About Roy's - La Jolla

8670 Genesee Avenue
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 455-1616

Website:
http://roysrestaurant.com/locations/CA/la_jolla.asp

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop within walking distance

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Roy's - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Roy's - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Roy's - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Roy's - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Roy's - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Roy's - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Roy's - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Roy's - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Berry Salad - Roy's - La Jolla, San Diego, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Eve! We will be offering our full menu and we will be open regular hours to celebrate the holidays with you and your loved ones.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

The start of a new holiday tradition! Join us on Christmas Day from 12-8PM for an exclusive 3-course holiday menu for only $59.95! We will also offer a Children's Menu and a limited version of our Classic Menu. Reserve your table today.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve with a remarkable four-course menu, starting at just $55.
We will have extended hours until 1AM to ruing in the New Year with you!

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

Roy's - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Romantic (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
714 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The fish was cooked perfectly and that i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The fish was cooked perfectly and that is not so easy to find. However I think Roy's is overpriced by at least $10 per dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Our waiter and food was amazing!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Our waiter and food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! Great food and service! ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love this place! Great food and service! My 4 year old chose it for her birthday dinner because it's her favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty mediocre, but it was Thanksgiving ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Pretty mediocre, but it was Thanksgiving and restaurants often fall short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Roy''s never lets us down. Great food an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Roy''s never lets us down. Great food and friendly, attentive service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The calamari and Poki were sensational, ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The calamari and Poki were sensational, the ribs terrific and thank you for the birthday lava cake/ice cream for my son was very much apprecited Thank you .

Great server too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great desserts and service!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great desserts and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price I'd rather go to Georges C ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

For the price I'd rather go to Georges California Modern. Underwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Horrible experience. Old lettuce, tired ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Horrible experience. Old lettuce, tired salad. Tiny piece of fish that came cold. Will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

All the food was great, but we really li ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

All the food was great, but we really liked the light sear applied to the Caesar Salad. Definitely try the Sake infused with Cucumber.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions although food was very go ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Small portions although food was very good. Service was poor. The waiter had too many tables to wait on! We had to ask several times for water and waited way too long for the main dish? Is this what assembly line dining has become?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Although the food and service was excell ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Although the food and service was excellent, the noise level was high and our table was next to the bar. My other visits to the Restaurant has been much more pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our guest tried to order a cocktail and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our guest tried to order a cocktail and was told the bar was so backed up it would probably be 20 minutes. And there were several empty tables.

Ordered a side dish that arrived as plates were being cleared. Not sure why we would ever return. Food is good, but not good enough to offset very poor service.

Waiter was very friendly, but I do not think he understood a 20 minute wait for a cocktail and delivery of side as dessert was a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was substandard. For example the sh ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was substandard. For example the shrimp cocktail looked like they ran to the Von's sale counter to get it. Lettuce on the expensive shrimp salad was old iceburg.

The waitress was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

We had not been to Roy's for about a yea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had not been to Roy's for about a year. We went with friends who had not been there for a while either. We got there at 6:00 p.m., well before the restaurant got busy (as it did about 7:00 p.m.). Our entrees took two hours (two hours, five minutes to be exact) and, when they arrived, they got two of the four wrong and another one was under-cooked (rare after specifically ordering it medium). Our waiter, a young man, did all he could to under circumstances not of his making. In the end, the manager came by and said we would not receive a bill for the meal. We left the waiter an appropriate cash tip. Beyond the above, we felt like the value of the food had slipped. The food itself was as good as always but, you know the feeling of when you can afford something but do not buy it because the value is not there? That is how we felt - the prices have climbed and it seemed like Roy's feels they are so desirable as a restaurant that they can charge those prices. There are many excellent choices for dining in San Diego and Roy's needs to try a little harder to regain its former balance of ambiance, high quality food, good service, and overall value.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

As always, we had a great dining experie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

As always, we had a great dining experience at Roy's. The staff was very courteous and the food tasted great. We especially liked the kid's menu and the pre fixe menu offer. We look to dining here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this location because of it's acces ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this location because of it's accessibility (geographically and getting a table on short notice), and although not on the waterfront, still a great looking place. Service is always fantastic from the second you walk through the door. Changes to the wine list meant our first pick wasn't available, but the manager let us try a couple options and the wait staff did a good job managing a bunch of small tables along with a large party. Butterfish is always to die for, and the ribeye was cooked perfectly with very good sides. Chocolate souffle is a must, and was on-point as always. All in all Roys La Jolla offers 99% of what we'd normally go downtown for, without the crowds, hassle, or the price... a great spot with great value.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicous meal. The butterfish is superb! ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicous meal. The butterfish is superb! The lobster won tons melt in your mouth. What a lovely evening. Glad we tried Roy's again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Two of us ordered the shrimp salad with ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Two of us ordered the shrimp salad with avocado and were very disappointed. Seemed like one shrimp was cut into small pieces. And I know avocado prices have gone up - but if you're going to include a microscopic portion, then take it off the menu.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Curry Pork Oso bucco and Ahi Tuna were f ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Curry Pork Oso bucco and Ahi Tuna were fantastic! We enjoy our meal every time we go.

They always make us feel special for our birthdays and anniversaries.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and great 3-course deal on Su ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food and great 3-course deal on Sundays and Mondays.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been a customer for about 10 years. ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I've been a customer for about 10 years...I've been to the restaurant as Roy's has changed ownership 2-3 times, and has progressively gotten worse. The latest was the straw that broke the camel's back. Edamame is no longer given (you have to ask for it so it takes longer), they give 4 ribs vs. 5 or 6 back when there was a different owner, they messed up my sushi roll order (forgot the truffle oil) then charged me full price for it, they got rid of a cookie with the dessert sundae (a bad move), and Roy's trio was inflexible as far as the fish choice to substitute whereas it was never a problem before. I blame all of this on the new owner who seems to be cutting costs at the expense of service and food quality. I'm never going back to a Roy's again. They suck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Food is only fine but totally shamed on ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food is only fine but totally shamed on the price. Salad noodle is starchy, slummy and no taste. Service is horrible, horrible. I've not experienced such terrible restaurant service for years. Sorry to bring my best friends from other states. We waited for more than an hour to get our appetizer, and another 40min for main dish. What's most funny is we ordered knuckle, the waiter asked as how well we wanted it cooked. Seriously??? Never heard of medium raw knuckle. Did the restaurant let the waiter taste all dishes?!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Not a great experience. The Butter Fish, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Not a great experience. The Butter Fish, which was highly recommended, was more about the butter than the fish. Very greasy. Also had a Filet Mignon with Shrimp and it was dry, unflavorful and lacking juiciness. This was a $175 dinner and was not worth it. We won't go back.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Terrible service, waiter seemingly did n ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Terrible service, waiter seemingly did not listen and told us things that were not correct.

From order time to meal on table was too long and the waiter said numerous times to our inquiry that the food was coming which was not true. The place was not busy and there

was by my view many people in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We enjoyed our meal, the waiter was exce ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, the waiter was excellent.

My only complaint is that 3 out of the 5 water glasses at our table were dirty when we sat down. After being brought to the waiters attention, he promptly replaced them, unfortunately the replacement glasses weren't much better. My martini glass felt grimy and sticky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server Anthony was awesome and came ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our server Anthony was awesome and came by frequently to check in on us. Would recommend Roy's to anyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Our salad needed to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was very good. Our salad needed to be in a larger plate. We had the Wedge salad and it was very difficult to cut. Bowl was too small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

My reservation was for 7:15, we arrived ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My reservation was for 7:15, we arrived at 7:08 and was told to set down until are reservation was ready. While waiting the hostess seated two parties without reservations while we waited until 7:28. When I make a reservation which I was 7 minutes early, I want to be seated on time and before non reservations. hostess had an attitude about seat us on time

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were both very good. Pr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food and service were both very good. Prices are high!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Made 7:30 reservation and ordered a drin ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Made 7:30 reservation and ordered a drink at the bar and table was ready before we finished so not a long wait at all. Hostess used the menus to move/shove table settings. Greeted by server in good time and gave him our AmEx discount card. Food was tasty but the food runner did as the hostess and used plates rather than hands to make room. Asked for bill and discount not applied but was redone quickly. All the service issues I blame on management. This isn't Carl's Jr. or Denny's dining and prices. Train your employees on quality and proper table service and I'd give your establishment 4/5 stars. No wonder they have coupons out.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food, but slow service. From the t ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food, but slow service. From the time we sat at our table, until we received our appetizers, was 40 minutes. It took approximately 60 minutes to receive our entrees. For the price of the meals, I would expect better service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything was awesome... Service was ex ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Everything was awesome... Service was excellent from guest services to food service. Jessica was very efficient. Food was perfect and top quality... Great Job!!! 5 stars 😄😄😄😄😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were terribly disappointed in this re ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We were terribly disappointed in this restaurant. It was loud, under-staffed, and my swordfish was quite dry. The prices were high, which would not have been a problem if the service and food had been a worthwhile investment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Wow, the food , atmosphere and the servi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Wow, the food , atmosphere and the service was amazing. I will pay $100 dollars in a heart beat to live that moment again. It was my husband and I anniversary and they took a picture of us and gave it to is for a memory, and our table was said happy Anniversary Mr. & Mrs. G .. Love it !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is superb but I was disappointe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food is superb but I was disappointed with the service. Had to ask for the complimentary edamame (which is their equivalent of a bread basket). Drinks were not refilled expeditiously nor were plates or glasses removed in any timely manner. Our friend asked for the wine menu toward the end of our meal. It never came. We were not checked on much and when we were it was always a different person. Everything just seemed slow and it was not that busy. I liked the personality of one of the servers or perhaps he was the back server who served us part of the night but no consistency in service at all. I expected more overall since our entrees were upwards of $38 each for a small piece of butterfish.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Always a great choice. One in our party ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always a great choice. One in our party ordered the blackened Ahi, which is supposed to be served rare. The chef left it on too long and it was served well done. Needless to say, we sent it back. 2nd time it came out perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food as always was wonderful. Service w ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food as always was wonderful. Service was not up to their usual standards.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My wife and I arrived at our reserved ti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I arrived at our reserved time and found our table waiting. We both ordered fish. My wife had the halibut which we cooked to perfection. I had the salmon which was a little under done for my taste. We brought our own bottle of wine, which to our surprise came with a corkage fee. The service was excellent as usual. I would recommend this place to other minus the personal wine and corkage fee.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & wine pairing at the Joseph ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food & wine pairing at the Joseph Phelps wine dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.