About Roy's Waikiki

226 Lewers
Honolulu, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Opening in 2007, Roy’s Waikiki fits right in with all the action in the new and exciting atmosphere of Waikiki Beach Walk. We offer inside tables, dining on the lanai or even at our Chef's counter. Along with Roy's classic items, our guests can enjoy a vast selection of innovative creations using the freshest local ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Light Appetizers (Pupus) and Drinks on the Patio

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
$6 for 4hrs with validation from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Ichiki

Private Party Facilities:
From family gatherings to celebrations, cocktail receptions to business meetings,
let us help you create an unforgettable event!

■Semi-private room accommodates maximum of 50 guests
■Lounge area can accommodate up to 30 guests
■Restaurant buy-out available with a maximum of 230 guests

Private Party Contact:
Emma Lazo: (808) 923-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI
  • Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI
  • Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI
  • Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI

Report a photo problem

Roy's Waikiki Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Local Ingredients (55)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Romantic (37)
Tasting Menu (33)
Good for Groups (27)
Hot Spot (27)
Authentic (23)
Casual (23)
Business Meals (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fun (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Cozy (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
People Watching (12)
Healthy (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Family Style (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Organic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Spicy (5)
Scenic View (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great Beer (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vegan (4)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Waterfront (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Dancing (2)
Live Music (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service is poor. They pushed us to leave ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined a day ago

Service is poor. They pushed us to leave when we ate the last bite. I visited some days before Roy's in turtle bay resort. Much better service and also better food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Service, selection and food was superb. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Service, selection and food was superb. I purchased the $95 four course meal with wine pairing. The pairing was absolutely fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and creative food. Exceptional ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious and creative food. Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was not my first visit. I just love ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined 3 days ago

This was not my first visit. I just love Roy's. The food was delicious & the service was fabulous. I'll be back. 😃

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ordered two filets for my wife and mysel ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Ordered two filets for my wife and myself , with veges mashed potatoes. Wife's steak was good mine had to be sent back twice could not get it right . Did not want back ordered Med well got rare both times . They took off my steak from the bill as I did not want it for the third time . Will try again sometime but for 50.00 a steak u have to get it right no excuse .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Freshest fish I've ever had, and the ser ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Freshest fish I've ever had, and the service was outstanding. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Ahi was perfect. Great selection of ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

The Ahi was perfect. Great selection of wines. Butterfish and mahimahi are must haves as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food/wine pairings were tasty. Our waite ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Food/wine pairings were tasty. Our waiter was okay. He started out alright but there was another lady that was the one continuously asking how we were, filling our water, and taking away our finished dishes. I loved the area and overall ambience. Food was worth the prices, everything was cooked perfect and also had some of the best sushi rolls I've ever tasted.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Healthy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service and good food. The waiter ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and good food. The waiter took my food allergy seriously and the chef prepared an alternative sauce for my fish. We would go here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Roys in Hawaii is a must try. Definitely ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Roys in Hawaii is a must try. Definitely better than the locations on the mainland. Food was good, service excellent, and seating was excellent too. We had an outdoor table and couldn't have asked for a better one.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great signature drinks and creative cuis ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Great signature drinks and creative cuisine! Preferred booth rather than table-a tad quieter.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Getting seated can be sticky, but tough ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Getting seated can be sticky, but tough it out for the fantastic food and really well-trained wait staff. The room can be loud so ask for a table in the back after cocktail hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great experience. Nice touch giving us a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great experience. Nice touch giving us a free appetizer for being a repeat customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was mediocre. Food took forever to ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was mediocre. Food took forever to come to the table and was cold. After waiting I didn't send it back because we already waisted the better part of an hour. The mixed drinks were bitter and we sent it back. Overall I would say save your money try someplace else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I have visited a few of the Roy's on the ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have visited a few of the Roy's on the mainland and this is one of the better ones. Apart from being bypassed several times for seating of my reservation (20 minutes) it was worth the wait. I decided on the tasting menu and had the Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi which was delicious. My waitress Yvonne was awesome! Great overall experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Seated in area w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great food and service! Seated in area with large groups so very loud!!! Enjoyed food and going back tonight! Hope for better seating!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy's continues to serve creative and de ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Roy's continues to serve creative and delicious meals for a reasonable price, considering the quality. One of my faithful fallback choices when eating on the "edge" gets boring!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worth the price considering the best ser ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Worth the price considering the best service provided by our server Lea, and the superbly prepared food. Dined using the set menu for the first time and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had been recommended Roy's and now we ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had been recommended Roy's and now we know why. The food, service and quality experience was enjoyable and worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. So many delicious choices! M ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food. So many delicious choices! Menu well explained by wait staff who were always very attentive to our needs. We will be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We had dinner there on a Sunday evening ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had dinner there on a Sunday evening and I it was good, but not great. it was recommended highly to us from some friends of ours and I know that they really love the restaurant so I'm chalking it up to just bad timing. The dinner was good, just not a $180 dinner.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Our server was amazing!!! Very knowledge ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was amazing!!! Very knowledgeable, attentive and welcoming. I don't remember his name, but he was a tall, young man & made our anniversary/birthday the best.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to many Roy's and this locat ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have been to many Roy's and this location is not great. The ambiance was close to zero. The server was friendly but the hosts were cold. The food was sub par. My husband was so excited to come to dinner and it was a huge disappointment. We left half the ribs and the fish was not appealing. I will try another location but never here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

This was a very pleasant and romantic ev ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was a very pleasant and romantic evening. Everything was just perfect!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Even things I don't normally ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food. Even things I don't normally like I loved !

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Roy's Waikiki remains our favorite resta ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Roy's Waikiki remains our favorite restaurant in Hawaii. The food is spectacular but the staff is even better. It also starts with an amazing GM who we love and her staff is perfection.

I am still dreaming about the crispy zucchini

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again Roy's did not disappoint. Eac ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Once again Roy's did not disappoint. Each time we go to Waikiki from Australia we book one night at this iconic Hawaiian/ Asian fusion restaurant. We love good food and the standard here has consistently been excellent over many years and always gives a highlight to our holiday (I keep going back for the blackened ahi because it's divine, but should really branch out more!)

The knowledge and friendliness of the service staff can't be overlooked either - they are well versed in the cuisine and clearly understand the food and its flavour, a hallmark of a really great restaurant. The wine list is extensive but varied, allowing for a range of budgets from very expensive to 'just enjoying a glass with dinner'.

We always engage in the 'great mai tai search' when in Hawaii and this time, the prize goes to Roy's - great combination of rums and juices - beautifully smooth with a kick. :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was recommended to me and did not disapp ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Was recommended to me and did not disappoint. We tried the tasting menu which was amazing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Great food. Dining ro ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent service. Great food. Dining room was very loud.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our waiter was very attentive and person ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our waiter was very attentive and personable. The food was good but I was expecting more from Roy's. Maybe I set my expectations too high, as our meal was very good, just not great.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

Food reasonable but would recommend eati ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food reasonable but would recommend eating on the second floor just to listen to the great guitarist/singer they have playing.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Roys never disappoints and the service i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Roys never disappoints and the service is the best!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The price charged for the food is not wo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The price charged for the food is not worth it. The place has no charm and the food has nothing special.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Thai is! Good food well done!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Thai is! Good food well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

even though we had a booking at a specif ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

even though we had a booking at a specific time, were kept waiting for an additional 20 minutes.

Food was okay at best, with little vegetarian options, which were made clear when booking about the special requirement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The portion size was perfect, the food w ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The portion size was perfect, the food was excellent and the waitress was very timely in her checking on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the only place we could get for n ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was the only place we could get for nye. I'm sure on any other night it would have been better. Very nice waitress. Hostess seemed out of sorts and confused. Food was really slow coming. We ended up taking it to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

白身魚の料理はソースが絶品に美味しいです。以外デザートのチョコレートスフレもかな ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

白身魚の料理はソースが絶品に美味しいです。以外デザートのチョコレートスフレもかなり美味しいです。魚料理系がたべたいかたにはお勧め。全体的にはボリュームがあるため注文はメインなら単品でもOK。

Tags: 深夜(22時以降)営業, デートにピッタリ, 創作的な料理, オーガニック, グルメ・美食家, カジュアルな雰囲気, 地元の食材を使った料理
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food here is above average; however, ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food here is above average; however, it took too long (30 minutes between courses) to be served, especially for prix fixe. Our waiter was largely inattentive--he never introduced himself. I had trouble hearing my wife in our two-person side booth, as the ambiance is hectic and cacophonous. The decor is reminiscent of a cheap motel's, making for a drawn-out, unenjoyable dining experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Our server was amazing! She always check ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server was amazing! She always checked on us, went over the menu and gave suggestions. She was so attentive and the food was just amazing. My husband did the tasting menu with the short ribs and I did the spring rolls, soup and appetizer butterfish. We left so happy it was so amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.