About Ruby River Steakhouse - Provo

1454 S University Ave
Provo, UT 84601
View Larger Map

Ruby River Steakhouse is a Utah original, born out of the desire to create the most flavorful steaks west of the Mississippi. Hand-cut in-house daily for freshness, and twenty-one day aged for tenderness; once you’ve dined with us you’ll experience the passion and quality that is Ruby River. We are honored to have been voted Utah’s Best Steak by City Search, City Weekly, and Best of State time and time again. Ruby River offers more than high quality steaks. Customers indulge in tender chicken, fresh seafood, fall-off-the-bone ribs, and mouthwatering desserts all while enjoying a handcrafted soda or gold medal beer from their brewery. It’s the perfect complement to any meal. Ruby River is a laid back style with a country romance. It’s a place to relax with family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 371-0648

Website:
http://www.rubyriver.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Ruby River Steakhouse - Provo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

2.3

service

4.7

ambience

3

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Provo / Orem
Best Restaurants in Provo ›

great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Halibut was obviously frozen, meat was overcooked.

Dined on March 29, 2016

else in my party had a steak and we'reall pleased. were good, server was nice with quickness.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

Food not up to grade

Dined on March 7, 2016

My salad had egg shell in it that started my bad experience, my chicken wings was not cooked well done like I asked and my end cut prime rib that I asked to be well done had blood still running out onto the plate. My server was top notch. I spent good money on a bad meal

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Worst service in decades at RR.

Dined on December 29, 2015

Only 6 of us in party. Had to ask for drink refills three times(1/2 water 1/2 Pepsi, how hard is that?) Never got bread even after asking. Asked twice to for ketchup, S sauce and horseradish. My wife forgot her gloves. When she went back to get them she overheard our waiter was complaining about having to split the bill three ways(wish we'd not left such a decent tip). The table of four across from us came after our salads were served and left before us.....Slow oowwww to do anything. This was a Monday night. Could understand if it was a busy weekend. Left me craving in and out burger service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3

Nice steakhouse

Dined on October 13, 2015

Went here because we wanted red meat. Boy did we get it! Ordered the 16oz portion of Prime Rib, medium rare. It was spot on. The baked potato we ordered was, a baked potato! The sautéed mushrooms were really good. I would go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service1

No reservation received by restaurant from Open

Dined on September 8, 2015

When we arrived there was no reservation from Open Table. They put us near the top of the list but we still had a long wait. Our food service was very slow.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Me expectations

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

Ruby River is a nice, consistent restaurant where you can reasonably expect good service and good food. Nothing outstanding, but adequate and appropriate for the area, and cost.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for steaks

vip
Dined on July 18, 2015

If you love red meat, this is your place! Excallant sea food as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service5

Food very average

Dined on June 8, 2015

They claim to have amazing steaks, but mine was not cooked properly and very subpar for what they advertised to be. The ambiance was like a applebees except quieter.

food3
ambience3
service3

Comfortable and consistent go-rigor stea ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2015

Comfortable and consistent go-rigor steaks in Utah County

food5
ambience4
service5

Best salmon with bbq and pepper I have e ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2015

Best salmon with bbq and pepper I have eaten recently. Terrific courtesy and service

food5
ambience5
service5

Ruby River Steak House

vip
Dined on February 7, 2015

Ruby River was great as always! The food was perfect and the service was very good. Always a good choice to eat at the Provo Ruby River.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1

We love this restaurant!

Dined on January 25, 2015

We come here all the time and have never been disappointed but this last trip we had a waiter that was much more interested in talking with his friend than bringing us our food. The manager made it right and we will go again for sure.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Seating

Dined on January 24, 2015

You may want to explain exactly what open table reservations mean. We were expecting that it to mean that we had a reserved table at a specific time. However when we arrived your hostess said there were no reservations for us in our name. We were able to be seated OK but fortunately there were not many people for dinner at that time and all went well despite the confusion about our "reservations".

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Ruby River Provo, Utah

Dined on January 7, 2015

The food and service was great. We do not get to restaurants very often and this was a good experience. It was my birthday and I enjoyed it very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

vip
Dined on January 4, 2015

If your into red meat, this is the place! Always great service and they seat you right away. Peanuts while you wait. Overall its a great place to dine.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4

Food not up to par

Dined on December 13, 2014

I used to like Ruby River, but this time my halibut was dry and my husband's steak was tough. My "steamed" vegetables had no flavor and were not cooked much at all, and were therefore way too much work to eat. The mashed potatoes were good, and the mushrooms were good.

food4
ambience2
service3

It was okay. The server forgot our drin ...

vip
Dined on November 26, 2014

It was okay. The server forgot our drinks and appetizers, by the time we asked for extra condiments, we had finished our most of our food. It was too much going on for the server and I kept asking was my open table reservations added, the hostess could not answer me.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food2
ambience3
service3

Just not as good as they used to be.

Dined on November 22, 2014

The steaks just are not as good as they used to be. Wonder if they changed provider?

food5
ambience4
service3

try the salmon

Dined on November 22, 2014

If you go to ruby river on weekend reservations are a must we had a table reserved for 6:45 and we were seated pretty much on arrival but the walk in wait was well over an hour. The food was great I had the bbq salmon and loved it, it did seem to take a while but we were with friends and the server kept our drinks full so we didn't mind, the place was busy so the wait was sort of expected.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Uh-Maz-Ing!

Dined on October 25, 2014

Date night romance and great vibe- CHECK! My husband and I always come here for date night. Its a great chance to leave the kids at home and enjoy the world of grown-ups. The food and service are always more than expected- absolutely awesome!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

good

Dined on October 20, 2014

Staying for only 1 night in Provo, this was one the few places open at a sunday night. Great service from a young cowboy named Kip.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4

Great meal

Dined on October 19, 2014

Great cut of meat. The filet was cooked perfectly.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5

Ruby River is awesome.

Dined on September 27, 2014

They have great, and I mean GREAT food. The steak was cooked to perfection, I ordered medium rare and that's precisely the way it came. The server, Elliot, was very friendly and helpful and was right there for drink refills or whatever, without a prompt! We showed up 10 minutes early for our 7:30 reservation and waited probably 15 minutes for a table, absolutely no complaints from me, considering how busy they were. Last time we were there without a reservation and waited over an hour, totally worth the wait, but it was sure nice to be able to have a reservation this time. Thank you opentable.com! That made our anniversary dinner swell!The one negative of the whole time was the excessive noise, but it was so busy, so understandable. Thanks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1

Eh

Dined on August 31, 2014

I reserved a table ahead of time, and I requested a table not a booth. When I arrived on time I was told they would seat me and my party ASAP. I ended up waiting more than 10 minutes to be seated AFTER other people who did not make reservations. When I was seated they brought me to a booth. I then requested a table not a booth as requested in the reservation. We were then seated at a table. We ordered and received our drinks then never seen our original waiter again. Another waiter brought our appetizer sampler (egg rolls, cheesy sourdough bread, and a browning onion.) which tasted great. We waited about an hour for our under seasoned steaks and crab which had over salted butter dipping. I will not be returning.

food4
ambience5
service5

Yummy

Dined on August 23, 2014

A great place to eat. A great place to take your wife or girlfriend and family even.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service3

Great casual dining

Dined on June 22, 2014

Popular reasons for popularity. Excellent food at reasonable price and good service. Really liked the comfort and privacy of the booth that we dined in.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service1

We had a disaster at the restaurant on F ...

Dined on June 15, 2014

We had a disaster at the restaurant on Father's Day. Service was terrible. 1 hour to get salad!! then entre came right behind. The front desk took us in at 4:00 but it looked like they were not expecting us. I called Ruby River today and they said that they never received a reservation for me through Open Table. I gave them the confirmation #4267036 and they said that they did not have my reservation and that I should call Open table. We did go to the restaurant and I would appreciate it If you would credit me account. Thanks

food4
ambience4
service2

Good Food Long Waits

Dined on June 15, 2014

The food here was excellent. We made reservations on Open Table and also confirmed the reservation on the telephone. When we arrived at the reservation time they told us we would need to wait 20 minutes for our table. When I protested they advised that the wait time for walk ins was 45 minutes. We waited about 30 minutes before being shown to our table. The whole dining experience was two hours. Great place if you have lots of time on your hands!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome steakhouse!

Dined on May 25, 2014

I've lived in this area for 7 years and never went to Ruby River. When my wife and I wanted steak we would hit up Outback or Texas Roadhouse. While I still enjoy those establishments, Ruby River is a new favorite. I got a peppered bacon sirloin that was out of this world - seriously the best steak I've ever had. I was stuffed by the end of the meal and was sad it was all gone. We will definitely be visiting Ruby River again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Good place

Dined on May 11, 2014

We enjoy eating here. Kid friendly environment and a great place to go with out kids. We will definelty go back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2

Reservations

Dined on May 10, 2014

Had a reservation through Open Table at 7pm. I get there at 6:45pm and they say, "Oh, did you do it online?" I said yes. I had to then wait over a half hour to get seated. Apparently they don't check online.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5

Lost reservation

Dined on May 4, 2014

I used the open table but they had no record of my reservation. Seemed like a waste of time to me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great

Dined on April 27, 2014

it was a great experience.. My first date, they made us feel awesome, everything was great, the food was awesome, the waiter never let our drinks hit empty, just a fun great night.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Delivers Again

Dined on April 26, 2014

Visited Ruby River again this last weekend and we had another great dinner with good service, food and an enjoyable atmosphere. Three of us ordered two entrees an split, yet we all still left more than full. The staff works well together and the food was perfectly cooked again. We cannot say enough about our server McKenzie who is amazing in her attitude and service level that I rarely experience at higher end restaurants. Great Job and we look forward to returning again.

food2
ambience3
service4

Underwhelmed

Dined on April 26, 2014

For the price one pays this was a bit of a disappointment. The staff and service were good but our meal was pretty much average. We went for our anniversary and left thinking of the other places where we could have gone. Based on this experience we will most likely select other places in the future. It wasn't bad but we have eaten at other places that were better.

food4
ambience3
service3

Good steaks

Dined on April 13, 2014

We enjoyed the steaks; I really loved the Peppered Bacon Sirloin. We liked the artichoke dip and cheese bread and the iceberg lettuce wedge salad.

food4
ambience3
service4

ruby River dining experience

Dined on March 30, 2014

Had a great night celebrating my husband's birthday. He loves a good stake & we had a great time. I did find the music to be a little Loud. Even though we were sitting right next to each other we kept having to ask the other Person what? And repeat ourselves. Our waitress was great, food was great and warm. Overall great experience!! The only thing I would say didn't go exactly right was that I had made a reservation online and had email confirmation in hand. When I told the hostess my name and that I had reserved online she acted like she had no way of checking if that were true She looked around like oh ok what was the name again? It seems like they need a better System for that. She did get us right in so it worked out in the end.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3

Blah....

Dined on March 29, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised to be able to make a reservation a Ruby River through Open Table. When we arrived, my wife went in and told them we were here and we had a reservation for 6:45. They said it would be a 15 minute wait, she said o.k., not wanting to rock the boat, at 7:05, I was told that "we don't really take reservations, its more of a call ahead" I told the hostess that I did it on Open Table, She then said oh, they didn't tell me that and then sat us promptly. It then took 45 minutes for us to receive our Entrée and when we got it, my wife's yam was cold in the middle. I think the restaurant is coasting, no updates in years to the décor or menu other than price increases, the ribeye is over seasoned and always has been.

food4
ambience4
service5

Gem in the Rough

Dined on March 22, 2014

We made this reservation based on limited reviews (all good) and proximity to our hotel while visiting Provo. Glad we made the reservation as the wait for walk-ins was 45 minutes....and worth it. They seated us within 5 minutes and we were greeted by our waitress who seemed to know what we wanted before we did. Not in a bad way, as she was truly one of the best waitresses/waiters that I have ever had. Food was great (split the pork loin with my wife) and we each had a salad. Large portion was perfect for sharing and the food was cooked perfectly. No desert as it was later in the evening and overall left knowing that we will return. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Steakhouse!

Dined on February 22, 2014

Always a consistent high quality of food and service at Ruby River! We love it. Had my wife's 40th birthday party there and it was a great time, great food & service we'll always remember.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.