Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Roy's - La Jolla

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.

8670 Genesee Avenue
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 455-1616

Website:
http://roysrestaurant.com/locations/CA/la_jolla.asp

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop within walking distance

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

Roy's - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (14)
Casual (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Healthy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Private Room (6)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
837 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Went on Father's Day and we couldn't order from full menu for some unknown reason. So fathers don't deserve full menu? Ordered the mahi mahi and received a half portion of fish and hardly any sauce. I go here a lot and know the normal fish size not sure why they were so sloppy and cheap that night.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Service mediocre, some food served luke warm, very overpriced -- not a "keeper".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Their Father's Day brunch menu was the same as the Mother's Day brunch, which was great for us since we had enjoyed it on Mother's Day. I don't usually order chicken when dining out, but their pan roasted chicken was tasty. He ordered their prime rib, which paired nicely with the Merryvale cabernet sauvignon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good and the service was excellent

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service for aloha hour. Bartender was very quick and accommodating, lobster potstickers were out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Caterpillar sushi, short ribs, and lobster potstickers were good. Teriyaki salmon was less than average--dry and overcooked. And the macadamia mahi mahi was underwhelming and small at $42! Chocolate cake with berries and the pineapple upside-down cake were okay. Had to wait about 20 minutes for the pineapple cake.

Service overall was mediocre, even though it was not that crowded on a weekday afternoon. Our server was pleasant, but the busboy was not. We had to wait too long to get our drinks and refills. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We made reservations for my sons graduation lunch. The restaurant wasn't crowded at all and it was mid-week. No reason for there to have us waiting on food for 30 min. Didn't even get water served immediately after requesting. Salads were limp and extras were missing. As in, dip for calamari, crackers for poke, etc. The table behind us vacated and their table wasn't cleared for 20 + minutes. Our waiter was the only one for the entire restaurant at the time, he even was mixing drinks behind the bar.
Everyone was very nice, but the slow service, poor product wasn't addressed at all.
Roy's is usually so on-point. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent for and service. We had an pleasant time and very much enjoyed our dinner. Thank you Roy's!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurant where the service is impeccable and the food is consistently delicious and always exceeds our expectations! The Chilean Sea Bass on the Chef's Secret Menu was cooked to perfection and the Scallops dish was extremely delicious!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Roy's always has great food. The grilled Cesar Salad with a little kick in the dressing always excites me.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Checked OpenTable at 5:30pm for a Friday dinner reservation, and was pleased to see our local Roy's had plenty of availability.
Got there and it was half empty, which wasn't a bad thing - service (which is always pleasant) was quick, and we got great drinks and apps right away. Ordered mains and had more normal timing, and they were typically fantastic. Souffle was perfect.
This UTC location will never be the exact experience as an Hawaii, but it's a staple of ours for the service, quality food, and convenience of not having to go downtown. Great, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Hosted a birthday dinner for my mom. Used a groupon-3 course meal for 4 people $115. Incredible value. All of the food was delicious! We had a great time. Not a good place for a quiet or romantic dinner due to the noise level. I hand-picked a table that was in the back, next to windows which was quieter.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Roy's is one of our family favorites for dinner, but our lunch was not up to par. We were seated promptly, but the service was poor and slow. Our server forgot to take drink orders and inform us that we could only order off of the lunch menu. 4 of the 6 in our party had selected entrees off from the main menu and were very disappointed when they had to select new entrees. Overall the service was slow and disinterested which was surprising based on Roy's typical service. The restaurant was also empty so there was no reason we should not have gotten better service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great service, food, and presentation. Can't go wrong with Maui Owie salad, any entree and then pineapple upside down AND chocolate lava to spilt for dessert. No Hawaiian martini tonight but a winner!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food is AMAZING! The butterfish is one of the beat dishes I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We dine out a lot and we both agreed that this experience was the best we have ever had in San Diego County. The service was impeccable, the food remarkably delicious and fresh. I was very excited to see so many vegetarian options as well as fresh fish options. The short rib was the only short rib that has ever impressed my husband. Handcrafted cocktails were delicious and a very lovely touch was a birthday greeting from the restaurant waiting for us when we sat down. Roys is a must go! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The fish for the Poke Bowl was not fresh and was taken back and off the bill without issue. The rest of the meal was just okay other than the ribs which were amazing. Disappointing since Roy's has been consistently good for years. Maybe just a bad day.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Warmest Hospitality and delectable food. Never can go wrong with Roy's. We celebrated Mother's Day and it was a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Roy's always has excellent service and good food. We love the happy hour mai tais, Pork sliders, short rib, butterfish, and more! It's a nice place to celebrate special occasions and it's definitely not stuffy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dining at Roy's is always a delicious experience, and the waitstaff is all very attentive and considerate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was mediocre. The service was a bit slow. It took a while for them to refill water and serve food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It was decent would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We made a reservation expecting to use the $25 off coupon. We missed the cut off date by one day. We asked the server if they would honor it. Management denied. Really dumb!!!!
Food was unremarkable, room ok, won't be back again. If Roy's wanted to attract locals to try the restaurant they blew it, big time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had a great dinner here. Salmon was moist and good sized. Husband had the pork chop... super tasty. Kids got a veggie and quesadilla platter before their entree and enjoyed theirs as well. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food was good as was the service, but the pricing is high for what you receive

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We enjoyed this very much. Pat was our waiter and he was great. Food very good. All around a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Fabulous place to enjoy a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything was outstanding with the exception of our inattentive waitress.

Three times we had to ask other servers walking by for assistance because we hadn't seen our own server

Management was good at stepping in to apologize and rectify

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Nie renovation and comfortable surroundings. The service was good. The food preparation was inconsistent. Some things were good and others not so great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent dinner, excellent service. We will be returning. Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It's a business dinner. Called in in the morning to ask for a private table. They kindly set up our table at one end of the room, which allowed us to chat well. Service very prompt, Charles was polite and patient. The Roy's Trio was very well done. Other guests liked their food too. The Silver Oak pinot noir was a bit disappointing, but we had a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

One of my fav happy hr place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

My favorite go to restaurant for special occasions. My favorite is always the Misoyaki Butterfish and Chocolate Soufflé is to die for. I love to take advantage of Pre-Fixe Sundays/Mondays to enjoy a 3 course entree for a fraction of the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent service! Food was very good, but pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have visited Roy's many times and have thoroughly enjoyed our experience, our recent visit was no exception. This visit we took our Son and his Wife for their first Anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I thought the food quality was good but was expensive for what we received and in comparison to other similar restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I ordered the butter fish and it had a big bad fishy smell and did not taste good, therefore, I didn't want to eat it. The waitress noticed I had not eaten so she was nice and took it off our bill. The other thing was I chose Roy's for my friend's birthday for lunch because I imagined nice ambiance but to our surprise there was a man on a ladder and he was painting the dining room wall so close to us that we were shocked. I think it will be a long time before I go back to Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service and food were top shelf. Always have had wonderful service. Monkfish was outstanding. Steak was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.