About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grouper Tacos - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
  • Crab Bisque - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
  • Pollo Sabroso - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
  • Fried Banana Chips - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
  • Creme Brulee - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
  • Empanadas Mixtas - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
  • Ceviche Corinto - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
  • Pollo Empanizado - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
  • Atún A La Parrilla - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
Grouper Tacos - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
Crab Bisque - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
Pollo Sabroso - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
Fried Banana Chips - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
Creme Brulee - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
Empanadas Mixtas - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
Ceviche Corinto - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
Pollo Empanizado - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX
Atún A La Parrilla - Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, Galveston, TX

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Houston
Notable Wine List
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
9 More
Seafood
Houston
Best Overall
Galveston
Best Food
Galveston
Best Service
Galveston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Best Value
Galveston
Special Occasion
Galveston
Seafood
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

Special Occasion (114)
Romantic (86)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
See All
Good for a Date (65)
Notable Wine List (55)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Worth the Drive (40)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Business Meals (34)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Authentic (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Historic (21)
Cozy (21)
Hot Spot (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
People Watching (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Fun (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and friendly staff. Owner ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and friendly staff. Owner was very personable. Really enjoyed dinner.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Rudy & Paco's several ti ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to Rudy & Paco's several times during visits to Galveston. It is consistently outstanding. Those who have not visited it might be surprised that a small town like Galveston has such a restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. Food, service, atmosphere. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding. Food, service, atmosphere...5 star. Make early reservation to avoid crowd. Small space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to spot for second to none person ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Our go to spot for second to none personal service. Best food on the island. In all our years of dinning at Paco's, I can say we have never been been disappointed. First class owner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Truly exceptional. There is a dress code ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Truly exceptional. There is a dress code, no shorts, no T shirts, no hats. Excellent idea, especially as it's Texas, it keeps out the riff raff, you know the ones, those that seem to need to wear a baseball cap everywhere and seem incapable of removing it from their head any where, and that's the Women.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it, especially the group service f ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved it, especially the group service for delivering food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was superb. Thius was one of the best restuarant meals my wife and I ever had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We know we were in for a treat when the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We know we were in for a treat when the owner, Paco, greeted us at the entrance and opened up the door. The food was delicious and the service was excellent and non-intrusive. It was a recommendation from several people and we are glad we went!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Rudy and Paco's for a 70th bi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We went to Rudy and Paco's for a 70th birthday celebration. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. They make good service part of the evening and it is fun to watch the servers in action. Everyone in our group had seafood and it was delicious. Be sure and make a reservation....we were there on a Monday night and it was packed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service and drinks great as usual. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food, service and drinks great as usual. Snapper simpatico was one of the best snapper dinners I have ever tasted. The sides are a little plain and always the same. Wish they would switch this up or give more choices. The plantains with sauce were great! A very special, unique place in Galveston. It has style.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals I've ever had. Alr ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. Already have made my next reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner, reservation had a problem ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great dinner, reservation had a problem but the resteraunt reacted quickly and fixed the problem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rudy & Paco's is the 'consensus' number ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Rudy & Paco's is the 'consensus' number 1 restaurant in Galveston. That being said, from the inside it appears more 'New York' than Galveston. The diners are better dressed and the ambiance is more formal than most other places. The 'dress code' you hear so much about is more like 'no cut-offs and flip-flops' than it is coat and tie. The service is efficient and professional. Now about the food which is excellent! I had Snapper and my companion had scallops. Both were cooked perfectly! The sauce for the scallops could have been reduced more, but had an excellent flavor. The sauce for my Snapper (pan-fried) was around lump crabmeat which was fresh and delicious. The high point of Rudy's was the wine list which is extensive and VERY reasonably priced! The restaurant caters more to the 'see-and-be-seen' in Galveston than tourists, but it should be on ANY 'must visit' list!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is delicious and the service pe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food is delicious and the service perfect! Great place for a special occasion or just to make an average day great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I cannot visit Galveston without eating ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I cannot visit Galveston without eating at Rudy & Paco's,

This is a MUST when looking for a 5 star meal! Been eating there for 20 years! I'll be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place!! We will definitely ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We loved this place!! We will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food & spectacular service as al ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing food & spectacular service as always!! It was nice that the owner & chef came by our table to wish us a happy anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily our favorite place on the Island. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Easily our favorite place on the Island.

It reminds us very much of Galitoire's in NOLA in it's "feel" (not its menu).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

EVERYTHING was perfect!! No detail left ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

EVERYTHING was perfect!! No detail left out! Food piping hot, delivered to your table all at once! 4 diners - 4 servers setting down dinner plates all at once! Bread (including the bread bowl with soup) was soft, fresh and hot on the inside with a crispy crust! Yum! Paco came around to each table and greeted us! Making sure all was well! If we ever make back to Galveston, this will surely be a stop!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service are always impeccab ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food and service are always impeccable . A fun spot for a date or special event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in the island. Service is gre ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Best place in the island. Service is great and food is great. They are always glad to see us

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here many times before the hu ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We've been here many times before the hurricane and after. and it is always consistently great! This restaurant happens to be our all time favorite and we live in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Snapper was fresh. Outstandi ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food. Snapper was fresh. Outstanding service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and fantastic service! L ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious food and fantastic service! Love this restaurant, staff and owner!

Tags: People Watching, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rudy & Paco's is always a sure bet. We u ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Rudy & Paco's is always a sure bet. We usually have dinner before a show at the Galveston Opera House next door. The staff is extremely professional but not stuffy. The food has always been excellent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here several times and the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We have been here several times and the food is always good. The service is great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend got a steak and was a bit d ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

My boyfriend got a steak and was a bit dry but mine was fabulous love coming before the Grande!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The dining room is small, dark and a tig ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The dining room is small, dark and a tight squeeze, but the excellent food and service make is worthwhile. Unique menu options and fabulous drinks. The service is exquisite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were going to attend a show at The Gr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We were going to attend a show at The Grand and chose the Rudy and Paco for the location. They were very prompt and attentive and assured us we would be out in time for the show. Even though we had been stuck in traffic and arrived 15 minutes after our reservation time (we called and let them know), they were true to their word. The food was great and my fiancé took a liking to the tomato salsa. This was our second time to dine there, and we will be returning, if, for no other reason than the lump meat crab cake..delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been to Rudy and Paco's several t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I have been to Rudy and Paco's several times. I think it is my favorite restaurant in the Houston/Galveston area. It is always superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal as always. Service by Ric ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Excellent meal as always. Service by Richard was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable and the food ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service was impeccable and the food was great. A lot of people were there celebrating birthdays. Definitely somewhere to dress up for. Perfect for date night or an occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic as always. I had the shrimp i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic as always. I had the shrimp in white wine and lemon sauce and it was wonderful. The filet was perfect. The service is very hard to beat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I ate here for the first tim ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My wife and I ate here for the first time. I had steak & house salad. The house salad did not have hardly any dressing , the steak was good but you could only have the sides the chef made so Brussel sprouts and augratin potatoes were the only choice and didn't care for either. My wife had the crab bisque , it was very good along with the sea scallops but the sides of Brussel sprouts & augratin potatoes were not . We felt the price of the meal was high considering we could not pick our sides.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is very good here, best on Galv ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food is very good here, best on Galveston by far. But what really sets Rudy & Paco apart is the professional, excellent service. They are always there when you need them, making you feel like the most important customer, and yet never intrusive. Among the best service in any restaurant in the Houston-Galveston area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here while vacationing on Galves ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We went here while vacationing on Galveston Island and searching Trip Advisor for the best restaurant in the area. We were not disappointed. Fine dining at its finest. Impeccable service by a wait staff fully capable of steering the new customer through a complex but well-rounded menu. Superb atmosphere. Food was out of this world. High on our list of places to re-visit when we return to the area.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't know what to expect from Rudy a ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I didn't know what to expect from Rudy and Paco's. I had just seen it as a favorite and decided to take the plunge since we didn't visit there the last time my husband and I stayed in Galveston. We were both very pleasantly surprised. The dining room is very nice, the service is responsive and the food was good. The owner is very present and makes the rounds to greet people which is a nice touch. I also appreciated that our dinners were served individually instead of being carried out on a huge tray. That always makes me nervous, ha!

Anyway, the appetizer was really great. We took some home and enjoyed the plantains there. I couldn't eat the mashed potatoes since I'm lactose intolerant, so they made me rice which was a nice compliment to the delicious pecan encrusted red snapper.

The place is a tad pricey, so I would reserve it for special occasions. But it's worth a visit, maybe two! I think we'll definitely keep it in mind for our next trip!

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our Dinner was great, everything we expe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our Dinner was great, everything we expected and more. We received a complimentary dessert at the end of our dinner since they knew it was a special occasion. Honored to meet the owner Paco. Great ambient. Also, our server Juan was very knowledgeable with the menu and specials of the day. Thanks again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Awesome time !! It was our 37th annivers ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Awesome time !! It was our 37th anniversary and Paco took a pic with us! Food was awesome and wine list is great!! We spent over 200 dollars but every dollar worth it!! We look forward on going back every time!! Love it!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have traveled all Over the world and e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I have traveled all

Over the world and eaten at high end places this is without a doubt in my top 3 from the second I walked in the door until the owner (PACO) coming to my table to make sure everything was ok this was a wonderful experience from beginning to end

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.