Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (89)
Special Occasion (84)
Good for Anniversaries (79)
See All
Romantic (76)
Worth the Drive (62)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Notable Wine List (53)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Authentic (39)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Business Meals (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Cozy (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Local Ingredients (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Fun (19)
Good for Groups (15)
People Watching (14)
Great for Brunch (8)
Healthy (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

The best restaurant on the Island. Food and service are amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

We love this restaurant! The food is fabulous- like-butter scallops and snapper, and wonderful desserts. The service is impeccable. It's a beautiful restaurant, and we can't wait for our next visit!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent experience as always. Paco makes sure every aspect of the dining experience is first-class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2017

every meal is made special with first class service and dependably excellent food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Every bit of service was excellent. Paco walked us out wishing my wife an happy birthday. Very special.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We went for our anniversary ... it was our first time here. Absolutely outstanding ... our Server Angela was outstanding, and the wait staff worked as a fine-tuned team. And Paco was making his rounds throughout the evening. The food was prepared to perfection, and plate presentation fantastic. A definite place we'll return too.!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Perfect as always! Love this place. Already looking at ahead to our next dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

PROS: wonderful restaurant, get any red snapper dish. Friendly and courteous management and staff.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

As good of food and service as you will find anywhere.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We went to Rudy and Paco's for my birthday. It was our first time there, I just found it on the internet. It was an absolutely fabulous experience! The food is delicious and the service is outstanding! We will be going back the next time we are in Galveston!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Superb Food !! A bit pricey but the service was stellar!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Fabulous. Service. Fabulous food fabulous atmosphere. Just a wonderful restaurant. New York quality in Galveston !!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 7, 2017

It was exceptional! From beginning to end. We were greeted by Paco once we were seated. I love the romantic atmosphere. We were celebrating our 15th anniversary, and they made us feel special. We ordered a large shared steak, not was it so delicious but Paco came over when arrived and cut for us! Definitely worth it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We must have chosen the heavier entrees but the food was high quality, flavorful and well-prepared.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always spectacular food and service.
Flooded the week of 8/27 from Hurricane Harvey; re-opened on Saturday 9/2 at 5pm for dinner.
A celebratory dinner to thank Paco and the staff for their hard work to bring back the best restaurant on the Island.
Love you Baby!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Rudy and Paco is an exceptional restaurant, truly one the finest in Texas and nation. The staff always exceed expectations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Outstanding restaurant and service for the past 15 years that we have enjoyed.
Great for any occasion, but especially anniversary, birthday, or celebration of any occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

We had a great anniversary dinner here! I would go back and just order the crab cake it was that good!! Do yourself a favor and try it! Wait staff was very friendly and attentive. Meals were perfect portions and dessert was delicious! I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Really outstanding dinner with exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Foods and service were excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and engaging.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

My family came in to town to visit. We wanted to spend a nice evening together to catch up over dinner. This was the PERFECT place! Beautiful restaurant, impeccable food & outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Galveston. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

It was our 43rd wedding anniversary. We have been to Rudy and Paco's many times before and this time was as consistently great as before. We started with the crab cake which was quite large and nice for us to split as an appetizer. My wife went with the grilled shrimp and I had the sea bass special. Both choices had outstanding flavor and were cooked to perfection. At dessert time the restaurant provided a special anniversary dessert featuring custom garnishing. I would recommend Rudy and Paco's to anyone. Outstanding food and service as always.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Blown away by the food and the service, definitely coming back asap.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great service and excellent food. Best steak on the Island. Lunch is also terrific. My favorite restaurant in Galveston. You can't go wrong dining here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent! Looking forward to returning! The Grouper was wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (East Texas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Second time here. If you are in Galveston you must eat here! Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Perfect for our anniversary. Great food, great ambience, great service! We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great lunch, fast service even through the restaurant was packed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed one of the best dinners we have had in a long time! We had the scallops and tuna which were both amazing!! The service was top notch! We will be back next time we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing food and service. A Galveston gem!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Rudy & Paco's is always a delight. My wife and I have tried numerous seafood dishes over the years and all have been fantastic. Their bread pudding is one of the best we’ve ever had. Their service is timely without hovering and Paco normally stops by the table to say hello when it's not crowded. The restaurant is also close enough to Galveston’s art shops and The Strand for a nice after dinner walk.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Paco never fails to provide an absolute wonderful dining experience. The menu provides something for every taste and budget. But the service is what sets them apart. My date and I actually stayed an extra few minutes just to witness the precision service of a nearby 14-top table! I also successfully erased the unpleasantness of my last date there almost as soon as I walked in. Thank so to Paco and his staff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had a great time. Wonderful food, nice wine list.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everything was absolutely perfect as always. Definatly our favorite place on the island. From the atmosphere, to the service and the food, everything is incredible. Paco even brought out the birthday desert with the candle and led the birthday song. HIGHLY recommend to everyone. Thank you Paco, and Edwin, our server.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

As usual Rudy N' Pacos' met expectations with a fabulous menu and daily specials. I had the appetizer and grouper tacos with lobster bisque for entree. The food was cooked to perfection and tastes unique in all of the flavors as you bight into the tacos. The lobster bisque is awesome and I would get this as a main dish if I was not hungry. My wife had the shrimp taco special and I got to share one with her...actually better than my grouper. Our other friends dining with us had the same comments and we were all pleased with the meal.
Service is somewhat unusual and wonderful as your food is served to the entire table at once so no waiting around for that last dish to arrive before starting. Attentive servers buzzing around and not at all intrusive. We did miss not seeing Paco who was out of the restaurant that day...missed his usual smiling face and welcoming words.
I did check on dress code for Friday lunch and nice shorts/shirt and are acceptable, as I know dinner dress is pants only for men...they do stick to that. Really then...know before you go!
We will be back again and again and again...hadn't been there since my big birthday in March so have been missing the wondergul downtown Galveston treat. It remains my favorite restaurant on the Island and one of my Houston top 10.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Not sure what happened on this particular evening. Ordered seafood specials and other seafood dishes and were very disappointed with the food. We could have had fresher seafood in Houston. We didn't complain to waiter just because we're not that type. But it definitely will influence any future visits. Used to be a favorite place of ours:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We have been coming here for 4 years and the overall experience was great. The famale blonde waitress could have been better in taking time to explain options for dinner and desert (she did not explain the deserts at all and other waiters in other tables did). Also there was a very big company of 10+ people and it was a bit noisy. Very good food, service and experience overall, these are some thoughts for improvement only.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The waitstaff is fantastic and the food is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.