About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Crab Bisque
  • Grouper Tacos
  • Pollo Sabroso
  • Fried Banana Chips
  • Creme Brulee
  • Empanadas Mixtas
  • Ceviche Corinto
  • Pollo Empanizado
  • Atún A La Parrilla
Crab Bisque
Grouper Tacos
Pollo Sabroso
Fried Banana Chips
Creme Brulee
Empanadas Mixtas
Ceviche Corinto
Pollo Empanizado
Atún A La Parrilla

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Houston
Best Food
Houston
Best Service
Houston
12 More
Fit for Foodies
Houston
Notable Wine List
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Seafood
Houston
Best Overall
Galveston
Best Food
Galveston
Best Service
Galveston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Best Value
Galveston
Fit for Foodies
Galveston
Special Occasion
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

special occasion (181)
fit for foodies (132)
romantic (131)
See All
notable wine list (109)
neighborhood gem (74)
great for lunch (55)
hot spot (46)
good for groups (40)
vibrant bar scene (13)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is an exquisite restaurant! Servic ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is an exquisite restaurant! Service, food and wine were first rate. Not an everyday place for sure, but made our hit list of great restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great time with great food.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great time with great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Must have reservations for this fine din ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Must have reservations for this fine dining restaurant. Next door to the Grand 1894 Opera House and has a big (restaurant is full) pre show crown. This is one we try to get reservations at every trip to Galveston. The fish is fresh and the chef has great specials that are well worth the time and trouble. Great wine list and full bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding,but waiter was not up to par ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding,but waiter was not up to par with the previous wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food is very good, but pricey. Locale is ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food is very good, but pricey. Locale is small, so place is crowded. Would still recommend if price and crowding is not a concern. Advice to make reservations or the wait may be long.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food as always was impeccable. Varie ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food as always was impeccable. Varied menu has great choices for all in the party. The seafood is always fresh and well done. The prices are still high but you are paying for some of the best service and style on Galveston Island. if you're celebrating, Rudy and paco's is the place to go.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was wonderful - everyone was ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The service was wonderful - everyone was very professional and friendly from the minute we walked in until we left. The crab cake was so full of crab and fresh. Our entrees were everything we wanted plus more. Finally...the deserts - wonderful!!

I would highly recommend Paco's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. Had lunch but book ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wonderful experience. Had lunch but booked to return for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, nice ambience, super service ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food, nice ambience, super service. Paco is a charming guy who makes you feel at home! Excellent mixologist as well. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect every time. Perfect martinis, p ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Perfect every time. Perfect martinis, perfect steaks, perfect seafood...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Rudy & Paco's several t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have eaten at Rudy & Paco's several times and are never disappointed. Food is wonderful, service impeccable. The only hard part is getting a reservation - make it early!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is the by far the epitom ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant is the by far the epitome of what any excellent restaurant should be

I will go there any time I get the chance

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Galveston. Soft shel ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best restaurant in Galveston. Soft shell crab was delicious. Bread pudding is the best I have ever had. Need reservations, and if you can get you are lucky.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Rudy and Paco's. Very welc ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

First time at Rudy and Paco's. Very welcoming as Paco himself gave us a warm reception and seated us in the Middle section (you know what that means) of the busy restaurant. It was following a matinee showing at the The Grand Theatre. Food was competitively priced and wonderful. The Scallops were HUGE and dressed with very tasty sauce. My chicken topped with goat cheese and dried tomatoes was over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been going to restaurant for 20 yea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've been going to restaurant for 20 years. Ordered the "special" soft shell crabs. Was not told the price but I figured it was the same range as their other items. I asked if they were pan seared beforehand and they said yes and encrusted with Parmesan. The soft shell crabs had way to much crust. Almost like crispy fried chicken. I could hardly taste the crab. Ate only 1 out of the 2. Was not good at all. My girlfriends chicken fillet was the same. We left half of our food due to the terrible heavy crust. We noticed another couple did the same with the crab. When I got the bill my crab was $55.00! I have NEVER paid $55 for 2 soft shell crab anywhere! Even in nice Louisiana restaurants. I complained to Rudy about the food and the heavy price tag on it. He only responded that he would cut the price in half. (which was still to much for 1 crab I did not like) He did not even ask how he could have made it better for me. Very disappointing meal and response to a complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We were in Galveston for the weekend and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were in Galveston for the weekend and wanted a nice dinner. Having been to this restaurant previously, it was an easy choice. Everything was excellent . Food and service were terrific and Paco's visit was very pleasant. Yes, we will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here and we were ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our first time here and we were not disappointed. We were seated immediately and had the most attentive staff we have ever experienced. It was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious. We can't wait ot go back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect as usual!! It gets no better th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Perfect as usual!! It gets no better then Rudy & Paco!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic. The bone-in fil ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was fantastic. The bone-in filet was tender and tasty. The Grouper special was delicious. We really enjoyed the evening. This was a great find for us. I thought it was a new resturant in Galveston. I can't believe it's been around for years.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is a solid performer with great rom ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This is a solid performer with great romantic ambiance. Perfect for date night on the island. I ordered the Simpatico, which was fine, but would not order again. The good news is that there are many intriguing menu items, so I'm sure I will be happier on my next visit. My fiance ordered the Camarones Ajillo which she enjoyed very much. Service is attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and service was great as usual. We ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food and service was great as usual. We are moving back to the Galveston area so we will be able to visit more frequently. Every time we have come back to visit it is the place we always go to meet with friends. Looking forward to more meals at Rudy and Paco's once we are back home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Galveston. Good seafo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best restaurant in Galveston. Good seafood, wine list and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our evening here was truly memorable. T ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our evening here was truly memorable. The entire dining experience was like none we have enjoyed in a good while. Watching proprietor Paco Vargas direct his exceptional staff is an artform all to itself! We'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rudy & Paco is the best restaurant on th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Rudy & Paco is the best restaurant on the island. The soft shell crab is amongst the best we have eaten anywhere including NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurants have three things that ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great restaurants have three things that they all get right: the food, the service, and the ambiance. Rudy & Paco's was exceptional in all three.

My entree was one of the specials, my wife's was off the menu. Both were tremendous.

The wine was great - and the sommelier was very helpful (we were lucky enough to have him as our waiter...Richard, just an exceptional job!).

Several times during dinner, my wife and I commented on how well paced the meal was - that's a tough thing to do! The food was terrific - the service was terrific - and the ambiance was terrific.

Great meal - we'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Soft shell ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Soft shell crabs were delicious! Richard, our waiter was phenomenal. Great service, great food, great atmosphere! Rudy and Pacos is a gem. Loved the whole evening. We will definitely be back! Worth the drive!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely, always consistently the best ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Absolutely, always consistently the best in Galveston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was really good with the except ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was really good with the exception of my wife's veal chop. It was delivered and was very fatty. She sent it back but the waiter never came back with another meal or explanation He was going to show the chop to the owner. the next thing we know the waiter arrived with the bill. We paid the bill and proceeded to talk with the owner Paco. He told us that he was going to refund the $55 but we have never seen the refund on our cc.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Everything was outstanding. Tremendously ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was outstanding. Tremendously impressed!!!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Galveston ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Galveston. We have been several times and the food just seems to get better and better. Paco is "hands on" and very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is impeccable and the food i ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service is impeccable and the food is even better! One of my favorite restaurants in the world! Small and intimate which adds to the incredible service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent!! Pa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food and service were excellent!! Paco meet us at the door and was such a pleasure!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was Very delicious. Little high pr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was Very delicious. Little high priced but presentation was wonderful. Would go again😀

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fantastic and the food w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The service was fantastic and the food was even better. A little expensive but certainly worth it! Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best restaurant on Galveston ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This is the best restaurant on Galveston Island. I have been to virtually every restaurant on the island and Rudy and Paco's stands above the rest. The dining area is small so you need to plan ahead and make reservations. Knowledgeable waiters and great food makes for a winning combination.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful dining experience at R ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Another wonderful dining experience at Rudy & Paco's!!! The food was outstanding and the service superb. We were delighted to have Chad as our server again, he was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Rudy & Paco's to celebrate our ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We chose Rudy & Paco's to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The food was great and the service warm and impeccable Paco Vargas hovered over his staff to assure everything was perfect...as he does virtually every night for virtually every diner. It doesn't get any better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was out of this world and the barte ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was out of this world and the bartender was a wonderful hostess. I was a little disappointed at not being able to sit at a table. I never would have expected a dress code restricting men from wearing golf shorts in a beach town. We did not bring dress pants for our weekend escape. We had just had a 5 hour drive to get there. Should list this upfront on open table not just in email confirmation as I did not see the information until I got back to my hotel.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our 51st anniversary! Paco was right the ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our 51st anniversary! Paco was right there to greet us and wish us well. He pointed out several wine specials for the July 4 weekend--and we decided to splurge on a bottle of Goldeneye"Ten Degree" Pinot Noir from the Anderson Valley. It cost more than we usually pay for wine, but it was outstanding. The rest of the meal was delicious as always--we both had a grouper special with a nice sauce with crabmeat on top--cooked to perfection. For an appetizer I had a cup of lobster bisque--which I usually stay away from because of all the cream. I found it lightly creamy, less filling and delicious. Of course because of the special occasion, Paco treated us to a lovely small dessert layer cake.

I was so taken with the wine, that the next day I looked it up and found that the cost of the wine for purchase was essentially the same that Paco charged--there appeared to be no doubling of the price as is usually done at most restaurants. So, in my book, Rudy and Paco's July 4 "special wines" were a real bargain--and were wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paco's remains consistently the finest d ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Paco's remains consistently the finest dining on Galveston Island. Whether lunch or dinner, the food and service cannot be beat. With a diverse menu there is a wonderful variety of items to enjoy. Paco is always present to greet you with a welcoming word and smile; and, is open to any request or questions, being sure to make any necessary adjustments to make the restaurant the finest on island. His staff is top notched, knowing what good service requires.

Yes I am a bit biased in that whenever I want a good meal, client entertainment or a romantic evening with my wife, I always turn to Paco's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.