Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Roy's - San Francisco

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Business Meals (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (5)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2955 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Outstanding experience every time here. Worth the travel to SF for great dining and super friendly and attentive staff.
Aloha Hour at the Bar from 4-7 pm with excellent drinks and appetizer selections and prices. Seafood selections for dinner are awesome and presentations are deliciously appealing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Used a Travelzoo coupon, so the value was there. We both had a Mahi Mahi fish main course, which had a tasty crust on it, but was a bit dry. Lemon tart dessert was excellent. Four courses - two of them shared - however was too much food for a couple in their late 70s.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This venue was selected to celebrate my birthday. The staff at Roy's did everything possible to make our meal as special as possible. From flowers and a birthday card at the table when we arrived, to the special birthday dessert at the end of the meal. Our food was absolutely delicious and the service was impeccable.

Many thanks to Roy's for a perfect evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Have eaten at several Roy's in Tampa, Atlanta and Hawaii. This was disappointing experience. It was very noisy. Food was ok, service was good. Overall, not what we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Delicious, always-fresh seafood, and the butterfish (signature dish) is a must-try!
Thanks, and looking forward to another visit soon!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Enjoyed the dinner! Have never eaten at the SF location but have been to the Orange County as well as two HI locations!
I will be back and plan to try the Aloha hour!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

My experience at Roy's was just perfect! I made a reservation for my anniversary, and they had already decorated our table with a special card and violet flowers before we arrived. We ordered the lobster potstickers, the misoyaki butferfish, and the braised short ribs. The butterfish literally melted in my mouth and the sauce was delicious. The short ribs were super juicy and even came with a side of macadamia nut cookies, miso soup, and kimchi fried rice. Best of all, they even gave us a complimentary chocolate souffle with ice cream since it was our anniversary. Highly recommend Roy's for anyone celebrating a special ocassion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Always enjoy excellent cocktails, food and wine at Roys

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Food was decent but short ribs were a bit dry. Overall a decent meal but nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Very pricey for the small amount of food. Ambiance not very nice for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We always enjoy Roy's whether in SF or Maui.
It was a busy night so our waiter was a bit taxed
We enjoyed our dinner as usual, especially the sticky ribs & fried calamari pupus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We celebrate our Anniversary every year at Roy's and they make it extra special with a greeting card and special dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always great service and the Butterfish never ceases to amaze me. :)

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I have eaten at various Roys in my lifetime and remember it very differently. You can just tell they are now owned by a company who spread sheets everything. The restaurant world of options is vast and Roys days have come and gone. Sorry...but it was really expensive and really below mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Surprisingly small portion of salmon that was overlooked on the salmon salad for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Service was outstanding. We were on a tight timeline and never had to tell them. they were on the spot for the entire meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Perfect place for a date night! Absolutely amazing food, service, and they treat you like family. Will definitely be back soon :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Ate at Roys in Hawaii 5 star. So was excited to go again here in Bay Area of San Francisco. Really disappointed the memu was really different not a large selection. I will go back in Hawaii but not to San Francisco. Also it was so hot in there a customer next to me and I had to use the menu to fan ourselves,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very disappointing.
The restaurant wasn't that crowded but it took a fairly long time to get water.
The wait server appeared rushed, and not overly friendly.
My wife's lunch entree was cold.
The busperson (who brought our food and cleaned up) was excellent.
When you pay $120 for lunch for 4, you should expect and get better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had a very enjoyable evening at Roys starting with an excellent happy hour cocktail at the bar. We had excellent service.....solicitous without being intrusive. The food was varied, good and plentiful. Will definitely go back next time we are in the city.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We got a travelzoo coupon for 4 people for $115. This was for 2 appetizers, 4 salads, 4 entrees, 2 dessert. Plenty of food for all. food was tasty and very well presented. Highly recommend trying to get one of the coupons!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant at all. Ever.
I even sent a complaint to the corporate office and have not heard back yet. That's how bad it was. There are so many better options in SF--go anywhere but here.
Beware of the poke--make sure you ask what is in everything if you can't/don't eat certain things, they put octopus in the poke without telling anyone (not on the menu; we asked what was in it). The food was average at best other than the disgusting poke. The roll we ordered was something I could get at my local safeway (and it would be better). Service? What service? Terrible. Dirty tables. Just yuck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wish there were changing tables in the restrooms, but otherwise great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Butterfish was fantastic as always. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food and service are excellent. However, no street parking in the area until 6pm which made our experience a little unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The staff at Rogs treated us so well, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Always a great night out with excellent service and food. And of course, the innovative cocktails. I always find something I want to try. The wine list is great too, though I've never made it that far. I recommend making an appetizer meal out of it - they have so many great ones and it gives you more taste opportunities. Sit at the chef's counter so you can watch them cook - it's slow motion zen. Really great.

Everyone really welcomes you here and you feel like any night is a special event.

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy, Spicy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We love Roy's! We have even planned trips around Roy's. This particular visit was not among one of our favorite experiences. We had been to this location before (several years ago) and it was fabulous! I hope it was just an off night!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Scallops had very little flavor and we were seated next to the kitchen entrance when there were plenty of other tables.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent setting, service and variety of food options. My meal was fabulous but my friend had a rice dish that was so salty she couldn't eat it. The waiter and manager offered to correct the issue and ultimately removed the charge from the bill voluntarily. The large restaurant allows for large groups and intimate consversations for smaller parties of 2.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Since our Roy's in Las Vegas closed up, this was a special treat for us. We look forward to eating here again the next time we are in San Francisco

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Celebrated fun trip in San Francisco. Used a trazelzoo voucher. Special menu was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Love the trio. A bit pricy but good to bring your business meeting.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great place for great south pacific/fusion types of food. Also sushi and plentiful seafood options. The place was packed on a Wednesday night and we had to wait 15 mins or so for our reservation. Because of the crowded nature, it was quite noisy. Our meals were excellent and we will definitely be returning.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I made a reservation on OpenTable for Sunday night at 9pm, for which I received an email confirmation. I called the restaurant at 8:50 to let them know we would be 5-10 minutes late because the symphony got out late. They told me that the kitchen closed at 9pm and my reservation was actually for 8:45. I said no, I have the email confirmation for 9pm and the hostess pretty much said "tough s***." Won't be going there ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent food ..excellent array of choices..friendly staff... good martini.. what more can you ask for..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We ordered a nice bottle of wine and then the regular menus were taken away and a very limited Travelzoo menu was brought to our table. A choice between 2 appetizers, neither of which appealed to us, a salad, limited entree choices and a choice between 2 desserts. The salad was an unappetizing lettuce (wilted), very small with a couple of tomatoes. We actually felt like second class diners. We had looked forward to a special dinner and had booked a hotel to spend the night in SF. An attractive setting, but I would not return. We had enjoyed eating at other Roy's.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We used the Travelzoo discount

The food was good.
Service terrible.

We asked several times for a refill of water.
Coffee came, no spoon... we had to take the fork from the other table given they already cleared our utensils.
The waiter was less than attentive. We noticed he was more attentive to the 'non-travelzoo' prefix clients.

We typically go on there for the aloha hour. The bartenders are great.

We've have parties there in the past. I feel the wait staff has either gone down or given we used a 'discounted' meal they didn't care to be attentive.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wonderful, incentive, and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.