Roy's Newport Beach

4.0
1421 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Birthdays
Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Newport Beach located in Fashion Island, South Orange County's premier shopping center, featuring an exhibition kitchen, Chef’s Counter, spacious dining room and three private dining rooms.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Aloha Hours:
Sunday: 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(949) 640-7697
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Located in Fashion Island
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 300 guests. Full buyout also available.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

What 1421 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.0
service
3.8
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
70% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 3 days ago

We went to Roys to celebrate my sons 8th grade promotion. Four of us had sushi and we call get violently ill. My 70+ age parents were so so sick for two days. When I reported it to the restaurant, Tonya the manager said she was sorry but took no ownership of the issue and downplayed it, with no remorse. I will NEVER go to Roys again, nor would I recommend it to anyone I know.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was a bit disappointing.the shrimp and lobster were a bit dry. Serviced was very attentive

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Roys is a favorite for special occasion dining but the menu seems to be always the same. It would be nice to have new creations or seasonal selections.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Father's Day is always a special occasion. My spouse decided to take me to Roy's. It was such a treat! With a special Father's Day menu you had a good selection of those entrees and appetizers Roy 's is famous for. We started dinner with a Mai Tai which were outstanding, Then spring rolls and lobster potstickers. Instead of the "traditional" steak, I choose the macadamia Nut Mahi Mahi which was outstanding. We had Franciscan chardonnay with dinner. Desert was delicious pineapple cake. The service was outstanding and well paced. We will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We meet at Roy’s in Newport Beach a couple of times a year, with friends who live on the opposite side — they’re in San Diego, we’re in the San Fernando Valley. We always have a marvelous time, and the food is always fabulous! If you like seafood, try Roy’s Trio — excellent!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Pretty disappointed for being a Roy's fan. Our reservation was at 5:45, so it shouldn't have been that busy, but it took forever to get our food. We were late for a movie that started at 7:45. They brought out the wrong salad, the main course took forever to get--over an hour wait. Good thing it was delicious. They did comp our desserts so that was nice. It was a double anniversary, so we had high hopes for a fun night out.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 10, 2018

STAY AWAY-HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE We had a 6:30 reservation on June 9 and arrived around 6:20. The hostess said it would be a few minutes so we went to bar for a drink. I went to the hostess desk twice between 6:30 and 7:00 to check on our table and both times they said they are waiting for people to leave. Also, while at the bar one of the managers said she would check on our table and let us know- which she never did.

At 7:00 we left , the hostess said sorry they were still waiting for tables to clear. As I said Stay Away to have a reservation and after 30 minutes still waiting for a table is unacceptable

We went to Taco Rosa for dinner- great experience

John

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The food was not that great it was just ok but I have to say the service was awesome - very attentive and always asking if everything was ok

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Food was good, but service was terrible.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Service was very poor. It was not even busy but still had to wait for long periods. Forgot half of our order. Forgot that we were there to celebrate a birthday. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Had a problem with steak. Ordered it med came well done. Also fries cold. Had difficulty getting waiter to come to table.Sent it back took 40 min. My hubby was done with his swordfish. Manager Justin was very apologetic and gave us something to make up for problem.
Will go back

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Everything was mediocre. The only thing that was above average was the soufflé. It was a very disappointing evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great food and service as always. We will be back for sure.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Server was a woman - excellent - just the perfect amount of followup and checking on our table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We have been here before, and our most recent visit did not disappoint. The service was great and the food was delicious. I had a fish platter with four kinds of fish/shellfish served four different ways. My husband had a filet mignon and said it was just how he likes it. Our waitress was very warm, like a dear friend who is glad to see you. The only negative was that we were seated near the cash register, so we had a bit of background chatter when the waiters were taking turns with the bills.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We've dined here a ton and still like it if you have a great server like Tracy and know what to order. We still love the butterfish and the ahi as well as some of the appetizers. Yes, the portions seem to be smaller and the price higher.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Enjoyable. We hosted a party of 6 for mother's day dinner. We live close by and had never thought to come here.

The menu is simple and straightforward, so picky eaters and those who are not particularly adventurous will find something they like. Steak and filet were quite good, and we received good comments on the mahimahi entrees. Liked the wine list and the reasonable wine prices.

Waitstaff were courteous and tried to keep everyone --- including the over-80s at our table and elsewhere in the room --- happy - most appreciated, as kitchen seemed to be having trouble coping with dinner rush. Also we were very pleased to be shown into the wine room to a table in a small alcove, rather than out in the heavy traffic. At the peak hour noise levels we could all hear each other. Thanks for that, hostesses.

We will come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

An absolutely joyous mothers day celebration. Jessica was our server and made our evening even more enjoyable with her wonderful recommendations. Short ribs were the best we’ve had

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Made reservations for Mother’s Day and it was horrible. We arrived on time and we were seated on time. After that, it was all downhill. We waited 10 min for drinks, 10 more minutes to order appetizers, after completing our appetizer our children’s meal arrived and we ordered the main entree. That meal never arrived. When we questioned the meal delay, they quickly put something together and served us. The eggs were cold and the eggs Benedict was completely cooked (hard boiled egg) on top. After that, we had enough and had a discussion with the manager who didn’t charge us and continued to apologize. The meal was ruined and we wasted 90 Minutes before our meal was served. Very frustrating when you plan a special day and things go horribly wrong . We will never dine here again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It was fine, but this does not qualify as fine dining in my book. Dishes were over-salted and lacked balance, making it hard to have more than a couple bites without palate fatigue from the one-note dishes drowning in sauces.

Also, my elderly father ordered a kona coffee expecting coffee; when a coffee-flavored dessert came out, he was confused and asked for coffee. It's a pretty clear mix-up, but instead of simply correcting the mistake and bringing coffee, the server said, "well, you didn't place that order with me." She definitely had an attitude, and it was rude. Opposite of "service." I don't understand why my father had to deal with that kind of impertinence. It made me mad because it just confused him more. I always tip at least 20-percent and the entire bill lost points because of this server.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We usually love Roys, but lately it has been a disappointment. Food was marginal at best. I never like fish that tastes and smells fishy and both of our dishes were this. Our server was delightful, but her section was far too large. It was pretty impossible to get her attention.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

On a Friday night it seems not many guests that surprised us. Services are great though they left behind a portion of our mixed dish but restaurant covered it right before we mentioned.
We all like the place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We really enjoyed the food and restaurant in general. The service was great, food was amazing. The best Ahi tuna i have had. Melted in your mouth like butter. Enjoyed the restaurant and will definitely return in the future.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Food was terrible. Cold and seemed mass produced (like wedding food). Horrible for the price! Going next door to Fleming’s next time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We’ve been going to Roys for many years. The sevice has always been good and never disappointed with the food. However, I wasn’t very happy with the overall ambiance this time.
I called ahead of time and let the hostess know ((Tanya), that we were celebrating two birthdays. i even spelled the names for her. I’m fully aware that they make a special greeting with the menu and give them a dessert and take a picture. Well, there was none of that. And I even called the day of the reservation to confirm. The hostess always seemed very confused every time I called. I’ve never had this happen before. Always a friendly greeting in times past. It was like she was new on the job.
The music was very loud, as well. Ther music was very random. I always remember soft background music and usually Hawaiian, but this was way too loud and we had to talk over it.
Also, the room was extremely cold, even after we mentioned the air was blowing down on us and it was turned off. They even moved the people sitting behind us to a new table because it was so cold.
With that being said, the server was very professional and did ask if we were celebrating anything and offered a dessert to my husband, even though I had mentioned we had TWO birthdays.
Like i said, Roys has always been a place we love. This was very rare to have all of this happen on one night. But, the food was still delicious and so were the desserts.
Just disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Quick, fast service. We had a large party, they put us in a private room and had a few people assisting our party.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Sadly, this was a very disappointing experience. We went to Roy’s in Kauai the day we got engaged..... and while we were vacationing in Newport, we thought that we’d relive the experience. Not even close. From a terrible Mai Tai (their signature drink!) to a chilled Merlot (!), to ultimately a tiny (doubtfully Maine) overbooked lobster tail, to the saltiest ruined fillet. We were so sad and felt that Roy’s management would want to know.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Service was good and they even provided a card for my daughter's birthday celebration- a very nice touch. The steaks and seafood dishes were good and perhaps even slightly above average. The salad however was not up-to-par for restaurant at this price range.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our reservation was not ready when we arrived, service was very slow, one entree did not come out until everyone else was finished. The food was all very good but the service was poor making this an occasion to forget..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Loved the ahi appetizer! The waitress took a while to being bread to the table but the meal was delightful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We hadn’t dined at Roy’s for awhile but came for a birthday celebration. The children’s menu was very good as was the selections on the rest of the menu. What we found lacking was the service and the quality of some of the food items. For instance- there was quite a lag between courses, we had to ask three times to get an extra set of chopsticks, and a dish that should have come with rice was served without it. I’m not sure if it was the sauce on some of the items but they seemed dry and no one came by to ask how things were in a timely manner. The desserts were very good - actually the best part of the meal. For our $400 we will go elsewhere to celebrate the next birthday

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I ordered a truffle dish that actually came with no truffle. Plus the fish had a weird texture and no flavor. I was very disappointed with the dish and the Menu. Nothing super special. However, the manager was very attentive and took care of us. I just think they should review their menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The Whole Group was very impressed and loved everything about the place! Thank you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Quiet and good for talking. Fish oriented menu, but a few items for meat lovers. Service was OK.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 23, 2018

What a disappointment! We used to like this restaurant, but the last couple of times we have gone to Roy's, we experienced very poor service; prices has increased, but quantity & quality of food has not.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Our dessert was late coming out, and the manager came over to our table and reduced our bill and gave us a gift card. This place is top notch. I have gone to most of the Roys in several states and have always loved their food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great as always!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Loved this place. Servers and management were top notch. Great place for both sea food and steaks.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Roy's is generally pretty great, but on this occasion was merely good, which is disappointing given the prices. Server was kind but clearly rushed, entrees took a full 15 minutes to appear after appetizers were cleared, and the rice with my chicken was a bit gummy and nothing special. Even so, yes, it was good overall but that was mainly because the appetizers and dessert were good enough to make up for 'meh' with everything else. I still recommend Roy's for now, but will be looking close next visit. Not sure if this was an off night, or a new thing.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
36