About RPM Italian

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (279)
Special Occasion (278)
Good for Anniversaries (203)
See All
Romantic (186)
Hot Spot (185)
Fit for Foodies (172)
Good for Birthdays (168)
Notable Wine List (154)
Modern Decor (147)
Good for Groups (118)
Creative Cuisine (117)
Business Meals (115)
Vibrant Bar Scene (115)
Fun (112)
People Watching (105)
Worth the Drive (102)
Authentic (102)
Bar Seating (91)
Handcrafted Cocktails (87)
Pre/post Theatre (77)
Cozy (70)
Comfort Food (60)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Tasting Menu (42)
Casual (38)
Happy Hour (38)
Late-night Find (32)
Great for Lunch (30)
Good Vegetarian Options (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Gluten Free Options (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Family Style (21)
Healthy (19)
Tapas (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Private Room (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Brunch (10)
Scenic View (8)
Seasonal (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Vegan (4)
Fireplace (3)
Spicy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (3)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
7227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Top Italian restaurant in Chicago, every meal is more delicious than the other.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and treated us very well all night. It is a bit pricey, but this was expected. Nothing that was out of the ordinary for Chicago. Food could have been better for the price. The meatballs were great, but the salmon was a bit dry and the prawns were somewhat bland. A little more zest / spice would have made the prawns pop a bit more. Ambiance and service is what really made our evening special.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and travelled to Chicago from SC specifically to have her birthday dinner at Bill & Giuliana's resteraunt and intentionally did not mention the occasion when making the reservation. We did this so that we would not receive any special treatment. What we experienced was a fabulous night of great service with fantastic food. It was the highlight of our first ever weekend in Chicago. Thank you so much.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrating Father's Day and grandchild 's 10th birthday...excellent wait staff (Kevin) and an awesome birthday treat - mini icecream cones! Very tempting menu with many choices...a fun evening!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The sommelier was attentive and extremely helpful. Food was good, but the pasta course was served at the same time as the entree, which was strange.
This is an extremely expensive restaurant , and seems to be more suited for tourists looking for an experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Hubby and I went there due to high Yelp ratings. Made reservations weeks in advance on Father's Day. Glad we did as there appeared to be people waiting outside. While we were quickly seated and many tables for 2 appeared open, we got a tight little space too close to another occupied table. I felt and I sure they felt in that we invaded each others personal space. Too Big football player types (Hubby and other gentleman) almost touching shoulders. We moved the table and it helped somewhat, but honestly the other tables never filled as we ordered and ate our meal. I just never felt comfortable. Food was good (Egg Plant Parmesan) Braised Pork Bolognese excellent. OK we should have requested another table, but with the line and our 5:00 reservation I just did not see this as an option. Would we be back? Maybe. Just not blown away.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Best Italian restaurant ever been to exceptional food incredible taste and well decorated ambiance

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful lunch for Father's day. I have enjoyed a few visits at the RPM and DC and was not surprised to get the same great food and service at the Chicago RPM.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Came in on Father's Day, my advice for next time is to not dine in when there's a special holiday. Food was great as always however the service is poor had to wait 15 minutes before servers came and server never came in to check on me or my family. The food took forever at least half an hour to arrive after appetizer finished did not get bread had asked for bread and the busboys kept wanting to clean my table. Really want to get dessert however waiter never came back so decided to skip dessert and leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent. We couldn't decide what we like best because everything was so delicious. Service was great too and prices were moderate. Will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary! We could not wait to try RPM Italian, as our friends had wonderful reviews! We got seated right in front of a waiter station. We started with choosing a wine. A wine connoisseur was at our table very quickly and recommended a really nice red wine. As he left our table, a manager went up to him within seconds (right behind our table), and criticized how he went from earthy to fruity, etc. It was really uncomfortable as we thought he did a nice job and now we are hearing him get lectured! The manager needed to do that away from tables- not right next to us! We loved the food! Everything really was wonderful. I just wish we were not seated right by the waiter station as we heard all the small talk between staff and of course the lecture. I would highly recommend and hope to go back, but just ask to be seated away from the waiter station.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We were excited to try RPM Italian for the first time. We had our two children, 7 & 4 with us. RPM is not a kid friendly restaurant and choosing this restaurant for a family meal was a mistake. The food was average, but you pay for the atmosphere. There is much better Italian for the same, or lower price in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I love it here and cannot wait to come back!! The food was absolutely amazing and the end bill (app, two main courses, two drinks, and dessert) was not as much as we thought it was going to be!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food and ambience. Really enjoyed dessert (chocolate ice cream in a ball). Forgot the name of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the dinner between two plays that day! Everything was good and the waiter Alex did a great job.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a reservation at 5pm on a Saturday, arrived about 20 minutes early and were promptly seated. Our server, Anthony, was attentive and not afraid to suggest some of his favorite items to my wife and I before we ordered.

We started with the prime meatballs and the provolone stuffed peppers, both fantastic dishes, full of flavor and meatballs were served hot with some of the most flavorful sauce I have ever tasted. My wife ordered the mushroom risotto and I had the short rib, we also got mashed potatoes and brocollini. Risotto was cooked perfectly and the short rib was fork tender and fantastic. Mashed potatoes have great garlic flavor and are creamy and smooth. We did not get dessert, however the items on the menu sounded great.

Overall a great experience, would highly recommend to anyone. Dinner for the two of us was surprising at $103 considering the quality, we both left very impressed and will be back in the future.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic service! Made our special event feel truly special. We ate in courses and were there for over 2 hours, but were never pressured to move faster to clear the table.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Shane was amazing! Ordered two appetizers because we couldn't decide on just one and we weren't disappointed at all! The prawn risotto was amazing. The "donuts" for dessert were the perfect end to the meal. Excited to try RPM steak on the next trip!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Bobby Joe and Jameson were great. But everyone should introduce themselves by name at the beginning of service. We had to ask what their names were. After that, everything was top notch. Wine, food, menu explanation, dessert, etc. We're so glad we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

This is our go to place in Chicago when we get away for the weekend. The staff and food was exceptional and makes for a wonderful date.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Well prepared, tasty Italian food in pleasant atmosphere. Wait staff very knowledgeable, extensive wine list. Bucatini pomodoro, short ribs Bolognese all very very good. Caesar salad was excellent. Nice choice of desserts and gelato.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Came for a birthday dinner. The waitress was patient, and willing to explain specials, listen to wants/needs, and accommodate. The special cocktail--with vodka, prosecco, honey, lime--was divine. I wish every bar/restaurant had that drink as an option. The food was really delicious, and every morsel was eaten. Bathrooms were clean and quiet. A really nice time was had by all.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite dish is the Prosciutto Tortelini, but they have great dishes overall. Service was amazing, the server gives great advice on wine and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved sitting at the bar!! The grilled bread, and squid ink pasta was to die for and not too expensive!! We also thoroughly enjoyed the traditional spaghetti and the giant meatball...one of the best I've had in the states!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

RPM was so delicious! I am still salivating over the Ahi Tuna bruschetta !! Amazeballs!!
I highly recommend this dish! I loved the restaurant and will definitely go back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Have been to RPM Italian about a dozen times, enjoying many great meals with great service. This time was different in regards to our service. Our waiter was quite aggressive (not mean-spirited, just way too much in our space). Probably wouldn't have written about this but he failed to enter our LEYE number, requiring us to have to write to LEYE and then all of the additional steps to take care of something that should have been handled in one quick entry by our server. Annoying!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I had heard good things; my experience was very different. It was one disappointment after another - the moment we walked in we were scowled at by disinterested (table not ready) rude staff, serverforgot one salad (we ordered 2) to undercooked risotto and tasteless bolognese- I would not recommend it. The noise level prevents a conversation and people are squeezing by one another to pass...never again. Lots of other good choices...

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2017

AMAZING! This restaurant has the best, most vibrant and well composed food in Chicagoland. BRAVO to the Chef and the GM that make sure the experience is always nothing but perfection!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Wow! One of the best meals I have EVER had in Chicago. Took our waiters advice and shared plates. The caramel chocolate custard dessert was incredible. The only very small issue was the noise level because this place was busting at the seams! Would have also liked to see some outside seating options. Stunning interior decor, comfortable roomy tables with a wine list & menu that are outstanding. Looking forward to going back and I would love to try the other one as well.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Very good food but a tad ecoensive

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Some of the best meatballs I have ever had! Coming from an Italian background that's impressive!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The good was exceptional. The hostess made our anniversary special with a surprise dessert. Our server was mildly pleasant but seemed disinterested in our table. The rest of the staff however delivered on service! Would definitely go again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Can be difficult to get into, but worth the wait! Andre, our waiter, was attentive but not overbearing. The food overall was delicious--papardelli was a favorite.
The wine is overpriced, though.
The atmosphere was lively and the patrons ranged from date night, to girlfriends night out, to
Work gatherings.
Bookmearly to get the time and date you are looking for!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My wife and I stopped into RPM to celebrate our first anniversary. We got there about an hour early (with traffic you never know how long it'll take to get into the city) so we sat at the bar and had some appetizers before our reservation. The bartender was great! Attentive, made GREAT drinks and made us very comfortable. After the appetizers we sat down for dinner. Our server was great and had an amazing knowledge of the food and wine menus. The food came out pretty quickly ~20 minutes or so, and tasted amazing! The short rib/whipped potato combo was great! After apps and dinner neither my wife or I were very hungry for desert so we asked for the bill, but our server comped some gelato for us to celebrate! Which was also delicious! All in all we found a great place for dinner in the City. Easy to get to and cheap Valet Parking paired with the amazing service and delicious food make RPM Italian a great choice! 10/10 would recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Second time just as tasty with wonderful service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

RPM Italian did not disappoint! Food and service were both phenomenal! I would definitely recommend and would love to go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great place to take a beautiful girl on a date . Guys look no further this is the place that will impress her .. and of course the rest is up to you . 👍😬

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Fabulous food and ever better service! The meatballs and garlic bread were a great start, you can't go wrong with any entrée and the little donut dessert with powdered sugar melted in your mouth. Well worth waiting until 10:00 pm for our reservation....

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, People Watching, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Vibrant atmosphere and cool late night decor. Food was Italian based and yummy. Salmon was fresh and tasty. Would highly recommend this hot spot.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great night out with girlfriends! The food and wine were delicious! I recommend the truffle garlic bread and the Carbonara! Everything my friends got looked amazing but I didn't try, because that meant I would have had to let them try mine. It was too yummy to share!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.