About Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

250 Waikoloa Beach Drive E-1
Waikoloa, HI 96738
View Larger Map

Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Eurasian, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 886-4321

Website:
http://roysrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Located at the Kings' Shops waikoloa there is ample parking right outside

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (34)
Local Ingredients (34)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Worth the Drive (20)
Romantic (20)
Waterfront (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Casual (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Scenic View (15)
Authentic (15)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Business Meals (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Healthy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
811 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our first trip to roy's on the big island. We have visited all of the other island locations so our expectations were high. As expected we were blown away by the food and service. My wife had the price fixe which included an app sampler, the monchang entree and the lava cake. I had the ahi poke, roy's triple seafood and cheesecake from the main menu. Every dish was presented beautifully ,the meal was delicious and our server attentive. We can only dream of having a roy's in NYC .

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

The Seared Diver Scallops were excellent and so was the peppercorn crusted Ribeye, highly recommend both! Our appetizer was the Crisp pork potstickers and they were delicious as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been to several other Roy's and they all have been fantastic. Amazing food, great service, charming atmosphere. So we were looking forward to another wonderful evening. The bad vibes started when we checked in and the host told us, in an unfriendly tone, that despite the fact that we had a reservation we would be "waiting a long time." This was said without any kind of apology. When we asked how long, he just repeated a long time.

When we were finally seated our waiter was friendly, but when my husband pointed out he didn't have a fork, he said he'd take care of it and then disappeared for over 5 minutes while the food was cooling. Likewise, our appetizer was brought out without plates to eat it on. My Ono was dry and tasteless, while my husband's fish was excessively rich. At least my son enjoyed his teriyaki chicken.

Finally there are multiple tv's showing sports games in this location. While that is fine in a pizza place, I found it off putting in a high end restaurant.

I would definitely go back to Roy's in Maui and Kauai where I have had fantastic meals, but I would never go back to this location. It is not on par with the rest of the chain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Appetizers- crab cakes were deep fried. And had no flavor. The sushi roll also deep fried. Mostly rice no flavor. The main course. Seared ahi tuna was a good portion size and slightly above average flavor. the scallops were average. Very pricey overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Underwhelming. Restaurant is at a mall overlooking pond with condos across the way. None of the appetizers, salad, soup nor dessert were that great. Disappointed. Expensive. Don't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

While it is a bit noisy the food is always excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Ok all the way around but expensive for what you get especially considering the dated decor. Food was solid, good portions, great service. Nice wine list. Need to update the space plus offer less oily more healthy options. Other Roy's locations have been much better (mostly in ambiance).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

We arrived earlier at opening time and at first the young attendant would not acknowledge our reservation for 6:30 and indicated that we would need to wait 1+1/2 hours! The restaurant was empty when we arrived! When we said we would go somewhere else, he changed his mind and accommodated us!

We had a young waiter who was very very pleasant and attentive. The food was very tasty. The main course butter fish, however, arrived luke warm and "fishy" and the side dish of spinach was extremely salty. We elected to return these and the catch of the day was far far superior and fresh and immediately served to replace the butter fish.

Desert (chocolate soufflé) is one we would recommend to all.

Thank you

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We've eaten at several Roy's. This one is similar, but lacks ambience. There's really not much space and there is a feeling of tightness.

The food was good. Same menu for years which quite frankly is getting boring. No sides to order which was disappointing. Chocolate souffle was wxcellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and our server were very nice. Ambiance is definitely lacking. Host seemed a bit mechanical, we did not feel we were at a special place. Felt like a chain restaurant, which we did know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food, wonderful drinks and wonderful wait staff! Excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I have dined at Roy's in Waikoloa in previous visits to the Big Island. I also lived in Tampa, Florida for 10 years and frequented the Roy's there. This was my worst dining experience. The menu choices seem to have been reduced. The food was marginal at best. My wife's fish was overcooked even after a discussion with the waiter about how to prepare it. The prices were the highest I experienced on the island. You can do much better at many other restaurants. Roy's needs to get back to its past quality. Not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Roy's has a great reputation. Unfortunately, this visit the food wasn't quite up to par, a bit variable. We were also seated in a back corner, even though we had reservations in advance, and the restaurant wasn't packed. If you visit, request a window table near the pond. Diasappointing, at this $$$$ price point.

I had the fresh catch - Macadamia encrusted MahiMahi, which was a bit over done. Good, not great, which is what I expected for Roy's. Fortunately, my partner's entree - the short ribs - was excellent.

Not likely to return soon.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food was awesome..........would recommend to everyone

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nice place, good food, make sure you get a table out front away from the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We've long enjoyed Roy's on our visits to the Kohala coast. The mix of long time favorites and inventive new dishes meant that we usually dined there twice during our weekl long stay in the area. We've never been disappointed that n over 15 years - until now. We were quite surprised to learn that there are no longer any specials and that, instead, the menu is now printed daily. "Printed" is the operative word here. While they might print it daily, rarely does it change unless something is not available like, say, scallops. So, we've cancelled our reservation for the 17th and instead will try something else. I have no doubt we can find creativity elsewhere - particularly at $50+ do an entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As usual, Roy's Waikoloa was great. The service was perfect as was the food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We've been coming to Roys on the big island every time we visit for the past 20 years. Never once dissapointed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ambiance was very pleasant; food was very inconsistent (butterfish was great but monchong was over cooked & potatoes undercooked). The appetizers were yummy (potstickers & Brussels sprouts) and the Muscadet perfect. Appreciated the offer of an ice bucket for wine. The back waiter was very good and personable, the runner (I politely asked for my potatoes to be cooked a little more & he practically flung them on the table) not so great. I didn't dare ask for the monchong to be redone (since it was very overcooked)... so, at $52, perhaps the server should ask how you'd like it prepared (medium, medium well done). We would return to the restaurant for appetizers and wine at the bar, as the ambiance is nice for that kind of dining. The decor is much improved since the last time we were there, too. It's quieter and not so frantic.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

2/11/2017. Typically wonderful Roy's experience. Crab cakes, Mac nut crusted fish and short ribs all great. The asparagus was just a little over cooked. By the way, my opinion is that Roy's Wiakaloa is the best of his restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful setting, excellent food & best wait staff ever.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Roy's was once a great restaurant. Not anymore. The food is spotty at best and expensive for what they serve. The decor is right out of an old IHOP. Service is OK once you get past the inept host stand. They always make a big fuss over not having your table ready, even with a reservation and plenty of empty tables. Take a pass on Roy's.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Not like I remember. Food was missing something. Just kind of lacking flavor. Atmosphere felt more like a hotel restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Outstanding evening on the edge of the ocean at Waikoloa Hilton Beach Resort.

The view at sunset was stunning.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a very quiet table, which we loved. Service was excellent. Our food turned out quite good. A couple of us had the duck, great. Sashimi said was also very tasty. Making reservations is absolutely necessary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Prices higher than better rated restaurants with uninspired presentation and atmosphere. It is what is seems--a strip mall restaurant. Hotel restaurants are better rated for good reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Excellent dinner, good drinks. Have eaten at Roy's elsewhere and each place has new options plus traditional standard dinners that you can find at all Roy's locations.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Over priced, as is everything on the island. At these prices the food should be spectacular, it wasn't. The room was very noisy. Very strong smoke and kitchen odors coming from the open kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent experience ... ambiance and cuisine. Service is superior and selections authentic with unique touch for the region.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Roy's was yet another stop in my quest to find a good steak in the area. It ranked above the Canoe House and the abysmal Ruth's Chris but a notch below Merriman's. The ribeye had a nice crust, was well-marbled, and was cooked to the right temperature, but not seasoned well enough.

While the steak was under salted, the potatoes and mushrooms were both over salted.

The wine list is extensive; however, the choice of good cabs priced under $100 was limited. The selection of red blends in that range made up for it to a degree.

The romaine salad was great and well presented with whole leaves. Crab cakes were good.

As for the service, she was pleasant and knew the menu. However, she was often not to be seen for long stretches of time. A neighboring table complained about it. Perhaps this was due to the technical issues being experienced: they had to go old school on credit cards.

Overall a good experience but not at the level of Merriman's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were there on vacation. Although the food was good I thought it was very expensive. And we eat in NYC all the time so given that we are used to expensive restaurants. I thought $50 for tuna was over the top.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our server was outstanding attentive to the two young people with us. Some variation in quality of entres from previous Roy restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Have had hundreds of restaurant dinners on the Big Island of Hawaii over a 29 year span. This was the worst food I've experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always great food and prepared perfectly. Will always go back again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 31, 2017

very good food, ribeye was excellent. Roy's is a little pricey, but for a special

occasion its well worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Both my husband and I were disappointed in our dinner at Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill. The restaurant is not very attractive and we both found the decor to be disappointing. Our dinners were okay but we would have expected more than okay. We ordered a dessert to share which was also not at all what we had hoped for. Sorry to say I cannot remember any of the dishes we ordered but I think that is because they did not impress us at all.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was delicious and the service was amazing!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food! Service was very friendly and very attentive. The only downfall of the night was the amount of noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

For the price, the food was OK at best. The service was terrible. It took about 15 minutes to get drinks delivered after ordering. The young man who kept our water glasses full was the high point of our experience. This was a high dollar restaurant serving up mediocre food and service. I used to love bringing out of town guests to Roy's, but no longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have dined at Roy's numerous times at more than one location in the Islands and each time we have been pleased with the quality of the food and service. Without exception, all of our experiences have been outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was good and friendly. Food was just ok. Ordered butter fish and it was served cold, returned it for warming but still found it unedible. Many places to eat with better views and similar pricing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The appetizer for 2 was very good with a good variety. The fresh salad was very fresh with a light dressing. The Ahi was excellent as was the broadbill swordfish. The green beans & potatoes were quite tasty but too salty. The roasted​ edemame was an excellent way to begin our meal. Very good! I'm glad my husband & I had an early reservation, 5:45pm, as the noise level really gets loud. This is not a place for a quiet romantic dinner. Our server & the rest of the wait staff were very good. Couldn't leave without having the warm chocolate lava cake. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Best meal during our big island trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Disappointing! The lighting was too bright, the restaurant smoky, service slow, food over priced.

On a positive note: Bartender was good and the water-boy hilarous

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The service staff was rushed and impersonal. I felt as though I was inconveniencing them by being there. My husband liked his misoyaki butterfish but mine tasted "fishy". I was so looking forward to it and was disappointed and hardly ate any of it. Roy's has always had a good reputation , but for me I would choose to go somewhere else before there especially at that price point.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 27, 2017

As usual, Roy's lived up to its reputation. The hors-d'œuvres were tasty, to the point and satisfying.

As usual the fish dishes were creative, well prepared and flavorful.

Deserts: sinful.

Very busy, the service although excellent would have improved in quality by slowing down a little.

See you next time

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Disappointing. The food is delicious but the atmosphere might as well have been some ones rec room. Zero .... I have always loved Roys but wish I'd skipped it on this trip

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Roy's food is always great. We had the Miso Butterfish, short ribs and had leftovers. Also had the chocolate shuffle and they made a special birthday dessert for my wife.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Very underwhelmed with fish entree, service was ok (Merrimens in Waimea much better). Fist visit earlier in week was much better. Have had same issue with inconsistency at Maui location as well. Will take this off our must do list from now on, unfortunate because when it's good it's great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food, drinks and dessert were amazing. There were three of us and we had three different entrees (Mahi, Meatloaf and Duck) and all were delicious. We also enjoyed the chocolate soufflé tremendously. Our waiter was friendly, offered suggestions and displayed just the right amount of attentiveness. We had a reservation and were promptly seated at our table. We plan to return soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.