Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (43)
Scenic View (37)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Special Occasion (25)
People Watching (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Casual (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (17)
Authentic (13)
Business Meals (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
966 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

My son's 19th Birthday 🎉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I came here to celebrate our anniversary. Though they put ribbon on the table to let the sever know we were celebrating a special occasion the server did not bring us a celebratory desert. When we mentioned it to the server he said he wasn't going to do it. I mentioned other Roys do it but he said every Roys was different. It was very disappointing and It will be the last special occasion we will celebrate at this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrating our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great preparations and willing to accommodate special dietary restrictions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This was the 8th Roy's that we've been to, and our last. We've had good experiences with a couple of the other Roy's, but we were very disappointed with the food at the San Diego Roy's. We were celebrating our anniversary, and in the past the other Roy's had the table decorated and special menus printed. We also had our photo taken at other Roy's. This location was very lackluster, and the service mediocre. The food was the biggest bummer!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Scott was great. Very professional and friendly and Willing to joke around with us and my 4 yr old

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Greatly enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. Had the seafood combo and it was excellent. Great location on the Marina.
Only suggestion, they need a happy hour!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The view was great and the food was better. Service was good. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food in a great spot. Our waiter was very nice and really helpful in offering suggestions. Overall a great experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent and had a great time! We live downtown and will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Roy"s is always Fantastic! Been there many times in many different parts of the world with no complaints!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Some of the food was not prepared correctly and given the wait time to receive the food and the late hour my party was not interested in re-order. I.E. the Wagyu burger was overcooked and the fries were luke warm. The Ahi with the Trio was rubbery.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Always great at Roy's no better Cuisine anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I absolutely loved this restaurant. The food was amazing. My friends and I ordered different dishes and every dish was perfect! We also had their pineapple turnover cake with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and it was the cherry on top. The portions are great and it's a little pricey and its definitely worth it. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. Our server Jeremy was amazing, he was helpful and just overall great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Rude servers, uncooked food sent back and returned microwaved, cockroaches running over table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have been a fan of Roy's for years and visited this one every time we are in San Diego. This visit was a total disappointment. Sorry to say, the service and food left a lot to be desired. The oversized table we were given in "left Field" was also inappropriate and uncomfortable. We will not be including Roys on our next visit to San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Second time we've had Abby as our server - she's professional , courteous and makes excellent recommendations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Order the 4 fish combo...excellent as always at Roy's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Schlechter und arroganter Service.

Chicken Salad war ohne chicken und als das reklamiert wurde, war der Kellner beleidigt.

Nie wieder

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food was familiar and sitting outside overseeing the bay was pleasant. Service was good and prompt. A little uneasy was that upon arrival at the restaurant when it just opened for lunch, we were told that they only have seats for six outdoor even though we had made reservation weeks ago. We didn't mind and actually liked being outdoors, just slightly annoyed that we had to.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Three meals one of which was great. Loved the scallops. My adult children both ordered the butter fish on the waiter and servers recommendation. It was awful. It as the consistency of baby food. It was an expensive meal and to have two out of theee of us not happy was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Roy's is always consistent with quality food and service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Once again Roy's was outstanding. Great service and plates that are delicious and meaningful.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Was an exceptional night. Just had a hair in my filet Mignon plate. All I had to complain about.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Scott did a great job making our special night even more special! Perfect timing on the everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Service was mediocre and the food was worse. I had a better meal the night before at a brewery and paid a quarter of the price. This really disappointed me because I have been to both the Maui and new port locations and considered both to be some of the best meals I've had. The San Diego location should be ashamed in their quality and service, my family actually had to return a meal to the kitchen, and we never do that. I will never recommend this location to anyone ever, no one wants to pay that much money and receive a meal that my mother could cook better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I've eaten numerous times at Roy's Hawaii Kai and always loved it. It took an hour to get served. My fish was so over cooked it was crunchy and the only seasoning seemed to be salt.
We will never go back and I doubt we will go to another Roy's' sin the mainland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We eat at Roy's every year during Comic-Con and love sitting out in the glorious weather. The food is acceptable and the service is decent. But, the prices during Comic-Con are atrocious! A $70.00 steak at a mid range restaurant is absurd. Raising prices for a specific event is criminal and WE WILL NOT BE BACK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Misoyaki Butterfish was small on overlooked. Unnecessary "relish" on top. The halibut was WAY OVERCOOKED and the lobster bits were the junk pieces like the knuckles and claws. Almost inedible. Won't return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Back again for a Comic Con dinner. The food was fantastic and the service was attentive without being intrusive. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

We were not happy with our dining experience unfortunately. Our server was slow throughout the dining experience. We ordered off of the lunch menu and I sadly had to return the salad because the lettuce was very wilted. The location is great and if you get a window seat, it has pretty views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Place needs to be renovated, quote old and needs a re hab, and not cheap in there
good location and view, but run down
Would not particular go back unless I was staying at the hotel, too many other better
places

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Always good food. Decent wine offerings. They stopped providing edamame tho :( as free appetizer.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We have dinned at the Hawaii location and knew we were in for a treat. We were not disappointed-lovely meal and the ambiance very pleasant. We look forward to returning next time we are in the area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We felt that, given the price point, servers could be better trained-- however they were very friendly.
Sat out on the patio, which we had requested and appreciated... but felt it was looking like it needed a good cleaning and refurbishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We went for our one year anniversary dinner and had a late reservation. The lobster in the shellfish sampler was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

What a great restaurant on all accounts. my only complaint (more for the hotel then restaurant) is that the signage and way finding is ridiculously confusing and lacking. it took us 15 minutes to find the place from the Marriott entrance (where we parked). we found our selves stressed to miss our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I love Roy's La Jolla, but because we were close to downtown, the 5 of us went to Roy's waterfront instead. The restaurant was kind of empty for a Saturday night with plenty of tables available, but they still put us in a table designed for 4 people, and I was sitting at one end with a giant table leg in front me for 2+ hours.
The waiter was hiding in the back room and not around most of the time and we had to look for him every time we needed something. The waiter did not know about the surf and turf special that has been advertised and was making it sound like he was doing us a favor to honor it, and only 2 orders were available. I ordered the Trio and the butterfish in the dish was so tiny that it was not even one bite. I was very disappointed in general and will stick with Roy's La Jolla.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great for sharing. There's a sampler appetizer that was perfect with a salad. Fireworks as we were finishing dinner was a nice touch!

Tags: Tapas, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Roy's never fails to please. Went here with my husband during a vacation in San Diego. We had been to other Roy's in San Francisco and Hawaii and this one was within walking distance from our hotel. Couldn't ask for a more pleasing experience. Be sure to try the Lobster Potstickers!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.