Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (53)
Scenic View (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (32)
Romantic (30)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
People Watching (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Business Meals (19)
Casual (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Healthy (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (5)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1012 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 19 hours ago

We sat outside. They had heaters. Quite nice. Appreciated Staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

We ate early so there were few other diners present. The tasting menu was great, and on waiter’s recommendation we substituted a chocolate soufflé for the date tart on the menu. All was delicious and beautifully presented.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Roy’s has reliably delicious food and great service at all of the locations that I’ve visited. The ambiance is usually dimmed and quiet, but this particular night there was a larger loud group. It was nice when they left. This is one of my favorite restaurants for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

I had the braised short ribs. They were delicious. It was a nice place for a business dinner. The only issue is that it was very noisy and hard to hear my business guests, so discussions were difficult. But everyone really enjoyed their meals. Service was excellent. View of the bay was also gorgeous.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I knew Roy’s from Hawaii. Stopped in with business associates for fish and drinks with nice outdoor bay front view. Great time. The ahi poke was top notch as was my fish sampler plate (which had small portions of their four top sellers). Great place for business or a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great food & ambiance! Fantastic location.
Excellent service!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We have been loyal Roy's diners for the past ten years. Chef Quy always takes are of us and this occasion was no different. Wine selection was excellent. The Misoyaki Butterfish always spot on and of course, the Chocolate lava cake is a great choice to round out the meal. Highly recommended for a great dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Food is always good
They brought desert and our dinner plates were not even cleared we had just finished eating. That was not great. Food is always delish !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We went here Saturday lunch for mom's 80th birthday! There were 20 of us (15 adults and 5 children).
Very shortly after we were seated the children all received quesadillas and crudite. Which was great! I even asked if that was a mistake, but our waiter said it was complimentary. It turns out, it's actually part of the children's menu. However, the children weren't asked what they wanted to drink which is also part of the children's menu. The adults weren't either. Lani asked about ice-tea but was told they didn't have sweet tea. But nobody else was asked if we wanted drinks.
The food was mostly fine. My butterfish melted in my mouth. It was cooked just right but so tiny especially for $41. Most of the time when my husband and I go to Roy's, I order short ribs. My adult daughter tasted my sons' short ribs and said it was just ok. I do give kuddos that short ribs was on the child's menu. My other son, got the chicken and he said it was good and a good portion. Four of us ordered salads. They were on the small side.
They gave my mom their traditional melting hot chocolate souffle for her birthday. And the kids all got ice-cream. My niece ordered a dessert she's had there before, but it wasn't available so he gave her another dessert complimentary.
Our waiter was very friendly, but I guess he was busy serving other tables too.
My mom had a nice birthday celebration!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Scallops where delectable and they offered a vegetarian menu with some great choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I had been to this restaurant the previous year when our business meeting was at the Marriott. The food was amazing and drinks really good. This year however I was even more impressed. The lengths that they went to for a manager of mine that has special dietary needs was no less than amazing. Appetizer, main course, and dessert. I would definitely come here again and would recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Excellent meal and service- a bit pricey but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Did take a little while for food to arrive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The short ribs were the best we had at any restaurant!! We are picky footies but we were pleasantly surprised. The butterfish was absolutely delicious too. Service exceptional. Thank you we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

The overall experience was great! Amazing food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food and service but access has declined since the Marriot locks the gate back in from the restaurant. You have valet parking at Marriot and access thru the hotel to the boardwalk of the marina where the entrance to Roy's is but you can not walk back into the Marriot from the boardwalk unless you are a hotel guest with a room key for the gate. That results in a rather long walk back to valet service.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Nice dining experience from the hostess to the service and what a fantastic meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Ok, not great. Pretty ordinary food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We had an excellent time. Our server was very friendly and helpful. We received just the right amount of attention and they acknowledged our anniversary with a colorful bow at the table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I am not a tourist but i sure felt like one.
Good views beautiful san diego so enjoyed the food service super. i will go again.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, People Watching, Organic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We ate on the patio. Small but nice area. Good view. Food was good. Decent prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

For the price, I would not expect brown romaine lettuce for the Maui wowie salad. I do not serve brown lettuce at home to my family and friends, would never expect it at this high end restaurant. Very disappointing ! Been to other Roys and this one did not stand up to its reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Roy's is our favorite restaurant for fresh seafood. Their sushi and pome are consistently outstanding. The waterfront location in San Diego is outstanding. We watch their internet specials for discounts and unique offerings.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I have always had a great experience at Roys. ... Unfortunately, this visit fell short. I was seated for no less than 15 -20 minutes in the patio before a server even acknowledged me, let alone offered to take my drink order after I pointed it out. Ridiculous. If you can't figure out who is in your section, figure it out! If you are delaying orders cuz the kitchen is swamped, make sure I have a drink available to kill time.

As expected, the food was great!!!

The staff working the patio that night......a major detractor.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We ate at Roy's after seeing a Travel Zoo deal for a Prix Fixe dinner for four. Sometimes I feel like the servers make me feel cheap for using a "coupon" but I didn't get that vibe at all from our waiter here. He was cheerful about describing our choices, which everyone at the table was happy to choose from. Portions were generous and delicious. The setting at the downtown location is lovely, overlooking the boats docked at the Embarcadero, near Seaport Village. It was a perfect summer evening which made it awesome for sitting outside on the patio. View is best outside! We were celebrating a birthday and they brought out a complimentary yummy dessert for our birthday girl...not just a scoop of vanilla ice cream but a crazy-good chocolate lava cake!

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The waitress was outstanding. We had a business dinner and the waitress was very understanding with our need to discuss business and than order our dinner. She was very knowledgeable with the menu and with our wine selection. Highly recommend Roys

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food was fantastic & the service was excellent. Will definitely go there again.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Scenic View, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great


N

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We chose to sit inside and had the whole restaurant to ourselves. We had a Travelzoo voucher for four and it was taken with no problems. Our waiter Conner was very attentive and checked back very often to make sure there was nothing we needed. Our water glasses were never less than 1/2 full which is a big deal in our family! With the voucher we had a special menu. We started with the yummy egg rolls! Then my daughter had the salmon and loved it! Not one bite left. Husband and son had the chicken and said it was very tasty. I opted for the burger with mushrooms. It was just ok. I would have liked it better if it had lettuce on it. I think it would have cut the richness which was a little overwhelming. Dessert was a lime cake & a chocolate cake rectangle. Both were delicious but we thought the chocolate one was very small. Overall a very enjoyable dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My only real complaint was that it was a significantly more expensive Roy's. Entrees were closer to $50 average than $35 at most of the others I have been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Have visited numerous Roy's over the years. This may have been the worst experience. Had a Short Rib brought to the table which was all fat. Butter fish very small serving and Chocolaye Soufflé over poked and dry. Waiter apologized and took off bad items off bill. Never had a manager stop by as requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Roy's is one of our favorite places and it never disappoints. The outdoor seating area looking over the marina is wonderful and the food and service are always first-rate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Knew it in Hawaii a while ago. Didn't hear much about the fusion distinction. Nice place. Pleasant. Quiet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We ate the Chefs tasting menu. The food was good and the portions perfect. Our only complaint was we felt rushed. We would have liked a little more time before the first course. Next time we will wait longer before we order. Keep in mind Roy's is in the Mariott Marquis. If you are not staying there it's a pretty good walk from the valet parking. Parking runs $12.00 for valet.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Roy's was an amazing pre-symphony date dinner. Filet mignon was succulent, shellfish flavorful and cooked just right, grilled Cesar perfect starter and so many other options. We'll plan to return for happy hour and interesting small plate options. View of the marina and harbor breathless, as is the Marriott resort setting. Very easy to get to, too. We'd highly recommend Roy's and plan to return soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I would have given Roy's five stars for this visit were it not for the spotty service we received. It took at least 15 minutes for our server to take our wine order and then we had to wait for the wine to finally arrive. In fact, we had our appetizer before we had our wine....not something I'm happy with. The food, however, was excellent which is why we keep coming back to Roy's. After the wine arrived, our salad, entrée and dessert were promptly served. I felt as though they were trying a bit too hard to turn the table, but since we were going to a concert it was not a problem for us. Otherwise, I would have asked our server to slow the meal service down a bit. My sole criticism of the food was that our rib appetizer was fatty and one rib was tough to the point of being inedible. Everything else was wonderful, served at the proper temperature with a great presentation - typical of Roy's. In spite of the hiccups we'll be coming back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

The waitress that my mother-in-law and I had was hardly attentive. My water was only refilled once, the entrees came out before our appetizer and then came out again soon after we received the appetizer. We decided to keep the entrees this time, but by the time we finished eating the appetizer, our entrees were barely warm. While our waitress was hardly ever at our table, we saw other waiters and waitresses being very attentive to their tables. Our experience overall was disappointing, we expected so much more from this place. Unfortunately, it was my first experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great location on the waterfront with outdoor bar and outdoor dining option. Ordered rack of lamb medium rare that came medium well. But chef made up for it with dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Enjoyed the harbor view, food and excellent service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.