Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Ruby River Steakhouse - Provo

Ruby River Steakhouse is a Utah original, born out of the desire to create the most flavorful steaks west of the Mississippi. Hand-cut in-house daily for freshness, and twenty-one day aged for tenderness; once you’ve dined with us you’ll experience the passion and quality that is Ruby River. We are honored to have been voted Utah’s Best Steak by City Search, City Weekly, and Best of State time and time again. Ruby River offers more than high quality steaks. Customers indulge in tender chicken, fresh seafood, fall-off-the-bone ribs, and mouthwatering desserts all while enjoying a handcrafted soda or gold medal beer from their brewery. It’s the perfect complement to any meal. Ruby River is a laid back style with a country romance. It’s a place to relax with family and friends.

1454 S University Ave
Provo, UT 84601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 371-0648

Website:
http://www.rubyriver.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Ruby River Steakhouse - Provo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.3

Noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Groups (29)
Kid-friendly (17)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Late-night Find (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Casual (7)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort by
S
59 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 28, 2017

The filet mignon was excellent, appetizer was also great. Great portion. Love the price.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Absolutely love this place - great value and large portions

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Everything was great. The food arrived warm not hot like usually. I like it arriving hot.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The hostess did not greet us just grabbed menus and started walking. When we got tot the table she threw the menus down in front of us and left. Her name was Maddie. Very unpleasant beginning. However, our server Taylor was quite nice and helpful. The food was average and I would not return to Ruby River Steakhouse.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My favorite is the sweet potato, and the iceberg salad. And a course peanuts..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We enjoyed the experience and were happy the restaurant was adjacent to the Ramada Inn--as we arrived later in the day and didn't want to look for restaurants. The food was fine and the service was good (ideally, never having to ask for a refill would up the score one star for service). A bit pricey--but the ambiance was good with country-western background, autographed guitars, and boots.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

If I was basing the review off of the reservation process/hostesses it would be lower, but the food and service were great. I took my mom here for Mother's day and we went at 5 PM. I had made a reservation for that time using a link found on the company website. It was through Open Table. We arrived about 15 minutes early and I went to check in. They said they didn't take reservations through that system and that link needed to be removed. Not a good way to start things out. Then they said the reservation would only cut our wait time in half. I told them the link it off of their website and they certainly did take reservations because it allowed me to make one. They quoted 10 to 15 minutes and we went to the bar. I went back a few minutes after 5 and they said they had already called our name and we didn't answer, but they did seat us right away. Anyway the hostess area is not well run, and management really needs to take a look at that. This place is big and maybe a little on the run down side. Our light was flickering at our table so I just unscrewed it, but things like that can really distract from a meal. The food is pricy, but the portions are huge. Our meals were about $26 a piece and the appetizer is $14. My mom had the filet and loved it. I had the jumbo prawns and they were really great. We had the pick your own appetizer and it was all really good. We picked the Browning Onion, Coconut shrimp, and artichoke dip. Our waitress was amazing, but I didn't write down her name. The bathroom is in the attached hotel, which was a little odd, but not terrible. This is not a fancy place. Plenty of people in jeans.

Tags: Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Steaks were tasty, but nothing special. Service was disorganized throughout the experience. Not for health conscious eaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is more like a diner. The host was nowhere to be found and the staff didn't offer any help or tried to get the host. Our server was great and attentive! The food was mediocre. The sweet potato was battered and deep fried. The fish was over cooked and lacking in flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our Server was wonderful and very friendly but there were never any items cleared from our table. My crab legs were luke warm and my yam was so cold the butter never melted on it. We won't be going to Ruby River again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Service was slow and uninformed, or she just chose not to suggest items or tell me the soup of the day

The food was unimaginative and either under-seasoned or over-salted. The bread was yeasty - almost as if the dough wasn't allowed to completely rise before baking. The sautéed mushrooms were salty but otherwise decent the coconut shrimp were tasteless and seemed straight out of the freezer. The accompanying orange marmalade was very sweet. My steak was over cooked.

The restaurant is loud, dated, and in need of a deep cleaning.

If you're staying at the adjacent hotel it might be worth the walk over but otherwise I would find a different place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great place great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Hostess was nonexistent for at least five minutes while 8 people waited. The restaurant was not crowded. Found servers and hostesses to be uninterested in greeting or even acknowledging guests.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The online reservation was useless. Made a day before and restaurant didn't have it....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We made the reservation using this tool. When we got there the hostess did not know anything about it. Luckily we were able to be seated quickly. It could have been a catastrophe.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Probably the best restaurant for steaks in Utah County. Been here a number of times and without driving to Salt Lake City or Park City for steak, you can find a good one here. Been to some of the best steak houses in the country including Peter Luger, Mastro's, Flemings', Capital Grill, Bohanan's in San Antonio, Ruth's Chris, and many others, so I know my steak. Not saying it is as good as those mentioned, but def better than any I have eaten in Utah County.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Despite an open table reservation the restaurant had no idea that we were coming and had never recorded a reservation. After a lot of milling around they finally found us a table I had reserved on open table and even gave them the reservation number to no avail.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 22, 2016

About the same quality of an outback. Food wasn't great but it was fairly cheap for a steak too. You get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great service. Fabulous rib eye steak. Perfect recommendations from our waiter. Free dessert for our special occasion. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 28, 2016

else in my party had a steak and we'reall pleased. were good, server was nice with quickness.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 6, 2016

My salad had egg shell in it that started my bad experience, my chicken wings was not cooked well done like I asked and my end cut prime rib that I asked to be well done had blood still running out onto the plate. My server was top notch. I spent good money on a bad meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Only 6 of us in party. Had to ask for drink refills three times(1/2 water 1/2 Pepsi, how hard is that?) Never got bread even after asking. Asked twice to for ketchup, S sauce and horseradish. My wife forgot her gloves. When she went back to get them she overheard our waiter was complaining about having to split the bill three ways(wish we'd not left such a decent tip). The
table of four across from us came after our salads were served and left before us.....Slow oowwww to do anything.
This was a Monday night. Could understand if it was a busy weekend.
Left me craving in and out burger service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 13, 2015

Went here because we wanted red meat. Boy did we get it! Ordered the 16oz portion of Prime Rib, medium rare. It was spot on. The baked potato we ordered was, a baked potato! The sautéed mushrooms were really good. I would go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 7, 2015

When we arrived there was no reservation from Open Table. They put us near the top of the list but we still had a long wait.

Our food service was very slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 30, 2015

Ruby River is a nice, consistent restaurant where you can reasonably expect good service and good food. Nothing outstanding, but adequate and appropriate for the area, and cost.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 17, 2015

If you love red meat, this is your place! Excallant sea food as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 7, 2015

They claim to have amazing steaks, but mine was not cooked properly and very subpar for what they advertised to be. The ambiance was like a applebees except quieter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 11, 2015

Comfortable and consistent go-rigor steaks in Utah County

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2015

Best salmon with bbq and pepper I have eaten recently. Terrific courtesy and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 6, 2015

Ruby River was great as always! The food was perfect and the service was very good. Always a good choice to eat at the Provo Ruby River.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 24, 2015

We come here all the time and have never been disappointed but this last trip we had a waiter that was much more interested in talking with his friend than bringing us our food. The manager made it right and we will go again for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 24, 2015

You may want to explain exactly what open table reservations mean. We were expecting that it to mean that we had a reserved table at a specific time. However when we arrived your hostess said there were no reservations for us in our name. We were able to be seated OK but fortunately there were not many people for dinner at that time and all went well despite the confusion about our "reservations".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 6, 2015

The food and service was great. We do not get to restaurants very often and this was a good experience. It was my birthday and I enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 3, 2015

If your into red meat, this is the place! Always great service and they seat you right away. Peanuts while you wait. Overall its a great place to dine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 12, 2014

I used to like Ruby River, but this time my halibut was dry and my husband's steak was tough. My "steamed" vegetables had no flavor and were not cooked much at all, and were therefore way too much work to eat. The mashed potatoes were good, and the mushrooms were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2014

It was okay. The server forgot our drinks and appetizers, by the time we asked for extra condiments, we had finished our most of our food. It was too much going on for the server and I kept asking was my open table reservations added, the hostess could not answer me.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 22, 2014

The steaks just are not as good as they used to be. Wonder if they changed provider?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 21, 2014

If you go to ruby river on weekend reservations are a must we had a table reserved for 6:45 and we were seated pretty much on arrival but the walk in wait was well over an hour. The food was great I had the bbq salmon and loved it, it did seem to take a while but we were with friends and the server kept our drinks full so we didn't mind, the place was busy so the wait was sort of expected.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 24, 2014

Date night romance and great vibe- CHECK! My husband and I always come here for date night. Its a great chance to leave the kids at home and enjoy the world of grown-ups. The food and service are always more than expected- absolutely awesome!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 19, 2014

Staying for only 1 night in Provo, this was one the few places open at a sunday night.
Great service from a young cowboy named Kip.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.