About Roy's Tampa

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Big Island Ebi Roll
1988 Martini
Happy Birthday Dessert
Sushi
Mai Tai
Mionetto Prosecco Brut, Italy
Spicy Thai Shrimp Dumplings
Edammame
Chocolate Souffle
Blackened Ahi
Hawaiian Style Misoyaki Butterfish
Nutella Gelato
Mac and Cheese
California Roll
Lime Semi Freddo
Tempura Fish
Vegetable Tempura
Wagyu Beef Sliders
Sashimi Platter
Aloha Sushi Roll
Macadamia Nut Bread Pudding
Cosmo
Coconut Shrimp Skewers
Chicken satay
edamame
Roy's Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi
Melting Hot Chocolate Souffle
Shrimp Teppanyaki
Beef Short Rib Tacos
Tenderloin Skewers
Grilled Hanger Streak
Coconut Frappe
Tiger Prawn Pad Thai
Duck Confit Dim Sum
Coconut Gelato
Warm Mango Cobbler
Pepper Melon Margarita
PEI Mussels and Clam Hot Pot
Sweet potato fries
Lobster Dumpling Dim Sum
Mojito
Tuna Poke
Kobe Beef Sliders And Sweet Potatoe Fries
Lobster Pot Stickers
Kim Chi
Tempura Crusted Spicy Ahi Tuna Roll
Tempura sushi
Lobster Potstickers
Strawberry Basil Martini
Calamari
pineapple upside-down cake
Spider Roll
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad
Crab California Roll
Grilled Szechuan Spiced Pork Ribs
Sushi rice
Pineapple Souffle With Coconut Gelato
Shellfish Sampler
Szechuan Spiced Pork Rib
Desserts
Mango Mojito
Lakanilau Sushi Roll
Seared Idaho River Trout
Braised Pork Shank
Macadamia Crusted Mahi
Dynamite Hawaiian Shutome
Warm Mango Streusel
Shrimp Bruschetta
fish tacos
Butter Lettuce Salad
Poke
Lobster Wonton Soup
Lobster Pot Sticker
Julian's Special Roll
Lobster California Roll & California Shrimp Roll
Parmesan crusted Scallops
Shiso crusted salmon
Original Hawaiian Martini
Dynamite topped shutome
Skinny Cosmo Martini
Hawaiian Style Ono
Hawaiian Martini
Skinny Ginger Pear Martini
Bananas Foster Creme Brulee
Candy Cane Dessert
Roy's Canoe Appetizer For Two
Seafood Sampler
Kids Salmon Terryaki Meal
Kid's Chicken Teriyaki
Crispy Rock Shrimp Wontons
Sunrise at Haleakala

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Tampa / Central Florida West
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

special occasion (69)
fit for foodies (48)
romantic (41)
See All
good for groups (36)
hot spot (20)
notable wine list (19)
vibrant bar scene (16)
neighborhood gem (14)
kid-friendly (10)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (6)
great for lunch (6)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
781 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Canoe for Two, Ribeye, Haleak ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had the Canoe for Two, Ribeye, Haleakala, Chocolate Souffle, and the Pineapple Cake. Everything was fantastic

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was absolutely perfect. Shared sus ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Food was absolutely perfect. Shared sushi appetizer was delicious and pretty. Fish trio was delicious. Great service...not cheap but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Started out very well. We ordered calam ...

Dined 6 days ago

Started out very well. We ordered calamari as an appetizer and it was one of the best I have eaten, soft on the inside and crispy on the outside and cut into small strips rather then the normal rings. The dipping sauce was excellent. Entrees were the problem. We ordered salmon and a 14 oz rib eye. The salmon was the tail end section of the filet and was thin, dry and overcooked. The steak was saturated in a gravy like sauce and covered with breaded onions and over seasoned with salt and pepper Why? The steak was an excellent piece of meat and cooked to perfection but was ruined with all the sauces, seasonings and condiments. I could understand if it was a lesser cut of meat. We had a pineapple cake and chocolate cake desserts that were very good and rich and a nice finish to the meal. Service was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent always great place to ...

Dined 6 days ago

Always consistent always great place to dine. Only wish they had adress code

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Fish, delicious Sushi, great k ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic Fish, delicious Sushi, great kids meals, excellent wine list, Wonderful apps

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went there for wedding anniversary, got ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Went there for wedding anniversary, got great food, nice touches such as a reservation card on the table, and a photograph for our memoirs, good service, and reasonable price.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, Roy's delivered a top-notch ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Once again, Roy's delivered a top-notch dining experience - from a warm, "Ohana" welcome to exceptional service and delicious cuisine. We mentioned that we were celebrating my wife's birthday (was not trying to make a big deal) - but Kal Harris (Managing Partner) and Peter (Floor Manager) took it upon themselves to make it a truly memorable experience! From perfect, custom-made martinis to a complementary dessert - it was an A+ experience. Also - thanks to Chelf Lan for the delectable Blackened Hamachi - one of the best things we have ever had! Thanks to our friends at Roy's Tampa!! And - if you are on the fence debating where to celebrate a special occasion or just enjoy a first-class, subdued dining experience - go for Roy's!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants for special occasions because of the extra attention the staff gives you. However, Father's Day brunch was way too expensive! For our two brunch entrees, steak and eggs and a lobster and shrimp omelette, it was $83 ($99 inc. tip)! The food was good, but not delicious and I certainly wouldn't have taken my husband had I known it would be that pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food, plesent service. Specia ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good food, plesent service. Special was shockingly pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my wife birthday. They made her f ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

It was my wife birthday. They made her feel special and everything was wonderful. I can not say enough about our dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Roy's as often as possible. It ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We go to Roy's as often as possible. It is without a doubt our favorite upscale restaurant. The service, staff and food are outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

We were seated near the bar....very loud ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were seated near the bar....very loud, conversations were impossible. Next time I will request a Booth or table further from the bar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my husband's Aunt out for her bi ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

We took my husband's Aunt out for her birthday dinner. She had to be up early so she didn't want to be out late. I wanted it to be somewhere nice because she got dressed nice and was excited to get out. We were so happy with the whole experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Roy's was excellent as usual. The food a ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Roy's was excellent as usual. The food and drinks were prepared exquisitely and served in a comfortable fashion. I would recommend you try it.

food4
ambience3
service4

Air conditioning was out

Dined on June 3, 2016

Air conditioning was out

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Once again, Roy's hit all their marks! Attentive service, delicious food, and a genuine "Ohana" vibe. We've been dining at Roy's for 6 years and have not been disappointed once. While everything on the menu is superb, don't be afraid to ask for something specific to your tastes, particularly with their sushi. Roy's only offers the very freshest fish such as hamachi, salmon, tuna - and they can make custom rolls if they are not too busy. What's on the menu, though, is exceptional - especially the hamachi roll with jalapeno! A special thanks to Kal and Chad as well as all the staff - Peter, Clay, Joe, Aaron, Bianca, Crystal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2

Way overpriced for the experience. Every ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Way overpriced for the experience. Everything was just okay

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect date night spot.

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and service was great. The manager Chad and Peter both had came by and asked how everything was. The bartenders Aaron and Clay were right on point. We feel very welcome every time we dine at Roy's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Overall the food and service was excellent.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Special attention to detail such as little touches for the birthday was a very welcome and outstanding presentation by the team. Picture to take away was unexpected. Overall the food, ambience, service and people made the experience very enjoyable. If you like an oriental touch outstanding. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food and service were, as usual, exc ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food and service were, as usual, excellent. However, there has been a substantial price increase and it is no longer worth the trip for the money spent.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food.... Shame About the Recruiter

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Always liked Roy's. Picked tonight at short notice based on reputation. The lady working the maitre de/greeter was dreadfully miserable, and everyones guests and employees experienced it. The server worked hard, and the food doesn't disappoint. But first impressions are important.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing! Food was superb, ser ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Food was superb, service impeccable.

food5
ambience4
service5

Mahi thai increíble le!

Dined on May 18, 2016

Mahi thai increíble le!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite

Dined on May 17, 2016

I have been going to Roy's for many years and I have never been unsatisfied. The host/waiters are attentive and professional. Most importantly, the food is delightful and unforgettable! One of the best places to take someone for a special date or occasion. You will leave the restaurant feeling special...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, good service. Loved the butte ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Good food, good service. Loved the butterfish

food5
ambience5
service4

The butterfish was amazing and my wife a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The butterfish was amazing and my wife ahi tuna was perfect. The only real negative was that it took way too long for the server to bring a glass of wine and a scotch to the table. Everything else was virtually flawless and our experience was pretty good.

food5
ambience4
service5

Sat at the sushi bar. Chef Lan was very ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Sat at the sushi bar. Chef Lan was very sociable yet professional. He offered excellent suggestions based upon type of food we wanted and tastes. Awesome experience AGAIN at Roy's.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Does James Beard know?

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always tasteful in drinks, food and service. Special Ocassions are even more when dining here.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AS ALWAYS THE STAFF WAS WONDERFUL AND OU ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

AS ALWAYS THE STAFF WAS WONDERFUL AND OUR SERVER KRISTY WAS AN ABSOLUTE GEM... SHE WAS THE HIGH POINT OF OUR DINNER THERE. SHE WAS HIGHLY PROFESSIONAL AND SUPER ATTENTIVE WITH AN ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL PERSONALITY. SHE MADE THE PERFECT RECOMMENDATIONS FOR FOOD, WINE AND COCKTAILS.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good! Food was excellent! ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was good! Food was excellent! Overall we had a good time!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

DO NOT GO FOR MOTHER'S DAY BRUNCH

Dined on May 8, 2016

Coffee was served cold. Had to ask for lemons and limes for our water at least 4 times. Sticky buns served cold and hard. Took 2 hours to get our food, 2 1/2 hours to get out. The fruit salad was served warm. For 4 people the bill was over $200.00. Ridiculous! The manager came by and apologized for the wait but didn't offer anything for our inconvenience.

food2
ambience3
service2

For the price, the food was disappointin ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

For the price, the food was disappointing. The lobster and crab omelet had one piece of lobster claw and two pieces of shrimp with spinach for $50 with greasy potatoes with green and red peppers. Really. One small over cooked pancake for $10. Very disappointing. I expected better.

food4
ambience4
service5

Sweetest most tender lobster tail I've h ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Sweetest most tender lobster tail I've had. Really awesome seasoning on the Edamame. Really tender rib eye, and probably the best Moscow Mule I've had in a long time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ROY'S FISH IS FANTASTIC!!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

ON A RECENT VISIT TO ROY'S, MY EXPERIENCE WAS TERRIFIC!!! THE SERVICE WAS GREAT AND THE FOOD NEVER DISAPPOINTS. MY BUTTERFISH WAS INCREDIBLY FLAVORFUL. MY GUEST WAS A FIRST TIME DINER, AND THOROUGHLY ENJOYED HIS DINNER. HE IS ANXIOUS TO RETURN!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is great

Dined on May 6, 2016

The menu is very different, I love trying new foods. Everything is always good. I recommend the Pineapple Upside down cake for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's of Tampa - Excellente......

Dined on May 5, 2016

Roy's of Tampa was a great find. I wanted to surprise my wife with a romantic dinner for our anniversary on short notice. The menu was exquisite, adventurous and the cocktails were phenomenal. There were unique drinks for every course and a fine selection of wines. Ambiance was energetic and service very hospitable. The only thing we could have enjoyed further, would be some tropical trees/ foliage and possibly tiki torches or hanging candle light. We plan to check out other locations when we can spend an entire evening. Roy's would certainly be a great spot for a special group event, as well. In my opinion, if finances are of concern, you may want to plan it for when it is not, to fully enjoy the menu, and the event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

waitress was nothing special. Had to wai ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

waitress was nothing special. Had to wait approximately 35-40 minutes, between appetizer \, main course and dessert

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Good food slow service

Dined on April 28, 2016

I took my daughters to Roy's to celebrate a recent scholarship pageant victory and a star student award each of my daughters won. We booked the early 6pm reservation. It was very quiet and we were the few of the only tables occupied at this time. We enjoyed the food and its presentation, however, our waiter was not too attentive to our orders. Between the our drink order and food order there were 15-20 minute gaps which seemed like an eternity. When I thought I was going to have to pay with cash and just leave, the waiter showed up to receive my debit card. I would still give this restaurant another try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

nice place

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

this place was good. i have the short ribs and they were tasty. my fiance had the mac and cheese and she really liked it. i woudl recommend thi place to anyone in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gotta Love Roy's

Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I met a friend for a casual/fun dinner and Roy's was perfect for us. Service was attentive yet not obtrusive, food was excellent but not pricey and the total experience very pleasing to all three of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.