About RPM Italian

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (256)
Special Occasion (234)
Good for Anniversaries (184)
See All
Romantic (172)
Modern Decor (168)
Fit for Foodies (156)
Good for Birthdays (150)
Hot Spot (149)
Vibrant Bar Scene (107)
Fun (103)
Good for Groups (101)
Notable Wine List (100)
Creative Cuisine (96)
Authentic (88)
People Watching (82)
Bar Seating (79)
Worth the Drive (79)
Business Meals (76)
Pre/post Theatre (66)
Cozy (64)
Handcrafted Cocktails (64)
Comfort Food (47)
Happy Hour (36)
Casual (34)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Tasting Menu (32)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Family Style (31)
Good Vegetarian Options (27)
Private Room (26)
Great for Lunch (23)
Late-night Find (21)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Outstanding Value (17)
Tapas (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Healthy (15)
Local Ingredients (11)
Scenic View (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Spicy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Fireplace (4)
Vegan (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
6889 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 14 hours ago

Wonderful experience as always . Consistent team of professionals like no other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 16 hours ago

Even though the food is good, the experience left much to be desired. We made a reservation for two many weeks in advance and chose a standard type of table. Nevertheless, they attempted to seat us in the bar area on high top chairs. When we were not willing to accept that, miraculously there was a standard type table in the main dining area for us. But this table was the worst they had there - only just inside the restaurant and too close to the reception area, where numerous groups of loud people waited to be seated by even more loud hostesses. The hostess had the audacity to answer back when we complained that we didn't see what is the point of reserving a table way in advance if we are going to be seated in the worst spot they have.
The place is incredibly noisy and we were surprised to find the atmosphere felt low class. For some reason this place attracts scores of young scantily clad women in droves... weird. Not planning to return any time soon. For good pasta there are better places in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 19 hours ago

Loved it. Wanted seconds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Have been to RPM several times and the food is consistently fantastic. One of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Weekend getaway

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The portion size is small. If you get pasta, you should probably get something else with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a reservation at RPM Italian to celebrate a family birthday. We dined at RPM before and enjoyed our previous experience. This time, however, we did not enjoy our meal. Now RPM has a weird vibe: tense, not relaxing, private, or fun. Staff members, continually walking around, added a feeling of anxiousness to the ambience.
When we attempted to enter the restaurant an exceptionally aggressive valet wouldn't let us pass! He physically blocked the entrance to the restaurant, and insisted we hand over our car keys. I explained we parked at our hotel, several blocks away, and didn't have a car for him to park. He blocked the entrance, held out his hand, and said "car keys." I hoped the other valets would notice, but they were standing in a group, chatting to each other, and were not paying attention. We pushed past the aggressive valet, not wanting to miss our reservation time.
Once inside RPM another group of staff members was standing around visiting. They abruptly stopped chatting when they saw us, but we had already seen the eye rolls and smirks from the females in the group. Ladies: you're dealing with real people, who want to spend money at your establishment, in turn paying your wages! Best get over yourselves!
Our waiter was great, the food was overpriced but good-tasting.
We ate quickly and left as soon as we could. We won't be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We waited about an hour for our table, despite having a reservation. Also, the food did not wow me. With so many amazing restaurants in Chicago, I will not return to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

RPM is one of our favorite Chicago spots. We haven't ever ordered anything we didn't care for. Last night, we got the homemade ricotta to start and it was very creamy and delicious.

Since we had been eating through the city this trip, we opted for two pasta dishes to share. The short rib bolognese and the carbonara were our selections. Both were excellent.

We took the seasonal blueberry cheesecake home for dessert.

Not only is the food amazing but the service is great as well. Our server gave great feedback when asked questions and she knew the food very well.

Make it a stop if you can or RPM Steak (another great spot)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Love it! Service was fantastic and we had the best cheese plate! Really enjoyed our cozy booth, even though it was very busy, it was still a quiet and private environment.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We were a group of three enjoying an evening get together of friends. The service was prompt, polite and excellent. Following drinks, we had appetizers including specially prepared artichokes and fried zucchini. For the entrées, we had salmon with Asian sauces and scallops prepared with a flair. All in all, it was a great experience and wonderful, tasty food. Don't miss this one.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We visit RPM often. Unfortunately, they have taken the Rosemary, olive oil Gelato off the menu. Very sad. Love their zucchini appetizers. A MUST! Their Tartufo is also excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was breathtaking. From the moment we walked in to the time we left, everything was outstanding. My boyfriend and I were able to enjoy 3 appetizers, 2 entrees, and 2 desserts. The Roman-style artichoke was a show stopper.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was poor. Waitress only came to us about four times and two of those times we had to ask for her. Stuffed peppers with provolone were disgusting and my filet mingon was over cooked .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

The entire experience was fantastic. The food from beginning to end was top notch.

We had the Grilled Octopus, Roman style artichokes (which not many places do), a pasta special that was to die for (with truffles and preserved egg yolk shaved on top), their Steak specialty, and a delicious dessert.

Our waiter, Alex, did wonderful job attending to us amongst all of his tables in a packed restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Literally so dang good! Everything we had was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

It was great from start to finish. The waiter was very helpful and nice and also gave me a great dessert for my birthday. Definitely coming back there again!

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server was patient and took time to make us happy. Food was amazing. The artichokes are a must

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Went to RPM after seeing Hamilton. The service was outstanding and the food was good. All of the pasta was cooked al dente, so if you prefer your pasta not as firm, ask for it to be cooked a little longer. The house made focaccia bread for an appetizer and bomboloni for dessert were absolutely outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

From the moment we walked into the restaurant to the moment we paid our bill and left, we were treated so well! Our waiter along with the other team members were absolutely amazing! Definitely returning!!!!!!!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

When checking in with the hostess for our 8:45pm reservation, we were told they were running about 15 minutes behind and we'd be seated closer to 9pm, which is totally reasonable. When 9:30 rolled around we still hadn't been seated and the hostess stand provided no explanation other than they were "busy" and waiting for tables to open up. Worse still, there's no place in the bar where it's not awkward to wait. There's not enough space to stand in the bar without constantly being in the way of every server and busser in the whole place. Then the manager had the nerve to ask us to stay out of the way, when the whole reason the bar was filled with so many people waiting around was because they couldn't honor their reservations.

After complaining to said manager, miraculously we were all of a sudden next up to be sat, more than 45 minutes after our confirmed reservation time.

What is the point of accepting reservations if they won't be honored? If RPM can't manage their table inventory well enough to honor reservations within 45 minutes of scheduled time, they need to take fewer reservations.

After finally being sat, our long wait wasn't even acknowledged by our serving staff, and the dining experience was mediocre at best. Most dishes were forgettable, certainly nothing to warrant the inconvenience of the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I celebrated my birthday at RPM and had a fantastic experience. The restaurant is chic and affordable, the service was good, and the food was great. I would highly recommend this restaurant to all others!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My friends and I wonderful dining experience at RPM. The service was expectional and our food was tasty. We plan to go again!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food , service outstanding. My favorite restaurant in the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Loved this restaurant! This was our first time there and everything was amazing, from the service to the food! I would recommend it for a date or anniversary. Great ambiance and friendly vibe!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I come here every time I come to Chicago & recommend it to everyone! Amazing flavors and reasonable pricing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Live Music, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The service was awful 30 minute wait from open table reservation time. People were rude. Ate the night before at rpm steak and it was amazing. Completely different experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was good. Nothing special. Alex our waiter was great as was the bar person who brought extra cherries for my wife's Manhattan. We will not be back and we will not recommend RPM to our friends. Our reservation for three was 8:15. We were not seated until 8:45. At no time did the host/hostess assure us the our table was coming or did anyone think to apologize for the delay. We were basically ignored. Complete amateur hour at the front desk. I give this restaurant a year -tops.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable. Food was delicious. Great dining experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Perfect stop on vacation with our 10&12 year olds. Amazing homemade pasta. Portion size is small so easy to order sever items and share with table to get a great sampling. Must visit for us every time we go to the city

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The classic Spaghetti and Meatballs is a must have. Perfect portion size made el dente!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food and service was amazing!! Looking forward to coming back very soon.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This was our third trip to RPM and we have yet to have a bad meal! The king crab bruschetta was phenomenal. The prosciutto tortellini - almost cried when the meal was over because if was so good. And the chocolate budino? Out of this world. Absolutely love this place and wish they would open a location in Seattle!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food and service superb , atmospheric and happening venue ! Will be back

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Another amazing experience!!! Service, Food, drinks, wine & desert top notch!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Some of the best Italian I've ever had! Creative and super yummy. I had the tortelloni and the sauce was incredible!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

RPM Italian was a fantastic place to eat and will go again when in Chicago!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Had to wait a little for our table even with an early reservation. Great service and food. They accommodated for our two young toddlers with seating, menu options, and timing of dishes coming out. Server was extremely kind and patient. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Always delicious. Good wine selection. My friend keeps gluten free - loved that menu.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Authentic, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food , good service ! Will keep going back

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.