About Roy's - San Francisco

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco Bay Area
Seafood
San Francisco
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

Special Occasion (52)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Good for Groups (41)
See All
Romantic (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Hot Spot (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went here for the first time this past w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went here for the first time this past weekend. Had a TravelZoo voucher for dinner for two for $59. Used it for my roommate's birthday dinner. Two of us used the voucher, and then we also used the a la carte menu.

One issue with the TravelZoo voucher was that the menu they provided ended up being slightly different than the menu that Roy's provided. Instead of offering a Macadamia Nut Encrusted Mahi-Mahi dish (what I expected and what TravelZoo's menu showed), Roy's offered a Macadamia Nut Encrusted Catch of the Day, which ended up being yellowtail. I ordered it anyway because I had already been set on that dish, but was disappointed in the dish. Fish wasn't tender, the flavors didn't wow me, it was a bummer.

Appetizers were decent. Maybe not a great value, but overall pretty tasty. Drinks were pretty decent too, I ordered their Drunken Mule drink and was pleasantly surprised by the flavor and potency. Dessert was also good, two chocolate desserts that our group was able to finish off.

Service was not good, at all. The restaurant was very busy that Saturday night, so that may have been a large factor. Our waiter was not around much, didn't come by to see how our meal was going. I asked a worker passing by for salt & pepper to add flavor to my entree, and it took about 5 mins for them to finally come back to me. In addition, my water glass was not filled until we were on our dessert course, when I finally had to get the busboy to help us out.

The restaurant is pretty nice inside, but the volume gets very loud when it's crowded. I've been to the Kahala location in Hawaii before, and also remember it being noisy inside that restaurant as well. I probably would not visit this restaurant again, except maybe for discounted happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We've been to Roy's many times, as dinin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

We've been to Roy's many times, as dining here is always a wonderful experience. This past Saturday we took Mom to celebrate her 88th birthday, and service was warm and attentive. Mom was greeted at the front with the hostesses wishing her a happy birthday. The restaurant reserved a table by the window as we had requested, and it had a tabletop sign wishing Mom a happy birthday. The manager and our waitperson greeted us, wishing Mom a nice birthday too. Our dinner was delicious as usual, Mom had the lobster bisque and the misoyaki butterfish, her favorite. We ordered the calamari appetizer, I ordered the braised shortribs, which has become my favorite though I rarely eat meat. It's delicious, tender and melted in my mouth! My husband ordered from the 4-course pri fixe menu, and it did not disappoint. We finished with dessert, and I ordered the fruit tart - loved it! Roy's kindly brought out a complimentary birthday key-lime pie with vanilla ice cream for Mom. She enjoyed every bite. Before we left, the manager gave Mom a Roy's gift certificate to use at any Roy's restaurant. We felt so happy we chose Roy's to celebrate Mom's special day. The staff was warm and professional. They made sure dinner was going to be a lovely experience. The food was terrific, too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been to Roy's SF many times and ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We've been to Roy's SF many times and have always enjoyed our meals. This time around, we were disappointed with our food. My husband ordered the Ebi roll for an appetizer and wasn't completely happy with the taste when other times he's been wowed; my poke was fabulous. My husband then ordered the rib-eye which was overcooked, he asked for medium rare. They cooked him a new steak but he said the flavor was lacking. I ordered the lump crab fried rice which was cold when it arrived, they offered to reheat it again but I opted to have it wrapped to go. The service was wonderful! We sat at the bar prior to being seated for dinner and had a great Sidecar. Maybe they had an off night so we'll give them another try. As I said, we've always enjoyed Roy's SF before.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellent tasting food but quite pricey ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent tasting food but quite pricey as with all higher end restaurants. Service was excellent. The Hawaiian Butterfish was fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

It's a good place to eat. Food was prep ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It's a good place to eat. Food was prepared through my taste; nice atmosphere; great employees.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and service was the best ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was great and service was the best I have ever- superb! I highly recommend Roy's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our honeymoon! Great service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went for our honeymoon! Great service, extremely nice! Food was good, and drinks were excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We bought the travel zoo groupon and the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We bought the travel zoo groupon and the portions were very small. We had the short ribs and shrimp on the groupon menu and a la carte another shortrib. On the groupon my shortrib was the size of an ice cube. I also had an extra person with us ordering a la carte off the menu. The salad dressing was so sour too tart to eat. When I changed my reservation From 2 to 3 people I lost my 1000 pt reservation went down to 100 points. Word of advice cancel and rebook. again or just show up and add another person on. Portion size small still starving leaving the restaurant. If noted $120.00 value I rather order a la carte. I convinced people to buy this all disappointed not good. Dessert no options only that dense choc torte and people allergic or can't eat choc no options for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great HH food options. Bar staff a bit i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great HH food options. Bar staff a bit inattentive but cordial. Sushi roll amazing! Dinner not impressive. We had the TravelZoo voucher which ended up being a fixed-price menu. The shared appetizer was very small and not that interesting. Hard to believe for 6 little items the original price was $32.50! I would have been very disappointed if I'd paid full price. The garden salad was all bitter lettuces with an overpowering dressing. Didn't eat that. The macadamia nut crusted tuna was overcooked and rubbery. My BF convinced me to send it back (which I never do...) but our waiter was very cordial & brought me a new piece which was much better but still not impressive. Dessert was a flourless chocolate cake with berries. Nothing to complain about there. Overall, I would say the HH was good enough to bring me back but I would not recommend staying for dinner unless you have money burning a hole in your pocket and nothing better to do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Reserved table wasn't available at sched ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Reserved table wasn't available at schedule time. Service was slow and had to request our waiter to place our orders. Waiter intentionally avoid eye contact even thou he walked by our table numerous times. Food was good as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

A favorite spot, purchased a Travelzoo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A favorite spot, purchased a Travelzoo voucher for a special complete dinner meal. Good choices but serving sizes were smaller than normal. Selected the rib plate and only had one boneless rib. Tepanyaki shrimp plate was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a birthday and we were delightful ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a birthday and we were delightfully surprised there was a birthday greeting card with beautiful Orchids on our table waiting for us. Classy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Roy's is always on point, fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food at Roy's is always on point, fresh, flavorful and just scrumptious! The server William was fablious as well. He definitely helped make our family dinner terrific!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Check-In was terrible. We were lost in t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Check-In was terrible. We were lost in the shuffle, and had to check in a second time 20 minutes after we arrived for our reservation. No acknowledgement of anything, or an apology. The server we had was great, and the food was good, but the late check-in really set the tone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were a group of 7 - and with flight d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We were a group of 7 - and with flight delays - we had no dinner plans set. Roy's had a table - despite the mixed reviews on here, it fit what we wanted. Glad we did. Everything we had was at least tasty - no disappointments for better than average seafood / fish with that Asian twist. The wine list is strong and has several great value options. Space between the tables too!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is the last time I will dine at a R ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is the last time I will dine at a Roy's restaurant. My previous experience had been mediocre and based on location and a desire by my date, we went there again. The appetizer was greasy, salad over dressed and the desert was a mushy fudge brownie that was over sauced.

I will say that they were able to execute my main course, the Mahi Mahi to perfection, but overall the meal was sub par and certainly not worth the price paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Roy's in SF is definitely a different ex ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Roy's in SF is definitely a different experience than their Maui and Newport Beach locations but the food was very good and the bar was nice with a great, friendly bar tender. Our server was very odd and made strange faces and acted detached and uninterested. Besides having the worst body odor I have ever smelled in my life, he forgot to put in the order for our chocolate soufflé which we ordered with our entrée. It did not come for 40 minutes AFTER our entrees were cleared. Drinks were good though completely ungarnished. (odd for tropical drinks) Salmon entrée was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Used a Travel Zoo Voucher, I'm not sure ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Used a Travel Zoo Voucher, I'm not sure if that's why but the food was average 😏

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Always a great meal .

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always a great meal .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Always good solid repeatable service and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always good solid repeatable service and food at Roys. The fish is excellent. This is a great place for a business dinner

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Roy's for special celebrations. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love Roy's for special celebrations. The excellent staff is so hospitable and the atmosphere is elegant. And they serve some of the most wonderful fish dishes in SF!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Roy's hit it out of the ball park on my ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Roy's hit it out of the ball park on my last visit.

I have, like other reviews I've read, found it to be a hit-or-miss dining experience a few times. I'm glad to say they seem to be back on track.

A friendly greeting on entering, an attentive server, and a well prepared appetizer and entree. The manager of the restaurant stopped by our table and asked if everything was OK and also

wished a happy birthday to the person I was with.

The wedge salad and their signature short ribs is an excellent choice. The short ribs were served piping hot, and the dish was also hot, just as food should be served.

I've been to Roy's over 30 times, both in Hawaii and on the mainland, and my last visit was one of the most enjoyable ever.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was not hot and overall just okay. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was not hot and overall just okay. Good for a business lunch but I would not take clients for dinner again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I'm severely gluten intolerant and have ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I'm severely gluten intolerant and have never had a problem eating here or at any of the other Roy's locations we have eaten at. We had a wonderful meal and the chef even did a GF lobster bisque for me. The flourless chocolate lava cake really topped off our evening. Menu items are now marked GF, but the chef is willing to work to accommodate if there is something else wanted. It was our 42 wedding anniversary and all in all was a very nice evening. Try the jalapeño margarita!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had been to Roy,s in Pebble Beach and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We had been to Roy,s in Pebble Beach and the menu was different. More choices of meats and fish. We were disappointed in the SF menu too much sauce and way too sweet for our taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The staff was awesome in terms of helpin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The staff was awesome in terms of helping celebrate my friend's birthday: decorations, photo, and so on. Her food was excellent (steak). My food (fish special) wasn't quite up to the quality I've previously enjoyed at Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Roy's gave us special treatment for our ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Roy's gave us special treatment for our 15th Year Anniversary Dinner. The service was great and our food came pretty quickly. The dishes were nicely presented and delicious! My favorite was the Chocolate "Lave Cake" as I remember it back in Hawaii. The manager came by a couple of times to check on us and at the end gave us a nice gift for our anniversary - a $20 gift card which we look forward to using soon!

The one thing I didn't like about Roy's was how expensive the bill was! Perhaps it is similar to other restaurants in the area, but I think $40 for an entree of three small portions of fish is overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Service was very good. Food needed a li ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Service was very good. Food needed a little more flavor and seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Exorbitant prices for average service an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Exorbitant prices for average service and below average food. You pay for their overhead, not a quality product. If you are looking for tasty Asian food go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We dine at Roy's periodically when we ne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We dine at Roy's periodically when we need a quiet local restaurant for business meetings. The last couple of visits, the food was off. The fish was overcooked, the salads wilted and overdressed and every item seemed underwhelming and not well seasoned. I like the restaurant staff but won't go back until the reviews on the food are better. It's not worth the price and there are too many other great restaurants in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

this was always one of my go to places t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

this was always one of my go to places to have exceptional service. However, it's not the same level was as in the past. Now it's just an over price place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Had dinner with our two adult kids. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had dinner with our two adult kids. The restaurant was 2/3 full in the main dining room and the bar lounge area was wide open. We were stuck in the bar, the service was weak because the bartenders had to handle both roles (they were both decent people, but were overwhelmed), not their fault. Manager never even looked our way, never asked how everything was or had water brought to our table after waiting 15+ minutes for someone to stop by, he was focused on the dining room and those guests, very obvious. Glad we dropped $300 for a dinner!

We were expecting a great experience and had a second rate, pushed into the lounge and were treated like an after thought dinner. Weak

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great evening. Excellent value for a rom ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great evening. Excellent value for a romantic anniversary dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been Roy's fans since 1996 when ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been Roy's fans since 1996 when we lived on Oahu. We have dined at Roy's on Oahu (both locations), Kauai, and the Big Island - as well as Roy's in Plano, Austin (very sad when it closed), and San Francisco. The restaurant never disappoints. Although the menu changes a bit, there are some favorites that are offered nearly everywhere. The food and the staff are consistently excellent, and the chocolate souffle is the perfect ending to any meal! Thanks for a lovely lunch in San Francisco.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I always enjoy dining at Roy's.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I always enjoy dining at Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Go to Roy's frequently and haven't been ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Go to Roy's frequently and haven't been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our wait person and bus person provided ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

our wait person and bus person provided exceptional service. one of the best that I have experienced in several years.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate special occasio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great place to celebrate special occasions! Came here for a birthday. They got my note through open table and were fabulous! Our table was nicely decorated with purple orchids and a sweet birthday message to our birthday girl! They even gave her a gift card to come back as a token of their thanks for choosing to celebrate with them. Talk about excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was introduced to Roy's by some friend ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was introduced to Roy's by some friends. Everyone is amazing from the moment you step into the restaurant. My daughter and I both had the butterfish which I highly recommend. We have sat at the bar on a previous visit and it was so enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roy's S.F. Gets the highest marks overal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Roy's S.F. Gets the highest marks overall. From reception greeting, bartender service to servers, this restaurants is tops. Food is incredibly tasty and served hot and pleasing to the eye. We always come away full and satisfied. Doesn't get much better than Roy's S. F.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.