Roy's San Diego Waterfront

4.5
1174 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Good for a Date
  • Scenic View
Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 239-7697
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Quy Trinh
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
1st Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

What 1174 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great service & wonderful food.
Not crazy about having to navigate through the Marriot to get to restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We went to Roy's for our anniversary and had a great time! The staff and waiter Chris were fantastic - they treated us like royalty. Food was delicious (as usual). I want to go back again next week. Amazing views from the patio seating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The food was intereting, the service was beyond terrific, The shortribs were the meatiest that I had ever had. Beautiful weather for al fresco dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The setting is amazing and the food never disappoints. We went for Father’s Day and there was a limited but scrumptious menu. Parking is a distance from the restaurant at either the Marriot Hotel or at Seaport Village. Our favorite evening walk is to park close to the Star of India Ship, take a long walk along the embarcadero to Roy’s, for a quick drink & appetizer, then walk back to the car.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

A poor brunch menu but normally the food is good. It was disappointing for brunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Sad to say, the food just isn’t as good as it used to be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating a birthday and Father’s Day. Appreciated the table decoration and thoroughly enjoyed Two desserts!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Very nice time, great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Fabulous food & service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Outstanding in every way!!! Rick our waiter was great as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Amazing views and perfect service. Loved the Hawaiian martinis!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The restaurant is very conveniently located not far from the Convention Center. During service, there were several mistakes (shrimps were served with vegetarian meal, etc.) and fish tacos was not the greatest (according to gourmets).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Fabulous Mai Tais

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Too many kids. Turned into casual dining. Service terrible. Food was good though. Place needs dress code

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

This was our second time at Roy’s . The first time was in Hawaii . Our order included two NY steaks , giant tiger shrimp and scallops . The steaks were very good , however my shrimp was over cooked and dried .

The price for the shrimp was a little too much for the quality of food I got.

The scallops were also a little over cooked and not what we experience in Hawaii .

Overall the food was good and the atmosphere was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Used a TravelZoo voucher for an early dinner on a Saturday. We had a reservation, but it looked like there was plenty of tables for last-minute diners, as well. Service started off a bit slow, as I waited almost 15 minutes for a soda and then another 10 minutes to get a replacement iced tea when it was discovered that there wasn't enough carbonation in the soda. Our waitress did seem to have a lot of tables, so I think she needed help more than anything. However, once the drinks and the orders were finally taken, service sped up. We didn't see our waitress as often, but there were other employees who were either bringing the food or refilling the water and tea. Our waitress was very friendly & helpful. The reduction of service is not on her as a waitress; it's on the restaurant as a whole, as I believe there should have been more waiters for the outdoor seating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner and out waitress was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I've dined at this Roy's locations multiple times, as well as other Roy's locations (San Francisco, Anaheim, La Jolla, and even Guam!). I have to say, I was very disappointed with the service I experienced last night. I put in the notes it was my 30th birthday, hoping for a good seat. Instead, my boyfriend and I were seated off in the corner, by the waitstaff door. There were two or three gnats pestering our table. Our server (Emily) was MIA most of the meal. We ordered a lobster California roll to start, and it took almost 25 minutes to come to the table. I ordered the chef's special lamp chops, medium. They came out medium well (and one chop was actually well done). The demi was delicious, but just a tiny bit on the salty side. After dinner, we were not even offered coffee or after dinner wines. The only saving grace of the meal was their signature (and my favorite) chocolate soufflé. I am extremely disappointed. I've celebrated countless birthdays, law school graduation, and passing the bar exam at Roy's (it is actually my favorite restaurant, based on the outstanding dining experiences I have had at the Guam location, which is where I am from), so it only seemed fitting to celebrate a milestone birthday at Roy's. Last night's service was simply disappointing and unacceptable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

This was our first time at Roy's and it will not be our last. Took my wife for her birthday. The minute we walked in, we were greeted by a friendly hostess that wished my wife a happy birthday. Our server was also friendly and very attentive as was the whole staff. I had the short ribs and they were amazing. My wife had Roy's Triple and if you've never had butterfish, you need to order from Roy's. Dessert was their melting hot chocolate souffle- fantastic!
With the San Diego marina as the backdrop, our experience was excellent. Plan ahead, reserve a seat at the windows, and I guarantee you great evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The service was excellent especially our waiter (Ricardo) and the food was very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Very good all around

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Great food, great and friendly service, great setting. The tuna flatbread was amazing and creative.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great place, very romantic and delicious. Had a great Anniversary desert from the Restaurant as well. I highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Very unusual to have bad food, bad service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great food, but they seemed short staffed because of long delays in being seated, ordering, being served, etc. We expected it to be busy and have some Mother's-Day-rush delays, but it was extreme. I've dined at Roy's before and it has been better, so it was likely just an off day for them.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Horrible service!!! Waiter had excuses for everything!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My family and I visited Roy's Bayfront for the first time for a Mother's Day dinner on Saturday night prior to Mothers Day. We have eaten at many of Roy's restaurants and found it to be very good all around a solid 4+ star everytime. Our experience this time was a big let down. The food as usual very good but attentiveness by the wait staff was laking even though it was not slammed busy in fact there were open tables for extended time while we were there. We were running about 10 minutes late on our reservation so we called and were told that parking would be validated for self parking and partial for Valet. I got my ticket stamped for self parking and it cost me $24 because the machine would not accept the stamp as payment. Total time for dinner, and dessert was 2 hours from the time we sat down to finished paying the tab. I think next time I will go back to Roy's La Jolla where it is a sure thing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Meal and service delightful except server “forgot” to enter my order fir soufflé. Since I only ordered three things (salad, lamb, dessert) one would think one could remember that. The. She disappeared when it was time for check and I had to chase her down as she knew I was attending a performance and had limited time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Absolutely love Roy's! We have been coming to the two locations in San Diego for years. We did an early mother's day and it was their first time trying! Souffle is as good as always. My misoyaki butterfish was strangely a little charred yet served a little cold so that surprised me. Our server was nice and very sweet, not as knowledgeable on the menu as some of our various servers in the past or maybe it was just not presented as well. The view of course is fantastic! We love this place and of course will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Love Roy's, Great seafood and I had the mix plate with four types of fish. Service was wonderful, attentive but not overbearing. The only disappointment was that the crab fried rice had bell peppers in it! They made a fresh one without the peppers but it came pretty much when the meal was done. They were very accommodating though. Roy's has also gotten away from much of their Hawaii roots in the menu, although the flavors are superb.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

From the moment I arrived until we left I felt special. When I said I didn't see any cilantro, I am one of the population that can't stand it, the server said "I remembered fom last time." I was impressed that she would say that and thankful. All that we ate was sperlative. We had the Szechuan Spiced Pork Ribs....they were terrific. Very meaty.
I really love this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Excellent. Very yummy

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The worst service ever encountered in my life. After several conversations with the waitress about our daughter's peanut allergy, and many many assurances by her that allergies are taken very seriously at Roy's, they served her a meal with peanuts. She got severely sick, we had to administer Epi-pen, call 911 and spend an entire night at Rady Children's Hospita ER during our vacation. Zero follow up and zero remorse by the restaurant. The incompetence and negligence is astounding. They could have killed my daughter!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I have dined at many locations some of them multiple times. Always a great experience and that is why I continue to the restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Seafood trio was excellent, the patio is just lovely on a sunny day, with enough shade to keep us cool. This is our go to restaurant anytime we stay at the Marriott. Never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Everything was wonderful. The Butterfish was amazing. Had a great time overall.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Impromptu dinner at Roy’s while staying at the Marriott. We got a last minute reservation for 6:45. We arrived a bit early and were promptly seated on the patio. We ordered a roll of crab & Kobe beef and chicken spring rolls for starters. Both were delicious. We had a couple of drinks...one came in a pineapple and was good, my husband ordered a specialty whiskey cocktail that he really enjoyed. For main dishes, we order the roll again (it was that good!) and short ribs with mashed potatoes. Both were delicious. We were celebrating a special occasion and were given the most amazing molten lava cake for dessert. Our appetizers took a bit to come out but our server made up for it in our bill.

Honestly, for some reason we had low expectations about Roy’s but we were overwhelmingly surprised at how much we enjoyed our dining experience and how great the service was. We’re looking forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Weekend getaway to San Diego.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Slow service and just ok food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

It was just ok. We’ve been to other Roy’s restaurants and this particular location was not as impressive. For the price I feel the service and ambience should have been better.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
30