About Roy's Newport Beach

453 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Newport Beach located in Fashion Island, South Orange County's premier shopping center, featuring an exhibition kitchen, Chef’s Counter, spacious dining room and three private dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM


Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 640-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Agbayani

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Roy's Newport Beach
Calamari
Mini Molten Chocolate Cake
Kalbi (BBQ short rib) taco
Ahi Tuna Roll
edamame
Loco Moco
Misoyaki Butterfish
Nigiri Sushi
Chocolate Souffle
Appetizers!
Hanger Steak Frites
Smoked Salmon Salad
Skinny Cosmo Martini
Surf & Turf Whole Lobster & Petit Filet Mignon
Tahitian Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Sunrise at Haleakala
Seared Swordfish
Ahi Tartar
Shrimp and Veggie Wrap
Roy's Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi
Roy's Melting Chocolate Souffle
Roy’s Canoe Appetizer for Two
Apertizer
butterfish
Scallops
Macadamia Nut Almond Tart
Roy's Trio
Shellfish Sampler
Lobster Potstickers
hmmm

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Thanksgiving Day to celebrate with your friends and family. We will be open from 11am-8pm with a very special traditional 3-course Thanksgiving menu for $39.95 per Guest. A selection of Roy's Classic dishes will also be available.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 300 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Orange County
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

Special Occasion (51)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for Groups (29)
See All
Romantic (23)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
949 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The music was old fashioned and did not ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The music was old fashioned and did not appeal to my 20 something children. Beverage service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We took my parents out for dinner to cel ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

We took my parents out for dinner to celebrate their birthdays and to have one last date night before our first baby arrives. We had a 6:30 reservation. When we arrived, the restaurant was empty, yet they sat us in the back room where there was no one else seated with the exception of a couple with their 2 babies under 3 years old. We thought maybe they did this because the restaurant had sold all its tables for the night. But the restaurant remained empty the whole night! The one year old screamed through most of the evening; not the parents fault at all. But very strange that we were seated right next to them. We were very unimpressed with food which is unfortunate because we've been eating there for years and Roy's has always been a family favorite. We hope this night was an isolated experience and not a downward spiral for Roy's of Newport. The emptiness of the restaurant on a Friday night kind of tells me something isn't working. My husband and I are small business owners, so we were just super bummed to drop $300 plus on this dinner experience and not have it be above fair in quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

When we arrived fed on time for our rese ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

When we arrived fed on time for our reservation, we were told they were "slightly overbooked" and told we would need to wait 10 to 15 minutes. After 25 minutes we were finally seated. Had they had a usable waiting are, it would not have been so bad. It was drizzling outside, so we had to stay in their tiny hostess area. The bar was full. Once we were seated, we had the typical Roy's experience good food, good service and ridiculously high prices. We won't be back to that Roy's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

We go to Roy's every few months and norm ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We go to Roy's every few months and normally are quite happy with the food and service. However that was not the case this time. The food was marginal at best and the service was bad. We waited a long time before they brought us any of our food. Then it was only one of the appetizers. They brought our other ap about ten minutes later. It was at least another half hour before our dinners arrived. We ordered everything at the same time. What was most upsetting was the waitress's attitude. She didn't seem to care that we were waiting. Another example of the poor service was that my daughter ordered one of their traditional combo meals: it includes three different types of fish. Roy's changed what was included in the trio only two days before. However, the waitress never mentioned this when my daughter ordered the trio. It seems to me this would have been the nice thing to do for a high class restaurant since the prior version of the trio had been a standard on the menu for quite some time. The waitress did offer to substitute another fish when the meal arrived, but at that time we were well into our second hour and didn't want to wait an extended period of time for one of us to get their meal.

All in all, very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Outstanding in every way.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Outstanding in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food.

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They do a very nice anniversary dessert ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

They do a very nice anniversary dessert and also take your picture. Also we had flowers on our table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointed that the lobster bisque was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Disappointed that the lobster bisque was very spicy unlike the creamy wonder just a few months ago !

It seemed the portions of the entrees became smaller too..

The server tried to justify the lobster bisque that " it differs depending on the chef of the day "?? It shouldn't be any changes to their signature menu ! This is Roy's !

The maitre d took the charge off the bisque but didn't seem overly apologetic since we really looked forward to the soup..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My only positive came from the short rib ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My only positive came from the short ribs, which were as good as short ribs usually are. Everything else was pretty terrible, especially the appetizers and the service. Took 20 minutes of waiting at the table until we gave our drink order. There are infinite number of places I'd rather go to for a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Good food but small portions. Service w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Good food but small portions. Service was not bad but not the best either. Hostess at the front desk wasn't very friendly and didn't try to accommodate us when our open table reservation did not show. She said there was no availability except at the bar but, when I went outside, I was able to place another open table reservation for 30 minutes later. Went back in, showed her the confirmation, then was seated at an area where several tables were unoccupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

My husband and I waited 25 minutes past ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My husband and I waited 25 minutes past our reservation time to be seate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Really enjoyed our brunch today. I have ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Really enjoyed our brunch today. I have Celiac/ Allergy to gluten so chose the Maui Wowie Shrimp Salad. It was delicious. I especially liked the lime vinaigrette! I really appreciated how kind and understanding the hostess as well as our waitress was regarding my concern about ensuring my meal was GF, avoiding cross contamination. I almost never eat out any more because it is hard to avoid cross contamination but also, I feel that generally, waitstaff are usually irritated when they hear of my allergy to gluten. Not here! They were wonderful and it meant a lot to me.

My mother had the Eggs Benedict. Wow- did this look like perfection and according to my mother, it was! The filets were cooked perfectly, the eggs were unbelievable. It was a lovely brunch.

So far so good re: not "being glutened! Definitely recommend Roy's in Newport Beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

To be fair to Roy's, I went this time on ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

To be fair to Roy's, I went this time on a Groupon. Let me just say that this is not representative of my other experiences there. The servers did NOT appreciate coupons! I still ordered wine, but apparently, that wasn't enough. The service wasn't any better than I'd receive at any mid-level restaraunt. The biggest disappointment was the food! I'm a chef by profession, so I know what it takes to produce great food for a restaraunt. This was a mediocre display of their talent and ability! That was incredibly disappointing and I really wish that I'd spent my hard-earned dollars on any of a dozen mid-level restaraunts in my area, with far better food, for what ended up being a $120 coupon dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Roy's was great in all aspects. I do fe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Roy's was great in all aspects. I do feel like I was played by Open Table as this was billed as a 1,000 point restaurant but I was only awarded 100 points. Aside from that, it was perfect.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was great, but management was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Our server was great, but management was not. My fish came out overcooked and dry. The manager suggested trying to "moisten" it. The chef steamed it to try and moisten it, but dry fish cannot be fixed. Once I received the re-cooked fish, it was mush and fell apart in my mouth. The manager should have offered a different dish in the beginning. The rest of my party finished their dinner while I waited for a third entree. Our waitress wanted to replace the dish initially, but it was management that offered recooking it. It turned out that everyone's entrees was overcooked, with the exception of my aunt's braised short ribs. We do not plan on returning to Roy's, or at least not this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Excellent service with an eye for detail ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent service with an eye for detail. The food was spectacular as usual, and we introduced two friends to how great Roy's really is. Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant is very dated. Needs a refres ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Restaurant is very dated. Needs a refresh compared to others in the area. Food was ok but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The Special Halibut was excellent melt i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The Special Halibut was excellent melt in your mouth so buttery😋 The trio Plate was yummy as well. Wish had a bigger tummy for the dessert😂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My husband had the pre fix menu ( Filet ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

My husband had the pre fix menu ( Filet Mignon Yakisoba, Sizzling Hawaiian Swordfish, Coconut Panna Cotta) and thought it was all good; he was most impressed with the Panna Cotta. I ordered a salad that was supposed to have avocado, shrimp, etc. It was very underwhelming as the lettuce was limp and the shrimp and avocado sparse . The special short rib and butter fish combo was good. The pineapple upside-down cake was good. It was all good; not great; not exceptional.

Tags: Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner with a deligh ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner with a delightful waitress.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent and consist ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The food is always excellent and consistently good no matter what Roy's we go to. If you like fish this is the place you want to eat. The pineapple martini was also the best martini I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to the Newport Beach l ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I have been going to the Newport Beach location for at least ten years, and I would have to say it's the best out of all the locations that I have visited. Quality and service are always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to Roy's many times. The food ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I've been to Roy's many times. The food and service never disappoint. Gabe was our server this time and continued the tradition of great service and the feeling of "Ohana."

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here frequently for many y ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have dined here frequently for many years. Our experience this time was not consistent with our prior experiences. Both fish dishes were dry and the starter was missing ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a delicious dinner and a wonderfu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always a delicious dinner and a wonderful evening at Roy's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my husband and son's ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were celebrating my husband and son's birthday. My son ordered the Summer Prix Fixe with the Filet Mignon Yakisoba , the Salt and Pepper Grilled Porkchops and, of course, the dessert, Coconut Panna Cotta. He absolutely loved each and every single bite. He said everything was to die for. My husband, daughter and I ordered the Newport Combo. It is not on the menu so you have to ask. It comes with the Misoyaki Butterfish and the Braised Short Ribs of Beef. It's was great because we wanted some fish and some beef. It fit the bill. The Butterfish was delicious and the short ribs were tender and flavorful. For dessert we shared the Kaffer Lime Tart. If you like key lime desserts you will absolutely love the Lime Tart. We could not believe how full we were. We were all happy with our choices. After we returned home and the next morning my husband was still commenting how much he enjoyed his birthday dinner at Roy's!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used a travelzoo discounted coupon fo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We used a travelzoo discounted coupon for dinner for 2, plus 2 kids dinners. Food didn't seem as well prepared as in other Roy's Restaurants. Wait staff seemed busy, slow at refilling drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I have eaten at better Roy's. It was ok.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have eaten at better Roy's. It was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Our dinner took three hours not because ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dinner took three hours not because we were sitting and enjoying ourselves, but because it took so long to receive our food. The appetizers took so long to cook that they finally brought us our salads first. The wait staff didn't seem to care that everything took so long. We were one of the last tables there. Also, the food was mediocre. I had the shrimp and the rice was crunchy and way over cooked. We were very unsatisfied with our food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Menu a bit more limited than a few month ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Menu a bit more limited than a few months ago. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

All was good but the decision to go to b ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

All was good but the decision to go to brunch menus instead of regular lunch menus on Saturdays was disappointing. The new selections don't emphasize the variety of seafood that is Roy's normal strength.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Roy's is always a great place to go. Fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Roy's is always a great place to go. Food is always amazing, the service is great and the ambiance is wonderful!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the first time since we started eati ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

For the first time since we started eating at Roy's we were disappointed. It all started at the door where the hostess was far from gracious. The young man who sat us was great and our waiter who had served us before on several occasions was still really nice but overly busy. She couldn't spend more than 10 seconds at our table, the bare minimum to smile and ask if everything was OK before running away. The food was very good but the wines disappointing as well. I sent back the first bottle we ordered because it was very acidic, kept the second one just because I felt bad, but the wine was far from great. Why have such mediocre choices on the wine list? I don't know if we'll go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Got this coupon at half off from Travelz ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Got this coupon at half off from Travelzoo. The food was good but nothing better. Small amount of food for both my wife and me. I walked out wanting more food and cringed at the thought that regular price would have cost me $120.00 not counting the tip. We don't eat at high end restaurants very often because of this. Usually pay way more money for less food. I also like salt and pepper. Not to be found on any table that I saw. I could have asked but felt uncomfortable doing so. We gutted it out, laughed about how we get much better food and value at lower end restaurants and left. Not for us ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

As frequent longtime Roy's customers, we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

As frequent longtime Roy's customers, we were extremely disappointed. We purchased a "deal" that was supposed to be a $120.00 value, which it clearly was not. Quality of food has decreased and as another reviewer mentioned, no more edamame appetizer which is a shame, since they've never offered bread, the edamame was a nice substitute. The meal was fair at best and I will now have to find a different "go to" place for a nice meal that used to be consistently to our liking. Apparently restaurant chain has been sold, excluding Hawaii and Pebble Beach so maybe those locations are still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I cannot say when the thing about this e ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I cannot say when the thing about this experience. Five out of the six of us hated our fish entrée. The service was extremely slow and Natanis even though we were there early and the restaurant was not busy. We were there almost an hour before our salad arrived. I would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We go out to eat about 3xs a week and ha ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We go out to eat about 3xs a week and have been to Roys many times. We bout a travel zoo offer and dined at 5:15 pm Sunday. Our server was very nice and cared about customer happiness which was very nice. Problems were: Mahi Mahi very over cooked and burnt on top - it was still served. My wife ate alone (we ate in shifts). This is not fun, especially after having to wait 15 minutes to sit with an early reservation.

The coffee was literally room temperature. We learned the morning staff did not clean out their pots. None of our drinks were comped or anything. The manager believed we were already "already getting a deal" it seemed. We didn't think so. There are just so many good restaurants in Newport. Just because we took your travel zoo offer doesn't mean we would be back again....that was a wrong assumption because we go out a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was dirty. From the seating to the ca ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

It was dirty. From the seating to the carpet to the server uniforms. We ordered a bottle of pellegrino and then chose to dine elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Food was GREAT! Service not so much. Amb ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was GREAT! Service not so much. Ambience was awful. Give the cook a raise and fire the manager. Or give a stern talking to the owner. Something...This place could be awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

Had the best Alaska halibut. Excellent. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had the best Alaska halibut. Excellent.

The fillet mignon was too well done than our order but was replaced by perfectly done piece

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.