About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Houston
Best Food
Houston
Best Service
Houston
11 More
Notable Wine List
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Seafood
Houston
Best Overall
Galveston
Best Food
Galveston
Best Service
Galveston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Best Value
Galveston
Fit for Foodies
Galveston
Special Occasion
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

special occasion (153)
romantic (112)
fit for foodies (104)
See All
notable wine list (89)
neighborhood gem (61)
great for lunch (47)
good for groups (37)
hot spot (36)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was not as attentive as usual an ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Service was not as attentive as usual and we had a 2 year old at the adjoining table which never adds to this type of dining experience. Regardless this will always be a favorite .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Money talks

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were seated a bit early for our 8:30 reservation, but it was right next to the kitchen entry...very noisy & busy. The waitress tried several times to interest us in $100 bottles of wine instead of the $45 wine we were asking about. Around 9:00 a loud group of at least 20 men showed up and were waited on hand and foot. Even Paco was waiting on their table. Since the restaurant has a very nice service of an individual server per customer, all of the servers were used to bring out food to the large group. We asked our waitress as she was walking by about the status of our food and were told 'I saw it in the window, sorry, I'll be right with you'. My husband and I have been here several times before, but honestly, we won't be going back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My only recommendation is for Paco to en ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My only recommendation is for Paco to enlarge his space, tables are very close together. Considering the popularity of this restaurant, you are fortunate to get a reservation, so just know that it will be crowded at prime times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable Service

Dined on May 13, 2016

I was impressed by the handsome decor, comfortable seats, and awesome service. I arrived early for my lunch reservation and was the first to be seated for the day. Paco came by to greet me personally (as he does most guests). The crab cake was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth every expense.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Worth every expense.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rudy and Paco's never fails to deliver o ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Rudy and Paco's never fails to deliver on food, atmosphere, and service. this is the best place in galveston for business meetings or just a get together with friends. the service is superb, and the food is always great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great-Superb on all accounts. Relaxed. C ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great-Superb on all accounts. Relaxed. Casual dining in a formal setting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ANOTHER Fantastic Meal

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Rudy and Paco NEVER fails to provide the most spectacular meal. The fish is so fresh and prepared with such a flair. The steaks are also superb and seasoned perfectly. The au gratin potatoes are to die for. The ambiance is romantic and festive at the same time. The wait staff are very meticulous and leave you wanting for another visit back! We celebrated my birthday there last week and luckily, my daughter wants to celebrate her birthday there this coming weekend! A meal at R & P never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Great Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Recommended by a friend, Rudy and Paco was a really good dining experience. Greeted at door by Paco, quickly shown to table, service was outstanding. Everything we had was served quickly, food was fresh, hot, etc. For overall value though, the prices are really high. We may go back for a special occasion, but it will not be a regular stop for us.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous!

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in the Greater Houston/Galveston area! We drive all the way from downtown Houston several times a year to eat here. The crab bisque is heavenly. My boyfriend always asks to lick the pot. They haven't let him yet. The service is exceptional. Very nice wine list. Interesting cocktails. Unique and creative food dishes. Great location. Lovely atmosphere. Rudy & Paco never disappoints. I have recommended it to friends and will be back again and again and again and ....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

i will be back

Dined on May 7, 2016

this is my second visit to rudy & paco. I like everything about the restaurant. it is a nice room. the menu appeals to me and the food is very good. my only complaint is that the service started to trail off toward the end of the evening. we were sitting at a bank of tables for 2 near the bar. it appears that the waiters are more focused on the middle of the room, because of where the kitchen is. I intend to mention that the next time I go. other than that, I think it is a really good restaurant and certainly one of the best in Galveston.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The black bean soup & daily specials are ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The black bean soup & daily specials are amazing - please come soon!!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Was expecting food to be better.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was not better than any other seafood restaurant I have been to. I like ambience and that dress code is required.. to keep it fancy, but not impressed with food-not worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply GREAT

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

I have found this to be one of if not the best restaurants on the island.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

The experience was up to par with evenin ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

The experience was up to par with evening dining. Presentation and wait staff were outstanding. We went for lunch. They were out of the special of the day by noon. Our lunch choices were not delicious. Salmon was fishy tasting. Bones in the fish tacos. Shredded beef was average. Calamari was excellent. Desserts were excellent. Overall, very disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Classy

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was excellent..The waitress was aware we were attending a performance and she kept us on time in an unhurried manner. Highly recommend their fish dishes that are cooked to perfection with interesting sauces. Will be back next visit to the island.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good local eats

Dined on April 30, 2016

Rudy & Paco's is tucked away closer to town. Great food....a little loud and definitely get reservations. Was very busy but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is excellent and well presented ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food is excellent and well presented. The service is top notch. A little on the high end of price but yu get what you pay for

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Can't beat this restaurant for food quality and presentation. Awesome wine list. And Paco makes it perfect!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great experience as always.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food, great experience as always.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

OverRated

Dined on April 27, 2016

I was in a party of four on a weeknight. We were all so very disappointed in the food as we had had several outstanding recommendations from friends. The service was excellent and the wine list was very good. The fish was so overcooked I could not eat it in its entirety. Basically, three words sums this restaurant up - Overpriced, overrated, and overcooked.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the Perfect Place for a Business Lunch

Dined on April 26, 2016

Great food and great service is sure to impress your guests and business associates. Once you take them there, they will always want to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, Service was great. We were placed ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Food, Service was great. We were placed in a tight area with chairs backed up to each other which made for some uncomfortable & awkward moments

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Very disappointed

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have been here for lunch before and always found it superb. Decided to go there for my 1 year anniversary for dinner and it was a major disappointment. Husband's drink was wrong and he had to go to the bar to get it fixed. He ordered another drink before the entrees came out and we never got it (my Mojito was superb though). I had to ask for my water glass to be refilled after it sat empty for at least 10 minutes. Food was merely okay. Scallops were not cleaned properly and had sand still on them. Huge disappointment for the price and my expectations since I've never had a bad lunch there.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Rudy & Paco's about every 2 mon ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We go to Rudy & Paco's about every 2 months. We enjoyed a cocktail first along with the delicious plantains that they serve with a chimichurri sauce and pico diced tomatoes. We ordered the crab bisque. Our entrees were soft shell crab and sautéed shrimp. We enjoy the drive from our home in the Clear Lake area to Galveston just for a special outing. Right around sunset a retired veteran plays taps on a balcony across the street. It was a Wednesday night and on a whim we decided to go. I checked my open table app and we were able to get in within the hour. Do Not Do that on a Friday or Saturday. Reservations a must well in advance of the weekend. If you do the pop in and you are lucky you might be able to sit at the bar. This is a cozy high end restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining

Dined on April 14, 2016

Rudy & Paco's is a locally-owned small restaurant close to the Strand in Galveston. The service is impeccable (waiters coordinate delivery of drinks and food so no person is eating or drinking unless all are), the location is fabulous (across from a retired Marine who plays taps every evening at sunset), and the ambience is peaceful (no loud music). There were children there, but it is pricey for the overly selective tastes of some children. Visitors should try it at least once.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed meeting Paco, wonderful servers. ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Enjoyed meeting Paco, wonderful servers. Chad was very attentive. Good choice of wines.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occasion

Dined on April 9, 2016

The service is impeccable. Cannot complain at all - can you say coordinated plate removal. We had a party of four. Four people came to remove our plates. The food is amazing. We ordered the seasonal halibut. It was terrific. The one thing I will say is that I have never paid that much for a meal before! Great service, great food, but for me it is a special occasion place only because of the prices. If you want service like that, I guess you have to pay for it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

from a foodie

Dined on April 9, 2016

I am a great fan of Rudy and Paco's and have to say that it is one of the best resturants in the whole country and indeed the food was quite adequate but only that. The previous times I have been there have been wonderful experiences and I could not ask for any better service but this evening the scallops were overdone and the fish dish my wife ordered was uninspired. Most worrisome, my wife is Gluten intolerant and the salad she ordered had wheat based croutons. This was after we had specifically ordered gluten free. we asked for another salad and what we got was the same salad with croutons removed but crumbs remaining. Usually they have bent over backwards to please even with food allergies but this evening was an exception. I plan to return but high expectations on this occasion were not rewarded

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service and food ever!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Best dining experience even compared to some of the best rated restaurants in Vegas.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I always go to R&P's any time we go to G ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

I always go to R&P's any time we go to Galveston. Paco does a great job.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We come to Galveston often and never lea ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We come to Galveston often and never leave without dining at R&P. The food is consistently great (especially if you enjoy Snapper), along with the service. It competes with our seafood restaurants in Dallas. They also serve a nice Kettle One martini straight up!! 😉

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Galveston!!

Dined on April 1, 2016

You can not go wrong by eating here. We go everytime we come to Galveston. You must book early or you will not be able to get in.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot.

Dined on April 1, 2016

Always has been and always will be one of my favorite restaurants in G-Town since I "discovered" in 2003.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Small--definitely make reservations. Goo ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Small--definitely make reservations. Good service, absolutely delicious food: poblano soup, lobster tempura, scallops, side vegetables, chocolate mousse cake--all of it ranks at the top of my list!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Galveston local

Dined on March 30, 2016

We went on a Wednesday night and thought it would be dead downtown. Not so. Rudyand paco's was getting busy but the service was fantastic and my grouper was delicious and my wife's soft shell crab was perfect. They had my Wife's favorite Chardonnay and they even brought out a desert with a candle and sang happy bday to her.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3

The food was awesome. The steak melted i ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

The food was awesome. The steak melted in your mouth.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on March 26, 2016

This restaurant was one of the best we have ever eaten at! The food was excellent and my husband had a very special 50th birthday celebration. Not only was the food outstanding, but our server Jordan was amazing! It is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion, or just a night out. We will definitely go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfect

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

First class 5 stars every time. Sitting at the Bar is our weekly treat. Perfect martinis everytime...we judge any other martini we ever get against the one we get at Paco's

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paco (the Owner) and his restaurant are the Best

Dined on March 26, 2016

It is rare to find an owner as invested in his restaurant as Paco. I saw him greeting guests (many by name), helping with seating, serving, etc. His attention to detail and the hiring of staff is very evident. The bone-in ribeye and the red snapper were amazing. If you think you have room, get the red snapper ceviche, wow. This is one of my top 3 restaurants in Texas, if not the U.S.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.