About RPM Italian

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

RPM Italian
Prime Beef Meatballs
Meatballs
Truffle Garlic Bread
Beef Carpaccio
Shredded Brussels sprouts salad, avocado, lemon vinaigrette, bread crumbs
Grilled Octopus
Fried Olives
Mama Depandi's Bucatini Pomodoro
Latte
bomboloni
Cannolis
spicy king crab
Guiliana Salad
Wood Roasted Octopus
Ricotta gnocchi, parmesan brodo, fresh black truffle
Spicy King Crab Squid Ink Spaghetti
Pappardelle Bolognese
Truffled garlic bread, circa 1963
Big Eye Ahi Tuna
Spaghetti & Mega Meatball
Tartufo With Hazelnut Gelato And Chocolate Shell
Roasted Brussels sprouts, ricotta salata
Artichoke
Oven Roasted Octopus
Tiramisu
Zucchini Fritti
Chocolate Budino With Salted Caramel And Cocoa Nibs
Sweet Corn Agnolotti
Maine Lobster Ravioli
Carbonara
Chicken Liver Crostini
Fritto Misto
Carbonara Pasta
Bomboloni With Nutella Cream And Whipped Cream
Provolone-Stuffed Peppers
Espresso
Tartufo
Prociutto Wrapped Figs
Pineapple Carpaccio
Lobster Caprese
Ribeye
Short Rib Pappardelle
Berkshire Pork Chop
Affogato Float
Truffled Garlic Bread
Truffled Gnocchi
Oven-Roasted Meatballs
Beignettes
Bomboloni, nutella, whipped mascarpone
600 Day Prosciutto Di Parma
Mascarpone gelato with carrot cake crumble
Ricotta With Spicy Marinara
Italian salad – escarole, romaine, iceberg lettuces, provolone, cherry tomatoes, peperoncini, salami
Grilled asparagus with parmesan
38 oz. dry-aged bistecca fiorentina, Tuscany's famous sliced porterhouse steak
Sautéed broccolini with chilies and vinegar
Fresh housemade ricotta, ciabatta toast, tomato jam
Faroe Island salmon, pistachio pesto
Tartufo Italian desserts - chocolate with hazelnut gelato
Salumi platter – bresaola, capicola, sopressata, pepperoni
Fried olives, fresh mozzarella, sausage; crispy ravioli, pignoli, spinach
Pistachio cannoli, chocolate, orange
Eggplant Parmesan
Solaro
Wood-Roasted Octopus
Imported Burrata
Asparagus Pizza
Ricotta
Roasted mushrooms and balsamic onions
Lime, strawberry sorbets, vanilla and chocolate ice gelati
Hazelnut tartufo, dark and milk chocolate
Orange Cannoli
Pepperoni And Spicy Tomato Pizette
squid ink spaghetti
Roman Artichokes With Lemon Aioli
Braised Short Rib Pappardelle
Sea Scallops
Mushroom Sagnarelli
Proscuitto
Prosciutto Tortelloni
Lobster Ravioli
Vegetable chopped salad – chickpeas, beets, romaine, argula, treviso, goat cheese, tomatoes, asparagus, celery, cucumbers
Cannoli Italian desserts
Piccolo Rosa
Burrata With Tomato Jam
Artichokes salad
Buccatini With Meatballs
Crab With Squid Ink Pasta
Sergio Leone Cocktail
Prosciutto Pansotti
Potato Gnocchi With Sunday Gravy
Freah Homemade Ricotta
Moscato, Peroni
sweet pea risotto
Raviolo A La Rpm
Gelato With Rice Pudding
Potato Gnocchi
Cavatelli With Beef And Pork Ragu
Zuchini Chips

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Hot Spot
Chicago
2 More
Italian
Chicago
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

Special Occasion (464)
Hot Spot (390)
Fit for Foodies (384)
See All
Romantic (330)
Good for Groups (272)
Notable Wine List (212)
Vibrant Bar Scene (211)
Neighborhood Gem (133)
Good for a Date (103)
Good for Anniversaries (87)
Modern Decor (69)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Late-night Find (60)
Fun (51)
Great for Lunch (51)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Bar Seating (37)
Business Meals (37)
Authentic (36)
Kid-friendly (35)
People Watching (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Cozy (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Casual (24)
Great for Brunch (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Family Style (15)
Outstanding Value (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Scenic View (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Tapas (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Dancing (1)
 (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wine was awful and had sediment.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 17 hours ago

Wine was awful and had sediment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Amazing food, service. Great time. Will ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 19 hours ago

Amazing food, service. Great time. Will be returning on my next visit to Chicago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great time we had. Food was deli ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined 3 days ago

What a great time we had. Food was delicious. Pastas were amazing. Lobster ravioli that I will remember forever. Delicate delicious salmon, branzini, swordfish. Wonderful desserts. Gourmet quality "donuts" not to be missed. Just a great experience.

Service was wonderful.

Chef came out to tell us a bit about the food.

I would go back in a second!

Thank you RPM Italian for a fantastic birthday celebration!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not care for our appetizer: Roman ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

I did not care for our appetizer: Roman Style Artichoke: It tasted like it was deep fried and over salted. It almost tasted like potato chips. I should have returned it. Our main: we shared a Whole Grilled Branzino fish for two was perfectly cooked and delicious. We also shared a side of broccolini and Mama DePandi’s Bucatini, also both delicious. The place, however, was overpriced (we knew that going in), and not worth the expense, in my opinion.

If you're willing to forego the prices, make note that the place is very noisy. It was good, but I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service and food. Great server ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and food. Great server. Ambiance and decor very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Duke was amazing , and love that glu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Duke was amazing , and love that gluten free pasta is offered !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Worth the trip from Austin to Chicago ju ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Worth the trip from Austin to Chicago just to eat here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place! The food and service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

What a great place! The food and service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

1st but not last time great place and th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

1st but not last time great place and the food was cooked to perfection !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had booked this occasion over 2 months ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had booked this occasion over 2 months ago when planning to take my wife to Chicago

A upon arrival Resturant extremely busy and we had to wait. They finally seated us in a very tight and noisy location. I approached the manager and without hesitation they offered us a very nice booth. The night turned out to great experience. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had a reservation for Saturday evening ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had a reservation for Saturday evening, it was the first time both my mother and I had been here. We arrived right on time to a very busy and energetic restaurant and were seated promptly at a table in the middle of the restaurant. The decor is very modern with lovely lighting. With the large bar adjacent to the dinning room, and the open layout of the dinning room, the noise can get rather energetic. However, this was not an issue as we were still able to carry a full conversation. The service was fantastic. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable; the sommelier stopped by as well and was just as helpful and knowledgable. Our waitress listed the specials along with several of her favorites from each section of the menu. The menu is designed to be shared. The portions are slightly smaller than normal in anticipation that you order a couple different plates here and there to share among the table. For antipasti we ordered the wood-roasted octopus (which was by far the best octopus we've had in all of Chicago). Next we ordered the pappardelle bolognese which was delightful (they make their pasta from scratch every morning). Following that we had a special which was a ribeye filet, it was cooked beautifully and melted in my mouth (we ordered a side of broccolini to go along with that dish). Dessert was outstanding, we ordered their bomboloni (donuts) and they were out-of-this-world! We also got the pistachio gelato (which is churned to order). Overall, we were very pleased with RPM Italian. Great ambiance, atmosphere, food, and service. We can't wait to come back, we've already made reservations!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed RPM. We were led thr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed RPM. We were led through the dining room, around the corner to a back table, which was perfect for us. The restaurant is lively and this gave us a quieter place to talk yet still connect to the energy. We ordered 3 appetizers, 1 salad, 2 pastas and halibut for 4 people. Each dish was a small portion and perfect for sharing. We had enough food to enjoy the meal and end satisfied. The menu is a little pricy.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is good but be prepared to eat smal ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food is good but be prepared to eat small portions of pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Love the food selections and had great s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love the food selections and had great service. You can go there and either be dressed up or go casual! I can't wait to go again.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great dinning experience. We were ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a great dinning experience. We were travelling and had our baby with us. They were very welcoming. The food and service was outstanding. RPM Italian is our favourite restaurant we have dine at to date. Everything was perfect!! Thank you!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation 3 months ago for my ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I made a reservation 3 months ago for my 50th bday celebration. I let them know it was a special birthday and we were put up against the wall in the bar. That's not such a big deal compared to the mediocre food we all experienced. RPM is more about the hype and the area. It is a fun atmosphere and good people watching, unfortunately, it stops there. Everyone if our party of 6 agreed that their food was average or some said, even plain old bad. Sorry. It's just average to below average food. If you're expecting a great meal you will be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

I love the food here (especially the mea ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I love the food here (especially the meatballs), but every time I have a reservation, we are consistently sat 30 or more minutes after the appointed time. What's the point of making a reservation if the restaurant isn't going to seat us on time?

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Such a great place for a nice dinner! Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Such a great place for a nice dinner! The restaurant is beautiful and the ambience is great for a date. The food was spectacular! Will definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter came in from out of town and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

My daughter came in from out of town and wanted to try RPM Italian. We had 7 adults and 1 child with an early reservation. The ambience was great as was he service, however the food was a major disappointment . The portions were extremely small from the appetizers to the entrees. We all agreed the food lacked that "Italian authentic " flare. This is not your typical Chicago Italian restaurant , and perhaps that's the vibe their going for. But any Italian restaurant that doesn't offer you a basket of bread, yet expects you to pay for bread is not for me. Sorry I would not recommend this resturant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

So disappointed....waitriess was absolut ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

So disappointed....waitriess was absolutely TERRIBLE... Food came out wrong but she never came back to check on us for over 15 minutes. To get our check took 17 minutes. Was so excited about trying this place out...What a let down :(. I can only hope that it was just a fluke night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We had an excellent meal at RPM, I canno ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had an excellent meal at RPM, I cannot recommend it enough, exceptional quality ingredients prepared wonderfully. We would definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Simply one of the best meals I have had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Simply one of the best meals I have had in a long time. The service, friendly, attentive, fun...the food was old school Italian, a bit small in the portion size but perfect for me. If I could dream up a restaurant, it would be this one. The only suggestion I would have is the music....who needs more techno-vibe music? I would recommend a mix of Frank, Buble, and Harry Connick Jr.

I appreciate the attention to detail, sublime olive oil, crusty bread, helpful suggestions. Loved the short ribs pappadelli and mama de pandi (on Pappadelli noodle with a heavenly meatball.) Can not wait to return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fiancé was very excited to try the food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Fiancé was very excited to try the food and drinks here. We started at the bar. The first bartender met us with both a frown and a push of a menu. I ordered an old fashion like every other 25-35-year-old male in this country. My fiancé knew about a happy hour menu, so she asked for that. After the happy hour asking occurred, service was non-existent.

We switched to our table. First met by, what seemed to be a wandering bartender. Honestly, I did not know what the server's job was because we never saw her again. Our second waiter got our drink orders and passed us to his colleague, who served us the rest of the night. Our last server was a gem. Kind with a little sarcasm, mostly because I wanted to try a few things. Told the managers about his excellent service before we left.

I always enjoy new takes on food, but this experience just made me want to go to a go-to of ours, Mia Francesca and forget about it. I might seem cross in this review, but I worked in the service industry and always try to be both friendly and understanding when we go out. Maybe the staff was just having a bad day. RPM is more of a hot spot first, food second in my opinion, though the sweet corn agnolotti was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was great. The service was sub ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The food was great. The service was sub par. I thought the server was nice but I think the place was too busy causing slow responsiveness. I was most disappointed with the sommelier. We had to wait quite a bit for him to come and advise on our second bottle. By the time the bottle came we were pretty much done with dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Our experience was a good one, due to th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Our experience was a good one, due to the food and our server, Bobby. He made the evening a joy!

While the noise level is extremely loud throughout, it was a bit easier to have a conversation in the dining room versus the bar.

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a few apps and pasta dishes and b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We had a few apps and pasta dishes and both thought the food was just alright. A lot of Italian spots in the city that top the food. The space and service was great, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was good food was bland. Took a ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Service was good food was bland. Took a little to long to get main course

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our fourth time to RPM. Food is always g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our fourth time to RPM. Food is always good and diversity in portions allows you to try different items without feeling too full. Some of the tables for two are tight but we've managed to get one with a little more room. Bobby M has been our waiter twice and always does a nice job. He comped us a dessert to share knowing that it was our anniversary. Need to try RPM Steak soon

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere. Fresh, amazing pasta an ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Fresh, amazing pasta and more. Fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Loved it! My favorite restaurant--never ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Loved it! My favorite restaurant--never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In from out of town. Took a friend here ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

In from out of town. Took a friend here because I had dined here once before and couldn't wait to get back. My friend is in the restaurant business so he's not easily impressed. Food was off the charts as was the service. Great bar so arrive a little early. My friend was beyond impressed and couldn't thank me enough. If you get Scarlett for your waitress, that's a bonus. She was terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is pricey but delicious! Great serv ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food is pricey but delicious! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambiance. The misto fritto and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Loved the ambiance. The misto fritto and truffle bread were my favorites dishes. Very tasty although some of the food was a bit too salty. I would try it again and recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was excellent. Food was all deli ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was all delicious. No complaints at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great server, reservation go ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food, great server, reservation got pushed over 30 mins late!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Been to RPM and loved it, still do. Howe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Been to RPM and loved it, still do. However, service on this night wasn't as great as it had always been in the past. We had to wait a half hour past our reservation time. Not a big deal, but in the past a small appetizer was always provided at no charge for the wait and that didn't happen last night. The sommelier had to come by twice to check our wine order and still brought the wrong wine to the table. Our server never came and checked on us after our food was served. Ordered the bombolino for dessert......still good but not served warm as it always had been. Still our go to place and hoping this was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good, but not memorable. Servic ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was good, but not memorable. Service was a little slow. Would go again, but not any rush to do so.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Bellinis are the best I've had anywhere ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Bellinis are the best I've had anywhere

Corn pasta was Amazing

Definitely a place to see and be seen

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite showing up on time we had to wai ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Despite showing up on time we had to wait 17 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. We noted that were celebrating a birthday in the reservation and had to remind the server at the end of the meal. We saw our server a total of three times: 1. when she took our order, 2. when we asked the water server to send her over to take a drink order, and 3. when she presented our bill. She never checked in on us and did not clean the table between courses. This was a complete disappointment as we previously enjoyed RPM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.