About Roy's Tampa

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for Lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Business Meals (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Romantic (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Casual (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Healthy (13)
Authentic (11)
Fun (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tapas (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1082 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was amazing!! Food was amazing!! Wonderful experience!! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and the food was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is always fresh, servers and managers with a smile. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great time. Everything was wonderful! The seafood at Roy's is creatively prepared and delicious. I appreciate that Roys is constantly innovating their menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Nice variety of seafood offerings on menu. Lobster Bisque was flavorful and fresh. Entrees were enjoyed with wine selections that complimented meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great meal, good service. Noise level was a bit high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Nice birthday dinner, good food, excellent service and hospitality. We felt the food delivery was timed well to allow us to enjoy the evening and conversation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

First time at Roy's. We had a Groupon and were given a Groupon menu which made us feel limited. The filet I had was covered in a sauce which was very salty. I wish they would have put the gravy on the bottom of the steak or better yet in a separate small dish. The side of broccoli and asparagus was an insult, over cooked with one piece of asparagus (what ?). The hamburger my husband ordered had a great review by him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Outstanding meal and wonderful service. The filet mignon was very tender, flavorful and juicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Paul McCartney concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We enjoyed a very nice early birthday dinner. The food was great as it always is. The service was wonderful. It always meets our expectations. A great place for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our server Racheal is a excellent server, we really enjoyed our anniversary night out.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great restaurant with fabulous food. They had a great children's menu for our granddaughter. Specialty drinks were amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My wife's birthday. Really enjoyed the total experience. From the hostess to our server Rachel , even the manager stop by to check and make sure everything was to our liking. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I would not recommend this place to an enemy! Absolutely do not go here. Worst food and value dining experience we have had in Tampa.
First of all, we felt rushed from the moment we sat down. My husband ordered a mango mojito, which was awful. We started with the Aunt Lei roll, which was fishy tasting. We ordered two of the halibut special. Shame on us for not asking the price. $56 each, for an overcooked piece of fish served on a scoop of rice with two measly pieces of broccoli. We also ordered the sautéed mushrooms as a side. Disappointed in these as well since they were rubbery and lacked flavor.
Sadly, we went there to celebrate my husband's birthday. Oh how I wish I could do the night over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Keith is probably the best server in town if not the best! Food was great as usual but service was exceptional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

As often as we visited over the years, Roy's never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food at Roy's was excellent and the service was the same. this was our first time at a Roy's so we weren't sure what to expect. Prices are on the high-end, but the food and service are well worth the price. I had the Roy's Trio and each piece of fish in a paired sauce was delicious. My husband had the ribeye which looked and tasted fantastic. We greatly appreciated that Roy's team (chef/team, wait staff, front desk, etc.) were all skilled in customer service, knew the menu, made recommendations, and could talk about wine and good food. We also appreciate the incredible unusual food we received. my husband and I love to cook, so going to restaurants can be boring when we can make better food at home. Roy's was different in that we could not replicate the food we had at home. Very nice! we really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We celebrated my birthday. The filet and lobster tail were delicious. My husband enjoyed the rib eye as well. The one menu item that was questionable was what was listed as a chocolate soufflé. I did not feel this dessert was a chocolate soufflé but more of a lava cake instead. I am very familiar with soufflé and this was not an actual soufflé.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Anthony S., (Waiter) was responsible for SERVING us, his attitude stinks towards my wife and I. We love Roy's and will continue to visit there.

My tip to him: if you are in a SERVICE occupation, check your attitude in the parking lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had not been to Roys in a few years and we were excited to see how it was. It was disappointing from start to finish. The service was lacking and my husband's food languished while we waited to find our server to ask for salt, pepper and a bit more dressing for the salad. My $14.00 martini was the worst value ever and was definitely light on the vodka and we waited 15 minutes for the drink to arrive after ordering. I was surprised to see brown leaves as part of the Caesar salad. When my prawns came suffice it to say it was surprising to receive three prawns for $30.00. My husband's trio for $38.00 offered very small portions of the butterfish, salmon and tuna. He did enjoy the flavors of each fish though our meals must have been sitting with the slow service-they were served barely lukewarm. With one drink, one salad and two entrees, our bill was over $100 and we left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

It was my husbands birthday, which I had mentioned too many times. There was a nice card on the table but the dessert didn't come with anything special or any special writing as I specifically requested. So I was a bit disappointed but the food was so delicious and my husband was happy with that.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Bad service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The area we were sitting at, it was warm like if the ac wasn't working accordingly. It took forever to get the entree dishes. Servers were apologetic though. They brought the wrong dessert. Fish dishes over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We've been to Roy's before but it had been awhile. This visit was just mediocre. For the price, our expectations were higher. The service was ok. The food was not proportional- 4 of us got the same entree as all 4 servings were vastly different. The Resturant it self has wear and tear. The bathrooms are old. The art hanging next to our table was peeling. There are several fine dining options in Tampa and this one is a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

First, the place was far to warm. Waiter acknowledge the temp but said there was nothing they could do. This is FL, they need to have adequate ac. Some of the food was very good, some just ok. Chocolate souffle was burned and not edible. Expensive. Place is very noisy too. Out waiter was very good and did his best. Will probably not return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server was very nice. He wasn't very knowledgeable of the wine list. The food is good, but not worth the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Used my Groupon. Excellent selections for the price.
Would definitely return, especially if Groupon deal offered again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Amazing food! Amazing service! Always great for celebrating!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food was fine, portions left something to be desired, service a but slow as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I hadn't been to Roys in years. I remember it being a class act, really nice inside and wonderful atmosphere. This time I walked in and felt like I walked into 1985. Mustard and Ketchup walls, awful art, very bright lighting. Our server wasn't bad but definitely didn't have initiative. Glasses empty, didn't bring soy sauce but we had plates and sushi. Just simple things. Food was ok, some better than others but with all the competition in the area, I highly doubt I will go back. Crab fried rice was so over cooked. It's so much better next door at Wddie V's. I only had two appetizers and two glasses of wine and with tip I spent over $70. I will pay for good food but this wasn't it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Our server was excellent and the food was good as always. We used a Groupon for the three course prix fixe menu and were pleased with the selection and portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The restaurant staff really go the extra mile to make you feel special - making note of special requests & preferences, etc. Consistently great food and service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. Best seafood in town.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My wife and I got married in Hawaii 13 years ago and it became a tradition for us to go to Roy's every year for our anniversary, so we've been going to the Tampa location for that number of years for our anniversary and at various other times. This year we went on Valentines Day and we were sorely disappointed with the service and quality. We went back for our Anniversary dinner on June 17 and were again disappointed. Used to when you went and let them know it was a special occasion, they treated it like that, this time, not so much. The food was just ok and both my wife's and my steak were over cooked and the server was not very efficient. To be fair we got to Roy's a little early to have a cocktail and appetizer at the bar before getting set at our table and our experience at the bar was fantastic. Unfortunately I think our 13 year run at Roy's has come to an end but we may still do the occasional visit to the bar for cocktails and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Delicious sushi!
Great salads.
Fantastic seafood dinners. Really delicious!
Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The service and the food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Usually enjoy Roys. We were swatting at gnats all evening as well as the table next to ours.
Wasn't the best experience. The server was very apologetic, but managment never stopped by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Rachel was very good. It was our anniversary so they made a point to put a special message and fresh flowers on our table. Very nice! Unfortunately, the bar was very slow, the majority of the customers were way underdressed for this kind of a place, the food was overpriced, & the noise level was extremely high. We had a lot of trouble hearing each other. Likely won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Was in town to celebrate my wife's birthday and see a show at the Ray-J stadium. Was amazed from the second we walked in. Table was covered in orchids, with a personalized card wishing her a happy birthday. The Food was delicious, took us back home to Hawaii with every bite.

Tags: Vegan, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.