About Roy's Tampa

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for Lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Business Meals (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Healthy (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Private Room (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
958 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've eaten at Roys in Hawaii and Califor ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

I've eaten at Roys in Hawaii and California. This is not the experience I'm used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Wonderful food, great service. What a p ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food, great service. What a place for a delicious dinner!

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a nice dinner for a belated V ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

We enjoyed a nice dinner for a belated Valentine's date. The food was delicious and our server was very pleasant. Service was slow and we were sat about 35 mins after our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Found to be marginal for price and servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Found to be marginal for price and service. Our waitress had too many tables and we had to ask for drinks and waited atleast 15 min after we sat to get drinks or any service at all. Probably will not go back. For this type of restaurant and the $$ we spent, almost $1000.00 for a group of 8, we felt cheated!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

I had a group of eight for a business di ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

I had a group of eight for a business dinner. Roy's fit the purpose of providing good steak and seafood choices with attentive service one would expect in a steak house. I have had better, but I have had worse. It was a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely delicious. We've been going h ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely delicious. We've been going here for nearly 7 years and time has proven this place to be just as good as it was when we first went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice restaurant - great menu and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Really nice restaurant - great menu and professional staff. The food was delicious and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a mistake. Booked for a holiday. A ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Made a mistake. Booked for a holiday. A holiday can turn a three star restaurant into a hash house. However, holidays say a lot about a restaurant's management team. This one needs a little work.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

It was Valentine's Day and the restauran ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

It was Valentine's Day and the restaurant completely overbooked too many people We waited 50 minutes to be seated and of course had reservations. Our food took over an hour to be served. It was a miserable Valentines day/anniversary dinner with my wife and I !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

I'm glad you asked, I had reservations f ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

I'm glad you asked, I had reservations for 7;30 but did not sit down until 8:45. The appetizers came out on time, and were very good, however we waited another 45 mins for our meal to come. My lobster was overcooked and overall, not impressed. It was valentines day, and I was trying to impress my date. I failed miserably. I will not be back. The food was very expensive, and i feel like I should have taken her to outback!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Great food and great service!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me start off by saying, I typically ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Let me start off by saying, I typically don't give bad reviews...but our experience on Valentines Day was very disappointing. We were hardly greeted by our server who offered to fill our waters (thought that was solely his job by the way he approached us). When he finally returned and asked if there was anything we would like to drink besides water is when we realized he was our waiter. After placing our order (which we were forced into a 4 course meal which none of the food was all that great), we waited almost 30 minutes to receive our appetizers which were served to us cold. We waited another 15 to receive our soups/salads, and another 20 to receive the main course. Dessert was mediocre at best.

The service was unacceptable. He barely even acknowledged me and my husband...we weren't asked how any of our food turned out and barely re-filled our drinks without us having to ask.

I've been to Roy's in the past and had a better experience...but this is completely unacceptable service (particularly on Valentines Day when you are forced into a 4 course meal and spending $150).

We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Waiter was rude and didn't know or under ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was rude and didn't know or understand the menu. He also got really nasty with us and made a scene himself about the receipt not being accurate. Also the set menu was not clear when we booked which had nothing from what we normally eat there. Food was not bad just didn't have what we wanted. With paying almost $200 for 2, you would think we could order normal menu items. Would go back but not for any special occasion or holiday. Step it up Roys, you're better than that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Love Roy's the food is usually unbelieva ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Love Roy's the food is usually unbelievable.

We go at least once a month and love it

It was very busy Valentine's Day did not receive the service we usually do

totally understandable

but they're unbelievable butterfish was totally over cooked

Not the best of nights

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Fantastic experience, always great servi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic experience, always great service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service! Food was very good ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding service! Food was very good but not outstanding for the price! Overall, a very good anniversary dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent. Very good service and good. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent. Very good service and good. You can change plates around without any hassle. Perfectly cooked steak and seafood. Very well priced wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service. My food was amazing (file ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service. My food was amazing (filet mignon) however the dessert (peach cobbler) could have been better. I still highly recommend visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy our meals at Roy's. Love th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always enjoy our meals at Roy's. Love the chocolate souffle.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very good. When she found ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our server was very good. When she found out we were going to order the chocolate dessert for my sons 27th birthday, she complimented it with a toast of champagne for the 3 of us. That was a great surprise touch!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great as always

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious scallops

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Delicious scallops

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

As always any Roys is hard to beat and t ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

As always any Roys is hard to beat and this one is no exception. Go for the butter fish!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and our waitress was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was delicious and our waitress was very congenial and answered our questions concerning the menu and drinks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great experience at Roy's

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Always a great experience at Roy's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Roy's is a wonderful restaurant. Althou ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Roy's is a wonderful restaurant. Although the prices are a bit high, the food is fresh and delicious. Be sure to order the chocolate soufflé early -- it takes about 20 min and is sooooooo worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always great, service was great, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food is always great, service was great, dinner for 2 adults and 2 young children was almost $300 with tip. Thought that was a bit high even with a couple cocktails and no dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food with excellent service. Staf ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food with excellent service. Staff was great helping with our business meeting

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Thoroughly enjoyable meal with old favor ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyable meal with old favorites and new imaginative choices

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. The concent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food and service. The concentration is on seafood, but they have other things.

They have a prix-fixe that is a bargain, and on Sundays you can make up a prix-fixe out of almost anything on the menu, truly a steal for food this good. If we lived in Tampa we would go there often on Sundays. Regular prices aren't cheap, but reasonable for what you are getting.

Portions are large, especially dessert. You might consider sharing, depending on how hungry you are.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in every way my wife and I dine ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Perfect in every way my wife and I dine at Roy's frequently and it is always a winner

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were especially happy with the value ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We were especially happy with the value in the Sunday/Monday Fixed Price promotion. The food as always was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I took a client to Roy's for dinner whil ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I took a client to Roy's for dinner while in Tampa on Business. The food was amazing and the waiter was good. The only issue we had was the temperature in the restaurant. It was freezing cold! As soon as we finished our amazing food we left so we could go outside and warm up a little. My teeth were actually chattering.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We were a table of 8 on a Sunday evening ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We were a table of 8 on a Sunday evening. The restaurant was not busy at all. There were maybe 5 tables full. Service was very slow. We can tolerate slow service if a restaurant is busy, but this was not the case. Our waitress took a while to take our drink order. Took even longer to bring the drinks to the table. One of our friend's ordered a soda and it took 30min and a comment to the maitre d to get her soda. Our waitress took a very long time to take our food order after drinks were delivered. Tried to order the Lobster Dim Sum as an appetizer but was told this was an old menu and they no longer serve those and haven't for some time. I am not sure why old menus would still be in service. The edamame they brought to the table was good but also took awhile to be delivered to the table. A few people felt it was over peppered, which it was, but we all ate it anyway because we were starving. The food presentation was very nice. I ordered the chicken and shrimp mixed plate. The mashed potatoes were mixed with red peppers and something else that was not tasty. Very overpowered with some sort of spice. I have no idea what was in the mashed potatoes but they were not good. The carrots were not evenly cooked. One side was soft, the other was crunchy. Same for the asparagus and broccoli not being cooked evenly. The stem of the carrot was left on which I found odd. I felt this dish was not as described on the menu. My friends did enjoy their wedge salads, lobster potstickers and the tuna poke salad. For our desert the Melting Hot Chocolate Souffle was delicious. The pineapple upside down cake was also very good. Our server was difficult to find if we needed something such as salt or soy sauce. The person filling the water glasses did keep our glasses full. We waited a very long time to get our checks. My friends and I were very disappointed with our whole experience. Roy's came with good recommendations but I can tell you that the 8 of us will most likely not be back.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a great dinner and some wine. It ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great dinner and some wine. It was a night out

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has been several years since I have b ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It has been several years since I have been to Roy's. I have always been a fan. This time it felt average for the price. At that price point i expect better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The service was great. The food was deli ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was great. The food was delicious.

Had a great birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance. Food was good but not spe ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice ambiance. Food was good but not spectacular. Went on a Saturday and restaurant was busy but not that busy. It took forever to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We were seated in the corner of the rest ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were seated in the corner of the restaurant near the wine storage room. When we were seated I noticed an odor, I think it smelled like when older restaurants have carpet that needs to be cleaned or replaced. Then we looked at the ceiling and noticed discoloration around the air vents, possibly mold. Then we had to fight off flies during dinner. It was so disappointing to pay $95 pretip and have that kind of experience. I wish I never made that reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Went to Roy's on a spur-of-the-moment de ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went to Roy's on a spur-of-the-moment decision, using OpenTable to book a reservation. Great and welcoming staff guided us to a comfortable table. Attentive servers with service that spaced five courses over the course of an evening very well - enough not to wonder when the next course was coming and spaced out to allow conversation and enjoyment. Diverse menu with many wine and cocktail options; beer list was lackluster but had a few nice local options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.