About Roy's - San Francisco

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco
Roy's - San Francisco

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco Bay Area
Seafood
San Francisco
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

special occasion (56)
fit for foodies (51)
good for groups (38)
See All
romantic (30)
great for lunch (26)
neighborhood gem (16)
notable wine list (13)
kid-friendly (10)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2494 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

this was always one of my go to places t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

this was always one of my go to places to have exceptional service. However, it's not the same level was as in the past. Now it's just an over price place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Had dinner with our two adult kids. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had dinner with our two adult kids. The restaurant was 2/3 full in the main dining room and the bar lounge area was wide open. We were stuck in the bar, the service was weak because the bartenders had to handle both roles (they were both decent people, but were overwhelmed), not their fault. Manager never even looked our way, never asked how everything was or had water brought to our table after waiting 15+ minutes for someone to stop by, he was focused on the dining room and those guests, very obvious. Glad we dropped $300 for a dinner!

We were expecting a great experience and had a second rate, pushed into the lounge and were treated like an after thought dinner. Weak

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great evening. Excellent value for a rom ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great evening. Excellent value for a romantic anniversary dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been Roy's fans since 1996 when ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have been Roy's fans since 1996 when we lived on Oahu. We have dined at Roy's on Oahu (both locations), Kauai, and the Big Island - as well as Roy's in Plano, Austin (very sad when it closed), and San Francisco. The restaurant never disappoints. Although the menu changes a bit, there are some favorites that are offered nearly everywhere. The food and the staff are consistently excellent, and the chocolate souffle is the perfect ending to any meal! Thanks for a lovely lunch in San Francisco.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I always enjoy dining at Roy's.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I always enjoy dining at Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Go to Roy's frequently and haven't been ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Go to Roy's frequently and haven't been disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our wait person and bus person provided ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

our wait person and bus person provided exceptional service. one of the best that I have experienced in several years.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate special occasio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great place to celebrate special occasions! Came here for a birthday. They got my note through open table and were fabulous! Our table was nicely decorated with purple orchids and a sweet birthday message to our birthday girl! They even gave her a gift card to come back as a token of their thanks for choosing to celebrate with them. Talk about excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was introduced to Roy's by some friend ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was introduced to Roy's by some friends. Everyone is amazing from the moment you step into the restaurant. My daughter and I both had the butterfish which I highly recommend. We have sat at the bar on a previous visit and it was so enjoyable.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roy's S.F. Gets the highest marks overal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Roy's S.F. Gets the highest marks overall. From reception greeting, bartender service to servers, this restaurants is tops. Food is incredibly tasty and served hot and pleasing to the eye. We always come away full and satisfied. Doesn't get much better than Roy's S. F.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oh, Roy! Your beautiful butterfish neve ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Oh, Roy! Your beautiful butterfish never disappoints. Wonderful place to dine; food and service are impeccable. Very pleasant room, serene and big enough for the noise level to be appropriate for good at-table conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food presentation and decorations are be ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food presentation and decorations are better than the taste. Ingredient quality are mediocre. Not worth the price. Also a little too salty for our taste.

Service is good.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was fantastic, the ambiance was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was fantastic, the ambiance was great, but aside from our main server, there were 2 other individuals that kept asking if we were done or if we wanted our food wrapped. We wanted to sit down and talk to each other and it felt like they were trying to hurry us up and leave. What's weird is that the place wasn't over-crowded. After I paid the bill, only then were we left to our own privacy to enjoy a conversation with each other. I guess my only advice to this restaurant is to not pester your customers if they're done or not to the point where it feels like you're being rushed to get done and leave.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

San Francisco is full of excellent resta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

San Francisco is full of excellent restaurants; don't spend your money or time at Roy's SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great food even if you skip the butterfi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food even if you skip the butterfish (but try not to)!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great, the food wasn't a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was great, the food wasn't all that great considering the price. It seemed as it has been made and sat a while before served. I could see he potential for it to be good, just wasn't great to me. I order the fish trio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Don't order the scallops, unless you lik ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Don't order the scallops, unless you like a slab of pork fat with each one. Perhaps I should have asked more questions before I ordered. The service was odd, or more accurately annoying. Overall the food (except the scallop dish) was adequate, but given the prices it should have been fabulous. I was expecting something fun and special, but left disappointed, and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Roy's used to be our favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Roy's used to be our favorite restaurant, but the food and service aren't the same. They put salsa on a lot of the dishes that makes it more like a Latin restaurant than Hawaiian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food. Good service. Tuna entre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food. Good service. Tuna entree was amazing. They made it super special by printing congratulations on a card for my graduation. They also sent out dessert that said congrats which I really appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Usually a favorite, but probably due to ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Usually a favorite, but probably due to a very large party, food seemed a bit off this time. We,ve loved roys for 20 years, mostly in hawaii where we lived.. the short ribs were like a slow cooker re ipie.. butterfish overcooked. Not worth the high price!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

One of our favorites

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We first went to Roy's on Maui, a year or so after they opened. Since then, we have tried them wherever we see them, whenever we get the chance. Always yummy, with great wine selections and lovely deserts. Good place for dining out with friends for birthdays too when you can't agree on meat or fish. :D

We like the frequent menu changes, prix fix specials, and wine pairing events they have from time to time.

They have some fun new tropical themed drinks too. Makes for a little holiday fun during non-holiday times.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Awed Customer

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Roy's San Francisco you never cease to amaze me; whether I am dining with colleagues, family or friends, the service is always impeccable and the food totally awesome - and you are always finding ways to up your game - absolutely awesome and I will eat at your venue, again and again and again! :-)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great business lunch option

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had a business dinner. The food was great, the service was fast and polite. Dinner prices are quite high. The lunch menu is better value.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was incredible. I love Roy's and I have been to every location that it is available. The butterfish was spectacular and the chocolate souffle was to die for. I recommend this place to everyone I talk to

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Butterfish is amazing. The seafood trio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Butterfish is amazing. The seafood trio is fabulous. 1988 cocktail is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not typical Roy's experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My spouse and I have been to every Roy's location in both Hawaii and mainland. It is one of our favorite restaurants due to consistent excellent food, atmosphere, and service; and since 2003 when we first ate at one, we take advantage of any opportunity to go to a Roy's when we travel, which is at least 1-2 times monthly given our professions. The last time we visited the San Francisco location was about 4-5 years ago. Our visit this time was disappointing. We first went to dinner on June 1. The service was ok (somewhat attentive but much less so than typical Roy's experience), and it was the first time either of us had a dish less than excellent (the Thai chicken). (In contrast, the Maui wowing salad was excellent). I thought it might have been a fluke, so I came back the next night (June 2) for a business dinner and brought a colleague who'd never visited a Roy's before. I was embarrassed after bragging so much about how great Roy's is. The service was not good - was very slow and inattentive. For instance, we got cocktails when we sat down and weren't asked about another cocktail or drink refill until dinner, there were extremely long wait periods between courses, and we weren't told about the desserts (ones that require 20 min) until we were well into dinner, and the wait staff left us alone for very long periods without checking in at all. This was not due to it being crowded, as it was not. On top of that, the courses were not great (calamari appetizer which was not flavorful and fried hard, and the ahi, which I have every time I go to Roy's, was not as flavorful as usual), which again, is unusual for Roy's. This was not a great value for substantial money spent both nights. We likely will give Roy's a try again in the future but not sure whether we'll do the San Fran location.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Always a great experience. Never disappo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Always a great experience. Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good and server very atten ...

vip
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was very good and server very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Compared to other Roy's restaurants, thi ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Compared to other Roy's restaurants, this one has terrific location but very low value for the high cost. The artwork was downright inappropriate, completely missing the mark and actually insulting to Hawaiian culture. I will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Terrible...had reservations on Mother's ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Terrible...had reservations on Mother's Day at 6:45p with my family of 6....it took 1 hour for us to get seated. While sitting it took our waiter almost 15 mins before he came to our table to just take our drink order ! The food was bland, we needed to ask our waiter for salt n pepper. Over all, it was just a horrible experience, especially when you're trying to celebrate Mother's Day with your wife and children

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

I don't mind paying extra money for an e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I don't mind paying extra money for an excellent food, but Roy's restaurant is the other way around.... Expensive ,for not so great food... On top of that they charge you extra for insurance for the server "MANDATORY."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Hawaiian fusion

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always great food and service. Good place for romantic and special celebrations. Hawaiian fusion food at its best...the short ribs are awesome and to finish off the chocolate soufflé is to die for and a must...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

not the best experience - should have been better

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

They should bring back the large and small portions they used to have. $45 for a lunch entree is too expensive. I had the short ribs and they were full of fat - yuck! I have had them before and they were much better. I think I may have gotten a bad piece, but it was not good at all. We spent about $140 before tip for lunch for two and did not have cocktails and we both just wanted water. I splurge plenty on lunch, but given how bad the short ribs were this was not a good value. the place was busy and we could not wait to get the waiters attention or I would have sent them back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Good place for group

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Thanks for arranging our big group. We are satisfied so much. Good foods, services and patient. We all had fun during the dinner. Thank you.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice spot for friends to gather for a great meal!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The waiter offered the specials and was attentive to our food and meal needs.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small portions and slow

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Food was decent, but we both left hungry after ordering their 4 course meal and had to eat again when we home. For $each it was a poor value. And the service was so so slow. We won't be back.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Great food and good service.

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We hadn't been there in awhile and took some friends for their first time. The new menu options were great and our friends thoroughly enjoyed the place and the food. we especially liked the canoe and the Hawaiian Martinis. We won't stay away so long in the future! Be back real soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had dinner with a colleague from out of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Had dinner with a colleague from out of state. The meal and service was FIRST CLASS and exceed my expectation. I wanted to show off Roy's and you did not disappoint. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nearly Great

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Attentive, informed, friendly service. Flexible kitchen. Crab cake: the best ever. Prawns and asparagus: perfectly sauteed. Rice: delicious. Lobster tail: flavorful but slightly rubbery; a bit overcooked?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Definitely a great experience good food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Definitely a great experience good food good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.