About RPM Italian

RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.

52 West Illinois
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
MON: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
TUES: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
WED: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
THURS: 4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
FRI: 4:00 PM - 12:30 AM
SAT: 3:00 PM -12:30 AM
SUN: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Dearborn & Illinois

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1888

Website:
http://rpmitalian.com/

Public Transit:
Grand Ave. Red Line

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Private Dining

RPM Italian features a modern expression of classic Italian fare suitable for any type of event. From corporate functions to social soirees, our spaces offer a sophisticated and chic setting for groups of 12 to 40 guests.

RPM Italian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (307)
Special Occasion (284)
Romantic (226)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (221)
Hot Spot (201)
Good for Birthdays (190)
Fit for Foodies (170)
Notable Wine List (150)
Fun (144)
Business Meals (129)
Creative Cuisine (119)
Worth the Drive (119)
Good for Groups (118)
Authentic (116)
Vibrant Bar Scene (111)
Bar Seating (98)
People Watching (93)
Pre/post Theatre (91)
Handcrafted Cocktails (90)
Neighborhood Gem (77)
Cozy (73)
Comfort Food (59)
Happy Hour (53)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Casual (40)
Late-night Find (39)
Tasting Menu (38)
Great for Lunch (28)
Gluten Free Options (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Tapas (20)
Seasonal (19)
Great for Brunch (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Scenic View (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Organic (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Spicy (6)
Great Beer (6)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
7727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

FAB..U..LOUS! Great lounge like music and modern classic environment..and of course..great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

RPM Italian was the Cherry on top of a romantic evening with my significant other, soon to be my life partner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Scenic View, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

First time there and it was great! Food was great and the drinks where great. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and very welcoming
We split a pasta as an appetizer and was perfect . Prawns as entree was fantastic. Not large portions but delicious. Dessert which was a chocolate torte with an Oreo crust was the best indulgence ever

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, excellent service, energetic atmosphere, and we even saw Bill and Giuliana come in! We would go back in a heartbeat. It felt like a really special night. Seriously, everything we tasted was perfection (crab bruschetta, zucchini fritti, risotto, halibut, and crispy sprouts - I recommend all of them!)

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful restaurant, excellent waiter, our meals were fantastic! Try the meatballs, charbroiled prawns, scallops, butternut squash cappelletti, it was all delicious. Our waiter recommended wines, dishes to share, and he was knowledgeable about the menu plus made us feel well taken care! Reservations are recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

We really enjoyed the food and was very pleased with our experience. The portion sizes are enough to fill you but allow you to leave room for dessert. Everything is very tasty but our favorites included the king crab bruschetta, meatballs, and tortelloni! For dessert the doughnuts, mascarpone, and Nutella.. YUM!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and food!! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

You MUST try RPM. It was absolutely amazing. Highly recommended. Our waiter Bob was fantastic! All his recommendations were on point. Meatballs were the best I've ever had! Great for a date night or special occasion. Surprisingly fast service for such a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food! Service was spectacular- waiters really know the menu and are honest when asked questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great and our server was awesome! We will go back again next time we are in town. The restaurant has a very fun atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Never dissapointed... always delighted to bring
Friends and family ... chicken and eggplant Parmesan are the best in the city❤️

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Girls getaway trip to Chicago! Rpm cannot be beat for a true Chicago vibe. The food is on point always. We only gave the server three stars because we couldn’t tell if he liked us or not. We have food sensitivities and I felt he was annoyed by our modifications. All in all we will be back:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food we had a little of everything and it was great. Was very loud though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We did not get served for 20 mins at first. I had to speak to the front desk for someone to come take our drink orders. We were comp'd roasted olives and stuffed peppers which was nice. My coworkers purse was then stolen somehow. The restaurant comp'd the whole meal and were helpful in contacting police and reviewing security footage. Perhaps it was just unfortunate circumstances, but the whole experience left a negative taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic experience as usual! This is my favorite restaurant in Chicago! The food, the atmosphere, the staff...all exceptional! Thanks RPM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service was excellent - we had a couple of different courses and were treated to small deserts in honor of our anniversary. The halibut with a side of asparagus were outstanding. Be aware you may be seated at a small table like ours and I felt claustrophobic stuck next to a table with some loud-talking people. When I saw an empty table on the side I asked if we could sit there and we were told no, someone else has that table. Hmmm, no one showed up for 10 or so minutes and the excuse fell a bit flat. The waitress also forgot to serve our salads, but she was apologetic and took it off our bill after finally delivering them. She handled it well. All in all a fine evening but I'm not sure if I'd go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

We were very disappointed with the service and attention received. We purposely booked this restaurant for our 2nd Anniversary after having great service on our 1st Anniversary exactly a year prior.

The hosts were not receptive to my requests of wanting a booth that was quiet even after asking several times (I booked months ago). We were seated two feet from another table and the server didn’t do anything out of the way to make it feel special.

I honestly have had better, more attentive and personalized service at a local hole in the wall restaurant compared to what we received that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined 7 days ago

FOOD, SERVICE AND ATMOSPHERE ALL EXCELLENT! LITTLE PRICEY.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Loved the pappardelle ragu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Be sure to make a reservation if you want good seating. We had dinner around 7:30 and it looked busy. The food was amazing and it all came out quick! The seats can get pretty close to each other so be sure to ask for a private table if you are not comfortable with that.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great food, upscale dining, and fantastic service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

We wanted to visit the restaurant while visiting Chicago, since we watch the Rancic Show. All the dishes they talk about the mama DePendis pasta, the Bills Chocolate Budino, was amazing! Restaurant was so clean and slick, best experience! Thank you Bill n Giuliana for such amazing restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The food is amazing! The service outstanding. We were seated on time (we had a reservation)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Best italian food we’ve ever had. We are regulars here and their food never gets old. Drinks are great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Small plates. The dishes are very small! But the gaste os good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Beautiful establishment! Staff was over the top-accommodated my vegetarian friend. The food was just out of this world. Thank you

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent dinner spot with multiple sharable plates. Rough start as the waiter was a touch pretentious. Recommended a $300 bottle of wine and seemed snarky. He improved as dinner went on and ended up being somewhat amusing by the end. Fritto miso, cheese and salumi were great starters followed by lobster ravioli with steak entrees. The filet and hanger steaks were cooked perfectly. One of the better steaks I have had. Finished with the cheesecake with was recommended. Overall a great dinner for a date night and/or special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Highly recommend RPM Italian for special occasion or just dinner with good friends. Great place to order different dishes to pass! Food is outstanding! Service is always good to great. Enjoy!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This was my third visit, and each time I have tried different dishes. I really enjoyed my pasta, garlic bread, and margarita pizza. I shared my friend's salad and would have ordered one myself but it seemed that I could not get a customized one to my liking. Sorry I did not find the available salad options appetizing. The cannoli desert was just ok.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great experience at RPM Italian. Came here for lunch immediately after running the Chicago Marathon. The staff was so nice, welcoming, and congratulatory. Not to mention the food was super delicious. Highly recommend the chicken parmesan, Giuliana's Italian salad and spaghetti and meatballs. Great food and remarkable staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

RPM Italian doesn't disappoint! Mama De Pandi's pasta is a must!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I was only in Chicago for 48 hours and this restaurant was a highlight from my short culinary tour.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Meat balls and lobster ravioli was excellent but our food came before our drinks did and that took 20 minutes

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Completely made the reservation for the fried olives... terribly amused by the people watching. Great service. Loved our waiter. Loved him. Food was great. Thanks for a fun birthday!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was AMAZING! However, I think that it is a little odd that you do not get pasta with your main dish at an Italian restaurant. It puts the server in an awkward position to ask if you want a side of pasta with your meal. Just add a few dollars to the price and serve it together. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

RPM took great care of us and the service was friendly and attentiv.
Highly recommend this great place for a special occasion

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Newcastle)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very poor experience, table was on the top of the stairs had to be moved, my wife main course came out literally ten minutes before mine. Only time in the USA I have never left a tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We were seated right on time for our reservation! The ambiance was great, the energy and staff even better! We found the menu selections to be excellent. My husband and I find it rare to have so many items jump out at us that we want to order. We ordered a ton of food. Enjoyed everything we ate. Our server and his support team did a great job of toning and delivering the courses. We will be back and recommend to others.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Disappointed to say the least. Made a reservation 6 weeks in advance. Still got seated by the kitchen. Our server couldn't answer questions about some wines were deciding on, so he sent the sommelier over. He suggested one of the "featured wines" . It was not good, tasted like someone poured grape juice into water. Our waiter only checked on us twice, did not pour our wine and was generally not around. The appetizer pizzdtte arrived cold, and the short rib bolognaise pasta , although good, also was cold. The two appetizers I ordered for diner were really good,the Caesar wedge had two different dressings but light and not overdressed. And the beef carpaccio was excellent. All in all, not a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.