Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Roy's Rancho Mirage

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Rancho Mirage located across Highway 111 from The River, featuring an exhibition kitchen with an inviting chef's counter and a spacious dining room with three private rooms to accommodate special events of any size.

71959 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 11AM-4PM

Cross Street:
44th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-9044

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet (complementary) & self park

Executive Chef:
Adam Palffy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

We will be open early at 9AM. Join us for a 3-course brunch starting at just $36, or treat Dad to dinner with a special Chef's menu created for the occasion available from 3-CL.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Rancho Mirage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (58)
Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Authentic (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Happy Hour (25)
Casual (23)
Romantic (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Fun (15)
Business Meals (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Healthy (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Modern Decor (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Private Room (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Spicy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 18 hours ago

5/28/2017. Everything was bad at the restaurant from the moment we arrived

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Took some friends here for their lst time and they loved the food, staff, and service. We all will be returning....and soon!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Bad and sooo slow!! Food and service terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I had a Groupon for Roy's. It was a 3 course prix fixe menu for $59. We've been to Roy's several times in the past few years. The food and service are always excellent, and the deal this time couldn't be beat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing staff, food and ambiance! I loved the happy hour and wine selection!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent food and service as always! The only issue is that the tables are very close together and it feels a bit crowded in the main area of the dining room. The booths are best. The Butterfish is my favorite and is always good, I just wish it were a bigger serving size. We come to Roys often and love the food that is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We were in Palm Spring's for a Mom and son's Mother's Day weekend. We made our plan's and ended up going to Tommy Bahama's on Sunday for Mother's Day dinner. What a let down, the worst experience ever and I'll leave it at that. I've never been to a Roy's but we're always in Palm Spring's and Maui and traveling and so we extended our vacation for a day and I made reservation's for Monday night at Roy's. I used open table and left a little note that it was my Mom's make up Mother's Day dinner and we are trying to make it as special as possible. We booked an 8:45pm reservation and asked for a booth (Mom's preference) and we arrived and were promptly sat in a beautiful quiet corner booth. On the table was a beautiful card wishing my mom Debbie Happy Mother's Day. When I made the reservation they called to verify her name and the spelling, and I didn't know why they called for it! I couldn't ask why they needed the spelling cause she was standing right next to me! There were also beautiful orchids on the table around the card. The wait staff all addressed her as Debbie and wished her a Happy Mothers day. The Manager on duty Randy came to the table, wished her a Happy Mothers Day and followed up perfectly. Our waitress was outstanding and went extremely above and beyond with service. The courses, food, delivery of plates, drinks, dessert, everything was absolutely perfectly done. On her dessert plate they delivered it was hand written in chocolate "Happy Mother's Day Debbie". This being our first experience with Roy's we were all blown away. Not only from the very start when the reservation was made on Open Table to the very last moment being one of the last guest out of the restaurant 40 minutes after they closed and we were NEVER treated like they closed! We didn't even know! This review is a Thank You directly to the staff at Palm Springs Roy's.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful Mothers Day dinner ar Roy's. It was very busy and we had some delays in service but it was understandable . The menu and food were really good and we would certainly come back for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We started with the lobster pot stickers. They were excellent. The lobster flavor was just right. We had the Wagyu burger and a sushi roll. Both were top quality and very tasty. The blood orange screwdriver was not too sweet. Good drink.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was great as was the service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We have dined at this location previously. My husband had the pork chop and it was cooked perfectly. I had a fish entrée that had tree different kinds of fish. Each fish was prepared to perfection. We splurged on desert had had their decadent chocolate lava cake!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Fabulous food, presentation - taste. The macadamia nut Mahi Mahi is the bomb!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I go every time in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Thank you! We had an amazing experience and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellant food, great service and fantastic dessert lava cake.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great time. They do an amazing. Job taking care of children. Makes the dinner special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic food, great service from David. The fish was a little over salted but delicious none the less. Amazing that the quality is so high with an absent owner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Nice atmosphere! Small bar but cozy and great bar appetizers.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Disappointing. We looked forward to this restaurant based on Roy's being one of our favorite restaurants in Honolulu. Fur starters they only have sushi rolls, no sashimi or nigiri. The Auntie Lei roll was good. The sake was mediocre for the price. Our mains were again "fine" but not memorable enough to want to return to this Roy's plus the service was minimal at best. Left the restaurant thinking of the great times we always have at the Roy's elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We have been to Roy's on several occasions in several locations. This was the worst ever.
The food was very marginal, service was very slow and not attentive and the place was so loud we could not hear each other. My wife dish had to be sent back. The food was cold. On the second try, the food was hot but the plate was cold. We had a $25 gift certificate and even with that the place was pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Anniversary

Had our 50th there 2 years ago, our 51st last year
Both times we were given photos
This time the printer was broken

Maybe next year

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

This is a hit or miss restaurant. The service is always outstanding but unfortunately the food is not. I've had memorable meals and then when I order the same dishes again, they're not as good. People are very friendly and accommodating. It's very loud so having a conversation can be challenging. The menu is eclectic and the choices are amazing. If only they could follow through on my expectations consistently!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great drinks, excellent food. The atmosphere what a great place for a date. I could actually hear my date.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We love this restaurant!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very good food and excellent service. Quite loud though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Roy's is always a win with the food, service not always. This time service was great. The lobster bisque is so ridiculously good. Pineapple upside down cake worth the 20 minute wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent service experience from the valet through to the table server.
Varied menu
Fabulous martinis
Very tasty food
A tad spendy
Would definitely return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Visiting Palm Springs we have eaten at quite a few Roys but not this one and it was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I have always enjoyed Roy's. However, inspite of great food and service, the bill was a shock. Steak was not one of the best but the fish was perfect! 3 people, no expensive wine and two drinks total the bill with tip was $220. Probably not going back because the price is too darn high. Not worth it for us.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Tuesday is date day with my wife. Roy's is a great place for a date, birthdays are especially fun as they give you desert with a candle and a picture.

The food is very good and a change of pace from most other restaurants and what we make at home.

As the bar seating was full the hostess offered a wait list or a "side room" that was an enclosed patio which worked was fine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food was outstanding, service was slow but we were not in a hurry so it was ok.
We celebrated 2 Birthdays and the waitress made sure it was special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always good, a little noisy but food is excellent!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We love the food and service. Butterfish is amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We went to celebrate our friends' 1st wedding anniversary. The service was fantastic, the wait staff was friendly. The food was yummy. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our first time at Roy's turned out to be a great dining experience. Great suggestions were made by our server and we were not disappointed. The mai tai and martinis cocktails were very good!
We had the lobster potstickers for appetizers , they were delicious. For our main course we had the two entrees special: butter fish and braised short ribs. Cooked to perfection and served hot. We loved it all !
For dessert we shared the Lava Cake- chocolate cake with hot chocolate sauce inside with raspberry sauce and vanilla ice cream. We'll be coming back to ROY'S.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great hidden Happy Hour gem. Originally planned to go for dinner but saw the happy hour menu and decided to try it. So glad we did for the fraction of what would have cost our family of 4 we ate like Kings for less than the cost of one dinner meal.
Amazing ribs. The Mac and cheese was very tasty as well.
Lots of variety in the alcohol as well as food.
Free valet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Outrageous they added 1 scallop to a
$34 entree and charged an additional $10
For it. Much better restaurants in area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fabulous food and service! A little noisy when restaurant is full. Otherwise a perfect experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 12, 2017

A long time favorite that never disappoints. Our server David was entertaining and efficient and loves his job. The food was extraordinary as usual, many choices, something for everyone. We always put Roys on the must visit list when we are in the desert.

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.