About Roy's Tampa

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Tampa located directly across from the International Mall and features a lively exhibition kitchen as well as two wonderfully appointed private dining rooms. Guests can also choose to watch their dinner and sushi being made up close at our chef’s counter.

4342 Boy Scout Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for Lunch 11AM

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
N Manhattan Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 873-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Self parking & complimentary valet available

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy's Tampa offers elegant private and semi-private dining options for groups ranging in sizes from 10-225 for both lunch and dinner. We offer customizable pre-fixe menus which offer multiple courses, and a diverse selection of entrees sure to please the palattes of your guests! Whether you are looking to host a cocktail reception, luncheon, all day meeting, or elegant dinner... Roy's Tampa is the perfect complement to any occasion.

THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

OPEN Christmas Eve regular hours and serving our full menu.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Business Meals (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Romantic (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Healthy (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Very enjoyable experience. The cocktails and food were excellent and the service was great. Not a place for budget watchers though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Food and service was outstanding. Very well designed place. Enjoyed every minute.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Wait staff is always well trained, they know their menu and have strong people skills. Food service is also consistent and of
High quality. One of my favorite restaurants in Tampa.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Great food gets noisy in there though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Great food choices and customer service. Keith was great! We had a small issue and he made sure he kept us up to date and was polite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We always enjoy Roys. The food is consistently high quality and creative. The staff is very hospitable and friendly. It’s a fun place to partake in their happy hour since their cocktails and appetizers are delicious!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Though the food was very good as was the service, we were using a Groupon to try out the restaurant. As soon as you identify you are a Groupon customer the multi-page menu is taken away and a single-page one is presented which has a VERY limited selection. It is a prix fixe menu as advertised but the the portions are smaller and there are less selections than those on both of their other prix fixe menus but the Groupon offer indicated a higher amount than if we had purchased either of those. We were to be charged and extra $40 which if the bill had totaled less than promised, we would've been happy to pay the difference. The manager at the time did come and make an adjustment but it is certainly not how all the other Groupon's have worked where we are free to choose our food up to the amount for which we were promised. It is a pretty reataurant with good food but quite noisy soncevthevkitchen and the bar are open into the dining area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Not worth the money. Very expensive for the food and service you receive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

It was our first time here and service was very disappointing. Maybe it was because we were out on the porch and they kept forgetting about us? While the food was excellent, we waited way too long before courses which dragged the dinner out to almost two hours. Had we not ordered the Chef’s Tasting 3 course meal we would not have waited the more than 30 minutes for dessert. Quite honestly PF Chang’s has better service and it isn’t as expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 2, 2017

While i would try something different for my entree, the service was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Love Kyle R ..great server ! He suggested great entrees. And he made our dining experience fantastic!

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Food is always very good but it took forever for our appetizers and entrées to come to our table. Our waiter had only been on the job for two days so he did not know a lot about the menu unfortunately. I also think he gave me caffeinated coffee when I ask for decaf because I couldn't sleep for the whole night but overall I enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Once again, Roy's came through on a special occasion-our 51st Wedding Anniversary! It was superb in every respect and we were delighted, as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2017

The menu concept of Hawaiian/Asian fusion is excellent and cannot be compared to that of any other restaurant brand in the area. The service and ambiance are always above par as the staff carefully and conscientiously attends to each table. Always a pleasurable experience.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

The waiter made the dining experience very pleasant. Thanks Mike.

As other diners have posted, get rid of the gnats and the dining will be better. Hard to enjoy your food when you have to keep swatting bugs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Took the grandchildren for a pre-straz event. I had a Groupon for four people so four of us ate from that menu and the three kids ordered from the kids' menus. We ordered additional items and lots of drinks. Bill was a little high but reasonable for what we got. So much great service--made all of us enjoy the experience. We were rushing so had to take our dessert to go. Roy's is just a wonderful place to go in Tampa. You just won't get better food or service.

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Very friendly and accommodating server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great for family upscale dining & Thanksgiving dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We went their for Thanksgiving. Was surprised that they had an abbreviated menu. Was not mentioned when the reservation was made OR when they called to confirm. Although the menu was a fixed price three courses it was broken out on the bill. If we would of known that they were billed separately, not stated by our waiter, we would of ordered differently. The food however, was excellent. Would recommend, since we have been there multiple times

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We went to Roy's Tampa for Thanksgiving. Our reservation was for 3 people at 4:30. One adult and two children. We ordered from the special menu and the kids menu. The entire 3 course meal took about 2 hours. It was a bit slow, but pleasant. We were in the side dining room with other families. Our table was a bit slanted and not flat and the walls and framed art were not very clean. The main dining room is much nicer. Last Thanksgiving, we went to Roy's Orlando. It was not as busy, only a few other tables and we were in the main dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 23, 2017

It was nice... However There was a gnat was annoying the entire time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Good quality food. Nice selection. Professional service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Went to dinner with a party of six. Three of our party ordered the shellfish sampler and felt it was not a good value for the price. I had the trio and it was very good. I believe there should be more seafood selections. There was only one special offered and no one tried it. The lobster bisque was a highlight.
Overall good but not memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Came for our Anniversary dinner - Arrived and the hostess did not mention the special occasion nor was the special placard at our table recognizing the day (though notated on Reservation and the place was 1/2 empty) We asked the hostess for black napkins as we both had on dark pants - she said we only have white - we then asked the Bus-boy for dark napkins and he immediately brought us black ones to the table - I saw on the menu there was a “Seasonal Poke” so inquired with the waiter what was in it - He proceeded to tell me what Poke is - I said I knew that but wondered what was specific about the “Seasonal” - he didn’t know and said it was the standard offering - When our meal arrived we were swarmed with 6-10 gnats/ fruit flies - which was kind of disgusting (as we were inside seating at booth by windows) - I asked the waiter for soy sauce to accompany our rice - never got it - Requested it from the Bus-Boy and he brought it right away

— Overall not a great evening - food was good but service left a lot to be desired - except for our Bus-Boy/Assistant who should earn 5 Stars

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Awesome experience, really good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Always an excellent evening. Food is excellent as is the service. Ingredients always fresh and delicious and creatively prepared.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2017

LOVED ROY'S IN HAWAII, AND LOVE ROY'S IN TAMPA. GREAT ATTENTIVE SERVICE, AND WOULD RETURN AGAIN. JUNE H. (CAMP HILL,PA.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2017

We had a terrible experience. Fruit flies were buzzing our table throughout our meal. We mentioned it to the manager only to be told they were working on it. Nothing was offered for our troubles- very disappointing. We will not be back

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

It was my bff 53rd bday. We had purchased the Groupon for 4 ppl on the 3 course prix fixe menu then 2 of us ordered off regular menu and wines etc. they never blinked an eye that we had purchased Groupon and were slightly complicated with the billing.
There wine list is extensive and beautiful. Food was fantastic. Michael was our waiter and he was lovely and educated on his menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Delicious meal!! Unbelievable service. You must have Szechuan ribs. A fabulous upscale chain with notable wine list.

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Everything went wrong. Server was overloaded, food came before we could even select wine. Food was average and totally under seasoned. We paid only for the wines, but the evening for dinner part was a total bust.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Extremely dark in the restaurant. I could not read the menu without using a flashlight and I do not require glasses to read.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Delicious meals well balanced combinations and a great bar. The butter fish with bock Choy Kim her and rice was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 9, 2017

A quiet place to have a private work conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2017

This was our first visit to the restaurant and we were keen to experience a unique approach to fine dining. A couple of issues affected the evening:

Hot starters arrived at the same time as the cold amuse bouche, presenting the dilemma as to whether to eat our meal in the order presented on the menu or not.

The delicate taste of the lobster was overpowered by chillies

The main course was a white fish that arrived almost uncooked. We sent the dish back, were told that the steam oven had unintentionally been turned off, and on receipt of the repeat dish, found it too to be undercooked. I think everyone was surprised.

The staff were apologetic, and did their best to work around the problem and were clear that this was a one off, unfortunate incident.

The atmosphere was good, staff friendly but not so certain they understood the menu that well.

The restaurant has lots of potential so we'll be back in a couple of weeks to try it again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was delicious as usual. Our party had a variety of dishes from the Ahi tuna cold plate, the Classic Sampler, to the short ribs, various vegetarian sushi rolls and the mac and cheese and finally the pineapple upside down cake and the souffle. EVERY single dish was prepared perfectly, all food came out timely and the flavors were delicious. The only ding was the server was nice but was a bit slow to get back to our table for the transitions such as checking on us after our main course came out and then taking coffee orders with our desert order. But a nice evening overall.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Had a great time like always! Food was awesome. Best calamari ever. Samantha was our waitress and she was amazing!!! Very kind and attentive :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

The main course and dessert were excellent. The appetizers were a little bland. They also spelled my name wrong on both table cards even though I made the reservation online. The ambiance was perfect otherwise.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was top-notch. The menu is a bit expensive, but every dish that we had was very well done. Would be a great place for date night or any special occasion. There is no dress code strictly speaking, but it is not a casual place, but also not a stuffy black tie venue either. Would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Great experience! Food, service and atmosphere were wonderful! Manager was also very attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.