About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA
Roy's San Diego Waterfront, San Diego, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Eve! We will be offering our full menu and we will be open regular hours to celebrate the holidays with you and your loved ones.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

The start of a new holiday tradition! Join us on Christmas Day from 12-8PM for an exclusive 3-course holiday menu for only $59.95! We will also offer a Children's Menu and a limited version of our Classic Menu. Reserve your table today.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve with a remarkable four-course menu, starting at just $55.
We will have extended hours until 1AM to ruing in the New Year with you!

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Waterfront (23)
See All
Romantic (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
People Watching (8)
Casual (8)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Horrific experience for a business meal. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Horrific experience for a business meal. Asked for quieter table, had to check with manager and never heard from her again. Waiters constantly shoving into back of chairs cutting across restaurant, noise level unbearable, food not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Family friendly but somewhat noisy. Had ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Family friendly but somewhat noisy. Had reservations but still had to wait half hour to get seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

This has been our "Go-To" place for birt ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This has been our "Go-To" place for birthdays and anniversaries. Always special.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Scenic View, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table was available when we arrived. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our table was available when we arrived. The food was excellent & the service very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit disappointed. Food was mediocre. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A bit disappointed. Food was mediocre. Ambiance isn't outstanding. For the price - go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great meal and service as usual. Catered ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great meal and service as usual. Catered to our special requests.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Roys for lunch three days out of ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Went to Roys for lunch three days out of five during a recent business trip to San Diego. Each time the food and service was good, and we sat outside enjoying the sunshine and ambiance. Good choice of food to match varying appetites. Ahi Salmon and Tuna were especially good.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a favorite spot to dine with frie ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Always a favorite spot to dine with friends and family.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Roy's trio was a great sample of their f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Roy's trio was a great sample of their fresh fish. Terrific experience outside at the marina. Unusually warm evening. Normally, we would have brought jackets for the patio.

Great staff. Great menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food, excellent service, bea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Outstanding food, excellent service, beautiful view.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the waiter's suggestion ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Disappointed in the waiter's suggestion of the Wagyu beef NY. Two of us ordered it, and both were over-cooked and tough. I was looking forward to a great steak, but sadly was not worth the money.

Our guess is that we received the last pick of meat for the day, since we had such a late reservation, but even then -- an expensive steak should always be cooked to the customer's preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A nice restaurant down on the waterfront ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

A nice restaurant down on the waterfront. The grilled Caesar salad was surprisingly tasty and the maki rolls were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service! We will be ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food and service! We will be back soon. hector went above and beyond and helped to make our dinner very special.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My family enjoyed the outdoor seating wi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My family enjoyed the outdoor seating with the fire pit. Food was wonderful and dairy free request was handled without an issue. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual! Gets a little chilly ind ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great as usual! Gets a little chilly indoors so bring a wrap or a sweater!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there for a Girls Night Out and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went there for a Girls Night Out and the experience was perfect. Chef Brian and crew took great care of us. The food was delicious, the service excellent. Roy's never disappoints! Thanks for a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining was great. The waiter was ver ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our dining was great. The waiter was very helpful with his recommendations. Food was excellent. The calamari appetizer we ordered was so far the best I've ever tasted as well as the vegetarian tofu entrée. The chocolate soufflé for dessert is a killer, it melts in your mouth.

Superb dining over all, it's worth the trip. I would definitely recommend Roy's to friends and family. We did celebrate our 31st wedding anniversary too in Roy's Hawaii with an awesome service and same here @ Roy's San Diego Waterfront.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an outstanding property. Everyt ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is an outstanding property. Everything from the first greeting at the door to the food quality was first rate. Our server was attentive but not annoying. The portions were excellent. The food was fresh and was prepared by someone who clearly knew what they were doing.

All in all this is a first rate location run by a first class team.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They are very selective of which special ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 12, 2016

They are very selective of which special deals they honor. They woukdn't honor the Prix fix deal. Also, we were there for a birthday celebration, and they charged us for the bday dessert that we thought was complimentary. Lastly, they didn't take a picture of our birthday party of 4. It was rather disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Roys. Food and service was great! Receptionist made us feel welcomed and she was a wonderful first impression as we arrived for dinner. Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Me and my lovely wife went for a dinner ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Me and my lovely wife went for a dinner on sunday was great outdoor romantic dinner the special offer is great the wine and everything food,desert service great stop and the marina in front well everything great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband took me to Roy's for my birth ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband took me to Roy's for my birthday. We go to all the Roy's since visit the Hawaiian Islands alot. Food was great, ambiance, view. Service was deathly poor. It was very lunch, waiter only had tables. Never came back to refill water glasses. Had to keep reminding him of what we needed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

3 of my girlfriends and I decided to com ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

3 of my girlfriends and I decided to come to Roy's for a Friday night dinner and take advantage of their steak and lobster special. I was expecting the lobster to be small, but it was not to my surprise! The steak looked a little small, but after eating the wedge salad, edamame and other veggies, the portions sizes were perfect! It's a little loud in the restaurant, so I'm not sure it would be suitable for a romantic dinner per se, but I would definitely return. My friends and I also share the mashed potatoes and crab fried rice which were both delicious. We also shared the pineapple upside down cake and toasted coconut ice cream. They were both very good. I wanted to try the flourless chocolate cake, but we were too full.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was just ok except for the Cala ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was just ok except for the Calamari which was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Roy's at the Marroitt harbor has great s ...

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Roy's at the Marroitt harbor has great seafood prepare in many different ways! One of my favorite dinner spot when in of the west coast or Hawaii.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome weather added to the dinner alon ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Awesome weather added to the dinner along the bay at sunset. Couldn't have asked for a better experience and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's Waterfront has a great patio for d ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Roy's Waterfront has a great patio for dining with wonderful views of the marina. The food is classic Roys and unlike many Roys they do have an extensive lunch menu. The service was attentive and quick. Dessert is not something to be missed but several of the options do take about 15 mins so it is best to order ahead. Overall well worth it if you want a nice meal near the convention center.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and better service

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food and better service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great seafood, interesting appetizers, w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2016

great seafood, interesting appetizers, wonderful setting with harbor view.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Tank you Roy's with the Champain at our ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Tank you Roy's with the Champain at our table celebrating our 60th Wedding Anniversary,

and a great meal and great service.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's Waterfront has a great patio for d ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Roy's Waterfront has a great patio for dining with wonderful views of the marina. This was our first try to Roy's in San Diego and it was excellent. Our server, Hector, suggested we start with a sushi roll. It was exceptional. Our entrees were also outstanding. He guided us throughout our meal and offered excellent recommendations. Overall we had a very nice experience. Unfortunately, we don't reside in San Diego but will definitely return to Roy's on our next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great consistent fish and service.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great consistent fish and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. Restaurant ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent service and food. Restaurant temperature was a little cold but otherwise very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great views of the San Diego waterfront ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great views of the San Diego waterfront and surrounding areas. My wife and I booked an earlier time to dine to miss the dinner crowd. We started our meal with a cocktail, Polynesian Passion served in a tiki glass, this added to the tropical ambience and was a very tasty drink. We wanted to eat light so we ordered the Canoe appetizer for two, Lakanilau roll and an Ahi Caesar salad. All these entrees were very flavorful and just the right amount of food. For dessert we had Roy's Melting Hot Chocolate Souffle', served hot out of the oven, delicious! Many thanks to Jaime E our server, she gave us great service and I will ask for her again when dining at Roy's.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't eaten in Roy's in awhile - and wo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Hadn't eaten in Roy's in awhile - and won't return. Quality of food has really gone down. Couldn't understand since it had been consistently fabulous for years. Did a little online research and discovered they had been bought out by Applebee's a few years ago. Mystery solved!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is one of the best Roys restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is one of the best Roys restaurant I've ever been on. My number 1 choice is Hawaii and so far these 2 are the best ones and the staff are just fantastic and lots of sense of humor that will make you feel comfortable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here before and the food was excell ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Came here before and the food was excellent but not so much this time but the service was great but the food is definitely overpriced and not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Great food. Great management!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food. Great management!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

This was by far the worst meal we have h ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was by far the worst meal we have had at Roys and will not go back. My wife had the ribeye which was small and grisly - $43 - ouch. I had the Thai chicken - dry and a paltry portion for almost $30. No bread served even though requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

For a Saturday night it wasn't very crow ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

For a Saturday night it wasn't very crowded. We had appetizers, wine, entrees and dessert. All were healthy portions. Service was good, will return here again soon. Hopefully it will be more lively then :)

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.