About Roy's Waikiki

226 Lewers
Honolulu, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Opening in 2007, Roy’s Waikiki fits right in with all the action in the new and exciting atmosphere of Waikiki Beach Walk. We offer inside tables, dining on the lanai or even at our Chef's counter. Along with Roy's classic items, our guests can enjoy a vast selection of innovative creations using the freshest local ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
2 hrs. free vaidated parking

Executive Chef:
Jason Peel

Private Party Facilities:
From family gatherings to celebrations, cocktail receptions to business meetings, let us help you create an unforgettable event! ■Semi-private room accommodates maximum of 50 guests ■Lounge area can accommodate up to 30 guests ■Restaurant buy-out available with a maximum of 230 guests

Private Party Contact:
Christine Fukada: 8089237697

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's Waikiki
  • Roy's Waikiki
  • Roy's Waikiki
  • Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki
Roy's Waikiki

Roy's Waikiki Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Hawaii
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Best Service
Oahu
2 More
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Most Booked
Oahu

special occasion (181)
fit for foodies (166)
romantic (89)
See All
good for groups (87)
hot spot (70)
notable wine list (66)
great for outdoor dining (39)
kid-friendly (38)
neighborhood gem (37)
late-night find (27)
vibrant bar scene (21)
great for lunch (15)
scenic view (11)
great for brunch (8)
Sort By:
Newest
945 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic! We even got the chocolate sou ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic! We even got the chocolate souffle ´s recipe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding and I really en ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was outstanding and I really enjoyed just about everything that came to the table. The restaurant was very well decorated and laid out. The ambiance was great as well. The only improvement that could be made was the level of professionalism from the wait staff. They were very good, but I had had better at this quality restaurant. Overall, I would return for sure and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Had high hopes for this place after it w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had high hopes for this place after it was recommended numerous times. My wife and I wanted a classier dinner on our last night on the island and were horribly disappointed. The appetizer we had for outrageously expensive for what we received. Fatty ribs, grocery store quality "sushi", frozen egg rolls, and chewy shrimp. Thought it was a fluke and then received our main dish: salty scallops covered in 4 different sauces that did not blend well and the mahi mahi that was absurdly bland! I'm not a picky eater at all, I usually enjoy anything and don't complain but paying nearly $200 for that garbage is unacceptable. I'm hoping that I can prevent one person from wasting their money here. Do yourself a favor and continue down the road one more block and eat at Samurai Grill Food Truck - that's true Hawaiin food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Outstanding service and food. Personall ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service and food. Personally greeted by the manager. What a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The misoyaki butter fish fish was delici ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

The misoyaki butter fish fish was delicious. The wines were excellent and the upsidedown pineapple cake is equally superb

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good choice if you want a really good ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 6 days ago

A good choice if you want a really good meal. Very good service. Ahi poke and crab cake starters excellent.

Tags: special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and friendly service. The sca ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and friendly service.

The scallops and sashimi were world class.

We sat at the chefs counter and thoroughly enjoyed watching the staff prepare our dinner.

This restaurant is a must when visiting Waikiki.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A not-to-be-missed restaurant for those ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A not-to-be-missed restaurant for those in or going to Honolulu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Fantastic! Love Roys! We hit Roy ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always Fantastic! Love Roys! We hit Roys in every city that we visit that has one!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was great. Staff was exceptional. B ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good was great. Staff was exceptional. Best dinner so far in Hawaii by far

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but not fantastic for the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was good but not fantastic for the price. Drinks and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The Chef worked wonders to accommodate a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Chef worked wonders to accommodate a member of our party with some diet restrictions. The staff was very attentive to our 7 year old. I will recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a pleasant evening with great food .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Taylor was our server and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service! Taylor was our server and he was awesome. Opah fish was cooked well with the lobster sauce. The short ribs was not as good, overcooked and dry with a heavy dousing of sauce. The chocolate soufflé is highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a great first experience dining at R ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Had a great first experience dining at Roy's. Food and service were excellent. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Too many tables on the dining floor. Too ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Too many tables on the dining floor. Too tight of a squeeze. The ambiance was not relaxing. Too noisy. Too busy. Too loud. Too many people too close together. Service was very good. Food was ok. Not worth the money for the overall dining experience.

Food: 7/10

Service: 8/10

Ambiance: 3/10

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

The food & service was superb! The waite ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food & service was superb! The waiter Taylor was knowledgeable of the food selections and its' preparation as listed in the menu. The assistant waiter was quick in removing and replacing the plates and utensils. He was also quick in refilling our drinks. The overall experience was outstanding. I wish to bisit this restaurant again. This time, I would like to try the Southern CA location closest to me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food! Great location! Awes ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Outstanding food! Great location! Awesome Service! Thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the food is good but the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The quality of the food is good but the place is huge, can't help to get the feel of being rushed to turn the table for several sittings per night, If you want good food and don't mind being rushed then Roy's is for you.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I took my girlfriend's family to Roy's t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I took my girlfriend's family to Roy's to thank them for flying us out to Hawaii. We had a wonderful time. When we found ourselves in bumper to bumper traffic on the other side of the island, the staff accommodated us by letting us change our reservation time. When we arrived the food was delicious and innovative, and the servers were pleasant and knowledgeable. Roy's is on the fancier side and so not cheap, so for me it is for special occasions only. But for that purpose it was perfect. We had a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the crab c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was excellent and the crab cakes were spectacular. I would highly recommend this location to anyone visiting Waikiki

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the top restaurants in Waikiki. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of the top restaurants in Waikiki. The passion and commitment to fine dining is readily apparent throughout all segments of the dining experience. Seafood is consistently awesome - none finer, despite steep competition in this part of town. Prices have crept up steadily over the years- while the Misoyaki Butterfish is awesome I think twice about it at a price of $48. Desserts are awesome and the cocktails are well crafted. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have visited once before years back... ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I have visited once before years back.......showing my cousin the nice view and appearance very pleasant and food choices

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Roy's on Oahu, Maui and Kauai (E ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Visited Roy's on Oahu, Maui and Kauai (Eating House 1849). Roy's on Waikiki was by far our favorite! Was professionally run, from the time we arrived, SERVICE throughout our meal and when we left. Kauai (Eating House) was an enjoyable outing in it's own way (another story). Maui, well, on a golf course...for real?

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetiser was great. One entree was nice ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Appetiser was great. One entree was nice but very small portion. The second entree was very bland,no flavour at all. Overall pretty disappointed

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We celebrated our 50th anniversary ther ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We celebrated our 50th anniversary there. It was great food, good service & we were so happy that we ordered the pineapple upside down cake. It was delicious and just the right size. Would love to have the recipe. Definitely a must stop when you are in Waikiki.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the black rice with the amazing but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Love the black rice with the amazing butterfish! Also loved the trio.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner, I think it was lo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner, I think it was loud because it was the 4th of July and everyone was headed past the restaurant to the beach for fireworks.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great service and very speed to ready to ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

great service and very speed to ready to eat

need not wait

very fresh

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome dining experience. The best in W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Awesome dining experience. The best in Waikiki! We had zucchini appetizer, meatloaf entree (yum) and the capoccino hit the spot. Service was excellent, too!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great, despite bei ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food and service were great, despite being a bit touristy and extremely loud. Request a table outside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Very very disappointed. First time in Ha ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Very very disappointed. First time in Hawaii and was told Roy's was a great chain restaurant with local Hawaiian flavors. The noise level was unbearable. The hostess who sat us and the first two servers were rushed and very curt. The service was mediocre at best. The food for one diner was wrong - twice! It took forever for the server to return to the table. The food was good at best but the service, ambience (or lack of), and cost not worth the very unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We had the Beachwalk Trio | Hibachi Salm ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had the Beachwalk Trio | Hibachi Salmon, Macadamia Nut Crusted Monchong, Misoyaki Butterfish and the Slow Braised Honey Mustard Grilled Beef Short Ribs | Nalo Herb Lyonnaise Potatoes, Lomi Tomatoes ($43 and $38). Both were wonderful, but we especially enjoyed the Short Ribs and the Misoyaki Butterfish. While the meat portions were perfect, the sids were very very small. At those prices, please put on more than one bite of rice, vegetable or potato. We also had the pineapple cake and it was delicious. Our waiter, Tyler, was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The barbecued short ribs were amazing. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The barbecued short ribs were amazing. I wish I would have had them before I ordered my main entree. But, my ribeye steak was excellent as well. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous restaurant. Felt we were treate ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Fabulous restaurant. Felt we were treated very special for 50th birthday family celebration. Smooth service. Tasty, beautifully presented food and lovely cocktails. Very friendly, well informed staff. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating 20 years ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating 20 years of marriage and our two Birthdays.

We were seated promptly at the time of our reservation, and staff was very friendly! The food was really good, pricey but that's Waikiki/Hawaii.

We had a nice bottle of Rosé, which I have purchased before for around $16-18/bottle - they charge $40...over double, yikes!

We both had the pre-fix dinner which included an appitizer, main entre' and desert, we both enjoyed our dinner choices and the dessert was amazing! Chocolate lava cake! We both felt the price was right for our dinner.

I think the only slightly negative was the ambiance - it was a little "tired", no view and the booth I sat in was so worn out I kept sliding forward and it was small and cramped.

Will I eat here again? Hmmm, maybe not. With so many choices, and all at the same price point, I might look for something with a bit more to offer ambiance-wise - like live music or a view.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Introduced to Roy's by a friend who live ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Introduced to Roy's by a friend who lives on Oahu, during a family vacation. While parking is difficult and pricey, it's well worth it. Good options for younger diners (15 and 20 years old), and quite solicitous of our lengthy time chatting after our meal. A real gem!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, one of our favorite meals du ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, one of our favorite meals during trip to Hawaii. Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

truly one of our fav restaurants on Hawa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

truly one of our fav restaurants on Hawaii vacation - and cool to get the real "Roy's" - we especially noticed the service and attentiveness of staff from minute you arrive to leaving - also best kids meals ever incl. meatloaf!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a little difficult to make a rese ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was a little difficult to make a reservation because I initially searched for "Roy's" in a search engine and it directed me to the mainland chain of restaurants and you cannot make a reservation there. Instead, I specified "Roy's Waikiki" and a whole other webpage loaded and reservations could be made using a the application on the website. Very confusing. Other than that, the food, service, ambience, etc. were on point. Our whole party ordered the prefixes with wine pairing. Worth it. Wine pairing prefixes should be available on the mainland too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dine at Roy's in Waikiki several time ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We dine at Roy's in Waikiki several times a month and our experience is always fantastic. The service and food are consistently outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.