About Roy's Tampa

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for Lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Delight in Easter brunch at Roy's. We will be open early at 9AM offering a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Treat dad to a brunch he'll love! Roy's will be open early on Father's Day with a very special 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Romantic (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Open Kitchen (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Casual (6)
Private Room (6)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
973 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Roy's never disappoints. We've been coming here since it's opening. The Hawaiian fusion flavors are distinct and exceptional. Dining here is one of the highlights of our semi annual Florida visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Food and Service were very good! Known for seafood, but Braised Ribs were excellent. Expensive!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Roy's is always great, and Tonya did a great job for us.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fabulous food, great wine and attentive service! Would highly recommend and Anthony is a wonderful ambassador for the Restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food over seasoned and layered with way too much sauce. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I was told the restaurant was upscale enough to bring my mother for her 80th with my 92 year old father. We were dressed in blazers while most guests were in shorts, polos or tacky Hawaiian shirts. The server Matt was exceptional and made the evening enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The pineapple martinis were very good.
I ordered the Mahi Mahi lunch special.
Had to return because the rice under the fish was cold and not appetizing. The fish was just warm. Very surprised because we were the first couple there fir lunch and they were not busy at all.
They did bring me a new dish. Never saw the manager and he never apologized
We were visiting our grandchildren and we are from St Louis. So we decided to treat ourselves to lunch while they were in school

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food was awesome but the service was a little slow.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Has slipped just a bit
Not as busy as usual & off there game a bit as well

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

No matter which outlet of Roy's you visit, you can be assured of the same basic menu, with possible regional specialties added, with superbly prepared food. The menu is heavy on fish and seafood, but there is something for everyone in your group. Because of the high quality of the ingredients and the preparation, the prices are fairly high, especially for meat dishes, but the results are worth it. There are so excited differences in the "niceties" - the Waikiki and Kauai restaurants offered an amuse-bouche of edamame , whereas the Tampa outpost did not. A reasonable wine list and delicious specialty cocktails - try the Mai Tai - in a comfortable venue, with terrific service, make this an excellent choice for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was delicious and came out very quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food is excellent! Service this time was not up to par but generally it is very good as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was very good as usual
Was not totally happy with front reception seemed have forgotten we were sitting in the bar despite arriving at 730 for a 8pm reservation
Others arriving after us we seated before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went to celebrate a late Valentine's Day and my sweetheart passing an important financial services certification. Had champagne waiting on us and a personalized card on the table (nice!). Food was perfect as was the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've eaten at Roys in Hawaii and California. This is not the experience I'm used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful food, great service. What a place for a delicious dinner!

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We enjoyed a nice dinner for a belated Valentine's date. The food was delicious and our server was very pleasant. Service was slow and we were sat about 35 mins after our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Found to be marginal for price and service. Our waitress had too many tables and we had to ask for drinks and waited atleast 15 min after we sat to get drinks or any service at all. Probably will not go back. For this type of restaurant and the $$ we spent, almost $1000.00 for a group of 8, we felt cheated!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I had a group of eight for a business dinner. Roy's fit the purpose of providing good steak and seafood choices with attentive service one would expect in a steak house. I have had better, but I have had worse. It was a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Absolutely delicious. We've been going here for nearly 7 years and time has proven this place to be just as good as it was when we first went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Really nice restaurant - great menu and professional staff. The food was delicious and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made a mistake. Booked for a holiday. A holiday can turn a three star restaurant into a hash house. However, holidays say a lot about a restaurant's management team. This one needs a little work.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was Valentine's Day and the restaurant completely overbooked too many people We waited 50 minutes to be seated and of course had reservations. Our food took over an hour to be served. It was a miserable Valentines day/anniversary dinner with my wife and I !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I'm glad you asked, I had reservations for 7;30 but did not sit down until 8:45. The appetizers came out on time, and were very good, however we waited another 45 mins for our meal to come. My lobster was overcooked and overall, not impressed. It was valentines day, and I was trying to impress my date. I failed miserably. I will not be back. The food was very expensive, and i feel like I should have taken her to outback!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Let me start off by saying, I typically don't give bad reviews...but our experience on Valentines Day was very disappointing. We were hardly greeted by our server who offered to fill our waters (thought that was solely his job by the way he approached us). When he finally returned and asked if there was anything we would like to drink besides water is when we realized he was our waiter. After placing our order (which we were forced into a 4 course meal which none of the food was all that great), we waited almost 30 minutes to receive our appetizers which were served to us cold. We waited another 15 to receive our soups/salads, and another 20 to receive the main course. Dessert was mediocre at best.

The service was unacceptable. He barely even acknowledged me and my husband...we weren't asked how any of our food turned out and barely re-filled our drinks without us having to ask.

I've been to Roy's in the past and had a better experience...but this is completely unacceptable service (particularly on Valentines Day when you are forced into a 4 course meal and spending $150).

We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Waiter was rude and didn't know or understand the menu. He also got really nasty with us and made a scene himself about the receipt not being accurate. Also the set menu was not clear when we booked which had nothing from what we normally eat there. Food was not bad just didn't have what we wanted. With paying almost $200 for 2, you would think we could order normal menu items. Would go back but not for any special occasion or holiday. Step it up Roys, you're better than that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love Roy's the food is usually unbelievable.
We go at least once a month and love it
It was very busy Valentine's Day did not receive the service we usually do
totally understandable
but they're unbelievable butterfish was totally over cooked
Not the best of nights

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic experience, always great service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding service! Food was very good but not outstanding for the price! Overall, a very good anniversary dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent. Very good service and good. You can change plates around without any hassle. Perfectly cooked steak and seafood. Very well priced wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service. My food was amazing (filet mignon) however the dessert (peach cobbler) could have been better. I still highly recommend visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always enjoy our meals at Roy's. Love the chocolate souffle.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our server was very good. When she found out we were going to order the chocolate dessert for my sons 27th birthday, she complimented it with a toast of champagne for the 3 of us. That was a great surprise touch!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great as always

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Delicious scallops

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

As always any Roys is hard to beat and this one is no exception. Go for the butter fish!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was delicious and our waitress was very congenial and answered our questions concerning the menu and drinks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Always a great experience at Roy's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Roy's is a wonderful restaurant. Although the prices are a bit high, the food is fresh and delicious. Be sure to order the chocolate soufflé early -- it takes about 20 min and is sooooooo worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.