Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Roy's Newport Beach

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Newport Beach located in Fashion Island, South Orange County's premier shopping center, featuring an exhibition kitchen, Chef’s Counter, spacious dining room and three private dining rooms.

453 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM


Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Located in Fashion Island

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 640-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

We will be open early at 9AM. Join us for a 3-course brunch starting at just $36, or treat Dad to dinner with a special Chef's menu created for the occasion available from 3-CL.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 300 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Business Meals (15)
Casual (14)
Romantic (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Private Room (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (7)
Healthy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

I've eaten here twice before over the years and on both prior occasions was under whelmed by the quality of the food. My third time was no better. The ambiance is great and the service was attentive. The drinks were well made, but the food lacked the intensity of taste and the freshness which I would have expected. There was nothing wrong with the appetizers or the main course dishes we ordered, but it was also not memorable. For the price and for the reputation of the establishment itself the food should be a good deal better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 17, 2017

It's too pricey for what's offering. It doesn't have a nice setting (ambiance, poor decor) and the food is not as good for the price on the menu. There are so many better options around. I've been there 2 or 3 years ago and now again, both times disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

3rd time we've had HORRIBLE service! They had one server for about 15 tables!! For the prices they charge the service should be spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very disappointing meal; food was cold and under cooked, portions small, over priced, long wait even with reservation and multiple empty tables in the restaurant, etc. Used to be a favorite, now doubtful we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was Mothers Day lunch. The meal was deceiving- looked like it was a fixed price, three course brunch for the holiday. But we could have ordered just one course instead of three.

The Benedict was the worst. Overcooked eggs, with dry crab cakes on top of a strange biscuit. Not sure what the tasteless sauce was but was not hollandaise. Sides were 1 stock of asparagus and a couple slivers of a potato.

Deserts were also dried out and small.

Waiter was very nice and gave the Mothers all $20 gift cards but could have been to make up for the problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server, Kailey, was phenomenal the food was phenomenal and it was reasonably priced with accessible parking. That's all you can ask for

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was a great restaurant many years ago. My fish was over cooked the ambience needs help and the service is poor. Overall it was not a good experience. I cannot help but think it will not be around long in this market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Bday for a friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The service was great until I told them I had a Groupon. Then it was if we were the trash of the earth to them. It was very uncomfortable. It was like we were made to feel awful that such paupers as us using a Groupon had to be served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Average food , very disappointing . San Diego location was better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food and service!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food!

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was good but some portions were very small for the price. This included the wedge salad and the appetizer for 2. Iceberg lettuce isn't very expensive so I don't understand why it was such a small portion! Service was not great . We made the manager aware and he did what he could to correct the problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great place to celebrate a birthday, or any special occasion!
Food wine and service are great.
Mai Tai is not acceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love all the fresh fish options! The Ahi is delicious!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Private Room, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was very good. We arrived for an early dinner shortly after 5 pm. While the restaurant was basically empty, somehow we had to wait for more than five minutes to be seated. Service was prompt, but the waitress had the annoying habit of asking "How are WE doing? Are WE enjoying the dish?" We shared a calimari, which was good, spicy and substantial. My wife enjoyed the scallops and I had the loup de mer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Always amazing food, whether you in Newport Maui or anywhere you can always count on a great meal and great staff at Roy's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Unfortunately the worst experience I've had at a Roy's. We had to send our drinks back a couple of times because they tasted so bad. Then the cook burnt all our steaks. I ordered mine medium and it was still charcoal black on the outside which destroyed the taste of the steak. I do want to acknowledge the waiter did what he cwould with our drinks but never returned to check on our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Roys Newport Beach is one of our "go to" restaurants. We always have an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The manager, Darren, went out of his way to accommodate us. The food was outstanding, as usual. Love the butterfish! Our server, Tracy, was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Not good. Went for Easter brunch, and it was a mess. This was a 3-course experience. One of my courses was fruit with granola, macadamia nuts, and whipped yogurt. No yogurt. My husband orderedsteak and eggs. Ordered steak rare, and eggs over easy. Steak was medium well, and eggs were hard and overcooked. The waiter apologized, and offered dessert as a consolation. He brought ghtvout ice cream "sundaes"--melted scoop of vanilla ice cream with a few sprinkles delivered long after it had been scooped. Took at least 20 minutes to get our waiter's attention to get our check. He apologized again for all of the issues, and gave a $20 gift card, but we won't go back to use it.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We decided to take our family (2 adults, 3 kids) out to lunch at Roy's for Easter. Upon booking, it wasn't clear to us that the adults were REQUIRED to order from the brunch menu. Cheapest 2 course item was $36 (steak and eggs on a bed of kimchi diced potatoes. Yuck!) My steak was literally half fat half meat. Our server had a "not-so-friendly" attitude. She was quick, short, and seemed annoyed by our questions. I thought she really didn't want to work on Easter Day. Who does?! Anyhow, we were hoping our experience at Roy's Newport Beach would be like Roy's Turtle Bay, Hawaii. In Hawaii, we loved our meals, ambience was so inviting and happy, and service was excellent! Pure aloha! Needless to say, we will not be going back to Roy's Newport Beach again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and the service were both very good. The entrees could have come with more vegetables, but you can order extra on the side. Overall nice atmosphere and a good variety on the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We tried to get into other restaurants in the newport beach area This one fit into our time slot.
We go to other restaurants frequently. Roys does not equal the ones we go to. They are very overpriced for the food. Small servings. Husbands fish was 49.00. Fish was good but you got a very small portion. High prices. We are not cheap but it makes a difference when you feel you get what you pay for. Would not go again. There were five of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We received two promotional $40 gift cards and made reservations. We were disappointed. The martini was great, but half of my mahi-mahi was inedible. It was hard. When I told the waiter, he shrugged. My husband's filet mignon was "average." We will not be back. We threw the unused gift card in the trash.

Sad. I used to really like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Although, the food is quality ingredients when the meal is cold it doesn't taste as good. The Newport Beach location needs to update the decor.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This restaurant has fallen from its past glory. The menu is dated as was the décor. We ordered a drink and appetizer which were brought promptly. Just as we finished the appetizer the entre was delivered which was only 15 minutes after we arrived. At a restaurant at this price point service should not be that rushed. I wan speed at fast food, not fine dining.

My wife's butterfish was black even though this was not supposed to be a blackened item. We told the server to take the entrees back. She told me she would keep my entre warm. I indicated that keeping food warm was not acceptable and to recook both entrees. When the plates were brought back, it was evident that my entrée was not recooked.

Don't eat here if you are planning a leisurely dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We love Roy's and have dined here for over 100 times and counting. We can always count on a great seasonal changing menu -- including creative appetizers, salads and wonderful entrees. Our favorite entrees are the Miso Butterfish and the Trio of Seafood. We love the Happy Hour menu as well if we want something light. The chocolate melting souffle with vanilla ice cream is the way to top of a nice dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a meal of appetizers and wine. Everything was great.
Our server was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 4, 2017

It was my fiancé's 71st birthday. They had a birthday card set up for a table with fliers for him. The dinner was great. Disappointed in the mushrooms. Too much lemon juice. The desserts were great. And for a bonus they took a Polaroid shot of us and put it in a frame for us. So so sweet❣❣❣Thank you❣And we also received a gift card for brunch❣ Great experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I can always count on Roy's for the ambience and romantic vibe, however, this time I brought my two kids to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday and they had a blast too! Good times!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Terrific experience with delicious apps, entre's and dessert. Cocktails were awesome, we had a Mule Head with Crystal Head Vodka and slice of pineapple.. delicious!
Good service and friendly staff.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was good, both our meals were what we expected. Our server took very good care us through the entire meal. It was a very nice touch that we received a photo together and a dessert and gift card. Overall, it was a very good experience. We will tell our friends and family members. Aloha

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We has a great time at Roy's . We got there at 5 because we were going to a movie at 7 I had made a reservation which I didn't need to do as we were the only people there
No one made fun of us . As can be expected the service was great !!!!!!
But the best part was the salmon . I order salmon whenerver it is on the menue, and by far this was the best salmon I have had in a long tine . The flavour was wonderful and it was so moist. I am getting hungry just writing about i

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Casual, Private Room, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The Hawaiian poke was very good. The butterfish was mouthwatering!
I had Roy's Trio and was disappointed that the salmon was dry.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

As usual, the service was impeccable, the food was beautifully prepared, and we had a quiet booth. This place never disappoints!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The valet was professional and prompt. The host was warm and friendly and seated us quickly. The server was welcoming and helpful. The appetizer was excellent. The main course was excellent. The dessert was outstanding. The prix fixe menu was excellent and was the reason we chose to dine at Roy's this time. The serving staff was attentive and efficient. The table we were seated at was spectacular! Thanks to the entire team for a job well done. I will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Family Style, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Roys is always dependable good in food and service! Celebrated my son's birthday and college graduation and the waitress couldn't be more nice and accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My 7 year old son wanted to go to Roy's for his birthday, as we had such an amazing experience in Palm Springs. However, this was not what we experienced. Our soufflé for dessert showed up before any of our food. The kitchen clearly was confused, busy, not sure. The manager did try to help us but by the time the soufflé came we knew dinner was not on their radar. So incredibly disappointing for my son on his birthday. We had to leave with our food in bags but it's never as good heated up. The manager gave us gift cards but the thought of going thru that experience again kept us away. Will not return to this Roy's but may try Roy's in Palm Springs again. My recommendation is stay on top of your server, every few minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.