About Roy's - San Francisco

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Business Meals (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Romantic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tapas (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2764 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fantastic and the cocktails ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was fantastic and the cocktails were delicious. The servers were attentive enough and we had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Dining experience started poorly with a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Dining experience started poorly with a table that seemed to be anticipating the "big one" as it tilted back and forth. Found a menu and knife had been sacrificed to try to balance the tilt-a-whirl top to no avail. Finally moved to a different table. Once the earth stopped moving the lobster pot stickers were savory but could have used a little more sauce. Caesar salad pleasingly spicy. Mixed seafood entree of lobster, scallops and shrimp was very good with all of the different textures and flavors standing up to the mix. Wife's salmon was substantial in portion and well done. Server was very busy with multiple tables - presumably tables that were well balanced. Still in all Roy's is a welcome destination; a bit too noisy and with music that seemingly had no connection to a fine dining venue - more attuned to a Hard Rock audience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Just so/so. MEdicore food. If you lie ch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Just so/so. MEdicore food. If you lie chain food this is fine place to sample TGIF like fusio food.

Shrimp cooked in oil that wan't hot enough,, yadayada.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Have visited Roy's in several US cities ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Have visited Roy's in several US cities and have never been disappointed!

Their Hawaii location is my favorite!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All good.------------------------------- ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

All good.----------------------------------------------------------------

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Start with Aloha Hour at the Bar, drink ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Start with Aloha Hour at the Bar, drink and food specials and move to the Dinner menu. Bar service is on spot... friendly and knowledgeable of all menu items. Everyone from reception to Wait/Bar staff are very attentive. Food is out of this world fresh and tasty.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arrived 15 minutes late to our reservati ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Arrived 15 minutes late to our reservation, which was also closing time, and they still sat us, treated and served us very well, complimenting us on our anniversary and very kind till the very end. Very impressed and would definitely come back when visiting again. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's our 33rd anniversary and we celebra ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's our 33rd anniversary and we celebrated with by staying at the Palace Hotel, 2 blocks from Roys. We have eaten at many Roys both in SF and in Hawaii. We had a fabulous dinner, excellent service. At the end our server brought us a complimentary dessert and took our photo which she presented to us at the end of dinner. It was fabulous! A great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant! Hawaiian Fusion. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love this restaurant! Hawaiian Fusion... best Butterfish, fabulous Shortribs and great Australian Lamb chops.... delicious desserts and a good bar and wine list...

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Christmas Eve dinner with fami ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful Christmas Eve dinner with family. Food was wonderful and service was absolutely great! We Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were late due to traffic and yet we w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were late due to traffic and yet we were seated right away. I greatly enjoyed the Maui Wowie Salad lots of different textures and tastes. Very light and refreshing. The Calamari was also delicious, large portion, cooked perfectly. It was served nice and hot. The fries were so good we order a second serving for the table. Service was excellent. The Waiter must have overheard our toasting one of the party's birthday and brought out a special dessert, a very light lemon cheese cake in a crumbly crust. Exquisite. A lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I needed a place for a group. No where w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I needed a place for a group. No where would host over 10 for lunch. This was a great accommodating place. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Sorry to report that my team of 18 peopl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Sorry to report that my team of 18 people waited two hours after being seated for dinner. This caused us to miss our follow-on evening plans, and some of the group needed to leave. Very disappointing. I would definitely not come here with a group.

On the plus side, when the food arrived, most of us thought it was great (2 of 18 didn't care for their meals).

They did apologize, offered a small credit on the bill (3%) and another 3% in gift cards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was very good and quite friendly ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Service was very good and quite friendly. The restaurant is on the small side, very popular and with it comes the noise level. The food was tasty, middle eastern cuisine with no beef on the menu. The no beef left one of my guests with no options as he is a beef or pasta only guy. He had coffee as the rest of us dined. Due to the size of the restaurant a table for 5 was awkward. It is definitely favored by the lunch crowd. Our lunch was served quickly and hot. Great for a quick business lunch, not the best for the business negotiation lunch.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Overpriced and uninspired.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Overpriced and uninspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

This particular restaurant has good serv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This particular restaurant has good service and the traditional Roy's menu. Not great location but worth the walk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my husband's birthday. We have d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

It was my husband's birthday. We have dined there several times and was not disappointed. He had a wonderful birthday. Love, love, love the Ebi Roll.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced. Mediocre food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Over priced. Mediocre food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Very disappointing! It was very loud and ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very disappointing! It was very loud and the food was not great. Overcooked steak came with cold mashed potatoes. The sushi was so-so. Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The service was extremely slow. The bus ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service was extremely slow. The busboys came to the table to clear dishes. We had a guest who wanted to take home her leftovers. They never came back with her food and we had to wait at the end for them to fix her leftovers. We waited for a second cup of coffee for half an hour and finally had to get up and ask our waiter where our dessert was and we needed more coffee. The rib eye steak was ordered medium rare and came well done. They did provide us with a steak cooked correctly, but we had to wait. We have been going to Roy's for a long time in SanFrancisco, Hawaii and Los Angeles. This experience was not what we are used to and we are very disappointed. Hope the restaurant can remedy the problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Expensive, passé, and over-rated with th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Expensive, passé, and over-rated with the worst service I've had in years. Cocktails arrived 30 minutes after we sat down, each priced at $20 for a non-call Manhattan and old-fashioned. They also arrived 10 minutes after our starter. Main course arrived while we were having the starter and wine arrived half way through that. No explanation, no apology. Food was good, but at $12 per scallop I want my mouth to sing. Not very healthy either with a lot of butter enriched sauces and a single deconstructed Brussels sprout constituting the vegetable. So noisy we could not have a good conversation. Sports bar in the room as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

we had a travelzoo coupon along with dec ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

we had a travelzoo coupon along with decent tasty food and good service and good atmosphere in sf.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It has been a few, maybe more than a few ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 28, 2016

It has been a few, maybe more than a few years, since I last dined at the Roy's in San Francisco

and sadly, the restaurant has managed to stay in business and perhaps even thrive, while the quality and dining experience continues to be at a level below that of the Roys' restaurants in Pebble Beach and Hawaii. All the boxes are checked off: inventive menu, quality ingredients, friendly staffing and attractive dining room---but there is no wow factor nor anything that makes me want to return again and again. A simple appetizer such as the chicken spring rolls could have been so much more than a rather bland and very greasy fried roll. The special of filet mignon and Maryland crab cake disappointed slightly with an overly salty crab cake. Of course the signature chocolate dessert was very satisfying.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The experience was not what I expected ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The experience was not what I expected from Roy's. We had a Travel Zoo voucher - so not sure if that played a part or not...we got the crispy chicken spring rolls - which did not come with the sauce they were supposed to, and were a little bland. The Caesar salads were just kind or boring and had to flag someone down to get some pepper (as the runner did not come with any and there was none on the table). My husband had the Mongolian ribs and they were good, but my salmon was just mediocre. Overall it was a disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was served lukewarm. The food ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was served lukewarm. The food tasted like it was prepared some time ago. We sent the lobster bisque soup back because it wasn't hot. The turkey was brined and wasn't better than anything I could have had at a Hometown Buffet or any other run of the mill restaurant. The service was average. The ambiance was nice but the quality of meal was the most critical element.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Butterfish continues to be my favorite d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Butterfish continues to be my favorite dish there. Attentive servers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A taste of Hawaii without being in Hawai ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A taste of Hawaii without being in Hawaii. Good service and good food selection. The drinks are good. Always a good place . The short ribs fall off the bone and is good. We had a travel zoo special and I don't know if this changed the menu as the food potions were smaller and the food seemed different and not the same quality and flavor. Hope it's only because of the special, although that's not a way to make a good impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We found this restaurant to have a nice ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We found this restaurant to have a nice ambiance but the tables were too close together to have private conversation. The food was ok. Spring roll was good, Caesar salad was boring, and salmon was good but rice bland. Filet needed more seasoning and more interesting vegetables. Dessert was very good. Prices high for martini.... $18! It was disappointing as my folks go to Roy's in So. California often and this was our first experience. Not sure we will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I purchased a Travelzoo for 4 for $115.0 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I purchased a Travelzoo for 4 for $115.00. As indicated by my 3 star review the experience was average. IL the food had little taste , the service was ok and had to wave down someone for several requests. The cost for 4 people was fair, but certainly not worth it if I had paid full price. I am surprised because I 've heard so many good things in the past. It makes me wonder if they are owned by someone else .

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant was very good, but one bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The restaurant was very good, but one big negative was no valet parking! Very difficult to find parking. It used to have valet parking. Also encountered heavy traffic on Saturday from 4:30om to 5:30pm.

They did overcook know on combo plate but did make good on it by giving us $40 in gift cards. Server andmngr helpful on gift card issue. Later discovered that they deactivate gift cards after 5 years if not used.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A refreshing taste of Hawaii in San Fran ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A refreshing taste of Hawaii in San Francisco. The food presentation was stunning and original.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic. We had a Travel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was fantastic. We had a TravelZoo coupon for a fixed price meal and it was excellent. Service was slow even though we told them as we sat down that we had theatre seats. It took 5 requests to get the glass of wine I ordered to the table but they knew they'd made a mistake and comped the wine.

Worth going for the quality of food. Perfect Kona coffee and a chocolate dessert, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I ate at Roy's with a client on Wednesda ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I ate at Roy's with a client on Wednesday; we were there for lunch and were completely underwhelmed with the experience. The service was terrible -- we were rushed to order, brought the wrong appetizer, told that we were incorrect when inquiring about said appetizer, and were not offered any dessert or coffee/tea, just handed the bill -- and while the food was good, I would definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

As usual the food was excellent. The cho ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 15, 2016

As usual the food was excellent. The chocolate soufflé is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server unfamiliar with menu, food medioc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Server unfamiliar with menu, food mediocre at best on 2 separate visits; I won't be returning....

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

We took advantage of the recent Travelzo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We took advantage of the recent Travelzoo $59 special for a 4-course meal for two (with offerings from a limited Travelzoo menu). That is a very good value, but I don't think Roy's presents a good value for what you receive at their normal menu prices. The food was good, but nor overly imaginative, especially with the appetizer (crispy chicken spring rolls which were quite bland tasting) and the Caesar salad that was offered. Our main courses (the braised short ribs and the Teppanyaki Shrimp) were very good, presented well, but were not necessarily creative nor special in any way.

The services was fine, with the meal paced fairly well. The atmosphere is what you'd expect from a chain like Roy's with an open kitchen and open dining area and bar. This place seems more suited to business meals than special occasion dining, with a moderate, though not energetic, noise/energy level.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We arrived for an early dinner for 7 inc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We arrived for an early dinner for 7 including children. And I must say I was disappointed with the very slow service. There were only a few tables seated and it took for EVER to get our dinner. Our wait staff was barely around and did was not around for me to let them know that my child's drink was just carbonated water. I was very unhappy with the service for the amount of $$$$$ we spend at dinner for 7 This was my first disappointment at the restaurant. I brought another family to enjoy our favorite restaurant for a special gathering and unfortunately it was a bust. Quite disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Delicious!!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I visited the SF location as ...

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My wife and I visited the SF location as I travel much to Hawaii and enjoy Roys. We wanted to give this location a visit to enjoy the food. The service was so poor we finally started to use another server to get help as our server spent the entire night at a table of eight versus the other five to six tables in their respective area.

Very disappointed as I am a fan of Roy's that will unfortunately not be back to the SF location and I live 1/2 mile away.

Starting to get discouraged that the service industry seems to not care anymore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

the bathroom was in a strange location, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

the bathroom was in a strange location, near kitchen.

=

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.