Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Roy's Newport Beach

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Newport Beach located in Fashion Island, South Orange County's premier shopping center, featuring an exhibition kitchen, Chef’s Counter, spacious dining room and three private dining rooms.

453 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Aloha Hours:
Sunday: 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Located in Fashion Island

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 640-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 300 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Business Meals (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Good for Groups (11)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

I went to Roy for lunch, there is a very limited carte for this time of the day.
I had a couple maki rolls, the first one was deep fry, that was not a good idea, the second was fine but nothing close to what I can get at a good sushi place. I had the lemon tart and that was nice, a bit too sweet for me but quiet well made. The service was excellent, I was the only customer until almost the end. The environment is pleasant, it is an open kitchen which is usually good sign but I cannot recommend Roy for lunch based on this experience. These rolls were not interesting and quiet expensive. My cosmo cocktail was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food always a great steak and seafood and great service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good food and service. Michelle was great and the manager came by our table a couple of times. Wedding anniversary dinner they made special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Waited 15 minutes for payment to be processed when their Internet access was down, without informing customer of delay or using common sense and only at customer's suggestion did they process the credit card charge the old-fashioned way. The manager was there when the question was asked about the delay and she took no action to effect the payment quickly.

Had to ask server for water when the place only had 10% of diners relative to the number of tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Everything was tasty and the service was excellant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Interior needs a little bit of a facelift when compared with other Roy's restaurants. Staff and food are on point.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Rarely do I put a negative review, but for a place as expensive as Roy's, I'd expect a significantly better food and dining experience. They were 45 minutes behind on seating us for our reservations. We had to go to the host stand three times to ask. They did however comp out appetizers which I'll give them credit for, however, the wait staff just seemed extremely inexperienced and there was a lack of direction. My entree was literally unedible and I had their signature butterfish. It was the fishest fish and gave me a stomach ache. The ambience and inside feels extremely dated and worn. This would all be ok if entrees weren't $50 a dish. Mastros is down the street, I'd go there. I hope if the restaurant reads this that they take it positive and give a better experience and look at the operation going forward. I will not be back however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great food!!! Loved the experience! Very fresh fish.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We have been to Roy's in Hawaii, as well as Baltimore. Both were fabulous experiences. However, the Newport Beach location felt more like a TGI Friday's, both in terms of decor and food. We learned, from the waitress, that Roy is no longer involved in any of the Roy's outside of Hawaii. In the future, we will only visit Roy's when in Hawaii.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Roys is always very good.
BUT-- I dine (& prefer ) a lot at Woodland Hills Roys which is far superior in ambience, drinks & food. Roys Newport Beach feels tired & lacks much ambiance.
A let down for Newport Beach.
Also on leaving the gentleman host acted like a cold robot, never looking at us to say goodbye.
Too bad

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Enjoyed Roy's in the past but this visit the poke appetizer did not taste fresh, the halibut special as well as the roasted chicken were both on the dry side. The service by waitress felt perfunctory.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

The food was not worth the effort or the price. The only positive was that the waitress was very personable and friendly. There are so many other great places to eat that I'm afraid Roy's has outlived it's place among the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Service was excellent! Roy's trio was excellent! Salads were a little overdressed making the lettuce less crisp, but still tasty. Overall experience was excellent, but prices are steep.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had steaks there and they didn't bring out steak knives or even check to make sure we got things we need. We ask the waitress at the end of the meal to see if we suppose to get the knives for steak and she said yes, I told her we never got one.
Manager Justin was a very nice man, but we never told him about the knives because we don't want anyone to get in trouble.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Ive been to Roys 100s of times perhaps over the last 20 years...a big fan.

The waiter forgot to ask us if we wanted a special dessert that required preparation. We wanted to get two chocolate souffles. I had to look for her as she rarely was coming by our table.

We ordered Lobster California Rolls as one starter.. A favorite. What is imperative is that any fish is extra fresh. It is never to be fishy at such a restaurant. The Rolls were slightly fishy, so much so that it was not enjoyable. We are on a tight time schedule so wrote that one off.

The Fresh Local Greens Salad was smaller than usual. Looked like a tiny Costco salad now. The heirloom tomatoes were not good or fresh, and the lettuce didnt have the freshness I would expect. Very mediocre.

Szechuan Spiced Pork Ribs were not special … I had not had this before, but they were not flavorful as much as sweet and salty. Meat was fattier and not as good quality as I would have hoped. Just average for these.

Halibut Special : It sounded good, but the black rice was way too salty – the fish was super fresh, but overcooked and dry. Upsetting as this was the main entre, but it was editable. Very poor value considering the price.

Hand Carved Filet Mignon: My Son did like it, it seemed smaller than ever now though. Normally it is a 9 for him, but he drops it a point or two tonight. Server delivered the Entre….dropped it down and left in a hurry. He didnt leave a stake knife. Nobody walked by for some time, so I had to get up and find somebody to bring a steak knife for my Son. Not happy about that.

Souffles was confused by server and she just brought one. We wanted two and clearly stated that. We had no time to wait for another, so we just let my Son eat the entire thing. He seemed to enjoy it, despite the huge effort in ordering it and botched delivery.

The last two times I have been to Roy’s have been average quality and now is off list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 3, 2017

It was my first visit to Roy's. The selection seemed limited but everything was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food was great. Service was mediocre. The water glasses were filled frequently with splashes of water on the table from the glass or jug...not cleaned or dried. Unprofessional for the level of food and reputation. Staff including hostesses taking smoking breaks in front of the main door with loud discussions about future plans and dreams....overall environment was not one where I would go back to. This has changed from before.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Usually the service is exceptional because the restaurant has very carefully trained and managed the service staff. This time the waitress was not attentive, not engaged, and mostly absent when we needed her.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Terribly disappointing. Mediocre food. Dull ambiance. Exorbitant prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I was told that Roy's in the U.S. is no longer affiliated with the founding Roy's in Hawaii. Ever since the ownership and chefs changed, unfortunately, while they still try very hard, something is very different and not for the better. I wish it weren't so.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service was great. The food was good but not really hot. Would like to see more shrimp dishes on the menu.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

I was really looking forward to celebrate my friend's Birthday dinner there.. she had never been to a Roys and I thought it would be a special treat for her.. we ordered the ahi appetizer (good) & the Szechuan calamari (some very tender & some very tough), for entree (1) filet mignon & butter poached lobster.. my mignon was very charred burnt on outside I cut the outer charred part and the lobster was slightly raw... other entree (1) fish dish that was extremely burnt on outside and had to be sent back.. the second fish dish was cooked much better... the server tried to tell us initially the fish was supposed to be charred that way... after sending fish back the manager did come by to apologize and acknowledged her fish was burnt and noticed my filet was burnt too... as I ate my meal while my friend waited for her meal... no compensation just a free bday dessert... for the price it was not a good meal and very disappointing since it was her first time... I don't think either of us will be returning...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was great!! as well as the service. A great place to relax and enjoy great food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We've been to this Roy's well over 100 times, but something is amiss here. The table at 5:15 pm had no silverware and we had to ask twice for it. They are now serving small rolls -- these were not memorable. We were offered a lobster/steak combo, which my husband ordered only to be told 10 minutes later than there were "no lobsters available". I ordered the halibut/lobster special and the lobster was tiny and not good. We see a continual changing of staff -- servers, hosts, etc. and don't quite know what is happening here. For the price point, they need to start upping their game.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service was very good, my only complaint was that I had ordered a fillet mignon with lobster tail... steak was supposed to be cooked medium rare and it arrived well done. So they took it away to prepare a new one, but took too long with the replacement that I'd finished my lobster tail, veg and a side of mushroom by the time it had arrived and I was basically done with my meal. A bit of a disappointing experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food is still great but needs updating menu covers are worn out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Manager really made sure we were taken care of. Jamie did a great job serving us. Food was great flavors and textures... Fantastic! Butterfish and Asian rolls were very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Should have been a sign when the parking lot is jammed and you walk into the restaurant and 2/3s of the tables are empty. People were going to the place next door. Roy's is going downhill. The quality of the food was very disappointing. Irritating background music. Expensive dinner for three. Missed opportunity to go someplace nice. Roy's is off our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Plain and basic decor. Good food. Kind of pricey for what you get

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Be ready to spend over $100 on dinner for two. The food is good but I've had better at more affordable restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I have been to Newport Beach Roys many times. This time the chef was very creative. I enjoyed his special. The flavors were fresh and vibrant. New items every night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Organic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was not up to par. However adjustments were made to the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Roy's still struggles with service. Dishes were forgotten, food was delivered with no utensils, avocados in salad were hard as wood, etc. They are close to being a good restaurant, but something always goes wrong each time I eat there. Not sure why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food was excellent. Wait staff was very attentive. Enjoyed the upscale Hawaiian theme.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Service and food were average. Ambiance was really good. We ordered the fried rice side, a bit salty. The steak and lobster were good, as well as the butter fish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Big disappointment. Not sure what has happened to Roy's, but the last two visits have been way below expectation. Food was very average. They ran out of potatoes for their classic beef short ribs on mashed potatoes.

Table was set poorly with withered flowers scatters on the table top.

Adios Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went to Roy's to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. When we arrived, there were flowers on the table and a card with an anniversary greeting. Multiple staff members stopped to congratulate us and thank us for celebrating at Roy's. The food was amazing! We both had the specials and after were treated to a special Anniversary dessert. They took a complimentary picture and put it in our card. It was a special night and we felt very celebrated! Thank you Roy's! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.