About Ruby River Steakhouse - Ogden

4286 Riverdale Rd
Ogden, UT 84405
View Larger Map

Ruby River Steakhouse is a Utah original, born out of the desire to create the most flavorful steaks west of the Mississippi. Hand-cut in-house daily for freshness, and twenty-one day aged for tenderness; once you’ve dined with us you’ll experience the passion and quality that is Ruby River. We are honored to have been voted Utah’s Best Steak by City Search, City Weekly, and Best of State time and time again. Ruby River offers more than high quality steaks. Customers indulge in tender chicken, fresh seafood, fall-off-the-bone ribs, and mouthwatering desserts all while enjoying a handcrafted soda or gold medal beer from their brewery. It’s the perfect complement to any meal. Ruby River is a laid back style with a country romance. It’s a place to relax with family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 622-2320

Website:
http://www.rubyriver.com/

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Ruby River Steakhouse - Ogden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.7

ambience

5.0

value

5.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Ogden
Best Restaurants in Ogden ›

Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
See All
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was a fiasco, the hostess had no ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service was a fiasco, the hostess had no clue what Open Table was or how to find our reservation and then there was a huge mix up on who was taking what section...but once we got past that the food was pretty good for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

This is a great place

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We have eaten here before. While we did not eat outdoors this time since it is winter, he have before and eating by the waterfalls is very nice. This trip I took my wife to diner for Valentines and we had a really good time. The atmosphere is very nice, all log cabin style construction. very wide and open. the service was great and the food was very delicious. We will definitely go there again

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the premier steak house in the area

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

I have eaten here before. It lived up to my expectations. The prime rib was cooked to perfection. The side dishes, especially the twice baked potatoes, were a great addition to the meal. It was more than I could eat, and that doesn't happen often. A great place for special occasions or romantic evenings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

It was way overpriced. The atmosphere was dated and had tvs everywhere. Service was bad. I loved ruby river, but after this experience I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

45 min wait

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

I made a reservation on October 9, 2015 for 8 o'clock and upon arrival I was informed by 3 obviously new and uninformed hostesses that they don't make reservations for less than 4 people and it would be at least 45 mins before we could be seated. I showed her my confirmation email and assured her nothing was said about not taking resevations for less than four. A senior employee came over and informed us the "guy with access to the reservations was off that night and they had no way of getting into that system." So we were asked to sit in the bar area until everyone else was seated at which point they called us back to a table. (25 minutes later). Until now, I had eaten there at least once a month and anytime family or friends were in from out of town. Usually the service is superb, but I was extremely disappointed at the sub par service and condescending tone from your greeters/ hostesses on this occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

GREAT MEETING

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

Me and a friend of mine had a fantastic time, our dinner was GREAT and the waitress was very nice, she couldn't have been any more but AWESOME! I would highly recommend Ruby's to all my friends and family. Thank you for a BEAUTIFUL time and dinner. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

We were in Ogden for a visit and stumbled upon the Ruby River Strakhouse. Food was great and service was excellent! Would definetly go back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Missed the mark this time

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

I have eaten here a number of times, I have had excellent food and service. My mother needs a gluten free option and Ruby River has a good selection of GF foods. This time, however, it was awful! I had the parmesan encrusted halibut, which was good, but the sweet potato and asparagus were terrible. The asparagus was over cooked on the top and woody on the bottom. The sweet potato had a bitter, chemical taste. Not really sure what that was about. Since my mother brought me there for my birthday, I did not mention it to our server. I tasted my mother's tiger prawns and they were over cooked, tough and bland. Overall, this was not a good experience. I will try them again to see if this was just a fluke or if it is SOP now. Sad, it has been a very nice place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Great atmosphere

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

We had a very good time as usual. The food was way beyond great! We will come to Ruby River again and recommend it to our friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Still a great place for red meat

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 30, 2015

My husband and I were stationed at Hill AFB 10 years ago. Ruby River was a go-to place for base functions—dinners for retirements, promotions, awards presentations, etc. I was recently back at Hill on business travel with a young coworker and thought of Ruby River as a good local representation of dining near Ogden. He had the peppered steak and their signature deep-fried baked potato and loved it all. I had a combo plate of a small garlic steak and half rack of ribs. The ribs were to die for but the steak was just OK. As a side dish, we both had the mushrooms and liked them very much. I ordered a glass of the red zinfandel and the server brought out a white zin. I refused it as not being what I ordered or wanted. It seemed to be news to our server that there is a difference. The staff then started looking for their, apparently, only bottle of red zin and about 15 minutes later they delivered a glass of it to the table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great place to eat

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Made a reservation with opentable.com after two attempted phone calls were met with a busy signal and I'm very happy with the results. I was even seated earlier then my reservation.

The atmosphere is nice and relaxed. I noticed it wasn't as loud as some restaurants I've been to and that's a plus. The service was great and the food was excellent as always. I always get the jacketed potato as one of my entree's because... well, where else can you get a battered and deep fried baked potato?

I don't get to go to Ruby River often but I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great steaks and potatoes

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 24, 2015

We made reservations on Open Table and arrived on time. I was told that they don't take reservations for groups under 6 guests. We arrived at 6:00 and it wasn't busy so lucky that they could seat us soon. Wait staff was friendly and helpful. We both ordered steak and this was done to perfection. The wait staff was kind to bring our check when requested and overall we enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The table was not ready when we've arriv ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 3, 2015

The table was not ready when we've arrived!

Second table where we sat was cold. I have my heavy coat on pretty much the whole time.

Service was terrible. We met our waitress maybe three times throughout the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Not for me

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

Atmosphere was alright if you are into chain restaurant with a cabin feel. The waitress was great but the food was not for us. If you are into quantity over quality then go for it. The steaks were massive and my New York steak full of nerves and my wife porterhouse came with a lot of fat.. Both my wife and I were able to eat only one third of them but we eat small portions. All the sides were fry and refried (even the bake potatoes). It didn't settle with us nicely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

best steak in the west

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

Other than the fact that the restaurant is extremely loud because of all of the people, it was enjoyable and the food was absolutely fantastic. Our waiter, Nick, made the night enjoyable for my wife and me, and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

I had a really good steak, but I ate it with two screaming babies around me. I asked for a table in the non-screaming section, but was not accommodated.

Our waitress forgot to bring us bread, then after bringing us our meals, gave us one quick check later on, then forgot about us. After finishing our dinner, we tried to flag our waitress down for 10 minutes to get our check. I finally had to go to a manager to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Gluten Free Friendly!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 25, 2015

Looking for a gluten free menu at a decent restaurant is a daunting task. When we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Ruby River on Riverdale Road, they brought out a stack of toasted gluten free bread for my wife. After lifting our jaws from the table, we were further surprised that the bread tasted delicious. Of course the rest of the dinner was top notch -as always.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Disappointed

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

My wife and I really felt rushed all through our dining experience here last week.

It was her birthday and we were not able to really enjoy our meal because of this.

Our steaks were brought out before we had even touched our salads. My wife's steak

was cool by the time she cut into it.

Normally we really enjoy Ruby River, but this was a disappointment.

Kris

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Excellent food, excellent service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 4, 2015

Ruby River always has great food and awesome service. The steaks are cooked to perfection. (My favorite is the Peppercorn Bacon one). The sides are delicious, especially the jacketed baked potato – you'll want to eat the potato skin! The service is excellent and timely as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reservation service is extremely poor.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 2, 2015

The host had no reservations even though I had made them through this open table web site. If your going to not honor reservations please do not allow them. The rest of the evening was enjoyable except for the wait for a table. I will never recognize this site again for a reservation.

Extremely poor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Poor Experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 27, 2014

Waited 10 minutes to be greeted by server after being seated. Service took forever, with other tables being served before us notwithstanding they were seated after us. One of our party got the wrong steak, but given how long we waited, we weren't going to send it back. Rest of food was average, at best. My Caesar salad was ice cold. For as cosy as the place looks, we were all shivering and we were a couple booths away from their faux fireplace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Just OK

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

We made our reservation on OpenTable, then called the restaurant within 5 minutes to add 2 more guests to our reservation. The person I talked to at the restaurant repeated back my name, and the amount of guests and time. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were told that they did not have a reservation for us, and that it would be an hour wait. I explained that I had made the reservation on opentable, the responded that they didn't have any opentable reservations. I told them how I had called, and they told me it must have been the day shift but we still had to wait. I then pulled up the emailed confirmation from opentable on my phone and showed it to her, and then she told me that they would have us a table in 10 to 15 minutes. They did seat us within 15 minutes, and after we sat down we looked around us and noticed that there were several empty tables around us, and throughout the hour we dined there was still several empty tables. So, why would they tell us we had to wait an hour if they had that many empty tables... Next, we are at a steakhouse right? We had a party of 6, 4 of us ordered the filet mignon. Our waitress came back within 2 minutes of us placing our order to let us know that they were out of filets. We were at a steakhouse at 7pm on a Friday, and they were out of filets? So, no big deal because I also love prime rib. So 3 of us ordered the prime rib instead. When it came out, it was about 25% fat. It did taste good, but as far as prime rib is concerned, it was just ok. Aside from the few negatives of our visit, I will say that our waitress was top notch. She made up for all the bad we dealt with, she had a very fun personality, and she took exceptional care of us minus the things that were out of her control. She even hooked us up with dessert to make up for the lack of filets. Our dessert was awesome, but I went there to get amazing steak and only got mediocre steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great Atmosphere and Terrific Food

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 21, 2014

We love Ruby River Steakhouse and believe Ogden may be the best of the breed. The log cabin decor fit our mood perfectly. The margaritas are made with real ingredients (not pre-mixed) and the steaks were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

waste of our time

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 14, 2014

We did not stay to eat, even though we had a reservation, they had no room to seat us. We went elsewhere, rather than wait at least an hour to sit with out children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We had reservations but had to remind the hostess

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 7, 2014

Sorry to say, our experience was not great, we had made reservations on line and were confirmed for 5:30, we checked in with the hostess and she took down our reservation info, 20 minutes later we went back to check in with her and she was very apologetic about seating people before us. The service was good once we were seated, however the food was not good, we ordered both the parmesan and almond crusted halibut, we were served two small and very dry pieces of fish. The wrapped potato was cold and the wrapped sweet potatoe was not bad, the side of mushrooms that I ordered were also cold. I would not recommend the restaurant to any one else, it seemed that the attention was being placed on a private party of 100 (and we heard that number alot) guests upstairs. Sadly, our anniversary night dinner was not a dinner to remember fondly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

The food was great, the steaks were cook ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

The food was great, the steaks were cooked perfectly and the service was great or waitress Tara did an amazing job :)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dominic was wonderful and so helpful. S ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

Dominic was wonderful and so helpful. Such wonderful service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Ruby River delivers again!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 24, 2014

This is our 4th or 5th time eating here and I have never had a bad experience yet. The food is always HOT (which I love), the steaks are cooked perfectly every time, and the service is exceptional - have to say it's getting to be my favorite place...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Funwithfam

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

Great service and very good food! ! We stayed and visited after dinner and the waitress was very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great and the service was e ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 15, 2014

The food was great and the service was excellent but when we arrived they did not have our reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 31, 2014

Decided to give another try to Ruby River since my wife and I have not been impressed with the steak houses we have been to. It had been some time since we had been here and we remembered why. The steaks were over cooked and the potatoes my wife ordered were brought obviously cold. When they heated them and brought them back she burned her mouth. The fries were the best part of the meal sadly. We left without our craving fir a good steak being filled. The next night we purchased steaks from Don's meats and grilled at home. Cheaper and very satisfying. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Mother's Day Dinner

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

We decided to give Ruby River a try for Mother's Day dinner with my husband, kids and mother-in-law, we had a free appetizer and cash back through our banking institution. I reserved a spot on OpenTable for 4:45 and we got there around 4:20 to be safe. When I checked in they had 5:45 down for us.Thankfully they weren't as busy as I thought they would be and were able to get us seated. The food was ok, server was wonderful! Our biggest issue was with the free appetizer, we had to pay the difference because we wanted the larger one. When it came out to us our parmesan bread was so soggy I could wring it out. Had the server bring another order and the center of that one was ice cold. At that point we were so done with it. Otherwise good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

on point

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2014

Everything was great. Our server was wonderful, the steak and avocado egg rolls were amazing! My 10 year old son finally met a kids meal that he couldn't conquer. The bacon peppercorn steak was so tender and flavorful. It was about what a night out at any chain like T G I Fridays or Chili's would cost. Very cool looking log cabin place.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruby River

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 12, 2014

Nice atmosphere and reasonable prices. Food and service were good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Underwhelming food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 1, 2014

This was our first time eating at Ruby River. We were excited to taste the steaks; we ordered a New York strip, Ribeye, and Prime Rib, all cooked to medium. We were not impressed at all by the flavor of any of the three cuts of meat. The Prime Rib was the only steak finished completely. The mashed potato sides were also underwhelming, with a very weird flavor.

I have no idea what the steaks were marinated or seasoned with, but it was like nothing we've ever tasted on any cut of meat. We all thought a steak from Outback or Texas Roadhouse would beat anything we tasted at Ruby River.

The facility was rustic and beautiful and the service was fantastic. It's unfortunate the food didn't match the ambience and wait staff.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Commitment kept....

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 23, 2014

What was supposed to be a very romantic evening for my wife and I started out as a disaster. A few days before she was to receive surgery, I planned an evening out starting with a couples massage and continuing with dinner at Ruby River. They mis-booked us so the massage was a bust.

We had 2 hours to kill before our dinner reservations. We went shopping for a while and then went to Ruby River a little early to see if they could work us in. They took us right in and we received excellent service all night. It was very quiet with just soft music playing...unlike most stake houses. The stakes were cooked perfectly like we like them and they salvaged what could have been an ugly evening. I'm glad to see someone keeps their promises.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

WE made a reservation for

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 22, 2014

WE made a reservation for Friday nite and came there Sat nite they let us know our reservation was for Fri at 6:00 pm but they accommodated us right at 6:00 pm, I believe they went above and beyond.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Prompt service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 22, 2014

And the steaks were delicious! Cooked just as we asked. Our server was great, especially for how busy it was.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great restaurant!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 9, 2014

I took my husband out for his birthday, he wanted a great steak dinner so I decided on Ruby River. Never been there. I got on OpenTable made a reservation for 2 at 7pm on Saturday night. I started reading some of the reviews about Ruby River and most of them were all complaining about any and everything from the food to the service, lighting etc. I was disappointed reading all the reviews and almost cancelled my reservation but decided not to. Glad I didn't. We had an excellent steak dinner, the service was very good, and we loved the atmosphere. I especially liked how well the reservation worked on OpenTable. Right when we arrived, they had our name on the list and took us right to a table. No Waiting! We'll definitely be back! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Strange experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 9, 2014

Waiter seemed to be trying to intimidate me which really began to get annoying as dinner went on. We did not get our appitizer until we got our steaks. The waiter said he wasn't sure what happened which was a stretch of the truth our appitizer was given to the people behind us who said after it was delivered "cool free appitizer". Our food was ok steaks were cooked well. My biggest complaint was the attitude of our waiter he offered no real apology for his mistake with the appitizer. I have been here several times but I have noticed a sharp decline in service over the last several months it is very doubtful I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.