About Roy's - San Francisco

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roy's - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Eve! We will be offering our full menu and we will be open regular hours to celebrate the holidays with you and your loved ones.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

The start of a new holiday tradition! Join us on Christmas Day from 12-8PM for an exclusive 3-course holiday menu for only $59.95! We will also offer a Children's Menu and a limited version of our Classic Menu. Reserve your table today.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve with a remarkable four-course menu, starting at just $55.
We will have extended hours until 1AM to ruing in the New Year with you!

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Groups (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Modern Decor (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Romantic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2575 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Expensive, passé, and over-rated with th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Expensive, passé, and over-rated with the worst service I've had in years. Cocktails arrived 30 minutes after we sat down, each priced at $20 for a non-call Manhattan and old-fashioned. They also arrived 10 minutes after our starter. Main course arrived while we were having the starter and wine arrived half way through that. No explanation, no apology. Food was good, but at $12 per scallop I want my mouth to sing. Not very healthy either with a lot of butter enriched sauces and a single deconstructed Brussels sprout constituting the vegetable. So noisy we could not have a good conversation. Sports bar in the room as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

we had a travelzoo coupon along with dec ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

we had a travelzoo coupon along with decent tasty food and good service and good atmosphere in sf.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It has been a few, maybe more than a few ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 28, 2016

It has been a few, maybe more than a few years, since I last dined at the Roy's in San Francisco

and sadly, the restaurant has managed to stay in business and perhaps even thrive, while the quality and dining experience continues to be at a level below that of the Roys' restaurants in Pebble Beach and Hawaii. All the boxes are checked off: inventive menu, quality ingredients, friendly staffing and attractive dining room---but there is no wow factor nor anything that makes me want to return again and again. A simple appetizer such as the chicken spring rolls could have been so much more than a rather bland and very greasy fried roll. The special of filet mignon and Maryland crab cake disappointed slightly with an overly salty crab cake. Of course the signature chocolate dessert was very satisfying.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The experience was not what I expected ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The experience was not what I expected from Roy's. We had a Travel Zoo voucher - so not sure if that played a part or not...we got the crispy chicken spring rolls - which did not come with the sauce they were supposed to, and were a little bland. The Caesar salads were just kind or boring and had to flag someone down to get some pepper (as the runner did not come with any and there was none on the table). My husband had the Mongolian ribs and they were good, but my salmon was just mediocre. Overall it was a disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was served lukewarm. The food ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was served lukewarm. The food tasted like it was prepared some time ago. We sent the lobster bisque soup back because it wasn't hot. The turkey was brined and wasn't better than anything I could have had at a Hometown Buffet or any other run of the mill restaurant. The service was average. The ambiance was nice but the quality of meal was the most critical element.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Butterfish continues to be my favorite d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Butterfish continues to be my favorite dish there. Attentive servers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A taste of Hawaii without being in Hawai ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A taste of Hawaii without being in Hawaii. Good service and good food selection. The drinks are good. Always a good place . The short ribs fall off the bone and is good. We had a travel zoo special and I don't know if this changed the menu as the food potions were smaller and the food seemed different and not the same quality and flavor. Hope it's only because of the special, although that's not a way to make a good impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We found this restaurant to have a nice ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We found this restaurant to have a nice ambiance but the tables were too close together to have private conversation. The food was ok. Spring roll was good, Caesar salad was boring, and salmon was good but rice bland. Filet needed more seasoning and more interesting vegetables. Dessert was very good. Prices high for martini.... $18! It was disappointing as my folks go to Roy's in So. California often and this was our first experience. Not sure we will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I purchased a Travelzoo for 4 for $115.0 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I purchased a Travelzoo for 4 for $115.00. As indicated by my 3 star review the experience was average. IL the food had little taste , the service was ok and had to wave down someone for several requests. The cost for 4 people was fair, but certainly not worth it if I had paid full price. I am surprised because I 've heard so many good things in the past. It makes me wonder if they are owned by someone else .

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant was very good, but one bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The restaurant was very good, but one big negative was no valet parking! Very difficult to find parking. It used to have valet parking. Also encountered heavy traffic on Saturday from 4:30om to 5:30pm.

They did overcook know on combo plate but did make good on it by giving us $40 in gift cards. Server andmngr helpful on gift card issue. Later discovered that they deactivate gift cards after 5 years if not used.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A refreshing taste of Hawaii in San Fran ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A refreshing taste of Hawaii in San Francisco. The food presentation was stunning and original.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic. We had a Travel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was fantastic. We had a TravelZoo coupon for a fixed price meal and it was excellent. Service was slow even though we told them as we sat down that we had theatre seats. It took 5 requests to get the glass of wine I ordered to the table but they knew they'd made a mistake and comped the wine.

Worth going for the quality of food. Perfect Kona coffee and a chocolate dessert, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I ate at Roy's with a client on Wednesda ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I ate at Roy's with a client on Wednesday; we were there for lunch and were completely underwhelmed with the experience. The service was terrible -- we were rushed to order, brought the wrong appetizer, told that we were incorrect when inquiring about said appetizer, and were not offered any dessert or coffee/tea, just handed the bill -- and while the food was good, I would definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

As usual the food was excellent. The cho ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 15, 2016

As usual the food was excellent. The chocolate soufflé is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server unfamiliar with menu, food medioc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Server unfamiliar with menu, food mediocre at best on 2 separate visits; I won't be returning....

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

We took advantage of the recent Travelzo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We took advantage of the recent Travelzoo $59 special for a 4-course meal for two (with offerings from a limited Travelzoo menu). That is a very good value, but I don't think Roy's presents a good value for what you receive at their normal menu prices. The food was good, but nor overly imaginative, especially with the appetizer (crispy chicken spring rolls which were quite bland tasting) and the Caesar salad that was offered. Our main courses (the braised short ribs and the Teppanyaki Shrimp) were very good, presented well, but were not necessarily creative nor special in any way.

The services was fine, with the meal paced fairly well. The atmosphere is what you'd expect from a chain like Roy's with an open kitchen and open dining area and bar. This place seems more suited to business meals than special occasion dining, with a moderate, though not energetic, noise/energy level.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We arrived for an early dinner for 7 inc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We arrived for an early dinner for 7 including children. And I must say I was disappointed with the very slow service. There were only a few tables seated and it took for EVER to get our dinner. Our wait staff was barely around and did was not around for me to let them know that my child's drink was just carbonated water. I was very unhappy with the service for the amount of $$$$$ we spend at dinner for 7 This was my first disappointment at the restaurant. I brought another family to enjoy our favorite restaurant for a special gathering and unfortunately it was a bust. Quite disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Delicious!!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I visited the SF location as ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My wife and I visited the SF location as I travel much to Hawaii and enjoy Roys. We wanted to give this location a visit to enjoy the food. The service was so poor we finally started to use another server to get help as our server spent the entire night at a table of eight versus the other five to six tables in their respective area.

Very disappointed as I am a fan of Roy's that will unfortunately not be back to the SF location and I live 1/2 mile away.

Starting to get discouraged that the service industry seems to not care anymore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

the bathroom was in a strange location, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

the bathroom was in a strange location, near kitchen.

=

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

They made our first wedding anniversary ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

They made our first wedding anniversary memorable! Our table was decorated with orchid petals with a anniversary greeting from Roy's. The service was outstanding and the food was amazing! My husband and I were savoring every bite of our meal. To top it off, they serve us an anniversary dessert, "Kafir lime tart" with a candle and an anniversary greeting in chocolate writing. Lastly, the manager gave us a $25 gift card for our next visit.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Braised short rib was the best thing we ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Braised short rib was the best thing we had ever eaten

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had our "date" night at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My husband and I had our "date" night at Roy's on a Friday evening. Because of Roy's popularity, we made a reservation and were seated immediately upon arrival. As usual, the food was very good and the presentation of it was exceptional. However, the little things that would have made it a great experience were missing. First, I was wearing black pants and was given a white dinner napkin (while I noticed others wearing dark clothing received a black napkin). Next, I advised our waiter that I was allergic to shellfish. When we ordered calamari for an appetizer, the waiter thoughtfully checked with the kitchen and confirmed that the calamari was cooked in the same oil as shellfish before placing our order...which we declined. I was disappointed that the waiter did not offer appetizers from the bar menu as an alternative. The pineapple upside down cake that we ordered in advance was burnt. When our bill came at the end of dinner, it was not for our meal. When the waiter returned with the "correct" bill, it included the calamari that we had declined. These were all little things, but they took a bit of the shine off of the experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Roy's is one of the best restaurants in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Roy's is one of the best restaurants in San Francisco, the food and service is GREAT!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice and easy to find parking on Saturda ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Nice and easy to find parking on Saturday night. Quiet setting with good food, though salmon portion was kinda small, it was tasty. Filet Mignon was definitely a good portion size.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The food is just okay and definitely not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food is just okay and definitely not worth the price. Nothing special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

It was great.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After going to Roy's in Waikiki for year ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

After going to Roy's in Waikiki for years we were so excited to see they had a location in SF that we could visit on our trip there. Unfortunately all our food and both of our drinks were of very poor quality and after much disappointment we left after salads and went and had a phenomenal experience at Mamacita's. Our server also left a lot to be desired. Took ten minutes to greet us and then an additional 15 to bring us a not spicy in the slightest jalapeño margarita. I love Roy's in Waikiki and will continue to go there but this location pales in comparison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food, great service. I asked to be ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food, great service. I asked to be out of there within an hour and I was. They're accommodating and courteous. And everything I had was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to SF location for years arou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Been going to SF location for years around twice a year. Usually totally enjoy the food but was Very disappointed with the food this time. Food was bland, rice was over cooked and crusty, salad was overdressed, etc. It was not a busy night and so we were perplexed as to why so little attention was given to the food. In addition, prices have gone up which made the whole experience further disappointing. All diners in our party agree with this review.

Incidentally, visited Roy's in Honolulu last December and enjoyed our dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

When we sat down to wait for our drinks ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

When we sat down to wait for our drinks we were told we could not take the "happy hour" drinks to our table....or if we did they would not honor the happy hour price. Sad since we ended up paying more than $200 al together. If you are a cheap restaurant then act like it....if not then pay attention to customer service and silly things like this. I will not be back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The glass of wine was a "half pour." Th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The glass of wine was a "half pour." The food was okay. The always excellent Blackend Ahi was under cooked (too rare) and smallish portions. Was informed that new owners are present. Sad experience for what once was an excellent restaurant. Will definitely think twice before I return, if ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

there's a reason why its easy to get a r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

there's a reason why its easy to get a reservation here so easily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Went here on a TravelZoo voucher. Was i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Went here on a TravelZoo voucher. Was impressed by the offering of their fixed menu. I certainly felt that we received great value for what we paid. I've gone to several Roy's in Hawaii & have always enjoyed them. I'll be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as was the service. We u ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was great as was the service. We usually come here every time we come to San Francisco and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Roy's San Francisco lost it's lusture an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Roy's San Francisco lost it's lusture and exceptional dining experience.

My first experience at Roy's was in Honolulu decades ago. Now that was a dining experience. It set the gold standard for all Roy's future restaurants.

We presented a Travelzoo coupon for 4 people. The menu was a different menu from the standard one. The portions were smaller but that didn't bother us. The seared tuna (yellow din tuna) not ahi for the coupon, was bland. We got what we paid for.

Don't forget Roy Yamaguchi isn't cooking. It's whoever is on duty.

There are plenty of restaurants in San Francisco to choose from that have similar prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Always a winner...we've eaten here often ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Always a winner...we've eaten here often and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our server, Austin, was great! Good pac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our server, Austin, was great! Good pacing and helpful. I, however, did not like where we were seated which was right next to a door that servers and bussers were coming in and out of. Please instruct your bussers to slow down coming out onto the dining floor and to not cut corners. My chair was bumped several times by them - not cool.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

I bought a deal on TravelZoo, for a four ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I bought a deal on TravelZoo, for a four-course meal for two.

It turns out that the menu for this deal is very limited, with few choices. I ordered the macadamia-nut crusted fish of the day, and it was dried out and not very appealing. And there were no macadamia nuts in sight -- not a crumb of a nut that I could detect. The salad was mediocre, the dessert looked store-bought and was unremarkable. And the wait staff rushed us relentlessly, trying to pull our plates away even as we were eating off them. I love Roy's in Hawaii, and it's possible that the San Francisco venue lives up to the Roy's reputation, but the four-course discount deal is NOT the way to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The food was great but the service was t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food was great but the service was terribly slow even though it was not that busy in the restaurant. We were there over 2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.