About Roy's Rancho Mirage

71959 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Rancho Mirage located across Highway 111 from The River, featuring an exhibition kitchen with an inviting chef's counter and a spacious dining room with three private rooms to accommodate special events of any size.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
44th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-9044

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet (complementary) & self park

Executive Chef:
Adam Palffy

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Enjoy the best Father's Day at Roy's! Open early at 10am - we'll be serving Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch & Dinner. Treat dad to the best seafood, steak and sushi in town.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Rancho Mirage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Rancho Mirage ›

fit for foodies (78)
special occasion (77)
romantic (38)
See All
good for groups (37)
neighborhood gem (31)
vibrant bar scene (22)
notable wine list (19)
hot spot (16)
kid-friendly (15)
great for lunch (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the first Roy's ever years an ...

Dined 5 days ago

We went to the first Roy's ever years and years ago in Lahaina, Maui! It was tiny but I still remember the food....EXCELLENT and something I had never experiences....Hawaiian Fustion. To this day I am so glad there are Roy's in different cities on the mainland and the food is still just as great! We love Roy's for special occasions or when we have out of town guests. When we find out someone in our golf group has never been to Roy's, we make sure to make reservations and we go with them. That's what happened on the 24th of May for my husband's birthday. The other couple thanked us for introducing them to Roy's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!!! Food was delicious... S ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service!!! Food was delicious... Staff were attentive and very welcoming...

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 46th wedding Anniversa ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We celebrated our 46th wedding Anniversary and where delighted with everything. The staff is superior to any equal quality restaurant. We were welcomed by, a most friendly gentleman who valeted your car (complimentary), we were greeted by a warm and friendly hostess who noted our reservation immediately, and served by a professional and pleasant staff. They did make our anniversary celebration very special with a photo and marvelous desert. Don't miss the lobster potstickers to start and the Butterfish and scallops are extroadinary. Thank you Roy and thank you Open Table!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

I took my 20 yr old son to dinner here, ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I took my 20 yr old son to dinner here, we had a very nice dining experience at Roy's.

food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the seared ahi tuna appetizer. And ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved the seared ahi tuna appetizer. And the ribs. And lobster potstickers. And Seafood trio- butterfish in neuter blanc sauce, macademia crusted mahi mahi, salmon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our party of eight enjoyed very personab ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Our party of eight enjoyed very personable service and each one enjoyed Roy's unforgettable dishes. Butterfish and Roy's signature ribs stand out, as always! Thank you!

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

With wonderful and unique restaurants in ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

With wonderful and unique restaurants in this area, I would skip this one. Food was a average at best and the prices ridiculous for what you receive. Service was great, however.

food1
ambience3
service1

The service and food were absolutely una ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The service and food were absolutely unacceptable. We sent back every entree and the second time around was no better. The steak was full of fat the lobster bisque had little to no meat and the meat was like chewing on rubber. The Pad Thai had no flavor and the vegetables tasted like they were frozen We ended up not even eating dinner that evening and it was a Mother's Day celebration. I would NEVER go back. Totally unacceptable for a restaurant of this caliber. And The prices were over the top.

food1
ambience3
service3

Bar table ideal as a walk up with attent ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Bar table ideal as a walk up with attentive service.

food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food was delicious, the re ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

As always the food was delicious, the restaurant is beautiful and the server was attentive & very friendly. The Butterfish and the short rib were so soft and tender that they melt in your mouth.

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Underwhelming and Over-Priced

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The quote that best summed up our experience was - "This is like a Hawaiian Denny's" We were in and out of the restaurant within 40 minutes. It was like they were trying to turn and burn the table as fast as possible. The waiter cared more about in rehearsed presentation than he did making sure he go the order correct. The "recommended" salad looked like something a child would have thrown together. It was one of the poorest culinary experiences we have had in the desert.

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Nice... But....

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall great experience. Servings sizes are quite small for the expensive prices.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Moderate

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Costly even with my $25 coupon. Was told rudely by the waiter that you haven't served bread in 5 years. I would rethink that. Pea pods not sufficient unless you are a bird. Not interested in returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual

Dined on May 6, 2016

WE each had appetizers. The poke was flavorful as were the ribs. One of us had the shrimp teppanyaki and one had the scallops. Both were very good. Service was attentive without being over bearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner while in the desert

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

You can always count on an excellent meal at any of the many Roy's restaurants. The food is well prepared and presented, there is a good variety to choose from and the wait staff is well-trained.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated on time per our reservati ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were seated on time per our reservation, our server, Trinidad, was well versed in the daily specials and was able to answer our questions. He was attentive throughout our meal and followed up throughout to check that we were satisfied with our meal and drink selections.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

the food was terrible, service very annoying,

Dined on April 30, 2016

The wait staff was very phoney and annoying when they stopped by every 2 mins to disturb our conversation. The was under cooked and no flavor. I love Brussel sprouts but these where burnt and had a very bitter taste. My partners salmon was about 4 inches square and very thin. He said the flavor was good but for two Mediocre meal and one mixed drink the bill was $105 Defiantly way way over priced I read poor reviews like this sometimes and I think that person is being to critical, but trust me there are better restaurants for 1/2 the price...I will never eat there again.

food5
ambience5
service5

The ultimate dining experience. From the ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The ultimate dining experience. From the moment you leave you car in the capable hands of the Valet until you sink your teeth into the Chocolate soufflé! Magnificent!!

food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Roy's twice now. For our ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

We have been to Roy's twice now. For our anniversary and this time for our friends birthday. The service from every single staff member was absolutely outstanding on both occasions. The food is amazing. Love this restaurant and will definitely be back!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Made up for it.

Dined on April 24, 2016

They had a great wine selection and accommodated special requests on our salads. Unfortunately they over cooked my steak, then under cooked it. The server and management were great and overly generous in making up for the kitchen's mistake. It was not necessary, but appreciated. The creme brûlée was beyond delicious!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Good Dining Experience at Roy's

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Roy's is consistent with good service and food. I recommend checking out the local menu although the regular menu is good too. They're service is always excellent from the valet to the wait staff. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Noisy with average food

Dined on April 13, 2016

We were unfortunate enough to be seated next to a bouncy child in a noisy restaurant. The Canoe for 2 appetizer was excellent. The short ribs are different than they used to be. Must be a lesser cut of meat, it tasted like a pot roast. We won't be returning!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Roy's

Dined on April 13, 2016

This was a great night with friends. The food was excellent and great service. Always a favorite.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been eating at Roy's for some 20 years.

Dined on April 12, 2016

It is a great restaurant and great service and very fine food. I like to be there with friends and for special occasions. Highly recommend it to my friends and usually take them there when they are visiting me in my home city. Went to Roy's when he opened his first restaurant in Hawaii many years ago.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch experience

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food is unique and very tasty. Service is excellent with special attention from the Manager.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Roy's Rancho Mirage

Dined on April 7, 2016

Roy's never disappoints! The food is delicious, great wine selection, and their infamous chocolate souffle is amazing! They just started a spring per-fixe menu! Great price for an appetizer, entree, and dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fun at Roy's... You almost feel ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Always fun at Roy's... You almost feel like you are in Hawaii!! Great service and a warm "welcome" upon arrival..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

classy and tasty

Dined on April 3, 2016

The entire was delightful. We enjoyed all of our selections. The wait staff was knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Totally enjoyed, ahi poke, duck flat bre ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Totally enjoyed, ahi poke, duck flat bread and blackened ahi, all prepared perfectly.

food2
ambience4
service4

Have consistently had great food at Roy' ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Have consistently had great food at Roy's but last night not so good; butterfish overcooked & very fatty short rib. Would've sent back but had to get home to a babysitter. Ahi Poke good fish quality but fairly tasteless. Lobster potstickers best dish of evening. Services was good.

food2
ambience2
service2

Food was mediocre for the price. Servic ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was mediocre for the price. Service was rushed: when my first glass of wine was finished the glass was whisked away with no offer for a second. Had to ask twice for salt & one other item. App, salad & entree and they had us out the door in under an hour

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food & Friends

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

It was a lovely evening, with fantastic service. The food was beautifully presented and prepared. It was a lively Friday night, and really hard to hear each other because the restaurant was loud. But, we'll definitely be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Blackened Ahi

Dined on March 30, 2016

Ahi was cooked perfectly,sauce was outstanding. Would order again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Resturante with good food!

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Nice Resturante with good food! Nothing really pops, it's good though!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food.

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Amazing food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Full Menu Heaven

Dined on March 27, 2016

Whether you enjoy a cocktail or start with appetizers, your meal will be infused with unique flavors that Roy's is famous to deliver to all their guests. Never had a bad meal choice. Our family gravitates toward Roy's for any special family event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints... very good meal

Dined on March 26, 2016

I've got a family of foodies who do their best to avoid chains. Roys is an exception and one we always visit when in Palm Desert or in Hawaii. The food was spectacular and creative, and the service was surprisingly good considering the place was packed and it was Easter Weekend. We will definitely go there again -

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, great service but pricey

Dined on March 26, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Roy's. Their kid treatment was first class. Appetizers for them almost immediately as well as crayons and something to colour meant that the kids were happy and quiet and the adults could enjoy their own drinks and appetizers. The food was great both for the kids and for the adults. My only complaint was that the dishes seemed over priced for what you got. Main course fish at $45 seems a lot even if it is well cooked and well presented.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, a good blend of food quality/environs.

Dined on March 23, 2016

Never lets you down: Always well prepared food served properly and close to being worth what is charged. Not top rung, but nice enough to save for special occasions.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely outstanding again! Never a di ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Absolutely outstanding again! Never a disappointment at Roy's!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.