Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.

250 Waikoloa Beach Drive E-1
Waikoloa, HI 96738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 886-4321

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
Located at the Kings' Shops Waikoloa there is ample parking right outside

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Local Ingredients (46)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Romantic (38)
Waterfront (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Scenic View (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Casual (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Authentic (20)
Tasting Menu (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Healthy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Seasonal (5)
Tapas (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

The dinner was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

this is the second time to try this restaurant. the portion was like french! the foods were excellent except for soy beans with chilli oil. although pricey, it is worth to try! all of us love the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently excellent food and service. We come here every year when we visit the Fairmont Orchid.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The Moyashi butterfish was a little overdone. I go to Roy's in San Francisco regularly and the Moyashi butterfish was always perfect. That is.... Not undercooked and not overcooked. I was a little disappointment with the Roy's at the Big Island.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Lovely dinner wth fabulous service from Nikki..made for a special dining experience with lots of good suggestions that were delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 14, 2017

So good that we went twice! Courtney and Frances were terrific! Smiles and the right amount of attention and help!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The service and the food were outstanding!
We were treated to great cuisine!
Kudos to the staff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The wait staff was very knowledgable about gluten free options and happy to help. They were also very attentive. the food was seasoned very well and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Overall, excellent food. Even for vegetarian, you can pick entree without the meat or fish and the chef added tofu creation.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Our first time to Roy’s and we really enjoyed it. Our food and drinks were very good. The service was excellent. We had a beautiful view from our table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Love the staff and very timely service. We called early and ask for window to view lagoon and koi were very nicely accommodated. Fish trio was very nice but still must revert back to my standard miso butterfish. Chocolate molten lava dessert is to die for.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The service is exquisite, experience phenomenal, stunning atmosphere, and the food is not only aesthetic but beyond delicious. Every dish is of quality & gives you the opportunity to explore all of your senses. Never disappoints!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great local cuisine and lovely ambiance. Very accommodating in a very relaxed and enjoyable environment. Mahalo!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Business Meals, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Tapas, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Wonderful staff and amazing food. Quite quick service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Service was great..Food was great..definetely going back again.Overall experience was awesome...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 4, 2017

amazing service, food, ambiance - you name it! One of the best meals we had while in Hawaii!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Our dinner at Roy's was our only planned "fancy" dinner during our week stay, unfortunately it was only good not great, as we've experienced at other Roy's we've eaten at. We had the prix fixe dinner, but we're a bit disappointed. The portions were large but seemed a little uninspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Disappointed in the food and service. We had a great meal at Roys a couple of years ago but our last 2 visits have left us disappointed, especially given the expense of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

The lobster/prawn mac & cheese was to die for and they serve a great rose wine which is hard to find in Hawai'i - white Zinfandel in the states!!!
All in all it was a great experience with an open kitchen. Even though they are in a rush, you as a guest are not.

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Kept our reservation and had dinner in spite of the menu seeming less than exciting. Drinks were good as was the chicken egg roll. My husband ordered scallops which he was satisfied with. I had the butterfish which was overworked, sickening sweet and if my eyes were closed would not have known I was eating fish. An unfortunate preparation on what should have been a good piece of fish. We should have paid more time reading reviews from recent diners. Would not give them another chance,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The salad and steak were great, however the potatoes had too much of whatever herb they used and it overpowered them. The pineapple upside-down cake was mediocre, unlike the absolutely perfect one that I had at Roy’s in Ko’Olina. Our waiter was always so rushed and his shirt was not clean. I like Roy’s, however I will not return to this location.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We ate at Roy's Waikoloa twice during this vacation to the Big Island and had fantastic meals both times. They have a wild boar rangoon appetizer that was so tasty and flavorful. It was like nothing we've ever tasted before. For dessert, the macadamia nut caramel tart is such a classic and we were so happy to see it on the menu since our local Roy's no longer serves it.

Roy's never disappoints!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Roy's is always a wonderful food experience. I had the pre-fixe and every course was excellent. The hot lava cake was delicious. It is definitely a dessert for sharing. The service staff were very attentive and kind. I had an exceptional evening at Roy's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Awful experience. Coffee shop vib at exorbitant prices. Very mediocre heavily salted over cooked food. We were rushed through our dinner and were out in 45 minutes. Poorly trained robot staff. Definitely not worth going!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Enjoyed the food and service was great. I have many food allergies and they worked with me every step of the way.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

THE PACING OF THE SERVICE WAS VERY POOR FELT Very rushed. We ordered appetizers and drinks at same time appetizers came instantly before drinks, dinner came out before the last bite of apitizer was in our mouth.
You had us in and out of there in under 45 min.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our total experience was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Appetizers good, but not excellent as on previous occasions. Ditto for opa and meatloaf.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Roy's here in Kona didn't measure up to other Roy's properties. Just mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We have dined at many Roys over the years. I was surprised at how much this restaurant felt like a sports bar and diner. Cheap looking tables, bright lights, noisy.

The service was good but rushed. The food was the big disappointing. Very salty.

We would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food at Roys was once upon a time fantastic. While in Hawaii this visit, we went to 2 Roys restaurants and both were just average. Nothing inventive or exciting. Decent but not the Roys we remember.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The meatloaf was so salty which ruined the dish. And I generally like things on the saltier side so that's how salty it was. My husband's ahi seemed pretty good though. The dining area was dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food and exceptional service. From the hostess' greeting until final goodbye, this was a fine dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Delicious meal, beautiful view and outstanding service! Andrew was a great example of Hawaiian hospitality!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Roy's let us down. The service was great, but that's about it. Sitting down, overlooking a small pond, the first thing to greet us were dozens of greasy child hand smudges right in front of us on the glass. Looking around, I noticed it was the same story all the way up and down their windows. Not a single one of the dozens of people working there, especially the manager, had even noticed. We were one of the first couples for dinner service, so it's not as if the restaurant had been completely slammed as we arrived, and no one had been able to get to the windows. This lack of precision and depth would continue the rest of the night.

We selected the Prix Fixe for the evening.

The appetizers were good, but not great. The flavor of the pork used in the fried egg rolls was very nice, but was still covered in a simple fried greasebomb. The sushi was also acceptable, but I could get acceptable sushi anywhere, and the island itself is home to some legendary sushi. Lastly, the ribs. The meat fell off the bone, but was one-noted in flavor. Lack of depth.

My wife's fish was fair, however the lobster aioli was basically the main flavor of the entire dish. The asparagus was cooked to death (one would assume to not be tougher than the fish itself, but to what end?). I had the steamed jasmine pesto fish. The fish itself literally had no flavor. Neither of us finished our entrees.

Desert was OK. The caramel was unfinished, having almost no flavor. My wife's chocolate souffle came out wonderfully piping hot, but the best part of both deserts was the no-doubt store-bought French Vanilla ice-cream served alongside our featured pieces.

During our stay on the island, we had food with more character, depth, and flavor, while paying less than 1/10th the price. For a $200 meal, I expect more. Roy's attempt at fine dining will only fool those who don't leave the resorts, and seems a pale imitation of what its original chefs must have intended guests to experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Lovely table, excellent service, wonderful menu and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 6, 2017

It was my birthday!!! My experience was AMAZING!!! I will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Weddings anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Amazing. Best Filet Mignon I have EVER had. Service was impeccable. The name does not do this place justice. It was a surprise. My wife and daughter's food was equally as impressive. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Curtis

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Having dined at many other Rot's locations it was shocking and sad to find this restaurant so mediocre. This location should be closed permanently or completely renovated. The food quality was horrible, overlooked and barely warm. The ambiance was equivalent to a Carrows. Definitely a black mark on an otherwise good quality restaurant chain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.