About Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

250 Waikoloa Beach Drive E-1
Waikoloa, HI 96738
View Larger Map

Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Eurasian, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 886-4321

Website:
http://roysrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Located at the Kings' Shops waikoloa there is ample parking right outside

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Hawaii / Big Island
Most Booked
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Waikoloa ›

Special Occasion (89)
Fit for Foodies (67)
Romantic (57)
See All
Scenic View (54)
Good for Groups (38)
Notable Wine List (31)
Kid-friendly (30)
Hot Spot (21)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I really enjoyed their creative dishese. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

I really enjoyed their creative dishese.espesally the appetizer for 2 was so much fun to eat! I highly recommed that you choose seafoods. those seasoning they use is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We chose the prefix meal with the wine p ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

We chose the prefix meal with the wine pairings & it was way too much food! Should have shared and ordered an extra salad or soup!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy's is always on our list of places to ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

Roy's is always on our list of places to go while in town. And, as usual, Arnie and his people worked their magic yet again. Food was amazing as always. Service top notch! Roy's never disappoints !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

the fish was amazing. the place is a bi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

the fish was amazing. the place is a bit busy and our waiter was not very personable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food, service, and atmosphere were all g ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food, service, and atmosphere were all great but for a price. Special note goes to Roy's Keiki course meal that perfectly matches my kids' needs and favorites.

Overall it's the best restaurant in Waikoloa bar none.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were on vacation and wanted to share ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were on vacation and wanted to share a special meal on our last night. We had appetizers, our main dishes, and the chocolate lava cake for dessert. All our food was well prepared and delicious. We have enjoyed Roy's in various cities and have always enjoyed our meals. A great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we are repeat customers! normally we li ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

we are repeat customers! normally we like to eat at the bar, but we were celebrating a birthday so got a table for 3. everything was PERFECT as usual! mahalo!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited a little even though we had a res ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Waited a little even though we had a reservation. Server was kind but it didnt come off genuine. More like, "i better fake a smile"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was delicious and service was top n ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was delicious and service was top notch! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I ate here our last night ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I ate here our last night of vacation on the Big Island of Hawaii. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. The food was very well prepared, pleasingly presented and delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They did try three times to get the meal ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

They did try three times to get the meal correct. In the end all was well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. Seating was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food and service. Seating was uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service and family friendly ambian ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great service and family friendly ambiance. Butterfish was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We often go to Roy's in LaJolla as a fav ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We often go to Roy's in LaJolla as a favorite for special occasions. Fortunately there was this one near the Hilton in Waikoloa where we were celebrating our anniversary. It did not disappoint. Very pleased!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great time at Roy's. It is said ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great time at Roy's. It is said that this location still gets attention from Roy himself. So, if you've been to a US mainland Roy's and were not that impressed, this location is better. It has fresh everything. I had the nearly raw seared Ahi. I won't order that at very many places. At this location, it is perfect. My wife had the salmon that was also cooked to perfection. All in all we loved our visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overpriced and nothing to write home abo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Overpriced and nothing to write home about. Limited menu. Very disappointed. Not sure if it is the location, but Roy's was down for having a lot of options, a decent meal with decent pricing. No more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Arnie and his team are the best!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Arnie and his team are the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My first time at this location service w ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My first time at this location service was outstanding food was awesome i will be back :}

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great. It is kid friendly ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was great. It is kid friendly and they are treated to their own 3 course meal. I recommend Roy's to adults or families.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as on Maui. Nice Brussels sp ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Not as good as on Maui. Nice Brussels sprouts, didn't care for their poke- w mayo drizzled & on top of rice. Fish was mediocre - a bit dry & uninspiring sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Friendly & knowledge service . Food was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Friendly & knowledge service . Food was excellent. Little pricey for a glass of house wine & coffee after. Very noisy... Not conducive to a romantic date. I would visit again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The last time I went to Roy's (Kauai) I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The last time I went to Roy's (Kauai) I was blown away by the intricate sauces, fresh fish and amazing service.... on the big island, I was disappointed. The service was still amazing, but the food was just okay... not great and certainly not worth the $50/plate price tag. If you are looking for a special night out and are willing to pay big bucks for okay food, then this is your place. Otherwise, I would go across the street to Lava Lava Beach club or even Macaroni Grill to get more value for your taste buds.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I'm a huge fan of Roy's and have been to ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I'm a huge fan of Roy's and have been to numerous locations both in Hawaii and on the mainland. The Waikoloa Roy's however has the most unfortunate location and ambience. When you come to Hawaii you want to be close to the ocean and if not, at least have a nice outdoor patio and good ambience. This spot is very sterile on the inside and has a view of an ugly man made pond. Definitely doesn't feel like you are in Hawaii. The one saving grace was of course the chocolate soufflé. Roy's still makes the best in the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Like always everything was outstanding. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Like always everything was outstanding. My only gripe was we had a late reservation at 8:15 and when we arrived at 8, the hostess said she won't seat us until 8:15. So we sat starring at empty tables for 17 minutes then she sat us at one of the empty tables when she deemed it was time. We were the only ones waiting for a table too...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Roy's was fabulous from beginning to end ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Roy's was fabulous from beginning to end! The food was amazing, the service excellent and the ambiance was perfect! We will be back next time we are in Hawaii! Very wonderful experience❤️🌴🐬🐢🍍🐠❤️

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Roy's has seem to lost its luster!! ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This Roy's has seem to lost its luster!! I have dined at many Roy's and have come to expect a special dining experience. This Roy's fell short in all areas. I would not waste my money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Have gone here before several other trip ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have gone here before several other trips to Hawaii. It's wasn't as good as usually is. Disappointed that there were things on the menu that weren't available. Food was good. The service was slow. Liked our vist at Roy's on Oahu better...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Good value set menu, quite expensive oth ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good value set menu, quite expensive otherwise and with varying quality. Lovely view and setting though.

Tags: Child Friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We might not be fancy enough for Roy's. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We might not be fancy enough for Roy's. Ha ha. We got the meatloaf and the short ribs, as well as the sampler appetizer. For us, the flavors were off. We didn't taste anything that knocked out socks off and it is quite pricy. We did really enjoy the chocolate soufflé however; that was 5 stars for sure. Delicious and unique. Would love to go back for dessert and coffee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We ate are Roy's back in January as walk ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We ate are Roy's back in January as walk ins and it was absolutely amazing so we thought it would be a worthwhile experience again. Our Daughter who celebrated her 18th birthday in May, asked to hold of on dinner celebrations until we were in Hawaii so we could eat here. We stashed away the $$$ and cut into our grocery budget thinking it would be worth the sacrifice. Boy were we wrong! It was like a completely different place. Food was terrible, service was OK at best for the money, I'd rather have gone anywhere else. Thank God the drinks were good. The Crab cakes were over cooked and somehow, each of our medium-rare Filets was burnt to a crisp on one side with a weird liquid smoke taste that didn't leave our moths for hours. Maybe it was an off night for them as our first experience was one of the best dinning experiences we've ever had, but we won't be bothering to go back a 3rd time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great Food and Service....always a great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great Food and Service....always a great meal at Roys

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We've been to several Roy's restaurants ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We've been to several Roy's restaurants and they are always stellar. Wait staff are very attentive and well mannered, food is always exceptional . It was a value this time because we chose the prix-fix.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reception desk girls were aloof. Our wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Reception desk girls were aloof. Our waiter was just doing his job and nothing more. I had to ask for more water , then ask for a spoon so I could enjoy the sauce on my entree. The bright note was a very friendly bus boy. Our food was good but it's a dining experience that makes a great resturant. I have been to two other Roy's and loved everything about them. This one, however, was a real disappointment .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

The food was incredible!!!! The service ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was incredible!!!! The service was outstanding. Our waiter Lurch and the other staff members ( Hannah,Joshua, Jimmy and the manager Arnie ) all went out of the way to make it an incredible dinning experience. I will eat there every time I'm in Kona. Thanks KC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great time! A ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food, great service, great time! Always enjoy Roy's at Waikoloa!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our 25th anniversary and the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We went for our 25th anniversary and they brought us a special dessert and wrote "Happy 25th Anniversary" in chocolate on the plate. So special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Updated review : July 23 2016 after I po ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Updated review : July 23 2016 after I posted a negative review I received an email from the restaurant manager apologizing for the problem we had and agreeing the waitress and assistant manager should have comped the salad at minimum. He also asked for a phone number to call and personally apologize. He also sent me a very generous gift card to use at a location close to my home or when I return to Hawaii. Therefore I'm updating my review to report the restaurant went out of their way to compensate for the negative experience.

July 17 2016 My kids and I usually love the food, but raw bacon served to a child (or anyone) on a salad, isn't acceptable when paying $50+ for a single entree! Factor in that they didn't comp the salad or anything we ordered, and it became more unacceptable! I've never been to a high end restaurant that doesn't comp a portion of the food even for undercooking a steak or some minor mixup! As a result of the raw meat, and what appears to be indifference by the restaurant, I won't be eating here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

The food was merely adequate. This Roy's ...

vip
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was merely adequate. This Roy's restaurant is not on par with other Roy's locations around the country. The service felt rushed. The overall value here is low, especially since one can find many great dining options at local places on the Big Island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We went here while on vacation. I order ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went here while on vacation. I ordered the price fixed meal and it was delicious and a great value including appetizers and dessert. The fish was delicious. My husband got the Ahi Tuna appetizer and loved it. The Hawaiian Martini was a hit. It overlooks a small lake and has a great atmosphere. I would definitely go back if!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having enjoyed several Roy's locations o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Having enjoyed several Roy's locations on the islands and San Francisco, we chose the Waikoloa location for our final meal on our vacation. What a disappointment! Considering the price of our tab, we would have expected so much more quality. We were happy to see that Roy's had a discounted prix fixe menu for early dinners. If we had paid full price, we would have even gotten more upset. The appetizer for the prix fire was decent, but the ribs were pure fat. For entrees, I had the jade pesto steamed mahi mahi, my husband had the macadamia crusted fish, and my eldest had the salmon. My youngest had the teriyaki chicken from the children's menu. My mahi mahi was bland and flavors were out of synch in the broth which diluted the flavor profile. The pesto was masked and not prominent at all in the dish. My husband's fish was also bland and mediocre. He left feeling unsatisfied and wanting more flavor. My eldest enjoyed the hibachi salmon, which was probably the best meal on the dinner table, but it was just mediocre at most. Lastly, the presentation and taste of my youngest child's choice from the children's menu was laughable. It started with two pieces of cold cheese quesadillas with a small piece of pineapple, followed by three slices of carrots and apple, and chicken that looked like it was poached, accompanied by a side of teriyaki dipping sauce. Considering the children's course was only $13, I was not too upset, but it was the last straw that broke the camel's back of what was supposed to be a pleasurable meal. The only tasty part of our meal was dessert: the chocolate soufflé and the macadamia tart. We'll remember the savory flavors at other restaurants like the Lava Lava Beach Club and Tommy Bahamas (and surprisingly, the completely casual Kona Brewing Company) over overrated Roy's Waikoloa. The saving grace was our attentive server.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.