Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Roy's - La Jolla

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's La Jolla located at the heart of La Jolla's bustling business district.

8670 Genesee Avenue
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Nobel Drive (University Town Center's Costa Verde Shopping Center)

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 455-1616

Website:
http://roysrestaurant.com/locations/CA/la_jolla.asp

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 / vehicle (not hosted), $7 / vehicle (hosted), complimentary self parking in front of / below the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Bus stop within walking distance

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

PACIFIC RIM COOKING CLASS
Third Saturdays, Noon - 2 pm
$50 per person
(price includes lunch, experience, one class of wine, excludes tax and gratuity)


Join Chef Charles Andres and learn to create the quintessential Pacific Rim experience in your own home. At this special lunch and learn, you'll discover the skills needed to recreate each of these dishes at home, to the delight of your friends and family! Monthly classes are seasonally themed, so please email lajolla@roysrestaurant.com of call (858) 455-1616 for details.


WINE CLUB:
Waina Hui (wine club) is our monthly gathering of friends to sample wines from around the world and to share in the enticing flavors of Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion cuisine.

Cost is $25 per guest and tastings are held monthly from 5:00-6:30pm and include a sampling of Roy’s signature appetizers. Reservations required.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Elegantly remodeled in 2013, Roy’s La Jolla is located in the popular University Towne Center area, near La Jolla's conference hotels and adjacent to the popular UTC Mall. A variety of Private and Semi-private room options are available to accommodate group luncheons, dinners and cocktail receptions

Roy's - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Casual (9)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Romantic (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
810 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed this very much. Pat was our waiter and he was great. Food very good. All around a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous place to enjoy a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Everything was outstanding with the exception of our inattentive waitress.

Three times we had to ask other servers walking by for assistance because we hadn't seen our own server

Management was good at stepping in to apologize and rectify

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Nie renovation and comfortable surroundings. The service was good. The food preparation was inconsistent. Some things were good and others not so great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent dinner, excellent service. We will be returning. Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It's a business dinner. Called in in the morning to ask for a private table. They kindly set up our table at one end of the room, which allowed us to chat well. Service very prompt, Charles was polite and patient. The Roy's Trio was very well done. Other guests liked their food too. The Silver Oak pinot noir was a bit disappointing, but we had a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

One of my fav happy hr place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

My favorite go to restaurant for special occasions. My favorite is always the Misoyaki Butterfish and Chocolate Soufflé is to die for. I love to take advantage of Pre-Fixe Sundays/Mondays to enjoy a 3 course entree for a fraction of the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent service! Food was very good, but pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have visited Roy's many times and have thoroughly enjoyed our experience, our recent visit was no exception. This visit we took our Son and his Wife for their first Anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I thought the food quality was good but was expensive for what we received and in comparison to other similar restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I ordered the butter fish and it had a big bad fishy smell and did not taste good, therefore, I didn't want to eat it. The waitress noticed I had not eaten so she was nice and took it off our bill. The other thing was I chose Roy's for my friend's birthday for lunch because I imagined nice ambiance but to our surprise there was a man on a ladder and he was painting the dining room wall so close to us that we were shocked. I think it will be a long time before I go back to Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service and food were top shelf. Always have had wonderful service. Monkfish was outstanding. Steak was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Eclectic ordering. Sushi, salads, surf and turf, drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Everyone enjoyed their food and the waitress was pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Roy's while on a recent trip to San Diego. We loved the Roys on Maui, so we knew it was a good bet for dinner here. While it was crowded when we visited, we only had a short wait for our table. Our server treated us like we were his only table and was super helpful. We shared a special that included Ahi tuna, Mahi Mahi, Salmon and Butterfish. I also had Ahi tuna over a Caesar Salad. Everything was amazing!!! It was hands down the best meal we had in San Diego!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

great salmon lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great food. However, we were not seated when we arrived 10 min ahead of our reservation, and the service was slow, all when more than half of the tables were empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 13, 2017

you may not get your IT if you are late

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This used to be my favorite restaurant. Sadly, the last 3 times I've been for dinner has shown me that the essence of Roy's is gone. I'll still eat at Roy's in Hawaii, where he still has creative control, but it will be a long time, if ever, that I'll give it another chance at the UTC / La Jolla location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Hostess at entry really disorganized.
Food with too much seasoning...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Disappointing! The Aloha Happy Hour drinks were just $1 less than the regular price. The food was overly overrated. The cost was that of east coast fine dining. Not deserving in the middle of La Jolla residential area full of students....

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great desserts. Ribeye was extra fatty and sauce is a bit overwhelming.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Excellent dinner and service as always! :) We have never had a meal we didn't like yet and we've been coming here for 15 years!

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was excellent as always but unfortunately the food wasn't quite like we are used to. We ordered the butterfish which was in point and so was the sushi roll however, the short rib was... average at best. Sort of stiff and although the flavor was great, the stiffness really impacted the experience. Additionally, we ordered a side of crab fired rice and the rice was incredibly dry. We also ordered the upside pineapple cake and that was great as usual and despite the negative feedback we will still return hoping this was an isolated incident.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

A go to and ideal spot for a white table cloth business lunch in Carmel / UTC area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Standard is up to par with their hawaiian franchises. Souffle is still the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great as always. Special meal for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The prix fixe menu is such a great deal! Any appetizer, entree & dessert for less than $40?! The seafood quality is top notch and the drinks are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good experience overall
Long wait for meal to be served - waiter acknowledged the wait apologized and comped desserts. Nice touch.

Noise level somewhat high due to closeness of tables.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food is very good and the service also. However, it is a bit over priced for what you get.
It's a 45 minute drive so we don't go too often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made a reservation but was forced to wait 30 minutes for a table. The food was mediocre for the price. Grilled salad was soggy, plates were not hot as if they were sitting in the window, the plates looked like they were thrown together in a rush, and it seemed like the staff were too flustered with the amount of people seated. If I am going to pay $100/person, I expect the food to at least be hot and cooked properly. There are plenty of better restaurants in the area where my money could be better spent.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Being it was Valentine's Day and having a reservation that we would have a quaint table for 2
Instead we were in the overfill room with others and it was noisy
Ambience was not very desiring per the occasion
I may as welll be seated at the bar which seems more romantic
No valentine theme at the tables were seated at with the price of the menu would have made the dinner nice
A table in the main room were the ambience was more preferred was what I had in mind
The evening was just ok :-(
I will reserve Valentine's Day at another restaurant in the future.
Our server Max was amazing!
He made the evening bearable and dinner enjoyable 👍

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We've spent many Valentine Anniversaries at Roy's La Jolla, the prix fix menu had more choices than in the past, but they really crammed the tables in for this Valentine's Day, not very romantic with someone at the next table with his back so close. Waitress was pretty swamped too and not very attentive as in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This experience was just okay. I had asked in my reservation for an intimate booth or table and when I arrived this was not even acknowledged by the host's nor were we seated accordingly. Had a nice view of the service entrance and the kitchen. If I were a professional chef I guess I would like that but I want to pay attention to my date. It seemed that the restaurant wasn't too busy w/ many open tables so I don't know why I was seated there? I believe that the staff didn't even look at the request. I expect more from Roy's. The food was ordinary, the Butterfish was not light a delicate but instead a clump of fish with an abundant sauce that over powered the delicasy of the seafood. Really too much could't even really enjoy the fish. My Ribeye was okay a very thin cut so it was very hard to get the medium rare temperature I asked for, it was med at best. Over all not the experience I would expect from Roy's or any restaurant at their price point. Maybe it was an off night... but I didn't pat off nigh prices this is why the value was low for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I had a wonderful birthday there at Roy's!
Kurt was the best! Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great Hawaiian Asian fusion menu! We come every year to celebrate either an anniversary or birthday. Highly recommend Roys!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Casual, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We've eaten here before and as always the food did not disappoint. Our waitress was great and didn't let our drinks get too low without offering another or making sure our waters were replenished. No complaints other than a busboy being careless and dropping a butter knife on my husband's arm and leg. He apologized but just carelessness....otherwise great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The Butterfish was amazing just as our Server said it would be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.