About RPM Italian

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (296)
Special Occasion (286)
Good for Anniversaries (232)
See All
Romantic (219)
Hot Spot (203)
Good for Birthdays (178)
Fit for Foodies (173)
Notable Wine List (164)
Fun (145)
Business Meals (133)
Creative Cuisine (122)
Good for Groups (120)
Worth the Drive (117)
Authentic (114)
Vibrant Bar Scene (109)
People Watching (98)
Bar Seating (92)
Pre/post Theatre (90)
Handcrafted Cocktails (85)
Cozy (68)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Comfort Food (58)
Happy Hour (50)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Modern Decor (42)
Tasting Menu (42)
Casual (35)
Great for Lunch (35)
Late-night Find (31)
Good Vegetarian Options (29)
Gluten Free Options (23)
Tapas (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Seasonal (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
Scenic View (8)
Family Style (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Organic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Spicy (3)
Private Room (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
7491 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderfully attentive staff. Good food, beautiful atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Cool bar area. Nice restaurant visually. Great service. Food was just ok... lacks the wow factor. Crowd full of twenty something's taking selfies in the toilet. Restaurant overall was good but the food just wouldn't have me rushing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We waited 3 months to get a Saturday night reservation for 2 to celebrate a special occasion. We were seated at a 6 top, by the bathroom. I would have much preferred a table for 2 or even 4. The table for 6 was pretty awkward. Otherwise, everything was great.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent,
Waiter was excellent and service was phenomenal, dirty martinis were to die for

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Our wine was fantastic. We had the Oregon Pinot Noir. Great glass for $15.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fabulous. Service was great. Took the waiters recommended pasta and it was truly the best I had. Just loved the experience

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Made a late night reservation for dinner; Drinks and food did not disappoint an the service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I live in Canada and every time I go to Chicago I eat at this restaurant. Have brought many friends and business associates and everyone has loved the food and the atmosphere! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was incredible, our server was on point and attentive and the ambience was cozy but still high energy. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been here several times. We shared the branzino and it was actually dry and not the best. I guess the pasta dishes are the way to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent,but back ground music was too much drums
Had a Great time for our 5th anniversary and night on the near northside of Chicag

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very good. However I do not like Al La Carte restaurants. It seems wrong that if I'm spending $100+ on a dinner, I have to pay $6 just to get bread!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I've always wanted to try this restaurant I have heard so many great things about it and we were in town for the Cold Play concert so I made a reservation and we loved it from the moment we walked into the restaurant until we left it was a great experience great food great drinks great service the only thing that would have made it exceptional would have been a picture with Bill and Giuliana lol, we are big fans of them!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience and delicious meal. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Had an amazing time here celebrating my grandma's birthday! We had Justin as our server and he was exceptional!1

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Another visit to RPM Italian and it did not disappoint. Everything was excellent! We had a very knowledgeable and attentive server (Noelle). She was really great. The food presentation is spot on and the flavors perfect. We enjoyed the heirloom tomato salad, which was very fresh. We also had the burrata, which paired so well with the cherries, which then was enhanced by the wine. A great starter to share. I always get mama de pandi's buccatini pomodoro. I am not usually fond of red sauce, but this is done so well! It's my favorite. Save room for dessert. We always try something different and this time it was the panna cotta, and it was divine. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Overall I enjoyed my dinner at the restaurant. The food was nice, service attentive and the ambience nice although loud as it was very busy. Recommend the meatballs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Our service was exceptional. So much so that we complimented our waiter to the management. Further, the wine list was outstanding and the sommelier helped my wife and I find the perfect wine to pair with our meal. Must go in Chicago.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

The pastas here were a knockout. The lobster ravioli was delicious as was my partners crab and squid ink spaghetti. The waiter said the servings were small but we found them substantial.
Lovely ambiance for such a large restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at RPM Italian recently. It is a very popular place, even at 5:30 on a Monday evening. We have been going to Lettuce restaurants for over 20 years. We enjoy the food and the ambiance of many of their restaurants, both past and present. However, this restaurant is different than many of the other Lettuce restaurants. If you enjoy overpriced Italian food, everything a la carte, pressure from your waitperson to purchase appetizers and salads, as well as way overpriced wines (although I will say their list of wines is impressive), this is the place for you. If this is what we are to expect from the next generation of LEYE owners, I will be moving onto other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

I was there with my family for my birthday, and the server seemed very annoyed that my children were there. The Explanation of the menu was very poor. The appetizers were good, but the main course was just ok. Definitely don't think it was worth the large tab. Beautiful restaurant. I had been looking forward to going there for so long, but was disappointed with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Amazing! We loved the food and wine. Between two of us, we ordered 2 appetizers, garlic bread, a pasta entree and 1 dessert. We may have overeaten lol, but everything was delicious and the waiter was very knowledgable. Would 100% recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It was not what we expected with the name of Italian in the restaurant title. However, we totally enjoyed everything we eat. Prices are high if you're thinking Italian.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was so delicious!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our server (unfortunately I don't remember her name was outstanding)

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I have a lingering craving for many of the menu items as everything was delicious! The portions are smaller, allowing for you to to try a little bit of everything. Every dish was fresh and flavorful. Our waitress was helpful, pleasant and frequently checked on us. Their signature old fashioned was my drink of choice, poured tableside with a classy presentation. The ambiance was lovely too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was my birthday and as always the food was great, server was awesome and what I can say about the dessert, yum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Outstanding!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our waiter David, was great! Food was phenomenal. We had a wonderful dinner!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing! Great food, great atmosphere! Would absolutely go back!!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our dining experience was exceptional! We make it to Chicago every year to celebrate our weeding anniversary and my husband's birthday. RPM Italian did not disappoint! From the moment we arrived, we were warmly greeted by the hostess, who made sure to check with us to see if the table she had ready fro us was to out liking. After that, our server, Anna, was very attentive and knowledgeable of the menu. We started off with the warm ricotta bread and Giuliana's salad along with some wine. For our main courses, I ordered the handmade cavatelli and my husband the special: gnocchi made out of cheese with truffles. Both dishes were AMAZING! I grew up with italian parents, therefore my standards for italian food are pretty high. RPM did amazing!
To top off the evening, our server send over our table two super cute mini size gelato cones along with two glasses of champagne!
And for dessert, we had the bambollini with nutella... OMG!!!! delicious!
Definitely will be back next time in town!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Was in town for work and wanted to meet up with an old friend that is a foodie like myself. Had a great meal and the atmosphere was perfect, wasn't too Romantic for a friends meeting but it could definitely be a great place to WoW a date. Service was fantastic, and the food was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Be prepared to spend some money. No "deals" here. Nearly $30 for chicken parm and that's without the pasta. Everything is a la carte under the guise of "sharing" amongst the table. But the portions are very small. Waiter was not very friendly. A lot of very elegantly dressed staff just walking around - not approaching any customers to see how they're doing. Was there for my birthday. They offered a complimentary dessert which I picked from the dessert menu. They brought out a small plate with four mini ice cream cones then the dessert I "ordered" and charged me $12. When I asked the waiter, he said YOU ordered it. Paid the tab and left. We were all disappointed with the food, service and it was really busy and crowded. Thought we wanted to try the steakhouse but after this fiasco, we're done with RPM.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was amazing! We love to go to RPM when we visit Chicago!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great ambiance. Food was perfect for sharing and taste exceptional. Do not miss the donuts or cannoli!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My husband and I went here for dinner on Thursday night. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Overall, the evening was well spent and we had a wonderful dinner. The service was a bit slow, particularly in the beginning. I'm not sure if the server was slammed or if the waitstaff is trained to not rush tables for orders but it took an exceptionally long time before the server took our order. But the food was impeccable and the group had a great time. Pasta dishes have gotten smaller since my last visit, but still a good portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The Lobster Ravioli was excellent. Very nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

All the food was great. However, I do not recommend the Frito Misto. I wish our waiter would have told us that it was just a plate of fried food. Too many other great options.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.