Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Roy's - San Francisco

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Romantic (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Casual (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 14 hours ago

Canoe Appetizer for two, Misoyaki Butterfish, Blackened Ahi Tuna and the Hot Chocolate Soufflé = An Amazing Meal!

Great Service and atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I really love Roy's in Oahu, so I couldn't wait to try the SF location before going to the theater. My friend and I really enjoyed the aloha hour at the bar before being seated for dinner - we had delicious appetizers and a cocktail. Try the 1988, it's tasty and potent. When we were seated for dinner, we continued to enjoy the ambiance, and of course the food. Our server was friendly, but we could have used more frequent check ins from him, such as when to put our dessert order in. Also, I overheard the table next to me ask if there were any specials, and their server gave them the info. I think this info should be offered automatically - I heard the server list a special (making their famous "trio" entree into a "quad") - my friend and I would have gotten that item for sure, had we been informed that it was an option. For these reasons, I rated the service as "fair" for this visit. In general, I would recommend Roy's in a heartbeat, because it is just so darn good, worth the money, and worth the time to get there.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We were in Hawaii last month and had a wonderful time and the best meal at Roy's Waikiki. We decided to keep the Hawaiian vibe going and went to Roy's San Francisco to reminisce. We all had been to Roy's San Francisco before so we didn't have much expectation, but we were all pleasantly surprised! The food has improved so much and the service was implacable! Overall we had a really great time and delicious. Will probably go again if we want to have Hawaiian flare food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall the experience was good. Our server was friendly and enthusiastic. The food was very good. The salmon was delicious but I didn't care for the chocolate tort for dessert. It was kind of dry.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent food and impeccable service!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband and I love Roy's on the Hawaiian Islands so we decided to try the SF location. Calamari appetizer was delicious, but the fish plates were not as exciting. The fish on the plates were small and the vegetable didn't seem fresh. The price was pretty high as well, but that may be a SF city thing. Service was attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This appears to be primarily an expense account restaurant. We used groupon. Rib appetizer and dessert were fabulous. Less impressed w the salmon and rice accompaniment.

Pleasant surroundings and service and fine for the Groupon price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I've been to the Roys in Maui many times, and the San Francisco location definitely meets the Roys standard!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Edamame took a very long time to arrive at our table and we had to request it several times before it finally arrived. My mother's fish arrived burnt and they needed to cook a new piece of fish for her. Have been to this Roy's before, but was disappointed with the experience and quality on this visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My server person was super amazing! He provided one of the best service I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was wonderful. We will be back.

Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our thee menu choices:,Lobster California Roll, Misoyaki, and Roasted Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi were all very flavorful and cooked to perfection. The service was quick and attentive. We found a small piece of cardboard in a side dish of mushrooms. When we pointed it out, the staff was extremely apologetic, replacing the dish, comping the cost of the dish, and our dessert too! We will definitely go back the next time we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Nice bar area and good food. Did a Groupon though and noticed our dishes weren't as fancy. Oh well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Awesome, ambiance for a romantic dinner is exceptional

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Roy's is our go to place for special occasions like anniversary and birthday. They know how to treat you right with a special message acknowledging the special occasion. The charred ceasar salad is really special as are the fish dishes and the key lime dessert.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Amazing place to have my birthday dinner. Service was great and food was superb! We tried the poke, auntie lei's aloha roll, butterfish, macadamia crusted mahi mahi and chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream. Highly recommend for special meals!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Roy's is fun. No relation whatsoever to his Hawaii restaurant. This is fun like a theme park, not fun like great food. Prices are not cheap, food is a step up from kitsch. Restaurant looks terrific in a rapidly changing (for the better) part of town. Take your business associates here, not your good friends.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The entrees themselves were warm but the sides on both plates were cold. Scallops we're good, butterfish was okay, but everything was a little underwhelming. For $40/entree we were expecting more. Lots of competing restaurants in SF we would have rather spent the money on. Roy's food and quality has really gone downhill, sadly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Although I live in The City, I had never dined at Roy's in San Francisco previously. Several years ago, on two different occasions, my friend and I had dinner at two of Roy's restaurants on Oah'u, including the original Roy's. My impression of the quality of the San Francisco branch is as positive as it was with the two outlets in Hawai'i.

The mango mojito and jalapeño margarita were both fun cocktails. Both of us ordered the special menu. It included an appetizer, main course, and dessert and was priced at a reasonable $54 per person. We each ordered one of the two entree choices on the special menu, Chilean sea bass and beef short ribs, and we split them. Both were excellent. Service by our waiter, William, was superb. And he has a good sense of humor. I would gladly return to Roy's SF.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Celebrated my gf's 21st Birthday and our 1 year anniversary and was very disappointed with the food. Food was extremely mediocre for the price you pay.

Mango margarita: mango flavor did not shine. Pretty boring

Lobster potstickers: filling was ok, sauce was good, dough was tough

Poke: flavors was ok. Nothing special

$59 tasting menu
Starter:
veal angelotti: pasta was decent but flavors was bland

Main:
72 hour braised wagyu short rib w/ blk garlic mash: very disappointing. The short rib was barely braised. Definitely not a 72 hour braise as said to be. You had to cut it with a knife. We were given regular mash instead of the blk garlic mash. Total disappointment.

Dessert: basically a frozen mousse which was ok

Ribeye steak: super bland and was quite tough for $49

I honestly wouldn't return again......

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Roy's reputation has always been top-notch. I have been to many in California and Hawaii. Went to the one located on Mission and 2nd St in San Francisco. Service was absolutely laughable. The waiters and serving staff looked and operated like novices and on their first day of training at a Chili's.
One thing after another kept happening which was turning my friend's birthday celebration dinner into an embarrassment. Just when we were about to give up and go home and rip Roy's a new on one yelp, Mr. David Searls, Managing Partner, stopped by our table to see "how things were going", I let him know everything that was going wrong that night. To our surprise, Mr. Searls comped our entire meal with a huge apology. Thank you Mr. Searls for saving the night and shedding a shade of decency over a cloud of unfortunate service provided by his waitstaff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wine by the glass over priced. Food over priced.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent service. Management went out of their way for this special occasion, birthday celebration! I would highly recommend this place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Fabulous evening in all respects! Beautiful restaurant, great service and amazing food!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had a great evening celebrating a birthday. The staff was very welcoming, helpful with suggestions & courteous. The food was great, will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Food was amazing. Great service. I will always go to Roy's in San Francisco because they are consistent.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch
Great Service for a party of 11

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food, good service, nice ambiance, the decor needs updating, and the pricing can be better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was disappointed in the value. The food was just decent, our service was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice place with really good Asian Fusion menu. It is a bit pricey, can't say I would go there again unless we were celebrating a special occasion. Our server was attentive, but our table was the only one without a candle on it and the water boy missed us as he went around filling everyone's glass. Our glasses were empty. It's not really a big thing but when you are an expensive restaurant there is an expectation that little things like that are not missed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Spicy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We are long time customers (over 20 years) so we know Roys very well. Groupon menu was a little strange. The service was extremely slow though it was very friendly. Food was good but not as spectacular as usual. Not enough interesting sauces.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We loved our meal at Roy's. I had the best salmon I've ever had and my companion had a pork chop that was excellent, too. The starter Caesar salad wasn't special but it was fine. Desserts were rich. Service was old school--efficient but not obtrusive. As much help as you needed or wanted. The ambiance is energetic but seats are not on top of one another. We were especially pleased with the Groupon pricing--quite a deal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

They did a great job accommodating a party of 16. They were flexible and helpful. The food was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I've been going to Roys for many years and have been a fan. This time, the food was disappointing. The Mahi Mahi sandwich was terrible. I expected a decent piece of grilled fish with trimmings. Instead, it wasbroken up fish mixed with a mayo-like sauce(?) making it like a bad tuna salad with too much mayo. Terrible.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Overall always good food and service. A taste of Hawaii without being in Hawaii. Sushi rolls are small and a little pricey. Appetizers are also small portions and also pricey. The other items on the menu are good and is fairly to a bit over priced, but is good food and tasty.
Good for entertaining guest or special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Have been to this Roy's location two or three other times and this experience was by far the worst. I don't know if we caught them on a bad day or if they've started having issues lately, but we had an 8:30 reservation and even though the restaurant was fairly empty, we were sat in a section that was waited on by bar staff. It also meant we were sitting in a louder crowd as it was part of their bar seating.

But that was just the beginning of the issues. The kitchen was "off" all night. We had a couple of dishes come out cold - it was clear there was food sitting around waiting for the rest of the dishes to be prepared. And multiple dishes weren't seasoned properly, with tons of salt being poured onto a couple different things we ordered, and one of the desserts being terribly dry.

Rather than comping the bad dishes, management gave us a two $20 gift cards (less than the value of the messed up dishes) that cannot be used together. Needless to say, we didn't find this to be much of an apology.

I'd recommend staying away until they fix the issues they're having.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Booked through Open Table. Greeted when we arrived and seated. Was not busy. Waiter was attentive and knowledgable but not pushy. Fish was great. Loved my scallops!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Delicious lunch, as usual, had the signature Butter Fish, and can't wait to try the lobster potstickers next time!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Disorganized, chaotic, server sneezed into his hands and immediately handled food at the food pick up location; no edamame beans, coffee was cold; Hawaiian martini was just so so; butterfish was great; too loud.
We have been to many Roy's locations and this was by far the absolute worst. Will not return ever

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.