About Roy's - La Jolla

8670 Genesee Avenue
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 455-1616

Website:
http://roysrestaurant.com/locations/CA/la_jolla.asp

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop within walking distance

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Berry Salad

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

Roy's - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego

Special Occasion (48)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
677 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great choice. One in our party ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great choice. One in our party ordered the blackened Ahi, which is supposed to be served rare. The chef left it on too long and it was served well done. Needless to say, we sent it back. 2nd time it came out perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food as always was wonderful. Service w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food as always was wonderful. Service was not up to their usual standards.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My wife and I arrived at our reserved ti ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I arrived at our reserved time and found our table waiting. We both ordered fish. My wife had the halibut which we cooked to perfection. I had the salmon which was a little under done for my taste. We brought our own bottle of wine, which to our surprise came with a corkage fee. The service was excellent as usual. I would recommend this place to other minus the personal wine and corkage fee.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & wine pairing at the Joseph ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food & wine pairing at the Joseph Phelps wine dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Dessert was great. Roy's is usually a de ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Dessert was great. Roy's is usually a dependable dining experience. However, Presentation of entrees has changed - not as nice or pleasuring to the eye as they once were. Food is just sort of thrown together with little thought. A few examples, I ordered the sugar glazed grilled salmon. This is one of their signature dishes and should be served this way. The piece of salmon I received was very small (what I would have expected the kids portion to be) and overdone. The char marks were black and crunchy at the ends. It was simply thrown into a bowl with a preformed block of rice and a couple of limp pickled vegetables.

My kids appetizer of quesadilla and fresh vegetables was just put it a bread plate and served. These used to be in a criss-cross form to appeal to kids and make them feel special, one of the unique things Roy's does is include this appetizer as part of the kids meal- this is nice. The presentation was not. They also ordered the kids salmon the piece of salmon they received measured about 1.5 inches x 1.5 inches with the same pre-formed block of rice. This is a kids meal; but that is for a kid 10 and under, not 3 and under. This was Roy's La Jolla....I was at Roy's Chandler, Arizona last month and had a completely different experience. It was wonderful and the food was great - which is why I decided to revisit my local Roy's, unfortunately I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Wonderful waiter. Given a nice table bec ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Wonderful waiter. Given a nice table because we had reservations. Noticed a couple also wanted a window table but hostess nicely told them it was reserved. Even the girl her kept serving us tea was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Both food and wait staff were perfect!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Both food and wait staff were perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with a special brunch at Roy's. It turned out to be extra special since we were the only ones in the restaurant. We had great service and spectacular food: filet mignon benedict and lobster & shrimp omelet. This brunch is now in our memory bank as the best we ever experienced!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We sat in the bar and enjoyed great appe ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We sat in the bar and enjoyed great appetizers and cocktails at happy hour prices which was awesome. Best Hawaiian Martini! At the time of our dinner reservations we were seated at a great table with a friendly waitress. She gave us just the right amount of attention and the food is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place was completely empty. When ask ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The place was completely empty. When asking for vegetarian menu all the server could suggest was a salad. When I asked her to do a stir fry they did a terrible job with it.

No one was really happy with their food, no wonder the place was completely empty. What a shame that Roys that used to be our favorite place in hawaii is so terrible here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Very slow service, food was below averag ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very slow service, food was below average..not savory. It took over 35 minutes for our entree to arrive. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Customer service & food presentation sim ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Customer service & food presentation simply superb & exceptionally beautiful! We read the previous reviews "before" our visit, then selected our food choices @ home. Wise decision and recommendation for Roy La Jolla-goers! Our visit was made online. The table was ready & personalized with our names & "26th Anniversary" printed in a framed 5x7 name card. Touching! We arrived slightly off peak hours (5pm) on purpose to avoid delays of being served; this was a common reported shortcoming we did not want to experience for our special occasionan. We ordered delicious Spring rolls & lobster wontons for appetizers. Then, the Seafood Trio with asparagus, Seared Scallops, Broccolini, & Crusted Macaroni & Bacon as our entrees. They served a tasty/spicy Asian-fusion dipping sauce with the appetizers that we found also went well with the entrees! Delicious!! They brought another small round of the sauce for the asking, without hesitation. Pat, our charismatic waiter, took care of us as if we were his personal house guests--excellent host! He took our pictures with our cell phones multiple times and also gave us "to die for" no flour chocolate lava cake & ice cream as a special gift on the house, to top off & celebrate our joyous celebration! We highly recommend all of the above steps to prepare before you go & the food choices we enjoyed. Roy's is VERY, VERY pricey, the portions are small, the delivery of food from order to the table can be a lil' longer than what you may expect, but the experience can be memorable if you plan ahead and be prepare. We don't drink alcohol, and Pat even fixed us a couple of orange juice and cranberry spritzers. For those who do drink, the list is quite extensive. We wish ALL (who take the time to read & heed this review) the same or even better experience than we had on our first romantic visit!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The Ahi Tuna is the best I had though o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Ahi Tuna is the best I had though out the world

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My son's girlfriend was in town who love ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My son's girlfriend was in town who loves sushi. I wanted to take her somewhere special so I chose Roy's. (I usually take out of town guest to Seasons 52.) I was surprise how limited the menu selection was compared to Seasons 52. I ordered the Thai Chicken option but that to pick something else they were out of chicken from the night before. Really? Something as common as chicken you are out of, especially since you know about it from the previous night and especially you don't have that many items on the menu to begin with.

I ordered a Lintel Rose wine. It tasted very thin. I replaced it with darker Rose wine. (The server didn't what Rose it was, but then again, I didn't ask.) It still tasted watered down. Even my son tried it and agreed. But I told the server it was okay because I didn't want to bother with another attempt to get a good glass of wine.

I will say the food was presented very well and taste wonder. Also, the server was very nice and prompt. But all in all, the experience was not memorable enough for me to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

I had halibut and my husband had the rib ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I had halibut and my husband had the rib eye; both were delicious, but on the pricey side.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Halibut and Tuna. Chocolate souffl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great Halibut and Tuna. Chocolate soufflé is outstanding. Service always great. Mahi was not up to standard, but butterfish was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were so excited to have dinner at Roy ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We were so excited to have dinner at Roy's last night. We started off by sharing a wedge salad, it was small and very mediocre, the ones at Truluck's and Flemings are far superior.

For our main course we had Hibachi Salmon and Macadamia nut crusted Mahi Mahi. The salmon was tasty but the portion was tiny it came with a scoop of rice it was not worth $29. The Macadamia nut crusted Mahi was total disappointment at $39, it had absolutely NO TASTE whatsoever! I guess it could have tasted fishy which would have been worse than having no taste. Sauce was tasteless, fish was tasteless, it came with one mini red potato that was sliced into 3 quarter sized pieces, I think they were boiled and also tasteless, 3 spears of asparagus (they tasted like asparagus). The Macadamia crusted fish at Humphreys is fantastic and less expensive. We also ordered a side of Parmesan french fries at $6.90, how could you go wrong with that. Well the oil tasted rancid. We ate everything because we were hungry, and because it was a $90 bill, but it was terrible and we left hungry - we joked that we were going to go to in-and-out after, but it really wasn't a joke. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We were very impressed with all aspects ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were very impressed with all aspects of our visit. We had a toddler with us and the extra attention, crayons and snack plate, were unexpected but had us impressed. Everyone in our group enjoyed the food. The service was wonderful. Not overbearing but just enough attention and very timely clearing empty dishes away. Already planning our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservation was for 7:45 we were sea ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our reservation was for 7:45 we were seated at 8:20 and finally ordered at 8:50. Received the wrong entree, waiter spilled full glass of water on us, did not apologize. He was going to seat us at another table but none had been cleaned. Food was fair and experience poor. Way understaffed with no concern for customer service. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Roy's is always a reliably good dinner a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Roy's is always a reliably good dinner and this was no difference. Great staff, server, and food. Loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was absolutely wonderful! Husband h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was absolutely wonderful! Husband had the Roy's trio and I had the scallops! Great presentation and my husband said each portion of the trio was awesome although he said the butterfish melted in your mouth! That's the first time I've tried butterfish and I would have to agree that it was phenomenal, so much so that I asked our waiter if it came as a stand alone entrée. The specialty dessert was a pineapple upside down cake which was to die for. Warm cake and tidbits of pineapple covering it, so refreshing and light! We can't wait to go back. Ambience was not as great with the bulldozers working on a Sunday night right outside the large picture windows but that wasn't the restaurant's fault.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I used to go to this restaurant once a w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I used to go to this restaurant once a week, not any more. The host didn't sit us until helping other people who didn't have a reservation, making us wait a significant amount of time and not even giving us menus. The server was really nice, but we were told that we had to order their pineapple cake at the beginning because it took 20 min to prepare. It was ready only after 90 min because they forgot, and we didn't even get anything complimentary. Everybody appearing nice but no real value. To me that means they favor passer-bys instead of regulars, not a good business practice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

I always go to Roys to enjoy my favorite ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I always go to Roys to enjoy my favorite dish, butterfish with Bok Choy and rice. It has been the same for every other occasion, no surprises, always wonderful!

Well, this last time, my butterfish was grilled almost black, super sugary, and a very thin tail end serving. My server was very accommodating, as was the manager, and replaced the meal to suit me. Why oh why did they change this dish? As they say, if it isn't broke, don't fix it! Now I am supposed to ask for a different cut of Butterfish to avoid the tail end piece! I can't even remember what cut to ask for. I just want it the way it always was!

😒😔😕 Marilyn Benstead

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

excellent. Food, service, ambiance was g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

excellent. Food, service, ambiance was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my Husband's Birthday and we went ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was my Husband's Birthday and we went as a couple. Greeted from the beginning with Happy Birthday and our table had beautiful flowers scattered on the white table cloths. The service was outstanding and the food worth the price. Overall amazing experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Meh. I want to like Roy's more than I re ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Meh. I want to like Roy's more than I really do. I've met Roy and he seems like a humble guy who's created a successful business (empire). The concept, which was once fresh and original, now seems tired and jejune. Time for a complete re-do. Our server was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately my wife's food arrived cold ( and she's not super picky). They remade it, and it arrived slightly before I was done with my dish. They comped our appetizer (delicious lobster pot stickers), which was appreciated. My wife likes Roy's better than I, so we'll probably be back. I keep hoping they'll capture the magic they once had, but I'm not optimistic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I've always been happy about Roy's for d ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I've always been happy about Roy's for dinner or afternoon happy hour and tried it for lunch today for the first time. They have great lunch combos at about $15 per plate and excellent service and experience altogether. It was pretty empty so not sure how many people know they are open for lunch or think of this as a midday option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. Food was just OK and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very disappointed. Food was just OK and fairly expensive for what you got. Service was fair, especially we were there early before a movie and place was almost empty. Big surprise- a Hawaiian originated restaurant doesn't serve Kona coffee. Shame on you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a really excellent dinner and the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a really excellent dinner and the best appetizers! Service was fantastic with the manager stopping by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food - the butterfish was delicio ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food - the butterfish was delicious

Great service

Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service were outstandin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food and the service were outstanding. However the noise level put a real damper on the evening.

You could not hear the conversation at our own table.

It is a shame since the food and service was so good

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We celebrated my husband's birthday at R ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Roy's and he was recognized from the moment we arrived. Both hostesses wished him Happy Birthday and when we got to the table, there was a charming, personalized Happy Birthday message along with small flowers, ribbon and a candle. Our server, Anthony, was outstanding in every way. Both dishes, surf/turf and macadamia crusted mahi mahi were incredible. Our special occasion was completed with a delicious, personalized birthday dessert. Roy's knows how to do it right!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly staff, good food. Be sure to g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Friendly staff, good food. Be sure to get a reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's is always a great experience and t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Roy's is always a great experience and this trip was no different. We enjoyed the spicy edimame, miso soup, salmon and ribs on the lunch menu. Everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service! Great company! Good a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service! Great company! Good ambiance! Food has been better in previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Roy's restaurant staff made our annivers ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Roy's restaurant staff made our anniversary very special. When we arrived there was a

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was okay. We ordered a bottle of wine, we had our first pour of the wine and but the waiter never came back and refill our glass.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my wife to the restaurant for our a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Took my wife to the restaurant for our anniversary and the team at Roy's took great care of us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will go back.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The hostess took a while to seat us even though we had a reservation. Otherwise, the fish (trout and mahi mahi), wine (Lyric by Etude pinot noir) and service was excellent. They were also quick as we told the waitress that we had a movie start time and she made it happen!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef went out of his way to make a speci ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Chef went out of his way to make a special surfer dessert decoration for my son. He was so thrilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.