Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.

250 Waikoloa Beach Drive E-1
Waikoloa, HI 96738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Eurasian, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 886-4321

Website:
http://roysrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Located at the Kings' Shops waikoloa there is ample parking right outside

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Creative Cuisine (38)
Local Ingredients (37)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Waterfront (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Romantic (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Scenic View (21)
Casual (16)
Authentic (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Fun (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Business Meals (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Healthy (11)
People Watching (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
843 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great seafood, short ribs, wine list and desserts! We were also pleasantly surprised by the healthier kids meal options... best meal on the island for the kids so far!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Fish entrees were very good, but apps were no better than Trader Joe's frozen stuff, drinks were not great, the chocolate souffle was nothing special, and the entire place was decorated like a bland hotel lobby. Located in a resort shops area so no view at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Roys is consistently good, but for the price, there is an expectation that you will be receiving the highest quality ingredients available. The last few times we went, almost all the fish on the menu was farmed. Overall, this last experience we has was a good one, but in comparison, the menu at Merrimans in Waimea was more extensive, more flavorful, and all local and sustainable. For our last dinner on the island, we probably would had preferred to return to Merrimans rather than Roys.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent, had the prix fixe menu so the three course meal was reasonably priced. We had a flight to catch, the kitchen accommodated out short time line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

After reading other reviews I was expecting a great meal. This fell short of expectations as far as the food. The only really good thing we got was a Brussels sprout appetizer. We ordered off the pre fixe menu and were disappointed all around. The appetizer was a sampler of a rib, spring roll & tuna sushi roll. All three were just so-so. The spring roll tasted like one I can buy in the frozen section of my local mega mart. The rib was odly seasoned and left me tasting an unnatural liquid smoke flavor in my mouth after I tried it. The sushi roll was bland with a tiny bit of fish with a whole lot of rice. As for our main meal-we ordered the macadamia nut crusted fish. The fish was good but the sauce was bland and the macadamia nut crust wasn't really a crust but just some chopped nuts hanging on the top of the fish. It was good but for the price you can do much better than Roys. Our deserts were the macadamia tart and the chocolate soufflé. The tart was good but overly sweet-sickening sweet. The soufflé was yummy rich chocolate but texturally not the same as a true great soufflé. You know your going to get a good one when you have to order it in advance-with Roys they are ready on demand. The quality of a pre-made soufflé suffers. Overall, not a bad meal but for $100 per person-I expect better. If your going to do only one or two meals in this price range while on vacation-eat at Merrimans in Waimea. The same price range as Roys but better in every way.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

My shrimp were under cooked and bland, and the ribs were tough (cooked too fast). My wife's salmon was served raw even after asking that it be cooked well. Totally uninspiring food. Prices are the same as the really good places such as Brown's Beach House, or the Canoe House. This is a tourist trap...with good service, poor food, and a lousy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Yummy love the appetizers! Asian fusion at its finest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Last night on the Big Island

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was amazing.. The people who worked there was very attentive and nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was good as always. Prices have gotten non competitive. Price fixe now up to $69. Won't be returning until they come back to reality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Have eaten hear a number of times, but the food last time was disappointing. The duck this time was fatty and the hot mustard drizzle obscured the flavor of the meat. Many of the appetizers contain cilantro, to which I'm allergic, though you have to ask since there is no indication on the menu and the items are not those in which that herb is normally found. The lava cake remains a must for chocolate lovers.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Fabulous as always! Love the canoe appetizer, butterfish, Brussels sprouts and baby back ribs! Oh and of course the chocolate raspberry goidness for dessert!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food prep, flavor, and value. Unfortunately, atmosphere noisy and not relaxing, not romantic. Greasy odor.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome as usual!

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food. Historically have had great service. Tonight service was horrible. Waiter was too busy with friends at another table. Waited 25 minutes for dessert even after asking on status.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I've eaten here many times before and have never been disappointed. Service is always outstanding and the food delicious. The macadamia nut tart is sublime

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 8, 2017

One of my favorites in Waikoloa! The staff is always so friendly and accommodating. The food incredibly delicious and creative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

While this restaurant is rated highly in Waikoloa, we were so disappointed. I ordered the butterfish and my husband ordered meatloaf. Neither were edible. We received apologies from the staff and the cost of both entrees were deducted from the final bill. We've been to Roy's on Ouahu and the food at that location is much better. When back on the Big Island, will not be visiting Roy's, and despite the great reviews would not suggest a visit. You'll be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We have dined at Roy’s on several occasions over the years and unfortunately we agreed, after last night’s experience, that the quality of the food and the ambiance have declined. While we loved the frying dragon sushi roll appetizer, my husband’s steamed ono and my mekajiki (swordfish) were both slightly overcooked. Taking into account Hawaii pricing, we still felt the meal was overpriced. Our server was prompt, friendly and attentive. Despite the high noise level, it would have been a pleasant evening except for the arrival of a loud, drunken, obnoxious party of six who were seated next to us about halfway through our meal. They teased our server in a way that I found embarrassing and quite rude, although she took it very well. We hastened to finish our meal and we paid at the hostess stand rather than enduring any more of the “ambiance” than absolutely necessary. The manager and server were duly apologetic, and noted that they had received a similar complaint from another nearby table. However, we felt that in the interest of the surrounding diners, the Obnoxious Drunken Ones should have been asked once to tone it down and if they failed to do so, then they should have been courteously but firmly escorted out. With all the excellent dining opportunities in the area, we probably will not be choosing Roy’s again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Wonderful meal. Short ribs were delicious, as was the fresh Opah. The service was very attentive and not bothersome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My wife and I ate at Roy's for a nice romantic evening. The service was top notch. The food was even better! My wife had swordfish and I had mahi mahi.

Keep up the great work. We will definitely be back next time we are on the Big Island.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We enjoyed the excellent food, atmosphere and service. Will recommend to others.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great food! I loved my scallops and SO loved his Mahi Mahi

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We celebrated our 30th anniversary and Roy's staff was very attentive and friendly.
The meal was excellent and was the service.
Thank you Roy's!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always a great meal with exceptional, attentive (but not intrusive) service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Solid food, kinda loud and busy, worth the price. Fish is probably the best choice.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 25, 2017

From walking into the door until leaving..staff was courteous. The food was awesome and also the drinks. A bit on the pricey side.. but the food was well worth it! Will comeback.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This was our first trip to roy's on the big island. We have visited all of the other island locations so our expectations were high. As expected we were blown away by the food and service. My wife had the price fixe which included an app sampler, the monchang entree and the lava cake. I had the ahi poke, roy's triple seafood and cheesecake from the main menu. Every dish was presented beautifully ,the meal was delicious and our server attentive. We can only dream of having a roy's in NYC .

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The Seared Diver Scallops were excellent and so was the peppercorn crusted Ribeye, highly recommend both! Our appetizer was the Crisp pork potstickers and they were delicious as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I have been to several other Roy's and they all have been fantastic. Amazing food, great service, charming atmosphere. So we were looking forward to another wonderful evening. The bad vibes started when we checked in and the host told us, in an unfriendly tone, that despite the fact that we had a reservation we would be "waiting a long time." This was said without any kind of apology. When we asked how long, he just repeated a long time.

When we were finally seated our waiter was friendly, but when my husband pointed out he didn't have a fork, he said he'd take care of it and then disappeared for over 5 minutes while the food was cooling. Likewise, our appetizer was brought out without plates to eat it on. My Ono was dry and tasteless, while my husband's fish was excessively rich. At least my son enjoyed his teriyaki chicken.

Finally there are multiple tv's showing sports games in this location. While that is fine in a pizza place, I found it off putting in a high end restaurant.

I would definitely go back to Roy's in Maui and Kauai where I have had fantastic meals, but I would never go back to this location. It is not on par with the rest of the chain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Appetizers- crab cakes were deep fried. And had no flavor. The sushi roll also deep fried. Mostly rice no flavor. The main course. Seared ahi tuna was a good portion size and slightly above average flavor. the scallops were average. Very pricey overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Underwhelming. Restaurant is at a mall overlooking pond with condos across the way. None of the appetizers, salad, soup nor dessert were that great. Disappointed. Expensive. Don't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

While it is a bit noisy the food is always excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Ok all the way around but expensive for what you get especially considering the dated decor. Food was solid, good portions, great service. Nice wine list. Need to update the space plus offer less oily more healthy options. Other Roy's locations have been much better (mostly in ambiance).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We looked forward to going to Roy's as a highlight of our trip and unfortunately there was zero ambiance in a fabulous place like Kona. The food was adequate at best- deep fried vegetables, really? We have been to Roys on previous occasions to enjoy Asian fusion with fresh ingredients and spectacular presentation, there was none of that. The price for what we were served was extremely expensive and simply not worth it-it was a huge disappointment, we will not ever go back to Roy's. If I want fast food I will go elsewhere and save my money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We arrived earlier at opening time and at first the young attendant would not acknowledge our reservation for 6:30 and indicated that we would need to wait 1+1/2 hours! The restaurant was empty when we arrived! When we said we would go somewhere else, he changed his mind and accommodated us!
We had a young waiter who was very very pleasant and attentive. The food was very tasty. The main course butter fish, however, arrived luke warm and "fishy" and the side dish of spinach was extremely salty. We elected to return these and the catch of the day was far far superior and fresh and immediately served to replace the butter fish.
Desert (chocolate soufflé) is one we would recommend to all.
Thank you

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We've eaten at several Roy's. This one is similar, but lacks ambience. There's really not much space and there is a feeling of tightness.

The food was good. Same menu for years which quite frankly is getting boring. No sides to order which was disappointing. Chocolate souffle was wxcellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food and our server were very nice. Ambiance is definitely lacking. Host seemed a bit mechanical, we did not feel we were at a special place. Felt like a chain restaurant, which we did know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Roy's is a somewhat expensive but worth-it-for-the-right-occasion restaurant. The food and service are excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.