About RPM Italian

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Hot Spot
Chicago
1 More
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

special occasion (516)
fit for foodies (455)
hot spot (449)
See All
romantic (373)
good for groups (343)
notable wine list (256)
vibrant bar scene (237)
neighborhood gem (121)
late-night find (90)
great for lunch (67)
great for brunch (29)
kid-friendly (28)
scenic view (19)
great for outdoor dining (6)
 (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Business Dinner

Dined 4 days ago

Had some of my co-workers from out of town and this was a good place where we could share some dishes but make sure everyone liked something. The Parmesan Red Peppers were delicious, and the pasta's are always fresh. There wasn't a single thing that wasn't good! Our server was very nice as well. I would def go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our favorite family dinner we h ...

Dined 4 days ago

This was our favorite family dinner we have ever had. Every employee we had contact with exceeded our expectations. Have already recommended to several friends. Planning to go back very soon. Thank you again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

It was a special occasion and we got the ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was a special occasion and we got the worst table near the entrance. Service and food just ok.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time visit, food was delicious, se ...

Dined 5 days ago

First time visit, food was delicious, service was great, atmosphere was great. Will be back again

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Surpasses Expectations

Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant has all the makings of a classic upscale neighborhood staple. My friends thought that our RPM experience was exceptional, and being from Philadelphia (with our great and plentiful dining establishments) that is very noteworthy! The service was impeccable, the food elegant and delicious, and the decor sophisticated without being too pretentious. I originally booked a reservation because we were visiting Chicago and I wanted to experience the restaurant created by Bill & Giuliana on their TV show. What we ended up with is a great restaurant experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

IT was an experience that far exceeded m ...

Dined 6 days ago

IT was an experience that far exceeded my expectation. The service was outstanding. Our waitress recommended that we opt for several dishes which the chef prepared family style for our group of 7. We all got to sample their delicious foods. And a special thanks to Giuliana Rancic for fixing my reservation.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The atmosphere was energetic and our wai ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The atmosphere was energetic and our waiter was friendly, but the food was just average. With the high rating on opentable, I was expecting something better. The truffle garlic tread was rather heavy, and the spicy king crab spaghetti a bit undercooked and too spicy. Putting spicy oil on spaghetti doesn't require too much innovation.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Having been in town on ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant. Having been in town on business from Las Vegas and working at a major casino property I was impressed! The service, food and ambiance was outstanding. The value was also surprising... I felt as though the prices were lower than expected for the quality and flavor profile. Nice work to the team! Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Time

vip
Dined 7 days ago

The steaks were overcooked and the entrees weren't timed out properly but overall everything was delicious and everyone left happy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always!

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Amazing as always!

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

The service was good until we ordered ou ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The service was good until we ordered our entrees. After that, the server didn't speak to us until she brought the check. The lobster ravioli was bland and had a shell in it. The halibut was inedible. The server never noticed that I didn't touch the halibut. Very disappointing experience.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The chicken parm was just ok and cost $2 ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The chicken parm was just ok and cost $28! Not to mention I would have to pay extra for any sides to go with my steak. I was expecting better food and definitely didn't get a lot for the money. This may just be the going rate for food in downtown Chicago but I was disappointed overall.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time there and this t ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was my second time there and this time we brought our son and he loved it and we enjoyed it once again. Great food and good wine.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance. The food is very good. T ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great ambiance. The food is very good. The restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited RPM Italian for a special occasi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Visited RPM Italian for a special occasion with girlfriends. WOW! I already had high expectations when I made the reservation and they somehow managed to surpass them. I wish I had one comment I could mention to make it seem less like I'm paid to give a great review but.... I got nothing. The atmosphere, the service, THE FOOD, and especially the price (despite the amazing experience) was all unbelievable. I cannot wait until the new location opens in DC (closer to my home) AND return to Chicago to visit RPM Steak!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2

It was Ok. Nothing wonderful but not hor ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It was Ok. Nothing wonderful but not horrible either. I would eat there again, but likely pick another spot to try than return.

food3
ambience3
service1

Was with two month old child and with re ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Was with two month old child and with reservations at 5pm. They switched me to the bar area and everybody would bump into the baby's car seat. They seemed to be very concern about flipping tables for the next guest. Awful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Find

Dined on May 20, 2016

First time here and an absolute gem. Our group tried many different menu items and wished we'd had room for more. The small bites are just that and lend themselves to lots of sampling. The pastas were delicate but rich in flavor. Cocktails were spectacular and the wine list was excellent. The service was very attentive but unobtrusive. No bad points here - HIGHLY recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in town from Wright Patterson Ai ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We were in town from Wright Patterson Air Force and have followed The Ranic's shows for years so I thought we would give it a try. Our group of 4 enjoyed our experience and I would recommend to others. Thank you. Renata

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice ambiance. Service was superb. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very nice ambiance. Service was superb. Ordered calamari, grilled octopus and 2 small pizzas for appetizer and it was very well prepared and tasty. We decided to share the biggest steak they have - 38 oz.- for 4 people. Although the meat was prepared perfectly and well flavored we were disappointed with the size of the bone in the steak. My sons could have easily eaten that steak between the two of them. Sides were delicious: mashed potatoes melted in your mouth and mushrooms made you want to eat all of them by yourself and not share with anyone. Lobster filled ravioli were ok but the edges of pasta were a bit hard. Wish the portions of sides were a bit bigger. Dessert was generously portioned and delicious as well. We had gelato and their special which was to die for. It was something resembling doughnuts but oh, sooo good. We were comped on dessert for my sons Bday and waitress brought him a candle - nice touch. I will note a small detail that I appreciated - drinking water was at perfect temperature.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

absolutely delicious!!

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was delicious as was the wine. The service was subpar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent overall dining experience. Hig ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent overall dining experience. High quality menu choices, not the usual suspects. For example, great desserts even without a typical tiramisu choice. Attentive and knowledgable server. All aspects of meal were delicious. Reservations a good idea, noisy setting but fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent

Dined on May 19, 2016

3rd time coming to RPM and it was amazing once again. Food is outstanding and service is great. Would definitely recommend this restaurant and will be coming back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We ordered 2 bottles of wine and didn't ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We ordered 2 bottles of wine and didn't finish a good amount due to dinner drinks; understood we couldn't take to go cups to get in our black car; however, never offered to cork our bottles so we could take them with us. Was a waste of $100 worth of wine for us; told us they could've done that at the table. Annoying.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Carbonara was perfect , chicken parm too ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Carbonara was perfect , chicken parm too. Great vibe and courteous servers

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Post Work Hot Spot

Dined on May 17, 2016

This restaurant has a cool, monochromatic modern decor and the servers are all kitted out in smart, white attire that one would never expect in an Italian restaurant. It's fun, hip, not pretentious. The crowd was a mix of post-work colleagues, ladies night out, date night and great for locals or tourists. Good for a first date or girls night out.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service are both always stellar ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food and service are both always stellar. Go-to spot for Italian in the city.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant, go every time we'r ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Love this restaurant, go every time we're in Chicago!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was very friendly and impeccably d ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Staff was very friendly and impeccably dressed . Service was outstanding . Great variety of food choices I liked the opportunity to be able to share things . Food was delicious . Highly recommended .mdeq

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was well thought out in plann ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Everything was well thought out in planning this restaurant. Wish I lived closer to come back more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything was amazing!

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

It was my sister's birthday we flew in f ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was my sister's birthday we flew in from Atlanta GA and Raleigh N.C , just to eat there, I ordered lamb chops medium ( came out very well done) my sister dish was no better, bill $211.00, bill I expected , food disappointing .

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent buccatini as always and desser ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent buccatini as always and dessert was scrumptious!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Mouth-watering food. Everything was deli ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Mouth-watering food. Everything was delicious!

food5
ambience4
service4

We were a group of five women who made o ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were a group of five women who made our reservation a month in advance. We were seated promptly but surprised to be in the bar. That being said, The people watching was very fun and the food fabulous per my earlier visit in February. We chose small plates; you can't go wrong with the artichoke, tuna carpaccio, and provolone stuffed peppers. And then there's the desserts! Our server, Tommy, was good enough; didn't really engage with us but all and all that was okay. We still love RPM and will go back again!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food! The tables/seating can be a tight.

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was great. However, the tables/seating can be a little tight. Was bumped several times by the waiter while he was serving the neighboring table. It was also easy to eves drop on the tables next to us.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fabulous time.

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was delicious. Tried lots of appetizers and main meals. Shared everything. We enjoyed all of it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Big disappointment! Very limited menu a ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Big disappointment! Very limited menu and the pasta portions are ridicously small as well as the appetizers - especially for what they cost. Asked for bread and never got it, ordered foccacia bread and that took forever. The food was good just not a lot of it, except for the salads - they gave you a good size salad. Husband had a martini that was very watered down and son gad a Manhattan that was mostly vermouth. Probably wouldn't go back since it was so expensive for what you got - felt very taken and was extremely disappointed since I really wanted to go there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular!

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences as the food was exquisite and the wait staff were attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

You will never be disappointed in the fo ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

You will never be disappointed in the food and service. Spectacular Italian dishes. We were a party of six and everyone raves about their meal. Yes it's a bit noisy but such fun people watching !

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.