About RPM Italian

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (226)
Special Occasion (213)
Good for Anniversaries (171)
See All
Modern Decor (167)
Romantic (164)
Good for Birthdays (153)
Hot Spot (146)
Fit for Foodies (142)
Fun (107)
Good for Groups (105)
Notable Wine List (101)
Vibrant Bar Scene (89)
Creative Cuisine (88)
Business Meals (81)
Authentic (79)
Worth the Drive (76)
Bar Seating (74)
People Watching (70)
Pre/post Theatre (69)
Cozy (66)
Handcrafted Cocktails (60)
Comfort Food (57)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Happy Hour (41)
Casual (41)
Family Style (38)
Good Vegetarian Options (30)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Late-night Find (25)
Tapas (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Gluten Free Options (23)
Tasting Menu (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Private Room (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Healthy (16)
Seasonal (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Scenic View (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Fireplace (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Spicy (4)
Great Beer (3)
Live Sports (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
6662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the cheese and salumi. Small plate ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Love the cheese and salumi. Small plates so appetizer a must overall good food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The wait staff was very professional and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The wait staff was very professional and friendly. The fried olives are to die for but the pasta portions could have been a bit bigger and my noodles were a little undercooked. Overall a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was to die for. The server was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was to die for. The server was amazing. The overall experience was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the ambiance! Excellent service an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved the ambiance! Excellent service and wonderful food.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary, the experience d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

It was our anniversary, the experience didn't live up to our expectations for the price we were willing to pay. The food was good. The atmosphere was depressing not even music. The server didn't wish us a happy anniversary. Never again. Morton's steak house print a special menu for your party that says happy 19th anniversary or happy 15th birthday with exceptional service and great food for the same cost plus they take a picture of you and hang it on their wall! Pretty cool huh?

I suggest live music piano or something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

great fresh pasta, nice service, and goo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

great fresh pasta, nice service, and good cocktails

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great experience at RPM (Italian). ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great experience at RPM (Italian). We enjoyed all the food and a great time looking around at all the decor. Don't be afraid to pull out your wallet and live a little because it's definitely worth it. As far as the pricing I've spent more on less that's for sure. Can't wait to try RPM (steak) next!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great energetic , friendly positive and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great energetic , friendly positive and Professional Staff

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was waiting 1 hour to be seated. food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

I was waiting 1 hour to be seated.

food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

I went here for my 18th birthday get-tog ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

I went here for my 18th birthday get-together and was pleasantly surprised by our attentive waiter and delicious food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was incredible. I had brought out of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

It was incredible. I had brought out of town guests and they enjoyed their meal. Gluten free options were great! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was so nice and attentive, food w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Waiter was so nice and attentive, food was great. Smaller than the 'American' portion but didn't leave me hungry. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Not our first time here and it never dis ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Not our first time here and it never disappoints. This time our server, Bob, made it even better. His recommendations were wonderful! The veal special was absolutely outstanding! I highly recommend dining here. You will not regret it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food....the service was, howev ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food....the service was, however, lacking. Our waiter disappeared for long periods. My husband poured EVERY glass of wine at the table. Usually, the waiter comes to pour at least one round. I would return just for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great selections, spicy king crab pasta ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great selections, spicy king crab pasta was amazing!!!! Worth checking out for the name value alone

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very good along with the dr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good along with the drinks. Unfortunately, we realized this is a large restaurant that is about getting people through and not so much about fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

The staff was friendly and attentive but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff was friendly and attentive but the food was not worth the money. Poor quality and very expensive. The drinks were good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Besides being seated 10 minutes after ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Besides being seated 10 minutes after our reservation time, I cannot complain about anything. The sommelier recommended a wine that we ended up loving, our food was delicious and properly portioned (we were pleasantly full, no leftovers). Our server was gracious and attentive without being overbearing. The one thing I won't ever forget were those amazing doughnuts for dessert. The restaurant itself was surprisingly crowded for a Wednesday evening, but the noise levels were well managed so we could still hear one another. Overall, it was a lovely experience, and I look forward to going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In Chicago to see Hamilton

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

In Chicago to see Hamilton

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely terrific. My Italian friend ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Absolutely terrific. My Italian friend said her artichoke appetizer was better than any she had ever had in Rome and our gelato the best she has ever tried outside of Italy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love RPM Italian - never disappoints. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Love RPM Italian - never disappoints. The scene, the food, the service is always on point. The new pistachio gelato is a must have so save room for dessert! Matt our waiter was so such a good waiter! #addicted

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Housemade pastas were wonder ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Delicious! Housemade pastas were wonderful, the artichokes were fabulous, and the octopus was divine! Enjoyed the short braised ribs too. The brussel sprout salad was a little rich with the dressing, but still flavorful. Enjoyed by both adults and kids at our table. Service was wonderful as well - highly recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first RPM experience. What ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This was our first RPM experience. What made it especially outstanding was our waiter, who guided us through the menu, from appetizers through to a birthday gelato surprise at the end. Loved the grilled artichokes, meatballs, and tortellini. The whipped potatoes topped with bleu cheese were also a fan favorite. At over $300 for five people, with limited wine, we found RPM Italian to be on the expensive side. But the overall experience was worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, great ambiance.. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was delicious, great ambiance.. At a great price

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Coming into Chicago from Seattle to see ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Coming into Chicago from Seattle to see Hamilton we had one chance to pick the perfect restaurant to finish our day. RPM Italian was our choice and it was the perfect one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend. Love this place and ev ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Highly recommend. Love this place and everything about it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again, our experience at RPM was fantast ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Again, our experience at RPM was fantastic! Food was absolutely delicious and wine was excellent! Portion sizes were absolutely sharable which allowed us to order something from each of the four courses and well as dessert. Our waiter Andre was top notch! He was accommodating, funny, and very knowledgeable about the menu. Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, , Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just decent. Noodles were not f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was just decent. Noodles were not fully cooked and meatball was dense and not juicy, but decent overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

the food was amazing. The server was ama ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

the food was amazing. The server was amazing. Great place to go on a Friday night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the worst table. I don't think t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had the worst table. I don't think they should allow tables within 3 inches of each other -- we pretty much had dinner with 6 other strangers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Was unimpressed with RPM italian I will ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Was unimpressed with RPM italian I will not be returning

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The total experience was top notch from ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The total experience was top notch from start to finish. Our waiter was very helpful and made you feel like you were his only table . Loved it !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal at RPM - service was ap ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had a great meal at RPM - service was appropriately paced - we never felt rushed. Waiter made excellent recommendations for shared appetizers. Overall the food was great - good range of items across appetizers, salads, pasta and main dishes. Restaurant ambiance was very nice - even crowded the noise level was reasonable

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely amazing. Mushroom pasta was i ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Mushroom pasta was incredible. Been to a lot of restaurants in Chicago and would put this up there with Blackbird and Acadia for fun and great food. Different experience as it's not a tasting but absolutely wonderful. Great staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perf etc, came to celebrate o ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely perf etc, came to celebrate our anniversary and we're not disappointed. service is excellent & food is outstanding!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The hostess not so m ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was great. The hostess not so much. We were there 10 minutes early for our 10:00 reservation and didn't get seated until 10:30. I don't think it's right that I make a reservation 2 months in advance and then end up waiting a half hour to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good ambiance, food ok but not amazing. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good ambiance, food ok but not amazing. Good for drinks.

We made a reservation and still had to wait for more than 25 minutes.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Tables are seated a little too close nex ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Tables are seated a little too close next to other parties. Next time I will request a booth.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and wide variety of menu opti ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and wide variety of menu options. The portions were a little small but no one left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Great time for Birthday Food is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great time for Birthday Food is always good Service is great

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, , Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.