About Roy's Rancho Mirage

71959 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Rancho Mirage located across Highway 111 from The River, featuring an exhibition kitchen with an inviting chef's counter and a spacious dining room with three private rooms to accommodate special events of any size.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11AM-4PM

Cross Street:
44th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-9044

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet (complementary) & self park

Executive Chef:
Adam Palffy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Hawaiian Cocktail - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Braised Short Ribs Of Beef - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
BLTC Wedge Salad - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Misoyaki Butterfish - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Maui Wowie Shrimp Salad - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Szechuan Style Green Bean - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Spicy Korean Chili Fried Rice - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Seared Sea Scallops - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Mahi Mahi - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Pancetta Seared Trout Black Cous Cous, Salsify & Goat Cheese Espuma, Spring Onion Vinaigrette  - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Chocolate Souffle - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Lobster Potstickers - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Pea Salad And Crispy Pork - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
pineapple upside-down cake - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Ahi - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Vegetarian Bento Box - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA
Wagyu Beef Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries - Roy's Rancho Mirage, Rancho Mirage, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Eve! We will be offering our full menu and we will be open regular hours to celebrate the holidays with you and your loved ones.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

The start of a new holiday tradition! Join us on Christmas Day from 12-8PM for an exclusive 3-course holiday menu for only $59.95! We will also offer a Children's Menu and a limited version of our Classic Menu. Reserve your table today.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve with a remarkable four-course menu, starting at just $55.
We will have extended hours until 1AM to ruing in the New Year with you!

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Rancho Mirage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (14)
Romantic (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (11)
Healthy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Spicy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1085 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time tried , generally don't choos ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

First time tried , generally don't choose chains but this was very good . Food was very tasty and service was good . I had Roy's Trio which I would recommend . We shared spring rolls and pineapple upside down cake . Overall , an enjoyable evening .

Tags: Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

The service was great however I ordered ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was great however I ordered the shrimp and it was nothing special and my husband had the shortrib and he thought the ones I make were better. The lobster bisque was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Roy's is one of our favorites in the val ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Roy's is one of our favorites in the valley. Food is always excellent and service is professional. This time, we were headed for the McCallum Theatre after dinner. Roy's was a perfect way to start our evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we have ordered was excellent ...

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything we have ordered was excellent. Tender and tasty! We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way. Service was bot ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent in every way. Service was both professional and friendly. Each course was unique and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter, great food, and an overall ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Great waiter, great food, and an overall excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our dining experience. We were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed our dining experience. We were traveling and purchased a Groupon which was a wonderful value. We enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

LOVE Roy's .....keep up the excellent se ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 28, 2016

LOVE Roy's .....keep up the excellent service and food!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites-- good food,good se ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 28, 2016

One of our favorites-- good food,good service,nice atmosphere- consistent and well presented.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The service was incredibly slow. All the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The service was incredibly slow. All the diners around us, who arrived after us, were served long before we were. When I asked an assistant manager about it he said he would get us served next. The next moment the food arrived and he said WE should have brought this to their attention. (1) I just thought I did. (2)I don't think I should have had to bring it up. (3) where was our server and what was she doing all this time? The manager's attitude was completely UNACCEPTABLE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Very good, fun atmosphere...not inexpens ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very good, fun atmosphere...not inexpensive but good wuality food

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Roy's on thanksgiving. When w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went to Roy's on thanksgiving. When we arrive we were told it was a set dinner menu. With a few regular items. One of our group was a vegetarian and there were no options for her. The menu was over priced. And not good the staff was more interested in leaving for the night and they actually turned off most of the lights before we had been served desert bone of our group contracted food poisoning. Very dissatisfied Boo to Roy's for making it an unforgettable dining experience and not in a good way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food, service, and ambiance was fant ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to try Roy's for our Thanksgi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We decided to try Roy's for our Thanksgiving Dinner. It was fantastic and I hope they do it again next year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been a Roy's fan for many years. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have been a Roy's fan for many years. From my first dining experience in Hawaii to my recent Thanksgiving celebration in Rancho Mirage, Roy's has always been consistently on point in every area. The service is impeccable, the food is incredible and the ambiance is inviting. Weather in Las Vegas, San Francisco, or Newport Beach my dining experience at Roy's has been exceptional.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoyed Roy's so we went back ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We always enjoyed Roy's so we went back for our anniversary. They gave up a nice dessert and took a photo w celebration card which was nice. Our main server was fine but other female server was so rude. Not smiling just took all our plates not asking if we finished or not. We had to stop her because we were still eating. But no apologies. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

We had a lovely evening and service was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had a lovely evening and service was good. And while the food was good, it was to what we have come to expect from Roys. The salad came room temp and slightly wilted (and it was not supposed to be that way). The ahi portion of the poke appetizer was dry. Our dinners were delicious though. We will come back but hope it is perfect as it has been before.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were going to a concert so our waitre ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were going to a concert so our waitress determined the time we needed to leave. She then assured our dinner was served and completed within our time frame. Without being rushed. Thanks to our server, Karen. Job well done.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and the quality of the food ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service and the quality of the food were excellent. The restaurant tends to be too noisy for table conversation (although it was packed the night we attended so that might be part of the problem). Even though we were seated away from the bar in the rear dining room, it was still difficult to hear what was being said at our table (none of us are hearing impaired). As for value, we had a four-course meal at half price, so we found the value exceptional. Our waiter was attentive, helpful and very informed about the food offerings. All in all, a very good dining experience from a culinary point of view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Not at all worth it for the price. Inter ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Not at all worth it for the price. Interior resembled an Olive Garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great for happy hour! Stopped at the ba ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great for happy hour! Stopped at the bar first as we arrived before our reservation. The bartender provided excellent service and made great suggestions even through he was super busy. Had the butterfish for dinner and it was excellent; melt in your mouth cod with great flavor! ! I wish the prices for the regular menu were not as high though, but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant was not full yet it took ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The restaurant was not full yet it took almost an hour to get food. We ordered salad with chicken and they got the order wrong. I wanted ranch, but they gave us thousand island. We were too hungry to send it back.

Really disappointed with the bad experience.

I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The worst meal & service I have ever had ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The worst meal & service I have ever had in the desert. After over an hour I asked the server where our food was. She replied"well, it hasn't come up yet!" The appetizer was prepared wrong & the manager said the chef didn't understand! My salmon was very dry & skimpy with only cold broccoli additionally on the plate. The rib eye steaks were marginal at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We visit Roy's when we are in Palm Deser ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We visit Roy's when we are in Palm Desert. Food & service are always excellent.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always impeccable at Roy' ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The service is always impeccable at Roy's, and the food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roy's has been our favorite restaurant f ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Roy's has been our favorite restaurant for years, however, the quality of the food at Roy's in Ranch Mirage is not what it once was. We dined on a Saturday night at 6:30 during "season" and that is a mistake. The noise level is so high we could not carry on a conversation with our friends. Each table of guests raised voices to be heard over the overall din in the dining room.

I didn't realize until almost finished that friend's scallops had no vegetables on the plate, just scallops. Was supposed to have brussel sprouts and squash. Yes, she should have told the waitress. My salad arrived with blue cheese and crumbles which I did not order. I ate it anyway as waitress didn't appear again until I was finished.

This is a great disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We were rushed through our entire meal. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were rushed through our entire meal. In and out under 45 min. They were not busy. right after the appy came the dinner and then the bill. Food was good but not worth it. We have been to other Roy's and have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Great as always good to be back in the d ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great as always good to be back in the desert for the winter, great place to dine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our third time at this Roy's loc ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This is our third time at this Roy's location, first time sitting in the bar. We had the lobster potstickers, seared Ahi and the chocolate lava cake. These are our favorite items at Roy's and they did not disappoint!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best experience I've ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This was one of the best experience I've ever had, service great, food great, our server great. I will be back very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roy's has top of the line fresh fish and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Roy's has top of the line fresh fish and seafood. The presentation is attractive but

not overdone. They work with your dietary requirements in a helpful friendly manner.

Their wine list is good. Their booths are comfortable. It's a little noisy but to be

expected from a popular restaurant. They actually have a new menu now and it

is wonderful ! It's expensive but worth it -- value for product received.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

No edamame served unless you ask. When ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 6, 2016

No edamame served unless you ask. When we got it ,it was cold inside , so another order brought out and it was stringy and not edible . The food was just ok. I don't mind the high price but expect a lot more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was beyond excellent! Well worth th ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was beyond excellent! Well worth the 110 mile drive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always great.....love Roys wherever we g ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

always great.....love Roys wherever we go! The menu doesn't change very much and that's a good thing. It's dependable and always enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was given 100 points. Roy's advertised ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I was given 100 points. Roy's advertised 1000 points.

Please adjust

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service from the parking valet ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent service from the parking valet through the dinner service. Food was excellent as always and "team" service approach was very much.in evidence. Roy's never disappoints! Great Ohana spirit filled with much aloha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we dine at Roy's, it is a mem ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Every time we dine at Roy's, it is a memorable occasion. The food is outstanding, the ambiance elegant yet welcoming and the service impeccable.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as usual! Thank you!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fantastic as usual! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambience and food is flavorful. P ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Nice ambience and food is flavorful. Prices a bit too high for the quantity and quality of the food. Very pleasant staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food quality seems to have gone down, un ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food quality seems to have gone down, unfortunately.

And I wish they would still have their epic rolls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.