About RPM Italian

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Prime Beef Meatballs
Truffle Garlic Bread
Mama Depandi's Bucatini Pomodoro
Beef Carpaccio
Shredded Brussels sprouts salad, avocado, lemon vinaigrette, bread crumbs
Grilled Octopus
Fried Olives
Latte
Cannolis
bomboloni
spicy king crab
Spicy King Crab Squid Ink Spaghetti
Guiliana Salad
Wood Roasted Octopus
Ricotta gnocchi, parmesan brodo, fresh black truffle
Big Eye Ahi Tuna
Truffled garlic bread, circa 1963
Artichoke
Spaghetti & Mega Meatball
Tartufo With Hazelnut Gelato And Chocolate Shell
Roasted Brussels sprouts, ricotta salata
Zucchini Fritti
Chocolate Budino With Salted Caramel And Cocoa Nibs
Tiramisu
Oven Roasted Octopus
Maine Lobster Ravioli
Sweet Corn Agnolotti
Carbonara
Chicken Liver Crostini
Fritto Misto
Carbonara Pasta
Bomboloni With Nutella Cream And Whipped Cream
Provolone-Stuffed Peppers
Espresso
Roman Artichokes With Lemon Aioli
Pappardelle Bolognese
Mushroom Sagnarelli
Ricotta With Spicy Marinara
600 Day Prosciutto Di Parma
Tartufo
Prociutto Wrapped Figs
Pineapple Carpaccio
Lobster Caprese
Ribeye
Berkshire Pork Chop
Short Rib Pappardelle
Affogato Float
Truffled Gnocchi
Truffled Garlic Bread
Oven-Roasted Meatballs
Beignettes
Bomboloni, nutella, whipped mascarpone
Mascarpone gelato with carrot cake crumble
Meatballs
Sautéed broccolini with chilies and vinegar
38 oz. dry-aged bistecca fiorentina, Tuscany's famous sliced porterhouse steak
Grilled asparagus with parmesan
Italian salad – escarole, romaine, iceberg lettuces, provolone, cherry tomatoes, peperoncini, salami
Fresh housemade ricotta, ciabatta toast, tomato jam
Faroe Island salmon, pistachio pesto
Fried olives, fresh mozzarella, sausage; crispy ravioli, pignoli, spinach
Salumi platter – bresaola, capicola, sopressata, pepperoni
Pistachio cannoli, chocolate, orange
Tartufo Italian desserts - chocolate with hazelnut gelato
Eggplant Parmesan
Solaro
Wood-Roasted Octopus
Imported Burrata
Asparagus Pizza
Ricotta
Hazelnut tartufo, dark and milk chocolate
Roasted mushrooms and balsamic onions
Lime, strawberry sorbets, vanilla and chocolate ice gelati
Pepperoni And Spicy Tomato Pizette
Orange Cannoli
squid ink spaghetti
Braised Short Rib Pappardelle
Sea Scallops
Proscuitto
Prosciutto Tortelloni
Lobster Ravioli
Vegetable chopped salad – chickpeas, beets, romaine, argula, treviso, goat cheese, tomatoes, asparagus, celery, cucumbers
Cannoli Italian desserts
Piccolo Rosa
Burrata With Tomato Jam
Artichokes salad
Crab With Squid Ink Pasta
Buccatini With Meatballs
Sergio Leone Cocktail
Prosciutto Pansotti
Potato Gnocchi With Sunday Gravy
Freah Homemade Ricotta
Moscato, Peroni
Gelato With Rice Pudding
Raviolo A La Rpm
sweet pea risotto
Potato Gnocchi
Cavatelli With Beef And Pork Ragu
Zuchini Chips
Spicy King Crab Pasta

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Hot Spot
Chicago
1 More
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

special occasion (489)
fit for foodies (455)
hot spot (432)
See All
romantic (335)
good for groups (327)
notable wine list (240)
vibrant bar scene (225)
neighborhood gem (132)
late-night find (84)
great for lunch (74)
kid-friendly (32)
great for brunch (29)
scenic view (18)
great for outdoor dining (9)
Sort By:
Newest
5599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Good service, the meatball was delicious ...

Dined 3 days ago

Good service, the meatball was delicious, fried olive was good and the 'vibe' was spot on.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were both excellent. We ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were both excellent. We enjoyed wine and an appetizer at the bar before being seated for our reservation. Server was attentive and food was delicious. Portions were great and priced accordingly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The rpm steak and donut dessert YUM!

Dined 4 days ago

The rpm steak and donut dessert YUM!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the spaghetti with the very large ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

I had the spaghetti with the very large meatball; the sauce a bit spicy but great taste. My friend had the tortelloni, after a discussion with the waiter on the spelling. He thought it was over the top. Followed with Giuliani's salad; again, very happy. Wish we got downtown more often in the evening or the restaurant was open for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was great. The food speaks ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter was great. The food speaks for itself. Over all outstanding service. The Dumas family will be back and again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had the best time at RPM! Thank you f ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had the best time at RPM! Thank you for making our night SO special! Everything that was recommended was perfect! Our waitress was beyond kind and so sweet! The only minor issue we did have, was waiting 15 minutes after my reservation time for a seat to open up! It was worth the wait; we got a beautiful booth! As mentioned before, it was a perfect night and made our celebrations much more special. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have celiac, and need to obstain from ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I have celiac, and need to obstain from gluten; I ordered from the gluten free menu; for my appetizer I had the Caesar salad with white anchovies...the anchovies were whole on top of the salad...so heavenly, and for my entree I ordered the pancetta carbonara gluten free...it was served with an raw egg in the center, the server blended the egg into the pasta...it was divine...for dessert I enjoyed the chocolate with nibs...OMG...there are no words to describe the immense pleasure in this dish...needless to say...my meal was perfection...and the service was impeccable. My husband ordered the chicken parm; he loved it...and the chocolate torte for dessert...to die for...we were on quasi business in Chicago...my first time...I'm a foodie and quite adept at finding the gems while traveling...this one was out of the park!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The service was outstanding. Everyone w ...

Dined 5 days ago

The service was outstanding. Everyone who assisted us was warm and accommodating. The room is pretty. The food is just average. One of the appetizers actually left my daughter and me feeling mildly queasy. The entrees were variable. The lobster dish shared by two was by far the best item. The quid pasta item with crab I believe was just ok. Overall, an extremely pretty room with GREAT STAFF and average at best food.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always have a good time when I go there. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Always have a good time when I go there. Food is offfff the hook. Hopefully, though one day Id like to run into the Rancics and even better my dining experience😊

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Travis was our server and I was really d ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Travis was our server and I was really disappointed with his service. While the food is good, the server attitude just kills it. Our server made us waited a good 15 mins after being seated to take our drinks order. He forgot our minor requests and we had to ask the busser and food runner for it. As a server, you should always check on your patrons if the food was ok or if everything was ok. Not once did he check up on us. When he finally did, he tried to take away my plate while there's food on it and I was still working on it. I love this place but I think they should retrain their servers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favourite Italian restaurant. The ...

Dined 6 days ago

My new favourite Italian restaurant. The food, atmosphere and service was beyond my expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Went there to celebrate a birthday and w ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went there to celebrate a birthday and was very disappointed. The service was fair. The food was good. Portions were small and expensive, the charge for bread was ridiculous. The noise level was very high, felt like I was constantly screaming. They want you to hang around for a drink at the bar because they charge you more for the valet after 3 hours.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

All of the food and service was fantasti ...

Dined 6 days ago

All of the food and service was fantastic.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I don't usually fill these reviews out n ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

I don't usually fill these reviews out nor am I picky, but I felt as though I needed to express my disappointment on our experience at RPM Italian. We have been there once before as well as RPM Steak and had wonderful experiences. However this time was not the case. Our waiter seemed very distant and barely said a word to use the whole time we were dining. He read us the specials and took our order and that was basically it. He didn't once come to or table to ask how our meal was or check on us. Our food came out so unbelievably fast when we ordered it, I felt as though I couldn't keep up with it and it wasn't hot. We ordered apps and they literally came out a minute later. Same with the salad. We decided to wait a bit to order our pasta because I was that full with food coming so quickly. When we finally did, my husband got up to use the restroom right after we ordered and in a minute our food was there and they were breaking the yolk at the table for my husbands carbonara without him even being there. When he got back, both our pasta dishes were no longer hot. Overall, it was quite a disappointing experience. I'm all for service being quick, but at the rate they were going we could have eaten and been out of there in 30 minutes. We were there for date night, the place wasn't even full, and we just wanted to sit back and enjoy our night. To my disappointment, we really did not.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always love RPM. Great value for grea ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

We always love RPM. Great value for great food! Seems to be getting a little too loud with the techno music though. It wasn't that way in the earlier days. But still a great meal.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RPM Italian was amazing. The scene was v ...

vip
Dined on June 25, 2016

RPM Italian was amazing. The scene was vibrant, the food was outstanding and our service was on point.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I guess they are not making enough money ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

I guess they are not making enough money as they have now made the pasta entrée portions smaller. Really! So much for taking care of the customer and thinking about them. A real shame.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food ... Small portions... Meatball ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Good food ... Small portions... Meatball was delicious!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Seven of us (including a 12 year old) ha ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Seven of us (including a 12 year old) had an outstanding meal at RPM. We sampled steak, chicken, Italian classics in both traditional and non-traditional preparations. Everything was cooked to perfection and tasting amazing... perfectly al dente pasta, spot-on parmigiana, delicious lamb chops, and ricotta gnocchi in a cream sauce with shaved truffles that may be the best bite of food I have ever had. Extensive wine list, great atmosphere, lots of shareable dishes for our group. Great atmosphere, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter and the food were both phenom ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Our waiter and the food were both phenomenal. We have always had wonderful service and incredible meals here, the place does not disappoint. Went for my mom's birthday and we all had so much fun, she loved it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small and Large Plates We shared a numbe ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

Small and Large Plates We shared a number of small and large plates as well as appetizers and each one delicious. The favorite was Roasted Calimari, however The Wedge Salad, The Italian Salad, The Crab Ink Squid Pasta was another hit! Service was superior, we loved the ambiance and the complementary birthday cones as well as the deserts that we ordered. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very "in" place therefore very crowded a ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Very "in" place therefore very crowded and noisy! Food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent !!! Can't say enough about h ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent !!! Can't say enough about how fabulous this restaurant is. Our server and sommelier were the best! Can't wait to visit RPM when in Chicago again!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Found the restaurant on Open Table and g ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Found the restaurant on Open Table and got reviews from Trip Advisor. They were all outstanding and RPM did not disappoint. We are telling everyone to go when they visit Chicago!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was Alex and he did an excell ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Our waiter was Alex and he did an excellent job. We were seated a bit late, based on our reservation, but it all ended up okay. The food was delicious! The homemade ricotta cheese was so light and flavorful. The stuffed pepper appetizer was perfect. I had the lobster ravioli and it was the best that I have ever had. We also had the spaghetti and meatball. The pasta was excellent! We also had the pasta with rib meat and it was delicious. It was a lovely dining experience and the food could not have been better!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and vibrant scene, but our ser ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Good food and vibrant scene, but our server seemed obviously disappointed that we were not ordering rounds and rounds of drinks and multiple courses. Our party of 3 had 2 glasses of wine, shared a salad, and each had entrees. The server definitely gave off the vibe that we were a waste of a table for him!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was truly outstanding, s ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

This restaurant was truly outstanding, service and especially the food. Everything was just great. I can't say enough positive things. I can't wait to return to this outstanding restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Is a vibrant place with good food and gr ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Is a vibrant place with good food and great decor. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the items they serve. Good a recommending upon request.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

I love this place. Come all the time. I ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

I love this place. Come all the time. I enjoying taking people from out of town specifically because of the usually ambiance and crowd. I was so disappointed this past visit because we were seated 10 mins after we arrived and the front hostess station wasn't even busy. By the time we were seated, I don't know if we could have been placed in a worse seat in the house! Our table was on the BAR side of the restaurant, the table was tucked in half way BEHIND the robbed velvet curtain. I was embarrassed for my guest having to choose a seat to either be touching/ontop of velvet curtain or in the middle of the walkway through the bar area. This was extremely disappointing, especially being a return patron. Failed to mention, our server was beyond absent the entire dining experience. He forget 2x to bring us our glasses of wine. It look him forever when we first sat down to even come to the table to give us the specials and take our order. If i didnt love the food, I'd say I wouldn't return. But unfortunately I probably will and won't make the same mistake twice by NOT mentioning to place in the proper dining room area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I only visit the Chicago area twice a y ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

I only visit the Chicago area twice a year, so there are a lot of restaurants to choose from; however, we talked about the amazing dishes we tried the first time for weeks and couldn't wait to get back! The menu isn't overwhelming in size, but somehow you read on and on because every single dish is amazing! I could spend day after day eating at this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We a wonderful business dinner at RPM It ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We a wonderful business dinner at RPM Italian and I recommend it to anyone. Food, wine and service were all excellent. Chelsea was our server and she was charming, efficient and made very good recommendations. Thank you for making our evening a great one in Chicago!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were blown away with the spectacular ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We were blown away with the spectacular service and delicious food & drink! WE loved every bit of our meal, service and ambiance! We can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner I had at RPM Italian was the ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The dinner I had at RPM Italian was the most delicious meal of my life! It was also significantly less expensive than I was expecting. I highly recommend the 600 day proscuitto and imported burrata!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. We arrived early ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was great. We arrived early I r our reservation and were seated immediately. The waitress took the time to explain the menu to us. The food was absokutely amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Eggplant Parm and Chicken Parm were exce ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Eggplant Parm and Chicken Parm were excellent

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

RPM Italian was a fantastic choice for a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

RPM Italian was a fantastic choice for a late Saturday dinner before heading to the bars in River North. We began with a wonderful 2013 Chianti that was full bodied and vibrant. For dinner, we enjoyed the chicken parmesan and gnocchi with shaved truffle. When the gnocchi arrived at the table, 5 grams of truffle were freshly shaven to the top of the dish. This was definitely the highlight of our meal. Our waitress was very friendly and the service was great. I

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2

Service is lacking. Our waiter was very ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service is lacking. Our waiter was very slow.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent traditional Italian food with ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent traditional Italian food with a trendy atmosphere. Menu was different and appealing. Great appetizers!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved everything about RPM. We loved ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We loved everything about RPM. We loved the atmosphere of the place. The food was outstanding! The ricotta gnocchi was melt in your mouth delicious! The drink Spruzzo was so,so good! Our waiter Kyle was just amazing and so helpful with the menu! I highly reccomend RPM to all!!! Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the waitress ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was excellent and the waitress was very nice and accommodating. No complaints about this place. It is a little pricey so I would only go for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.