Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Roy's Bonita SpringsRoy's Bonita Springs
(1245)
$$$$
Seafood | Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs
Booked 16 times today
bha! bha! Persian Bistrobha! bha! Persian Bistro
(1063)
$$$$
Persian | Naples, Naples
Booked 18 times today
Caffe MilanoCaffe Milano
(452)
$$$$
Italian | Naples, Naples
Booked 12 times today
Osteria TuliaOsteria Tulia
(1415)
$$$$
Italian | Naples, Naples
Booked 26 times today
Truluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab - NaplesTruluck's Seafood, Steak and Crab - Naples
(2390)
$$$$
Seafood | Naples, Naples
Booked 32 times today
Bistro 821Bistro 821
(2762)
$$$$
American | Naples, Naples
Booked 12 times today
Tommy Bahama Restaurant & Bar - NaplesTommy Bahama Restaurant & Bar - Naples
(1624)
$$$$
Seafood | Naples, Naples
Booked 29 times today
St. Germain SteakhouseSt. Germain Steakhouse
(255)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Naples, Naples
Booked 8 times today
Pazzo! Italian CafePazzo! Italian Cafe
(2036)
$$$$
Italian | Naples, Naples
Booked 5 times today
Alberto's on FifthAlberto's on Fifth
(1361)
$$$$
Italian | Naples, Naples
Booked 8 times today
Sea Salt-NaplesSea Salt-Naples
(2220)
$$$$
Seafood | Naples, Naples
Booked 16 times today
Chops City Grill - Naples, FLChops City Grill - Naples, FL
(858)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Naples, Naples
Booked 18 times today
Bice - NaplesBice - Naples
(1426)
$$$$
Italian | Naples, Naples
Booked 4 times today
Continental NaplesContinental Naples
(1044)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Naples, Naples
Booked 18 times today
Ocean Prime - NaplesOcean Prime - Naples
(507)
$$$$
Seafood | Naples, Naples
Booked 14 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Permanently Closed - Roy's Naples

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Naples located in Bayfront Place in Downtown Naples, featuring waterside patio dining, open air bar and a private dining room with a glass wall looking out to the water.

475 Bayfront Place
Naples, FL 34102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 3:30PM
Aloha Hour 3:30-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
Goodlette-Frank Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 261-1416

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking Thursday - Saturday

Executive Chef:
Noah Bailey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Roy’s Cooking Class Second Tuesday of each month, 10:30am – 1:00pm $39.95 Per Person (price includes lunch, wine and instruction from our Chef, excludes tax and gratuity)

Roy's Naples - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Bar Seating (9)
Scenic View (9)
Fun (8)
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (6)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Unfortunately, we didn't have the opportunity to dine at Roy's because we were notified a few hours before our time to dine that Roy's in Naples closed it's doors for good. We were offered to go to Roy's at Bonita but that was too much out of our way. I have eaten at Roy's before and always found everything very agreeable. Very sad to see this restaurant close.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The fine dining experience at Roy's is always first rate. Tonight was especially nice. The food was wonderful and the service superb. One of the best restaurants in Naples!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My wife is in a wheelchair due to MS. Manager and staff watched us struggle thru front door when entering without helping. Thought they just didn't see us but something happened on the way out with both no helping at all. Food was good but service and general courteous was trrrible. Manager should not be running a service operation.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Roys Restaurant was one of the first restaurants that we visited when we first visited the Naples area many years ago. It has always been and remains our favourite restaurant in town. The food and staff are amazing. We are always remembered each time we visit the restaurant and made to feel special. An outstanding restaurant - never disappoints.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The food was amazing but the service was lacking. I would recommend for this for the food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We have been to many Roy's restaurants and have never had a bad meal. The Naples location has never let us down the four times we have dined there. Highly recommend the Butterfish!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

always good food and friendly service. The out door patio was charming with a romantic view.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

seated promptly in a nice booth away from noise
Ruth , our waitress was fast and efficient. Ordered the butterfish. prepared slightly different from the Roys in Hawaii
but still good. Hawaiian Poke was a mess and would not recommend.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Roy's is a favorite of mine. Very good seafood. The butter fish is excellent. The salmon is excellent too

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food and a wonderful staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Hostesses and bar service server, Enrique, were great, friendly and pleasant. Table service server, Lindsay, had an attitude like she could care less to serve us. Had to wait for appetizer and then entrees came shortly after. Tables are very close together and we could converse until a large boisterous party was seated next to us. Good thing we were done with our meals. Also ran out of dessert on the special price fix menu and we were dining early! Did credit our check. Food was delicious as were the cocktails!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food was very good. But honestly the menu was surprisingly limited. The menu was probably 6 pages long but the main courses only commanded the bottom ½ of a page. Starters the other half. Three pages were drinks. Just didn't seem right to me?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Lobster bisque was terrible. Had to send back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was just okay. They were out of multiple menu items that I would have ordered. The server seemed too busy and did not tell us the specials, something we overheard from the table next to us and something I would have liked to order.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fabulous food, excellent service and beautiful surroundings make this restaurant a smart choice for any special occasion. Have been going there for Valentine's Day for the last five years.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Beautiful night on the patio
Felt like Europe
Food was delicious
Ordered a bottle of wine. Had to send it back
Very sour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were referred to Roys by a local business owner in Naples who advised us Roys in Naples was their favorite dining experience and best cuisine.

Unfortunately, the service was slow and terrible. Also, the dinner portions, notable the Mahi Mahi entree, were very small and our entire party of four was quite disappointed.

Other than a nice cocktail and view we had at the bar before dinner, it was not a good experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The view is nice, the food is very good, but our waitress Mickey was archetypal "rude with a smile." Had I not had great service in the past I would think twice about going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Too many drink pages
NOT ENOUGH FOOD CHOICES
(LOBSTER ON WEB MENU BUT
NOT AVAILABLE!!!!!!!!)
Service too slow and waitress was inattentive
She lacked the charm of the greeters

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was our first visit to Roy's. Our Party of 4 celebrated a birthday and an anniversary. Our Waitress looked after every detail and made excellent recommendations! The Lobster bisque was the best I ever had! The outdoor patio was the perfect ambiance for our celebrations and the meals were culinary delights! We look forward to returning for another wonderful experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fun place- a lot of action going on in and around it - food was pretty good - friendly & helpful service-a definite recommendation!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, People Watching, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Roys has a good reputation and everyone brags about the butterfish. Calamari is excellent served with a very different sauce rather than the usual marinara. Cosmos are terrific.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Best meal this season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We were meeting a friend who was on a business trip. I have been to Roys before and have always enjoyed the Hawaiian fusion menu. We arrived about 20 minutes before our reservation and I reported to the hostess. She was happy for us to go to the bar for a drink and for us to come back to the entrance when we were ready to be seated. The bar was a disaster. It was so crowded that one could not get to the counter. The bar tenders had that blank, "what do you want me to do about it" look on their faces. Although I stood patiently for 10 minutes, no one even nodded in our direction. Finally we went outside and visited the restaurant next door. The bar was full again, but the hostess took us to a table and told us we would be served immediately. We were and the drinks were fine and affordable. We went back to the Roys hostess when we were done with our drinks and everything from that point on was excellent, although the meal took a very long time to come out. Everything came out at the same time, and it was all delicious. I would say that Roys has a big problem with their bar, which they really need to address. But the food is wonderfu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Very loud and took awhile to get u s seated despite many empty tables. Overpriced and with a very limited menu. The lobster potstickers had very little lobster but a lot of batter. Middle of the road at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Been to Roy's in Manhattan, N.Y.
& Maui very good food & ambience.
Enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The use of spices and vegetables is creative. My Maui was excellent and the salad was interesting and fresh with a wonderful citrus dressing. Don't miss the chocolate soufflé. We chose to sit out where you it was a bit. breezy rather than inside which seemed loud. Wonderful service

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We always enjoy this restaurant and have been many times. Great service. The Fillet Steak was so tender I probably could have eaten it with a spoon!
Will definitely be back and would recommend this place. It was quiet as we ate at 5.30 pm. It was getting much busier by the time we left.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Marina and John took special care of us
Missed not seeing Ruth
Butter fish is our favorite and John made the 1988 special for me
Thank u
Susann and Garry

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good consistent place.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was,ore noises than normal but them it was St. Patrick's Day so that was okay. We were given a nice booth which may the dinner experience very enjoyable. The prices are a littl high for the dinners.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful Hawaiian/fusion food, high prices, generous portions (I'd be happy with less food and lower prices-less waste and waist). Lovely outdoor seating...if you can get it. Not during happy hour anyway. Very fine service!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Manager and Jennifer, our waitress were outstanding...so kind, attentive and thoughtful. My mother's walker collapsed just as we were entering the restaurant and the manager ran over to help us and then went back to the kitchen to find an Allen wrench so my husband could reattach the wheel!!!Their service made the meal with my 90 year old parents wonderful!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We had a weird experience at Roy's, our second visit, which was disappointing because we were introducing some friends to Naples. I requested outdoor seating, but the hostess said it didn't come through and wasn't possible. No problem, except we could clearly see 5 empty tables on the outdoor patio. She explained they were expecting a large party, which we assumed were sitting at the separate, reserved patio table set up for 8?? After waiting patiently at the bar, and quite a bit of urging, we were finally seated outside. Throughout our meal there were always several empty tables available on the patio including the table for eight, which became a recurring joke during our meal. The food was good, and our server was nice, but not sure if we will return after this experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Roy's never fails to impress. The chef's specials are superb, as are the regular item menus. The amount of food served is perfect, Goldilocks would be pleased, not to much, not too little. And they have Monkey Shoulder Scotch!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We enjoyed our visit. We started with drinks at the pretty bar overlooking the water and later moved to the dining room for dinner. 2 had Lobster Bisque for an appetizer and enjoyed it immensely. All 4 of us had the short ribs. The servings were generous and had a good flavor, but the meat was a bit tough. We had to use knives to cut the short ribs, and usually a fork will do. We will definitely try Roys again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Having been to this restaurant before we thought it would be easier to meet everyone there as we drove from different directions and there was 14 of us. Food was not of the quality and quantity we came to expect,from this restaurant. The manager however did offer some gift certificates for a later date, we did not accept them. When your paying good money for dinner, you expect the same in return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

For the first time here, our food for the most part was mediocre. Lobster pot stickers were dry and bland, short ribs fatty. Butterfish was fantastic as always but the rest disappointing. Service always great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 5, 2017

HUGE disappointment....wish we had read recent reviews beforehand. Went with a party of 10 and 5 meals were terrible. Their prized 14 ounce ribeye steak was about 3/4 inch steak and contrary to waiter's insistence that medium rare would be served with a warm RED center it came out well done. Also, both 8 ounce filet mignons were well overcooked and ingredients of two tri-fish entrees all tasted the same. In addition the waiter was very slow and totally inattentive. It is the last time any of us will go there. There are far better "high priced" restaurants in the Naples area that consistently serve much better food with much better service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Butterfish on the Entree Roy/s Trio was worth the trip alone but all of the food was delicious. Service was a delight, very attentive. The atmosphere is fantastic. I was with the most beautiful and amayesing woman in the world. I couldn't have been a better evening.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.