Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (50)
Waterfront (44)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Business Meals (17)
Romantic (15)
Casual (15)
People Watching (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Healthy (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (0)
Sort By:
S
905 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

The outdoor sitting is incredible , food was amazing and the server was great. My first time in San Diego, would highly recommend this restaurant . I will for certain come back when I visit !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The total experience was great for my entire family and especially the grandchildren, our waiter was excellent and other staff members.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

I usually enjoy Roy's but this time I was a little disappointed. I always get The butterfish but the portion was much smaller than usual. Ordered $70 bottle of wine, suggest they take Cain Cuvée off wine list, only so so. Love the Roy's in Maui and Newport and Palm Springs

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Every thing was perfect

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic as always. Royal's never disappoints. Excellent place for a family or work gathering

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Location was great, on the harbor. Sat outside, had a pre-fixed menu for the holiday, so not sure how the regular menu is, but the pre-fix was good. I had the crab cake Benedict. It is a bit pricey. And you have to pay for parking - we did get a discount for dining, but still paid $10.00 - would have been 24.00 without validation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

How can you not love the location. It overlooks the Marina. Great options on the menu and the food is excellent. I had the buttery fish and it melts in my mouth with every bite.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent meal! Great service! Very loud so not a super spot for romance. We'll be back again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great location to kick back and people watch while eating and drinking great food and cocktails. Courtney service added to the dinner and we had a great time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I have eaten in many Roys locations with great enjoyment but the lunch menu at the San Diego waterfront location was very mediocre. Three of us ate there, the service was barely acceptable and the food was just OK. We were given a menu with a specialty wine list and when we ordered one of the very pricey wines we were informed (after the server left the table without taking the rest of the order) that those wines were not available at the lunch service. Too bad, that might have rescued the lunch for us. We had the Ahi tuna salad (4 tiny pieces of Ahi in a bowl of limp iceberg lettuce, the Kailua pork sandwich, dry pork with little sauce and another sad little side salad (fries or other sides not offered) and the coconut shrimp which were tasty enough but again served on sad lettuce and rather forlorn appearing. Would not return here.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Do not recommend shrimp salad. Not enough shrimp for the price

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The food was mediocre at best. Fish was not fresh. Filet was over cooked and lacking in every aspect. To top things off, there was a hair in my friends sushi roll. I would say that saving grace was location and waiter. Besides that, save your money and go elsewhere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This place was just OK. I'd like to highlight the wheelchair access problems they have. When I booked this I had no idea it was such a HIKE from the hotel parking to the restaurant. It was very difficult for the person in the wheelchair and the elderly person walking with him to navigate this meandering, endless maze to eventually end up on the 2nd floor of the restaurant building and then take the elevator down. Totally crazy and a huge buzz-kill for them. If I had know to ask - "how big an ordeal is it to get from the drop-off area to the restaurant?", I would have. Who thinks of asking questions like that? Even when we left I asked if there was a closer location for them to get picked up. There was, but it again went through a maze and across a large empty parking lot. For various reasons we didn't end up having a full meal here, but the drinks were super expensive and the seafood extravaganza was not worth the price. Alternatively, the lobster bisque was good with the coconut curry flavoring.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Incredible food and view. Wonderful service. A little loud but it didn't bother us, would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food, service and ambiance. We had the pleasure of having two servers which was really, really efficient.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent food, watching the fusion of flavors evolve over the years has been a treat, and it keeps getting better.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Everything was good overall. Person seating us was snippy....

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Glad I made reservation so was nice getting seated immediately. Very classy restaurant. Had dined at Roys in Atlanta a couple of times in Atlanta some years back but this Marina location adds an extra touch for travel treat

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Awesome! Thanks for accommodating our large group!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Particularly love the ribs appetizer and butterfish entree.

Find it a bit off putting that parking after validation is still $10, even after a nice fancy $110 lunch for 2.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This Roy's location has grown a bit tired, they need new menu items and to get their prices more in line with other Roy's locations.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Roy's has a lot of things going for it -- location and service.

You can't beat eating with a beautiful water view! They have the shields to protect you from the wind and the cozy heaters to take the chill off. The service is impeccable -- friendly, helpful, but not over-bearing.
The food - well -- bland. :( I got the sampler and the ribs were too tough to eat. The chicken needed the sauce and still wasn't up to par. The calamari had a nice twist to it with the veggies and was our fave of the night. k
Inside the noise level was out the roof, so I would never eat inside. They need some heavy duty sound absorbers in there. But outside is as paradise, so if you are going for friendly servers and ambiance, it's a great place!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mothers Day - So it was busy, with kids and families having a nice time. For my group, this was a business meal, and everything was fine. One note to the restaurant... it needs a good cleaning! Dusty chairs, dirty carpet (under serving shelves), generally looked unkempt and that was a disappointment.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is the first less-than-perfect score I have ever given to Roy's. I typically enjoy the restaurant very much, and have made it a priority to visit several locations. However, I was disappointed in the complete lack of vegetarian options on the Mother's Day menu. Not a single entree could be modified to accommodate my vegetarian daughter. The rest of our meals were just 'ok' — nothing inventive of mouthwatering.

The only saving grace was our gracious Server who tried to ask the kitchen for _something_ to feed my daughter. She ended up having French Toast off the children's menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A great place for special occasions! Great food and service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great restaurant, great drinks and food

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We stopped in for a quick business lunch. Great view of marina, excellent service. Place was pretty quiet, which in my experience is not the usual at Roy's. Fish tacos were pretty good, although hard to taste the fish with the seasonings.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

So noisy we could not hear each other.
Some food not as good as we remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food and service never disappoints.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

In general, I am not a fan of chain restaurants. That said, Roy's is not only my favorite chain restaurant but one of my favorite restaurants, period. The food is absolutely delicious, the cocktails are excellent (fun, not too sweet, and decipherable) and the service is consistently excellent.

I actually ate at Roy's twice on this one trip to San Diego. The patio is definitely the way to go if the weather is good; but it was cool and rainy the first night I was there and the covered bar with heat lamps felt warm, dry, pleasant and fun. The interior of the restaurant there is actually a bit dark and grim.

I can't imagine not getting seafood there; it's so delicious. The butterfish is wonderful, but if you like to try several things get Roy's trio (salmon, butterfish, and tuna; all prepared differently). The sushi is delicious. One of my friends is gluten-free and they were fantastic about that; knew the composition of every dish and exactly what in it contained the gluten and if it could be modified - so nice!

This is a great place for a nice dinner. It's pretty expensive; but I love it for business dinners, groups of friends, and special-occasion romantic things also. I'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food at Roy's is always tasty but the Appetizer "canoe" and Desserts were the best. The noise level was extremely high and we were right in the middle of the room. The service was good and I had no complaints. Be sure to order the Chocolate Souffle, Key Lime pie, and Pineapple Upside Cake. All of these desserts are small but you will probably be so full from the meal that you will want to share them.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The actual menu offered was not what was contained in a Roy's promotional email. We went for the email advertised soft shell crab but was told by our server that the email promotions do not include any of the "costal" locations. We were very disappointed but our server tried to make it better by offering us a dessert "on the house" which was very nice but we still didn't get the entree we came for.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I just attended a Rombauer Wine Dinner at this restaurant and WOW. The menu was spectacular. Executed perfectly with some fun molecular gastronomy in there. Kona Kampachi flown in that morning! Delicious. Great cocktails too... "Rye me a River" might make your day....

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great spot for conference / convention attendees. Escape meeting rooms and tray yourself to a great meal, great service and beautiful views!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great location and service. But food was average and uninspired.
Have had some great meals at Roy's in past years (Kauai, Orlando, Chicago), but this meal was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The seats were very uncomfortable on the patio, we are in our 60's. The incrusted mahi was very salty. 4 of the meals were good, salty fish not so much

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food, great service, and amazing views. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was tasty but service was not great and ambience was only okay. Waitress forgot to put in my dessert order so I had to wait another 20 min. Not my favorite Roy's location. The restaurant is located inside of the Marriott and it wasn't easy to get to. La Jolla location is much nicer.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food, and service. Suprisingly fantastic sushi rolls.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.