Roy's Sarasota

4.3
431 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

For a change from the normal dining options, pay a visit to Roy's in Sarasota. Founder Roy Yamaguchi opened his first Roy's restaurant in 1988 and twenty one other locations throughout the United States followed. Winner of the famed James Beard award, Roy wanted to create a unique type of cuisine deemed "Hawaiian Fusion." The combination of a unique style of cuisine, great service and a relaxed atmosphere are what sets Roy's apart from other restaurants.

The Hawaiian Fusion menu at Roy's offers a wide array of choices. Everyone can find something they will enjoy whether it be blackened island ahi, Thai style chicken or braised short ribs. Match it with sides like broccolini or lump crab fried rice to complete your meal. The chefs at each Roy's location also create menu items specific to what is locally and seasonally fresh in that area.

Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Everyday at 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(941) 952-0109
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Carl Bertka
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
From elegant chef inspired private luncheons, to cocktail receptions, to four course dinners and all inclusive packages, Roy’s Sarasota is the perfect destination to plan a seamless and memorable business or social event with ease.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Tara O'Neill: (855) 657-0010
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
South Tamiami Trail
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of self-park
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 431 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.1
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on April 30, 2016

We had gone to the Roy's in Sarasota in the past, because we enjoyed what the chef created, even though we work less than 1/2 miles from the Tampa Roy's. We were disappointed to see the very limited choices of seafood; only four different fish available, and none of them interesting or out of the ordinary.
We had come to expect an exciting and different experience from Roy's, but it seems it has become just like other chain restaurants; satisfactory, but expected, and frankly, uninteresting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great waiter. Didn't care for the Mai tai, the liquor was not great, nor did we care for the Hawaiian martini. The ahi was great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2016

I thought they offered more sushi, there were only three items on the menu, and one of them wasn't even fish. But my salmon was delicious! What detracted from the experience was the man dragging big bags of garbage out the front door as we were leaving.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2016

The protions are very small, though and menu items are pricey. They only have tables in the main dining room, as well.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2016

Roy's is known for is consistent food, this location doesn't live up to that. Very pleasant staff but food quality is far below what is expected from Roya.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 16, 2016

Went on a Saturday night. Service was very good, almost too much. Food was way over priced, and very salty. Brought up to server and she got my wife some rice to replace the potatoes. Portions small for the price as well. Will not return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2016

The food was great - not the same menu as in Hawaii, but we all enjoyed our meals. Excellent service, too. A little pricey.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2016

Very good food and outstanding service, great place for a special occasion as it is pricey.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2016

Unfortunately this visit was not up to the usual standards I have come to expect at Roy's

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2016

Food was extraordinary

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 29, 2016

Pretty weak in all facets.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2016

Have been going to Roy's for years. The fish dinner all three of us ate was by far the
best meal we have had there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2016

Very good tuna.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2016

the steaks were prime tasting not the usual choice meat found in other restaurants. The service was prompt and all requests honored. We asked forno sauce and got what we asked for.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2016

Been to several Roy's locations . The seafood is always well prepared with nice presentations . If you are entertaining or trying to impress , Roy's is a dependable option

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2016

Expensive for what you get. Much better values elsewhere in town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 5, 2016

I ordered the Prix Fixed menu. The food was outstanding and an excellent value. One in our party ordered a vegetable dish that was so salty that it was inedible. She had to send it back and order something else. Unfortunately she wasn't served until the rest of us were almost finished.
Roy's amazing Chocolate Soufflé did NOT disappoint. Scrumptious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2016

Dined at Roy's for the first time, and everything was perfect! Management was present and introduced themselves to us, service was great and friendly, and the food was awesome. Will be back for aloha hour soon for sure!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 29, 2016

Had never heard of Roy's, but we were in Sarasota and wanted Seafood. Couldn't resist the 1000 point table that night. Enjoyed the 3-course dinner special with Salmon --- I think it was the best Salmon I've ever had. Nice atmosphere. Attentive service. Complimentary Valet parking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 28, 2016

great food ,very high priced but overall good, we went there for my daughters birthday but i was shocked they charged us for her birthday dessert, they really don't make a big deal about special occasions

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2016

Roy's is a great place for us to take our adult kids for a fun night out. also, good with friends. Service was perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2016

The food is always great at Roy's. Make sure to order the chocolate soufflé!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 20, 2016

I enjoyed the lobster bisque and other appetizer. Our crusted mahi was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our second time eating at Roy's Sarasota. This visit confirmed our past experience. The food is not good enough for foodies and the atmosphere is not special enough for a special occasion. There are much better places to eat in Sarasota at this price point. I cannot recommend.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 20, 2016

I have been to many Roy's restaurants, many times. However, this was a very disappointing meal. Of the 3 people in my party who dined, all were disappointed. I ordered a meal which included a lobster tail and shrimp. The shrimp lacked flavor and were so small that I thought they must have been stolen off of a Sizzler's all you can eat bar. My wife is eats a gluten free diet and the waitress and kitchen could not have been less accommodating.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I went to Roys for Valentine's day which is also our anniversary. We had a reservation for 6:45. We were not seated till 7:30pm. We were seated next to a wall at a table under a television and the cords were hanging down at our eye level. Our waitress was more of an order taker and did not engage with us except to ask what we wanted and then brought it out. She did not ask us anything other than "Are you ready to order?" "Are you finished with that?" It was very robotic. The food was amazing! I do not think it was worth the $$ we spent due to the atmosphere and service. The valet did a great job!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2016

I am hoping that the busy night would explain the long wait (even with RSVP) the poor food quality and ridiculous price. I was so looking forward to this meal, but was disappointed on every front. Appetizers were over seasoned, my filet was tiny and tasteless (wish there was salt on the tables) and soup was less than 8 spoonful's. Desserts were quite good, and servers were truly wonderful. But overall a very poor value for such an over priced meal. I can only hope it was because of the holiday with a fixed menu. But I will never know because when I spend $200 on a meal without drinks, I expect to be talking about it for weeks; in a positive way.
aside from the staff, this Valentine meal was a complete failure.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2016

A friend's recommendation resulted in making a Valentine's Day reservation for their prix fixe 4 course dinner. Food and service were very good but noise level of a full, bustling restaurant killed whatever romance anyone might find in the environment.

The service was excellent, our waitress providing good recommendations; the wine list was interesting, although we ordered glasses, not needing a full bottle.

The prix fixe menu made it a little pricey but I was aware of it from a confirmation call I recd a few days before the 14th.

I will add Roys to my event, special place list for visitors, although I would try for a quieter time and location within the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Extremely over-priced average meal. I have no problem with price if food is amazing. Too many people packed into the space and we felt very rushed with the service & delivery of food and again - food was tasteless.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2016

Roy's serves fresh and consistent dishes in an atmosphere that makes you feel special. A manager always checks on to ensure your needs are being met and everything is first class and professional. The Ahi Tuna was superb and the Sunrise Sushi was delicious. We make this a special stop whenever we are in Sarasota.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2016

Not as good as it was before. Don't think will return

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Came here 3 years ago and food was good. Food definitely gone down-hill since then . Bill for two of us for $170. Could have done better at "Roast" for $120.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 25, 2016

Food is always good but the Prix Fixe Mondays are a phenomenal bargain. Molten chocolate dessert is always a favorite!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 24, 2016

Very disappointed that they were out of salmon at the start of dinner. Bad for a seafood restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2016

We have dined at Roy's for our anniversary many times. It has always been very good, but this was the best yet. Our server Patrick was outstanding, the table was great, food the best we have had at Roy's and the congeniality of all employees was outstanding. The managing partner and the beverage manager both stopped by to visit, we received a complimentary appetizer and a complimentary dessert to go with what already came with our meal. I had the prix fixe pork porterhouse and my wife had the famous fish trio. Outstanding evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 18, 2016

First time at this location but have been enjoying Roy's for years in Tampa. Excellent service staff. Waiter was very enthusiastic and steered us in the right direction when asked. Food is unique and impressive. You can't go wrong with this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 17, 2016

everything was just that good, nothing above and beyond.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2016

Many new and very creative local menu offerings! 5 stars

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2016

Once again, Roy never fails. New menu items were delicious. We both had the prix fixe menu, different items, and all good.
Thanks for being able to take us on short notice as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2015

Great food overall. Shrimp Ceviche was outstanding. Blackened Tuna very good, but a little small. The croutons on Ceasar Salad were food service variety...this was the only art of meal that was below par. Cocktails were very stiff, and so was price. Overall very nice place to dine. The wait service may be the best I have seen.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11