About RPM Italian

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (278)
Special Occasion (277)
Good for Anniversaries (195)
See All
Modern Decor (189)
Hot Spot (186)
Romantic (179)
Fit for Foodies (172)
Good for Birthdays (167)
Notable Wine List (132)
Good for Groups (118)
Vibrant Bar Scene (118)
Creative Cuisine (116)
Fun (111)
Business Meals (105)
People Watching (103)
Authentic (101)
Worth the Drive (90)
Bar Seating (84)
Handcrafted Cocktails (82)
Pre/post Theatre (64)
Cozy (64)
Comfort Food (56)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Casual (40)
Tasting Menu (38)
Happy Hour (37)
Late-night Find (31)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Family Style (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Gluten Free Options (23)
Private Room (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Local Ingredients (16)
Tapas (16)
Healthy (14)
Kid-friendly (10)
Scenic View (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Wood Oven (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vegan (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fireplace (3)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
7124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 19 hours ago

Changed the time of the reservation and when we arrived they hadn't written it down.
The girl in the entrance was rude and told us we'd had to wait long
When the manager came she understood it wasn't our mistake, it was the restaurants and the experience was much betyer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 20 hours ago

The restaurant is fine. The servicer was great. To be honest I was so excited to try the food and the food was like ok. I had the chicken parmigiana which I liked but I tried the other 3 people's food at my table and it was eh. The garlic bread app is even blah.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great overall experience. Service exceptional and food outstanding. Celebrated friends 60th birthday in style

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

I love RPM Italian. The food is always delicious and service is outstanding. I always feel special when dining there

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved the short rib bolognese with pappardelle!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

We would have scored this restaurant a 5 overall except we had to wait for 45 mins for our table and we had a reservation. They need to work on this as it is frustrating and unnecessary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice ambience, attentive service and great food. Would definitely return to this restaurant again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing as always, my husband loved RPM Steak, but had not been here. After on every bite, he was a convert!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing service, food was delicious!!!! Definitely coming back here next time I'm in Chicago

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding food and service. An absolute must when dining in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

A great dining experience, the food was fantastic and the server was knowledgeable and friendly. I'm going back, for sure.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Tried RPM Steak last year and loved it. Really had a difficult decision to make about whether to go back or try RPM Italian. Decided to go with a new experience and it was just as excellent. In every way, they deliver. Service, food, drinks... all perfect. An outstanding experience.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Bartenders at main bar are great! Great cocktails.
Hostesses seem to be always a little sour. Don't create a great first impression.
Waitstaff and managers are great and look to exceed expectations.

Third visit and will return!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing and service was great. The pasta portions are small and I would love if they were larger.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

It was great plan to go again. Food was excellent our meal was very special

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first visit to RPM Italian and we were looking forward to it as we were celebrating 2 birthdays among our family of 5. First the ambiance was nice on the surface, but the noise level detracted from that. This was compounded by the fact that the 5 of us were seated at a large round table set for 8 making it a bit more difficult to converse. Our server, Anthony (1005), was absolutely excellent!! He was very polite and cordial, advised of all specials and answered all the questions we had with the drink and dinner menus. He was appropriately attentive throughout the entire evening. Our drinks and wines were all very good, maybe somewhat over-priced, but good. Our appetizer, pepperoni pizza was very good with a very thin crust; just the way we like that! For our entrees, the Maine Lobster-filled spinach ravioli's were delicious, appropriately sized and presented and reasonably priced. The ribeye steak had a bit too much fat and gristle, even for a ribeye, making it less than a desireable value. The remainder of our entrees consisted of seafood which was across the board from disappointing to ridiculously disappointing. While the swordfish was "just ok", it was a rather small filet for the price. The shocker, which was ordered by 2 in our party, were the scallops. Absolutely do not order the scallops unless you are intersted in paying $32 for 3 appetizer-size average-tasting scallops. This entree would not be worth the cost if it was presented as an appetizer for $12. Sides included asparagus, brocolini and gnocchi, and these were all fine. All in all, there was good and bad to our experience at RPM Italian, but with all the options in the neighborhood, we would likely not revisit it anytime soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were fantastic...look forward to going back there on my next trip!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved this restaurant! The best meal of a 4 day trip to Chicago. When in River North, it is a must!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was average, service was good, and ambiance was very crowded, very loud...not date night material.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Pasta was over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Simply...AMAZING! Every dish is spectacular - always sure to include this restaurant when in Chicago!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Delicious food! Seating is a little too tight for a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

As always, fantastic food, wine and service! Always consistent and never disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Delicious food, great atmosphere! Give me the garlic bread recipe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I absolutely love this place. The food reminds me so much of what my italian/argentine grandmother used to make. It's the only pasta sauce that I have ever had that comes close to hers and I can't explain how amazing that feels. Our server was so nice, observent and knowledgeable of everything we asked about. This was my friends first time and she loved it. We come to Chicago several times a year for work and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was fabulous! Service was great! Definitely would go there again! Fun vibrant atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Good service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was wonderful. .Highly recommend. Will be back when in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Have been wanting to try RPM Italian for a couple of years. I had occasion to be In Chicago for the National Restaurant Show so I made reservation for Thursday night. We started the meal with the Octopus appetizer. It was excellent. We enjoyed the interesting flavor of the brussels sprout salad and then had the scallop dish and the shrimp scampi dish. All were done to perfection and were worthy of recommendation. We closed the meal with pistachio gelato. Don't miss desert here. It was a great evening with excellent service and perfectly prepared dishes. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I'll go back very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We went there for our 4 year anniversary and the server at the end of the dinner brought us two glasses of prosecco and some dessert on the house congratulating us on our special day. The entire atmosphere and experience was great. The drinks, food, and service was beyond expectation. Definitely recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Delicious food. We went for an early dinner with our 5 year old daughter. They treated her like a princess and she was really impressed with the decor and bathrooms. A beautiful place. Jacqui C was our server. She was so professional and sweet. The service is amazing! Again, delicious food and drinks. We love this place.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was over the top good. My guests were all super happy. RPM really show off Chicago well!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Love, love, love RPM Italian! This was my third time there & it never disappoints. Fabulous service, food and drinks!

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Cheesecake, bread, and salmon were delicious. I was disappointed in the presentation of the chicken parmesan. It looked like the plate was just covered in sauce and the chicken was thrown in it. It tasted fine but did not look very great for how much it cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great place for an early or late Dinner. Very friendly staff and good food. It is a large restaurant but you also find nice and cosy places. Sitting at the Bar is also a good Option!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very disappointed. I was not told that the menu was pre-fixed because of the holiday. Having never been to RPM before, I'M SURE THE EXPERIENCE WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER. None the less, lesson learned. Our server, Wilson, was fantastic and very attentive. For the menu the had was just ok, nothing spectacular. But I will say the Blossom app was to die for.

We received a $25.00 gift card as a Mom's day gift, that was nice. I suppose we'll use it on a non-holiday weekend one day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good. However the pork was cold. Got pushed through like cattle. Ordered an appetizer but when our salad course arrived we still didn't have appetizer. When I asked server he said it was probably delivered to another table. Really? Service was slow and dirty dishes sat a long time. We cancelled the appetizer when the pasta course arrived. Considering the amount of employees working I had higher expectations of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved this restaurant! Went here for Mother's Day and no where else could have been better. They had a special Mother's Day menu which made it easy for our group to order. And I got a Mother's Day gift on the way out! Awesome chocolate and a gift card! Thank you so much RPM. Wonderful memories went back with us to Minnesota.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother'd Day lunch at 1pm.
Service was fantastic. Our waiter was attentive, polite, knowledgeable, fantastic hospitality personality. We loved him.

Food was awesome. We really enjoyed the food options for the four course meal.

My kids who always turn their nose up at food are their spaghetti without a single complaint.

Drinks were delicious.

We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.