Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Ruby River Steakhouse - Provo

4.0
65 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Good for Anniversaries
Ruby River Steakhouse is a Utah original, born out of the desire to create the most flavorful steaks west of the Mississippi. Hand-cut in-house daily for freshness, and twenty-one day aged for tenderness; once you’ve dined with us you’ll experience the passion and quality that is Ruby River. We are honored to have been voted Utah’s Best Steak by City Search, City Weekly, and Best of State time and time again. Ruby River offers more than high quality steaks. Customers indulge in tender chicken, fresh seafood, fall-off-the-bone ribs, and mouthwatering desserts all while enjoying a handcrafted soda or gold medal beer from their brewery. It’s the perfect complement to any meal. Ruby River is a laid back style with a country romance. It’s a place to relax with family and friends.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 371-0648
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 65 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
3.8
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
71% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We had a small group of business colleagues in from various locations outside Utah and chose this steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Bad food for the price you can get significantly better tasting food elsewhere. Also made reservations online and get there to find out the reservation is no good for parties less then 6. Had to wait 30 minutes ended up sitting at the bar.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 28, 2017

I used the round table reservation and the front desk didn't really know anything a bout it, and we didn't get in until about 20 minutes after reservation time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2017

All in all it ended up being ok. Great steaks grilled perfectly to our liking per our order. Friendly staff. However, we made a reservation from this site and the directions there were a joke. Then when we got there the host said that they had to wait to seat us until they had a server that could serve us because they had let all the servers from the lunch shift go I guess. I've been a server and know that that happens but there was only two other tables in the restaurant that had guests eating and they already had their food. I guess whoever the manager is must have not gone to Managment school or something. They actually made us wait until another server came which was about 15 or so minutes. A GOOD manager would have come out themselves and apologized and would have served us until the next server available had arrived.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Did not honor our Open Table reservation; said they no longer do Open Table. Really?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2017

Had an absolutely perfect evening. The food, staff and atmosphere were amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 27, 2017

The filet mignon was excellent, appetizer was also great. Great portion. Love the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2017

Absolutely love this place - great value and large portions

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Everything was great. The food arrived warm not hot like usually. I like it arriving hot.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 27, 2017

The hostess did not greet us just grabbed menus and started walking. When we got tot the table she threw the menus down in front of us and left. Her name was Maddie. Very unpleasant beginning. However, our server Taylor was quite nice and helpful. The food was average and I would not return to Ruby River Steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2017

My favorite is the sweet potato, and the iceberg salad. And a course peanuts..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2017

We enjoyed the experience and were happy the restaurant was adjacent to the Ramada Inn--as we arrived later in the day and didn't want to look for restaurants. The food was fine and the service was good (ideally, never having to ask for a refill would up the score one star for service). A bit pricey--but the ambiance was good with country-western background, autographed guitars, and boots.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2017

If I was basing the review off of the reservation process/hostesses it would be lower, but the food and service were great. I took my mom here for Mother's day and we went at 5 PM. I had made a reservation for that time using a link found on the company website. It was through Open Table. We arrived about 15 minutes early and I went to check in. They said they didn't take reservations through that system and that link needed to be removed. Not a good way to start things out. Then they said the reservation would only cut our wait time in half. I told them the link it off of their website and they certainly did take reservations because it allowed me to make one. They quoted 10 to 15 minutes and we went to the bar. I went back a few minutes after 5 and they said they had already called our name and we didn't answer, but they did seat us right away. Anyway the hostess area is not well run, and management really needs to take a look at that. This place is big and maybe a little on the run down side. Our light was flickering at our table so I just unscrewed it, but things like that can really distract from a meal. The food is pricy, but the portions are huge. Our meals were about $26 a piece and the appetizer is $14. My mom had the filet and loved it. I had the jumbo prawns and they were really great. We had the pick your own appetizer and it was all really good. We picked the Browning Onion, Coconut shrimp, and artichoke dip. Our waitress was amazing, but I didn't write down her name. The bathroom is in the attached hotel, which was a little odd, but not terrible. This is not a fancy place. Plenty of people in jeans.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2017

Steaks were tasty, but nothing special. Service was disorganized throughout the experience. Not for health conscious eaters.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 23, 2017

This is more like a diner. The host was nowhere to be found and the staff didn't offer any help or tried to get the host. Our server was great and attentive! The food was mediocre. The sweet potato was battered and deep fried. The fish was over cooked and lacking in flavor.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2017

Our Server was wonderful and very friendly but there were never any items cleared from our table. My crab legs were luke warm and my yam was so cold the butter never melted on it. We won't be going to Ruby River again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 23, 2017

Service was slow and uninformed, or she just chose not to suggest items or tell me the soup of the day

The food was unimaginative and either under-seasoned or over-salted. The bread was yeasty - almost as if the dough wasn't allowed to completely rise before baking. The sautéed mushrooms were salty but otherwise decent the coconut shrimp were tasteless and seemed straight out of the freezer. The accompanying orange marmalade was very sweet. My steak was over cooked.

The restaurant is loud, dated, and in need of a deep cleaning.

If you're staying at the adjacent hotel it might be worth the walk over but otherwise I would find a different place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2017

Great place great service

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 8, 2017

Hostess was nonexistent for at least five minutes while 8 people waited. The restaurant was not crowded. Found servers and hostesses to be uninterested in greeting or even acknowledging guests.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2016

The online reservation was useless. Made a day before and restaurant didn't have it....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2016

We made the reservation using this tool. When we got there the hostess did not know anything about it. Luckily we were able to be seated quickly. It could have been a catastrophe.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 28, 2016

Probably the best restaurant for steaks in Utah County. Been here a number of times and without driving to Salt Lake City or Park City for steak, you can find a good one here. Been to some of the best steak houses in the country including Peter Luger, Mastro's, Flemings', Capital Grill, Bohanan's in San Antonio, Ruth's Chris, and many others, so I know my steak. Not saying it is as good as those mentioned, but def better than any I have eaten in Utah County.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 28, 2016

Despite an open table reservation the restaurant had no idea that we were coming and had never recorded a reservation. After a lot of milling around they finally found us a table I had reserved on open table and even gave them the reservation number to no avail.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 22, 2016

About the same quality of an outback. Food wasn't great but it was fairly cheap for a steak too. You get what you pay for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 7, 2016

Great service. Fabulous rib eye steak. Perfect recommendations from our waiter. Free dessert for our special occasion. We will return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2016

else in my party had a steak and we'reall pleased. were good, server was nice with quickness.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 6, 2016

My salad had egg shell in it that started my bad experience, my chicken wings was not cooked well done like I asked and my end cut prime rib that I asked to be well done had blood still running out onto the plate. My server was top notch. I spent good money on a bad meal

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 28, 2015

Only 6 of us in party. Had to ask for drink refills three times(1/2 water 1/2 Pepsi, how hard is that?) Never got bread even after asking. Asked twice to for ketchup, S sauce and horseradish. My wife forgot her gloves. When she went back to get them she overheard our waiter was complaining about having to split the bill three ways(wish we'd not left such a decent tip). The
table of four across from us came after our salads were served and left before us.....Slow oowwww to do anything.
This was a Monday night. Could understand if it was a busy weekend.
Left me craving in and out burger service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 13, 2015

Went here because we wanted red meat. Boy did we get it! Ordered the 16oz portion of Prime Rib, medium rare. It was spot on. The baked potato we ordered was, a baked potato! The sautéed mushrooms were really good. I would go again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 7, 2015

When we arrived there was no reservation from Open Table. They put us near the top of the list but we still had a long wait.

Our food service was very slow.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 30, 2015

Ruby River is a nice, consistent restaurant where you can reasonably expect good service and good food. Nothing outstanding, but adequate and appropriate for the area, and cost.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2015

If you love red meat, this is your place! Excallant sea food as well.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2015

They claim to have amazing steaks, but mine was not cooked properly and very subpar for what they advertised to be. The ambiance was like a applebees except quieter.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2015

Comfortable and consistent go-rigor steaks in Utah County

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2015

Best salmon with bbq and pepper I have eaten recently. Terrific courtesy and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2015

Ruby River was great as always! The food was perfect and the service was very good. Always a good choice to eat at the Provo Ruby River.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 24, 2015

We come here all the time and have never been disappointed but this last trip we had a waiter that was much more interested in talking with his friend than bringing us our food. The manager made it right and we will go again for sure.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 24, 2015

You may want to explain exactly what open table reservations mean. We were expecting that it to mean that we had a reserved table at a specific time. However when we arrived your hostess said there were no reservations for us in our name. We were able to be seated OK but fortunately there were not many people for dinner at that time and all went well despite the confusion about our "reservations".

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2015

The food and service was great. We do not get to restaurants very often and this was a good experience. It was my birthday and I enjoyed it very much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2015

If your into red meat, this is the place! Always great service and they seat you right away. Peanuts while you wait. Overall its a great place to dine.

Report
Helpful
1
2