Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual

2028 Postoffice Street
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 762-3696

Website:
http://www.galveston.com/rudypaco

Catering:
We offer catering services for all occasions and party sizes. Please contact Paco at (409) 762-3696 or email us at RudyandPacos@gmail.com for details.

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a public lot.

Private Party Facilities:
We are more than happy to close the restaurant for your private party. Contact us to discuss the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Paco Vargas: (409) 762-3696

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (93)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Romantic (62)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Worth the Drive (50)
Notable Wine List (50)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Business Meals (45)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Cozy (37)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Authentic (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Bar Seating (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Historic (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Fun (11)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Spicy (4)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1699 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

We have a condo in Galveston so have frequented many Galveston restaurants. We are not good pre planners so don't often eat at Rudy & Paco since you can't get in without reservations. I finally had the foresight to make a reservation & was thrilled beyond belief with our meal. From the crab bisque (creamy but no heavy cream to disguise the super fresh crab flavor) to the ceviche to the scallops to the cocktails, everything was superb. Saw a bone in ribeye at the next table & had food envy just from looks alone. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

The owner Paco caught my eye and came to my table to ask, "Is everything good?" I replied, "No, everything was great and perfect!"

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Cozy, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

I made this reservation for my boss and some visitors we had to the University. The two guests had never been to Rudy and Pacos. They were all impressed with the food and the service. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a great restaurant. A little overpriced but it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary so we didn't mind. Great service, friendly staff!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

My girlfriend and I made a trip down to Galveston recentley and made reservations at Rudy and Pacos. We were deffinetley satisfied! We are a little younger so we felt a little out of place initially but we were treated just like any other customer or even better. We were initially worried about being overdressed but we for sure we're not, which was a plus by all means. The food was amazing, the service was amazing, and the owner even came out and talked with us. It was overall an amazing experience I would suggest to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Our family visited Galveston and had one dinner here. The food was incredible and you don't see this level of service very often; outstanding in every respect. Even Paso visited with us. Have the Snapper Simpatico or Snapper Elegante and bread pudding for dessert. Wine recommendations were great too. Dine here!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful evening from the moment we walked in. Everything was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic. Can't wait to return in July. Food and service were outstanding. Ask for Juan, the waiter.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We celebrated my birthday this evening and the food and service was outstanding, as always. The crab bisque is amazing - the best we have ever had. A wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Whenever in town, this is our first stop for dinner. Seems it only gets better on each visit. Food is always the best and service is impeccable. Love that Paco is always on hand greeting customers and friends and always helps staff when needed. The best of the best!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wonderful food and service! Our waiter was very knowledgeable and informative. The food was amazing and I love that multiple waiters serve eveyone at the table their plates at the same time. We will definitely be back next time we visit Galveston.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Have been to Galveston many times but this was my first visit to Rudy and Paco's .
Simply put the experience was fantastic.... the food , service and ambience was first class . Chad our waiter was excellent. Five star restaurant!!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My fiancee and I dined together at the restaurant a second time and we were not disappointed. The black bean soup was outstanding, her filet reminded me of my previous visit, my scallops were perfection, and our wines were a discovery that will linger with us both--she, a chardonnay and I, a moscato...We met Juan and I was most happy to learn that Paco's children are committing to learn the business. Keep up the good work, and thank you for your hospitality!!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Impeccable as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and outstanding service restaurants like this is very hard to find now keep up the good work!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Owner came by at the beginning of the meal and welcomed us to his home....one of the best béarnaise sauces I have had...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food and atmosphere were awesome. The wait staff were delightful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was amazing, from the empanadas as as appetizer to the entrees. We got the fish Elegante and Simpatico. They were both delicious but I have to say the Simpatico w the plantain Crust and chipotle sauce was truly delicious. I love the fact that I could find such an amazing Restaurant that offers Latinamerican cuisine, and specially Nicaraguan food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food is always excellent along with the service!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

All that you would expect from a fine dining experience. Attentive, engaging staff; efficient without being intrusive. Great bar drinks, well made and generous size. Wonderful menu and off-menu cuisine. Their flan and espresso are a must-have dessert combo. One of our perennial favorites; we always look forward to the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I have dined here before with my elderly parents. We like to go early to avoid the crowds and noise. It is always a good experience. The food is consistently well presented and delicious. The service is superb. I know we can depend on having a stellar experience. Many thanks!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We love this place, the food is always wonderful, the service is great, and the owner is a wonderful man.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My adult daughter and granddaughter were visiting from Michigan. They were most impressed with the ambience, food and service. Great way to show off Gulf Coast cuisine and hospitality.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

As always, amazing food and exceptional service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Truly great evening with great food and service you won't see often. Prices were reasonable for the quality of food and service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food is great every time. If you want to impress someone , take them here. Great service. Make a reservation just to make sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We frequent this restaurant prior to performances at The Grand. This evening we had the specials-- Lamb Chops with Plum Poblano Sauce and it was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

In my opinion, the finest restaurant in Galveston and one of the finest in the entire Houston-Galveston area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fantastic service!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent food with very professional service. Owner on site and watching every detail. Best fresh seafood in Galveston and Houston.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great Beer, Quick Bite, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The restaurant has around 30 tables and has a quaint ambiance. The interior is very nice, mahogany wood and white table linens. The food and service was wonderful. The owner made sure to introduce himself to everyone entering or saying "hello" and "welcome back", to the regulars. Overall, I received wonderful customer service .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Paco never disappoints. I travel 2-4 days per week and have many meals with customers. This is my favorite restaurant in North America. The Lobster appetizer is to die for. If I have one meal left on this planet, it will be served by the professionals from Rudy & Pacos. I pray he will have the veal chop on the menu that day.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Our son takes his wife here every year for their anniversary and has had great success. My wife and I have wanted to try the food and location for over a year. We made reservation and did not realize that it was Fat Tuesday and the Mardi Gras Parade was on the same night as our reservation. We had a short walk, but well worth the trip. We are from Sugar Land, Texas and this evening was better than any restaurant in Houston, Texas. You need to make a reservation, but highly recommend the drive for great food and a great evening. The seafood is fantastic, but the steak is as good as you will find anywhere. We will make the drive anytime for an evening at Rudy and Paco's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Outstanding in every way! A must if you are in Galveston!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

great food and atmosphere as always. this is definitely our favorite spot on the island for fine dining. it never disappoints. look forward to our next time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Filet was outstanding! Service was outstanding! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love, Love, Love this place! Paco knows how to treat his customers. The food is wonderful and the service is excellent! It is obvious that a lot of love and heart goes into the food preparation and service delivery making your dining experience here of top notch quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is our favorite place the entertain friends that visit us. The food is creative and the ambience in intimate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.