About RPM Italian

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (231)
Special Occasion (219)
Good for Anniversaries (177)
See All
Modern Decor (170)
Romantic (165)
Good for Birthdays (150)
Hot Spot (146)
Fit for Foodies (140)
Fun (113)
Good for Groups (101)
Vibrant Bar Scene (95)
Creative Cuisine (93)
Notable Wine List (90)
Business Meals (78)
Authentic (77)
Bar Seating (74)
People Watching (69)
Worth the Drive (68)
Cozy (62)
Pre/post Theatre (58)
Handcrafted Cocktails (57)
Comfort Food (47)
Casual (41)
Happy Hour (40)
Family Style (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good Vegetarian Options (28)
Tasting Menu (26)
Private Room (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Outstanding Value (22)
Late-night Find (22)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Tapas (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Local Ingredients (12)
Healthy (12)
Scenic View (10)
Seasonal (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Spicy (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fireplace (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (3)
Live Sports (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
6761 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was simply awful. We had to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was simply awful. We had to even ask three separate people for the manager. He finally came to our table. He was helpful and extremely professional unfortunatley the waiter was so bad it spooiee our evening. Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We have been coming to RPM since it open ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been coming to RPM since it opened and always had a great meal until yesterday

Our risotto tasted like salty rice. No creaminess and rice wasn't cooked. My pasta wasn't cooked well and way over seasoned.

Sorry I have always been a fan but it will be awhile before I come back. It was a special dinner with my girls and after eating we really thought we should of gone somewhere else.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

I really wanted to love RPM Italian. I m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I really wanted to love RPM Italian. I made my beau take me for V-Day. I thought it would be a tasty late-night find similar to RPM Steak. I thought it was great that RPM Italian was downtown an open beyond 10 pm on a weekday. However, my guy did not like his food at all. I didn't want to tell him that my food was just okay too because we actually enjoyed the ambiance, the packed room that night and our server, outside of catching her roll her eye slightly because I asked for a side plate (I had pasta and wanted to try my boyfriend's mashed potatoes) we had no problem with the service. The food just wasn't as good as we expected. In particular what I expected because I had a great lunch meal with my mom a couple of weeks earlier at RPM Steak. More than likely I will not go back. I will stick with RPM Steak, which was tasty and amazing. I had the squid ink seafood pasta. He had the swordfish with a side of potatoes and the side of mushrooms (which were tasty but slightly salty). Wanted to love it, but unfortunately, it wasn't as good as I had hoped. We left an 18% tip! Again, the server was fine, the ambiance was great, the food just didn't measure up that night. :(

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Fabulous as always!! Our server made exc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous as always!! Our server made excellent dinner and wine recos. Service and food were on point. Always a favorite!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. The best carpaccio ever! T ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food. The best carpaccio ever! The place is awesome. Is not a boring tradicional Italian restaurant. I wanna come back ASAP!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Place is great, service is excellent, fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Place is great, service is excellent, food is fantastic and very reasonably priced

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time in Chicago and wife suggested ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

First time in Chicago and wife suggested we try RPM. Wonderful service and really good food.

Tags: Vegan, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite service, stunning wine list. E ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Exquisite service, stunning wine list. Each dish was perfectly balanced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fried olive appetizer, along with ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great fried olive appetizer, along with their Tuscan Kale salad. The carbonara was simply amazing. The deserts are wonderful but large so definitely share!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Day

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Had a really great experience at RPM. We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had a really great experience at RPM. We were seated promptly and the food and service was very good. I would recommend it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Portions are on the small ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great service. Portions are on the smaller side. Squid Ink Pasta is really good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a fantastic time at RPM Italian. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a fantastic time at RPM Italian. We went there for my daughter's birthday and the food was amazing. I loved the atmosphere and the fact that they had a Birthday dessert.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was impeccable! RPM had an e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was impeccable! RPM had an energetic feel but was very cozy and was a great place for an upscale dinner date. We were treated very well and felt very comfortable. The menu was fantastic and the bill didn't break the bank! Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

RPM never disappoints! I had three peopl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

RPM never disappoints! I had three people in my party that had never been- all said it was the best meal they ever had. Thank you for another wonderful dinner!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was okay but it's a very trendy pla ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was okay but it's a very trendy place and they do all they can to make it a fantastic experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

You can't go wrong at RPM. Fantastic f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

You can't go wrong at RPM. Fantastic food, good wine list, and excellent service

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seated at high top table after requestin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Seated at high top table after requesting booth through app. Just a personal preference but not a fan of high top/bar seating for an expensive meal. Service was pretty good if not all that friendly. Food was excellent, as always, other than two pasta dishes which arrived cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We had a great time and the food was ama ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a great time and the food was amazing! Unfortunately no birthday cake which was a first but the food tasted awesome nonetheless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was great. Food was great. Se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything was great. Food was great. Service was great. Had a great night

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Dee was fantastic!!!!!! Went ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our waiter Dee was fantastic!!!!!! Went into great detail about the menu and our food options. Dre went above and beyond making sure we paired our foods with our tastes and made us feel like he'd known us forever. If you're in the Chicago area and want some phenomenal Italian, go to RPM and ask for Dre. Thank you Dre!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. The menu choices ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything was perfect. The menu choices were outstanding. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved the food and hated the table. I ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I loved the food and hated the table. I thought I was having a nice dinner with my wife and was surprised that I also was forced to eat with two ladies seated at the table next to me. The reason this was a problem is that the table next to us was only eight inches away. Even though I loved the food I will never return. My recommendation to you is to insist on a booth or sit at a round high table in the bar. The booths are very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

RPM met all of our expectations. We orde ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

RPM met all of our expectations. We ordered the brussels salad, the octopus, and the truffle garlic bread to start. All of them were reasonably priced and portions were enough to split between 2-3 people depending on the appetite.

My wife and I ordered two pasta dishes and split them. The Maine Lobster ravioli was cooked perfectly and we each got three of them. The mushroom pasta dish was a combination of mushrooms with some crispy ones on top that made the texture of the dish complex. We loved both of them.

We split the short rib as an entree and between the two of us these dishes were plenty of food. I got canolis for dessert and my wife got the gelato. Both were excellent, but we probably could have split one.

Overall, I'd recommend this place if you are looking for a more sophisticated ambiance with creative Italian dishes that set a mood for a fun night out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and cocktails at RPM. A l ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful food and cocktails at RPM. A little pricey, but we expected that. If I go back, I will definitely request a booth because we were seated at the worst table in the restaurant sandwiched in between two larger loud parties who continuously bumped in to our table getting up. 4/5 stars for me!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing! Throughly enjoyed ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was amazing! Throughly enjoyed the King Crab Bruschetta and the Sea Scallops!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not the best experience. Treated poorly. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Not the best experience. Treated poorly. Was my 35th birthday. We came to spend some money. Look very young and we're treated accordingly. What a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was probably the best date my girlf ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was probably the best date my girlfriend and I have ever had. We went for our anniversary. I called ahead to let them know and they went above and beyond for us. Free appetizer, free glasses of champagne after dinner, and gave us one of the best tables in the restaurant. Kyle was our server and he was top notch. Extremely friendly and very knowledgeable when it came to wine and food. On top of that, the wine selection is great and the food was amazing. HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice Italian dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was packed for Restauran ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The restaurant was packed for Restaurant Week, and we had reservations that took us about 45 minutes to be seated (beyond our time). The food was very good, but it was loud and service could have been better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was good not great, and I left ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was good not great, and I left very hungry. If your hungry, consider ordering 2 entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service staff became rude after we did n ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Service staff became rude after we did not order wine and only one appetizer. We did not wish to stick around for dessert as this impacted our desire to continue to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Amazing food !!!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing food !!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Visited RPM Italian for my wife's birthd ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Visited RPM Italian for my wife's birthday during a trip to Chicago. The food was fantastic and the service was even better. We had zero complaints and wish we had one of these in our city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant week... be warned... $29 for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Restaurant week... be warned... $29 for a martini with Tito's

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The most amazing meal I have ever had. I ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The most amazing meal I have ever had. It was expensive, but completely worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to RPM Italian for restaurant week ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went to RPM Italian for restaurant week based on suggestions by friends. In a nutshell it was disappointing. One would think for "restaurant week" a establishment would present meals that they normally serve to entice a customer back again and again. Entrees were apparently not something they usually serve, portions were small and not representative of their explanations listed. In all honesty, three out of four were disappointing, one diner enjoyed hers. Appetizers were uninspiring, entrees disappointing but dessert was decent (gelato). We had added splits of salads and splits of pasta, glad we did otherwise we would have still been hungry when leaving. In fairness the waitress did advise beforehand the 'restaurant week' servings were very small, we should have ordered off the regular menu, but as previously stated usually a restaurant serves one of the specialties on a 'special' menu, not cut down to only increase revenues. Server was very nice and attentive most of the time but it was a very busy Saturday. Too bad, had hoped we'd have a better impression as we wanted to also try RPM Steak but we're a little gun shy at this point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food, atmosphere, drinks, value, and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food, atmosphere, drinks, value, and wait staff were all wonderful!

We made a reservation but were running 15 minutes behind due to traffic. I called to let the restaurant know but I was put on hold and never picked back up. So when we did arrive, and were told that we lost our reservation and could not be seated for another hour, we were not pleased - especially because we tried to be courtesy by calling.

Thankfully there was a high top available in the bar and the rest of the dinner was fine.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The tortelloni was so decadent and delic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The tortelloni was so decadent and delicious. The portions are a bit smaller but I personally enjoyed that (and I'm a big guy with a big appetite). The smaller portions packed a lot of flavor and it was reflected in the price which help me feel I got a great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Resturant has a very nice vibe. Service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Resturant has a very nice vibe. Service is very good but I do fine food is a bit pricey.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.