About Roy's Waikiki

Opening in 2007, Roy’s Waikiki fits right in with all the action in the new and exciting atmosphere of Waikiki Beach Walk. We offer inside tables, dining on the lanai or even at our Chef's counter. Along with Roy's classic items, our guests can enjoy a vast selection of innovative creations using the freshest local ingredients available.

226 Lewers
Honolulu, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Light Appetizers (Pupus) and Drinks on the Patio

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
$6 for 4hrs with validation from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Ichiki

Private Party Facilities:
From family gatherings to celebrations, cocktail receptions to business meetings,
let us help you create an unforgettable event!

■Semi-private room accommodates maximum of 50 guests
■Lounge area can accommodate up to 30 guests
■Restaurant buy-out available with a maximum of 230 guests

Private Party Contact:
Emma Lazo: (808) 923-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikiki Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Creative Cuisine (72)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
See All
Local Ingredients (66)
Good for a Date (59)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Romantic (41)
Tasting Menu (37)
Authentic (32)
Hot Spot (30)
Casual (29)
Fun (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Open Kitchen (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Business Meals (16)
Healthy (15)
Cozy (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Happy Hour (11)
People Watching (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Family Style (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Historic (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Organic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vegan (3)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

Wish there were more menu options! But nevertheless the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

A fantastic atmosphere beginning at the bar area to where we were seated inside. They also have outside seating. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable of all dishes. I was impressed with their team effort to ensure no dirty plates where on table after you finished your meal. If you like pineapple upside-down cake, you have to try their's. I would return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing. The only complaint was the service. My special three course meal with a wine pairing for each course didn't coincide with the wine deliveries. The first time, the chilled white wine and champagne came out long before the appetizer. The main meal came out long before the wine with which it was paired. Other than that, all four of us enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Great home comfort meal...the beef short ribs were amazing as was the signature chocolate melt pot...bring a pashmina, the aircondintioning is set a little low!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We drove from Kaneohe to Waikiki to celebrate my Wife's Birthday on a Wednesday evening . Fantastic Food! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We have been dining at Roy's in LasVegas, Honolulu and Maui. We have never had a bad meal. Keep up the awesome work!! Don & Connie, Anacortes, WA

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Not the Roys of the past. Rushed wait staff. Food okay. Was disappointed as Roys has been one of my favorites for years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Went to Roy's in Maui 20 years ago and Roy's in Kauai 17 years ago. The Waikiki Roy's was as good as we remembered the others to be.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

On vacation with family

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had date night at Roy's while in Waikiki and had an excellent experience. We went with the three courses paired with wine and thoroughly enjoyed both the food and the wines. The service was top notch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Once again Roy's hit it out of the park. This time I had a tasting menu with matching wines..... amazing

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food, service, superb. A little noisy so I gave a 4 for ambiance, busy Waikiki though so everywhere is a little noisy. Try it you won't regret it.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Roy's in the islands never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner here, especially the chocolate lava cake With Kona coffee ice cream for dessert.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had nothing but great things to say about every course of our meal. The service, atmosphere, taste of the food...all great! We went there to celebrate the final night of our vacation, and it was some of the best food we had all week! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Atmosphere was pretty bad. Waiters were running around and running into you. Everything felt rushed. When they refill water, they spill it all around. I would say that food was very good, but ambiance and service was mediocre. I would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I've lived in Hawaii for a year and I had family in town that had heard about Roy's and wanted to go. We had an excellent meal - everything was delicious and we had a great view of the sunset from our upstairs table. The butterfish was excellent and interestingly enough the meatloaf was amazing - not something you'd normally choose in a nice restaurant. Very fast, polite service and the meals were gorgeously plated.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I have been to Roy's several times at this location, but this time was a disaster. I have an egg yolk allergy and every dish I picked contained egg yolks. I felt sorry for our server that did an excellent job trying to accommodate my allergy. The chef each time refused to remove the egg yolk portion. I finally chose a meat dish with nothing else. I really wanted fish, but the chief refused to prepare it a different way without the eggs. I will not be back to his Roy's again.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very good meal, try the sampler, excellent salmon and butterfish.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Seafood was great- we got the trio and tried 3 different kinds, along with the ahi tuna. They sat us outside all the way on the end next to the hotel so it didn't feel like we were part of the restaurant, so that killed the ambiance a little for us. Very pricey but not unlike other Waikiki restaurants. Good cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Roy's Waikiki rarely disappoints. Service was stellar this time around due to this waiter's excellent training (by the house manager) and his own service-orientation. Tasting menu is a good value and tasty. So yummy! One of our go-to spots.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our meal there was awesome - no other word for it. The service was excellent. I can honestly say it was the best meal in my life. I had the seafood "mac & cheese". The flavors were to die for. The presentation was beautiful. This meal will be one I will crave but we do not have a Roy's in our city. But will go back when we return to Waikiki!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We had to wait a very long time for our bill. We asked the buser to have our waiter present the bill to us

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The fish is mostly local and quite good. The thing that keeps bringing me to Roy's in many places is the chocolate soufflé. If you're into chocolate, it's to die for!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Roy's rarely will let u down. Thanks Kepa for the amazing service!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Roy's Waikiki is everything we hope it would be to help celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. We hope to visit again. Thank you Roy's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome meal, delicious dessert! Our server was great, all the staff did a great job greeting us, thanking us, filling our water. We usually eat there when we are in Waikiki but we forget there is one close to us in San Diego. We definetly want to try the one in SD and hope that they are as well staffed as the Waikiki location! Great job- we are total ROY'S Fans!! Kim

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This was our second visit and was every bit as good as the first! The food was exquisite!! I had the blackened ahi and while the portion was more than I could eat, each bite was delectable! The service was fantastic-our server was very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The ambience can't be beat!! Great food, great service, great location!!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday with dinner at Roy's Waikiki location and had a lovely time. The food was delicious, the service was very good (our waiter was very gracious and gave us excellent recommendations on the menu), ambience was casual yet very nice. We had a very nice dinner and would recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our family dined at Roy's on our last vacation evening. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was outstanding. Our daughters are 6 and 10 and they were treated royally with a just-for-kids appetizer plate as we were seated, coloring activities, great kids' menu - all of which made dinner for us parents easy and enjoyable. It is a loud restaurant when busy, which makes for a fun atmosphere but worth noting.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Not much to say, really. Service, food, and setting were pretty much perfect. Not cheap, but for what you get, I thought it was reasonably priced and worth every penny. Highly recommended here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

February 25th

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Average food but very expensive. The place is kinds friendly and well serviced.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Delicious food, great service and lovely company

Dined here with my wife last night. It was fantastic. Service was attentive, professional and knowledgeable. The food was delicious. We had a seafood sampler appetizer, along with the Canoe and the Beachwalk Sampler entrée. For dessert, the chocolate soufflé was superb.
Not cheap, but worth every dime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Roy's does not disappoint - it was a good dining experience. We did the 4 course meal and got an extra complimentary edamame which was superb. The butterfish was nicely prepared, as was the salad. We got the Sturgeon and the Steak - both prepared well. I appreciated that they could prepare seafood well and steak well. The dessert was also very tasty. A good meal for the price.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The service in this restaurant was outstanding!!! When we were shown to our table every employee welcomed us as we passed. I ordered the ribs. Tender and nicely cooked. I just think it was too rich for me. The chef was wonderful because we asked for fresh fruit for dessert although not on the menu. He sent us 3 beautiful mixed fresh fruit dishes . The dessert was artfully arranged. I recommend this restaurant to people with special occasions or large groups.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Attentive service. Excellent wine list. Great food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Having read reviews stating that portions were small at Roy's, we opted for the 4-course dinner menu. The butterfish appetizer was truly excellent; the salad was disappointingly mediocre; the grilled shrimp & tenderloin were cooked to perfection; and the chocolate soufflé & ice cream were simply scrumptious. But, all total it was simply too much food. A very expensive restaurant for special occasions only.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Came for my wife's birthday. The service was outstanding and food excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.