Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Roy's - San Francisco

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's San Francisco located in bustling SoMa, just two blocks from the Moscone Center.

575 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Between 1st and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 777-0277

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Call For Details

Parking Details:
Additional parking is available in multiple garages on Mission Street and behind the restaurant on Minna Street. Parking fees vary.

Public Transit:
BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)

Executive Chef:
Nathan Payo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

We will be open early at 9AM. Join us for a 3-course brunch starting at just $36, or treat Dad to dinner with a special Chef's menu created for the occasion available from 3-CL.

Private Dining

Roy Yamaguchi is known the world over for pioneering Pacific Rim Cuisine - a melding of bold Asian Spices and European Sauces always with a focus on local ingredients and fresh seafood. Our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests.

Roy's - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (22)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Casual (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (3)
Spicy (3)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (0)
Open Kitchen (0)
Sort By:
S
2848 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Fabulous evening in all respects! Beautiful restaurant, great service and amazing food!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had a great evening celebrating a birthday. The staff was very welcoming, helpful with suggestions & courteous. The food was great, will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Food was amazing. Great service. I will always go to Roy's in San Francisco because they are consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch
Great Service for a party of 11

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food, good service, nice ambiance, the decor needs updating, and the pricing can be better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was disappointed in the value. The food was just decent, our service was great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice place with really good Asian Fusion menu. It is a bit pricey, can't say I would go there again unless we were celebrating a special occasion. Our server was attentive, but our table was the only one without a candle on it and the water boy missed us as he went around filling everyone's glass. Our glasses were empty. It's not really a big thing but when you are an expensive restaurant there is an expectation that little things like that are not missed.

Tags: Spicy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We are long time customers (over 20 years) so we know Roys very well. Groupon menu was a little strange. The service was extremely slow though it was very friendly. Food was good but not as spectacular as usual. Not enough interesting sauces.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We loved our meal at Roy's. I had the best salmon I've ever had and my companion had a pork chop that was excellent, too. The starter Caesar salad wasn't special but it was fine. Desserts were rich. Service was old school--efficient but not obtrusive. As much help as you needed or wanted. The ambiance is energetic but seats are not on top of one another. We were especially pleased with the Groupon pricing--quite a deal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

They did a great job accommodating a party of 16. They were flexible and helpful. The food was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I've been going to Roys for many years and have been a fan. This time, the food was disappointing. The Mahi Mahi sandwich was terrible. I expected a decent piece of grilled fish with trimmings. Instead, it wasbroken up fish mixed with a mayo-like sauce(?) making it like a bad tuna salad with too much mayo. Terrible.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Overall always good food and service. A taste of Hawaii without being in Hawaii. Sushi rolls are small and a little pricey. Appetizers are also small portions and also pricey. The other items on the menu are good and is fairly to a bit over priced, but is good food and tasty.
Good for entertaining guest or special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Have been to this Roy's location two or three other times and this experience was by far the worst. I don't know if we caught them on a bad day or if they've started having issues lately, but we had an 8:30 reservation and even though the restaurant was fairly empty, we were sat in a section that was waited on by bar staff. It also meant we were sitting in a louder crowd as it was part of their bar seating.

But that was just the beginning of the issues. The kitchen was "off" all night. We had a couple of dishes come out cold - it was clear there was food sitting around waiting for the rest of the dishes to be prepared. And multiple dishes weren't seasoned properly, with tons of salt being poured onto a couple different things we ordered, and one of the desserts being terribly dry.

Rather than comping the bad dishes, management gave us a two $20 gift cards (less than the value of the messed up dishes) that cannot be used together. Needless to say, we didn't find this to be much of an apology.

I'd recommend staying away until they fix the issues they're having.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Booked through Open Table. Greeted when we arrived and seated. Was not busy. Waiter was attentive and knowledgable but not pushy. Fish was great. Loved my scallops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Delicious lunch, as usual, had the signature Butter Fish, and can't wait to try the lobster potstickers next time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Disorganized, chaotic, server sneezed into his hands and immediately handled food at the food pick up location; no edamame beans, coffee was cold; Hawaiian martini was just so so; butterfish was great; too loud.
We have been to many Roy's locations and this was by far the absolute worst. Will not return ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wait staff nice and attentive, food could have been better

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had 2 servers who were amazing ---until the restaurant had more people come in after 630pm and then they went MIA and sucked. But they had time to be laughing and joking together against the server wall without paying attention to their guests. If I had less class I would have tipped them $1. I have 4 year old twins who ran out of attention span waiting for them to even look let alone come back to the table....when they had NO good reason to be delinquent. I had a min of $100 tip waiting for them after the first 30 minutes. Though they slowly chipped themselves down to me never wanting to go there again. Nice work people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Roy's is a very nice restaurant in downtown San Francisco. The menu had a wide selection of dishes that sounded very tasty. My appetizer, the canoe, was excellent. My entree was very good. Service was excellent. I'll be back and I'd recommend Roy's to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The evening started out on a bad note - my reservations was for 5 people (my family plus my son's girlfriend) but when we arrived we were seated at a table for 4 (of course making my son's girlfriend feel awkward). So they then added a chair at the end of the table for 4, making for a crowded table. Of course my review reflects my initial irritation and this really ruined my evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

So good! Got the filet mignon (medium rare) & maine lobster tail and it was amazing!!! Love Roy's and in already excited for our next trip there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Absence of public parking or valet parking is an inconvenience to diners. I had to drop my guests and walk a block away to park my car at a private parking garage that cost $15 dollars after 5 pm. I've travelled all over US and dined on high end restaurants with valet parking 99% of the time. Roy's has got to get their acts together and start being user friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful service and the always delicious Butter Fish keep me coming back. Very flavorful seafood and convenient location for a business lunch.

Tags: Healthy, ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We typically try and go there for our wedding anniversary. They always make us feel special and that we are truly part of their Ohana

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with a getaway weekend: Friday we uber'd from a Sacramento suburb into San Francisco, stayed at the plush Palace Hotel, dined Saturday evening at Roy's and uber'd home on Sunday. We had never dined at Roy's, but it exceeded our expectations. Excellent service, attentive and friendly staff, with great sampler starter selections and great "entre" sampler selections.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had a wonderful time dining @Roy's celebrating my husband's birthday. We've been here a few times and always had great service that's why we always want to come back. It really made my husband feel special with the welcome bday message and love that he was given a bday gift card to use for our next date night. Thank you all for your impeccable service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very disappointing, improvements needed all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great food as always, together with good wines. The steaks were particularly good. The only minor problem was the tight seating, which made it difficult to move around and talk to other people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 3, 2017

In addition to the excellent food, the fact that I could chat with my companions without having to shout was much appreciated! Friendly and efficient service, very pleased with my choice.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

They could not find our open table reservation which had been confirmed via email.
It was not a problem as the place was not busy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was good not great. We had the Aunt Lei's roll as an appetizer. The flavor was ok, but it was mushy and not as good as many other rolls we have had at half the price. The preparations were somewhat lacking from the descriptions and sounded much more flavorful than they were. The butterfish (black cod) was not nearly as good as Eddie V's, and was a very small portion for the price. We don't mind paying premium prices for good fresh seafood, but this was mediocre food at best. I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I have never been disappointed at Roy's. It is a favorite spot for a business lunch without too much disruption. The food is always excellent, the wait staff friendly and efficient, and the portion sizes for a business lunch are perfect. We are never rushed. I will go back to Roy's whenever I want to have a business lunch that is casual, but allows us to focus on the topics we need to discuss.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We love Roy's and been to many. Our favorite still our home town in San Francisco. Ordered filet and ribeye cooked rare was perfect. Ordered butterfish light on the sauce for less sodium and was perfect. Tonight's dinner 5 stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We were at Roy's to celebrate my friends birthday. They really outdid themselves by putting fresh flowers on the table along with a card with her name and Happy Birthday wishes! Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

They have fantastic food. Four people in our group and we all tried something different; we were not disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

While the food was delicious, the service was seriously lacking. I've eaten here on multiple occasions and this is not the norm. We had dirty plates left on our table for extended periods of time and waited long periods of time between wine refills. Server was polite, but rarely checked on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Nice experience for a special occasion (wife's birthday); dinner followed a visit to the MOMA.
Food was delicious; best fried rice I ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Good service but not value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great food, always fresh and creative. The prices are good for a classy restaurant

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.