About Roy's - San Francisco

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Business Meals (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Romantic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Healthy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
2791 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Always excellent food. Pricey but found a nice affordable wine by the glass.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Great as usual. Eaten there a few times, and it never is bad. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Roy's was great for our business meeting. Staff was pleasant and courteous and the food was great. Our out-of-town guest enjoyed themselves. Thanks! :-)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I used to live this place. Food price has significantly gotten more expensive and quality has gone way down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Quiet on a weekend but great black cod and super service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The tuna poke was almost room temperature as opposed to cold, which felt odd. The rest of the food was decent but not memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere were great! The Hawaiian menu is awesome and everything was delicious! The drinks were great, the wine list had some wonderful offerings and the service and staff were attentive without hovering. Had a great time at Roy's

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food and service. We always enjoy dining here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Excellent dinner with excellent service. The wait staff was very professional . We had a variety of dishes at the table including fish and beef and all were excellent. The wine list was large enough for us to find something we liked.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Took my mom for her 75 birthday with family. Busboy accidentally spilled water on on my wife's back. He was new, it was just water, manager came over immediately and took care of matters. Accidents happen so no biggie, my wife was very understanding and told the busboy she's not angry and tried to get him to smile. Food was excellent! Service was awful! As a group of 6, 3 were served at once and had to wait an additional 3-5 minutes for the other 3 to come so we could eat. Sad thing was, this was for all 3 courses. Server never once stopped by to see how our meal was. We talked to the manager, he was great and handled everything in a very professional manor. I'd definitely go back for the food, just will hope for a different server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The whole dining experience was great. However, I did not appreciate our waitress chasing us out the door asking for the remaining bill . Our bill was paid in full by credit card and a gift card. She should have check with the manager on duty ( since he was the one who settled our bill) before she chased us making us feel like criminals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The manager, Trey Winton, and the server, Sylvia, could not have made the evening more enjoyable. The spectacular creative food did not hurt either.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I have been to this Roy's location many times. It never disappoints. Food, service, and ambiance are always excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went to Aloha hour first before dinner. During the Aloha hour, we had Tempura-crusted Ahi Roll and Kalua Pork Sliders. My husband really likes the Kalua Pork Sliders. The Tempura-crusted Ahi Roll was not how I thought it would be. It had such tiny amount of Ahi. The roll was more rice than Ahi. We had Hawaiian Martini which we liked the best out of all the cocktails during that time. We had another and took to our table for dinner.

Of course we had to order Roy's delicious melting hot chocolate soufflé first so that it will be ready when we finish our main dish. My husband had Grilled Filet Mignon & Butter Roasted Maine Lobster Tail. Tasty but the lobster tail was not juicy as when I make it. I had Roy's Trio

(Hibachi Grilled Salmon - Misoyaki “Butterfish” - Blackened Island Ahi). They were all moist and delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Roy's made us feel special on our 2 year anniversary! Our server was great, the food was very good ( especially the scallops and the LAVA CAKE!) and they provided us with orchids on the table, a complimentary dessert and a photo at the end of the meal. It pricey, and the food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Celebrations

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

As always, our dinner was incredibly delicious! The host was very accepting of our tardiness as it took us an hour and 20 minutes to go .6 miles from our hotel due to the 100,000 people marching in the women's parade and we could not cross Market st. without going all the way to Embarcardero and down Mission. When finally arriving everything was wonderful as planned except there was a very cool vent blowing on us throughout dinner and we had to wear our winter coats throughout this special dinner which took away much of the specialness of the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great place to have a great dinner. Service was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Steak was perfectly cooked but soup was very bland

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Outstanding date night and birthday celebration. Service was outstanding and Chef Partner, Bart Yunker, visited us to ascertain how he could address our request for a plant-based dinner. We told him we would trust his suggestions for a four course meal. His selections were a grand slam! Great presentations, unique offerings and very delicious! Kudos to Chef Yunker and his San Francisco team!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Always a great place to eat I have been many times and would recommend to anyone

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was fantastic and the cocktails were delicious. The servers were attentive enough and we had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Dining experience started poorly with a table that seemed to be anticipating the "big one" as it tilted back and forth. Found a menu and knife had been sacrificed to try to balance the tilt-a-whirl top to no avail. Finally moved to a different table. Once the earth stopped moving the lobster pot stickers were savory but could have used a little more sauce. Caesar salad pleasingly spicy. Mixed seafood entree of lobster, scallops and shrimp was very good with all of the different textures and flavors standing up to the mix. Wife's salmon was substantial in portion and well done. Server was very busy with multiple tables - presumably tables that were well balanced. Still in all Roy's is a welcome destination; a bit too noisy and with music that seemingly had no connection to a fine dining venue - more attuned to a Hard Rock audience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always enjoy dining at Roy's, it can be a special occasion or just a dinner for two. The staff is most helpful to explain the items on the meal and make it enjoyable for the younger set. I really enjoy bringing the family for a great dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Just so/so. MEdicore food. If you lie chain food this is fine place to sample TGIF like fusio food.

Shrimp cooked in oil that wan't hot enough,, yadayada.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Have visited Roy's in several US cities and have never been disappointed!

Their Hawaii location is my favorite!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

All good.----------------------------------------------------------------

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Start with Aloha Hour at the Bar, drink and food specials and move to the Dinner menu. Bar service is on spot... friendly and knowledgeable of all menu items. Everyone from reception to Wait/Bar staff are very attentive. Food is out of this world fresh and tasty.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Arrived 15 minutes late to our reservation, which was also closing time, and they still sat us, treated and served us very well, complimenting us on our anniversary and very kind till the very end. Very impressed and would definitely come back when visiting again. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's our 33rd anniversary and we celebrated with by staying at the Palace Hotel, 2 blocks from Roys. We have eaten at many Roys both in SF and in Hawaii. We had a fabulous dinner, excellent service. At the end our server brought us a complimentary dessert and took our photo which she presented to us at the end of dinner. It was fabulous! A great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love this restaurant! Hawaiian Fusion... best Butterfish, fabulous Shortribs and great Australian Lamb chops.... delicious desserts and a good bar and wine list...

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful Christmas Eve dinner with family. Food was wonderful and service was absolutely great! We Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were late due to traffic and yet we were seated right away. I greatly enjoyed the Maui Wowie Salad lots of different textures and tastes. Very light and refreshing. The Calamari was also delicious, large portion, cooked perfectly. It was served nice and hot. The fries were so good we order a second serving for the table. Service was excellent. The Waiter must have overheard our toasting one of the party's birthday and brought out a special dessert, a very light lemon cheese cake in a crumbly crust. Exquisite. A lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I needed a place for a group. No where would host over 10 for lunch. This was a great accommodating place. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Sorry to report that my team of 18 people waited two hours after being seated for dinner. This caused us to miss our follow-on evening plans, and some of the group needed to leave. Very disappointing. I would definitely not come here with a group.

On the plus side, when the food arrived, most of us thought it was great (2 of 18 didn't care for their meals).

They did apologize, offered a small credit on the bill (3%) and another 3% in gift cards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Service was very good and quite friendly. The restaurant is on the small side, very popular and with it comes the noise level. The food was tasty, middle eastern cuisine with no beef on the menu. The no beef left one of my guests with no options as he is a beef or pasta only guy. He had coffee as the rest of us dined. Due to the size of the restaurant a table for 5 was awkward. It is definitely favored by the lunch crowd. Our lunch was served quickly and hot. Great for a quick business lunch, not the best for the business negotiation lunch.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Overpriced and uninspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This particular restaurant has good service and the traditional Roy's menu. Not great location but worth the walk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

It was my husband's birthday. We have dined there several times and was not disappointed. He had a wonderful birthday. Love, love, love the Ebi Roll.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Over priced. Mediocre food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very disappointing! It was very loud and the food was not great. Overcooked steak came with cold mashed potatoes. The sushi was so-so. Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service was extremely slow. The busboys came to the table to clear dishes. We had a guest who wanted to take home her leftovers. They never came back with her food and we had to wait at the end for them to fix her leftovers. We waited for a second cup of coffee for half an hour and finally had to get up and ask our waiter where our dessert was and we needed more coffee. The rib eye steak was ordered medium rare and came well done. They did provide us with a steak cooked correctly, but we had to wait. We have been going to Roy's for a long time in SanFrancisco, Hawaii and Los Angeles. This experience was not what we are used to and we are very disappointed. Hope the restaurant can remedy the problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Expensive, passé, and over-rated with the worst service I've had in years. Cocktails arrived 30 minutes after we sat down, each priced at $20 for a non-call Manhattan and old-fashioned. They also arrived 10 minutes after our starter. Main course arrived while we were having the starter and wine arrived half way through that. No explanation, no apology. Food was good, but at $12 per scallop I want my mouth to sing. Not very healthy either with a lot of butter enriched sauces and a single deconstructed Brussels sprout constituting the vegetable. So noisy we could not have a good conversation. Sports bar in the room as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I saw TravelZoo offer a 4-course menu for 4 people for Roy’s and decided to give it a try… It was easy to make the reservation. We got there 30 minutes before our reservation so we decided to go to the bar. We each order a drink and decide to order the Lobster Potstickers from their Happy Hour menu. After 30 minutes, our table was ready but we still haven’t received the Lobster Potstickers. So we told the bartender to cancel our order or bring it to our table. He says, I will bring it to our table and it is on the house. Super Nice!!!!

At our table a manager come over and take our voucher detail and explain to us the menu option. Before we order our food, the Lobster Potstickers from the bar come out and we decide to try it before deciding on what to order. The Lobster Potstickers was the bomb!!! I don’t remember what we order but do remember that all the appetizers and the entrée were excellent. I do remember the desserts, Roy's melting hot chocolate Souffle and pineapple upside down cake. It was so delicious we actually went back a couple month later after our dinner at another restaurant just to get the melting hot chocolate Souffle again We also find out that they offer Happy Hour after 9pm. So we order a few more cocktails with our dessert.

The manager, server and bartender are excellent and so are the food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

we had a travelzoo coupon along with decent tasty food and good service and good atmosphere in sf.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 28, 2016

It has been a few, maybe more than a few years, since I last dined at the Roy's in San Francisco

and sadly, the restaurant has managed to stay in business and perhaps even thrive, while the quality and dining experience continues to be at a level below that of the Roys' restaurants in Pebble Beach and Hawaii. All the boxes are checked off: inventive menu, quality ingredients, friendly staffing and attractive dining room---but there is no wow factor nor anything that makes me want to return again and again. A simple appetizer such as the chicken spring rolls could have been so much more than a rather bland and very greasy fried roll. The special of filet mignon and Maryland crab cake disappointed slightly with an overly salty crab cake. Of course the signature chocolate dessert was very satisfying.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The experience was not what I expected from Roy's. We had a Travel Zoo voucher - so not sure if that played a part or not...we got the crispy chicken spring rolls - which did not come with the sauce they were supposed to, and were a little bland. The Caesar salads were just kind or boring and had to flag someone down to get some pepper (as the runner did not come with any and there was none on the table). My husband had the Mongolian ribs and they were good, but my salmon was just mediocre. Overall it was a disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was served lukewarm. The food tasted like it was prepared some time ago. We sent the lobster bisque soup back because it wasn't hot. The turkey was brined and wasn't better than anything I could have had at a Hometown Buffet or any other run of the mill restaurant. The service was average. The ambiance was nice but the quality of meal was the most critical element.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Butterfish continues to be my favorite dish there. Attentive servers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.