Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Delight in Easter brunch at Roy's. We will be open early at 9AM offering a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (35)
Waterfront (34)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Business Meals (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
People Watching (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Casual (6)
Healthy (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
843 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

What a fantastic evening! We had a group of 4 that had made reservations less than 24 hours ahead. We were guided to a fantastic table with a beautiful view, right before sunset. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable.

Both couples decided to share a wedge salad. They split the wedges for us in the kitchen and served us each our own portion. No awkward splitting at the table. That touch was much appreciated.

Our friends shared the four fish sampler sampler ( the favorites hilighted on the menu) and they raved about it. My husband enjoyed the filet with shrimp. He said it was the best steak he has EVER been served- anywhere! My shellfish sampler with lobster tail, scallop, and shrimp was delicious. I only with that I had been served more than one scallop.

We chose not to have dessert as the entree sizes were very generous.

Roy's has now been deemed a favorite for us. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Best sushi I've ever had (and I've had quite a lot!) The "El Nino Roll" is to die for. Even just the nagiri is amazing. The Hawaiian pineapple cocktail is amazing as well - a real deal cocktail.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

There is seating indoors and out. We sat outdoors with a view of the marina. Sun was brudal. No way to block the sun. We had to ask 3 times to be reseated when there was 90% vacant tables. Meal choices was small. Served red wine by the glass in a small white wine glass. Really. We had the chefs selection. Scallops were good. Steak as a poor cut. Not a good value. Service was poor. Clearly did not care about the customer. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! The food was amazing, the service was excellent - just loved everything about it! Going back tomorrow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Roy's San Diego downtown on Harbor Drive is located in a grand location on the waterfront overlooking the marina. The restaurant is located within the Marriott Hotel and I did need to pay $15 for parking, so you may wish to carpool. Outstanding service, great ambiance for friends or a special occasion. I ordered the chicken and mashed potatoes and it was good, maybe a little dry, just not 5* super delicious. My friend's meals seemed to be very good. LOVED the location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, People Watching, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We reserved a table arrived on time sea front with nice heater. wine and appetizers came and gone but dinner did not come for an hr. Coming to find out our ticket got placed behind the 100 orders from the party they were catering too! So we lost appetite by then and just ordered desserts and left. Not good when you go for dinner. Blame was placed on new staff, bussers etc! Probably will not visit again!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It took over an hour for us to get our meal. Luckily we ordered drinks and soup, and that came out during that hour. Our waiter told us that there was a large private event happening upstairs that clogged up the kitchen. However the table next to us arrived after we ordered and go their food before we did. Also it was pretty noisy and there were kids rolling around on the bench seat next to me. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and were expecting a more refined atmosphere. When the food did finally arrive it was very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was innovative and nicely presented. The service was very slow. This made the experience a bit awkward. They did give our table a free dessert which was a nice gesture.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great job Roy's - better food service and value than our Ruth Chris visit
A few weeks ago - they should learn from you !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wife and I stopped at Roys for lunch on a beautiful Saturday afternoon. We sat on the veranda which was nice with a view of the boat harbor. Food, drinks and service (Carolena our sever) was awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We reserved our table for 7:15 but we only sat down around 7:50!!! 30+ minutes waiting with a reservation?!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Memorable evening. Great dinning and service. We are not in SD frequently but we try to enjoy Roy's each visit. We have not be disappointed.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great ambience and good Hawaiian fusion cuisine. They were slammed so kitchen backed up and service was slow but sensitive.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great outdoor seating right on the marina and excellent food.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food and service were excellent with a wonderful ambiance. My one complaint, was from the time we sat until the time we got our food was an hour. They need to work on that, otherwise it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Angela was great. Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had the sampler appetizer with mixed results...lobster potstickers are amazing along with the beef ribs. Chicken satay was ok...spicy tuna roll and beef skewers were basically tastless. I ordered the scallops which were amazing. Spouse ordered a new menu item, the Red Sanpper based upon recommendation of the server. Fish was not seasoned properly, thai broth was ok, but lacking in depth of flavor. Dish should have been served with a bowl for clam/mussels shells. Some grilled bread would have been great with the broth...also the dish wasn't served with a spoon for the broth.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Meal was good... service was good. The value was pretty good for being in San Diego. Butterfish was awesome!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

delicious butterfish! Wish I had it again for lunch today. Expertly prepared. yum

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Very ordinary restaurant with ordinary food and ordinary service for ridiculous pricing. It is in a tourist area. It just seems as if they don't have to try because the odds of repeat business is low. It wasn't horrible but it sure wasn't great. I don't mind spending money on good food, but I do mind spending good money on mediocre food. The wine list is just like the menu, ordinary. Sorry Roy's, but for me its a miss. Andre a

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service was awful. We waited over 1 1/2 hours to be served our dinner due to a large party delaying everyone else's meal. Not once did the server or the manager inform us of the delay. I had to ask why it was taking so long before I was told what was going on.

Unacceptable and a $300 Bill to boot

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was awesome - Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Had a quick, light dinner after a travel day. Very convenient to Marriott Renaissance, a quick walk. Great outdoor eating space and a great menu. Service was wonderful. We had a bottle of wine, sashimi, grilled ceasar salad with added shrimp and a wedge salad. All were very fresh and tasty!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Roy's was a very disappointing experience from every point of view. The sound quality is deafening and we had to speak so loud just to talk to the person next to us and yell in order to speak to the person across from the table. I don't know if that is the same at every table but it did make the evening stressful.

The food was completely underwhelming. Roy's has so much hype as a high-end restaurant with supposedly exquisite food. The food was like what you would expect from some mediocre restaurant. The salad greens were not fresh. The fish didn't taste fresh. It took 45 minutes for the food to arrive after the salad. We had to ask the waitress two times, when would the food arrive, did you forget about us? She didn't keep us posted at all. I took four business associates out to dinner here hoping I would make a grand slam with this choice of restaurant. I felt I had made a poor choice to take clients there and provide such an all around disappointment of an evening meal. The food was mediocre, the service was so bad, because of this whole experience, I will not go to another Roy's restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Meeting of friends from Washington DC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We arrived at the restaurant for drinks at 6pm for a 6:45 reservation. We checked with the hostess and made our way to the bar. At 6:50 we went back to the hostess to get our table. She told us there wasn't one available as people were "camping out"! From the people milling around I gather others were not getting tables either. The constantly smiling manager was no help and clearly did not care about anything as long as his tables were full. So we left and went up the street. I have been a member of OperTable for a decade and have eaten all over the world. This is the first time I have made a reservation that was not kept on time! Hope it is the last!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service fair at best. Requested Champagne at the table before being seated....didn't happen...Server was not advised. Extremely noisy. Food is great...Parking is a joke. No clear direction as to where we park. Long walk to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We came here for our 1st wedding anniversary and it did not disappoint. The service was fantastic and the food was outstanding. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

By far, my worst Valentines Day dining experience. Roy's severely overlooked and our 830 dinner reservation ended just before midnight. We showed up early and walked into a madhouse. A standing line out the front door with little empathy shown by stressed out staff members. After standing for over an hour a waiter finally showed up offering something for our torture - champagne. I could see couples fighting over the wait and couldn't help but wonder how many nights were ruined. As I reached my limit at 940 to cancel, the hostess let me know we'd be seated very soon so we stuck it out (after calling other nearby restaurants for last minute walk in plans to no avail) and we were seated just before 10PM. Our waitress was friendly though stressed and I wish I could say that the food made up for it, but it didn't. It felt like we got the remaining scraps of the fixed menu, though the Pineapple Moscow Mule was quite tasty. Ive been to other Roy's locations and have always been happy with the food and service but tonight was not their night. What a night to have such an epic failure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Group dinner on Valentine's Day- first course came after 1 hour 2o minutes. Dinner took three and a half hours. Even with pre-fix limited menu!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

slow service, OVERPRICED

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dissapointed, I was expecting the wonderful food and atmosphere from the Roys in Las Vegas. This was not on par

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Appetizers and dessert were very good. The entrees (butterfish and ribeye) were underwhelming, particularly for the price. There are better steak and fish places for the same price. Might be a good spot for happy hour, but I wouldn't go again for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was fantastic. All 5 people in our party had very high praise with their meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Decent food but Very pricy
Good flavors but very pricy
Would return but not often as not a good value for your money

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Roy's was awesome as usual. The ambiance and service were spectacular
I recommend you go for any special occasions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good service. Food above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was spectacular. No bread was served which is disappointing for such a nice restaurant. The staff need some training as far as serving as they reached across people to serve the plates.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My Husband and I decided to dodge the San Diego Valentines crowd and celebrate early! We headed Downtown Gaslamp are and ate at the Roy's Waterfront which is located in the Marriott Hotel Downtown San Diego. We loved that there was Valet parking! We had been to the Roy's location in La Jolla for happy hour and I was surprised at the difference in ambiance. The out-door bar was awesome and we had a beautiful table looking over the harbor, nice heaters made it very comfortable. my one complaint would be that the plexiglass we were sitting in front of was dirty and hindered what could have been a clearer view. The service was excellent. food came quickly and was awesome. But be prepared to spend a small fortune if you are hungry! We just had entrees and they did not come with any sides which would have made a meal, I guess you have to order these separately. our entrees were between $35-$45 each. With a glass of wine that made for a very spendy dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday with a wonderful dinner at Roy's with a gorgeous view of the bay. We enjoyed drinks from the bar with delicious appetizers. Our dinner was so tasty and satisfying. We will visit Roy's again.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.