About RPM Italian

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (237)
Special Occasion (222)
Good for Anniversaries (174)
See All
Modern Decor (169)
Romantic (168)
Good for Birthdays (150)
Hot Spot (146)
Fit for Foodies (142)
Fun (109)
Good for Groups (101)
Vibrant Bar Scene (96)
Creative Cuisine (94)
Notable Wine List (87)
Authentic (79)
Business Meals (77)
Bar Seating (75)
Worth the Drive (69)
People Watching (69)
Cozy (63)
Pre/post Theatre (59)
Handcrafted Cocktails (55)
Comfort Food (49)
Casual (43)
Happy Hour (40)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Family Style (33)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Tasting Menu (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (27)
Private Room (26)
Outstanding Value (24)
Late-night Find (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Tapas (19)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Local Ingredients (13)
Healthy (12)
Scenic View (9)
Seasonal (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Spicy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Vegan (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
6777 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing service and food. Will definitely be coming back! 1000% recommend the prosciutto tortellini!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We loved our dinner at RPM. The food was great and the service even better. We even loved the attention we received from the manager Tim.

This is a great restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Wasn't what I expected. Thought it would be a little bit more welcoming or at least a little more relaxed but it wasn't!! The food was good, nothing to write home about.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything we ordered was outstanding! We had the truffled garlic bread and prime rib meatballs for starters. Both delicious, the meatballs were melt in your mouth tender. My wife fell in love with the buccatini. I had the Venetian risotto, loaded with perfectly cooked seafood. And do NOT miss the hazelnut tartufa for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Went out for a couples dinner from the coast and had high expectations, however, we were deeply disappointed. We weren't that hungry but still wanted to give this place a shot. In addition, we wanted some dessert and this all changed by the end of dinner. The two rating was given due to the ambiance of the restaurant and the pasta being somewhat okay. We ordered a pasta meal, wine and scallops after we were told the Orata was out. The waiter appeared to be annoyed given that we were not interested in a side and another main course. The pasta came and the beef was cold in the pasta. I've never ordered scallops in my life for $32 and received medium (not jumbo) scallops sitting on a teaspoon of puree! The butternut squash puree was literally a small tablespoon so I couldn't really taste the seasoning or the ingredient. The scallops were mediocre topped with bacon and salty. The pasta was also mediocre and such small portion. Honestly, you can get a bang for your buck elsewhere. The hype and 5 star ratings are all B.S or patrons don't know what delicious food tastes like. I cook better at home and this reminds me why I don't eat out anymore. I ended up canceling my dessert after it appeared to be dry from another table and I wanted the experience to be over. You're better off eating somewhere else where you get authentic flavors and decent portions. This Restaurant is all about cheating you out of a meal and charging $11 per scallop. The plate was not even garnished well, SMH. Save your money guys! The food is mediocre and you're better off elsewhere. Whatever happened to Italian sized portions?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

RPM was even better than we anticipated! The food was fresh, delicious and I'll be craving it for days. The pasta portion sizes are small, meant as a bit of a side, so order two or be sure to start with an app. The service was professional and welcoming - loved their white jacket uniforms too!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was poor and the food was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Second Visit. Trying all menu items! All pastas are delicious and unique. Hard to decide on a favorite dish. Will be recommending this restaurant to our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

RPM Italian is phenomenal !! I love this place and will be back!! The food,

Service and atmosphere is wonderful!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great staff! Our server Bobby was very helpful in explaing the menu, providing recommendations, and attentive to our table!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great and the server was knowledgeable and outgoing. The only thing I didn't care for was that I felt rushed through the meal. The food came out so quickly that it was like it was ready to be thrown on a plate when the kitchen got the order. We were there less than an hour with 2 appetizers and our meal. I was looking for it to be more of an "event" and wanted to sit and enjoy the atmosphere more. Would still recommend and would still go back though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great restaurant. Service was outstanding. Ordered the veal chop. Wonderful flavor. Little on the small side. Really liked the meatballs ordered with the toasted garlic bread.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved it and would highly recommend it! Very reasonably priced and food and ambiance were excellent!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

The appetizers were delicious and the service was excellent. I wish I could rave about the pasta dishes, but they were average. For the price point they should have been exceptional. The portions were also smaller than expected.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Really outstanding food. The menu was semi-daunting since it was all ale carte--because you are not sure the size of portions. All in all it was a great meal and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best hands down restaurants in Chicago. The staff makes you feel so special! The food, oh my goodness, is so fantastic! The prosciutto dates?! What is this wonderful creation?!! Loved loved! The lobster ravioli, and the squid inked pasta with crab (ugh, mouth watering) was amazing! I love this restaurant. I will come every time I come to Chicago. I also had the best waiter I have ever had times 2 , Andre! He knew his menu, and accommodated my friends and I to an all time high dining experience that we will never forget. Thank you RPM! Please keep up this great restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was simply awful. We had to even ask three separate people for the manager. He finally came to our table. He was helpful and extremely professional unfortunatley the waiter was so bad it spooiee our evening. Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been coming to RPM since it opened and always had a great meal until yesterday

Our risotto tasted like salty rice. No creaminess and rice wasn't cooked. My pasta wasn't cooked well and way over seasoned.

Sorry I have always been a fan but it will be awhile before I come back. It was a special dinner with my girls and after eating we really thought we should of gone somewhere else.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I really wanted to love RPM Italian. I made my beau take me for V-Day. I thought it would be a tasty late-night find similar to RPM Steak. I thought it was great that RPM Italian was downtown an open beyond 10 pm on a weekday. However, my guy did not like his food at all. I didn't want to tell him that my food was just okay too because we actually enjoyed the ambiance, the packed room that night and our server, outside of catching her roll her eye slightly because I asked for a side plate (I had pasta and wanted to try my boyfriend's mashed potatoes) we had no problem with the service. The food just wasn't as good as we expected. In particular what I expected because I had a great lunch meal with my mom a couple of weeks earlier at RPM Steak. More than likely I will not go back. I will stick with RPM Steak, which was tasty and amazing. I had the squid ink seafood pasta. He had the swordfish with a side of potatoes and the side of mushrooms (which were tasty but slightly salty). Wanted to love it, but unfortunately, it wasn't as good as I had hoped. We left an 18% tip! Again, the server was fine, the ambiance was great, the food just didn't measure up that night. :(

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fabulous as always!! Our server made excellent dinner and wine recos. Service and food were on point. Always a favorite!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing food. The best carpaccio ever! The place is awesome. Is not a boring tradicional Italian restaurant. I wanna come back ASAP!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Place is great, service is excellent, food is fantastic and very reasonably priced

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First time in Chicago and wife suggested we try RPM. Wonderful service and really good food.

Tags: Vegan, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Exquisite service, stunning wine list. Each dish was perfectly balanced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great fried olive appetizer, along with their Tuscan Kale salad. The carbonara was simply amazing. The deserts are wonderful but large so definitely share!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had a really great experience at RPM. We were seated promptly and the food and service was very good. I would recommend it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great service. Portions are on the smaller side. Squid Ink Pasta is really good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a fantastic time at RPM Italian. We went there for my daughter's birthday and the food was amazing. I loved the atmosphere and the fact that they had a Birthday dessert.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was impeccable! RPM had an energetic feel but was very cozy and was a great place for an upscale dinner date. We were treated very well and felt very comfortable. The menu was fantastic and the bill didn't break the bank! Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

RPM never disappoints! I had three people in my party that had never been- all said it was the best meal they ever had. Thank you for another wonderful dinner!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was okay but it's a very trendy place and they do all they can to make it a fantastic experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

You can't go wrong at RPM. Fantastic food, good wine list, and excellent service

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Seated at high top table after requesting booth through app. Just a personal preference but not a fan of high top/bar seating for an expensive meal. Service was pretty good if not all that friendly. Food was excellent, as always, other than two pasta dishes which arrived cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a great time and the food was amazing! Unfortunately no birthday cake which was a first but the food tasted awesome nonetheless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything was great. Food was great. Service was great. Had a great night

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our waiter Dee was fantastic!!!!!! Went into great detail about the menu and our food options. Dre went above and beyond making sure we paired our foods with our tastes and made us feel like he'd known us forever. If you're in the Chicago area and want some phenomenal Italian, go to RPM and ask for Dre. Thank you Dre!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything was perfect. The menu choices were outstanding. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I loved the food and hated the table. I thought I was having a nice dinner with my wife and was surprised that I also was forced to eat with two ladies seated at the table next to me. The reason this was a problem is that the table next to us was only eight inches away. Even though I loved the food I will never return. My recommendation to you is to insist on a booth or sit at a round high table in the bar. The booths are very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

RPM met all of our expectations. We ordered the brussels salad, the octopus, and the truffle garlic bread to start. All of them were reasonably priced and portions were enough to split between 2-3 people depending on the appetite.

My wife and I ordered two pasta dishes and split them. The Maine Lobster ravioli was cooked perfectly and we each got three of them. The mushroom pasta dish was a combination of mushrooms with some crispy ones on top that made the texture of the dish complex. We loved both of them.

We split the short rib as an entree and between the two of us these dishes were plenty of food. I got canolis for dessert and my wife got the gelato. Both were excellent, but we probably could have split one.

Overall, I'd recommend this place if you are looking for a more sophisticated ambiance with creative Italian dishes that set a mood for a fun night out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful food and cocktails at RPM. A little pricey, but we expected that. If I go back, I will definitely request a booth because we were seated at the worst table in the restaurant sandwiched in between two larger loud parties who continuously bumped in to our table getting up. 4/5 stars for me!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was amazing! Throughly enjoyed the King Crab Bruschetta and the Sea Scallops!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Not the best experience. Treated poorly. Was my 35th birthday. We came to spend some money. Look very young and we're treated accordingly. What a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was probably the best date my girlfriend and I have ever had. We went for our anniversary. I called ahead to let them know and they went above and beyond for us. Free appetizer, free glasses of champagne after dinner, and gave us one of the best tables in the restaurant. Kyle was our server and he was top notch. Extremely friendly and very knowledgeable when it came to wine and food. On top of that, the wine selection is great and the food was amazing. HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice Italian dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The restaurant was packed for Restaurant Week, and we had reservations that took us about 45 minutes to be seated (beyond our time). The food was very good, but it was loud and service could have been better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was good not great, and I left very hungry. If your hungry, consider ordering 2 entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Service staff became rude after we did not order wine and only one appetizer. We did not wish to stick around for dessert as this impacted our desire to continue to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing food !!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Visited RPM Italian for my wife's birthday during a trip to Chicago. The food was fantastic and the service was even better. We had zero complaints and wish we had one of these in our city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.