About Roy's Waikiki

Opening in 2007, Roy’s Waikiki fits right in with all the action in the new and exciting atmosphere of Waikiki Beach Walk. We offer inside tables, dining on the lanai or even at our Chef's counter. Along with Roy's classic items, our guests can enjoy a vast selection of innovative creations using the freshest local ingredients available.

226 Lewers
Honolulu, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Light Appetizers (Pupus) and Drinks on the Patio

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
$6 for 4hrs with validation from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Ichiki

Private Party Facilities:
From family gatherings to celebrations, cocktail receptions to business meetings,
let us help you create an unforgettable event!

■Semi-private room accommodates maximum of 50 guests
■Lounge area can accommodate up to 30 guests
■Restaurant buy-out available with a maximum of 230 guests

Private Party Contact:
Emma Lazo: (808) 923-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikiki Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (96)
Good for a Date (83)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
See All
Fit for Foodies (62)
Local Ingredients (55)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Romantic (48)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Notable Wine List (38)
Tasting Menu (35)
Hot Spot (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Business Meals (31)
Authentic (30)
Casual (29)
Fun (28)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Comfort Food (18)
People Watching (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Cozy (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Seasonal (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Family Style (8)
Tapas (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Spicy (7)
Vegan (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Scenic View (4)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Sports (2)
Waterfront (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Private Room (1)
 (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

As always roys didn't disappoint with the best food and perfect service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service were excellent. A bit noisy for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

I had the Sunset hours here Course Prix Fixe meal. It was excellent, service was outstanding and the drinks were terrific as well. I Saturday outside on the patio area and it was pleasant. Definitely recommend this to anyone staying the area.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

We are at the bar outside; Joshua was our server. The food was great, as usual, and the drinks that Joshua made were outstanding. I had the Roy's martini and the wife had the fresh margarita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We had such a delicious meal here the previous week, another at Roy's Waikoloa we returned to have a special meal as it was the last night of our 16 day Hawaii vacation. We ate out every night in Hawaii and Roy's was the best restaurant that we ate at. On our first visit we had the 4 course tasting menu that was Superb with the matching wines. Our second visit was from the menu. Every single dish was cooked to perfection & the table service was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding food and service with a great wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was wonderful, but don't order mai tai( no good)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Furniture was not clean. Seating was delayed. Servers were uncoordinated. Food was excellent. Restaurant was very noisy. The other Roy's restaurants are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Let me start by saying the food was awesome. I truly enjoyed and would order here again.

My problems with Roy's was there service we received. We made reservations for 3 and arrived about 5-7 minutes early. We were told our table was being prepared. 20-25 minutes later we were still waiting on our table while we saw multiple guests arrive after us and be seated. Unfortunately it was 45 minutes after our scheduled reservation time when we received our first course.

Also we saw who appeared to be the manager greet every table with short conversation and smiles. We only received a quick "Is everything alright?" and with a nod she left. Not a big deal but very noticeable.

With all that said I would return on my next Hawaii visit because the food was just that good. Hopefully the service will match.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Roy's is always an outstanding experience from the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, the quality of the food, and especially in this case, the value for the quality of food. I would recommend Roy's for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice comfortable restaurant with good food, service and atmosphere

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I have wanted to go to the original Roy's for years. Our son gave us a gift card for our birthday's (husband and myself). Imagine my disappointment to see it in the bottom of a hotel on a busy corner (not on the water in a separate building as shown on the website). We were taken to an area in the back that was like a cafeteria. Tons of people, so loud, kids running around. What a disappointment.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

WONDERFUL staff, AMAZING food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We went here for our 10th anniversary dinner on the recommendation of a friend. Everything was spectacular. Nice venue, great service, and one of the 10 best meals I've ever had for sure. I'll recommend it to anyone who is travelling to Waikiki. 10/10

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The appetizers and edamame were delicious; the butterfish was tender and melted in our mouths. The server was helpful and attentive; the service was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Roy's was very nice. I had the three course tasting menu. It was melt in your mouth delicious. I highly recommend it. We went out for a nice dress-up dinner on our last day in Honolulu. It was attached to our hotel so that was convenient. Almost any kind of dress is appropriate except beachwear. It is not particularly inexpensive, but if you are in a celebratory or romantic mood and want to splurge, this is worth the extra money. There are lots of options, though I think the seafood is a particularly speciality. The servers are attentive, but they don't 'hover' or stick around unnecessarily. We will be back when we visit Honolulu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food was fresh and fantastic. The spin on lobsters Mac & cheese was a fantastic surprise!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent meal, as aways at Roys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We walked over from Hawaiian Village via the beach. Completely worth the walk. Food and service were great and on par with each other. Fish and "Mac and Cheese" were great dishes and canoe appetizer was perfect start. Good wine list and great variety.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The service was wonderful. The staff was curtious, professional, and funny. The food was wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We looked at your review and that made us want to dine here. It was fine but not amazing. The worst part of the experience was that we felt really rushed. Plates were removed while we were still eating the last forkfuls! We had to ask 3 times for our drinks order...service average.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The restaurant was really noisy at 8pm. The food was ok but not great. My wife did find a piece of plastic ( one inch in length) in her food. She ordered the Duck. Overall, I expected better. The waiter apologized and removed the duck from the bill. The manager did not stop by our table. Another disappointment..

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food is OK. The filet was a bit salty. But, the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We went to Roy's to celebrate the end of our honeymoon. The ribeye steak was amazing. The sauce was delicious and the meat was very tender. The hot chocolate soufflé is a must!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great spot for local food and worth every penny! Great food, friendly and professional staff.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Sensational meal. Such great service. We love going to Roy's when we fly to Hawaii and recommend it to all our family and friends to go to when they visit too.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great service with delicious and creative food. I especially like the cocktails and the unique sushi offerings.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Roy's was a good choice for us while in Waikiki Beach. The food was very good and our server was excellent in knowing about each dish and offering choices to us. It is abir pricey but it was special vacation dinner for our family and we really enjoyed the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

2回目の訪問です。人気のお店なので予約をして行きましたが、満席に近い状態でも待たされることなく案内してもらえました。今回もお料理はとても美味しくサービスも良かったです。Roy'sは期待を裏切らないお店なのでお勧めです。ただ、日本語はまったく通じません。

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Romantic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wonderful meal for our 20th anniversary - worthy of the occasion - they even made a good recommendation for our picky eater who was with us. We liked it so much we went to a Roy's location on the Big Island as well, knowing we'd get an excellent meal for our last night in Hawaii!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Diva and her crew rock everything is perfect every time we come!

We have been dinning @ Roy's since 1984!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Incredible food served by a well trained and maintained staff. Butterfish was brilliant and worth every penny. The other meals at the table were amazing to the point I was almost jealous of their choices. Special note, the Mac n Cheese was very grown up with seafood from all over cooled to perfection. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service, food, and atmosphere was amazing. Would recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent meal, atmospheric, warm and friendly service... probably the best meal of our vacation.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Berkshire)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Amazing food! Staff were so friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. They were very sweet in making my birthday a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Terrible. We were seated a half hour after our reservation which you tried to make up for by surprising us with complimentary pork spring rolls (my family doesn't eat pork). Then when I ordered my salad and asked for other dressing options because I also don't eat mayo the waitress told me none others would go with my house salad except for oil and vinegar which I declined which meant I would get a plate of plain lettuce, cucumbers and tomatoes for dinner. I added avocado which the waitress said would be a dollar or two but ended up being one less dollar than the salad with avocado, cheese, and bacon. How is cheese and bacon only $1 more?? I would have preferred to pick my dressing and know the options which is why I asked for them.

My mom's fish was undercooked and the waitress yelled at my mom for not telling her, but she had not come back when we were eating to ask how the meal was so there wasn't an opportunity.

My brother's $24 piece of salmon was quite small and frankly not worth the price.

Also the water people kept filling up the water cups with more and more ice so eventually you couldn't drink out of any of the cups anymore without spilling so we just gave up on that.

Overall it was such a poor experience that by the time we got to dessert we didn't even want it even though we were celebrating my birthday, so we just got the check and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Fabulous experience every time. Never disappointed. If they feel they have made you wait a few minutes too long, they give you a free dessert.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Fantastic presentation a feast for the eyes. Excellent and attentive service! LOVED IT

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Overall, the experience was excellent. the waiter was very attentive, service was great. Food is awesome and we had an enjoyable time. The only thing that needs improvement is the hostess at the front. When my family and I walked up to the hostess station, there were 5 girls at the station. One of them was talking to a guest who wanted to make a reservation. I stood near the station waiting to be greeted. For 2 minutes, all the other 4 girls did not greet me, did not make eye contacts with me and they were talking to each other. I found that not very welcoming and that any one of the 4 girls could have said hello and be right with me. Instead, they were chit-chatting among themselves as if we were not there. I waited till the 5th girl finished talking to the other guest and that girl finally greeted me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.