About Roy's Tampa

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for Lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Roy's Tampa
Big Island Ebi Roll
1988 Martini
Happy Birthday Dessert
Sushi
Mai Tai
Mionetto Prosecco Brut, Italy
Spicy Thai Shrimp Dumplings
Edammame
Chocolate Souffle
Blackened Ahi
Hawaiian Style Misoyaki Butterfish
Nutella Gelato
Mac and Cheese
California Roll
Lime Semi Freddo
Tempura Fish
Vegetable Tempura
Wagyu Beef Sliders
Sashimi Platter
Aloha Sushi Roll
Macadamia Nut Bread Pudding
Cosmo
Coconut Shrimp Skewers
Chicken satay
edamame
Roy's Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi
Melting Hot Chocolate Souffle
Shrimp Teppanyaki
Beef Short Rib Tacos
Tenderloin Skewers
Grilled Hanger Streak
Coconut Frappe
Tiger Prawn Pad Thai
Duck Confit Dim Sum
Coconut Gelato
Warm Mango Cobbler
Pepper Melon Margarita
PEI Mussels and Clam Hot Pot
Sweet potato fries
Lobster Dumpling Dim Sum
Mojito
Tuna Poke
Kobe Beef Sliders And Sweet Potatoe Fries
Lobster Pot Stickers
Kim Chi
Tempura Crusted Spicy Ahi Tuna Roll
Tempura sushi
Lobster Potstickers
Strawberry Basil Martini
Calamari
pineapple upside-down cake
Spider Roll
Mozzarella and Tomato Salad
Crab California Roll
Grilled Szechuan Spiced Pork Ribs
Sushi rice
Pineapple Souffle With Coconut Gelato
Shellfish Sampler
Szechuan Spiced Pork Rib
Desserts
Mango Mojito
Lakanilau Sushi Roll
Seared Idaho River Trout
Braised Pork Shank
Macadamia Crusted Mahi
Dynamite Hawaiian Shutome
Warm Mango Streusel
Shrimp Bruschetta
fish tacos
Butter Lettuce Salad
Poke
Lobster Wonton Soup
Lobster Pot Sticker
Julian's Special Roll
Lobster California Roll & California Shrimp Roll
Parmesan crusted Scallops
Shiso crusted salmon
Original Hawaiian Martini
Dynamite topped shutome
Skinny Cosmo Martini
Hawaiian Style Ono
Hawaiian Martini
Skinny Ginger Pear Martini
Bananas Foster Creme Brulee
Candy Cane Dessert
Roy's Canoe Appetizer For Two
Seafood Sampler
Kids Salmon Terryaki Meal
Kid's Chicken Teriyaki
Crispy Rock Shrimp Wontons
Sunrise at Haleakala

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Tampa / Central Florida West
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

special occasion (64)
fit for foodies (43)
romantic (40)
See All
good for groups (37)
notable wine list (18)
hot spot (16)
neighborhood gem (15)
vibrant bar scene (15)
kid-friendly (7)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food . Great service. Been there s ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food . Great service. Been there since they opened, always great

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was amazing! We had a delicious ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was amazing! We had a delicious dinner! We started with the very best salmon sashimi in Tampa! Yum! The braised short ribs were perfect! Thanks for the Gluten free options! 😘👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good as usual. I will alway ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good as usual. I will always recommend the butterfish to my guests. In addition we ordered the crab fried rice, which was good (it was not dry or overcooked), and several sushi rolls to start. The spicy Hamachi roll is a little over priced for us, but it was good, . The service was good (which we have dined there many times and have not had any service issues), however, this time we were seated towards the front of the restaurant and the noise level coming from the bar did not allow us to hear each other speak or our server. All in all I would will come back to Roys and recommend it to others, but I will insist on a table in the back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Our service was perfect. Food was unexce ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our service was perfect. Food was unexceptable. So sad. We go the Roy's in Waikoloa Village Hawaii several times a year. We were told that we shouldn't go to the Roy's in Tampa. We used to go there years ago so we wanted give them another chance. Wrong decision, will not be going there again or recommending it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Another great dining experience at Roy's ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Another great dining experience at Roy's! We were seated shortly after we arrived, We enjoyed the food, Service also was great. I forgot how many times we have dined there so far just this year, But one thing for sure we will keep going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good experience, the staff was grea ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very good experience, the staff was great and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I think their food is slipping a little. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I think their food is slipping a little. I've been twice. Once to the one in Naples and another to the Tampa location. For cocktails and dessert it would be fine. However, there are so many other places in the area now that are better in my opinion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The lobster bisque was terrific and serv ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The lobster bisque was terrific and service excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like Roy's and the food is always goo ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We like Roy's and the food is always good . We have never been disappointed. This visit we had the butterfish and it was outstanding. Our only complaint is that the waitstaff, on this and a previous visit to this particular restaurant, are uniformed about the cocktails and can't answer questions. They should be more knowledgeable about the mixed drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another fine evening of dining was what ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Another fine evening of dining was what we expected....and received. Tried the short ribs as an apt and they were sooo good. Just enough kick to make you think about it. From there we moved on to some different types of sushi. All in all, another great dining evening in spite of our friend Pete not being there and the sad news that Clay (one of our favorite bartenders) has moved on to another restaurant. Not happy about that! But Erin and Devin took great care of us and will hopefully do so for a long time to come. We're now their regulars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! Staff is amazing and t ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great restaurant! Staff is amazing and the food is absolutely delicious !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love everything about this restaurant ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We love everything about this restaurant. The lakinalaui sushi roll is awesome as is any fish dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had never been to Roy's, though I had ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I had never been to Roy's, though I had seen them here and there. The food was excellent and very creative, from the sushi roll starter, to the Black Cod/Sablefish entrees. In particular, the Black Cod, my favorite fish, was perfectly cooked...meaning it was not overcooked in the least. It's a delicate dish and one that can easily go awry, so hats off to Roy's for the excellent preparation.

The rest of the menu was fantastic and I want to go back to try their varied and unique cuisine.

Service, well, let's just say it did not match the food. Not horrible (nor a reason not to go), just not up to the rest of the program.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had the Canoe for Two, Ribeye, Haleak ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had the Canoe for Two, Ribeye, Haleakala, Chocolate Souffle, and the Pineapple Cake. Everything was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was absolutely perfect. Shared sus ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was absolutely perfect. Shared sushi appetizer was delicious and pretty.

Fish trio was delicious.

Great service...not cheap but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Started out very well. We ordered calam ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Started out very well. We ordered calamari as an appetizer and it was one of the best I have eaten, soft on the inside and crispy on the outside and cut into small strips rather then the normal rings. The dipping sauce was excellent. Entrees were the problem. We ordered salmon and a 14 oz rib eye. The salmon was the tail end section of the filet and was thin, dry and overcooked. The steak was saturated in a gravy like sauce and covered with breaded onions and over seasoned with salt and pepper Why? The steak was an excellent piece of meat and cooked to perfection but was ruined with all the sauces, seasonings and condiments. I could understand if it was a lesser cut of meat. We had a pineapple cake and chocolate cake desserts that were very good and rich and a nice finish to the meal. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Always consistent always great place to ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always consistent always great place to dine. Only wish they had adress code

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Fish, delicious Sushi, great k ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic Fish, delicious Sushi, great kids meals, excellent wine list,

Wonderful apps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there for wedding anniversary, got ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Went there for wedding anniversary, got great food, nice touches such as a reservation card on the table, and a photograph for our memoirs, good service, and reasonable price.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Once again, Roy's delivered a top-notch ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Once again, Roy's delivered a top-notch dining experience - from a warm, "Ohana" welcome to exceptional service and delicious cuisine. We mentioned that we were celebrating my wife's birthday (was not trying to make a big deal) - but Kal Harris (Managing Partner) and Peter (Floor Manager) took it upon themselves to make it a truly memorable experience! From perfect, custom-made martinis to a complementary dessert - it was an A+ experience. Also - thanks to Chelf Lan for the delectable Blackened Hamachi - one of the best things we have ever had! Thanks to our friends at Roy's Tampa!! And - if you are on the fence debating where to celebrate a special occasion or just enjoy a first-class, subdued dining experience - go for Roy's!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants for special occasions because of the extra attention the staff gives you. However, Father's Day brunch was way too expensive! For our two brunch entrees, steak and eggs and a lobster and shrimp omelette, it was $83 ($99 inc. tip)! The food was good, but not delicious and I certainly wouldn't have taken my husband had I known it would be that pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food, plesent service. Specia ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good food, plesent service. Special was shockingly pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was my wife birthday. They made her f ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

It was my wife birthday. They made her feel special and everything was wonderful. I can not say enough about our dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Roy's as often as possible. It ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We go to Roy's as often as possible. It is without a doubt our favorite upscale restaurant. The service, staff and food are outstanding!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated near the bar....very loud ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were seated near the bar....very loud, conversations were impossible. Next time I will request a Booth or table further from the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We took my husband's Aunt out for her bi ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We took my husband's Aunt out for her birthday dinner. She had to be up early so she didn't want to be out late. I wanted it to be somewhere nice because she got dressed nice and was excited to get out. We were so happy with the whole experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's was excellent as usual. The food a ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Roy's was excellent as usual. The food and drinks were prepared exquisitely and served in a comfortable fashion. I would recommend you try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Air conditioning was out

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Air conditioning was out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Another great experience!

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Once again, Roy's hit all their marks! Attentive service, delicious food, and a genuine "Ohana" vibe. We've been dining at Roy's for 6 years and have not been disappointed once. While everything on the menu is superb, don't be afraid to ask for something specific to your tastes, particularly with their sushi. Roy's only offers the very freshest fish such as hamachi, salmon, tuna - and they can make custom rolls if they are not too busy. What's on the menu, though, is exceptional - especially the hamachi roll with jalapeno! A special thanks to Kal and Chad as well as all the staff - Peter, Clay, Joe, Aaron, Bianca, Crystal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way overpriced for the experience. Every ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Way overpriced for the experience. Everything was just okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Perfect date night spot.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and service was great. The manager Chad and Peter both had came by and asked how everything was. The bartenders Aaron and Clay were right on point. We feel very welcome every time we dine at Roy's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food and service was excellent.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Special attention to detail such as little touches for the birthday was a very welcome and outstanding presentation by the team. Picture to take away was unexpected. Overall the food, ambience, service and people made the experience very enjoyable. If you like an oriental touch outstanding. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and service were, as usual, exc ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food and service were, as usual, excellent. However, there has been a substantial price increase and it is no longer worth the trip for the money spent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food.... Shame About the Recruiter

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Always liked Roy's. Picked tonight at short notice based on reputation. The lady working the maitre de/greeter was dreadfully miserable, and everyones guests and employees experienced it. The server worked hard, and the food doesn't disappoint. But first impressions are important.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Absolutely amazing! Food was superb, ser ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Food was superb, service impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mahi thai increíble le!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Mahi thai increíble le!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exquisite

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I have been going to Roy's for many years and I have never been unsatisfied. The host/waiters are attentive and professional. Most importantly, the food is delightful and unforgettable! One of the best places to take someone for a special date or occasion. You will leave the restaurant feeling special...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service. Loved the butte ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Good food, good service. Loved the butterfish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The butterfish was amazing and my wife a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The butterfish was amazing and my wife ahi tuna was perfect. The only real negative was that it took way too long for the server to bring a glass of wine and a scotch to the table. Everything else was virtually flawless and our experience was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Sat at the sushi bar. Chef Lan was very ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Sat at the sushi bar. Chef Lan was very sociable yet professional. He offered excellent suggestions based upon type of food we wanted and tastes. Awesome experience AGAIN at Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.