About Roy's Rancho Mirage

71959 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Rancho Mirage located across Highway 111 from The River, featuring an exhibition kitchen with an inviting chef's counter and a spacious dining room with three private rooms to accommodate special events of any size.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11AM-4PM

Cross Street:
44th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-9044

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet (complementary) & self park

Executive Chef:
Adam Palffy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Hawaiian Cocktail
Braised Short Ribs Of Beef
BLTC Wedge Salad
Misoyaki Butterfish
Maui Wowie Shrimp Salad
Szechuan Style Green Bean
Spicy Korean Chili Fried Rice
Seared Sea Scallops
Mahi Mahi
Pancetta Seared Trout Black Cous Cous, Salsify & Goat Cheese Espuma, Spring Onion Vinaigrette
Chocolate Souffle
Lobster Potstickers
Pea Salad And Crispy Pork
pineapple upside-down cake
Ahi
Vegetarian Bento Box
Wagyu Beef Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Rancho Mirage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Rancho Mirage ›

Special Occasion (68)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Romantic (33)
See All
Good for Groups (32)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Kid-friendly (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for a Date (1)
Business Meals (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1017 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Husband and I returned to Roy,s while vi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Husband and I returned to Roy,s while visiting Palm Desert and were disappointed. Last time everything was great, this time the food just did not measure up. We got short ribs (2) and one was inedible. They did knock some money off the bill, but we went there to eat! My seafood platter was only OK, I expected better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The experience was GREAT. HOWEVER, we w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

The experience was GREAT. HOWEVER, we were celebrating a B-day, I let the hostess know and they failed to even acknowledge the B-day. I was VERY disappointed however I feel that is a failure due to the hos

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food; always consistent qualit ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Delicious food; always consistent quality and flavor. Fantastic service Team! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful time and made the birthday boy ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful time and made the birthday boy feel so special. Excellent staff

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's never takes things for granted. Wh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Roy's never takes things for granted. While the signature macadamia crusted Mahi Mahi and rib appetizer are fixtures, the menu is refreshed often and focuses on seasonal offerings. The service is spectacular but not fussy, and the atmosphere is island casual.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, as was the service.

vip
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was excellent, as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Roy's.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We love Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was top notch - service was e ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was top notch - service was excellent and food delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish seemed kind oily with lots of sauce ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fish seemed kind oily with lots of sauces. I got the trio sampler and each fish was over flavored. I was trying to order healthy and it didn't seem to be that. Our waiter was friendly but tried to oversell everything. In fact, he gave us a Sunday brunch menu "to take home" with our bill. Disappointed and won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

My daughter recommended Roys and it was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My daughter recommended Roys and it was great. A little too noisy for us and I noticed that in the past to be a problem also. A good value and the fish was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always enjoyable for a nice dinner or sp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always enjoyable for a nice dinner or special night out

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, friendly service - but felt l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good food, friendly service - but felt like they rushed us a bit. If you want your food quickly, that's fine - but if you want a fine dining experience, not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite places. Wife tried s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of our favorite places. Wife tried shellfish sampler for first time. The lobster, shrimp, crabcake and asparagus were superb. Wife substituted the jasmine rice with brocollini, which was beautiful but a little on the hard side. She appreciated that they accommodated her substitution request so just ate slowly - not a bad thing . I had teppanyaki shrimp plate, which is one of my favorites there. Shared wedge salad that offers all kinds of fantastic flavor nuances. Lively, attentive service by everyone, and I mean everyone: valet, hostess, server, busser, and manager.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy's is always a treat. Food is consis ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Roy's is always a treat. Food is consistently excellent and visits are a special treat when celebrating a birthday (which we just did) or anniversary, or other special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Usually Roy's has excellent service and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Usually Roy's has excellent service and food. This night there was a definite lapse in all. Service was slow due to being understaffed for all the large tables around our table for 2, food was slow and not well cooked. Drinks did not get refilled until we asked several times and then they were delayed. The same for the dessert but it did turn out to be the highlight of the evening, their Chocolate flourless soufflé. It is the middle of summer here and I understand fewer waiters/waitresses but not when you have large parties plus some function in the private room.

The manager. Kameron, tried to makeup for the problems by compting our dessert because, as he stated, it was his problem in staffing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

I brought a friend to introduce her to R ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I brought a friend to introduce her to Roy's, we had separate checks so I can't state the total bill. She was impressed and wants to return soon. We both LOVED the food: taste, presentation and quantity. Your personnel were all polite, helpful and professional. Roy's is a true GEM in the desert!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great dinner! the food was amaz ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It was a great dinner! the food was amazing as usual, very nice wine list, but most of all our waitress Ariana was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was great as always. Always a treat ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was great as always. Always a treat to have David as our waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roy's always delights and is a notable a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Roy's always delights and is a notable and pleasant experience. The food was very good, but seemed to lack the zest and "wow" factor from the past.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Server was extremely patient and thought ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Server was extremely patient and thoughtful. My friend is high demand and he was so kind .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love Roy's. Consistently good!. If there ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Love Roy's. Consistently good!. If there is anything better then Roy's butterfish, I can't imagine what it could be

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was attentive even with our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The service was attentive even with our two children w/the treasure chest. Food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing but Apologies from the Staff. T ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Nothing but Apologies from the Staff.

This is a favorite spot and we have a great server who's section we sit in. Tonight we couldn't. waited ten minutes before we could order drinks at our table, I decided to get up and go to the bar when our server did show up and apologized.

WE got our drinks and appetizers in, then our entree's. special needs for the fish with no seasoning or marinade. It was prepared to order but the bok choy was not on the plate. 10 minutes later the bok choy arrived after the meal was complete.

Restaurant was busy and understaffed. Manager was working to cover but service was very taxed this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was excellent in taste , quali ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was excellent in taste , quality, and quantity. The service was exactly what we expected Perfect and Classy. This is a must eat at Restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best fish ever. After 30 years of consis ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Best fish ever. After 30 years of consistent fine food, Roy's does not disappoint. Seared scallops were amazing as well as the blackened island Ahi tuna with mustard sauce. Our last visit to the Rancho Mirage restaurant was over 5 years ago and it was as delicious as ever. It was a super hot night (110 degrees!) and the air conditioner was struggling with keeping the restaurant cool in the area we were sitting. The manager promptly moved us to a cooler section of the restaurant and service was excellent. Highly recommend for fish and steak lovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Roy's in Hawaii several ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We have been to Roy's in Hawaii several times both on the Big Island and Kauai and have enjoyed every meal there. Since living here in the desert we have dined at Roy's Rancho Mirage many times and have always had a good experience. My wife and I love the butterfish. We have also tried the halibut, scallops and salmon all done to perfection. The only thing my wife has a complaint about is the chocolate lava cake. She is an aficionado of lava cake having had it in many different restaurants in this country and Roy's is a little dry with very little lava. Our waiter this time did bring us extra hot fudge to make up for the lack of "lava". Roy's bar menu is different and looks great but we haven't gotten there early enough to get a seat to enjoy it. Overall it's a good solid restaurant with consistently good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The temperature of the diningroom was w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The temperature of the diningroom was way too hot. Food quality good but portions are very small. (3 scallops in an entree).

I wouldn't go out of my way to got here again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Waitress acted like she didn't want to b ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Waitress acted like she didn't want to be there. Food was exceptional, which saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We all enjoyed the "secret" special - fi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We all enjoyed the "secret" special - filet and lobster tail. They were both superb and everyone's steak was done to their specifications. Our waiter was John who remembered us from our previous visit in May. He's very attentive and accommodating!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My first visit to a Roy's and I was most ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My first visit to a Roy's and I was most impressive – lovely atmosphere and they have great quality control with their food and service. The service was friendly and efficient. I recommend and will definitely order the black cod and the pineapple upside down cake again. I usually avoid chain restaurants but will seek out Roy’s in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for the sunset menu (early bird spe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went for the sunset menu (early bird special).

Food is well-cooked and presented nicely. Service is dicey from hostess and waiter, way too informal and our waiter was perspiring wildly while desperately trying to keep up some banter. Originally seated at a table we requested to move to one of open booths, which was awkwardly handled. My chair was wobbly and seemed ready to snap. The bar area was packed at 5 for the happy hour but drink prices were double in the dining room, which makes no sense. The manager and chefs checked on our experience which was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

They had a birthday card upon arrival, w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

They had a birthday card upon arrival, wonderful desert and even gave us a printed photo to mark the occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Been here several times and rate as exce ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Been here several times and rate as excellent. This time our waitress was not very attentive. Had to ask for water and ice several times..She may have been distracted however as she spilled a cocktail. Not her fault but she seemed embarrassed. Rest of the staff were outstanding as to our needs. Celebrated a Birthday with a friend and she loved everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

As usual, they out did themselves both i ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

As usual, they out did themselves both in food and service. We can't praise them enough! It was our anniversary and they were over joyed that we came to spend it with them and made us feel very special. We both had the mixed fish platter which was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's restaurant is always on our list o ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Roy's restaurant is always on our list of places to dine when we are in Rancho Mirage. The entire staff is extremely welcoming and kid friendly, they anticipate the needs of kids by offering a complimentary quesadilla once seated at the table, thus allowing parents to get settled in without any hassles. The food and drinks are always delicious, especially the "Butter Fish".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We absolutely love Roy'sand have visited ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We absolutely love Roy'sand have visited many including the one in Hawaii! We enjoy the wonderful staff and their attention to every detail. We have never had a bad experience or bad food at any Roy's that we have been to. We always look forward to our next visit to a Roy's wherever it may be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick overnight to Palm Springs area for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Quick overnight to Palm Springs area for family get-together, when we realized there was a Roy's close to the hotel it was a no-brainer as we've enjoyed several other locations in Hawaii and stateside. Made a dining reservation fairly early (6:45) but there was plenty of room at the bar, so we sat there instead. Noted that the dining area was mostly full. Ordered very well-made martinis and some Lobster Wontons to start (crisp, rich sauce, clearly stuffed with lobster). Had to look for a baby-greens salad (was on the special Tasting Menu page with vegetarian options) but had that with a Halibut special and the Roy's Seafood Trio/Sampler. Halibut was perfectly prepared and sauced, paired with an interesting Chardonnay from both Sonoma and Santa Barbara counties. Seafood trio of salmon with a ginger/garlic, mahi-mahi crusted with hazelnuts and spices, and a kasu-style butterfish presented a wine-pairing conundrum, solved by Caymus Conundrum white blend - the wine that goes with everything! How? That's the conundrum! (A Sake flight was probably option #2). All three fish preparations were outstanding, deeply flavored, nicely accompanied. Interesting to note that when we departed (well after 8:00) the bar area and dining room were full, with a couple of large groups waiting to be seated. Maybe because it was a holiday weekend, or maybe desert folks just wait for sunset before starting their evenings, but I wouldn't count on popping in late and expecting the crowd to have died down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I HAD HALIBUT, WHICH WAS DISPPOINTING... ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I HAD HALIBUT, WHICH WAS DISPPOINTING.........TOOOOO MUCH SALT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We were there for a wine tasting dinner ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were there for a wine tasting dinner and the food was fabulous

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a bday dinner and was told dess ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went for a bday dinner and was told dessert was free. In yelp reviews it Says dessert is free if celebrating a special occasion. We ordered the pineapple cake and was charged. Not to mention the cake was rather dry. A bit disappointed. But over all dinner was good and we'd go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.