About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (84)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Romantic (60)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Notable Wine List (47)
Worth the Drive (46)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Business Meals (37)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Cozy (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Authentic (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Historic (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Healthy (8)
Fun (6)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 18 hours ago

Filet was outstanding! Service was outstanding! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great wine list at good prices. Food is fabulous and the service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect setting for special occasion dinner. Great menu, delicious cuisine, excellent service. Will return. Lovely evening. R&P's is a favorite. K

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great dinner at Rudy and Paco. Paco himself greeted us. The steak and fish dishes we ordered were delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food & service. The owner, Rudy, greeted all diners at the front door! It was a hot spot for Mardis Gras

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was a dual birthday celebration in conjunction with Mardi Gras. We were seated promptly, drink orders taken promptly and many dinner options were explained in detail. Food was hot and delicious without too long a wait.

We will definitely return to this restaurant. The food was awesome and atmosphere was was perfect for dinner conversation.

Thanks so much for a very special evening

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

As usual, the service was fantastic! The food was exactly what you would expect. You pay a little bit more but the food is fresh, presented well, and extremely good. I have been there quite a few times and I have never gone away displeased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing! The food the service the ambiance- all top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

One of my favorites. Service and food are always fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Lunch was superb! So glad we read about the restaurant in the NY Times just before our trip to Galveston. Paco is a dear man, so attentive to his patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was superb. We enjoyed every aspect of our dinner. It is a little pricey, but we'll worth it for a special dinner. Chad and his colleagues were great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was my first valentines with my gf and we had an amazing experience. They went out of their way and even put together a surprise "Happy 1st Valentine's Day dessert plate" after I just added that info in the comment section. I highly recommend this restaurant excellent service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The best. Always. From the moment you walk in.. incredible service.. good.. outstanding wine list.. and then there is Paco..

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was treating my visiting mother-in-law to a Valentine lunch. Had reservations for 11:30 but had to wait for almost 30 minutes before seating and by the time we were seated several menu items had already been sold out. Also, I ordered a Cuba Libra (rum and coke w/lime) and the bartender sent me a rum and soda with a whole lime in the glass. The waitress, however, did her best to make up for it and apologized for the error. Still, very disappointed with the overall experience given all the other times that we have been to Paco's and had wonderful experiences. I will just assume it was an off-day and will return again. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Enjoyed our Valentine's day lunch at Rudy and Pacos! The pork chops were awesome and the service is second to none.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a Great experience with surpurb food, but felt the area for tables for 2 were too crowded together! It was hard to hear our private conversation and easy to hear everyone's elses conversations around us.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I love R&P. It is consistently wonderful. Excellent food, excellent bar, excellent service, excellent ambiance. The only not positive thing I can say is that it is not easy to get reservations for the time you want (but that tells you something about the high quality of this restaurant).

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Never disappoints. Great for that special occasion or when going to The Grand for a show. About $75 per person but you get the value. We go 2-3 times per year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Once again the food and ambiance was excellent. Had an unusual problem of bills getting confused between the 3 couples at our table.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food is always excellent. Atmosphere, service always perfect. Paco makes a point to get to each table to greet all of his guests and expresses sincere concern for each one's experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had family in from out of town and as usual Rudy & Pacos impressed them with a wonderful meal, great service and terrific ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This restaurant is ALL about Quality!!! The VERY BEST service and food in all of Galveston!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food, service. Best on the Island. Always excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Rudy & Paco's never disappoints. Very cool atmosphere and food is always fresh and delicious. By far, our favorite place on the island. Paco's presence is always a treat! Service is top notch! If you are in the area and looking for a wonderful experience, don't miss!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Delicious appetizers and entrees, and wonderful, personalized service. A lovely evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Absolutely the best restaurant in Galveston & possibly Houston as well! We've been going there for years & the food & service are always perfect. Atmosphere strikes the perfect balance between formal & casual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent service and food was outstanding. Lobster appetizer was phenomenal!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food is always superb, as is the service and attention to details!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinner was outstanding after attending a performance at the opera house. Juan's service was impeccable. A gem in Galveston.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Galveston. We go as often as we can and especially when we have tickets to a show at the Grand 1894 Opera House next door.

This is a very high quality restaurant with the Owner being there to look over the food and service. Try it and you will love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Delicious food and fabulous service. It's one of the best restaurants in the Houston/Galveston area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was wonderful and it was nice to have the owner, Paco, introduce himself as I haven't met him before. Get the Escargot! It is fabulous BUT very very hot so make sure you are ready and don't burn your mouth like I did.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We arrived at 12:30. They were already sold out of the luncheon special. They to prepare more specials. Not fare to those of us who have a later lunch hour.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always consistent. Great wine selection. One of the best restaurants in the HOUSTON area.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Took my wife for a special birthday. Food was excellent. Service very good. Very reasonable wine selections. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

All I can say is I love this place. I will come back very soon.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful location for an 1894 Grand Opera House pre-show meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was delicious and special! We thought it was funny that 4 out of 5 tables were celebrating birthdays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went out to dinner for my birthday. They immediately told our waiter, who wished me happy birthday as soon as he greeted us. The staff were so well organized and our plates were never left long. Whatever you do, make sure you try the calamari and Paco even came to our table to sing. Well worth the cost!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at Rudy and Paco's and had fabulous experience! Service was outstanding as was our meal. Rudy and Paco's is our new favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We were celebrating our niece's birthday and this is where she chose to go. The food was wonderful, as always and Paco is the best host! Both food & service are excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

As usual, we were greeted by Paco and his very nice hostess. The entire staff did an excellent job

in making certain that our anniversary celebration was more than expected.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Delightful evening. Greeted by friendly staff. Service was superb. No matter how many people were at any table, that number of staff were involved so that everyone received their meal delivered at the exact same time. Excellent food. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Perfect in all respects. We go there often and it never disappoints! Servers are exceptional. Food is impeccably presented and always wonderful. One of the best restaurants in Houston area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very good but definitely overpriced. Tables are very close together. Too dark to see the menus. Service was good. Given the Number of restaurants I would certainly not make it a high priority. Black Pearl was excellent and a good value. Just as good of food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Paco has been present both times we have dined at Rudy & Paco's, and he is very friendly, approachable and inviting, with great sense of humor! His establishment's food quality and exceptionally well-orchestrated 5-star service makes our visit to Galveston complete!! He has done a fabulous job of keeping the quality over the years, as the last time we were there was over 6 years ago!! Well done, Paco!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Most elegant restaurant on Galveston Island. Wonderful ambiance, quite and romantic. The seafood and steaks are delicious, the wine selection is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fantastic dinner. We had the red snapper, Caesar salad, and crapcakes. We got in fairly early and by the end the dining room was full. Great spot, would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.