Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Roy's Newport Beach

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Newport Beach located in Fashion Island, South Orange County's premier shopping center, featuring an exhibition kitchen, Chef’s Counter, spacious dining room and three private dining rooms.

453 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM


Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 640-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Agbayani

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Delight in Easter brunch at Roy's. We will be open early at 9AM offering a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Treat dad to a brunch he'll love! Roy's will be open early on Father's Day with a very special 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 300 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Romantic (15)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Casual (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Family Style (7)
Cozy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Healthy (5)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tapas (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined a day ago

Always wonderful

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

We normally eat here and the food is always top quality. For some reason, everyone's main dish tonight was sub-par - either over cooked or too salty. Hopefully, it was only a one off night but will go somewhere else next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always great food. They cut back on portions but it still tastes good. Always loud in any Roy's I've been to. Acoustics just seem to be wrong. Best part of any Roy's visit: the chocolate souffle!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food is fresh and it taste great.
Drinks are ok, but not like at Roy's Turtle Bay location, north shore Oahu island of Hawaii.
The restaurant places one shot of rum only in their Mai Tai's for $12,
whereas the Roy's in Hawaii places 2 shots of rum in each drink at $12.
The drinks that have one shot are called 'punch'....and not considered true Mai Tai's.
Big difference in drinks, not only in rum content, but also missing pineapple and other ingredients. The female bartender thinks no one knows the difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

MY GIRLFRIEND AND I WENT TO END A WEEK OF VISITING AND WORK NEITHER OF US HAD BEEN THERE BEFORE. THE SERVICE WAS GREAT THE HOSTESS WAS AMAZINGLY FRIENDLY AND THE FOOD WAS AMAZING! DEFINATELY A REPEAT PLACE AND A RECOMMENDATION TO OTHERS

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Roys is always good! Great service and excellent food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

For a Roy's, this restaurant was a bit disappointing because of the claustrophobic feeling due to no windows. The food was good and the service was very good but the over-all cramped feeling (compared to the other Roy's I have been to - at least 8 other locations) put a bit of damper on the meal.

Tags: Private Room, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Cocktail was poor.
Dinner menu items very expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Staff was very attentive and food was excellent!

We will return!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We usually go to Roy's 2-3 times per year for celebrations. The food is creative and usually very good, but on this visit we were very disappointed. The service for fair, should have been better given that there were only 2 tables filled at 11:30 on a Sunday. I ordered the grilled salmon which was undercooked. Since I don't like sending food back (and fortunately I eat raw fish) I just ate it. It came with some rice and cucumber which was good but I felt it was a bit overpriced for the size, and I ordered the LARGE portion. The flavors were very good, but for a restaurant of this caliber, I expect the fish to be perfectly cooked, especially since the restaurant was empty.
My husband had the short ribs and it was excellent.
The brunch menu was limited. I would have like the option of ordering off the regular lunch or dinner menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We Love Roy's in San Diego. It was disappointing Sat in Newport--first time there. Just about everything was dry. My wife and i had a laugh wondering if they were saving money by holding back on the sauce of every dish? Love the Butterfish but will not go back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have dined at Roy's of Newport Beach many times and have always enjoyed our dinner. However, they are evidently under new management and they have a lot of things to work out. First, we waited 15 minutes before being seated even though we had reservations. It took a long time to get the waiter to take our order and then only two plates were delivered at a time (there were 4 of us.) That happened with appetizers as well as the main course. They were short handed and service was very slow. The food was good when we finally received it, but our friends split a caesar salad that had about 3 pieces of lettuce on each plate with some croutons ($10). We were very disappointed and the manager must have seen our distress as he came over to explain that he had just taken over, etc. He did give each couple $80 gift certificates for our next meal at the restaurant. We were pretty impressed with that and will give them some time and then try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went online to view menu options. No mention of a very limited "Brunch Menu." We were disappointed that the online menu was not available.
Also noticed an older group of 4, were seated, given the menu, had placed their drink orders and just before the drinks were served, they all got up and walked out of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Made reservations for 8:30, did not get seated until 9:15. Service was slow, food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was of very poor quality.

Service was good but good took forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Good news and bad news. Good for conversation because the restaurant was not busy. Bad for service, food, and value. I'm sad because I feel like I just experienced the end of one of my favorites. Unfortunately, I picked Roy's to take my good friend out for his 65th birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I ordered the mahi mahi and I thought it was quite tough with not much flavor. My husband ordered the osso bucco and the serving was tiny. There's many other better places to dine. It was not to our liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 6, 2017

So so disappointing. I have eaten there before and enjoyed it. The server was totally disinterested in serving. I had to ask about specials on the menu because she didn't tell us there were any. My main course was cold and I waited for her to reappear. She didn't do that so I had one of the runners return it. Still no server although I saw her across the restaurant on her cell phone. The food portions were small 4 cold scallops with a tiny quartered Brussel sprout so I wanted to order a side dish - no server. Again I asked the runner to order it. When my scallops were reserved there was only three on the plate. A manager came over to the table as we were leaving. The meal for three cost $300.00 less a $40 promotional coupon the manager gave me. Even so it was so not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 6, 2017

For twice in a row, the service was extremely slow. Every other table was getting their table fairly promptly, but all of our courses (appetizer, entrée and desert) were very late. In all cases, we had to flag someone down to check on our status.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Roy's has improved the quality of their menu. However, without a promotional discount like the one we received we probably would not go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our server was in the top 3 of servers I've had all-time. She was amazing. Perfectly attentive. The prices were on the higher side which wouldn't had been a big deal if the food was good but it wasn't. I'm one for different flavorings but they were a little too off the wall. At least tell us in the menu that you are amending the taste of a $50 lobster or the short ribs. Service great!! Food one star!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Roy's in Newport Beach is ok, but never breaks through to great status. Hostess and server were robotic. Steak and lobster meal was ehhh. The steak part of the meal was comparable to Applebee's. The lobster part was ok but quite small. It's a shame that they can't do better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Steak and chops are better than fish at this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We hadn't been there in awhile and it was great as always!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The fixe prix menu of 4 courses was served all at once. We ate the soup and salad first. When we got to the main course it was cold. Better to serve the different courses separately.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great food, nice atmosphere and good service. Recommend this place for all your events or just a meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Although Roy's is always noisy, at least the food is usually good. Recently though, the service was horrible and the food average. We were there ONE HOUR before we got our appetizers which we ordered within fifteen minutes of being seated, and it was TWO HOURS before we were given our entrees!! Our waitress didn't seem at all concerned about our delayed orders although we asked about them at least three times. And when we finally got our appetizers, they were cold! We won't be going back there any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We attempted to eat in the bar area. No one came to our table for some time. So, I asked the bartender if there are servers for the table where we sat. She replied in a very condescending manner "of course". About five minutes later a gentlemen in a suit asked if he could help and took our order for drinks and lite fare. The drinks came promptly but the food took almost 1/2 hour to arrive. Fed up with this process, we decided to leave. The manager was very nice and took the food off of our bill.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 25, 2017

For the amount of money you spend, the food is ok. Flemmings or Rusty Pelican is so much better for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I love the booths, and the quiet, so you can speak and hear. food is superb.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Went to Roys with girlfriend for my birthday dinner. Roys had put Hawaiian flower petals and a happy birthday note on the table for me. We had some amazing food and a beautiful birthday desert as well as a photo from them. Included was a card for $20.00 off on my next visit. It was so nice. There are so many restaurants to choose from in Fashion Island, I have to say they made a believer out of me. I'm going back for the happy hour they told me about next week. The crunchy roll was the best I've ever had!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Roy's always delivers! Food is amazing (we always get the Misoyaki Butterfish and the Lakanilau roll as part of our dinner), the service is proficient and the ambiance is nice/comfortable for conversations. When they offer the special make-your-own pre-fixe dinners (choose your own starter, entrée and dessert for $36.95... it's an amazing deal!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Roy's doesn't disappoint. The food is unique, beautifully presented, perfect portion sizes, and delicious. Our table was a bit too close to the kitchen, and we were seated over 10 minutes before we were attended, but didn't spoil our evening at all. Once our server came to our table, she was attentive, and wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was amazing. Blackened ahi was cooked perfectly with an amazing sauce and the steak and lobster were delicious as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our server was great. Super nice and attentive. My only issue was our reservation was not honored at the time we requested. Our reservation was at 7:15 and we did not get seated until 7:45.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were informed that Roy's was recently sold to another buyer. Sadly, we noticed some differences during our dining experience having been long time, very satisfied, customers.

The first thing we noticed was that they no longer provide the plate of edamame so, we asked our server and was told that it is "Only by request" which means that any new customer to the restaurant would never be offered the plate. She also mentioned that it was because they noticed that some customers were not eating the edamame so, it was wasted. My first thought was, why don't they simply offer the table the plate instead of having it as "only by request?"

Next, we noticed that one of the meals which we have ordered many times in the past was significantly different in taste and texture. This was of considerable concern to us because previously, it was delicious, now it was simply OK.

Finally, we also noticed that they no longer offer the small plate with a quesadilla, apple slice, and carrot for kids. This was one of the outstanding features that I admired about Roy's because it was something served to kids to hold them over until the main meal arrived. It's a very low cost item and made Roy's stand out among other restaurants. Something that no other restaurant has ever done.

It's sad that the new owners seem to think that penny pinching and cutting back to save a very small amount of money will help them grow because, based on my most recent dining experience, sadly, Roy's is simply just like any other dining establishment I've been to.

Roy's was a stand out with great food and outstanding service that no other restaurant matched. We've taken many guests here and recommended it numerous times over the years so, I will give the restaurant another chance but, if our experience is similar to this one, it will go onto the long list of restaurants where we are only looking for a particular food and where service is not the deciding factor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very disappointing experience. Food was unremarkable and lukewarm. Waitress forgot my side dish and it was cold when I got it. Very expensive for what we received.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We arrived 10 minutes early and were seated 40 minutes late. The valet parking guys lost our keys and left the window open. He places the key into another vehicle that drove off. I understand that it was Valentine's Day and the restaurant was under pressure, but the restaurant definitely overbooked too many tables and stretched itself too thin. The servers were excellent. Very friendly and professional. The food was typical of Roys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Roy's has been a family favorite for many years. There was always something good on their menu for everyone. For health reasons I have become gluten free. Unfortunately Roy's gluten free menu is extremely limited and they are not able to modify their dishes to accododate for gluten intolerant customers. We dine out several nights a week and have had to stop going to Roys because of this. All other restaurants of equivalent caliber to Roys have kept up with the gluten sensitivity trend. They make easy substitutitoons to their ingredients to offer a much wider variety of gluten free dishes without compromising the flavor . This goes a long ways for people like me!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.