About Roy's Rancho Mirage

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Rancho Mirage located across Highway 111 from The River, featuring an exhibition kitchen with an inviting chef's counter and a spacious dining room with three private rooms to accommodate special events of any size.

71959 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11AM-4PM

Cross Street:
44th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-9044

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet (complementary) & self park

Executive Chef:
Adam Palffy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Hawaiian Cocktail - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Braised Short Ribs Of Beef - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
BLTC Wedge Salad - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Mahi Mahi - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Pancetta Seared Trout Black Cous Cous, Salsify & Goat Cheese Espuma, Spring Onion Vinaigrette  - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Lobster Potstickers - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Pea Salad And Crispy Pork - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Misoyaki Butterfish - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Chocolate Souffle - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
pineapple upside-down cake - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Maui Wowie Shrimp Salad - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Seared Sea Scallops - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Szechuan Style Green Bean - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Spicy Korean Chili Fried Rice - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Ahi - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Vegetarian Bento Box - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Wagyu Beef Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Rancho Mirage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Happy Hour (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Casual (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fun (14)
Healthy (14)
Romantic (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Business Meals (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Open Kitchen (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Spicy (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food with attractive prix fixe men ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food with attractive prix fixe menu. Excellent fresh fish.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, friendly staff and great serv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

Good food, friendly staff and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my first time at Roy's and it w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

This was my first time at Roy's and it was absolutely fantastic. My boyfriend and I were visiting California and decided to go here for a date night, it was pretty busy so I would recommend making a reservation if you're going on a weekend. We had a reservation and were seated promptly. We were very happy with the service, setting and our food. There was also complimentary valet which was a nice perk. Definitely recommend Roy's in Rancho Mirage!

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent except that ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service was excellent except that our wait person did not know the chef was out of clams for the clam/mussel dish. When my husband said he did not get any clams she talked to the chef and brought more mussels. He would have made a different dinner selection.

Palmer was very knowledgeable and professional otherwise. I had a wonderful snapper with a cassoulet but the beans were too aldente. In this area of extraordinary restaurants it is just above ordinary.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great experience as always. Friendly sta ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great experience as always. Friendly staff that gets it right.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we felt the meal was good, it was ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 12, 2017

While we felt the meal was good, it was agreed that neither of our dishes, nor what we saw on the menu, would cause us to hurry back. That being said, I was intrigued by how busy the bar area was. Turns out they have a busy "happy hour", offering bar bites, that appeared to be quite popular. Might be fun to go back and give that a try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Have visited Roy's Rancho Mirage multipl ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Have visited Roy's Rancho Mirage multiple times. We were somewhat disappointed on our last visit some time ago but decided to give them another try. This experience was even worse. We arrived on time for our 7:00 PM reservation and were promptly seated but that is when 'promptly' stopped. It took 25 minutes to receive our cocktails so we ordered our dinner selections immediately. The salads finally came and were all wrong... wife requested her salad with no feta cheese with dressing 'on the side'. Of course, it was drenched with dressing. Sent salad back with a host of apologies by several staff and it took another 15 minutes for another salad to arrive. The remainder of the evening was much the same. The restaurant was only about 60% capacity yet our server seemed to either be overwhelmed or just plain forgetful. Not sure if we may ever return with so many other fine dining establishments in the area. One positive note however..the auto valet was prompt, courteous and brought us the 'right car'.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great brunch menu . The food and servic ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great brunch menu . The food and service excellent. Eggs Benedict....shrimp crab omelette just a couple menu items. Definitely a treat I will try again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We turned up for a reservation confirmed ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We turned up for a reservation confirmed on open table, they were closed !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Waiter was very good explaining in detai ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Waiter was very good explaining in detail items on menu. Food was prepared perfectly. A pleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service (everyone fro ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food and service (everyone from the valets to the hostess to our server was phenomenal) at this Roy's location in the desert. It was the perfect place to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trunk was our waiter and awesome! Great ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Trunk was our waiter and awesome! Great recommendations- food was so good

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coming to Southern California from the M ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Coming to Southern California from the Midwest for a midwinter break, we were a bit disappointed in the overall experience. Although the food was excellent, we felt rushed, and though the wait staff were efficient, there were so many of them and interactions were so brief, it was a rather chilly encounter. I think we were there less than an hour, and that included drinks and appetizer. it wasn't really what we were hoping for in an acclaimed restaurant in Palm Desert.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great evening. Enjoyed the Roy's Trio ve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great evening. Enjoyed the Roy's Trio very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's is a warhorse. Roy's restaurants ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Roy's is a warhorse. Roy's restaurants have been around for nearly 30 years. I remember dining at the original Hawaiian location a long time ago. Yet Roy's keeps its offerings fresh and remains a place to go for reliably good food. That's no small achievement.

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our wait staff was awesome. Very attenti ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our wait staff was awesome. Very attentive and personable. Butterfish was unreal. I don't eat fish and I hade their butterfish twice in one week!!! It's THAT good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service was perfect!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a group of 12 on New Years Eve. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a group of 12 on New Years Eve. Food, as usual was very good - all 12 were pleased. Service was a little slow, and we were disappointed that there was no bread. Prices were a little high - though on New Years Eve, I guess not too bad. We had 12 at a long table, making conversation difficult.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Rack of lamb and halibut were memorable. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Rack of lamb and halibut were memorable. Macadamia nut pudding fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Awesome service!

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meal not prepared as ordered. Returned t ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Meal not prepared as ordered. Returned twice. Ate after other 3 in party had finished their meal. Meal should have been "comped" and wasn't. Won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

First, I never got my 1000 points for th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First, I never got my 1000 points for the reservation.

Food was outrageously expensive and the quality sub par to the one I usually got to at Spanish Bay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Over an hour to get our starters. Told b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Over an hour to get our starters. Told by the waitress it was due to our customizations which includes things like no onion on the salad. And after being blamed for the delay, they still got our food wrong. Entrees were not great, dessert was terrible. Service was really poor. We will not be going back. A shame as the last time we came it was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We have gone to other Roy locations but ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have gone to other Roy locations but this one was by far the best. Great customer service from the start to finish. The waiter was excellent in offering suggestion & being attentive to the table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Asian fusion food. Service ex ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent Asian fusion food. Service excellent. Recommended for a above average priced meal. $$$

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, made a special sashimi plate ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, made a special sashimi plate

For wife

Outstanding !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

If it were not for the poor service the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

If it were not for the poor service the experience would have been excellent. Good food, good ambiance, great company .... the service was awful. Sorry to say. As I have been a proud supporter of Roy's, this experience .... very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Food was good but the food took a really ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was good but the food took a really long time to come out. We had called in advance and they said they were kid friendly but it's hard to wait so long for dinner with kids dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very impressed with Roy's attention to s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very impressed with Roy's attention to service detail from transition from bar area to dining to having my car at the front upon departure.

Impeccable Service!!

Thanks!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We made reservations for Roy's for Chris ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We made reservations for Roy's for Christmas dinner and we had a great dining experience! They provided complimentary valet parking, and our server had an upbeat attitude that made the experience pleasant. The food was excellent, and we especially enjoyed the fusion of Asian appetizers with delicious steaks. All in all, very satisfied with this location and would definitely recommend others to spend an evening here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed. We order our wine and wa ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Disappointed. We order our wine and wanted to order our appetizer. Our waitress wouldn't take the order until we order our meal. Reason was she didn't want gaps in the meal. Well our salad came out right after appetizers were served. Meal was good, but she said we had to order desert during dinner as it took so long to prepare. No desert menu offered. Will not do Roy's here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Went to Roys with a party of 5 on Christ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went to Roys with a party of 5 on Christmas Eve. Food was good, but the service was poor, particularly for a restaurant of this level. The waitress brought our bottle of wine to the table, then let it sit there for over 20 minutes . We finally had to stop her and ask her to open it and provide wine glasses. All other aspects of the service were of a similar poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service couldn't have been nicer by ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service couldn't have been nicer by Jean Paul. He was attentive, but unobtrusive. We all enjoyed the dishes we tried. This was our first visit and we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your butterfish is not near as good as i ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Your butterfish is not near as good as it used to be. It used to taste lite and flaky, and it is small and way to spiced. It used to be my favorite thing to order, but after 3 tries it is always the same.

You changed your calamari also. The strips you to be so good and now you have the small rings

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Two thumbs up as always, great service f ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Two thumbs up as always, great service from Darr. Food was excellent and ambience is always very relaxing and nice.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the valet to the greeting staff to ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 14, 2016

From the valet to the greeting staff to the waitress All was even more than we expected, not a glass was empty ever and the food, Rack of Lamb and almond crusted mahi-mahi was also delicious, all excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Waitstaff were very inexperienced , ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The Waitstaff were very inexperienced , Passing food in front of the dinner to another person, Making a mistake with an order and Not asking if the Costumer would like another one.

But over all the dinner was good, but for the money i think the Staff should be on top of their game

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good dining with a varied and unique men ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good dining with a varied and unique menu! The service is always very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Roy's never disappoints. This is a gre ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Roy's never disappoints. This is a great place to bring friends and guests for an upscale dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Roy's numerous times and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 5, 2016

I have been to Roy's numerous times and always enjoyed the food. I guess because it was a set menu the choices were ok but the quality of food served was not. I ordered a shrimp dish and the shrimp was over cooked and dry. My husband salmon dish was just ok. Even the salad seemed like it had been sitting for a while. Overall not very good

.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.