Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi

About Roy's Jacksonville Beach

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Jacksonville Beach located along route A1A between JT Butler Highway and Beach Blvd; featuring an exhibition kitchen with a sushi counter and two private rooms that accommodate up to 60 guests.

2400-101 South 3rd Street
Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Weekend Brunch at 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 4PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 241-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking & self parking.

Public Transit:
Bus & local trolley stop directed in front of the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

We will be open early at 9AM. Join us for a 3-course brunch starting at just $36, or treat Dad to dinner with a special Chef's menu created for the occasion available from 3-CL.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Jacksonville Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Open Kitchen (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Healthy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great time and the food was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic evening! The food from the appetizers to dessert was a flavor adventure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great dining experience . Never a hitch

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This Roy's is always excellent. And the servers are consistently the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Noisy but excellent food options, Prep and presentation. Attentive wait staff, our table was waiting for us with our name and best wishes on our 40th anniversary. They even took a photo and presented it on a card.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Had a great meal last weekend at Roy's. Chef's selection menu was a great value - all of our dishes were delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day and even though our reservation was 5:15 they were already out of two entrees and two starters. Food took more than 45 minutes and even though we preordered dessert it was going to take another thirty minutes before we actually cancelled our order because it wasn't going to be ready soon. We even had to send an entree back because it was burned outside and raw inside. Definitely won't be back again. Unfortunate because I used to enjoy eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I figured that going here for Mother's Day would be a wonderful experience since I had been here several times before. Unfortunately, this time was different and not in a good way.

Food- the lobster bisque really shined. It was by far the best thing of this meal. In hindsight, my mother and I should have just asked for the check right here (if we could have found our waiter, but that's in another paragraph). The lobster omelet was primarily void of any seafood. Okay technically that's not true. There was a small portion segregated in one corner of the omelet. The crab cake Benedict- oh I so wanted these to be good except the crab cakes were super salty. My mom actually made a joke about how the communication might have worked in the kitchen and that they kept putting salt in them even though the chef had already put salt on them to begin with. Normally these complaints wouldn't be much of an issue but when you consider the price for these dishes, my expectations go up. I certainly would not have complained at an IHOP or a Denny's l, or even a Waffle House. Which, by the way might have tasted better. That may seem a bit harsh. I apologize but it is true.

The service- okay this is where the experience really hit bottom. I have had poor service before but this was exceptionally bad. Even the other waiters and waitresses seemed to take notice. I guess they should have since ours seemed to be avoiding us for much of our lunch. To be honest, he did take our order and bring us the bill. Oh, he did bring us our beverages in the beginning (which took 10 minutes....no joke...seriously 10) but forgot about water and one very nice young lady saw how my mother seemed a bit parched and filled our glasses.

The lobster bisque came out first. I saw on the menu that we were supposed to receive a "starter" and wondered if I had misread it. I asked a waitress that happened to be passing by and she said that we should have received it and she would put it in. Ok this is too long

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there because of the availability on open table, yet they were running 50 minutes behind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a reservation at 8:30. We arrived exactly at 8:30 and were told there was already a 30 minute delay on reservations. We, luckily, found seats at the bar, and decided to wait the 30 minutes. After the 30 minutes, we still had not been given a table. I went to the hostess and she told me the people at our table were ordering dessert and that we would have to wait for them to finish. By 9:30, we still did not have a table. We then left and went across the street to Bonefish instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went for Mother's Day on Saturday night. Reservation at 6:30. Got there on time to hear that they were running 20 minutes behind. Got seated and waited on the waitress granted it was busy. The food was subpar, we order the canoe for 4. $59 are you kidding? However it was good. The noise level was through the roof. One in the party was covering his ears it was so loud. Over all the worse experience we have had. Not sure we will be back based on the service, food quality and price.

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have always loved the food at Roys and the service and ambience are outstanding. However, we were disappointed this last time with the appetizer that was included in the special Chef's tasting menu. The skewers had chicken and Wagyu beef and they both were grisly and lacked any interesting seasoning or flavor. This was supposed to be filet but it was hardly that.

The rest of the meal was excellent, as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Ive been here before and this time the food and service wasn't at par. Ordered the canoe appetizer and the chicken was raw in the center. We sent it back and they actually burned it! One of party guest ordered a dish that contained chicken and it was also raw. We sent it back and it came back the same. Also ordered the lobster bisque and four people at our table didn't like it. It tasted really sour and tart. Not typical for lobster bisque. Waiter divided our bill into 8 checks when we only had 7 people. Didn't discount the canoe even after the manager came over. They finally gave us gift cards to reuse back at Roy's but after this experience I will stick to Ruth's Chris!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is pretty good, but very overpriced for what it is. Effort is there, unfortunately the execution was not. Service is good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My absolute favorite restaurant . Always a perfect dining experience . Tried the soft shelled crab entree . Wonderful
Great cocktails and meal . Professional server Peyton did a stellar job taking care of our party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Awesome food & service. Wonderful drinks. Never disappointing

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Tasty food..will return for more of the menu and bring more friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Place has gone way down... what's up Roy's? Absolutely the worst Softshell crab ever, plus a high price point. Not working for me. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Nothing like I was expecting. Terrible. The prices are out of control and the place is average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great restaurant and excellent food. Fantastic seafood selection prepared with a flair. Our server Alyssa was the best, making us feel we were the most important people in the restaurant. We will be back!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Menu had a nice combination of sushi, seafood and more. Or 10 y.o. daughter loved sitting at the kitchen-side bar with a view of all of the action in the open kitchen. The sushi took a while but I think they were slanted with a lot of simultaneous orders. Will be back soon!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Fun evening! Our server (Kurt) was absolutely excellent, helping me customize my meal. He also gave us excellent wine advice. Bellisimo!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very pleasant staff that made Easter Brunch enjoyable. Each family member had a different entree and each dish was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was our first time at Roy's and had higher expectations than what we received. Our food came out very under cooked and by the time it was remade we weren't hungry anymore. The hostess was also in a skin tight dress... not very appropriate for Easter brunch. Would only recommend if you love seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We took our daughter, who is home from college for the weekend, to Roys. She had never been there before. Each of us had a very tasty meal and the service was very good. Though I usually opt for a fish dish, I ordered a vegetarian selection which was excellent. My husband had a "quad" of fish which gave you 4 different pieces of fish. Each was prepared different though delicious. Our daughter had scallops. She truly enjoyed it. Overall, our meal was quite good. We will return soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Roy's restaurant turned out to be more than I expected. Such a simple restaurant name for creative Japanese/Hawaiian cuisine. Everyone at the table was thrilled with their entree choices. Even the salad and bisque were delicious. Most items on the menu were fish with a few select items of meat and one pasta dish but that too had shrimp as its center. If you do
not like fish, I would recommend that you may not enjoy the menu. However, if you do enjoy it, you have found a wonderful restaurant with fresh fish, fresh vegetables, and lovely presentation. Although not inexpensive, the restaurant is well worth it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Frankly little disappointed, it used to be one of the best at the beaches, but left to be desired. Service was very good, did not skimp on the tip for my waiter, but food was not all that good, corvina was overcooked, and brussel sprouts too smelly, bitter and tough to eat. Will go somewhere else next week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We've been there for dinner several times over the years, but this was our first time for brunch. My wife LOVED the shrimp and lobster omelet.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were out to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our experience started with a 45 minute wait with a advance reservation. I had even dropped by in person the day before to request a booth. I understand that sometimes you may have to wait, but we were most disappointed that no one other that the hostess apologized. No manager drop by. We waited in the bar and had very attentive service. Once we were seated there was no mention that we were there for a special celebration. For past celebrations we were welcomed with flower petals on the table. Our server never once recognized the occasion. Our first course came out in a good time. The Ahi tuna was excellent! However there was a lengthy delay for the main course. Once the main course was delivered we never saw our waiter again until the last bite was going in my mouth. This was again disappointing as we wanted to order one of the special desserts that take up to 20 minutes to prepare. For the main courses we had the salmon, filet and the special sea bass. The salmon and filet were delicious but for a "special" of the evening the sea bass was lacking in quality! We each had dessert and the dessert we waited for... pineapple upside down cake was yummy. The sorbet and special pastry/fruit dessert ( i can't remember the name)were also delicious. I would have hoped that after our long wait and knowing we were there for a special occasion that we would have been offered a glass of champagne or complimentary dessert or at least a drop by from the manager ...but that did not happen. We like Roy's and have had better experiences in the past. After this experience we will not be rushing back

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Anticipated a lot more than what I got overall. Service was less than expected for such a nice restaurant. The food was average nothing spectacular, seem like they tried to make it good but it was $15 meal at best. The wine pour was 4 oz for $15 and the wine was $10 bottle. They have a great place, but they just didn't seem like they were wanted to make your experience worthy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ashley was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have eaten at this Roy's numerous times in the past, and have been very pleased, until now. The food, this time, was just not up to the quality that we have come to expect. It was the consensus of the four adults at our table the quality of the entrees was definitely not up to normal standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The Caymus Vineyards Wine Dinner was a huge success! Chef Tito and his staff served a beautifully presented, delicious gourmet menu that perfectly complemented the wines that were offered during the 5 courses. And Managing Partner Lindsey and her staff ensured that the evening was a complete success for the wine dinner attendees as well as all the other diners that evening. Our server, Corey, was attentive, friendly, and professional, as always. A perfect dinner and perfect hosts!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Huge price increase over 50%. One of the most expensive dinners in the Jacksonville area.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Roy's is a special restaurant, it has a great ambiance, great food and very good service. The menu is not extensive but features some great seafood including local fish. Its a bit pricey so I can't go very often but when I do its a pleasure.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great experience. Fresh and great preparation in the kitchen Will return.
Only suggestion less salt.

Tags: Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Service was excellent and the food was okay. It was a Monday evening so it was quiet and food was served fast. The food was artfully placed on the plate. The food was fresh but taste was just average.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Celebrating my dear friend's birthday. The food was absolutely amazing. Matched only by the attentive, friendly service. I had the mahi mahi and my friend the whitefish. We couldn't have been more pleased. And Peyton, our service was an absolute delight. She made great recommendations, and followed up to be sure we were pleased. The chocolate soufflé cake and the complimentary photo made a great night perfect. We couldn't have been more pleased!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.