Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (45)
Waterfront (42)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (25)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Business Meals (15)
People Watching (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Healthy (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (4)
Private Room (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (0)
Sort By:
S
862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

We usually love Roy's but tonight it took 2 hours to get our food, the signature butterfish was rubbery, as was the shrimp, and all 6 of our meals were cold. The main chef did not show up and all the servers were stressed. Certainly not our typical Roy's experience. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

The waitress was not efficient especially at the end of the meal when she could not figure out, after numerous attempts how to divide the bill into 3 equal parts. We never got a receipt even we asked the acting manager. Service was poor in general and the food was not outstanding as we are accustomed to in other Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Came back for 2:30pm lunch. Pork sandwich outstanding! Friendly staff, great service. Dissapointed that they don't serve Sushi until 4pm. Had we known, would have gone elsewhere. Great atmosphere overlooking Marina.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Warm friendly staff. Great meal. Sushi rolls are to die for!!! Outstanding Service from our waitress Angela. She anticipated everything, never had to ask. Sat outside overlooked the Marina. Quiet, intimate, romantic. Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overrated and overpriced, in a great location, but rubbery prawns in a seafood restaurant? Not acceptable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was our first visit to a Roy's...it was also our last.
Hostess seemed annoyed by our presence, she didn't greet us, she just said, "Do you have a reservation?" without looking away from the computer screen. I guess we arrived before most of the staff for the evening, because we had THREE different servers before placing our order. First one asked if we all wanted water (yes, we did) and actually questioned us as to the ability of our children to handle glass when we replied that kiddie cups were not necessary. (Our girls are in 5th, 7th and 9th grade!!!) Ordered a bottle of wine with server #2, had to reorder it with our 3rd server. Server #3 was friendly enough, but quite unprofessional. He greeted us by saying what a lousy day he was having and complaining about having to work Easter Sunday (the next day). He also had two large grease stains on the front of his shirt. We are not big eaters so, we ordered 3 fish entrees and 3 salads to share, plus one bottle of not-expensive-bottle-of-wine ($25 retail) but the final bill was still $50/head! Worst salad dressing ever - Onion Shoyu Vinaigrette = pungent onion and soy sauce with oil. Very, very overpriced for very mediocre fish entrees. Next time in San Diego we will go to Sally's Fish House instead, you should too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing place and food, we had a culinary experience out of this world! Really nice location at Marquis Marriot San Diego, the service was outstanding and the atmosphere and ambience really cute, Gilberto was very kind always, very good service from Gilberto! This place is a must in San Diego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I don't expect huge portions at good restaurants, but I do expect the portions and preparation to be worth the price. This was good food that fell short of a good value.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Came in for a late night dinner will definitely be back! Food was incredible service was impeccable !

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with great food, terrific service and a nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nice atmosphere; friendly wait staff and reasonably priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Ines took great care of us! The food was phenomenal. We had an early reservation, which I would recommend since the restaurant was much noisier and the service slower towards the end. That said, I will certainly return to Roy's, especially for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Been to many Roy's, including Hawaii, this one was not great. Food was overcooked. Our server Ashley was terrific.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was Very good but a bit overpriced for what it was. Still, it was good and the ambience was fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful view and as usual delectable food, but some what noisy. Overall great experience for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My family and I had a wonderful dinner!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Food was fantastic! Dirty martini was well made. Love everything about this restaurant!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We've been to many Roys restaurants, even some that have since closed. There are contracted chefs at each one so the specials have variety of flair and flavor.
But some items are "original" and Roys "butterfish " is always available and wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

What a fantastic evening! We had a group of 4 that had made reservations less than 24 hours ahead. We were guided to a fantastic table with a beautiful view, right before sunset. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable.

Both couples decided to share a wedge salad. They split the wedges for us in the kitchen and served us each our own portion. No awkward splitting at the table. That touch was much appreciated.

Our friends shared the four fish sampler sampler ( the favorites hilighted on the menu) and they raved about it. My husband enjoyed the filet with shrimp. He said it was the best steak he has EVER been served- anywhere! My shellfish sampler with lobster tail, scallop, and shrimp was delicious. I only with that I had been served more than one scallop.

We chose not to have dessert as the entree sizes were very generous.

Roy's has now been deemed a favorite for us. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Best sushi I've ever had (and I've had quite a lot!) The "El Nino Roll" is to die for. Even just the nagiri is amazing. The Hawaiian pineapple cocktail is amazing as well - a real deal cocktail.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

There is seating indoors and out. We sat outdoors with a view of the marina. Sun was brudal. No way to block the sun. We had to ask 3 times to be reseated when there was 90% vacant tables. Meal choices was small. Served red wine by the glass in a small white wine glass. Really. We had the chefs selection. Scallops were good. Steak as a poor cut. Not a good value. Service was poor. Clearly did not care about the customer. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! The food was amazing, the service was excellent - just loved everything about it! Going back tomorrow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Roy's San Diego downtown on Harbor Drive is located in a grand location on the waterfront overlooking the marina. The restaurant is located within the Marriott Hotel and I did need to pay $15 for parking, so you may wish to carpool. Outstanding service, great ambiance for friends or a special occasion. I ordered the chicken and mashed potatoes and it was good, maybe a little dry, just not 5* super delicious. My friend's meals seemed to be very good. LOVED the location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, People Watching, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We reserved a table arrived on time sea front with nice heater. wine and appetizers came and gone but dinner did not come for an hr. Coming to find out our ticket got placed behind the 100 orders from the party they were catering too! So we lost appetite by then and just ordered desserts and left. Not good when you go for dinner. Blame was placed on new staff, bussers etc! Probably will not visit again!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It took over an hour for us to get our meal. Luckily we ordered drinks and soup, and that came out during that hour. Our waiter told us that there was a large private event happening upstairs that clogged up the kitchen. However the table next to us arrived after we ordered and go their food before we did. Also it was pretty noisy and there were kids rolling around on the bench seat next to me. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and were expecting a more refined atmosphere. When the food did finally arrive it was very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was innovative and nicely presented. The service was very slow. This made the experience a bit awkward. They did give our table a free dessert which was a nice gesture.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great job Roy's - better food service and value than our Ruth Chris visit
A few weeks ago - they should learn from you !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wife and I stopped at Roys for lunch on a beautiful Saturday afternoon. We sat on the veranda which was nice with a view of the boat harbor. Food, drinks and service (Carolena our sever) was awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We reserved our table for 7:15 but we only sat down around 7:50!!! 30+ minutes waiting with a reservation?!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Memorable evening. Great dinning and service. We are not in SD frequently but we try to enjoy Roy's each visit. We have not be disappointed.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great ambience and good Hawaiian fusion cuisine. They were slammed so kitchen backed up and service was slow but sensitive.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great outdoor seating right on the marina and excellent food.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food and service were excellent with a wonderful ambiance. My one complaint, was from the time we sat until the time we got our food was an hour. They need to work on that, otherwise it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Angela was great. Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had the sampler appetizer with mixed results...lobster potstickers are amazing along with the beef ribs. Chicken satay was ok...spicy tuna roll and beef skewers were basically tastless. I ordered the scallops which were amazing. Spouse ordered a new menu item, the Red Sanpper based upon recommendation of the server. Fish was not seasoned properly, thai broth was ok, but lacking in depth of flavor. Dish should have been served with a bowl for clam/mussels shells. Some grilled bread would have been great with the broth...also the dish wasn't served with a spoon for the broth.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I had planned dinner for 20 colleges that were from back East. I wanted a restaurant that represented the San Diego lifestyle and boy did Roy's deliver. After a mix up in seating, they quickly moved us to a private room overlooking the bay. The staff was phenomenal and In the end I looked like the best party planner ever.
The food was outstanding so was the service. Great representation of the San Diego lifestyle.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Meal was good... service was good. The value was pretty good for being in San Diego. Butterfish was awesome!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

delicious butterfish! Wish I had it again for lunch today. Expertly prepared. yum

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Very ordinary restaurant with ordinary food and ordinary service for ridiculous pricing. It is in a tourist area. It just seems as if they don't have to try because the odds of repeat business is low. It wasn't horrible but it sure wasn't great. I don't mind spending money on good food, but I do mind spending good money on mediocre food. The wine list is just like the menu, ordinary. Sorry Roy's, but for me its a miss. Andre a

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service was awful. We waited over 1 1/2 hours to be served our dinner due to a large party delaying everyone else's meal. Not once did the server or the manager inform us of the delay. I had to ask why it was taking so long before I was told what was going on.

Unacceptable and a $300 Bill to boot

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.