HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 19 times today
Special offers available. See details

Roy's San Diego Waterfront

4.4
1107 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Business Meals
Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 239-7697
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Quy Trinh
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
1st Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

What 1107 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
RobH (San Diego)
4.0  Dined 4 days ago

Meals we ordered were great! It's a nice place to dine. Roy's is one of my favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Evan & Michela were both outstanding staff members. My partner & I are always open to trying new foods, and are trying to expand our palettes and explore and dive into more fine dining. So, Roy's was a great start to our new adventure. And really appreciate the amazing hospitality.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Mexico City)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

AAD CONGRESS

Report
Helpful
RichardA (New York Area)
5.0  Dined 7 days ago

A fabulous restaurant which never disappoints. It's my favorite restaurant!

Report
Helpful
vipGreatrestaurant (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Excellent food and service.

Report
Helpful
vipGreatTheatreOption (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Went on Valentines Day and unfortunately they had a “special “ menu. This basically allows them to overcharge and trim down the quality. Spicy tuna roll had no spice and virtually no tuna. Desserts were awful. Salad course so bland. Went to Roy’s in Hawaii and it was so memorable and delicious. Not so much at this location. Very disappointed

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Great experience at Roy's for Valentine's Day. Quick service: They were always on top of things and constantly filling water and always there when another drink needed to be ordered. The food was great and on time with every course. Very friendly servers as well. I would definitely go back again and look forward to it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Enjoyed the evening, service and ambience. All the staff seemed to take a personal interest in our enjoying the evening.
Thank you for a truly great evening
Tim n Sheila

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Roy’s is s great place to go for a special dinner. Food is always prepared to perfection. They are the master of sauces and dressing here. Great seafood and steaks. The keiffir lime tart for dessert is like having fireworks in your mouth.

Report
Helpful
vipTaxdoc (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Appetizers were great and service was great. You could get a better streak at the Sizzler. The meat was terrible, full of gristle and fat. No flavor and smothered in sauce.

Report
Helpful
JulieG (Miami)
2.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Huge, upscale chain restaurant in huge hotel next to Convention Center. Unless you are part of a big group, there is no reason to go to this restaurant. Hostess desk was disinterested and acted as though they were doing you a favor by listening to your request, let alone sitting you. We actually did not eat at the restaurant, mainly because of the vast size of the restaurant in a massive hotel, and the snotty hostess.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
3.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

The waiter, servers and bartenders were lovely, attentive and friendly! The outdoor patio has a cozy ambience with fire pits and heaters and a beautiful view. I honestly didn’t love the food, however. The sushi roll was too spicy and a little fishy. The trio was disappointing—over-sauced fish with a tiny bit of vegetable. But, I’ve heard these are Roy’s customer favorites so I suppose it’s just my personal preference.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Dined outside. Lovely location. Patio heaters kept us very comfy. Service was wonderful. Have dined at several Roy’s locations... this one is our favourite. You must try the chocolate soufflé.

Report
Helpful
vipmdrs (San Diego)
4.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Service was excellent and friendly. Table and view were ok. Food was good. Wine was good but a bit expensive for the bottle at quite a high markup.

Report
Helpful
viplocal (Baltimore)
5.0  Dined on February 5, 2018

We have been to 2 Roys restaurants in Hawaii and always loved them! San Diego did not disappoint!! The grilled Caesar salad, Ahi and mahi mahi were all done to perfection! HIGHLY recommend the pineapple upside down cake dessert!!! It takes time to make so you have to order it earlier.... well worth it!! Perfect to split—- made it “just right”. Excellent service!
Definitely recommend

Report
Helpful
vipVirginiaB (Seattle)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

After enjoying several Roy’s restaurants in Hawaii, we tried our first mainland Roy’s on a recent trip to San Diego. As a family with a 3 year old and twin 1 year olds, dining can be a stressful experience. The service was great—sometimes showing up with young kids you get the side eye, but everyone from the hosts to Manager was friendly and welcoming. The open-kitchen layout of the restaurant provided plenty to keep the kiddos distracted. While the kids meals were more expensive than other restaurants, it included a generous kiddo friendly snack plate served immediately (a godsend when you have hungry, impatient kids).

As always, the adult food at Roy’s did not disappoint. My husband had the four fish sampler and enjoyed all the difference flavors and preparations and said it was cooked perfectly. I was happy to see a shellfish sampler on the menu with lobster tail, sea scallop, and shrimp—everything tasted fresh and flavorful.

Signage to the entrance of the restaurant from the Marriot could be a bit clearer, but that’s not the fault of the restaurant. Overall, a good dining experience and we’d go back.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

Great atmosphere, Wagyu burger was best burger I’ve ever eaten. Had to go again the next day.

Report
Helpful
BigE (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

Roy’s has proven to be an excellent restaurant at any of their locations.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
4.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Awesome environment and service...

Report
Helpful
vipHDL99 (Seattle)
3.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Our experience was mediocre at best. Food was average. Service the same.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

The ambiance was nice and our waitress was very friendly and gave us some recommendations that turned out to be very good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 25, 2018

Our server Amanda and our busboys were personable, friendly, and attentive - just right, not pushy or intrusive. All staff remembered our special occasion. Lovely location. Fire sauce masked the natural flavor of my shrimp a bit. The diver scallops were just right and very tasty. My wedge salad was delish. Best item of the evening was lobster bisque with awesome Thai flavored broth and HUGE hunk of lobster! Chocolate lava would satisfy any sweet tooth. If I could, would take home a quart of the passion fruit bit that came with the coconut tarte.

Report
Helpful
vipRoxieM (Seattle)
2.0  Dined on January 23, 2018

Came here based on a recommendation. The menu could use a refresh. Ordered the mushroom miso, lump crab fries rice, wagyu dumplings (on special), black cod and some cocktails. Really unimpressed with the food but the staff was on top of service.

Report
Helpful
Tweeters (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 22, 2018

WE can hardly wait to go back to Roy's! It was difficult to find at the Marriott simply because it is next to the harbor in the very back- signage needs to change in the hotel so we can park closer. Once you get there you'll love the view of the boats and Coronado across the bay, which was just lovely! The service was very good! They have a fine wine and drink selection, and we enjoyed the Mango Mojito + Hawaiian Mai Tai. One of the entrees was grilled vegetables, which was delicious. I had the shellfish sampler, which was sumptuous! The lobster was flavorful, as was the shrimp and scallop. (I would have like 2 instead of just one!) I loved the red curry sauce, which was very light and mild. We topped the evening off with the molten chocolate dessert, which "took the cake"! Our dinner with the two drinks and dessert was $120, with the grilled vegetables a reasonable $16. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did! We couldn't have been happier with our meal, the view and ambiance.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
3.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Good service

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
3.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was good but we had a bad experience. A server dropped plates of food and they splashed up on 3 of my friends. Server tried to blow it off so we ask for the manager. He in turn gave them a card to have dry cleaning done. They had no time to do that. Why could they have not compte their meals? Food all over themselves and clothing.... not even a free dessert. Disappointing

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
1.0  Dined on January 15, 2018

Been to Roy’s in Hawaii, San Francisco and this is the worst. I always get the butter fish and fillet Mignon. Both items tasted off and too salty. We ordered two appetizers. Calamaris were so small and there were more veggies in that dish then calamari . They should of called it stir fry veggie with a hint of calamari . The roll sauce was strange and doesn’t go with the roll at all. Better to have no sauce.

The only thing that was consistent was the chocolate soufflé.

Overall meal was over $250 for 2 people . And I will never go back to this Roy’s again. And maybe the chain. It’s not the same since they removed the complimentary warm bread and replaced with soy beans... and this time not even that. They do that so the customer will order dessert.

As usual just charge more but don’t nickel and dime on the food.

Report
Helpful
LifeIsShortEatWell (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

Excellent food artfully presented. The San Diego White Seabass special was perfect.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

Hate outside, weather was nice; service was good and food was great. If there was anything not great, it was the cocktails, they were fairly lame...so, had wine after that.

Report
Helpful
vipSarahM (New England)
4.0  Dined on January 10, 2018

Overall a great lunch- the people were friendly and service was fast! The food was really good- I was disappointed that sushi wasn’t available until after 4. It was the reason I went there. That wasn’t clear on the open table app or their menu on open table. But the view was lovely, and while limited the lunch menu looked great.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
37