About Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

250 Waikoloa Beach Drive E-1
Waikoloa, HI 96738
View Larger Map

Roy's Waikoloa is an upbeat resort casual restaurant featuring Hawaii inspired Euro-Asian cuisine. European cooking techniques with an emphasis on local ingredients and bold flavors. An extensive "food friendly" wine list is also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Eurasian, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Daily: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 886-4321

Website:
http://roysrestaurants.com/

Parking Details:
Located at the Kings' Shops waikoloa there is ample parking right outside

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
  • Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill

Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Hawaii / Big Island
Special Occasion
Hawaii / Big Island
Most Booked
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Waikoloa ›

special occasion (97)
fit for foodies (76)
romantic (63)
See All
scenic view (53)
good for groups (39)
notable wine list (34)
kid-friendly (30)
hot spot (25)
neighborhood gem (20)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for lunch (9)
great for outdoor dining (9)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Friendly & knowledge service . Food was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly & knowledge service . Food was excellent. Little pricey for a glass of house wine & coffee after. Very noisy... Not conducive to a romantic date. I would visit again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The last time I went to Roy's (Kauai) I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The last time I went to Roy's (Kauai) I was blown away by the intricate sauces, fresh fish and amazing service.... on the big island, I was disappointed. The service was still amazing, but the food was just okay... not great and certainly not worth the $50/plate price tag. If you are looking for a special night out and are willing to pay big bucks for okay food, then this is your place. Otherwise, I would go across the street to Lava Lava Beach club or even Macaroni Grill to get more value for your taste buds.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I'm a huge fan of Roy's and have been to ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

I'm a huge fan of Roy's and have been to numerous locations both in Hawaii and on the mainland. The Waikoloa Roy's however has the most unfortunate location and ambience. When you come to Hawaii you want to be close to the ocean and if not, at least have a nice outdoor patio and good ambience. This spot is very sterile on the inside and has a view of an ugly man made pond. Definitely doesn't feel like you are in Hawaii. The one saving grace was of course the chocolate soufflé. Roy's still makes the best in the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Like always everything was outstanding. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Like always everything was outstanding. My only gripe was we had a late reservation at 8:15 and when we arrived at 8, the hostess said she won't seat us until 8:15. So we sat starring at empty tables for 17 minutes then she sat us at one of the empty tables when she deemed it was time. We were the only ones waiting for a table too...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Roy's was fabulous from beginning to end ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Roy's was fabulous from beginning to end! The food was amazing, the service excellent and the ambiance was perfect! We will be back next time we are in Hawaii! Very wonderful experience❤️🌴🐬🐢🍍🐠❤️

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Roy's has seem to lost its luster!! ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This Roy's has seem to lost its luster!! I have dined at many Roy's and have come to expect a special dining experience. This Roy's fell short in all areas. I would not waste my money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Have gone here before several other trip ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have gone here before several other trips to Hawaii. It's wasn't as good as usually is. Disappointed that there were things on the menu that weren't available. Food was good. The service was slow. Liked our vist at Roy's on Oahu better...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Good value set menu, quite expensive oth ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good value set menu, quite expensive otherwise and with varying quality. Lovely view and setting though.

Tags: child friendly, special occasions, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We might not be fancy enough for Roy's. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We might not be fancy enough for Roy's. Ha ha. We got the meatloaf and the short ribs, as well as the sampler appetizer. For us, the flavors were off. We didn't taste anything that knocked out socks off and it is quite pricy. We did really enjoy the chocolate soufflé however; that was 5 stars for sure. Delicious and unique. Would love to go back for dessert and coffee.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We ate are Roy's back in January as walk ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We ate are Roy's back in January as walk ins and it was absolutely amazing so we thought it would be a worthwhile experience again. Our Daughter who celebrated her 18th birthday in May, asked to hold of on dinner celebrations until we were in Hawaii so we could eat here. We stashed away the $$$ and cut into our grocery budget thinking it would be worth the sacrifice. Boy were we wrong! It was like a completely different place. Food was terrible, service was OK at best for the money, I'd rather have gone anywhere else. Thank God the drinks were good. The Crab cakes were over cooked and somehow, each of our medium-rare Filets was burnt to a crisp on one side with a weird liquid smoke taste that didn't leave our moths for hours. Maybe it was an off night for them as our first experience was one of the best dinning experiences we've ever had, but we won't be bothering to go back a 3rd time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great Food and Service....always a great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great Food and Service....always a great meal at Roys

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We've been to several Roy's restaurants ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We've been to several Roy's restaurants and they are always stellar. Wait staff are very attentive and well mannered, food is always exceptional . It was a value this time because we chose the prix-fix.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reception desk girls were aloof. Our wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Reception desk girls were aloof. Our waiter was just doing his job and nothing more. I had to ask for more water , then ask for a spoon so I could enjoy the sauce on my entree. The bright note was a very friendly bus boy. Our food was good but it's a dining experience that makes a great resturant. I have been to two other Roy's and loved everything about them. This one, however, was a real disappointment .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

The food was incredible!!!! The service ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was incredible!!!! The service was outstanding. Our waiter Lurch and the other staff members ( Hannah,Joshua, Jimmy and the manager Arnie ) all went out of the way to make it an incredible dinning experience. I will eat there every time I'm in Kona. Thanks KC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great time! A ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food, great service, great time! Always enjoy Roy's at Waikoloa!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our 25th anniversary and the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We went for our 25th anniversary and they brought us a special dessert and wrote "Happy 25th Anniversary" in chocolate on the plate. So special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Updated review : July 23 2016 after I po ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Updated review : July 23 2016 after I posted a negative review I received an email from the restaurant manager apologizing for the problem we had and agreeing the waitress and assistant manager should have comped the salad at minimum. He also asked for a phone number to call and personally apologize. He also sent me a very generous gift card to use at a location close to my home or when I return to Hawaii. Therefore I'm updating my review to report the restaurant went out of their way to compensate for the negative experience.

July 17 2016 My kids and I usually love the food, but raw bacon served to a child (or anyone) on a salad, isn't acceptable when paying $50+ for a single entree! Factor in that they didn't comp the salad or anything we ordered, and it became more unacceptable! I've never been to a high end restaurant that doesn't comp a portion of the food even for undercooking a steak or some minor mixup! As a result of the raw meat, and what appears to be indifference by the restaurant, I won't be eating here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

The food was merely adequate. This Roy's ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was merely adequate. This Roy's restaurant is not on par with other Roy's locations around the country. The service felt rushed. The overall value here is low, especially since one can find many great dining options at local places on the Big Island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We went here while on vacation. I order ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We went here while on vacation. I ordered the price fixed meal and it was delicious and a great value including appetizers and dessert. The fish was delicious. My husband got the Ahi Tuna appetizer and loved it. The Hawaiian Martini was a hit. It overlooks a small lake and has a great atmosphere. I would definitely go back if!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having enjoyed several Roy's locations o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Having enjoyed several Roy's locations on the islands and San Francisco, we chose the Waikoloa location for our final meal on our vacation. What a disappointment! Considering the price of our tab, we would have expected so much more quality. We were happy to see that Roy's had a discounted prix fixe menu for early dinners. If we had paid full price, we would have even gotten more upset. The appetizer for the prix fire was decent, but the ribs were pure fat. For entrees, I had the jade pesto steamed mahi mahi, my husband had the macadamia crusted fish, and my eldest had the salmon. My youngest had the teriyaki chicken from the children's menu. My mahi mahi was bland and flavors were out of synch in the broth which diluted the flavor profile. The pesto was masked and not prominent at all in the dish. My husband's fish was also bland and mediocre. He left feeling unsatisfied and wanting more flavor. My eldest enjoyed the hibachi salmon, which was probably the best meal on the dinner table, but it was just mediocre at most. Lastly, the presentation and taste of my youngest child's choice from the children's menu was laughable. It started with two pieces of cold cheese quesadillas with a small piece of pineapple, followed by three slices of carrots and apple, and chicken that looked like it was poached, accompanied by a side of teriyaki dipping sauce. Considering the children's course was only $13, I was not too upset, but it was the last straw that broke the camel's back of what was supposed to be a pleasurable meal. The only tasty part of our meal was dessert: the chocolate soufflé and the macadamia tart. We'll remember the savory flavors at other restaurants like the Lava Lava Beach Club and Tommy Bahamas (and surprisingly, the completely casual Kona Brewing Company) over overrated Roy's Waikoloa. The saving grace was our attentive server.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

You guys had a rare opportunity to do so ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

You guys had a rare opportunity to do something pretty cool and your receptionist Tonya blew it. She tried to explain that a (week long) request for a window seat put us 3rd in line. We took the next available seat across from the window right next to a table at the window that was never used. If it wasn't for Francis we would have left. Extremely bad customer service. I will never recommend Roys to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The service and food as always were perf ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The service and food as always were perfection from Pupus to deserts.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Roy's in the past, but seems to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We loved Roy's in the past, but seems to be just mediocre now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Two nights ago, I went to Roy's Waikoloa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Two nights ago, I went to Roy's Waikoloa and thought it was the best experience possible and a meal could never be better.

BUT I was wrong.

Tonight on my wife's birthday it was even better.

The other Roys are OK , but they do not compare.

Its worth the flight , just to eat here. Forget the beach, just go directly to Roy's from plane.

Larry and EENA Stein

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as usual.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Manager( Arnie) Fantastic food, Fa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great Manager( Arnie)

Fantastic food,

Far superior to all the other restaurants including the other Roys .

I wish we permanently lived nearby.

Larry and EENA Stein

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent family dinner! Roy's extended ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent family dinner! Roy's extended great service to us and accomodated our 2 year old daughter well! Most restaurants seem to be anti toddler, but Roy's brought special keiki food and drinks especially for her!! This is why Roy's, whether in Hawaii Kai or Waikoloa, will always be one of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's didn't disappoint. Husband had a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Roy's didn't disappoint. Husband had a fish entree. He said it was the best fish he has ever had at a restaurant. I had a small portion of the meatloaf and it was delicious as well. We shared the macadamia nut tart for dessert. Terrific. The service was terrific. Would definitely return and recommend it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was good! The view of the pond wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Dinner was good! The view of the pond was nice until the sun went down then it's pitch black outside the window. The highlight of the night was the kids 4 course meal! We had 4 kids ages 10 -3. The meal come with appetizer then veggies and dip (homemade ranch) was a hit! then the main course, and dessert all for under $13/each! The adult appetizers were great! ( poke and pot stickers) our main meals were great! I had the spare ribs, super tender and flavorful. And I had pineapple upside down cake and Tahitian vanilla ice cream at the end was awesome! The cocktails were to die for! The lychee tini mmm 😋 . Servers were on point! Good job guys! Only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because we had to wait a little longer for our table then we shoulda seeing as we made reservations ahead of time. And it was a little warm during dinner. Other than that I'd go back in a heartbeat! Mahalo Roy's!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While the food was good on this visit I ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

While the food was good on this visit I was taken aback by the jump in prices. Over $50 for entrees is high even for the Big Island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I love Roy's in Rancho Mirage, CA....... ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I love Roy's in Rancho Mirage, CA.........decided to go to the one on Hawaii with my grandchildren. We waited a long time for our food and when it came my food was cold. We told the server and they took it away and I ended up waiting another 10-15 minutes for my food and everyone else was finished. On top of that, I had asked for it to be cooked well and it came back medium. I was not going to send it back and more than half was left on my plate......... I was not happy because it was an expensive dining meal.............I probably would never go to that one again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Appetizers were very good (poke and brus ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Appetizers were very good (poke and brussels). Main course was average.....short-ribs were good, butterfish was less than average. Compared to other high-end restaurants on the Big Island (Canoe House, Manta, Browns, Merman, etc.) I would say that both the food and value was way below average. Seems like they are focus on high volume rather than high quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

A really nice experience. Great food, an ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A really nice experience. Great food, and they paid attention to a food allergy of mine. Pricy but certainly well above average. I couldn't duplicate my meal at home, which is unusual. Well worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's is great. We visit as often as pos ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Roy's is great. We visit as often as possible. I highly recommend Roy's to everyone. Try the butterfish and the chocolate soufflé you won't be disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We've been to Roy's in multiple cities. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've been to Roy's in multiple cities. Always a really great meal. The Waikoloa is no exception. The butterfish was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner was great. We order the butte ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our dinner was great. We order the butterfish, Short rib, and macadamia nut sword fish. everything was good. We were very happy over all.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were celebrating our anniversary, and ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary, and the server mentioned this to the chefs who personalized our dessert. The Aloha menu was very reasonable and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner here many times over the year ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had dinner here many times over the years. Food this time was not special and therefore, overpriced.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Roy's never disappoints. We first visit ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Roy's never disappoints. We first visited Roy's in Maui several years ago and followed the chef through his various iterations of the restaurant in Phoenix, Scottsdale, Denver and Waikaloa. It seems like every decent place in Hawaii serves seared Ahi but the Blackened Ahi at Roy's is still the best. You can't go wrong with his preparation of Mahi Mahi, Opakapaka or any other fresh fish he decides to put on the menu. Keep some room open for the chocolate soufflés. Roy's has been around for a long time and I hope it keeps going for many more years. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a reservation for 8:30 at Ocean Hous ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Had a reservation for 8:30 at Ocean House and they made me feel like the "single diner" I was (too many restaurants don't treat you well when dining alone...poor table location and service often) and left me sitting there for 20 minutes ignored. I had booked through Open Table and waited patiently. Finally I asked if they forgot about me and told me they were behind. I saw half a dozen couples just walk up and get seated, as well as an open table within my view the entire time I waited, so I said I wished they had informed me when I first arrived and told them they could have my reservation. I walked across the street to Roy's and they seated me right away. Couldn't have been a better experience at Roy's. The service was outstanding and everyone I encountered was very attentive. I wish I could remember my Head Server's name because he was awesome! Thank you Roy's for turning my evening around, and NO thank you Ocean House....I won't be back to visit your establishment, especially with Roy's nearby!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.