About Roy's Tampa

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for Lunch 11AM

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Business Meals (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Casual (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Authentic (8)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Vegan (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1126 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Lakanilau roll, Butterfish, Pineapple upside down ... Repeat please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We just dined at Roy's on Sunday. The food and service was excellent as usual. We had a wonderful sushi roll and a shrimp style salad for appetizers. For dinner my wife had the salmon and I had the roast chicken and shrimp combination. Both entrees were well prepared and very flavorful. For dessert we had the pineapple upside down cake which is made to order. This restaurant is pricey, but the service and food is very good. I recommend it for a very nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was horrible. It took us 2 hours to eat. From time we placed order to leaving 2 hrs 11 min. Waiter was over booked and was not attentive. Food was sub par when it arrived. Very displeased with this evening and we eat here about once ev mo or two

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 6, 2017

issues with insects flying around.. no battender during lunch timr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Roys is always top-notch. Interesting menu, nice ambiance and superb service are always to be expected. Good choice for every day dining up to special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Meh just not our thing. This is our 2nd time at a Roy's and we've confirmed its nothing special to us. We got the $59 deal on Travelzoo with one appetizer, two entrees and one dessert. We had chicken spring rolls which were pretty good, my husband had a burger with truffle fries which was just ok and fries had no truffle flavor, and I had the macadamia encrusted mahi which was the best part of the meal. Our dessert was a chocolate soufflé which was very good. We had one martini each which added $32 to our bill so with tip this "deal" ended up being expensive for the quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We always enjoy our visits to Roy's...however it took an unusually long amount of time getting food out of the kitchen.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Saturday was our first time dining at Roys. The service is amazing. The appetizers were great. The main dishes were good. But in fairness, We are pescetarians so we couldn't really order some of roy's more famous dishes. The sushi was delish.

bring money. You will need it. And you will not mind spending it. cheers

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Slow service, never got our meal. Waited over an hour and a half and when my meal came it was cold, dry and just awful. Never going there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

As usual an excellent dinner with very good service

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very good food. Lobster potstickers were excellent. Entrees are priced too high. Ten $ less per entree and the place would be packed. Too many other choices of restaurants in the area for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The staff was incredible! We were celebrating my dads 50th birthday and they went above and beyond to take care of everyone's order, keep our drinks filled, and we had a private room which so helped it feel intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Had a great dinner experience at the Bar. Angela, who was tending bar and took care of us, was amazing! I highly recommend the food and experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Creative dishes, presented well. Always on spot, but it would be nice to see more off the menu specials.......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was yummy but the service was just okay. We spent several long stretches with empty plates at our table and empty glasses in need of a refill. Not what I would have expected when spending $100 per person on dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a great time and everyone enjoyed the food. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Phenomenal meal with impeccable service! The four fish entree combo was delicious and let us get a taste of everything; the lobster potstickers and spare ribs were succulent. Our server Kyle made it a perfect evening and was spot on with his recommendations! It was truly a terrific date night with my beautiful wife.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great server Kenny S. got obliging grill person to prepare a perfect Filet Mignon as requested. Also, Kenny very attentive and polite.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We visited Roy's for my husband's birthday .Our server Kenny was amazing, very attentive and took wonderful care of all of us .The food was phenomenal .Our favorite restaurant used to be Fleming's but now it has become Roy'.I can't wait for the next time we come out to dine with them .

Tags: Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Roys has long been our favorite restaurant for a number of years. We have had many casual dinners there, celebrated many birthdays and anniversaries, and even hosted big get togethers.

We were disappointed that service, the quality of the food, and the reception were lacking. Although the manager brought over a gift to offset the very poorly executed lobster bisque, the meal overall was a disappointment. It was our 33rd anniversary.

We will probably try one more time but we have noticed a shrinking of the menu, an increase in prices and the sparkle tarnishing. Sad to see our favorite restaurant in Tampa Bay falling from grace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good food. Great service. Loved the tuna poke appetizer. Not as much of a fan of the crispy chicken rolls. Scallops were awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The prices have gone up quite a bit and I can't say it's worth it anymore. $32 for four scallops , some black rice and a couple cherry tomatoes is walking the line. The crime was the halibut special for $54!!! A piece of halibut with some rice and broccolini is NEVER worth $54. Sorry. The standards are still good...mowie wowie salad, spicy ribs, etc. I will likely return, but not as often as I used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Service was amazing. New scallop/mango/cucumber said sushi special roll was the best roll I've ever had there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Roy's Tampa has a every changing menu and they take pride in each dish they make. Would certainly recommend them.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Delicious! Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere. I ordered a filet, which was not tender, but tough. However the bartender was most accommodating to special drink requests.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great service from Keith! First time dining here, wouldn't hesitate to come back. See you again soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Roy's Tampa never disappoints. The service and food are always exceptional!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Have been several times, but this was the first time in several years. Six people were in our party and six people were impressed.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delightful evening. Bar atmosphere just what we like. Friendly conversation with bartenders and other guests at the bar. New happy hour items were delicious. Several came on the recommendation of Jeff, our bartender.
Will be back soon, without a doubt.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great Service I would recommend to many of my friends and family members.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 1, 2017

As a long time guest at Roy's, we were disappointed this visit. New menu - does not look like the Roy's we have been dining at for many years. The server was a bit pushy even after we told her we have been dining at Roys' for over 25 years( mostly in Hawaii). When we asked her to please replace the knives for clean ones she told us it was just water spots. Wrong response for a restaurant with entree prices close to $40.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Friendly staff and food is amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We eat every few months when we arrive from the airport in time for dinner. Although the food is consistently quite good, our service was less than attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Overall evening was fine. We enjoy a good martini and this was not the place to get one. Rated everything Good - but nothing really to distinguish the restaurant from the many others in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

What an outstanding dining experience, celebrating our anniversary. "Roy's Tampa" out did themselves to make this evening so special, providing us with complementary champagne toast , desserts and photograph. We were seated in a comfortable booth, decorated with a welcoming placard , with orchid petals on the crisp white tablecloth. Our server was wonderful, guided us through the menu. After cocktails and a salad with shrimp and lobster, we enjoyed the most delicious fresh Alaskan Halibut, expertly prepared and beautifully plated, along with yummy sides, and an exquisite Pinot Noir from Oregon. It doesn't get better than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful dinner and service by Keith, highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent food, and service
Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Not the same since Outback sold chain. Salad was made with old lettuce. Wine was three times the retail price. Food portions very small but tasty.
Had 2 martinis, bottle of wine and two entrees. $250.Not worth the money.
We tried to book dinner at local restaurants and they all had a 2 1/2 wait. Roys, no wait as we walked right in. Now I know why. Last time we will visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were put in a side room where there was no quiet music playing. It took awhile for a waiter to come to us. We were not brought any bread or anything while waiting for our meal. I ordered sushi and there was no sauces brought with it other than soy sauce. (Publix sushi is better.) We ordered fish for dinner. It was VERY small portions. I had a lobster and again, no warm butter brought out with it. I was very disappointed in this restaraunt. We will not go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.