Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

We will be open early at 9AM. Join us for a 3-course brunch starting at just $36, or treat Dad to dinner with a special Chef's menu created for the occasion available from 3-CL.

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (53)
Scenic View (53)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Business Meals (18)
People Watching (16)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Casual (12)
Healthy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (0)
Sort By:
S
891 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible food and view. Wonderful service. A little loud but it didn't bother us, would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Food, service and ambiance. We had the pleasure of having two servers which was really, really efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, watching the fusion of flavors evolve over the years has been a treat, and it keeps getting better.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Everything was good overall. Person seating us was snippy....

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Glad I made reservation so was nice getting seated immediately. Very classy restaurant. Had dined at Roys in Atlanta a couple of times in Atlanta some years back but this Marina location adds an extra touch for travel treat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Awesome! Thanks for accommodating our large group!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Particularly love the ribs appetizer and butterfish entree.

Find it a bit off putting that parking after validation is still $10, even after a nice fancy $110 lunch for 2.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This Roy's location has grown a bit tired, they need new menu items and to get their prices more in line with other Roy's locations.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Roy's has a lot of things going for it -- location and service.

You can't beat eating with a beautiful water view! They have the shields to protect you from the wind and the cozy heaters to take the chill off. The service is impeccable -- friendly, helpful, but not over-bearing.
The food - well -- bland. :( I got the sampler and the ribs were too tough to eat. The chicken needed the sauce and still wasn't up to par. The calamari had a nice twist to it with the veggies and was our fave of the night. k
Inside the noise level was out the roof, so I would never eat inside. They need some heavy duty sound absorbers in there. But outside is as paradise, so if you are going for friendly servers and ambiance, it's a great place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mothers Day - So it was busy, with kids and families having a nice time. For my group, this was a business meal, and everything was fine. One note to the restaurant... it needs a good cleaning! Dusty chairs, dirty carpet (under serving shelves), generally looked unkempt and that was a disappointment.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is the first less-than-perfect score I have ever given to Roy's. I typically enjoy the restaurant very much, and have made it a priority to visit several locations. However, I was disappointed in the complete lack of vegetarian options on the Mother's Day menu. Not a single entree could be modified to accommodate my vegetarian daughter. The rest of our meals were just 'ok' — nothing inventive of mouthwatering.

The only saving grace was our gracious Server who tried to ask the kitchen for _something_ to feed my daughter. She ended up having French Toast off the children's menu.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A great place for special occasions! Great food and service!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great restaurant, great drinks and food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We stopped in for a quick business lunch. Great view of marina, excellent service. Place was pretty quiet, which in my experience is not the usual at Roy's. Fish tacos were pretty good, although hard to taste the fish with the seasonings.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

So noisy we could not hear each other.
Some food not as good as we remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food and service never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

In general, I am not a fan of chain restaurants. That said, Roy's is not only my favorite chain restaurant but one of my favorite restaurants, period. The food is absolutely delicious, the cocktails are excellent (fun, not too sweet, and decipherable) and the service is consistently excellent.

I actually ate at Roy's twice on this one trip to San Diego. The patio is definitely the way to go if the weather is good; but it was cool and rainy the first night I was there and the covered bar with heat lamps felt warm, dry, pleasant and fun. The interior of the restaurant there is actually a bit dark and grim.

I can't imagine not getting seafood there; it's so delicious. The butterfish is wonderful, but if you like to try several things get Roy's trio (salmon, butterfish, and tuna; all prepared differently). The sushi is delicious. One of my friends is gluten-free and they were fantastic about that; knew the composition of every dish and exactly what in it contained the gluten and if it could be modified - so nice!

This is a great place for a nice dinner. It's pretty expensive; but I love it for business dinners, groups of friends, and special-occasion romantic things also. I'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food at Roy's is always tasty but the Appetizer "canoe" and Desserts were the best. The noise level was extremely high and we were right in the middle of the room. The service was good and I had no complaints. Be sure to order the Chocolate Souffle, Key Lime pie, and Pineapple Upside Cake. All of these desserts are small but you will probably be so full from the meal that you will want to share them.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The actual menu offered was not what was contained in a Roy's promotional email. We went for the email advertised soft shell crab but was told by our server that the email promotions do not include any of the "costal" locations. We were very disappointed but our server tried to make it better by offering us a dessert "on the house" which was very nice but we still didn't get the entree we came for.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I just attended a Rombauer Wine Dinner at this restaurant and WOW. The menu was spectacular. Executed perfectly with some fun molecular gastronomy in there. Kona Kampachi flown in that morning! Delicious. Great cocktails too... "Rye me a River" might make your day....

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great spot for conference / convention attendees. Escape meeting rooms and tray yourself to a great meal, great service and beautiful views!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great location and service. But food was average and uninspired.
Have had some great meals at Roy's in past years (Kauai, Orlando, Chicago), but this meal was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The seats were very uncomfortable on the patio, we are in our 60's. The incrusted mahi was very salty. 4 of the meals were good, salty fish not so much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food, great service, and amazing views. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was tasty but service was not great and ambience was only okay. Waitress forgot to put in my dessert order so I had to wait another 20 min. Not my favorite Roy's location. The restaurant is located inside of the Marriott and it wasn't easy to get to. La Jolla location is much nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food, and service. Suprisingly fantastic sushi rolls.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food and atmosphere was outstanding. We ate at Roys 3 times in 2 days. The Sushi Sampler was so good (15 pcs) we had to order it again. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Casual, Organic, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We usually love Roy's but tonight it took 2 hours to get our food, the signature butterfish was rubbery, as was the shrimp, and all 6 of our meals were cold. The main chef did not show up and all the servers were stressed. Certainly not our typical Roy's experience. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

View was amazing and the food was delicious!!! Service was not that great. We waited over 2 hours for our food but waiter was very pleasant. Gorgeous view!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The waitress was not efficient especially at the end of the meal when she could not figure out, after numerous attempts how to divide the bill into 3 equal parts. We never got a receipt even we asked the acting manager. Service was poor in general and the food was not outstanding as we are accustomed to in other Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Came back for 2:30pm lunch. Pork sandwich outstanding! Friendly staff, great service. Dissapointed that they don't serve Sushi until 4pm. Had we known, would have gone elsewhere. Great atmosphere overlooking Marina.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Warm friendly staff. Great meal. Sushi rolls are to die for!!! Sea bass was sent back, chef over cooked. Mgr came out to apologize, Brought out another. Outstanding Service from our waitress Angela. She anticipated everything, never had to ask. Sat outside overlooked the Marina. Quiet, intimate, romantic. Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overrated and overpriced, in a great location, but rubbery prawns in a seafood restaurant? Not acceptable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was our first visit to a Roy's...it was also our last.
Hostess seemed annoyed by our presence, she didn't greet us, she just said, "Do you have a reservation?" without looking away from the computer screen. I guess we arrived before most of the staff for the evening, because we had THREE different servers before placing our order. First one asked if we all wanted water (yes, we did) and actually questioned us as to the ability of our children to handle glass when we replied that kiddie cups were not necessary. (Our girls are in 5th, 7th and 9th grade!!!) Ordered a bottle of wine with server #2, had to reorder it with our 3rd server. Server #3 was friendly enough, but quite unprofessional. He greeted us by saying what a lousy day he was having and complaining about having to work Easter Sunday (the next day). He also had two large grease stains on the front of his shirt. We are not big eaters so, we ordered 3 fish entrees and 3 salads to share, plus one bottle of not-expensive-bottle-of-wine ($25 retail) but the final bill was still $50/head! Worst salad dressing ever - Onion Shoyu Vinaigrette = pungent onion and soy sauce with oil. Very, very overpriced for very mediocre fish entrees. Next time in San Diego we will go to Sally's Fish House instead, you should too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing place and food, we had a culinary experience out of this world! Really nice location at Marquis Marriot San Diego, the service was outstanding and the atmosphere and ambience really cute, Gilberto was very kind always, very good service from Gilberto! This place is a must in San Diego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I don't expect huge portions at good restaurants, but I do expect the portions and preparation to be worth the price. This was good food that fell short of a good value.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Came in for a late night dinner will definitely be back! Food was incredible service was impeccable !

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with great food, terrific service and a nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nice atmosphere; friendly wait staff and reasonably priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.