Roy's - La Jolla

4.3
1011 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(858) 455-1616
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Charles Andres
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus stop within walking distance
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

View Private Dining Details

Specials

What 1011 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Unique, healthy and tasty food with excellent service. Will go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated a friend’s birthday during the lunch hours.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I forgot how good the butterfish was. So classic and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Marvelous experience on all fronts!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Celebrate Fathers Day with the family and the food was delicious. Really liked the brunch menu with one inclusive price (appetizer + main course).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

We love Rous when we're in Hawaii, excited to have the chance to eat at one on the mainland. Rous in La Jolla was awt, great food, great service and an amazing 🍷 and cocktails list!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Roy’s is always has great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

My mother and I ordered the entrée in which you get four different types of fish. It was excellent for sharing. We also got sushi to start which was good as well. Service was great. Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

We were celebrating our babymoon with our 2.5 year old. They brought special stuff for our toddler and kept him happy and entertained. The service was impeccable and the butter fish is something I am never disappointed with. Yummy and awesome to have a little special care given when you are celebrating something special!!! Would go back in an instant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Roy's never disappoints and I will continue to go here cause the food and service is on point. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great food; excellent service. Will definitely come back

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We were warmly welcomed and had generally good service.

But, the food was of lower caliber than expected. Almost all the sauces and glazes were extraneously-sweet, and my udon dish was extremely salty. And oddly, perhaps most unexpectedly, the white rice was hard and undercooked.

Overall, while all our dishes were pretty and well-plated, there were significant deficiencies in attention to the actual taste of the foods that were being presented.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

So happy that they are open for lunch. The food is delicious and the atmosphere is beautiful. What a wonderful day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Try the 1988 cocktail - strong and delicious! The butterfish is the best fish dish I've ever had and they gave us such great portions this last time we went, which made our anniversary all the better. Great service and relaxing environment. Great for a special occasion or just a night of fine dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Very enjoyable anniversary dinner. Food was excellent and the staff wonderful and attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Service was good. They recalled it being my birthday!!!
We were happy with that, but the food wasn’t as great as I thought it might be. I had scallops, small but tasty. Nothing else on the scallop plate was interesting though. The lobster bisque read light on the curry, but it’s definitely curry heavy. It was good but not excellent. All in all a decent experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Wonderful, knowledgeable server, Derek, helped make it fun. Had tofu for one, butterfish for the other. A nice sushi roll appetizer, and a tasty wedge salad. Rot’s Is our go to place for birthdays and anniversaries, all over the west. Oh, and a nice treat for a birthday, they provided a yummy chocolat3 souffle

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was okay, we sat by the doorway, servers seem to be rushing us. They brought out the entrees while we are not done eating the appetizers while eating entree they kept trying to collect the plates. Seriously felt like we are in a Chinese food chain. We are not coming back and I can't recommend this place either. It's not worth the money you'll spend here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Hope this improves, rather disappointing. Great prime rib. Crab cakes good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had a wonderful Mother’s Day brunch. I hav celiac disease and our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful in indicating my gf choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Go Wednesdays for the half priced wine list and try something out of the ordinary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great meal as usual. Certainly pricey but I never regret it and know for special occasions it’s one of my ‘go-to’ places. Service was excellent, Pat was a star. Only miscue to mention was I asked for a quiet location if they had one (check) and they mentioned that as we were seated, and was there for a birthday which wasn’t conveyed to Pat but was all resolved during our conversation. All in all great experience and we will definitely be back!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The dining room was not exceptionally busy, but I think that only one server was working, as every step of the dining process was pretty slow.

The food was above average. The bourbon pour that I received was generous, but should have been for the $15 price tag (that equates to $390 per bottle, with markup).

Add to that a charge of $3.50 for a coke, and any good will you had for the restaurant ebbs significantly.

One word for my $80 dinner - “meh”.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Both the food and service was between very good and excellent. However, I felt the prices were a bit on the high side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Roy’s of La Jolla was great ! Service impeccable! Our waiter was so nice and attentive ! Ambiance perfect ! Great place for a good lunch and early dinner , you can talk and hear each other!!
Manager was up and about going around and checking on every one ! A great place compared to the Roy’s in Pasadena that needs to improve their services ! Will for sure recommend it and will be back !!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Hands down the absolute worse Roys experience ever.
Ive eaten at Roys for years in California, Las Vegas and Hawaii. The restaurant was not even a 1/4 of the way full and it took over an hour to receive our Luke warm meals. Makes sense no one was there. Kitchen staff was a mess and looked understaffed. Feel sorry for the waiters.
Such a horrible experience that it will be a long time before I go back to any Roys locations.
Shame Ive always loved Roys!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I have eaten at Roy's before in Hawaii and I wasn't very impressed especially for the price paid for the meal so I was pleasantly surprised when the food at this Roy's was found to be very good. The service was also good. The manager (I presume) kept passing by to see how we were doing although he was not intrusive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Amazing experience! The service was great and the food was very flavorful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Food was amazing, but service was slow even though restaurant wasn’t busy. Fortunately we were not in a hurry, but we were super hungry and had to wait 45 min for our food. Once it came all was good again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 3, 2018

We went there for lunch to celebrate my birthday. The waitress was not very friendly but most importantly the food was bad. My sister ordered the mahi mahi and it was salty. The braised beef was dried. After all, we spoke with the manager, she credited us back the entire meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

I have eaten here many times. I like the butterfish and short ribs combo. My short ribs were a complete piece off fat which is unusual so I complained. They were kind enough to ask to remake it which I declined. They took the cost of the entire meal off the bill. I was shocked and pleasantly surprised. Usually it is an excellent restaurant with excellent food but we went for dinner on Easter night so that may have played into it. Although they only had about five tables to serve which was strange. I guess everyone went for Easter brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

My wife and my 80 year old parents went for my 60th birthday have an amazing night. Introduced my parents to sushi. They will be spoiled because nobody makes it better than Roy’s.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Prime rib was dry and mostly over cooked for rare. No Au jus available. Other sauces undesirable.

Mash potatoes were standard.

Pineapple upside cake was worth having.

Nice $20 gift card to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great Food for Easter Sunday!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Poor customer service with no interest to accommodate table request. Staff was young and lacked the maturity to take good care of guests. Worst experience in over 40 years of restaurant dinning...need management and staff overall haul....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Good food and great service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 28, 2018

I used to dine at Roy’s all the time in Las Vegas , unfortunately they closed here. I always enjoyed there food . Also I eat in Waikiki and was great . Here unfortunately the service was poor . The waiter was unpleasant, and got us wrong dishes . My fish was burnt.
Too bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Service and food are always top notch. Keeps us coming back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Service was great- they go above and beyond for Special occasions. I celebrated my birthday and they had a cute congrats card on the table and we were provided w/ a complimentary dessert that was delicious! We were disappointed with our calamari appetizer (probably the worse calamari I have had) it was a bunch of almost burnt little crispy things- no real meat to it and it tasted like burnt fried crispies left over at the end of a frying s batch of sonething. PF Changs are way better and cheaper. Anyways, the rest of the meal was delicious but the portions are tiny and EXPENSIVE and u have to pay for any extra sides. For a party of four we paid around $325. I think for the value it is way overpriced but all and all I would return again for a special occasion. That is what special occasions are for- splurging more then usual. Hope this helps...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Always a good meal. One of my favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
26