About Roy's Orlando

7760 W. Sand Lake Road
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite your join us at Roy's Orlando located on Sand Lake Road at Dr. Phillips Boulevard, featuring Roy's signature exhibition kitchen and two private rooms that can accommodate up to 55 guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Dr Phillips Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 352-4844

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Bus Parking Welcome

Executive Chef:
Mac Lynch

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Aloha Hour Ebi Roll - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Pineapple Upside Down Cake - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Roy's Melting Chocolate Souffle - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Misoyaki Butter Fish - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Braised Ribs - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Roy's Canoe Appetizer For Two - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Deep Fried Oysters - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Flourless Chocolate Soufflé - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Szechuan Grilled Beef Tenderloin Skewers; Upside Down Pineapple Cake; Melting Hot Chocolate Soufflé - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Wagyu Beef Sliders W/ Sweet Potato Fries; Crunchy Golden Lobster Potstickers  - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Lobster California Roll; Salt & Pepper Crisped Calamari; Tempura Crusted Spicy Ahi Roll - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Beef Short Rib Tacos - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Crispy "Kung Pao" Calamari  - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Lakanilau Yamaguchi Roll - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Hibachi Style Grilled Salmon  - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Roy's Trio Hibachi Salmon, Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi & Misoyaki Butterfish (Mixed Plates)  - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Happy Anniversary Chocolate Motlen Cake - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Pork Shank - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL
Elderflower And Sparkling Wine Cocktail - Roy's Orlando, Orlando, FL

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
See All
Business Meals (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Romantic (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Healthy (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Fun (8)
Authentic (8)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Seasonal (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Miso soup was very salty.

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined a day ago

Miso soup was very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

This restaurant needs a remodel, totally ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant needs a remodel, totally outdated with Hawaii photos that are as old as me!!

Food was OK, sever very good!+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent service and food. Desserts we ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and food. Desserts we awesome- pineapple upside down cake, we had 2

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Noisy, pedestrian feel. Snapper was very ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Noisy, pedestrian feel. Snapper was very fishy tasting. None of the seafood is as wild all farm raised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Service was great, atmosphere certainly ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Service was great, atmosphere certainly not as good as we are used to for Roy's.

Tempura Sushi roll had good flavor but hard to find the tuna, potstickers okay.

Macadamia nut mahi-mahi did not taste fresh and had almost no nuts.

We would not return to this location, better choices abound in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Noise level was very high and could not ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Noise level was very high and could not talk or enjoy the company at our table.

Food was great and service was as good as could be expected based on how busy they were the evening we dined at Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Great food and high quality service. Ve ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food and high quality service.

Very loud for good conversation. Had to tell to talk across the table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked a 7:30pm reservation, did not get ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Booked a 7:30pm reservation, did not get seated until 8:45pm, appetizer did not get served until 9:30pm, and main entree not until 10:30pm! This restaurant was managed poorly and not worth the hassle when it's busy, which is too bad because the food was decent. Other steakhouses that I went to dinner at after the convention center was not like this at all when they are busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Awful service. Had a reservation but the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Awful service. Had a reservation but the hostess lied to us 3 times about our table. We waited another 45 minutes. Manager incompetent to manage busy night. Waiters sweating into food and appetizers were served cold. Awful all around and they new it, just didn't want to address or try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Always the best Hawaiian-style cuisine. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always the best Hawaiian-style cuisine. Try the Poke. Pineapple upside down cake also exceptional. Superior service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's has always been one of my family f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Roy's has always been one of my family favorites. Great food and fair pricing. Wasn't particularly fond of what I ordered but everyone else's dishes were tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Very accommodating to my daughters glute ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very accommodating to my daughters gluten free dinner requests. Great service and delicious dishes !! I loved my seafood dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was awesome!! Our server made g ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was awesome!! Our server made great suggestions!! The server and her assistant were on point!! The ambience of the restaurant was great!! Only complaint would be, I could hear the music from the kitchen at my table over the restaurant music.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Roy's. I love their signature Ha ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I love Roy's. I love their signature Hawaiian martini. I LOVE their Ahi Tuna. It is like butter. Also great sushi. And their chocolate molten cake is a nice endibg

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

VERY DISAPPOINTING!! My husband has been ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 5, 2017

VERY DISAPPOINTING!! My husband has been wanting to try out Roy's for a while now so I decided to surprise him and take him for his birthday. First, the place was completely empty when we walked in for lunch. The hostess was very friendly and so was the waiter. The problem: for the price, we received an EXTREMELY small amount of food. We looked at our plates and laughed out loud. My husband ate very slowly. His salmon was hot but the sauce on top was cold. My rice was extremely hard and crunchy. When we left, we had to get a snack because we were still very hungry and we are not large people. Overall, we were EXTREMELY disappointed with the taste of the food, as well as the price for the amount of food we received. We will never revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Butterfish was too sweet. Seared tuna w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Butterfish was too sweet. Seared tuna was good. Macadamia mahi was awesome. I would only get that next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and great tasting food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent service and great tasting food with great ambiance!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Outstanding service. Noise i ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food. Outstanding service. Noise is a little high from the bar area so try to get a table away from that area if you want a quite meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

👍🏾👍🏾 I give it two thumbs up!!!!!!

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

👍🏾👍🏾 I give it two thumbs up!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress a bit impatient when describing ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Waitress a bit impatient when describing the specials of the night, otherwise all was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice place, with polite waiters and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very nice place, with polite waiters and beautiful dishes presentation. I will certainly come back here with family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All in all a very good experience.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

All in all a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The restaurant was beautiful and the two ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful and the two young men that cleared the table and refilled the water were delightful! The server was friendly and very knowledgeable however, he didn't appear to like the idea of working on Christmas .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Always a great outing to Roy's. Awesome ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a great outing to Roy's. Awesome service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very disappointed. Taste of main course ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very disappointed. Taste of main course "chop pork" was salty and we had to wait for 40 minutes to get dessert, 40 minutes??? Granted it was X-mas eve, busier than usual, but then with their reputation, they should handle service easily, don't you think so?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Used to be my my #1 choice - for many ye ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Used to be my my #1 choice - for many years - but now I cannot recommend Roy's. Prices have gone up but portions have gotten smaller [or even removed entirely]. Nearly everything that gave Roy's its Hawaiian atmosphere is gone; now it's not much more than a large, uninviting cafe. And to top it all off, the very fine service has been replaced by yelling staff. Whoever it was that first suggested "What this place needs is more yelling at small tables of diners" should be banned from dining out for life. With the ridiculous yelling [at a table for 2; merely inches away from the server!] Roy's has gone from [nearly] fine dining to a level more akin to a bowling alley - but at a much higher price.

They even changed their signature chocolate souffle - if that's what you're going for [and you've had it before] you will be greatly disappointed.

Sad; it used to be great, even nearly perfect. Now I doubt we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Not the restaurant it used to be! Porti ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Not the restaurant it used to be! Portions are smaller and quality is getting worse. We used to be regulars, but it's sad to see what it's becoming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Roy's food is out of this world. The M ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Roy's food is out of this world. The Mahi-Mahi is truly the best thing we've eaten in a long time. It's a bit pricey but

Worth every penny

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good service and food as we have come to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good service and food as we have come to expect from Roy's. Our server Daniel was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience. Delicious! My wife ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent experience. Delicious! My wife and me love ROYS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a reservation at 11 , when I arriv ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I had a reservation at 11 , when I arrived , there was no host . I waited for almost 5 mins and then a server came over and seater me . Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Fish entrees were over-cooked.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Fish entrees were over-cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Dave our server was wonderful ... Took s ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dave our server was wonderful ... Took such care of us he is a treasure.. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

12 year anniversary and the staff took g ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 3, 2016

12 year anniversary and the staff took great care of us. Apps and dessert were excellent. Short Rib was a touch Salty but overall and excellent experience.

Will be back agin very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

In town for the weekend and have been to ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 3, 2016

In town for the weekend and have been to Roy's at other locations. Menu has a good selection of seafood - Roy's standards. Highly recommend the andouille sausage crusted red snapper and definitely have to do the souffle.

Service was good, the waitstaff rotates and everyone keeps an eye on your table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Roy's is always a consistent performer w ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Roy's is always a consistent performer with very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I recommend Roy's on Sand Lake Rd in Orl ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I recommend Roy's on Sand Lake Rd in Orlando

Creative cocktails, good prix fixe menu, good wine list, friendly staff

taste the food, the side dish may be over salted

Get there early for a booth

New: have to ask for edamami .. not automatic, but came out just right, not oversalted

The veg side under the osso bucco was good texture but very salty

Our waitress cherfully asked whether she could correct it .. a nice touch although we did not take advantage of it .. hard to re-do a large batch of veggies

(guess the sous chef thought everyone dumps a ton of salt on dishes

without tasting it first)

Still, we like Roy's and we'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

attentive wait staff, good ambiance, foo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 17, 2016

attentive wait staff, good ambiance, food temp was perfect.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

For the price the food was horrible, the ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 10, 2016

For the price the food was horrible, the pork stuff right with crab cakes, was tough and no pork taste, just tasted like crab. Soup was watery, shrimp dish was terrible. The best was the dessert, chocolate souffle. Will not return. Over priced.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.