About Roy's Tampa

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for Lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Happy Birthday Dessert - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Big Island Ebi Roll - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
1988 Martini - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Sushi - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Mionetto Prosecco Brut, Italy - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Mai Tai - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Edammame  - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Spicy Thai Shrimp Dumplings  - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Wagyu Beef Sliders - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Chocolate Souffle - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Sashimi Platter - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Aloha Sushi Roll - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Macadamia Nut Bread Pudding - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Blackened Ahi - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Coconut Shrimp Skewers - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Cosmo - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Chicken satay - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Roy's Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
edamame - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Melting Hot Chocolate Souffle - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Shrimp Teppanyaki - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Beef Short Rib Tacos - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Tenderloin Skewers - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Grilled Hanger Streak - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Tiger Prawn Pad Thai - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Coconut Frappe - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Warm Mango Cobbler - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Coconut Gelato - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Duck Confit Dim Sum - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Pepper Melon Margarita - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
PEI Mussels and Clam Hot Pot - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Sweet potato fries - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Lobster Dumpling Dim Sum - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Mojito - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Tuna Poke - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Kobe Beef Sliders And Sweet Potatoe Fries - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Lobster Pot Stickers - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Kim Chi - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Tempura Crusted Spicy Ahi Tuna Roll - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Tempura sushi - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Lobster Potstickers - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Nutella Gelato - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Strawberry Basil Martini - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
pineapple upside-down cake - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Calamari - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Spider Roll - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Crab California Roll - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Mac and Cheese - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Sushi rice - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Grilled Szechuan Spiced Pork Ribs - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Pineapple Souffle With Coconut Gelato - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Shellfish Sampler - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
California Roll - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Hawaiian Style Misoyaki Butterfish  - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Szechuan Spiced Pork Rib - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Desserts - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Mango Mojito - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Dynamite Hawaiian Shutome - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Lakanilau Sushi Roll - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Warm Mango Streusel - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Braised Pork Shank - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Seared Idaho River Trout - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Macadamia Crusted Mahi - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Shrimp Bruschetta - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
fish tacos - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Butter Lettuce Salad - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Lime Semi Freddo - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Tempura Fish - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Vegetable Tempura - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Poke - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Lobster Pot Sticker - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Lobster Wonton Soup - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Lobster California Roll & California Shrimp Roll - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Julian's Special Roll - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Original Hawaiian Martini - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Parmesan crusted Scallops - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Dynamite topped shutome - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Shiso crusted salmon - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Hawaiian Style Ono  - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Skinny Cosmo Martini - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Hawaiian Martini - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Candy Cane Dessert - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Bananas Foster Creme Brulee - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Skinny Ginger Pear Martini - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Roy's Canoe Appetizer For Two - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Seafood Sampler - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Kids Salmon Terryaki Meal - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Kid's Chicken Teriyaki - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Roy's Trio - Hibachi Salmon, Blackened Ahi, & Misoyaki Butterfish - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL
Sunrise at Haleakala - Roy's Tampa, Tampa, FL

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Eve! We will be offering our full menu and we will be open regular hours to celebrate the holidays with you and your loved ones.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

The start of a new holiday tradition! Join us on Christmas Day from 12-8PM for an exclusive 3-course holiday menu for only $59.95! We will also offer a Children's Menu and a limited version of our Classic Menu. Reserve your table today.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve with a remarkable four-course menu, starting at just $55.
We will have extended hours until 1AM to ruing in the New Year with you!

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

Special Occasion (27)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were there to celebrate my wife's bir ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

We were there to celebrate my wife's birthday. 5 adults and 5 children on a Sunday evening. Restaurant was about 40% to capacity. Service was extremely slow. Our server didn't look like they wanted to be there. When I was asked for a refill, I also said that one of sons wanted a refill as well. He got his refill, but I never did. When it was time to leave, they couldn't find the original cake box so we had to use theirs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Superb dining experience. Perfect timin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Superb dining experience. Perfect timing on the courses. The wait staff was friendly. The manager dropped by to ensure everything was to our liking. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When the food runners have to unexpected ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 29, 2016

When the food runners have to unexpectedly return the entree plates to the warmers because no one bothered to clear the appetizer plates that had been sitting at the table "finished" for the past 10 minutes, there is an operations problem abound. There is a higher expectation that comes from the legacy of being a part of the original Outback family. Like it or not, Roy's owns this and will need to figure out how to get greatness back, or how to survive without it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Had dinner with a friend. The menu pric ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Had dinner with a friend. The menu prices are rather high so don't be surprised when you get there. The portion sizes are generous. My friend had the Cobia dish with a black risotto. I had the filet (medium) with carrots and a wedge salad. Both dishes were excellent. The filet was perfectly prepared and could have been cut with a butter knife. The food will not disappoint. I would have rated higher, but we were seated directly behind the hostess station by the front door despite the restauranr being slow. It's very open so noise travels.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

If you like sushi, this is the place to ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

If you like sushi, this is the place to go. Many varieties to choose from and some are on the aloha happy hour. The seafood (butter fish, salmon and mahi and more) is excellently prepared. The sides aren't big but through the evening you'll have plenty to eat.

The bar staff (Aaron and Devin) are great conversationalists and will guide you through the menu and point out all your options.

The food and atmosphere are second to none. Another great evening was had by my wife and I.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner was delicious.

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went with a Travelzoo voucher, noting ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I went with a Travelzoo voucher, noting on my reservation that I had allergies. On a previous visit, accommodating my allergies was not a problem but this chef was unwilling to go the extra mile. Despite the inflexibility, the food and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to Roy s several times neve ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have been to Roy s several times never been disappointed our food has always came out in a timely matter and it has always been great and the waiter was very familiar with the menu which help us decide what to eat and what's best for us and the food is always delicious.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's always remains consistent with the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Roy's always remains consistent with the food and beverage offerings, with a quality you expect from such a restaurant. We look forward to our next visit to Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Have eaten at many Roy's across the coun ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Have eaten at many Roy's across the country and have really enjoyed their menu and service, and the Tampa location did not disappoint.

The food was excellent, prepared fresh and accurate.

Service was spot on and our server was kind enough to go over the complete menu and make awesome suggestions. All 4 of us had something different for dinner and we all had a wonderful meals.

Roy's has a nice bar and sushi area if that interest you or you feel like having a drink to catch up with friends before a nice meal.

Thanks again for a wonderful experience Roy's!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding! I ordered t ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The service was outstanding! I ordered the Butterfish and my Hubby ordered the macadamia Mahi Mahi. Both were delicious! Highly recommend Roys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were at Waterworks Park enjoying a mo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were at Waterworks Park enjoying a movie on the lawn on a beautiful fall evening before we headed to Roy's to have a quiet dinner late night. Tiki torches so reminiscient of Hawaii lit our pathway setting the mood for some good pacific rim cuisine. The restaurant was quite crowded on this Saturday night but we got good seats centered front. The staff were courteous and the food good- we ordered the teppanyaki shrimp and hibachi salmon - with wild rice and spicy/citrus sauces -well prepared and served with care. A much appreciated AMEX giftcard made for an enjoyable evening out for my husband's birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Greeted by the manager with app sample.A ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Greeted by the manager with app sample.And special Bday dessert was delicious

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place with outstanding food and se ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great place with outstanding food and service. Very accommodating, courteous and knowledgeable. I felt like they were genuinely interested in our time there. Cannot wait to go back and enjoy it all over again,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Complaint used to be small portion size, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Complaint used to be small portion size, not anymore .. Nice portions now .. Still noisy

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food preparation and presentation was ve ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food preparation and presentation was very nice. The Chef and staff have a unique style of marrying flavors that we always enjoy. Highly recommend Roy's for a quality food experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent customer service and attention ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent customer service and attention to detail

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only bad thing I could say was that the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Only bad thing I could say was that the restaurant was a little warm

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was wonderful. The service was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was wonderful. The service was great. The staff was especially friendly.

However the noise level was such that we could hardly hear each other which tended to spoil what would have been a beautiful evening.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Bought a coupon which advertised a 4 cou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Bought a coupon which advertised a 4 course meal for 2 at $59.00 . They claimed the value at $129.00.

The 3 different appetizers were 1 small shrimp, 1 small deep fried square thing and 1 chicken on a stick. All were very small and tasteless.

Salad was very small but the lemon dressing was good. Main course (choice of mahi,chicken or short ribs) was a 2inch cube of Mahi and 2 asparagus .

The desert was flowerless cake with raspberry sauce.

That was the best part of the mediocre dinner.

We will never eat there again. The meal wasn't worth $59.00 . I don't know how they figure $129.00.

Save your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

I was looking forward to a romantic dinn ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I was looking forward to a romantic dinner and I had to yell so my husband and I could have a conversation. As people left the noise level did decrease. Service was very slow starting with had to wait for table with a reservation. Food was very tasty although I burnt my mouth with the chocolate lava cake.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice restaurant with great service. Food ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Nice restaurant with great service. Food preparation was excellent with good presentation. Quantity not for big eaters, and prices are high for Asian/fusion cuisine. The overall experience though was excellent for a leisurely dinner (we were at our table for over 2 hours and did not even order cocktails or after dinner drinks). We enjoyed every moment at the restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Only reason I gave an overall fair ratin ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Only reason I gave an overall fair rating is the portion size for the Travelzoo prix fixe menu. The flavor of the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Huge crisp lettuce wedge salad. The butt ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Huge crisp lettuce wedge salad. The butterfish was excellent. Friend was very pleased with her scallops!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant. Been going ther ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. Been going there for special occasions and "just because" for years. The staff, service and food is excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was outstanding. Wait staff di ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Service was outstanding. Wait staff did a great job - and on that we would come back. Food was good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our wedding anniversary and we we ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was our wedding anniversary and we were treated like royalty from the small orchids and sprinkling of little hearts on the table to the complimentary dessert and photo of us. The new menu is chock full of delicious choices and we enjoyed the luscious asian style pork chop and the always wonderful scallops. The edamame they provide while you wait for your meal is a far healthier choice than bread! All in all, we could find no fault in the wonderful anniversary meal Roy's delivered!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, however I found ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very good, however I found very few entree's in the $20 to $30 dollar bracket. We were there to celebrate my son and daughter in law's anniversary. The service was very good. I was a little perplexed that the server brought an extra chocolate lava desert after we all had ordered desert. If we could have know that ahead maybe one of us wouldn't have ordered desert? Although we all enjoyed the evening, I think next time we celebrate an occasion, it will be at Berns or someplace more special..

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice welcome with birthday greeting and ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nice welcome with birthday greeting and a lovely complimentary appetizer. Server was fantastic as was the food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The service from Bianca was excellent!

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service from Bianca was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The loudest restaurant I have experience ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The loudest restaurant I have experienced in a long time. Maybe loudest ever. It was ridiculous. Food was excellent, could barely hear wait staff on a Thursday night. Big bar in front with no separation to dining room. Holy moly my ears were ringing into the night. And not in a good way. Our waiter complained, the valet complained as did other customers waiting for their vehicles. Was this an unusual night? Who knows. Used a TravelZoo voucher this time and have eaten at many of Roy Yamaguchi's restaurants over the years and always enjoyed the experience. Not this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Professionalism at all levels!

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Professionalism at all levels!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived we were told that they w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 17, 2016

When we arrived we were told that they were running late. 55 minutes later 5 of us sat in a booth fit for max of 4 people. The person who sat us actually said that she doesn't like to sit 5 people in a booth but she had no choice.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Roy's never disappoints. I have been to ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Roy's never disappoints. I have been to 2 other locations, Maui & San Francisco. The Tampa location has been the best so far. The server was very friendly and was very knowledgable regarding the wine list. She even recommended a wine not on the list that went best with the evening special. I ordered a steak which was cooked to perfection. I've had problems at steak houses with my steak not cooked properly, but not here. Everything was great from the service to the food. I would highly recommend going.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers, our entrees, and dessert ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The appetizers, our entrees, and desserts were very good. It was a Sunday evening, not crowded at all - yet we sat in the bar for 5 -10 minutes before we were offered a menu. Our drinks took another 10 minutes to come out.

We were then seated in the dining room. Where we again waited for menus for quite a while; yet, the dining room was less than 1/2 empty.

We asked our waitress for some bread while we waited for our entrees. She said, "sure, let me go get some". Our entrees then came...another 10 minutes, no bread. We asked her again. Then she went back into the kitchen and got 4 rolls.

It was like nobody except the chef cared that night. It was Sunday, August 14th.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

My wife's surprise 40th birthday party w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife's surprise 40th birthday party was held at Roy's in a private room. They comfortably seated 23 of us (plus 2 babies). Most of the family had never been to Roy's Seafood so all but one of us got our first taste of the food, atmosphere, staff, and ambiance of the restaurant. My wife was extremely impressed and thanked me for picking the restaurant as well as every family member in attendance. Portions tended to be large and the staff was very helpful as most items on the menu are unique to the restaurant (Hawaiian Fusion Cuisine). The prices were more expensive than places we've dined as a family before, but the food was spectacular and no one complained once they were served.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only problem with this experience wa ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The only problem with this experience was the Open Table reservation. I made reservations for two for 4:15pm. When we arrived at Roy's, we learned that they don't open the dining room 5pm. Bar opens at 4pm but serves limited menu and wouldn't take our $25bonus card they sent. They made right but open table needs to get their information correct so this doesn't happen again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service always topnotch. Manager was pr ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service always topnotch. Manager was proactive when staff informed him we had a reservation issue, we did not have to go to management. We were seated and manager brought 2 complimentary appetizers to us and gift card for next time. Also brought us a dessert we had thought about ordering but didn't, that was also a nice surprise for my husbands birthday. Roy's really went above and beyond, they are awesome.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The portions at this restaurant are tiny ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The portions at this restaurant are tiny. My husband ordered fish which can out slightly larger than a chicken nugget and I ordered the short ribs. I think they meant "rib" because there was really only one. The food was delicious although impractical. The service was amazing! The ambiance was great. Its not much bang for your buck though!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Roy's is such a gem. We went for an ear ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Roy's is such a gem. We went for an early dinner with our three kids (15, 6, 11 mths). They set up a table for us including a high chair. The kids meal (only the 6yr old ordered) included a free starter for him which he loved. My wife and I ordered a bottle of wine which was about 2x store price. Totally in line with typical restaurant mark up. We ordered the Canoe for two as a starter and was plenty for my wife and I and our 15 yr old. It was exceptional. Main courses were Butterfish, Halibut and Chicken. All plates were finished with everyone wanting some of everyone else's plate. Desert was the pineapple upside down cake and chocolate soufflé both of which you had to order 20 min before. They too were exceptional as was the sundae that came with the kids meal. Service was top notch. Even witnesses wait staff checking silverware and glasses for wash marks when they were not serving. That is the type of service one should expect. I will return here frequently.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.