About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Jessie Glessner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (54)
great for outdoor dining (50)
special occasion (44)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
romantic (30)
good for groups (20)
great for lunch (17)
notable wine list (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful dinner to celebrate our last d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful dinner to celebrate our last day of (selling books at) San Diego Comic Con. Beautiful venue, great staff, delicious food, I don't think I could expense a finer meal! Thank you Roy's, can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Some fish were more fresh than others. T ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 3 days ago

Some fish were more fresh than others. The mahi mahi tasted like a fish stick. But every thing else was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Yummy good fine delicious

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Yummy good fine delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined on a Sunday evening and Roy's w ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We dined on a Sunday evening and Roy's was out of many menu items from appetizers to desserts. Server became embarrassed about the situation and it became a running joke throughout the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Service was friendly and helpful. Beauti ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was friendly and helpful. Beautiful view of the water front. Black cod or butterfish was prepared with great seasoning and sauce. Great cocktails. One of my favorite meals in San Diego

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice cocktails and a delicious fusion co ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Nice cocktails and a delicious fusion concept even if a few dishes are overpriced and miss the mark. I'll still go back and bring friends despite the sauce on the butterfish being overly sweet and the Bok choy too tough to easily eat as a whole steamed vegetable. That's a kitchen getting careless with the cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were greated by a very rude, young ho ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were greated by a very rude, young hostess. We did not appreciate her at all. She gave a very bad first impression of the restaurant. The Manager should have a good talk with her. The waiter was great. The drinks were good & the food was average. We split a meal, got an appetizer, had 2 alcoholic beverages each & our bill was $90. So $110 including tip. Very pricey for an average lunch & rude hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

My wife and I thorougly enjoyed our dinn ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I thorougly enjoyed our dinner on our Anniversary. The food was excellent. Our service was excellent the personal touch with the card for the table was beautiful. This was our 3rd year in a row we have been back. So looking forward to our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our 1st dinner in San Diego for m ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was our 1st dinner in San Diego for my son's 21st birthday. My seafood trio was served cold and had to wait until after my son was done with his dinner; before I got mine back from the kitchen. My son's filet was a very low quality cut and he was disappointed as well. Ashley tried to accommodate, but should have offered a free drink or to remove 1 of the dinners from the bill for the poor food quality.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Our family wanted to eat dinner at Roy's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our family wanted to eat dinner at Roy's for the 4th of July because it was waterfront and fairly close to where the fireworks over the bay were being set off. It was a lovely dinner, except my maui maui was overcooked but our fantastic waitress made everything right. All the other dishes were perfectly delicious. We would highly recommend. The only thing we weren't too excited about was the prefixed dinner menu. We all thought it would have been much more enjoyable if we were able to choose off of the regular dinner menu. Otherwise it was wonderful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was terrific with accomodating ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The staff was terrific with accomodating our growing and shrinking group as friends joined us and other friends had to cancel ! The food was wonderful , the patio brilliant with color, and fun people and they got us right out on time for the summer POPS in San Diego Bay !!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came in to dine and celebrate our weddin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Came in to dine and celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a great dining experience and couldn't have picked a better location. We've mainly dined at the Hawaii locations, but was very pleased with this location. It was not only consistent with the quality of food and service we had been accustomed with at Roy's, but the location at the marina was awesome during sunset. My wife ordered the halibut special and I ordered the ribeye. Both were excellent and because we like to share each other's dish, we had the perfect surf and turf combo. Definitely recommend this restaurant and location for anyone in the San Diego area!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, wonderful service. Top ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful meal, wonderful service. Top notch in every way. They do everything right at Roy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great seafood trio!! Patio table , amazi ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great seafood trio!! Patio table , amazing view and people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful scenery outside! Waiter was ve ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Beautiful scenery outside! Waiter was very good and attentive. The food was just ok . Ordered the prix fix meal. Steak was thin and over cooked...didn't have time to send back. Overpriced for the quality of food. I've eaten at Roy's in Newport Beach...much better.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Celebrating my mom 70th birthday. Food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Celebrating my mom 70th birthday. Food was good!

They burnt the souffl├ęs and didn't do anything for the birthday person, really disappointing! Will not go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Celebrated our anniversary! Delish poke ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary! Delish poke and rolls! Had to have two rounds­čśŹ Chris served us and made our visit special! Thanks for the great evening

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Roy's. We ate outside on the patio overlooking the marina. Beautiful! As usual with Roy's, the food is amazing. The service was great and the ambiance was lovely.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience! We would definitely go ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great experience! We would definitely go again the next time we're in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food wasn't good, bad service, not kid f ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food wasn't good, bad service, not kid friendly, expensive for what you get. Plenty places more, far better!! Like Trulucks, Eddie V's, Fleming's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Fathers Day brunch was onolicius...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fathers Day brunch was onolicius...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our dinner at Roy's was magical! We sat ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our dinner at Roy's was magical! We sat outside on an unusually warm evening and watched an amazing sunset. The food was perfect! The restaurant brought us a chocolate lava cake with our anniversary wishes written in raspberry puree. Wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Polynesian drink, lobster pots ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I had the Polynesian drink, lobster potstickers, and Roy's trio of salmon, mahi mahi, and blackened ahi. Everything was perfect. I am still amazed... I am picky with my food and usually quite skeptical, especially when it comes to the cook of my fish. All three pieces of fish I got tonight was cooked to perfection. Buttery. Flaky. Melting in my mouth. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

There was a delay in seating us. The hostess graciously offered us a glass of champagne while we waited for an open table. Once seated, the service was exceptional. Menu is pricey so that the value equation comes up short. Nevertheless, it is an bay-front restaurant that did meet our fine dining expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were staying at the Marriott and did ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We were staying at the Marriott and did not want to travel far for our dinner. We enjoyed our short ribs and filet mignon entrees. Our server, Ashley, was personable and attentive. The noise level was uncomfortable at first as there were a few large parties nearby. Once the tables cleared, we enjoyed our meals better. The macadamia ice cream dessert was outrageous and delicious! Coffee refills were politely given. I would recommend even though this is a chain restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The entrees were fabulous but not served ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The entrees were fabulous but not served immediately because they were warm, instead of hot. Noise level so high - hard to carry-on our conversations. I do recommend this restaurant and I look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Parking is extra $15 and is a walk from ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Parking is extra $15 and is a walk from the parking to the restaurant. Not good for elderly or those that are disabled just due to the distance. Food was good. Enjoyed the bartender, and the staff was very helpful and attentive. Seems to have some regulars that know everyone.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Needed a quick lunch while attending a c ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Needed a quick lunch while attending a convention. Excellent setting, service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at Roy's to celebrate our daughte ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We ate at Roy's to celebrate our daughter's graduation from college. We had a party of 12 and everyone found something on the menu to love. The wait staff was attentive and helped to make the afternoon a very festive occasion. I would recommend Roy's as a place to take family and friends and enjoy great food and a lovely location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heavily sauced (and sweetened) fish dish ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Heavily sauced (and sweetened) fish dishes in a city that should be celebrating the freshness of its fish offerings. The food was heavy, the setting wasn't attractive, the service was bizarre. I'll go elsewhere next time I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Always friendly and great advise on wha ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Always friendly and great advise on what items are suitable for people with food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's has been an all time favorite. The ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Roy's has been an all time favorite. The downtown location is new for us. The restaurant wasn't busy but they sat us in a crowded and dark corner near the kitchen when the whole dining room pretty empty. When you are hoping to dine in you a favorite Hawaii restaurant you don't want to hear the noise of the kitchen.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent ambiance, good food & scenic v ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent ambiance, good food & scenic view. The only thing we did not appreciate was, our server did not provide us a copy of our bill let along our change. Our intention was to give her bigger tip for good service. She already assumed that the change was her tip (which is less than 20.00). We have to request for copy of our receipt, but it was taking so long so we left w/o it.

Server should ALWAYS give customers receipt/change, and customers on the other hand will give their due & appropriate tip base on their service. Thank you.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Since our last visit, ~2 years ago, the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Since our last visit, ~2 years ago, the prices seem to have gone up significantly (new ownership as well) on both the wine and food. The food, while good, is not worth the "San Diego Touristy spot" tax. It is what it is...a big "fancier" chain. Enjoyable, but certainly too expensive for what it is.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

" Mother's Day Brunch was Yummy "

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife to Roy's waterfront restaurant at 333 W Harbor Dr, San Diego, Ca for a Mothers Day brunch a week ago, and had a wonderful experience. The staff at Roy;s is always so nice, as we were seated in a wonderful booth, with a great view of the boats in the San DIego Harbor. Ashley our server was fantastic, as she was so bubbly and out going, coming back to our table over and over again to make sure all of our needs were taken care of. Ashley started us off with a Mimosa and a delicious Bacon Bloody Mary, which was so good. For a starter for the brunch, we had very tasty house made sticky buns. For the appetizer, we had a lemon grass chicken chop salad with blue cheese crumble, and some crispy miso lobster & shrimp dim sum.

For my entree I had a charred New York Strip Steak & Eggs with fingerling potatoes. My wife had the Karaage Fried Chicken with spicy aioli dipping sauce & Asian rice coleslaw. For dessert we had the Kauai Pie, which consisted of Oreo crust, macadamia nuts and ice cream. All of the food, service, and the views we enjoyed on Mother's Day at Roy's was so OUTSTANDING !

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and food were the best. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service and food were the best. The ambiance perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not very good and very expenseive.

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

The server did not offer the edamame which is a normal for Roy's. Come to find out they were out but he did not mention that fact and also no bread was offered. The scallops were very small and very little potatoes were served. Very expensive meal to leave still hungry. Will not go back there and we go to Roy's in many cities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Very Salty Rib eye steak

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We ate this weekend at the Roy's water front in San Diego. We have the pre fix rib eyes. The sauce was so salty. It was different from the previous sauce. Bad experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Obi rolls

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Their Mai-Tai is very good and so was the obi rolls.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Divine Dining

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We really like Roy's food and the view of the harbour is beautiful! It's also never crowded. This was my 5th time there. I ordered the Misoyaki Butterfish that melted in my mouth. Perfectly cooked! It came with baby bok choy (one of my favorite veggies) and furikake rice (covered with tasty sesame seeds, yum). My husband is a meat eater so he had the short ribs! Excellent! We also ordered a side of broccolini that was a good portion and cooked just right. We ate every bite. Nothing left but we were too full to have dessert. No appetizers either. We just aren't big eaters! It was delectable! The service was wonderful! The only down side, the valet parking is $12. Self park is $10 so that's why the 4 star for value. Otherwise, a fabulous place to dine for a date night or special event!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.