About Roy's Jacksonville Beach

2400-101 South 3rd Street
Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Jacksonville Beach located along route A1A between JT Butler Highway and Beach Blvd; featuring an exhibition kitchen with a sushi counter and two private rooms that accommodate up to 60 guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Weekend Brunch at 11AM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 241-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking & self parking.

Public Transit:
Bus & local trolley stop directed in front of the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Adam Hyatt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Roy's Jacksonville Beach
Shellfish Trio
Beef Short Rib Bi Bim Bap
Ebi Roll (Sushi)
Crispy Kung Pao Calamari
Crispy Pork Belly Buns (Dim Sum)
Truffled Bacon Mac & Cheese
Seared Sea Scallops
Auntie Lei's Aloha Roll (Sushi)
Spiced Edamame (Appetizer)
Roy’s  Melting  Hot    Chocolate  Soufflé With Belgian  Chocolate,  Raspberry  Coulis,  Vanilla  Bean  Ice  Cream
Roy's Trio: Butter Poached Half Lobster Tail, Seared Crab Cake, Sea Scallop & Shrimp
Warm  Mango  Streusel With Coconut  Ice  Cream  &  Streusel  Crust
Crabcakes
Pineapple Upside-Down Cake With Coconut Ice Cream
Hawaiian Style Misoyaki Butterfish With Sizzling  Soy  Vinaigrette
2006 Terlato Cabernet
Grilled  Szechuan  Pork  Ribs,  Chicken  Spring  Rolls  ,  Lobster  Potstickers  ,  Crispy  Spicy  Tuna  Roll    &  Shrimp  Cocktail
Maui Wowie Shrimp Salad
Auntie Lei’s Aloha Sushi Roll
Iceberg Wedge
Pork Tenderloin with Parsnip Puree
Filipino Style Grilled Chicken
Crunchy Golden Lobster Potstickers
Surf And Turf
Ahi Tuna Poke
Melting Hot Chocolate Souffle
Roy's Original Hawaiian Ahi with Spicy Mustard Sauce
Rock Shrimp Pad Thai
Braised Beef Short-Ribs
1988
Mixed Sushi
Roy's Trio
Roy's Trio - Hibachi Salmon, Blackened Ahi, & Misoyaki Butterfish
Pepper Melon Margarita (Cocktail)
Very Special Dessert Platter!!
Misoyake Butterfish
Sunrise Roll
Lakanilau Yamaguchi Roll

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next of 10 to 180 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Jacksonville Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Most Booked
Jacksonville Beach
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville Beach ›

Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Romantic (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have dined at Roy's in Jax Beach seve ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have dined at Roy's in Jax Beach several times in the past few months and we all felt this past visit was not up to par. We sat down at the bar first only to be welcomed by seats with food on them, left by the previous patron. Kind of turned us off. from the get go. The wagyu beef sliders on the bar menu are outstanding! We were seated at our table by the always very friendly, prompt, courteous and knowledgeable wait staff. The Summer pre fixe menu was so/so. The soba noodles with beef tasted like no more than a bowl of Ramen and soy sauce with some beef scraps (supposed filet), tossed in, the swordfish was so small it was good for about five bites and also had a rather strong taste of cilantro, not my faavority herb. Th pre-fixe dessert was a custard of some kind topped with a citrus tasting super sweet syrup. Actually too sweet to finish. The Calamari appetizer was ok, but nothing to write home about and it too was weak on the amount served. The Lobster bisque on the other hand was flavorful and quite tasty. Both guests enjoyed their soup.

Quite frankly this was a disappointing trip to us and not so sure we will make it back in the recent future. Fortunately we had a $20 coupon card given to us at a previous visit because no one felt this meal was worth the cost and the time it took for us to drive to Jax Beach.

Better luck next time I suppose...

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful dinner! Started with the appet ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful dinner! Started with the appetizer "canoe" for 6: sumptuous short ribs; steak and chicken (on sticks); lobster filled dumplings & tuna sushi rolls. All were good, especially enjoyed the ribs, sushi & dumplings. Steak & the chicken were okay, but not great. Our table of 7 ordered the seafood specials : sea bass & Mahi, and short ribs. The short ribs, as always, are melt-in-your mouth & delicious! The nut crusted Mahi, seated with grits was delightful. The sea bass (@$45) was outstanding, served with a decadent sauce & pan seared gnocchi, that was equally pleasing. Only setback was, although the plates were piping hot-the bass felt quite cold--more room temperature, which seemed odd & disappointing. Overall though, excellent service & truly outstanding flavors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants for special occasions. The service is always fantastic and the food is an experience. The Mai tai reminds me of when we lived in Hawaii. The also have a wonderful wine list and do a great job pairing with the food you have ordered. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in North ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in North Florida. Consistently great food, awesome drinks, great service in a very lively environment. Our waiter was terrific, was taking my almost empty mai tai glass when I objected (several sips left) and he dropped the glass; apologized profusely, got me a towel for few drops splattered on my shirt, then brought me a whole new drink. He was great.

All of us thoroughly enjoyed the appetizers, soup, salad, and the different main courses; tried different choices including the evening special and all were wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the lobster suishi again and it wa ...

vip
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I had the lobster suishi again and it was excellent again. I also had the creme brulee which was also de

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and very well pre ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was excellent and very well presented. The service was great. The chocolate soufflé was WONDERFUL! Definitely would return when in the area again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gourmet dining at its best with excellen ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Gourmet dining at its best with excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, interesting menu and wonderf ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, interesting menu and wonderful service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top shelf dining, food, and service. A v ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Top shelf dining, food, and service. A very upscale dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my first time at this restaurant ...

vip
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was my first time at this restaurant an I sat at the chefs table. It was awesome. I loved watching all the many chefs cooking. The ambience was awesome. Every one I encountered that worked there were so nice an helpful and informative. I had a delicious mai tai. A salad, lobster roll an chocolate lava cake for dessert. It was all so delicious. The manager said hi to me an asked how everything was and I said awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server told us how our food would be ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The server told us how our food would be prepared by the "chef." We had other ideas and I would prefer my food be prepared my way. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Outstanding service! Butterfish was so d ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Outstanding service! Butterfish was so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Below average for price. Forgot desert ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Below average for price. Forgot desert order. Kept the beverage glasses full but food was not where it should have been

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The Maui wowie salad is back to its amaz ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Maui wowie salad is back to its amazing tanginess after years of blandness.

Sushi was good,Hawaiian martinis delicious.

Service was super slow, we waited over an hour for three sushi rolls. We had marked our reservation as a birthday celebration, no dessert!!!

Don't think we will celebrate our birthdays here in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I have a hard time not ordering Butterfi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I have a hard time not ordering Butterfish @ Roy's because it is out of this world. I did get the Alaskan Halibut which is a special for a limited time and it was delicious. The lobster bisque was my starter this time which was also prepared to perfection. It was bot overly rich with cream as many are. I have enjoyed Roy's at a number of locations and have always had a wonderful dinner and overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They made us feel very special, as we we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

They made us feel very special, as we were celebrating an anniversary. Food was wonderful. Service could not have been better. We would highly recommend it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very slow service on a not very busy Sa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very slow service on a not very busy Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, drinks and service ! The atm ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food, drinks and service ! The atmosphere is less compelling than the food. Looks like an average dining hall without any detail that reflects the gourmet meal being served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had party of six. Each person had a w ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had party of six. Each person had a wonderful experience and a great meal. To start, we ordered calamari for the table and it was maybe the best any of us have ever had. Two ordered the fish sampler and it was delicious. Another ordered the shellfish sampler and found it to be excellent. Other dishes were the braised pork, mahi, and thai chicken. All were reported as great. The service was attentive but not intrusive. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love Roy's! We sat at the bar and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always love Roy's! We sat at the bar and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Kat in the bar was AWESOME. Made our n ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Kat in the bar was AWESOME. Made our night great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food. fantastic win ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great service, great food. fantastic wine list. My favorite place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved the fusion food. Had sushi to star ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Loved the fusion food. Had sushi to start followed by scallops and a butterfish which was really good.. Wait staff was super! Would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Roy's has been a go to dining spot for u ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Roy's has been a go to dining spot for us over the years . This visit was a bit off from the rest however and want to be fair in my comments. First off the service is outstanding both from the wait staff and the management. (Her name is Lindsey) My wife ordered the spring rolls appetizer & salmon entre and I ordered the calamari appetizer & rib eye entre. The spring rolls were rather bland, almost tasteless and the citrus nam pla sauce wasn't much help. That said, however, the calamari, finished with lime, was outstanding. (one of the best calamari appetizers I have had).

The waiter, who was extremely attentive and timely, returned & said they were out of rib eye & offered me a NY Strip. I actually prefer NY Strip. When the entres were served the 1st thing my wife noticed was that her salmon was well overcooked, even dried out. The waiter was apologetic & took it back for a second attempt. Meanwhile I cut into my NY Strip only to find it was done medium, not medium rare, as I had requested. The waiter also removed the steak for a second attempt.

Side bar: Your water glass will never be empty & you won't have to ask for a another drink

The 2nd salmon entre arrived under cooked and we returned it as well but by then my wife did not want to try it again. My NY Strip came back done perfectly as requested & well portioned. The side of Parmesan fries was tasty although could have been a bit more crispy. (matter of taste here) The waiter, who was very much on his game, went immediately to Lindsey, the manager, who came to the table twice and comp'd the salmon entre as well as our appetizers and served us an additional appetizer. Roy's in Jax beach serves up some unusual and tasty Asian fusion entres and this experience was not typical for us. One thing you can count on however is that they seem very much to care about their guests and want them to have a great dining experience. Yes, we left a bit disappointed this time however it will not prevent us from returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent but overpriced. Servi ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was excellent but overpriced. Service was wonderful. Bathroom was disgusting. Might return. Don't bring your kids with you. If you can afford to eat here, you can afford a babysitter.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We have eaten at Roy's in Maui, Atlanta ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have eaten at Roy's in Maui, Atlanta and Jacksonville Beach in the past and it has always been a favorite of mine. We took our family (a party of 12) on Father's Day for a special meal. I bragged about the food and the ambiance, and unfortunately our experience left a lot to be desired. Reservations through Open Table were easy and Roy's called to confirm the size of our group. Great start! When we arrived for our reservation, we were told to wait (really? I thought that's why I make reservations). It wasn't a terrible wait, maybe 15 minutes, and we were a large group, so we let it go. Our reservation was at 7pm and our food did not arrive until almost 9pm. We had children in our party so that was a challenge. Our waiter Charlie was friendly but inattentive. He didn't offer to even bring a bread basket or appetizer during our wait. We were told the kitchen was out of the chocolate souffle (the main dish I bragged about). I have never experienced that, and was terribly disappointed in the visit overall. The one bright spot was that our food arrived as ordered and was very delicious. However, the service left a bitter taste in our mouths. I will not be visiting this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

We sat at the high tops where you can se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We sat at the high tops where you can see the chefs at work. Great place to sit as it provides you with some entertainment and you usually get a food recommendation. In this case, it was a sushi recommendation. Busy night because it was Father's Day but the food was great and they even had a mahi special that is particular to this location. Wine and Hawaiian coffee also hit the spot. Highly recommend Roy's in Jax Beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful food great for a special date ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful food great for a special date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Roy's a couple of times a year ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We go to Roy's a couple of times a year and we're never disappointed. The food and the staff are always first rate. They only get 'very good' on value because it is pricey enough that we can't afford to eat there more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience. Don't let the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great dining experience. Don't let the butter fish escape your attention. Service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

one of my favorite restaurants in Jackso ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

one of my favorite restaurants in Jacksonville Beach

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is so delicious. Our favorite d ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is so delicious. Our favorite dish is "butter fish" . The chef can make the Alaska's cod so tender like tofu. We are all enjoy the environment and food. We will definitely come back. Actually we make an reservation for Father's Day. This time we will try their Sushi and something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality and portions not proportion ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food quality and portions not proportional to what you pay for. Service is reasonably good, but not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Food and service were excellent as alway ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service were excellent as always. Everything was well prepared. The Hawaiian martini is especially good. The Ebi roll is always consistently well-prepared. I highly recommend Roy's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay food,fair service at high prices- long waits

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I came here my family as a special occasion dinner. We waited SO LONG for our food and in the end, I don't think the food justified the wait or the prices. Service was slow albeit pleasant. Would not come back -- hope it was just an off night for them.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great menu, interesting preparation, super service

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife and I took two other couples to Roy's for a Friday evening dinner. Parking was easy, the waiters were the best and the food was just excellent in every way. We will return many times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entree's were wonderful! Will be g ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our entree's were wonderful! Will be going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The wait staff ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was excellent. The wait staff was both friendly and discreet. They helped us with details for the birthday we were celebrating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had to wait 15 minutes past our reser ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had to wait 15 minutes past our reservation time to be seated even though the restaurant was half empty. Once seated it was 15-20 minutes before we received water and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great fish dishes. Particularly like th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great fish dishes. Particularly like the Butter Fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.