About RPM Italian

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (312)
Special Occasion (287)
Good for Anniversaries (242)
See All
Romantic (235)
Hot Spot (215)
Good for Birthdays (185)
Fit for Foodies (176)
Notable Wine List (167)
Fun (147)
Business Meals (136)
Worth the Drive (133)
Creative Cuisine (125)
Good for Groups (124)
Vibrant Bar Scene (115)
Authentic (114)
Bar Seating (104)
People Watching (101)
Pre/post Theatre (100)
Handcrafted Cocktails (90)
Cozy (80)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
Comfort Food (60)
Happy Hour (57)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Tasting Menu (44)
Casual (43)
Late-night Find (36)
Great for Lunch (35)
Good Vegetarian Options (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Tapas (22)
Seasonal (17)
Great for Brunch (13)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Spicy (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Organic (6)
Great Beer (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
7624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was amazing. We each had cocktails. But the service was slow. We were there early before it was busy and I felt like because we were a party of 2 that are table didn’t really matter.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall, a great experience! The food was quite tasty and the service was friendly. They have an extensive wine list, but have a sommelier on staff for those that need help picking. My only negative comment would be that the service, while fast, felt way too rushed. They didn't give a lot of time to really enjoy the ambiance or the nice bottle of wine. Still, I'd recommend to anybody who wants quick haute cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Bday. We received a candle and some gelato. Nice treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing dining experience! Food, service and atmosphere were amazing. The meatballs and fried olives were delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Phenomenal! We plan on eating there every time we visit Chicago. The house made pasta was simply exquisite, as was everything else we tried. Service was also on top of things! Great dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Even though we arrived earlier than our reservation, we were seated right away. I had a bellini which was one of the best I've had. We shared the mushroom pizzette and Caesar salad. Both were really good. My friend had the veal chop and I had the halibut. Both entrees were outstanding. We ordered the crispy brussel sprouts but they were a little too sweet. The server changed it to potatoes without question. The only thng that was just ok was the cannolli. Their donuts are much better. Finally, ask for Scarlett. She is a great server.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was fantastic and the service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It was the best. Knowing it was my first time, celebrating 2 birthday celebrations (including myself), it was easy breezy. They're also toddler friendly. Highly recommended!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was mostly great except that we waited too long between first and second course. 20min between our first course plates being removed and seconds being brought is way too long. As for the food, the antipasti and pasta were great as always. The pork chop from the daily specials had too much fat though. I was only able to eat half of it because so much had to be trimmed. Not sure we will be back on our next trip to Chicago.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed the prime rib meatballs, however everything else we ordered left us feeling slightly disappointed. The bar scene was much more entertaining to us than the dining scene. We were crammed in between two other tables and it seemed as though they just wanted to get in as many reservations as possible. Overall the experience was good and service was great. More than likely we will just stick to the bar and drinks from here on out.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

RPM was outstanding. Service was great and every dish we ordered was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

RPM Italian is our favorite restaurant in Chicago! We go at least once a month and love it every time we go!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My girlfriend and I went there September 16th for our anniversary. It was extremely busy, and a smaller table was offered to us, but the host offered a booth if we were willing to wait about 15-20 minutes. Having been a server and host myself (for 4 years), I understood completely, and appreciated them not just giving us whatever.

Once we were at our booth, our server, Chelsea, greeted us. And I have to say, I've been living in the Chicago area for two years now, I've taken my girlfriend on plenty of dinner dates in the city, and we both agreed that Chelsea is by far the best server we've EVER had, period. She had a great sense of humor, was super nice, and made sure that we were treated extra special for our anniversary! My girlfriend later told me that that was one of the best dinners she's ever had, and I think a large part of that is because of how well Chelsea took care of us.

Now when it came to the food, everything was amazing in that area as well. I've dined at RPM Steak a few times before coming here, but I think this will be my go to place for special occasions now. The food is way more up my alley, and everything had fantastic presentation as well. The only thing I wasn't a fan of were the provolone stuffed peppers. Chelsea was a sweetheart for getting those to us for free since we asked about them, but they just weren't really our taste. I think provolone was probably the wrong choice of cheese for it.

Overall, we'll definitely be coming again. The service was incredible, including not just Chelsea but also the hosts, bussers, and food runners, and aside from the peppers, the food was perfect for our tastes. And everything was so reasonably priced! After an appetizer, two drinks, two entrees, and dessert, everything came to about $130. Which might seem steep to some, but is more than affordable when you consider that the bill at RPM Steak would probably be $170-$220.

Thank you to Chelsea and everyone else for making our anniversary so special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We love RPM! We go again and again for special occasions and even for holidays too! Food is awesome! There's no other restaurant like it! Service is fantastic! Price is great too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant itself was amazing. Great food and great service. However, the only complaint I would give is that the bread section and the side sections are WAY over priced. A plate of sliced bread with some garlic is not at all $8 worth of food and neither is a medium sized bowl of mashed potatoes. Paying $20-50 for a main meal is plenty expensive enough that the prices for bread should not be that high.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

What could have been a disappointment turned into good memories.
We visited RPM for a Girl's weekend from out of town. I'm not sure if they were having an off night but for our 9:15 reservation we were told they were running late and have to wait 25 minutes. The 8pm reservations were still waiting to be seated. Patrons were given free champagne and apps waiting to be seated. The manager made it a point to talk to me and my party and said he would take care of us. He treated us well and by the time we left instead of being fuming mad we were very happy!
The food was amazing, I ordered the pasta with sausage and it was delicious! I would come back to RPM when I visit Chicago again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food and vibrant scene. Grill octopus is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Waited 90 minutes to get seated for our reservation. Once we were seated, we were rushed. The food came out too quickly and in the wrong order (pasta before salad). Over priced and not worth the hype.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

It was an anniversary dinner. We had a reservation and still waited 45min for our table. The bar was so crowded we couldn't even get a drink so went to the hotel next door for a drink while waiting. Was very disappointed prior to getting our table.
The waiters all seemed very snooty, and ours seemed to be annoyed to even have to deal w us. The music was loud and annoying. But all that didn't honestly bother us too much bc the food was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined 6 days ago

Good was good and service was excellent once we were seated. However, we waited 30 min past our reservation to be seated even though we showed up 10 min early. Although I enjoyed our meal, I would go elsewhere to a place that actually honors their reservations and guests' time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Very delicious!! Will definitely going back next time we are close to a rpm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal, good service but the music was too loud and club like.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Always my fav and never disappointed! Highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

RPM was a perfect pre-theatre dinner. We had amazing service and the food was excellent, as always!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This was an experience! The best meal I have ever paid for! Service is exceptional and the food is so tasty and authentic! YUMMMMMY!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had reservations for 4 at 5:45pm. We ran into several traffic issues and arrived 15 minutes late. Was told we would have to wait at least 30 minutes for a table in the dinning room or seat ourselves in the bar at a high top table. We chose a table in the bar. At first we sat and were ignored by the wait staff. Upon revisiting with the hostess about wanting a dinning room table we were told it would be 9:45 before we could be seated so back to the high top we went. We finally were waited on and the service was great as was the food. Oh by the way soon after returning to the high top one of our party used the restroom and happen to notice 6 empty tables for 4 in the main dinning room. WTF???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Terrific dining experience.
Wonderful staff: the warm greeting when we walked in, theinvitating bar, the phenomenal service at the table and pleasant well-wishing when we departed. From start to finish it was a delightful dining experience. The decor is beautiful, the staff are professional, impeccably dressed and knowledgeable about the menu and the kitchen.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Brilliant food and service! Our party was very impressed and extremely happy with their dining experience at RPM Italian, and agree it was one of the best meals we have ever had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Very good experience. We arrived early and had excellent cocktails in the bar. Bartender was excellent. We were seated on time at a very good table--curved banquette for the 2 of us.
Our waitress navigated us through the menu which lends itself to shared dishes. We ordered squash blossoms stuffed with seasoned mozzarella (delicious!), caesar wedge (beautiful presentation, shareable and delicious), short rib bolognese (excellent), and grilled giant prawns (2, way overcooked/dry). Bombolini with Nutella dip for dessert was to die for along with possibly the best cappuccino we have ever had. As everything was shared, the final price tag seemed pretty reasonable. A note on noise as we don't like noisy restaurants: This is an energetic restaurant and always a crowd, so it is a bit noisy, but not so much that we could not carry on a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The food at RPM Italian is truly delicious. All aspects-- appetizers, salad, entrees, dessert and wine!

Service equally as exceptional!

Lovely, scrumptious dining experience!

Can be noisy but what exceptional restaurant in downtown Chicago isn't?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food - incredible, get the carbonara
Wine - Bobby helped us select an incredible valpo which we thoroughly enjoyed
Service - Scarlett was perfectly attentive yet not intrusive. She was always ready to help us with whatever we needed and made pleasant small talk with us - something she didn't need to do with two out of towners.


RPM was a great experience. I cannot recommend this establishment enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We've been here a few times, the food is always top level. Just fantastic - perfect size portions. The restaurant is beautiful and as always, the hostess and staff did a wonderful job getting everyone seated in a timely manner, despite the very large crowd. My only problem this time was an extremely underwhelming waiter. He barely said two words, not helpful at all with the menu, and honestly he seemed to care very little about our group/table. This is unusual here as we have always had good service in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Service and food are amazing. My favorite restaurant in Chicago. Pasta cooked to perfection.
Appetizer choices unique

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had such a great experience that we are going back this week! I had read a few reviews about this restaurant not being kid friendly, but we decided to bring our 3 year old with us, and they we're wonderful with him. The service, food, and ambiance was absolutely fantastic!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Amazing experience!! Would travel from NYC back to Chicago just for the lobster raviolis!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was amazing, all around. Service was just as impressive. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Another great night an RPM Italian... we all were very hungry and got our own meals, but did a lot of sharing -- super good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Dre Truss is the best server ever. Ask to sit in his section. The food is on point. You won't be disappointed. Make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.