Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

About Roy's Orlando

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite your join us at Roy's Orlando located on Sand Lake Road at Dr. Phillips Boulevard, featuring Roy's signature exhibition kitchen and two private rooms that can accommodate up to 55 guests.

7760 W. Sand Lake Road
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Dr Phillips Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 352-4844

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Bus Parking Welcome

Executive Chef:
Mac Lynch

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Delight in Easter brunch at Roy's. We will be open early at 9AM offering a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Treat dad to a brunch he'll love! Roy's will be open early on Father's Day with a very special 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Business Meals (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Romantic (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Open Kitchen (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Healthy (15)
Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Cozy (5)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined a day ago

Just very poor overall. Had requested a booth but one wasn't available, which wasn't a big deal. We asked however to be sat towards the edges of the restaurant and especially somewhere quiet. Despite this request we were sandwiched in between two large groups of very loud people, and the rest of the restaurant was 2/3rds empty!

The waiter was clueless about the menu. We asked the difference between a couple of sushi items and his reply was "they have different ingredients". When asked how I would like my pork prepared, I said I would go with what the chef recommended, only to be told medium or medium well was my choices and I had to choose.

On top of that the food itself was severely lacking. Sushi roll was poorly made, with barely half the ingredients that was listed on the menu. The starter of filet beef and chicken satay skews was like chewing on old leather and barely warm.

To top the experience off, I was violently ill when I got home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (West Virginia)·Dined 2 days ago

My husband and I went to Roys in Hawaii for our Honeymoon and had the most fabulous dinner with the best service - so when we heard there was one where we lived in Orlando we had to go for our anniversary. From the moment we arrived the entire staff was so accommodating and polite, the food is absolutely fantastic and fresh with Hawaiian fish flow in daily,the ambiance is great - just everything from the moment we arrived with a card and flowers on our table for our anniversary, to the moment we left was incredible. Our server was Michael O, he is THE BEST! We can't wait to go back to Roys Orlando soon, one of the best restaurants in town!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

I had a 7pm reservation but was told that others were ahead of me when I arrived. They made us wait and had plenty of tables available. I did not like that. The food was awesome and always is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

We were visiting Universal. The food was excellent. We tried the tasting appetizer which was big enough for a meal for two. We each ordered fish which was prepared to perfection. The waiter was very accommodating to special dietary needs. Would highly recommend over eating in the park. The food is much healthier, tastier, and priced much more reasonably.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and food was good. Fish dishes were excellent. Steak came out well done (more done than ordered) after server advised they cooked steaks on the rare side. They were quick to replace and made accommodations for the inconvenience.

Was told you could wear shorts, etc, but was definitely more upscale with that. Lots of business people in for dinner. I would say at least very nice casual dress.

Valet parking was free with tip. Be careful of being accosted by kids in the parking lot (strip mall type setting) trying to sell you things.

Would go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I thought the food was just average. The service and ambience were quit good. But very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 17, 2017

never a disappointment for any occasionthis occasion with no exception excellent selection of food adjusted by the way sampling of all of the finest Fish. Prepared perfectly as Usual

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Service was superb -- excellent in every respect. Drinks are pricey unless you're in the bar for happy hour, but they are very good. Same with wines. The cuisine is fresh and inventive. Our favorites include pineapple upside down cake, butterfish, lobster California roll, lobster potstickers and the poke bowl, among many others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Never a disappointment!! Just wish there was one in Michigan!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Clint was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Because the service was so slow and bad, we left before our drinks were even served. I suspect the food would have been good, as shown above, but we never ate anything since we left early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food AND service. Nice decor and very welcoming!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We've been to Roy's in several locations and have always left happy. Except this time. Flavors were good, the cocktails were excellent, but the prix fixe salmon salad was mushy and mine had something hard in the greens that got stuck in my teeth. I had the steak, and the flavor was good. The meat was full of sinew and other undesirable inedibles. He had the cod, and it was done perfectly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Shrimp was like rubber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Been a long-time diner at this Orlando outpost of the chain. Unfortunately, the portions have become smaller, prices higher, and food quality and preparation have been better. Possibly why I have received many gift coupons and discounts in the past couple of months. Service is always good though, but while this used to be a favorite spot for family and friends dining, it no longer will be. Too many other high-end spots which are better and provide much more value.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The service is almost always excellent. Mark and James do an amazing job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love this restaurant. Great service and food. Always try to do dinner at this site when in town.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Definitely not the level of other Roy's we have been to. Food was fine and our waitress was very nice, but the location, atmosphere, ambiance, decor were dark and dated. We ordered edamame from the server who brought our entrees, and it never came. I would not go back but in that part of Orlando, choices are limited.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always consistently good food. We love it. Great wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We met our out-of-town adult son for dinner last Friday evening after his 3hr drive. We had a drink in the bar & the restaurant was getting "slammed" with local convention crowds. We were seated, ordered drinks, an appetizer & our dinner. The appetizer arrived, & we waited about one hour for our meal. We noticed the wait staff was looking for their deliveries at the kitchen pickup & we were starting to recognize how long it had been....but before we could even ask what was wrong, the Manager, Mark, came to our table & explained the deluge of people who arrived at one time, causing a backup in service.
We were totally impressed because Mark acted before we could question our waitress - his explanation & solution was "above & beyond"! We were so impressed with the proactive management of a tough situation, we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We sat in the back of the restaurant. That area is beyond loud! Very hard to hear others speaking right next to you and at the table. Every time we are deciding where to go to eat, my husband mentions Roy's and I remind him of the excessive loudness...so loud that your ears hurt after leaving. Definitely need to request seating toward the front of the restaurant. Wish they would redesign that area or add some kind of noise buffers.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The roll with waygu and blur crab was amazing. Macademia crusted mahi was excellent, and the bacon truffle Mac and cheese was delicious. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great unique food. Outstanding service !!!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 28, 2017

David was an amazing server and was very knowledgeable about the entire menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 28, 2017

This is must visit restaurant to eat at in Orlando. The service is outstanding and the manager is very attentive to the patron's needs. Let Roy's of Orlando take you through an absolutely wonderful culinary journey. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The ambience is so loud, the food is not good e overpriced. I wouldn't recommend .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Disappointing , especially since it used to be a favorite. Small wine pour. Barely any sauce. Fishy taste on one piece of butterfish. Rice was dried out and crusty- like it had been refrigerated and reheated. Lobster over cooked Won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place! Our server and the food was awesome. I will go back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Roy's was recommended by one of clients. We had 8 people for a business dinner and the noise was much too high to talk between the table. The service was ok and the food was ok but the cost was high. The butterfish was very good but the tuna varied by person. We were a bit disappointed because it was very highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

If you have any allergies, be meticulously specific with your server about what is served with your meal and what is in it or how it is prepared. Their menu online is more specific than the menu provided in person. Plus, your meal includes a carb and vegetable, despite not being indicated on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The restaurant is too loud and the cliental were over the top rude, loud and obnoxious . Very hard to enjoy dinner and conversation. Food was fine, a bit pricey. Our server was very good.

Don't think we will try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Front of the house unorganized. I arrived and was asked to wait while tables were prepared. Once called the hostess asked us to wait once more while standing next to a cold draft coming through the private dining room door. After minutes went by I sat down again. When called again the hostess said this way. Then she stopped, turned around, and led us to the opposite side of the podium. Then she slipped her slim frame through two chairs pinned close together back to back. We are fat and had to squeeze through, rubbing other guest jackets and purse, instead of walking around and back. Once we sat, I told our server we were having the Groupon Prix Fix menu. She said that is on another menu. She came back three times before remembering to bring the menus about ten minutes later. While waiting for the menu, I walked over to the bar. After being recognized, I asked the bartender to switch to another game. She did, but before I could sit at my table the game was switched back to what was on before. I'm quite sure no one at the bar was watching. We made our selections for all three courses a few minutes later. The first two courses came out quickly and were delicious. Then we waited over 20 minutes for dessert to be served. Excuses were made for a new dessert chef. I don't really understand how it could take so long for pre made baked desserts that were ordered before appetizers were served? I don't think they were baking and needed to cool before being sliced and garnished.

Food and ambiance were excellent. I read yelp reviews and came knowing to expect issues with service, and I had them. So overall I enjoyed the experience and would recommend Roys if you get a great deal such as the one on yelp.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food is very consistent and unique especially for a chain restaurant. Service was outstanding

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Not a great experience. Too many other better places locally. I would not recommend Roys because the food here has gone downhill substantially. Tuna poke lacked flavor and mostly rice. Andouille snapper not cooked and had to be sent back. Lava cake over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had a quiet business lunch here and it was all good. Nothing Earth shattering, but all pleasant which is more or less what you want for a business lunch. That said, I could see this spot being much more vibrant at night with the long bar being busy and energetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Roy's was predictably good. I enjoy the Orlando restaurant but I would suggest that they create some outside seating. Florida in February is an outside kind of place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

2 hours for 3 courses - was an off night, unfortunate for a Sat evening. apps came out ok, 15 min empty table to get main dishes - burger medium was well done and salmon at house medium was rare. I would like to go back as server was top notch however kitchen needs to step up to the demands of a Sat.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Roy's was a fun experience and a great treat. The food was excellent, the server was knowledgeable, and the management was attentive. We'll be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.