About Roy's Rancho Mirage

71959 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Rancho Mirage located across Highway 111 from The River, featuring an exhibition kitchen with an inviting chef's counter and a spacious dining room with three private rooms to accommodate special events of any size.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11AM-4PM

Cross Street:
44th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-9044

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet (complementary) & self park

Executive Chef:
Adam Palffy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Hawaiian Cocktail
Braised Short Ribs Of Beef
BLTC Wedge Salad
Misoyaki Butterfish
Maui Wowie Shrimp Salad
Szechuan Style Green Bean
Spicy Korean Chili Fried Rice
Seared Sea Scallops
Mahi Mahi
Pancetta Seared Trout Black Cous Cous, Salsify & Goat Cheese Espuma, Spring Onion Vinaigrette
Chocolate Souffle
Lobster Potstickers
Pea Salad And Crispy Pork
pineapple upside-down cake
Ahi
Vegetarian Bento Box
Wagyu Beef Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Thanksgiving Day to celebrate with your friends and family. We will be open from 11am-8pm with a very special traditional 3-course Thanksgiving menu for $39.95 per Guest. A selection of Roy's Classic dishes will also be available.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Rancho Mirage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Romantic (28)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Casual (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Cozy (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1033 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated our 23 anniversary. They ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We celebrated our 23 anniversary. They had printed inserts in our menus congratulating us & greeted us at the door. It was special.

The pork chop was perfect as was the starter. My wife's swordfish was very good & cooked to perfection.

They also took our photo & presented us w/ a print as we left--classy!

The whole evening was terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it was a 74th birthday for my wife and t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

it was a 74th birthday for my wife and they added some very special touches as a birthday greeting inside the menu and her name spelled out in chocolate on the plate of the complementary desert . They made her feel special

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very disappointed with our last ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were very disappointed with our last visit. The service was very good but the food was not. My husband ordered the short rib/butter fish combo. There was way too many things on the plate. Broccoli, bak choy, rice and mashed potatoes. We ordered the pineapple upside down cake which was not good at all. We like Roy's so this was a surprise to us.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a lovely time. Be sure to make a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a lovely time. Be sure to make a reservation. All tables were occupied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

We LOVE Roys....great food, great staff, ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We LOVE Roys....great food, great staff, wonderful dining experience!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadly, Roys has continued to decline. My ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Sadly, Roys has continued to decline. My Salmon was over cooked and dry. We ordered a side of Asparagus which came at the end of the meal and so salty it was inedible. Incredibly noisy to the point of being difficult to hear across the table. Our waitress was probably fairly new, but really any understanding of making the customer happy except to offer us a dessert which we don't eat. The Asst Mgr was gracious and apologetic for our problems. The Mgr, however felt it more important to watch a college football game at the bar.

Overall, even with a $20 off coupon on our next visit, we will not utilize. Not worth it! Sorry to write this as a resident of Rancho Mirage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Enjoy the valet parking !!! had reservat ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Enjoy the valet parking !!!

had reservations , but enjoyed the bar experience so much we stayed at the bar .

Always great service at the bar or at there beautiful dining area !!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy going to Roy's. We and anoth ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We enjoy going to Roy's. We and another couple go to Roy's every year to celebrate our anniversaries. The food is outstanding and the service is impeccable. The Happy Hour is also excellent. A good variety of choices. You will never be disappointed going to Roy's.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful service. Beaut ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. Beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, staff very attentive ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was excellent, staff very attentive. Waiter Julius was exceptional.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice service, good food, pretty restaura ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Nice service, good food, pretty restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Roy's in other locations but we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love Roy's in other locations but we were disappointed here. The restaurant was about 1/2 full so we expected really good service but unfortunately we waited too long between service. Our seafood and steak entrees were very good. And the night was barely saved by tasty desserts as well but we won't be back here for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent ! My friends and family had a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent ! My friends and family had a Great time...Thanks !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great restaurant in the desert.

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Always a great restaurant in the desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time visiting Roys in the Ranc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our first time visiting Roys in the Rancho Mirage. It was very nice. Our waitress Jocelyn was excellent ! The food was very good. We found this on Travel Zoo and so our choice was limits . We did order an appetizer off the regular menu and a bottle of wine.

We will try this again next time we are in Rancho Mirage.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We visited twice recently & enjoyed the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We visited twice recently & enjoyed the experience. The Friday night was exceptionally noisy! Compared to other dining of similar quality the entrees are somewhat pricey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Husband and I returned to Roy,s while vi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Husband and I returned to Roy,s while visiting Palm Desert and were disappointed. Last time everything was great, this time the food just did not measure up. We got short ribs (2) and one was inedible. They did knock some money off the bill, but we went there to eat! My seafood platter was only OK, I expected better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The experience was GREAT. HOWEVER, we w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The experience was GREAT. HOWEVER, we were celebrating a B-day, I let the hostess know and they failed to even acknowledge the B-day. I was VERY disappointed however I feel that is a failure due to the hos

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food; always consistent qualit ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Delicious food; always consistent quality and flavor. Fantastic service Team! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful time and made the birthday boy ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful time and made the birthday boy feel so special. Excellent staff

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's never takes things for granted. Wh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Roy's never takes things for granted. While the signature macadamia crusted Mahi Mahi and rib appetizer are fixtures, the menu is refreshed often and focuses on seasonal offerings. The service is spectacular but not fussy, and the atmosphere is island casual.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, as was the service.

vip
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was excellent, as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Roy's.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We love Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was top notch - service was e ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was top notch - service was excellent and food delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish seemed kind oily with lots of sauce ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fish seemed kind oily with lots of sauces. I got the trio sampler and each fish was over flavored. I was trying to order healthy and it didn't seem to be that. Our waiter was friendly but tried to oversell everything. In fact, he gave us a Sunday brunch menu "to take home" with our bill. Disappointed and won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

My daughter recommended Roys and it was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My daughter recommended Roys and it was great. A little too noisy for us and I noticed that in the past to be a problem also. A good value and the fish was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always enjoyable for a nice dinner or sp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always enjoyable for a nice dinner or special night out

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, friendly service - but felt l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good food, friendly service - but felt like they rushed us a bit. If you want your food quickly, that's fine - but if you want a fine dining experience, not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite places. Wife tried s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of our favorite places. Wife tried shellfish sampler for first time. The lobster, shrimp, crabcake and asparagus were superb. Wife substituted the jasmine rice with brocollini, which was beautiful but a little on the hard side. She appreciated that they accommodated her substitution request so just ate slowly - not a bad thing . I had teppanyaki shrimp plate, which is one of my favorites there. Shared wedge salad that offers all kinds of fantastic flavor nuances. Lively, attentive service by everyone, and I mean everyone: valet, hostess, server, busser, and manager.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy's is always a treat. Food is consis ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Roy's is always a treat. Food is consistently excellent and visits are a special treat when celebrating a birthday (which we just did) or anniversary, or other special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Usually Roy's has excellent service and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Usually Roy's has excellent service and food. This night there was a definite lapse in all. Service was slow due to being understaffed for all the large tables around our table for 2, food was slow and not well cooked. Drinks did not get refilled until we asked several times and then they were delayed. The same for the dessert but it did turn out to be the highlight of the evening, their Chocolate flourless soufflé. It is the middle of summer here and I understand fewer waiters/waitresses but not when you have large parties plus some function in the private room.

The manager. Kameron, tried to makeup for the problems by compting our dessert because, as he stated, it was his problem in staffing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

I brought a friend to introduce her to R ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I brought a friend to introduce her to Roy's, we had separate checks so I can't state the total bill. She was impressed and wants to return soon. We both LOVED the food: taste, presentation and quantity. Your personnel were all polite, helpful and professional. Roy's is a true GEM in the desert!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great dinner! the food was amaz ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It was a great dinner! the food was amazing as usual, very nice wine list, but most of all our waitress Ariana was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was great as always. Always a treat ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was great as always. Always a treat to have David as our waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roy's always delights and is a notable a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Roy's always delights and is a notable and pleasant experience. The food was very good, but seemed to lack the zest and "wow" factor from the past.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Server was extremely patient and thought ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Server was extremely patient and thoughtful. My friend is high demand and he was so kind .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love Roy's. Consistently good!. If there ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Love Roy's. Consistently good!. If there is anything better then Roy's butterfish, I can't imagine what it could be

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was attentive even with our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The service was attentive even with our two children w/the treasure chest. Food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing but Apologies from the Staff. T ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Nothing but Apologies from the Staff.

This is a favorite spot and we have a great server who's section we sit in. Tonight we couldn't. waited ten minutes before we could order drinks at our table, I decided to get up and go to the bar when our server did show up and apologized.

WE got our drinks and appetizers in, then our entree's. special needs for the fish with no seasoning or marinade. It was prepared to order but the bok choy was not on the plate. 10 minutes later the bok choy arrived after the meal was complete.

Restaurant was busy and understaffed. Manager was working to cover but service was very taxed this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was excellent in taste , quali ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was excellent in taste , quality, and quantity. The service was exactly what we expected Perfect and Classy. This is a must eat at Restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.