About Roy's - La Jolla

8670 Genesee Avenue
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 455-1616

Website:
http://roysrestaurant.com/locations/CA/la_jolla.asp

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop within walking distance

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Berry Salad

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

Roy's - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego

special occasion (47)
fit for foodies (32)
good for groups (21)
See All
romantic (17)
great for lunch (13)
neighborhood gem (13)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (6)
notable wine list (6)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
661 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had halibut and my husband had the rib ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had halibut and my husband had the rib eye; both were delicious, but on the pricey side.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Halibut and Tuna. Chocolate souffl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great Halibut and Tuna. Chocolate soufflé is outstanding. Service always great. Mahi was not up to standard, but butterfish was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were so excited to have dinner at Roy ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were so excited to have dinner at Roy's last night. We started off by sharing a wedge salad, it was small and very mediocre, the ones at Truluck's and Flemings are far superior.

For our main course we had Hibachi Salmon and Macadamia nut crusted Mahi Mahi. The salmon was tasty but the portion was tiny it came with a scoop of rice it was not worth $29. The Macadamia nut crusted Mahi was total disappointment at $39, it had absolutely NO TASTE whatsoever! I guess it could have tasted fishy which would have been worse than having no taste. Sauce was tasteless, fish was tasteless, it came with one mini red potato that was sliced into 3 quarter sized pieces, I think they were boiled and also tasteless, 3 spears of asparagus (they tasted like asparagus). The Macadamia crusted fish at Humphreys is fantastic and less expensive. We also ordered a side of Parmesan french fries at $6.90, how could you go wrong with that. Well the oil tasted rancid. We ate everything because we were hungry, and because it was a $90 bill, but it was terrible and we left hungry - we joked that we were going to go to in-and-out after, but it really wasn't a joke. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We were very impressed with all aspects ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were very impressed with all aspects of our visit. We had a toddler with us and the extra attention, crayons and snack plate, were unexpected but had us impressed. Everyone in our group enjoyed the food. The service was wonderful. Not overbearing but just enough attention and very timely clearing empty dishes away. Already planning our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservation was for 7:45 we were sea ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our reservation was for 7:45 we were seated at 8:20 and finally ordered at 8:50. Received the wrong entree, waiter spilled full glass of water on us, did not apologize. He was going to seat us at another table but none had been cleaned. Food was fair and experience poor. Way understaffed with no concern for customer service. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Roy's is always a reliably good dinner a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Roy's is always a reliably good dinner and this was no difference. Great staff, server, and food. Loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was absolutely wonderful! Husband h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was absolutely wonderful! Husband had the Roy's trio and I had the scallops! Great presentation and my husband said each portion of the trio was awesome although he said the butterfish melted in your mouth! That's the first time I've tried butterfish and I would have to agree that it was phenomenal, so much so that I asked our waiter if it came as a stand alone entrée. The specialty dessert was a pineapple upside down cake which was to die for. Warm cake and tidbits of pineapple covering it, so refreshing and light! We can't wait to go back. Ambience was not as great with the bulldozers working on a Sunday night right outside the large picture windows but that wasn't the restaurant's fault.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I used to go to this restaurant once a w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I used to go to this restaurant once a week, not any more. The host didn't sit us until helping other people who didn't have a reservation, making us wait a significant amount of time and not even giving us menus. The server was really nice, but we were told that we had to order their pineapple cake at the beginning because it took 20 min to prepare. It was ready only after 90 min because they forgot, and we didn't even get anything complimentary. Everybody appearing nice but no real value. To me that means they favor passer-bys instead of regulars, not a good business practice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

I always go to Roys to enjoy my favorite ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I always go to Roys to enjoy my favorite dish, butterfish with Bok Choy and rice. It has been the same for every other occasion, no surprises, always wonderful!

Well, this last time, my butterfish was grilled almost black, super sugary, and a very thin tail end serving. My server was very accommodating, as was the manager, and replaced the meal to suit me. Why oh why did they change this dish? As they say, if it isn't broke, don't fix it! Now I am supposed to ask for a different cut of Butterfish to avoid the tail end piece! I can't even remember what cut to ask for. I just want it the way it always was!

😒😔😕 Marilyn Benstead

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

It was my Husband's Birthday and we went ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was my Husband's Birthday and we went as a couple. Greeted from the beginning with Happy Birthday and our table had beautiful flowers scattered on the white table cloths. The service was outstanding and the food worth the price. Overall amazing experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Meh. I want to like Roy's more than I re ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Meh. I want to like Roy's more than I really do. I've met Roy and he seems like a humble guy who's created a successful business (empire). The concept, which was once fresh and original, now seems tired and jejune. Time for a complete re-do. Our server was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately my wife's food arrived cold ( and she's not super picky). They remade it, and it arrived slightly before I was done with my dish. They comped our appetizer (delicious lobster pot stickers), which was appreciated. My wife likes Roy's better than I, so we'll probably be back. I keep hoping they'll capture the magic they once had, but I'm not optimistic.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I've always been happy about Roy's for d ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I've always been happy about Roy's for dinner or afternoon happy hour and tried it for lunch today for the first time. They have great lunch combos at about $15 per plate and excellent service and experience altogether. It was pretty empty so not sure how many people know they are open for lunch or think of this as a midday option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. Food was just OK and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very disappointed. Food was just OK and fairly expensive for what you got. Service was fair, especially we were there early before a movie and place was almost empty. Big surprise- a Hawaiian originated restaurant doesn't serve Kona coffee. Shame on you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a really excellent dinner and the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a really excellent dinner and the best appetizers! Service was fantastic with the manager stopping by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food - the butterfish was delicio ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food - the butterfish was delicious

Great service

Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service were outstandin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food and the service were outstanding. However the noise level put a real damper on the evening.

You could not hear the conversation at our own table.

It is a shame since the food and service was so good

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We celebrated my husband's birthday at R ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Roy's and he was recognized from the moment we arrived. Both hostesses wished him Happy Birthday and when we got to the table, there was a charming, personalized Happy Birthday message along with small flowers, ribbon and a candle. Our server, Anthony, was outstanding in every way. Both dishes, surf/turf and macadamia crusted mahi mahi were incredible. Our special occasion was completed with a delicious, personalized birthday dessert. Roy's knows how to do it right!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly staff, good food. Be sure to g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Friendly staff, good food. Be sure to get a reservation.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's is always a great experience and t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Roy's is always a great experience and this trip was no different. We enjoyed the spicy edimame, miso soup, salmon and ribs on the lunch menu. Everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service! Great company! Good a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service! Great company! Good ambiance! Food has been better in previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Roy's restaurant staff made our annivers ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Roy's restaurant staff made our anniversary very special. When we arrived there was a

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was okay. We ordered a bottle of wine, we had our first pour of the wine and but the waiter never came back and refill our glass.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my wife to the restaurant for our a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Took my wife to the restaurant for our anniversary and the team at Roy's took great care of us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will go back.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The hostess took a while to seat us even though we had a reservation. Otherwise, the fish (trout and mahi mahi), wine (Lyric by Etude pinot noir) and service was excellent. They were also quick as we told the waitress that we had a movie start time and she made it happen!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef went out of his way to make a speci ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Chef went out of his way to make a special surfer dessert decoration for my son. He was so thrilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced, slow service!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I never write reviews but I feel obliged to express my dissatisfaction with our experience. I've eaten at Roy's in Florida and was excited to visit while in San Diego. The food was less than interesting ($42 for a bland piece of fish), unanimous by all five diners. Last visit to Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Mother's Day brunch

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I expected the Mother's Day Brunch at Roy's to be pretty busy, but I was still somewhat disappointed by the pacing of our meal. It took nearly an hour and 45 minutes just to have the appetizer and entree, and I felt that with the simplicity of the brunch menu there was no good reason that couldn't have been a half hour faster than that. We might have ordered dessert if things were faster.

Overall, our food was good. The lobster benedict was very good, as was the macadamia pancakes. The prime rib was decent, but was somewhat lacking and a bit overcooked (closer to medium well than medium rare). Also, the pancakes were probably overpriced for what was offered - some sort of meat addition (e.g. bacon) would have probably made it acceptable.

Our server did a good job, but she obviously was busy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Roy's redtaurants are always great. We e ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Roy's redtaurants are always great.

We enjoyed our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Regular food greatly overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Great Taste (Just Not Enough)

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Though the food is great tasting, the entree portions are rather small for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Roy's always turns a routine evening out ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Roy's always turns a routine evening out into a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dine out most nights and this was our ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We dine out most nights and this was our first time dining at Roys. We were delighted that we were seated at a nice booth bordering the bar and the main restaurant. This was nice, quiet, and just perfect for us to dine sitting side by side. The service was terrific, the ambience lovely, and the food even better! We both ordered the chicken dish and it was absolutely delicious! Overall the dining experience was superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have the scallops and pork belly. Everyt ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Have the scallops and pork belly. Everything is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was mediocre and service was awful!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was mediocre and service was awful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Terrible service and food

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Terrible service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Roy's had a Happy Anniversary greeting a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Roy's had a Happy Anniversary greeting at the table and at the end, they took a picture and gave us the picture in the anniversary frame so that we would have a souvenir to take home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and great service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I've been to Roy's downtown but this was my first visit to the UC/La Jolla location. It was my mom's birthday and I really appreciate how the staff went out of the way to make it special with a card at the table, a special dessert and a picture they took, printed and gave to us to keep. Roy's is a little expensive but the fish dishes -- we had the butter fish and salmon -- and the sides were perfectly prepared and delicious. This is an ideal restaurant for a special occasion. The service was excellent as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food Quality was poor

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The salad was wilted--pretty clear that it was prepared prior to ordering; fried chicken with pineapple fried rice were not hot at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We came here to have lunch. The restaura ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We came here to have lunch. The restaurant opened at 11:00 am and we were the only 2 people there at 11:00 am. The waiter was nice and we placed our order within 5 minutes. It took 45 minutes for our lunch to arrive! We were still the only two people in the restaurant by this time. There were no explanations for why it took so long to prepare our lunch. I had short ribs over rice. My rice was cold but the rib was good. My friend ordered pulled pork sandwich with French fries. The sandwich was ok but the fries were greasy. Overall the experience was disappointing. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Sandy P

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was great, food excellent. Forgot how much I enjoy eating at Roy's. It was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.