About Roy's Waikiki

226 Lewers
Honolulu, HI 96734
View Larger Map

Opening in 2007, Roy’s Waikiki fits right in with all the action in the new and exciting atmosphere of Waikiki Beach Walk. We offer inside tables, dining on the lanai or even at our Chef's counter. Along with Roy's classic items, our guests can enjoy a vast selection of innovative creations using the freshest local ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Light Appetizers (Pupus) and Drinks on the Patio

Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Kalia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 923-7697

Website:
http://royshawaii.com/

Parking Details:
$6 for 4hrs with validation from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jason Ichiki

Private Party Facilities:
From family gatherings to celebrations, cocktail receptions to business meetings,
let us help you create an unforgettable event!

■Semi-private room accommodates maximum of 50 guests
■Lounge area can accommodate up to 30 guests
■Restaurant buy-out available with a maximum of 230 guests

Private Party Contact:
Emma Lazo: 8089237697x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI
  • Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI
  • Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI
  • Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI
Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI
Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI
Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI
Roy's Waikiki, Honolulu, HI

Roy's Waikiki Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Hawaii
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Oahu
Most Booked
Oahu

Special Occasion (93)
Good for a Date (74)
Fit for Foodies (70)
See All
Creative Cuisine (64)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Local Ingredients (50)
Romantic (39)
Hot Spot (35)
Good for Groups (30)
Tasting Menu (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Fun (24)
Authentic (23)
Modern Decor (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Business Meals (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Casual (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Cozy (12)
People Watching (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Family Style (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great Beer (6)
Organic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Spicy (4)
Vegan (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Dancing (2)
Waterfront (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (2)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We felt compelled to go to Roy's because ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We felt compelled to go to Roy's because it is so synonymous with upscale, inventive Hawaiian cuisine and despite warnings that it would be overpriced. It turned out that the warnings were accurate. The food was good, but not great and the prices were pretty high. If we were to do it over again, we might to try to find a newer place that is still trying to prove itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We had dinner on a busy Friday night. G ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

We had dinner on a busy Friday night. Given that, the service was very good, although it took a while for our meal to be served. I had the macadamia nut encrusted mahimahi which was just not good. The fish was tough and the flavors were dull. Given the price, the dinner was not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Was a Great Dinner experiance for us. In ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Was a Great Dinner experiance for us. InThe Same way as Seven years ago

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice experience! Food was excellent!!! C ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice experience! Food was excellent!!! Costs don't seem to be expensive. But some guests were talking loudly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have visited many Roy's and this was no ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Have visited many Roy's and this was no exception. Terrific night, excellent food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food that was expensive. Servic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous food that was expensive. Service is great. Sat outside to enjoy the fresh air though dining inside looked fancy with tablecloths. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing stood out except for the poorly ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Nothing stood out except for the poorly presented tomato salad...too much sauce and unable to taste the tomatoes...the mahi mahi was over salted..and the dessert did not impress.....over rated....and kampachi poke was almost served as a plate of dressed up ceviche.....not great either..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

I have eaten at the original Roy's on Oa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I have eaten at the original Roy's on Oahu about 18 years ago, and it was great. I actually had planned to go to another restaurant (alan wong) but it was booked - but very pleasantly I was surprised that Roy's is not only as good as it used to be when it was a small operation, but it is better. LOL - and the chocolate soufflé just gets better and better - whoh on the lamb chops and the mac and cheese lobster too !!!! and sushi/sashimi awesome as always - Roy's still RULES !!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Well prepared, creative fishes with top ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Well prepared, creative fishes with top notch ingredients! Helpful and attentive service too. Expensive but overall outstanding experience. Looking forward to another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We really enjoyed all of the food we ate ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We really enjoyed all of the food we ate at Roy's! Several dishes were what we refer to as "moan-worthy"!! The butter fish was divine! Save room for the chocolate souffle!!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The vegetarian menu was limited, but tho ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The vegetarian menu was limited, but those items they had were tasty. The complimentary edamame had a sesame sauce that was scrumptious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was pretty good. We ordered the fri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was pretty good. We ordered the fried zucchini appetizer which was absolutely delicious. The bun was crispy and sauce is amazing. The ambience was casual but a bit noisy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roys has always been one of my favorite ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Roys has always been one of my favorite destinations to eat. Consistent, quality, and pride in their craft. Love going to any Roy's around the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting cocktails. Inventive menu a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Interesting cocktails. Inventive menu and the fish is outstanding. Service was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Roy's was recommended to us by multiple ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Roy's was recommended to us by multiple people and it did not disappoint. The food was terriffic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Roy's for the second time in a w ...

 
 (Schwarzwald)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went to Roy's for the second time in a week for Thanksgiving. We knew the meal would be pricey which was fine. We did not have to wait as long to be seated, although we were initially placed in the lobby and not the main dining room until we complained and were moved. My main course had to be returned as it was not cooked as ordered. Now that we have been twice I would say it was very average indeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was great. Service was very good. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was great. Service was very good. But we were seated on the patio under a blinding security light with a view of the dumpster across the street. Should have opted for inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Really fun ambiance and vibe...the food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Really fun ambiance and vibe...the food was delicious! Service was terrific, and it was so nice to be seated outside on a gorgeous Hawaiian night! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten at a Roys in Az. This was ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We have eaten at a Roys in Az. This was a birthday celebration and the manager was very accommodating as well as the person bussing our table and filling water. Food was excellent! Plan ahead for the chocolate soufflé dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fabulous fish as entrees and as appetize ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fabulous fish as entrees and as appetizers prepared with gourmet sauces and seasonings. The salads were amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and visit this location a couple ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My wife and visit this location a couple times a year. We love the Butter fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not bad, 20 minute wait in lobby for pre ...

 
 (Schwarzwald)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Not bad, 20 minute wait in lobby for pre-booked table, very good service when finally seated, food was good but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was more spicy than our preferred t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food was more spicy than our preferred taste, which is no reflection on the restaurant. I had bones in my fish fillet which was not anticipated. Staff very good and attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Before I went I knew Roy's Waikiki was a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Before I went I knew Roy's Waikiki was a little pricey but it was not outrageous. We went with seafood/fish dishes and we were very satisfied with the quality and presentation of our meals. The meal for two was $110 and I was impressed by the wait staff and the ambiance of Roy's.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding! The drinks, not so ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was outstanding! The drinks, not so much! The worst Mai Tai on the island! But the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We booked Roy's on the afternoon of the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We booked Roy's on the afternoon of the day we went. Couldn't get in at the time we wanted but offered a later time which we took. Couldn't fault the service, food and wine list. The sushi were one of the best we've tried in Honolulu. The entree (Mains) were well worth the $$. The only downside about the place was it was very noisy at the start but quitened down later. Certainly recommend to our Kiwi friends

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awful. Service incredibly slow. I went f ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Awful. Service incredibly slow. I went for the four course Waikiki menu with matching wines. The wines arrived at irregular times either well in advance of the meal courses or well after. The surf and turf steak was inedible due to massive over seasoning (so, so salty) and I left most of it. The butterfish appetizer was fine, if a little oiley. If this is one of Waikiki's best then standards can't be great. Avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Food at Roy's has gone downhill, with mo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food at Roy's has gone downhill, with most dishes dry and drowned in sauce to compensate. The sauces had a heavy Korean influence which overpowered. The time between starter and main was literally 30 seconds.....Everything is done at breakneck speed in an effort to turn tables. Loved this restaurant so much on our last trip we went three times, won't be going back this time🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Any time I'm in Hawaii I have to go to R ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Any time I'm in Hawaii I have to go to Roy's. They have excellent food and outstanding service. If you want to go I would recommend a reservation since it is usually crowded after 6 PM.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our third trip to a Roy's and this was t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our third trip to a Roy's and this was the best one so far.

They went out of their way to help celebrate my wife's 68th birthday. (birthday hat and cake)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

THE MAC AND CHEESE LOBSTER WAS NOT AS EX ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on November 14, 2016

THE MAC AND CHEESE LOBSTER WAS NOT AS EXPECTED. THE PRAWNS WERE REALLY GOOD BUT THERE WASN'T MUCH LOBSTER. MY HUSBAND'S FISH WAS VERY GOOD.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Two years ago, we went to Roy's on our h ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Two years ago, we went to Roy's on our honeymoon. This dinner, we were celebrated our two year anniversary and the food was just as spectacular as we remembered! Thank you to all the staff who were warm and welcoming for making our anniversary as special as our honeymoon! The butterfish was so delicious and my husband had the short rib which was so flavorful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fairly expensive and value for money is ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fairly expensive and value for money is not there. Nice enough experience mostly because of our waiter, Evan, who was wonderful. All service was perfect but menu is too sparse and the prawn meal only offers 2 prawns...insufficient even for a small appetite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

In Honolulu with my 8 year old son for a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

In Honolulu with my 8 year old son for a little getaway and I wanted at least 1 stop at Roys. The staff were so super gracious and attentive and really made us feel welcome. While all of ourchoices were delish, it's the Butterfish that does it for me every time!! Quite sinful how it literally melts on the palate. Thanks Roy's for a wonderful meal! Mahalo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Although we had a reservation we still h ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Although we had a reservation we still had to wait over 30 minutes before we were seated. Food was disappointing because there were unexpected additions to our entrees that were not listed in the menu description. Our service during dinner was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Roy's never disappoints.

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Roy's never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We tried many restaurants in Waikiki and ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We tried many restaurants in Waikiki and Roy's was propably in my top 2 favourites. Food was sublime, great waiter, excelllent service.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us had the prix fixe menu - 1 s ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Three of us had the prix fixe menu - 1 short rib & 2 macadamia nut crusted monchong. Our fourth person person had the rack of lamb. The food was excellent! The monchong was one of the best tasting fish dishes I've ever eaten. Of course, the chocolate soufflé speaks for itself because it's always awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This was my first time eating at Roy's W ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This was my first time eating at Roy's Waikiki and it was an enjoyable experience. The food was also amazing and I loved how soft the dishes were. I would definitely come back to eat at Roy's again.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Mahi Mahi I ever had. The food was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Best Mahi Mahi I ever had. The food was delicious and a very nice presentation. It was my husband's birthday and they did bring him a cute little bd hat and a complimentary dessert. Only bad thing was the noise level, restaurant is extremely noisy. If your hard of hearing, it will be a tough place to hear and enjoy conversation. Service was very good and the staff quite pleasant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.