Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Ruby River Steakhouse - Ogden

3.8
58 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Groups
  • Romantic
Ruby River Steakhouse is a Utah original, born out of the desire to create the most flavorful steaks west of the Mississippi. Hand-cut in-house daily for freshness, and twenty-one day aged for tenderness; once you’ve dined with us you’ll experience the passion and quality that is Ruby River. We are honored to have been voted Utah’s Best Steak by City Search, City Weekly, and Best of State time and time again. Ruby River offers more than high quality steaks. Customers indulge in tender chicken, fresh seafood, fall-off-the-bone ribs, and mouthwatering desserts all while enjoying a handcrafted soda or gold medal beer from their brewery. It’s the perfect complement to any meal. Ruby River is a laid back style with a country romance. It’s a place to relax with family and friends.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 622-2320
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 58 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on all time ratings
3.9
food
3.9
service
4.0
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on March 2, 2018

The service was freakishly slow on a night when they weren't super crowded. One of the guests in our party ended up sending the food back for poor quality and left having eaten nothing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

I made the reservation for my husband and mother-in-law to celebrate her birthday on 02/12/2018. The servers at Ruby River in Ogden, Utah were very friendly. I asked if I could stop by and drop a dozen roses and balloon bouquet and if they would put them on the table before my husband and his mom comes for dinner. When i came in to drop the flowers and the balloons, the servers were very accommodating.
When my husband and his mom arrived for their dinner reservations, he said the servers were very friendly and they immediately wished my mother-in-law a "happy birthday", and they offered to take pictures.
Both my husband and my mother -in-law were very happy and satisfied with the service, food, and ambiance of the restaurant.
Thank you very much for making my mother-in-law's birthday extra special.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Food was so so. Service was very poor. Waitress was nice, but long times between checking on on. Then a very long time for main course. Then they ran out of bakked potatoes and did not say anything until we were done eating and even then we had to flag down a manager. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Service was mediocre at best. Out of four steak dinners two were okay but two were terrible. Steaks were not cooked properly and the cuts were not good. The positive things were the baked potatoes and salad. Probably will not return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 10, 2017

My wife and I ordered our steaks "BURNT!", meaning really REALLY well done. They were cooked on the rare side of medium rare. I only ate a small portion of the my steak(ribeye). I didn't send the steak back because our server was trying to deal with a party of 13 that had separate checks. She did write our order as we wanted, but it wasn't cooked that way. I think you need new chefs that cook as per customer request and not as they "THINK" the steak should be cooked.
We went to your restaurant because of a really good experience there before. Now , not so sure we'd go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 17, 2017

Fun place - casual dinning with friends - wide selection - good food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 27, 2017

Great steaks, salmon, and service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

It was good, but nothing extra special. I would go again but not regularly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2017

Love going to this place love the steak. I get that every time I go

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2017

Filet Mignon was ordered medium rare and it was medium well. Our server immediately had them cook a new steak and it was cooked perfectly! I think the manager brought it out. She was very apologetic and very nice. Customer service from both our server and manager was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2017

Hostess did not have my reservation when we checked in.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was incredible. Steaks were done to perfection. Yummy fresh warm bread. Unique appetizers, very tasty. Our food server, I think her name was TJ???, was attentive, friendly, and helpful in her suggestions for our choices. Nice atmosphere.
Only complaint is that it doesn't open earlier on Sunday.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 16, 2017

I loved the prime rib and my husband's steak was great. The mushrooms were awesome but I didn't like the garlic mashed potatoes. The weren't fresh and I didn't like the flavor. I wish I would've tried a different side. This was my second visit and my husband's first time so I was excited to take him here for a little surprise date I had planned.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 21, 2016

My family is new to the area and we were looking for a little more upscale dining. Took a chance at Ruby River because we heard it was a steak house. We were not disappointed. Our filets were cooked to perfection and all the "sides" that we ordered were really good. Best part of the meal? Our server Seanna. She knows what she's doing. Besides being super sweet she was very professional. We will definately be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 25, 2016

Service was a fiasco, the hostess had no clue what Open Table was or how to find our reservation and then there was a huge mix up on who was taking what section...but once we got past that the food was pretty good for the price.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 15, 2016

Creative and flavorful appetizers. Excellent choice of entrees. Plus our server, Zach, was very attentive, knowledgeable and professional. We will definitely be going back to Ruby River in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2016

We have eaten here before. While we did not eat outdoors this time since it is winter, he have before and eating by the waterfalls is very nice. This trip I took my wife to diner for Valentines and we had a really good time. The atmosphere is very nice, all log cabin style construction. very wide and open. the service was great and the food was very delicious. We will definitely go there again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 13, 2015

I have eaten here before. It lived up to my expectations. The prime rib was cooked to perfection. The side dishes, especially the twice baked potatoes, were a great addition to the meal. It was more than I could eat, and that doesn't happen often. A great place for special occasions or romantic evenings.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 24, 2015

It was way overpriced. The atmosphere was dated and had tvs everywhere. Service was bad. I loved ruby river, but after this experience I will never go back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 9, 2015

I made a reservation on October 9, 2015 for 8 o'clock and upon arrival I was informed by 3 obviously new and uninformed hostesses that they don't make reservations for less than 4 people and it would be at least 45 mins before we could be seated. I showed her my confirmation email and assured her nothing was said about not taking resevations for less than four. A senior employee came over and informed us the "guy with access to the reservations was off that night and they had no way of getting into that system." So we were asked to sit in the bar area until everyone else was seated at which point they called us back to a table. (25 minutes later). Until now, I had eaten there at least once a month and anytime family or friends were in from out of town. Usually the service is superb, but I was extremely disappointed at the sub par service and condescending tone from your greeters/ hostesses on this occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2015

Me and a friend of mine had a fantastic time, our dinner was GREAT and the waitress was very nice, she couldn't have been any more but AWESOME! I would highly recommend Ruby's to all my friends and family. Thank you for a BEAUTIFUL time and dinner. :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 26, 2015

We were in Ogden for a visit and stumbled upon the Ruby River Strakhouse. Food was great and service was excellent! Would definetly go back!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 20, 2015

I have eaten here a number of times, I have had excellent food and service. My mother needs a gluten free option and Ruby River has a good selection of GF foods. This time, however, it was awful! I had the parmesan encrusted halibut, which was good, but the sweet potato and asparagus were terrible. The asparagus was over cooked on the top and woody on the bottom. The sweet potato had a bitter, chemical taste. Not really sure what that was about. Since my mother brought me there for my birthday, I did not mention it to our server. I tasted my mother's tiger prawns and they were over cooked, tough and bland. Overall, this was not a good experience. I will try them again to see if this was just a fluke or if it is SOP now. Sad, it has been a very nice place to eat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 7, 2015

We had a very good time as usual. The food was way beyond great! We will come to Ruby River again and recommend it to our friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 29, 2015

My husband and I were stationed at Hill AFB 10 years ago. Ruby River was a go-to place for base functions—dinners for retirements, promotions, awards presentations, etc. I was recently back at Hill on business travel with a young coworker and thought of Ruby River as a good local representation of dining near Ogden. He had the peppered steak and their signature deep-fried baked potato and loved it all. I had a combo plate of a small garlic steak and half rack of ribs. The ribs were to die for but the steak was just OK. As a side dish, we both had the mushrooms and liked them very much. I ordered a glass of the red zinfandel and the server brought out a white zin. I refused it as not being what I ordered or wanted. It seemed to be news to our server that there is a difference. The staff then started looking for their, apparently, only bottle of red zin and about 15 minutes later they delivered a glass of it to the table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2015

Made a reservation with opentable.com after two attempted phone calls were met with a busy signal and I'm very happy with the results. I was even seated earlier then my reservation.
The atmosphere is nice and relaxed. I noticed it wasn't as loud as some restaurants I've been to and that's a plus. The service was great and the food was excellent as always. I always get the jacketed potato as one of my entree's because... well, where else can you get a battered and deep fried baked potato?
I don't get to go to Ruby River often but I'm never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2015

We made reservations on Open Table and arrived on time. I was told that they don't take reservations for groups under 6 guests. We arrived at 6:00 and it wasn't busy so lucky that they could seat us soon. Wait staff was friendly and helpful. We both ordered steak and this was done to perfection. The wait staff was kind to bring our check when requested and overall we enjoyed our dinner.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 2, 2015

The table was not ready when we've arrived!
Second table where we sat was cold. I have my heavy coat on pretty much the whole time.
Service was terrible. We met our waitress maybe three times throughout the evening.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 20, 2015

Atmosphere was alright if you are into chain restaurant with a cabin feel. The waitress was great but the food was not for us. If you are into quantity over quality then go for it. The steaks were massive and my New York steak full of nerves and my wife porterhouse came with a lot of fat.. Both my wife and I were able to eat only one third of them but we eat small portions. All the sides were fry and refried (even the bake potatoes). It didn't settle with us nicely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2015

Other than the fact that the restaurant is extremely loud because of all of the people, it was enjoyable and the food was absolutely fantastic. Our waiter, Nick, made the night enjoyable for my wife and me, and we will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2015

I had a really good steak, but I ate it with two screaming babies around me. I asked for a table in the non-screaming section, but was not accommodated.

Our waitress forgot to bring us bread, then after bringing us our meals, gave us one quick check later on, then forgot about us. After finishing our dinner, we tried to flag our waitress down for 10 minutes to get our check. I finally had to go to a manager to get it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2015

Looking for a gluten free menu at a decent restaurant is a daunting task. When we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Ruby River on Riverdale Road, they brought out a stack of toasted gluten free bread for my wife. After lifting our jaws from the table, we were further surprised that the bread tasted delicious. Of course the rest of the dinner was top notch -as always.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 16, 2015

My wife and I really felt rushed all through our dining experience here last week.
It was her birthday and we were not able to really enjoy our meal because of this.
Our steaks were brought out before we had even touched our salads. My wife's steak
was cool by the time she cut into it.
Normally we really enjoy Ruby River, but this was a disappointment.

Kris

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2015

Ruby River always has great food and awesome service. The steaks are cooked to perfection. (My favorite is the Peppercorn Bacon one). The sides are delicious, especially the jacketed baked potato – you'll want to eat the potato skin! The service is excellent and timely as well.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 1, 2015

The host had no reservations even though I had made them through this open table web site. If your going to not honor reservations please do not allow them. The rest of the evening was enjoyable except for the wait for a table. I will never recognize this site again for a reservation.
Extremely poor.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 26, 2014

Waited 10 minutes to be greeted by server after being seated. Service took forever, with other tables being served before us notwithstanding they were seated after us. One of our party got the wrong steak, but given how long we waited, we weren't going to send it back. Rest of food was average, at best. My Caesar salad was ice cold. For as cosy as the place looks, we were all shivering and we were a couple booths away from their faux fireplace.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 22, 2014

We made our reservation on OpenTable, then called the restaurant within 5 minutes to add 2 more guests to our reservation. The person I talked to at the restaurant repeated back my name, and the amount of guests and time. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were told that they did not have a reservation for us, and that it would be an hour wait. I explained that I had made the reservation on opentable, the responded that they didn't have any opentable reservations. I told them how I had called, and they told me it must have been the day shift but we still had to wait. I then pulled up the emailed confirmation from opentable on my phone and showed it to her, and then she told me that they would have us a table in 10 to 15 minutes. They did seat us within 15 minutes, and after we sat down we looked around us and noticed that there were several empty tables around us, and throughout the hour we dined there was still several empty tables. So, why would they tell us we had to wait an hour if they had that many empty tables... Next, we are at a steakhouse right? We had a party of 6, 4 of us ordered the filet mignon. Our waitress came back within 2 minutes of us placing our order to let us know that they were out of filets. We were at a steakhouse at 7pm on a Friday, and they were out of filets? So, no big deal because I also love prime rib. So 3 of us ordered the prime rib instead. When it came out, it was about 25% fat. It did taste good, but as far as prime rib is concerned, it was just ok. Aside from the few negatives of our visit, I will say that our waitress was top notch. She made up for all the bad we dealt with, she had a very fun personality, and she took exceptional care of us minus the things that were out of her control. She even hooked us up with dessert to make up for the lack of filets. Our dessert was awesome, but I went there to get amazing steak and only got mediocre steak.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2014

We love Ruby River Steakhouse and believe Ogden may be the best of the breed. The log cabin decor fit our mood perfectly. The margaritas are made with real ingredients (not pre-mixed) and the steaks were cooked to perfection.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 13, 2014

We did not stay to eat, even though we had a reservation, they had no room to seat us. We went elsewhere, rather than wait at least an hour to sit with out children.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 6, 2014

Sorry to say, our experience was not great, we had made reservations on line and were confirmed for 5:30, we checked in with the hostess and she took down our reservation info, 20 minutes later we went back to check in with her and she was very apologetic about seating people before us. The service was good once we were seated, however the food was not good, we ordered both the parmesan and almond crusted halibut, we were served two small and very dry pieces of fish. The wrapped potato was cold and the wrapped sweet potatoe was not bad, the side of mushrooms that I ordered were also cold. I would not recommend the restaurant to any one else, it seemed that the attention was being placed on a private party of 100 (and we heard that number alot) guests upstairs. Sadly, our anniversary night dinner was not a dinner to remember fondly

Report
Helpful
1
2