About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Crab Bisque
  • Grouper Tacos
  • Pollo Sabroso
  • Fried Banana Chips
  • Creme Brulee
  • Empanadas Mixtas
  • Ceviche Corinto
  • Pollo Empanizado
  • Atún A La Parrilla
Crab Bisque
Grouper Tacos
Pollo Sabroso
Fried Banana Chips
Creme Brulee
Empanadas Mixtas
Ceviche Corinto
Pollo Empanizado
Atún A La Parrilla

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Houston
Best Food
Houston
Best Service
Houston
11 More
Notable Wine List
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Seafood
Houston
Best Overall
Galveston
Best Food
Galveston
Best Service
Galveston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Best Value
Galveston
Fit for Foodies
Galveston
Special Occasion
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

special occasion (159)
romantic (120)
fit for foodies (112)
See All
notable wine list (94)
neighborhood gem (69)
great for lunch (50)
hot spot (40)
good for groups (37)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best for dining in Galvesto ...

Dined 4 days ago

The absolute best for dining in Galveston. Lunch or diner, beyond impeccable service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

our night out was the perfect ending to ...

Dined 6 days ago

our night out was the perfect ending to ourweeks vacation to Galveston. Th food was cooked to perfection and the service was impeccable. Thank you Jordan. Some soft music would have made the night even more special.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The special tacos were tasteless. Perhap ...

Dined 6 days ago

The special tacos were tasteless. Perhaps they omitted the sauce. Chicken special and pork sandwich were good but I expected great as Trip Advisor promoted restaurant as #1 in Galveston. Service was very good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a wonderful lunch there with a frien ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Had a wonderful lunch there with a friend earlier in the week. Great menu with varied specials---all of which sounded delicious! The lobster roll was great, and the service was superb. Nice to have a waiter who treated his job as a profession. Waiter even asked us if we wanted an iced tea to go! Would come back again and again if I lived closer. A must try when in Galveston!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is hands-down the best restaurant i ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

This is hands-down the best restaurant in Galveston. We stopped even trying other places when we want to go to a restaurant of this caliber. The menu offers extensive options so there's always something different to try. Come during softshell crab season. It is Parmesan encrusted and definitely the best we've ever had. Make a reservation. It's a must during busy times.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything about it is excellent which i ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything about it is excellent which is why we return. Our waiter, Richard, was very congenial, attentive but not hovering, and the food beyond belief. If you want to see if it's really as good as the reviews say, try to get a table on any day between 7:00 - 8:00PM without at least 3 days' lead time!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Duckhorn wine was excellent and was ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The Duckhorn wine was excellent and was for a great price. John Thomas

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Stayed in Galveston overnight specifical ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Stayed in Galveston overnight specifically to go to this restaurant and it did not disappoint. It was nice to be in a beach town, but still be able to go somewhere sophisticated and upscale. Ashley was our server and she did a superb job with timing and knowledge of the menu. I thought the synchronized service was a classy touch, since it's not something you get everywhere (if anywhere) else. We really enjoyed the latin flair. I will say that my dinner choice was not as good as my husbands (he got the ribeye), but I would definitely go back. Thank you for making our evening so special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rudy & Paco continues to distinguish its ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Rudy & Paco continues to distinguish itself as one of the best restaurants in the country. The food and service are top notch, The wine list has an array of wonderful options for pairing to the menu items that are suitable to any taste and budget. Everything comes together perfectly under the watchful eye of Paco Vargas, the proprietor, who greets all who arrive with a hearty, "Welcome home". Rudy & Paco is fine dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting that is sure to please.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for an anniversary dinner. Restaura ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Went for an anniversary dinner. Restaurant was very busy on a weds night but waiter was fabulous(Andy). My husband had one of the specials and I ordered off the menu. Had great cocktails and food was good, fish cooked well. Nice cappuccino at the end! Will go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The snapper simpatico was incredible! Lo ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The snapper simpatico was incredible! Love the plantains and "dips". Service was great and very personable!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, everything was just great. W ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

As always, everything was just great. We have eaten here maybe 69-70 times over the last 16 years and have NEVER been disappointed !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The escargot was fabulous as was the sof ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The escargot was fabulous as was the soft shell crab special. All 6 in our group had a great experience! Paco came by the table several times to check on us! Nice man! Great restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with old friends. Food was delic ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Dinner with old friends. Food was delicious. Service outstanding. Quiet place so you can actually talk to your dinner guests.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best!! Thank you for making o ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Simply the best!! Thank you for making our anniversary remarkable!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful dinner at Rudy & Paco ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Rudy & Paco's, celebrating our 22nd anniversary. My husband had the grouper special, and I had the snapper with with lump crab meat. Both meals were rich and delicious, and the service was impeccable. We both agreed that we will leave the kids behind again when we return. The dining room is small, dark and quiet; not a place where children will blend in, at all. Overall, it was a nice, fine dining experience. We will look forward to dining there again the next time we have a date night in Galveston.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Islander

Dined on June 10, 2016

One of our favorites. A landmark in Galveston. Reservations recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Amazing!!!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Even though it is a bit pricey, it is well worth it!!! The food and service are both always amazing!! Soft shell crab and sea bass are my favorites. My dining companies have had everything from beef to salads and no one is ever disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exellent!

Dined on June 7, 2016

One of my favorites. Rudy and Paco's is always a treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, incredible service!

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was amazing, but this restaurant is so much more than that. It's an experience, and they made our anniversary dinner a night to remember. Thank you so much to the outstanding staff more making our special night, a night to remember!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the food and the service

Dined on June 7, 2016

Wonderful dinner. We were able to get a reservation same day. This was our first visit. Our waitress was very helpful and the food was excellent-a plus was that each entree was brought out by an individual server all at the same time. We had 3 people in our group. We will definitely come again. I do have one negative comment I am sorry to say. The hostess was very unfriendly and made us feel very unwelcome. Even though there were many empty tables I felt that we would not have been seated if we had not had a reservation which was at 5:30. I was very tempted to leave but all the reviews were so positive that after a quick discussion we decided to go ahead and be seated. Our waitress made up for the rudeness of the hostess.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love It!

Dined on June 7, 2016

Rudy and Paco is the BEST in town! If you are in Galveston it is a MUST!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas Gift Card

Dined on June 6, 2016

My husband and I were both very pleased with this restaurant. The service was prompt and precise as well as friendly and knowledgeable. The swarm serving is an excellent touch! We had early reservations but was apparent that the table was ours for the entire evening. We were never rushed to leave at the conclusion of our meal. The food was marvelous! Husband had fish while I had shrimp with Paco pico. Everything was delicious and the proportions were appropriate. Crab bisque was rich and creamy, the best I've had since The Pink House in Savannah, GA. Husband's meal was a special so came with salad of variety of fresh greens and veggies with homemade Blu cheese dressing and croutons. He raved over the salad and it was just a salad!!!! The bourbon bread pudding dessert was to die for, too bad there are nuts in the sauce, though. No wine but cocktails were good. Overall, the restaurant was excellent with calm and relaxing ambiance and superior food with quality and complimentary flavors. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service. Can't wait to ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food. Great service. Can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Anniversary

Dined on June 3, 2016

Went there for my anniversary, but they did nothing to give it that extra touch to make it feel special. In the past we were offered a special dessert. Not that much but it's the little things that can turn it into a special occasion. This did not feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I've ever had!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Best steak I've ever had!

food5
ambience5
service5

Rudy & Paco's is always a wonderful din ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Rudy & Paco's is always a wonderful dining experience. From the service to the food, everything is excellent .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and food

Dined on June 2, 2016

My husband and I ate here for lunch to celebrate our anniversary (dinner wasn't an option on that date). I was worried that the service or food would not be as great - but that was not an issue. Excellent service - food was great. Dessert - chocolate explosion - fantastic. A great value too for lunch

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good as Ever

Dined on May 30, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. Service excellent and friendly even when they are very busy, never felt rushed. Food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been customers for approximately 20 yrs

Dined on May 28, 2016

Rudy and Paco is one of our most favorite finds! We have been customers for approximately 20 years and one thing is for sure...they are consistent in their food quality and service. Love the synchronized service from the pouring of the flavorful martinis to the mouthwatering dishes. A couple of our favorites... FILETE DE CARNE PRESIDENTE 8 OZ USDA PRIME FILET OF BEEF TENDERLOIN BROILED YOUR WAY and the FILETE DE PARGO SIMPATICO 40 PLANTAIN ENCRUSTED GULF RED SNAPPER, PAN SAUTEED AND SERVED OVER RASPBERRY CHIPOTLE SAUCE, TOPPED WITH SAUTEED JUMBO LUMP CRAB MEAT Sweet treat...YOU MUST TRY THE QUATRO LECHES!!! Paco always makes you feel welcomed and over the years, we have sent numerous new customers his way! IF YOU HAVE NEVER BEEN TO RUDY & PACO...BOOK YOUR RESERVATIONS TODAY!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great as usual. We did request ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was great as usual. We did request a table change due to busy location. Mr. Paco set up an alternate table himself immediately.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food by far is "wonderful". The staf ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food by far is "wonderful". The staff takes excellent care of you and everything could not be better at this place. I can't imagine going anywhere else on the island than this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always! The food was delic ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Fantastic as always! The food was delicious and service excellent! It's one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars all around

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

IF there is anything wrong with Rudy & Paco's it is that is too far from my house to their front door - 160 miles. Otherwise would be a regular. Let's start with Paco, who sets the tone. Gracious host and devoted to giving his guests the finest. That translates to the service. Staff that knows the menu and a level of service that is both impeccable and invisible. No great shows, just truly attentive, knowledgeable, polite perfection. A wine list with interesting, non-standard vintages - and Paco knows every detail as did our waiter. The food is not ordinary by any means nor is it different for the sake of being different. Nice melding of Central America, US and European styles. I don't particularly care much for sauces, but Rudy makes them so beautifully new and fresh that they do make a difference. Can't wait to drive that 160 miles for another helping.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant evening

Dined on May 25, 2016

The meals, service presentation and promptness were,as usual, top notch

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Curious Cousins Cuccina

Dined on May 25, 2016

We are both great cooks and love to go to restaurants and try different foods. It was a plus to see the wine list with wines that we both drink that we could purchase by the glass for our lunch. The wait staff was the best we have every had. They seem to really work as a team in making sure our visit was pleasant and memorable. Chad was our waiter and I would definitely ask for him again

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful 35th wedding anniversary at Rudy & Paco!

Dined on May 23, 2016

Rudy & Paco made our 35th wedding anniversary very special. The reservationist honored our request for a special table, the ambience was beautiful and, as always, the service, food and bubbly were superb!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was not as attentive as usual an ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Service was not as attentive as usual and we had a 2 year old at the adjoining table which never adds to this type of dining experience. Regardless this will always be a favorite .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Money talks

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were seated a bit early for our 8:30 reservation, but it was right next to the kitchen entry...very noisy & busy. The waitress tried several times to interest us in $100 bottles of wine instead of the $45 wine we were asking about. Around 9:00 a loud group of at least 20 men showed up and were waited on hand and foot. Even Paco was waiting on their table. Since the restaurant has a very nice service of an individual server per customer, all of the servers were used to bring out food to the large group. We asked our waitress as she was walking by about the status of our food and were told 'I saw it in the window, sorry, I'll be right with you'. My husband and I have been here several times before, but honestly, we won't be going back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My only recommendation is for Paco to en ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My only recommendation is for Paco to enlarge his space, tables are very close together. Considering the popularity of this restaurant, you are fortunate to get a reservation, so just know that it will be crowded at prime times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.