About Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

250 Waikoloa Beach Drive E-1
Waikoloa, HI 96738
View Larger Map

Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Eurasian, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 886-4321

Website:
http://roysrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Located at the Kings' Shops waikoloa there is ample parking right outside

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Hawaii / Big Island
Romantic
Hawaii / Big Island
Special Occasion
Hawaii / Big Island
1 More
Most Booked
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Waikoloa ›

Special Occasion (81)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Romantic (45)
See All
Scenic View (44)
Good for Groups (29)
Notable Wine List (24)
Kid-friendly (23)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Waterfront (7)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
638 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've been coming here for 16 years. Alwa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

I've been coming here for 16 years. Always amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the salmon and was asked how I wante ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had the salmon and was asked how I wanted it done. I like my salmon well done. It came rare and cold in a soupy sauce. Was told it is served cold. It's an entre and was not noted on menu that it is cold or I would not have ordered it. Sent it back and it came back done well but no sauce. Basically I felt like I was being punished for complaining. Asked how I liked my cocktail, which I did not but said I would drink it since I ordered it. Was told it was not a problem that he would take it back and get me something else, which he did, BUT charged me for the other one anyway. Service was great but I will not eat at Roy's ever again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Two of the four of us ordered seared ahi ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Two of the four of us ordered seared ahii. Both orders were returned as overcooked. The second attempt was very good. One person ordered Opah which came at as shoe leather. He was too timid to return it. The fourth person ordered a steak and it was served as ordered. The appetizers were good an well as the desserts. We have been coming here for over 15 years and this was a disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our first Roys experience was at Hawaii ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our first Roys experience was at Hawaii Kali and we were blown away. They set the bar high. When we arrived for our reservation the hostess was busy talking to another employee and did acknowledge us for at least two minutes. We were told our table would be ready in a few minutes, should have been steered toward the bar but weren't. Food was great. Have the short ribs

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Attentive service, great location, ask f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Attentive service, great location, ask for a window table on the lower level, chocolate souffle is to die for!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Where ever we go to a Roys they meet our ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Where ever we go to a Roys they meet our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

When we walked in the restaurant smelled ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

When we walked in the restaurant smelled like rancid cooking oil. My clothes smelled so bad when I left that I had to wash them.

I have never thought Roy's was all that great, but this was my worst experience yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The food and service was great! It was d ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and service was great! It was dark out when we dined but the restaurant sits on a lake with water views during the day time. The prix fixe menu is a great deal if you are ok with the choices offered! We've been to other Roy's restaurants before and the food here is just as good. The only thing you might be disappointed with is the ambiance. It's a little plain looking with dated tables and chairs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service from waiter was excellent but h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Service from waiter was excellent but hostess was not welcoming. Very expensive. Did not enjoy food with the exception of the appetizer.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Always enjoys Roys, on both sides of the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always enjoys Roys, on both sides of the Pacific. Wished that Roy's Waikoloa had one of my favorite mainland Roys salads, the Maui Wowie. I wanted to order one in Hawaiii.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything about Roy's was amazing. The ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Everything about Roy's was amazing. The food was phenomenal. Shout out to Tom, our waiter, who really took really good care of us and made great suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always come back and was surprised to se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always come back and was surprised to see they did a make over. The times they needed it. Now it is quieter and more eye appealing. I still don't know why they put there seared Ahi on a hot plate, it still keeps cooking giving me a less than rare Ahi. Oh well there is always the Butter Fish next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They recently renovated the restaurant a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

They recently renovated the restaurant and looks good modern decor much improved from previous layout

The manager was very friendly and welcoming and they still serve warm bread upon request . But there we some changes to the food which was not an improvement. Butterfish was over sauced and the mahi had a strong fish taste. The appetizers were good and salmon was just like before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Staff friendly, but even with the remode ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Staff friendly, but even with the remodel it is still noisy. Roy's is comfortable and always has interesting, tasty food. Tables are close together so it always seems crowded because it is difficult to move around.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good selection of fresh fish on the menu ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good selection of fresh fish on the menu, however extremely pricey! $48 per entree! One of us had a very good dish of fresh Opah and the other opted for the MongChong which was overcooked and dry and had no sauce so not happy to pay $48 for this! So, very mixed on the quality of the dishes as served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

What we ordered wasn't ehat we thought. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

What we ordered wasn't ehat we thought. we thought that we were getting ribs, but ended up getting pulled pork thats what it tasted like. The best thing out of our evening was the dessert. It wasnt on the list but it was the greatest. It brought back memories of growing up and Christmas time. Our server was good, but if you look at her it seams as if she would have been happier somewhere else.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Every time we come to islands we eat at ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Every time we come to islands we eat at least once or twice at Roy's and the food has always been great. This time we found our Mahi Mahi and Butterfish dinners to be sub par, over cooked. We hope this to be a one time event.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and waitstaff = awesome Loved David ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food and waitstaff = awesome

Loved David and his suggestions

Definitely will be there for Happy Hour again

Try the butterfish and ribs - so so good

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was attentive and friendly. ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The service was attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was quiet and private, with a great view of the lake. The menu appeared to be diverse. The desert we had was very good. However our meals tasted very bland as if no seasoning was used. Based upon the high pricing, the quality of service and fine dining atmosphere, we expected an outstanding meal, but unfortunately we were disappointed, and will likely never go back based upon our experience there.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Excellent experience!! Food was great!! ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Excellent experience!! Food was great!! Butterfish was one of best things I have ever eaten anywhere plus they had a wine I love but hadn't seen in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening. All food was amazing star ...

 
 (Yorkshire)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great evening. All food was amazing start to finish. Recommend the steak.

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was poor relative to what we ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was poor relative to what we expected based on our experiences at other Roy's

(Rancho Mirage and Newport Beach. ) or even Waikoloa a few years ago. It certainly did

Not Match expectations for our sixtieth anniversary celebration dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Arno is unbelievable - we only come 2x d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Arno is unbelievable - we only come 2x during our annual stay - he doesn't miss a table to check on all - both Brendan and ryan did a great job at the bar -

Food is consistently great - nice and quiet dining! Love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Mai tais! Awesome food! Don't ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Awesome Mai tais! Awesome food! Don't miss the chocolate soufflé!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always love the fish trio. This is Hawa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Always love the fish trio. This is Hawaii, so expect higher price. We do however enjoy it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

I was impressed on how well & attentive ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I was impressed on how well & attentive the staff was in ensuring my 9 month old grandson was comfortable which helped to make my daughter & my dining experience a pleasant one. Excellent food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice food - the service is too rushed - ...

 
 (Cambridge)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice food - the service is too rushed - could not believe the waitress was asking for our desert choices even when we had not hit our main dishes- the wine prices are absolute scandal - but again good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

we enjoyed our dinner at Roy's No ligh ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

we enjoyed our dinner at Roy's

No light above out table, waiters should know the origin of seafood.

everything else was great!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was Meh. Fish bland, medium request ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was Meh. Fish bland, medium requested steak that mother in law ordered was rare (which is how I like it but I didn't like it not because it was raw, just not great, definitely not $50 great). Drinks were pretty decent and stronger than they tasted but not very natural flavors. Service was good and the Brussels sprouts were pretty solid.

Recommendation, get a drink, get brussel sprouts and a drink then get the heck out of there before you spend $60 on a dish that is half as good as any poke shack around the corner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Service was bad. Sushi was a disgrace aw ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was bad. Sushi was a disgrace awful! Ribs very salty. Waitress brought me a cracked soufflé! She said sorry I cracked it on the way over. So unexceptable! We told them sushi was not good.. they did not do anything about it. Nothing. You would think Roy Y would make sure all of his restaurants were the same. And consistent. Not! After going to this Roy's it was such a turn off I don't think I will go back to any Roy's again. I will not recommend to anybody. I can name other restaurants that you pay $$$ and get awesome service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Cuisine at Roy's is tops both on this is ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Cuisine at Roy's is tops both on this island at Oahu. We especially love the butterfish--prepared with a tangy glaze, moist and delicious, and the brussels sprouts. Dining at Roy's is noisy and it makes conversation difficult but the quality of the food outweighs that disadvantage. I wish it were more quiet and cozy but you can't beat Roy's for fine dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I really enjoyed their creative dishese. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I really enjoyed their creative dishese.espesally the appetizer for 2 was so much fun to eat! I highly recommed that you choose seafoods. those seasoning they use is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We chose the prefix meal with the wine p ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We chose the prefix meal with the wine pairings & it was way too much food! Should have shared and ordered an extra salad or soup!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy's is always on our list of places to ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Roy's is always on our list of places to go while in town. And, as usual, Arnie and his people worked their magic yet again. Food was amazing as always. Service top notch! Roy's never disappoints !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

the fish was amazing. the place is a bi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

the fish was amazing. the place is a bit busy and our waiter was not very personable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food, service, and atmosphere were all g ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food, service, and atmosphere were all great but for a price. Special note goes to Roy's Keiki course meal that perfectly matches my kids' needs and favorites.

Overall it's the best restaurant in Waikoloa bar none.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were on vacation and wanted to share ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were on vacation and wanted to share a special meal on our last night. We had appetizers, our main dishes, and the chocolate lava cake for dessert. All our food was well prepared and delicious. We have enjoyed Roy's in various cities and have always enjoyed our meals. A great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we are repeat customers! normally we li ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

we are repeat customers! normally we like to eat at the bar, but we were celebrating a birthday so got a table for 3. everything was PERFECT as usual! mahalo!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited a little even though we had a res ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Waited a little even though we had a reservation. Server was kind but it didnt come off genuine. More like, "i better fake a smile"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was delicious and service was top n ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was delicious and service was top notch! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.