About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Jessie Glessner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Thanksgiving Day to celebrate with your friends and family. We will be open from 11am-8pm with a very special traditional 3-course Thanksgiving menu for $39.95 per Guest. A selection of Roy's Classic dishes will also be available.

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (49)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Romantic (36)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Waterfront (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and better service

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and better service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great seafood, interesting appetizers, w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

great seafood, interesting appetizers, wonderful setting with harbor view.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great consistent fish and service.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great consistent fish and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. Restaurant ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent service and food. Restaurant temperature was a little cold but otherwise very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great views of the San Diego waterfront ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great views of the San Diego waterfront and surrounding areas. My wife and I booked an earlier time to dine to miss the dinner crowd. We started our meal with a cocktail, Polynesian Passion served in a tiki glass, this added to the tropical ambience and was a very tasty drink. We wanted to eat light so we ordered the Canoe appetizer for two, Lakanilau roll and an Ahi Caesar salad. All these entrees were very flavorful and just the right amount of food. For dessert we had Roy's Melting Hot Chocolate Souffle', served hot out of the oven, delicious! Many thanks to Jaime E our server, she gave us great service and I will ask for her again when dining at Roy's.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't eaten in Roy's in awhile - and wo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Hadn't eaten in Roy's in awhile - and won't return. Quality of food has really gone down. Couldn't understand since it had been consistently fabulous for years. Did a little online research and discovered they had been bought out by Applebee's a few years ago. Mystery solved!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is one of the best Roys restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is one of the best Roys restaurant I've ever been on. My number 1 choice is Hawaii and so far these 2 are the best ones and the staff are just fantastic and lots of sense of humor that will make you feel comfortable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here before and the food was excell ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Came here before and the food was excellent but not so much this time but the service was great but the food is definitely overpriced and not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Great food. Great management!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food. Great management!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

This was by far the worst meal we have h ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was by far the worst meal we have had at Roys and will not go back. My wife had the ribeye which was small and grisly - $43 - ouch. I had the Thai chicken - dry and a paltry portion for almost $30. No bread served even though requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

For a Saturday night it wasn't very crow ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

For a Saturday night it wasn't very crowded. We had appetizers, wine, entrees and dessert. All were healthy portions. Service was good, will return here again soon. Hopefully it will be more lively then :)

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

As a newcomer to seafood, I would sugges ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As a newcomer to seafood, I would suggest Roy's and their menu. Many offerings for dinner and a large dining area. We would have enjoyed a better time if we were close to the window or seated outside with the view of the water. When all the dishes came out, one dish was missing and we needed to wait for the server to return to have it brought to us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great place to dine or hang out ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always a great place to dine or hang out. Great food, service and fun.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I would love to come back again. My s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I would love to come back again. My server was so nice to me even though I was alone. I forgot your name but I thank you😘

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had asked Roy's ahead of time for a nice ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had asked Roy's ahead of time for a nice window table for a special birthday, the hostess seemed very bored with the request when we got there and we repeated it . She said she would do the best she could . She seated us at a table not at the window despite the request (and an empty table available) . We then asked the person seating us to put us at the empty table at the window which she then checked and was allowed to do. Was not a good beginning and did not make much sense.

After this our dinner was excellent. Our waiter was great, the wine and the food were wonderful as we expect from this restaurant. Most everyone had fish which was fresh and prepared wonderfully. Love Roy's but they should work on their first impression at the "welcome" desk which is why they got less than five stars .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good was excellent but not as innovative ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good was excellent but not as innovative as I expected after a phenomenal experience at the Tampa location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Mahi was overcooked. Everything else Wa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Mahi was overcooked. Everything else

Was good. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Prix fixe menu for 2, great value, food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Prix fixe menu for 2, great value, food was delicious and service was terrific

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not sure why this restaurant had a $$ ra ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Not sure why this restaurant had a $$ rating. Definitely a $$$$. And at that price level it just simply isn't in the same class as competition.

Service was great.

Walk to the restaurant is extemely long. Parking is $12 minimum.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

we are from sd and have tried this roys ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

we are from sd and have tried this roys several times. the last 2 have been so so disappointing. both the fish and meat have been so dry. service is sorry. the location is great but that is it. leave it for the tourists, for us never again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

After making our reservation several day ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

After making our reservation several days in advance, I called and spoke with the hostess about 30 min before the time of reservation to make sure they had received our dinner parties request for a window seat since we were celebrating a special birthday. I understand these requests are generally not guaranteed, however, the hostess took it upon herself to assure me that she would save a booth at the window and to not worry about it. When we arrived, we were informed the table had been given away. We were instead granted a table directly next to the kitchen. My 95 year old mother-in-law was not able to hear a single word anyone spoke. To say it was noisy is an understatement. After receiving our appetizers, we waited a grueling and painful hour and a half for our main entrees. Under any circumstance or an attempt at an excuse (I.E.: "kitchens fault"), this is simply unacceptable. Had the restaurant been full, this would have made sense but it was far from it. To make things worst, the entrees were cold, dry, bland and were served in underwhelming portions. The food is overpriced and the service is what you would expect from a Chili's or Denny's. The manager removed the appetizers from our bill but I felt he was patronizing our party instead of addressing the actual issue of terribly horrible service. I will not return and as a native San Diegan, I'm aware of multiple other high end eateries to invest your hard earned money into where the service is paramount and the food, extraordinary. Roy's is not one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We had a table by a window with a view o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a table by a window with a view of the water as we celebrated three birthdays. Dinner was delicious; butterfish. Roy's provided desserts for all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful server! Great advice in menu. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful server! Great advice in menu. Beautiful day to eat outside and enjoy the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went to Roy's for the first time since m ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Went to Roy's for the first time since moving here from NYC.

We were seated closest to the bay outside, which was nice, but there were ants crawling along the ledge next to the table. The service was good, but the food was mediocre. The Butterfish was good, but the rice was cold. In the shellfish combo entree the shrimp was undercooked. The spicy tuna roll in the combo appetizer was excellent as was the chicken satay. Unfortunately, the lobster potsticker was fried. We probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our group met here before going to a con ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our group met here before going to a concert on the embarcadero. They were very accommodating with our time contraints due to the concert. Great food & super cocktail list!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was that which is typical ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The experience was that which is typical of a tourist-frequented establishment. The pace was bustling rather than calm, they were running about 30-minutes behind on seating guests with reservations, and the men's room was unkempt. Very contrasting to the experiences I've had at other Roy's locations. Definitely won't visit this location again. Despite these criticisms, the food quality, and presentation met my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This was our first time at this Roy's lo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our first time at this Roy's location and it doesn't disappoint. It overlooks the boats and great to people watch. It took a bit of time to park, and walk thru the Marriott to the actual restaurant but after eating it was a welcome trek! Food was great, we split the summer salad with chopped shrimp, avocado etc and it was refreshing. Also tried the scallops and the butterfish both were delicious. Dessert was a repeat of the pineapple upside down cake which everyone should try at least once and the malasadas with 3 dipping sauces also served warm from the oven. Roys has a lot of great sounding dishes that we look forward to trying in the future!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter was not attentive. My Mahi ve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The waiter was not attentive. My Mahi very dry and cool. I have dined at the Roy's in Kaanapali and Chicago and had excellent experiences. I was visiting with family and celebrating a graduation and found the overall experience mediocre at best. We had 3 other dinners while in San Diego which were much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Wonderful ambiance. The appetizer canoe ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful ambiance. The appetizer canoe for 2 was fabulous. Butterfish was melt-in-your mouth perfect and the ribeye was tasty and prepared as requested. (I think my husband was too full to get the most out of it). The service was friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend Roy's without reserve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food with a beautiful view of the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food with a beautiful view of the oceanfront. We told the chef recommendation and it was really delicious .

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow to seat party on a quiet night.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Slow to seat party on a quiet night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great food and service, with a very nice ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food and service, with a very nice view of San Diego bay

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent. Come here ever ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything was excellent. Come here every chance I get when I come into San Diego. I'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful time! Lindsay R. was ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a wonderful time! Lindsay R. was our server, and she was incredible! She was perfect in every way! We will request her by name the next time we visit! Great meeting you, Lindsay! Thank-you!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always yummy! I recommend the lobster po ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always yummy! I recommend the lobster potstickers!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I've been to Roy's several times. Great ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I've been to Roy's several times. Great food and the view of San Diego Harbor was terrific. It's close to the Marriott Marquis. I had the Shrimp and it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food - consistent quality. A ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very good food - consistent quality. A good selection for families.

The service was very good with very experienced staff that were not only good at the job of serving but also delivered a personable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Phenomenal Food, Fabulous Service, Great ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Phenomenal Food, Fabulous Service, Great Outdoor Dining. It was 5 Star All-around

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only negative I have is we went earl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The only negative I have is we went early for the happy hour only to find out the water front location doesn't have one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hostess was rude and inappropriate. Even ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Hostess was rude and inappropriate. Even though I had reservations confirmed for a table with a view, hostess wanted to seat is near the kitchen. We did not accept it and got a better table, but without the view. Waiter was proper but always in a rush. Food was great but the bad service will keep us from coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.