Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Downtown San Diego located on the water at the Marriott Hotel and Marina, featuring a dining room overlooking the marina, or patio dining just steps from the water.

333 West Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
1st Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 239-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation) Valet & self park available at the Marriott Hotel & Marina ($8 for the first three hours, $6 for each additonal hour, need to have Roy's validation)

Public Transit:
MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina

Executive Chef:
Quy Trinh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Roy's is located downtown; immediately adjacent to the Convention Center, Marriott Marquis and Manchester Grand Hyatt hotels. Situated on the Boardwalk, Roy's looks out over the Marriott Boat Marina and San Diego Bay. Private and semi-private space is available for lunch and dinner for 20 - 500.

Roy's San Diego Waterfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (39)
Scenic View (29)
Business Meals (24)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Romantic (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Casual (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
1105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 hours ago

Evan & Michela were both outstanding staff members. My partner & I are always open to trying new foods, and are trying to expand our palettes and explore and dive into more fine dining. So, Roy's was a great start to our new adventure. And really appreciate the amazing hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (México)·Dined a day ago

AAD CONGRESS

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

A fabulous restaurant which never disappoints. It's my favorite restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience at Roy's for Valentine's Day. Quick service: They were always on top of things and constantly filling water and always there when another drink needed to be ordered. The food was great and on time with every course. Very friendly servers as well. I would definitely go back again and look forward to it.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the evening, service and ambience. All the staff seemed to take a personal interest in our enjoying the evening.
Thank you for a truly great evening
Tim n Sheila

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Roy’s is s great place to go for a special dinner. Food is always prepared to perfection. They are the master of sauces and dressing here. Great seafood and steaks. The keiffir lime tart for dessert is like having fireworks in your mouth.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Appetizers were great and service was great. You could get a better streak at the Sizzler. The meat was terrible, full of gristle and fat. No flavor and smothered in sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Huge, upscale chain restaurant in huge hotel next to Convention Center. Unless you are part of a big group, there is no reason to go to this restaurant. Hostess desk was disinterested and acted as though they were doing you a favor by listening to your request, let alone sitting you. We actually did not eat at the restaurant, mainly because of the vast size of the restaurant in a massive hotel, and the snotty hostess.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2018

The waiter, servers and bartenders were lovely, attentive and friendly! The outdoor patio has a cozy ambience with fire pits and heaters and a beautiful view. I honestly didn’t love the food, however. The sushi roll was too spicy and a little fishy. The trio was disappointing—over-sauced fish with a tiny bit of vegetable. But, I’ve heard these are Roy’s customer favorites so I suppose it’s just my personal preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Dined outside. Lovely location. Patio heaters kept us very comfy. Service was wonderful. Have dined at several Roy’s locations... this one is our favourite. You must try the chocolate soufflé.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Service was excellent and friendly. Table and view were ok. Food was good. Wine was good but a bit expensive for the bottle at quite a high markup.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 6, 2018

We have been to 2 Roys restaurants in Hawaii and always loved them! San Diego did not disappoint!! The grilled Caesar salad, Ahi and mahi mahi were all done to perfection! HIGHLY recommend the pineapple upside down cake dessert!!! It takes time to make so you have to order it earlier.... well worth it!! Perfect to split—- made it “just right”. Excellent service!
Definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2018

After enjoying several Roy’s restaurants in Hawaii, we tried our first mainland Roy’s on a recent trip to San Diego. As a family with a 3 year old and twin 1 year olds, dining can be a stressful experience. The service was great—sometimes showing up with young kids you get the side eye, but everyone from the hosts to Manager was friendly and welcoming. The open-kitchen layout of the restaurant provided plenty to keep the kiddos distracted. While the kids meals were more expensive than other restaurants, it included a generous kiddo friendly snack plate served immediately (a godsend when you have hungry, impatient kids).

As always, the adult food at Roy’s did not disappoint. My husband had the four fish sampler and enjoyed all the difference flavors and preparations and said it was cooked perfectly. I was happy to see a shellfish sampler on the menu with lobster tail, sea scallop, and shrimp—everything tasted fresh and flavorful.

Signage to the entrance of the restaurant from the Marriot could be a bit clearer, but that’s not the fault of the restaurant. Overall, a good dining experience and we’d go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Great atmosphere, Wagyu burger was best burger I’ve ever eaten. Had to go again the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Roy’s has proven to be an excellent restaurant at any of their locations.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Awesome environment and service...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Our experience was mediocre at best. Food was average. Service the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2018

The ambiance was nice and our waitress was very friendly and gave us some recommendations that turned out to be very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Our server Amanda and our busboys were personable, friendly, and attentive - just right, not pushy or intrusive. All staff remembered our special occasion. Lovely location. Fire sauce masked the natural flavor of my shrimp a bit. The diver scallops were just right and very tasty. My wedge salad was delish. Best item of the evening was lobster bisque with awesome Thai flavored broth and HUGE hunk of lobster! Chocolate lava would satisfy any sweet tooth. If I could, would take home a quart of the passion fruit bit that came with the coconut tarte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2018

Came here based on a recommendation. The menu could use a refresh. Ordered the mushroom miso, lump crab fries rice, wagyu dumplings (on special), black cod and some cocktails. Really unimpressed with the food but the staff was on top of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2018

WE can hardly wait to go back to Roy's! It was difficult to find at the Marriott simply because it is next to the harbor in the very back- signage needs to change in the hotel so we can park closer. Once you get there you'll love the view of the boats and Coronado across the bay, which was just lovely! The service was very good! They have a fine wine and drink selection, and we enjoyed the Mango Mojito + Hawaiian Mai Tai. One of the entrees was grilled vegetables, which was delicious. I had the shellfish sampler, which was sumptuous! The lobster was flavorful, as was the shrimp and scallop. (I would have like 2 instead of just one!) I loved the red curry sauce, which was very light and mild. We topped the evening off with the molten chocolate dessert, which "took the cake"! Our dinner with the two drinks and dessert was $120, with the grilled vegetables a reasonable $16. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did! We couldn't have been happier with our meal, the view and ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was good but we had a bad experience. A server dropped plates of food and they splashed up on 3 of my friends. Server tried to blow it off so we ask for the manager. He in turn gave them a card to have dry cleaning done. They had no time to do that. Why could they have not compte their meals? Food all over themselves and clothing.... not even a free dessert. Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2018

Been to Roy’s in Hawaii, San Francisco and this is the worst. I always get the butter fish and fillet Mignon. Both items tasted off and too salty. We ordered two appetizers. Calamaris were so small and there were more veggies in that dish then calamari . They should of called it stir fry veggie with a hint of calamari . The roll sauce was strange and doesn’t go with the roll at all. Better to have no sauce.

The only thing that was consistent was the chocolate soufflé.

Overall meal was over $250 for 2 people . And I will never go back to this Roy’s again. And maybe the chain. It’s not the same since they removed the complimentary warm bread and replaced with soy beans... and this time not even that. They do that so the customer will order dessert.

As usual just charge more but don’t nickel and dime on the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Excellent food artfully presented. The San Diego White Seabass special was perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Hate outside, weather was nice; service was good and food was great. If there was anything not great, it was the cocktails, they were fairly lame...so, had wine after that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Overall a great lunch- the people were friendly and service was fast! The food was really good- I was disappointed that sushi wasn’t available until after 4. It was the reason I went there. That wasn’t clear on the open table app or their menu on open table. But the view was lovely, and while limited the lunch menu looked great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 6, 2018

The rest of my party was about 40 minutes late, but the restaurant was able to accommodate us. The hostess and the wait staff were pleasant and patient.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2018

The food was fantastic and the service was delightful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 3, 2018

We had a lovely dinner on a Wednesday night (during a convention ). The food and service were excellent, with adjustments made to the sauces for the fish since both of us had allergies. The chocolate lava cake dessert was outstanding and the perfect finishing touch. The only negative was the noise level which was a little loud due to our hearing sensitivity. Overall, an excellent dining experience . We will go back again when it is light outside because we're sure the view will be spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2018

It took them a very long time to set up our table outside despite it being a slow night due to what seemed to be a propane bottle issue with their heaters. Otherwise, good service and good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Roy's is our favorite restaurant in San Diego. It is a classy restaurant with great service, a superb menu and excellent wine selection. I have enjoyed a romantic evening with my wife there, have also impressed out-of-town friends and relatives by taking them to Roy's. This is a great place to spend a lunch or evening if you are looking for a very nice upscale restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Hay mejores cocinas por este precio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We have been frequent Roy’s customers throughout their world locations so it was natural that we picked this location for New Years evening. Limited choice menu was overpriced and several dishes came out too cold . Maybe the kitchen was over run or understaffed - but it left us disappointed with this location .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Our server was amazing and the food was phenomenal. Everyone in the party was satisfied! Great way to end the year.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We were in San Diego for New Years and decided to give Roy's a try.

First, the restaurant seems to be very oddly situated on the grounds of the Marriot Marquis. Once you get to the restaurant, and it's not that easy, the front entrance has the name of the restaurant and the logo facing in, towards the hostess.

When making the reservation, we requested a window seat and they very kindly sat us outside, on a patio, near the water. That was very unexpected. But the seats are wooden patio chairs, with no cushion, which is difficult for a long meal.

For New Year's Eve, they had a four course prix fixe menu. For the appetizer, we each had the chicharones, which are essentially a pork skin potato chip. A couple of sauces were also listed. The bowl that arrived for each of us was filled with the chicahrones and they were drizzled with a little sauce. Some of the chips were great and immediately melted in the mouth. Others were not cooked correctly and were hard and chewy, virtually impossible to chew.

The second course, we each had lobster bisque with a slight thai flavor. Very nice.

For the main, I had filet mignon and my husband had the roast chicken. Each was fine, nothing remarkable. The filet did come with a soy reduction sauce which was nice, but there were literally two small pieces of romanesco cauliflower and one piece of patty pan squash.

The deserts were the highlight. I had the "smores", which featured the most intensely chocolate layer of pudding I have ever had. Delicious. I couldn't even finish it, and I always finish. My husband had the champagne cake which had a really great layer of raspberry puree.

The service was very good and attentive.

When we left, through the front entrance, with the backwards door, we ended up in what appeared to be a service way. Eventually, we made it out to the walkway.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2017

New Year’s Eve and they substituted their regular menu with a limited selection menu very overpriced!! When we made the reservation there was no mention of the substituted menu. We were excited for the normal selection and upset with a very different selection of non-regular choices. It took over 4 hours to receive the four courses, ridiculous! The lobster order of a 2 lb lobster was served with 1/2 of the lobster and we had to ask for the whole lobster which arrived undercooked and only partially edible. The king crab legs were served as a collection of small pieces instead of the normal sized legs. The bill was delivered with mistakes we had to ask to be corrected. On top of it all we saw that one of our party ordered a coke and then a refill and we were charged 2 cokes at $12 each, so $24 for a coke and refill!!
If we could rate this zero stars we would. Lousy way to end 2017 !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Great location but the food was very slow to come out. The restaurant wasn't full but it took a long time for our food to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2017

The chef really outdid himself. I ordered the lamb chops and he cooked them to my specifications with lots of garlic and basil. They were in a truffle sauce which was out of this world! I also had the wedge salad with bacon, bleu cheese. Large portion. We have eaten here many times and I am never disappointed. This is one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.