Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Roy's - San Francisco

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

OPEN Christmas Eve regular hours and serving our full menu.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Groups (18)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Business Meals (15)
Romantic (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Healthy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
3001 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was lacking yesterday at Roy's. We waited for about 20 - 25 minutes for the waiter to appear so that we could order, at which point we went and got the manager to track him down. Only two of three iced teas were refilled when the server abruptly left, ignoring the empty third one. We had track him down later, too, to ask him to bring back that iced tea pitcher. But, it was probably an off day, since we've had good service there before.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall good food and great attentive service. Good Asian fusion Hawaiian food. The mai tai is great and you have to order the chocolate soufflé it’s to die for.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Roy's never disappoints. I also love their chocolate souffle!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2017

We have been at Roy’s, both in Hawaii and San Francisco multiple times and must say that this feel short of expectations on the food. A salad which was listed as “romaine lettuce” came as mixed greens and when we asked our waiter he hadn’t realized it. When we asked to get romaine only he came back saying that the chef had opted for a mixed green option - we should either have been informed ahead of time or the menu shoud reflect it. Crispy lobster dumplings felt they had been reheated, perhaps because our reservation was for 9:30pm. Chocolate soufflé was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Great for celebrating special occasions! Our family loves to celebrate at Roy's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Fabulous fish dinner with the four different kinds in one dish. Shaw’s and had plenty for two people. Very creative and superb!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2017

For a Friday noon lunch, service was great. Lunch special a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2017

The bisque seemed to have too much ginger in it based on prior visits but beyond that excellent. Love those crispy lobster potstickers!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2017

I've been attending Roy's restraurants since the 1990's at multiple occasions. It's been a long-time favorite, including a recently wonderful experience at the one in Carmel. However, this particular evening in SF was the worst service I've ever had -- by far. Waiter and support staff had no clue whatsoever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We used a Groupon for a prix fixe meal for four and it was incredible!!! Absolutely delicious. The cost through Groupon was fantastic for a three-course meal, but the prices without the coupon would be extremely expensive. Nonetheless, for those who have no problem with cost, this is a fantastic restaurant that delivers an incredible, edible experience.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Roy's used to have very good fusion cuisine but this time it was a disappointment. The rack of lamb was dry and tough and tasteless. Even the service was sub-par as we had to ASK for a steak knife to cut the rack (which normally would have come with the dish). Our combination plate food was luke-warm, not hot. Overall, a disappointment. We have been to SF Roy's many times and other Roy's in many cities. We will not return in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2017

My girlfriends birthday was extraordinary there. They gave her a wonderful note and the service was immaculate. Thank you guys. 4 years in a row, it’s her favorite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Hosted a business meal at Roy's on Tuesday. Service impeccable as always. Food was very well prepared. I always enjoy the seafood. The only knock is that it is very expensive so best for a business meal.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Disappointed. What has happened to this iconic restaurant? Those go the food was great and service, wonderful, the ambiance was awful, with two TVs got no at once,on different channels, and the restaurant was extremely noisy.
What a shame. Introducing the TV’s brought it down to the level of an every day bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Always have the best experience at Roy’s. Their service is exceptional. Food is delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We frequent Roy's in Maui whenever we go. Nice to get to enjoy his cuisine when we re home. Before dinner we enjoyed sitting at the bar trying several of his creative drinks and puu puus. My husband had the special short rib and butter fish special. I had a full butterfish entire which is never a disappointed. We wrapped up our evening with Roys warm chocolate soufflé and a complementary dessert from the restaurant. Both were delicious!

Thank you Nick for a fantastic evening at at Roy's .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Service, food and drink were excellent. It’s just the rest room cleanliness that was disappointing to us.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Had Thanksgiving dinner here with my son so we had their prefix 3 course meal. The food was delicious and the turkey was very moist. We’re definitely coming back here for special dinners or whenever we’re in the city! Our server sorry forgot his name was very attentive so definitely a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2017

There for Thanksgiving dinner. At the height of the dinner rush, the service slowed to a crawl. It took perhaps 10-15 minutes for a server to come to our table. We even had to ask for the wine menu! Thank goodness the food redeemed the suboptimal service. We had the classic pre-fixe menu rather than the Thanksgiving pre-fixe. The butterfish and seared ahi dishes got excellent reviews from our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

Went there for thanksgiving. Waiter forgot some things.we felt like we have to hurry. Food overpriced for the quality. Cooking my own food at home is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Our server was rather scarce and the set menu was uninspiring. We didn’t feel the quality justified the cost however we didn’t say anything, just grateful we were able to get thanksgiving reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

Thanksgiving

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Very nice place to fine dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Ordered my fav, ribeye. Spouse ordered filet and lobster tail. Generous portions all cooked to perfection. Wine (Malbec) and cocktails (Caddie 'Ritas) we're just as nice. Classy and eloquent, but not at all pretentious. And a great value. Chef and staff...job well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2017

The dinner was good however; my friend had the Braised Short Ribs of Beef and it was dry so he finished my excellent Hand Carved Rustic Rub Crusted Ribeye. I would highly recommend the ribeye to anyone who goes there.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2017

was very good until my friend went to the restroom and found how gross and bad the restroom was. my stomach turned as I learned that and wondered how cleaned was the food we ate. I can't recommend the place because of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2017

We tried a wide variety of items from the menu and found all of the seafood dishes to be ordinary. Did not taste extremely fresh or flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Service was very attentive and nice food presentation. The crispy rolls were excellent. I received a nice complimentary(not common these days)birthday dessert and a wonderful gift card for $20 for a return visit...except the date on the back states expires 1/2017...but they probably meant to write 1/2018. A special dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2017

White fish was VERY fishy smelling and was also over cooked. Salmon was good but can't understand how such a bad piece of seafood can leave the kitchen and smell so stale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We did not have a good experience. Waiter and Manager said different thing about the Groupn.
They ended up subtracting the $59 dollars and we paid extra sir filet. Still expensive for the price fix. Hawaii Roy's is great, so we were expecting the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Roy's has terrific food, terrific service, and fabulous cocktails. We were there on a Living Social voucher, which some restaurants might take advantage of to skimp on the menu or the service. Roy's does neither. Be aware, though, the cocktails--which are fantastic--are not inexpensive. So bring money, but be prepared to enjoy yourself.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2017

The service was excellent. I ordered the macadamia crusted white fish. It was so delicious that my daughter wanted to trade her order with mine.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Inviting atmosphere, exceptional pre fixed menu,
Friendly and attentive staff and amazing libations I highly recommend this restaurant. 👍👍👍

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Drinks are the main attraction here, especially the Hawaiian Martini. Delicious. . .and potent! The food was fine but not especially memorable. Service was outstanding at the bar and the table. Ambiance is casual elegance. This is a great spot for after work cocktails. After two martinis you might as well stay for dinner as you won't be motivated to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Fantastic experience from the moment I walked in and was greeted by name, to being seated and greeted and served by Brian, then an outstanding meal with something extra from chef/partner/owner extraordinaire Bart! Roy’s San Francisco continues to impress year after year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2017

For a Wednesday evening, service was very slow. Noise level out the door.
Still, good food and will come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food was bland and over priced. Nothing extraordinary about Roy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Delicious, fresh sea-food, as always. Love the Butterfish, in particular.
Can't wait to come back again soon, possibly for dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2017

The food was excellent. Service was attentive but not obtrusive. The waiter was helpful in making choices for dinner and dessert. This restaurant is not inexpensive but for special occasions is definitely worth it. We chose the 4 fish sampler. My favorite was the butterfish and the ahi. Yum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Staff at Roy's was awesome, the food was amazing, can't wait for the next trip there

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.