About Roy's Newport Beach

453 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Newport Beach located in Fashion Island, South Orange County's premier shopping center, featuring an exhibition kitchen, Chef’s Counter, spacious dining room and three private dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM


Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 640-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Agbayani

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Calamari
Mini Molten Chocolate Cake
Kalbi (BBQ short rib) taco
Ahi Tuna Roll
edamame
Loco Moco
Misoyaki Butterfish
Nigiri Sushi
Chocolate Souffle
Appetizers!
Hanger Steak Frites
Smoked Salmon Salad
Skinny Cosmo Martini
Surf & Turf Whole Lobster & Petit Filet Mignon
Tahitian Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Sunrise at Haleakala
Seared Swordfish
Ahi Tartar
Shrimp and Veggie Wrap
Roy's Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi
Roy's Melting Chocolate Souffle
Roy’s Canoe Appetizer for Two
Apertizer
butterfish
Scallops
Macadamia Nut Almond Tart
Roy's Trio
Shellfish Sampler
Lobster Potstickers
hmmm

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 300 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Orange County
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

Special Occasion (71)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Good for Groups (37)
See All
Romantic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
928 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner with a deligh ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner with a delightful waitress.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent and consist ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food is always excellent and consistently good no matter what Roy's we go to. If you like fish this is the place you want to eat. The pineapple martini was also the best martini I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to the Newport Beach l ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 7 days ago

I have been going to the Newport Beach location for at least ten years, and I would have to say it's the best out of all the locations that I have visited. Quality and service are always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to Roy's many times. The food ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I've been to Roy's many times. The food and service never disappoint. Gabe was our server this time and continued the tradition of great service and the feeling of "Ohana."

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here frequently for many y ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have dined here frequently for many years. Our experience this time was not consistent with our prior experiences. Both fish dishes were dry and the starter was missing ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a delicious dinner and a wonderfu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always a delicious dinner and a wonderful evening at Roy's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my husband and son's ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were celebrating my husband and son's birthday. My son ordered the Summer Prix Fixe with the Filet Mignon Yakisoba , the Salt and Pepper Grilled Porkchops and, of course, the dessert, Coconut Panna Cotta. He absolutely loved each and every single bite. He said everything was to die for. My husband, daughter and I ordered the Newport Combo. It is not on the menu so you have to ask. It comes with the Misoyaki Butterfish and the Braised Short Ribs of Beef. It's was great because we wanted some fish and some beef. It fit the bill. The Butterfish was delicious and the short ribs were tender and flavorful. For dessert we shared the Kaffer Lime Tart. If you like key lime desserts you will absolutely love the Lime Tart. We could not believe how full we were. We were all happy with our choices. After we returned home and the next morning my husband was still commenting how much he enjoyed his birthday dinner at Roy's!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used a travelzoo discounted coupon fo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We used a travelzoo discounted coupon for dinner for 2, plus 2 kids dinners. Food didn't seem as well prepared as in other Roy's Restaurants. Wait staff seemed busy, slow at refilling drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I have eaten at better Roy's. It was ok.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have eaten at better Roy's. It was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Our dinner took three hours not because ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dinner took three hours not because we were sitting and enjoying ourselves, but because it took so long to receive our food. The appetizers took so long to cook that they finally brought us our salads first. The wait staff didn't seem to care that everything took so long. We were one of the last tables there. Also, the food was mediocre. I had the shrimp and the rice was crunchy and way over cooked. We were very unsatisfied with our food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Menu a bit more limited than a few month ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Menu a bit more limited than a few months ago. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

All was good but the decision to go to b ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

All was good but the decision to go to brunch menus instead of regular lunch menus on Saturdays was disappointing. The new selections don't emphasize the variety of seafood that is Roy's normal strength.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Roy's is always a great place to go. Fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Roy's is always a great place to go. Food is always amazing, the service is great and the ambiance is wonderful!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the first time since we started eati ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

For the first time since we started eating at Roy's we were disappointed. It all started at the door where the hostess was far from gracious. The young man who sat us was great and our waiter who had served us before on several occasions was still really nice but overly busy. She couldn't spend more than 10 seconds at our table, the bare minimum to smile and ask if everything was OK before running away. The food was very good but the wines disappointing as well. I sent back the first bottle we ordered because it was very acidic, kept the second one just because I felt bad, but the wine was far from great. Why have such mediocre choices on the wine list? I don't know if we'll go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Got this coupon at half off from Travelz ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Got this coupon at half off from Travelzoo. The food was good but nothing better. Small amount of food for both my wife and me. I walked out wanting more food and cringed at the thought that regular price would have cost me $120.00 not counting the tip. We don't eat at high end restaurants very often because of this. Usually pay way more money for less food. I also like salt and pepper. Not to be found on any table that I saw. I could have asked but felt uncomfortable doing so. We gutted it out, laughed about how we get much better food and value at lower end restaurants and left. Not for us ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

As frequent longtime Roy's customers, we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

As frequent longtime Roy's customers, we were extremely disappointed. We purchased a "deal" that was supposed to be a $120.00 value, which it clearly was not. Quality of food has decreased and as another reviewer mentioned, no more edamame appetizer which is a shame, since they've never offered bread, the edamame was a nice substitute. The meal was fair at best and I will now have to find a different "go to" place for a nice meal that used to be consistently to our liking. Apparently restaurant chain has been sold, excluding Hawaii and Pebble Beach so maybe those locations are still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I cannot say when the thing about this e ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I cannot say when the thing about this experience. Five out of the six of us hated our fish entrée. The service was extremely slow and Natanis even though we were there early and the restaurant was not busy. We were there almost an hour before our salad arrived. I would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We go out to eat about 3xs a week and ha ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We go out to eat about 3xs a week and have been to Roys many times. We bout a travel zoo offer and dined at 5:15 pm Sunday. Our server was very nice and cared about customer happiness which was very nice. Problems were: Mahi Mahi very over cooked and burnt on top - it was still served. My wife ate alone (we ate in shifts). This is not fun, especially after having to wait 15 minutes to sit with an early reservation.

The coffee was literally room temperature. We learned the morning staff did not clean out their pots. None of our drinks were comped or anything. The manager believed we were already "already getting a deal" it seemed. We didn't think so. There are just so many good restaurants in Newport. Just because we took your travel zoo offer doesn't mean we would be back again....that was a wrong assumption because we go out a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was dirty. From the seating to the ca ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

It was dirty. From the seating to the carpet to the server uniforms. We ordered a bottle of pellegrino and then chose to dine elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Food was GREAT! Service not so much. Amb ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was GREAT! Service not so much. Ambience was awful. Give the cook a raise and fire the manager. Or give a stern talking to the owner. Something...This place could be awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

Had the best Alaska halibut. Excellent. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had the best Alaska halibut. Excellent.

The fillet mignon was too well done than our order but was replaced by perfectly done piece

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We were disappointed that the restaurant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were disappointed that the restaurant did not offer free edamame as in the past. Appetizers on the "prix fixe menu" disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite honestly the food was a disappoint ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Quite honestly the food was a disappointment. We had the fried chicken. It was coated and so hard and salty, it was just not tasty. There were 4 small chuncks of chicken and they were lost in the coating. The dressing on the salad was boring. The best thing about the meal was the cookies, which weren't that great, either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We were so disappointed with our Newport ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were so disappointed with our Newport Roy's experience. Had 7:30 pm reservations, and weren't seated for 20 minutes, and then ignored for another 10 minutes. Nice but clueless waiter, overcooked shrimp dinner and did not receive the dessert we ordered. The restaurant was dark, hot, noisy and crowded, and the staff was not handling it well. We were familiar with the Roy's restaurant previously located in Atlanta --- elegant, white and botanical decor, no open kitchen, professional staff. It appears that the chain has rebranded, but forgot to reduce the prices to reflect the more casual atmosphere, and lower quality food and service. NEVER again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My husband paid the bill so I don't know ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband paid the bill so I don't know what the total was, but it was worth the menu price. We had the three course summer meal. It was delicious. It was very busy and the kitchen got backed up, but our server, Rich apologized many times. It was not a problem for us at all. We enjoyed the whole evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WONDERFUL FOOD, GREAT SERVICE A 10 PL ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

WONDERFUL FOOD, GREAT SERVICE A 10 PLUS. WILL GO AGAIN. BETTY

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed my lunch, I had the special lunc ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Enjoyed my lunch, I had the special lunch with salad soup entrée and dessert there was three of us in our party. I had the fried chicken, my girlfriend had the macadamia crusted mahi mahi other girlfriend had the braised beef. The only thing I would say is the food should've been hotter. Waitress got twenty % tip. Most of the time somebody else took care of use. Ask for refill on the coke got it after I was done.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Make a reservation people!!!.. Walk in's ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Make a reservation people!!!.. Walk in's had to wait 1:45hr... Use open table!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

A very disappointing evening and a speci ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

A very disappointing evening and a special occasion ruined by an inattentive waitress and an indifferent, defensive manager (aka Darren). Be prepared for an argument when you ask for a refill on your coffee or that special occasion birthday cake that never came. We set up the reservation as a birthday through open table, and called to remind the restaurant 2 hours before. When we flagged down the manager and informed him of our disappointment he said "tell me what was wrong so I know who to nail!" The wrong response from someone who shouldn't be managing a Roy's. Never again for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

On this visit we encountered a confused ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

On this visit we encountered a confused menu and confused staff. Our menus had "spring specials" whereas it was already one month into summer. I had received an email from Roy's to come in and try the new specials. Plating was done incorrectly. Rice placed on sauce so it was mushy and fish on empty side of the plate, etc. etc. etc. As others have mentioned for a few years now, this Roy's is in serious need of a face lift. Chairs were worn out (holes in 2 of the 4 chairs at our table) and the dining room feels tired.

We hope they can remodel and re-tool this location. On a bright note, we did enjoy a great dining experience at the Roy's locations in Pasadena, La Jolla and Hawaii this year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Eaten in Roy's Oahu, Poipu, Guam, and Ne ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Eaten in Roy's Oahu, Poipu, Guam, and Newport, though further from sources is all the same great. Hard to beat the butterfish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like all other Roy's restaurants, everyt ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Like all other Roy's restaurants, everything is extremely salty although I requested no salt and sugar whenever possible. Some foods are also extremely sweet. Salt and Sugar are the specialty of Roy Yamaguchi. I inquired about it, but they said that is how their recipes are. Most items are pre-salted and pre-sugared during prep and there is little the line cooks can do. Stay away from it if you care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Always excellent and a go-to restaurant ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always excellent and a go-to restaurant for us whether for dinner, brunch or happy hour. Miso butterfish is a favorite as is the new halibut as a special. We love the molden souffle cake with ice cream.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location. Lighting was too bright ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great location. Lighting was too bright for that hour-needed to be dimmed. Food was sub-par and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

loved it!! Food was great. Service was g ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

loved it!! Food was great. Service was great. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food quality along with a vibra ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service, food quality along with a vibrant ambience makes this a special place to go to in Orange county.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great woman server who really m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a great woman server who really made our dining experience the most pleasant . Food was great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthdays are always fun to celebrate at ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Birthdays are always fun to celebrate at Roys. They go out of their way to make you feel special and my wife enjoyed that treatment. Appetizers and food were first rate. First experience it in Waikiki Beach and even though Newport Beach can't compete with that view it's still a special place for us

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meal and great service!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent meal and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rushed service. Poorly trained staff. G ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Rushed service. Poorly trained staff. Go to Wildfish. Better service better choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.