Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Roy's - La Jolla

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.

8670 Genesee Avenue
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 455-1616

Website:
http://roysrestaurant.com/locations/CA/la_jolla.asp

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop within walking distance

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

Roy's - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Happy Hour (19)
Casual (18)
Romantic (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Business Meals (16)
Fun (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was very slow, This was a Sunday evening , past 8:30 PM. THE RESTAURANT WAS BEGINNING TO THIN OUT. We started with a Lettuce Wedge Salad. This did not arrive until 35 minutes had past. The product was well made, appetizing and enjoyable.
Then, we waited 40 minutes for Spicy Pork Spare Ribs to arrive. They were meaty, tender and "finger lickn" good.
If the preparation and serving times were within reason, Roy's would rate four stars.
I reccommend that Roy's Management maintain a kitchen expediter to speed up the preparation and service of their simpler foods.
Philsee

Tags: Spicy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Had Roy's Trio and my wife had Butterfish. We both agree that our meals were delicious. We're big customers of Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrate or not a place to have great food. worth the time and expense. Don't be in a hurray this is an experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Entrees are hit or miss.
Service is great
Excellent cocktails
Terrific chocolate soufflé

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Was on travelzoo coupon - disappointed w/ limited selections on special menu - chicken and hamburger were disappointing choices. Food is always flavorful - just not enough selection for travelzoo coupon. Found the restaurant warm, management said temp was as cool as they could get it.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food at Roy's was outstanding as usual. My husband and I had a great time celebrating our anniversary there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We've been here before but this time were a bit disappointed in the service. Our waiter, while nice enough, seemed to be spread thin. Our coffee and water were not refilled unless we asked and at one point we didn't get a refill at all. Not our typical experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2017

This evening was a celebration of our 37th Anniversary,I had gotten a Groupon but got worried when I read a few bad reviews among many good ones. My worries were put to rest when we were greeted very pleasantly then escorted to our table complete with a Happy 37th Anniversary card awaiting us! Our waiter,Charles,took such excellent care of all our needs,my drink was delicious,the spring rolls hot and crunchy with a fantastic sauce,salad fresh and delicious. My macadamia crusted mahi was perfectly cooked and my husband's burger was not only awesome looking...he couldn't put it down it was so delicious! Even his shoestring fries were so yummy we ate every one! Charles upgraded our shared dessert(special nod to our anniversary) to their signature chocolate souffle with raspberry coulis and vanilla ice cream,again delightful! We had an absolutely wonderful dinner and will be back again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We got there early for our dinner reservation and so started with happy hour at the bar. Mango mojito and lobster potstickers were great. Dinner was also good as usual. We like this location better than the downtown seaport village location. Easier to get to and the decor is better. I had the miso butterfish and my husband had the chef tasting menu. They were both great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Server asked after every delivery "How great was that?" "Was that tasty?" which says to me you don't want to hear otherwise. So we were unhappy and left unhappy because it felt it would be uncomfortable (disruptive to the date) to ask for something different.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We've been to a few Roy's in Hawaii and this, unfortunately, was a disappointing comparison. The restaurant was too warm, the food was ok (but a bit over-priced), and the ambiance was so-so. To their credit, they did try to make it right, but we still won't be returning to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Had another wonderful meal with excellent service by Autumn! Love Roy's new $20 lunch plates also! Great bar for Happy Hour or pre-Dinner. Go early and relax in the bar before you dine. Great ALOHA HOUR too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Delicious as usual. Roy's is great place for a business meal or date night. Their cuisine is always fresh and flavorful. The environment is just perfect, not too loud, but not awkwardly quiet. Thanks Roy's!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals and appetizers and the desserts were incredible. I'm sure I'll be going back as soon as possible…

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Sadly, as much as we have enjoyed eating at other Roy's (Woodland Hills, Maui, Newport Beach), we were disappointed with our experience at this location recently. We were celebrating my husband's birthday, which was noted in our Open Table reservation, but not acknowledged in anyway by the staff. Our service was just okay (usually the servers at Roy's are really great), and the food was hit and miss. Our calamari batter was burnt, but the Maui salad was good. My halibut (the evening special at $54) was dry and overcooked, but my husband's mahi-mahi was good. The chocolate souffle was yummy, as always. I think if our server had been friendly, or at least seemed like wasn't just going through the motions, it would have been a much more enjoyable meal. We won't be back to this location, and would think twice about choosing to go to a Roy's elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2017

It is always a treat to dine at Roy's. The food is always great and this evening the service with outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great food and great service. Waiter recommended splitting two dishes for the two of us, and they would arrange the plates and serve that way. Very friendly staff, food was excellent. Highly recommended for birthdays or anniversaries, they contribute free killer desert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I always enjoy my food and drinks at Roy's wheather at the bar or dining room. However, many of the meals are very high priced and friends don't want to join us there!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Friendly staff and good food. Service was very slow though. First in to the restaurant and it still took almost two hours to finish due to the slow service. For the price I would expect the meals to be prepared faster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Lovely lunch menu as well as full menu. It's a secret that they are open for lunch. Very few tables filled..very attentive service. We'll be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

My teenage grandsons were very impressed with the crab legs We were talked into having the upside down cake and it was very good. Also the complimentary Chocolate mousse. Excellent

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Fantastic Butterfish. The service was exceptional and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The chicken spring rolls had little or no chicken In them ...they were full of rice and mushy. Our fish was mushy the bok choy was mushy and overcooked and we had substituted the rice for lump crab fried rice and there was little or no lump crab in it. Our waiter was great at the beginning but did not attend to us after our meal thing. Annabel not on the spa they were full of rice and mushy. Our fish was mushy the bok choy was mushy and overcooked and we had substituted the rice for lump crab fried rice and there was little or no lump crab in it. Our waiter was great at the beginning but did not attend to us after our Meal came. We had to waiters get drink refills, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Haven't been to Roy's in a few years and I see a bit of a decline in quality. Our meals were average, not the excellent quality experienced in the past . The service was great but the restaurant was nearly empty at the lunch hour. Something is different.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We were here for the Sun/Mon prefix. Once we were seated, we asked for the menu and found out this location changed the price of the promo from what was advertised on the website. No longer $36.95- while a couple items are at that price, most items jumped to $46.95 and they removed a few higher price items such as lobster. Was there two weeks ago and it was not that way then. Seemed like they just kept changing the price on the fly. Should honor what they advertised on the website. If price is a concern, set up tiered pricing but honor what you promised.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

At the time I came to Roy's the service here was lacking. Our waiter rarely refilled something as simple as water even when we did ask. He was stuck talking shop talk to the bar tender about the nonsense that goes on in the restaurant. We actually had to ask a bunch of other workers for help such as the bill, additional appetizers etc. So this is probably the worst Roy's experience i've had. Thats what TIPS are for. Just give less, if any. So it all works out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The dining room was very hot. There were no free items. No bread, no edamame. Everything had to paid for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Had a lovely dinner that we enjoyed very much. Very good sushi rolls and the Plate with small portions 3 entree's was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable server. Sadly the complementary edamame he tried to send to our table was mis-delivered. Otherwise an excellent meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Ribeye was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our family loves Roy's La Jolla for special occasions, out-of-town guests or when we just crave their Misoyaki Butterfish, Beef Short Ribs, a Wagyu Burger, a warm melted chocolate souffle and more....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great everything. Ordered lobster potstickers, sushi, miso soup and a filet. Friendly service and great beverages. Definitely will visit again soon!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have been going to Roy's since he opened in Hawaii! The seafood is always so fresh and delicious. My favorite is the butterfish, melts in your mouth.
I highly recommend Roy's!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Healthy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We have dined there several times in the past. This is by far The worst experience and the food was mediocre at best at best. We went in and tried to order off the dinner menu around 3 o'clock in the afternoon and then was denied. The short ribs were tough, The shrimp was very bland, and the burger was greasy but the butter fish was OK. The service was mediocre as well. I doubt we will ever go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great service and an excellent welcome from the GM - our server Jimmy ? was really terrific. Had a great meal and lots of wonderful special extras were provided to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great menu with fresh fish brought in daily. Meat options and vegetarian options as well. Mac and Cheese was great side. Wine list was excellent and reasonable prices to expensive great wines. Service was top notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I had the grilled shrimp with green tea uden noodles and I think it was the best meal I have had at Roy's! We have eaten at all the Roy's including Hawaii and this meal was awesome ! I loved it and couldn't stop talking about it to anyone who would listen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were here celebrating a retirement. Very understaffed this night, but our server was pleasant. Vegetable tempura was not good; the batter was mushy and not adhered to the vegetables. We didn't understand why the vegetables were so huge...The broccoli was the size of my husband's fist.
The lobster potstickers were interesting but had to cut them with a knife because they were tough. The butter fish was great. The best part of the meal was the desert. I would expect much better from this expensive restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Went to Roy's for a late lunch around 2 pm on a Monday. We were one of two occupied tables. Probably because of that, the restaurant decided not to turn on the AC. Crazy. On the plus side, without a heavy crowd,the service was attentive. Food was disappointing. Everything was over salted. From the soy sauce soaked salad, to the miso soup and to the beef patty on the burger, the food had so much salt, we couldn't taste the meat or any other ingredient. Ordered the beef medium and it came out well done charred. When we pointed that out to our server, she said she would inform the kitchen, rather than offering to bring out a replacement dish. The saving grace was the restaurant comped the burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I had dinner yesterday at Roy's for the first time in years--and was reminded of why it had been so long since I had been there. The maitai tasted like fruit punch with a minimal amount of dark rum on the top--weak and uninspiring. The lobster potstickers as an appetizer were good, but the shellfish medley (lobster, scallops, shrimp) was generically prepared with tasteless rice and asparagus that was as chewy as wood. In addition, the place is expensive for what you get. I can't think of any reason not to seek out other restaurants that serve better food (especially fish) at more competitive prices. This chain needs a infusion of originality to bring it back to its prior reputation--otherwise, it's just another theme-park restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.