About Roy's Waikiki

Opening in 2007, Roy’s Waikiki fits right in with all the action in the new and exciting atmosphere of Waikiki Beach Walk. We offer inside tables, dining on the lanai or even at our Chef's counter. Along with Roy's classic items, our guests can enjoy a vast selection of innovative creations using the freshest local ingredients available.

226 Lewers
Honolulu, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Light Appetizers (Pupus) and Drinks on the Patio

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
$6 for 4hrs with validation from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Ichiki

Private Party Facilities:
From family gatherings to celebrations, cocktail receptions to business meetings,
let us help you create an unforgettable event!

■Semi-private room accommodates maximum of 50 guests
■Lounge area can accommodate up to 30 guests
■Restaurant buy-out available with a maximum of 230 guests

Private Party Contact:
Emma Lazo: (808) 923-7697

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roy's Waikiki Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (87)
Creative Cuisine (79)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
See All
Local Ingredients (67)
Good for a Date (66)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Romantic (48)
Tasting Menu (46)
Authentic (42)
Casual (40)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Groups (34)
Fun (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Open Kitchen (29)
Hot Spot (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Business Meals (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Healthy (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Cozy (17)
Family Style (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Bar Seating (15)
People Watching (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Vegan (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Seasonal (6)
Historic (6)
Scenic View (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tapas (5)
Spicy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

My father and I ate here during our vacation. I have eaten at Roy's in Los Angeles and it was fantastic. I was very disappointed in the Honolulu Roy's. Overpriced, mediocre food, and extremely noisy. I had the classic Sweet Home salad, which turned out to be some somewhat bitter greens, a few tomatoes, and a few cucumbers drizzled with a nondescript dressing for $10. My dad had the sweet potato bisque, which, well, just tasted like sweet potato. I ordered the braised short rib entree, a Roy's classic dish. The meat was plentiful and tender, but kind of mushy and tasteless, with undercooked vegetables and a slab of nondescript potato, for $39 (for comparison, I had awesome braised short ribs at a small cafe in Los Angeles for $30). My father had the salmon, which he described as "ok." The noise level was horrific - we had to yell at the waiter in order for them to hear our order. At the table next to us was a lady who had a shrill piercing voice and laugh and she never shut up. The general noise level was very high. We just gave up trying to talk to each other. I left the restaurant with a headache. The wait staff were nice, but seemed rushed. To sum up, overpriced, mediocre food, and extremely noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food and attentive, great staff. Our best meal in Honolulu! And the area around is awesome to walk around and shop. Would recommend to everyone!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Our good friend recommended Roy's, and we are so glad she did! The food was exquisite. It mixed many rich flavors. We split a soup (Portuguese sausage and white bean) and an entree (the duck with gooseberry) between two people, and our server actually brought out two little bowls of soup and two plates for the entree. The portion size of the duck once all of the pieces of the dish were on it was generous. The manager also stopped by to talk to us about the menu item we ordered and some Hawaiian fun facts. Sitting by the door was not great because the wind would blow on us whenever people walked in and out, but overall it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Had the Trio, absolutely fantastic. Each dish was tender and flavorful. My wife had the duck breast and that also melted in your mouth. We have been to Roys before and will keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The service at Roy's Waikiki was excellent! Friendly workers, very knowledgeable about the menu! Just overall great vibes! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food and service. Mixture of Japanese and American food but all top notch - the beef carpaccio was awesome, as was the lobster Mac & Cheese!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is the second time I have had the pleasure of eating at Roy's and once again they didn't disappoint.
Amazing food and cocktails.
Brilliant service
Would recommend this place to anyone

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Tres bruyant, !! rapport qualité prix plus cher que la moyenne.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our server was attentive but not imposing. Everyone was friendly and did their best to ensure we had a pleasant experience. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place, we finished our trip with a family evening dinner. Pineapple upside down cake, zucchini fritters and tofu platter was fabulous

Tags: Healthy, , , , , , , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I and my wife had a dinner at Roy's for celebrating our honeymoon visit to Hawaii. We ordered the tasting menu with wine pairing. The wine comes a bit too earlier than the cuisine, but the food was exceptional. The pairing was also good. Our sever was very friendly, and we were fully satisfied with the service. I will surely recommend Roy's to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

It is great restaurant. Good food and good service !! Definitely come back to dine in the future !!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Awesome! Food was fantastic and the mood was great until the restaurant filled and the sound went up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We make it a point to visit Roy's whenever we are in Waikiki. Our servers were fantastic--friendly and casual at just the right level, without being intrusive. The food was fabulous. And when I asked for it, our server requested a signature drink that was no longer on the menu. Probably my favorite restaurant Ever!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Simply good food.......that is the purpose of eating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our favorite restaurant on Oahu! Food and service are always incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was good and service was really good. Great experience. Would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was excellent as it always is. My wife and I go atleast once or twice on our visits to Honolulu.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Butterfish is incredible!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Awesome night out on the town - food selection was excellent! Tasty desserts!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food, they accomodated gluten free pasta for the seafood "mac and cheese". The shirt rib dish was very tender and flavorful. The appetizer ribs are the best Ive had. The wine list had some really nice selections from Paso, at a decent price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Joint Bithdays

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We recently celebrated my father's birthday at Roy's and everyone was thrilled. The food was outstanding - the ribs were melt-in-your-mouth tender and the vegetarian and vegan options were delicious, particularly the zucchini tempura and the sweet potato bisque.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We were a party of 5. None of us ordered the same dinner & we all enjoyed our choices. Three of us have dined here several times over the last 7 years & each time, we found the food & the vibe to be consistently very good. The bonus this visit was our servers were very attentive, friendly & funny.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Food is amazing!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Enjoyed our time here. Love the vibe and food. Service was great, definitely recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The outside tables are right next to the sidewalk and road. That noise level takes away from the whole ambiance of the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Impeccable service, excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 2, 2017

大味のアメリカンって感じ。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food and service, but the dining room was so loud I would not go back. When you are spending a fortune on dinner you want to at least not have to shout at the person right next to you.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was amazing, service was exceptional! Perfect place to celebrate with my sweet hubby 💕

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was amazing, service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had not been to a Roy's Restaurant since visiting Kauai 14 years ago. We were pleased to find the same high quality of food and service as the last time. We ordered the 3 course and the 4 course tasting menus and both were excellent. There was so much food, we kind of regretted not just sharing one of the meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our last meal in Oahu and wish we would have come here sooner! TOP NOTCH! The only reason for lower ratings on ambiance and noise level is because about 15 minutes prior to us leaving a very large, rude group arrived. And they were very loud. Up until then, perfection. The food was beyond. The service was beyond. Every single bite was heaven. And trust me, I am very picky! The decor was beautiful. The presentation was stunning. I cannot say one bad thing! I'm sure this would have been our go to place if we would have found it sooner. We had appetizers and dessert and the price (especially for Hawaii was still pretty reasonable). Kudos!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Booked to mark our last night in Hawaii, and was based on a recommendation. Found our initial table too cold under aircon vent and was given another table with no drama.
Tried the appetiser sampler plate, and enjoyed all elements. Entree choices were both well presented and delicious and reasonable value for money. Wine list was extensive and offered a wide variety of choice for most budgets. Overall a great experience. ( And additionally memorable to witness a happy marriage proposal at a nearby table - whole restaurant applauded )

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent across the board. Prompt service, delicious food and a very courteous staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Always outstanding . Visited Palm Springs location and it was good but yours and your staff is a cut above. Thanks so much

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Interior a little bit dated and we have been offered initially a table near kitchen with noise and brutal neon light in an ambient generally dark. And this despite our reservation request : "NOT near kitchen NOT near washrooms". Resolved when we intended to walk away. However the food was excellent: mahimahi and soufflé as desert.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Roy's never let's us down. Great all around restaurant every time we're in Maui.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.