About RPM Italian

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

RPM Italian
Prime Beef Meatballs
Truffle Garlic Bread
Beef Carpaccio
Mama Depandi's Bucatini Pomodoro
Shredded Brussels sprouts salad, avocado, lemon vinaigrette, bread crumbs
Grilled Octopus
Fried Olives
Latte
bomboloni
Cannolis
spicy king crab
Guiliana Salad
Wood Roasted Octopus
Spicy King Crab Squid Ink Spaghetti
Ricotta gnocchi, parmesan brodo, fresh black truffle
Big Eye Ahi Tuna
Truffled garlic bread, circa 1963
Spaghetti & Mega Meatball
Tartufo With Hazelnut Gelato And Chocolate Shell
Artichoke
Roasted Brussels sprouts, ricotta salata
Oven Roasted Octopus
Tiramisu
Zucchini Fritti
Chocolate Budino With Salted Caramel And Cocoa Nibs
Sweet Corn Agnolotti
Maine Lobster Ravioli
Carbonara
Chicken Liver Crostini
Fritto Misto
Carbonara Pasta
Bomboloni With Nutella Cream And Whipped Cream
Provolone-Stuffed Peppers
Espresso
Roman Artichokes With Lemon Aioli
Pappardelle Bolognese
Mushroom Sagnarelli
Tartufo
Prociutto Wrapped Figs
Pineapple Carpaccio
Lobster Caprese
Ribeye
Short Rib Pappardelle
Berkshire Pork Chop
Affogato Float
Truffled Garlic Bread
Truffled Gnocchi
Oven-Roasted Meatballs
Beignettes
Bomboloni, nutella, whipped mascarpone
600 Day Prosciutto Di Parma
Mascarpone gelato with carrot cake crumble
Meatballs
Ricotta With Spicy Marinara
Italian salad – escarole, romaine, iceberg lettuces, provolone, cherry tomatoes, peperoncini, salami
Grilled asparagus with parmesan
38 oz. dry-aged bistecca fiorentina, Tuscany's famous sliced porterhouse steak
Sautéed broccolini with chilies and vinegar
Fresh housemade ricotta, ciabatta toast, tomato jam
Faroe Island salmon, pistachio pesto
Tartufo Italian desserts - chocolate with hazelnut gelato
Salumi platter – bresaola, capicola, sopressata, pepperoni
Fried olives, fresh mozzarella, sausage; crispy ravioli, pignoli, spinach
Pistachio cannoli, chocolate, orange
Eggplant Parmesan
Solaro
Wood-Roasted Octopus
Imported Burrata
Asparagus Pizza
Ricotta
Roasted mushrooms and balsamic onions
Lime, strawberry sorbets, vanilla and chocolate ice gelati
Hazelnut tartufo, dark and milk chocolate
Orange Cannoli
Pepperoni And Spicy Tomato Pizette
squid ink spaghetti
Braised Short Rib Pappardelle
Sea Scallops
Proscuitto
Prosciutto Tortelloni
Lobster Ravioli
Vegetable chopped salad – chickpeas, beets, romaine, argula, treviso, goat cheese, tomatoes, asparagus, celery, cucumbers
Cannoli Italian desserts
Piccolo Rosa
Burrata With Tomato Jam
Artichokes salad
Buccatini With Meatballs
Crab With Squid Ink Pasta
Sergio Leone Cocktail
Prosciutto Pansotti
Potato Gnocchi With Sunday Gravy
Freah Homemade Ricotta
Moscato, Peroni
sweet pea risotto
Raviolo A La Rpm
Gelato With Rice Pudding
Potato Gnocchi
Cavatelli With Beef And Pork Ragu
Zuchini Chips

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Italian
Chicago
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

Special Occasion (504)
Fit for Foodies (462)
Hot Spot (437)
See All
Romantic (357)
Good for Groups (319)
Notable Wine List (242)
Vibrant Bar Scene (236)
Neighborhood Gem (140)
Late-night Find (79)
Great for Lunch (72)
Kid-friendly (43)
Great for Brunch (24)
Scenic View (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5847 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous flavor and seamless service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 10 hours ago

Fabulous flavor and seamless service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service!! Great food!! Great atm ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 10 hours ago

Amazing service!! Great food!! Great atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is consistently good no matter ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food is consistently good no matter what we had. Nice wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding and the restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was outstanding and the restaurant was very nicely decorated.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall everything I expected. This was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Overall everything I expected. This was my second visit. Took my 7 year old for her bday. We came from Toronto. The service was amazing. Food even better. Great atmosphere. One of my favorite places in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food was phenominal-best Italian in the ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

food was phenominal-best Italian in the city. great service-beautiful interior. go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great server, food was good, great ambia ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great server, food was good, great ambiance and drinks.

Enjoyed out experience at RPM ITALIAN

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great place for a night out, we were vis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for a night out, we were visiting from Toronto and are fans of the Rancic family so we wanted to try this place out since we had read some decent reviews. The restaurant is so nice and our waitress was very helpful, food was great too but the hostesses need some customer service training, they seemed younger and not very good at greeting customers! Also, I booked my reservation about 3 months prior to going and when they sat us they put us at the table right by the bathrooms. When I asked to be seated at an empty table that was two down from the bathroom, it seemed like we were asking for too much. All in all good experience but we can do without the unfriendliness the front staff showed us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I will not go back to this establishment ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

I will not go back to this establishment; because they seated me on a high stool/table. That is not fine dining in my dictionary.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

This is the second time we have dined at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is the second time we have dined at RPM Italian. We loved it the first time, and the second time was even better! This restaurant comes with my highest recommendation!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we enjoyed the restaurant and th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall we enjoyed the restaurant and the food. There were 2 minor incidents that we were not pleased with. The waitress failed to inform us of specials. About 15 minutes after ordering I overheard a waiter informing the table next to us of specials, which prompted me to ask our waitress about them. I was able to change one item in my order to one of the specials. When we received the bill we were shocked at the price of the special item that I had switched to. It was very similar to the original item that I had ordered from the menu, but somehow more than double the price and we were not informed of this up front. A little disappointing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent. But drinks are ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent. But drinks are kind of expensive, so I would steer clear of the drinks and stick with water to drink and focus on the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I have never had such a bad experience a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have never had such a bad experience at a restaurant. I am not exaggerating or using hyperbole when I say my experience with the staff was terrible. Our reservation was for 8:45pm, we were sat down 25 minutes later, and our waiter showed up 7 minutes after that. That's not the worst part, I understand restaurants get busy. The shocking part was when the waiter came to pour water and immediately turned around without greeting us. When he returned to the table 5 minutes later, in the middle of explaining the appetizers, he abruptly stopped, mumbled something with an attitude and turned away as we tried to understand what he said. I believe the reason for his unprofessional behavior was me finishing typing up a text message to my sick mother - apparently he thought it was rude enough to act like a prima-donna. Tim, one of the managers came to apologize after I asked for a change in staff. Alberto, one of the busboys was great, very attentive and professional. I would not go back to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The food was amazing and the serving siz ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing and the serving size was perfect. The service was great and pretty quick! I had a great time. No complaints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 10 minutes early for our rese ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation and were seated immediately. The service was fantastic. Servers were attentive but not hovering. Servers demonstrated an extensive understanding of the menu. The food was delicious. My only complaint was that the table we were seated at was one in a line of tables in the center of the room. We were very close to our neighbors. I prefer to be a little further away. Overall, we loved our meal and would recommend RPM Italian to others.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Shane was an amazing server. He took gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Shane was an amazing server. He took great care of us- walked us through the menu, took amazing care of our 3 kids with us and made sure they had what they liked. The food was amazing. Best Italian I have ever eaten. Hope RPM comes to NY!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Family Style, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. I had heard it w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious. I had heard it was very good but I was skeptical. I was pleasantly surprised. Our server was attentive. We had a great time celebrating my birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'd only heard amazing things about RPM ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I'd only heard amazing things about RPM Italian so took family from out of town there over the weekend. The waitress seemed annoyed to be serving us, launched into aggressive upselling almost immediately, and seemed distant the rest of the evening. While the food was good - it did not live up to expectations. I left feeling like Id hopefully just had a bad combination of food and service on an off night, but they didn't give me any reason to want to go back soon to give them another chance at that price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

It was great! My husband and I were in t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was great! My husband and I were in town kidless for his work so I talked him into going. I love gulianna and he loves chicken Parm on the menu so he agreed. It was way beyond my expectations, we've gone to celebrity restaurants before because I'm a sucker and the food was average but this was honestly one of the best meals I've ever had. We shared the homemade ricotta and meatballs for an appitizer they were not to die for and for an entree we shared the chicken Parm and mama depandi bucatini I don't think I could pick a favorite they are all amazing but husband has dreams about that ricotta. We also got a bottle of wine that was so good wasent on our rader when we first looked at the menu but the wine guy suggested it and we thought yolo! Wish they wore name tags so I could call and let them know! We went for the name attached but even with all the fantastic restaurants in Chicago we will definetly be going back Everytime for the food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is solid - always have great ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

This place is solid - always have great drinks, food and service!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RPM Italian was a great dining experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

RPM Italian was a great dining experience. The food and service was great and the ambiance was great. RPM is such a beautiful restaurant. My husband and I will definitely.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was great!! Very helpful, k ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our waitress was great!! Very helpful, knowledgeable and sweet. The food was fantastic, can't wait to go back next time I'm in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal Amazon waiter - you can't g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing meal Amazon waiter - you can't go wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I were able to get an ear ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My husband and I were able to get an early reservation, after wanting to go here for years!! The service was amazing. My husband and I are red wine drinkers, but I wanted something lighter, due to the heat. Our Waitress suggested a nice bottle of white wine (which was the featured wine) and it was excellent. Our waitress also took the time to go over the menu with us, explaining that the dishes are meant to be shared. We had the soft shell crab and calamari appetizer, truffle garlic bread, lobster ravioli, my husband had the filet and I had a giant meatball. We also shared a side of garlic whipped potatoes and broccoli rabe. I thought everything was delicious. My husband did say his filet was a bit over done and he has had better filets at other restaurants in the past. The atmosphere was great and the noise level wasn't bad at all. We had a wonderful experience, and we plan on going back over and over again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed the food and service w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and service was very attentive, which can be a little wearing. We had made reservations, but we still had to wait about 15 mins to get to our table. We usually don't mind waiting, but then what is the point of a reservations?! Overall, a nice place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent cuisine and service at appropr ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent cuisine and service at appropriate expense for Chicago. I have not had better Italian in Chicago and highly recommend RPM.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I know this place likes to turn over tab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I know this place likes to turn over tables but the help tried twice to clear our dinner plates and both times I was no finished eating. Both times they touched my plate without asking if I was finished. I was not finished. I do not like anyone touching my plate since I was still eating. I finally told them not to do it again. It was upsetting since this was an expensive dinner and we did not appreciate the way they tried to rush us as we were not finished and still had food on our plate.

Also, the over head dinner music was too loud and sound like drums you would hear in a rock club.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent service. Knowledgeable server. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent service. Knowledgeable server. The food was excellent. From apps to delicious cheeseboard. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was exceptional. Food was outst ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was exceptional. Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lukewarm ravioli that was still very goo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lukewarm ravioli that was still very good, squid ink pasta, garlic bread that was out of this world and some of the bat heirloom tomatoes. Sommelier had a great recommendation for a Barolo. Our server was a 1/10, not personable, never made any recommendations, specials or introduction to the menu and was inhospitable. But for the service would give a 4/5 rating and but for that and the ravioli could have been a 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

My boyfriend and I went to celebrate our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to celebrate our anniversary. I thought the ambiance was great and our server was very knowledgable of the food, not so much the wine list. Only part I was disappointed with is the server didn't ask if we were celebrating anything special, that would have made our experience even better. Overall, great food and great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive, but great for a special occas ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Expensive, but great for a special occasion! The roasted squash blossoms, pappardelle, and special beignet dessert were particularly delicious. The restaurant is very chic and well-designed and the environment is always busy and vibrant, though the music can be a little loud.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fantastic except our tabl ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was fantastic except our table. It was a little 2 top squeezed right next to another little two top table. We couldn't have proper conversation because the tables on either side of us could hear us and vice versa. If I'm paying that much money I want some privacy from other guests.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Can't say enough good things about this ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Can't say enough good things about this restaurant! I was there to celebrate my anniversary and everything from the waiter to the ambiance and the food just blew our minds. It was reasonably priced I was actually surprised it wasn't more because it was just that good. I plan on coming back to Chicago and when I do I am definitely coming back here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent Too many children

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was excellent

Too many children

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The meatballs melted in my mouth!the atm ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The meatballs melted in my mouth!the atmosphere was elegant.our waiter was knowledgeable and really enjoyed ourselfs.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We felt the food was a bit overpriced. T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We felt the food was a bit overpriced. The fish we had was lacking in flavor and had bones in it. We talked to the server and the only thing we got was a "I'll mention it to the chef". For $58 I would think a "I'll talk to the chef" was a bit too little.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal !

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent meal !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a post b'day lunch here. Great food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had a post b'day lunch here. Great food. Portioned just right. Great service. Knowledgeable. Professional. Wasn't all that crowded on Sunday so you could probably walk-in and get seated right away. Had the special dessert - donuts. OMG they were the best. If they offer them, strongly recommend you take advantage,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding and very memorable dining ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding and very memorable dining experience: great food, upscale atmosphere without feeling stuffy or too formal; attentive & friendly service. Only complaint was one of the pasta dishes was not served hot enough. We will be back to sample the desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.