About Roy's Rancho Mirage

71959 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Rancho Mirage located across Highway 111 from The River, featuring an exhibition kitchen with an inviting chef's counter and a spacious dining room with three private rooms to accommodate special events of any size.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
44th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-9044

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet (complementary) & self park

Executive Chef:
Adam Palffy

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Hawaiian Cocktail
Braised Short Ribs Of Beef
BLTC Wedge Salad
Misoyaki Butterfish
Szechuan Style Green Bean
Maui Wowie Shrimp Salad
Spicy Korean Chili Fried Rice
Seared Sea Scallops
Mahi Mahi
Pancetta Seared Trout Black Cous Cous, Salsify & Goat Cheese Espuma, Spring Onion Vinaigrette
Lobster Potstickers
Chocolate Souffle
Pea Salad And Crispy Pork
pineapple upside-down cake
Ahi
Vegetarian Bento Box
Wagyu Beef Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Rancho Mirage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Rancho Mirage ›

fit for foodies (73)
special occasion (70)
good for groups (40)
See All
romantic (36)
neighborhood gem (30)
vibrant bar scene (20)
kid-friendly (20)
notable wine list (17)
hot spot (13)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server was extremely patient and thought ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Server was extremely patient and thoughtful. My friend is high demand and he was so kind .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love Roy's. Consistently good!. If there ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love Roy's. Consistently good!. If there is anything better then Roy's butterfish, I can't imagine what it could be

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was attentive even with our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was attentive even with our two children w/the treasure chest. Food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing but Apologies from the Staff. T ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Nothing but Apologies from the Staff.

This is a favorite spot and we have a great server who's section we sit in. Tonight we couldn't. waited ten minutes before we could order drinks at our table, I decided to get up and go to the bar when our server did show up and apologized.

WE got our drinks and appetizers in, then our entree's. special needs for the fish with no seasoning or marinade. It was prepared to order but the bok choy was not on the plate. 10 minutes later the bok choy arrived after the meal was complete.

Restaurant was busy and understaffed. Manager was working to cover but service was very taxed this time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was excellent in taste , quali ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent in taste , quality, and quantity. The service was exactly what we expected Perfect and Classy. This is a must eat at Restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best fish ever. After 30 years of consis ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best fish ever. After 30 years of consistent fine food, Roy's does not disappoint. Seared scallops were amazing as well as the blackened island Ahi tuna with mustard sauce. Our last visit to the Rancho Mirage restaurant was over 5 years ago and it was as delicious as ever. It was a super hot night (110 degrees!) and the air conditioner was struggling with keeping the restaurant cool in the area we were sitting. The manager promptly moved us to a cooler section of the restaurant and service was excellent. Highly recommend for fish and steak lovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Roy's in Hawaii several ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to Roy's in Hawaii several times both on the Big Island and Kauai and have enjoyed every meal there. Since living here in the desert we have dined at Roy's Rancho Mirage many times and have always had a good experience. My wife and I love the butterfish. We have also tried the halibut, scallops and salmon all done to perfection. The only thing my wife has a complaint about is the chocolate lava cake. She is an aficionado of lava cake having had it in many different restaurants in this country and Roy's is a little dry with very little lava. Our waiter this time did bring us extra hot fudge to make up for the lack of "lava". Roy's bar menu is different and looks great but we haven't gotten there early enough to get a seat to enjoy it. Overall it's a good solid restaurant with consistently good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The temperature of the diningroom was w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The temperature of the diningroom was way too hot. Food quality good but portions are very small. (3 scallops in an entree).

I wouldn't go out of my way to got here again.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Waitress acted like she didn't want to b ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Waitress acted like she didn't want to be there. Food was exceptional, which saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We all enjoyed the "secret" special - fi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We all enjoyed the "secret" special - filet and lobster tail. They were both superb and everyone's steak was done to their specifications. Our waiter was John who remembered us from our previous visit in May. He's very attentive and accommodating!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My first visit to a Roy's and I was most ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My first visit to a Roy's and I was most impressive – lovely atmosphere and they have great quality control with their food and service. The service was friendly and efficient. I recommend and will definitely order the black cod and the pineapple upside down cake again. I usually avoid chain restaurants but will seek out Roy’s in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for the sunset menu (early bird spe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went for the sunset menu (early bird special).

Food is well-cooked and presented nicely. Service is dicey from hostess and waiter, way too informal and our waiter was perspiring wildly while desperately trying to keep up some banter. Originally seated at a table we requested to move to one of open booths, which was awkwardly handled. My chair was wobbly and seemed ready to snap. The bar area was packed at 5 for the happy hour but drink prices were double in the dining room, which makes no sense. The manager and chefs checked on our experience which was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

They had a birthday card upon arrival, w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

They had a birthday card upon arrival, wonderful desert and even gave us a printed photo to mark the occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Been here several times and rate as exce ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Been here several times and rate as excellent. This time our waitress was not very attentive. Had to ask for water and ice several times..She may have been distracted however as she spilled a cocktail. Not her fault but she seemed embarrassed. Rest of the staff were outstanding as to our needs. Celebrated a Birthday with a friend and she loved everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

As usual, they out did themselves both i ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

As usual, they out did themselves both in food and service. We can't praise them enough! It was our anniversary and they were over joyed that we came to spend it with them and made us feel very special. We both had the mixed fish platter which was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's restaurant is always on our list o ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Roy's restaurant is always on our list of places to dine when we are in Rancho Mirage. The entire staff is extremely welcoming and kid friendly, they anticipate the needs of kids by offering a complimentary quesadilla once seated at the table, thus allowing parents to get settled in without any hassles. The food and drinks are always delicious, especially the "Butter Fish".

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We absolutely love Roy'sand have visited ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We absolutely love Roy'sand have visited many including the one in Hawaii! We enjoy the wonderful staff and their attention to every detail. We have never had a bad experience or bad food at any Roy's that we have been to. We always look forward to our next visit to a Roy's wherever it may be.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick overnight to Palm Springs area for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Quick overnight to Palm Springs area for family get-together, when we realized there was a Roy's close to the hotel it was a no-brainer as we've enjoyed several other locations in Hawaii and stateside. Made a dining reservation fairly early (6:45) but there was plenty of room at the bar, so we sat there instead. Noted that the dining area was mostly full. Ordered very well-made martinis and some Lobster Wontons to start (crisp, rich sauce, clearly stuffed with lobster). Had to look for a baby-greens salad (was on the special Tasting Menu page with vegetarian options) but had that with a Halibut special and the Roy's Seafood Trio/Sampler. Halibut was perfectly prepared and sauced, paired with an interesting Chardonnay from both Sonoma and Santa Barbara counties. Seafood trio of salmon with a ginger/garlic, mahi-mahi crusted with hazelnuts and spices, and a kasu-style butterfish presented a wine-pairing conundrum, solved by Caymus Conundrum white blend - the wine that goes with everything! How? That's the conundrum! (A Sake flight was probably option #2). All three fish preparations were outstanding, deeply flavored, nicely accompanied. Interesting to note that when we departed (well after 8:00) the bar area and dining room were full, with a couple of large groups waiting to be seated. Maybe because it was a holiday weekend, or maybe desert folks just wait for sunset before starting their evenings, but I wouldn't count on popping in late and expecting the crowd to have died down.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I HAD HALIBUT, WHICH WAS DISPPOINTING... ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I HAD HALIBUT, WHICH WAS DISPPOINTING.........TOOOOO MUCH SALT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We were there for a wine tasting dinner ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were there for a wine tasting dinner and the food was fabulous

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a bday dinner and was told dess ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went for a bday dinner and was told dessert was free. In yelp reviews it Says dessert is free if celebrating a special occasion. We ordered the pineapple cake and was charged. Not to mention the cake was rather dry. A bit disappointed. But over all dinner was good and we'd go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5/6 meals came out together but my dad's ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

5/6 meals came out together but my dad's steak took at least 10 minutes longer so by the time he got his our dinner was cold..

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great time but a few misses. The sauce ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great time but a few misses. The sauces tend to drown the meat on some of their entree... The Roy's trio special had really poor plating as I had to ask for another plate to use for my sides . Cocktails were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Roy's is definitely one of the best rest ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Roy's is definitely one of the best restaurants in town..their customer service is superb and the food is delicious.

We love this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great :)

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I go to nice restaurants frequently and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I go to nice restaurants frequently and I have always thought Roy's as one of them. Not anymore. Food was so average. The menu is really limited as well. In my opinion nothing that you will miss if you went to anther restaurant in the same price range. Too many restaurants in Palm Springs that are truly nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Main course service was very small. Hus ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Main course service was very small. Husband was surprised at the small serving for the cost. Maybe 3 oz of meat, one sprig of broccolini, one spoon of potatoes. No bread served with the meal at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent. Our wait person ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was excellent. Our wait person, David Luis, made the evening for the four of us. He is knowledgeable about the menu and wine which helped us with our selections. And his humor is delicious! Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Calamari was incredible!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Calamari was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding and our server was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was outstanding and our server was even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the chain used the same recipes

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was excellent - until the much vaunted pineapple upside down cake dessert. I've had it at other Roy's locations. This one was totally different, and nowhere near as good. Very disappointing, as I had talked a friend into going there for that dessert. I would still recommend the restaurant for the rest of the meal, but I'd tell them to skip the pineapple upside down cake, especially if they'd had it at another Roy's.

The staff was wonderful - wait staff, reception, parking lot attendants - everyone made us feel very welcome. The restaurant is definitely to be complimented on the quality of the people they hire!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

20 years ago...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I first ate at Roy's in Maui. Then later, Oahu. Having moved to the California desert recently they do a restaurant week here annually. It's not really a deal with these prices but gave a reason to go. Excellent valet, staff, waiter, line manager. The food, putting the pork rib appetizer aside, was dated, heavy handed, halibut over cooked, calamari not crispy but spongy strips, short ribs strangely tasteless. As a parting shot was a pineapple upside cake that was a bizarre mess...disappointing. I think they need a major reboot. I won't be there for it, though. They lost me with this dinner.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Restaurant week - Roys

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

great meal selection for restaurant week. we came last year and were extremely pleased which is why we came back. and we were not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Roys

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

When we saw they were part of Restaurant Week we put them on our list to visit. We were very

Impressed! As busy as they were, the service was very good. The RW menu had a nice variety of selections. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the professional and welcoming a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We love the professional and welcoming atmosphere as well as the delicious food! We always look forward to going to Roy's and it never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place for a nice evening.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Always a great place for a nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiter from Hawaii. Took time to ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great waiter from Hawaii. Took time to talk and very friendly! Definitely added to our experience. Also had very nice valet who patiently took a group picture for us. Wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Roy's

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Brought three other single ladies with me for Restaurant Week. Our male waiter was very pleasant, very good, and very funny!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Choice Restaurant Week Experience

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We visited Roy's during Palm Springs Restaurant Week and were not disappointed! They offered full sized portions of their shortened version of their regular menu. I chose the Calamari for my starter and it was delicious. The fish is always fresh and well presented and the Chocolate Lava Cake was the perfect ending to our meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCELLENT Service and WONDERFUL Food.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I took two friends that were in town visiting me to Roy's and it happened to be Restaurant Week. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived and wanted a cocktail before dinner to the very end of the meal as we drank our Port and enjoyed a wonderful desert. This was our first time at the restaurant and the food was outstanding. This is now one of my favorite places to dine and I will for sure be back with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.