About Roy's Tampa

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for Lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

We will be open early at 9AM. Join us for a 3-course brunch starting at just $36, or treat Dad to dinner with a special Chef's menu created for the occasion available from 3-CL.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Birthdays (24)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Business Meals (18)
Romantic (17)
Bar Seating (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Open Kitchen (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Casual (9)
Healthy (9)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Authentic (7)
Private Room (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

I have always love Roy's however, this past visit was a little disappointing. The salmon I ordered (which I specified to be cooked to the rare side of medium rare) was overdone and I sent it back.
I also thought the service was slower than usual, however, that was not a big problem.
I ordered the Hawaiian Martini which I have had before and enjoy the piece of pineapple garnish which is soaked in the Vodka. However, this time the piece of pineapple garnish was not soaked in the vodka. A little disappointing. I will still visit Roy's of Tampa, but with some reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything Excellent The manager was fabulous and waitress was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing place! Outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

We always enjoy our visits to Roy's. The staff is always attentive and makes our dinners memorable. we have had at least 15 wedding anniversary dinners at Roy's and we have visited different Roy's restaurants throughout the country and in Hawaii. The food is excellent and the ambiance is great for special occasions. there is a main dining room and quiet dining areas as well. We will continue to return to Roy's for the great food and excellent service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Lunch flow was not quite right. Took a little longer than expected to get the food. The server was very engaging and knowledgeable and made the experience a little better.

Chicken on the lunch menu was awesome...definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food was excellent. Friendly staff. The service was not the best. We had a late reservation. It was clear the staff, especially our server, was more focused on wrapping up to go home than providing a quality experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The waitress was understandably busy but her attitude Was super peculiar and bazaar. She'd Respond with a sugary sweet voice but then give a look of severe irritation ( for example when asked for Salt and pepper shakers. ) It was not a cheap meal and we didn't appreciate her attitude. We didn't want to harp on it at the time so we did not get a manager. We had 13 people and ordered two bottles of wine and several cocktails.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had the Prime Rib, not very good. Wife had the Butterfish, was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my third time dining there but I was so disappointed. Seems it is getting worse and worse
Food was not good, very noisy.
Overall I wouldn't go there again, never

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good food lots of gluten free options, good tasting menu, the trio is great

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Roy's has always been a nice experience. The Hawaiian flavors and takes on various dishes keep us frequently visiting for date nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always a good meal and good service. Fish dishes reliably good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Celebrated Mother's Day dinner here with my husband . We enjoyed great food, speedy service and attentive staff.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Tanya was a great server and the food was amazing as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We went to this restaurant because they had been sending e mails daily about all their soft shell crab features. We had a 7:30 reservation on Friday and when we asked about the soft shell features we were told they had run out. Very disappointed. Probably will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I bought the Groupon for a 3-course Prix Fixe and upon booking a table I added a note that it's my friend's birthday. We were super surprised to see that a birthday card was on the table for her and the staff came over to congratulate her. It was a very nice evening and everyone was very friendly. Also thanks for the special birthday surprise dessert, that was absolutely delicious. Great place to have a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Always a great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Mai Tai was nice as was the sushi. Steaks were cooked fairly well, but very under seasoned. Shrimp and lobster were both overcooked and smelled fishy (in a bad way). The to-go boxes were filled upside down, so all of the juices leaked form the vent holes in the lids. The window sills were noticeably dusty, as was the Ladies room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Terrible service! Food subpar! Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great date spot. Fresh fish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Over priced Red Lobster. Lobster Pot Stickers tasted like frozen chicken pot stickers. Wife's cocktail was poorly made. Upon seating our table we were advised table was ready when we were ready after having a drink at the bar upon waiting at the hostess stand it took another 5-10 minutes for our table to be prepared after having been told it was ready. Not sure what the delay was as they were not busy. Ambiance has deteriorated badly. Old drab wall paper and picture frames which some frames were cracked. Ceiling tiles dirty, stained. $150 bill for a $50 experience....not returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Daughters birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A great place for dining
Great food ,good service ,good value

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was terrific but the service was slow, although nice. Butter fish was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

overpriced for the food, atmosphere and service - not what it once was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was excellent.
This is our third time to this Roy's and our third different Roy's outlet.
While the food was fantastic all the way through the service was not the best we have seen from this chain. We made last minute reservations as our flight was cancelled and we were forced to stay in a Hotel near by. We planned on going to Roy's this trip to Tampa but we could not fit it in our schedule so it was a pleasant bonus to being able to dine here after all. Our 8:45 reservation was available through Open Table and obviously we were the last table of the night. Our server seemed quite detached and was even humming to herself while she was taking our order (Obviously loudly if I could hear her over the music which was a bit too loud for the room). She forgot the wine bucket for our wine even after twice telling us she would need to get one for us. No need as we finished pouring the wine before our entrees came out. We also ordered our Desert Soufflé twice as apparently she forgot we ordered it already. At the end of our meal after she brought the check back for me to sign she commented that she was sorry she thought we were another party all night and it was the Hostess's fault and she must have messed up in telling her...? Not that should make any difference to who we are or what that even means... And I have a cool last name...again, whatever that means. She was fine for the most part but when I'm spending the price I spent on dining at Roy's or any other restaurant for that matter, regardless of the time I come in, I expect a bit more professionalism and attention to detail from our server. Although she did make for some good humor for us on the trip back to the hotel. On the other hand our busboy was very professional, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and actually had an engaging personality.
Overall the meal was fine and the overall experience was positive and amusing in context.
We more than likely will try to come back again if we are in the area.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Terrific food! We had sushi and lobster pot stickers to start. Delicious! Both of us had the scallops entree, which was prepared perfectly. Tender scallops with roasted brussels sprouts. Two desserts - pineapple upside down cake and Kefir Lime cake were both terrific. Friendly, attentive, knowledgeable service. Very pleased with our Anniversary dinner! We sat in a side room, which was nice and quiet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and wanted to eat light. So we went to Roy's and loved it. The price was a little high for just the two of us. We had planned on spending as much, but portions are a little small. Still, we loved it and will return.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Waitress rushed us. Restaurant was NOT busy at all but she insisted on taking our order before all 6 of us got to table Kept interrupting our convo to ask us about ordering another bottle of wine--repeatedly. We finally told her WE will tell you when we are ready.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always consistently good food served in a unique gashion

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food was excellent. I recommend Roys Trio with three different servings of fish, including ahi and salmon. Servers and greeters were not polished, and entrees were too expensive for the lack of ambiance. Menus were filthy and the grounds were unkept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Pleasantly but perhaps surprisingly uncrowded.. Excellent service with professional and knowledgeable staff - our server Vanessa in particular, who suggested an excellent bottle of Lodi 'Boneshakers' Zinfandel. Kudos to Roy's and Vanessa!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My girlfriend received a $25 off card for Roy's so I thought I would take her to dinner since neither of us had been there for a long time. Unfortunately this dinner experience was sub-optimal due to two reasons.

Service was horrible
We waited for 10 minutes after we were seated for someone to come by to take our drink order. When no one came I had to go to the bar to order drinks.

Black Cod/Butterfish was fishy.
After waiting for an abnormally long time for our food when it did come out it was very fishy tasting. When we discussed it with our server, she said that the tail piece of the fish can sometimes be fishy. I am surprised that a restaurant like Roy's would server a piece of fish that could have poor quality. They did bring out a new piece of fish that was cut from the center that was much better, but after the long wait and then having to wait again for a better piece of fish really ruined the whole experience.

The manager did remove the black cod from our bill and apologized profusely, but it was disappointing to look forward to a nigh out and have it turn out this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 8, 2017

They have the best sushi I've had in a long time!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I thought the food and service were both first rate. We all love the sushi!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Good good and excellent service. Will be back again.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great atmosphere & good food combined with excellent service all combined for a pleasant meal

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

For that little extra something, this is the place. The sushi is amazing, so many choices. The open kitchen always makes for an interesting evening. The hustle and bustle makes you appreciate things even more. The food is incredible with so many different things to try. And you can't beat the happy hour menu. It certainly gives you the opportunity to try things in a smaller portion than you normally would. amazing wine list as well. All in all, a great place to hang out and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We enjoy going and sitting at the suishi bar and viewing the food preparation. There is a good happy hour menu at reasonable prices.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I must stop for us every year when we visit Tampa. Recommend the Hawaiian Martini and the chocolate souffle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.