About Roy's Newport Beach

453 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Newport Beach located in Fashion Island, South Orange County's premier shopping center, featuring an exhibition kitchen, Chef’s Counter, spacious dining room and three private dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Weekdays at 11AM
Open Weekends at 4PM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 640-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Agbayani

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Calamari
Mini Molten Chocolate Cake
Kalbi (BBQ short rib) taco
Ahi Tuna Roll
edamame
Misoyaki Butterfish
Loco Moco
Chocolate Souffle
Nigiri Sushi
Appetizers!
Hanger Steak Frites
Skinny Cosmo Martini
Smoked Salmon Salad
Surf & Turf Whole Lobster & Petit Filet Mignon
Tahitian Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Sunrise at Haleakala
Seared Swordfish
Ahi Tartar
Shrimp and Veggie Wrap
Roy's Melting Chocolate Souffle
Roy's Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi
Roy’s Canoe Appetizer for Two
Apertizer
butterfish
Scallops
Macadamia Nut Almond Tart
Shellfish Sampler
Roy's Trio
Lobster Potstickers
hmmm

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 300 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Orange County
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

special occasion (68)
fit for foodies (52)
good for groups (37)
See All
romantic (25)
great for lunch (20)
neighborhood gem (17)
hot spot (10)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (8)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
877 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

2nd time having lunch there. Disappointe ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

2nd time having lunch there. Disappointed. Nothing like the 1st visit. The fish didn't taste as good, cookies were hard as a rock. Maybe Thursdays chef is better than Monday 's chef

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We have dined numerous times at Roy's. ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We have dined numerous times at Roy's. This visit, food was less than average. Very bland. Unfortunate since we picked this for Father's Day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful way to spend Father's Day!! Gr ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Wonderful way to spend Father's Day!! Great selection of entrees and appetizers. The man tai was delicious. Staff was outstanding .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice clean interior, open and fresh. The ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice clean interior, open and fresh. The menu is unique and the current. Service is attentive and reasonable prompt.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We dine here often (probably over 100 ti ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We dine here often (probably over 100 times) for dinner and Aloha hour. The seafood is always outstanding. We had the Mahi Mahi and the prime rib for our brunch meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible service and food! The fish had ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrible service and food! The fish had no flavor and the deserts were terrible. Service was slow and we did not have a good time.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food and our waitress was great! Had re ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and our waitress was great! Had reservation but still had to wait almost 30min

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was great as always. But the s ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great as always. But the service was horrible.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's is our favorite happy hour in all ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Roy's is our favorite happy hour in all of OC!! Your 1988 Martini is so delicious!!

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Roy's is a great old stand-by. Although ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Roy's is a great old stand-by. Although my kids are old enough to eat everything on the menu, I am still nostalgic about their great kids' menu. The fish is always fresh and cooked perfectly, although most selections haven't changed since they came to Newport Beach. I always enjoy our dinners here.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The scallops entree was horrible... they ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The scallops entree was horrible... they do not understand how to serve sushi, they should remove it from the menu... also they are very pricey. I like the restaurant and have eaten there several times in the past but this meal was very disappointing. I always thought of this as 4-star but will not return any time soon as this was a 3-star experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good solid food

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

First night in Newport Beach. Kathy Brian Lexi and myself went to Roy's and had a good solid meal The Lobster Bisque was excellent as well as spicy. After the first sip or two you adjust. The wedge salad was very good. Lexi had the salmon and said it was very good. Brian had the sushi. Kathy and I had the sampler for two. Brian and I had the Hawaiian Martini good but no liquor taste. Waitress was nice. All in all good first night

food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you, Roy's! As always, the food an ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Thank you, Roy's! As always, the food and service were impeccable! The Misoyaki Butterfish remains one of our all time favorites, and the calamari appetizer was amazing! And no one does chocolate soufflé better. A truly wonderful evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday lunch

Dined on June 7, 2016

This was an annual birthday lunch for two as my friend and I were born on the same day. We normally go to Tommy Bahamas but no one answered the phone and for some reason we could not make reservations on line. We will come back to Roy's in the future. The lemon drop and mojito were excellent. Great choices on the menu. The chocolate soufflé for chocolate lovers is beyond description. Found out it was our birthdays and put our names on our desserts. Waiter referred to us by our first names after that - very friendly. Just the right amount of attention. Highly recommend Roy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2

Service was extremely slow and it wasn't ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Service was extremely slow and it wasn't even a busy weekend. It was a Monday! The food wasn't out of the world to me it was average. We enjoyed the appetizer (short ribs) more then the main course.

food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Check the price of the specials!!

Dined on June 4, 2016

My daughter and I try to get to Roy's every three months or so to enjoy their ebi roll. Other items on the menu are really good, but that has become our favorite "go to" roll. Lose the ebi roll and lose our business (hint). Last Friday we went to Roy's. I ordered the chef's sea bass special based on the picture on a placard in the lobby. I should have known better. The dish came and it really didn't resemble the lobby placard. But worse... it just wasn't that special. But even worse, Roy's charged $45 for that gem which was a total evening kill. To charge $45 for that, I should have been shown pics of the chef on the fishing boat, hooking up that sea bass himself! Only then might that dish have been worth the $45. I wasn't going to try to get a discount or free dessert (since I did complete the meal), so I said nothing until after my credit card was rung up. At that time I told the waitress that I felt the sea bass was tremendously overpriced and only asked her to let the manager know my feedback. I have learned my lesson at Roy's. Fair warning to all.... check the price on the special before you order. When the dish arrives, if it isn't what you think it should be, please speak up. I am sure they will do the right thing at that time.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Robotic & Sterile

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was good. However, the service was robotic & cold at best, and the atmosphere was sterile. The wine which we had ordered well before the meal was not brought until after the food was served. We had to frequently pour the wine ourselves, even though the wait staff person walked past our table many times. The atmosphere was so sterile that we felt like we were sitting in a warehouse, not a fun & exciting restaurant. Our overall impression was that Roy's has gotten full of themselves, and everyone working there was just putting in their time, and that no one really cared about making it a fun dining experience. We used to love Roy's, but this is now the second time we have had this type of experience at a Roy's restaurant. We are done.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

above and beyond as always

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Roys never disappoints - in food or service. We have celebrated many birthdays and anniversaries and other special occasions. They understand that every little touch means a great experience, from the table we wanted, to the flowers they placed, to the special touch with a dessert. And the food is fabulous !!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steve

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food and service. Attention to detail by the staff. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED

Dined on June 2, 2016

We have visited numerous Roy's Hawaiian Fusion locations with our favorite being on Flamingo Road in Las Vegas. My entrée Sea Bass order portion was smaller than my appetizer. There was no interaction with the waitress, nor did she provide any recommendations or ask about sides. Overall a horrible experience that forced us to find another spot to stop to get more to eat since we left hungry. There are too many great choices in the Newport Beach area for us to ever want to return to this location. I used to rave to friends and family how wonderful these restaurants are, however that will never happen again.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

not what it used to be

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

It's sad that Roy's used to be an excellent restaurant, but has declined significantly over the years. We came here for my wife's birthday, and the only great thing was the service from our waitress. Our salmon was dry and overcooked, and we waited over 30 minutes for the souffles. When we finally got our souffles, there was no melting chocolate inside because they overcooked that too. The lobster potstickers were great, but that was about it. Too bad, we miss what Roy's used to be.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Okay for lunch...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Not what I expected ... It was not as spectacular as other Roy's that are in Hawai'i... Service was good and food was okay but I was disappointed in the management.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Had a reservation but were kept waiting ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Had a reservation but were kept waiting for quite some time. Hostess was rude and management seemed more focused on something other than operations. Heard many customer complaints. Our food was inedible. We literally left our food, paid the bill and went somewhere else for dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

FANTASTIC! We've dined here before and ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

FANTASTIC! We've dined here before and now we expect a GREAT time! Our server remembered us, which is always nice. The food was hot and delicious; timing was perfect; everything was great for a special night out. The manager chatted with us briefly, and he's got an absolutely perfect job for his personality (he's witty and fun and charming). One of the chefs stopped by and talked with us for a minute (and guess what? He is also funny and personable!). Hubby ordered barramundi with crab (this dish could not have been any better. . .it was rich and filling and hubby was forced to share with me a little bit, since it smelled like heaven!). I ordered the shrimp and rice, which was ok, but the highlight of our dining experience was the dessert. Our server suggested a dessert when we were only half done with our entrees. . .as he explained it takes 20 minutes. We normally don't, but went ahead and ordered. It was fantastic!!!!! Take the suggestions offered by staff -- they DEFINITELY know their stuff. Thanks Roys!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers, salads, entrees, dessert ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The appetizers, salads, entrees, desserts, and service, were excellent, as usual. The Misoyaki Butterfish, & chocolate soufflé, are still my favorites. I also love all of their salads!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall I like Roy's. This time service not good.

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I like coming to Roy's. This time service was poor. Waiter was absent most of meal. Back-up waiter appeared occasionally. No water service, after 2 requests. Complained to manager at end of meal and their was a lot of concern. I left the appropriate tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappoining

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was slow..food was cold....disappointing day.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time. The others quiet an ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a great time. The others quiet and comfortable. The food was delicious. M

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very tasty. I really apprec ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was very tasty. I really appreciated that we were given a quiet table as requested on our reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the Birthday Dinner !

Dined on May 6, 2016

The menu and head server was outstanding in accommodating our joyous evening to celebrate a birthday. I would recommend this for anyone celebrating a memorable occasion at Roy's ! The seafood platter and sea bass was delicious and the lobster bisque was exceptionally the best we've tasted.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food Service slow

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great food Service slow

food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food, but portions are small.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Fantastic food, but portions are small.

food2
ambience3
service1

We waited 45 minutes past our reservatio ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

We waited 45 minutes past our reservation for a table. Way too long for our food.

food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Not impressed, very small portions, missed order

Dined on May 2, 2016

The atmosphere is just average. Food taste and quality is good, but they did not deliver bread after requesting it, stating they ran out, then delivered bread to table next to us!!!!! Waiter is very nice, tried to apologize. Missed appetizer order, had to ask for it. The place is just average, I can get the same and more at any chop house. Just not impressed

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday Surprise!

Dined on May 1, 2016

It was for a surprise birthday with friends, our table was ready and had a birthday card with the persons name on it which was special. The food, drinks and service was excellent. Also a complimentary dessert was served with the person's name scribed with chocolate sauce on the plate!! SOOOOOO special, and would definitely come back. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The lobster sampler platter is amazing

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The lobster sampler platter is amazing

food5
ambience5
service5

Started with delectible lobster potstick ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Started with delectible lobster potstickers. Husband had the butterfish that was outstanding. I went with scallops and salmon, two favorites. Not disappointed!

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food average quality. Service extremely poor !

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food quality was not exceptional! Service was lacking. Given this was a Wed night and not busy. I would have expected better service. Nice touch for a birthday welcome with inside the menu greetings and a table greeting/picture frame. Downhill from there. Took our drink order and then it was 20-25 minutes before anyone came near our table. My wife and I split a wedge salad, which we often do, and we were both shocked how tiny the serving. Never seen a wedge that small! Asked three different times for an ice bucket for our wine. Finally got it when wine was about gone. Kids glasses of soda were in need of refills most of the time. When dinners finally arrived one was delayed a little, not bad. When sides arrived, the mushroom dish was set on the table. The server said the serving dish was extremely hot and not too touch it, and he left, with his potholder. Now we were at a table for eight persons, so we then had to pass dinner plates to share this mushroom side. We were never asked if anyone wanted water, and near the end of dinner I did get a glass though I think It was another waiter that was walking by that I asked. We did get a birthday dessert as well as ordering a souffle. It would have been nice to know ahead of time how small they make theirs and I would have ordered another. The check was promptly delivered after dessert, but no pen was included to complete the process. I left the credit card bills lay on the open book for some time, thinking someone would notice it was not being signed, but to no avail. Hostess finally came by and I asked her if she could get me a pen. My wife wouldn't let me complain because it was a birthday, but had a manager ever come by to ask about our meal, I probably would have anyway. We ate at Fleming's just around the corner on the previous Saturday night. Two less people in my group there, but the bill was about the same. Restaurant was packed, food was excellent and we had no complaints at all about the service.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Food

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

I ordered the trout which tasted terrible and then was replaced with a petite filet. The filet had salty gravy on it and lots of fat on the meat. The mashed potatoes were cold. We have been to many different Roy's but this was the worst. We decided for the price and bad food we would not be going back to Roy's.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner at Roy's

Dined on April 25, 2016

Whether you are in the desert, Hawaii or Newport Beach, Roy's is the place to go. The service is good, they take reservations and the food is very good. I had the salmon and it was excellent but for the price they should offer sides that are included.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.