About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (28)
Scenic View (24)
Romantic (20)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Business Meals (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
People Watching (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Modern Decor (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Casual (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

We arrived at the restaurant for drinks at 6pm for a 6:45 reservation. We checked with the hostess and made our way to the bar. At 6:50 we went back to the hostess to get our table. She told us there wasn't one available as people were "camping out"! From the people milling around I gather others were not getting tables either. The constantly smiling manager was no help and clearly did not care about anything as long as his tables were full. So we left and went up the street. I have been a member of OperTable for a decade and have eaten all over the world. This is the first time I have made a reservation that was not kept on time! Hope it is the last!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Service fair at best. Requested Champagne at the table before being seated....didn't happen...Server was not advised. Extremely noisy. Food is great...Parking is a joke. No clear direction as to where we park. Long walk to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

We came here for our 1st wedding anniversary and it did not disappoint. The service was fantastic and the food was outstanding. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

By far, my worst Valentines Day dining experience. Roy's severely overlooked and our 830 dinner reservation ended just before midnight. We showed up early and walked into a madhouse. A standing line out the front door with little empathy shown by stressed out staff members. After standing for over an hour a waiter finally showed up offering something for our torture - champagne. I could see couples fighting over the wait and couldn't help but wonder how many nights were ruined. As I reached my limit at 940 to cancel, the hostess let me know we'd be seated very soon so we stuck it out (after calling other nearby restaurants for last minute walk in plans to no avail) and we were seated just before 10PM. Our waitress was friendly though stressed and I wish I could say that the food made up for it, but it didn't. It felt like we got the remaining scraps of the fixed menu, though the Pineapple Moscow Mule was quite tasty. Ive been to other Roy's locations and have always been happy with the food and service but tonight was not their night. What a night to have such an epic failure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Group dinner on Valentine's Day- first course came after 1 hour 2o minutes. Dinner took three and a half hours. Even with pre-fix limited menu!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

slow service, OVERPRICED

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dissapointed, I was expecting the wonderful food and atmosphere from the Roys in Las Vegas. This was not on par

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Appetizers and dessert were very good. The entrees (butterfish and ribeye) were underwhelming, particularly for the price. There are better steak and fish places for the same price. Might be a good spot for happy hour, but I wouldn't go again for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was fantastic. All 5 people in our party had very high praise with their meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Roy's was awesome as usual. The ambiance and service were spectacular

I recommend you go for any special occasions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good service. Food above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was spectacular. No bread was served which is disappointing for such a nice restaurant. The staff need some training as far as serving as they reached across people to serve the plates.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My Husband and I decided to dodge the San Diego Valentines crowd and celebrate early! We headed Downtown Gaslamp are and ate at the Roy's Waterfront which is located in the Marriott Hotel Downtown San Diego. We loved that there was Valet parking! We had been to the Roy's location in La Jolla for happy hour and I was surprised at the difference in ambiance. The out-door bar was awesome and we had a beautiful table looking over the harbor, nice heaters made it very comfortable. my one complaint would be that the plexiglass we were sitting in front of was dirty and hindered what could have been a clearer view. The service was excellent. food came quickly and was awesome. But be prepared to spend a small fortune if you are hungry! We just had entrees and they did not come with any sides which would have made a meal, I guess you have to order these separately. our entrees were between $35-$45 each. With a glass of wine that made for a very spendy dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday with a wonderful dinner at Roy's with a gorgeous view of the bay. We enjoyed drinks from the bar with delicious appetizers. Our dinner was so tasty and satisfying. We will visit Roy's again.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Been several times and tried various menu items. Roys never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner was really good, and they have a kids menu.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We love Roy's whenever visiting San Diego and staying near the convention center. The outdoor patio on the marina is spectacular for casual or more formal dining. From sushi to complete seafood dinners, it's all great!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Delicious meal. Very effective and efficient service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We have dined at other Roy's and been pleased. This was a different experience. First, the teenager who seated us was wearing a tight skirt that barely covered her bottom. We watched her tugging at it every time she passed. We noticed after being seated that the chairs were pretty battered and the window sills needed painting. Definitely not up to the standards of a high end restaurant. The food was just average and the price charged for it was ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This Roys was not like any of the Roys I have been to before. The butter fish was terrible! Roy better find a new chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The dinner was great, but the service was not as elaborate as other Roys locations, it was still good, only a little more laid back. The service and food were good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Loved the experience and the food. Would suggest more seating for the view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We've enjoyed many Roy's evenings, and ... as always ... the dinner was excellent. The food superb, the ambiance lovely. The welcome crew, however, plus our server, were not very friendly or appreciative we were there.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It is a very long walk front the hotel lobby. We had an older party and did not like the walk. The food was almost worth the walk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Most of the Roy's restaurants that I have eaten at have been really wonderful and special. I felt that this one was a bit lackluster. First of all, you had to walk through a series of hallways and channels to get through the hotel that it is in. Once there, I felt that the restaurant seemed to be a bit empty and the decor seemed a little outdated. We had a nice waiter, but he transitioned his shift during our dinner. As far as food goes, we ordered the classic favorites which were just so so and I ordered a mojito which I did not care for. I have to say, it was no where near up to the former Roy's that I have been to (Atlanta and Palm Dessert). Overall between the blah atmosphere and the food, I was quite disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We have been to 3 Roy's across the U.S. and what we love is the consistency! High quality food prepared and presented perfectly! Thank you Roy's!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Bar service was poor. Coffee was cold. Everything else was delicious. Especially the scallops

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service! All the sides were delicious (crab fried rice, mushrooms, truffle mac and cheese) You can't go there without ordering the molten chocolate lava cake, however!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Lobster bisque was too spicy and had too much of a ginger aftertaste. I ordered the trio of fish, which were all good but not hot, more room temperature. The chocolate lava cake was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Muy buen servicio comida muy sabrosa, el lugar muy padre! Muy buena atencion drl gerente

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great views, service and food!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An older Roy's, it doesn't have Happy Hour. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Been to many Roy's locations all over the US and Hawaii. When traveling we always select one if nearby. Lately the Dallas, TX (Plano) location near our home has been suffering, so it was great to enjoy this top-notch Roy's location. Everyone in our party had a GREAT experience, and service was strong. The location is very dated, and only the tables on the glass are good. Needs a massive lighting update, some of the lighting is horrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We made a reservation for 8:30 and the restaurant closed at 9......we were not advised in the reservation confirmation or when we arrived.We were rushed through our meal which made for a very unpleasant celebration dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food and service were good. I had reservations but was set at a back table in the bar instead of in the dining room....where there were plenty of tables...very disappointed. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was good but expensive. Our seats overlooked the harbor which was a nice view.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

reservation was 545. We didn't get first course until 635pm. Server was running around helping everyone else while we sat there looking at the menu forever it seemed like.

Once we ordered, the food came out 20 minutes later, however right after appetizers entree came within minutes. We had no time to enjoy first course.

Entree felt rushed, and my filet wasn't hot anymore. It felt cold and I can't say why but it didn't taste good with the sauces they put on it.

Overall it was a bad experience considering I've been to Roy's at other locations and it is usually a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas pre fixe menu was wonderful. Fish entrees outstanding. Server gave great advice and explanations of each dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I was disappointed with the steak and lobster my daughter order. The steak was asked for well done however it was burned on the outside and very dry on the inside. The lobster was very dry and was given no drawn butter. The butter fish which I always order and love was blan and quite tasteless. Overall disappointed with a dinner of over 200 dollars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were given the option of sitting at a table or at the food bar overlooking the cooks. We chose the food bar which turned out to be a lot of fun. Our waitress took very good care of us and even treated us to a couple of samples. Our entrees were good (crusted rib eye and seafood sampler), but the samples of potstickers and coconut passion fruit dessert were excellent. We will be returning for those items for sure!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have been to many Roy's over the years and always had great food and great experiences. This time the food and the experience was just Ok. We will chalk this up to a party of eight on Christmas Eve. We will still visit Roy's other restaurants just not this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food. The wait staff was very personable. I recommend this to anyone

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very nice restaurant to celebrate Christmas Eve. Difficult to locate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

As always, the food was great but we had the worst service that I have ever experienced there. It was very odd.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Booked a 1,000 point table early reservation but was only given 100 points. Very Pricey. Only issue with the meal was the greasy Shishito Peppers. *Would have been better if they just char broiled them or sauteed them in lemon garlic butter, deep frying them just made them greasy.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food is exactly what is described- Hawaiian fusion. Unique dishes and combinations. Very tasty food but definitely on the pricey side. Both indoors and outdoors offered nice views of the San Diego bay and boats.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Horrific experience for a business meal. Asked for quieter table, had to check with manager and never heard from her again. Waiters constantly shoving into back of chairs cutting across restaurant, noise level unbearable, food not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Hosted my out-of-town guest here on a lovely nite, we sat outdoors. They wanted to seat us at a table off to the side where 6 guests were happily hanging out, smoking - and after I asked for an alternative table, all was better. Our server was a little inconsistent, we went for a long time w/o seeing him - and needing drinks. There were many larger parties seated around us, but the ambiance overall was still so enjoyable, it was such a pleasant night, that we enjoyed ourselves fully. And the food was very tasty and served with very nice presentation, no complaints about that! We were two old (girl)friends - but this could be a great date night spot, FYI!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Family friendly but somewhat noisy. Had reservations but still had to wait half hour to get seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This has been our "Go-To" place for birthdays and anniversaries. Always special.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Scenic View, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.