About Roy's Tampa

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for Lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Romantic (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Business Meals (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Notable Wine List (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Healthy (7)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (6)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

overpriced for the food, atmosphere and service - not what it once was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was excellent.
This is our third time to this Roy's and our third different Roy's outlet.
While the food was fantastic all the way through the service was not the best we have seen from this chain. We made last minute reservations as our flight was cancelled and we were forced to stay in a Hotel near by. We planned on going to Roy's this trip to Tampa but we could not fit it in our schedule so it was a pleasant bonus to being able to dine here after all. Our 8:45 reservation was available through Open Table and obviously we were the last table of the night. Our server seemed quite detached and was even humming to herself while she was taking our order (Obviously loudly if I could hear her over the music which was a bit too loud for the room). She forgot the wine bucket for our wine even after twice telling us she would need to get one for us. No need as we finished pouring the wine before our entrees came out. We also ordered our Desert Soufflé twice as apparently she forgot we ordered it already. At the end of our meal after she brought the check back for me to sign she commented that she was sorry she thought we were another party all night and it was the Hostess's fault and she must have messed up in telling her...? Not that should make any difference to who we are or what that even means... And I have a cool last name...again, whatever that means. She was fine for the most part but when I'm spending the price I spent on dining at Roy's or any other restaurant for that matter, regardless of the time I come in, I expect a bit more professionalism and attention to detail from our server. Although she did make for some good humor for us on the trip back to the hotel. On the other hand our busboy was very professional, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and actually had an engaging personality.
Overall the meal was fine and the overall experience was positive and amusing in context.
We more than likely will try to come back again if we are in the area.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Terrific food! We had sushi and lobster pot stickers to start. Delicious! Both of us had the scallops entree, which was prepared perfectly. Tender scallops with roasted brussels sprouts. Two desserts - pineapple upside down cake and Kefir Lime cake were both terrific. Friendly, attentive, knowledgeable service. Very pleased with our Anniversary dinner! We sat in a side room, which was nice and quiet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and wanted to eat light. So we went to Roy's and loved it. The price was a little high for just the two of us. We had planned on spending as much, but portions are a little small. Still, we loved it and will return.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always consistently good food served in a unique gashion

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food was excellent. I recommend Roys Trio with three different servings of fish, including ahi and salmon. Servers and greeters were not polished, and entrees were too expensive for the lack of ambiance. Menus were filthy and the grounds were unkept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Pleasantly but perhaps surprisingly uncrowded.. Excellent service with professional and knowledgeable staff - our server Vanessa in particular, who suggested an excellent bottle of Lodi 'Boneshakers' Zinfandel. Kudos to Roy's and Vanessa!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My girlfriend received a $25 off card for Roy's so I thought I would take her to dinner since neither of us had been there for a long time. Unfortunately this dinner experience was sub-optimal due to two reasons.

Service was horrible
We waited for 10 minutes after we were seated for someone to come by to take our drink order. When no one came I had to go to the bar to order drinks.

Black Cod/Butterfish was fishy.
After waiting for an abnormally long time for our food when it did come out it was very fishy tasting. When we discussed it with our server, she said that the tail piece of the fish can sometimes be fishy. I am surprised that a restaurant like Roy's would server a piece of fish that could have poor quality. They did bring out a new piece of fish that was cut from the center that was much better, but after the long wait and then having to wait again for a better piece of fish really ruined the whole experience.

The manager did remove the black cod from our bill and apologized profusely, but it was disappointing to look forward to a nigh out and have it turn out this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 8, 2017

They have the best sushi I've had in a long time!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I thought the food and service were both first rate. We all love the sushi!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Good good and excellent service. Will be back again.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great atmosphere & good food combined with excellent service all combined for a pleasant meal

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

For that little extra something, this is the place. The sushi is amazing, so many choices. The open kitchen always makes for an interesting evening. The hustle and bustle makes you appreciate things even more. The food is incredible with so many different things to try. And you can't beat the happy hour menu. It certainly gives you the opportunity to try things in a smaller portion than you normally would. amazing wine list as well. All in all, a great place to hang out and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We enjoy going and sitting at the suishi bar and viewing the food preparation. There is a good happy hour menu at reasonable prices.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I must stop for us every year when we visit Tampa. Recommend the Hawaiian Martini and the chocolate souffle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 30, 2017

How can you not love excellent food and variety, excellent service, good wines at prices to match everyday dining and business comp'd extravaganzas. When we want something "different", Roys automatically comes to mind and even though it is an hour's drive, we rent a hotel a few doors down and enjoy what is always a great night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Went for our son-in-law's birthday. The food was very good the service was excellent what can I say . Roy's is a great spot with the Asian/ Fusion food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Amazing food. I was hosting a group of Japanese, British, Indian, Latin and American colleagues and they all raved about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food and drinks were perfect. We loved the watermelon sangria and Ebi roll. The pineapple upside cake was the most delicious dessert we've had in long time. I'm so glad I got to come to Roy's for a romantic birthday dinner. I flew here from San Francisco and knew that Roy's wouldn't disappoint!

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great dining experience. Good service. Good quality food choices well prepared

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I love Roy's. My family and I have been going to Roy's for special occasions for years now. We also love the restuarant for the cuisine it serves because its alittle bit of home for us being my Dad is from Hawaii.
Thank you again for a wonderful meal and great nite.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Roy's never disappoints. We've been coming here since it's opening. The Hawaiian fusion flavors are distinct and exceptional. Dining here is one of the highlights of our semi annual Florida visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food and Service were very good! Known for seafood, but Braised Ribs were excellent. Expensive!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Roy's is always great, and Tonya did a great job for us.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fabulous food, great wine and attentive service! Would highly recommend and Anthony is a wonderful ambassador for the Restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food over seasoned and layered with way too much sauce. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I was told the restaurant was upscale enough to bring my mother for her 80th with my 92 year old father. We were dressed in blazers while most guests were in shorts, polos or tacky Hawaiian shirts. The server Matt was exceptional and made the evening enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The pineapple martinis were very good.
I ordered the Mahi Mahi lunch special.
Had to return because the rice under the fish was cold and not appetizing. The fish was just warm. Very surprised because we were the first couple there fir lunch and they were not busy at all.
They did bring me a new dish. Never saw the manager and he never apologized
We were visiting our grandchildren and we are from St Louis. So we decided to treat ourselves to lunch while they were in school

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food was awesome but the service was a little slow.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Has slipped just a bit
Not as busy as usual & off there game a bit as well

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

No matter which outlet of Roy's you visit, you can be assured of the same basic menu, with possible regional specialties added, with superbly prepared food. The menu is heavy on fish and seafood, but there is something for everyone in your group. Because of the high quality of the ingredients and the preparation, the prices are fairly high, especially for meat dishes, but the results are worth it. There are so excited differences in the "niceties" - the Waikiki and Kauai restaurants offered an amuse-bouche of edamame , whereas the Tampa outpost did not. A reasonable wine list and delicious specialty cocktails - try the Mai Tai - in a comfortable venue, with terrific service, make this an excellent choice for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was delicious and came out very quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food is excellent! Service this time was not up to par but generally it is very good as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was very good as usual
Was not totally happy with front reception seemed have forgotten we were sitting in the bar despite arriving at 730 for a 8pm reservation
Others arriving after us we seated before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went to celebrate a late Valentine's Day and my sweetheart passing an important financial services certification. Had champagne waiting on us and a personalized card on the table (nice!). Food was perfect as was the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've eaten at Roys in Hawaii and California. This is not the experience I'm used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful food, great service. What a place for a delicious dinner!

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We enjoyed a nice dinner for a belated Valentine's date. The food was delicious and our server was very pleasant. Service was slow and we were sat about 35 mins after our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Found to be marginal for price and service. Our waitress had too many tables and we had to ask for drinks and waited atleast 15 min after we sat to get drinks or any service at all. Probably will not go back. For this type of restaurant and the $$ we spent, almost $1000.00 for a group of 8, we felt cheated!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I had a group of eight for a business dinner. Roy's fit the purpose of providing good steak and seafood choices with attentive service one would expect in a steak house. I have had better, but I have had worse. It was a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.