About RPM Italian

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (265)
Special Occasion (251)
Good for Anniversaries (195)
See All
Modern Decor (191)
Romantic (178)
Good for Birthdays (166)
Hot Spot (166)
Fit for Foodies (159)
Notable Wine List (120)
Vibrant Bar Scene (111)
Good for Groups (107)
Creative Cuisine (104)
Fun (100)
People Watching (90)
Authentic (88)
Business Meals (87)
Bar Seating (84)
Worth the Drive (81)
Handcrafted Cocktails (77)
Cozy (71)
Pre/post Theatre (66)
Comfort Food (55)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Casual (39)
Tasting Menu (37)
Happy Hour (37)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Family Style (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Late-night Find (26)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Private Room (23)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Healthy (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Tapas (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Scenic View (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vegan (5)
Spicy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
6996 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 21 hours ago

Just wow.. You won't regret it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined a day ago

Danny was one of the best servers we've ever had. However, hostesses were awful. They gave away our reservation and then put us at a high top in the bar despite the fact that my mother insisted it would hurt her legs. Terrible, terrible customer service by the hosts. Great service by the actual server but was hard to eat dinner such a small bar table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Dinner was delicious and the restaurant vibe was young and fun. Prices were excellent for a major city. Wine selection was great - large range of price points. Will definitely go back and try RPM Steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was amazing. Food was slightly above average and overpriced, but could be normal for Chicago. We are glad we came but would not return. Many other great Italian places in the city with better value and food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambiance, fantastic food and great service. We had a party of 5 for a quiet family dinner for a birthday celebration and the staff took great care of us. The food was fantastic, including the gluten-free options for one of our party. The prices are very reasonable, and you can share dishes if you like. We ordered 3 appetizers to start and later ordered 3 pastas and 2 entrees to share with the whole table. Everyone got a taste and everyone of the dishes was fabulous! We highly recommend RPM Italian to anyone for any occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and ambience was excellent. However, RPM (Steak and Italian) has to stop the practice of saying "we're running 15 minutes behind and your table not ready, you can wait by the bar" to every guest. It's obviously a ploy to have you get drinks at their bar and its pretty obvious. And if you leave and don't go to the bar they quickly have your table ready. It happened on back to back nights when I visiting each establishment. Smh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Service and food was excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. Will definitely be back. Every dish was amazing, from the octopus to the rpm steak....fanatstic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

amazing food quality. portions were a bit small but probably what you expect from a high end restaurant. desserts were delicious and plentiful (bigger than the pastas)

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Second time here. Came back for the Caesar Wedge (amazing) but the Swordfish stole the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

RPM has been a favorite since it opened. I eat there like it is a tapas restaurant grazing on appetizers and pastas. Very nice crowd there. My most recent visit was on a Monday and the place was hopping. Service attentive but not intrusive. I would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Great experience. Friendly and informative when we had questions. Drinks were great as well! Food was very delicious! Would try the steak house next time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was great - the food was very good (we all had something different and everyone was pleased with their meals) , service was outstanding , we were seated promptly and the decor is very pretty . All in all a very nice experience. We dined here a few years ago and loved it - i am happy to see its still up to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

One of our favorites.
Great gluten free menu.
Food, service and atmosphere were all outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing food and great service! Will def be back. Great for a date night or dinner with the family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good and ambiance are outstanding but what made this special Easter Lunch for us was Dre (Andre) our waiter... spectacular!
Genuine, caring and anticipated our every need before we even knew we needed it!
Hugged him at the end of the meal.

Truly exceeded our expectation!

Scott

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This restaurant is one of a kind. You cannot go wrong with anything you order on RPM's menu. Everything is above and beyond.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This restaurant does not disappoint! Their pasta is homemade and one of the best I have ever had. The Mama DePandi's Pomodoro Sauce and Lobster Fra Diavolo were excellent. Always make a point to make a reservation when I am in Chicago.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was great, service was good. It was VERY cold and drafty where we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I might return to RPM Italian again. However, like its companion restaurant RPM Steak, the single most takeaway that I have from both locations is the continuous, boring, intrusive 'background music!' Why not have jack hammers in rhythm. Additionally, for a seeming 'upscale, premium' location the ambiance was anything but. To say the noise was 'energetic' is a misnomer for LOUD! Fortunately, our waitress, Jackie, and the food, almost balanced the 'experience.'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Love rpm Italian for special occasions. Food is fabulous, staff are warm, friendly and helpful. Decor and table settings are lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Gorgeous restaurant with amazing food! Can't wait to go again! Worth the 2 hour drive!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, really good food, and reasonably priced. Service was also spot on. Definitely recommend the grilled octopus and the fried olives, both were delicious. Thanks for a great night. Eww were there for an pseudo/pre anniversary dinner with some friends, our first time in Chicago, and had a blast. Thanks rpm.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I took my husband here to celebrate his birthday. We both really enjoyed our food choices and the wine was very nice. It's fair to say we left with satisfied and full bellies. The service was excellent and we were very well looked after. I would definitely recommend to friends and family who are visiting Chicago (we are travelling through the US).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent service and great food. A variety of portion sizes made it easy to try different foods. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Loved the night club feel to this restaurant with beautiful lighting and wall covering. The wait staff wears a white dinner jacket reminiscent of the days when Sinatra was around! Food was tasty and the staff attentive. Overall a good value. Go earlier if you want a quieter dining experience - tables are very close and when the restaurant fills the noise level goes up quite a bit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Overall a very enjoyable evening out for a couples date night. Appetizers offered a nice selection of both hot and cold items. The proscuitto and fritto misto were good. We added 2 pasta dishes as sides to go with the entrees. Spicy crab pasta was tasty. Had the steak and it was okay. This is not a steak restaurant. Thanks for the birthday dessert with candles.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Pretty spot with a good menu of small , medium and large plates. Our waitress Mary who was Excellent recommended we share the dishes. All were really tasty..my only complaint was the sauce on the special pasta was cold in parts.. think they didn't stir it well when coming out of pot. It was delicious so we ate it all. After mentioning it to Mary she said she would tell the kitchen..when we received our check, they had comped the pasta dish. We thought that was totally unnecessary since we ate it all..but a really nice thing to do..we will definitely go back and tell out friends to eat there... a very enjoyable dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Incredible experience from start to finish! Great service, food and ambience. The tuna bruschetta was my favorite. Perfect place for a fun night out. We took our kids (ages 8 & 12) and they accommodated their dishes as needed which is a nice plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great food and a great find for out of Towners! Give it a try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I will definitely come back, everything was delicious very cool restaurant with good atmosphere

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

amazing time

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

A great overall experience. Celebrity sightings are possible. We saw several the night we dined for our anniversary. I highly recommend RPM Itialian.

Tags: People Watching, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

First time there and the food was delicious, our waitress was excellent and it was a wonderful evening. Highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Our first time for all 3 of us for dinner. We loved the menu variety and choices. Everything was excellent. Our waiter's recommendation for wine was perfect and well priced. It was packed on a Monday night so a reservation is a must. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Chicago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Excellent food, service was great too. It was great to have good vegetarian choices . Drinks were good too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We were on vacation in Chicago and wanted to try this place out. Everything was lovely from the moment we were greeted until we left. The food was top notch, and very affordable. Don't forget to order dessert!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

As good as we had hoped it would be. The pasta is fantastic as is the variety of selections available.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As always amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.