Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi
  1. Distance: 1.10mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.47mi

About Roy's Orlando

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite your join us at Roy's Orlando located on Sand Lake Road at Dr. Phillips Boulevard, featuring Roy's signature exhibition kitchen and two private rooms that can accommodate up to 55 guests.

7760 W. Sand Lake Road
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Dr Phillips Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 352-4844

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Bus Parking Welcome

Executive Chef:
Mac Lynch

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (37)
Creative Cuisine (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Business Meals (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Romantic (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Healthy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Casual (8)
Seasonal (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Private Room (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoy going to Roy's for a special occasion. The restaurant is very expensive.
The happy hour is good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

What happened to our favorite restaurant??? It's completely changed. Felt like I was dining at someplace like Chilis or Applebee's. No requests were honored (always were in past). Service was OK. But definitely not the special one on one service we used to get. No more Edamame. If you want it we were told by special request now. Took 30 minutes to get appetizer and then meal came shortly after while we were eating. Food? Ugh. Overcooked. Their special lava cake? Completely dry with no "lava" to be found. The pineapple cake was burnt and dry. Tables all around us were complaining about the same things. Overheard the table next to us say part of their food was frozen inside. We left grieving the death of a dear friend. 😥 We just don't understand it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Does not compare to Bonita Springs Florida Location. Food was Ok but not special. It was a birthday celebration and no one took a picture and gave to us like Bonita. I took someone special there for a special occasion and was disappointed. Maybe go to Bonita and learn something.
Will not visit this location again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Extremely overpriced for the level of service , food - Outback Steakhouse would be better value ... $210 for two people ... severely average

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Customer service was excellent. All of the staff i encountered cared about improving the customer experience. This was my first time but i will definitely return. Awesome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was exceptional and the food was good, but not quite the experience one would expect given the price point. We were there early in the evening, mind you, but eating a $44 entree to the sound of a crying baby was a bit of a mismatch; not that I don't love babies and appreciate their importance to the continuation if the species! Service was impeccable, though, and we were given a delicious (gratis) chocolate dessert to make up for our slow entrees. It was good, overall, but I don't see us rushing back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Roys is always our go to spot when we want fine dining with the kids! They are so great with making it a fancy kid friendly resturaunt. Usually multiple families with all ages there. Love it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Worst experience ever at Roy's. They just couldn't get anything right. Drinks took 20 minutes and looked as if half spilled on tray. Salad was wilted and thrown on plate. Mixed seafood grill looked like an appetizer. Manager was apologetic, but did nothing to make anything right - empty suit. Waitress tried, but was overwhelmed. After reliable food/service for 10+ years, doubt I'll ever return.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall the experience was OK we had to fish dinners that were dramatically under cooked and they wanted to debate how they were going to fix it which I did not think was the best approach to customer service
There are hundreds of nice choices in Orlando this is middle of the pack

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I brought important clients we all ordered the Lobster combination. No one said anything but everyone's lobster tail was raw inside. This place was great when it first opened it has gone way downhill

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great as always. Never disappoints! Love the macadamia-encrusted mahi-mahi and Hawaiian Martinis.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We enjoyed a very nice dinner from start to finish. The service was excellent and knowledgeable server explaining the different dishes made the selection easier. We were treated with complimentary lobster potstickers which were delicious. All in all it was a relaxed and enjoyable evening, food terrific.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Celebrating a birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 6, 2017

No bread or swordfish. Very loud, half empty. Over priced. Not my choice.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

A little heavy handed on the sauces making the meats less desirable

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

One of best dinning experiences and food our family has ever had. Roy's is consistent with great quality food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was delicious and the service was slow but very personable.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Nos encanta conocemos la cadena hemos estado 15 veces en Hawaii y era nuestros restaurantes favoritos tanto en Kona como Kanapali gracias

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 29, 2017

This used to be our long time favorite spot, we celebrated anniversaries, birthdays, home closings and so much more here in the past, that is what we have now is just memories. The most horrible service anyone could have received was our gift tonight. I order the same thing every visit, some fish other than butterfish was disguised on my plate. The service took 2 hrs and 45 minutes. Waiter never checked on us or explained the lengthy wait and even brought us melted ice cream. I have no words!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 29, 2017

This was far from our first time at Roy's so we know what is the norm. I'll keep it simple. Out of three items we tried to order. Out of cherries for very expensive manhattan. 5 minute wait to see a server. 20 minute wait for the no cherry manhattan. Starting to get the picture? The whole night went like this. I will probably go back sometime but I will no longer bring out of towners or have any special occasions here.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 29, 2017

This restaurant has been amazing more than once at different locations. We had a family reunion recently at the Orlando location and though the service was excellent as well as the presentation of the food, a couple of the dinners were shockingly of small portions for the price and we were dissapointed at the end of the night. The quality of the food is spectacular but the portions were more like tapas instead of entree. The restaurant is unique and worthwhile but the lighter portion sizes were not expected at all. We are going to try again but still wondering why this occurred.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Roy's fish preparations are the best I have had anywhere. Their Roy's Trio which combines three of their most popular dishes is to die for. Their rolls are unique. The chocolate raspberry soufflé was the perfect ending to a wonderful meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Love this restaurant. We always come here to celebrate birthdays or anniversaries.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The wine tasted rancid to me and my husband both but neither of us mentioned to the other while dining. The red snapper was stale and I finally gave up eating it. We have dined at Roy's in Plano, Honolulu and two or three other states and there was no comparison. It was a waste of $330.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 24, 2017

This is the second time I have taken clients to Roy's. The food is excellent, the wine is wonderful and they were happy to accommodate a vegan option.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This restaurant needs to overhaul it's lunch menu. Sushi rolls are exceptionally good, miso soup is decent. The entrees however need help. I had the loco moco wagu beef and found it to be uninspiring. It was a hamburger over fried rice and a fried egg atop the burger. I did not enjoy it.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent!!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Really like this restaurant. Although we were waiting for a table so we went to the bar. The bartender could not have been more disinterested in taking care of us. Asked for a menu and he never came back. So I guess no drinks for us. Once we got to the table a pineapple Martini and a glass of wine took almost 20 mins.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was delicious. Started with the lobster pot stickers. Highly recommended. I had the Ahi Tuna salad and my friend had the Macadamian Fish. Tasty food and a great value. Our service was outstanding and the environment was quiet and relaxed. Perfect for conversations.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

David is an excellent server. Chris and John both wonderful assistants. The food is consistently very good here as is the service. Whenever we're in Orlando, this is a " must" for us.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Fantastic Food, Service and company. Always great and a place I eat when I am in Orlando. Consistently Fantastic, and always keeps you wanting to come back for more.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Very loud, service was not up to par. We have been here several times however service was so slow they pack our desert to go when we requested to cancel it and charged for it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to Roy's Orlando on Mothers's day. Food was great, waitress was very nice! I'll definitely go again on special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Server was really inattentive. Several
Issues with our order. Brunch menu was very limited. Benedict was over cooked twice! Just overall really disappointing experience. Unfortunate as we had Raton there during restaurant week and it was lovely! Maybe just a bad day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Calamary not very good. Entre was extremely small even for fine dining yet very tasty!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have loved Roy's for many years and have gone there a lot-for special occasions, birthdays, anniversaries, etc. But sadly, we have seen a definite change since Bloomin' Brands/Outback sold it to Applebee's. Being allergic to Monosodium Glutamate (MSG), I have always been able to get a great MSG-free meal at Roy's, and could choose from pretty much everything on their menu. Now, my options have been whittled down considerably. In the past, you could always count on exotic sides to accompany your meal. Now, the sides are almost mediocre, which is sad because the prices sure haven't been lowered. We hadn't been to Roy's in over a year and a half, but decided to give it another try because I had a Groupon. Sadly, our service was pretty bad. It took probably a half hour to get our appetizers, and the sauce for our rolls came as I was eating my last piece. The entrees were good, but the rice was extremely dry and had zero flavor. I thought it was strange that the options on the pre fixe menu included lots of rice in the rolls and then more rice for the entree. Nothing like a lot of carbs! As for dessert, they were excellent as usual. However, one of the diners at our table was brought the wrong dessert. Then, she didn't receive her correct dessert until way after everyone was finished with theirs. Awkward! (But the waiter did leave the wrong dessert at the table as a nice gesture.) And forget about coffee. We had asked for coffee when we ordered and reminded the wait staff a couple of times. We ended up getting our coffee after we were finished with our desserts, and after we reminded the waitstaff again. In addition, the bills were messed up and we got someone else's bar drink on our tab. All in all, everyone at our table complained about Roy's not being what it used to be. And then I went into the Ladies Restroom. It was a mess! So sad to see a great restaurant decline...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We did the groupon. Food was not great. The service was 5 stars though.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Birthday dinner was great!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Service from Mike was great. Food was substandard and decor was old. Would not return and would not recommend. Dined several years ago and enjoyed it. No longer.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.