Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Roy's Newport Beach

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Newport Beach located in Fashion Island, South Orange County's premier shopping center, featuring an exhibition kitchen, Chef’s Counter, spacious dining room and three private dining rooms.

453 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Aloha Hours:
Sunday: 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Located in Fashion Island

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 640-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 300 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Business Meals (15)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Healthy (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

absolutely the worse experience i had in a restaurant...i am not fussy ...and i found the food salty ...the meat not cooked the way ordered and my fillet had a peculiar after taste . they offered me a $ 20 gift card for my next visit !!! i told them to keep it cause there is no way i would experience the cold treatment again . cant imagine this place lasting long in business . there are a million choices better than this for the high $ they charge for everything . Save your money and your evening ...DO NOT DINE HERE !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, ding at Roy’s is nothing short of perfect. Extraordinary food in a calming ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Sorry wasn’t a good experience. Waited 15 minutes for service ordered Duckhorn Saviongon Blac wine another 10 minutes to find it and was wrong bottle went back to wine cooler 10 more minutes waitress finally brought back correct wine went to use wine opener I mentioned it was a screw cap. Appetizers arrived luke warm had to ask for Wasabi and soy sauce. Plus bread, then we finished the entree was immediately serviced which wasn’t up to standard. Our table of four plus another in the whole restaurant. Don’t understand!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I was disappointed that they raised the price on the pre fixe without notification: said it was buried in the fine print of the menu. I expected better from this restaurant. On our particular night, there was an odor of sewer gas...which may indicate a venting problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Disappointed by Roy's this time. We have loved the one that is in Kauai but this one just falls kinda' flat. The food was good; service friendly but delayed, atmosphere not good at all; noise level very loud.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This was our first time at this Roy's. We tried the four-course tasting menu and weren't disappointed. I had the prawns, which were huge and well seasoned. We added an order of lobster potstickers at the start. Everything was delicious and well presented. And we received friendly, attentive service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Went to Roys for our Anniversary as we have done a few times before. All restaurants should come and watch the team produce an evening dining experience. The service on all levels was amazing as was the food. Even waived the corkage fee which wasn't necessary as we always bring our own wine and expect to pay the fee. Great food, service and atmosphere that is highly recommended!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The restaurant just recently started serving lunch so it was very empty when we went. The hostess was friendly and the environment lovely. I think if they start advertising that they are now open for lunch, people will be thrilled to have a new place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Although our waitress, Michelle, was excellent and just the right touch of service, it took a long time for the food to come out. With two children, I found it surprising that we had to ask for children's menu way into the evening after ordering appetizers. Then it took some more time before they got their prestart plates of veggies and mini quesadillas.

What I did like was the picture capturing a big birthday celebration. That was a nice take away for the birthday girl.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Nice for a special occasion. Service is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Ribeye steak was cooked perfectly and was very tasteful but the lobster was small and almost over cooked. It came to the table with no drawn butter nor lemon wedge. We had to ask for drawn butter and had to ask for bread. The steak made up for the disappointment of service and tiny lobster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our waitress Tracy provided us with excellent service as usual. The food was great and we love coming here before a concert. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 28, 2017

wonderful, just wonderful food and service was outstanding made for a very enjoyable time

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Seated promptly with our reservation. Delicious and authentic Mai Tai cocktails, but I would recommend that they dress the drink with a small orchid. Very good salad. Excellent diver scallops, the short rib was stringy and not as good. Probably I should have ordered the fish. We had the pineapple upside down cake for dessert, which was only OK. Server was very attentive and could not have been better. There are many choices in this neighborhood so we probably won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Service was excellent. Waited long time to order and get food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

This restaurant was half empty at noon while the neighboring restaurants were packed. I think Roy's could use a revamp on the dark decor, and also put some new items on the menu. My lunch was tasty but the actual portion size was pretty small for the price. Even the cucumber namasu was a tiny little serving...as if cucumbers are expensive?!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The Travelzoo deal was $120 worth of food for $59 -- the 2 meals we ate were not worth $120 -- but $59 was appropriate
the salad dressing was very distasteful -- didn't care for it at all -- was offered another dressing type, but declined
the 2 entres (chicken and salmon) were very good
The atmosphere was very noisy

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Roy's Restaurants, no matter where they are located, have never disappointed us. On the day we had lunch, our friends were very late. Normally, this location closes from 2:30 - 5:00 for dinner prep. The hostess told us if we get in before 2:25pm they'd seat us and let us have a meal. We finally made it in around 2:20 and they were true to their word. We were promptly seated (yes, there were other folks there), provided the lunch/brunch menu (given the time) and served graciously and promptly. We all had rather "basic" things like Eggs Benedict and an Omelette. But Roy's unique sauces and careful handling of the food made these fundamental meals, special. We would recommend Roy's to anyone interested in good food and good service. And if you get on their email list, you'll get all their promotions!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 23, 2017

A nice visit with good food. Like most Roy's it's on the expensive side, but nice for a special occasion. Very good lobster bisque and the macadamia mahi mahi was very good. A nice butterfish filet mignon combo, but at $66 overpriced. May return in the future, but have other favorite seafood restaurants.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 19, 2017

The food was creatively cooked and present. Taste was amazing. The only thing I was disappointed in was that part of my dish wasn't hot. It was more on the cold side, not even luke warm. In all the times I've been there, my food has always been hot off the stove.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Always enjoy going to Roy's. The food is good and the service is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great food and service as always. I will return soon

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The service was very very very slow. Ambience was average. When the food finally arrived it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 18, 2017

None of your selections really apply therefore none checked. We have been to other Roy's restaurants and have been pleased but not so with this one. The front receptionists were not at all welcoming or friendly and one even seemed bothered by being at work. Our waitress while helpful with the menu was very slow and other patrons who came in after we did received their food while we waited for ours. Then we were charged on our bill for an item we did not order. While the food is always good at Roy's we would not recommend this particular restaurant while visiting Newport Beach again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Wonderful lunch! Great food service and value! Will return soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always good. My husband and I had our meals served in a bowl-like plate which was nice, but it made it look like there wasn't much food on the plate, almost like the food was going down a sinkhole or funnel. I wish I'd taken a picture. The food was good, though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This Roy's in terms of food taste is not as good as most Roy's. Food was so so. Service was great.

I would not go back to Roy's Newport. Usually most Roy's are pretty consistent on the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2017

So disappointed! The way the 'open kitchen' is along with the air conditioning -- it was too noisy to have a normal conversation. Also it is tricky to find the restaurant. Won't be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our server was great and very attentive.
food was beautifully prepared & all was absolutely delicious. My husband & kids has the sampler canoe appetizer and demolished it. My son, surprisingly, had the Mahi Mahi & cleaned his plate. Their house Martini is delicious as was the flourless chocolate cake. They had a happy birthday sign waiting on the table for my son and took a family photo, which they gave us as a keepsake. Manager was very kind and accommodating. My husband forgot our $25 gift card & he honored it so we did not need to drive all the way back home. Roys is the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We came for our 11 year anniversary! It was really sweet that they had a card congratulating it with little flowers. They also put a candle on with our desert. They were super sweet and our waitress was such a darling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This location for Roy's has been our family of four's favorite for at least ten years but management is lacking and quality of service is terrible. Very, very disappointed! Wish we had tried the Anaheim location. Can't believe how downhill things have gone for this location. Need better management and experienced servers. Mixed up orders and timing was so off!

Compensated with free dessert which we knew to order at beginning of meal (soufflé) but turns out gave it to the table next to us who ordered it minutes before and we waited another thirty minutes along with other poor service and waiting forever for meal which delivered everything including appetizers at once. Not the quality expect for the price and reputation is diving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food and service, as always. We will be back soon. Thanks! We understand they have new maanagers, and we wanted to thanks the previous managers who were great and fabulous to work with. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food was good but had to wait over 30 min for dessert to arrive even though we ordered it at beginning along with the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellent service and excellently prepared dishes at the Roy's Newport Beach site. Our server was Michelle, who was attentive, and friendly. We both ordered the Macadamia crusted white fish which was superb as it was so tender and tasty. We like to thank Justin, the manager, who came by our booth to thank us for visiting. Will definitely come back again to this Roy's.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Been to Roys 4-5 times food was always awesome. I usually get Butterfish. I got the filet and butterfish dinner special. So did my wife and my son. We all commented the butterfish had a slimy texture. Previous visits I've had it and it just flaked and crumbled in your mouth, was never slimy in texture. I felt for 6 people $420 would have been fine of the food was impeccable. Unfortunately it was not. My filet was a bit fatry as well. It's unfortunate since my wife and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and had renewed our vows by the harbor.
Have to say this trip to Roys did provide the value and good food I'm accustomed to from them. I don't know if it was because it was part of dinner special and ingredients weren't as fresh or good, but again the bill was still 400 plus and 3 of us got the special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was great and service was excellent!! Had table ready and special treat for my wife's birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I went to Roy for lunch, there is a very limited carte for this time of the day.
I had a couple maki rolls, the first one was deep fry, that was not a good idea, the second was fine but nothing close to what I can get at a good sushi place. I had the lemon tart and that was nice, a bit too sweet for me but quiet well made. The service was excellent, I was the only customer until almost the end. The environment is pleasant, it is an open kitchen which is usually good sign but I cannot recommend Roy for lunch based on this experience. These rolls were not interesting and quiet expensive. My cosmo cocktail was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fantastic food always a great steak and seafood and great service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I have been eating at Roy's for over ten years and I love it. I highly recommend Roys for any occasion. The employees are amazing and really friendly. Makes me feel like home every time I dine at Roy's Newport Beach CA location. Amazing all the way. Cocktails are very special. They all make me feel like a princess! Being in Real Estate and a jeweler, I recommend Roys to all my clients and they all say great recommendation. The manager Tim is so amazing to everyone!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Very good food and service. Michelle was great and the manager came by our table a couple of times. Wedding anniversary dinner they made special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.