About Roy's Rancho Mirage

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Rancho Mirage located across Highway 111 from The River, featuring an exhibition kitchen with an inviting chef's counter and a spacious dining room with three private rooms to accommodate special events of any size.

71959 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11AM-4PM

Cross Street:
44th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-9044

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet (complementary) & self park

Executive Chef:
Adam Palffy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Rancho Mirage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Happy Hour (25)
Worth the Drive (21)
Romantic (19)
Casual (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fun (14)
Business Meals (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (11)
Healthy (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Cozy (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Family Style (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Spicy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic fish! Great service, friendl ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic fish! Great service, friendly staff. Wonderful atmosphere. The place to go for wonderful fish.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely loud, difficult to have a conv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Extremely loud, difficult to have a conversation. Food is hit and miss. We've eaten here before, and always enjoy the food. The salads and cocktails, however, are lacking. Service is terrific.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had been looking forward to the steak ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

I had been looking forward to the steak and lobster only to find out that they didn't have any lobster left. It was Valentine's Day so I thought they would take that into consideration. After talking to the manager, Kameron, he said he would make it right for me and make sure I have lobster on my next visit. I hope he doesn't forget about me.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Really disappointing Valentine's Day. S ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Really disappointing Valentine's Day. Set menu we were not told about ahead of time. Way overpriced. Average food and dreadfully slow service. Very loud rooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We made Valentine's Day dinner early Jan ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We made Valentine's Day dinner early January. When we arrived we were not seated in the main dining room. We had a wobbly brought in table with uncomfortable chairs in the makeshift room behind busy bar. We asked for a few minutes between courses. The longest was 4 minutes. Very rushed. Seemed the service and chest was more interested in getting as many turnarounds as possible. Not their best night. Roys used to be our go to place. Just shows service and respect can trump the taste of food. Saddened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

The restaurant has great food and servic ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant has great food and service. It was Valentine's Day so it was a little noisy but our service was great even though they were so busy. We never felt ignored. It is a bit pricey but well worth going to for a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Roy's is always special, but I would not ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Roy's is always special, but I would not suggest going on Valentine's Day. They're swamped. Service slower than usual plus prix fixe menu is too much food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Valentine Times Day dinner great s ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Valentine Times Day dinner great service very enjoyable time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a very enjoyable Valentines dinne ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a very enjoyable Valentines dinner. The food and service was excellent. We had Filet Mignon and Chilean Sea Bass with wine. We started with Lobster Potstickers and Szechuan Spiced Pork Ribs as appetizers and finished with Roy's Red Velvet Cake for desert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We returned to Roy's because of a wonder ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

We returned to Roy's because of a wonderful dining experience our first time there. We chose it with friends to celebrate Valentine's Day. We did not realize it would be a restricted 4 course dinner. Although the meal was good overall..the best part of mine was the lime tart...the experience was disappointing. I think we will skip the holidays at Roy's and go when they aren't focused on serving a high number of meals in the least amount of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The option not listed as to why I would ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The option not listed as to why I would recommend Roy's that was missing is simply stating that the food is great. The fish is always fresh and cooked correctly and this particular Roy's is a very nice and well decorated restaurant. And to top if off our service was impeccable and Julian is a great waiter, probably the best my wife and I have had in a long time. Go to this Roy's you will enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was superb, & the food was excel ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was superb, & the food was excellent. Check for specials on Sunday's & Monday's .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had surf and turf, said to be a small ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

I had surf and turf, said to be a small steak and a 1lb lobster (I assumed lobster tail). When it arrived, the steak was as advertised but the surf part was a few lumps of lobster meat not nearly coming up to a pound! I was disappointed.

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Good was basic service was slow because ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Good was basic service was slow because of slow kitchen servers were nice but limited by kitchen. For the price point I would expect much more

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I was deliciously satisfied . The servic ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

I was deliciously satisfied . The service was impeccable and highly recommend it to anyone

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Jalapeño Margarita's are gr8, the servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Jalapeño Margarita's are gr8, the service could not have been better(David Luis P) main course was enjoyed by all, and the chocolate soufflé was the highlight of the evening--as good as I ever had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great nite celebrating our anniversary

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great nite celebrating our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Palm Springs Gem. The Happy Hour is by ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A Palm Springs Gem. The Happy Hour is by far the best in town but get there early; starts at 4-7 and it is always packed. We had dinner this time and the food is fantastic. Their Mai Tai signature drink is very good.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for the cooking class including ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went for the cooking class including lunch. It was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Roy's & this location did not di ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We love Roy's & this location did not disappoint. Treated my kids (8&2) very well. Excellent service overall. We highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Our entrees ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Our entrees were beautifully presented and were delicious. David is the best waiter we've ever had anywhere...he seems to enjoy interacting with people and uses humor to make a good evening even better. With all this, he still provides attentive, efficient service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Any interesting twist to some standard f ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Any interesting twist to some standard fare. Creative and excellent favors. Serve was a 10. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Slow service ... undercooked food (which ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Slow service ... undercooked food (which has otherwise been great at other Roy's)... very loud (not energetic)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent dinner!

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Dining as well as Aloha Hour!! ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great for Dining as well as Aloha Hour!! Try the Hawaiian Martini....Tasty

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress very good. Food not good. Cold

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Waitress very good. Food not good. Cold

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Chaotic and pricey!! Worst Mai tai, terr ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Chaotic and pricey!! Worst Mai tai, terrible dessert for the hype!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We love Roy's. We had our wedding and b ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We love Roy's. We had our wedding and banquet there 4 years ago and they were very accommodating. We frequent the restaurant often and have never had a bad meal. Food is always consistently wonderful and delicious. We always take out of town friends there for a great evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Fun, Seasonal, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Took my girlfriend here for her 30th bir ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Took my girlfriend here for her 30th birthday and couldn't be more pleased. Roy's had a cute Birthday card waiting at our table with 3 Hawaiian flowers laid in front of it. Loved the decor and loved the food. We came in the right night because Sundays nights they have a dinner special where you pick anything from the appetizers (not the sushi rolls) , main course ($6 extra for Roy's combos), and dessert for about $36 dollars till March. Highly recommend the Roy's sampler appetizer for 2 to start and the 12 oz Wagu steak was amazing on top of the dessert we choose which was the chocolate molten cake and the pineapple upside down cake. Roy's gave us a third dessert in the lime cheesecake that melted in our mouths. Even got a complimentary birthday photo to add to our birthday card. Definitely coming here for Valentines. 2 days prior since Sunday is on the 12th. Lol

Tags: Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday. Excellent service. Helped us ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Birthday. Excellent service. Helped us celebrate my birthday. Exceptional dinner!

Tags: Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always very good and we are always looke ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always very good and we are always looked after . There are no surprises here and it is certainly an excellent meal with a warm atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place....always return when in ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love this place....always return when in the desert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at Roy's was to be the "reall ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our dinner at Roy's was to be the "really special" dinner out after a weeks vacation and visit with our son who recently relocated to the area. It was the place he most wanted to take us. Food was good but a very large table of diners (10 or so) seated a few tables over was RIDICULOUSLY loud. We are pretty flexible people and don't object to being around others having a good time but it was beyond the pale. Our server was apologetic and asked if we wanted to be moved but honestly there was nowhere in the restaurant to retreat from the constant loud banter, laughter, hand clapping and outbursts. I suppose their combined ticket was high enough that it was preferable to allow that to continue than for management to have asked them to exercise some restraint. We were very disappointed in our evening. My husband relayed this to the hostess on his way out after complimenting the food and our server. She did not offer to get a manager. Been there, done that. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

My wife and I went to dinner on a non-bu ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My wife and I went to dinner on a non-busy weeknight. We were a few minutes early, and we were seated promptly. Almost immediately, two foursomes were assigned to our server, and we were ignored. Eventually, the manager came and took our order, and after several minutes, our bar order arrived... but only after the bar server tried to give my beer to someone at one of the other tables. Food was delicious, as it always is whenever/wherever we visit a Roy's.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Not as good as the usually Roys fare. P ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Not as good as the usually Roys fare. Presentation poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I have a special place in my heart for R ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I have a special place in my heart for Roy's and its wonderful food. Goes back 20 years when I first ate the Roy's in Hawaii. The Rancho Mirage Roy's does not disappoint. Enjoyed our server, Palmer, who did all she could to make this friends get together just right. Will come back. All special shout out to Kameron, the dining room manager.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Romantic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The five of us all had delicious entrees ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The five of us all had delicious entrees! Would recommend Roy's for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food with attractive prix fixe men ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food with attractive prix fixe menu. Excellent fresh fish.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, friendly staff and great serv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food, friendly staff and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my first time at Roy's and it w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my first time at Roy's and it was absolutely fantastic. My boyfriend and I were visiting California and decided to go here for a date night, it was pretty busy so I would recommend making a reservation if you're going on a weekend. We had a reservation and were seated promptly. We were very happy with the service, setting and our food. There was also complimentary valet which was a nice perk. Definitely recommend Roy's in Rancho Mirage!

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.