Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 240 times today

RPM Italian

4.8
8623 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
WED: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:00 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(312) 222-1888
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Doug Psaltis
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Dearborn & Illinois
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Grand Ave. Red Line
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

View Private Dining Details

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
8

Bill and Giuliana Rancic force us to like them with excellent Italian food in a trendy setting.

Ratings 7.5-8.0:These are restaurants that are reliable, tasty, and particularly good for whatever we have deemed them “Perfect For.” Hit up a 7.7 for Date Night with confidence, as long as you don’t need the restaurant to be the most interesting thing that happens that night.
What 8623 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Incredible food! The Tiramisu Gelato is a must!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We absolutely loved the restaurant and service and food. The homemade ricotta appetizer was delicious and Guiliana's Italian salad was great and Mama DiPandi's pasta was phenomenal!! They also have good creative cocktails

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food, bit the service was even better. Our server was Andre "Dre". He was fantastic and made our dining experience even better. You cannot go wrong with any of the food choices on the menu. We had the 600 day prosciutto, truffled garlic bread, cheese and salumi, carbonara, ribeye, garlic whipped potatoes, cheesecake and donuts. Like I said before it was all delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

My boyfriend and I went to RPM Italian while visiting Chicago for our anniversary. We were super impressed by all of the food starting from the appetizers and ending at dessert. Our server was also very friendly and helpful! The entire ambiance of this restaurant is incredibly unique and we can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Amazing! For two people we ordered the garlic bread and artichokes for appetizers, both were excellent. We split three pastas between the two of us- short rib bolognese, lobster ravioli, and prosciutto tortellini, all were great! It was definitely plenty of food but not over the top. Service was also great (thanks Andre)!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Professional service, friendly waiter allowed us to enjoy our cocktails before ordering. Did not feel rushed at all. I use this as a standard when evaluating the staff at a restaurant, ie. they do not rush you to order or eat your food. Food was very good especially the pasta.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service, dining experience and food. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Expert service, server suggestions impeccable, food delicious and abundant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

My daughter and I enjoy RPM as an ideal alternative to comfortable dining at home. It provides us with excellent, well prepared menu options seated among other appreciative patrons.
Recently, we both ordered the veal chop beautifully grilled to perfection. Also, our waiter Travis,
this last visit, added to our enjoyment with his personable attentive service.
On this basis, we will continue to return to RPM

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The service was exceptional and the food was fantastic. The recommendations made by our server were spot on. This was my second time and both times at RPM Italian have been and excellent experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We were blown away by the experience. The staff, waiter Stefano and Josh were the nicest and super efficient.
And the food meatballs, pasta, fried zucchini the best I’ve ever had...and I’m Italian! Bravo to RPM for doing everything right!
We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

While reservations are really hard to get for dinner, we found that they are open for lunch on Sunday’s and those reservations are pretty easy to get. Great food, great service, and reasonable prices. Highly recommended!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food! Beautiful atmosphere! Fantastic staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great food for vegetarians! There wasn’t a single thing we didn’t like.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

It was wonderful, great energy at RPM! Food was great! We will be returning!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Expect to wait even with a OT reservation. Great buzz and cool music just loud enough. Food is very good but not OMG good. Food Prices are fair for the quality. Wine list is great but on the pricey side. There is a gluten free menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

As always dinner was wonderful. A must to try is the fried zucchini with aioli dip. We could not get enough of it. We all had spectacular pasta and the brussel sprouts were magic. I almost am afraid to give it such a great review, as it is already hard to get a reservation. The service was flawless.😃

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The best dining experience ever!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent and our server was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Server started out good and then disappeared had to flag down a manager to get out check,decided against having dessert after waiting for 25 minutes for our waiter. Will give it another try because the food was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The homemade pasta was absolutely delicious as were all other dishes we ordered. Service was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

First the good: The 600-day aged prosciutto was incredible, the old fashioned was top notch, and the ambiance was great for a classy night out.

The bad: Our tortelloni was undercooked (the pasta shells still had a crunch to them) and my entree was similarly undercooked (the scallops were edible, but not what you would expect at a place with the reputation of RPM).

I assume based on other reviews that our group was perhaps a bit unlucky on this visit. However, I can't give a thumb up given our group's experience. Will look to other spots in town for my next Italian experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Great food. Hostess and waiter way too pretentious for my taste!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We are travelling from Australia and loved the RPM. Great location, great food and great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Everything from the waitress, to the drinks, to the service, to the food was amazing! Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone! We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

We took my 25-year-old daughter here for her birthday. She really loves it. We were surprised, though, at the size of the portions and how small they were for the cost. It is a very pricey restaurant. The four of us didn’t think that the food with anything more special than another Italian restaurant except for the fact that the pasta was homemade. Don’t get me wrong, the food was good. It just wasn’t that much better than other places My son’s roasted chicken was very dry, the short rib papardelle was very good. The veal Parmesan was a thick cut and tasty; different from what you would get at another restaurant. Our waitress seemed really bored to serve us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Delish Bellini's and pasta. We ordered brussel sprouts on the side and they were very tasty. Burrata was delicious too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter was great and very cordial, I do feel sorry for him when he accidentally spilled my Campari and soda, fortunately it only got his black pants, not his white dinner jacket. He apologized profusely and replaced my drink and deducted the cost from the bill. I also have to compliment the cook staff. The food was Excellent. I have dined in different parts of Italy many times and the preparation and quality was as good or better. Thanks again. Dennis D.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We were in Chicago for the weekend and this was definitely a highlight. Quite possibly our favorite restaurant experience ever!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great experience celebrating wife’s birthday. Rpm Italian always hits the spot. Minus the obnoxious large group that came later on. But everything else was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Omg the bread. The garlic bread was amazing. The fresh ricotta and bread was so good. The sauce with it was incredibly tasty. Gnocchi was so light and fresh. All in all it was a great meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

This is the second time we choose RPM Italian for dinner.And today is also my birthday~ The service always excellent!Food are delicious! At the end,Ihave got a small surprise from the restaurant. Ihave to say,RPM Italian is my favourate restaurant in Chicago!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Our server—- Kesha (?) was very attentive, informative and made excellent suggestions. We loved all of our food— the Ricotta, the Ragu, the Meatball, The Italian salad. The bar is energetic to say the least (and we were there on a Monday night!). We had to wait a bit for our table, which ended up being a good thing and added to our total experience. Fun and yummy and excellent service. Would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

One of our best dining experiences in the world!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Shared the Brussels salad, burrata and lobster ravioli with my date and everything was fabulous as usual! Service is top notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great restaurant with incredible food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food was just average, nothing spectacular by any means. We had terrible service even though the restaurant wasn't fully packed. Not worth the hype, will not be back. Disappointing overall.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Table of 7 people. Ordered two breads, two burratas, and one prosciutto for appetizers. There was already bread that either came with one of the apps (burrata or prosciutto) so it was bread overload with the two bread apps. However, the garlic bread was amazing. Received complimentary small sweet red peppers stuffed with provolone - pretty good. Ordered two orders each of 4 different types of pasta dishes - bucatini pomodoro, ricotta agnolotti with truffle cream sauce, squid ink pasta with crab meat, and short rib papardelle. Also ordered chicken parm and spaghetti and meatball (notice the singular). Pasta dishes meant to be half portions. Among the 7 of us, we finished one order each of the pasta dishes and took about two forkfuls of the second pasta orders. Chicken parm - over cooked. Didn’t eat the meatball. Could’ve done without the chicken parm and bucatini. Overall, lovely restaurant. Favorites: burrata, prosciutto, and ricotta agnolotti.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I always look forward to returning to RPM Italian. The exemplary food is only out done by the service. Even tho it's never s "special occasion" being there makes it one.
On thing Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises does very well @ all of their places, is honor reservations w/i a very reasonable time of the appointed res. thanx for that.
Kudos to them on every front.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Our server was phenomenal. Very educational and gave us the best recommendations. Our food was just out of this world amazing. I ordered the salmon with a side of cauliflower. If you go to RPM you must get the cauliflower. Words can't explain how good it is and I am now obsessed with it and need the recipe. Our server went above and beyond and brought us these adorable bite size ice cream cones. Words cannot express how great of an experience we had and will absolutely be back

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
216