Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (96)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Good for a Date (72)
See All
Romantic (68)
Notable Wine List (59)
Worth the Drive (58)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Business Meals (47)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Cozy (39)
Authentic (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Bar Seating (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Historic (17)
Fun (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Hot Spot (14)
People Watching (11)
Healthy (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Spicy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1730 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

best restaurant in Galveston County. We have been coming here for years....

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Spicy, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

The attention detail was wonderful. The food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

One of our most favorite restaurants in the Houston area, and our favorite in Galveston. We've never once been disappointed with the food, service, or atmosphere!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for our anniversary and it was wonderful. The food was great and so was the service. Ashley was our server and she did a wonderful job. They even brought a special desert . It is a little expensive but well worth the money.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely family lunch for 91st birthday celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had a lovely birthday celebration. The service was friendly, attentive, and courteous. The food was outstanding. Even with wine and cocktail enjoyed by some in our group, the cost was very reasonable. Definitely on our "do again" list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is consistently an excellent restaurant , food , service and ambiance . It is one of our all time favorites !

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Rudy & Paco's is our Go To Spot for dinner while in Galveston - we never miss out! The service, food, wait staff, Paco - everything is Top Notch. Rudy & Paco's never disappoints!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Absolutely loved Rudy and Paco! The food was absolutely delicious and the service was excellent! The owner was constantly making his rounds greeting all of the diners. It was very obvious that he is well respected and truly cares about his customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We came here for our anniversary and it was perfect. It is low lit and very romantic. My husband had the pistachio in crusted fish and loved it. I had the Filet mignon and it was amazing. Paco was there and introduced himself and was very welcoming. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service and excellent food! One of the owners came to our table and checked in with us. He was very personable and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Rudy and Pacos is always an exceptional dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Love this place hiding in Galveston but worth driving from Houston just for dinner. But even better for those who live on the island. Great food. Great service. Must try!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Always a wonderful experience and the food is very flavorable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We enjoy fine dining often. Rudy and Paco's is by far the best food we eat of the Texas Gulf Coast.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Ring dunk weekend for my Aggie. Rudy and Paco's is fabulous and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wedding aniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Lovely meal. Fantastic waitress. Wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Rudy & Paco never fails to provide outstanding food and service. We visit here every time we are in Galveston and will continue to do so!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Our annual girls weekend included dinner at Rudy and Pacos. The ambieance was great -- totally upscale in decor, service, and food. We enjoyed a special grouper with crab topping that was unbelieveable -- so tasty. Our vegan friend found lots of options for a delicious dinner. We topped off the night with a wonderful key lime pie. Would totally come again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

What a find in Galveston. Amazing seafood and affordable wine list

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Entering Rudy and Paco is like stepping back in time, to a mob-run speakeasy, with its dark paneling and cabinets where regulars store their private stashes of wine, and one-way windows that don't let outsiders see in. It's old-school dining entertainment with classic service and a celebrity chef whose photos taken with celebrities (many of whom performed at the 1894 Opera House just down the block) cover the foyer walls. The crab bisque is silky and rich, while main courses hold nothing back. The fish is fresh, and you feel like you're in Galveston.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were celebrating our 51 anniversary and had been to Paco & Rudy's before. Always incredible food! Loved it. Great service also

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 1, 2017

Out for a girl's weekend dinner and my friends were very impressed with the quality of the food, the choice of wines and the fabulous wait staff! We all loved having the owner come by the table to check on how our experience was.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything was done with seasoned professionalism. They have this down to an art form. The food was delicious and served in an orchestrated manner. They even acknowledged our anniversary with a specially decorated plate and dessert. We still ordered dessert and it was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

excellent food, service and drinks. It is worth the drive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Rudy and Paco's is the best restaurant in Galveston. It is worth a drive from Houston. Be sure to make a reservation well in advance, since it is very popular.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great place to celebrate our anniversary. The food and service were superb!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food, wine, cocktails and services were all amazing as usual but this time was just amazing. Thanks Paco!

David

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

In general have had excellent meals but the halibut special this weekend was a bit bland and greasy otherwise the calimari, avocado salad and Creme brûlée were great. Portions are more than large enough to share. They have excellent wine prices. Always busy and booked up a couple weeks in advance

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have a condo in Galveston so have frequented many Galveston restaurants. We are not good pre planners so don't often eat at Rudy & Paco since you can't get in without reservations. I finally had the foresight to make a reservation & was thrilled beyond belief with our meal. From the crab bisque (creamy but no heavy cream to disguise the super fresh crab flavor) to the ceviche to the scallops to the cocktails, everything was superb. Saw a bone in ribeye at the next table & had food envy just from looks alone. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This is one of my most favorite dining spots....and not just in Galveston, but anywhere!! The food is always so delicious and perfectly prepared. I love the way your meal is served too....very special. The scrumptious food and presentation both get an A+.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The owner Paco caught my eye and came to my table to ask, "Is everything good?" I replied, "No, everything was great and perfect!"

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Cozy, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I made this reservation for my boss and some visitors we had to the University. The two guests had never been to Rudy and Pacos. They were all impressed with the food and the service. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This was a great restaurant. A little overpriced but it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary so we didn't mind. Great service, friendly staff!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

My girlfriend and I made a trip down to Galveston recentley and made reservations at Rudy and Pacos. We were deffinetley satisfied! We are a little younger so we felt a little out of place initially but we were treated just like any other customer or even better. We were initially worried about being overdressed but we for sure we're not, which was a plus by all means. The food was amazing, the service was amazing, and the owner even came out and talked with us. It was overall an amazing experience I would suggest to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Our family visited Galveston and had one dinner here. The food was incredible and you don't see this level of service very often; outstanding in every respect. Even Paso visited with us. Have the Snapper Simpatico or Snapper Elegante and bread pudding for dessert. Wine recommendations were great too. Dine here!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Wonderful evening from the moment we walked in. Everything was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Fantastic. Can't wait to return in July. Food and service were outstanding. Ask for Juan, the waiter.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We celebrated my birthday this evening and the food and service was outstanding, as always. The crab bisque is amazing - the best we have ever had. A wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.