About Roy's Newport Beach

453 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Newport Beach located in Fashion Island, South Orange County's premier shopping center, featuring an exhibition kitchen, Chef’s Counter, spacious dining room and three private dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Weekdays at 11AM
Open Weekends at 4PM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 640-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Agbayani

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Enjoy the best Father's Day at Roy's! Open early at 10am - we'll be serving Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch & Dinner. Treat dad to the best seafood, steak and sushi in town.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 300 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Orange County
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

special occasion (70)
fit for foodies (46)
good for groups (35)
See All
romantic (30)
neighborhood gem (20)
great for lunch (16)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
855 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Had a reservation but were kept waiting ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Had a reservation but were kept waiting for quite some time. Hostess was rude and management seemed more focused on something other than operations. Heard many customer complaints. Our food was inedible. We literally left our food, paid the bill and went somewhere else for dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

FANTASTIC! We've dined here before and ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

FANTASTIC! We've dined here before and now we expect a GREAT time! Our server remembered us, which is always nice. The food was hot and delicious; timing was perfect; everything was great for a special night out. The manager chatted with us briefly, and he's got an absolutely perfect job for his personality (he's witty and fun and charming). One of the chefs stopped by and talked with us for a minute (and guess what? He is also funny and personable!). Hubby ordered barramundi with crab (this dish could not have been any better. . .it was rich and filling and hubby was forced to share with me a little bit, since it smelled like heaven!). I ordered the shrimp and rice, which was ok, but the highlight of our dining experience was the dessert. Our server suggested a dessert when we were only half done with our entrees. . .as he explained it takes 20 minutes. We normally don't, but went ahead and ordered. It was fantastic!!!!! Take the suggestions offered by staff -- they DEFINITELY know their stuff. Thanks Roys!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers, salads, entrees, dessert ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The appetizers, salads, entrees, desserts, and service, were excellent, as usual. The Misoyaki Butterfish, & chocolate soufflé, are still my favorites. I also love all of their salads!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall I like Roy's. This time service not good.

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I like coming to Roy's. This time service was poor. Waiter was absent most of meal. Back-up waiter appeared occasionally. No water service, after 2 requests. Complained to manager at end of meal and their was a lot of concern. I left the appropriate tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappoining

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was slow..food was cold....disappointing day.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time. The others quiet an ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a great time. The others quiet and comfortable. The food was delicious. M

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very tasty. I really apprec ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was very tasty. I really appreciated that we were given a quiet table as requested on our reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the Birthday Dinner !

Dined on May 6, 2016

The menu and head server was outstanding in accommodating our joyous evening to celebrate a birthday. I would recommend this for anyone celebrating a memorable occasion at Roy's ! The seafood platter and sea bass was delicious and the lobster bisque was exceptionally the best we've tasted.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food Service slow

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great food Service slow

food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food, but portions are small.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Fantastic food, but portions are small.

food2
ambience3
service1

We waited 45 minutes past our reservatio ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

We waited 45 minutes past our reservation for a table. Way too long for our food.

food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Not impressed, very small portions, missed order

Dined on May 2, 2016

The atmosphere is just average. Food taste and quality is good, but they did not deliver bread after requesting it, stating they ran out, then delivered bread to table next to us!!!!! Waiter is very nice, tried to apologize. Missed appetizer order, had to ask for it. The place is just average, I can get the same and more at any chop house. Just not impressed

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday Surprise!

Dined on May 1, 2016

It was for a surprise birthday with friends, our table was ready and had a birthday card with the persons name on it which was special. The food, drinks and service was excellent. Also a complimentary dessert was served with the person's name scribed with chocolate sauce on the plate!! SOOOOOO special, and would definitely come back. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The lobster sampler platter is amazing

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The lobster sampler platter is amazing

food5
ambience5
service5

Started with delectible lobster potstick ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Started with delectible lobster potstickers. Husband had the butterfish that was outstanding. I went with scallops and salmon, two favorites. Not disappointed!

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food average quality. Service extremely poor !

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food quality was not exceptional! Service was lacking. Given this was a Wed night and not busy. I would have expected better service. Nice touch for a birthday welcome with inside the menu greetings and a table greeting/picture frame. Downhill from there. Took our drink order and then it was 20-25 minutes before anyone came near our table. My wife and I split a wedge salad, which we often do, and we were both shocked how tiny the serving. Never seen a wedge that small! Asked three different times for an ice bucket for our wine. Finally got it when wine was about gone. Kids glasses of soda were in need of refills most of the time. When dinners finally arrived one was delayed a little, not bad. When sides arrived, the mushroom dish was set on the table. The server said the serving dish was extremely hot and not too touch it, and he left, with his potholder. Now we were at a table for eight persons, so we then had to pass dinner plates to share this mushroom side. We were never asked if anyone wanted water, and near the end of dinner I did get a glass though I think It was another waiter that was walking by that I asked. We did get a birthday dessert as well as ordering a souffle. It would have been nice to know ahead of time how small they make theirs and I would have ordered another. The check was promptly delivered after dessert, but no pen was included to complete the process. I left the credit card bills lay on the open book for some time, thinking someone would notice it was not being signed, but to no avail. Hostess finally came by and I asked her if she could get me a pen. My wife wouldn't let me complain because it was a birthday, but had a manager ever come by to ask about our meal, I probably would have anyway. We ate at Fleming's just around the corner on the previous Saturday night. Two less people in my group there, but the bill was about the same. Restaurant was packed, food was excellent and we had no complaints at all about the service.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Food

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

I ordered the trout which tasted terrible and then was replaced with a petite filet. The filet had salty gravy on it and lots of fat on the meat. The mashed potatoes were cold. We have been to many different Roy's but this was the worst. We decided for the price and bad food we would not be going back to Roy's.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner at Roy's

Dined on April 25, 2016

Whether you are in the desert, Hawaii or Newport Beach, Roy's is the place to go. The service is good, they take reservations and the food is very good. I had the salmon and it was excellent but for the price they should offer sides that are included.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Always consistently good at Roy's Newpor ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Always consistently good at Roy's Newport Beach. Staff, service, food is top notch

food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful dining experience.

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

A wonderful dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had an early reservation (6 pm) and b ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

We had an early reservation (6 pm) and by 7 pm, the place was packed. Waitress was very friendly and helpful. Everyone's seafood dish was outstanding! I had the butterfish. yum! Others had the scallops & salmon. I even went back two nights later and ate at the bar. Try the poke! Also very delicious.

food2
ambience2
service4
value1

I certainly didn't feel like I was in Hawaii

Dined on April 17, 2016

Seated at a cold drafty table didn't put me in a Hawaiian mood. For that matter, not much in the restaurant did. The food was average but the ribs were the toughest I have ever had.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Everything was perfect tonight! We got to sit at the sushi counter, so we could see the kitchen (which is always our preference). The "show" was entertaining and our waiter, Travis, was GREAT! He took our drink order and brought our wine in under two minutes; highly unusual on a busy Saturday evening. He asked if we had questions about the menu, we did and he answered them 'spot on.' We ordered from the "Spring Celebration" prix fixe menu and we were DELIGHTED with the food. Everything was very fresh, served piping hot and delicious. I had the crabmeat rangoons (spelling?), and hubby had a kim chee (spelling?) and beef appetizer. Both were exceptional. For entrees, I had the most fork-tender filet, served with mash and asparagus alongside a mouth-watering-as-I-think-about-it sauce reduction!! He had the steelhead trout (which was a touch undercooked for him; perfectly prepared for me). Then, we both had a shortbread cookie merangue (spelling?) fruit tart with kiwi and dragonfruit. WOW.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

If you want amazing, personalized servic ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

If you want amazing, personalized service and amazing food, this is the place to be.

food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed in the quality of the food.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The restaurant was lovely but the food was very disappointing for chef prepared food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New lunch is just as good as their dinner!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Roy's is always a favorite spot of ours for dinner, so now we're happy that Roy's Newport is open for lunch on weekdays! I tried the tempura crusted Ahi roll for an appetizer and the butterfish lettuce wraps for the entree. Both are new menu items that are offered just on their lunch menu. My wife had the classic lobster potstickers. The portions are smaller than dinner, but that's understandable since it's lunch. For dessert, we had a chocolate torte which flavor-wise tasted like their chocolate souffle. Everything was delicious! Also new on their lunch menu were some bento box style lunches that came with soup, salad, an entree choice, and cookies for dessert. My wife wants to try that next time. We hope lunch is a success so that they offer it on weekends, too. Service was also outstanding. We're always very happy with Roy's.

food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Decent Steakhouse

Dined on April 12, 2016

The food was great. The service was awesome. The decor? Kinda like an empty AppleBee's. And the price? I think, it was understandable for a 4 or 5-star steakhouse, but just not quite Roy's. I'd go back for the food, but probably wouldn't be my first choice in the area.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great for a birthday. Just be sure to ca ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Great for a birthday. Just be sure to call ahead and tell them.

food2
ambience3
service2

The atmosphere is lovely but the food co ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

The atmosphere is lovely but the food could use some help

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Can always depend on excellent seafood p ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Can always depend on excellent seafood prepared in both new ways and some of the traditional favorites. Fantastic desserts as well. The service was awesome; very personable waitress and attentive busser.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Price Fixe deal. Wonderful food.

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Great Price Fixe deal. Wonderful food.

food5
ambience5
service4

Perfectly cooked steaks and fish. In fa ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Perfectly cooked steaks and fish. In fact, the steak was way better than the place next door (Fle....gs). That's saying a lot since Roy's is known for its seafood. The only part I was a little disappointed with was the service which had never been an issue before. The server seemed to forget a few things. Usually, the service is outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service5

Good service and good food. All six of u ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Good service and good food. All six of us enjoyed the experience.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

I felt like we could never fine our waitress. Also, they were slow to clear our plate's. They were bringing our 2nd course and not cleaning our starter plates away. I was very surprised at how bad the service was. It wasn't that busy and they had plenty of staff. One of the members of our party ordered the steak medium rare and it was blue. Cold in the middle. He had to send it back. I also feel that my Lobster and shrimp omelet was a joke. I had 1/2 of a shrimp and 3 chunks of lobster. It was $37. What a joke! I definitely will never do Brunch again. We will try one more time with just Dinner and see how it goes.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A beautiful restaurant with a great Staff.

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

You come here for the service. The food is good, but the flair is great. You can have a great time and enjoy yourselves. We had a great time and will come back often.

food4
ambience4
service3

After a couple mediocre meals at Roy's, ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

After a couple mediocre meals at Roy's, they finally delivered good food. Their filet mignon was surprisingly good. Seared salmon special was good and soufflé was great. They still need to improve service though. We always wait 10-15 minutes to be seated - even with reservation. Table service was just ok. Waitress was nice but seemed overwhelmed at times.

food5
ambience4
service5

Had a great meal as we usually do!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Had a great meal as we usually do!

food5
ambience5
service5

Went for lunch and had a wonderful exper ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Went for lunch and had a wonderful experience, starting at reception. The lunch specials were creative and beautifully presented. Each course was perfectly proportioned and delicious - right down to the salad and homemade cookies included as dessert! Very, very reasonable, too!. Our server was perfectly charming and understanding - as we asked for leisurely service. My daughter and I needed a "catch up" day and had lots to discuss and enjoy. Thank you, Roy's!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Delish as usual!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Fabulous food (Lakanilau is awesome, as was the ribeye.). Server was probably newer as we've had better service in times past. (She forgot to bring kids menu for our 6 year old and waters for the table, both of which we've had to ask for and remind her.)

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Probably won't come back. :(

Dined on February 27, 2016

So my boyfriend and I came for dinner on Friday night and the whole experience was just okay. Our drinks and appetizer were really good, but our main course and dessert was not enjoyable at all. We spent $110 (we would have spent $150 but we had a $40 off coupon) and the food definitely wasn't worth that price. My boyfriends steak was seared for too long so the outside was burnt and just wasn't a nice flavor. He also got the shrimp which was okay but definitely not good enough to make up for the steak. I got the Salmon which was also okay but not worth the price. It was definitely more like a $19.95 salmon rather than their $35 price tag. We got the chocolate soufflé and it was mediocre to say the least. When you open a soufflé its suppose to ooze out chocolate but it barely did that at all. I am not a chef so it may not be my place to say this, but it seemed like they may have cooked it for too long or maybe on too high of a heat. I was really sad walking out of this place after spending over $100 on a meal that we really didn't enjoy very much. I've heard many positive things about Roy's so maybe it was just a bad night for them. I'd be willing to come back for Aloha Hour for the drinks but I don't think I'll be back for a full dinner.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.