About Roy's Tampa

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for Lunch 11AM

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Good for Birthdays (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Business Meals (26)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Romantic (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Casual (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Authentic (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Fun (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

We visited Roy's for my husband's birthday .Our server Kenny was amazing, very attentive and took wonderful care of all of us .The food was phenomenal .Our favorite restaurant used to be Fleming's but now it has become Roy'.I can't wait for the next time we come out to dine with them .

Tags: Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Roys has long been our favorite restaurant for a number of years. We have had many casual dinners there, celebrated many birthdays and anniversaries, and even hosted big get togethers.

We were disappointed that service, the quality of the food, and the reception were lacking. Although the manager brought over a gift to offset the very poorly executed lobster bisque, the meal overall was a disappointment. It was our 33rd anniversary.

We will probably try one more time but we have noticed a shrinking of the menu, an increase in prices and the sparkle tarnishing. Sad to see our favorite restaurant in Tampa Bay falling from grace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food. Great service. Loved the tuna poke appetizer. Not as much of a fan of the crispy chicken rolls. Scallops were awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

The prices have gone up quite a bit and I can't say it's worth it anymore. $32 for four scallops , some black rice and a couple cherry tomatoes is walking the line. The crime was the halibut special for $54!!! A piece of halibut with some rice and broccolini is NEVER worth $54. Sorry. The standards are still good...mowie wowie salad, spicy ribs, etc. I will likely return, but not as often as I used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Roy's Tampa has a every changing menu and they take pride in each dish they make. Would certainly recommend them.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Delicious! Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere. I ordered a filet, which was not tender, but tough. However the bartender was most accommodating to special drink requests.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great service from Keith! First time dining here, wouldn't hesitate to come back. See you again soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Roy's Tampa never disappoints. The service and food are always exceptional!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Have been several times, but this was the first time in several years. Six people were in our party and six people were impressed.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delightful evening. Bar atmosphere just what we like. Friendly conversation with bartenders and other guests at the bar. New happy hour items were delicious. Several came on the recommendation of Jeff, our bartender.
Will be back soon, without a doubt.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great Service I would recommend to many of my friends and family members.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 1, 2017

As a long time guest at Roy's, we were disappointed this visit. New menu - does not look like the Roy's we have been dining at for many years. The server was a bit pushy even after we told her we have been dining at Roys' for over 25 years( mostly in Hawaii). When we asked her to please replace the knives for clean ones she told us it was just water spots. Wrong response for a restaurant with entree prices close to $40.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Friendly staff and food is amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We eat every few months when we arrive from the airport in time for dinner. Although the food is consistently quite good, our service was less than attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Overall evening was fine. We enjoy a good martini and this was not the place to get one. Rated everything Good - but nothing really to distinguish the restaurant from the many others in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

What an outstanding dining experience, celebrating our anniversary. "Roy's Tampa" out did themselves to make this evening so special, providing us with complementary champagne toast , desserts and photograph. We were seated in a comfortable booth, decorated with a welcoming placard , with orchid petals on the crisp white tablecloth. Our server was wonderful, guided us through the menu. After cocktails and a salad with shrimp and lobster, we enjoyed the most delicious fresh Alaskan Halibut, expertly prepared and beautifully plated, along with yummy sides, and an exquisite Pinot Noir from Oregon. It doesn't get better than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful dinner and service by Keith, highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent food, and service
Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Not the same since Outback sold chain. Salad was made with old lettuce. Wine was three times the retail price. Food portions very small but tasty.
Had 2 martinis, bottle of wine and two entrees. $250.Not worth the money.
We tried to book dinner at local restaurants and they all had a 2 1/2 wait. Roys, no wait as we walked right in. Now I know why. Last time we will visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were put in a side room where there was no quiet music playing. It took awhile for a waiter to come to us. We were not brought any bread or anything while waiting for our meal. I ordered sushi and there was no sauces brought with it other than soy sauce. (Publix sushi is better.) We ordered fish for dinner. It was VERY small portions. I had a lobster and again, no warm butter brought out with it. I was very disappointed in this restaraunt. We will not go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The service was great
I definitely recommend this restaurant

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Service was amazing!! Food was amazing!! Wonderful experience!! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great service and the food was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food is always fresh, servers and managers with a smile. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Had a great time. Everything was wonderful! The seafood at Roy's is creatively prepared and delicious. I appreciate that Roys is constantly innovating their menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Nice variety of seafood offerings on menu. Lobster Bisque was flavorful and fresh. Entrees were enjoyed with wine selections that complimented meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great meal, good service. Noise level was a bit high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Nice birthday dinner, good food, excellent service and hospitality. We felt the food delivery was timed well to allow us to enjoy the evening and conversation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

First time at Roy's. We had a Groupon and were given a Groupon menu which made us feel limited. The filet I had was covered in a sauce which was very salty. I wish they would have put the gravy on the bottom of the steak or better yet in a separate small dish. The side of broccoli and asparagus was an insult, over cooked with one piece of asparagus (what ?). The hamburger my husband ordered had a great review by him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Paul McCartney concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Outstanding meal and wonderful service. The filet mignon was very tender, flavorful and juicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We enjoyed a very nice early birthday dinner. The food was great as it always is. The service was wonderful. It always meets our expectations. A great place for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our server Racheal is a excellent server, we really enjoyed our anniversary night out.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent especially for the area Toy's everywhere is a reliable option. Atmosphere is very casual and relaxed. Food is reliably good Asian-Pacific influenced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great restaurant with fabulous food. They had a great children's menu for our granddaughter. Specialty drinks were amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My wife's birthday. Really enjoyed the total experience. From the hostess to our server Rachel , even the manager stop by to check and make sure everything was to our liking. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I would not recommend this place to an enemy! Absolutely do not go here. Worst food and value dining experience we have had in Tampa.
First of all, we felt rushed from the moment we sat down. My husband ordered a mango mojito, which was awful. We started with the Aunt Lei roll, which was fishy tasting. We ordered two of the halibut special. Shame on us for not asking the price. $56 each, for an overcooked piece of fish served on a scoop of rice with two measly pieces of broccoli. We also ordered the sautéed mushrooms as a side. Disappointed in these as well since they were rubbery and lacked flavor.
Sadly, we went there to celebrate my husband's birthday. Oh how I wish I could do the night over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Keith is probably the best server in town if not the best! Food was great as usual but service was exceptional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

As often as we visited over the years, Roy's never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.