About Roy's Jacksonville Beach

2400-101 South 3rd Street
Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Jacksonville Beach located along route A1A between JT Butler Highway and Beach Blvd; featuring an exhibition kitchen with a sushi counter and two private rooms that accommodate up to 60 guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 241-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking & self parking.

Public Transit:
Bus & local trolley stop directed in front of the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Crispy Pork Belly Buns (Dim Sum)
Crispy Kung Pao Calamari
Beef Short Rib Bi Bim Bap
Ebi Roll (Sushi)
Truffled Bacon Mac & Cheese
Seared Sea Scallops
Spiced Edamame (Appetizer)
Auntie Lei's Aloha Roll (Sushi)
Maui Wowie Shrimp Salad
Auntie Lei’s Aloha Sushi Roll
Roy’s  Melting  Hot    Chocolate  Soufflé With Belgian  Chocolate,  Raspberry  Coulis,  Vanilla  Bean  Ice  Cream
Crabcakes
Pineapple Upside-Down Cake With Coconut Ice Cream
Roy's Trio: Butter Poached Half Lobster Tail, Seared Crab Cake, Sea Scallop & Shrimp
Warm  Mango  Streusel With Coconut  Ice  Cream  &  Streusel  Crust
Hawaiian Style Misoyaki Butterfish With Sizzling  Soy  Vinaigrette
2006 Terlato Cabernet
Grilled  Szechuan  Pork  Ribs,  Chicken  Spring  Rolls  ,  Lobster  Potstickers  ,  Crispy  Spicy  Tuna  Roll    &  Shrimp  Cocktail
Iceberg Wedge
Pork Tenderloin with Parsnip Puree
Crunchy Golden Lobster Potstickers
Filipino Style Grilled Chicken
Surf And Turf
Ahi Tuna Poke
Melting Hot Chocolate Souffle
Roy's Original Hawaiian Ahi with Spicy Mustard Sauce
Braised Beef Short-Ribs
Rock Shrimp Pad Thai
1988
Mixed Sushi
Roy's Trio
Pepper Melon Margarita (Cocktail)
Roy's Trio - Hibachi Salmon, Blackened Ahi, & Misoyaki Butterfish
Very Special Dessert Platter!!
Sunrise Roll
Misoyake Butterfish
Lakanilau Yamaguchi Roll
Shellfish Trio

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Jacksonville Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville Beach
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville Beach ›

special occasion (43)
fit for foodies (36)
romantic (31)
See All
good for groups (19)
neighborhood gem (18)
notable wine list (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (13)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
543 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Roy's has been a go to dining spot for u ...

Dined 3 days ago

Roy's has been a go to dining spot for us over the years . This visit was a bit off from the rest however and want to be fair in my comments. First off the service is outstanding both from the wait staff and the management. (Her name is Lindsey) My wife ordered the spring rolls appetizer & salmon entre and I ordered the calamari appetizer & rib eye entre. The spring rolls were rather bland, almost tasteless and the citrus nam pla sauce wasn't much help. That said, however, the calamari, finished with lime, was outstanding. (one of the best calamari appetizers I have had). The waiter, who was extremely attentive and timely, returned & said they were out of rib eye & offered me a NY Strip. I actually prefer NY Strip. When the entres were served the 1st thing my wife noticed was that her salmon was well overcooked, even dried out. The waiter was apologetic & took it back for a second attempt. Meanwhile I cut into my NY Strip only to find it was done medium, not medium rare, as I had requested. The waiter also removed the steak for a second attempt. Side bar: Your water glass will never be empty & you won't have to ask for a another drink The 2nd salmon entre arrived under cooked and we returned it as well but by then my wife did not want to try it again. My NY Strip came back done perfectly as requested & well portioned. The side of Parmesan fries was tasty although could have been a bit more crispy. (matter of taste here) The waiter, who was very much on his game, went immediately to Lindsey, the manager, who came to the table twice and comp'd the salmon entre as well as our appetizers and served us an additional appetizer. Roy's in Jax beach serves up some unusual and tasty Asian fusion entres and this experience was not typical for us. One thing you can count on however is that they seem very much to care about their guests and want them to have a great dining experience. Yes, we left a bit disappointed this time however it will not prevent us from returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was excellent but overpriced. Servi ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent but overpriced. Service was wonderful. Bathroom was disgusting. Might return. Don't bring your kids with you. If you can afford to eat here, you can afford a babysitter.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

We have eaten at Roy's in Maui, Atlanta ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We have eaten at Roy's in Maui, Atlanta and Jacksonville Beach in the past and it has always been a favorite of mine. We took our family (a party of 12) on Father's Day for a special meal. I bragged about the food and the ambiance, and unfortunately our experience left a lot to be desired. Reservations through Open Table were easy and Roy's called to confirm the size of our group. Great start! When we arrived for our reservation, we were told to wait (really? I thought that's why I make reservations). It wasn't a terrible wait, maybe 15 minutes, and we were a large group, so we let it go. Our reservation was at 7pm and our food did not arrive until almost 9pm. We had children in our party so that was a challenge. Our waiter Charlie was friendly but inattentive. He didn't offer to even bring a bread basket or appetizer during our wait. We were told the kitchen was out of the chocolate souffle (the main dish I bragged about). I have never experienced that, and was terribly disappointed in the visit overall. The one bright spot was that our food arrived as ordered and was very delicious. However, the service left a bitter taste in our mouths. I will not be visiting this location again.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We sat at the high tops where you can se ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We sat at the high tops where you can see the chefs at work. Great place to sit as it provides you with some entertainment and you usually get a food recommendation. In this case, it was a sushi recommendation. Busy night because it was Father's Day but the food was great and they even had a mahi special that is particular to this location. Wine and Hawaiian coffee also hit the spot. Highly recommend Roy's in Jax Beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go to Roy's a couple of times a year ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We go to Roy's a couple of times a year and we're never disappointed. The food and the staff are always first rate. They only get 'very good' on value because it is pricey enough that we can't afford to eat there more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Don't let the ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great dining experience. Don't let the butter fish escape your attention. Service was attentive.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

one of my favorite restaurants in Jackso ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

one of my favorite restaurants in Jacksonville Beach

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is so delicious. Our favorite d ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is so delicious. Our favorite dish is "butter fish" . The chef can make the Alaska's cod so tender like tofu. We are all enjoy the environment and food. We will definitely come back. Actually we make an reservation for Father's Day. This time we will try their Sushi and something else.

food2
ambience3
service2

Food quality and portions not proportion ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food quality and portions not proportional to what you pay for. Service is reasonably good, but not outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent as alway ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service were excellent as always. Everything was well prepared. The Hawaiian martini is especially good. The Ebi roll is always consistently well-prepared. I highly recommend Roy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Okay food,fair service at high prices- long waits

Dined on June 7, 2016

I came here my family as a special occasion dinner. We waited SO LONG for our food and in the end, I don't think the food justified the wait or the prices. Service was slow albeit pleasant. Would not come back -- hope it was just an off night for them.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, interesting preparation, super service

Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I took two other couples to Roy's for a Friday evening dinner. Parking was easy, the waiters were the best and the food was just excellent in every way. We will return many times.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our entree's were wonderful! Will be g ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Our entree's were wonderful! Will be going back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. The wait staff ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was excellent. The wait staff was both friendly and discreet. They helped us with details for the birthday we were celebrating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

We had to wait 15 minutes past our reser ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had to wait 15 minutes past our reservation time to be seated even though the restaurant was half empty. Once seated it was 15-20 minutes before we received water and drinks.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great fish dishes. Particularly like th ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great fish dishes. Particularly like the Butter Fish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always

Dined on April 24, 2016

The restaurant was packed, but service was still top notch. Food was perfect, and came quickly. The wine and cocktail list was perfect for the food options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambiance are always perfect ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food and ambiance are always perfect when we dine here. It was the first time our friends had been to Roy's and they loved it and said they will definitely go back. Drinks were tasty and we had an absolutely wonderful time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Roy's restaurant, Jacksonville Beach, Fl

Dined on April 23, 2016

Very nice restaurant with good menu....only drawback is it is so dark and can not see even the menu with glasses on!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special occasions

Dined on April 23, 2016

Always enjoy dinner here; it always feels like a special event. I did notice one of their signature cocktails, the Hawaiian Martini, seemed a little smaller than normal. For the price, it should be a little larger. I think next time I'm there I'll switch to a mai-tai. Everything else about our meal was spectacular! Thanks, again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. One of the best in JAX

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food. One of the best in JAX

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, fair prices and great layout

Dined on April 21, 2016

Absolutely super food, well organized service crew and unbelievable atmosphere. A favorite of ours. We have become regulars and so have our children. We celebrate birthdays and anniversaries at Roy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Big thank you to Roy's for making our 22 ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Big thank you to Roy's for making our 22nd wedding anniversary dinner one to remember. Special thank you to Lindsey, Corey and Alissa for the spectacular service. Hat's off to Chef and his team for a wonderful dinner. My Braised spare ribs where incredible. The Belle Gloss Pinot Noir paired perfectly with it. My wife's Blackened Ahi Tuna was out of this world! We topped off the evening with the chocolate soufflé that knocked it out of the park. The attention to detail and the consistency of quality delicious food is why we come back for all of our celebrations. We wouldn't dare go anywhere else! Thank you again for a perfect evening. Hal & Jeri Murdock

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Meal & Service

Dined on April 12, 2016

We are not frequent diners at Roy's but I have to say we have never been disappointed there. Tonight was no exception. Went there tonight for drinks and appetizers prior to dinner for our 41st Anniversary. The bar was packed (Happy Hour), a bit noisy and there were no seats, but the server behind the bar graciously went and found a seat somewhere in the restaurant for my wife. Not often do you get that kind of service. The drinks at the bar were strong and good and the Ebi Roll was great. Our dinner, in a quiet booth decorated for our anniversary was superb. We both had the butterfish, which was probably the best fish dinner I have ever had. The fish was so flaky and moist and the sauce was indescribable. The steamed asparagus side could have used a little seasoning but was good nonetheless. Prior to our dessert coming out one of the managers stopped by to wish us a happy anniversary and handed us a $20 gift card. I was stunned, never having had that happen at any anniversary dinner in the last 41 years. The pineapple upside down cake that came out to end the evening couldn't have been a better ending to a great meal. Well done to the staff and especially our sever who ensured we had a memorable meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always outstanding.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Always outstanding.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service -some hits-some misses.

Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was good,but salt encrusted rib eye was fatty and didn't have and more seasoning than an Outback steak. The filet was a better purchase. Mashed potatoes were very tasty. They had us order dessert early so it would be ready when we finished our meal--/ guess they forgot to put it in-we still waited about 15 minutes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Roys at Jacksonville Beach is my favorit ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Roys at Jacksonville Beach is my favorite special occasion restaurant. From making reservations, being greeted, the personal attention by the wait staff and managers, to the greeting when you leave it's always top notch

food3
ambience4
service5

Same old Roy's. Nothing changes for bett ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Same old Roy's. Nothing changes for better or worse. I hate the U-shaped booths.

food4
ambience4
service5

Interesting menu, great service, very he ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Interesting menu, great service, very helpful staff

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

high prices for not so special food

Dined on March 24, 2016

I do not think Roy's is a good value for both the quality and quantity of food served. Service became confrontational after I asked for a glass for my bottled beer. Yes, the dining room has an upscale ambiance and the high prices didn't stop stop other diners from packing the place on a rainy Thursday night but I won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Just ok

Dined on March 20, 2016

Could have been better. Just alright. Not a great meal, especially considering the prices.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Corey did an excellent job a ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Our waiter Corey did an excellent job and was very knowlagble about the menu. Great evening and birthday celebration

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great little spot at the beach, food is top notch

Dined on March 19, 2016

We ventured out last week and really liked the vibe but unfortunately got a bad server. The place is clean, nicely appointed and the food was amazing. The bar scene looked vibrant and theres even a cool and separate sushi bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional special occasion restaurant.

Dined on March 17, 2016

My wife and I shared the Halleakala sushi roll, split a blue cheese salad, and the warm chocolate mousse dessert (hint make sure to order this with your entree). She had the ahi tuna and I had the salmon. We had 2 glasses of an excellent malbec and ordered a side of lump crab fried rice, which we didn't need. A cup of decalf for her and ice cold milk for me finished us up. $165, with tip for excellent service. Servings were plentiful. When making reservations, request a booth - either across from the kitchen if you want in on the action or against the outer wall if you want privacy. Valet parking is complimentary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and split a lobster California r ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

My wife and split a lobster California roll, a Maui salad, and the Miyosake Butterfish. Delicious!

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A Roy's Is never disappointing!

Dined on March 16, 2016

A little loud but as the restaurant emptied was quite pleasant. Loved the butterfish and ahi combo. Never miss the Hawaiian martini!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite all time, hands down!~

Dined on March 12, 2016

I've been to the original Roy's and I compare them all. This one was AMAZING in all of my ratings.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Bartender was superb.

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Bartender was superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another surperb dining experience at Roy's Jax Bch

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We were a party of 8 at Roy's for a special occasion and they really made us feel special. The food and service were both excellent. They went well out of their way to make the evening truly a special occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our favorite places.

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

One of our favorite places.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.