About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grouper Tacos
  • Crab Bisque
  • Pollo Sabroso
  • Fried Banana Chips
  • Creme Brulee
  • Empanadas Mixtas
  • Ceviche Corinto
  • Pollo Empanizado
  • Atún A La Parrilla
Grouper Tacos
Crab Bisque
Pollo Sabroso
Fried Banana Chips
Creme Brulee
Empanadas Mixtas
Ceviche Corinto
Pollo Empanizado
Atún A La Parrilla

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Houston
Best Service
Houston
Fit for Foodies
Houston
10 More
Notable Wine List
Houston
Romantic
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Seafood
Houston
Best Overall
Galveston
Best Food
Galveston
Best Service
Galveston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Best Value
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

Special Occasion (191)
Romantic (141)
Fit for Foodies (133)
See All
Notable Wine List (113)
Neighborhood Gem (78)
Great for Lunch (51)
Hot Spot (50)
Good for Groups (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Late-night Find (10)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a special restaurant we visit of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is a special restaurant we visit often, especially for special occasions. Our wine and appetizers were wonderful, as always. Their Paco calamari and crab bisque are our regular appetizer orders. However, we were not happy with our entrees. It was not prepared as expected and had some very unpleasant spice that made the entire dish taste awful. Paco quickly came to our table and assured us he would have another entrée out quickly prepared to our liking. He kept his word and the replacement entrée was very good. Paco makes every attempt to satisfy his customers and is very successful at this top of the line restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was excellent as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely always the best of everything ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely always the best of everything here! It's the place i always bring my out-of-town guests. Fresh fish brought in daily!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Rudy and Paco often but t ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to Rudy and Paco often but this week, the expensive steak which was on special for $66 was not tasty and rather bland; however, it was extremely tender. All the sides were wonderful and the service is perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Food and service excellent, specialty d ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service excellent, specialty drinks overpriced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The air conditioning wasn't working prop ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The air conditioning wasn't working properly is the only issue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My husband and I celebrated my 50th Birt ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband and I celebrated my 50th Birthday @ Rudy & Paco our server Chad was awesome. I have not had service and such a friendly server in a very long time. I can't wait to come back and have dinner again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the minute we stepped inside we wer ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

From the minute we stepped inside we were treated like roylalty. Overly accommodating staff made our anniversary dinner very special, and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in the overall experie ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very disappointed in the overall experience as my bride and I were seated in very close proximity to a private party of about 30+ people celebrating a birthday. Some from the group were standing engaged in conversation all around our table. Then after the group left the staff was busy rearranging the tables around us and cleaning the floor. Additionally, the table next to us was very close and we could hear every word of their conversation. No once did Paco come by to greet us and acknowledge the situation.

The food was good and the waiter did a good job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

One of the best places there is to eat i ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of the best places there is to eat in Galveston. I had the sea bass with lump crab which was fantastic. My wife had the grilled shrimp over the house pico which might sound average but was the best I have tasted. Do save room for the bread puIdding with praline sauce. If your in Galveston and can get a reservation you should dine here. You will not be sorry. This is the type place where anything you order will be great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rudy and Pacos is a Galveston treasure. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Rudy and Pacos is a Galveston treasure. You are always made to feel welcome and the food and service is the best on the island.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The only complaint I have is that my son wanted a glass of wine with dinner and he forgot his ID. He is almost 22. When I told the waitress he was 21, she didn't believe me I guess. I am his 56 year old mother.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Simply "The Best" from Food to Service, ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Simply "The Best" from Food to Service,

Thanks for a wonderful Birthday for my friend!!

Karen Hearring

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The red snapper and crab bisque was awes ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The red snapper and crab bisque was awesome and the pecan ball was excellent! Restaurant was pretty tight room wise, but enjoyed a visit from Mr. Paco himself! Wine service was excellent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Always amazing!!! Overtime we go it is ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always amazing!!! Overtime we go it is outstanding. The food and the service are beyond comparison!!! This time I had the soft shell crab and I have never had better or even close! Absolutely love love love going here. It is on the pricey side, but the food and service is worth it!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the wait staf ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was delicious and the wait staff was coordinated and attentive. We had to ask that the music be turned down, but that was the only negative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rudy and Paco's isa gem. The food is wo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Rudy and Paco's isa gem. The food is wonderful and the service cannot be beat. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary on August ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary on August 15th at Rudy & Pacos. We had not been there before and went not knowing what to expect. All of our expectations were exceeded by the ambience, service and excellent food. I highly recommend if for a fine dining experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent. The service was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food is excellent. The service was ok at best If you can get over all the pretentious people around and the hostess!! She was very rude to me and my wife. Waited for 15 at the hostess station before we even saw anyone. Then waited another 30 minutes before she asked me if I was waiting for a table. Did you not just check me in and did I not just tell you I have a reservation? So after checking in I tried to get a drink at the bar. I got yelled at by the bartender because where I was standing was also reserved. For who, I'm not sure. Then the hostess started yelling at us again because we were too close to the door with our drinks. Finally sat down. 1/2 hour to get menus. Another 1/2 hour for apps. Will not be going back!!!! And the dress code is a joke. There were several people with shorts on in the dining room. Oh did it mention it was my anniversary, neither did they.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Second time dining at Rudy and PACO and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Second time dining at Rudy and PACO and very pleased with both experiences. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Paco comes by and gree ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great experience. Paco comes by and greets every guest. Service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful menu and nice variety of off t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

wonderful menu and nice variety of off the menu items. Service was as you would expect, timely and attentive. Paco introduced himself and asked if he could be of any service. You do not get that so much today. Ambience was classic and quiet, even sitting near the bar in a not so large dining room. Food was as ordered, hot and outstanding. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First of all, I had a Saturday evening r ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First of all, I had a Saturday evening reservation and showed up on Friday night. They happily accommodated me even though the restaurant was very busy. We were treated as if we dined there often. The wonderful service was only eclipsed by the outstanding meal. This restaurant is number one on my list for future Galveston vacations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals and love coming here whene ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We are locals and love coming here whenever we get the chance. The food is always delicious and the service is always top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paco greeted us at the door and the spec ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Paco greeted us at the door and the special care and hospitality continued throughout the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rudy and Pacos is our favorite restauran ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Rudy and Pacos is our favorite restaurant in Galveston. Everytime we go to the Grand Opera House , we love to dine before the show and are disappointed if we cannot get a reservation. It is always booked , so if you want to dine at this wonderful restaurant, make your reservations early. It will not disappoint you , as the food and service is exceptional!

Love Rudy & Pacos!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5* - fantastic all around.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

5* - fantastic all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely the only place to eat in this ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Definitely the only place to eat in this town with bad restaurants... It was wonderful. Best crab cakes we have ever eaten!!! Great service, and Paco came and sat with us. May be the only shining light in Galveston...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome. Had the lobster tempura and esc ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Awesome. Had the lobster tempura and escargot. The lobster was the greatest ever. Crisp outside, juicy & succulent inside. House salads were so-so, mostly because the dressings we tried did not stand out. But the Parmesan crusted soft shell crab special with lump crab & capers was outstanding! Roasted Brussels sprouts and scalloped potatoes a perfect complement. Topping all with a fantastic creme brûlée cheesecake. Definitely a good foodie night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rudy and Paco's is first rate--great foo ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Rudy and Paco's is first rate--great food, the best service, great ambience and lots of good people-watching. We sort of save it for somewhat special ocassions, or when we just want to treat ourselves. We aren't big eaters, so often split an appetizer and split a fish dish. This time my husband had crab bisque and I had the beefsteak tomato salad. Naturally, there were enough yummy tomato slides to share with him. We shared a special fish if the evening--not sure it if was sea bass or red snapper--delicious anyway--with a great sauce with crab. it was on a bed of mashies and had lovely broccolini as the vegetable. We often spend more on the wine than on our entree--but that i what we like--got a great Argentinian Malbac.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighbourhood Gem, Romance, Special Occasions, Group Bookings, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant on Galveston Island, Rud ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Best restaurant on Galveston Island, Rudy and Paco's hits all the right notes. Paco greets everyone as an old friend. The food is lovely looking and delicious. Bravo, Paco.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful, we came in for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Everything was wonderful, we came in for my mothers birthday and Everyone was VERY accommodating! It was the most amazing atmosphere and it made for the perfect gathering. Thank you so much! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Richard is an awesome sever, took great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Richard is an awesome sever, took great care of our party and can always predict your next request/question etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited from Dallas, and the restaura ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We visited from Dallas, and the restaurant was very nice. The service was top notch and our waiter and the staff did not miss a beat. The food was good, nit the best I have ever had, but for sure the best in Galveston. If we wanted upscale dining the next time we visited we would consider this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We ( 3 adults) went for one's birthday. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We ( 3 adults) went for one's birthday. Since we had reservations, seating was immediate. The wait staff were friendly, informative, attentive, but not hovering. When it was time for the food to come, several waiters brought it all at once. That was very nice!

Our waiter asked if we were there for a special occasion. When we said "his birthday", he smiled and said "well happy birthday, sir" and went on with telling us about the specials that night. After we finished eating, a line of waiters approached our table with ours in the lead with a delicious dessert with a candle in it. He placed it in front of birthday boy's place and they all sang Happy Birthday.

A very nice gesture. The food was excellent and perfect, the service the best I've seen in a long time, and everything about the experience was the best. You can't possibly go wrong here. (And it explains the difficulty in getting reservations!)

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant. We come ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant. We come to Galveston every summer and I can't believe this is our first time to this restaurant. We will definitely be coming back every time we are in Galveston.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best fine dining in Galveston.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Best fine dining in Galveston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rudy and Paco is one of the best restura ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Rudy and Paco is one of the best resturants I ever had the pleasure of dining at. I took my two kids 9 and 10 to a special dinner with Daddy. This is not your typical kid restaurant. It is very upscale restaurant, but my children and I had one of the best meals that we ever had. The crab cake is to die for, one of the best i ever put to my lips. The soft shell crab entree was amazing, and so where the ravioli . Paco personally came out to thank us for dining at his restaurant and told me how lovely and well behaved my kids were. I would defiantly give them my highest recommedation. Plain and simple, awesome food with impeccable service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very friendly. The at ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The restaurant was very friendly. The atmosphere was awesome. The service was splendid. We will definitely put this on our list of special memories.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.