About Roy's Jacksonville Beach

2400-101 South 3rd Street
Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Jacksonville Beach located along route A1A between JT Butler Highway and Beach Blvd; featuring an exhibition kitchen with a sushi counter and two private rooms that accommodate up to 60 guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 241-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking & self parking.

Public Transit:
Bus & local trolley stop directed in front of the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Enjoy the best Father's Day at Roy's! Open early at 10am - we'll be serving Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch & Dinner. Treat dad to the best seafood, steak and sushi in town.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Jacksonville Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville Beach
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville Beach ›

special occasion (52)
romantic (42)
fit for foodies (38)
See All
good for groups (24)
neighborhood gem (22)
notable wine list (18)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service2

We had to wait 15 minutes past our reser ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had to wait 15 minutes past our reservation time to be seated even though the restaurant was half empty. Once seated it was 15-20 minutes before we received water and drinks.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great fish dishes. Particularly like th ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great fish dishes. Particularly like the Butter Fish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always

Dined on April 24, 2016

The restaurant was packed, but service was still top notch. Food was perfect, and came quickly. The wine and cocktail list was perfect for the food options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambiance are always perfect ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food and ambiance are always perfect when we dine here. It was the first time our friends had been to Roy's and they loved it and said they will definitely go back. Drinks were tasty and we had an absolutely wonderful time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Roy's restaurant, Jacksonville Beach, Fl

Dined on April 23, 2016

Very nice restaurant with good menu....only drawback is it is so dark and can not see even the menu with glasses on!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special occasions

Dined on April 23, 2016

Always enjoy dinner here; it always feels like a special event. I did notice one of their signature cocktails, the Hawaiian Martini, seemed a little smaller than normal. For the price, it should be a little larger. I think next time I'm there I'll switch to a mai-tai. Everything else about our meal was spectacular! Thanks, again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. One of the best in JAX

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food. One of the best in JAX

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, fair prices and great layout

Dined on April 21, 2016

Absolutely super food, well organized service crew and unbelievable atmosphere. A favorite of ours. We have become regulars and so have our children. We celebrate birthdays and anniversaries at Roy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Big thank you to Roy's for making our 22 ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Big thank you to Roy's for making our 22nd wedding anniversary dinner one to remember. Special thank you to Lindsey, Corey and Alissa for the spectacular service. Hat's off to Chef and his team for a wonderful dinner. My Braised spare ribs where incredible. The Belle Gloss Pinot Noir paired perfectly with it. My wife's Blackened Ahi Tuna was out of this world! We topped off the evening with the chocolate soufflé that knocked it out of the park. The attention to detail and the consistency of quality delicious food is why we come back for all of our celebrations. We wouldn't dare go anywhere else! Thank you again for a perfect evening. Hal & Jeri Murdock

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Meal & Service

Dined on April 12, 2016

We are not frequent diners at Roy's but I have to say we have never been disappointed there. Tonight was no exception. Went there tonight for drinks and appetizers prior to dinner for our 41st Anniversary. The bar was packed (Happy Hour), a bit noisy and there were no seats, but the server behind the bar graciously went and found a seat somewhere in the restaurant for my wife. Not often do you get that kind of service. The drinks at the bar were strong and good and the Ebi Roll was great. Our dinner, in a quiet booth decorated for our anniversary was superb. We both had the butterfish, which was probably the best fish dinner I have ever had. The fish was so flaky and moist and the sauce was indescribable. The steamed asparagus side could have used a little seasoning but was good nonetheless. Prior to our dessert coming out one of the managers stopped by to wish us a happy anniversary and handed us a $20 gift card. I was stunned, never having had that happen at any anniversary dinner in the last 41 years. The pineapple upside down cake that came out to end the evening couldn't have been a better ending to a great meal. Well done to the staff and especially our sever who ensured we had a memorable meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always outstanding.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Always outstanding.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service -some hits-some misses.

Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was good,but salt encrusted rib eye was fatty and didn't have and more seasoning than an Outback steak. The filet was a better purchase. Mashed potatoes were very tasty. They had us order dessert early so it would be ready when we finished our meal--/ guess they forgot to put it in-we still waited about 15 minutes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Roys at Jacksonville Beach is my favorit ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Roys at Jacksonville Beach is my favorite special occasion restaurant. From making reservations, being greeted, the personal attention by the wait staff and managers, to the greeting when you leave it's always top notch

food3
ambience4
service5

Same old Roy's. Nothing changes for bett ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Same old Roy's. Nothing changes for better or worse. I hate the U-shaped booths.

food4
ambience4
service5

Interesting menu, great service, very he ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Interesting menu, great service, very helpful staff

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

high prices for not so special food

Dined on March 24, 2016

I do not think Roy's is a good value for both the quality and quantity of food served. Service became confrontational after I asked for a glass for my bottled beer. Yes, the dining room has an upscale ambiance and the high prices didn't stop stop other diners from packing the place on a rainy Thursday night but I won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Just ok

Dined on March 20, 2016

Could have been better. Just alright. Not a great meal, especially considering the prices.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Corey did an excellent job a ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Our waiter Corey did an excellent job and was very knowlagble about the menu. Great evening and birthday celebration

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great little spot at the beach, food is top notch

Dined on March 19, 2016

We ventured out last week and really liked the vibe but unfortunately got a bad server. The place is clean, nicely appointed and the food was amazing. The bar scene looked vibrant and theres even a cool and separate sushi bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional special occasion restaurant.

Dined on March 17, 2016

My wife and I shared the Halleakala sushi roll, split a blue cheese salad, and the warm chocolate mousse dessert (hint make sure to order this with your entree). She had the ahi tuna and I had the salmon. We had 2 glasses of an excellent malbec and ordered a side of lump crab fried rice, which we didn't need. A cup of decalf for her and ice cold milk for me finished us up. $165, with tip for excellent service. Servings were plentiful. When making reservations, request a booth - either across from the kitchen if you want in on the action or against the outer wall if you want privacy. Valet parking is complimentary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and split a lobster California r ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

My wife and split a lobster California roll, a Maui salad, and the Miyosake Butterfish. Delicious!

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A Roy's Is never disappointing!

Dined on March 16, 2016

A little loud but as the restaurant emptied was quite pleasant. Loved the butterfish and ahi combo. Never miss the Hawaiian martini!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite all time, hands down!~

Dined on March 12, 2016

I've been to the original Roy's and I compare them all. This one was AMAZING in all of my ratings.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Bartender was superb.

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Bartender was superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another surperb dining experience at Roy's Jax Bch

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We were a party of 8 at Roy's for a special occasion and they really made us feel special. The food and service were both excellent. They went well out of their way to make the evening truly a special occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our favorite places.

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

One of our favorite places.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank God we finally found a REAL restaurant!!!!

Dined on February 28, 2016

It was very refreshing to find a place where the food justified the bill. Presentation was excellent and service was better. Spices and flavors were well balanced and blended perfectly. It seems like so many restaurants around are just Sysco clones or microwave miracles. Roy's not only has a staff of actual chefs the have a unique flavor and creativity that you typically find only in hot spots like Chicago, New York, Vegas, and LA. I can, without any reservation, recommend this restaurant to even the most critical foodie. Roy's is my new "go to" to entertain clients.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and drinks. Refills could've c ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Good food and drinks. Refills could've come a little faster but overall the food time was quick and we were extra impressed by the flavor of the appetizers

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timer!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

I loved it. Don't know why we haven't been before. Beautiful, great food , great service. We will be back. ❤️ Great Valentines Date

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over-all great dining experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent food, consistent highly trained and professional staff. I frequent Roy's inside Pebble Beach in California and as I've mentioned consistent in top quality food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines Saturday night special menu for two

Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant was busy. However, management brought in maximum staff so that no wait was too long nor were we ever hurried. The food was superb, the staff was professional, knowledgeable, polite and kind. Exactly as it is every night. Roy's is a favorite and we vowed to visit more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable Night

Dined on February 12, 2016

Reservations were for 6:15 and we were seating on time. Great food. Our server was great. One of the best restaurants in Jacksonville Beach!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

once again an exceptional food experience

Dined on February 12, 2016

We have come many times to this Roy's in Jacksonville beach. We enjoy their happy hour and of course their formal dining experience. The food is consistently delicious, presented beautifully and served appropriately. Do not miss the opportunity to dine at Roy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Roy, Roy!

Dined on February 12, 2016

Our dinner experience was last minute as we had just arrived into town, but the hustle and bustle shortly ended upon arrival into Roy's. We were quickly accommodated (even with a three year old) and promptly treated - not just like guests - like family. We got free samples and a cheese quesadilla (for our boy) from the cook. The server (Stephen) was on point and was the perfect balance of attentive, educational, and effective. Bonus was, we got to sit in the booth where Gene Hackman was the night prior.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Not worth it

Dined on January 31, 2016

Roys aims to be a high end experience, and is certainly priced like one. Compared to other restaurants in this price range, we found the food to be perfunctory and forgettable. I don't mind spending money on a good meal. I do mind leaving a restaurant feeling like I'd been had. With that said, their service was impeccable.

food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Loud and unpleasant.

Dined on January 30, 2016

Noise level is far too high for a high end restaurant. Left with a headache. Couldn't carry on a conversation with anyone at my table. They did keep the water glasses full! Steak was a bit gas-charred flavored and a bit overcooked. Mashed potatoes had consistency of instant from a box! Not what I'd expect from Roy's. Maybe when they get a new chef I will go back. Never been happy with the chef they now have.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed :(

Dined on January 30, 2016

I had made a reservation thru OpenTable for four people and checked into the hostess stand 5 minutes early to be informed by the hostess they were running a little behind and we would be seated in about 15 minutes. We were not seated until almost an hour after our reservation time. We received no apology, the manager never came over to check on us, and did not received anything complimentary for the inconvenience. Food was good but not great and definitely not worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening !

Dined on January 30, 2016

We love the atmosphere, the food, the staff, and the drinks. We quite often choose Roy's for celebrating special occasions with friends and family. It is always great for Happy Hour, too. There has never been a reason to complain; always many reasons to praise. Thank you for once again making our birthday celebration perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Very good food

Dined on January 29, 2016

Very good food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's is wonderful

vip
Dined on January 25, 2016

Roy's is a great place for Happy Hour and also a great date night with the hubby or boyfriend. The food is fabulous and the customer service is the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.