About Roy's Tampa

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for Lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Business Meals (20)
Romantic (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Casual (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Healthy (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tapas (4)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1046 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was fine, portions left something to be desired, service a but slow as well

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

I hadn't been to Roys in years. I remember it being a class act, really nice inside and wonderful atmosphere. This time I walked in and felt like I walked into 1985. Mustard and Ketchup walls, awful art, very bright lighting. Our server wasn't bad but definitely didn't have initiative. Glasses empty, didn't bring soy sauce but we had plates and sushi. Just simple things. Food was ok, some better than others but with all the competition in the area, I highly doubt I will go back. Crab fried rice was so over cooked. It's so much better next door at Wddie V's. I only had two appetizers and two glasses of wine and with tip I spent over $70. I will pay for good food but this wasn't it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server was excellent and the food was good as always. We used a Groupon for the three course prix fixe menu and were pleased with the selection and portion size.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants. Best seafood in town.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I got married in Hawaii 13 years ago and it became a tradition for us to go to Roy's every year for our anniversary, so we've been going to the Tampa location for that number of years for our anniversary and at various other times. This year we went on Valentines Day and we were sorely disappointed with the service and quality. We went back for our Anniversary dinner on June 17 and were again disappointed. Used to when you went and let them know it was a special occasion, they treated it like that, this time, not so much. The food was just ok and both my wife's and my steak were over cooked and the server was not very efficient. To be fair we got to Roy's a little early to have a cocktail and appetizer at the bar before getting set at our table and our experience at the bar was fantastic. Unfortunately I think our 13 year run at Roy's has come to an end but we may still do the occasional visit to the bar for cocktails and appetizers.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious sushi!
Great salads.
Fantastic seafood dinners. Really delicious!
Great service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Usually enjoy Roys. We were swatting at gnats all evening as well as the table next to ours.
Wasn't the best experience. The server was very apologetic, but managment never stopped by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Rachel was very good. It was our anniversary so they made a point to put a special message and fresh flowers on our table. Very nice! Unfortunately, the bar was very slow, the majority of the customers were way underdressed for this kind of a place, the food was overpriced, & the noise level was extremely high. We had a lot of trouble hearing each other. Likely won't be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Was in town to celebrate my wife's birthday and see a show at the Ray-J stadium. Was amazed from the second we walked in. Table was covered in orchids, with a personalized card wishing her a happy birthday. The Food was delicious, took us back home to Hawaii with every bite.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vegan, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Used Groupon menu. Regular menu is more expensive but a lot better as I remember. Desserts were amazing

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Love the Happy Hour and the sushi. Hamburger was overcooked but all apologized

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was a wonderful birthday experience for my husband! I took him to a romantic dinner in Hawaii only weeks before, and this was a lovely Hawaiian nod on the mainland. Our server was top notch and the food was delicious. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food was very good. The service started out good. As we progressed in the meal we couldn't find the server. We ordered wine with dinner and never arrived until we we were finished. We had to ask other severs that happened by serving other tables to help us. No reason given for the delay. Just placed the wine and left. We saw the server handeling 2 large tables which may have been too much.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We usually love Roy's but last night was not up to the general standards. The hostess tried to seat us at a table in the side dining room that had a lighting issue. Something was broken and causing it to be like a spotlight on the table. The people that were seated there ended up moving mid way through their meal.
Our server, although friendly, had a large table next to us that consumed his time. He rarely checked on us. Just was busy pouring their wine, sparkling water and taking their order. Frustrating, because we needed things and he never stopped back by. The large table was directly next to us so he could've popped over quickly. Very bad service.
Also, we did not realize the new edamame policy of having to request them. Once we did request them we were told they would be out in 2 minutes. They never came. Disappointing as these are so delicious. When we said something at the time of paying our check, the waiter asked if we wanted some to go. This was appreciated.
I got the butter fish which was a little over sauced. Still good, just not as delicious as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My Wife and I went for our 12th Wedding anniversary and it was a great night. The staff went out of their way to make it special, from the card on the table when we were seated to the note on the plate with desert that included the 12 (They pay attention). 5 stars especially the server Waki, she was very energetic and polite.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Roy's for us is always very good to excellent. Wonderful seafood options, although the braised short ribs are also great. Some very good and different vegetarian dishes too. Sushi is good, but not as good as some dedicated Sushi restaurants. Some excellent island cocktails. Excellent service this past visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We love Roys, we've been going to Roys for years. We have used Roys home catering a few times as well. For some reason after managing partners changed the service has really gone down hill. Food is still great and we like the new menu selections. Kudos to Steven, our waiter he was great but his support staff was very poor, we were a party of 11. We didn't even see a GM in the restaurant the whole time we were there, 3 hours. Normally they greet every table and ask how things are going but nothing, we could tell since the rest of the service was very below average. We really miss how Roys used to run. More efficient, better food quality (pineapple upside down was burnt again), you felt more like family when visiting/eating there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Dinner was Fantastic! Our server was good. She did forget a few things but was apologetic when we gently reminded her. I was pleased with the apps brought to the kids promptly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Exceptional. Again! Food, service, ambiance...5 stars, everytime.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Arrived before opening and they seated us anyway. Excellent service and a wondwrful menu

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were at Roy's to celebrate 2 birthdays, and the evening was a hit. The food was spectacular, and service was apt on. They had Birthday decorations on the table when we arrived and at the end they brought out delicious Milton chocolate cake for the birthday boys.,it was a true treat and we will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Went to Roy's to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary. Started the evening with Mango Mojito's, quite tasty. Moved on to a couple of appetizers, the Aloha roll and Ahi roll were very good and just the right portion. From there we decided on Sushi for dinner as well. We tried the Lakanilau and Ebi rolls with a side of edamame. Very light and refreshing choices and just enough to share.
And it goes without saying that we had the chocolate melting cake for dessert. A great way to end the evening.
Staff was great and accommodating, a pleasant group of people.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was very good. All six of our group enjoyed our meals. The waiter did not respect our conversations and interrupted five or six times. He needs some training but not from his manager as she did the same thing on her walk through. So sorry to report this. We did have a nice evening and will return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Long time fan of Roy's, first time this location. Everything was great

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 25, 2017

My wife and I went there to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. They took care of us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We celebrate our wedding anniversary at Roy's. We had never been there and we chose them because of a $25 off offer they'd mailed us. We were very happy with our meal and service. We had their Ahi Tuna Poke appetizer (excellent), their fish trio and mac and cheese. Everything was wonderful. We ended w/their chocolate lava dessert - what a perfect finish. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I have always love Roy's however, this past visit was a little disappointing. The salmon I ordered (which I specified to be cooked to the rare side of medium rare) was overdone and I sent it back.
I also thought the service was slower than usual, however, that was not a big problem.
I ordered the Hawaiian Martini which I have had before and enjoy the piece of pineapple garnish which is soaked in the Vodka. However, this time the piece of pineapple garnish was not soaked in the vodka. A little disappointing. I will still visit Roy's of Tampa, but with some reservation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything Excellent The manager was fabulous and waitress was fabulous

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing place! Outstanding service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We always enjoy our visits to Roy's. The staff is always attentive and makes our dinners memorable. we have had at least 15 wedding anniversary dinners at Roy's and we have visited different Roy's restaurants throughout the country and in Hawaii. The food is excellent and the ambiance is great for special occasions. there is a main dining room and quiet dining areas as well. We will continue to return to Roy's for the great food and excellent service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Lunch flow was not quite right. Took a little longer than expected to get the food. The server was very engaging and knowledgeable and made the experience a little better.

Chicken on the lunch menu was awesome...definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food was excellent. Friendly staff. The service was not the best. We had a late reservation. It was clear the staff, especially our server, was more focused on wrapping up to go home than providing a quality experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The waitress was understandably busy but her attitude Was super peculiar and bazaar. She'd Respond with a sugary sweet voice but then give a look of severe irritation ( for example when asked for Salt and pepper shakers. ) It was not a cheap meal and we didn't appreciate her attitude. We didn't want to harp on it at the time so we did not get a manager. We had 13 people and ordered two bottles of wine and several cocktails.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had the Prime Rib, not very good. Wife had the Butterfish, was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my third time dining there but I was so disappointed. Seems it is getting worse and worse
Food was not good, very noisy.
Overall I wouldn't go there again, never

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good food lots of gluten free options, good tasting menu, the trio is great

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Roy's has always been a nice experience. The Hawaiian flavors and takes on various dishes keep us frequently visiting for date nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always a good meal and good service. Fish dishes reliably good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Celebrated Mother's Day dinner here with my husband . We enjoyed great food, speedy service and attentive staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Tanya was a great server and the food was amazing as usual.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.