Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (48)
Scenic View (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Romantic (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
People Watching (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Business Meals (19)
Casual (18)
Authentic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
995 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service but access has declined since the Marriot locks the gate back in from the restaurant. You have valet parking at Marriot and access thru the hotel to the boardwalk of the marina where the entrance to Roy's is but you can not walk back into the Marriot from the boardwalk unless you are a hotel guest with a room key for the gate. That results in a rather long walk back to valet service.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice dining experience from the hostess to the service and what a fantastic meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Ok, not great. Pretty ordinary food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We had an excellent time. Our server was very friendly and helpful. We received just the right amount of attention and they acknowledged our anniversary with a colorful bow at the table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I am not a tourist but i sure felt like one.
Good views beautiful san diego so enjoyed the food service super. i will go again.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, People Watching, Organic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We ate on the patio. Small but nice area. Good view. Food was good. Decent prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

For the price, I would not expect brown romaine lettuce for the Maui wowie salad. I do not serve brown lettuce at home to my family and friends, would never expect it at this high end restaurant. Very disappointing ! Been to other Roys and this one did not stand up to its reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Roy's is our favorite restaurant for fresh seafood. Their sushi and pome are consistently outstanding. The waterfront location in San Diego is outstanding. We watch their internet specials for discounts and unique offerings.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We ate at Roy's after seeing a Travel Zoo deal for a Prix Fixe dinner for four. Sometimes I feel like the servers make me feel cheap for using a "coupon" but I didn't get that vibe at all from our waiter here. He was cheerful about describing our choices, which everyone at the table was happy to choose from. Portions were generous and delicious. The setting at the downtown location is lovely, overlooking the boats docked at the Embarcadero, near Seaport Village. It was a perfect summer evening which made it awesome for sitting outside on the patio. View is best outside! We were celebrating a birthday and they brought out a complimentary yummy dessert for our birthday girl...not just a scoop of vanilla ice cream but a crazy-good chocolate lava cake!

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The waitress was outstanding. We had a business dinner and the waitress was very understanding with our need to discuss business and than order our dinner. She was very knowledgeable with the menu and with our wine selection. Highly recommend Roys

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food was fantastic & the service was excellent. Will definitely go there again.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Scenic View, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great


N

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We chose to sit inside and had the whole restaurant to ourselves. We had a Travelzoo voucher for four and it was taken with no problems. Our waiter Conner was very attentive and checked back very often to make sure there was nothing we needed. Our water glasses were never less than 1/2 full which is a big deal in our family! With the voucher we had a special menu. We started with the yummy egg rolls! Then my daughter had the salmon and loved it! Not one bite left. Husband and son had the chicken and said it was very tasty. I opted for the burger with mushrooms. It was just ok. I would have liked it better if it had lettuce on it. I think it would have cut the richness which was a little overwhelming. Dessert was a lime cake & a chocolate cake rectangle. Both were delicious but we thought the chocolate one was very small. Overall a very enjoyable dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My only real complaint was that it was a significantly more expensive Roy's. Entrees were closer to $50 average than $35 at most of the others I have been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Have visited numerous Roy's over the years. This may have been the worst experience. Had a Short Rib brought to the table which was all fat. Butter fish very small serving and Chocolaye Soufflé over poked and dry. Waiter apologized and took off bad items off bill. Never had a manager stop by as requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Roy's is one of our favorite places and it never disappoints. The outdoor seating area looking over the marina is wonderful and the food and service are always first-rate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Knew it in Hawaii a while ago. Didn't hear much about the fusion distinction. Nice place. Pleasant. Quiet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We ate the Chefs tasting menu. The food was good and the portions perfect. Our only complaint was we felt rushed. We would have liked a little more time before the first course. Next time we will wait longer before we order. Keep in mind Roy's is in the Mariott Marquis. If you are not staying there it's a pretty good walk from the valet parking. Parking runs $12.00 for valet.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Roy's was an amazing pre-symphony date dinner. Filet mignon was succulent, shellfish flavorful and cooked just right, grilled Cesar perfect starter and so many other options. We'll plan to return for happy hour and interesting small plate options. View of the marina and harbor breathless, as is the Marriott resort setting. Very easy to get to, too. We'd highly recommend Roy's and plan to return soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I would have given Roy's five stars for this visit were it not for the spotty service we received. It took at least 15 minutes for our server to take our wine order and then we had to wait for the wine to finally arrive. In fact, we had our appetizer before we had our wine....not something I'm happy with. The food, however, was excellent which is why we keep coming back to Roy's. After the wine arrived, our salad, entrée and dessert were promptly served. I felt as though they were trying a bit too hard to turn the table, but since we were going to a concert it was not a problem for us. Otherwise, I would have asked our server to slow the meal service down a bit. My sole criticism of the food was that our rib appetizer was fatty and one rib was tough to the point of being inedible. Everything else was wonderful, served at the proper temperature with a great presentation - typical of Roy's. In spite of the hiccups we'll be coming back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

The waitress that my mother-in-law and I had was hardly attentive. My water was only refilled once, the entrees came out before our appetizer and then came out again soon after we received the appetizer. We decided to keep the entrees this time, but by the time we finished eating the appetizer, our entrees were barely warm. While our waitress was hardly ever at our table, we saw other waiters and waitresses being very attentive to their tables. Our experience overall was disappointing, we expected so much more from this place. Unfortunately, it was my first experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great location on the waterfront with outdoor bar and outdoor dining option. Ordered rack of lamb medium rare that came medium well. But chef made up for it with dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Enjoyed the harbor view, food and excellent service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

It was the perfect setting for meeting my cousin whom I haven't seen in 60 yrs
We had a lovely dinner with exceptional cuisine
I came out from NY my cousin and wife drive from Riverside
It was a great evening

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Ordered the lobster and it was mushy after a few bites, sent it back and they were very accommodating in replacing it with a new lobster that was delicious. They also provide us with two free desserts, the lava cake and pin apple upside down cake, which were fabulous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We felt really rushed. And it wasn't busy at all. Our server seemed like she was always in a hurry, talked fast, was brief and efficient. Sort of like being dispensed with. Helpful and courteous. Flavours were interesting and portions were good. Setting was great across from the marina, elevated above the boardwalk so you feel some separation from the crowds of people walking by. Prices were quite high which we might not have minded if we felt we fine dining instead of "fast food" dining.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My son's 19th Birthday 🎉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 21, 2017

My husband and I came here to celebrate our anniversary. Though they put ribbon on the table to let the sever know we were celebrating a special occasion the server did not bring us a celebratory desert. When we mentioned it to the server he said he wasn't going to do it. I mentioned other Roys do it but he said every Roys was different. It was very disappointing and It will be the last special occasion we will celebrate at this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Celebrating our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great preparations and willing to accommodate special dietary restrictions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This was the 8th Roy's that we've been to, and our last. We've had good experiences with a couple of the other Roy's, but we were very disappointed with the food at the San Diego Roy's. We were celebrating our anniversary, and in the past the other Roy's had the table decorated and special menus printed. We also had our photo taken at other Roy's. This location was very lackluster, and the service mediocre. The food was the biggest bummer!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Scott was great. Very professional and friendly and Willing to joke around with us and my 4 yr old

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Greatly enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. Had the seafood combo and it was excellent. Great location on the Marina.
Only suggestion, they need a happy hour!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The view was great and the food was better. Service was good. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food in a great spot. Our waiter was very nice and really helpful in offering suggestions. Overall a great experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent and had a great time! We live downtown and will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Roy"s is always Fantastic! Been there many times in many different parts of the world with no complaints!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Some of the food was not prepared correctly and given the wait time to receive the food and the late hour my party was not interested in re-order. I.E. the Wagyu burger was overcooked and the fries were luke warm. The Ahi with the Trio was rubbery.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Always great at Roy's no better Cuisine anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I absolutely loved this restaurant. The food was amazing. My friends and I ordered different dishes and every dish was perfect! We also had their pineapple turnover cake with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and it was the cherry on top. The portions are great and it's a little pricey and its definitely worth it. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. Our server Jeremy was amazing, he was helpful and just overall great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.