About Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

250 Waikoloa Beach Drive E-1
Waikoloa, HI 96738
View Larger Map

Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Eurasian, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 886-4321

Website:
http://roysrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Located at the Kings' Shops waikoloa there is ample parking right outside

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill, Waikoloa, HI
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill, Waikoloa, HI
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill, Waikoloa, HI
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill, Waikoloa, HI

Report a photo problem

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Local Ingredients (31)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Romantic (22)
Waterfront (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Scenic View (14)
Casual (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Business Meals (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Authentic (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (7)
Cozy (6)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Made us wait 20 minutes after reservatio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Made us wait 20 minutes after reservation time. Each course of meal had 10 minutes of dead time in between. Fish was over cooked. Ridiculously over priced for food/service. My cocktail arrived with lipstick on the glass, just to make the meal even worse.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Great dining experience with my wife. We ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great dining experience with my wife. We ate light...enjoying the appetizer for two and a couple of sides. Oh yes, and very tasty sourdough.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic fish and drinks! It's pricey, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic fish and drinks! It's pricey, but well worth it for the flavors and satisfaction you experience. The mac nut colada was incredible!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The host and hostess are to be commended ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

The host and hostess are to be commended for their attention to detail. The food was impeccable.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food and service! Little pricey f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service! Little pricey for everyday but had a great night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten at Roy's for years - first v ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We've eaten at Roy's for years - first visited this location 21 years ago - and have always loved it. We just keep coming back. However, recently Roy's has seemed to become rather boring, with uninspiring menu choices peppered by their "classics" - which are not nearly as good as they used to be. While Roy's is still a good meal, particularly the soufflé for dessert, and the service is always phenomenal, we feel there are better options in the area for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Roy's at Waikoloa, like Roy's in Waikiki ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Roy's at Waikoloa, like Roy's in Waikiki and even in Baltimore remain among our favorite restaurants. Especially in Hawaii, there is an emphasis on local ingredients and you can count on several great fish offerings. New on this visit (at least we don't recall it from our last visit several years ago) was a 3 course Prix Fixe menu with our without wine pairings, a particularly good value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So sad that my fish was overlooked. It w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 12, 2017

So sad that my fish was overlooked. It was a signature dish that the chef recommended to be cooked medium, and it was way overdone. Otherwise good was good, other fish meals were cooked appropriately and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely wonderful dining experience. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Absolutely wonderful dining experience. Table overlooked the water! Great mai tai's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Price Fixe menu was fabulous. Fish extre ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Price Fixe menu was fabulous. Fish extremely tasty and chocolate soufflé great.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was extremely slow. Waiter didn' ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Service was extremely slow. Waiter didn't even take our dinner order until we had finished with our appetizers. The bus boy was great but the overall experience was nothing like the other Roy's locations we have visited (Ko Olina and Kaanapali). We won't be back and definitely won't recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Seems like the prices have really shot u ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Seems like the prices have really shot up the past year. The food was great but too pricey. Not sure if we'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We were on the Big Island of Hawaii for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were on the Big Island of Hawaii for 6 days and ate out every meal. This was the best food that we experienced for our entire vacation. Waitstaff was energetic, fun and knowledgeable. Food was fantastic with lots of choices. Drinks were great too.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fast service and the staff were su ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great fast service and the staff were super friendly and made our dining experience easy with two toddlers!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, , Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great server but food took a long time t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great server but food took a long time to arrive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Our server could not have been more plea ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our server could not have been more pleasant or more helpful.

Best mai tai's ever, and the best dinner and dessert we have had in a long time!

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Casual, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great as always. One of our be ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was great as always. One of our best meals on the island. Our server was wonderful. She is from Marin County too! I have to say that the room was a huge let down. It was boring and plain. Maybe it has a good view during the day but night time is just plain white walls. Nothing Hawaiian about it. However, my husband said they make the best Old Fashions he ever had! We would go back if back on island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Loved it! Yes, it's a splurge, especiall ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Loved it! Yes, it's a splurge, especially for us Canadians with the exchange rate, but what a fabulous dinner. Even for our girls (9 & 12), they said it was their new favorite restaurant - love that a "fancy" restaurant caters to kids, they had food delivered to them within minutes of seating, and then got their own "tasting menu", including beef short ribs. I ordered the adult tasting menu, with wine pairings. Outstanding! We go out a lot, and have high expectations, especially when spending a lot, and this exceeded my expectations. You have to go if you are near Waikoloa.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a terrible experience, the food w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It was a terrible experience, the food was not fresh and ridiculously over priced.

The fish was smelly and very fishy, the meat had a pre frozen flavor. Stay a way. A classic tourist trap on steroids.

The server however try to do their best to apologies and write 2 items off the bill.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

It is VERY cold inside while it is very ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It is VERY cold inside while it is very warm outside. This is the most unfortunate situation. We would visit Roy's much more often if I did not have to suffer through being cold while we are there. Layers and/or warmer clothes are not an option when one is in Hawaii.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

I was extremely disappointed by the food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I was extremely disappointed by the food, the presentation of the food, the atmosphere. I have been at several Roy's restaurant in Hawaii. It doesn't compare to the one on the isla

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We got seated at a table that was split ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We got seated at a table that was split apart to make more small tables. The other patrons were right on top of us and might as well have been at same table. It was very noisy and frenetic. The food was average to good but overpriced for the experience. First and last time to a Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

One of our favorite Roy's. Great happy h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

One of our favorite Roy's. Great happy hour pre-fixe option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

On vacation in Hawaii and celebrated bir ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 15, 2016

On vacation in Hawaii and celebrated birthday.

EXCELLANT CUSTOMER SERVICE AND FOOD WAS DELICIOUS!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we come to the Hawaiian islands we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

When we come to the Hawaiian islands we always treat ourselves to a nice dinner at Roy's and we are never disappointed. Sometimes it's a bit loud but the food is oh so good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Way overpriced for subpar food

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Way overpriced for subpar food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Our favorite item is the molten lava cak ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our favorite item is the molten lava cake dessert - a must for chocolate lovers. Food is always excellent but this trip we waited quite a long time for entrees and even longer for dessert - after 30 minutes we had to complain and were comped for coffee and dessert but still disappointed with service delay.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

You still can't go wrong with Roy's, a s ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 5, 2016

You still can't go wrong with Roy's, a staple in island cuisine. However, the location is barely satisfactory for a rare rainy night and the menu has failed to stay dynamic, especially for the prices. Best values are apps/sushi, salads and 5-6pm prix fixe menu- goes down to $48. Also, no one treats kids better- with quick, repeated snacks to a great menu, so smart place for kids to experience 1st formal sit down dining, or one special meal on vacation. "From the Land" menu now exceeds the quality of the fish entrees, especially the short ribs and even the Meat Loaf. F's- The double/over saucing of the potstickers is a disaster. Ribs and duck were no where close to Napua's/The Beach Club at Mauna Lani, still good but not at this price. The staples like the Butterfish, Salmon and Scallops remain melt in your mouth yummy. Local catch entrees fail to impress. The chocolate soufflé dessert is still great but really, same old. Upside down pineapple has gone down hill- we've had better caramelized pineapple on pizza and consider sub vanilla for cinnamon or caramel ice cream to get some flavor out of the lazy effort. Most entrees now $45-50+ so hard to get out of here under $75pp

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The opah was fantastic and the fried sus ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The opah was fantastic and the fried sushi roll was awesome. Great service all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Expected a lot more based on previous ex ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Expected a lot more based on previous experience. Portions too big, we were on holiday so cannot take doggie bag home. Service was over the top, every time I took a sip of wine they were right there to pour more in the glass. Didn't feel like we were there to dine , more like eat and go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The Ahi was fantastic the opa and butter ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The Ahi was fantastic the opa and butter fish for my mom anwife came out dry rubery and taisted aweful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

A good value with the early dining menu, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

A good value with the early dining menu, but the fish was tough, although a large portion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Apps were excellent. my wife and i had f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Apps were excellent.

my wife and i had fish for the main course. both were overcooked and dry.

the sauce was delicious, but i would expect the fish to be cooked correctly for these prices.

Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Wonderful experience - extraordinary foo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Wonderful experience - extraordinary food and great service. We had the prix fixe dinner, which was an excellent value for the money. The apps were delicious, the main course was a large piece of opah with the most delicious sauce, and the molten lava cake for dessert was beyond decadent. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dined at Roy's on our way to the airp ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We dined at Roy's on our way to the airport but were not rushed in any way. In fact we were around 45 minutes earlier than our reservation, but had no problem fitting us in. While pricey but should note casual, the food and service was excellent and a very good dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Roy's to celebrate a birthday ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went to Roy's to celebrate a birthday and we had a great time. Our server was very efficient and the timing of our food was perfect. He even brought out the dessert menu before the entrees because some of the desserts can take up to 30 minutes to make (we ended up choosing two of them). My wine glass was never empty, and my Pepper Crusted Big Island Ahi with Sweet Potato puree was to die for!! Definitely looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the level of service or food I have ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Not the level of service or food I have received at other Roy's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Last year we visited this location of Ro ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Last year we visited this location of Roys and found it busy, frenetic service and the food couldn't make up for what was lost in ambiance. This recent visit evaporated all memories of ou last visit. All 4 of us enjoyed a cocktail followed by the tasting menu. The prix fixe menu offers an appetizer sampler, 3 tempting choices of mains and a choice of 2 desserts. This isn't really a choice when one dessert option is the chocolate lava cake - an absolute must!

We enjoyed our meal so much we have already booked again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Although we didn't eat there I gave them ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Although we didn't eat there I gave them poor ratings in every category. We had a 9:15 reservation. My son's flight was slightly late so I called to let them know. The snippy hostess told me that they stop serving at 9:30, so I said we would arrive as soon as possible. We were at the hostess desk at 9:34. A friendly waitress said she would do her best to accommodate us, and went to speak with someone. But, the hostess rudely announced that they were closed, and could make no exceptions. We had originally planned to eat there another evening too, but everyone in our party vetoed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Roys was what you would expect from a Ro ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Roys was what you would expect from a Roys. We have been to a lot of Roys from California to Hawaii and the food is always excellent. We all ordered fish except for my son he had a steak and it was done perfectly as was our fish. We all had pineapple martinis and chocolate soufflés it was a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.