Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.

250 Waikoloa Beach Drive E-1
Waikoloa, HI 96738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Eurasian, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 886-4321

Website:
http://roysrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Located at the Kings' Shops waikoloa there is ample parking right outside

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Local Ingredients (52)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Creative Cuisine (50)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Waterfront (37)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Scenic View (28)
Romantic (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Notable Wine List (23)
Business Meals (19)
Authentic (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Casual (16)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
People Watching (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Cozy (9)
Healthy (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
933 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an excellent time at Roy's for our anniversary. The food and the dining experience was amazing

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary. When making the reservation I had asked to have a floral arrangement at the table (which I would be charged for) yet never received a response and to my displeasure, no floral arrangement at the table. That aside, wonderful dinner and ambiance. Service was good - sometimes it felt awkward but our servers heart was in the right place. Very enjoyable evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Very attentive service. Some dishes, i.e. The scallops were cooked to perfection. One member of our party felt that the potsticker appetizer made her ill, and had too much siracha sauce. I guess it all depends on the dish. The atmosphere was average, but nothing special. We did have a nice table with a nice water view.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The restaurant was a disappointment. The food was mediocre at best. I would not recommend it

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Absolutely unbelievable start to finish! One of the best meals I have ever had!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great as always! Whenever we return to our Waikoloa condo, a stop at Roy's is a must. Can't be beat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 12, 2017

My husband had the tack of lamb. Excellent! I had the filet. Cooked perfectly, great flavor but too much gristle. Waiter was a little pushy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We were here on our last night of our honeymoon. We are already frequenters of Roy's in general which is why we knew to go here instead of chancing another place. Our server made it exceptional!! There's a clam dish that had a year ago at that restaurant that wasn't on the menu anymore and I asked why it wasn't there and he had it made for me anyways, steered us away from dishes he didn't think were worth it and other great advice.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 10, 2017

On the Big Island with big portions, big service, and big Aloha!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The wait staff was remarkable and very friendly. Food portions were more than enough. Ladies room was not as tidy as it could be.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Roy's is absolutely one of my favorite restaurants. The service and food is always fantastic. Went for my daughter's 20th birthday and the meal was perfect and the manager even sent a special soufflé dessert over in celebration. It's always a treat when you know that your dining experience is going to exceed your expectations.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Consistently good food, nice wine list, flexible staff. We visit every time we are in the area. Love the chocolate soufflé!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Fantastic ambience, next to a lake front. Food was superb with menu items specific to the Waikoloa location. Price fixe menu added value with a variety of appetizers and desserts. I had the char siu duck which was tender and flavorful. Roy's was the best way to end our Hawaiian vacation!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We always love going to a Roy's. Being from Florida, we eat a lot of seafood. I was just a little disappointed that tonight's menu didn't have a fish we don't get on the East Coast. Husband had the blackened tuna (ahi) appetizer and the butterfish (which is not a specific fish,) and I had the lobster appetizer and seafood stew. Both were great. The only thing criticism I have is that they used salmon in the stew. They added it at the end of the cooking so it didn't fall apart, but the flavor just didn't seem harmonious with everything else in the dish. There was a lot of subtlety and then you have this strong oily fish. It may be a matter of what was available, so it's not a big deal. Overall the broth was wonderful.

Service was great. We got right to our table, had an attentive but not "in your face" server, and got our meals quickly. We were too full for dessert unfortunately. Overall, a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our second visit of the week to Roy's and we were pleased with the experience.

This visit we were eating a bit later; 8:00 p.m. and not quite as hungry as first visit.

As we already had the meatloaf; filet; butter fish and the fish special - we were all impressed with the filet - but split entries, for extra $3.00, we got full veggies and it was just right.

The desserts both visits were excellent.

Roy's service is prompt and attentive and very accommodating. Quality of food topnotch.

Would recommend to all

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Solid--every time. Not all Roy's have the precise same menu--a function most likely of local tastes. But every one I've ever been to maintains the original vibe and tradition. Elegantly presented and precisely crafted island-style items up and down the menu. This Big Island spot had a somewhat smaller menu selection, but there was no compromising on quality. A substantial wine list comprised of most varietals in a respectable price range. And an adjacent water view that is serene and a highlight of the visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We go to Roy's for our anniversary every year. While we are in Hawaii we will go twice during our week long vacation. It is my favorite restaurant by far. The food is always great. The service is outstanding and everybody is extremely friendly. The location is excellent too.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Scenic View, Fun, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Roy's is well established and serves great food. The staff are very good and on top of things. The food comes out super quick. Good if you are short on time. Tables are close together - hard not to hear it all from other guests. Fair value for quality. Quick pace place. The butterfish signature dish is still amazing after all these years! Well done Roy for creating the dish! Mahalo🌴🌴🌴

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Outstanding place to dine ! Service, food and ambiance, all 10+. Would recommend to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Another well crafted, delightful vacation experience. Skilled servers and staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great service and very nice menu

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great service and great food. Ribeye is 12oz which is perfect size

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Very Impressivr. People there made us feel very comfortable.
Old Fashioned was done correctly and the food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food. Always our last meal before we get on the plane to head home.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Unfriendly hostess. Plenty of room to seat at a nice table by the window. Instead, we were stuck at a corner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service was very good. But the miso cooked fish was not fresh and was too heavily coated with miso.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 24, 2017

From the appetizers, to the salad, entrees and dessert everything was exceptional. Service was perfect. Portions were generous and timed well. Wish it was in my backyard and not 2000 miles away.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We went with business associates for dinner while we were on the big island. It was so good, we went back with friends a few nights later. The food, service and especially, the chocolate molten cake, were fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This is the second time in a row we have been disappointed by Roy's. The food just is not good enough for the price. Many other places we have been in the vicinity have had better food at no higher of a price. We won't be going back. Too bad as there is so much potential.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We checked in on time, but then had to wait 25 minutes for our table. But once seated, we had excellent service, even getting a complimentary spring roll appetizer, to make up for the wait!
We had the price fixed menu which offered many selections. The appetizer which had sushi and BBQ baby back ribs, was really good. I had the BBQ short ribs which were wonderful and my husband has fish which he said was good, not great. The chocolate cake with raspberry sauce and vanilla ice cream was excellent!! All in all, a lovely evening, if quite costly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Roys has changed a lot. From price to feeling important as a quest. We had a great view but unfortunately we had a rude table next to us and had to move. Later found out the rude table was the day time host. She should be fired. The manager did comp us a desert to split between 5. The waiter help (bus boy) was wonderful he was a ten.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We always look forward to Roys for our special occasions for at least the last 25 years. They have a butterfish dish that is sooooooo moist and tasty... treat yourself

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very delicious, especially the seafood stew was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We are regular Roys customers both at Hawaii Kai and Waikoloa. Annie the GM is always a warm host. We enjoyed our meal, the service and ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

As usual, the food and service were excellent. Food was properly prepared and timely. Service was excellent. Will go there again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our dinner at Roy's was great. Perfect table looking out over the pond. Lovely service. Excellent for vegetarians, as they will serve any fish dish on the menu with a tofu substitution. Free chocolate souffle for Mother's Day was a very nice surprise! We will return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service by our server and the cocktails were very good. Overall very good dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is our second visit to Roy's in the last couple of months. Recently, we came for my Birthday and the service was impeccable, the evening was lovely, but the food was really uneven. The fried brussel sprouts were overlooked and bitter, and Roy's famous ribs were overdone as well. My Mekajiki was perfect, and my birthday dessert(s) were incredible. We tried again for Mother's Day. Same selections, minus the dessert (not because I wouldn't have loved them, just trying to be a little less indulgent this time). This time the brussel sprouts were great, the ribs were delicious, but my Mekajiki was plated with two different sauces, and the red sauce that evening overpowered the delicate fish. Service was responsive to our feedback and comped the appetizer and it was still a lovely evening. Unfortunately, for the price I'm not sure I'd give it another try. When the food is good, it is stellar, when it's not, it's really a disappointment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We live part of the year right across the lake from Roy's Restaurant, so we've dined there regularly for the past 14 years. I don't know what some of the negative reviewers were expecting, & maybe it was just an off night at the restaurant, but we've never experienced bad service or poor food. We eat out probably 4-5 nights a week when here in Hawai'i & also when at our other homes in 2 other states, & we are fairly particular about food & service & value. Roy's has never disappointed us. There were times in years past that the noise level was a little too high, but the remodel several years ago did wonders for that. And the food has NEVER disappointed. Tonight we had the Spring Rolls & Spicy Ahi Roll to start-- both excellent. Then we had the steamed pesto Monchong and the Fish Trio-- both excellent. And of course, we both had the chocolate lava cake-- both excellent. Our servers were always on top of things & very nice. Yes, it can be a little pricey depending on what you have-- but you should know that going in. Maybe it's not everyone's choice, but we highly recommend Roy's.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very good food and dessert. My wife had seen Roy on one of the TV food shows and said Roy was internationally famous for his cuisine.
His food is first rate my wife and I both had the appetizer portion of the meatloaf. The meatloaf was delicious and more than you would need for one meal.
Our dessert was strawberry crisp served hot with vanilla bean ice cream. It was superb.
I highly recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.