About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (21)
Waterfront (19)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Groups (9)
People Watching (8)
Fun (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
790 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been to 3 Roy's across the U.S. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We have been to 3 Roy's across the U.S. and what we love is the consistency! High quality food prepared and presented perfectly! Thank you Roy's!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bar service was poor. Coffee was cold. E ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Bar service was poor. Coffee was cold. Everything else was delicious. Especially the scallops

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Excellent food and excellent service! Al ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service! All the sides were delicious (crab fried rice, mushrooms, truffle mac and cheese) You can't go there without ordering the molten chocolate lava cake, however!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lobster bisque was too spicy and had too ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Lobster bisque was too spicy and had too much of a ginger aftertaste. I ordered the trio of fish, which were all good but not hot, more room temperature. The chocolate lava cake was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Muy buen servicio comida muy sabrosa, el ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Muy buen servicio comida muy sabrosa, el lugar muy padre! Muy buena atencion drl gerente

Tags: vista panorámica
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An older Roy's, it doesn't have Happy Ho ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An older Roy's, it doesn't have Happy Hour. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Been to many Roy's locations all over th ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Been to many Roy's locations all over the US and Hawaii. When traveling we always select one if nearby. Lately the Dallas, TX (Plano) location near our home has been suffering, so it was great to enjoy this top-notch Roy's location. Everyone in our party had a GREAT experience, and service was strong. The location is very dated, and only the tables on the glass are good. Needs a massive lighting update, some of the lighting is horrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We made a reservation for 8:30 and the r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We made a reservation for 8:30 and the restaurant closed at 9......we were not advised in the reservation confirmation or when we arrived.We were rushed through our meal which made for a very unpleasant celebration dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were good. I had reser ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food and service were good. I had reservations but was set at a back table in the bar instead of in the dining room....where there were plenty of tables...very disappointed. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Food was good but expensive. Our seats ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was good but expensive. Our seats overlooked the harbor which was a nice view.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

reservation was 545. We didn't get first ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

reservation was 545. We didn't get first course until 635pm. Server was running around helping everyone else while we sat there looking at the menu forever it seemed like.

Once we ordered, the food came out 20 minutes later, however right after appetizers entree came within minutes. We had no time to enjoy first course.

Entree felt rushed, and my filet wasn't hot anymore. It felt cold and I can't say why but it didn't taste good with the sauces they put on it.

Overall it was a bad experience considering I've been to Roy's at other locations and it is usually a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Christmas pre fixe menu was wonderful. ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas pre fixe menu was wonderful. Fish entrees outstanding. Server gave great advice and explanations of each dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was disappointed with the steak and lo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I was disappointed with the steak and lobster my daughter order. The steak was asked for well done however it was burned on the outside and very dry on the inside. The lobster was very dry and was given no drawn butter. The butter fish which I always order and love was blan and quite tasteless. Overall disappointed with a dinner of over 200 dollars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We have been to many Roy's over the year ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have been to many Roy's over the years and always had great food and great experiences. This time the food and the experience was just Ok. We will chalk this up to a party of eight on Christmas Eve. We will still visit Roy's other restaurants just not this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We were given the option of sitting at a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were given the option of sitting at a table or at the food bar overlooking the cooks. We chose the food bar which turned out to be a lot of fun. Our waitress took very good care of us and even treated us to a couple of samples. Our entrees were good (crusted rib eye and seafood sampler), but the samples of potstickers and coconut passion fruit dessert were excellent. We will be returning for those items for sure!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. The wait staff was very per ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food. The wait staff was very personable. I recommend this to anyone

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant to celebrate Christ ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very nice restaurant to celebrate Christmas Eve. Difficult to locate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, the food was great but we had ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

As always, the food was great but we had the worst service that I have ever experienced there. It was very odd.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Booked a 1,000 point table early reserva ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Booked a 1,000 point table early reservation but was only given 100 points. Very Pricey. Only issue with the meal was the greasy Shishito Peppers. *Would have been better if they just char broiled them or sauteed them in lemon garlic butter, deep frying them just made them greasy.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food is exactly what is described- H ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food is exactly what is described- Hawaiian fusion. Unique dishes and combinations. Very tasty food but definitely on the pricey side. Both indoors and outdoors offered nice views of the San Diego bay and boats.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Horrific experience for a business meal. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Horrific experience for a business meal. Asked for quieter table, had to check with manager and never heard from her again. Waiters constantly shoving into back of chairs cutting across restaurant, noise level unbearable, food not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Family friendly but somewhat noisy. Had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Family friendly but somewhat noisy. Had reservations but still had to wait half hour to get seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

This has been our "Go-To" place for birt ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This has been our "Go-To" place for birthdays and anniversaries. Always special.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Scenic View, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table was available when we arrived. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our table was available when we arrived. The food was excellent & the service very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit disappointed. Food was mediocre. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A bit disappointed. Food was mediocre. Ambiance isn't outstanding. For the price - go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great meal and service as usual. Catered ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great meal and service as usual. Catered to our special requests.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Roys for lunch three days out of ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Went to Roys for lunch three days out of five during a recent business trip to San Diego. Each time the food and service was good, and we sat outside enjoying the sunshine and ambiance. Good choice of food to match varying appetites. Ahi Salmon and Tuna were especially good.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a favorite spot to dine with frie ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Always a favorite spot to dine with friends and family.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Roy's trio was a great sample of their f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Roy's trio was a great sample of their fresh fish. Terrific experience outside at the marina. Unusually warm evening. Normally, we would have brought jackets for the patio.

Great staff. Great menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food, excellent service, bea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Outstanding food, excellent service, beautiful view.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the waiter's suggestion ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Disappointed in the waiter's suggestion of the Wagyu beef NY. Two of us ordered it, and both were over-cooked and tough. I was looking forward to a great steak, but sadly was not worth the money.

Our guess is that we received the last pick of meat for the day, since we had such a late reservation, but even then -- an expensive steak should always be cooked to the customer's preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A nice restaurant down on the waterfront ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

A nice restaurant down on the waterfront. The grilled Caesar salad was surprisingly tasty and the maki rolls were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service! We will be ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food and service! We will be back soon. hector went above and beyond and helped to make our dinner very special.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My family enjoyed the outdoor seating wi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My family enjoyed the outdoor seating with the fire pit. Food was wonderful and dairy free request was handled without an issue. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual! Gets a little chilly ind ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great as usual! Gets a little chilly indoors so bring a wrap or a sweater!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there for a Girls Night Out and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went there for a Girls Night Out and the experience was perfect. Chef Brian and crew took great care of us. The food was delicious, the service excellent. Roy's never disappoints! Thanks for a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining was great. The waiter was ver ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our dining was great. The waiter was very helpful with his recommendations. Food was excellent. The calamari appetizer we ordered was so far the best I've ever tasted as well as the vegetarian tofu entrée. The chocolate soufflé for dessert is a killer, it melts in your mouth.

Superb dining over all, it's worth the trip. I would definitely recommend Roy's to friends and family. We did celebrate our 31st wedding anniversary too in Roy's Hawaii with an awesome service and same here @ Roy's San Diego Waterfront.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an outstanding property. Everyt ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is an outstanding property. Everything from the first greeting at the door to the food quality was first rate. Our server was attentive but not annoying. The portions were excellent. The food was fresh and was prepared by someone who clearly knew what they were doing.

All in all this is a first rate location run by a first class team.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They are very selective of which special ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 12, 2016

They are very selective of which special deals they honor. They woukdn't honor the Prix fix deal. Also, we were there for a birthday celebration, and they charged us for the bday dessert that we thought was complimentary. Lastly, they didn't take a picture of our birthday party of 4. It was rather disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Roys. Food and service was great! Receptionist made us feel welcomed and she was a wonderful first impression as we arrived for dinner. Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.