About RPM Italian

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

RPM Italian
Prime Beef Meatballs
Truffle Garlic Bread
Mama Depandi's Bucatini Pomodoro
Beef Carpaccio
Shredded Brussels sprouts salad, avocado, lemon vinaigrette, bread crumbs
Grilled Octopus
Fried Olives
Latte
Cannolis
bomboloni
spicy king crab
Guiliana Salad
Wood Roasted Octopus
Spicy King Crab Squid Ink Spaghetti
Ricotta gnocchi, parmesan brodo, fresh black truffle
Big Eye Ahi Tuna
Truffled garlic bread, circa 1963
Spaghetti & Mega Meatball
Artichoke
Tartufo With Hazelnut Gelato And Chocolate Shell
Roasted Brussels sprouts, ricotta salata
Zucchini Fritti
Tiramisu
Oven Roasted Octopus
Chocolate Budino With Salted Caramel And Cocoa Nibs
Sweet Corn Agnolotti
Maine Lobster Ravioli
Carbonara
Chicken Liver Crostini
Fritto Misto
Carbonara Pasta
Bomboloni With Nutella Cream And Whipped Cream
Provolone-Stuffed Peppers
Roman Artichokes With Lemon Aioli
Espresso
Pappardelle Bolognese
Mushroom Sagnarelli
Tartufo
Prociutto Wrapped Figs
Pineapple Carpaccio
Lobster Caprese
Ribeye
Berkshire Pork Chop
Short Rib Pappardelle
Affogato Float
Truffled Gnocchi
Truffled Garlic Bread
Oven-Roasted Meatballs
Beignettes
Bomboloni, nutella, whipped mascarpone
600 Day Prosciutto Di Parma
Mascarpone gelato with carrot cake crumble
Meatballs
Ricotta With Spicy Marinara
Sautéed broccolini with chilies and vinegar
38 oz. dry-aged bistecca fiorentina, Tuscany's famous sliced porterhouse steak
Grilled asparagus with parmesan
Italian salad – escarole, romaine, iceberg lettuces, provolone, cherry tomatoes, peperoncini, salami
Fresh housemade ricotta, ciabatta toast, tomato jam
Faroe Island salmon, pistachio pesto
Fried olives, fresh mozzarella, sausage; crispy ravioli, pignoli, spinach
Salumi platter – bresaola, capicola, sopressata, pepperoni
Pistachio cannoli, chocolate, orange
Tartufo Italian desserts - chocolate with hazelnut gelato
Eggplant Parmesan
Solaro
Wood-Roasted Octopus
Imported Burrata
Asparagus Pizza
Ricotta
Hazelnut tartufo, dark and milk chocolate
Roasted mushrooms and balsamic onions
Lime, strawberry sorbets, vanilla and chocolate ice gelati
Pepperoni And Spicy Tomato Pizette
Orange Cannoli
squid ink spaghetti
Braised Short Rib Pappardelle
Sea Scallops
Proscuitto
Prosciutto Tortelloni
Lobster Ravioli
Vegetable chopped salad – chickpeas, beets, romaine, argula, treviso, goat cheese, tomatoes, asparagus, celery, cucumbers
Cannoli Italian desserts
Piccolo Rosa
Burrata With Tomato Jam
Artichokes salad
Crab With Squid Ink Pasta
Buccatini With Meatballs
Sergio Leone Cocktail
Prosciutto Pansotti
Potato Gnocchi With Sunday Gravy
Freah Homemade Ricotta
Moscato, Peroni
Gelato With Rice Pudding
Raviolo A La Rpm
sweet pea risotto
Potato Gnocchi
Cavatelli With Beef And Pork Ragu
Zuchini Chips

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Hot Spot
Chicago
2 More
Italian
Chicago
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

special occasion (510)
fit for foodies (481)
hot spot (437)
See All
romantic (359)
good for groups (350)
notable wine list (245)
vibrant bar scene (242)
neighborhood gem (145)
late-night find (83)
great for lunch (71)
kid-friendly (39)
great for brunch (28)
scenic view (16)
great for outdoor dining (9)
Sort By:
Newest
5722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The quality of service is always amazing ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 11 hours ago

The quality of service is always amazing at RPM. Love!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great vibe! The service w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great vibe! The service was excellent too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience! Impeccable servi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding experience! Impeccable service, fresh, delicious food. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wife and I could eat here many times ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

The wife and I could eat here many times before we exhausted the list of interesting menu items. Unfortunately we don't live in Chicago so we won't have the chance. This was a solid choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous service from the moment we arri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous service from the moment we arrived. Food was all outstanding. Wood grilled octopus, steak and tuna were all great. Not too noisy, wonderful ambiance. We loved this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was in town for almost a week, I ate a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

I was in town for almost a week, I ate at many great restaurants. This one I was most excited about because I Love Julianna and wanted to try her family recipes as I am Italian also. It was the BEST food we had while in town!

So so delicious!!! So authentic, even the salad reminded me of my grandmas. My husband is so picky and said the meatball was the best he had ever had!!

I've already recommended to everyone I know headed that way. Thank you!!! Can't wait to go back👍❤️😊

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What an unbelievable experience!! The m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

What an unbelievable experience!! The most incredible Italian food, service impeccable, ambiance beautiful, dessert insane.... The ricotta, don't even get me started on the ricotta!!! 5++ stars!!⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous!!!! The Burrata wi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was fabulous!!!! The Burrata with figs was delicious! The pappardelle was awesome! And the donuts with Nutella were amazing!

The service (Andre) was the best part of the meal- helpful, casual and funny!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian food I've ever had! Get the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best Italian food I've ever had! Get the meatballs, skip the calamari and crab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience with dinin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful experience with dining and service. Definitely will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation and did not have to ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a reservation and did not have to wait long. However, the hostess area did not have friendly hostesses. No one was rude but not friendly. Crowded and felt cramped. Expected more. There was no place to sit in the waiting area. Ugh felt like was at a chain restaurant. Some of our food arrived room temp and not hot. The risotto was cold. I was a bit disappointed and this was for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The flavors were good all around. I can' ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The flavors were good all around. I can't say that I was amazed by anything. But it was an enjoyable meal.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The best go to for good food and drinks! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The best go to for good food and drinks! We love coming here for date nights and girls night out. The service is always amazing and Saturday was no exception. We loved the surprise gelato cones at the end. Thanks you!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Order the spaghetti

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

Order the spaghetti

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

RPM was a great dining experience. Ever ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

RPM was a great dining experience. Everyone there treated us like royalty. The hostess, bartender, waiters, and all other staff were extremely polite and professional. Food was excellent. Ambience is trendy and sophisticated, but never too hip to be friendly. We eat out a lot and it's usually not all that memorable. Our dinner at RPM was perhaps the highlight of a four day trip to Chicago. Thank you!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food!!! The staff is very friend ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food!!! The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're from Australia and I booked months ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We're from Australia and I booked months ago and we weren't disappointed! Fantastic food, great service and loved the fit out and atmosphere. Wish it was in Australia! Thank you for a great night.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our dinner.The garlic bre ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Really enjoyed our dinner.The garlic bread was a great starter. 2 in our group tried the very tasty lobster ravioli, one of their most popular entrees. Another tried the eggplant, which is one of the best eggplant dishes you will ever ry. folowed by the little pillow doughnuts for dessert. An outstanding dessert. High marks for this place and a good value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After being a gulianna fan for years I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

After being a gulianna fan for years I was so happy to finally experience her first restaurant. It was authentic, simple Italian with amazing flavors. Smaller portions but the waitress was great at coursing our meal.

The special fried squash blossoms and Mama dipandi's bucatini were perfection. Wish I lived closer so I could come back more!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taste of food----OVER THE TOP GOODNESS P ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Taste of food----OVER THE TOP GOODNESS

Portion size-- not necessarily shareable as described

Service ---one of if not the best I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

No other word describes RPM Italian than ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

No other word describes RPM Italian than FABULOUS!! Food is always perfect!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was recommended to have dinner here by s ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Was recommended to have dinner here by several of our friends and repeatedly stated as the Best Italian Restaurant. Don't know if we didn't make the right choice for our meal but it was ok. Guess we need to give it another shot once we visit Chicago in the future.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service! Just as good as ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food and service! Just as good as I remember from four years ago!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good but not amazing or ori ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was good but not amazing or original. But then, I am from San Francisco... One dish that stood out was bucatini which they made it perfect. Great pomodoro sauce and pasta cooked to perfection. The quality of ingredients also seemed high and fresh.

I like the bar scene and the crowd seem to be cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I had been dying to try this place, and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had been dying to try this place, and was in town for one night and realized it was close to my hotel. It was divine. My salad was perfect and my carbonara was out of this world. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

RPM exceeded all of our expectations. We ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

RPM exceeded all of our expectations. We had a group of 4 and everyone raved about the experience! The cheese and Salumi board is a must try starter. The spicy king crab pasta, lobster ravioli and spaghetti and meatballs were all fantastic! Their cocktails are delicious and the presentation is photo-worthy. Make your reservation as far in advance as possible, as it was packed. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

You can't go wrong at RPM Italian! We or ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

You can't go wrong at RPM Italian! We ordered cocktails, appetizers and meals. Everything was outstanding!! Seriously, we enjoyed every bite!! They know what they are doing for sure! Will definitely return next Chicago trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and the food was fantas ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great atmosphere and the food was fantastic. Wait staff very friendly and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservation through Open Table. Had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Made reservation through Open Table. Had a short wait 10-15min for table to be ready. Then apparent mix up with hostess/server, with no server introduction for 15min+ after being seated. Decided to move to bar for dinner instead. Received wonderful service from our bartender (Rudy) and management staff, helped turn poor first impression to great overall experience. Delicious food and great overall design. Only recommendation would be better communication between hostess/servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent $200 for 3 people on a Monday nigh ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Spent $200 for 3 people on a Monday night, but the server clearly was hoping we would spend more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Me and my husband enjoyed our anniversar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Me and my husband enjoyed our anniversary dinner and the food was amazing!!! Looking forward to going again soon! The host and hostess were pretty and kind.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very small portioned and expens ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was very small portioned and expensive, along with the wine list. Service was slow and our waiter forgot an appetizer and an extra bread order with dinner. Restaurant itself was loud and cold inside. Good place to hang at the bar though.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The dining room was pretty. With the ex ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The dining room was pretty. With the exception of the Smoked Salmon Crostini, which bread was a bit stale, everything else was delicious especially the Spicy King Crab.

The server and her helpers were attentive. My only complaint is that we were disappointed that the hostess inappropriately put us in the bar area with high table and chairs when we had our kids with us and with reservation. It ruined the momentum and we had to request to be re-seated in the dining room. For such a fine restaurant, we expected more from RPM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

great service, great appys, mains a litt ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

great service, great appys, mains a little weak, great wine, we were visitors from the west coast, and would definitely dine here again, next time we are in chicago

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

First time dining at this restaurant. T ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

First time dining at this restaurant. The service was outstanding from the host to our waitress. The food was amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. The bar was very happening and look forward to going back next time I am in Chicago.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at RPM Italian. The o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Another great meal at RPM Italian. The only downside to the evening was that our reservation was at 7:30 and we were seated at 7:50 with little recognition about the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came to Chicago specifically because I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I came to Chicago specifically because I wanted to eat at RPM Italian! I was not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food and service was excellent. The dessert was really good and worth all of the extra calories!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, antipasti selection was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious food, antipasti selection was fantastic. We were so full from our appetizers we did not get to pasta or entrée courses.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, outstanding. Food, delicious. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service, outstanding. Food, delicious. Desserts, OUTSTANDING! We had a great meal and our dessert was truly five-star! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.