Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today
Special offers available. See details

Roy's Orlando

4.1
1879 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion
Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite your join us at Roy's Orlando located on Sand Lake Road at Dr. Phillips Boulevard, featuring Roy's signature exhibition kitchen and two private rooms that can accommodate up to 55 guests.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Mon-Fri for lunch 11AM

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(407) 352-4844
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mac Lynch
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Dr Phillips Blvd.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Bus Parking Welcome
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

What 1879 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.0
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
73% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 3 days ago

The server was nice and helpful but outside of that - previously we’ve always had a great experience at this location but this time everything took ages and was not on par what you’d expect - waiting over an hour for appetizers in a half-full restaurant that was for some reason really noisy ... many of the meals were over-cooked and by far overpriced, you can get same quality food in greater amounts at half the price at different locations around town. Needless to say, quite disappointing and most likely the last time for us :-(

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Todd was our server tonight. He was kind, engaged and hospitable. Service was on point. From the moment we walked in and was greeted by Alex the manager to the time we left. Dinner was delicious too. Came for the Butterfish and has so much more. Will return for sure.

Well Done Team Roy’s in Dr Phillips! Thanks for making my husbands birthday dinner one to remember.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Another exquisite meal @ Roy's. Food at it's best. Always the best food AND service. Our server, David is a ROCK star!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Always a treat. Great food and service. We were celebrating a birthday this time but we always enjoy a good meal here.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was overpriced and average at best. Limited menu that was not made known until we got there. Inside decor was tire and worn — Definitely won’t return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

As always, impecable service and amazing food. Super happy

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food was very good. But was disappointed with the service. Ate my steak with a butter knife, which show that wait staff not attentive. I added a side dish a few minutes after we ordered, and the side dish came after we finished eating our entree.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This was our first visit to Roy’s Restaurant. We read mixed reviews but decided to give it a try. We were extremely disappointed with the service provided by our server. He took our order, served two rounds of drinks and we never saw him again. We waited 35 min for our appetizers and another 20 min for our entrees and no sings of our server. We had to ask for assistance from other servers walking by to get us what we needed. One of the servers that we ask for assistance told us that our server left early since the restaurant was not so busy and that he was probably at a bar having drinks. What??? It was the worst and most disorganized service we have ever experienced at a restaurant. On a positive note our entrees were very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Fantastic meal at Roy's again. We are never disappointed with the total meal - appetizer, main course, and desert!!!! We have eaten here every time we are in Orlando - about once a year - and we always look forward to eating at Roy's. The food and the service is always unique and spectacular.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Food service was very slow (3hr seat time). Our sushi and main course were fantastic, but the edamame was very mushy. Our Servers were courteous and did their best to manage the delays for us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The wait was too long for our 6:00 reservation. Our party of 5 for a business meal ordered early but did not finish our meal until almost 8:30. ALso a couple of mistakes were made where all appetizers were not serviced at same time. I would NOT recommend this restaurant when a convention is in town. They could not seem to handle a very busy evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Great dinner, great place to host a client.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 7, 2018

My server was overselling the entire meal. It was not conducive to a business meeting. He also went to others at he table to sell the appetizer and dessert canoes after I told him we did. It want.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Roy’s was a great place to celebrate a birthday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We had an amazing dinner celebrating my husband's birthday. Great service, great food and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 26, 2018

We were very disappointed in the atmosphere, the service and the food. This restaurant is ‘tired’, definitely needs an update. Our server was loud and bordered on obnoxious. The table next to us was very loud, no fault of the restaurant, but added to the poor experience.

We were given ‘free’ edamame when we sat down and told that we’re supposed to ask for it but our server just brought it. He also said the warmer doesn’t really work very well. That was the understatement of the day, it was ice cold.

Ordered sushi, which had more rice than anything else, and the rice was too sticky meaning it had sat too long or was overcooked.

We won’t return, there are too many good restaurants in town, several right next door to Roys. My guess is if things don’t improve, they’ll be gone before long.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

I've been to several Roy's and the service and food never disappoint.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2018

I don't understand why you would send out a promotional deal to everyone in town and then when they try to use it say that only one card can be used per table?? So if we had sat on the table next to our friends we would have been able to get the $30? I guess separate checks is just not enough?? Also, why would a high-end restaurant not have sparkling water available on a Saturday night? To sum up my experience, the restaurant was uncomfortably warm towards the back where we were sitting, it took forever to get our drinks, they had no sparkling water and then when the bill came they wouldn't honor a deal that they mailed to our home! I think I will be taking my hard earned dollars somewhere else in future. One positive thing, the food was good - kudos to the chef!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Roy's is always great. Food, service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Good food although a bit pricy. The late night happy hour was a good value. However, The service was poor so we will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 18, 2018

On this evening there were large parties that impacted the delivery sequence of our meal. Food on this visit was good though not up to what we normally are used to. Service was excellent for the circumstances. We enjoy Roy's when we are in town and make it one of our dining choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Thanks! We enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We arrived at 7:15 pm for a 7:30 pm reservation. We checked in with the hostess, told her our friends were running about 20 mins late and we went to the bar. The bar was a mess - cluttered, disorganized and certainly showing it’s age. The bartender was very unfriendly and inattentive.

Our friends arrived, I paid for the drinks and we returned to the hostess to be seated. . We had requested a booth. There was no hostess, a waitress seated us at the very first table behind the hostess station despite our complaints. She walked away. Another young lady took our drink order and the night went along quite smoothly. I went to the ladies room and two stalls were out of toilet paper. I told our waitress upon returning to the table.

Near the end of dinner, we asked for coffee. We were told that a sanitizer was already in the coffee maker and it would take 20 mins to clean it out and brew coffee. I asked why didn’t anyone tell us that they were beginning to shut down the restaurant and offer us coffee ahead of that process. The guy shrugged and left.

I went to use the ladies room before leaving the restaurant and the same two stalls were out of toilet paper.

While I was still at the restaurant I received an email from Open Table telling me I had no showed for the reservation. I told the same guy who shrugged off the coffee request about the no show email and he blamed Open Table without even checking for me.

All in all, we won’t be back until we hear good things about Roy’s again. Other friends went the week before and told us they too had a fairly good food experience, but a terrible personnel experience. There are too many exceptional places to enjoy dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Fun, upscale place for date. Creative fusion cuisine with new items on the menu monthly. The restaurant was very busy, so timing of all courses was off. Service was very accommodating...one entree was taken off the bill and free
dessert was offered.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Roy's was at one time my favorite restaurants in the area. Something went wrong with them about a year or so ago. It started with having to ask for edamame instead of it automatically brought to the table as bread is in other establishments. Seemed to cheapen the experience. The real change came in the absolute downward spiral of service. My last four visits can be characterized by this past visit. Tag team servers who never communicated with each other giving the service lack of order. There was a time when with the open table reservation the server was prompted with our favorite drinks and wines and greeted us by name. Now the standard have you dined with us before is asked. My wife ordered wine from one server and had to ask the tag team server for the wine after they delivered our meal. No specials or menu descriptions were given at any time prior to ordering, We were asked if we had any questions, great server training it was not. The server kept looking around while we ordered as if they were looking for a friend in the crowd. Appetizer and entree came hot, fresh and tasty. No dessert menu or after dinner drinks were offered. The system they use for service is disjointed and ineffective. One person should always be designated as the primary server. I have a desire for Roy's to move up as at least an almost favorite. I will give them one more try. But that may be the last time I fund lackluster service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

It needs to be revamped, old installations, same old menu...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great server, a James R! Great food. Noise level was unacceptable,, especially one large table of 8-10 that was seated against the wine wall. Everyone on our side was disgusted with the noise, otherwise excellent!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Food was excellent waiter was very good but food took to long to come from kitchen there were 2 very large party’s and don’t think they considered small party’s everybody was complaining . It ruined a good evening .had to call manager over to get our food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Many of the customers made the experience challenging to enjoy (screaming and dancing around the dining room, stepping on chairs, etc.), but our server James was amazing. He had great suggestions and did his best to make our experience the best it could be.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

There was a funny smell when we walked in. Food was not as good as we expected and did not match the cost we had to pay. Too expensive and not delightful unfortunately.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We visit Orlando every year and always have dinner at Roy's. We ate there last night and it was better than ever. I believe that they have a new chef who has freshened up some of the menu items and everything about our meal was excellent -- great food, great service. The chicken spring rolls were delicious as were the lobster potstickers. The tuna roll appetizer was excellent. Out main courses included the braised short ribs, the ahi tuns (seared to perfection), the new York strip steak and a seafood sampler all were great. We all had the chocolate soufflé for dessert -- and no one regretted it. It was outstanding. Finally, they have a great selection of wines by the glass

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Very disappointing after years of going. Not the same quality and atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

The best in everyrhing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Absolutely loved the entire experience at Roy's! Our waitress was phenomenal and made my birthday experience the best.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Made a booking here for 4 people on a Thursday night at 7pm. What a disappointment!


I've been to a few Roy's previously and my expectations were high, particularly as we had friends joining us.


Having booked a table via OpenTable for 7pm, we arrived a few minutes late due to heavy traffic but were greeted with a smile and taken straight to our table.


The restaurant was pretty busy, so I was relieved that I had made the booking. 


Our waitress arrived quickly and took our drinks order and explained the items on the menu. So far so good.


Unfortunately things went rapidly downhill from there. The drinks took the best part of 20 minutes to arrive at which point our waitress took our food order. Another 40 minutes later we were still waiting for our food.


One of the interesting things about this restaurant is that there are quite a few officious grey suited gentlemen wandering around the establishment,  presumably to ensure that customers are enjoying themselves and having a generally good experience.


Sadly they seemed more interested in chatting to each other rather than observing our obvious frustration. When I did catch their eye one gentlemen did come over to our table and I quietly and calmly explained to him that we had been waiting almost 40 minutes for our food to arrive.


He quickly returned to our table apologising and informing us that the chef was just plating up our food. Another 15 minutes passed by and our food finally arrived. When it did arrive, I must say that the Macadamia encrusted mahi mahi was excellent and everyone else in our party thoroughly enjoyed their food.


We skipped desserts and asked for our bill, paid and left without any further word or recognition from any of the staff.


2 stars for the food but that's it sadly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

La comida riquísima, la decoración sencilla, el público en general, son personas que van a alguna convención. Nos atendieron rápido, tienen una selección adecuada de vinos.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

We love Roy's for dinner, but for the second time in a row, when we visited for lunch, the service was poor and the food was average.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 20, 2018

The service was horrible. Our waiter ignored our table of 8. After one round of drinks and 90 minutes of waiting, we canceled our order and went to Shake Shack down the street.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Excellent as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Foods are excellent. Waiter if very friendly and helpful. I was very pleased, my wife too.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
47