About Roy's Waikiki

Opening in 2007, Roy’s Waikiki fits right in with all the action in the new and exciting atmosphere of Waikiki Beach Walk. We offer inside tables, dining on the lanai or even at our Chef's counter. Along with Roy's classic items, our guests can enjoy a vast selection of innovative creations using the freshest local ingredients available.

226 Lewers
Honolulu, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Light Appetizers (Pupus) and Drinks on the Patio

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
$6 for 4hrs with validation from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Ichiki

Private Party Facilities:
From family gatherings to celebrations, cocktail receptions to business meetings,
let us help you create an unforgettable event!

■Semi-private room accommodates maximum of 50 guests
■Lounge area can accommodate up to 30 guests
■Restaurant buy-out available with a maximum of 230 guests

Private Party Contact:
Emma Lazo: (808) 923-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikiki Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (93)
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Good for a Date (71)
See All
Creative Cuisine (67)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Local Ingredients (60)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Romantic (45)
Authentic (40)
Notable Wine List (38)
Tasting Menu (37)
Casual (33)
Fun (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Open Kitchen (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Business Meals (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Modern Decor (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Healthy (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Cozy (18)
Family Style (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Bar Seating (15)
People Watching (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Seasonal (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Spicy (7)
Tapas (6)
Vegan (6)
Historic (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Waterfront (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 20 hours ago

fish is good but beef is soso

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

The fish trio (especially the butterfish), ribeye and filet/ shrimp surf and turf were all delicious. The souffle was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food as always and awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

All the food here is incredible. Will go back again before we leave Honolulu!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and I am so glad we decided to eat at Roy's. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. It is the best fish we have ever eaten. Super cozy and romantic atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great dining in Waikiki. Good value, good service and the wait staff truly interested in making your dinner enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best sushi spots I have ever been too. We booked another reservation before our dinner was even over. If you have never experienced a chefs table before I recommend you sit at the chefs table sit back and enjoy the beautiful chaos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Prompt, courteous service. Well deliously prepared food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Très bons rolls. Plat très moyen pour le prix. Il n'y a aucune âme dans les plats, c'est dommage.
Le service est trop standardisé, les serveurs sont des robots récitant leurs speech aux touristes, applicant à la lettre des standard de la chaîne. Franchement pour le prix, gardez votre argent et faites vous un vrai gastro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was AMAZING! Service was great! My only complaint is the noise level. They were very busy and it was packed with a lot of families. It was a bit chaotic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I love Roy's! The seafood is always inspired and delicious! The ambience is thriving and yet not too noisy! The service is impeccable! This is by far my favourite restaurant in Waikiki!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Family Style, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had a fantastic dinner here with friends. Among the best service I've had had a fine-dining restaurant (anywhere), and everything we ordered was delicious. Well worth a visit when you are in Waikiki!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This was a phenomenal dining experience. The food was fantastic and well worth the trip and the price for a special occasion. I would say that this is probably the best food that I have had on the island since I moved here over a year ago. The place is a little noisy on a Saturday night but the friendly staff and the excellent cuisine easily make up for the noise. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went with my family here to celebrate Mother's Day. We were there pretty early, but the dining area was pretty full already and we waited a little while to get our initial service. But once we did, they were extremely accommodating for our requested substitutions (and asked the chef how to make a few dishes a gluten free option for me). When we received our food (which didn't take anymore time than usual), the food was delicious and the richness of the sauces was amazing. As we tried to finish our dishes, we really didn't have room for desert! The whole family was really happy and was a fantastic treat for mom!

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mother's Day was made pretty special. The food was so good along with the service. This is terrific spot for special occasions

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was so good and the decor was modern. The food was a little on the expensive side definitely not your everyday dinner location but it's worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Vegan, Fun, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What an experience, the food was amazing. Service was excellent. What a great time. A little bit expensive but totally worth it. I would definitely do it again for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Came for dinner the night before mother's day, made a 530 reservation, showed up on time and was seated right away. They were busy already but the service was attentive and genuine. We started with a shared appetizer: the frying dragon. I wouldn't have it again, although the description said it included miso butterfish I couldn't taste it at all which was disappointing. All 4 of us ordered the sunset prix fixe. The 1st course was small portions of 3 different poke: salmon, ahi and cucumber. Both the salmon and ahi were very good but the cucumber just didn't meet the standard of Roy's. I mean if your gonna make kim chee make it good! The main course was a petite filet and two poached shrimp served over mac & cheese spaetzle with a very nice rich sauce drizzled over top. Super tasty and all steaks were done as ordered. Although the food was like warm the flavors made up for that. Dessert was phenomenal: chocolate shuffle with vanilla ice cream. I'll go back again, although expensive it's worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

On vacation and got recommendation from our tour group driver. Checked out on open table. No regrets. Food was exceptional and a great atmosphere

Tags: Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always consistent with great food with wonderful service. Excellent early bird price fix 3 course meal before 6pm.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Friendly service, consistent food quality, best upside down pineapple desert, edemame great

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Exceptional service and great food in a casual setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Noisy, noisy, noisy!! Uncontrolled small children!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Best food and best service. I've never missed going to Roy's each time I'm in Hawaii. I've brought all my friends there, they all enjoyed it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (München)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was good though not exceptional. Service was average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2017

家族連れにおすすめします。ハワイキュイジーヌっぽい料理を食べたい場合、アランウォンズや夜のオーキッズなどは子連れには少し敷居が高くなります。中途半端なお店で、チップに目をギラギラさせたウエイターの相手をするのも面倒な場合、Roy'sは良い落ち着きどころだと思います。料理も割と美味しいですよ。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Meal was amazing! The accommodated my wife's but allergy with great care. We had a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had just gotten married and had dinner there. The service was wonderful and the seafood mac and cheese and scallops with polenta were amazing. This was the best meal we had in Oahu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We've eaten at Roy's in different cities on several occasions and have enjoyed our visits. Being in Hawaii, we chose to eat at the Waikiki location and were thoroughly disappointed. Our server was working too many tables and was rushed the few times that she came by the table. We had just been seated and she wanted to go ahead and take our order before we had even opened the menu. The entire staff seemed to be running which came across as frantic. Neither fish entree or appetizer was outstanding and seemed below other comparable restaurants we visited while in Waikiki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food is always good but this time we felt a disappointed that they don't giive out their famous dinner roll at this Waikiki location . We went to the Original Roy's just few days ago and they gave us freshly bake dinner roll which was amazing . I found dinner roll is s must to provide and we felt like that they don't want to give it out because they might think people will order less food . I hope that was not what they are thinking . Service is good , we will go back for sure .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Top notch food and service. Very nice ambience. Great for family functions and get togethers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was delicious and so were the drinks. I had the blackened ahi tuna entree and my only issue is that there was far too much wasabi-based sauce on my plate. It was so overpowering that I had to avoid eating it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 4, 2017

お料理は、それなりに美味しかったのですが、混んでいた為か4品出るのに2時間半かかりました。
あまりにも時間がかかったのでデザートはキャンセルして出てきました

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food & service here was excellent. However, the ambiance we experienced really ruined the whole evening. We were seated in an area that was next to a table of 8 who were extremely loud & just didn

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Fantastic service & food! Best butterfish I ever had! Enjoyed every bite of it! I will definitely come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Organic, Comfort Food, Spicy, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 2, 2017

After loving every Roy's experience I've had, this last time left me feeling bummed. I think it was the over priced Waikiki location whose menu wasn't that great. The food was ok, but priced 2x what we paid for Town, a local + organic restaurant that was one of my favorite meals I've ever had. We have no problem paying for good food, but this ended up a little underwhelming. We've been to the old location on Kauai [no longer there], and the location in Maui, and countless other times on the mainland, but this experience reminded us to try local places off the beaten path if we visit Waikiki again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very good food. Pleasant quiet atmosphere and good service. We enjoyed our dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food was good but small portions for premium price. Service outstanding; noise level too high for premium restaurant; would give 3.5 stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Took waiter's (Craig An) recommendation and ordered $43 scallop dish, someone else brought the dish to our table. I really didn't liked the taste, sauce was too salty and over powering, certainly wasn't worth $43. Our waiter never came back to checked on us, didn't check if I'm liking the dish he recommended. When he finally came back to take away our plates, I shared my complaint but he neither was apologetic, nor asked me if I wanted something else. It was my first time at Roy's Waikiki and I would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We loved our visit to Roy's. The creative dishes and freshly prepared food was fantastic

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.