About Roy's Waikiki

226 Lewers
Honolulu, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Opening in 2007, Roy’s Waikiki fits right in with all the action in the new and exciting atmosphere of Waikiki Beach Walk. We offer inside tables, dining on the lanai or even at our Chef's counter. Along with Roy's classic items, our guests can enjoy a vast selection of innovative creations using the freshest local ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
2 hrs. free vaidated parking

Executive Chef:
Jason Peel

Private Party Facilities:
From family gatherings to celebrations, cocktail receptions to business meetings, let us help you create an unforgettable event! ■Semi-private room accommodates maximum of 50 guests ■Lounge area can accommodate up to 30 guests ■Restaurant buy-out available with a maximum of 230 guests

Private Party Contact:
Christine Fukada: 8089237697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's Waikiki
  • Roy's Waikiki
  • Roy's Waikiki
  • Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki

Roy's Waikiki Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Best Service
Oahu
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
1 More
Most Booked
Oahu

Special Occasion (152)
Fit for Foodies (122)
Romantic (76)
See All
Good for Groups (62)
Hot Spot (56)
Notable Wine List (47)
Kid-friendly (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for a Date (28)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Fun (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Casual (9)
Authentic (9)
Scenic View (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Healthy (1)
Cozy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1048 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful restaurant. Great service. Hi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful restaurant. Great service. Highly recommend the tasting menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always fresh and with great flav ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food is always fresh and with great flavor. A must eat if you're in Honolulu and try the trio of seafood so you taste different forms of fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The restaurant is quite loud. The prices ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant is quite loud. The prices are high, even for Hawaii. For the amount you get, it is overpriced. The is very good though. We felt rushed through the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Very poor quality food. Bland sushi and ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very poor quality food. Bland sushi and had the taste and appearance of having been prepared well in advance. Relative to previous experience and to the prices, this is extremely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Noise level is like feeding time at the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Noise level is like feeding time at the zoo. Good food and service.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

The food was excellent. I had the duo p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent. I had the duo prawns and my guest had the fish trio. Both were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome that there appetizer like free b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome that there appetizer like free bread is edaname. Literally if I had a sip of water they came and refilled it. Great food and exceptional service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service in a beautiful decor. ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful service in a beautiful decor. Marvelous food and drinks. All are garnished and a delight to the eyes as well as the pallet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience at Roy's. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful experience at Roy's. The service from Evin was fantastic and they were very accommodating to our 2 year old son. The opah dish is superb as the sauces compliment the fish perfectly. My husband has the meatloaf that he said was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff was excellent. Food was outst ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Wait staff was excellent. Food was outstanding. Definitely recommend the Canoe for Two appetizer and Macadamia Crusted Onaga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and it had terrific a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food was excellent and it had terrific ambience. Wait staff was efficient and very knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service by our waiter Taylor and t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great service by our waiter Taylor and the food was excellent! We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prix fixe meal is a lot of food unle ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The prix fixe meal is a lot of food unless you're a big eater. The appetizer sampler was great as were the desserts. The opah was moist and tasty. The short ribs were lacking flavor other than smoky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The butterfish was fantastic. The best f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The butterfish was fantastic. The best fish I have ever had. Our waiter was extremely effective, friendly and made us feel as if we were dining with a friend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The tasting menu dinner was great, as we ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The tasting menu dinner was great, as well as the portion and quality of a monchong dish, but for the triple fish dish, although the fish was well prepared, the portions were small and drowning in the sauces. The desserts were tasty and fresh, but too expensive for what was presented. The service was great...especially when one server went out of his way to take a photo of our family outside. Water was always filled (even when we were leaving!), and the waitress attentive and informative. Timing great for when dishes served. A bit noisy, but loved the fish prints on the walls. Should have explained on the website that the parking at the Embassy Suite was valet parking as we were looking for a parking garage entrance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My partner and I enjoyed one of our fina ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My partner and I enjoyed one of our final Waikiki meals here. We had such a great time - the service was perfect, and the food amazing. We can't wait to return!

Tags: Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We did the tasting menu with the wine pa ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We did the tasting menu with the wine parings. The food was amazing and the service was excellent too. Notables were the ribs and the macadamia crusted MAHI both outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is always our go-to restaurant when ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is always our go-to restaurant when we are in Waikiki. Food and drinks are wonderful and the location is perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have liked just a small piece or ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I would have liked just a small piece or two of crusty bread to soak up the yummy plate juices from my shrimp and fish dish. I very much prefer the edamame as an nibble before my meal and not a bread basket. But it was a shame to leave a puddle of yummy flavor on my plate for lack of a spoon or little piece of bread.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent and delicious. Genero ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was excellent and delicious. Generous portions in respect of the price. The ambiance is symple and maybe a little bit ancient as well as noisy, but the service and the food remedied to all. Very good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place to have dinner..The waiter ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great place to have dinner..The waiter was very helpful with all our questions..Would definitely have dinner there again.....

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our 38th wedding anniversa ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary at Roy's .it was the most wonderful meal we have had in all the years coming to Waikki Beach.we will be back🍷

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the food and service at Roy's. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We love the food and service at Roy's. But after our last experience, we may not go back. We had a 6:30 PM reservation on a Saturday night and were seated in a sea of birthday parties for small children. The crying noise of very small, unhappy children ruined the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Not as wow as people say. Very fresh foo ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Not as wow as people say. Very fresh food but too heavy for my liking. Not fine cuisine but ok food . Thats the problem with chain restaurants'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love the food and excellent service. The ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Love the food and excellent service. The fish with macadamia sauce is truly amazing and one of Roys speciality dishes. I highly recommend it. Outdoor seating was very nice particularly with the wonderful weather in Oahu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I visited Roy's for the f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My husband and I visited Roy's for the first one for our 9th anniversary. the hostesses greeted us promptly. The waitress was nice and knowledgeable. The complimentary edamame was the best we've ever eaten. We usually don't eat edamame for its lack of taste but we couldn't get enough of these! We both chose the prifixe menu option and mine included wine flight. Our meals were delicious from beginning to end! This is the first time that we both enjoyed our ENTIRE meal. The food was brought out temperature appropriate and promptly. The entire staff was attentive. Great food. Great ambience. Great value. We will visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Roy's used to be one of my favourite res ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Roy's used to be one of my favourite restaurants and I have dined there often. I usually found the dishes delicious and the service pleasant and efficient. At the outset it will probably not matter what I say because Roy's is extremely popular being right in the tourist strip of Waikiki.

This recent visit was unenjoyable.

We booked a table for 7.45pm and upon arrival were requested to wait as table was not ready.

We ordered our appetisers which arrived quickly. My ribs were well marinated and tasty. My wife had the crab cakes and these were just deep fried and looked pretty ordinary.mthe deep fried taste was poor. About halfway through our appetisers the waitstaff brought out our entrees, saw we were still eating and walked around our table, returning to the kitchen with our meals which were obviously going to be kept warm there.

When we finished our starters the main dishes re-emerged. I ordered the chicken dish and because of the warming process, the chicken had dried out and was not up to standard. My wife's salmon dish was disappointing again suffering from the reheating process. It seems the philosophy now is to turn the tables in rapid succession.

So for US$200 without service this constituted an experience I will not repeat. I have some friends visiting Hawaii next month and had recommended Roy's but will now suggest they go elsewhere.

For mine Tommy Bahamas, Mahini and Suns or Kaimuki offer better quality food and a more pleasant dining experience.

I think Roy's should really lift their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Everyone was fantastic. The food was ama ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Everyone was fantastic. The food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the food is consistently good (but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

While the food is consistently good (but not great) and the the staff are knowledgeable and enthusiastic, the restaurant is tired and in urgent need of refurbishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Roy's is always great. 4.5 stars. Yes ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Roy's is always great. 4.5 stars. Yes we would go back. Longer version: We are from the mainland, but have been to Roy's Waikiki many times, and many others on the islands and the mainland over the years. This is a great go-to place for a Pan Pacific and local cuisine that never disappoints. This time we had the rib appetizers and split a local salad. Both very tasty. My wife had the Onaga special (fish), and I the rib eye with horseradish potatoes and peppercorn sauce. Even though we are originally from the midwest, the rib eye was one of the best I ever had - and that is saying a lot. Nothing left of the fish - we polished it off and we are not big people. Service was excellent as usual. The place was packed, even on a Tuesday night, so reservations are a must.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Let me start off by saying that the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Let me start off by saying that the service and ambience here was great. All the waiters were well-trained and the establishment was well-staffed during my visit.

The low overall score I'm giving is because the food was mediocre, especially for how ridiculously expensive everything was. Definitely not good value for the average Joe's hard-earned money. The ingredients were fresh and the cooking styles were interesting, but personally I will not go to Roy's ever again. I enjoy myself more at hole-in-the-wall places much more to be honest.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

My family and I were pleased with Roy's. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

My family and I were pleased with Roy's. The duck was tender and the beef short ribs were slow roasted perfectly. They have a great wine and champagne selection. Roy's even remembered it was a special occasion when we got there and surprised my parents with a personalized dessert!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fourth time dining at Roy's ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This was our fourth time dining at Roy's , first in Honolulu. Was a absolute pleasure(as always), highly recommend, a culinary delight.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent, innovative food with above av ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent, innovative food with above average service. The restaurant is very loud, however. The Riesling served with the tasting menu was not good, but the other wine pairings were excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

AWESOME FOOD & GREAT SERVICE!!! 5 STAR A ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

AWESOME FOOD & GREAT SERVICE!!! 5 STAR ALL THE WAY!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Booked last minute for this busy Waikiki ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Booked last minute for this busy Waikiki Restaurant. Service exceptional and food combination of wonderful visual artistry and delicious flavors. Not for someone on a budget but it is a good value. Have been to this restaurant before and this visit did not disappoint. Try the chocolate souffle a la mode for a special treat. From the hostess, to the waiter to the chef's this busy restaurant can deliver a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinner. We opted for the thre ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent dinner. We opted for the three course dinner and it was delicious as well as a great value. Nothing in Waikiki is cheap, so you're going to pay through the nose no matter where you go.....so you might as well get a great meal if you're paying those Waikiki prices. Roy's doesn't disappoint.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was expecting big things but it was on ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was expecting big things but it was only average, not bad but nothing to exclaim about. best dish of the 4 we had was the butter fish, that was great, the rest average and the meat dumplings were pretty bad. Wait staff were all friendly but there were SO many of them and our unfinished meals were almost cleared right out from under us twice, felt pressured to eat fast and get out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Visited Roy's Waikiki as a treat whilst ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Visited Roy's Waikiki as a treat whilst on holiday in Hawaii . Lovely atmosphere seated at outside table and great food . Service friendly but a little bit slow when ordering drinks and their waiting lounge before we we were seated leaves a little bit to be desired and we weren't offered opportunity to have an aperitif whilst we waited either . But overall we really liked restaurant and its food is very good .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.