About Roy's Newport Beach

453 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Newport Beach located in Fashion Island, South Orange County's premier shopping center, featuring an exhibition kitchen, Chef’s Counter, spacious dining room and three private dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM


Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 640-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Agbayani

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Calamari
Mini Molten Chocolate Cake
Kalbi (BBQ short rib) taco
Ahi Tuna Roll
edamame
Misoyaki Butterfish
Loco Moco
Chocolate Souffle
Nigiri Sushi
Appetizers!
Hanger Steak Frites
Skinny Cosmo Martini
Smoked Salmon Salad
Surf & Turf Whole Lobster & Petit Filet Mignon
Tahitian Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Sunrise at Haleakala
Seared Swordfish
Ahi Tartar
Shrimp and Veggie Wrap
Roy's Melting Chocolate Souffle
Roy's Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi
Roy’s Canoe Appetizer for Two
Apertizer
butterfish
Scallops
Macadamia Nut Almond Tart
Shellfish Sampler
Roy's Trio
Lobster Potstickers
hmmm

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 300 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Orange County
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

special occasion (71)
fit for foodies (49)
good for groups (40)
See All
romantic (28)
great for lunch (22)
neighborhood gem (18)
hot spot (12)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Make a reservation people!!!.. Walk in's ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 2 days ago

Make a reservation people!!!.. Walk in's had to wait 1:45hr... Use open table!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

A very disappointing evening and a speci ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 3 days ago

A very disappointing evening and a special occasion ruined by an inattentive waitress and an indifferent, defensive manager (aka Darren). Be prepared for an argument when you ask for a refill on your coffee or that special occasion birthday cake that never came. We set up the reservation as a birthday through open table, and called to remind the restaurant 2 hours before. When we flagged down the manager and informed him of our disappointment he said "tell me what was wrong so I know who to nail!" The wrong response from someone who shouldn't be managing a Roy's. Never again for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Like all other Roy's restaurants, everyt ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Like all other Roy's restaurants, everything is extremely salty although I requested no salt and sugar whenever possible. Some foods are also extremely sweet. Salt and Sugar are the specialty of Roy Yamaguchi. I inquired about it, but they said that is how their recipes are. Most items are pre-salted and pre-sugared during prep and there is little the line cooks can do. Stay away from it if you care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Always excellent and a go-to restaurant ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always excellent and a go-to restaurant for us whether for dinner, brunch or happy hour. Miso butterfish is a favorite as is the new halibut as a special. We love the molden souffle cake with ice cream.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location. Lighting was too bright ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great location. Lighting was too bright for that hour-needed to be dimmed. Food was sub-par and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

loved it!! Food was great. Service was g ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

loved it!! Food was great. Service was great. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food quality along with a vibra ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service, food quality along with a vibrant ambience makes this a special place to go to in Orange county.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great woman server who really m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a great woman server who really made our dining experience the most pleasant . Food was great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthdays are always fun to celebrate at ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Birthdays are always fun to celebrate at Roys. They go out of their way to make you feel special and my wife enjoyed that treatment. Appetizers and food were first rate. First experience it in Waikiki Beach and even though Newport Beach can't compete with that view it's still a special place for us

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meal and great service!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent meal and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rushed service. Poorly trained staff. G ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Rushed service. Poorly trained staff. Go to Wildfish. Better service better choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Killer food and exceptional service. It' ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Killer food and exceptional service. It's a great combination!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have gone to Roy's for many years. I w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I have gone to Roy's for many years. I was so disappointed in the experience this time that I will probably not go back. It is ridiculously expensive for what you get and I don't mind paying for good meals if they are worth it. No more edamame or specialty breads are served. Hawaiian martini is half the size that it used to be and higher priced. Service was not at the level for a restaurant of this caliber. Such a shame since I did enjoying going there and recommended it to many clients who were from out of this area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We've seen Roy's many times on our visit ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've seen Roy's many times on our visits to True Foods Restaurant and so this time we thought we'd give it a try. The food was good, not great but good and the service was slow, not good and at a premium price. Based on our findings we are not planning to go back anytime soon. \/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Consistently enjoyable & delicious dinin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Consistently enjoyable & delicious dining experience. The evening specials made the evening momentous

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great dinner at Roy's. Our table ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Another great dinner at Roy's. Our table was ready upon arrival. The service was great, friendly and always attentive to our water and other drinks. The food was exceptional. The restaurant was full and the kitchen staff was busy but the service staff was still attentive to everyone. The entire staff should be commended.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a bit slow even though the r ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was a bit slow even though the restaurant wasn't crowded on a Thursday night. Our server said she would bring us extra plates for sharing but never did.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food great, service mediocre All servic ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food great, service mediocre

All service staff are not the caliber of the restaurant. It's as if they could not get a job elsewhere, at least from an appearance and professionalism standpoint.

Hostess was beautiful and set the evening for a great dinner. Wait staff need retraining.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I introduced relatives from Dallas to Ro ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I introduced relatives from Dallas to Roy's. They had never heard of it, in spite of Roy's having a location near their home. They loved their dinners and look forward to dining at Roy's in Plano. We enjoyed the excellent filet and lobster combo, Roy's Trio, and the Melting Chocolate Soufflé.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were out celebrating my Dad's 57th bi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were out celebrating my Dad's 57th birthday. We had very little interaction with our server and we had requested drinks to be served with dinner. Not only did our drinks never come with dinner, but our server did not come by once during our meal to see if everything was OK or if we were missing anything. He also had no idea our drinks were not delivered to one of and did not even bother to acknowledge the other two guests who were not served their drinks as well until we brought it to his attention. We know Roy's has amazing food, but we were so disappointed from the attitude from being greeted by the host (or lack there of) to the service of everyone who approached out table.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Good food but restaurant is very dated, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Good food but restaurant is very dated, no particular Hawaiian theme in the food or decor. Seemed just generally Asian food. Restaurant needs a whole new make over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

2nd time having lunch there. Disappointe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

2nd time having lunch there. Disappointed. Nothing like the 1st visit. The fish didn't taste as good, cookies were hard as a rock. Maybe Thursdays chef is better than Monday 's chef

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We have dined numerous times at Roy's. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We have dined numerous times at Roy's. This visit, food was less than average. Very bland. Unfortunate since we picked this for Father's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Wonderful way to spend Father's Day!! Gr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Wonderful way to spend Father's Day!! Great selection of entrees and appetizers. The man tai was delicious. Staff was outstanding .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice clean interior, open and fresh. The ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice clean interior, open and fresh. The menu is unique and the current. Service is attentive and reasonable prompt.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine here often (probably over 100 ti ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dine here often (probably over 100 times) for dinner and Aloha hour. The seafood is always outstanding. We had the Mahi Mahi and the prime rib for our brunch meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Terrible service and food! The fish had ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrible service and food! The fish had no flavor and the deserts were terrible. Service was slow and we did not have a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food and our waitress was great! Had re ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and our waitress was great! Had reservation but still had to wait almost 30min

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was great as always. But the s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great as always. But the service was horrible.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Roy's is our favorite happy hour in all ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Roy's is our favorite happy hour in all of OC!! Your 1988 Martini is so delicious!!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's is a great old stand-by. Although ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Roy's is a great old stand-by. Although my kids are old enough to eat everything on the menu, I am still nostalgic about their great kids' menu. The fish is always fresh and cooked perfectly, although most selections haven't changed since they came to Newport Beach. I always enjoy our dinners here.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The scallops entree was horrible... they ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The scallops entree was horrible... they do not understand how to serve sushi, they should remove it from the menu... also they are very pricey. I like the restaurant and have eaten there several times in the past but this meal was very disappointing. I always thought of this as 4-star but will not return any time soon as this was a 3-star experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good solid food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

First night in Newport Beach.

Kathy Brian Lexi and myself went to Roy's and had a good solid meal

The Lobster Bisque was excellent as well as spicy.

After the first sip or two you adjust.

The wedge salad was very good.

Lexi had the salmon and said it was very good.

Brian had the sushi.

Kathy and I had the sampler for two.

Brian and I had the Hawaiian Martini good but no liquor taste.

Waitress was nice.

All in all good first night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thank you, Roy's! As always, the food an ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Thank you, Roy's! As always, the food and service were impeccable! The Misoyaki Butterfish remains one of our all time favorites, and the calamari appetizer was amazing! And no one does chocolate soufflé better. A truly wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday lunch

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

This was an annual birthday lunch for two as my friend and I were born on the same day. We normally go to Tommy Bahamas but no one answered the phone and for some reason we could not make reservations on line. We will come back to Roy's in the future. The lemon drop and mojito were excellent. Great choices on the menu. The chocolate soufflé for chocolate lovers is beyond description. Found out it was our birthdays and put our names on our desserts. Waiter referred to us by our first names after that - very friendly. Just the right amount of attention. Highly recommend Roy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was extremely slow and it wasn't ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Service was extremely slow and it wasn't even a busy weekend. It was a Monday! The food wasn't out of the world to me it was average. We enjoyed the appetizer (short ribs) more then the main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Check the price of the specials!!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My daughter and I try to get to Roy's every three months or so to enjoy their ebi roll. Other items on the menu are really good, but that has become our favorite "go to" roll. Lose the ebi roll and lose our business (hint).

Last Friday we went to Roy's. I ordered the chef's sea bass special based on the picture on a placard in the lobby. I should have known better. The dish came and it really didn't resemble the lobby placard. But worse... it just wasn't that special. But even worse, Roy's charged $45 for that gem which was a total evening kill. To charge $45 for that, I should have been shown pics of the chef on the fishing boat, hooking up that sea bass himself! Only then might that dish have been worth the $45.

I wasn't going to try to get a discount or free dessert (since I did complete the meal), so I said nothing until after my credit card was rung up. At that time I told the waitress that I felt the sea bass was tremendously overpriced and only asked her to let the manager know my feedback.

I have learned my lesson at Roy's. Fair warning to all.... check the price on the special before you order. When the dish arrives, if it isn't what you think it should be, please speak up. I am sure they will do the right thing at that time.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Robotic & Sterile

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was good. However, the service was robotic & cold at best, and the atmosphere was sterile. The wine which we had ordered well before the meal was not brought until after the food was served. We had to frequently pour the wine ourselves, even though the wait staff person walked past our table many times. The atmosphere was so sterile that we felt like we were sitting in a warehouse, not a fun & exciting restaurant. Our overall impression was that Roy's has gotten full of themselves, and everyone working there was just putting in their time, and that no one really cared about making it a fun dining experience. We used to love Roy's, but this is now the second time we have had this type of experience at a Roy's restaurant. We are done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

above and beyond as always

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Roys never disappoints - in food or service. We have celebrated many birthdays and anniversaries and other special occasions. They understand that every little touch means a great experience, from the table we wanted, to the flowers they placed, to the special touch with a dessert. And the food is fabulous !!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steve

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food and service. Attention to detail by the staff. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.