About RPM Italian

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

RPM Italian
Prime Beef Meatballs
Truffle Garlic Bread
Mama Depandi's Bucatini Pomodoro
Beef Carpaccio
Shredded Brussels sprouts salad, avocado, lemon vinaigrette, bread crumbs
Grilled Octopus
Fried Olives
Latte
Cannolis
bomboloni
spicy king crab
Guiliana Salad
Wood Roasted Octopus
Spicy King Crab Squid Ink Spaghetti
Ricotta gnocchi, parmesan brodo, fresh black truffle
Big Eye Ahi Tuna
Truffled garlic bread, circa 1963
Spaghetti & Mega Meatball
Artichoke
Tartufo With Hazelnut Gelato And Chocolate Shell
Roasted Brussels sprouts, ricotta salata
Zucchini Fritti
Tiramisu
Oven Roasted Octopus
Chocolate Budino With Salted Caramel And Cocoa Nibs
Sweet Corn Agnolotti
Maine Lobster Ravioli
Carbonara
Chicken Liver Crostini
Fritto Misto
Carbonara Pasta
Bomboloni With Nutella Cream And Whipped Cream
Provolone-Stuffed Peppers
Roman Artichokes With Lemon Aioli
Espresso
Pappardelle Bolognese
Mushroom Sagnarelli
Tartufo
Prociutto Wrapped Figs
Pineapple Carpaccio
Lobster Caprese
Ribeye
Berkshire Pork Chop
Short Rib Pappardelle
Affogato Float
Truffled Gnocchi
Truffled Garlic Bread
Oven-Roasted Meatballs
Beignettes
Bomboloni, nutella, whipped mascarpone
600 Day Prosciutto Di Parma
Mascarpone gelato with carrot cake crumble
Meatballs
Ricotta With Spicy Marinara
Sautéed broccolini with chilies and vinegar
38 oz. dry-aged bistecca fiorentina, Tuscany's famous sliced porterhouse steak
Grilled asparagus with parmesan
Italian salad – escarole, romaine, iceberg lettuces, provolone, cherry tomatoes, peperoncini, salami
Fresh housemade ricotta, ciabatta toast, tomato jam
Faroe Island salmon, pistachio pesto
Fried olives, fresh mozzarella, sausage; crispy ravioli, pignoli, spinach
Salumi platter – bresaola, capicola, sopressata, pepperoni
Pistachio cannoli, chocolate, orange
Tartufo Italian desserts - chocolate with hazelnut gelato
Eggplant Parmesan
Solaro
Wood-Roasted Octopus
Imported Burrata
Asparagus Pizza
Ricotta
Hazelnut tartufo, dark and milk chocolate
Roasted mushrooms and balsamic onions
Lime, strawberry sorbets, vanilla and chocolate ice gelati
Pepperoni And Spicy Tomato Pizette
Orange Cannoli
squid ink spaghetti
Braised Short Rib Pappardelle
Sea Scallops
Proscuitto
Prosciutto Tortelloni
Lobster Ravioli
Vegetable chopped salad – chickpeas, beets, romaine, argula, treviso, goat cheese, tomatoes, asparagus, celery, cucumbers
Cannoli Italian desserts
Piccolo Rosa
Burrata With Tomato Jam
Artichokes salad
Crab With Squid Ink Pasta
Buccatini With Meatballs
Sergio Leone Cocktail
Prosciutto Pansotti
Potato Gnocchi With Sunday Gravy
Freah Homemade Ricotta
Moscato, Peroni
Gelato With Rice Pudding
Raviolo A La Rpm
sweet pea risotto
Potato Gnocchi
Cavatelli With Beef And Pork Ragu
Zuchini Chips

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Hot Spot
Chicago
2 More
Italian
Chicago
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

special occasion (468)
fit for foodies (439)
hot spot (411)
See All
romantic (322)
good for groups (317)
notable wine list (232)
vibrant bar scene (222)
neighborhood gem (129)
late-night find (76)
great for lunch (66)
kid-friendly (35)
great for brunch (28)
scenic view (16)
great for outdoor dining (9)
Sort By:
Newest
5702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

After being a gulianna fan for years I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 2 days ago

After being a gulianna fan for years I was so happy to finally experience her first restaurant. It was authentic, simple Italian with amazing flavors. Smaller portions but the waitress was great at coursing our meal.

The special fried squash blossoms and Mama dipandi's bucatini were perfection. Wish I lived closer so I could come back more!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taste of food----OVER THE TOP GOODNESS P ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 2 days ago

Taste of food----OVER THE TOP GOODNESS

Portion size-- not necessarily shareable as described

Service ---one of if not the best I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Was recommended to have dinner here by s ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

Was recommended to have dinner here by several of our friends and repeatedly stated as the Best Italian Restaurant. Don't know if we didn't make the right choice for our meal but it was ok. Guess we need to give it another shot once we visit Chicago in the future.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service! Just as good as ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service! Just as good as I remember from four years ago!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good but not amazing or ori ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good but not amazing or original. But then, I am from San Francisco... One dish that stood out was bucatini which they made it perfect. Great pomodoro sauce and pasta cooked to perfection. The quality of ingredients also seemed high and fresh.

I like the bar scene and the crowd seem to be cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

RPM exceeded all of our expectations. We ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

RPM exceeded all of our expectations. We had a group of 4 and everyone raved about the experience! The cheese and Salumi board is a must try starter. The spicy king crab pasta, lobster ravioli and spaghetti and meatballs were all fantastic! Their cocktails are delicious and the presentation is photo-worthy. Make your reservation as far in advance as possible, as it was packed. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

You can't go wrong at RPM Italian! We or ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

You can't go wrong at RPM Italian! We ordered cocktails, appetizers and meals. Everything was outstanding!! Seriously, we enjoyed every bite!! They know what they are doing for sure! Will definitely return next Chicago trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and the food was fantas ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere and the food was fantastic. Wait staff very friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservation through Open Table. Had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Made reservation through Open Table. Had a short wait 10-15min for table to be ready. Then apparent mix up with hostess/server, with no server introduction for 15min+ after being seated. Decided to move to bar for dinner instead. Received wonderful service from our bartender (Rudy) and management staff, helped turn poor first impression to great overall experience. Delicious food and great overall design. Only recommendation would be better communication between hostess/servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent $200 for 3 people on a Monday nigh ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Spent $200 for 3 people on a Monday night, but the server clearly was hoping we would spend more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Me and my husband enjoyed our anniversar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Me and my husband enjoyed our anniversary dinner and the food was amazing!!! Looking forward to going again soon! The host and hostess were pretty and kind.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very small portioned and expens ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was very small portioned and expensive, along with the wine list. Service was slow and our waiter forgot an appetizer and an extra bread order with dinner. Restaurant itself was loud and cold inside. Good place to hang at the bar though.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The dining room was pretty. With the ex ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

The dining room was pretty. With the exception of the Smoked Salmon Crostini, which bread was a bit stale, everything else was delicious especially the Spicy King Crab.

The server and her helpers were attentive. My only complaint is that we were disappointed that the hostess inappropriately put us in the bar area with high table and chairs when we had our kids with us and with reservation. It ruined the momentum and we had to request to be re-seated in the dining room. For such a fine restaurant, we expected more from RPM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

great service, great appys, mains a litt ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 7 days ago

great service, great appys, mains a little weak, great wine, we were visitors from the west coast, and would definitely dine here again, next time we are in chicago

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

First time dining at this restaurant. T ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

First time dining at this restaurant. The service was outstanding from the host to our waitress. The food was amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. The bar was very happening and look forward to going back next time I am in Chicago.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at RPM Italian. The o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Another great meal at RPM Italian. The only downside to the evening was that our reservation was at 7:30 and we were seated at 7:50 with little recognition about the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came to Chicago specifically because I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

I came to Chicago specifically because I wanted to eat at RPM Italian! I was not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food and service was excellent. The dessert was really good and worth all of the extra calories!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, antipasti selection was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious food, antipasti selection was fantastic. We were so full from our appetizers we did not get to pasta or entrée courses.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, outstanding. Food, delicious. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service, outstanding. Food, delicious. Desserts, OUTSTANDING! We had a great meal and our dessert was truly five-star! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences I've ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had - from efficient and friendly staff at the hostess stand, to knowledgeable wait staff, and attentive bussers. The food was top notch and there was no doubt that everything was freshly prepared in house. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at RPM Italian was great. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our experience at RPM Italian was great. We went for my husband's birthday, and we had a wonderful time. The food was excellent, the drinks were delicious (try their take on an old fashioned!) and our server did an amazing job. It is definitely not the restaurant to go to if you are in a hurry to eat, but we all appreciated the time between courses.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and drinks were excellent. Was ple ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and drinks were excellent. Was pleasantly surprised to find that they gave me a 40% military discount. Would frequent if I lived there!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

i went there for date night with my wife ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

i went there for date night with my wife. Had a gift card for lettuce entertain you. Food was great. Pasta was great. We had the best waiter we've had in quite awhile.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very odd going to an upscale Italian res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very odd going to an upscale Italian restaurant and they do not give you complimentary bread. It seems like such a simple thing they could do to really improve. If you want bread, you have to pay for it. Very odd and off putting for me, especially when they charge you so much for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I've been to RPM twice now, the first ti ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I've been to RPM twice now, the first time was back in March and everything was great. I find the prices to be appropriate with the location and quality of the food. Most recently I went I had a reservation for 3:30, an early dinner. Got seated upon arrival, server was mediocre at best. Didn't share any of the specials and we were often waiting for him to check back on us to order another drink. The restaurant was not very busy and he did not appear to have many tables. Disappointed with the server, but our food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We had to check out RPM after hearing/re ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had to check out RPM after hearing/reading such awesome reviews.

We arrived an hour before our reservation (8:00pm) to have drinks with a friend. The bar was packed, we couldn't get waited on. The bar looked to be understaffed. We left and had pre dinner drinks at the Hyatt.

The waitstaff is top notch, and the food is very good, the music was quite loud. Next time I will make reservations earlier.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this place. Unfortunately we had an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Love this place. Unfortunately we had an open table reservation and we were still seated 30 min. after our reservation time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Loved it! Great food, great atmosphere, ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved it! Great food, great atmosphere, will go again when back in Chicago!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stephanie at the bar was super knowledga ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Stephanie at the bar was super knowledgable and offered great service, plus was entertaining to watch while she made 6-8 drinks at one time!

Our server was outstanding too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

RPM Italian was amazing! I am so happy t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

RPM Italian was amazing! I am so happy that we decided to dine there. The service was great, the food was memorable and the ambiance was perfect for a night out. I had the lobster pasta, it was awesome and the presentation was really cool! For dessert we had these mini donuts served with nutella... TO DIE FOR. They were called bombolinis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RPM Italian has become our favorite Ital ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

RPM Italian has become our favorite Italian restaurant in Chicago. It has consistently provided good food, good service, and it's neither too crowded nor too loud. I've entertained there several times and it has been a hit with each group. The last visit, the lobster ravioli were excellent and they had an interesting twist on the wedge salad. The wine is not inexpensive, but its pricing is competitive with other Chicago area restaurants. RPM is a real treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

I don't normally do reviews, but making ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I don't normally do reviews, but making an exception for RPM Italian. Cannot recommend this restaurant high enough to anyone living in or visiting Chicago. The food was some of the best I've had, the service from Justin and Bobby absolutely made our evening. They were engaged with our table, attentive, but also allowed us to take our time and enjoy the evening. Traveled from out of town with my wife and our close friends and each one of us said it was one of the best evenings of dining any of us have had. Great wine list, deserts were fantastic and you haven't lived until you've had their lobster bruschetta. It's an amazing atmosphere and we will remember this meal and the wonderful time we had there for years to come.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pasta was good. We had bucatini, bologne ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Pasta was good. We had bucatini, bolognese, spaghetti and meatballs, and lobster ravioli. The meatballs were great and sauces were good. Dessert was very delicious!! Chocolate gelato was the best I've eaten. The sugar donuts were amazing too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed every dish we tried. Great conce ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Enjoyed every dish we tried. Great concept of Italian "Tapas". Waiter was very good and knowledgeable of all the dishes. Will definitely return. Only downside was that the tables are so close together in many sections. Felt like we were on top of each other, but got to know our "neighbors" so it was still fine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

It's a "it" spot to go in Chicago....the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It's a "it" spot to go in Chicago....the atmosphere is energetic, elegant & classy. The food is good especially the pastas.

The service on the other hand is poor. We are regulars at rpm steak and other high end restaurants in Chicago and was taken back by the poor service we had. From slow slow paced, attitude from waitress, the 1st cocktail being served with my lobster pasta(glad I didn't want another). Maybe just a bad staff night but from a restaurant with this reputation I wouldn't expect "a bad" night.

Give it a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

food was amazing!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a fabulous meal here a couple of y ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I had a fabulous meal here a couple of years ago so I brought business friends here this week. Still love the ambience but unfortunately, 3 out of 5 of us were disappointed with our meals - especially the meatball.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

From that moment you walked in to you wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

From that moment you walked in to you walked out was truly AMAZING. the food, the service everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and impeccable service!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food and impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.