About Roy's Rancho Mirage

71959 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Rancho Mirage located across Highway 111 from The River, featuring an exhibition kitchen with an inviting chef's counter and a spacious dining room with three private rooms to accommodate special events of any size.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
44th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-9044

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet (complementary) & self park

Executive Chef:
Adam Palffy

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Roy's Rancho Mirage
Hawaiian Cocktail
Braised Short Ribs Of Beef
BLTC Wedge Salad
Misoyaki Butterfish
Szechuan Style Green Bean
Maui Wowie Shrimp Salad
Spicy Korean Chili Fried Rice
Seared Sea Scallops
Mahi Mahi
Pancetta Seared Trout Black Cous Cous, Salsify & Goat Cheese Espuma, Spring Onion Vinaigrette
Lobster Potstickers
Chocolate Souffle
Pea Salad And Crispy Pork
pineapple upside-down cake
Ahi
Vegetarian Bento Box
Wagyu Beef Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Rancho Mirage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Rancho Mirage ›

special occasion (80)
fit for foodies (75)
good for groups (40)
See All
romantic (39)
neighborhood gem (32)
vibrant bar scene (22)
notable wine list (21)
kid-friendly (19)
hot spot (16)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
976 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service3

Great time but a few misses. The sauce ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great time but a few misses. The sauces tend to drown the meat on some of their entree... The Roy's trio special had really poor plating as I had to ask for another plate to use for my sides . Cocktails were good

food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's is definitely one of the best rest ...

Dined 7 days ago

Roy's is definitely one of the best restaurants in town..their customer service is superb and the food is delicious. We love this place!!!

food4
ambience5
service5

Service was great :)

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Service was great :)

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I go to nice restaurants frequently and ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

I go to nice restaurants frequently and I have always thought Roy's as one of them. Not anymore. Food was so average. The menu is really limited as well. In my opinion nothing that you will miss if you went to anther restaurant in the same price range. Too many restaurants in Palm Springs that are truly nice.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Main course service was very small. Hus ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Main course service was very small. Husband was surprised at the small serving for the cost. Maybe 3 oz of meat, one sprig of broccolini, one spoon of potatoes. No bread served with the meal at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Our wait person ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was excellent. Our wait person, David Luis, made the evening for the four of us. He is knowledgeable about the menu and wine which helped us with our selections. And his humor is delicious! Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Calamari was incredible!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Calamari was incredible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding and our server was ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was outstanding and our server was even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I thought the chain used the same recipes

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was excellent - until the much vaunted pineapple upside down cake dessert. I've had it at other Roy's locations. This one was totally different, and nowhere near as good. Very disappointing, as I had talked a friend into going there for that dessert. I would still recommend the restaurant for the rest of the meal, but I'd tell them to skip the pineapple upside down cake, especially if they'd had it at another Roy's. The staff was wonderful - wait staff, reception, parking lot attendants - everyone made us feel very welcome. The restaurant is definitely to be complimented on the quality of the people they hire!

food2
ambience2
service5
value1

20 years ago...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

I first ate at Roy's in Maui. Then later, Oahu. Having moved to the California desert recently they do a restaurant week here annually. It's not really a deal with these prices but gave a reason to go. Excellent valet, staff, waiter, line manager. The food, putting the pork rib appetizer aside, was dated, heavy handed, halibut over cooked, calamari not crispy but spongy strips, short ribs strangely tasteless. As a parting shot was a pineapple upside cake that was a bizarre mess...disappointing. I think they need a major reboot. I won't be there for it, though. They lost me with this dinner.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week - Roys

Dined on June 10, 2016

great meal selection for restaurant week. we came last year and were extremely pleased which is why we came back. and we were not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Roys

Dined on June 10, 2016

When we saw they were part of Restaurant Week we put them on our list to visit. We were very Impressed! As busy as they were, the service was very good. The RW menu had a nice variety of selections. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the professional and welcoming a ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We love the professional and welcoming atmosphere as well as the delicious food! We always look forward to going to Roy's and it never disappoints!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great place for a nice evening.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Always a great place for a nice evening.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great waiter from Hawaii. Took time to ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Great waiter from Hawaii. Took time to talk and very friendly! Definitely added to our experience. Also had very nice valet who patiently took a group picture for us. Wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's

Dined on June 7, 2016

Brought three other single ladies with me for Restaurant Week. Our male waiter was very pleasant, very good, and very funny!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Choice Restaurant Week Experience

Dined on June 6, 2016

We visited Roy's during Palm Springs Restaurant Week and were not disappointed! They offered full sized portions of their shortened version of their regular menu. I chose the Calamari for my starter and it was delicious. The fish is always fresh and well presented and the Chocolate Lava Cake was the perfect ending to our meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT Service and WONDERFUL Food.

Dined on June 4, 2016

I took two friends that were in town visiting me to Roy's and it happened to be Restaurant Week. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived and wanted a cocktail before dinner to the very end of the meal as we drank our Port and enjoyed a wonderful desert. This was our first time at the restaurant and the food was outstanding. This is now one of my favorite places to dine and I will for sure be back with friends.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Glad to See You

Dined on June 2, 2016

We either dine at Roy's or enjoy the bar a couple of times a month. The service is consistently very high. The staff clearly is pleased to welcome you into the property. They have pride in where they work and what the restaurant has to offer -- which is very good.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated 10 years together

Dined on May 31, 2016

We went to Roy's to celebrate 10 years since we first met. Roy's made the occasion even more special, providing us with a specially made card and photo of us. They also gave us a free dessert on top of all of that. The waiter and staff went overboard to be nice and even gave us a $20 gift card to use over the next month at any Roy's. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Noisy

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

The noise level was very loud. We have eaten here several times and this was the first time we have had this issue. Lots of large parties and children added to the noise level.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best Fish in town

Dined on May 29, 2016

Roy's has excellent service and the best fish dishes in town. It also has a great kid's menu since it includes items from the adult's menu but is smaller portions. The restaurant is large enough for groups. It is busy on the weekends so make reservations.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful all around

Dined on May 28, 2016

I went here with a friend to try their sunset special. First of all, our server was wonderful and very accommodating. My friend had mentioned she couldn't eat spicy food and he made sure everything that was served was to her liking. She had the lobster bisque and I had the wedge salad. Both were delicious. For the main course, she had the salmon and I had the dragon shrimp. The food was excellent and the portions were generous. I could not finish the noodles that came with the shrimp. I will definitely be back and I highly recommend Roy's.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the first Roy's ever years an ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We went to the first Roy's ever years and years ago in Lahaina, Maui! It was tiny but I still remember the food....EXCELLENT and something I had never experiences....Hawaiian Fustion. To this day I am so glad there are Roy's in different cities on the mainland and the food is still just as great! We love Roy's for special occasions or when we have out of town guests. When we find out someone in our golf group has never been to Roy's, we make sure to make reservations and we go with them. That's what happened on the 24th of May for my husband's birthday. The other couple thanked us for introducing them to Roy's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!!! Food was delicious... S ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service!!! Food was delicious... Staff were attentive and very welcoming...

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 46th wedding Anniversa ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We celebrated our 46th wedding Anniversary and where delighted with everything. The staff is superior to any equal quality restaurant. We were welcomed by, a most friendly gentleman who valeted your car (complimentary), we were greeted by a warm and friendly hostess who noted our reservation immediately, and served by a professional and pleasant staff. They did make our anniversary celebration very special with a photo and marvelous desert. Don't miss the lobster potstickers to start and the Butterfish and scallops are extroadinary. Thank you Roy and thank you Open Table!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

I took my 20 yr old son to dinner here, ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I took my 20 yr old son to dinner here, we had a very nice dining experience at Roy's.

food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the seared ahi tuna appetizer. And ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved the seared ahi tuna appetizer. And the ribs. And lobster potstickers. And Seafood trio- butterfish in neuter blanc sauce, macademia crusted mahi mahi, salmon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our party of eight enjoyed very personab ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Our party of eight enjoyed very personable service and each one enjoyed Roy's unforgettable dishes. Butterfish and Roy's signature ribs stand out, as always! Thank you!

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

With wonderful and unique restaurants in ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

With wonderful and unique restaurants in this area, I would skip this one. Food was a average at best and the prices ridiculous for what you receive. Service was great, however.

food1
ambience3
service1

The service and food were absolutely una ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The service and food were absolutely unacceptable. We sent back every entree and the second time around was no better. The steak was full of fat the lobster bisque had little to no meat and the meat was like chewing on rubber. The Pad Thai had no flavor and the vegetables tasted like they were frozen We ended up not even eating dinner that evening and it was a Mother's Day celebration. I would NEVER go back. Totally unacceptable for a restaurant of this caliber. And The prices were over the top.

food1
ambience3
service3

Bar table ideal as a walk up with attent ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Bar table ideal as a walk up with attentive service.

food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food was delicious, the re ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

As always the food was delicious, the restaurant is beautiful and the server was attentive & very friendly. The Butterfish and the short rib were so soft and tender that they melt in your mouth.

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Underwhelming and Over-Priced

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The quote that best summed up our experience was - "This is like a Hawaiian Denny's" We were in and out of the restaurant within 40 minutes. It was like they were trying to turn and burn the table as fast as possible. The waiter cared more about in rehearsed presentation than he did making sure he go the order correct. The "recommended" salad looked like something a child would have thrown together. It was one of the poorest culinary experiences we have had in the desert.

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Nice... But....

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall great experience. Servings sizes are quite small for the expensive prices.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Moderate

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Costly even with my $25 coupon. Was told rudely by the waiter that you haven't served bread in 5 years. I would rethink that. Pea pods not sufficient unless you are a bird. Not interested in returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual

Dined on May 6, 2016

WE each had appetizers. The poke was flavorful as were the ribs. One of us had the shrimp teppanyaki and one had the scallops. Both were very good. Service was attentive without being over bearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner while in the desert

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

You can always count on an excellent meal at any of the many Roy's restaurants. The food is well prepared and presented, there is a good variety to choose from and the wait staff is well-trained.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated on time per our reservati ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were seated on time per our reservation, our server, Trinidad, was well versed in the daily specials and was able to answer our questions. He was attentive throughout our meal and followed up throughout to check that we were satisfied with our meal and drink selections.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

the food was terrible, service very annoying,

Dined on April 30, 2016

The wait staff was very phoney and annoying when they stopped by every 2 mins to disturb our conversation. The was under cooked and no flavor. I love Brussel sprouts but these where burnt and had a very bitter taste. My partners salmon was about 4 inches square and very thin. He said the flavor was good but for two Mediocre meal and one mixed drink the bill was $105 Defiantly way way over priced I read poor reviews like this sometimes and I think that person is being to critical, but trust me there are better restaurants for 1/2 the price...I will never eat there again.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.