Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Roy's - San Francisco

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Delight in Easter brunch at Roy's. We will be open early at 9AM offering a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Business Meals (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Romantic (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (7)
Casual (6)
Authentic (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
2814 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

I have never been disappointed at Roy's. It is a favorite spot for a business lunch without too much disruption. The food is always excellent, the wait staff friendly and efficient, and the portion sizes for a business lunch are perfect. We are never rushed. I will go back to Roy's whenever I want to have a business lunch that is casual, but allows us to focus on the topics we need to discuss.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Roy's and been to many. Our favorite still our home town in San Francisco. Ordered filet and ribeye cooked rare was perfect. Ordered butterfish light on the sauce for less sodium and was perfect. Tonight's dinner 5 stars

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We were at Roy's to celebrate my friends birthday. They really outdid themselves by putting fresh flowers on the table along with a card with her name and Happy Birthday wishes! Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

They have fantastic food. Four people in our group and we all tried something different; we were not disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

While the food was delicious, the service was seriously lacking. I've eaten here on multiple occasions and this is not the norm. We had dirty plates left on our table for extended periods of time and waited long periods of time between wine refills. Server was polite, but rarely checked on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice experience for a special occasion (wife's birthday); dinner followed a visit to the MOMA.
Food was delicious; best fried rice I ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Good service but not value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

This is my go-to restaurant to celebrate my birthday as it's more of a special occasion place since it's a bit pricey. The butterfish dish is my absolute favorite! The servers are very attentive and were great about providing water and clearing our dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was excellent. Hawaiian martini, fillet, and scallops were among the best we've ever had. Absolutely wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Having been to Roys in Las Vegas and Hawaii we thought about trying it in SF.

A mistake from entering the restaurant we weren't welcomed, the restaurant was off beat. The waiter wasn't knowledgeable and additionally rude. The food was mediocre for $60/head which isn't acceptable. The best part was the lava cake which was great, but the rolls were average, the poke unfresh and old.

The corporate office was nice to call us and offer us $50 to visit but we had such a bad time that we will not use that offer. They said the SF manager would call us and nothing has happened. Think this show how much the restaurant doesn't care.

There are so many better places to spend $60. Unless they change Roys will be out of business in 12 months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We have been dining at Roys SF for over a decade. In the past few years, we've seen a slight decline of the overall experience, but tonight we were really disappointed. I think if a fine dining establishment needs to resort to travelzoo coupons, it's generally a sign things aren't going well. In our previous visit, the dining room was bustling with guests using a coupon. That meal, my lamb was overcooked and the quality and portion of meat were sad - more befit a $22 price tag than near $50. I let the experience go but tonight returned to find again lackadaisical service and pretty unremarkable food. The Maui wowie salad was tired and lacked any pop - over dressed with maybe three little shrimp and virtually no avocado. The chicken satay was accompanied by peanut butter. Everything felt a little cold and skimped. My butterfish portion could have gone down in one big mouthful if I weren't trying to savor it. We spent a long time in between courses with empty plates, empty wine glasses. I wish that instead of focusing on redesigning the upstairs dining room, they would refocus on quality of food, preparation, timing, and attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The sushi rolls are excellent. The ambiance is nice but still kid friendly as Roy's has Keiki meals with appetizers and a chocolate sundae for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I spent my 50th birthday at Roy's in Hawaii and I've just spent my 64th birthday at Roy's in San Francisco. Both events have created wonderful memories. The blood orange infused vodka lemon drop was excellent. All the entrees were excellent and the complimentary dessert was fabulous!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice experience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Pretty good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love this restaurant... Great food and location.

Last night was the worst experience we have encountered. The food was great, but the server was horrible.

He started off with an attitude and we had no idea why. As he checked on us throughout our dinner he conveyed irritation and acted as if we were an afterthought as he passed by.

At the end of our meal, he offered to box up our leftovers and stated that he would put them in separate containers. He combined my food with rice that absorbed all the sauce. I asked why they were together in the same container and he stated "the gentleman said it was fine." Problem was, he hadn't spoken to my date about this.

Given his demeanor all evening, lying was the straw that broke the camel's back on this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Dirty dishes - chocolate cake on the bottom of a "clean"
Plate that was delivered to our table. Dirty silver ware and bathroom was disgusting. Expected more from Roy's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Anniversary and the food and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food was served quite slowly. Other than that everything was great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I had a wonderful time here... everything was great from the birthday set up, the staff and Food. Will come back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I will always have soft spot for Roy's, its where I proposed to the love of my life.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was not as good as usual. The salad was wilted and the vegetables tasted old. The miso was done differently than in the past. The dessert was the best part of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The lobster bisque was amazing! Loved the crab fried rice as well. Overall dining experience was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Always excellent food. Pricey but found a nice affordable wine by the glass.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great as usual. Eaten there a few times, and it never is bad. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Roy's was great for our business meeting. Staff was pleasant and courteous and the food was great. Our out-of-town guest enjoyed themselves. Thanks! :-)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I used to live this place. Food price has significantly gotten more expensive and quality has gone way down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Quiet on a weekend but great black cod and super service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The tuna poke was almost room temperature as opposed to cold, which felt odd. The rest of the food was decent but not memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere were great! The Hawaiian menu is awesome and everything was delicious! The drinks were great, the wine list had some wonderful offerings and the service and staff were attentive without hovering. Had a great time at Roy's

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food and service. We always enjoy dining here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Excellent dinner with excellent service. The wait staff was very professional . We had a variety of dishes at the table including fish and beef and all were excellent. The wine list was large enough for us to find something we liked.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Took my mom for her 75 birthday with family. Busboy accidentally spilled water on on my wife's back. He was new, it was just water, manager came over immediately and took care of matters. Accidents happen so no biggie, my wife was very understanding and told the busboy she's not angry and tried to get him to smile. Food was excellent! Service was awful! As a group of 6, 3 were served at once and had to wait an additional 3-5 minutes for the other 3 to come so we could eat. Sad thing was, this was for all 3 courses. Server never once stopped by to see how our meal was. We talked to the manager, he was great and handled everything in a very professional manor. I'd definitely go back for the food, just will hope for a different server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The whole dining experience was great. However, I did not appreciate our waitress chasing us out the door asking for the remaining bill . Our bill was paid in full by credit card and a gift card. She should have check with the manager on duty ( since he was the one who settled our bill) before she chased us making us feel like criminals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The manager, Trey Winton, and the server, Sylvia, could not have made the evening more enjoyable. The spectacular creative food did not hurt either.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I have been to this Roy's location many times. It never disappoints. Food, service, and ambiance are always excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went to Aloha hour first before dinner. During the Aloha hour, we had Tempura-crusted Ahi Roll and Kalua Pork Sliders. My husband really likes the Kalua Pork Sliders. The Tempura-crusted Ahi Roll was not how I thought it would be. It had such tiny amount of Ahi. The roll was more rice than Ahi. We had Hawaiian Martini which we liked the best out of all the cocktails during that time. We had another and took to our table for dinner.

Of course we had to order Roy's delicious melting hot chocolate soufflé first so that it will be ready when we finish our main dish. My husband had Grilled Filet Mignon & Butter Roasted Maine Lobster Tail. Tasty but the lobster tail was not juicy as when I make it. I had Roy's Trio
(Hibachi Grilled Salmon - Misoyaki “Butterfish” - Blackened Island Ahi). They were all moist and delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Roy's made us feel special on our 2 year anniversary! Our server was great, the food was very good ( especially the scallops and the LAVA CAKE!) and they provided us with orchids on the table, a complimentary dessert and a photo at the end of the meal. It pricey, and the food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Celebrations

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.