About Roy's - La Jolla

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.

8670 Genesee Avenue
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 455-1616

Website:
http://roysrestaurant.com/locations/CA/la_jolla.asp

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop within walking distance

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Berry Salad - Roy's - La Jolla, San Diego, CA

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

Roy's - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Vegan (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
758 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We stopped in hoping for sushi but that ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

We stopped in hoping for sushi but that was not on their lunch menu. I don't believe that was stated on their website. Also, they were reupholstering and it was very noisy. Wait staff was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We had such a marvelous meal at Roy's. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We had such a marvelous meal at Roy's. We had lunch bento lunches that were delicious.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hit Roy's on a date night. We shared the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Hit Roy's on a date night. We shared the appetizer boat for two, which had a great assortment of bites. We enjoyed a creative seafood roll and also split and entree of scallops. It was a perfect amount of food for two and all tastes fantastic. Our server was great, and very attentive. The only issue was that even with a corking fee of only $15, it was pricey overall.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food selections were very good. They did ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food selections were very good. They did a special thing for us with the dessert for our anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent. It took quite a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was excellent. It took quite a while for our food to be served. The server and manager comped us for a dish and so it made up for the delay. We had a fun time and would go back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Ceviche tasty old like it had been prepa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ceviche tasty old like it had been prepared days ago, lobster bisque was delivered cold and has to be sent back.

Black Cod portion was extremely small by comparison to the lobster discharge $90.00 versus the Lobster Dish at April 119+ should have gone for the lobster.

Dropped $470.00 + including a bottle of Caymus. Didn't feel like we got $470.00 worth of value. Water was inexperienced told us white tea had black tea leaves.

If you are going to market upscale then you should deliver upscale or drop to lower level and price accordingly. Soufflé exploded waiter explode it got excited and never offered to replace it. Amateur nite on New Years Eve. Bit disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had New Year's Eve dinner here with a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had New Year's Eve dinner here with a group of seven. We were seated promptly, and the pre-fixe menu offered that night was perfect! Great way to ring in the new year!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, I was not expecting the l ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Unfortunately, I was not expecting the limited menu and elevated prices, although I should have being that it was NYE.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Our server was excellent. She was very w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server was excellent. She was very warm and welcoming. One of my sons needed his steak cooked a little more and she went out of her way to let him know it was not a problem. We have dined at Roy's on several occasions, and she was our best server yet.

Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Won't be returning. Second time there th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Won't be returning. Second time there that the order was either lost or misplaced. Food arrived about a half hour late, despite half the tables being empty. No visit from waiter before meal (to explain the problem) and no return after meal arrived to check things out. Asked for manager because waiter had vanished. Waiter intercepted the request and to his credit accepted the blame. Meal was comped. Nevertheless, this was second time a dinner was botched at this Roys by awful service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great dinner at Roy's in La Jolla. We al ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great dinner at Roy's in La Jolla. We always enjoy the Butterfish, and the Prix Fixe I has was a great combination of shrimp tempura appetizer, salomon, and a very tasty bread pudding. Roy's was kind enough to include the complimentary birthday chocolate souffle to round out the evening! Mary our server was friendly and attentive...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a reservation for 7:00p on Christ ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had a reservation for 7:00p on Christmas Day. The place was super-busy and we waited about 15 minutes for our table, not too long to wait. Our waiter came by soon after to take our orders but you could tell he was tired and not really in the festive mood. We asked for bread and waited about 40 minutes for it (we asked 4 more times to the waiter and the ?manager). Finally got our bread, no butter and no apologies for waiting so long to get 2 pieces of Hawaiian bread. We waited so long for our food, and when it arrived it was just okay. I think overall the food/service here has declined in the last couple of years. Overall we were there 2 hrs and 45 minutes because we waited so long for our food. Of course we left a generous tip but we'll probably not go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Dinner on Christmas Day to celebrate a f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Dinner on Christmas Day to celebrate a family birthday. What a disappointment- ordered cocktails at the bar while waiting for our table. Host encouraged us to go to our table before our drinks were ready but the staff forgot drinks at bar- when we asked for drinks they came the ice had melted- watery drinks. Ordered warm edamame beans to go with cocktails- they arrived long after drinks consumed- and the beans were limp and bland. Two waiters trying to work our dining area- all the staff seemed flustered and in a rush. The presentation of the main entrees were beautiful but the flavor was very poor- bland sauce on macademia crusted mahi mahi. Filet mignon ordered as medium rare was raw to bloody. Birthday celebration turning into an ordeal to just get through. Prix fixe dinners super expensive included dessert - ordered coffee which came 30 minutes before desserts- coffee long cold by that time. The requested desserts were no longer available so we got default dessert. The entire meal took 3 hours with long gaps of waiting between courses. Not sure if Roys does not have the experience to deal with a full dining room but at these prices (50-60 dollars per meal not including drinks) they should provide a consistently superb dinner. As for ambiance- the garish fluorescent lights of the new parking facility across the street are a mood killer for any sort of tropical/ Hawaiian inspiration - a few adjustments in the landscaping could alleviate the parking lot feel of the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointed that the server on Christma ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Disappointed that the server on Christmas Day at La Jolla restraurant attempted to seat us next to the back up water serving area way in the north corner of the building. There were plenty of empty tables not to mention we'd had reservations for weeks. Interestingly enough, we watched her attempt to do that repeatedly. Unacceptable for a place of this caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Butterfish was salty and not the usual b ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Butterfish was salty and not the usual best this time. Something gave me a major upset stomach after dinner. I think it was an unusual situation as it is normally a favorite restaurant for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

We chose to dine at Roy's as it was .9 m ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We chose to dine at Roy's as it was .9 miles from the hotel. I called Roy's to see if they offered a prefix menu option. I called before they opened at 5 and someone answered saying yes they offered a prefix menu. My wife and I ordered the prefix menu with salad,entree and dessert. The service was good and our ice tea glasses were constantly refilled throughout our meal. We enjoyed the shrimp salads. My wife had the salmon and I ordered the osso bucco. Both were remarkable with good flavor and tenderness of the osso bucco. We waited patiently for the bread pudding to come out of the oven. It was worth the wait as it was warm and light. This is our first time at this location. I would recommend this restaurant. Good service and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best lunch I have had in ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Absolutely the best lunch I have had in San Diego. The staff was attentive, welcoming and warm. The monk butterful exquisite and the lava cake exceptional. Loved it so much we are celebrating our Anniversary and Christmas at Roys. i wanted my husband to experience the excellent cuisine and service. Can not wait to be back only 4 days for our next visit . Thank you for such a wonderful experience and prroviding us with such a lovely table. Your attention to detail with the orchids was beautiful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the past, we always used Roy's for ou ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

In the past, we always used Roy's for our family special occasions and found them to be a excellent restaurant for food and service.

Our last visit for a special occasion with family turned out to be totally different story, the restaurant was only half full and the service was very, very slow. Because of the slow service it made us feel the food was also completely over priced I ordered a $40 Filet Mignon which came out on a large plate with just 3 mini carrots, I also ordered a 4 Scallop side with nothing else and that was another $36. The butterfish was still expensive but reasonable for what you got, the family loved it.

We are not sure if this was a bad night for service and with so many new and wonderful restaurants now, we will most properly not go back unless we are invited to check it out again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Black Cod was excellent and so was the l ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Black Cod was excellent and so was the lime tart and lava cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, as always. Was glad ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was delicious, as always. Was glad to see the vegetarian menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We reserved a table for 2 after shopping ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We reserved a table for 2 after shopping to grab a quick bite, even though we were just having 1 appetizer and split an entry the server treated us as if we were high rollers... Excellent way to build loyalty!!!! Great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love all the Roy's be it in San Diego or ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Love all the Roy's be it in San Diego or any of his Island restaurants in Hawaii

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's a simple place to go get a quick bi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 6, 2016

It's a simple place to go get a quick bite. The place is fancy but sometimes it's a hit or miss with the food. Ambiance is nice. Service and host are fairly decent. Love the soufflé ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The fish was cooked perfectly and that i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The fish was cooked perfectly and that is not so easy to find. However I think Roy's is overpriced by at least $10 per dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Our waiter and food was amazing!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Our waiter and food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! Great food and service! ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love this place! Great food and service! My 4 year old chose it for her birthday dinner because it's her favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty mediocre, but it was Thanksgiving ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Pretty mediocre, but it was Thanksgiving and restaurants often fall short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Roy''s never lets us down. Great food an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Roy''s never lets us down. Great food and friendly, attentive service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The calamari and Poki were sensational, ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The calamari and Poki were sensational, the ribs terrific and thank you for the birthday lava cake/ice cream for my son was very much apprecited Thank you .

Great server too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great desserts and service!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great desserts and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price I'd rather go to Georges C ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

For the price I'd rather go to Georges California Modern. Underwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Horrible experience. Old lettuce, tired ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Horrible experience. Old lettuce, tired salad. Tiny piece of fish that came cold. Will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

All the food was great, but we really li ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

All the food was great, but we really liked the light sear applied to the Caesar Salad. Definitely try the Sake infused with Cucumber.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions although food was very go ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Small portions although food was very good. Service was poor. The waiter had too many tables to wait on! We had to ask several times for water and waited way too long for the main dish? Is this what assembly line dining has become?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Our guest tried to order a cocktail and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our guest tried to order a cocktail and was told the bar was so backed up it would probably be 20 minutes. And there were several empty tables.

Ordered a side dish that arrived as plates were being cleared. Not sure why we would ever return. Food is good, but not good enough to offset very poor service.

Waiter was very friendly, but I do not think he understood a 20 minute wait for a cocktail and delivery of side as dessert was a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Although the food and service was excell ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Although the food and service was excellent, the noise level was high and our table was next to the bar. My other visits to the Restaurant has been much more pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was substandard. For example the sh ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was substandard. For example the shrimp cocktail looked like they ran to the Von's sale counter to get it. Lettuce on the expensive shrimp salad was old iceburg.

The waitress was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

We had not been to Roy's for about a yea ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had not been to Roy's for about a year. We went with friends who had not been there for a while either. We got there at 6:00 p.m., well before the restaurant got busy (as it did about 7:00 p.m.). Our entrees took two hours (two hours, five minutes to be exact) and, when they arrived, they got two of the four wrong and another one was under-cooked (rare after specifically ordering it medium). Our waiter, a young man, did all he could to under circumstances not of his making. In the end, the manager came by and said we would not receive a bill for the meal. We left the waiter an appropriate cash tip. Beyond the above, we felt like the value of the food had slipped. The food itself was as good as always but, you know the feeling of when you can afford something but do not buy it because the value is not there? That is how we felt - the prices have climbed and it seemed like Roy's feels they are so desirable as a restaurant that they can charge those prices. There are many excellent choices for dining in San Diego and Roy's needs to try a little harder to regain its former balance of ambiance, high quality food, good service, and overall value.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

As always, we had a great dining experie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

As always, we had a great dining experience at Roy's. The staff was very courteous and the food tasted great. We especially liked the kid's menu and the pre fixe menu offer. We look to dining here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this location because of it's acces ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this location because of it's accessibility (geographically and getting a table on short notice), and although not on the waterfront, still a great looking place. Service is always fantastic from the second you walk through the door. Changes to the wine list meant our first pick wasn't available, but the manager let us try a couple options and the wait staff did a good job managing a bunch of small tables along with a large party. Butterfish is always to die for, and the ribeye was cooked perfectly with very good sides. Chocolate souffle is a must, and was on-point as always. All in all Roys La Jolla offers 99% of what we'd normally go downtown for, without the crowds, hassle, or the price... a great spot with great value.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.