About Ruby River Steakhouse - Reno

2750 S Virginia St
Reno, NV 89502
View Larger Map

Ruby River Steakhouse is a Utah original, born out of the desire to create the most flavorful steaks west of the Mississippi. Hand-cut in-house daily for freshness, and twenty-one day aged for tenderness; once you’ve dined with us you’ll experience the passion and quality that is Ruby River. We are honored to have been voted Utah’s Best Steak by City Search, City Weekly, and Best of State time and time again. Ruby River offers more than high quality steaks. Customers indulge in tender chicken, fresh seafood, fall-off-the-bone ribs, and mouthwatering desserts all while enjoying a handcrafted soda or gold medal beer from their brewery. It’s the perfect complement to any meal. Ruby River is a laid back style with a country romance. It’s a place to relax with family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 827-4007

Website:
http://rubyriver.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Ruby River Steakhouse - Reno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (11)
neighborhood gem (9)
good for groups (8)
See All
fit for foodies (7)
kid-friendly (4)
notable wine list (3)
romantic (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
80 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Though our waitress was excellent and ve ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 5 days ago

Though our waitress was excellent and very helpful, the kitchen chef was not able to answer dairy allergy questions about french fries or the bread. Told that the fries were received frozen and the bread, very fresh and good, brought in...no labels to check. I believe that they should be able to address such issues...keep a label and post it in the kitchen! Disappointed little girl who could not risk having either the fries or the bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We came here for the first time an celeb ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

We came here for the first time an celebrated my husbands birthday. We had a party of 6 and a child. From the outside I thought this was a redone Denny's or something but when you walk in we all said WOW! The inside is amazing and we all loved the decor. It right away made us feel comfortable and at home but still at a nice restaurant. Our waitress, Julian (sorry for spelling) was awesome! She took such good care of us. Our food was OUTSTANDING! And all six of us had something different and they loved their dinners.

We are bringing our friends back this weekend :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu selection is a little pricy, bu ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The menu selection is a little pricy, but because it was my husband's birthday, we decided to dine at Ruby River Steakhouse. The food is always good.

One suggestion ... with other restaurants, when it is a special occasion, we usually get a complimentary desert. It would have been a perfect dinning experience if Ruby River considered it, especially when the entire dinner, inclusive tip came up to $120!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived at the restaurant, they ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

When we arrived at the restaurant, they did not have our table reservation and said that you, Open Table, had not made a reservation for us and were the worst. They got us in 15' after the time we had reserved. No apologies at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Great service and drinks from our barten ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great service and drinks from our bartender Ariel while we waited for a reservation to come up. Service in the restaurant was very good as well. The wine selection left a lot to be desired however. My New York steak was cooked perfectly and was very tender. The halibut was very tasty and moist. The wood blinds in the window behind the bar really need to be addressed. They are old beat up and distracts from the ambience of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

A Bit Disappointed

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I have eaten at Ruby River several times before, but this visit was rather disappointing. The appetizer was great, but the entrees were not. My friend ordered a combo and everything was loaded onto one rather small dinner plate and made eating it rather difficult. I ordered the Chicken Fettucine and did not care for the taste or the consistency of the Alfredo sauce, and the garlic bread was soggy and barely toasted. I had to keep asking other servers for assistance, and one time the manager for pepper for my salad. I will be back, because Ruby River is a great restaurant, but I will cross my fingers.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Night Out with Friends

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Filet mignon.. delicious, perfectly cooked.. great sides.. decent prices.. Will definitely go back..

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best steak ever and food was piping hot! ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Best steak ever and food was piping hot! Great service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome variety of great tasting food fo ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Awesome variety of great tasting food for an affordable price .

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a gem and find, great food and value!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We came to Reno on a business trip and stayed across the street at the Pepper Mill. A friend recommended this to us, so we went. What a delight, fabulous food and steak cooked to perfection! The value was exceptional and the quality of the food was 5 stars!

We will definitely be back.

The only small downside is they had a big party in the back, so the the service was a little slow. However, they kept us informed and once the food arrived, it was so good and worth the wait!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love it here. We try to go as much as possible.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I love there Oscar style steak it is perfect. They always have great service. Best steak in town.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food Good Place

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

This was our first time here, but we will definitely return. We have already recommended them to others. The entree's are more than sufficient and delicious. My wife had the prime rib and said it was better than the down under restaurant. I had the peppered salmon on barbecue sauce. This sounds a bit strange but actually complemented well. We would both order these again. Looking forward to going through the rest of the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy introducing new people t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We always enjoy introducing new people to Ruby River Steakhouse in Reno, since the food and service are consistently great. This was no exception. Thanks, Ruby River, for not letting us down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great food, portions, drink ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Consistently great food, portions, drinks and service. Our bartender, Jessica and server, Rae, were both very pleasant and attentive. Ruby River is always a good choice for dining in the Biggest Little City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was pretty busy. One would think if r ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

It was pretty busy. One would think if restaurant is generally busy it would be better prepared to handle and deal with customers. Hostess was indifferent, neither here nor there. Service was really good considering waitress was also bartender. Should have a separate bartender so waitress doesn't have double duty. Ribeye was more fat than meat. Was cold by time reached table. Garlic mashed potatoes were luke warm. Wasn't first choice for dinner, more of a last minute decision. My fault for making bad restaurant choice, knew better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

they excelled on the steak, chicken was dry

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

the steaks were awesome but two of our party had chicken and although good flavor was dry. we have eaten there several times and in fairness this was the first time we have ever been disappointed with any item ordered.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Passable.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Food was good, but nothing great. Good size portions. Trainee server.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

GOOD FOOD GOOD FIND

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

We wanted a good steakhouse but not too pricey. The reviews were good on the food but not as good on the ambiance. I thought it was fine. it was rustic and extremely friendly.

The steak and prime was cooked perfect and good.

I would definitely recommend this as a great casual steakhouse.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Pleasantly surprised

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

The ruby river has a rather plain exterior but OpenTable reviews plus proximity to the majority of my dinning party staying at Pepper Mill made this a good choice. Even though we (6 of us) had a reservation (on OpenTable), we waited about 15 minutes to be seated. Once seated we had very good service and the food was good, plentiful and reasonably priced. I think we agree we would return.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Consistently very good

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on October 26, 2015

The steaks have wonderful flavor. The fish and seafood tends to be a bit overcooked. Service is almost always very good. It tends to be a bit noisy, so if you like it quiet ask for a booth in a corner. l

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

six people in a booth, too many

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

two of the meals (halibut) were overcooked. Prime rib as very fatty. My jacket sweet potato was black on the inside. overall, I do not think we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Steaks were really good - cooked to orde ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2015

Steaks were really good - cooked to order, nicely seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Need to enjoy sub-par, undercooked steaks

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 16, 2015

We were across the street at a casino hotel looking for a quick steak with a client and this was close. Sadly the people in the kitchen have no apparent idea of how to test how well done a steak is. Two of us ordered medium well and they were barely medium. I'm being kind...they were basically medium rare. And cold. Oh yeah, and plenty of grizzle to cut away. The steamed veggies I ordered were indeed steamed. That was the sole blessing. If you are at the hotel across the street, stay! If you take a client here, make sure they are a close friend or you may lose them as a customer, or friend, or both...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Don't go

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

prime rib fatty and chewy. Drink order was wrong. Not cooked to order. Amateur bartender. Screwed up a martini? Don't get me started on the baked potato. Talked to the manager and he didn't really care. We took guests and who were treating us to dinner. Totally embarresed. We will never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Outstanding food!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

The food was delicious! We had the prime rib and filet mignon, both were cooked perfectly and in a timely manner. The service was also good, extra condiments requested were fulfilled quickly. Overall, it was a great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Nice Affordable Steakhouse

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

Steaks and veggies were cooked well. Server was very friendly and attentive but did not hurry us through our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good steaks for a reasonable price

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

We dine at Ruby River when we stay at the Reno Peppermill. The place is a bit loud but has great free peanuts. The NY Sirloins are quite good, salads are fresh, baked potatoes and yams are good (not a fan of the jacketed part, just adds empty calories). Service is usually casual but attentive. The price for the quality and portion is quite fair. The wine list is basic but doable, some work on that would be nice. Reno's steakhouses have become so overpriced we have given up on most of them.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food can be iffy, depending on the night.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 25, 2015

I had halibut, baked sweet potato, salad. All good except sweet potato. Way over done, mushy. My friend had a rack of ribs that was very dried out. Very disappointing on the ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great food and service!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

The food was excellent, all the steaks were cooked correctly! We had three people in our party and each ordered their steak differently one well, one medium and one medium-rare. The service was fast. Definitely we will be back and also use them for the 50th wedding anniversary party we are doing for our parents.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great place to eat

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

Loved the food! Our waiter was excellent and easy to talk to..he made the dining experience very enjoyable. The steak was perfect! We were there for a birthday in the family and the whole experience was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good filets. Asparagus scarce and w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

Very good filets. Asparagus scarce and woody. Although there were many empty booths and we had made a reservation for an un-busy time, we were seated at a booth directly by the kitchen entrance, which was distracting and not pretty.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Worn-out theme and dried-out meat

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 28, 2015

Prime rib was dried out and tough even though ordered medium rare. The ambiance was phony/tired "cowboy" theme mixed with English riding theme, with too-loud Western music playing. Service was okay, but overall a poor dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Sunday dinner with family

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

We've been to Ruby River many times and glad to see them participating on Open Table. The resturant often gets busy and wait times can be long without reservations.

Food is consistently good with generous portions. Service is also consistently good and the managers make it a point to stop by your table to make sure your experience is good.

We all enjoyed our dinners and were so full there was no room for dessert!

Ruby River is consistently good and highly recommend it to locals and visitors alike!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Disappointing / mediocre

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

I was looking forward to a great steak as described on the web site and had guests meet us there. “Seared at 1600 degrees etc.” The steak was slightly seared on one side and not at all on the other (but was cooked med as ordered). Guest’s prime rib was very fatty as well. There’s no place like home I guess…. Cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

good eating

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

the rib eye steak I ate was one of the best steaks I've eaten in along time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The quality and taste of the food at Rub ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2015

The quality and taste of the food at Ruby River is very consistent. Personable servers and bartenders just add to the experience, which - in our many visits - is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Best Steakhouse in Reno

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 14, 2015

I found Ruby River when I first moved to Reno. It quickly became my favorite restaurant. When I talk to friends and colleagues about Ruby River it seems I use the same phrase in describing the experience-"They do a great job." From the always hospitable service to the incredible food, I have never been disappointed. One important quality I found it Ruby River's consistency. I know I am going to get a great meal. When my family was in town this past week, and I thought of where I wanted to take them for a special dinner, I immediately thought of Ruby River, and they did not disappoint. My family, and I, enjoyed the experience immensely! I will be back soon.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not always consistant

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 8, 2015

Ordered the prime rib which is usually a good choice. It was dry and pretty tasteless (should have ordered the rib eye). This is a spot we like to go but lately the food has not been consistant. Our waitress was great, very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Second visit - still a great find

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 6, 2015

This is our second visit and had a pleasant experience. We made our reservation online, though we went at 5pm, and didn't seem that busy yet. Parking is slim, but we found a relatively close spot. We like the decor; it is western but tasteful. They offered us a bucket of peanuts, but not our favorite choice for a snack. We prefer chips. Nice selection of menu items and reasonably priced for the quality. Staff friendly and noise level was reasonable, unlike a similar steakhouse chain we have been to (Texas). Even with a tray of hot food, the waiter walking through the aisle was extremely polite in letting us through, and very patient. The food was delicious, especially the fish, which you take a chance to order at most places, as easy to overcook or undercook. Even the wine was good. (Reisling and White Zin). The jacketed yam was an item I never tried before; creative idea, but frying made the skin too crisp/burnt. But the yam itself was delicious. We came here mostly for a special occasion, but sure we will be back many more times.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome steak for the price... As good o ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 20, 2015

Awesome steak for the price... As good or better than Henry's at Harrahs Lake Tahoe. Deep fried bake potato to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.