About Roy's - San Francisco

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco Bay Area
Seafood
San Francisco
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

special occasion (52)
fit for foodies (47)
good for groups (36)
See All
romantic (33)
great for lunch (24)
notable wine list (15)
neighborhood gem (13)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
kid-friendly (9)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service5

The service was great, the food wasn't a ...

Dined 6 days ago

The service was great, the food wasn't all that great considering the price. It seemed as it has been made and sat a while before served. I could see he potential for it to be good, just wasn't great to me. I order the fish trio.

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Don't order the scallops, unless you lik ...

Dined 6 days ago

Don't order the scallops, unless you like a slab of pork fat with each one. Perhaps I should have asked more questions before I ordered. The service was odd, or more accurately annoying. Overall the food (except the scallop dish) was adequate, but given the prices it should have been fabulous. I was expecting something fun and special, but left disappointed, and will not return.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Usually a favorite, but probably due to ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Usually a favorite, but probably due to a very large party, food seemed a bit off this time. We,ve loved roys for 20 years, mostly in hawaii where we lived.. the short ribs were like a slow cooker re ipie.. butterfish overcooked. Not worth the high price!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorites

Dined on June 13, 2016

We first went to Roy's on Maui, a year or so after they opened. Since then, we have tried them wherever we see them, whenever we get the chance. Always yummy, with great wine selections and lovely deserts. Good place for dining out with friends for birthdays too when you can't agree on meat or fish. :D We like the frequent menu changes, prix fix specials, and wine pairing events they have from time to time. They have some fun new tropical themed drinks too. Makes for a little holiday fun during non-holiday times.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Awed Customer

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Roy's San Francisco you never cease to amaze me; whether I am dining with colleagues, family or friends, the service is always impeccable and the food totally awesome - and you are always finding ways to up your game - absolutely awesome and I will eat at your venue, again and again and again! :-)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great business lunch option

Dined on June 8, 2016

We had a business dinner. The food was great, the service was fast and polite. Dinner prices are quite high. The lunch menu is better value.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Delicious

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was incredible. I love Roy's and I have been to every location that it is available. The butterfish was spectacular and the chocolate souffle was to die for. I recommend this place to everyone I talk to

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Butterfish is amazing. The seafood trio ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Butterfish is amazing. The seafood trio is fabulous. 1988 cocktail is the best

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not typical Roy's experience

Dined on June 3, 2016

My spouse and I have been to every Roy's location in both Hawaii and mainland. It is one of our favorite restaurants due to consistent excellent food, atmosphere, and service; and since 2003 when we first ate at one, we take advantage of any opportunity to go to a Roy's when we travel, which is at least 1-2 times monthly given our professions. The last time we visited the San Francisco location was about 4-5 years ago. Our visit this time was disappointing. We first went to dinner on June 1. The service was ok (somewhat attentive but much less so than typical Roy's experience), and it was the first time either of us had a dish less than excellent (the Thai chicken). (In contrast, the Maui wowing salad was excellent). I thought it might have been a fluke, so I came back the next night (June 2) for a business dinner and brought a colleague who'd never visited a Roy's before. I was embarrassed after bragging so much about how great Roy's is. The service was not good - was very slow and inattentive. For instance, we got cocktails when we sat down and weren't asked about another cocktail or drink refill until dinner, there were extremely long wait periods between courses, and we weren't told about the desserts (ones that require 20 min) until we were well into dinner, and the wait staff left us alone for very long periods without checking in at all. This was not due to it being crowded, as it was not. On top of that, the courses were not great (calamari appetizer which was not flavorful and fried hard, and the ahi, which I have every time I go to Roy's, was not as flavorful as usual), which again, is unusual for Roy's. This was not a great value for substantial money spent both nights. We likely will give Roy's a try again in the future but not sure whether we'll do the San Fran location.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience. Never disappo ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Always a great experience. Never disappoints!

food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good and server very atten ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was very good and server very attentive.

food3
ambience2
service4

Compared to other Roy's restaurants, thi ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Compared to other Roy's restaurants, this one has terrific location but very low value for the high cost. The artwork was downright inappropriate, completely missing the mark and actually insulting to Hawaiian culture. I will not be back

food2
ambience3
service2

Terrible...had reservations on Mother's ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Terrible...had reservations on Mother's Day at 6:45p with my family of 6....it took 1 hour for us to get seated. While sitting it took our waiter almost 15 mins before he came to our table to just take our drink order ! The food was bland, we needed to ask our waiter for salt n pepper. Over all, it was just a horrible experience, especially when you're trying to celebrate Mother's Day with your wife and children

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I don't mind paying extra money for an e ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I don't mind paying extra money for an excellent food, but Roy's restaurant is the other way around.... Expensive ,for not so great food... On top of that they charge you extra for insurance for the server "MANDATORY."

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hawaiian fusion

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always great food and service. Good place for romantic and special celebrations. Hawaiian fusion food at its best...the short ribs are awesome and to finish off the chocolate soufflé is to die for and a must...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

not the best experience - should have been better

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

They should bring back the large and small portions they used to have. $45 for a lunch entree is too expensive. I had the short ribs and they were full of fat - yuck! I have had them before and they were much better. I think I may have gotten a bad piece, but it was not good at all. We spent about $140 before tip for lunch for two and did not have cocktails and we both just wanted water. I splurge plenty on lunch, but given how bad the short ribs were this was not a good value. the place was busy and we could not wait to get the waiters attention or I would have sent them back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place for group

Dined on May 6, 2016

Thanks for arranging our big group. We are satisfied so much. Good foods, services and patient. We all had fun during the dinner. Thank you.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice spot for friends to gather for a great meal!

Dined on May 6, 2016

The waiter offered the specials and was attentive to our food and meal needs.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Small portions and slow

Dined on May 2, 2016

Food was decent, but we both left hungry after ordering their 4 course meal and had to eat again when we home. For $each it was a poor value. And the service was so so slow. We won't be back.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and good service.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We hadn't been there in awhile and took some friends for their first time. The new menu options were great and our friends thoroughly enjoyed the place and the food. we especially liked the canoe and the Hawaiian Martinis. We won't stay away so long in the future! Be back real soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner with a colleague from out of ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Had dinner with a colleague from out of state. The meal and service was FIRST CLASS and exceed my expectation. I wanted to show off Roy's and you did not disappoint. Thank you.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Nearly Great

Dined on April 25, 2016

Attentive, informed, friendly service. Flexible kitchen. Crab cake: the best ever. Prawns and asparagus: perfectly sauteed. Rice: delicious. Lobster tail: flavorful but slightly rubbery; a bit overcooked?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Definitely a great experience good food ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Definitely a great experience good food good service!

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food -- portions shrinking

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

We go to Roy's frequently and have always had great meals with lovely preparation. On this last visit the food was every bit as good, but portions are getting smaller (at no let-up in price). For example, the Hibachi salmon was quite small in size, and my ahi was probably ~60% of the size which I've had previously. I hope this SF Roy's re-examines their portion control.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Pricey, but good

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Found the entrees quite pricy (approx $42 each). Food was good, portions large, just don't think it is worth the price.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at several Roy's - Newport ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

I have eaten at several Roy's - Newport Beach, Pebble Beach, San Diego, San Francisco, Hawaii, Chicago and Orlando. The food is always great, as is the service. Since I travel for work so much, it is nice to know I can depend on them to be top notch for business events, but also family gatherings!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Fish fish and more delicious fish, loved ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Fish fish and more delicious fish, loved it

food4
ambience4
service5

Server offered family style - good optio ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Server offered family style - good options, nothing memorable but all was good just not excellent. Service was excellent, seating was comfortable, plenty of space and not loud.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

HAD1

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Great service, wonderful food and drinks. We have been to many Roy's but never in San Francisco. We absolutely loved the experience. It was my wife Birthday and the staff treated us royally. Harold Duncan

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special birthday celebration is a success.

Dined on April 10, 2016

I wanted to surprise my husband and daughter for their birthdays which fall in the same month. I had written the restaurant that the occasion was for their birthdays. We enjoyed our happy hour cocktails before the reservation time. The bartender was attentive and we had fun talking to him. When we were seated, we noticed the nice birthday sign and orchid buds on the table greeting us. Perry, our head waiter, ordered for us and dinner was delicious! We enjoyed the appetizers (lobster potstickers and szechuen pork ribs) , salad (Maui Wowie Shrimp Salad) and we had 3 main courses (Misoyaki Butterfish, Seared Sea Scallops and Surf and Turf). All were amazing. Our meal ended with two complimentary chocolate lava cakes with vanilla ice cream. Thank you Roy's for the outstanding service and meal. It made their birthdays extra special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff were very friendly - Brian - our s ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Staff were very friendly - Brian - our server took good care of us - a definite yes for those who have experienced Roy's in Hawaii and other locations - highly recommended

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

OK Expense Account Dining

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We enjoy our early evening weekday meal at Roy's in S.F. but it was a poor value. The room was nicely decorated, the tables were well-spaced, and the noise level facilitated conversation. The meal consisted of two fish entrees, one shared vegetable side dish, one shared desert, and two glasses of Malbec. The bill before tip was over $120. Everything about Roy's was reasonably good, just well below what we find in other local places of this price level. The service was competent but rather slow. Our water glasses remained empty during much of the meal. The quality of the food was OK but not exceptional and the entrees were served tepid, not cold but not as warm as they should have been. Roy's location is convenient for Mosconi conventioneers who may not be price sensitive as us locals.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is great!!

Dined on April 7, 2016

This restaurant is great!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Flavorful Roy's!

Dined on April 6, 2016

Brian was our server and was incredibly attentive. I was very happy with our experience. The rib appetizer was a big hit along with the poke. The filet mignon that I ordered was very good and perfectly cooked. The chocolate soufflé cake and pineapple upside down cake were also very good. My group was overall very happy with the food and I also must add that the service standard was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

first timers that either do or do not ea ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

first timers that either do or do not eat fish...the misoyaki butterfish will satisfy! if you want to go the "moo" way, the chefs KNOW how to cook a great rib eye. if you're looking for variety, go with a couple drinks and pick more than a few pu pu's (appetizers) to munch on.

food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Good food, chain-restaurant style service

Dined on April 2, 2016

I thought the food was pretty good across the board. However, I was kind of annoyed by the sports bar feel of the place—awkward interactions with the waiter, huge distracting TV's, etc. Seemed odd for the quality of the food that they were serving, but hey—still tasted good, and they gave us a free dessert without me even asking because the lamb I ordered came slower than all the other food, so they were nice enough!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at Roy's for the first time and a ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We ate at Roy's for the first time and as we were deliberating over the menu our waiter suggested we trust him to pick a selection of dishes for my wife and I to share. He also chose the wine without asking us !Lobster Potstickers and Ribs are a must. Misoyaki Butterfish exquisite and the 'Turf' was perfectly cooked. All complemented with a Pinot Noir from Russian River. We only just had room to share a chocolate soufflé with vanilla bean ice cream. What a fantastic meal with first class friendly service.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It's been a few years since I've been he ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

It's been a few years since I've been here and I used to always give a 5 star across the board rating but it has fallen off a little bit. Because of this, I can't give a great value rating also.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an amazing experience to come her ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Always an amazing experience to come here!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roy's is the best for seafood

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

So consistently great. Seafood selection and preparation is outstanding. The only place for fresh Seafood Hawaiian fusion style. Aloha Hour 4-7 starts the event off on a great start with drink and appetizer specials. Try the ribs and poke.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.