Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Roy's Rancho Mirage

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Rancho Mirage located across Highway 111 from The River, featuring an exhibition kitchen with an inviting chef's counter and a spacious dining room with three private rooms to accommodate special events of any size.

71959 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11AM-4PM

Cross Street:
44th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-9044

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet (complementary) & self park

Executive Chef:
Adam Palffy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Rancho Mirage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Worth the Drive (28)
Happy Hour (24)
Romantic (22)
Casual (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Authentic (19)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Fun (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Healthy (11)
Cozy (11)
People Watching (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Quick Bite (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (3)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

From the moment we were greeted by the valet parking attendant , every employee we encountered was welcoming, friendly, accommodating, and professional. Our waiter and the young man who kept our table cleared and beverages filled helped turn an excellent meal into an exceptionally enjoyable occasion. I can't recall having had more pleasant service anywhere. The food was delicious, beautifully presented, and an excellent value thanks to the fixed price special being offered. We had the calamari and Szechuan rib appetizers, misoyaki butterfish, and the apple cobbler and pineapple upside down cake desserts, and we loved every bite. But it was the staff who made the evening. When there was a minor issue with the timing of our desserts, we were immediately offered an adjustment to the bill. We look forward to returning on our next visit to the area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Roy's. I highly recommend the sea scallops and the Szechuan ribs. Oh, and don't forget to order the volcano cake early, as it takes time to prepare. David Luis kept us giggling with his sense of humour. What a lovely evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for a family group meal while on vacation. Excellent meal and special attention for the kids in the group.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress was having a bad night, super sweet girl but forgot to enter an entree and never checked on our table again after taking our order. The place was so loud she didn't hear us order an appetizer and after waiting 1.5 hours for our food we had to complain. If it was just adults we would have kept ordering drinks but we had two babies with us who got fussy and wanted to run around instead of eat. They ended up taking $50 off the bill but I wouldn't go back. From trying to make a reservation by phone and being told they were booked but we easily found reservations on open table, to the noise level, to the crowded table we were given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a great place for the kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

Wait far too long given we had a reservation. Poor table, too noisy, draught every time the front door opened. Slow service. Better food, better service, nicer ambiance elsewhere in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We celebrated a birthday and the restaurant made it elegant and memorable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We were told the computer was down and kitchen backed up. Long wait for dinner. This happened the last time we were there. Will not go back. No one came over from management to say they were sorry .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We were all delighted with every course. We will be back. Our waiters were especially attentive; we didn't have to wait for anything. The chocolate suffle was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We arrived on a recent Sunday night and found they had a Sunday special. Appetizer, main, and dessert for $36.00ish. Anything on the menu. What a deal, as some of the steaks alone were $35.00. Our party of four all chose this special. The salads were large, the other appetizers were also large. We had the butter fish, pork chops and steak and all reported it was great. The dessert we had were the chocolate soufflé, which I didn't think was an actual soufflé, but more like a lava cake with ice cream but it was excellent. Others had the pineapple upside down cake, also served individually, like it had been baked in a ramekin dish and turned upside down. The only problem was we were seated in a part of the restaurant with a low ceiling and it was hard to have a conversation because of the noise. Then a large party with several children was seated right next to us making the noise level even worse. That was the only negative. Would go back every Sunday for the special if available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I have been to various Roys at least a few times a year since my first visit on Maui in the early 90's. this particular Roy's had always been our favorite of all the stateside. Service was terrible. Served me strawberries after telling her of allergy. I sent a class of the Roys Chardonnay back because it was bad. The waitress said "it is a house wine, if you want nice wine dint order the house." They put us in a lousy loud table. It was about 80 degrees inside, and 100 degrees in the rest room. Food great, service a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 19, 2017

They do not honor open table special request nor take care of the locals with
the respect they deserve.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great service and food. Seated right our reservation time and wait staff was attentive. Food was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food is tasty. For a seafood restaurant, it was disappointing it ran out of ahi tuna and yellowtail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food with very good service. Very good selection on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It's really hard to find something to say about our meal! I had filet mignon that everyone at our table said there's no way that's a filet! It's was so thin maybe and inch think if that! It was to be served with carrots, I asked if I could have mushrooms instead, when it came there were a few over cooked black mushrooms and the steak with sauce that was it, no color on the plate everything was black can't believe it was sent out like that! Another guest had ahi which the size was very small the other guest had the fish special which was soaking in sauce. Roy's in Maui is wonderful, would not recommend Rancho Mirage!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Roy's is always a great restaurant to visit for a delicious dining delight. Your palette will always walk away wanting more even though you have had your fill with your entrees. The flavors of various menu items like butter fish, scallops to the fried rice, stay with you and will cause an effect of "I must return soon." Simply outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food is always great and consistent with a very friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A little pricier than we were expecting but very good food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Julius was our server-He is great! Ask for a table at the back of the restaurant for a quieter meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Service from the staff was attentive but not intrusive.
The waiter, Julian provided a great service. They even called me to let me know I left my credit card on the table. They had my cell number because I used OpenTable to make the reservation. Roys in Rancho Mirage is lot more classy than the one in Fashion Island in Newport Coast.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Roy's is excellent for special preparation of many types of fish.
The service is very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food was good. Went for 36.95 price fixe, so a good value. Prices are a bit too high otherwise. Hostesses don't have it together. Had a reservation and arrived 15 mins early. Empty tables available yet we were told in an unfriendly tone "we'll be seating you closer to your reservation time" and were made to wait at the bar and order drinks we didn't really want. Bad form. Then we were escorted to the wrong table, sent back to reception and lots of confusion. Manager was apologetic and comped an appetizer to compensate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants. For some strange reason, the Sunday we were there was not a good night. We had a long wait for the food to be served. When the appetizers appeared, the lobster bisque had to be returned due to it being cold, the canoe appetizer was luke warm and missing the sushi. It was a long night where dinner took 2 1/2 hours.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My wife and I have enjoyed dining at several of the Roy's restaurants from Hawaii to the mainland. Roy's has not disappointed us yet. The food is very good. Spencer our server was top notch. I consider it higher end dining at a fair price. I hearty yes for a recommendation.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food was good, but portions small to medium. Left restaurant hungry

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Too much time waiting to have dinner served. Arrived on time for 6:45 pm reservation, order put in at 7:05pm but entree was not served until 7:58pm. They have a real problem in the kitchen getting food out in a timely manner. Got $10 off the total bill ($130.00) big whoop.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food. Costs have gone up steeply.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It took longer than usual for the food to arrive and then only sections on the plate were hot. The service was good and the price as always was high -- but we knew that going in. We went for the quality of the meal. And it was tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Love the food, but the open kitchen is a disadvantage. The kitchen crew are yelling back and forth and it is very disruptive. This is the first time we sat near the kitchen and will never do it again!!! Please inform Roys about our experience . Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Roy's Sucks! I got a phone call from someone 15 minutes before my reservation for 4 made 2 days in advance to tell me they would not accommodate us - too busy. Really????
Will not make a res there again!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The server was so kind to my elderly Mother. We were celebrating her Birthday and he was so pleasant, gracious and accommodating. We had a great time and have been talking about it ever since. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 7, 2017

First visit but will return for sure. Bothersome noise level for conversations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Good prie fix menu price
Dessert good. Salmon awesome

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good food and service, great for a nice evening dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent exp, food, service, ambiance-nice quiet room (Tiki)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Top quality food and service, nice atmosphere here

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Roy's has a great Happy Hour. But we were not there for Happy Hour, we were there for a nice quiet dinner celebrating my husband's birthday. We were seated very close to the Happy Hour crowd, rather than in the room behind the bar our in the rear of the restaurant.

Tags: Disabled Access, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Fabulous Butterfish! Melts in your mouth. Good drinks and good lobster bisque

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.