About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Jessie Glessner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
  • Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront
Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (58)
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Special Occasion (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Romantic (33)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Mahi was overcooked. Everything else Wa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Mahi was overcooked. Everything else

Was good. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not sure why this restaurant had a $$ ra ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Not sure why this restaurant had a $$ rating. Definitely a $$$$. And at that price level it just simply isn't in the same class as competition.

Service was great.

Walk to the restaurant is extemely long. Parking is $12 minimum.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

we are from sd and have tried this roys ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

we are from sd and have tried this roys several times. the last 2 have been so so disappointing. both the fish and meat have been so dry. service is sorry. the location is great but that is it. leave it for the tourists, for us never again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

After making our reservation several day ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

After making our reservation several days in advance, I called and spoke with the hostess about 30 min before the time of reservation to make sure they had received our dinner parties request for a window seat since we were celebrating a special birthday. I understand these requests are generally not guaranteed, however, the hostess took it upon herself to assure me that she would save a booth at the window and to not worry about it. When we arrived, we were informed the table had been given away. We were instead granted a table directly next to the kitchen. My 95 year old mother-in-law was not able to hear a single word anyone spoke. To say it was noisy is an understatement. After receiving our appetizers, we waited a grueling and painful hour and a half for our main entrees. Under any circumstance or an attempt at an excuse (I.E.: "kitchens fault"), this is simply unacceptable. Had the restaurant been full, this would have made sense but it was far from it. To make things worst, the entrees were cold, dry, bland and were served in underwhelming portions. The food is overpriced and the service is what you would expect from a Chili's or Denny's. The manager removed the appetizers from our bill but I felt he was patronizing our party instead of addressing the actual issue of terribly horrible service. I will not return and as a native San Diegan, I'm aware of multiple other high end eateries to invest your hard earned money into where the service is paramount and the food, extraordinary. Roy's is not one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We had a table by a window with a view o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a table by a window with a view of the water as we celebrated three birthdays. Dinner was delicious; butterfish. Roy's provided desserts for all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful server! Great advice in menu. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful server! Great advice in menu. Beautiful day to eat outside and enjoy the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went to Roy's for the first time since m ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Went to Roy's for the first time since moving here from NYC.

We were seated closest to the bay outside, which was nice, but there were ants crawling along the ledge next to the table. The service was good, but the food was mediocre. The Butterfish was good, but the rice was cold. In the shellfish combo entree the shrimp was undercooked. The spicy tuna roll in the combo appetizer was excellent as was the chicken satay. Unfortunately, the lobster potsticker was fried. We probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our group met here before going to a con ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our group met here before going to a concert on the embarcadero. They were very accommodating with our time contraints due to the concert. Great food & super cocktail list!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was that which is typical ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The experience was that which is typical of a tourist-frequented establishment. The pace was bustling rather than calm, they were running about 30-minutes behind on seating guests with reservations, and the men's room was unkempt. Very contrasting to the experiences I've had at other Roy's locations. Definitely won't visit this location again. Despite these criticisms, the food quality, and presentation met my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This was our first time at this Roy's lo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our first time at this Roy's location and it doesn't disappoint. It overlooks the boats and great to people watch. It took a bit of time to park, and walk thru the Marriott to the actual restaurant but after eating it was a welcome trek! Food was great, we split the summer salad with chopped shrimp, avocado etc and it was refreshing. Also tried the scallops and the butterfish both were delicious. Dessert was a repeat of the pineapple upside down cake which everyone should try at least once and the malasadas with 3 dipping sauces also served warm from the oven. Roys has a lot of great sounding dishes that we look forward to trying in the future!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter was not attentive. My Mahi ve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The waiter was not attentive. My Mahi very dry and cool. I have dined at the Roy's in Kaanapali and Chicago and had excellent experiences. I was visiting with family and celebrating a graduation and found the overall experience mediocre at best. We had 3 other dinners while in San Diego which were much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Wonderful ambiance. The appetizer canoe ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful ambiance. The appetizer canoe for 2 was fabulous. Butterfish was melt-in-your mouth perfect and the ribeye was tasty and prepared as requested. (I think my husband was too full to get the most out of it). The service was friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend Roy's without reserve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food with a beautiful view of the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food with a beautiful view of the oceanfront. We told the chef recommendation and it was really delicious .

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow to seat party on a quiet night.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Slow to seat party on a quiet night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great food and service, with a very nice ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food and service, with a very nice view of San Diego bay

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent. Come here ever ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything was excellent. Come here every chance I get when I come into San Diego. I'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful time! Lindsay R. was ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a wonderful time! Lindsay R. was our server, and she was incredible! She was perfect in every way! We will request her by name the next time we visit! Great meeting you, Lindsay! Thank-you!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always yummy! I recommend the lobster po ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always yummy! I recommend the lobster potstickers!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I've been to Roy's several times. Great ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I've been to Roy's several times. Great food and the view of San Diego Harbor was terrific. It's close to the Marriott Marquis. I had the Shrimp and it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food - consistent quality. A ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very good food - consistent quality. A good selection for families.

The service was very good with very experienced staff that were not only good at the job of serving but also delivered a personable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Phenomenal Food, Fabulous Service, Great ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Phenomenal Food, Fabulous Service, Great Outdoor Dining. It was 5 Star All-around

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only negative I have is we went earl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The only negative I have is we went early for the happy hour only to find out the water front location doesn't have one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hostess was rude and inappropriate. Even ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Hostess was rude and inappropriate. Even though I had reservations confirmed for a table with a view, hostess wanted to seat is near the kitchen. We did not accept it and got a better table, but without the view. Waiter was proper but always in a rush. Food was great but the bad service will keep us from coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

We have been regulars at Roy's San Dieg ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have been regulars at Roy's San Diego Waterfront. The setting could not be better. Our server, Mel, could not have been nicer and more attentive.

What was disappointing is that, as locals, we have visited this restaurant many times, and generally enjoyed the prix fixe 3 course menu, hich was a good value. However, since the sale of the chain's non-Hawaii restaurants, the price for this has increased from $35 to $62.50. Each of us had the rib eye on this menu and found it to be just an average steak. The molten chocolate souffle was, as always fantastic.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful dinner to celebrate our last d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Wonderful dinner to celebrate our last day of (selling books at) San Diego Comic Con. Beautiful venue, great staff, delicious food, I don't think I could expense a finer meal! Thank you Roy's, can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Some fish were more fresh than others. T ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Some fish were more fresh than others. The mahi mahi tasted like a fish stick. But every thing else was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Yummy good fine delicious

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Yummy good fine delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined on a Sunday evening and Roy's w ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We dined on a Sunday evening and Roy's was out of many menu items from appetizers to desserts. Server became embarrassed about the situation and it became a running joke throughout the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Service was friendly and helpful. Beauti ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was friendly and helpful. Beautiful view of the water front. Black cod or butterfish was prepared with great seasoning and sauce. Great cocktails. One of my favorite meals in San Diego

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice cocktails and a delicious fusion co ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Nice cocktails and a delicious fusion concept even if a few dishes are overpriced and miss the mark. I'll still go back and bring friends despite the sauce on the butterfish being overly sweet and the Bok choy too tough to easily eat as a whole steamed vegetable. That's a kitchen getting careless with the cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were greated by a very rude, young ho ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were greated by a very rude, young hostess. We did not appreciate her at all. She gave a very bad first impression of the restaurant. The Manager should have a good talk with her. The waiter was great. The drinks were good & the food was average. We split a meal, got an appetizer, had 2 alcoholic beverages each & our bill was $90. So $110 including tip. Very pricey for an average lunch & rude hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

My wife and I thorougly enjoyed our dinn ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I thorougly enjoyed our dinner on our Anniversary. The food was excellent. Our service was excellent the personal touch with the card for the table was beautiful. This was our 3rd year in a row we have been back. So looking forward to our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our 1st dinner in San Diego for m ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was our 1st dinner in San Diego for my son's 21st birthday. My seafood trio was served cold and had to wait until after my son was done with his dinner; before I got mine back from the kitchen. My son's filet was a very low quality cut and he was disappointed as well. Ashley tried to accommodate, but should have offered a free drink or to remove 1 of the dinners from the bill for the poor food quality.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Our family wanted to eat dinner at Roy's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our family wanted to eat dinner at Roy's for the 4th of July because it was waterfront and fairly close to where the fireworks over the bay were being set off. It was a lovely dinner, except my maui maui was overcooked but our fantastic waitress made everything right. All the other dishes were perfectly delicious. We would highly recommend. The only thing we weren't too excited about was the prefixed dinner menu. We all thought it would have been much more enjoyable if we were able to choose off of the regular dinner menu. Otherwise it was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was terrific with accomodating ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The staff was terrific with accomodating our growing and shrinking group as friends joined us and other friends had to cancel ! The food was wonderful , the patio brilliant with color, and fun people and they got us right out on time for the summer POPS in San Diego Bay !!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came in to dine and celebrate our weddin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Came in to dine and celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a great dining experience and couldn't have picked a better location. We've mainly dined at the Hawaii locations, but was very pleased with this location. It was not only consistent with the quality of food and service we had been accustomed with at Roy's, but the location at the marina was awesome during sunset. My wife ordered the halibut special and I ordered the ribeye. Both were excellent and because we like to share each other's dish, we had the perfect surf and turf combo. Definitely recommend this restaurant and location for anyone in the San Diego area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, wonderful service. Top ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful meal, wonderful service. Top notch in every way. They do everything right at Roy's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great seafood trio!! Patio table , amazi ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great seafood trio!! Patio table , amazing view and people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful scenery outside! Waiter was ve ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Beautiful scenery outside! Waiter was very good and attentive. The food was just ok . Ordered the prix fix meal. Steak was thin and over cooked...didn't have time to send back. Overpriced for the quality of food. I've eaten at Roy's in Newport Beach...much better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Celebrating my mom 70th birthday. Food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Celebrating my mom 70th birthday. Food was good!

They burnt the souffl├ęs and didn't do anything for the birthday person, really disappointing! Will not go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.