Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (98)
Good for Anniversaries (97)
Good for a Date (81)
See All
Romantic (76)
Notable Wine List (65)
Worth the Drive (64)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Business Meals (48)
Pre/post Theatre (48)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Cozy (39)
Authentic (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Great for Lunch (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Fun (18)
Historic (17)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Modern Decor (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Spicy (3)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
1780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent atmosphere, service, and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

First time there, but heard about the legend and it did not disappoint! Great food, great service, great ambiance. Not cheap, but worth every penny. Everyone in our group of four could not stop raving about our individual choices. A definite night to remember and we will be back. Thanks Paco for the extra level of personalized welcome and goodbye!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our 14th anniversary and Paco and his staff made the night an evening that we will always remember! Food was excellent, staff went above and beyond

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food and service and the most reasonably priced wine list I have seen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Rudy and Pacos never disappoints. Impeccable service that is definitely appreciated!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was simply delicious! Friendly and efficient service.
I would definitely return to this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

I do not give 5 stars to anything. There is always room for improvement or to give customers more for their money, which they deserve. Nice place with good waiter. Pricey.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

❤️❤️❤️ Rudy & Paco's anytime.
Today was a birthday celebration.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 23, 2017

First time to both restaurant and Galveston. Read the reviews and hands down also felt it is the best place to dine. Excellent food and excellent service! Enjoyed our time here!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Outstanding in all facets! We live in the woodlands and try to make it down to the island at least once a month! A trip is NEVER complete without a meal at Rudy & Paco!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

As always, the food and service were both excellent.
Do not miss this place.
It's one of the best in the state.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We love to go to Rudy and Paco. Since we do not live on the Island, we mainly go there for special occasions and we are never disappointed. The service is outstanding and the food is remarkable. They have a great selection of wine and always have wonderful specials.
We can not wait to visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

From the food to the service , everything was fabulous. Will be going again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Spicy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Everything top,premium level.
You get what you pay for. Staff is prepared and professional as a team. Quality ingredients and culinary skill highlight the meal. Great dining experience all round.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The dining experience at Paco's never disappoints! Always a great evening of fantastic atmosphere, amazing food and wonderful wine list. My Absolute Favorite!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Galveston - drop the mic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

First time and we were pleased. From the appetizers to desserts, almost everything I put in my mouth was delicious. Normally love escargot, but wouldn't get that here again. No flavor.

However, everything else was great! Service was very good too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Never disappoints. Food, drinks and service without error. Never rushed. Enjoyed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Rudy & Paco is our favorite restaurant in Galveston and has become a tradition when we are in town!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What a wonderful place....fantastic service, innovative food, varied menu options all overseen by Paco Vargas the owner who see to it that they exceed your expectations. Delightful experience, with excellent service and magnificent food. We look forward to our dinners at Rudy and Paco while visiting Galveston. Five stars!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

You can't go wrong if you eat at Rudy and Paco, a great Galveston treat. Make sure you save room for dessert.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Synchronized service is always amazing and beautiful. So hard to find :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on May 12, 2017

By far the best service and all-around experience on the island, and maybe even off! Always a good time at rudy and pacos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food and ambiance of the location were very good. I would recommend this location to anyone who enjoys good food, great service, and a beautiful venue. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Were not aware of dress code (which we do appreciate) so although my husband was in dress shorts and a polo shirt we were stuffed into two uncomfortable bar stools with our elbows bumping into the neighbors. Not a good start. We shared a fried shrimp dinner which is just ok. Nothing to rave about.
Bartenders were attentive, atmosphere was good and lively.
We left unimpressed and wondering what makes a crab cake appetizer worth $25! Shrimp cocktail $20!
Ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The BEST food, staff, and ambiance!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had reservations for 2, but the bar was open and looked inviting, so chose that. Our bartender was thoughtful and quick to help, and made a great experience.
The calamari appetizer is nicknamed "Calamari Crack" we were told by a nearby diner, with good reason!
Of course the fish was fresh and delicious, so the meal was fantastic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Every time we go to Galveston we have to eat at Rudy & Pacos. The food and service here is always beyond excellent. I highly recommend this place to everyone who might visit Galveston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Rudy & Paco Restaurant is one of the hidden gems in Galveston. Many people do not know of it but locals and theatre goers do so be sure to make a reservation. This is our go to place before a show at the Grand 1894 Opera House and we have never been disappointed. Highly recommend Rudy & Paco Restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great dining experience, from delicious food to great service, attention to detail, and an outstanding owner (Paco) who took the time to come out and sing happy birthday, I would highly recommend! Plus the best cevice I have ever had, hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is one of the best places for dinner in Galveston

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Rudy and Pacos is the perfect place to have a special dinner in Galveston with friends. The food is amazing and perfectly prepared. The service is unbeatable with all guests serviced at one time. For a real treat order a martini and watch your service waltz through the restaurant over head shaking your cocktail right to your table!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The prices have doubled. We don't mind paying for food. Those prices are getting out of hand. We use to go a lot but not anymore.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great place to take your love ones, the owner is fantastic!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Lunch. Traveled to Galveston from Lake Jackson for a meal here.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Always a great time! Excellent service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Not just the best restaurant in Galveston, one of my top 10 of all time. Highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always a Treat
We Love Rudy and Paco and have eaten there many times!

It never disappoints! The seafood is fresh and creatively prepared. The service is perfect--every time. It is not a quiet place, but sometimes it is fun to visit with folks at the next table. We make our dinner reservations BEFORE we book a hotel so we are sure that we can eat at our fav Galveston restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My favorite place for lunch (or dinner!) The service at Rudy & Paco's is World Class, top-notch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Fantastic food and the service was top notch. The dishes we ordered were delicious and prepared perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.