About Roy's Orlando

7760 W. Sand Lake Road
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite your join us at Roy's Orlando located on Sand Lake Road at Dr. Phillips Boulevard, featuring Roy's signature exhibition kitchen and two private rooms that can accommodate up to 55 guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Mon-Fri for lunch 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Dr Phillips Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 352-4844

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Bus Parking Welcome

Executive Chef:
Mac Lynch

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Orlando Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Business Meals (20)
Romantic (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Healthy (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was feeling under the weather and want ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

I was feeling under the weather and wanted something mild. I had the snapper prepared plain (which I was grateful for.) in general the service was great and it helped that they prepared the food to my liking. Wish this could be more interesting review. I will be going back when I feeling better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great time for a date night. Both ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great time for a date night. Both of us enjoyed it a lot.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great server, very knowledgeable about m ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Great server, very knowledgeable about menu. Did not interrupt.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Roy's has been a favorite of ours for ye ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Roy's has been a favorite of ours for years and they continue to deliver great service and amazing food from the kitchen. My only wish is that we could dine there more often.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hadn't been to Roy's in awhile. Glad we ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Hadn't been to Roy's in awhile. Glad we went. Service was great. Food was incredible. Recommend the spring rolls and the snapper. They are both awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner and a great time. Good dess ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Great dinner and a great time. Good desserts also!!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The day after Valentines, is my friends ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

The day after Valentines, is my friends birthday. They went above and beyond to make it special! We had the Hawaiian martini and lobster potstickers at the bar...phenomenal. Then we both had the lobster bisque...you get a bowl with fresh lobster and parsley then they add the "soup" A freakin Mazing!!! Then I hap the seared scallops and lori had the seared ahi tuna...both to die for!! You must make this a regular!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just disappointed in general. Been there ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Just disappointed in general. Been there several times before and always enjoyed, but the vibe is dated. That would normally be ok because this place is a staple imo, but the food and service didn't bridge the gap. I completely understand the need for pre fix menus and have zero issue with them, but the value and quality is a must given prices charged.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This was a huge disappointment we had a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a huge disappointment we had a 7:00 pm reservation and we're seated at 8:10pm. We each order a rib eye special that needed to be sent back. It was full of gristle. Dessert came and only one order was right. Very sad as Roy's has always been a favorite got to no matter what the city. It was Valentines so maybe they were overwhelmed but really expected much better from @RoyYamaguchi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

While Roy's was excellent, the valet ser ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

While Roy's was excellent, the valet service was terrible. They had one attendant on staff for Valentines Day...big mistake. Took 10 minutes to drop the car off, which was great compared to the pickup. Attendant first could not find my car. Once found 15 minutes later, he stated that my battery must be dead as he could not gain access to the car. I asked him for my keys and to point out where my car was located. After walking way out in the lot to my car (one aisle over from where he said it was located), the doors easily unlocked with the fob and the car started right up. Very poor ending to what was supposed to be a memorable Valentines Day dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent dining experience.. excellent ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent dining experience.. excellent food and excellent service!!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took a very long time for us to get o ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It took a very long time for us to get our food. Our reservations were for 8:30, we didn't get our meals until almost 10pm. They gave us a $20 discount for the wait. Overall the food was good and they catered to my allergies but the restaurant is VERY LOUD. If you are trying to have a nice quiet meal or have conversation over dinner, expect your dining partners to say, "WHAT?" often as it's hard to hear them, even across the table.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

This was the second time I have been to ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was the second time I have been to a Roy's restaurant and it doesn't disappoint. The food is absolutely delicious and so fresh. The service we had was great. Definitely a great spot to have a great meal, far from all of the tourist traps that Orlando has to offer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable. We had asked ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was impeccable. We had asked about the spiceness of one dish, because one member of the party had a sensitivity to spices. She had indicated that it wasn't very spice but when it was too spice for us the waitress apologizes and immediately replaced it with a different choice.

As far as value, the food was good, but not exceptional. Also it was very, very noisy making it hard to have a conversation without speaking very loud, which also took away from the experience.

I have been to other Roy's and found this one not to be one I will return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was delicious but not as experiment ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was delicious but not as experimental as I remember from Roys in Hawaii. Still worth a visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Ordered three course pri-fixe menu. Appe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Ordered three course pri-fixe menu. Appetizer and entree were both wonderful and seemed to be prepared imaginatively and with quality ingredients. Service was pleasant and attentive. Would definitely come again! Pri-fixe menu was a very good value.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a disappointing visit to Roy's. ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was a disappointing visit to Roy's. Appetizer canoe for two was without the sushi as we were told a large party bought all their sushi for the night (we were only there at 6:15 and it was all gone.) I ordered the encrusted snapper / butterfish combo and the quantities were tiny; the same or smaller than my husband's portions and he ordered the trio. The snapper was undercooked (translucent and tough) and was sent back. They brought back the same piece but cooked longer and all the andouille crust had come off. No compensation was made or offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

What used to be really fresh fish with g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

What used to be really fresh fish with great favors is not here anymore.

The food was either over salted or cloyingly sweet.

Not even the green salad was fresh and the avacado had brown edges.

Yuck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Superb service, a varied menu and all ou ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Superb service, a varied menu and all our choices were excellent. The fillet options were most notable. Chocolate soefle was small, but very nice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal! Canoe for two was not wo ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent meal! Canoe for two was not worth $30, but the rest of the meal was fantastic. We split the Maui Wowie Salad and she got the Macadamia Crusted Mahi while I went with the Ribeye with truffle mac n cheese. Finished off the meal with chocolate soufflé and peanut butter pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants. The food and service is consistently good.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food in Roy's Tampa was much better than ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food in Roy's Tampa was much better than in orlando.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

We had to bring our experience to the ma ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had to bring our experience to the manager and he listened to our disappointment. It was not a "Roys" experience. I have personally dined at Roys in 4 different cities and always had a fine dining experience until Orlando. It was similar in structure and service as Applebee's. Waitstaff was 1 - she was under educated on the menu and had zero service etiquette. Our water glasses were empty all night. The food was also not good as 2 of the 5 people ordered steak m-rare and came out well done. She never asked how the meat was cooked. We actually had to flag down the manager to even voice our complaint. The experience was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The fish was excellent, we had the half ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The fish was excellent, we had the half snapper dish which was great. The service was top notch. No bread before dinner like other high end establishments but still a great meal. They gave our son a free appetizer with carrots, celery, apple slices and cheese quesadilla. This is a high end spot but you get what you pay for because it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat in the back half of the restauran ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We sat in the back half of the restaurant and the noise level was SO LOUD. The restaurant was not even full. No fun having to yell at each other in order to talk. "Energetic" is not the correct word to describe it, unpleasant would be more like it. Not the same restaurant that it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Excellent food, excellent service! Can't ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service! Can't ask for anything more. The Sunday/Monday special prie fixe menu was an excellent value. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding menu and service. Very crea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Outstanding menu and service. Very creative. We had lobster potstickers and a lobster sushi roll for appetizers. Both were quite tasty. Our entrees were butterfish and taganaki shrimp both served elegantly and were delicious. Dessert was a molton chocolate soufflés! A chocolate lovers delight! Only negative for the entire evening was the check!! With a $32 bottle of Sauvignon Blanc, a glass of Pinot noir, and a glass of 10-year tawny port, the tab with tip was $236 for the two of us. Nonetheless, I would return in a heartbeat!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

With a confirmed reservation we still ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

With a confirmed reservation we still had to wait 20 minutes for a table. Drink service was fine but food service took forever. They were too busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

A few work colleagues and I went for din ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 25, 2017

A few work colleagues and I went for dinner at Roy's. The food was outstanding, very tasty. We shared ribs, lobster potstickers and calamari for appetizers and everyone had a fish entree. The butterfish is delicious, cooked perfectly, and moist with great flavor from the marinade. Mine also came with an andouille-crusted snapper (combo plate) which was great. The portion sizes are not large, so if you are hungry, you should order an appetizer or dessert. The service was good but not great - the waiter indicate he would bring plates for the appetizers, and when the appetizers came, we had to wait (and ask again) for plates. Very small hiccups in service but otherwise good - attentive without being hovering. Highly recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I have eaten there in the past and had a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I have eaten there in the past and had an excellent meal, however this time was less than impressive. The salad was just okay, that should've been my first clue. Two of the entrees came out cooked entirely incorrect. The tuna was well done, salmon was Med rare. Sushi was good. They threw in a few free desserts, felt like we overpaid for the experience. I would've in the past put this on a level of Morton's, but it's not there anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Refused to honor our gift certificate. ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Refused to honor our gift certificate. We are no longer loyal customers. We drive far to get there and we could have been treated better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Our waiter, Daniel, was very knowledgeab ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our waiter, Daniel, was very knowledgeable about the menu and gave great recommendations which we enjoyed for our meals. He was attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. Wonderful food, great atmosphere. Will certainly return.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daughters graduation from college

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Daughters graduation from college

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's has always been one of our favorit ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Roy's has always been one of our favorite restaurants. Something has changed at the Orlando location and not for the better. I have always enjoyed the food because of the unique flavors and fresh fish. One of the things we looked forward to was the bowl of edame before the meal. This is not served any more. I used to get the scallops served on top of pork belly and puree. Now the scallops are much smaller on top of carrot and squash puree. They were very tasty but not the treat they once were. My wife got the spare ribs and although they good they just weren't the same. I don't know if they have new owners or a new chef or what but for us it's aloha to Roy's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For us, Roy's is always a good dining ex ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 20, 2017

For us, Roy's is always a good dining experience. The food is very unique and flavorful. The service is top notch and the ambience is comfortable.

However, there is a tendency to put too much salt on the fish and vegetables. In addition, the dining area needs some updating to keep the cooking noise down and to make the atmosphere as special as the food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Miso soup was very salty.

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Miso soup was very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

This restaurant needs a remodel, totally ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant needs a remodel, totally outdated with Hawaii photos that are as old as me!!

Food was OK, sever very good!+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent service and food. Desserts we ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service and food. Desserts we awesome- pineapple upside down cake, we had 2

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Noisy, pedestrian feel. Snapper was very ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Noisy, pedestrian feel. Snapper was very fishy tasting. None of the seafood is as wild all farm raised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Great service .... best butterfish I've ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great service .... best butterfish I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.