Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 5/21
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 21 times today
Special offers available. See details

Roy's - San Francisco

4.3
3118 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Business Meals
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 777-0277
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nathan Payo
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Call For Details
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between 1st and 2nd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

What 3118 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

We dined for our anniversary and got a card upon sitting down which is a nice touch. We started off with the aloha sushi roll which was very good. For dinner I got the trio and thought it was very yummy. My boyfriend got the sword fish and we both thought it was rather bland. We got sides of Mac and cheese and whipped potatoes and they were nothing too special, also on the bland side. Our waiter marcio was very good in the beginning. But throughout the meal was not as good. Just make sure to follow through with service till we leave. He was very nice though

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Noisy Friday night crowd; place was full of energy! Service was very good, food was excellent. Menu items were expensive; restaurant is good for special occasions, but not for everyday meals unless you like to live extravagantly.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Poor waiter who asked about dessert option before entree arrived. Felt rushed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

We came for Mother’s Day dinner. Was telling my family how good this place was. Service was very good. But food was poor. They had a special Mother’s Day menu. Ordered the prime rib medium rare. It came well done. Server took it back. The manager came and delivered the second attempt. Also well done. Waiter was apologetic. Third time the chef came and delivered it. Finally was medium rare. One other family member also ordered prime rib and his was over done but didn’t mention it. He just ate it. My grandma’s shot rib was way salty. But she ate it anyway. She didn’t want to complain. We ordered 6 chocolate soufflé for dessert. All were overdone. None of them oozed out chocolate. It tasted good, but disappointed. By then we just wanted to leave. They comped us three desserts for some of the food troubles we had and gave a discount card for our next visit. The service was very good, but the food was disappointing. I hyped up the place to my family, and I looked a bit foolish. They will probably not be coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food and the drinks was amazing and the atmosphere was real nice and the service was on point I will definitely will be back there again I love their mai tai Drink

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fabulous Mother's Day brunch! Thank you so much!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for mother's day - they had a great selection of choices on the prix fixe brunch menu and we very much enjoyed everything we ordered. Definitely would go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Celebrated our anniversary, the mood was great, food was great & the service was excellent! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Good food, but very overpriced. Perhaps this was why it was nearly empty on a Saturday night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Have been here before for special occasions. They never disappoint! Great food and service. They add a special touch when you make reservations. We've gone for birthday's and wedding anniversary. Every time they add a special touch by having a placard on your table stating the special occasion. They sent over a complimentary dessert and two glasses of sparkling wine for our anniversary!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Great service and food! Friendly staff who was not in a hurry! My wife loved it!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 1, 2018

We went here here for lunch which is an hour. It took half an hour to receive our food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Amazing food!! I was beyond impressed by the quality of the food. I loved the lobster Cali roll. My absolute favorite was the lobster & filet! Cooked to perfection. The service was also phenomenal my server took special care of my bf on his bday :) thanks for great food and service I can’t wait to come back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Short ribs were dry and not tender. Very pricey for small portions. Desserts were not very good either.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Severely overpriced for the experience and quality. I felt like I was at a Cheesecake factory paying 10x the price. Kids running around yelling, poor service, food came out of the kitchen so fast it wouldn't physically be possible to have just cooked it- definitely sitting in a warmer until we ordered and also tasted like it. Not worth the $50+ per entree, there are MUCH better options in San Francisco...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Roy's provided a needed Aloha vibe that had been missing, we were on our way to the Warrior's game and had a quick dinner, the staff was attentive, food was quickly prepared, and was soothing to our pallets. For those of us not having a scheduled trip to the Islands, Roy's definitely helps

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Very enjoyable

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Everything was marginally average at best. Sushi tasted like it was from a grocery store. Fish was fine but nothing I would come back for. The whole menu felt tired and uninspired. Time to mix it up.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Roy’s San Fran didn’t allow me to spend our special occasion as “wow” as possible because the restaurant is open to the bar/TVs so ambiance wasn’t as good as Roy’s in Chandler, AZ.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Service was too slow and the waiter did not check in with us enough

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 16, 2018

We decided to go to Roy's for a birthday. It was a table for 6. Made reservations and got seated right away even though some of our guest were late. While we were waiting we ordered cocktails. Our server Jessica was extremely friendly and attentive. We order 3 appetizers which were good. For our entrees we ordered 2 tomahawk steaks medium rare and medium, 2 seafood samplers, and 1 pork loin. We also ordered a bottle of Silver Oaks wine. Our food cane out at a decent time only problem was that both of the tomahawk steaks were overcooked. We sent the steaks back and waiting a long time for us to get our food that the people who ordered the seafood sampler were already done eating and we still didn't get our steaks. Jose the manager along with Jessica apologized for the steaks being overcooked. Finally the steaks come out and one of the steaks is medium and the other steak was raw. I was very hungry at this point and decided to just eat it. I forced myself but then as I cut into the steak more it was cold in the middle. Jose came over and I informed him that I just couldn't eat this and that this was raw and cold. His response was " really, I cooked this myself". I was shocked that now the so called manager is a chef. Jose ended up taking my steak back and have it cooked some more. I didn't even get to enjoy my steak with the bottle of wine that I ordered. In the end, we got comp for appetizers, drinks, and the tomahawk steak but we still ended up tipping 20% to Jessica with the bottle of wine and without the comps since it wasn't her fault.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Sunday dinner celebrating an engagement. Very friendly greeting and was seating right away. There was a greeting card from the staff on the table for the occasion, nice touch Roy’s. Food and service was excellent as always here. Will always come back fir steak or seafood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We celebrated an anniversary and the staff was just lovely!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Wedding anniversary. Perfect ambience for the occasion they also gave us a beautiful desert that said happy anniversary scrolled in chocolate.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Disappointing. The macadamia crusted Mahi Mahi was flavorless. The crust was the only flavor present, but didn’t match the fish because it tasted like the chef forgot to season the fish. Also, the waiter was very nice, but NEVER asked us how the food was. It should have been a clue when I asked for salt for the fish. I have had seafood all over the Bay Area and this is the first time I ever had to add salt to season the fish. Over priced and under delivered. We won’t be back to this one. However, Roy’s in Hawaiii, New York, and San Diego were great.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Poor service due to server not paying any attention to what was ordered. Drink never came and food was too oily. Unfortunately I wouldn’t recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The Braised Short Ribs were outstanding. The pulled apart and the accompanying mashed potatoes were enjoyable. The service and atmosphere were top notch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Service was horrible. Other tables around us got their food way before we did
Egg rolls an pot stickers were greasy

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 26, 2018

With very few people in the restaurant on a Sunday night at 5:30, we were ushered into the back dining room - which was empty - and into the farthest corner table. Come on! Yes, we had shoes on and decent clothes. My friends didn't mind, saying it would be quiet. It was because that dining room stayed completely empty save for one other table. But that didn't stop the waiter from rushing us. I was halfway through my dinner when a companion's plate was removed. Yes, she was done but why? The waiter steered a companion to the butterfish which turned out to be sweet - which was not noted on the menu - instead of the much cheaper dish she was also considering. He offered no wine help at all and stood there silently as I looked over the wine menu - didn't even offer to give me a minute to look, he just waited for my order. We've been to Roy's MANY times over 15 years... it's gone WAY downhill. Don't bother, look for another dining establishment instead of paying the crazy prices for mediocre food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great service, wonderful food, best choice for our anniversary!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Haven't been back to Roy's for a couple of years. I was a little surprised at how the prices have gone up---I had the Misoyaki "Butterfish" (Alaskan Black Cod) @45, and my husband ordered the Braised Short Ribs of Beef @$39, plus a sushi roll.
The fish dish came with about 1/4 of the pieces charred, though the meat was quite sweet and tender. I left some charred pieces on the plate. The sides (Baby Bok Choy and Furikake Rice) were good. The short ribs were not that tender as compared to what we cook at home or at other restaurants, either poor meat or not braised long enough.
Given the quality of the food at the prices they charge, I think this will be the last time we visit Roy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

I wish this and many other restaurants cut the noise level. That's my only real complaint. It's hard to find more than one gluten-free entree, but the one Roy's offers is very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

I was traveling with my 15yo and wanted to find a high-quality restaurant with a variety of menu options. Many of the higher end restaurants in SF have very small menus that may not work for a teenager. We loved the menu - sushi, fish, seafood, steak, salads - and the food was delicious. However, the service was what stood out most. Our server, Robert, informed us that a couple of the desserts would take 20 minutes to prepare. Since we are on vacation, we decided to order both of them - the chocolate soufflé and the pineapple upside down cake. After 20 minutes, Robert came back to tell us that the upside down cake fell apart so they had to start all over again. It finally came out and we had waited probably around 45 minutes in total. Without my asking, Robert told us that the desserts were complimentary and he also asked the manager if he could give us an additional discount which he was able to do. This gesture was so thoughtful that we would definitely go again! Thank you, Robert, for making our dinner such a pleasant experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Gorgeous decor, excellent food, and great service. To me, it's expensive, but for a special occasion it perfect. Sun & Mon, they have a pre fixe menu, you get 3 courses for $50. If you tell them ahead of time, they print out a personalized card at your table announcing your special occasion. Just an added nice touch that shows someone paid attention to details.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The service is fine. I do not know why but I expected more deom the ambiance. But it was my best ever Ahi Tuna tartar!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

As we arrived to our table the server took about 15 minutes to ask us what we would like to drink and of course did not even acknowledge that we were celebrating our Anniversary. Rude! We took Uber so that we could drink, well that was not going to happen considering how long it took to actually get our drinks. They sat us at a table next to the server computer and they were having conversations so loud that my husband & I thought: Are they serious??? I mean we are trying to enjoy a nice romantic evening, do you mind??? In addition, hate when a you get your appetizers and salads at the same time! Really??? Who is training these servers??? Also, why ask if we are having a special occasion if the server is not even going to acknowledge it. Yes, the paper that was placed on the table prior acknowledging our anniversary was a nice touch. Nevertheless, the food was good, but I will probably never go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Excellent as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Great service from the hostess to waiter. Managers are always around. Food is great. We had a seafood combo and lobster tail. Also plenty of lobster in the bisque. Desserts, chocolate molten cake and upside down pineapple cake is outstanding! Except for one Waiter we had in the past, we've only had great experiences here!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
78