About Roy's Orlando

7760 W. Sand Lake Road
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite your join us at Roy's Orlando located on Sand Lake Road at Dr. Phillips Boulevard, featuring Roy's signature exhibition kitchen and two private rooms that can accommodate up to 55 guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Dr Phillips Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 352-4844

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Bus Parking Welcome

Executive Chef:
Mac Lynch

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Orlando
Roy's Orlando
Roy's Orlando
Roy's Orlando
Roy's Orlando
Roy's Orlando
Roy's Orlando
Roy's Orlando
Roy's Orlando
Aloha Hour Ebi Roll
Pineapple Upside Down Cake
Roy's Melting Chocolate Souffle
Misoyaki Butter Fish
Braised Ribs
Roy's Canoe Appetizer For Two
Deep Fried Oysters
Flourless Chocolate Soufflé
Szechuan Grilled Beef Tenderloin Skewers; Upside Down Pineapple Cake; Melting Hot Chocolate Soufflé
Wagyu Beef Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries; Crunchy Golden Lobster Potstickers
Lobster California Roll; Salt & Pepper Crisped Calamari; Tempura Crusted Spicy Ahi Roll
Beef Short Rib Tacos
Crispy "Kung Pao" Calamari
Lakanilau Yamaguchi Roll
Hibachi Style Grilled Salmon
Roy's Trio Hibachi Salmon, Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi & Misoyaki Butterfish (Mixed Plates)
Happy Anniversary Chocolate Motlen Cake
Pork Shank
Elderflower And Sparkling Wine Cocktail

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Orlando / Central Florida East
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Orlando / Central Florida East
Seafood
Orlando
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Orlando
Best Restaurants in I Drive / Sand Lake ›

Fit for Foodies (31)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Romantic (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The staff at Roy's never disappoints. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 3 days ago

The staff at Roy's never disappoints. Love this place and we tend to visit Roy's as much as we can.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edamame was very flavorful and service w ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 3 days ago

Edamame was very flavorful and service was very attentive. Unfortunately, food just looked and tasted a little uninspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Amazing! The food was great and the serv ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing! The food was great and the servers were very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was such a disappointing visit to R ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was such a disappointing visit to Roy's. It will probably be our last! While on a business trip to Florida and went out of our way to eat at Roy's.We first discovered Roy's on a trip to Hawaii about 15 years ago. It was truly the best meal and dinning experience we had ever had. We were lucky enough to come across Roy's again in Las Vegas and always made reservations when we visited there. We were fortunate to discover Roy's in Atl GA where we live and dined there very often until they closed around 2009. We never had a bad meal or experience at any of the Roy's we had eaten at until this last visit. We started off with "Sushi". The Sunrise at Haleakala Roll which was Tuna,Yellowtail,Salmon, Avocado and Crispy Asparagus. The whole "roll" was rolled in a coating and deep fried. The coating and deep frying was so overpowering that you could not taste any of the sushi in the center. We were also surprised that they did not have any traditional sushi. The few you could choose from where all cooked in some way. For the main course I had the Misoyaki “Butterfish” which was Alaskan Black Cod,Baby Bok Choy & Furikake Rice. This was definitely not the same Butterfish dish that I always ordered and actually would try to seek out at other restaurants that serve fish. I should have asked why Butterfish was in quotes. It was covered in a sweet sauce that was overwhelming. The rice was bland and added nothing to the dish. My husband had Roy’s Trio which was Hibachi Grilled Salmon, Misoyaki “Butterfish”& Roasted Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi.The grilled salmon was swimming in a sauce that tasted similar to a teriyaki sauce and the salmon had a previously frozen taste to it.The Butterfish was like mine in a sweet sauce.The Mahi Mahi was the only decent part of the meal.it.The only thing going for this Roy's is the service. The waitstaff was beyond excellent. Other than that it is a nondescript restaurant located in a shopping mall with no views and unremarkable interior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

The food was outstanding, I have ate at ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food was outstanding, I have ate at this location and the service and food has been great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's is newly open for lunch and I woul ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Roy's is newly open for lunch and I would not recommend. Menu is very small and we were told there is little flexibility because the kitchen is busy prepping for dinner. There was a table card which included a photo of the current special. We tried to order and was told it was just for dinner. So, why have the card on the table at lunch? Service was extremely slow and there was only one other table in the dining room. Something as simple as drink refills required flagging down the server. I have had good dinner experiences at Roy's but lunch with my client was so disappointing I felt compelled to apologize to my clients. ADVICE : DO LUNCH RIGHT OR JUST DON'T DO IT AT ALL. This experience lost you a recurring dinner customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

overpriced limited menu nothing to justi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

overpriced limited menu nothing to justify the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

As always, delicious food and great serv ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

As always, delicious food and great service! I was very pleased to see the kungpao calamari back on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an amazing experience. I proposed ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was an amazing experience. I proposed to my girlfriend and it was supposed to happen in Tampa. With last minute changes, she chose to travel to Orlando very early. With little notice, our waiter prepared everything for us, to include an amazing desert. Service was great and they help put everything together with little notice. She also said yes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Haven't been to Roy's in a while and are ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Haven't been to Roy's in a while and aren't likely to return real soon. Food was delivered out of order...we ended up getting our appetizer after the entree. There is so much great competition on Restaurant Row on Sand Lake Road, I'm afraid Roy's is not keeping pace.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

been to Roys a few times on the west coa ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

been to Roys a few times on the west coast Looked forward to this dinner. It was ok...not great. The spice they use on almost everything is the same so after aps and main course, you are over it all ready. The lobster tail was exceptional bt grilled shrimp and fish were spiced the same so it took away from the overall flavour

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

always great service and food excellent ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

always great service and food excellent recommend the butter fish

\

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chris, the bartender, makes the BEST man ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Chris, the bartender, makes the BEST mango mohitos and Hawaiian martinis! He's a cordial, fun person!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food (try the calamari); good serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food (try the calamari); good service; only complaint...very noisy

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing fish and fantastic service. They ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing fish and fantastic service. They have some of the best overall food on Sand Lake and every staff member is excellent. The servers are on point, knowledgeable, and overall friendly and attentive. Very hard to top Roy's

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service & personal. High ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food, service & personal. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and service. Our server, Cl ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great meal and service. Our server, Clint, was quite attentive. He actually remembered my wife's allergy from our previous dining experience there. It was several months ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've eaten at Roy's before, first in Haw ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I've eaten at Roy's before, first in Hawaii. This Roy's was not up to that initial standard. The range of fish offered and preparations was too limited. The signature dish entree (an asian butterfish? cod) was dry and overpowered with the marinade flavor. The halibut feature was bland and dull. This restaurant did not have any large round tables for our party of 8 and the noise suppression was poor in the restaurant. As a result, only groups of 4 adjacent to one another at our table could hear one another. There is much to address and I hope this Hawaiian birthed classic gets overhauled to its brand standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Wonderful experience all around. Will de ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Wonderful experience all around. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice, quiet atmosphere, food was good. H ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Nice, quiet atmosphere, food was good. Have a toy chest for kids to play with toys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This Roy's and every Roy's we've been to ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This Roy's and every Roy's we've been to has been exceptional. The ambiance, the food, the service, the entire experience - always a pleasure. They make you feel like family. AMAZING!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in the menu changes an ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very disappointed in the menu changes and food quality...seems to have moved to a more processed approach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious! Really enjoyed the pineapple ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Delicious! Really enjoyed the pineapple upside down cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Portion size was small based on what we ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Portion size was small based on what we paid. My total entree plate was less than 2 oz I've worked in f&b for many years and typically you want 4-6 oz

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very pleasant experience. We both enjoye ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Very pleasant experience. We both enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's never disappoints. Excellent servi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Roy's never disappoints. Excellent service, excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a little lax as compared to ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Service was a little lax as compared to other visits. VERY noisy. Need some sound attenuation! This is a consistent issue every time I go. By the middle of the meal I am anxious to leave. Can't even hear my wife speak to me across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

The Food was perfect, and the service wa ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The Food was perfect, and the service was great. We will return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great evening at Roy's. The foo ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a great evening at Roy's. The food is stellar and the service is always top notch. I would highly recommend! They have after 9:00 happy hour pricing on many of the appetizers and drinks. The atmosphere has a sophisticated vibe but with plenty of energy. Definitely a go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what it used to be.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I received a promotion in the mail and decided to go. We haven't been to Roy's in about 2 years, but we used to love it. Overall we felt that dining experience was just OK. Our souffle was already cracked when it got to the table, and our ice cream had chunks of ice in it. The rest of our food was fine, but not necessarily worth the money. Our server made good recommendations, but he was a bit over the top and literally too hands-on. The ambiance just wasn't as nice as we remember it being. With all of the other nice restaurants in town around the same price point, we most likely will not be returning to Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Wonderful experience for my wife's birth ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful experience for my wife's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fantastic as always! By far, my favorit ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Fantastic as always! By far, my favorite restaurant (in Orlando and Hawaii)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening at Roy's

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great service from the moment we walked in. We were dining with our son (10) and everyone from the hostess to the bartender went out of their way to talk to him. Wait service was also fantastic. Food was fresh, unique and different Hawaiian Fusion. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy's is a classic and evolving Asian Fu ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Roy's is a classic and evolving Asian Fusion venue which just never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Whole staff was fabulous!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Whole staff was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect!

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Dinner was outstanding--absolutely delicious. All had seafood and all were totally satisfied. Service was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server asked us if we wanted dessert ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Our server asked us if we wanted dessert immediately after setting down our plates for dinner. It was embarrassing and we were disappointed, especially given our experience at other locations.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The food is excellent - however, the se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food is excellent - however, the server was a big busy body constantly interrupting our conversation. She was either rearranging our cutlery or topping up glasses when not needed. As it was a business meal - this was highly annoying.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

We are from Maryland on our 1st wedding ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We are from Maryland on our 1st wedding anniversary. We visit Roy's near the inner harbor in Bal. But by far this Roy's was head above. The staff was attentive and the food and portions were great! N

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always great here...just the ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food is always great here...just the service and speed of the food was quite slow on this particular day, but the manager accommodated us with dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.