Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 38 times today

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

4.3
1319 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for Anniversaries
Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 886-4321
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Resort Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Located at the Kings' Shops Waikoloa there is ample parking right outside
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1319 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
3.9
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

Food was amazing, the lady at the table next to us was obnoxiously loud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Exceptional Service and Food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Everything was really good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding meal! The appetizer sampler is amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

I look forward to going to Roy’s every time I come to the big island. It doesn’t let me down in food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

The short ribs were very good, but the potatoes that came with them was cold. It felt we were at a table that was sort of forgotten.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The romaine salad was very refreshing. Pot stickers with peanut curry sauce were spicy appetizer. Ribs melted in your mouth, as well as the butter fish and spearfish. We barely had room to split the chocolate soufflé. Will return to try other items on the menu that sounded delicious. Wait help was excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

This was our second visit to Roy’s. First visit was a little better. The appetizers if salad and dragon fry rolls were good. Drinks were fine. My wife liked her butterfish filet, slightly over-cooked. I had shrimp and ribs. The shrimp were just ok, not much sauce or flavor. The ribs were fatty, but tasty with spicy sauce. The veg and rice were full of gloppy, butter sauce. Not good and too buttery and sweet and off taste.I asked for plain steamed rice and they nicely provided. Roy’s is expensive and the food didn’t reach the cost. The plate was Kind of a mess. We both felt we were done at Roy’s. Not terrible, just ok

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Another great Roy’s experience. Great service, great food, great staff. You can’t go wrong at any of Roy’s restaurants, but the Waikoloa location is our favorite because the staff is so attentive from when you walk in until you leave.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The food was excellent. Great mix of flavors, good portion size. Didn't leaving you feeling heavy. Service was prompt but not hovering. Overall, an excellent experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Wait staff and food prep was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Roy's nevers disappoint, and this time was no exception. The food was superb and delivered to the table cooked as we requested. Our service from our waitress and her team was fantastic. Water and beverages kept filled without asking, we had a chocolate sue flay and a pineapple upside down cake, each requiring 25 to 30 minutes each to prepare, the waitress asked us early in our dinner if we wanted them so it would be ready when we were ready. The food quality was great, and all prepared as we expected, no issues with any aspect of our visit. We had a wonderful time and would surely visit this location again. We had eaten at other Roy's locations and receive similar experiences. Great place to dine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We've eaten at this restaurant several times. The food and service are consistently outstanding. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Lurch was our waiter. He is outstanding and very knowledgeable about wines and spirits. This is our go-to for special occasions. Love it. The chocolate souffle is a must have!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

The food was very good and the service was exceptional. The noise level was very loud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We are an older couple and had the price fixed menu served before 6PM. Each course was
most enjoyable nothing particularly unique but very tasty and a good value. Cannot speak for
the rest of the menu. Ambience was good. We appreciate not having loud music as conversation is important so Roy's is not for those who don't mind talking over music.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Celebrating a fantastic vacation, we decided to have a fantastic dinner. Roy’s was recommended. Perfect for kids with a menu that has food being delivered throughout the entire time you’re there, not just when the parents eat. Loved that. My entree was outstanding and the service was the best I’ve had in Hawaii. Happily recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

This was the first time our kids have been at a “fancy” restaurant. It was a great experience . They enjoyed it very much.
I wish I could buy the pineapple vodka and your coffee. 😀

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Bad space. Boring and old.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We’ve been to Roy’s on Maui as well as the Austin, TX before it close and we have always loved them and this location did not disappoint. The food was phenomenal and our server James could not have made it anymore perfect.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Food was excellent! Service was good, our server was very busy and forgot it was a special occasion until the very end, but other than that it was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Come here every year when we’re back on the big island. This year was especially grand. Our waitress was top notch and the soufflé ending is always amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Decided to go to Roy’s because it was within walking distance from where we were staying. Despite some of the mediocre reviews, thought we’d try it out. And Meh. There is absolutely zero ambiance. Very bright lighting, feels like a touristy family restaurant (which it is). Definitely not romantic or fine dining. Might be ok if you can get a table by the window that overlooks the lagoon. Service was fine - didn’t feel rushed, server even disappeared for long stretches a few times. The food was ok, not great. The chicken spring rolls were tasty and the green salad very fresh. But the signature macadamia encrusted mahi mahi was disappointing, because there was a total of one macadamia nut’s worth of crust. Sauce was ok. The butterfish was very... fishy. The Mai Tais were enormous, so there’s that. Very overpriced for quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Roy’s Waikoloa was a great place to celebrate a special occasion. We love going every chance we get.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

A good restaurant on Big Island. Good choice of wines, fresh food, local vegs

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great food, great service:)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

My family of four were impressed with the high quality of the food for both the adults and the kids. The kids meals were top notch. Typically my kids (10 and 12) order off the adult menu because kids menus are limited with mediocre food. But this kids menu was outstanding! Only $15 for a 4 course kids meal that started just minutes after we sat down. My gluten free son was disappointed that there was no alternative to the flour tortilla quesadilla, but the veggies/fruit, fish entree and dessert made up for it. And the soufflé we got with our fixed plate meal was absolutely outstanding! We’d go again in a heart beat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Great food. Great service. Top quality dining. Yummy!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Horrible dining experience. 20 mins late on reservation. Brought out food in wrong order. Crab cake over died. Super loud neighbors. Waste of $350. I won't make this mistake again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Delicious. So many wonderful flavors!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 29, 2018

This was an absolutely disappointing dining experience. We waited an hour for our appetizers to arrive, then another 45 minutes for our entrees after that. In between we had been talked into ordering dessert, which then took another 30 minutes after we were done with our entrees even though we ordered it an hour earlier. At $50-60 per entree I would expect fabulous food. My macadamia nut Mahi was very bland, while my husband’s swordfish was so salty he could barely eat it. They actually took wonderful, high quality fish and ruined it. I had been looking forward to a special meal and this turned out to be such a disappointment. It is laughably overpriced, I had far better meals at several other places on the big island for HALF the price. I am actually embarrassed I got suckered into this place. Never again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 29, 2018

It was a very expensive meal for rushed service, very little ambiance and the food was good, but not great. Not a special place to eat or anything out of the ordinary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Vacation in Waikoloa and wanted a good dinner

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Dry fish but overall the same value as the rest

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Roy’s was a place for everyone to have a nice meal. The service was excellent and they were very nimble with the menu. A few of us had food preferences and they happily and easily adapted to accommodate us. Hopefully we can come back soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Always good
Best staff-- Courtney is the greatest

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Restaurant too cold. Chairs uncomfortable. Food was served colder than it should have been.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Great food Great service Noise level is hard to deal with for older people

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

We had a sh

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

The best sushi on the Big Island. Make reservations early because this restaurant is busy, busy.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33