Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.

250 Waikoloa Beach Drive E-1
Waikoloa, HI 96738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 886-4321

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
Located at the Kings' Shops Waikoloa there is ample parking right outside

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Local Ingredients (34)
Romantic (34)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Authentic (18)
Scenic View (17)
Waterfront (14)
Casual (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (9)
Healthy (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (6)
Cozy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
1165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The butterfish served in a “sizzling soy sauce” arrived in a refrigerated sauce. Absolutely horrible. Slow service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Very overpriced for ok food and dated ambiance. Was disappointed as far as Roy's goes. We won't be returning. The service itself was good but that's about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

The mahi was disappointing. Too bland. The duck was tough and the potatoes served with the short ribs were cold. The appetizers were fine. Luckily we ordered several for the table. We won’t be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating my husband and daughter's birthday (same day) and Roys was just fantastic. Wonderful food and service!!! We eat Roys in Honolulu frequently, and Roys on the Big Island is just as wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We loved the food. I had the 47$ fish the first on the fish menu. It came with 3 big pieces and I took one home. It was cooked perfectly and the macadamia nut crust was delicious
I
Also had the garden salad - beautiful greens with a very tasty passion fruit vinaigrette
My companion had the ribs and meatloaf
Which came with onion rings and mashed potatoes. He took most of it home and enjoyed it again the next night.
The only complaint was the noise. We should have asked to be seated somewhere else
The service could have been better
Our waitress was very busy and seemed to have a lot of tables to handle

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing but with the open kitchen design an unfortunate incident occurred.
Someone in the kitchen created a spice bomb that drifted through the dining area hitting at least 4-6 tables. Everyone immediately started coughing and tearing up. One member of our party had to go outside the restaurant to get fresh air. Other guests too had to flee outside to stop the coughing. Surprisingly the kitchen did it again a few minutes later, it took awhile for anyone to speak with kitchen.
Sadly nothing was said about it until I got up and went to the hostess, she had been affected too. She apologized, but other than comping 3 desserts (which was a nice gesture), no one came by the table to see if we were okay.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Get the butterfish.
Get the butterfish.
Get the butterfish.
Best fish dish I've ever had in my life.
Get the butterfish.
Any questions?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great meal @ Roy's.
Service very good. Wait staff really hustles!!
Restaurant was extremely loud & noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

As always the food was prepared perfectly. Our server, Courtney took good care of us and kept the crisp white Riesling coming to throughout the meal. We loved the starter of potstickers and don’t miss you the soufflè!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 16, 2018

Not anything close to the expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 16, 2018

40 th Anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2018

The food was mediocre and over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Excellent food. Wonderful service. Great wine list. Our best meal during a two week trip to Hawaii.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2018

The food was mostly delicious except the desserts were a little problematic. The pineapple upside down cake was not fully cooked. And the bathrooms could really use some work. They're awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Roy’s staff delivered an outstanding meal & perfectly nuanced service for our family’s birthday celebration!Can’t thank you enough!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Fun, good food, energetic, nice open kitchen ,great service ,

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Five stars for outstanding food but only three for crummy, loud ambiance. Expensive too. Spent over $100 per person including shared appie and shared dessert. Five star prices but "bar and grill" atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Our dinner was delicious! Meat loaf, so good, Brussel sprouts amazing and desserts that were beyond compare!
My only mark down is because it was so that we wanted to leave early

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 10, 2018

The good is always good here. Well prepared. The waitress was very busy but served us well.

The sitting was the issue. I specifically asked to sit near a window and we were placed at a middle table in a high traffic area with very little view...even though two tables closer to windows sat empty most of our meal. They were quite rude when I asked if we could have the other table. The noise level would keep me from dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Really liked how family friendly this place is. Kids got a 3 course kids menu. One course was a quesadilla, the next was watermelon and carrots with ranch dip and then they chose fish for their entree. Very cool. The adult food was amazing too. Service was great. 2 thumbs up!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 10, 2018

This place is awesome - I have never had a bad experience. Food and service - superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

Very friendly upon entry, quick service and beautiful scenery. We arrived early, right before sunset and were seated right next to the window, so we could enjoy our drinks as the sun set. Small acknowledgements were made as to the occasion we were there for and were regularly checked in on.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Family together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2018

The food was pretty good, potstickers and chicken spring rolls were good, but the ribs were lukewarm at best. My macadamia nut mahi mahi was tasty but overdone and my husband’s crab crusted opah was really large and almost too rich too eat. Overall, it was fine, but not worth us$50 for an entree. In addition, the service, although pleasant, was extremely slow. We were seated at 8:15 and didn’t leave the restaurant until 10:30 and it wasn’t because we were stalling over drinks, we had 2 kids with us! At that price, there must be better local options.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 7, 2018

We have eaten at this Roy’s in the past when we visited Waikoloa. The quality and service have gone down. Based on the service and food quality, I don’t recommend this Roy’s, especially for the price you pay.

The Opah and Salmon were both over-cooked and dry. I’m not sure how a restaurant that specializes in fish could serve over-cooked entrees. Opah is supposed to be moist and succulent. Both Opah dishes were very dry and hard. Same experience for the salmon.

Also, at the beginning of the meal, the service was okay but when a lager table was seated next to us, our server basically forgot about us and focused her attention on the larger table. Had to wait at least 20 min for dessert, waiter didn’t ask if we desired coffee and only checked back once after taking our order.

Don’t waste your money here - very overpriced for the quality of food. Service just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2018

David and Andrew were great. The food was delicious. Great job Roy’s.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Not as good of overall experience as previously at Roy’s. This location is not as nice, and ventilation system could be improved. The food was good, but not what we have come to expect from Roy’s. Felt a bit rushed as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 5, 2018

This was our annual return to Roy’s for Terri’s birthday - we had a lovely table (the best) off in a quiet corner and were well taken care of by our server Courtney and bus boy Josh - Terri enjoyed the butterfish and I the Seared Ahi topped off with the one and only Roy’s lava cake and delicious macadamia tart

And per tradition always a pleasure when manager Arnie came over and made sure our night was just right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 4, 2018

I have been going to Roy's for many years. I really love their food, but agree with a past reviewer that is getting a bit salty. That said, I still loved their food and so did my family. Lava cake is AMAZING and service is always GREAT!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (México)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Muy buena calidad en todo lo que comimos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Service slow and server mixed up our tab. Small portions and way too expensive.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Food and service were incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Very disappointed - been to many other Roys and this one is the worst - save your money
Doesn’t even have a sushi chef in Hawaii - crazy

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2017

It was a Sat night and walk ups had a 2hr wait. Fortunately we had a reservation and they promptly seated us, upon arrival. Our server was excellent...courteous, knowledgeable and attentive. This was particularly impressive since the place was packed. As good as the service was however, you go to Sansei for the food and it did not disappoint. The hot food was cooked just right and the fresh sashimi and nigiri were all superb. The only piece of constructive criticism that I would offer is in the edamame. I personally prefer to be served warm w/a light dusting of sea salt. Sansei serves it cold. Otherwise, the meal was perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Great food . Excellent wait staff. Lots of variety. Waiter was very knowledgeable .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

We found the service impeccable and the food quite enjoyable. The Roy style and infused taste is recognizable. The Mahi Mahi dish was the best and his twist on meat loaf was tasted by all. The Fillet was one of the best we have ever tasted and the desert, pineapple upside down and chocolate soufflé were exquisite. The canoe appetizer was a hit and allowed for some perfect samplers to start the meal. We will return again our next trip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

今回は、コース料理を選びました。特にデザートのスフレに感動しました。家族で行けるレストランとして、おすすめです。

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Roy's is a well oiled machine: professional staff and service. Beef short ribs and scallops cooked perfectly. Lots of families as well as parties of adults. Location at Waikoloa Kings Shops keeps it from being overrun. We will return to Roy's when on the Big Island again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

The air condition was set way too low. Bring extra warm clothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Service was fantastic and food was exceptional. One of our favorite Hawaii restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.