About Roy's Newport Beach

453 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Newport Beach located in Fashion Island, South Orange County's premier shopping center, featuring an exhibition kitchen, Chef’s Counter, spacious dining room and three private dining rooms.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM


Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 640-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Agbayani

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Calamari - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Mini Molten Chocolate Cake - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Kalbi (BBQ short rib) taco - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Ahi Tuna Roll - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
edamame - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Loco Moco - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Misoyaki Butterfish - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Nigiri Sushi - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Chocolate Souffle - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Appetizers! - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Hanger Steak Frites - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Smoked Salmon Salad - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Skinny Cosmo Martini - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Surf & Turf Whole Lobster & Petit Filet Mignon - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Tahitian Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Sunrise at Haleakala - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Seared Swordfish - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Ahi Tartar - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Shrimp and Veggie Wrap - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Roy's Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Roy's Melting Chocolate Souffle - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Roy’s Canoe Appetizer for Two - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Apertizer - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
butterfish - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Scallops - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Macadamia Nut Almond Tart - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Roy's Trio - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Shellfish Sampler - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
Lobster Potstickers - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA
hmmm - Roy's Newport Beach, Newport Beach, CA

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 300 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

3.7

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

66% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (8)
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (4)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (2)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and I took advantage of the Ne ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

My friend and I took advantage of the Newport Beach Restaurant week special menu for lunch for only $15. They offered a large salad and either hibachi salmon or a pork sandwich. My friend and I both had the salmon and it was moist and nicely cooked on the hibachi. I had the chocolate cake for dessert ($7 and worth it).

I was pleasantly surprised to find the regular lunch menu had similar items which were only priced a little higher. I plan to return at a later time for lunch.

I reviewed the dinner menu and the prices were much higher. I am not sure I would select this restaurant for dinner as there are so many alternatives in Newport Beach and environs. I have eaten at the Roy's in Pebble Beach for lunch and dinner and have thoroughly enjoyed that location which has a view of the ocean and golf course at Spanish Bay.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely way to celebrate a birthday- fl ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

A lovely way to celebrate a birthday- flowers and a greeting on the table and a lovely dessert added!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was spectacular... ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

As always, the food was spectacular... We were there to celebrate a colleague's birthday...and almost hit the next birthday because of the slow and choppy service. Delivery was slow. My steak got cold as I waited 10 minutes for a steak knife that should have been delivered before the main course... on and on. Sad...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

I was underwhelmed with the food... the ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I was underwhelmed with the food... the lobster potstickers were close to burned and didn't have any resemblance to lobster in terms of taste or texture. The calamari was very good as was the Butterfish. There was really nothing memorable. The service was excellent. However, this just might be a one and done for me. I expected more the the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Our server made our 40th anniversary ext ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server made our 40th anniversary extra special. Great food, ambience, outstanding service.

Tags: , Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I normally love Roy's but I found the br ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I normally love Roy's but I found the brunch lacking. The service was incredibly slow and although the waitress was cheerful and accommodating, I thought she made too light a matter of the lateness.

The eggs on the eggs Benedict were cold and not salted at all. The steak was good but didn't make up for the lateness of the food and the coldness of the eggs. It wasn't crowded, so that wasn't it. Perhaps if she explained why it was so late it would have helped.

Sadly I will not be attending Roy's brunch anymore...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Took 25 minuets for our drinks to come o ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Took 25 minuets for our drinks to come out and a server to come back to take our order. The food took just as long to come out even though they said the food should come out quickly. Service over all was okay. They were really slow at most thing. Only came by to check up on us a few times through out dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

One of the best dining experiences we've ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of the best dining experiences we've had in a long time. Food was amazing and the service impeccable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experiences with Roy's in Newport Be ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our experiences with Roy's in Newport Beach have been very good. The restaurant was very quiet on Thursday night so we were able to have a nice conversation and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always come to Roy's for our birthday ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

We always come to Roy's for our birthdays and anniversary. We appreciate the flowers and personal card on the table along with our picture. The food is always great and what can you say about the souflee.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's never disappoints. I always enjoy ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Roy's never disappoints. I always enjoy the food, service is good. This is one of my "go to" spots for everyday dining. Guessing we eat at this location at least 3 or 4 times a month. We have eaten at every Roy's there is, aside from Ko-Olina on Oahu, this is our favorite! I should mention they do a fabulous job with kids! They are quick with a healthy kid friendly appetizer and then always provide a personalized desert! Their treatment of children is second to none I have experienced!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's had oustanding food. The apetizers ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Roy's had oustanding food. The apetizers and main course were both excellent. The souffle was incredible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Healthy, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took 40 minutes to receive our appeti ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

It took 40 minutes to receive our appetizer. During that time the waitress did not check on us once. We had to ask 3 different bus boys where our waitress was. She came back and said she was waiting on the calamari. Good food, very poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

New Years Eve. Overpriced. If your sel ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve. Overpriced. If your selling steaks you need to have horseradish - steak sauce- prices high for quality. Service was just ok. Spent a lot of money for over cooked overpriced food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

For early New Year's Eve dinner Roy's wa ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

For early New Year's Eve dinner Roy's was perfect. You do not go to Roy's for inexpensive dinner but the food and service were excellent. Will return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I had been to this restaurant before and ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I had been to this restaurant before and the food was excellent! I couldn't wait to go back, so for New Years we decided to go! The food was horrible. Tasted like it had been cooked hours before, service was great until we complained about the food and the server got an attitude. The manager came over and I think it was his first day on the job. He was very nervous... the entire situation wasn't good.

It's too bad because we brought someone from out of town and she was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Didn't like the fact had gift cards from ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Didn't like the fact had gift cards from Xmas

and went to use them and they said sorry you

Can't use a gift card for New Years dinner!

Also the butter lettuce salad was gritty

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

My wife, my son and I met in Holiday for ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

My wife, my son and I met in Holiday for a nice get together before we went back to Arizona. He had the 4-plate types of fish, my wife's mahi-mahi was its usual wonderfulness. Another great time at Roys!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent Christmas menu and great servi ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent Christmas menu and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was 2 hours and 15 mins before we got ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was 2 hours and 15 mins before we got a morsel of food. They ran out of bread. I think they overbooked. We were a famiky of 20 trying to enjoy Christmas dinner. They told us we could only be there for two hours but it was over two hours before we got our appetizers. The food was very good. Dessert was not appealing. They seemed understaffed. Portions were tiny. I felt badly for my father paying almost $1500 for such a poor dining experience. Staff was not apologetic. I will not recommend Roy's to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was great especially the lobster po ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was great especially the lobster pot stickers,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The 3rd time I've been here and there wa ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

The 3rd time I've been here and there was insufficient wait staff, my soup was cold, they had run out of bread the night before. The waitress was very nice but I don't think I'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Birthday wishes were on the table when w ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Birthday wishes were on the table when we arrived

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Restaurant needs updating. Felt like I w ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Restaurant needs updating. Felt like I was at Denny's and spent over $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Worst meal we have ever had at a Roy's e ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Worst meal we have ever had at a Roy's either here or in HI. Food was marginal. There were 5 of us and four out of five were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Waited at front for several minutes and ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Waited at front for several minutes and no hostess. Manager came out but said to wait and did not seat us. We only saw one other table with 3 people in the entire restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

I think we've finally given up on Roy's ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

I think we've finally given up on Roy's Newport. We first went to Roy's in Oahu over a decade ago, and when we moved out here, we were excited to have a Roy's nearby. We were frequent customers for several years, especially after we had children, as it's a family friendly place. But over the past coup[e of years, the service has just gotten worse and worse. After not having gone to Roy's in maybe a year, we figured we'd give it another try. This was a mistake.

I should add the caveat that we're a family of 5, with a 1 year old, so I understand we're not the most preferable table to serve. But we usually tip well (20% is our starting point and we typically tip closer to 30% when we dine with our whole family (we call this our "kid tax"); on this occasion we tipped 15% and felt like she honestly deserved 0), and we're not particularly demanding and never rude.

Moreover, we made a point of coming in during an off period (5pm on a Sunday evening), and were literally the second table seated. For the first 45 minutes, there were maybe 6 tables in the whole restaurant. Servers were just standing around talking. And yet our server was nowhere to be seen for extended periods, coming back every 10-15 minutes to check on us. We had to ask for help on numerous occasions (for things like chopsticks) from other staff. And our server forgot that our kids' meals came with drinks and a dessert until we reminded her about 2 hours in (during one of her rare visits to our table). We got out of there at 7:30pm, a 2.5 hr meal that should have taken maybe 75 minutes at most.

This was the worst service we've had at Roy's but unfortunately not inconsistent with our recent experiences. It's a shame. The restaurant is in a beautiful space (the fish tank in front has always been a hit with our kids), and the food is still pretty solid. But the service is unconscionably bad, especially given the high price point. Would not recommend unless/until they get their act together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Unfortunately, this was a very poor dini ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Unfortunately, this was a very poor dining experience. We arrive for brunch at 11:15a.m. and the restaurant was fairly empty. Our waiter was unfamiliar with the menu and a bit unprofessional. We ordered our 11:36 a.m. and we did not receive our order at the table until 12:20 p.m. the food was cold, I was not prepared to our specifications. We also were in earshot of the kitchen which was fully visible from our seating location where we heard the kitchen staff and wait staff speaking negatively about us and other patrons in the restaurant. I alerted the onsite manager to our concerns and he did nothing to make things right, he just apologize that the service wasn't to our liking. To add insult to injury, he asked the couple next to us how their dining experience was and they said it was fine and he offered them a gift card to come back another time. We Dine Out 4 - 5 times a week minimum and know great food and service. Everything here was subpar we will never return to Roy's again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

One of my favorite places. Quality is c ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

One of my favorite places. Quality is consistent, service is good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait time to receive our food was we ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

The wait time to receive our food was well over 30 minutes. Plus, when it was time to checkout, that took longer than expected as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a great time and the meal was goo ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a great time and the meal was good. The restaurant was clean, waiters and waitresses were nice and very attentive. Portions could be bigger, but what we had was good. I would recommend Roy's as a place to take a date. It was happening, but not too loud, so we could enjoy our conversation too.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We used to love to go to Roy's and went ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

We used to love to go to Roy's and went quite often but Sunday night we went to celebrate my birthday and the food was bad, the service was bad, and if those two things are bad than the prices are bad because whatever you charge it is not worth the any price if the food and service are not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Very dissappointed in lunch,portions wer ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Very dissappointed in lunch,portions were very small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

One of the worst experiences I have had ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of the worst experiences I have had in a Newport Beach restaurant. I really do not know how it stays in business!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was fantastic..excellent cocktails ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was fantastic..excellent cocktails and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great and the dishes we ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

The service was great and the dishes we devoured, wonderfully belly tingling. The Lobster Bisque was a bit on the salty side but the curry added a nice touch of Asian influence. Both cod and barramundi were cooked well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have gone here for my birthday almost ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

I have gone here for my birthday almost every year and had a great experience; but this time, not so great. The service was spotty. The food was nothing special for the price. Best was the dessert. We ordered the chocolate soufle and also got a birthday cheesecake, both yummy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Treated us fantastic on a special Birthd ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Treated us fantastic on a special Birthday. Great service and the food was perfect!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portions were unbelievably small and ...

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

The portions were unbelievably small and some of it not consumable. The waitress was very rude as we were using a TravelZoo voucher and this seemed to put her out as she ripped the menus from our hands to replace them with the "deal" menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My wife and I have been to this and othe ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

My wife and I have been to this and other Roy's before and thoroughly enjoyed it - not so this time.

We had obtained a 'special deal' through TravelZoo. We arrived promptly for our 7:00 reservation and were seated within a few minutes. Our wine order was also delivered promptly.

The TravelZoo special menu was limited to four main course items - none of them from what we would consider to be the real specialties on the menu (despite the advertised selection from a "special menu"). We waited well over 30 minutes for the appetizer to be delivered - four small pieces of an egg roll. we were told that the TravelZoo was backed up that night - really? Like this was some real special appetizer? This made us feel like second class folks since we were using a voucher -- one they sponsored and had separate printed menus for the service!

Salads followed soon thereafter - Caesar with nearly undetectable dressing; no offer for fresh ground pepper. Salads were cleared and our meals followed - salmon for my wife, the shrimp dish for me. While the piece of salmon was a nice size, the sides were minimal and my shrimp dish was on the small side. Dessert was actually the best part.

We were presented the wrong bill to pay.

All in, we were there for nearly 2 hours on a Sunday night and shook our heads all the way home. It will likely be some time before we return to Roy's in Newport Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.