Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Roy's Tampa
761 reviews
Seafood | Tampa, Tampa
Reserve Now
Cafe Baci
995 reviews
Italian | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Fleming's Steakhouse - Sarasota
495 reviews
Steak | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Libby's Cafe & Bar
1462 reviews
Contemporary American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Jpan Restaurant & Sushi Bar
7 reviews
Japanese | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Michael's On East
1622 reviews
Contemporary American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Mercato Pizzeria + Bar
20 reviews
Italian | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.
853 reviews
Seafood | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Jack Dusty Coastal Cuisine and Crafted Cocktails
344 reviews
Seafood | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Louie's Modern
768 reviews
Contemporary American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Mediterraneo Ristorante Italiano
391 reviews
Italian | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
MADE
109 reviews
Contemporary American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Shore Diner
662 reviews
American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Roast
646 reviews
American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Columbia Restaurant - Sarasota
1401 reviews
Spanish | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now

About Roy's Sarasota - Permanently Closed

2001 Siesta Drive
Suite 100
Sarasota, FL 34239
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Sarasota located at the corner of Siesta Drive & Tamiami Trail, just minutes from downtown, featuring Roy's signature exhibition kitchen and chef's counter in addition to an intimate dining room and bar area.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
South Tamiami Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 952-0109

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Roy's offers world class off premise catering. Whether you are looking for food only or complete event execution, our chef and private dining manager will ensure a memorable and seamless event!

Parking Details:
Plenty of self-park

Executive Chef:
Carl Bertka

Private Party Facilities:
From elegant chef inspired private luncheons, to cocktail receptions, to four course dinners and all inclusive packages, Roy’s Sarasota is the perfect destination to plan a seamless and memorable business or social event with ease.

Private Party Contact:
Tara O'Neill: 8556570010

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
THEMED PARTIES: If you are looking for something extraordinary, please inquire about our interactive sushi rolling and champagne parties, wine and beer dinners, and dessert parties!

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Sarasota - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (35)
fit for foodies (22)
romantic (15)
See All
good for groups (8)
notable wine list (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Satisfactory, but not as good as in the past

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had gone to the Roy's in Sarasota in the past, because we enjoyed what the chef created, even though we work less than 1/2 miles from the Tampa Roy's. We were disappointed to see the very limited choices of seafood; only four different fish available, and none of them interesting or out of the ordinary. We had come to expect an exciting and different experience from Roy's, but it seems it has become just like other chain restaurants; satisfactory, but expected, and frankly, uninteresting.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great waiter. Didn't care for ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great waiter. Didn't care for the Mai tai, the liquor was not great, nor did we care for the Hawaiian martini. The ahi was great.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Needs attention from management

Dined on April 27, 2016

I thought they offered more sushi, there were only three items on the menu, and one of them wasn't even fish. But my salmon was delicious! What detracted from the experience was the man dragging big bags of garbage out the front door as we were leaving.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was very delicious.

Dined on April 23, 2016

The protions are very small, though and menu items are pricey. They only have tables in the main dining room, as well.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4

Roy's is known for is consistent food, t ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Roy's is known for is consistent food, this location doesn't live up to that. Very pleasant staff but food quality is far below what is expected from Roya.

food2
ambience2
service4
value1

very disappointing

Dined on April 16, 2016

Went on a Saturday night. Service was very good, almost too much. Food was way over priced, and very salty. Brought up to server and she got my wife some rice to replace the potatoes. Portions small for the price as well. Will not return.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fine food

Dined on April 13, 2016

The food was great - not the same menu as in Hawaii, but we all enjoyed our meals. Excellent service, too. A little pricey.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything perfect

Dined on April 9, 2016

Very good food and outstanding service, great place for a special occasion as it is pricey.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Unfortunately this visit was not up to t ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Unfortunately this visit was not up to the usual standards I have come to expect at Roy's

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was extraordinary

Dined on April 1, 2016

Food was extraordinary

food2
ambience2
service2

Pretty weak in all facets.

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Pretty weak in all facets.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been going to Roy's for years. Th ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Have been going to Roy's for years. The fish dinner all three of us ate was by far the best meal we have had there.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good tuna.

Dined on March 16, 2016

Very good tuna.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

roys

Dined on March 12, 2016

the steaks were prime tasting not the usual choice meat found in other restaurants. The service was prompt and all requests honored. We asked forno sauce and got what we asked for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hi-end , reliable

Dined on March 11, 2016

Been to several Roy's locations . The seafood is always well prepared with nice presentations . If you are entertaining or trying to impress , Roy's is a dependable option

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Expensive for what you get. Much better ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Expensive for what you get. Much better values elsewhere in town.

food4
ambience5
service5

I ordered the Prix Fixed menu. The food ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

I ordered the Prix Fixed menu. The food was outstanding and an excellent value. One in our party ordered a vegetable dish that was so salty that it was inedible. She had to send it back and order something else. Unfortunately she wasn't served until the rest of us were almost finished. Roy's amazing Chocolate Soufflé did NOT disappoint. Scrumptious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dined at Roy's for the first time, and e ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Dined at Roy's for the first time, and everything was perfect! Management was present and introduced themselves to us, service was great and friendly, and the food was awesome. Will be back for aloha hour soon for sure!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Find in Sarasota

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Had never heard of Roy's, but we were in Sarasota and wanted Seafood. Couldn't resist the 1000 point table that night. Enjoyed the 3-course dinner special with Salmon --- I think it was the best Salmon I've ever had. Nice atmosphere. Attentive service. Complimentary Valet parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

great food ,very high priced but overall ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

great food ,very high priced but overall good, we went there for my daughters birthday but i was shocked they charged us for her birthday dessert, they really don't make a big deal about special occasions

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's is a favorite

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Roy's is a great place for us to take our adult kids for a fun night out. also, good with friends. Service was perfect!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always great at Roy's. Make ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

The food is always great at Roy's. Make sure to order the chocolate soufflé!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Better apps, than entrees

Dined on February 21, 2016

I enjoyed the lobster bisque and other appetizer. Our crusted mahi was disappointing.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Overpriced

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

This was our second time eating at Roy's Sarasota. This visit confirmed our past experience. The food is not good enough for foodies and the atmosphere is not special enough for a special occasion. There are much better places to eat in Sarasota at this price point. I cannot recommend.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Not your Normal Roy's Quality

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

I have been to many Roy's restaurants, many times. However, this was a very disappointing meal. Of the 3 people in my party who dined, all were disappointed. I ordered a meal which included a lobster tail and shrimp. The shrimp lacked flavor and were so small that I thought they must have been stolen off of a Sizzler's all you can eat bar. My wife is eats a gluten free diet and the waitress and kitchen could not have been less accommodating.

food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food, but not great service or atmosphere.

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I went to Roys for Valentine's day which is also our anniversary. We had a reservation for 6:45. We were not seated till 7:30pm. We were seated next to a wall at a table under a television and the cords were hanging down at our eye level. Our waitress was more of an order taker and did not engage with us except to ask what we wanted and then brought it out. She did not ask us anything other than "Are you ready to order?" "Are you finished with that?" It was very robotic. The food was amazing! I do not think it was worth the $$$ we spent due to the atmosphere and service. The valet did a great job!

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

An Unexpect Failure

Dined on February 14, 2016

I am hoping that the busy night would explain the long wait (even with RSVP) the poor food quality and ridiculous price. I was so looking forward to this meal, but was disappointed on every front. Appetizers were over seasoned, my filet was tiny and tasteless (wish there was salt on the tables) and soup was less than 8 spoonful's. Desserts were quite good, and servers were truly wonderful. But overall a very poor value for such an over priced meal. I can only hope it was because of the holiday with a fixed menu. But I will never know because when I spend $200 on a meal without drinks, I expect to be talking about it for weeks; in a positive way. aside from the staff, this Valentine meal was a complete failure.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

First visit on busy night!

Dined on February 14, 2016

A friend's recommendation resulted in making a Valentine's Day reservation for their prix fixe 4 course dinner. Food and service were very good but noise level of a full, bustling restaurant killed whatever romance anyone might find in the environment. The service was excellent, our waitress providing good recommendations; the wine list was interesting, although we ordered glasses, not needing a full bottle. The prix fixe menu made it a little pricey but I was aware of it from a confirmation call I recd a few days before the 14th. I will add Roys to my event, special place list for visitors, although I would try for a quieter time and location within the restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Over-priced average meal. Loud, Rushed, Tasteless

Dined on February 14, 2016

Extremely over-priced average meal. I have no problem with price if food is amazing. Too many people packed into the space and we felt very rushed with the service & delivery of food and again - food was tasteless.

food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's serves fresh and consistent dishes ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Roy's serves fresh and consistent dishes in an atmosphere that makes you feel special. A manager always checks on to ensure your needs are being met and everything is first class and professional. The Ahi Tuna was superb and the Sunrise Sushi was delicious. We make this a special stop whenever we are in Sarasota.

food3
ambience3
service3

Not as good as it was before. Don't thin ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Not as good as it was before. Don't think will return

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Dissappointing

Dined on January 31, 2016

Came here 3 years ago and food was good. Food definitely gone down-hill since then . Bill for two of us for $170. Could have done better at "Roast" for $120.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food is always good but the Prix Fixe Mo ...

Dined on January 25, 2016

Food is always good but the Prix Fixe Mondays are a phenomenal bargain. Molten chocolate dessert is always a favorite!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

Very disappointed that they were out of ...

vip
Dined on January 25, 2016

Very disappointed that they were out of salmon at the start of dinner. Bad for a seafood restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best one yet

Dined on January 23, 2016

We have dined at Roy's for our anniversary many times. It has always been very good, but this was the best yet. Our server Patrick was outstanding, the table was great, food the best we have had at Roy's and the congeniality of all employees was outstanding. The managing partner and the beverage manager both stopped by to visit, we received a complimentary appetizer and a complimentary dessert to go with what already came with our meal. I had the prix fixe pork porterhouse and my wife had the famous fish trio. Outstanding evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Right place to bring the bosses

Dined on January 19, 2016

First time at this location but have been enjoying Roy's for years in Tampa. Excellent service staff. Waiter was very enthusiastic and steered us in the right direction when asked. Food is unique and impressive. You can't go wrong with this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

not memorable

Dined on January 17, 2016

everything was just that good, nothing above and beyond.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Many new and very creative local menu offerings! 5 stars

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on January 14, 2016

Once again, Roy never fails. New menu items were delicious. We both had the prix fixe menu, different items, and all good. Thanks for being able to take us on short notice as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New Years Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great food overall. Shrimp Ceviche was outstanding. Blackened Tuna very good, but a little small. The croutons on Ceasar Salad were food service variety...this was the only art of meal that was below par. Cocktails were very stiff, and so was price. Overall very nice place to dine. The wait service may be the best I have seen.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.