About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Good for a Date (61)
See All
Romantic (60)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Notable Wine List (39)
Business Meals (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Cozy (30)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Authentic (24)
Local Ingredients (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Historic (14)
People Watching (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Healthy (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (4)
Spicy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As usual, we were greeted by Paco and hi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

As usual, we were greeted by Paco and his very nice hostess. The entire staff did an excellent job

in making certain that our anniversary celebration was more than expected.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our niece's birthday ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating our niece's birthday and this is where she chose to go. The food was wonderful, as always and Paco is the best host! Both food & service are excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful evening. Greeted by friendly ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Delightful evening. Greeted by friendly staff. Service was superb. No matter how many people were at any table, that number of staff were involved so that everyone received their meal delivered at the exact same time. Excellent food. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect in all respects. We go there of ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Perfect in all respects. We go there often and it never disappoints! Servers are exceptional. Food is impeccably presented and always wonderful. One of the best restaurants in Houston area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good but definitely overpr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very good but definitely overpriced. Tables are very close together. Too dark to see the menus. Service was good. Given the Number of restaurants I would certainly not make it a high priority. Black Pearl was excellent and a good value. Just as good of food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Paco has been present both times we have ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Paco has been present both times we have dined at Rudy & Paco's, and he is very friendly, approachable and inviting, with great sense of humor! His establishment's food quality and exceptionally well-orchestrated 5-star service makes our visit to Galveston complete!! He has done a fabulous job of keeping the quality over the years, as the last time we were there was over 6 years ago!! Well done, Paco!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Most elegant restaurant on Galveston Isl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Most elegant restaurant on Galveston Island. Wonderful ambiance, quite and romantic. The seafood and steaks are delicious, the wine selection is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic dinner. We had the red snapper ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fantastic dinner. We had the red snapper, Caesar salad, and crapcakes. We got in fairly early and by the end the dining room was full. Great spot, would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to dine in Gal ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

One of my favorite places to dine in Galveston. I've never had a bad dish or experience there.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Andy made our 20 year anniversary very m ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Andy made our 20 year anniversary very memorable. Arrived on time, seated immediately and Andy paced the evening perfectly.

We often celebrate special events at R&Ps. Never disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places and well wort ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of our favorite places and well worth the drive to Galveston. The food is consistently wonderful. Paco always stops by the table to ask how everything was. Wish it wasn't so difficult to get a reservation.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My sister and I had dinner this past Fri ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My sister and I had dinner this past Friday at Rudy & Paco and the overall experience has to be one of the top I've ever had...it's definitely a "must do" if you're in Galveston.

The SERVICE: Jordan was our server and she is amazing - so knowledgeable and great with wine pairing recommendations. I was so impressed by the service, it was very well-orchestrated, I'm not sure I've ever been able to say that before at any restaurant. Seriously, any dish that was delivered, picked up, wine poured, etc had two people to handle both for me and my sister at exact times and like a performance. It was very well done.

The FOOD: amazing...I need to go back and try about every thing else on the menu. For starters the fried plantains with salsa and chimichurri are crazy good (coming from a person who does not like plantains...I could not stop eating them). We shared the avocado and beefsteak tomato salad, which was perfect and best tomatoes I have ever seen in a winter month. For dinner, my sister had the Red Snapper with crabmeat and Paco Pico and it was the standout dish - the snapper was like butter. Seriously...I eat snapper a lot and have never had it taste so rich and the texture was unlike anything I've ever had. I had to spicy white wine sauce with crab fingers, calamari and shrimp and pasta - also amazing, but when ranking the two dishes...the snapper wins. Too full for dessert, but we had to try the crème brulee and it was delish!

OVERALL: Must do...make reservations ahead. Great place for small groups or a date night. Very intimate atmosphere and you can't go wrong on the food. Seriously incredible!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place never disappoints! All 4 of ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This place never disappoints! All 4 of us had grouper and we're delighted by it.

The service was impeccable. We will be back next time we are in town.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited the restaurant for my husband ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We visited the restaurant for my husband's birthday. Excellent food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my Birthday and it lived up to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went for my Birthday and it lived up to everything I read. Crab Cake outstanding, Snapper Outstanding, great service and the bread pudding was a perfect ending.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was a very good experience we celebra ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

it was a very good experience we celebrated our 30 anniversary there. We have been very blessed by the atmosphere the service and everything around. is the server was outstanding .thank you very much we hope to be there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good as always. I, howeve ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was very good as always. I, however, am still looking for that dish that I want to come back for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Varied menu (crab cake was all crab, lov ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Varied menu (crab cake was all crab, lovely presentation) very good food in general & excellent service. A bit of a wait for a table despite reservations but not excessive. Good place for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Researched internet reviews and saw add ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Researched internet reviews and saw add in hotel magazine. Most everyone was pleased with food and awesome service. They made everyone feel like VIP's. Menu was mostly fresh seafood, very well seasoned and prepared and presented elegantly. NOT For kids, please!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! Will always go back! Island ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Fabulous! Will always go back! Island favorite! Service always great!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an exceptional time at Rudy and P ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had an exceptional time at Rudy and Paco's. Our 730p reservation had to be pushed back by the restaurant because they were running behind on service. They called us with plenty of time to spare so that we could alter our arrival plans. They also treated us to a complimentary appetizer (shrimp cocktail) for our "inconvenience." Classy move. Our meals were amazing (the sea bass special and a grouper topped with crab meat special), the service was spectacular. It was one of the highlights of our Galveston trip and we definitely plan on eating there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, quality wines priced good ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Amazing food, quality wines priced good and fantastic service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food. Love that the server read ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Love the food. Love that the server read my comments on the OpenTable request greeted me timely. Love the Paco gets around the room. Sorry we didn't get to meet Pacino. Next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I must say this was the best experience ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I must say this was the best experience I have had at a restaurant. Food incredible, Service excellent, Owner spent time with my wife and I. Shared information on wine, after dinner drink, including where to purchase and how to make it. Now our go to place in Galveston. Bucket List experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A treasurer in Galveston and in all of t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A treasurer in Galveston and in all of the Houston SMSA. Welcome home, Baby!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife here for a getaway before C ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Took my wife here for a getaway before Christmas. We stayed at the San Luis Resort. Their driver David drove us there and picked us up. Drinks were fantastic and the food was amazing! If you like seafood dishes their red snapper was fantastic! Paco came by the table twice to check on us, which made us feel special. Keep up the great work!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I loved Rudy & Paco!!! Th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My husband and I loved Rudy & Paco!!! They made our wedding anniversary dinner very special. I used to live in Galveston some years ago and their quality is still the same. I can see why they are the #1 restaurant on TripAdvisor Galveston.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent. Food is alway great. Love t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent. Food is alway great. Love thier red snapper.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect! Thank you very m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything was perfect! Thank you very much. Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual!! Have eaten there many ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great as usual!! Have eaten there many times and have never been disappointed by the wait staff or the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! Hope to ret ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent food and service! Hope to return in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the service was a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was attentive and gracious. Will go again and again, worth the drive from Houston!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for lunch or dinner. The fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great place for lunch or dinner. The food is always good. Locals love this place. Don't plan on bringing your paramour here...if you live on the island!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was amazing.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dine there 5-6 times a yea ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My wife and I dine there 5-6 times a year. It is always outstanding. Paco always comes by and visits. There is very little turnover in the wait staff. It must be a great place to work. We would father drive 45 minutes to eat there than drive into Houston. Our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

LOVED IT!! Made my husband's birthday c ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

LOVED IT!! Made my husband's birthday celebration that much more special. Food was outstanding, service was impeccable. Drinks were made very well too.

Even the coffee and whipped butter were both excellent!!

Pistachio-crusted Sea Bass was out of this world. Probably the best fish we've ever had.

Would love to know what kind of coffee you all serve.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely day in Galveston was concluded wi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Lovely day in Galveston was concluded with a delightful dinner date with my husband. It was our first time at Rudy & Pacos and it exceeded our expectations. Service was superior with delicious gourmet food. We had the KT Felicia de Mar and pecan encrusted gulf red snapper. Both dishes were excellent and I highly recommend. The snapper came with a sautéed broccolini and scalloped potatoes-which were to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience during our visit ...

 
 (East Texas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Best dining experience during our visit to Galveston Island! We will definitely go there again in the Spring!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have gone to Rudy & Paco's many times ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I have gone to Rudy & Paco's many times over the last twenty years and highly recommend the dining experience to friends and family. It simply the best food, service and experience for the money!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit, a great experi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was our first visit, a great experience. The service was top notch and the food was great. Very good wine selection and desert as well. We were greeted at the door and they made us feel welcomed.

I would highly recommend this place and we will dine again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.