About Roy's Waikiki

226 Lewers
Honolulu, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Opening in 2007, Roy’s Waikiki fits right in with all the action in the new and exciting atmosphere of Waikiki Beach Walk. We offer inside tables, dining on the lanai or even at our Chef's counter. Along with Roy's classic items, our guests can enjoy a vast selection of innovative creations using the freshest local ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
2 hrs. free vaidated parking

Executive Chef:
Jason Peel

Private Party Facilities:
From family gatherings to celebrations, cocktail receptions to business meetings, let us help you create an unforgettable event! ■Semi-private room accommodates maximum of 50 guests ■Lounge area can accommodate up to 30 guests ■Restaurant buy-out available with a maximum of 230 guests

Private Party Contact:
Christine Fukada: 8089237697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's Waikiki
  • Roy's Waikiki
  • Roy's Waikiki
  • Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki

Roy's Waikiki Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Most Booked
Hawaii
Best Service
Oahu
2 More
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Most Booked
Oahu

Special Occasion (179)
Fit for Foodies (150)
Romantic (90)
See All
Good for Groups (79)
Hot Spot (67)
Notable Wine List (57)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Kid-friendly (33)
Late-night Find (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Scenic View (11)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
999 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was tasty and well presented. Waite ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was tasty and well presented. Waiter made the diner feel like a special guest. The manager (named Diva) assisted me to the outside because of my disability. This was a well trained team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Crusted Mahi Mahi was excellent. Disabl ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Crusted Mahi Mahi was excellent. Disabled access needs improvement.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

They held our table for 35 minutes. That ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

They held our table for 35 minutes. That never happens on a saturday night. The Butterfish appetizer was excellent. And, the Scallop entree was top notch. The service was also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we have dined at (7) Roy's restaurants b ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

we have dined at (7) Roy's restaurants both on the mainland and the islands and the meal we had to celebrate our 22nd anniversary was awesome...we are looking for to future celebrations at Roy's Waikiki...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The filet was outstanding. The service w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

The filet was outstanding. The service was excellent - fast, friendly, and accommodating. The drinks and outdoor bar were great, and had some great local craft beers.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Appetizer sampler was great!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Appetizer sampler was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Expensive for mediocre dining experience ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Expensive for mediocre dining experience. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Definitely try the seafood trio. You wo ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Definitely try the seafood trio. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is quite busy. It is nece ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The restaurant is quite busy. It is necessary to book your seat in advance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was very negative experience for all ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was very negative experience for all of us . Very poor quality of food , not fresch!!!very low quality of setup, noisy.A real disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Very loud, felt ascif we were in the kit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very loud, felt ascif we were in the kitchen. My son's green beans were barely cooked. Scallops were awesome along with the Filet. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

Always perfect and waiter was great. Lov ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always perfect and waiter was great. Love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the vibe of this place. Not a quie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Love the vibe of this place. Not a quiet place but quite energetic. Plenty of servers moving about to ensure that food is prepared and delivered promptly. Water is constantly refilled. Great variety of menu - including filet (practically melts in your mouth), misoyaki butterfish, blackened ahi, and of course, best chocolate souffle.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there to celebrate my wife's bir ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We went there to celebrate my wife's birthday. They had one of those party hats at the table waiting for her and everyone who came by to serve, wished her a happy birthday.

The food was excellent! We started with the octopus and the veggie roll. Octopus was tender and lots of fl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I travel a lot for business and have eat ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I travel a lot for business and have eaten at a lot of restaurants. The service experienced here was second to none. Also the noise level and ambiance was excellent. Most restaurants are too quiet and you feel like you need to whisper but here you can have a normal level conversation and not feel like you are yelling. And most importantly the food looked and tasted delicious. The server understood the menu and could actually talk to us about it when we were deciding what we wanted to order.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We come here two or three times each sum ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We come here two or three times each summer when we vacation in Honolulu. This is our favorite restaurant in Waikiki by far. And special kudos to our regular server, Evin, who is the best of a very good staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After dining at Roy's in San Francisco w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

After dining at Roy's in San Francisco we wanted to go to the original Roy's at Waikiki and were not disappointed. The dinners we had from Ahi to Ono were exceptional and I highly recommend going to Roys when in Waikiki. BUT we were placed in the outer HALL and Not in the Dinning Room which is crowded and the noise level was the worst I have ever had to deal with. A group of middle aged men rearranged the seating (I cant Believe the restaurant would allow them to do that) so that it was hard to pass them and were more than a bit noisy they were overly LOUD. Roys's had some of the best food and service I have ever seen but it was totally ruined by the Boys Club that was extremely LOUD. If they offer you a table in the hall LEAVE.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We sat outdoors and enjoyed the tiki tor ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We sat outdoors and enjoyed the tiki torches and vibrancy of the passers by. From checkin to our departure everything was excellent. The appetizers and prix fixe were well worth the cost and the portions were more than expected. The food was outstanding. Living in Manhattan we have countless restaurants of Asian influence and we would certainly look forward to Roys joining us in New York.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous, as usual. We are frequent cus ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fabulous, as usual. We are frequent customers on the Big Island.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here many times, but this will be t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Been here many times, but this will be the last time. The prices are way too high for what you get and food comes instantly...never enough time to enjoy cocktail. The meatloaf was not good, nor was the one fish dish we ordered. The edamame is always good, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

My husband and I are huge fans of Roy's ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My husband and I are huge fans of Roy's. This was our 17th location! My husband and I sat at a nice outdoor table on a beautiful evening. Nice location on a side street a couple of blocks away from the craziness of the main downtown street. Started with the complimentary edamame and delicious Roy's Hawaiian Martini. I thoroughly enjoyed my tuna dinner and my husband loved his duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner. Great outdoor bar. Dri ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wonderful dinner. Great outdoor bar. Drinks were superb. Food and service were excellent. Highly recommend it .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Roy's food was very nice and impressive ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Roy's food was very nice and impressive but very noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Was recommended to come here when visiti ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Was recommended to come here when visiting from Australia! Compared to other restaurants I visited on my trip I was surprisingly underwhelmed and disappointed. The food tasted good although the service, ambience and overall experience was poor. For the price compared to other restaurants I would go elsewhere.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

15th Anniversary. As always, the food pr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

15th Anniversary. As always, the food preparation was spot on. Scallops and Mac-crusted Mahimahi was superb. Service from waiter was somewhat distracted, although rest of wait-staff was attentive. Ambiance could be improved with softer lighting and carpet looked worn/dated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very noisy! Food is ok but not good enou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very noisy!

Food is ok but not good enough for this price point.

Waiters are super busy.

This is more a factory than a restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Best restaurant ever! Food is amazing! G ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Best restaurant ever! Food is amazing! Going back again tonight!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A 5pm first-seating reservation and a bo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

A 5pm first-seating reservation and a booth against the wall allowed pleasant conversation. The Waikiki Trolley was unique with the yuzu flavoring. We 4 ladies ate family style--shared an Appetizer sampler for 2, shared the sweet potato bisque (2 small servings in separate bowls!), individual salads, 3 entrees (mahimahi, short ribs, scallops). Finished it off with 2 chocolate souffles. My sister, the birthday celebrant, was presented a beautiful raspberry flan-like dessert. Lani was an excellent server--attentive, patient with all our questions, never made us feel rushed. Evening was sublime!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, generous portions and fr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Delicious food, generous portions and friendly staff

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fab and the service was exc ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was fab and the service was excellent. We shared pupus and it was a great mix and they were perfectly paired and timed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome meal! The butterfish and short r ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Awesome meal! The butterfish and short ribs are highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited in 1990s on vacation wanted re ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Visited in 1990s on vacation wanted revisit cuz of excellent food and prior favorable .

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, good food (but i choose i wr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Nice place, good food (but i choose i wrong dish!), little loud, great service. A place to try

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food but not as good as we experien ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good food but not as good as we experienced at Roys in West Maui; also eating outside was not so pleasant with the busy road alongside our table

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We love Roy's! The food is so good and t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We love Roy's! The food is so good and the staff could not be more helpful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way different then the Roy's on the main ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Way different then the Roy's on the mainland. Service was the best and they took care of my kids like there own family. Will be coming back here again!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience! Was visiting waikkik ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Awesome experience! Was visiting waikkiki for family vacay. Our head waiter was attentive and funny. The food was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best food we have ever tast ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was the best food we have ever tasted and perfect for our special occassion 25th wedding anniversary during our holiday.

We are not very adventurous with food and don't like fish etc.

The choice on the menu was great and our waiter was really helpful to explain how some items were cooked and served.

They provided a nice dessert plate with a happy anniversary wish written on it too. Great if them to remember this from our original booking from an email sent from home in the UK

Faultless.....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We rated the food but overall experience ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We rated the food but overall experience was down as the service didn't match. While enthusiastic and friendly, our wait person needed some basic training, e.g. Not to tip half a bottle of wine in to 2 glasses first up, and that it's a good idea to let people finish their entrees before asking if they'd like to see the dessert menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food, superb service, impeccab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent food, superb service, impeccable overall!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.