About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Jessie Glessner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Enjoy the best Father's Day at Roy's! Open early at 10am - we'll be serving Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch & Dinner. Treat dad to the best seafood, steak and sushi in town.

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (61)
special occasion (55)
great for outdoor dining (43)
See All
romantic (39)
fit for foodies (34)
good for groups (21)
notable wine list (21)
great for lunch (20)
great for brunch (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Pleasant

Dined 5 days ago

There was a delay in seating us. The hostess graciously offered us a glass of champagne while we waited for an open table. Once seated, the service was exceptional. Menu is pricey so that the value equation comes up short. Nevertheless, it is an bay-front restaurant that did meet our fine dining expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were staying at the Marriott and did ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

We were staying at the Marriott and did not want to travel far for our dinner. We enjoyed our short ribs and filet mignon entrees. Our server, Ashley, was personable and attentive. The noise level was uncomfortable at first as there were a few large parties nearby. Once the tables cleared, we enjoyed our meals better. The macadamia ice cream dessert was outrageous and delicious! Coffee refills were politely given. I would recommend even though this is a chain restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

The entrees were fabulous but not served ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The entrees were fabulous but not served immediately because they were warm, instead of hot. Noise level so high - hard to carry-on our conversations. I do recommend this restaurant and I look forward to returning.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Parking is extra $15 and is a walk from ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Parking is extra $15 and is a walk from the parking to the restaurant. Not good for elderly or those that are disabled just due to the distance. Food was good. Enjoyed the bartender, and the staff was very helpful and attentive. Seems to have some regulars that know everyone.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Needed a quick lunch while attending a c ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Needed a quick lunch while attending a convention. Excellent setting, service and food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at Roy's to celebrate our daughte ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We ate at Roy's to celebrate our daughter's graduation from college. We had a party of 12 and everyone found something on the menu to love. The wait staff was attentive and helped to make the afternoon a very festive occasion. I would recommend Roy's as a place to take family and friends and enjoy great food and a lovely location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Heavily sauced (and sweetened) fish dish ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Heavily sauced (and sweetened) fish dishes in a city that should be celebrating the freshness of its fish offerings. The food was heavy, the setting wasn't attractive, the service was bizarre. I'll go elsewhere next time I'm in town.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always friendly and great advise on wha ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Always friendly and great advise on what items are suitable for people with food allergies.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Roy's has been an all time favorite. The ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Roy's has been an all time favorite. The downtown location is new for us. The restaurant wasn't busy but they sat us in a crowded and dark corner near the kitchen when the whole dining room pretty empty. When you are hoping to dine in you a favorite Hawaii restaurant you don't want to hear the noise of the kitchen.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Excellent ambiance, good food & scenic v ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent ambiance, good food & scenic view. The only thing we did not appreciate was, our server did not provide us a copy of our bill let along our change. Our intention was to give her bigger tip for good service. She already assumed that the change was her tip (which is less than 20.00). We have to request for copy of our receipt, but it was taking so long so we left w/o it. Server should ALWAYS give customers receipt/change, and customers on the other hand will give their due & appropriate tip base on their service. Thank you.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Since our last visit, ~2 years ago, the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Since our last visit, ~2 years ago, the prices seem to have gone up significantly (new ownership as well) on both the wine and food. The food, while good, is not worth the "San Diego Touristy spot" tax. It is what it is...a big "fancier" chain. Enjoyable, but certainly too expensive for what it is.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

" Mother's Day Brunch was Yummy "

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife to Roy's waterfront restaurant at 333 W Harbor Dr, San Diego, Ca for a Mothers Day brunch a week ago, and had a wonderful experience. The staff at Roy;s is always so nice, as we were seated in a wonderful booth, with a great view of the boats in the San DIego Harbor. Ashley our server was fantastic, as she was so bubbly and out going, coming back to our table over and over again to make sure all of our needs were taken care of. Ashley started us off with a Mimosa and a delicious Bacon Bloody Mary, which was so good. For a starter for the brunch, we had very tasty house made sticky buns. For the appetizer, we had a lemon grass chicken chop salad with blue cheese crumble, and some crispy miso lobster & shrimp dim sum. For my entree I had a charred New York Strip Steak & Eggs with fingerling potatoes. My wife had the Karaage Fried Chicken with spicy aioli dipping sauce & Asian rice coleslaw. For dessert we had the Kauai Pie, which consisted of Oreo crust, macadamia nuts and ice cream. All of the food, service, and the views we enjoyed on Mother's Day at Roy's was so OUTSTANDING !

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food were the best. The ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service and food were the best. The ambiance perfect

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Not very good and very expenseive.

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

The server did not offer the edamame which is a normal for Roy's. Come to find out they were out but he did not mention that fact and also no bread was offered. The scallops were very small and very little potatoes were served. Very expensive meal to leave still hungry. Will not go back there and we go to Roy's in many cities.

food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Salty Rib eye steak

Dined on April 25, 2016

We ate this weekend at the Roy's water front in San Diego. We have the pre fix rib eyes. The sauce was so salty. It was different from the previous sauce. Bad experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Obi rolls

Dined on April 22, 2016

Their Mai-Tai is very good and so was the obi rolls.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Divine Dining

Dined on April 22, 2016

We really like Roy's food and the view of the harbour is beautiful! It's also never crowded. This was my 5th time there. I ordered the Misoyaki Butterfish that melted in my mouth. Perfectly cooked! It came with baby bok choy (one of my favorite veggies) and furikake rice (covered with tasty sesame seeds, yum). My husband is a meat eater so he had the short ribs! Excellent! We also ordered a side of broccolini that was a good portion and cooked just right. We ate every bite. Nothing left but we were too full to have dessert. No appetizers either. We just aren't big eaters! It was delectable! The service was wonderful! The only down side, the valet parking is $12. Self park is $10 so that's why the 4 star for value. Otherwise, a fabulous place to dine for a date night or special event!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Evening

Dined on April 17, 2016

While on a "girls" trip to San Diego, we had the opportunity to dine at Roy's one evening. I cannot say enough good things about our experience. The setting was beautiful, the manager (David Trainer) was so friendly and accommodating, our server was efficient and professional, and the food was amazing! We will definitely be going back to dine there on our next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Note to Manager>>>

Dined on April 10, 2016

The meals we got were impressive, the sad thing is that the lunch menu was limited. Limiting you lunch menu hurst your brand and hurst the return business. I would urge you to consider and more variety from you dinner menu on your lunch menu - take it from an old salt at this - more is more!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very relaxing

Dined on April 2, 2016

Ate outside on a nice balmy night. The scallops were very good. The salad was pretty standard, but both were true to the menu description. It was nice and quiet and our server was outstanding. Although quality was good, prices could be substantially reduced to reflect the quantity. In other words, smaller portions are actually a wiser choice healthwise, but were out of proportion per portion.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love to bring out of town friends here!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Never fails - always a lovely experience! From the seating to the end of the meal - we are always well taken care of and the servers know their food/drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food fantastic view excellent serv ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great food fantastic view excellent service. Wait staff eager to share recommendations without being to pushy or rushing meal.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Roys San Diego Review

Dined on March 29, 2016

Extremely dissapointing experience. Roys was a let down in every way. Service was awful-extremely rude waiter. Food was awful. Difficult to get to. We should have known when we arrived and restaurant was virtually empty. Worst part was the valet told us he heard same poor review from other guests-would have been nice to have known prior. I don't complain about restaurants much, but felt this needed to be said. We won't be back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great for Special Occasions

Dined on March 27, 2016

Roy's is great for special occasions and holidays. It is within walking distance to the Gaslamp and Seaport Village. Patio seating is right along the waterfront/marina. Food is tasty and portions are decent. Roy's is an upscale restaurant so to be prepared to pay $30-50/person. Overall my experience at Roy's was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful Easter Brunch at Roy's

Dined on March 27, 2016

Another lovely dining experience at Roy's. My husband and I have enjoyed dining at Roy's for dinner to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries over the years, and this time we decided to try brunch at Roy's. It was a great decision, and we will return again, and again, and again. Our Easter Brunch on the patio was delightful, delicious, and in a perfect dockside setting.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The ebi roll is a superb starter, and th ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

The ebi roll is a superb starter, and the wowie maui salad is tremendous. The ono was a pleasant surprise, as I had never heard of it before coming to this Roy's. But the highlight was the service provided by Gilbert throughout the evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scenic view and great food,

Dined on March 24, 2016

The view was scenic on the San Diego bay, great food and service was exceptional. I have food allergies and the server was so helpful in finding me something delicious and interesting to eat. I would definitely return and tell friends about my experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

can't beat Roy's

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

the prix fixed lunch is a great deal, the food and ambiance is tops. always a favorite for business meetings, incredible setting.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Out of food at 6p

Dined on March 21, 2016

Very surprised that a meal/ item on the menu was NOT available at 6pm... Restaurant not crowded so did not understand

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a lovely dinner.

Dined on March 20, 2016

Our waiter, David, was outstanding! The food was great and the environmant was nice. If it weren't for the 3 year old running around screaming, it would have been perfect.I suppose you have to blame the parents for that one, not the restaurant, but otherwise it was quite nice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lunch with a colleague

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

I love the crispy coconut shrimp appetizer and the tuna salad was light and tasty.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Overpriced, Food not Good

Dined on March 14, 2016

Very overpriced. Kept pushing more food and drinks on us. Food was mediocre and at 5 PM they had already run out of salmon and scallops. What kind of seafood restaurant does that. It was clear they did not care about repeat business. Roy's used to be great food and ambiance. Obviously corporate greed and not caring about the customer has taken over. I would NEVER go there again.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We had been to Roy's about 5 years ago a ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

We had been to Roy's about 5 years ago and would have give everything 6 stars. We returned to the Marriott Marquis and couldn't wait to return to Roy's . It started out with a 30 minute wait for our table when we had a reservation. There were no apologies and no one semed to really care. When we first got there we were told the customers were paying their bill. After about 15 minutes we almost thought we were going to be seated. Then we were told they were switching us from a 6 top to a 4. When we were finally seated I couldn't believe there was no apology. It wasn't like they were really busy. We were the only ones waiting! It was just rude and embarrassing to the guests we brought. The food was Ok. The service ok. We couldn't even believe it was such a disappointment after the outstanding experience we had last time!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

With San Diego having a great food scene ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

With San Diego having a great food scene, Roy's was pretty middle of the road. Nothing was bad, but nothing was memorable. Wine list was decent sized but average. Paying 3x markup for grocery store labels. Food was good but not exciting or innovative. Sort of what you would expect for a hotel restaurant, despite what other reviewers may have said.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed every minute!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great ambiance, service and the food was to die for!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Every dishes was excellent, the staff wa ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Every dishes was excellent, the staff was so great from the hostess to the bus staff. The food was delivered and described to perfection.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Knowledgable server and ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent food. Knowledgable server and a wonderful experience as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As Good As Ever

Dined on February 18, 2016

The Butter fish and searedahi were outstanding as was the service and Duckhorn Sauvignon Blanc. A perfect combination

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Great place

food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Fixed Valentines menu. Way overpriced.

Dined on February 15, 2016

My main dish was a seafood bowl. 2 small pieces of sea bass (with bones?), 2 clams, 2 shrimp. $65. Filet had crab on top however mixed with curry. Fail. The rest of the meal was good but bill came in at $279 for 2, 2 drinks.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.