About RPM Italian

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Prime Beef Meatballs
Truffle Garlic Bread
Mama Depandi's Bucatini Pomodoro
Beef Carpaccio
Shredded Brussels sprouts salad, avocado, lemon vinaigrette, bread crumbs
Grilled Octopus
Fried Olives
Latte
Cannolis
bomboloni
spicy king crab
Spicy King Crab Squid Ink Spaghetti
Guiliana Salad
Wood Roasted Octopus
Ricotta gnocchi, parmesan brodo, fresh black truffle
Big Eye Ahi Tuna
Truffled garlic bread, circa 1963
Artichoke
Spaghetti & Mega Meatball
Tartufo With Hazelnut Gelato And Chocolate Shell
Roasted Brussels sprouts, ricotta salata
Zucchini Fritti
Chocolate Budino With Salted Caramel And Cocoa Nibs
Tiramisu
Oven Roasted Octopus
Maine Lobster Ravioli
Sweet Corn Agnolotti
Carbonara
Chicken Liver Crostini
Fritto Misto
Carbonara Pasta
Bomboloni With Nutella Cream And Whipped Cream
Provolone-Stuffed Peppers
Roman Artichokes With Lemon Aioli
Espresso
Pappardelle Bolognese
Mushroom Sagnarelli
Ricotta With Spicy Marinara
600 Day Prosciutto Di Parma
Tartufo
Prociutto Wrapped Figs
Pineapple Carpaccio
Lobster Caprese
Ribeye
Berkshire Pork Chop
Short Rib Pappardelle
Affogato Float
Truffled Gnocchi
Truffled Garlic Bread
Oven-Roasted Meatballs
Beignettes
Bomboloni, nutella, whipped mascarpone
Mascarpone gelato with carrot cake crumble
Meatballs
Sautéed broccolini with chilies and vinegar
38 oz. dry-aged bistecca fiorentina, Tuscany's famous sliced porterhouse steak
Grilled asparagus with parmesan
Italian salad – escarole, romaine, iceberg lettuces, provolone, cherry tomatoes, peperoncini, salami
Fresh housemade ricotta, ciabatta toast, tomato jam
Faroe Island salmon, pistachio pesto
Fried olives, fresh mozzarella, sausage; crispy ravioli, pignoli, spinach
Salumi platter – bresaola, capicola, sopressata, pepperoni
Pistachio cannoli, chocolate, orange
Tartufo Italian desserts - chocolate with hazelnut gelato
Eggplant Parmesan
Solaro
Wood-Roasted Octopus
Imported Burrata
Asparagus Pizza
Ricotta
Hazelnut tartufo, dark and milk chocolate
Roasted mushrooms and balsamic onions
Lime, strawberry sorbets, vanilla and chocolate ice gelati
Pepperoni And Spicy Tomato Pizette
Orange Cannoli
squid ink spaghetti
Braised Short Rib Pappardelle
Sea Scallops
Proscuitto
Prosciutto Tortelloni
Lobster Ravioli
Vegetable chopped salad – chickpeas, beets, romaine, argula, treviso, goat cheese, tomatoes, asparagus, celery, cucumbers
Cannoli Italian desserts
Piccolo Rosa
Burrata With Tomato Jam
Artichokes salad
Crab With Squid Ink Pasta
Buccatini With Meatballs
Sergio Leone Cocktail
Prosciutto Pansotti
Potato Gnocchi With Sunday Gravy
Freah Homemade Ricotta
Moscato, Peroni
Gelato With Rice Pudding
Raviolo A La Rpm
sweet pea risotto
Potato Gnocchi
Cavatelli With Beef And Pork Ragu
Zuchini Chips
Spicy King Crab Pasta

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Hot Spot
Chicago
1 More
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

special occasion (483)
fit for foodies (450)
hot spot (429)
See All
romantic (329)
good for groups (324)
notable wine list (249)
vibrant bar scene (221)
neighborhood gem (132)
late-night find (86)
great for lunch (74)
kid-friendly (33)
great for brunch (30)
scenic view (18)
great for outdoor dining (8)
Sort By:
Newest
5575 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Travis was our server and I was really d ...

vip
Dined 7 hours ago

Travis was our server and I was really disappointed with his service. While the food is good, the server attitude just kills it. Our server made us waited a good 15 mins after being seated to take our drinks order. He forgot our minor requests and we had to ask the busser and food runner for it. As a server, you should always check on your patrons if the food was ok or if everything was ok. Not once did he check up on us. When he finally did, he tried to take away my plate while there's food on it and I was still working on it. I love this place but I think they should retrain their servers.

food5
ambience5
service5

All of the food and service was fantasti ...

Dined 11 hours ago

All of the food and service was fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent !!! Can't say enough about h ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent !!! Can't say enough about how fabulous this restaurant is. Our server and sommelier were the best! Can't wait to visit RPM when in Chicago again!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was Alex and he did an excell ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was Alex and he did an excellent job. We were seated a bit late, based on our reservation, but it all ended up okay. The food was delicious! The homemade ricotta cheese was so light and flavorful. The stuffed pepper appetizer was perfect. I had the lobster ravioli and it was the best that I have ever had. We also had the spaghetti and meatball. The pasta was excellent! We also had the pasta with rib meat and it was delicious. It was a lovely dining experience and the food could not have been better!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and vibrant scene, but our ser ...

Dined 4 days ago

Good food and vibrant scene, but our server seemed obviously disappointed that we were not ordering rounds and rounds of drinks and multiple courses. Our party of 3 had 2 glasses of wine, shared a salad, and each had entrees. The server definitely gave off the vibe that we were a waste of a table for him!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Is a vibrant place with good food and gr ...

Dined 5 days ago

Is a vibrant place with good food and great decor. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the items they serve. Good a recommending upon request.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

I love this place. Come all the time. I ...

Dined 5 days ago

I love this place. Come all the time. I enjoying taking people from out of town specifically because of the usually ambiance and crowd. I was so disappointed this past visit because we were seated 10 mins after we arrived and the front hostess station wasn't even busy. By the time we were seated, I don't know if we could have been placed in a worse seat in the house! Our table was on the BAR side of the restaurant, the table was tucked in half way BEHIND the robbed velvet curtain. I was embarrassed for my guest having to choose a seat to either be touching/ontop of velvet curtain or in the middle of the walkway through the bar area. This was extremely disappointing, especially being a return patron. Failed to mention, our server was beyond absent the entire dining experience. He forget 2x to bring us our glasses of wine. It look him forever when we first sat down to even come to the table to give us the specials and take our order. If i didnt love the food, I'd say I wouldn't return. But unfortunately I probably will and won't make the same mistake twice by NOT mentioning to place in the proper dining room area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I only visit the Chicago area twice a y ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I only visit the Chicago area twice a year, so there are a lot of restaurants to choose from; however, we talked about the amazing dishes we tried the first time for weeks and couldn't wait to get back! The menu isn't overwhelming in size, but somehow you read on and on because every single dish is amazing! I could spend day after day eating at this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We a wonderful business dinner at RPM It ...

Dined 5 days ago

We a wonderful business dinner at RPM Italian and I recommend it to anyone. Food, wine and service were all excellent. Chelsea was our server and she was charming, efficient and made very good recommendations. Thank you for making our evening a great one in Chicago!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner I had at RPM Italian was the ...

Dined 6 days ago

The dinner I had at RPM Italian was the most delicious meal of my life! It was also significantly less expensive than I was expecting. I highly recommend the 600 day proscuitto and imported burrata!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. We arrived early ...

Dined 6 days ago

The service was great. We arrived early I r our reservation and were seated immediately. The waitress took the time to explain the menu to us. The food was absokutely amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Eggplant Parm and Chicken Parm were exce ...

Dined 7 days ago

Eggplant Parm and Chicken Parm were excellent

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

RPM Italian was a fantastic choice for a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

RPM Italian was a fantastic choice for a late Saturday dinner before heading to the bars in River North. We began with a wonderful 2013 Chianti that was full bodied and vibrant. For dinner, we enjoyed the chicken parmesan and gnocchi with shaved truffle. When the gnocchi arrived at the table, 5 grams of truffle were freshly shaven to the top of the dish. This was definitely the highlight of our meal. Our waitress was very friendly and the service was great. I

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2

Service is lacking. Our waiter was very ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service is lacking. Our waiter was very slow.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent traditional Italian food with ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent traditional Italian food with a trendy atmosphere. Menu was different and appealing. Great appetizers!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved everything about RPM. We loved ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We loved everything about RPM. We loved the atmosphere of the place. The food was outstanding! The ricotta gnocchi was melt in your mouth delicious! The drink Spruzzo was so,so good! Our waiter Kyle was just amazing and so helpful with the menu! I highly reccomend RPM to all!!! Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the waitress ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was excellent and the waitress was very nice and accommodating. No complaints about this place. It is a little pricey so I would only go for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Grilled octupus and crispy chicken are a ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Grilled octupus and crispy chicken are amazing

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the food was amazing and rich. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

As always the food was amazing and rich. The drinks were strong & Bobby provided outstanding service. He definitely ensured my best friend had an amazing birthday celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great thank you! Get the said ink pasta!

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great thank you! Get the said ink pasta!

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food. I went 2 years ago and it se ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food. I went 2 years ago and it seemed to be more popular than it was this previous time. The food was delicious but the service could have been better. I waited almost 15 minuets for a drink while I was sitting at my table. Get the squash blossoms while they are in season - very wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to RPM Italian for the first tim ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We went to RPM Italian for the first time this past weekend for our 10 year anniversary. Everything from the hostess to our waiter to our food was fabulous. The spumoni dessert is to die for. Everything was great. Nothing bad to say!!! I would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner!! Wonderful service!! V ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful dinner!! Wonderful service!! Very memorable dining experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always love RPM. The food is always prep ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always love RPM. The food is always prepared well and the portions are fair. The social media interaction they provide is pretty awesome. Only problem this time was our server seemed green or overwhelmed. He was as attentive as possible (not as often by the table as you'd expect) for how busy he seemed. We did not receive the specials before ordering and only knew they were offering anything because we overheard another table getting them. Overall, these minor items should be overlooked. They do a great job and handle special requests well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again enjoyed RPM and it's classy e ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Once again enjoyed RPM and it's classy environment. Food and service were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic restaurant! We get to go to C ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Fantastic restaurant! We get to go to Chicago once a year so try and be selective about our dinner choices. Very happy with RPM Italian! Alex did a terrific job talking about wines and making a selection for us that carried us from start to finish beautifully. Noelle provided really good service--friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. Our meal was excellent. The ricotta bread was very good. The artichokes were outstanding - so tasty and the lemon aioli I wanted to buy a vat of to bring home. The pastas--we had a gnocchi special with shaved black truffles which they were generous with and I absolutely loved. We also had the lobster ravioli which was delicious and had a fabulous sauce. The whole branzino was prepared nicely--I don't care a lot for oregano and that was prominent, but my husband really enjoyed it. We had to have dessert and the cannoli were excellent and the lemon basil sorbetto so fresh. We highly recommend RPM Italian and look forward to trying RPM Steakhouse next year!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and ambiance. Our service ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Fabulous food and ambiance. Our service was excellent too. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at a real Italian restaurant ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

First time at a real Italian restaurant and it was amazing. We had 4 different pasta dishes and they were all outstanding. We will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was GREAT. Very beautiful and elegan ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

It was GREAT. Very beautiful and elegant. Waiter was AWESOME. Fine suggestions. DINE HERE. High class

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Completely awesome experience dining for ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Completely awesome experience dining for the first time at RPM! Fabulous staff, great ambience- upbeat music just enough to raise the mood but you can talk through it. Food was unforgettable! Homemade pasta, best meatball ever. And the octopus was to die for. Don't forget to order the kale salad. Perfecto!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at RPM Italian while in Chicago ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

We dined at RPM Italian while in Chicago for a couple of days. It was a fantastic experience. We were seated immediately upon arrival for a 7:00 pm reservation. Service was perfect and our food was delicious. Overall an excellent place to dine!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal from the appetizer to the des ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great meal from the appetizer to the desert . One of the best places to eat in Chicago.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Well, the food is very good at RPM. Frie ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Well, the food is very good at RPM. Fried olives are a special, and relatively inexpensive, bonus. My issue with the restaurant, which by the way we will be visiting next month, is the first touch (or two). The hostess is simply not friendly, which throws me off. I get the feeling I am being sized up due to my casual clothing and put into an inferior category. Once we grabbed a table in the bar, our waiter, whom we had had before, also seemed less than excited by our presence. He did warm up eventually and was attentive. However, these two touches had to be overcome, which is unfortunate. My wife so loves the food (I do as well), but I think RPM can improve their customer service to embrace all people who come through the doors as opposed to truly welcoming only those with snappy duds. I will continue my search for an Italian eatery in Chicago whose customer service matches the quality of food. Coconut affogato was an especially nice finish.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought that the food was excellent an ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I thought that the food was excellent and the staff very attentive and knowledgeable. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and unpretentious and recommended some great wines to go with the dinner. Wait staff was also very knowledgeable and made some great recommendations. I was hosting a business dinner and the client was very appreciative of the choice of restaurant and they had a great time exploring some great flavors and food presentations. I will definitely go back again which is saying a lot in Chicago with so many choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

We were stuck in the corner booth off th ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

We were stuck in the corner booth off the kitchen and the traffic never stopped or the noise! We could not talk or hear each other as there was too much noise. When you are spending over $200 it would be nice to have a conversation with the person you are dining with!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience , good food, good a ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Fantastic Experience , good food, good ambiance , definitely coming back soon ☺

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service...dined there ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food and service...dined there last night and already want to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved everything about RPM It ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Absolutely loved everything about RPM Italian. Service was perfect, ambiance was perfect and food was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at RPM exceeded my expecta ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My experience at RPM exceeded my expectations! The food was exceptional and the service was spot on!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing ambiance and dining options were ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing ambiance and dining options were fabulous. Zoe took great care of us and we hope to return upon our next visit to Chicago!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.