Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Roy's - La Jolla

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.

8670 Genesee Avenue
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 455-1616

Website:
http://roysrestaurant.com/locations/CA/la_jolla.asp

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop within walking distance

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

We will be open early at 9AM. Join us for a 3-course brunch starting at just $36, or treat Dad to dinner with a special Chef's menu created for the occasion available from 3-CL.

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

Roy's - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Casual (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Business Meals (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (6)
Healthy (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
821 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food is AMAZING! The butterfish is one of the beat dishes I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

We dine out a lot and we both agreed that this experience was the best we have ever had in San Diego County. The service was impeccable, the food remarkably delicious and fresh. I was very excited to see so many vegetarian options as well as fresh fish options. The short rib was the only short rib that has ever impressed my husband. Handcrafted cocktails were delicious and a very lovely touch was a birthday greeting from the restaurant waiting for us when we sat down. Roys is a must go! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The fish for the Poke Bowl was not fresh and was taken back and off the bill without issue. The rest of the meal was just okay other than the ribs which were amazing. Disappointing since Roy's has been consistently good for years. Maybe just a bad day.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Warmest Hospitality and delectable food. Never can go wrong with Roy's. We celebrated Mother's Day and it was a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Roy's always has excellent service and good food. We love the happy hour mai tais, Pork sliders, short rib, butterfish, and more! It's a nice place to celebrate special occasions and it's definitely not stuffy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dining at Roy's is always a delicious experience, and the waitstaff is all very attentive and considerate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was mediocre. The service was a bit slow. It took a while for them to refill water and serve food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It was decent would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We made a reservation expecting to use the $25 off coupon. We missed the cut off date by one day. We asked the server if they would honor it. Management denied. Really dumb!!!!
Food was unremarkable, room ok, won't be back again. If Roy's wanted to attract locals to try the restaurant they blew it, big time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had a great dinner here. Salmon was moist and good sized. Husband had the pork chop... super tasty. Kids got a veggie and quesadilla platter before their entree and enjoyed theirs as well. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food was good as was the service, but the pricing is high for what you receive

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We enjoyed this very much. Pat was our waiter and he was great. Food very good. All around a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Fabulous place to enjoy a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything was outstanding with the exception of our inattentive waitress.

Three times we had to ask other servers walking by for assistance because we hadn't seen our own server

Management was good at stepping in to apologize and rectify

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Nie renovation and comfortable surroundings. The service was good. The food preparation was inconsistent. Some things were good and others not so great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent dinner, excellent service. We will be returning. Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It's a business dinner. Called in in the morning to ask for a private table. They kindly set up our table at one end of the room, which allowed us to chat well. Service very prompt, Charles was polite and patient. The Roy's Trio was very well done. Other guests liked their food too. The Silver Oak pinot noir was a bit disappointing, but we had a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

One of my fav happy hr place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

My favorite go to restaurant for special occasions. My favorite is always the Misoyaki Butterfish and Chocolate Soufflé is to die for. I love to take advantage of Pre-Fixe Sundays/Mondays to enjoy a 3 course entree for a fraction of the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent service! Food was very good, but pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have visited Roy's many times and have thoroughly enjoyed our experience, our recent visit was no exception. This visit we took our Son and his Wife for their first Anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I thought the food quality was good but was expensive for what we received and in comparison to other similar restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I ordered the butter fish and it had a big bad fishy smell and did not taste good, therefore, I didn't want to eat it. The waitress noticed I had not eaten so she was nice and took it off our bill. The other thing was I chose Roy's for my friend's birthday for lunch because I imagined nice ambiance but to our surprise there was a man on a ladder and he was painting the dining room wall so close to us that we were shocked. I think it will be a long time before I go back to Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service and food were top shelf. Always have had wonderful service. Monkfish was outstanding. Steak was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Eclectic ordering. Sushi, salads, surf and turf, drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Everyone enjoyed their food and the waitress was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Roy's while on a recent trip to San Diego. We loved the Roys on Maui, so we knew it was a good bet for dinner here. While it was crowded when we visited, we only had a short wait for our table. Our server treated us like we were his only table and was super helpful. We shared a special that included Ahi tuna, Mahi Mahi, Salmon and Butterfish. I also had Ahi tuna over a Caesar Salad. Everything was amazing!!! It was hands down the best meal we had in San Diego!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

great salmon lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great food. However, we were not seated when we arrived 10 min ahead of our reservation, and the service was slow, all when more than half of the tables were empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 13, 2017

you may not get your IT if you are late

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This used to be my favorite restaurant. Sadly, the last 3 times I've been for dinner has shown me that the essence of Roy's is gone. I'll still eat at Roy's in Hawaii, where he still has creative control, but it will be a long time, if ever, that I'll give it another chance at the UTC / La Jolla location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Hostess at entry really disorganized.
Food with too much seasoning...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Disappointing! The Aloha Happy Hour drinks were just $1 less than the regular price. The food was overly overrated. The cost was that of east coast fine dining. Not deserving in the middle of La Jolla residential area full of students....

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great desserts. Ribeye was extra fatty and sauce is a bit overwhelming.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Excellent dinner and service as always! :) We have never had a meal we didn't like yet and we've been coming here for 15 years!

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was excellent as always but unfortunately the food wasn't quite like we are used to. We ordered the butterfish which was in point and so was the sushi roll however, the short rib was... average at best. Sort of stiff and although the flavor was great, the stiffness really impacted the experience. Additionally, we ordered a side of crab fired rice and the rice was incredibly dry. We also ordered the upside pineapple cake and that was great as usual and despite the negative feedback we will still return hoping this was an isolated incident.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

A go to and ideal spot for a white table cloth business lunch in Carmel / UTC area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Standard is up to par with their hawaiian franchises. Souffle is still the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great as always. Special meal for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.