Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Roy's - San Francisco

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Business Meals (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Happy Hour (15)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (7)
Authentic (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2923 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent setting, service and variety of food options. My meal was fabulous but my friend had a rice dish that was so salty she couldn't eat it. The waiter and manager offered to correct the issue and ultimately removed the charge from the bill voluntarily. The large restaurant allows for large groups and intimate consversations for smaller parties of 2.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated fun trip in San Francisco. Used a trazelzoo voucher. Special menu was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Love the trio. A bit pricy but good to bring your business meeting.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for great south pacific/fusion types of food. Also sushi and plentiful seafood options. The place was packed on a Wednesday night and we had to wait 15 mins or so for our reservation. Because of the crowded nature, it was quite noisy. Our meals were excellent and we will definitely be returning.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I made a reservation on OpenTable for Sunday night at 9pm, for which I received an email confirmation. I called the restaurant at 8:50 to let them know we would be 5-10 minutes late because the symphony got out late. They told me that the kitchen closed at 9pm and my reservation was actually for 8:45. I said no, I have the email confirmation for 9pm and the hostess pretty much said "tough s***." Won't be going there ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent food ..excellent array of choices..friendly staff... good martini.. what more can you ask for..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We ordered a nice bottle of wine and then the regular menus were taken away and a very limited Travelzoo menu was brought to our table. A choice between 2 appetizers, neither of which appealed to us, a salad, limited entree choices and a choice between 2 desserts. The salad was an unappetizing lettuce (wilted), very small with a couple of tomatoes. We actually felt like second class diners. We had looked forward to a special dinner and had booked a hotel to spend the night in SF. An attractive setting, but I would not return. We had enjoyed eating at other Roy's.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We used the Travelzoo discount

The food was good.
Service terrible.

We asked several times for a refill of water.
Coffee came, no spoon... we had to take the fork from the other table given they already cleared our utensils.
The waiter was less than attentive. We noticed he was more attentive to the 'non-travelzoo' prefix clients.

We typically go on there for the aloha hour. The bartenders are great.

We've have parties there in the past. I feel the wait staff has either gone down or given we used a 'discounted' meal they didn't care to be attentive.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wonderful, incentive, and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was delicious, but most of all, we were celebrating my birthday and the waitress went ahead and took a picture of us , printed it and gave us a complimentary desert as well. Very courteous and we think she went above and beyond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food tasty but it's not worth the price. For the same price I'd definitely go for a higher rating Michelin restaurant. I wouldn't visit again at SF location.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent Food!
I noticed though that the chocolate soufflé decreased in size

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Service is always wonderful. From the hostess, server to manager. It is always a pleasure to come here. They have a diner for life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

I've been to a lot of Roys, but I found this one to be the weakest out of the 5 I've dined at, by far, which is disappointing. I was thinking this would definitely beat out their Anaheim location, being it the foody center of the world in San Francisco.

Food was ok, lots of TV sets for the bar / lunch crowd. They gave us some great service and let us switch tables from a 2-top to 4 (I hate those little tables) which I much appreciated because it was our anniversary.

I think just work on the food and I'd give this a better rating. Poke was very flavorless and it's usually my favorite thing to get here, the edamame was totally weird with a sugary coating rather than the salty / garlicky kind they are also very good for.

All in all, for the price, I expect better since I am a huge fan of Roys for the quality food, and elevated atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I have eaten at Roy's several times. Always reliable, good food. Looks like the same menu for years. For a saturday night, it was not very busy. Despite that - it felt rushed. The food came before we had time to sip our wine. The main course was there just after we finished the appetizer. If you are in a hurry - good place to go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We gone to Roy's since it open in Hawaii, then in Seattle, Chicago, etc., and then he sold it. Food is so-so. Ordered the combo steak (was suppose to be on the rare side, came more well done). Watch the chef who was really not paying attention to his cooks. Not the same and surviving in SF will be a challenge?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our Go To restaurant when we're missing Hawaiian cuisine. Roy's SF has got it down. Friendly receptionists, outstanding Bar with a fantastic Aloha Hour everyday, fresh cooked seafood, sushi and steaks. From the moment you step inside the restaurant everyone is so friendly. They will converse with you if you want to or leave you to enjoy a quiet dining time. Can't say enough of the fresh prepared dishes, from Aloha Hour appetizers to full menu dinners. You'll never leave hungry......So Good here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great Beer, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Very good, and VERY expensive. The quality was great, but for value not so great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Initial mixup with cocktails, followed by a long delay of appetizers, and a mixup with our little son's meal. Main courses were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food and wine is very good, but for the amount of food you receive, the price is high. The ambiance is very nice and the service was good. We were treated to dinner, otherwise we probably wouldn't have dined here that evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Jose is an AMAZING SERVER - BRAVO!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Outstanding experience. Constantly delivers on every visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The hostess seemed upset that we arrived. She then tried to seat us in the back near the restroom despite available seats in the main dining room. When we were seated, she then plopped the heavy menu down like she was trying to kill a bug on the table. After some time the waitress arrived and was helpful and proficient. The menu for lunch is very limited. The food presentation was fair and the quality of the food was good. The glass of wine I ordered was terrible. No doubt the bottle had been sitting open for some time. The deserts were not great and again the selection was limited. The bill for my business lunch was almost $250 for two people. Frankly, something bad is going on in this restaurant, I've been going for years, and I hope they get their act together soon as the competition is fierce. I'm not sure I'll go again anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Well located, extraordinary food, the service was amazing

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The staff was wonderful and made my husband's birthday memorable.
Good food recommendations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Roy's was always one of my favorites when I worked in sf though I have not been there for a few years. Perhaps it was because we were there Sunday night but both my appetizer and entree came out cold and the staple of the menu (the butterfish) that I've had on numerous occasions both here and in Hawaii did not taste the same (almost as if someone didn't know the recipe and made a new recipe up on the fly). Very disappointing. On the plus side, service was great.

Not sure I would go back since there are so many new places to try but it's sad because I've always loved Roy's because of its consistently good food :(

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My group and I tried Roy's in Hawaii and sought out the SF location because we enjoyed the food so much.

Great service and food selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I have been to Roy's 10 years ago and had fond memories of this place. I recommended my family to have our reunion here, but was so embarrassed because the food and service was sub par. The poor children were not able to eat their chicken teriyaki, ordered off the children's menu, because it was burnt and heavily peppered. Very disappointed and do not recommend spending your time and money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The fish that we ordered was definitely subpar, very fishy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fantastic food, fantastic service. What more can be said?

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The wine was decent, but my girlfriend and I shared a appetizer sampler, which came out luke warm at best. We then ordered another full order of the ribs, which also came out cold. Food taste was good, but reheating deep friend food made it very greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Toubin was great.
Poke bowl was very delicious.
Butterfish sauce tasted different from what I thought it would be but it was great too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food at Roy's is always very good. But this location, this night just didn't have the same warm, inviting vibe I have experienced at other locations. The room is very loud. The service was only fair. I expect better from this collection of usually better restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Waiter was very attentive and removed an item from the bill that was overcooked and not up to par the the quality of the other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Had a large business party (13) and the service was good considering the large group. Good wine list with something for everyone. And a good selection of fish prepared very well. A bit noisy for a business dinner, but still worked well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food, as is every time we dine there, is consistently great, full of flavor and perfectly prepared. It is why we come back every time.

Service is also consistently great. Thank's Roy's for another great dining experience - looking forward to the next one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Wait staff was extremely courteous and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

used a groupon voucher for this visit. a limited menu but still had great food in their selections. Had the butterfish for an additional cost and it was well worth the price!
service was great, had no problems

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.