opera House makes it a great place to have dinner prior to the show. The calamari as a appetizer was quite substantial and delicious. My fish special with crab topping was good but the sauce dominate the favor which I did not like. Overall, a good place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We made reservations for our anniversary ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We made reservations for our anniversary. Our table was ready and our server was great. We ordered sole, which was awesome and wahoo. The wahoo was overcooked a bit but was very good.

The side dishes were scalloped potatoes and Brussel sprouts. The side dishes were excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service as always. We bot ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and service as always. We both had the sole which was new to the menu. It was cooked and flavored to perfection. We enjoy dining here every time we go to Galveston and plan to continue doing so.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing restaurant with outstanding w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

An amazing restaurant with outstanding waitstaff. Way worth it. A restaurant you must try. Food is always so fresh and wonderful taste. Cooked to perfection each time. Presentation always exceeds my expectations. By far my favorite restaurant in Galveston.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Paco himself came out to g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Amazing food. Paco himself came out to greet the guests.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect as always. The b ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Everything was perfect as always. The best martini in town by a long shot.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Texas for ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Texas for seafood, cocktails, fine dining. The service is outstanding, yet not obtrusive. Paco, one of the owners, is hands-on, checking on his customers and supervising his staff, as well as working to clear and set tables himself. Old-fashioned service which is still very appreciated.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the highlight of our dining exp ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was the highlight of our dining experience while on Galveston Island! We loved all the fresh seafood options & the plantain chips were yummy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table was ready when we arrived. The ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived. The service was (as always) impeccable. We had the Tempura Lobster, beefsteak tomato salad and Filet Mignon. We enjoyed a bottle of Faust Cabernet Sauvignon, but skipped dessert. It was all excellent, including the sides of scalloped potatoes and sautéed spinach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Food, Amazing Service!! The owne ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amazing Food, Amazing Service!! The owner came to welcome us and make sure everything was perfect. Our server Edwin was very nice and knowledgable of the menu. It was a great experience. Highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience - can't wait to ret ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fantastic experience - can't wait to return! Highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food, atmosphere, and servi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always great food, atmosphere, and service. Had out of town guests visiting and took them to Rudy and Pacos. They were blown away. A favorite of ours and certainly always proud to share it with our guests. Have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The food was delicious, and the wait staff was the best we had ever experienced.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the "must go" places in town. Res ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

One of the "must go" places in town. Reservations by all means. Business attire for sure. I saw no one on their phone the night we were there. Sophisticated. What a nice change.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great as always. My favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great as always. My favorite restaurant in Galveston. Never a bad meal here. Paco is always in house assuring his customers have a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A reliable elegant spot, the "Grande Dam ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

A reliable elegant spot, the "Grande Dame" of Galveston.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten a number of times at this ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We have eaten a number of times at this restaurant and it never fails to disappoint us. We had a lovely time and the food and service was fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was spectacular. Everyone enjo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The food was spectacular. Everyone enjoyed their choices. Crab cakes, snapper, shrimp, flounder. When our table was not ready at the time of our reservations, we were offered a f complimentary empanadas and shrimp cocktail. Delicious. The bread came out warm and tasty. Had to stop so not to fill up. We were impressed when five servers served our main course to each of us at the same time. Even the owner Mr Paco sang Happy Birthday when presenting dessert. Then Mr Paco escorted all five of us ladies to the parking lot across the street to be sure we got there safe. A nice touch. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have a condominium that we rent by ow ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We have a condominium that we rent by owner at the Galvestonium. Whenever we don't have guests, we quickly make our way to Galveston and almost always make a RUdy and Paco stop. Never disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough. The service is above ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I can't say enough. The service is above and beyond. Gang serving at its best. Food was incredible. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful evening as expected. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was a wonderful evening as expected. We love dining at Rudy and Pacos because the food is amazing and the service is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only reservation available on Saturday w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Only reservation available on Saturday was 5:30. Restaurant 2/3 full at 6 PM and full by 6:30. Very few GenX or Millenial customers. Excellent, attentive service. Waiters asked before clearing the plates. Chilean sea bass with crabmeat was excellent. Couldn't eat it all. Couldn't even finish the raspberry sorbet. Will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic. Fine dining similar to upscal ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fantastic. Fine dining similar to upscale restaurants in Houston!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here and I was am ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was my first time here and I was amazed with atmosphere, the servers and the food was outstanding. Paco sat us at our table, check on us a couple of times, and casually talked with us. Really liked this place. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.