Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today
Special offers available. See details

Roy's - La Jolla

4.2
997 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(858) 455-1616
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Charles Andres
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus stop within walking distance
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

View Private Dining Details

Specials

What 997 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.0
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Very enjoyable anniversary dinner. Food was excellent and the staff wonderful and attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Service was good. They recalled it being my birthday!!!
We were happy with that, but the food wasn’t as great as I thought it might be. I had scallops, small but tasty. Nothing else on the scallop plate was interesting though. The lobster bisque read light on the curry, but it’s definitely curry heavy. It was good but not excellent. All in all a decent experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful, knowledgeable server, Derek, helped make it fun. Had tofu for one, butterfish for the other. A nice sushi roll appetizer, and a tasty wedge salad. Rot’s Is our go to place for birthdays and anniversaries, all over the west. Oh, and a nice treat for a birthday, they provided a yummy chocolat3 souffle

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was okay, we sat by the doorway, servers seem to be rushing us. They brought out the entrees while we are not done eating the appetizers while eating entree they kept trying to collect the plates. Seriously felt like we are in a Chinese food chain. We are not coming back and I can't recommend this place either. It's not worth the money you'll spend here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Hope this improves, rather disappointing. Great prime rib. Crab cakes good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had a wonderful Mother’s Day brunch. I hav celiac disease and our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful in indicating my gf choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Go Wednesdays for the half priced wine list and try something out of the ordinary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great meal as usual. Certainly pricey but I never regret it and know for special occasions it’s one of my ‘go-to’ places. Service was excellent, Pat was a star. Only miscue to mention was I asked for a quiet location if they had one (check) and they mentioned that as we were seated, and was there for a birthday which wasn’t conveyed to Pat but was all resolved during our conversation. All in all great experience and we will definitely be back!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The dining room was not exceptionally busy, but I think that only one server was working, as every step of the dining process was pretty slow.

The food was above average. The bourbon pour that I received was generous, but should have been for the $15 price tag (that equates to $390 per bottle, with markup).

Add to that a charge of $3.50 for a coke, and any good will you had for the restaurant ebbs significantly.

One word for my $80 dinner - “meh”.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Both the food and service was between very good and excellent. However, I felt the prices were a bit on the high side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Roy’s of La Jolla was great ! Service impeccable! Our waiter was so nice and attentive ! Ambiance perfect ! Great place for a good lunch and early dinner , you can talk and hear each other!!
Manager was up and about going around and checking on every one ! A great place compared to the Roy’s in Pasadena that needs to improve their services ! Will for sure recommend it and will be back !!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Hands down the absolute worse Roys experience ever.
Ive eaten at Roys for years in California, Las Vegas and Hawaii. The restaurant was not even a 1/4 of the way full and it took over an hour to receive our Luke warm meals. Makes sense no one was there. Kitchen staff was a mess and looked understaffed. Feel sorry for the waiters.
Such a horrible experience that it will be a long time before I go back to any Roys locations.
Shame Ive always loved Roys!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I have eaten at Roy's before in Hawaii and I wasn't very impressed especially for the price paid for the meal so I was pleasantly surprised when the food at this Roy's was found to be very good. The service was also good. The manager (I presume) kept passing by to see how we were doing although he was not intrusive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Amazing experience! The service was great and the food was very flavorful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Food was amazing, but service was slow even though restaurant wasn’t busy. Fortunately we were not in a hurry, but we were super hungry and had to wait 45 min for our food. Once it came all was good again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 3, 2018

We went there for lunch to celebrate my birthday. The waitress was not very friendly but most importantly the food was bad. My sister ordered the mahi mahi and it was salty. The braised beef was dried. After all, we spoke with the manager, she credited us back the entire meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

I have eaten here many times. I like the butterfish and short ribs combo. My short ribs were a complete piece off fat which is unusual so I complained. They were kind enough to ask to remake it which I declined. They took the cost of the entire meal off the bill. I was shocked and pleasantly surprised. Usually it is an excellent restaurant with excellent food but we went for dinner on Easter night so that may have played into it. Although they only had about five tables to serve which was strange. I guess everyone went for Easter brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

My wife and my 80 year old parents went for my 60th birthday have an amazing night. Introduced my parents to sushi. They will be spoiled because nobody makes it better than Roy’s.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Prime rib was dry and mostly over cooked for rare. No Au jus available. Other sauces undesirable.

Mash potatoes were standard.

Pineapple upside cake was worth having.

Nice $20 gift card to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great Food for Easter Sunday!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Poor customer service with no interest to accommodate table request. Staff was young and lacked the maturity to take good care of guests. Worst experience in over 40 years of restaurant dinning...need management and staff overall haul....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Good food and great service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 28, 2018

I used to dine at Roy’s all the time in Las Vegas , unfortunately they closed here. I always enjoyed there food . Also I eat in Waikiki and was great . Here unfortunately the service was poor . The waiter was unpleasant, and got us wrong dishes . My fish was burnt.
Too bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Service and food are always top notch. Keeps us coming back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Service was great- they go above and beyond for Special occasions. I celebrated my birthday and they had a cute congrats card on the table and we were provided w/ a complimentary dessert that was delicious! We were disappointed with our calamari appetizer (probably the worse calamari I have had) it was a bunch of almost burnt little crispy things- no real meat to it and it tasted like burnt fried crispies left over at the end of a frying s batch of sonething. PF Changs are way better and cheaper. Anyways, the rest of the meal was delicious but the portions are tiny and EXPENSIVE and u have to pay for any extra sides. For a party of four we paid around $325. I think for the value it is way overpriced but all and all I would return again for a special occasion. That is what special occasions are for- splurging more then usual. Hope this helps...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Always a good meal. One of my favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We always have a great experience dinning at Roy’s. Excellent service and amazing tasting food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 5, 2018

My friend was visiting from LA, so we returned to Roy's after a 10-year absence, since it had been a favorite of ours. The food and service were as good as we recalled from our last visit; however the ODOR of the restaurant was terrible. They need to fix this, or we won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We were celebrating our 45th Wedding anniversary on our most recent visit. We were well treated, had very good service, and the food was great, as expected. My only suggestion would be for your hostess that we met upon arrival. She needs to learn how to smile. Other than that, we loved our visit, and love Roy’s.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

I came here with my husband and mom for a celebration dinner. Charles, our server, was amazing! One of the best servers I’ve had. The food was outstanding! We enjoyed every bite of fish! Everything was well worth the value except for the canoe for two appetizer. Although we were pleased with what was on the plate, it was a pretty small portion for $25. It came with 2 sticky ribs, 2 potstickers, 2 small spring rolls and 2 pieces of sushi roll. Other than the cost of that, we were very pleased with our dining experience and would definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Always a perfect setting for a healthy and delicious business meal! Always amazing cuisine and perfect service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 21, 2018

I have eaten at Roy's La Jolla several times over the years and in the past and have always been satisfied. However on the most recent occasion the experience was distinctly sub par. We had a dinner meeting for business. There was a powerful and unpleasant odor as we stood in the bar with drinks waiting for our party to assemble. The butter fish main course I ordered was an end piece near the tail and was dry and over cooked. It was the day after President's day and I am wondering whether markets were closed and the kitchen was left without fresh supplies of fish. The restaurant was largely empty. Overall a disappointing experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 20, 2018

We went on a Monday night and it was slow. We showed up early and were told they needed to clean up the table but there were many open tables. It was freezing! I had to put my coat on. The fish was fresh and cooked properly but part of my dinner was cold. My husband didn’t get his wine until he had finished his dinner. It seemed like staffing was off. We were offered free dessert because service was off. We were sort together of bummed. We love Roys but live in a city that doesn’t have one so if we travel to where one is we always make a point of going to that Roy’s. Not sure we will be back to this one.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 19, 2018

I've been to Roy's twice in the last month and I feel like over the years, the quality has drastically decreased. For the price, the portions are very small and the flavor is lacking. Luckily we had a gift card this last time, otherwise, I'd be very disappointed in paying that much for such poor quality food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Had a reservation for 8:45 pm on valentines day, when I got there they didn't even acknowledge me until 5 minutes later and then told me there was an "accident" and had to push my reservation till 10. We ended up going somewhere else. It ruined our night. Awful service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

My girlfriend and I made reservations at Roy's for Valentine's Day. We made our reservations at 8:15 PM. However, we weren't seated until after 9:15. We arrived on time, however they said they were running 45 minutes behind due to other customers arriving late for their reservations. The management seemed like they were ill-planned for this special day. Our entrees took more than an hour to make. We ended up leaving late and got our desserts to go. Overall, the experience was very mediocre and we will not be coming back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Came down for Valentine's day with my lady and to be expected was a little chaotic. Our reservation was at 8, we got there at 7:45 miraculously since Google Maps said there was going to be a decent amount of traffic. So we checked in early just so that Roys knew that we were there and was told that reservations were 30-45 minutes behind. But not a problem, we sat at 8:15 and were greeted by our server Autumn who quickly walked us through the cocktail list and got our drinks ordered. A little time later drinks arrive and we gave our order for their fixed holiday menu. Food service was somewhat slow and took a noticeable amount of time to arrive, but again this wasn't a problem for us because my lady and myself have both worked in restaurants and fine dining in the past and know just how crazy holidays can get so we knew what to expect. All food courses and cocktails/wines were great and delicious and service still good with us. The manager stopped by and apologized about the wait but we told him not to worry about it because we were in no rush and even took care of a round of drinks for us as well in the end. The only thing that somewhat "ruined" the evening were the couple tables around us who could do nothing but complain throughout our entire meal. Talking about how they were there before other guests and yet other tables got their drinks/Apps/Entrees first or whatever the case may be. We just laughed them off because of how ridiculous they were being seeing that they came on Valentine's Day and didn't expect any delays. So the bottom line is that the food and service is something that we can stand by and recommend to friends, but we are probably going to avoid Roy's in the future when it comes to holidays/specials simply because of inconsiderate patrons.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

They severely overbooked for V-day. Was insanity. Reservations at 7:30pm. Seated at 9:00pm, apps 9:30, soup 10, entree 11pm. Was ridiculous. Won’t ever be going back again. This place is greedy!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 8, 2018

The staff was friendly and the food & wine were good. All this at a reasonable lunch price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Went for my birthday. They made it special with a personalized card at the table and one of the best desserts EVER (Chocolate Lava torte w/ ice cream). YUM! All four of us were very pleased with the dinner. They were also good about getting us out of there in a reasonable amount of time, which was important because we were going to a play at the La Jolla Play House.
Hadn't been to Roy's in a while but will definitely put it back on the top of our list of places to dine for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
25