About RPM Italian

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (303)
Special Occasion (300)
Romantic (224)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (224)
Hot Spot (211)
Good for Birthdays (181)
Fit for Foodies (177)
Notable Wine List (171)
Fun (134)
Business Meals (133)
Creative Cuisine (128)
Good for Groups (128)
Vibrant Bar Scene (117)
Worth the Drive (117)
Authentic (114)
People Watching (107)
Bar Seating (97)
Modern Decor (95)
Handcrafted Cocktails (94)
Pre/post Theatre (88)
Cozy (75)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Comfort Food (65)
Happy Hour (50)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Casual (42)
Tasting Menu (42)
Great for Lunch (37)
Good Vegetarian Options (35)
Late-night Find (31)
Gluten Free Options (29)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Local Ingredients (21)
Tapas (20)
Family Style (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Private Room (10)
Seasonal (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Scenic View (8)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Organic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Vegan (4)
Great Beer (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
7389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 hours ago

Excellent food. Enjoyed several appetizers, pastas, and entrees.Preparations are served as small plates so it is best shared family style. Unfortunately, we waited 30 minutes beyond our reservation for a table. Staff was very apologetic and polite, but clearly they move at a slower pace here. The food made up for the less than efficient service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is wonderful. Our seating arrangement was horrible. Bench seats with tables 6 inches away from neighbors. The worst. We sat between a family with two boys who bounced up and down on my shared bench seat and two young women who talked loudly and nonstop. We now know everything about the wedding of a stranger. Exhausting to carry on our conversation. Omg get a decent table arrangement if you come here. Do not get the bench seats in the middle of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

will probably not go back.
two reasons.
iam gluten and dairy free not my husband and they do not offer much.
the service was not great. and the music was very loud.
and unless you want to eat with your neighbors the tables are way to close.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Stopped in for a bite before a show and was absolutely amazed. Service was excellent. Food was way beyond amazing. The server was very knowledgeable and informative about the menu. She was also very attentive and lovely all around. I will definitely be back and will recommend to others.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing meal from start to finish!
Garlic truffle bread, Italian salad, Bolognese, lobster ravioli, and donuts for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Bella Serata at RPM Italian! We were told the Chicken Parmesan was one of the best and we could not agree more. Delizioso!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

RPM Italian is always delicious - we had a few items, started with the peach and prosciutto which was delicious! Also had the carbonara (amazing bacon flavor!), the Duke steak (special, perfectly cooked), the lobster but with squid ink spaghetti (soooo good!) and the chocolate torte (really large piece but a nice finish). I'd highly recommend RPM - we'll be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice place. Portions were a little small. I think they should add more vegetarian and vegan dishes to the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

As always RPM Italian was a fantastic choice. I have been there several times and have had several different service staff. I have never had a single complaint and they have always gone out of their way to ensure your dining experience is worth every penny. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

There's nothing bad I can say about RPM Italian, hands down one of my favorite places in the city!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

We ate here while visiting my daughter and son in-law in Chicago last weekend. The restaurant is a mix of a club and restaurant with a lively vibe, maybe even a little loud with the music. We got a table in a quite section which suited us perfectly.
The prices are very fair for the area and menu is set up for small dishes to be shared mostly. We liked everything we ate just not a 5 star experience. I recommend the restaurant though if you are in the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was phenomenal, and the service was excellent. The frito misto appetizer was awesome with tender calamari and a very light breading. I had the lobster fra diavlo which was a large portion of lobster and a small amount of pasta. It was delicious but pricey!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been here before and we can honestly say that we've never seen a restaurant perform at a consistently high level like RPM Italian.
This is a very busy place, yet the service is always terrific and friendly. The food is just as consistently excellent. The small plates are all wonderful and the pastas are as well. Even the desserts are amazing (the gelato is to die for.)

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Sexy place, amazing food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Best meal during our visit to Chicago. EXCELLENT service and knowledgeable staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

This place is busy! Very happening, loud, and lively! We sat at the bar before dinner, and the bartender was super friendly as were the patrons around us. :) Our waiter was friendly as well! Food was delicious, although we felt like it was a bit slow. Our reservations were at 9:45pm, and since it took a while, we felt like we wanted to fall asleep at the table. That is really the only complaint, but other than that, it was a fabulous meal and a fun place!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food! Amazing service! You will not be disappointed if you visit this place! I recommend it to everyone in Chicago and visiting Chicago! So good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were excellent. Was seated at a table that was so close to the tables on either side that you were basically dining all together which was disappointing. I'm a small person and I couldn't squeeze out without bumping the table next to me. Server was excellent but would have appreciated a bit of space between us and the parties on either side.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

I took my parents here as they were in town visiting for the weekend. I frequent RPM Steak and RPM Italian was just as fantastic. The service was 5 Star and the food was excellent. The only thing I will say is they do mention the classic pastas are good as sides to share. We each ordered one, as well as a protein/meat for dinner. We could not even get close to finishing. Overall great experience and will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal. Left with a smile. could have ordered whole meal again was so good. Donut dessert great. Cheesecake was a bit lemony though. Would have given 5 stars for service but server seemed bit annoyed when we asked for pic to be taken of our party on our phone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Had incredible accommodations and great service . I enjoyed the lobster diavolo!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Cold appetizers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We love rpm Italian and come every time we are in town. We always recommend this place to Chicago visitors. This past time we were a little dissatisfied with the initial service. When we came in for our 8:45 pm reservation, we were told that they were running 15 minutes behind. Not a huge deal and headed to the bar. At 9:20 we still hadn't received the text that our table was ready. We went to the hostess stand to ask how much longer and they said "we texted you over 20 minutes ago." I never received a text message and if, for whatever reason it I had, wouldn't they come to the bar to find us? It's not a huge place and we told them we would be at the bar until the table is ready. I've worked in restaurants before and it's always common for the hostess to mark what the guests are wearing to find them when their table is ready. We still enjoy this place but upset with our initial service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic all around! Server was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious homemade pasta. Everything tasted smooth and silky, with tantalizing flavor combinations. Taste explosions in your mouth! I wish I could've kissed the chef!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

RPM never disappoints! Excellent food, wine, and service. Love David our server who is outstanding! Just wish we lived closer so we could enjoy it more often. Booths are best if you are celebrating an anniversary or birthday as they are more cozy and comfortable.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Best gluten free pasta I've ever had. I have Celiacs and my meal was great. Had the rice pudding for dessert and it was delicious

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent food and surroundings! Staff super friendly and explained the menu is simple terms for my visiting friends from Ireland 🇮🇪
Good beer and wine selection also. All round great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

RPM Italian never disappoints! The food, wine selection and service are always stellar. The complimentary little ice cream cones w/ happy birthday sign is a nice touch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Delicious and fun! Very nice server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was delicious and the servers made up for the food as it was awesome service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We have dined here before and the food, as always, is amazing. We were a party of 4 seated at a table for 6 directly under a vent which blew cold air on us the entire meal. We told the serve multiple times and were assured they were trying to turn it down, however it was seriously cold at the table. it was extremely uncomfortable and at these prices, this should not happen. we even mentioned it to the hostess on the way out. everyone was apologetic, but that doesn't change the fact that we were uncomfortable and ended our evening early because of it. Minimally they could have moved us or comp'd dessert or HOT COFFEE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was good. Super small portions for the price you pay. The waitress seemed annoyed with us throughout the entire meal since we ordered a few small items to split. Not impressed with this place at all. I will not be back here. There are much better restaurants in Chicago I would go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

RPM was Amazing!!!! Great service and perfect place to enjoy!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great experience from the moment we walked in. Excellent staff - excellent menu.
Definitively return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had an awesome experience as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The food is excellent but the restaurant has turned into a tourist trap. The prices are steep, which would be acceptable if the experience was better. It was overcrowded and noisy - the tables are inches apart. The clientele seemed to be a lot of suburbanites and out of towners hoping for a glimpse of Giuliana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great restaurant! Food and service was excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Loved the wait staff in white jackets--very classy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Went for a Sunday family dinner. The experience didn't start very well as we were seated at the table right by the lobby even when there were plenty of open tables. It really confuses me. We were dressed nicely, my money is as green as anyone else, but yet we are seated literally next to the checknin table. Took s few moments to get service, but then everything was good. Had the fried blossoms, fresh ricotta and toast, loads of great pasta and awesome desserts.

Second time I have been here. Service needs to be better.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.