About Roy's Tampa

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Enjoy the best Father's Day at Roy's! Open early at 10am - we'll be serving Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch & Dinner. Treat dad to the best seafood, steak and sushi in town.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Tampa / Central Florida West
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Service
Tampa
1 More
Seafood
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

special occasion (85)
fit for foodies (66)
romantic (48)
See All
good for groups (45)
hot spot (26)
notable wine list (24)
vibrant bar scene (21)
neighborhood gem (15)
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
760 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food.... Shame About the Recruiter

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Always liked Roy's. Picked tonight at short notice based on reputation. The lady working the maitre de/greeter was dreadfully miserable, and everyones guests and employees experienced it. The server worked hard, and the food doesn't disappoint. But first impressions are important.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing! Food was superb, ser ...

Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely amazing! Food was superb, service impeccable.

food5
ambience4
service5

Mahi thai increíble le!

Dined 6 days ago

Mahi thai increíble le!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite

Dined on May 17, 2016

I have been going to Roy's for many years and I have never been unsatisfied. The host/waiters are attentive and professional. Most importantly, the food is delightful and unforgettable! One of the best places to take someone for a special date or occasion. You will leave the restaurant feeling special...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, good service. Loved the butte ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Good food, good service. Loved the butterfish

food5
ambience5
service4

The butterfish was amazing and my wife a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The butterfish was amazing and my wife ahi tuna was perfect. The only real negative was that it took way too long for the server to bring a glass of wine and a scotch to the table. Everything else was virtually flawless and our experience was pretty good.

food5
ambience4
service5

Sat at the sushi bar. Chef Lan was very ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Sat at the sushi bar. Chef Lan was very sociable yet professional. He offered excellent suggestions based upon type of food we wanted and tastes. Awesome experience AGAIN at Roy's.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Does James Beard know?

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always tasteful in drinks, food and service. Special Ocassions are even more when dining here.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AS ALWAYS THE STAFF WAS WONDERFUL AND OU ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

AS ALWAYS THE STAFF WAS WONDERFUL AND OUR SERVER KRISTY WAS AN ABSOLUTE GEM... SHE WAS THE HIGH POINT OF OUR DINNER THERE. SHE WAS HIGHLY PROFESSIONAL AND SUPER ATTENTIVE WITH AN ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL PERSONALITY. SHE MADE THE PERFECT RECOMMENDATIONS FOR FOOD, WINE AND COCKTAILS.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good! Food was excellent! ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was good! Food was excellent! Overall we had a good time!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

DO NOT GO FOR MOTHER'S DAY BRUNCH

Dined on May 8, 2016

Coffee was served cold. Had to ask for lemons and limes for our water at least 4 times. Sticky buns served cold and hard. Took 2 hours to get our food, 2 1/2 hours to get out. The fruit salad was served warm. For 4 people the bill was over $200.00. Ridiculous! The manager came by and apologized for the wait but didn't offer anything for our inconvenience.

food2
ambience3
service2

For the price, the food was disappointin ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

For the price, the food was disappointing. The lobster and crab omelet had one piece of lobster claw and two pieces of shrimp with spinach for $50 with greasy potatoes with green and red peppers. Really. One small over cooked pancake for $10. Very disappointing. I expected better.

food4
ambience4
service5

Sweetest most tender lobster tail I've h ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Sweetest most tender lobster tail I've had. Really awesome seasoning on the Edamame. Really tender rib eye, and probably the best Moscow Mule I've had in a long time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ROY'S FISH IS FANTASTIC!!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

ON A RECENT VISIT TO ROY'S, MY EXPERIENCE WAS TERRIFIC!!! THE SERVICE WAS GREAT AND THE FOOD NEVER DISAPPOINTS. MY BUTTERFISH WAS INCREDIBLY FLAVORFUL. MY GUEST WAS A FIRST TIME DINER, AND THOROUGHLY ENJOYED HIS DINNER. HE IS ANXIOUS TO RETURN!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is great

Dined on May 6, 2016

The menu is very different, I love trying new foods. Everything is always good. I recommend the Pineapple Upside down cake for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's of Tampa - Excellente......

Dined on May 5, 2016

Roy's of Tampa was a great find. I wanted to surprise my wife with a romantic dinner for our anniversary on short notice. The menu was exquisite, adventurous and the cocktails were phenomenal. There were unique drinks for every course and a fine selection of wines. Ambiance was energetic and service very hospitable. The only thing we could have enjoyed further, would be some tropical trees/ foliage and possibly tiki torches or hanging candle light. We plan to check out other locations when we can spend an entire evening. Roy's would certainly be a great spot for a special group event, as well. In my opinion, if finances are of concern, you may want to plan it for when it is not, to fully enjoy the menu, and the event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

waitress was nothing special. Had to wai ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

waitress was nothing special. Had to wait approximately 35-40 minutes, between appetizer \, main course and dessert

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Good food slow service

Dined on April 28, 2016

I took my daughters to Roy's to celebrate a recent scholarship pageant victory and a star student award each of my daughters won. We booked the early 6pm reservation. It was very quiet and we were the few of the only tables occupied at this time. We enjoyed the food and its presentation, however, our waiter was not too attentive to our orders. Between the our drink order and food order there were 15-20 minute gaps which seemed like an eternity. When I thought I was going to have to pay with cash and just leave, the waiter showed up to receive my debit card. I would still give this restaurant another try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

nice place

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

this place was good. i have the short ribs and they were tasty. my fiance had the mac and cheese and she really liked it. i woudl recommend thi place to anyone in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gotta Love Roy's

Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I met a friend for a casual/fun dinner and Roy's was perfect for us. Service was attentive yet not obtrusive, food was excellent but not pricey and the total experience very pleasing to all three of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Enjoyed our meal

Dined on April 16, 2016

First time eating there and we will return. Overall enjoyable meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always like Roy's

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Went there for their Spring Three Course special, It was OK, But not as enjoyable as The Winter Three Course special which we enjoyed more than once. But I don't think We will repeat the Spring special. The salmon was not as good as the Winter, uncooked or barely cooked veg on the top which was not tasty, The worst all was the dessert, It was very hard, Can't believe offered by Roy's.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow.........what a pleasurable experienc ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Wow.........what a pleasurable experience. Not inexpensive but certainly the place to go for a special occasion and know everything will be A++++++++

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEAUTIFUL

Dined on April 16, 2016

GREAT PLACE TO GO ON A DATE, THE ATMOSPHERE WAS BEAUTIFUL AND THE SERVICE WAS FRIENDLY

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Black Cod & 1988! <3

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Black Cod & 1988! <3

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing date night

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I brought my wife to Roy's for date night. We sat at a table in bar area because we were early for our reservation. Devin the bartender waited on us for drinks and appetizers. He was very friendly and suggested a bottle of wine that we really enjoyed. We ended up staying in the bar area for dinner. The manager Pete came by and checked to see how everything was. Pete was also super friendly and really made us feel welcome. We will definitely be back again for date night!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding from starters to de ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was outstanding from starters to dessert! Our waiter, Mike, was outstanding!

food1
ambience3
service3

Horrible. The food is just plain stinky ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Horrible. The food is just plain stinky!! Average at best

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Food and Service!

Dined on April 8, 2016

We enjoyed the food and our waiter and the staff were excellent! Everything from appetizer to dessert were amazing. The only drawback to the night was the noise level. We had a large party seated behind us that were celebrating a birthday and they had small children with them. The children were well behaved but excited and loud at times. The whole group enjoyed themselves and I'm glad that they did. I just wish we could've been seated away from them.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service and food. A little pricey ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great service and food. A little pricey but nothing crazy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We Love Roy's!

Dined on April 3, 2016

We love Roy's. We've been going ever since it opened! Try the butterfish and the short ribs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

It took too long between courses because ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

It took too long between courses because they were backed up. Last year they ran out of first course and they offered no apology or options.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding restaurant, one of my favori ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Outstanding restaurant, one of my favorite spots in Tampa!

food4
ambience4
service5

Service was great and food was really go ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Service was great and food was really good. Had an enjoyable evening with family and friends.

food4
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent through our wh ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

The service was excellent through our whole experience. The food was very good.

food3
ambience5
service5

We have been eating at Roy's in Tampa fo ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

We have been eating at Roy's in Tampa for the past 15 years, when we attend Yankee Spring training. This year the service was superb. Our server and Peter the current manager were outstanding...personable, efficient and knowledgeable. However it seemed to us that the food was not nearly as good as years past. The desert was great!

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

disappointment

Dined on March 19, 2016

Had not been here for quite sometime, but since we were in town for the.evening decided to dine here . I was especially craving their hawaiian martini which I did have and it was yummy as usual.. Service was a slow. By the time they brought the requested pepper for my husband's salad, he had already finished his salad. We waited 45 minutes for our entrees.The salmon was good. The thai chicken was bland. The saving grace was that the manager was very attentive and apologetic. We were not charged for our meal which was a pleasant surprise. I think this was just an off day for them as we have always had great meals here.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Event

Dined on March 17, 2016

We were celebrating birthdays with a group. It could not have gone better! The staff was courteous and professional and the food was outstanding. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great evening

Dined on March 14, 2016

Once again my wife and I had a fabulous evening. We were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary and the staff at Roy's really made it special. Table was ready when we arrived, no need to "wait". Service was prompt, but not over bearing, with perfect pace. As always the food was a delight to the pallet and eye. The extra special touches such a personalized framed Happy Anniversary place card on the table, followed with a photo at the end of the evening really goes that extra mile to make you feel really special. The only complaint is the price for cocktails. Just a little over the top but small price to pay for a truly great restaurant. We frequent Roy's fairly often and plan on continuing.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great apps. Solicitous host and managers ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Great apps. Solicitous host and managers. Great preparations.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.