About Roy's - La Jolla

8670 Genesee Avenue
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Weekdays at 11AM
Open Weekends at 4PM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 455-1616

Website:
http://roysrestaurant.com/locations/CA/la_jolla.asp

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop within walking distance

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Roy's - La Jolla
Berry Salad

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

Roy's - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego

special occasion (43)
fit for foodies (30)
good for groups (25)
See All
romantic (15)
great for lunch (14)
neighborhood gem (9)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always been happy about Roy's for d ...

Dined 2 days ago

I've always been happy about Roy's for dinner or afternoon happy hour and tried it for lunch today for the first time. They have great lunch combos at about $15 per plate and excellent service and experience altogether. It was pretty empty so not sure how many people know they are open for lunch or think of this as a midday option.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a really excellent dinner and the ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We had a really excellent dinner and the best appetizers! Service was fantastic with the manager stopping by.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food - the butterfish was delicio ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Great food - the butterfish was delicious Great service Can't wait to go back

food5
ambience3
service5
value2

The food and the service were outstandin ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The food and the service were outstanding. However the noise level put a real damper on the evening. You could not hear the conversation at our own table. It is a shame since the food and service was so good

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my husband's birthday at R ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Roy's and he was recognized from the moment we arrived. Both hostesses wished him Happy Birthday and when we got to the table, there was a charming, personalized Happy Birthday message along with small flowers, ribbon and a candle. Our server, Anthony, was outstanding in every way. Both dishes, surf/turf and macadamia crusted mahi mahi were incredible. Our special occasion was completed with a delicious, personalized birthday dessert. Roy's knows how to do it right!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff, good food. Be sure to g ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Friendly staff, good food. Be sure to get a reservation.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's is always a great experience and t ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Roy's is always a great experience and this trip was no different. We enjoyed the spicy edimame, miso soup, salmon and ribs on the lunch menu. Everything was fantastic.

food2
ambience4
service5

Excellent service! Great company! Good a ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent service! Great company! Good ambiance! Food has been better in previous visits.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Roy's restaurant staff made our annivers ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Roy's restaurant staff made our anniversary very special. When we arrived there was a

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent. The service was ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was okay. We ordered a bottle of wine, we had our first pour of the wine and but the waiter never came back and refill our glass.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my wife to the restaurant for our a ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Took my wife to the restaurant for our anniversary and the team at Roy's took great care of us

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will go back.

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The hostess took a while to seat us even though we had a reservation. Otherwise, the fish (trout and mahi mahi), wine (Lyric by Etude pinot noir) and service was excellent. They were also quick as we told the waitress that we had a movie start time and she made it happen!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef went out of his way to make a speci ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Chef went out of his way to make a special surfer dessert decoration for my son. He was so thrilled.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Overpriced, slow service!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I never write reviews but I feel obliged to express my dissatisfaction with our experience. I've eaten at Roy's in Florida and was excited to visit while in San Diego. The food was less than interesting ($42 for a bland piece of fish), unanimous by all five diners. Last visit to Roy's.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I expected the Mother's Day Brunch at Roy's to be pretty busy, but I was still somewhat disappointed by the pacing of our meal. It took nearly an hour and 45 minutes just to have the appetizer and entree, and I felt that with the simplicity of the brunch menu there was no good reason that couldn't have been a half hour faster than that. We might have ordered dessert if things were faster. Overall, our food was good. The lobster benedict was very good, as was the macadamia pancakes. The prime rib was decent, but was somewhat lacking and a bit overcooked (closer to medium well than medium rare). Also, the pancakes were probably overpriced for what was offered - some sort of meat addition (e.g. bacon) would have probably made it acceptable. Our server did a good job, but she obviously was busy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's redtaurants are always great. We e ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Roy's redtaurants are always great. We enjoyed our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Overpriced

Dined on May 8, 2016

Regular food greatly overpriced

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Taste (Just Not Enough)

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Though the food is great tasting, the entree portions are rather small for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's always turns a routine evening out ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Roy's always turns a routine evening out into a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine out most nights and this was our ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We dine out most nights and this was our first time dining at Roys. We were delighted that we were seated at a nice booth bordering the bar and the main restaurant. This was nice, quiet, and just perfect for us to dine sitting side by side. The service was terrific, the ambience lovely, and the food even better! We both ordered the chicken dish and it was absolutely delicious! Overall the dining experience was superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Have the scallops and pork belly. Everyt ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Have the scallops and pork belly. Everything is great.

food3
ambience3
service1

Food was mediocre and service was awful!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was mediocre and service was awful!

food1
ambience2
service1

Terrible service and food

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Terrible service and food

food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's had a Happy Anniversary greeting a ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Roy's had a Happy Anniversary greeting at the table and at the end, they took a picture and gave us the picture in the anniversary frame so that we would have a souvenir to take home

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and great service

Dined on April 21, 2016

I've been to Roy's downtown but this was my first visit to the UC/La Jolla location. It was my mom's birthday and I really appreciate how the staff went out of the way to make it special with a card at the table, a special dessert and a picture they took, printed and gave to us to keep. Roy's is a little expensive but the fish dishes -- we had the butter fish and salmon -- and the sides were perfectly prepared and delicious. This is an ideal restaurant for a special occasion. The service was excellent as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Food Quality was poor

Dined on April 20, 2016

The salad was wilted--pretty clear that it was prepared prior to ordering; fried chicken with pineapple fried rice were not hot at lunch.

food1
ambience4
service4

We came here to have lunch. The restaura ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We came here to have lunch. The restaurant opened at 11:00 am and we were the only 2 people there at 11:00 am. The waiter was nice and we placed our order within 5 minutes. It took 45 minutes for our lunch to arrive! We were still the only two people in the restaurant by this time. There were no explanations for why it took so long to prepare our lunch. I had short ribs over rice. My rice was cold but the rib was good. My friend ordered pulled pork sandwich with French fries. The sandwich was ok but the fries were greasy. Overall the experience was disappointing. We will not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sandy P

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was great, food excellent. Forgot how much I enjoy eating at Roy's. It was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dinner

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Great location for us, waiter was absolutely on the ball, very efficient and helpful. Food was outstanding, the "butter fish" (cod) really just melted in one's mouth.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Burger

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

We love the burger here, however they changed the bun from the delicious egg bun it used to be and now it is like any other burger and definitely not worth the $15. Change it back! Also, get it back on the happy hour menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service5

Such a disappointment. Food took foreve ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Such a disappointment. Food took forever. Clearly the kitchen was short staffed. Medium well filet mignon was some weird glued together meat parts (not filet) burnt on the outside and rare on the inside. Wahoo on lentils was unremarkable. I have eaten at Roy's many times. This was the first bad experience. Management and waiter were apologetic and comped the steak.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

too expensive

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

We dine out a lot in every type of venue and we say these prices are a bit too high

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

For me, always a favorite

Dined on March 17, 2016

The quality and excellent service is what I expect when I visit a Roy's. The seafood is fresh and always prepared exactly as I anticipate. I go out of my way to dine at Roy's. That is the ultimate compliment.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Restaurant

Dined on March 8, 2016

Perfect as always! Normally, I order the butterfish (which is excellent), but decided to try something different. Tried the scallops and they were simply amazing! Yum!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Casual Dinner

Dined on March 7, 2016

Visited Roy for a casual dinner out and received outstanding service. The staff, including Mary, our server, was prompt and checked in on our status at the correct intervals. The food was on par of what we expected. Overall, a great place to have dinner for a random night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, as always! The butterfis ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

Excellent food, as always! The butterfish is to die for and cannot be beat. Amazing appetizers. Pineapple martini is a must!

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Service

Dined on March 1, 2016

For the most part, the service was good. Our waitress, however, was NOT what you would expect, nor have we ever experienced, at other Roy's restaurants (Las Vegas, Pasadena, Newport Beach). Usually, the wait service is rather exceptional. This waitress was HORRIBLE!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Frequent visitor to San Diego, family

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I have enjoyed Roy's for many years now. My son and family live in University City, and every time I visit (I am from Cincinnati, OH), we make sure to go to Roy's. My son and wife are vegetarians and they are pleased with their choices, and I always get the Butterfish. Consistently good.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Salmon was great.

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

Salmon was great.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Lovely evening...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Nice server, great food...haven't been in a while and took a person who had never been...both of us enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.