About Roy's Waikiki

226 Lewers
Honolulu, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Opening in 2007, Roy’s Waikiki fits right in with all the action in the new and exciting atmosphere of Waikiki Beach Walk. We offer inside tables, dining on the lanai or even at our Chef's counter. Along with Roy's classic items, our guests can enjoy a vast selection of innovative creations using the freshest local ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Light Appetizers (Pupus) and Drinks on the Patio

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
$6 for 4hrs with validation from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Ichiki

Private Party Facilities:
From family gatherings to celebrations, cocktail receptions to business meetings,
let us help you create an unforgettable event!

■Semi-private room accommodates maximum of 50 guests
■Lounge area can accommodate up to 30 guests
■Restaurant buy-out available with a maximum of 230 guests

Private Party Contact:
Emma Lazo: (808) 923-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikiki Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (67)
Creative Cuisine (62)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Local Ingredients (53)
Good for a Date (52)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Romantic (39)
Tasting Menu (35)
Hot Spot (28)
Casual (28)
Good for Groups (24)
Authentic (24)
Fun (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Business Meals (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Cozy (13)
People Watching (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Healthy (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Organic (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Family Style (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Dancing (2)
Live Music (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The experience was horrible. The food wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

The experience was horrible. The food was so bad we couldn't eat it. I also got sick. It is sad because we always plan to go to Roy's when in Hawaii. We will never go again. I planned to take a team of eight there this week too, but just can't do it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was excellent and service atten ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined a day ago

The food was excellent and service attentive. The restaurant is always packed and pretty loud, but we were seated in a booth which kept down the din to an acceptable level. I look forward to going back on my next visit to Honolulu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We try to eat at Roy's Waikiki each time ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

We try to eat at Roy's Waikiki each time we are in Honolulu. We always feel pampered when dining there. The food is original and always delicious and the service top notch. Great unusual sushi rolls and seafood dishes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best place for a really good meal, t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

The best place for a really good meal, the service was excellent they knew my name when I entered the restaurant.

Diva was amazing as always and she just made our evening outstanding...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining quality and prices and servi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Fine dining quality and prices and service but neighborhood restaurant atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

We chose Roy's for our belated Valentine ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

We chose Roy's for our belated Valentines celebration, and it was a great choice. We arrived early and waited at the bar to be seated, the level of service was fantastic. The hostess seating us was very welcoming and didn't rush us. The waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and patient with explaining and recommending items. There was nothing negative to say about the experience, it was a perfect date night!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's never fails to deliver! We went ou ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Roy's never fails to deliver! We went out for a belated Valentine's dinner and as always had an amazing experience! Our server was so friendly and attentive without being overbearing; we loved her! My husband and I split the appetizer sampler and the braised short ribs. Both were so ono (delicious) .... The short ribs were fork tender and so flavorful! We checked in on Yelp and got the molten chocolate cake for free! It's our favorite and the perfect end to the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's was spectacular, we decided to go ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Roy's was spectacular, we decided to go with all appetizers there. The Deluxe Roll and Baby back Ribs were fantastic. Our server spoiled us and brought us 3 plates of the complimentary edamame that was seasoned with a spicy rub. For desert we went with the chocolate soufflés that was while worth the 30 minute wait.

The wine selection was great and priced reasonably.

My only complaint was they were a little slow to get drinks out as they were so busy that night. We also got sat in the back corner but in a very comfortable booth.

While worth the money and I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Impeccable service and amazing food. Can ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Impeccable service and amazing food. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've eaten at Roy's a few times and enjo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I've eaten at Roy's a few times and enjoy the variety of options as well as the meal presentations and casual fine dining. This time I went to the Waikiki location with my spouse and my inlaws on their last nigh visiting us On Oahu. My inlaws enjoyed the regular tasting menu and my husband and I enjoyed the yellowfin ahi sashimi appetizer. However, we both ordered steak for our entre' and we were equally disappointed by how overly salty the dishes were. We both woke up multiple times that night, uncomfortably thirsty. I've found this is not uncommon at nice dining locations attached to hotels, but had never noticed this at Roy's before.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Sean was an excellent server and all of ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Sean was an excellent server and all of the staff pitched in to make sure our dining experience was wonderful. The food and selection was fantastic. The wine selection was great as well. You must try their lava cake and let your server suggest your meal. Sean took very good care of is and steered us in the right direction. The meat was so tender, I barely needed a knife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was excellent. Food was g ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The experience was excellent. Food was great and the service was really good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The sweet potato bisque and the pineappl ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The sweet potato bisque and the pineapple upside down cake was fabulous! Service got better after we sat down. The 3 sample fish dish was wonderful as well, and they allowed us to substitute the salmon with the ahi, which was wonderful. I highly recommend Roy's as a place to eat while here on vacation!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Holy moly, they kept bringing food and w ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Holy moly, they kept bringing food and wine and we kept eating and drinking. The chef's specials with the 4-courses are pretty spectacular. Enjoyed the food a lot! The drunk pineapples are like doing a whole shot. A pricey by memorable night!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed the food selection over previo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I enjoyed the food selection over previous menus. I like the choice of having more meats as opposed to fish. Cocktails were well done and service was very friendly and efficient. I typically go to Hawaii Kai, but the atmosphere and noise level is much better in Waikiki.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a nice night out with friends. T ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was a nice night out with friends. The only reason why we went to the restaurant was because i purchased a certificate through a silent auction at a fundraiser for my high achool alma mater. The food was great but it was pretty costly; $200 for three of us? The seating was in an area where when the door is opened, the draft of air comes in making it a little cold. I think it was a better place to sit than near the kitchen though because it was not noisy. The service was excellent but being local we try to stay away from Waikiki.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Had the table d'hote, it was very good b ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had the table d'hote, it was very good but second course was a boring green salad. Wine pairing was also very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food and service. Very crowde ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very crowded and busy/a bit loud though.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favourite places for a tasty ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One of our favourite places for a tasty meal and good wine. I was a little disappointed that they were out of escargot by 6.30pm. Overall, great experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 49th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We celebrated our 49th wedding anniversary at Roy's. The food was delicious but the exceptional service we received by Shaun made this occasion memorable and special.

We may bring our entire family to Hawaii for our 50th anniversary and return to Roy's for a celebratory dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought this place was going to be ama ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I thought this place was going to be amazing. It was the total opposite. The fish was not top quality and the preparation was even worse. The staff was accommodating and felt badly that I was so disappointed. That said, it would not be a place I would ever recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

I took my husband to Roys Waikiki for hi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I took my husband to Roys Waikiki for his Birthday dinner. We both had the 4 course tasting menu. Everything about our experience was Outstanding!! Every course of food was amazing. Our waiter, busboy, server were all top notch! Each of them were friendly, attentive and the timing of delivery between each course was perfect. My husband had the "best dinner he's ever had". I wish we had a Roys in our city it would be my go to restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great, I suggest however not to ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Food was great, I suggest however not to order cocktails go for a glass of wine or craft beer. My date and I both ordered a different cocktail and both wish we hadn't. Ahi Sashimi, pork belly appetizer, butter fish, green tea white chocolate dessert and nuts and berry dessert coffee fully recommend. Delicious. Service was fine our waiter was friendly, it was my birthday and even having checked our ID's there was no question of whether it was a special occasion. We felt rushed by the water boy he kept asking to take plates we hadn't finished yet. Ambiance was where they lost me. I made a reservation using opentable over a week in advance. We were sat in the middle where I had a direct view of the kitchen hall where I could see food getting disposed of and other unsavory things. It also seemed to be where the waiters, hostesses, busboys, management seemed to congregate and even stare at our table making the evening lack intimacy and feel pretty uncomfortable. If you reserve a table ask for a booth away from the kitchen. I think I can't say I'd recommend it and if I did I'd have to give sidenotes of what to do to have a more enjoyable experience than ours. Valet parking validation was super convenient. Recap food and valet amazing but for the cost not sure it's worth it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Good food. Staff attentive. Food deliver ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good food. Staff attentive. Food delivery was a bit slow between dishes. Good enough we came back the next day to casual dine on the balcony. Had an amazing hamachi and draft beer very fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating our 49th wedding ann ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were celebrating our 49th wedding anniversary. The food and service were excellent. However, the extreme noise level detracted from the experience.

This was our first time here in 10 visits to HI and we decided to have our special night here. Not sure we would return.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Been to other Roy's. Always leery of cha ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Been to other Roy's. Always leery of chains but am always pleased at Roy's. Exceeds my expectations. all was good. Well keep going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, wine, service - ALL excellent! W ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food, wine, service - ALL excellent! W were visiting between both my Husband & my birthdays. Perfect celebration!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most kid-friendly restaurant we've e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The most kid-friendly restaurant we've ever been to. They brought out an appetizer plate for the kids almost immediately, and they had a toy box to help ensure the kids were entertained at the table. As for the noise level, it didn't seem to be attributed to the kids... they were all quietly eating and playing! Service was great, and the 4-course special did not disappoint with good portion sizes and well balanced flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Roy's didn't disappoint. Our service fro ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Roy's didn't disappoint. Our service from Diondre was faultless. His menu knowledge and recommendations were impeccable.

The meal itself was one of the best we have had. Fresh and flavorful food.

Chocolate soufflé for desert was amazing!

Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Creative menu with fresh fish choices an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Creative menu with fresh fish choices and innovative choice of meat varieties complete a broad selection of sashimi and other Asian delights. There's something on the menu for all, capped by wonderful house made deserts! A great way to begin with generous sized cocktails, then sit back, relax and enjoy a great meal. Staff is very friendly, trained well by top professional management! (Diva is a great leader!)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We both had the seared Ahi rare, it was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We both had the seared Ahi rare, it was wonderful, can't wait to go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Roys has consistently provided fresh goo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Roys has consistently provided fresh good quality food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Though we had a reservation they us wait ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Though we had a reservation they us wait longer than people coming in after us without reservation. After checking what's going on I realized that they apparently forgot that we were still waiting. Two or three women working at the front were not very friendly and professional. They should definitely put in people more highly motivated to serving customers with more politeness and efficiency. As for food the two main dishes we ordered (fillet mignon and grilled Ahi) were SO heavy with various sauces and also SO salty that we could not really taste the good flavor of the fine quality meat and fish. The heavy sauces really ruined them. As if it's a finishing touch to our disappointing experience at this restaurant, I accidentally left my credit card with a signed visa slip on the table which I witnessed the waiter picking up as we were leaving BUT apparently he did not chase after us to return the card. It's next morning when I called the restaurant that I realized I had left it there but even then the person who answered my phone call was not apologetic or sympathetic at all and made me feel like they were doing a big favor for us.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We had a wonderful culinary birthday exp ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a wonderful culinary birthday experience! It was such a treat for all of us as we rarely get out to a fancy restaurant. Everything from appetizers to dessert made us ooooooh and ahhhhh with delight. Thank you from 3 local wahines 😃🌻

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Somewhat i overrated

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Somewhat i overrated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server definitely made the experienc ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server definitely made the experience. It was an amazing first experience and we felt special on our anniversary. Mahalo, Roy's!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Possibly the best meal I have ever had. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Possibly the best meal I have ever had. The service was impeccable and while the price was on the high side; I felt it was worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite having pre-booked we were made t ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Despite having pre-booked we were made to wait where there was only standing room. When finally lead to a table, it was dirty and covered with dishes and food from the prior party. After we'd sat down, we were asked to get up and he lead back to wait again as they cleaned the table. We were then seated on a different table. What was the point of all of that?

I ordered chicken spring rolls with a pineapple dipping sauce. I'm intolerant to spicy food. I chose that because there was no mention of hot spices in the menu description. I dipped my spring roll into the sauce and took a huge bite and nearly choked on the overwhelming heat of wasabi that governed the whole flavour of the sauce.

I of course continued (after a pitcher of recovery iced water) without the sauce but found the spring rolls to be dry and bland.

The remainder of the meal was outstanding, however after the seating debacle and the attempted wasabi murder, the experience was marred. Roy's let he down and I don't think I'll be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was outstanding but it was so loud ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was outstanding but it was so loud with wait staff rushing around trying to accommodate the full restaurant of guests that it took away from the experience. In contrast, our experience at Eating House on Kauai was fantastic in all ways.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

A terrific experience! We had Lea as our ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A terrific experience! We had Lea as our server. She was very knowledgeable on menu selection and extremely attentive. The food was onolicious, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.