Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Roy's - La Jolla

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.

8670 Genesee Avenue
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 455-1616

Website:
http://roysrestaurant.com/locations/CA/la_jolla.asp

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop within walking distance

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

Roy's - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Business Meals (15)
Casual (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fun (14)
Romantic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Private Room (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 8 hours ago

Great service and an excellent welcome from the GM - our server Jimmy ? was really terrific. Had a great meal and lots of wonderful special extras were provided to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

I had the grilled shrimp with green tea uden noodles and I think it was the best meal I have had at Roy's! We have eaten at all the Roy's including Hawaii and this meal was awesome ! I loved it and couldn't stop talking about it to anyone who would listen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

We were here celebrating a retirement. Very understaffed this night, but our server was pleasant. Vegetable tempura was not good; the batter was mushy and not adhered to the vegetables. We didn't understand why the vegetables were so huge...The broccoli was the size of my husband's fist.
The lobster potstickers were interesting but had to cut them with a knife because they were tough. The butter fish was great. The best part of the meal was the desert. I would expect much better from this expensive restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Went to Roy's for a late lunch around 2 pm on a Monday. We were one of two occupied tables. Probably because of that, the restaurant decided not to turn on the AC. Crazy. On the plus side, without a heavy crowd,the service was attentive. Food was disappointing. Everything was over salted. From the soy sauce soaked salad, to the miso soup and to the beef patty on the burger, the food had so much salt, we couldn't taste the meat or any other ingredient. Ordered the beef medium and it came out well done charred. When we pointed that out to our server, she said she would inform the kitchen, rather than offering to bring out a replacement dish. The saving grace was the restaurant comped the burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I had dinner yesterday at Roy's for the first time in years--and was reminded of why it had been so long since I had been there. The maitai tasted like fruit punch with a minimal amount of dark rum on the top--weak and uninspiring. The lobster potstickers as an appetizer were good, but the shellfish medley (lobster, scallops, shrimp) was generically prepared with tasteless rice and asparagus that was as chewy as wood. In addition, the place is expensive for what you get. I can't think of any reason not to seek out other restaurants that serve better food (especially fish) at more competitive prices. This chain needs a infusion of originality to bring it back to its prior reputation--otherwise, it's just another theme-park restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The atmosphere is simple and clean. However, the drinks made in the bar are not consistent. The server doesn't understand the menu. And the food was over cooked. Shrimp was very tough and everything was very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The good was marginal . The chicken was dry, the filet was not as good as flemings or Ruth Chris . The salmon was good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Just Okay
Service was very good and our waitress very pleasant. We were utilizing a Groupon so the menu was limited but nice choices. The pork rib appetizer was tasty but pretty much cold - not real cold but far from warm. The vegetable roll my friend had was good. The pork chop for the main entree was very good. The mashed potatoes... again.. kind of cold. The broccoli.. somewhat under cooked but okay... not great. The desert was okay - not great.

The wine list has some very nice choices but significantly overpriced based on other restaurants in town. You expect higher but this was way out of line in my opinion.

Okay but not great pretty much sums up the entire experience - Okay, but not memorable. For the price it just doesn't make sense when there are so many other options that have better for less.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It was very good, but not excellent. We ate here last two years ago and I remember the food being a little better. It was all ok this time and the salmon was prepared better than last time, but I was a little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

There were only 3 tables occupied and the Service was really slow. We sat there for an hour before the salads were brought out. My kids were not offered their appetizers or dessert that was part of the kids meal. We went there for lunch. It was obvious that they were not adequately staffed. The bartenders was our server and there was only one person in the kitchen!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Ahi and the butterfish are excellent. Maui salad is good too

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Too expensive for what you receive. There are so many options for fine and/or casual dining in San Diego, that I would not recommend this restaurant. It's way over-priced for what you get.
However, the service (staff) was wonderful and very accommodating to my requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food and service are very good, but not 5 star. Some decent wines by the glass at not unreasonable prices. It has a nice, friendly, casual ambiance. We will go back every few months.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The server was amazing and the food best ever as always!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Drinks were great. Food was okay - but we ate off the special groupon menu - so choices were limited. I would not do that groupon menu - instead groupon should just offer a discount to the restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything was delicious. I'm not a huge rib person, but the rib appetizer was really good. Also, the lobster potstickers. For the entrée, the scallops were super good. Very tasty, including the butternut squash and Brussel sprout leaves - I basically licked the plate clean.

Also, great service. I've been going to Roy's for over 10 years and they never disappoint.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

First, I was welcomed by the front desk in a very friendly, courteous and professional manner. Our table was beautifully prepared for our group of 12. The wait staff was very helpful, friendly and most patient with our party. The food was fabulous, appetizers, salads, entrees, desserts, wines, coffee, etc. I would strongly recommend Roy's La Jolla for a special event. The misoyaki Alaskan Black Cod is still on the top of my list for entrees and the pineapple upside down cake ......... OH BOY, I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The excellent service began as soon as we stepped into the restaurant. We were seated at an excellent table. We were provided with a nice wine list. Their sushi rolls were perfect and their Caesar salad was excellent. The dining entries were short ribs (best in town) and a ribeye steak that was in a category by itself. The waiter knew his craft as well as his wine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Roys was as delicious as the last time we ate there. Specials on the menu based of fish available and the chef. Great choice of appetizers, soups, sides snd desserts to complement the meal. Great service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went on Father's Day and we couldn't order from full menu for some unknown reason. So fathers don't deserve full menu? Ordered the mahi mahi and received a half portion of fish and hardly any sauce. I go here a lot and know the normal fish size not sure why they were so sloppy and cheap that night.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Service mediocre, some food served luke warm, very overpriced -- not a "keeper".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's day

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Their Father's Day brunch menu was the same as the Mother's Day brunch, which was great for us since we had enjoyed it on Mother's Day. I don't usually order chicken when dining out, but their pan roasted chicken was tasty. He ordered their prime rib, which paired nicely with the Merryvale cabernet sauvignon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was very good and the service was excellent

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great service for aloha hour. Bartender was very quick and accommodating, lobster potstickers were out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Caterpillar sushi, short ribs, and lobster potstickers were good. Teriyaki salmon was less than average--dry and overcooked. And the macadamia mahi mahi was underwhelming and small at $42! Chocolate cake with berries and the pineapple upside-down cake were okay. Had to wait about 20 minutes for the pineapple cake.

Service overall was mediocre, even though it was not that crowded on a weekday afternoon. Our server was pleasant, but the busboy was not. We had to wait too long to get our drinks and refills. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We made reservations for my sons graduation lunch. The restaurant wasn't crowded at all and it was mid-week. No reason for there to have us waiting on food for 30 min. Didn't even get water served immediately after requesting. Salads were limp and extras were missing. As in, dip for calamari, crackers for poke, etc. The table behind us vacated and their table wasn't cleared for 20 + minutes. Our waiter was the only one for the entire restaurant at the time, he even was mixing drinks behind the bar.
Everyone was very nice, but the slow service, poor product wasn't addressed at all.
Roy's is usually so on-point. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Average at best, a large staff and yet nothing except the sushi seemed at all special.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent for and service. We had an pleasant time and very much enjoyed our dinner. Thank you Roy's!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurant where the service is impeccable and the food is consistently delicious and always exceeds our expectations! The Chilean Sea Bass on the Chef's Secret Menu was cooked to perfection and the Scallops dish was extremely delicious!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Roy's always has great food. The grilled Cesar Salad with a little kick in the dressing always excites me.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Checked OpenTable at 5:30pm for a Friday dinner reservation, and was pleased to see our local Roy's had plenty of availability.
Got there and it was half empty, which wasn't a bad thing - service (which is always pleasant) was quick, and we got great drinks and apps right away. Ordered mains and had more normal timing, and they were typically fantastic. Souffle was perfect.
This UTC location will never be the exact experience as an Hawaii, but it's a staple of ours for the service, quality food, and convenience of not having to go downtown. Great, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Hosted a birthday dinner for my mom. Used a groupon-3 course meal for 4 people $115. Incredible value. All of the food was delicious! We had a great time. Not a good place for a quiet or romantic dinner due to the noise level. I hand-picked a table that was in the back, next to windows which was quieter.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Roy's is one of our family favorites for dinner, but our lunch was not up to par. We were seated promptly, but the service was poor and slow. Our server forgot to take drink orders and inform us that we could only order off of the lunch menu. 4 of the 6 in our party had selected entrees off from the main menu and were very disappointed when they had to select new entrees. Overall the service was slow and disinterested which was surprising based on Roy's typical service. The restaurant was also empty so there was no reason we should not have gotten better service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great service, food, and presentation. Can't go wrong with Maui Owie salad, any entree and then pineapple upside down AND chocolate lava to spilt for dessert. No Hawaiian martini tonight but a winner!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food is AMAZING! The butterfish is one of the beat dishes I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We dine out a lot and we both agreed that this experience was the best we have ever had in San Diego County. The service was impeccable, the food remarkably delicious and fresh. I was very excited to see so many vegetarian options as well as fresh fish options. The short rib was the only short rib that has ever impressed my husband. Handcrafted cocktails were delicious and a very lovely touch was a birthday greeting from the restaurant waiting for us when we sat down. Roys is a must go! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The fish for the Poke Bowl was not fresh and was taken back and off the bill without issue. The rest of the meal was just okay other than the ribs which were amazing. Disappointing since Roy's has been consistently good for years. Maybe just a bad day.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.