Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (101)
Special Occasion (100)
Good for a Date (98)
See All
Romantic (89)
Worth the Drive (74)
Notable Wine List (65)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Pre/post Theatre (57)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Business Meals (47)
Authentic (45)
Cozy (41)
Local Ingredients (40)
Bar Seating (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Hot Spot (30)
Great for Lunch (28)
Fun (25)
People Watching (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Tasting Menu (11)
Historic (9)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Spicy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was impeccable from the moment we arrived at the hostess stand. The food was amazing. We look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service was great. Our server was attentive as well as the other staff. I loved the fact that sides are included with most of the entrees (the broccolini was delicious). Other high end restaurant serve a la carte. The anniversary dessert was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I decided to go to Rudy and Paco's for our 30th Wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was excellent. The food was superb. It is a place that you can dress up and enjoy the evening. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great! I would recommend this restaurant for lunch and dinner. I hope to have brunch there soon so I can rate that as well! Just excellent!

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I went twice and each time was great. Meals are awesome. Bar staff has attentive. It's crowded so make your reservation. Bar seating limited

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

CONSISTENTLY SPECTACULAR! The escargot is amazing! The snapper Elegante is my FAVORITE! My husband had the soft shell crab , which is one of his favorites. My brother had the filet of beef blackened, and it was also superb. I can't get enough of Rudy and Paco's. You will not be dissapointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This restaurant has such amazing and innovative specials and menu items. The absolute freshest seafood ever and impressive service from start to finish. Truly the best Galveston has to offer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent----Actually, Galveston's best
Great food
Both seafood and steaks
Large portions
Very good appetizers
Good variety
5 Stars

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very attentive manager, was thoughtful enough to put us at one of their "best tables". Food, service and wine were first class

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Always delicious and always impeccable service! I love introducing new business associates to Rudy and Paco's!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Rudy and Pacos is my favorite restaurant on this PLANET! I live in Dallas where I'm surrounded by amazing restaurants! Rudy and Pacos in Galveston is still the best by far! You owe it to yourself to try this restaurant before you die....it is WELL worth it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent dining experience; maybe a bit pricey but outstanding food and service. Seating was a little cramped; more separation would be nice. Especially nice was the personal attention by the owner/management - real conversation and not just the "how is everything?". We plan to dine there again our next time in Galveston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience, one of our new favorite restaurants!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We just celebrated my parents 50th Anniversary and everything was perfect as always. Perfect martinis from Irina at the bar and spot on service from our server, Jordan. We had a warm greeting (and a beautiful dessert) from Paco. Thanks for making my parents feel so special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great! Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great restaurant within walking distance from Tremont House. Food and service were wonderful. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Fantastic as always. One of our favorite spots. Could not ask for more.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wonderful experience. I took family visiting from NYC and they were impressed from start to finish. Service is next level. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Rudy and Pacos is a five star gem in Galveston! The service and cuisine were amazing! As first time diners, we were treated with the same care and concern as anyone of distinction in Galveston!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Galveston. Dress is smart casual. Cocktails are wonderful! Fish was wonderful and chocolate explosion dessert was divine. This is not a low cost restaurant but worth every penny!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The best fine dinning anywhere in the galveston area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Always a treat to eat at Rudy and Paco. Food and service are fantastic and Paco and staff are very friendly

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on June 29, 2017

Maceo's for lunch and Rudy and Paco for dinner. It simply doesn't get any better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Excellent birthday lunch! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Deliciously prepared food, attentive service, beautiful decor. Very expensive, but also very good experience. The ribeye was not as high quality as I would expect for the price. A little lacking in flavor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We have dined at a lot of really nice restaurants and Rudy and Pacos is one of the best we have had. We had excellent service and even we're greeted by Paco himself . The food was absolutely great, I had a soft shell crab special and my wife had the Halibut special and the were spot on. They have a very big menu with a lot of options and they have some great desserts also, can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very, Very Hot in this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Warm and welcoming. Attentive, and choreographed, service makes it special. Interesting cuisine prepared with great attention to detail. This is a great place to have a meal for a special evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Wonderful experience! The owner is super friendly, excellent service, makes you feel special and important! The food was outstanding! The calamari was unique and the best we have found. My husband eats steak at every date night and the steak was the best he has ever had by a landslide! We will recommend Rudy and Paco to all our friends and family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Although the noise level was a little high, it was a great place to eat. The best place on the island in my opinion. Im probably not as wealthy as some of the patrons in that restaurant however, they made me feel just as important when we sat down for a meal. It was a " Going Away" meal for my mother that i had planned. The staff made the night special for us. Everything was better than i could have asked. I will definitely recommend this place to everyone i know.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent! Met Paco. What a wonderful owner. We had a great time and all our food and drinks were superb. Loved the Paco martinis. The chicken with goat cheese was excellent and so was the shrimp dish. Awesome yummy desserts too. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Wonderful experience. The attention to detail is beyond belief. The staff anticipated our every need without the hovering you sometimes get.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Everyone laughed at my plate of scallops. It was a 12 inch round plate with a 4 inch depression in the middle with four SMALL scallops. Certainly not worth $34. I love Brussel sprouts, but mine were over-cooked. Dry and almost burned. The couple beside us got a free anniversary dessert. I was charged for my birthday dessert. They aren't as great as they say they are!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Excellent food, great service and wonderful atmosphere!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Excellent wine list and delicious meal. The service is the best I've ever experienced. Absolutely marvelous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Rudy & Paco's NEVER disappoints. Owner, Paco Vargas is a gem, making sure everyone is pleased, always on the spot and welcomes new and old visitors with a "Welcome home, baby" and a million dollar smile. Food can't be beat -- anywhere! Wait staff is the best trained around.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wonderful meal and some of the best, most attentive service I've ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The restaurant is a great dinner place with the most attentive service i have experienced in a restaurant, a wonderful owner who greeted me upon entering and enthused about the bar's large whiskey selection, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great service, never waited on anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.