Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.

250 Waikoloa Beach Drive E-1
Waikoloa, HI 96738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Eurasian, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 886-4321

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
Located at the Kings' Shops Waikoloa there is ample parking right outside

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (50)
Local Ingredients (48)
See All
Creative Cuisine (45)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Waterfront (40)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Scenic View (33)
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Worth the Drive (21)
Casual (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Authentic (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Fun (9)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (6)
Tapas (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1001 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful experience! Very accommodating regarding food allergies. Much appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was slower than we normally receive at Roys. We have been long time fans of the restaurant on other islands but this was by far sub-par service and food. We were 2 couples - the ladies food was brought out and it was nearly 10 minutes before the guys food arrived and the fish that was brought out wasn't still hot. When the waiter was flagged down to correct the situation, t
The manager came over and offered a salad for the wait but never apologized for the situation. Upon leaving a bartender was heard sarcastically saying "there goes another satisfied customer". I have truly never been to a higher end restaurant that has treated us so poorly. Would never return to this Roys again nor recommend it to others. Too much money to be treated so poorly. Rarely asked if we wanted another drink or anything additional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 14, 2017

白身魚のマカデミアナッツグリルは、2種のソースとアスパラガスの付け合わせ付き。とてもファンタスティックで今まで食べた事ない味とカミさんも感動していました。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My wife and I are regular Roys diners. Usually, we go to Roys in Hawaii Kai, but, when on the Big Island, we always go to Roys in Waikoloa. The food is always excellent, the service is good and we continue to enjoy our dining at Roys.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

ワイコロア内ではレストランが少ないため、しっかりとした料理が食べられるこのお店は貴重。フィレミニオンとロメインサラダが非常に美味しかった。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The service was great, so was the food, although my filet was cooked a little more then I requested but everything else was wonderful. Staff are very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Nice tourist spot...great people who were very helpful with gluten free choices

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Roy's was recommended to us by a former Hawaii resident. We we're staying in the area at a resort and wanted to try someplace outside of the resort. We loved Roy's!! The service was awesome and the food was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Good food but expensive for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Treated like we were in a low priced fast food environment. Servers couldn't get us out of there fast enough. Roy sold out. Shame on him. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our meal was delicious and our server was knowledgeable and friendly. Will return for sure!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always Outstanding 😄

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Consistent good food. Service tonight a little off but usually very good. Prix fix menu option a great value for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wonderful service and great menu selections. The local fish dishes were prepared very well. Chocolate soufflé did not disappoint

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Sadly this was not our best experience at Roy's. We've been to other Roy's locations, but this was our first time at Waikoloa. The wait staff and support were amazing. However, it seemed to be short-staffed in the kitchen, as it took about 45min from the time we ordered to get our food. We dined with our 2 teenagers, and we're celebrating my husband's birthday. It's not that we were in a rush, but I felt like that was a long time to wait. In addition, my vegetables came out first, then my appetizer salmon. About 10 min later the carrots came. It was weird, and not coordinated correctly. The waitress was professional & kind and they removed the price of the vegetables, which I appreciated. Honestly, our main reason for returning to Roy's is their signature chocolate souffle for dessert. That was a home-run like usual! However, it certainly wasn't a memorable meal for the price Roy's charges. Dining is very expensive in Hawaii, but I don't mind paying that much, so long as the food is superb & special, like other restaurants we ate at on the Big Island. We had such a nice experience at Roy's in Kaanapali Beach, but unfortunately the Waikoloa experience at $225 didn't live up to our hopes.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was the only bad diner we ever had at a
Roy's. My wife ordered lamb chops, and when it came out, the server told us that it was noticed the portion was small, and they would be coming out with additional lamb chops in a few minutes. Well the additional lamb chops came out about 25 minutes later when we was completely finished with out meal. They asked if we wanted them to go, which we declined. They took off one appetizer to compensate, but this completely ruined my wife's meal. How do you serve the entre if you know it's missing a part of it??? Would never go back to this Roys.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Roy's Waikoloa is one of the better restaurants in the area. Service, food is great. We had a party of 5 and ordered 8 different appetizers with 2 main dishes. It worked out well. We all had a chance to have a different variety. We also had 4 different desserts! Desserts ay Roy's is a must. Always make sure you leave room for desserts when dining at Roy's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

おいしくいただきました

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 1, 2017

As usual, the service and food were great! They maintain staffing levels that allow excellent and attentive service for all of their customers. We have no complaints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our table was right next to the kitchen area and was very noisy. Hard to carry on a conversation. The food was outstanding, but the service was slow at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Appetizers subpar (sushi worst I ever had). Steamed Opah entree excellent. Lava cake good. Service awkward. Better ventilation needed...left the restaurant smelling like food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Literally the best meal we had ever had! Made for a great end to our honeymoon in Hawaii!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Roy's is overrated and overpriced. We had much better meals in other Hawaiian restaurants. Reminds me not to dine in chain restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Roys is always consistent. Good food and good service. Wish they would expand the cocktail menu. Poke is excellent and the fixed menu option is a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This is the second time we have been back to this particular restaurant, seriously amazing food, every time we have had the set menu and my wife also selected the matched wine offering, so good, struggled to finish it, highly recommended :)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Menu has not changed for years. So, no surprise, any more.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 23, 2017

After a quick checkin we were seated by the water. We ordered an Appetizer of dragon roll and it was very flavorful. I ordered the fish trio which consisted of salmon, monchang, and Mekajiki. The sauces that complemented each fish was distinct with a sweetness or a savory as was planned by the chef.

Roy's has a great wine selection and we had an Opolo Albariño with our dishes. The wine was crisp, and had a stone fruit character to it which went real well with our selections for dinner.

A nice way to celebrate a birthday and would be highnon the list of restaurants for a nice place for dinner for a special occasion or just looking for something nicer than a brewpub or food truck.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

It was our 25th anniversary. The service and food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service was excellent and food was tasty. Prices seemed higher than what I remember at the original Roy's in Hawaii Kai.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Been coming here for the last 15 years when I'm on the Big Island. Never disappoints and always great food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Outstanding service and recommendations by the staff. Menu adjusted daily for local seafoods but also variety of meats served as well. A++

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

While you may have experienced Roy's restaurants on the mainland, you will be pleasantly surprised by the outstanding food at Roy's Waikoloa. The food, every bit of it, was totally memorable from the sushi rolls to the short ribs. Even the edamame was among the best we've ever tasted. Prices are high, so reserve this for a special occasion or to highlight your vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was very good. Service was impeccable and the desserts were incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were last on the Big Island, and at Roy's, at least 10 years ago. Back then it was special. Now it's meh. The food is good, as you'd expect for the price, but not fantastic. The atmosphere is lackluster. The hostess couldn't care less. We had a more enthusiastic reception at Romano's later in the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Went to Roy's for a nice dinner while in Hawaii and was disappointed. The food was good not great, the service was very good but there were a number of tables with children that were out of control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The dinner was excellent unfortunately the air conditioning was set way too freeze one out of the restaurant! This meal was in Hawaii one might expect warmth! It's the tropics!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Always love Roy's. Went to Roy's in Poipu on Kauai. Also in California at several locations. Waikoloa was wonderful! Good appetizer, Prix fixe choices and great fish!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great place and they had chicken teriyaki with sticky rose for my granddaughter---her favorite. Loved the experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Roy's was our go to restaurant in Hawaii. Not this time. We understand the cost is expensive. However, the food was not worth the value.
Will not be back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food great service nothing but awesome! We will be back 😁

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.