Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

About Roy's Orlando

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite your join us at Roy's Orlando located on Sand Lake Road at Dr. Phillips Boulevard, featuring Roy's signature exhibition kitchen and two private rooms that can accommodate up to 55 guests.

7760 W. Sand Lake Road
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Dr Phillips Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 352-4844

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Bus Parking Welcome

Executive Chef:
Mac Lynch

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Business Meals (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Groups (22)
Romantic (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Healthy (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Seasonal (8)
Authentic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Cozy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vegan (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, Roy's delivers an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Celebrated our daughters 25th Birthday. There were (6) of us including the birthday girl.

First off the myself and our 10 year old ordered the exact same meal the Pork Porterhouse.

He received a pork chop rib cut and I received a porterhouse cut, same price. Confronted the serving waitress who sent over the manager who played stupid and took what was left on each plate for the meat was over cooked to show the chef. She played stupid as well. CUSTOMERS BEWARE !!!!!

My wife ordered the filet and lobster tail and her filet was raw! Sent it back but by the time it came out we had it packaged to go.

The manager comped two desserts which should've been given for free for they were tasteless and dry, not like years past.

Average cost per person with tip about $75.

We've eaten at some of the best restaurants and this one will be on the bottom of the list, long story short "We won't be back".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Was called after dinner and manager suggested I failed to pay my check. Their staff was so lazy they picked up the checkbook without looking on the table where my check was left! The beef was tough, dry and stringy! I'll never eat at another Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were super excited to try Roy's for Easter but we're very disappointed - the food was very average - the filet was tough, the butterfish was swimming in a sweet glaze sauce and the lobster bisque was Luke warm. For three people with a few cocktails out bill was $250 completely not worth it - we will hit Ruth's Chris or Eddie Vs next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have been to roys many times. At first I could not make out what was wrong. The ambiance was not right and service level was not up to par. We left the restaurant with the feeling not gonna go back there. On the way home we googled roys and found it has been sold to Applebee's. Now I get it . No thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was my first time dining at Roy's and I enjoyed it from start to finish and all between! The ambiance was very nice our server pleasant and the food was excellent. The restaurant manager stopped by our table and greeted us which was very nice😊 I'll definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Really disappointed. Food came out cold. My food had to go back and therefore I ate at different times. Waiter mixed up dessert. So dishes came out at different times again. Chocolate soufflé I ordered had collapsed. This was for my birthday. On other special occasions Roys made it special. This time they did not. Standards I have been used to at Roys have really lowered. I am now considering whether to ever return again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It seems as Roy's increases their menu prices the quality of food and service decrease. Upon our entry the hostess came to the stand and initially didn't even knowledge us standing at the entrance. She reviewed whatever was on her computer screen and made a couple clicks and then said "Oh, hi. Do you have a reservation?". It was kind of insulting since she saw us standing at the host stand PRIOR to her walking towards it. Our waitress lacked fine dinning skills and came off as trashy. She also rushed our meal even after we asked for it to be a slow relaxing night ie: please don't rush us. She got us in the door and fed us 3 courses and sent us on our way within an hour! Don't blame me for ordering desert, the waitress overheard our conversation about our plans for something sweet and brought it out without asking. Which on the one hand was thoughtful and on the other hand we were not looking to be rushed and were not given choice... My beef short ribs lacked flavor entirely and the portion of potatoes and broccolinni was negligible. I expect better from Roys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This place accommodated our party with a VIP guest and took extra good care of us. Lobster bisque is not good don't order it. The appetizers were amazing! A platter of mixed things including ribs .... so very good. Everyone at our table enjoyed their meal. My friend had the filet , WOW, best he ever had! I tasted it and wished I got it! It was soooooo good! Desserts are also excellent order an array to share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We love Roy's. They make you feel very special and we have never had a less than stellar experience there. Will continue to visit Roys.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 12, 2017

My wagyu burger was great, as was my friend's salmon. We were apparently lucky that the server knew how to make drinks, because there was no bartender. The experience was much less than we've experienced in the past.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food was quite good, and I am thrilled that Roy's has now started to serve lunch. The problem was that our lunch plates (new concept at Roy's - includes a salad, soup, entree and a couple of cookies) sat under the heat lamp for well over 10 minutes. Finally, we got the server's attention and she hustled over and brought the dishes to us. Unfortunately, the salad was quite wilted under the heat lamp. I wish the server was more attentive or had a way to know when the food was ready.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Tried the Chef's Tasting menu. The appetizers and entree were delicious. The dessert could have been better. It was a little hard to eat. The salmon was one of the best I have eaten. The pork chops were a double chop - large portion. The service was good - but not great. Drinks were not refilled in a timely manner. Plates were not cleared in a timely fashion. But otherwise - very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food and service were typical for Roy's... the Orlando location. Lose level for tables in the large back room didn't allow for any conversation... sad as I was with my boy one on one during a trip to the area. The ambiance in Maui and Costa Mesa much preferred.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fabulous pineapple infused martini with their incredible calamari appetizer. The butterfish was phenomenal! Love to visit Roy's whenever we are in town-the food,drink & atmosphere always the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Good restaurant. It's frustrating not to have Hawaiian food in town. This was a great place and the food was very good. I was hoping for a little more traditional Hawaiian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Strangely, our waiter never came back after serving our appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great lunch options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food and service were outstanding as usual!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Not good. We asked for a quiet table and we were give maybe the worst table in the restaurant - next to the kitchen door in the traffic pattern of all the wait staff - at the corner with a bright light shining on part of our table. Our waiter was cocky. My fathers jumbo prawn meal was not edible. It was very tough and the flavor was bad with the vein in it. We informed the waiter and he ignored the information. He cleared the plate and showed NO curiosity about the fact that the food was bad. NONE. UNTIL AFTER HE RANG UP AND PRESENTED THE BILL. What a jerk! Then he asked my Dad what was wrong with the shrimp. It should have been removed from the bill. It was uneaten. Then he BLAMED MY FATHER by saying: you should have informed me sooner. We had informed him during the meal and when he cleared the plate and he ignored it. This was really really bad service. I had the butterfish and so did my mother. We both noticed a fishy taste. I NEVER had a fishy flavor in the butterfish at ROY's before - never. The bok choy used to be more delicate, with some placed on top of the fish, and there was a skinny little carrot served with it - which seemed strange. Between the awful table (we never should have accepted this table - nobody should be given this table), the inedible prawns, the fishy butterfish, the awful waiter - Timothy B. - it was an awful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We have eaten all around Orlando and this is by far my favorite place. Great food- perfect service! We visit Orlando every year on business and always try to eat at Roys. Even love the Roys in SanDiego!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Loved the restaurant. Food fab service the best. Very different choices

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Just very poor overall. Had requested a booth but one wasn't available, which wasn't a big deal. We asked however to be sat towards the edges of the restaurant and especially somewhere quiet. Despite this request we were sandwiched in between two large groups of very loud people, and the rest of the restaurant was 2/3rds empty!

The waiter was clueless about the menu. We asked the difference between a couple of sushi items and his reply was "they have different ingredients". When asked how I would like my pork prepared, I said I would go with what the chef recommended, only to be told medium or medium well was my choices and I had to choose.

On top of that the food itself was severely lacking. Sushi roll was poorly made, with barely half the ingredients that was listed on the menu. The starter of filet beef and chicken satay skews was like chewing on old leather and barely warm.

To top the experience off, I was violently ill when I got home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My husband and I went to Roys in Hawaii for our Honeymoon and had the most fabulous dinner with the best service - so when we heard there was one where we lived in Orlando we had to go for our anniversary. From the moment we arrived the entire staff was so accommodating and polite, the food is absolutely fantastic and fresh with Hawaiian fish flow in daily,the ambiance is great - just everything from the moment we arrived with a card and flowers on our table for our anniversary, to the moment we left was incredible. Our server was Michael O, he is THE BEST! We can't wait to go back to Roys Orlando soon, one of the best restaurants in town!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent dinner. Always a great place for a meal that's on the lighter side.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I had a 7pm reservation but was told that others were ahead of me when I arrived. They made us wait and had plenty of tables available. I did not like that. The food was awesome and always is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We were visiting Universal. The food was excellent. We tried the tasting appetizer which was big enough for a meal for two. We each ordered fish which was prepared to perfection. The waiter was very accommodating to special dietary needs. Would highly recommend over eating within Universal. The food is much healthier, tastier, and priced much more reasonably.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great service and food was good. Fish dishes were excellent. Steak came out well done (more done than ordered) after server advised they cooked steaks on the rare side. They were quick to replace and made accommodations for the inconvenience.

Was told you could wear shorts, etc, but was definitely more upscale with that. Lots of business people in for dinner. I would say at least very nice casual dress.

Valet parking was free with tip. Be careful of being accosted by kids in the parking lot (strip mall type setting) trying to sell you things.

Would go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I thought the food was just average. The service and ambience were quit good. But very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 17, 2017

never a disappointment for any occasionthis occasion with no exception excellent selection of food adjusted by the way sampling of all of the finest Fish. Prepared perfectly as Usual

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Service was superb -- excellent in every respect. Drinks are pricey unless you're in the bar for happy hour, but they are very good. Same with wines. The cuisine is fresh and inventive. Our favorites include pineapple upside down cake, butterfish, lobster California roll, lobster potstickers and the poke bowl, among many others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Never a disappointment!! Just wish there was one in Michigan!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Clint was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Because the service was so slow and bad, we left before our drinks were even served. I suspect the food would have been good, as shown above, but we never ate anything since we left early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food AND service. Nice decor and very welcoming!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We've been to Roy's in several locations and have always left happy. Except this time. Flavors were good, the cocktails were excellent, but the prix fixe salmon salad was mushy and mine had something hard in the greens that got stuck in my teeth. I had the steak, and the flavor was good. The meat was full of sinew and other undesirable inedibles. He had the cod, and it was done perfectly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Shrimp was like rubber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Been a long-time diner at this Orlando outpost of the chain. Unfortunately, the portions have become smaller, prices higher, and food quality and preparation have been better. Possibly why I have received many gift coupons and discounts in the past couple of months. Service is always good though, but while this used to be a favorite spot for family and friends dining, it no longer will be. Too many other high-end spots which are better and provide much more value.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The service is almost always excellent. Mark and James do an amazing job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.