About Roy's Jacksonville Beach

2400-101 South 3rd Street
Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Jacksonville Beach located along route A1A between JT Butler Highway and Beach Blvd; featuring an exhibition kitchen with a sushi counter and two private rooms that accommodate up to 60 guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Weekend Brunch at 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 241-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking & self parking.

Public Transit:
Bus & local trolley stop directed in front of the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Crispy Pork Belly Buns (Dim Sum)
Crispy Kung Pao Calamari
Beef Short Rib Bi Bim Bap
Ebi Roll (Sushi)
Truffled Bacon Mac & Cheese
Seared Sea Scallops
Spiced Edamame (Appetizer)
Auntie Lei's Aloha Roll (Sushi)
Maui Wowie Shrimp Salad
Auntie Lei’s Aloha Sushi Roll
Roy’s  Melting  Hot    Chocolate  Soufflé With Belgian  Chocolate,  Raspberry  Coulis,  Vanilla  Bean  Ice  Cream
Crabcakes
Pineapple Upside-Down Cake With Coconut Ice Cream
Roy's Trio: Butter Poached Half Lobster Tail, Seared Crab Cake, Sea Scallop & Shrimp
Warm  Mango  Streusel With Coconut  Ice  Cream  &  Streusel  Crust
Hawaiian Style Misoyaki Butterfish With Sizzling  Soy  Vinaigrette
2006 Terlato Cabernet
Grilled  Szechuan  Pork  Ribs,  Chicken  Spring  Rolls  ,  Lobster  Potstickers  ,  Crispy  Spicy  Tuna  Roll    &  Shrimp  Cocktail
Iceberg Wedge
Pork Tenderloin with Parsnip Puree
Crunchy Golden Lobster Potstickers
Filipino Style Grilled Chicken
Surf And Turf
Ahi Tuna Poke
Melting Hot Chocolate Souffle
Roy's Original Hawaiian Ahi with Spicy Mustard Sauce
Braised Beef Short-Ribs
Rock Shrimp Pad Thai
1988
Mixed Sushi
Roy's Trio
Pepper Melon Margarita (Cocktail)
Roy's Trio - Hibachi Salmon, Blackened Ahi, & Misoyaki Butterfish
Very Special Dessert Platter!!
Sunrise Roll
Misoyake Butterfish
Lakanilau Yamaguchi Roll
Shellfish Trio

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Jacksonville Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville Beach
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville Beach ›

special occasion (30)
fit for foodies (27)
romantic (19)
See All
vibrant bar scene (11)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
notable wine list (9)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was my first time at this restaurant ...

vip
 (NW Florida)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was my first time at this restaurant an I sat at the chefs table. It was awesome. I loved watching all the many chefs cooking. The ambience was awesome. Every one I encountered that worked there were so nice an helpful and informative. I had a delicious mai tai. A salad, lobster roll an chocolate lava cake for dessert. It was all so delicious. The manager said hi to me an asked how everything was and I said awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service! Butterfish was so d ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Outstanding service! Butterfish was so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Below average for price. Forgot desert ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Below average for price. Forgot desert order. Kept the beverage glasses full but food was not where it should have been

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The Maui wowie salad is back to its amaz ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Maui wowie salad is back to its amazing tanginess after years of blandness.

Sushi was good,Hawaiian martinis delicious.

Service was super slow, we waited over an hour for three sushi rolls. We had marked our reservation as a birthday celebration, no dessert!!!

Don't think we will celebrate our birthdays here in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I have a hard time not ordering Butterfi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I have a hard time not ordering Butterfish @ Roy's because it is out of this world. I did get the Alaskan Halibut which is a special for a limited time and it was delicious. The lobster bisque was my starter this time which was also prepared to perfection. It was bot overly rich with cream as many are. I have enjoyed Roy's at a number of locations and have always had a wonderful dinner and overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They made us feel very special, as we we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

They made us feel very special, as we were celebrating an anniversary. Food was wonderful. Service could not have been better. We would highly recommend it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very slow service on a not very busy Sa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very slow service on a not very busy Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, drinks and service ! The atm ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food, drinks and service ! The atmosphere is less compelling than the food. Looks like an average dining hall without any detail that reflects the gourmet meal being served.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had party of six. Each person had a w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had party of six. Each person had a wonderful experience and a great meal. To start, we ordered calamari for the table and it was maybe the best any of us have ever had. Two ordered the fish sampler and it was delicious. Another ordered the shellfish sampler and found it to be excellent. Other dishes were the braised pork, mahi, and thai chicken. All were reported as great. The service was attentive but not intrusive. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love Roy's! We sat at the bar and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always love Roy's! We sat at the bar and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Kat in the bar was AWESOME. Made our n ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Kat in the bar was AWESOME. Made our night great.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food. fantastic win ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service, great food. fantastic wine list. My favorite place!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved the fusion food. Had sushi to star ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Loved the fusion food. Had sushi to start followed by scallops and a butterfish which was really good.. Wait staff was super! Would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Roy's has been a go to dining spot for u ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Roy's has been a go to dining spot for us over the years . This visit was a bit off from the rest however and want to be fair in my comments. First off the service is outstanding both from the wait staff and the management. (Her name is Lindsey) My wife ordered the spring rolls appetizer & salmon entre and I ordered the calamari appetizer & rib eye entre. The spring rolls were rather bland, almost tasteless and the citrus nam pla sauce wasn't much help. That said, however, the calamari, finished with lime, was outstanding. (one of the best calamari appetizers I have had).

The waiter, who was extremely attentive and timely, returned & said they were out of rib eye & offered me a NY Strip. I actually prefer NY Strip. When the entres were served the 1st thing my wife noticed was that her salmon was well overcooked, even dried out. The waiter was apologetic & took it back for a second attempt. Meanwhile I cut into my NY Strip only to find it was done medium, not medium rare, as I had requested. The waiter also removed the steak for a second attempt.

Side bar: Your water glass will never be empty & you won't have to ask for a another drink

The 2nd salmon entre arrived under cooked and we returned it as well but by then my wife did not want to try it again. My NY Strip came back done perfectly as requested & well portioned. The side of Parmesan fries was tasty although could have been a bit more crispy. (matter of taste here) The waiter, who was very much on his game, went immediately to Lindsey, the manager, who came to the table twice and comp'd the salmon entre as well as our appetizers and served us an additional appetizer. Roy's in Jax beach serves up some unusual and tasty Asian fusion entres and this experience was not typical for us. One thing you can count on however is that they seem very much to care about their guests and want them to have a great dining experience. Yes, we left a bit disappointed this time however it will not prevent us from returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent but overpriced. Servi ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was excellent but overpriced. Service was wonderful. Bathroom was disgusting. Might return. Don't bring your kids with you. If you can afford to eat here, you can afford a babysitter.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We have eaten at Roy's in Maui, Atlanta ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have eaten at Roy's in Maui, Atlanta and Jacksonville Beach in the past and it has always been a favorite of mine. We took our family (a party of 12) on Father's Day for a special meal. I bragged about the food and the ambiance, and unfortunately our experience left a lot to be desired. Reservations through Open Table were easy and Roy's called to confirm the size of our group. Great start! When we arrived for our reservation, we were told to wait (really? I thought that's why I make reservations). It wasn't a terrible wait, maybe 15 minutes, and we were a large group, so we let it go. Our reservation was at 7pm and our food did not arrive until almost 9pm. We had children in our party so that was a challenge. Our waiter Charlie was friendly but inattentive. He didn't offer to even bring a bread basket or appetizer during our wait. We were told the kitchen was out of the chocolate souffle (the main dish I bragged about). I have never experienced that, and was terribly disappointed in the visit overall. The one bright spot was that our food arrived as ordered and was very delicious. However, the service left a bitter taste in our mouths. I will not be visiting this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

We sat at the high tops where you can se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We sat at the high tops where you can see the chefs at work. Great place to sit as it provides you with some entertainment and you usually get a food recommendation. In this case, it was a sushi recommendation. Busy night because it was Father's Day but the food was great and they even had a mahi special that is particular to this location. Wine and Hawaiian coffee also hit the spot. Highly recommend Roy's in Jax Beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We go to Roy's a couple of times a year ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We go to Roy's a couple of times a year and we're never disappointed. The food and the staff are always first rate. They only get 'very good' on value because it is pricey enough that we can't afford to eat there more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience. Don't let the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great dining experience. Don't let the butter fish escape your attention. Service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

one of my favorite restaurants in Jackso ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

one of my favorite restaurants in Jacksonville Beach

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is so delicious. Our favorite d ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is so delicious. Our favorite dish is "butter fish" . The chef can make the Alaska's cod so tender like tofu. We are all enjoy the environment and food. We will definitely come back. Actually we make an reservation for Father's Day. This time we will try their Sushi and something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality and portions not proportion ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food quality and portions not proportional to what you pay for. Service is reasonably good, but not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Food and service were excellent as alway ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service were excellent as always. Everything was well prepared. The Hawaiian martini is especially good. The Ebi roll is always consistently well-prepared. I highly recommend Roy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay food,fair service at high prices- long waits

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I came here my family as a special occasion dinner. We waited SO LONG for our food and in the end, I don't think the food justified the wait or the prices. Service was slow albeit pleasant. Would not come back -- hope it was just an off night for them.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great menu, interesting preparation, super service

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I took two other couples to Roy's for a Friday evening dinner. Parking was easy, the waiters were the best and the food was just excellent in every way. We will return many times.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entree's were wonderful! Will be g ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our entree's were wonderful! Will be going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The wait staff ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was excellent. The wait staff was both friendly and discreet. They helped us with details for the birthday we were celebrating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had to wait 15 minutes past our reser ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had to wait 15 minutes past our reservation time to be seated even though the restaurant was half empty. Once seated it was 15-20 minutes before we received water and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great fish dishes. Particularly like th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great fish dishes. Particularly like the Butter Fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The restaurant was packed, but service was still top notch. Food was perfect, and came quickly. The wine and cocktail list was perfect for the food options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambiance are always perfect ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food and ambiance are always perfect when we dine here. It was the first time our friends had been to Roy's and they loved it and said they will definitely go back. Drinks were tasty and we had an absolutely wonderful time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's restaurant, Jacksonville Beach, Fl

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Very nice restaurant with good menu....only drawback is it is so dark and can not see even the menu with glasses on!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great for special occasions

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Always enjoy dinner here; it always feels like a special event. I did notice one of their signature cocktails, the Hawaiian Martini, seemed a little smaller than normal. For the price, it should be a little larger. I think next time I'm there I'll switch to a mai-tai.

Everything else about our meal was spectacular! Thanks, again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. One of the best in JAX

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food. One of the best in JAX

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, fair prices and great layout

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Absolutely super food, well organized service crew and unbelievable atmosphere. A favorite of ours. We have become regulars and so have our children. We celebrate birthdays and anniversaries at Roy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big thank you to Roy's for making our 22 ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Big thank you to Roy's for making our 22nd wedding anniversary dinner one to remember. Special thank you to Lindsey, Corey and Alissa for the spectacular service. Hat's off to Chef and his team for a wonderful dinner. My Braised spare ribs where incredible. The Belle Gloss Pinot Noir paired perfectly with it. My wife's Blackened Ahi Tuna was out of this world! We topped off the evening with the chocolate soufflé that knocked it out of the park. The attention to detail and the consistency of quality delicious food is why we come back for all of our celebrations. We wouldn't dare go anywhere else!

Thank you again for a perfect evening.

Hal & Jeri Murdock

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible Meal & Service

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We are not frequent diners at Roy's but I have to say we have never been disappointed there. Tonight was no exception. Went there tonight for drinks and appetizers prior to dinner for our 41st Anniversary. The bar was packed (Happy Hour), a bit noisy and there were no seats, but the server behind the bar graciously went and found a seat somewhere in the restaurant for my wife. Not often do you get that kind of service. The drinks at the bar were strong and good and the Ebi Roll was great.

Our dinner, in a quiet booth decorated for our anniversary was superb. We both had the butterfish, which was probably the best fish dinner I have ever had. The fish was so flaky and moist and the sauce was indescribable. The steamed asparagus side could have used a little seasoning but was good nonetheless. Prior to our dessert coming out one of the managers stopped by to wish us a happy anniversary and handed us a $20 gift card. I was stunned, never having had that happen at any anniversary dinner in the last 41 years. The pineapple upside down cake that came out to end the evening couldn't have been a better ending to a great meal. Well done to the staff and especially our sever who ensured we had a memorable meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service -some hits-some misses.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was good,but salt encrusted rib eye was fatty and didn't have and more seasoning than an Outback steak. The filet was a better purchase. Mashed potatoes were very tasty. They had us order dessert early so it would be ready when we finished our meal--/ guess they forgot to put it in-we still waited about 15 minutes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Roys at Jacksonville Beach is my favorit ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Roys at Jacksonville Beach is my favorite special occasion restaurant. From making reservations, being greeted, the personal attention by the wait staff and managers, to the greeting when you leave it's always top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.