Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.

250 Waikoloa Beach Drive E-1
Waikoloa, HI 96738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Eurasian, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 886-4321

Website:
http://roysrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Located at the Kings' Shops waikoloa there is ample parking right outside

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Local Ingredients (48)
See All
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for a Date (45)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Waterfront (31)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Romantic (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Scenic View (24)
Casual (21)
Authentic (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Business Meals (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Fun (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
People Watching (11)
Healthy (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Cozy (7)
Tapas (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Family Style (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

We went with business associates for dinner while we were on the big island. It was so good, we went back with friends a few nights later. The food, service and especially, the chocolate molten cake, were fantastic!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

This is the second time in a row we have been disappointed by Roy's. The food just is not good enough for the price. Many other places we have been in the vicinity have had better food at no higher of a price. We won't be going back. Too bad as there is so much potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

We checked in on time, but then had to wait 25 minutes for our table. But once seated, we had excellent service, even getting a complimentary spring roll appetizer, to make up for the wait!
We had the price fixed menu which offered many selections. The appetizer which had sushi and BBQ baby back ribs, was really good. I had the BBQ short ribs which were wonderful and my husband has fish which he said was good, not great. The chocolate cake with raspberry sauce and vanilla ice cream was excellent!! All in all, a lovely evening, if quite costly.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Roys has changed a lot. From price to feeling important as a quest. We had a great view but unfortunately we had a rude table next to us and had to move. Later found out the rude table was the day time host. She should be fired. The manager did comp us a desert to split between 5. The waiter help (bus boy) was wonderful he was a ten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

We always look forward to Roys for our special occasions for at least the last 25 years. They have a butterfish dish that is sooooooo moist and tasty... treat yourself

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Very delicious, especially the seafood stew was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We are regular Roys customers both at Hawaii Kai and Waikoloa. Annie the GM is always a warm host. We enjoyed our meal, the service and ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

As usual, the food and service were excellent. Food was properly prepared and timely. Service was excellent. Will go there again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our dinner at Roy's was great. Perfect table looking out over the pond. Lovely service. Excellent for vegetarians, as they will serve any fish dish on the menu with a tofu substitution. Free chocolate souffle for Mother's Day was a very nice surprise! We will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service by our server and the cocktails were very good. Overall very good dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We live part of the year right across the lake from Roy's Restaurant, so we've dined there regularly for the past 14 years. I don't know what some of the negative reviewers were expecting, & maybe it was just an off night at the restaurant, but we've never experienced bad service or poor food. We eat out probably 4-5 nights a week when here in Hawai'i & also when at our other homes in 2 other states, & we are fairly particular about food & service & value. Roy's has never disappointed us. There were times in years past that the noise level was a little too high, but the remodel several years ago did wonders for that. And the food has NEVER disappointed. Tonight we had the Spring Rolls & Spicy Ahi Roll to start-- both excellent. Then we had the steamed pesto Monchong and the Fish Trio-- both excellent. And of course, we both had the chocolate lava cake-- both excellent. Our servers were always on top of things & very nice. Yes, it can be a little pricey depending on what you have-- but you should know that going in. Maybe it's not everyone's choice, but we highly recommend Roy's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very good food and dessert. My wife had seen Roy on one of the TV food shows and said Roy was internationally famous for his cuisine.
His food is first rate my wife and I both had the appetizer portion of the meatloaf. The meatloaf was delicious and more than you would need for one meal.
Our dessert was strawberry crisp served hot with vanilla bean ice cream. It was superb.
I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants here in Hawaii. We live in Kona and enjoy the drive, food & staff at Roy's! Can't wait to go again!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We've been going there for over 15 years and it's still one of the best restaurants in Waikoloa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It's great to be on the big island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We were early to our reservation, but was seated immediately. This did offer us a price difference on the fixed fare menu. Also due to dietary needs, they were flexible in minor requests with the fixed fare choices. Pleasant staff, had a number of wait staff serve our table, this kept the wait time down between courses. A bit high in pricing even for Hawaii, but worth the cost for that anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

One of the best restaurants on the island and the best value especially if you go before 6:00pm.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The place is more in the expensive side and my husband and I just felt it was not that great for what you pay. Tommy Bahamas was way better on how they made there fish and it was less expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

ambiance a bit bright. very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Unfortunately, an evening of excellent food and service was marred by a large and extremely loud, cackling group. They had a good time at the expense of everyone else.

The food at Roy's is always a winner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everything was fantastic! Mekajiki and Opah with mac but prep were delish, as was the mac nut tart with vanilla bean ice cream. Server, Cortney, is always on her A game, even when slammed with large groups. So ono!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was wonderful! Staff was very friendly and attentive.
The only thing I can say is the the butterfish had a Lot
Of fat on it and made it let desirable in flavor and my daughter's steak came out almost Well instead of medium rare. The baby back rib appetizer was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We were seated next to the bar and the people sitting there were very loud and throwing out "F" bombs in every sentence for what we paid for our meal I would have expected a more classy environment or at least the staff should have controlled this better.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Roy's of Waikoloa never disappoints. Lobster bisque and pork potstickers were delicious, as was the pepper crusted Ahi tuna and filet mignon. Shared the peanut butter pie....wow! So ono! Courtney was our server, and was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Delicious as always. One of our favorite restaurant to visit while on the Big Island.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

There is a great fixed price menu before 6 pm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Disappointed in Hawaii. I have been to a number of Roy's and was excited to dine in their main island kona Hawaii location while on vacation with my husband. The service was sub-par, the food average, and the ambiance lacking. I requested to be moved to a table from the bar area to inside the main dining room and was told that those tables were reserved for groups of 4., although, many tables had groups of 2 and some went unoccupied. Not a pleasant experience overall.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Roy's is always consistently excellent. Their food is delicious, staff well trained and very pleasant to work with. The atmosphere is very relaxed and we will be back again, and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Roya means high quality in all ways. When we walked in there was visible smoke in the air from kitchen issues and the noise level was a bit loud. Service was quite friendly. Food wasn't hot but tastes okay. Felt like they were too busy to make it special like their reputation is about.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service and food was good and the ambiance was okay. The host was awful. He was rude to us and we will not be back as there are many fine restaurants know how to treat the diners with respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Ate here while on vacation. Excellent waiter, had good suggestions since their menu is unique. Food was fresh and healthy, yes and tasty too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent service along with exceptional food choices makes Roys a definite go-to restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food was great the server terrible, preoccupied, talked at you not to you, large stain on her white shirt, monotone in her speeding. Sorry don't like to do this but you need to know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything we ate there, from the appetizers to the dessert was excellent. We enjoyed it so much we reserved a return visit before our vacation ended. We were seated promptly and all the staff was extra friendly and helpful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Go for the fish. Specifically the butter fish. Good Mai Tais. Ribeye was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 19, 2017

It was great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Nice restaurant with the Waikoloa Village, great location from the Hilton properties. Probably one of the smallest Roy's Restaurants we have been too, but the and service just as good as anyone of their other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We were very disappointed in the quality and flavor of the food. We ordered a variety of food off the tasting menu and it was all very bland and average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were disappointed. We had been to Roy's many years ago. It has become a tourist attraction. We were seated in the very back of the restaurant, near the exit sign and a very loud group at the bar. The food was ok, but very pricey. The service was good. We are foodies and my husband is a fantastic cook and mixologist, so we have high expectations when we dine out. Overall the experience for the cost was not something we would do again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Poor service. I have been to several other Roys which r all excellent. I did not enjoy this food and service was poor. Would never go back. Ambiance very average. Had a nice cocktail but that's about all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.