About Roy's Waikiki

Opening in 2007, Roy’s Waikiki fits right in with all the action in the new and exciting atmosphere of Waikiki Beach Walk. We offer inside tables, dining on the lanai or even at our Chef's counter. Along with Roy's classic items, our guests can enjoy a vast selection of innovative creations using the freshest local ingredients available.

226 Lewers
Honolulu, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Light Appetizers (Pupus) and Drinks on the Patio

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
$6 for 4hrs with validation from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Ichiki

Private Party Facilities:
From family gatherings to celebrations, cocktail receptions to business meetings,
let us help you create an unforgettable event!

■Semi-private room accommodates maximum of 50 guests
■Lounge area can accommodate up to 30 guests
■Restaurant buy-out available with a maximum of 230 guests

Private Party Contact:
Emma Lazo: (808) 923-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikiki Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (84)
Good for a Date (70)
Local Ingredients (65)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Notable Wine List (40)
Romantic (37)
Business Meals (33)
Tasting Menu (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Good for Groups (32)
Hot Spot (31)
Authentic (29)
Fun (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Casual (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Comfort Food (14)
People Watching (14)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Waterfront (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tapas (4)
Vegan (4)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

アメリカの大胆な感じではなく、繊細な盛り付け、味付けでとても美味しく頂けました。雰囲気もかしこまり過ぎずリラックスでき楽しくお食事できましま。

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Noisy, low ceiling, had to shout across the table to be heard.
Waiters rushing around, short staffed, they're trying to do a good job but with so many tables, they made for a frenetic atmosphere, NOT elegant like Roy's used to be.
Steamed opah was overdone.
Edamame starter oily, messy to eat.
Our waiter was very good, but because of the atmosphere and overcooked fish, we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

家族で食事しに行きました
サンセットアワーの時間帯に行くととても得した気分です

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Great service. Came here on our honeymoon and was our favorite meal we had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Have been returning to Roys many times from Ireland for our wedding anniversary.
Has always had great service and excellent meals.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food and great service. Not only was the food great but the presentation is second to none.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

We decided to find a really good restaurant during our vacation and heard about Roy's. We were not disappointed! The food and service were excellent. Although a bit noisy, it was not difficult to carry on a conversation. For dinner I had the tasting menu with Braised Short Ribs. It was magnificent! My husband had a salad and then the filet mignon with crab sauce and gnocchi. He loved it! So all-in-all it was an excellent and memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome as usual!! I love Roy's and have been multiple times!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

My friends and I travelled to Kauai, the Big Island, and Oahu for a vacation and Roy's was the best food we had in Hawaii. Our server Evin was extremely attentive, knowledgeable, and funny! Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Slow service super noisy too many tables crammed in so that wait staff couldn't get thru without bumping into our chairs every time they went by. Would not recommend there are much better restaurants in the area to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Just outstanding! Locally sourced food beautifully prepared and wonderful presentation. Excellent wine list. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Delicious and very pleasant dining experience, enhanced by the impeccable service. Enjoyable and memorable evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food is always consistently fresh and tasty. Exceptional service staff. If you like good food, Roys the place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Service was exceptional and the food was a religious experience. They served a complimentary bowl of garlic edamame, which was a nice surprise, and will explain what it is if you don't know. I had the filet mignon topped with a crab sauce-- to die for. The portions were ample, and I couldn't finish the steak. The prices are high. Save Roys for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Wonderful food. It's our favorite spot in Waikiki. We come here every year and make that we make it to Roys Waikiki at least once.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Read about this place in the lonely planet guidebook and did some research on- line and discovered they have a 3 course fixed price menu for US $46 @5-6pm everyday. Thought it was very good value and decided to give it a go. Had the poke trio, followed by the Fillet mignon with prawns (surf and turf) and the soufflé lava cake with icecream. Delicious! Service was very professional and efficient, attentive without being too in your face. Remember that this is a fine dining restaurant, so if you order a la carte , prepare to pay a la carte price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We are in Honolulu for a wedding and thought we would dine here. We dine at the Woodland Hills Roys all the time.
This was the worst atmosphere and dinner we have had in many years. It is a tourist trap! Because it is Roy's original restaurant we thought it would be excellent. Reviews are misleading. I had a lobster- shrimp "mac-cheese "that was something I was not going to order. Our server indicated that it was the best dish on the menu. It was beyond awful ...very creamy and the dish was covered with garlic chips and cold.I sent it back and it was redone without the garlic chips but it an emulsion of things thrown together that was still too creamy and had no appeal whatsoever. The mahi mahi was mediocre at best. I would have had that as the replacement dish but did not care for it either. My husband thought it was just fair. The restaurant is chaotic, noisy and lacks any atmosphere. We almost walked out initially and we were sorry that we stayed to dine there. It was a waste of an evening. We could not wait to leave....Do not think of dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on September 10, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had. Definitely different than US chain Roy's. If you get the chance to eat at one of the original ones. Do it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (京都)·Dined on September 10, 2017

最初のアペリティフがピリ辛ガーリック枝豆なのが定番です。
今回も、ドラゴンフライと、アヒのお刺身にしました。
変わらぬテイストに大満足です。
スタッフによるお箸の袋あけパフォーマンスがなくなりましたが、お箸の上部分が箸置きパーツになっていて爪楊枝風になっていました。

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Spring roll appetizer was not good, short ribs were wayyyy salty, and macadamia nut tart was bland. I have ordered all these things at a different Roy's and it was 5/5 stars, but not at this location. The restaurant was extremely noisy as well. The only good part was the service. Our server and bus boy were extremely attentive and friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was so full of flavor and love. Can't wait to go back for chocolate soufflé

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I eat at Roy’s every time I come to Hawaii. They are very consistent in terms of service and food quality. This time I came to this location for a special dinner with my parents. We loved all the stuff we ordered especially the Beachwalk Fish trio. Our waitress was outstanding: super friendly & patient, checked on us every 5 mins to make sure we are happy. If you are in Hawaii, you should treat yourself and your loved ones to Roy’s at least once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Nice meal and good spot to eat sushi. The salmon and magro sashimi was excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food was delicious, our server was very attentive and knowledgeable. Decor of the place a little outdated but food and service makes up for it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

接客がとても丁寧で居心地よく過ごせました。
ただ難点があるとすれば、sunset dinnerコースにしましたが、sunsetが全く見えない店内だったことですかね。
その他は日本人好みの味、量でした^ ^

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 7, 2017

This was really really disappointing and the worst meal we had in Hawaii. The service was fine, the ambiance is nice. But the food was the worst and that is what counts to us, everything else you can throw out the window. The 'no worries' cocktails were lackluster and weak. We got the appetizer combo for 2 $38: 2 TINY crab cakes, mashed crab hard tasteless shell coating; bbq ribs, fine but just run of the mill that you get on a Chinese pu-pu platter; spring rolls the same, mushy contents, boring laying in a very acidic sauce, boring plain shrimp on a stick with cocktail sauce? Kimchi, blah...didn't match the other items on the plate; spicy tuna roll, holy cow it was NOT FRESH!!!, solid stuck rice overpowered the small amount of non-spicy tuna..you can tell when a roll isn't fresh. Ridiculous amount of empty space on the platter made everything seem that much tiny. We came here for Roy's Hawaiian specialties and were beyond disappointed, this was just terrible. My Ahi (sweet glazed) was left too long in the pan, over-caramelized and tasted burned and one of the 4 sauces clashed with the sweet glaze, just another layer of bad after the appetizer. My husband's Tuna was fine. We just wanted to get the heck out of there. We have a Roy's where we live and have seen it in other locales, but thought this is Hawaii so it should be the best place to try his cuisine...NOT. We would never recommend this place, Hawaiian Highway robbery. So disgusted. We will be leaving a Yelp review as well. $116 down the drain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

I have been fortunate to eat at some great restaurants around the world - Roys in Waikiki is right up there. I can't wait to return there when next in Hawaii!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

My husband and I were there for our third anniversary after celebrating our honeymoon at Roy's. Once again the service was amazing and friendly, the food was phenomenal, and we were made to feel very special and appreciated. We have and will continue to recommend roys to our family and friends!!

Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great food and drinks, the service is always spot on. Waikiki is a pricey area andif your going to spend the money you might as well get you money's worth and go to Roys

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The food was simple, yet fantastic. Everything we ordered at the table was great. The service also exceeded our expectations. We were also in a rush to get to the airport and our server made sure to have all hands on deck to get our food out. Our family of four were in and out in 30 mins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 5, 2017

By far our favorite place to eat while visiting Waikiki. Superb food and perfect service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I have always heard about Roy's, and now it is out of my system. I will never return. It is sad because I will say the food is marvelous, but everything out front is a mess. First of all, this is the Disneyland part of Honolulu, Lewers Ave, with its fake grass and high end shops. There is absolutely nothing authentic about the location, and there is no view. The space is dark and VERY LOUD. We had reservations for several months. When we arrived we were stuck about as far back in the bowels of the resturant as you could get. Our waiter was attentive until shortly after we arrived when the 8 top table of drunk 20 somethings, who arrived drunk, were seated next to us. They were loud and obnoxious and ruined the evening of everyone around us. After they were seated we hardly ever got asked by our waiter for anything again. We told the waiter we could not hear ourselves think but we were not asked if we wanted to move nor was anything else said about it. There is a Denny's right across the street, go there, you will pay a lot less, and you might actually be able to have a conversation. I will not return and I would not recommend Roy's to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Come to Roy's for amazing food and outstanding service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The folks at Roy's made our family dinner a really special experience. Our picky 12 yr old son was accommodated perfectly when we requested a dish to be just fish, with sauces on the side. No veg or other starch besides white rice. They brought him a meal that was just as special as the items my husband and I ordered, not just a sad plate of lonely fish. We had a lovely dinner, a happy kid and great memory of Roy's in Waikiki!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Roys is an Amazing Pacific Rim Restaurant in the heart of Waikiki with unique menu items that are memorable including Vegan options.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Needs a serious decor makeover to justify the cost. Very dated and had no ambience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Really impressed. Had somewhat high expectations, which were met. Great food and amazing service from all staff - very friendly, yet professional. No hesitation in recommending...or revisiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2017

You can not go wrong with Roy's Waikiki
The food and service are the best you will find on the island.
This location is always super clean and consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was great!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent service. Great cocktails. Delicious seafood dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.