Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (49)
Scenic View (45)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Romantic (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Casual (20)
People Watching (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (0)
Sort By:
S
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

We eat at Roy's every year during Comic-Con and love sitting out in the glorious weather. The food is acceptable and the service is decent. But, the prices during Comic-Con are atrocious! A $70.00 steak at a mid range restaurant is absurd. Raising prices for a specific event is criminal and WE WILL NOT BE BACK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Misoyaki Butterfish was small on overlooked. Unnecessary "relish" on top. The halibut was WAY OVERCOOKED and the lobster bits were the junk pieces like the knuckles and claws. Almost inedible. Won't return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Back again for a Comic Con dinner. The food was fantastic and the service was attentive without being intrusive. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We were not happy with our dining experience unfortunately. Our server was slow throughout the dining experience. We ordered off of the lunch menu and I sadly had to return the salad because the lettuce was very wilted. The location is great and if you get a window seat, it has pretty views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Place needs to be renovated, quote old and needs a re hab, and not cheap in there
good location and view, but run down
Would not particular go back unless I was staying at the hotel, too many other better
places

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Always good food. Decent wine offerings. They stopped providing edamame tho :( as free appetizer.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

We have dinned at the Hawaii location and knew we were in for a treat. We were not disappointed-lovely meal and the ambiance very pleasant. We look forward to returning next time we are in the area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We felt that, given the price point, servers could be better trained-- however they were very friendly.
Sat out on the patio, which we had requested and appreciated... but felt it was looking like it needed a good cleaning and refurbishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We went for our one year anniversary dinner and had a late reservation. The lobster in the shellfish sampler was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

What a great restaurant on all accounts. my only complaint (more for the hotel then restaurant) is that the signage and way finding is ridiculously confusing and lacking. it took us 15 minutes to find the place from the Marriott entrance (where we parked). we found our selves stressed to miss our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I love Roy's La Jolla, but because we were close to downtown, the 5 of us went to Roy's waterfront instead. The restaurant was kind of empty for a Saturday night with plenty of tables available, but they still put us in a table designed for 4 people, and I was sitting at one end with a giant table leg in front me for 2+ hours.
The waiter was hiding in the back room and not around most of the time and we had to look for him every time we needed something. The waiter did not know about the surf and turf special that has been advertised and was making it sound like he was doing us a favor to honor it, and only 2 orders were available. I ordered the Trio and the butterfish in the dish was so tiny that it was not even one bite. I was very disappointed in general and will stick with Roy's La Jolla.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great for sharing. There's a sampler appetizer that was perfect with a salad. Fireworks as we were finishing dinner was a nice touch!

Tags: Tapas, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Roy's never fails to please. Went here with my husband during a vacation in San Diego. We had been to other Roy's in San Francisco and Hawaii and this one was within walking distance from our hotel. Couldn't ask for a more pleasing experience. Be sure to try the Lobster Potstickers!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Just as good as I remember from my Hawaii trip several years ago. Everything was great.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Authentic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great place to have cocktails and dinner while watching the people go by.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy, Waterfront, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We have been celebrating our Anniversary at Roy's for a couple of years now every meal has been fantastic. The service was great Angela was very attentive ,the view from the table was superb and the food excellent.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Went on the 4th of July, sadly they had a somewhat fixed 3 course menu only. So limited options. Too pricey for what we got, especially when one doesn't like desserts. I'd opt elsewhere. It was just convenient at the time.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We have enjoyed Roy's many times, at varied locations. The food and service is generally impeccable. I gave the service only four stars, as the busser was requested to return half my filet mignon, and he did not. I said nothing, as I did not want my date upset. Our server was Abigail, and she was flawless; simply superlative. The manager was most welcoming and cordial, making my early arrival comfortable. The view of the seemingly unending July 4 fireworks was outstanding. Recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Casual, Waterfront, Great Beer, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great outdoor experience with my wife and two daughters. Excellent food, atmosphere and experience. We were traveling and had dinner and watched the July 4th fireworks show over the harbor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

My son's engagement.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Preset 3 course menu for the holiday, the choices were excellent. The service was also wonderful.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Had a pre-fix menu for July 4. Food was dry and cold. I ate a few bites and set it aside. A bus-girl picked it up and must not have told waiter. Very poor experience.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent meal - worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This restaurant did not live up to its reputation. The food was mediocre and overpriced for very small portions. The service was terrible even though there were several empty tables around us. We had to ask for utensils and drink refills, and dirty glasses and plates were left on the table for over an hour. Although we loved the view and the people-watching, we will not return to Roy's.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Roy's in San Diego has a great atmosphere. Food and service are consistently very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Gina was great, impeccable service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great sushi, fish entrees, braised short ribs & a wonderful waitstaff .

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Went here for my birthday. We were having a great evening until the bus person spilled about three quarters of a glass of ice water in my wife's brand new (week old) leather purse! As men we don't go into our wife's purse... that is taboo. So to have her purse become an impromptu aquarium did not go over well with her. The server and manager brought over napkins and a dirty (yes, soiled) kitchen towel for my wife to dry out the inside. The really sad thing is there wasn't any compensation from the restaurant manager. This was an expensive purse and of course the contents getting soaked wasn't acceptable. I'm disappointed in the management and their attitude about my situation.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Waterfront, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very disappointing! Not nearly as good as Roy's in Hawaii. When I first walked in I mentioned that this was our first time going to Roy's outside of trying it in Hawaii. Staff said that the ones stateside have been bought out twice and do not have same food as Roy's in Hawaii, so be forewarned. Short rib was flavorless and sides were cold. Terribly slow and unattentive service. Will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was very good. My only criticism is that they brought our entrees before we had finished with our appetizers. Bad form.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food was amazing! The flavor was wonderful and presentation was very beautiful. A bit pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The outdoor sitting is incredible , food was amazing and the server was great. My first time in San Diego, would highly recommend this restaurant . I will for certain come back when I visit !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The total experience was great for my entire family and especially the grandchildren, our waiter was excellent and other staff members.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I usually enjoy Roy's but this time I was a little disappointed. I always get The butterfish but the portion was much smaller than usual. Ordered $70 bottle of wine, suggest they take Cain Cuvée off wine list, only so so. Love the Roy's in Maui and Newport and Palm Springs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Every thing was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Fantastic as always. Royal's never disappoints. Excellent place for a family or work gathering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Location was great, on the harbor. Sat outside, had a pre-fixed menu for the holiday, so not sure how the regular menu is, but the pre-fix was good. I had the crab cake Benedict. It is a bit pricey. And you have to pay for parking - we did get a discount for dining, but still paid $10.00 - would have been 24.00 without validation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

How can you not love the location. It overlooks the Marina. Great options on the menu and the food is excellent. I had the buttery fish and it melts in my mouth with every bite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent meal! Great service! Very loud so not a super spot for romance. We'll be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great location to kick back and people watch while eating and drinking great food and cocktails. Courtney service added to the dinner and we had a great time.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.